# Amicus Curiae Brief — Smiley v. Citibank (South Dakota), NA

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0672%3A13

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1996
- **Citation:** 517 U.S. 735

## Text

Gq FILED
Y, yan 1 1996
No. 95-860
| cue aan
In The sal

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1995
o

BARBARA SMILEY,

Petitioner,

CITIBANK (SOUTH DAKOTA), N.A.,

Respondent.

+

On Writ Of Certiorari To
The California Supreme Court
.

AMICUS CURIAE BRIEF OF THE
COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS AND THE
STATES OF ARKANSAS, CONNECTICUT,
FLORIDA, HAWAIL INDIANA, IOWA, KENTUCKY,
MAINE, MARYLAND, MICHIGAN, MINNESOTA,
MISSISSIPPI, NEW HAMPSHIRE, NEW JERSEY,
NEW MEXICO, NORTH CAROLINA, NORTH
DAKOTA, RHODE ISLAND, SOUTH CAROLINA,
TENNESSEE, TEXAS, VERMONT, WASHINGTON,
WEST VIRGINIA AND DISTRICT OF
COLUMBIA IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER
°

Scott HARSHBARGER
Attorney General
of Massachusetts

Ernest L. SARASON, JR.

(Counsel of Record)

Assistant Attorney General

One Ashburton Place, 19th Floor
Boston, Massachusetts 02108 .
(617) 727-2200

(Additional Counsel On Inside Cover)

——_——— ee
a a

COCKLE LAW SRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225-094
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 42-2431 ’

WINsTON BryYANT
Attorney General
of Arkansas

RicHARD BLUMENTHAL
Attorney General
of Connecticut

CuHartes F.C. Rurr
Corporation Counsel
of District of Columbia

Rosert A. ButrerwortH
Attorney General
of Florida

Jo ANN Ucnipa
Executive Director
State of Hawaii
Office of Consumer
Protection

Pameca F. Carter
Attorney General
of Indiana

THomas J. MiLier
Attorney General
of lowa

A.B. CHANDLER
Attorney General
of Kentucky

ANDREW KeETTERER
Attorney General
of Maine

J. Josep: Curran, Jr.
Attorney General
of Maryland |

Frank J. Kelley
Attorney General
of Michigan

Husert H. Humpnreey III
Attorney General
of Minnesota

Mixe Moore
Attorney General
of Mississippi

Jerrrey R. Howarp
Attorney General
of New Hampshire

DesoraH T. Porrrz —
Attorney General
of New Jersey

Tom UDALL
Attorney General
of New Mexico

Micuaet F. Eastey
Attorney General
of North Carolina

Hem Herrxamp
Attorney General
of North Dakota

Jerrrey B. Pine
Attorney General
of Rhode Island

Pru S. Porrer

Administrator

State of South Carolina

Department of Consumer
Affairs

CHaRLes W. Burson
Attorney General
of Tennessee

Dan Morates
Attorney General
of Texas

Jerrrey L. Amestoy
Attorney General
of Vermont

Curistine Grecoire
Attorney General
of Washington

Darrett V. McGraw, Jr.
Attorney General
of West Virginia

TABLE OF CONTENTS

l. THE LOWER COURT'S DECISION IMPROP-

ERLY LIMITS STATES’ POLICE POWERS AND
WILL SERIOUSLY ERODE STATE CONSUMER
ee at, ee i as

A. Smiley Improperly Elevates South Dakota
Law, Not Federal Law, On Late Payment
Penalties Above The Laws Of Every Other
State, Regardless Of Each State’s Distinct
Legislative Decisions ............

B. Smiley's Holding Will Reach Beyond Laws
Limiting Late Payment Penalty Charges To
Eviscerate All State Consumer Credit Laws

C. The Decision Below Will Thwart State
Efforts To Formulate And Enforce Non-
discriminatory Consumer Credit Laws

SMILEY’S UNWARRANTED INTRUSION INTO
SUBSTANTIVE STATE CONSUMER CREDIT
POLICY OVERLOOKS THE FUNDAMENTAL
PREMISE THAT A STATE’S POLICE POWER
CAN BE NEGATED ONLY WITH A CLEAR
MANDATE FROM CONGRESS AND THE LAN.
GUAGE AND HISTORY OF THE FEDERAL
STATUTE AT ISSUE

11

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued
Page

A. Smiley Refers To But Does Not Apply The
Preemption Principles Developed By This
rrr er ee 11

B. Section 30 Was Enacted in 1864 As A Usury
Statute That Prescribed The Rate Of Interest
National Banks Are Permitted To Charge.
The Scope Of Preemption Must Be Inter-
preted As Narrowly As Is Consistent With
Its Plain Meaning..............-------++-- 14

C. There Is No Conflict Preemption Because
State Laws Limiting Late Payment Penalties
Do Not Make Compliance With § 85 Impos-
sible Or Unduly Obstruct The Banking Busi-
REDD. cc ccccececepctctcoadeedcessdcoeees cece 17

Ill. AGENCY INTERPRETATIONS SUPPORTING
PREEMPTION UNDER § 85 ARE NOT ENTI-
TLED TO DEFERENCE BECAUSE THEY CON-
TRADICT CONGRESSIONAL INTENT TO
PREEMPT STATE CONSUMER CREDIT LAWS
PE cc ccicedscttsdevcdvbecdbcetitescsce 22

GENES ccccvcdconsccusecscconshcstewstecans 26

sas

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases
Aldens, Inc. v. LaFollette, 552 F.2d 745 (7th Cir
1977), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 880 (1977)......_. inde
Aldens, Inc. v. Miller, 610 F.2d 538 (8th Cir. 1979),
cert. denied, 446 U.S. 919 RR ae pe ees 4,19
Aldens, Inc. v. Packel, 524 F.2d 38 (3rd Cir. 1975),
cert. denied, 425 US. 943 ES ae 4,19
Beasley v. Wells Fargo Bank, 1 Cal. Rptr. 2d 446 (Ct.
EAE el aia 9

California v. ARC America Corp., 490 U.S. 93 (1989) ..... 4

Cipollone v. Liggett Group, Inc., 505 U.S. 504 (1992)
Pebeeesevedaseldebecocesecticccbdeséeees 11, 12, 13, 14

Citibank (South Dakota), N.A. v. Thomas ]. Miller as
Attorney General of the State of lowa, C.A. 88-258-

) i 9 aes Suis Qes isin tele aaa 6
City of Burbank v. Lockheed Air Terminal, Inc., 411

i AS i en i tla Ds a 12
CSX Transp., Inc. v. Easterwood, 113 S. Ct. 1732

ae Pébdsbdubedsseedadsdcees 17

Davis v. Elmira Savings Bank, 161 US. 275 ( 1896) .... 18
Freightliner Corp v. Myrick, 115 S.Ct. 1483 (1995)..11, 17

Garrett v. Coast & Southern Fed. Sav. & Loan Ass'n,
oe ee ee ee ee y

Gower v. Carter, 3 lowa 244 (1856) .................. 16

Greenwood Trust Co. v. Massachusetts, 971 F.2d 818
(Ist Cir. 1992), cert. denied, 506 U.S. 1052 (1993) ..8, 12

Gregory v. Ashcroft, 111 S. Ct. 2395 (1991) ........... 12

iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Griffith v. Connecticut, 218 U.S. 563 (1910) .........-.. 4

Marquette National Bank of Minneapolis v. First of
Omaha Service Corp., 439 U.S. 299 (1978) ..4, 6, 13, 17

McClellan v. Chipman, 164 US. 347 (1896) ........... 18
MCI Telecommunications v. AT&T, 114 S.Ct. 2223

CIGDED cv cccccctcccccvecchosdevebssbestbsrsceeteess 25
Mercantile Bank v. New York, 121 U.S. 138 (1887)..... 20
National Bank v. Commonwealth, 76 U.S. (9 Wall.)

SED Gc dec cccdoddacdoaecaqesscetacdanetuads es 17
National Bank v. Johnson, 104 U.S. 271 (1881)......... 15
Penn Dairies, Inc. v. Milk Control Comm'n, 318 U.S.

ee ee Pee PPro Seer 12
Perdue v. Crocker Nat'l Bank, 702 P.2d 503 (Cal.

1985), appeal dismissed, 475 U.S. 1001 (1986)....... 24
Ramsey v. Morrison, 39 N.J.L. 591 (1877)............. 16

Randall v. Home Loan & Investment Co., 12 N.W. 2d
GD Gs Tes de cdewivccudvedewetrcackevebess so’ 16

Rice v. Santa Fe Elevator Corp., 331 U.S. 218 (1947).... 11

Sherman v. Citibank (South Dakota), N.A., No.
A-102-94 slip op. (N.J. Nov. 28, 1995)............. 21

State of lowa v. Citibank (South Dakota) CE
029-16973 (lowa District Court for Polk County,

PEs voce ccccccccaseesncséscescesesbenssbénesseess 6

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
State of Wisconsin v. Ameritech Corporation, et al.
Dane County Circuit Court Case No. 92CV1013
(1995) (complaint dismissed), Case No. 95-3426
a UO epee 6
Tiffany v. National Bank of Missouri, 85 U.S. (18
Co 8 NE Tr ee .. 14, 15
Wiseman v. State Bank and Trust, 854 S.W. 2d 725
eS SU cele na NOUS sas doueaed eres Vadickhckec cers 7
Feperat Statutes AND Lecistative Resources
Se EE EP Ache tehdes dnadbestcctosssoultive: passim
AE TN ae AD SR ee |
PN sd oT. Yosh. fieds evn oe. 20
I 20
By I oo vn chen ceunceosercseuscce.. 20
Be IID a ne ccvctaccusicccenncceveses. 20
ep es Fb. cnn cb ev Webadecovecoscs 20

P.L. 103-328, Sept. 29, 1994, 108 Stats. 2328 § 114.... 23

H. Conf. Rept. No. 651, 103rd Cong., 2nd Sess.
PP bouSe ebb ibbusebinvencePedsdocdccWuccccccesc: 24

State STATUTES

Mass. Gen. Laws Ann. c. 140, § 114B (1991 &
SEED Radin dn utetculindeedvndsonsnataey ¥sea0s's 8

S.D. Codified Laws Ann. § 54-3-1 (1990)............. 5

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Wisconsin Senate Bill 505 (1996) ..................... 8
Wisconsin Stats. Sec. 421.201(10)(a).................. 10
RULES AND REGULATIONS
SS CR. BPMs vidcdcdne thsceebwedabecdeoke 22, 23
MISCELLANEOUS
17 Am. Jur. 2d, Consumer and Borrower Protection

Pe Goes 6 09 vercenee chides tao 8 ine hret 9
Burgess and Ciolfi, Exportation or Exploitation? A

State Regulator’s View of Interstate Credit Card

Transactions, 42 Bus. Law 929 (1987) ............... 7
Crandall, The Wisconsin Consumer Act: Wisconsin

Consumer Credit Laws Before And After, 73 Wis. L.

SO, Se GUM a ncn ceudhubatuidas cabaieunirada tc. 9
Credit Card News (Apr. 1, 1994)................0005, 5
Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago, “Small States

Teach a Big Banking Lesson,” Chicago Fed. Let-

ft, 2 , §. SS ee ae Tree 7
Ginsburg, Interstate Banking, 9 Hofstra L. Rev. 1133

GUPUEEG 0.002 cccncevneksecoeb ekki nada tbeedebas coeases 7
Uniform Consumer Credit Code [1968 Act], 7 U.L.A.

GOP sos steccsasnnnutpnd blpkndcciyinteeanednnetins 10

STATEMENT OF INTEREST

The amici curiae Commonwealth of Massachusetts
and the states of Arkansas, Connecticut, Florida, Indiana,
lowa, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota,
Mississippi, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico,
North Carolina, North Dakota, Rhode Island, Tennessee,
Texas, Vermont, Washington, and West Virginia through
their Attorneys General, the District of Columbia through
its Corporation Counsel, South Carolina’s Department of
Consumer Affairs through its Administrator, and
Hawaii's Office of Consumer Protection through its Exec-
utive Director,’ support petitioner Smiley’s position that
federal laws do not preempt California laws limiting
excessive late payment penalties in credit card transac-
tions. Preemption of these California laws will impede
amici’s authority to enforce their laws regulating credit
card delinquency and late charges against out-of-state
national banks.

' The actual participants in this Amicus Curiae Brief are
listed on the signature page. Of the 26 States Participating, 23
are represented by the Attorney General of the state. Hawaii is
represented by the Office of Consumer Protection which, while
not part of the state Attorney General’s Office, is statutorily
authorized to undertake consumer protection functions,
including legal representation of the state and enforcement of
that state’s consumer protection laws. The District of Columbia
is represented by its Corporation Counsel. South Carolina is
represented by its Department of Consumer Affairs which
administers, enforces and interprets the South Carolina
Consumer Protection Code which regulates late charges,
overlimit charges, other default charges and debt collection
practices in South Carolina. For the sake of simplicity, amici will
hereafter be referred to as the “Attorneys General” or “States.”

The Amici states have a great interest in this case.
This Court's interpretation of the scope of the preemption
of Section 30 of the National Bank Act, codified as 12
U.S.C. §§ 85 and 86, will have a profound impact on their
protection of their citizens. This Court’s decision will
determine whether the Attorneys General may enforce
state laws that limit excessive penalty charges and other
non-interest terms in credit transactions entered into by
their residents.

As the chief law enforcement officers of their states,
the amici wish to emphasize their view, based on long-
standing principles of statutory and constitutional inter-
pretation, that acts of Congress which do not explicitly
preempt state laws must not be read more broadly than
Congress intended. This is of particular concern in a case
such as this one where the state laws are based on a
state's traditional police powers to protect consumers in
credit transactions.

Consumer protection and consumer credit are tradi-
tional and critical areas of state concern. Amici states
have established comprehensive regulatory systems to
ensure fairness in the relationship between consumer bor-
rowers and their creditors. These laws reflect each state's
own assessment of how best to balance protecting con-
sumers with providing creditors sufficient incentive to
lend profitably to their residents.

S

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The lower court's majority decision destroys a state’s
ability to enforce laws regulating late charges in con-
sumer credit transactions. The decision also places in
doubt the validity of every state’s consumer credit laws
by inte: preting “interest” expansively for purposes of
preemption analysis. This unwarranted intrusion into
substantive state consumer credit policy misreads both
the language and history of the federal statute at issue
and the fundamental premise that a state’s historic police
powers can be negated only with a clear mandate from
Congress.

The lower court's decision also undermines this
country’s dual banking system which has been one of the
most significant characteristics of American banking
since the National Bank Act was passed in 1864. Histori-
cally, Congress has deferred to the interests of the states
in the regulation of national banks as to all matters except
those essential to their role as federal instrumentalities.

Application of the decision’s preemption analysis
will permit a national bank to use the law of its home
state to override the consumer protection legislation of
California and all other states under the guise of federal
preemption. Amici submit that Congress never intended
this result.

ARGUMENT

I. THE LOWER COURT’S DECISION IMPROPERLY
LIMITS STATES’ POLICE POWERS AND WILL
SERIOUSLY ERODE STATE CONSUMER CREDIT

LAWS.
A. Smiley Improperly Elevates South Dakota Law,
Not Federal Law, On Late Payment Penalties

Above The Laws Of Every Other State, Regard-
less Of Each State’s Distinct Legislative Deci-

California prohibits the assessment of excessive late
payment penalty charges on credit card accounts when
consumers are delinquent in making payments.? These
charges, however, are permitted in South Dakota. Cit-
ibank, located in South Dakota, imposes such charges on
California residents. Citibank claimed, as the basis for its
authority, 12 U.S.C. § 85 which, under certain circum-
stances, preempts state restrictions on interest rates.
Respondent also relied on Marquette National Bank of Min-
neapolis v. First of Omaha Service Corp., 439 U.S. 299 (1978),

2 Consumer protection is a traditional and important
component of the police power of the states. Griffith v.
Connecticut, 218 U.S. 563, 568-569 (1910); California v. ARC
America Corp., 490 U.S. 93, 101 (1989). Typical areas of state
consumer credit regulation include requirements of truthful
advertising, restrictions or prohibitions on automatic wage
assignments or authorizations to confess judgment, limitations
on security interests and restrictions on debt collection charges
and practices. The need for state regulation in this area has long
been judicially acknowledged. See Aldens, Inc. v. Packel, 524 F.2d
38 (3rd Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 425 U.S. 943 (1976); Aldens, Inc. v.
Miller, 610 F.2d 538 (8th Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 446 U.S. 919
(1980).

as authority to export these charges throughout the coun-
try.

In order to override California law limiting excessive
late payment penalty charges, the Smiley majority used a
flawed preemption analysis to define the term “interest”
in § 85 expansively to include late payment penalty
charges.* Proceeding on this premise, shown below to be
incorrect, the majority in Smiley incorrectly concluded
that California law is superseded because the legislature
of South Dakota permits the imposition of unlimited late
payment penalty charges in consumer credit transac-
tions.*

The result of the lower court's majority decision will
be to enshrine South Dakota’s policy of deregulation as a
nationwide policy, regardless of other states’ laws to the
contrary.

* “Late payment charges exacted by credit card issuing
banks totaled almost $2 billion in 1992, according to one
industry source. (Credit Card News (Apr. 1, 1994) at p.2).”
Smiley at Pet.App. 62 (Arabian, J., dissenting).

* South Dakota has legislatively expanded the definition of
“interest” to be “compensation allowed by law for the use, or
forbearance, or detention of money or its equivalent, including
without limitation, points, loan origination fees, credit service
or carrying charges, charges for unanticipated late payments,
and any other charges, direct or indirect, as an incident to or as a
condition of the extension of credit.” $.D. Codified Laws Ann.
§ 54-3-1 (1990).

ee eT en ee

6

B. Smiley's Holding Will Reach Beyond Laws
Limiting Late Payment Penalty Charges To
Eviscerate All State Consumer Credit Laws.

Although this case is limited to consideration of late
payment penalty charges, national banks elsewhere,
using Marquette as a lever, have attempted to push the
preemptive force of § 85 to virtually all terms of credit
transactions with consumers. For example, at least one
national bank has argued that state laws limiting collec-
tion costs and attorney fees following default are pre-
empted.5 To support this position this bank has
incorporated the following term in its credit card agree-
ment:

All terms and conditions of this Agreement
(including the change of terms provision, the
applicable law provision, and the finance
charge, late charge, returned check charge, and
research charge provisions) are deemed to be
interest under this Agreement and material to
the determination of the finance charge.®

° State of Wisconsin v. Ameritech Corporation, et al., Dane
County Circuit Court Case No. 92CV1013 (1995) (complaint
dismissed), Dst. IV, WI Ct. of Appeals, Case No. 95-3426 (appeal
stayed pending decision in this matter). See also Citibank (South
Dakota), N.A. v. Thomas J. Miller as Attorney General of the State of
lowa, C.A. 88-258-E (S.D. lowa 1988); State of lowa v. Citibank
(South Dakota), CE 029-16973 (lowa District Court for Polk
County, 1988). These cases were settled in November, 1989; no
judicial decision on the merits was reached.

® This credit card agreement is part of the record in State of
Wisconsin v. Ameritech Corporation, et al., Wis. Ct. Appeals, Dst.
IV, Case No. 95-3426, (R. 60, p. 4).

If this Court upholds Smiley and confirms the expor-
tation theory promoted by some national banks, the
states’ legislative ability to balance consumers’ interests
with lenders’ interests will be severely curtailed.

Lenders doing business in states with strong con-
sumer protection measures will be at a competitive disad-
vantage against financing sources based in states which
have forsaken consumer protection in order to attract
banking interests.”? Nationa’ banks, located in states
responsive to banking interests, eventually will dominate
not only the credit card industry, but all credit markets.*
The states that provide a greater measure of consumer
protection will be confronted with the unenviable choice
of eliminating these public protection provisions so that

” Although the statutory basis for interest rate exportation
is more than one hundred years old, this court first considered
the issue in Marquette. Following that decision, several states
chose to eliminate consumer safeguards in credit transactions to
attract national banks. Ginsburg, Interstate Banking, 9 Hofstra L.
Rev. 1133, 1370 (1981); Burgess and Ciolfi, Exportation or
Exploitation? A State Regulator’s View of Interstate Credit Card
Transactions, 42 Bus. Law 929, 933-34, 939 (1987). A few states’
efforts to attract credit card issuers from other states have been
successful. “Small States Teach a Big Banking Lesson,” Chicago
Fed. Letter, No. 10 (June 1986). Today, of the top ten credit card
issuers, six are located in Delaware, while the respondent, the
single largest issuer of Visa cards and Mastercards, is in South
Dakota.

* In states with consumer credit laws in place, local
merchants, such as appliance stores and car dealers, already
offer financing from institutions located in states where
consumer credit has been deregulated. See Wiseman v. State Bank
and Trust, 854 S.W. 2d 725 (Ark. 1993) (interest rate for motor
vehicle loan determined by law where bank is located).

local creditors may compete with out-of-state creditors or
watching the local financing sources move elsewhere.’

C. The Decision Below Will Thwart State Efforts
To Formulate And Enforce Nondiscriminatory
Consumer Credit Laws.

It is appropriate for each state to define as a matter of
policy and law consumer credit terms for transactions
within its borders. States such as Delaware and South
Dakota have the undisputed right to deregulate rates for
their own citizens." However, every state’s right to set
standards for fair practices in the consumer credit area
within its respective borders will be curtailed if the deci-
sion below is upheld.

“Because credit has become a way of life for con-
sumers, and their need for protection in that area is great,
the most important protective efforts in the field of con-
sumer protection in recent years relate to consumer credit

* See, e.g., the Massachusetts Legislature’s 1993 amendment
allowing credit card late charges of up to $10.00 in place of its
previous prohibition of such late charges, after the First Circuit
allowed the preemption of that prohibition in Greenwood Trust
Co. v. Commonwealth, 971 F.2d 818 (1st Cir. 1992), cert. denied, 506
U.S. 1052 (1993). Mass. Gen. Laws Ann. c. 140, § 114B as
amended by 1993 Mass. Acts Chapter 151, § 43. The Wisconsin
Legislature is considering a proposal to eliminate limits on late
payment penalties, over-the-limit fees and other non-interest
rate charges in the event this Court determines that late
are “interest” under § 85. Wisconsin Senate Bill 505 (1996).

° Indeed, the Smiley court seems to have substituted its
policy judgments for those of the California lesislature. See
discussion at Pet. App. 35 (e.g. “As a general matter at least, late
payment has no social utility”).

9

protection.” 17 Am. Jur. 2d, Consumer and Borrower Protec-
tion § 1 (1990). State consumer credit laws reflect the now
familiar differences between commercial transactions and
consumer transactions.'' Commercial transactions pre-
sumably involve two knowledgeable parties. One party
does not rely on the other party for fairness or know!l-
edge. Terms of a commercial agreement are usually
understood, even if not expressly bargained for by the
parties. The parties to a commercial transaction custom-
arily have comparable economic positions or interests at
stake, or can select their respective bargaining position in
the marketplace.

On the other hand, consumer transactions are for
personal, not business, use. Consumers frequently lack
experience from repeated transactions and have a more
limited knowledge of the marketplace than the seller.
Most often, contractual documents are not read, much
less bargained for, by consumers.

Under the lower court's ruling, consumers subjected
to unfair or illegal credit and collection practices by an
out-of-state national bank will have no recourse to their
state consumer protection authorities.'2 These officials
will be precluded from enforcing consumer credit laws

** For example, see Crandall, The Wisconsin Consumer Act:
Wisconsin Consumer Credit Laws Before and After, 73 Wis. L. Rev.
334, 357 (1974).

Courts have ruled that national banks have engaged in
improper practices and have taken advantage of customers. See
Beasley v. Wells Fargo Bank, 1 Cal. Rptr. 2d 446 (Ct. App. Ist Dist.
1991); Garrett v. Coast & Southern Fed. Sav. & Loan Assn, 108 Cal.
Rptr. 845, 511 P.2d 1197 (1973).

10

against out-of-state national banks. Further, consumers
will not be able to pursue private statutory or common
law remedies. Moreover, consumer protection authorities
in the state where the bank is located may be less moti-
vated to take action against a local national bank based
on complaints from consumers in another state.

States have expressly extended the territorial applica-
tion of their consumer credit laws to ensure evenhanded
coverage of all credit offers made to consumers within
their borders. These efforts have included statutory
invalidation of choice of law contract terms that provide
that the law of a foreign state controls a consumer credit
transaction.'* As the drafters of the Uniform Consumer
Credit Act recognized in the mid 1960's:

The danger that creditors may be able to
induce consumers to agree that the applicable
law will be that of a creditors’ haven that has no
effective consumer credit protection has led to
invalidating choice of law agreements except
where the law chosen is that of the state of the
consumer's residence.” Uniform Consumer
Credit Code [1968 Act], Comment § 1.201, 7
U.L.A. 595, 619.

State residents are entitled to and reasonably expect
the protection of their own state’s laws. Consumers
should not be subject to the non-interest laws of other
states. While the market arguably regulates the “interest
rates” offered across state lines, it does not regulate back-

'S For example, see Sec. 421.201(10)(a), Wis. Stats.; Aldens,
Inc. v. LaFollette, 552 F.2d 745 (7th Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 434 U.S.
880 (1977).

11

end late fees or other penalties after a loan default. Banks
usually do not compete on the basis of penalties for the
contractual breach, nor are consumers particularly sensi-
tive to those penalties when choosing credit cards.
Because such penalties, like late fees, can be more oppres-
sive than market-based “interest,” the resident states
have a superior interest in limiting such charges when
compared to the interest of a bank’s home state.

Il. SMILEY’S UNWARRANTED INTRUSION INTO
SUBSTANTIVE STATE CONSUMER CREDIT POL-
ICY OVERLOOKS THE FUNDAMENTAL PREM-
ISE THAT A STATE’S POLICE POWER CAN BE
NEGATED ONLY WITH A CLEAR MANDATE
FROM CONGRESS AND THE LANGUAGE AND
HISTORY OF THE FEDERAL STATUTE AT ISSUE.

A. Smiley Refers To But Does Not Apply The Pre-
emption Principles Developed By This Court.

“Consideration of issues arising under the Suprem-
acy Clause ‘start[s] with the assumption that the historic
police powers of the States [are] not to be superseded
by . . . Federal Act unless that [is] the clear and manifest
purposes of Congress.’ ” Cipollone v. Liggett Group, Inc.,
505 U.S. 504, 516 (1992), citing Rice v. Santa Fe Elevator
Corp., 331 U.S. 218, 230 (1947). The requirement that
preemption be found only when there is clear evidence of
Congressional intent applies to consideration of both
express statutory preemption and implied conflict pre-
emption. Freightliner Corp. v. Myrick, 115 S.Ct. 1483, 1488
(1995).

This axiom is essential to the states. Appropriate
deference to state laws helps ensure that Congress does

12

not supersede state legislative enactments except through
deliberate action. Principles of federalism demand no
less.'* By finding that state laws may be preempted by
stretching the definition of a federal law, the majority
opinion below is incompatible with this Court's preemp-
tion decisions.'5

The majority in Smiley did not recognize the clear
meaning and import of this Court’s preemption decisions.
The California Supreme Court initially reviewed the lan-
guage of § 85 and concluded that the term “interest” was
not defined.'© Having done so, it should then have
applied the standard set out in Cipollone: where there is

'* As Chief Justice Rehnquist has emphasized: “Unless the
requisite pre-emptive intent is abundantly clear, we should
hesitate to invalidate state and local legislation for the added
reason that ‘the state is powerless to remove the ill effects of our
decision, while the national government, which has the ultimate
power, remains free to remove the burden.’ ” City of Burbank v.
Lockheed Air Terminal, Inc., 411 U.S. 624, 643 (1973) (Rehnquist, J.,
dissenting) (quoting Penn Dairies, Inc. v. Milk Control Comm'n,
318 U.S. 261, 275 (1943)).

'® As Justice O’Connor has explained, the right to preempt
state law under the Supremacy Clause is an extraordinary
power in a federalist system. The use of this power will not be
implied unless Congress has made its intention clear. To depart
from this standard would place in jeopardy the federalist
system of joint sovereigns. Gregory v. Ashcroft, 111 S. Ct. 2395,
2399 (1991).

‘© The First Circuit Court of Appeals made the same error
in Greenwood Trust Co. v. Massachusetts, 971 F.2d 818 (Ist Cir.
1992), cert. denied, 506 U.S. 1052 (1993), by continuing its
preemption analysis despite finding that“... DIDA’s text and
legislative history are, at bottom, inconclusive.” Id. at 828.

13

no clear evidence of preemptive intent, a finding of fed-
eral preemption is foreclosed. This approach would have
properly limited § 85 to its plain meaning - numerical
interest rates. Instead, without conducting any preemp-
tion analysis whatsoever, the majority relied on Marquette
for the proposition that § 85 preempts state laws relating
to “interest,” and framed the issue as one centering on
the scope of preemption.'” At this point the Smiley major-
ity abandoned preemption principles and looked to sec-
ondary sources to define interest broadly to encompass
any payments obtained from a borrower. Ultimately, the
majority concluded that the power of South Dakota to
dictate non-interest rate terms for California was
“implicit” in the word “interest” as meant by the framers
of the National Bank Act.'* Both the plain meaning of the
statute and its legislative history were ignored.

By forging ahead with an analysis of secondary
sources while overlooking the purpose of § 85 and its

7 In a separate opinion in Cipollone joined by Justices
Kennedy and Souter, Justice Blackmun concurred with the
majority and noted: “The principles of federalism and respect
for state sovereignty that underlie the Court's reluctance to find
pre-emption where Congress has not spoken directly to the
issue apply with equal force where Congress has spoken,
though ambiguously. In such cases, the question is not whether
Congress intended to pre-empt state regulation, but to what
extent. We do not, absent unambiguous evidence, infer a scope
of pre-emption beyond that which clearly is mandated by
Congress’ language.” Cipollone, 505 U.S. at 533. (Emphasis in the
original.)

* “Had Congress intended to limit protection, it would
doubtless have made itself plain. It did not. Its silence is
especially deafening. . . . ” Smiley at Pet. App. 24.

14

legislative history, the decision misapplied important pre-
emption principles. The Smiley majority turned the Cip-
ollone standard on its head by reasoning that because
Congress did not speak plainly to preemption, it must
have intended or implied limitless preemption.

B. Section 30 Was Enacted In 1864 As A Usury
Statute That Prescribed The Rate Of Interest
National Banks Are Permitted To Charge. The
Scope Of Preemption Must Be Interpreted As
Narrowly As Is Consistent With Its Plain Mean-

ing.

The primary objective of Section 30 of the National
Bank Act was to enact a federal usury law for national
banks. This measure, today codified as 12 U.S.C. §§ 85
and 86, prescribed an interest rate ceiling and federal
remedy for usury. It also protected national banks from
discriminatory state usury laws under the “most favored

lender” doctrine articulated by this Court in Tiffany v.
National Bank of Missouri, 85 U.S. (18 Wall.) 409 (1874).

Discriminatory state usury laws are not at issue in
this case. The explicit language of this statute does not
speak to late payment penalty charges or credit terms
other than the rate of interest. The majority in Smiley
conceded correctly that language addressing late pay-
ment penalties or delinquency charges was not present in
the statutory scheme. Further, the legislative history
reveals no evidence of Congressional intent to displace

15

state law regarding penalty charges or payments other
than for interest.!9

The term “interest” in § 85 must be given federal
definition, independent of unique state definitions. This
principle was recognized by this Court in Tiffany which
held that “interest” must “receive a strict, that is literal
construction” to avoid subjecting banks to double interest
penalties under the Act. Id. at 410. While maximum rates
of interest would vary among the states because of differ-
ent state interest rate ceiling laws, the meaning of interest
rate for national banks would be uniform across all the
states. See National Bank v. Johnson, 104 U.S. 271, 277
(1881) (§ 85 of the National Bank Act federalizes the
“rate” of interest, not the character of bank contracts).

In setting limits on rates of interest charged by
national banks under the National Bank Act, Congress
showed great deference to the states: the usury ceiling for
a national bank would be the usury ceiling of that bank’s
home state. Respondent's attempt to use this provision of
the Act, more than one hundred years after its passage, to
engage in wholesale exportation of South Dakota’s caveat
emptor regime, thereby eviscerating the non-usury con-
sumer protection laws of all the other states, turns upside
down Congressional intent and violates Congressional
deference.

19 Justice Arabian's dissent details the historical record
regarding the enactment of the National Bank Act by the 38th
Congress in 1864. The majority does not dispute this analysis,
but takes the term “interest” out of its statutory context and
looks to secondary sources as a basis for its expansive meaning.

16

The Smiley majority failed to point to evidence that
by enacting a federal usury statute, Congress intended to
preempt charges that were not customarily considered in
determining compliance with these laws. The majority
avoided historical authority and reasoning advanced in
the dissenting opinions by suggesting that such authori-
ties concern “lawful interest” in contrast to the more
general concept of “interest” (Smiley, Pet.App. 20, n.8).
However, this distinction would have made no sense to
members of Congress in 1864. Today, this has no greater
persuasive significance.

Section 85 preempts state usury laws but nothing
more. In the 1860’s, late payment penalties were not
included in determining the rate of interest.2° Therefore,
late payment penalties were irrelevant to usury analyses,
imposition of those penalties did not violate state usury
laws, and the regulation of those penalties did not con-
flict with federal usury laws. Today, state laws limiting
late payment penalty charges remain beyond the scope of
federal preemption. The federal usury provisions of the
National Bank Act look to the laws of a national bank’s
home state only to determine the maximum interest rate,
not the laws that regulate (or more precisely, fail to
regulate) late payment penalty charges.

20 See Gower v. Carter, 3 lowa 244 (1856); Ramsey v. Morrison,
39 N.J.L. 591 (1877); Randall v. Home Loan & Investment Co., 12
N.W. 2d 915 (Wis. 1944).

17

C. There Is No Conflict Preemption Because State
Laws Limiting Late Payment Penalties Do Not
Make Compliance With § 85 Impossible Or
Unduly Obstruct The Banking Business.

In the absence of express statutory preemption, con-
flict preemption may be implied where it is impossible to
comply with both state and federal requirements, or
where state law stands as an obstacle to achieving the
intent of Congress. Freightliner Corp. v. Myrick, 115 S. Ct.
1483 (1995). As with express preemption, conflict pre-
emption will not be found unless it is the clear intent and
purpose of Congress. CSX Transp., Inc. v. Easterwood, 113
S. Ct. 1732, 1737 (1993).

When considering preemption under the National
Bank Act, this Court has consistently and repeatedly rec-
ognized that state laws are not to be set aside simply to
accommodate the commercial convenience of national
banks.?! In National Bank v. Commonwealth, 76 U.S. (9
Wall.) 353, 362 (1869), this Court stated:

[National banks] are subject to the laws of the
State, and are governed in their daily course of
business far more by the laws of the State than

21 The Smiley majority suggests that these cases are
inapposite because Marquette determined that state laws related
to “interest” were preempted due to “conflict” with federal law.
(Smiley, Pet.App. 12, n.4) However, Justice Brennan looked to
the plain meaning of the statutory text to determine that the rate
of interest was determined by the law of the state where the bank
was located. Marquette did not hold that the preemption
analysis of prior decisions under the National Bank Act was
inapplicable when express terms of the Act do not conflict with
state law.

18

of the nation. All their contracts are governed
and construed by state laws. Their acquisition
and transfer of property, their right to collect
their debts, and their liability to be sued for
debts, are all based on state law. It is only when
the state law incapacitates the banks from dis-
charging their duties to the government that it
becomes unconstitutional.

This principle has been balanced with national banks’
role as federal instrumentalities. State action which con-
flicts with or frustrates the purpose of the federal act is
void. Davis v. Elmira Savings Bank, 161 U.S. 275, 283
(1896). Almost one hundred years ago this Court recon-
ciled these principles in McClellan v. Chipman, 164 U.S.
347, 357 (1896):

These two propositions, which are distinct,
yet harmonious, practically contain a rule and
an exception, the rule being the operation of
general state laws upon the dealings and con-
tracts of national banks, the exception being the
cessation of the operation of such laws when-
ever they expressly conflict with the laws of the
United States or frustrate the purpose for which
the national banks were created, or impair their
efficiency to discharge the duties imposed upon
them by the law of the United States.

The application of these principles to this case does
not evidence a clear intent to preempt state laws as held
by the majority below. First, it is not impossible for
national banks to comply with both § 85 and non-
discriminatory state laws limiting late payment penalty
charges and other non-interest terms so as to infer con-
gressional intent to preempt contrary state law. National
banks may comply with home state interest rate limits,

19

while conforming to laws governing non-interest charges
and other terms of the states where their customers res-
ide.?2

Second, the Smiley majority did not demonstrate that
the state laws limiting late payment penalty charges frus-
trated the purposes of the National Bank Act or somehow
prevented banks from discharging their duties under fed-
eral law. The federal duties or purposes of national
banks were laid out in the National Bank Act and its
legislative history and include: “to establish a system of

22 The majority’s concern that limiting national banks to the
“varying laws of the several states .. . might ‘throw into
confusion the complex system of modern interstate banking.’ ”
(Smiley, Pet.App. 29), quoting Marquette, 439 U.S. at p. 312) is ill-
founded. Justice Brennan was concerned about using the place
of the transaction, not the customer’s state of residence, as the
basis for selection of the law to be applied. Moreover,
sophisticated computer technology enables other interstate
sellers to conform to consumer protection laws of states where
customers reside. Today, creditors, other than financial entities
under federal interest rate laws, operate on a national scale and
extend consumer credit terms which comply with the laws of
the states where the customer resides. See Aldens, Inc. v. Packel,
524 F.2d 38 (3d Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 425 U.S. 943 (1976); Aldens,
Inc. v. Miller, 610 F.2d 538 (8th Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 446 U.S.
919 (1980).

23 The Smiley majority suggests that an obstacle to federal
policies would exist if a state were to set interest rates to
unprofitably low rates, yet permit lenders other than national
banks to impose high penalty charges so as to drive national
banks out of business. (Pet.App. 22) However, this scenario is
not realistic. It assumes, inter alia, that favored banks would
seek out chronic delinquents (and jeopardize repayment of
principal and interest) so as to maximize late payment penalties.

20

national banking institutions, in order to provide a uni-
form and secure currency for the people and facilitate the
operations of the Treasury of the United States.” Mercan-
tile Bank v. New York, 121 U.S. 138, 154 (1887).

State laws regarding credit terms other than the rate
of interest do not impede, frustrate, or incapacitate
national banks from achieving these federal purposes.
The Smiley majority does not point to a real impediment
created by requiring national banks to be subject to state
laws in an area traditionally reserved to the states.

Furthermore, federal intervention in the consumer
credit area does not occupy the field and foreclose state
involvement apart from interest rate limits under usury
laws. Far from evidencing a desire to occupy the entire
field of consumer credit, the federal government's inter-
vention in this area has been cautious, limited and delib-
erately deferential to state laws.24 Generally, federal
provisions only preempt state law when state law either
offers less protection than, or is inconsistent with, the
federal law.?5

24 For example, the federal Truth-in-Lending Act, 15 U.S.C.
1601 et seq., regulates consumer lending disclosures but
explicitly leaves intact substantive state consumer protection
laws. See, 15 U.S.C. sec. 1610. Similar deference to state law is
demonstrated in the Equal Credit Opportunity Act, 15 U.S.C.
secs. 1691-1691f (see, 15 U.S.C. sec. 1691d(f)), the Fair Debt
Collection Practices Act, 15 U.S.C. secs. 1692-16920 (see, 15
U.S.C. sec. 1692n) and the Electronic Fund Transfers Act, 15
U.S.C. sec. 1693-1693r (see, 15 U.S.C. sec. 1693q).

25 For example, the legislative history of the Depository
Institutions Deregulation and Monetary Control Act of 1980
(DIDA), 12 U.S.C.A. § 1831, is instructive to an understanding of

21

The test for preemption is not inconvenience, nor
even a claim of financial detriment to a private institu-
tion, but whether the state laws frustrate the purpose of
the federal legislation. State laws are not preempted
because they may modify defendants’ options in a partic-
ular state; they are preempted only if they interfere with
the federal purpose behind the National Bank Act.
Absent federal preemption, states, not banks, and not
even national banks, determine the laws, benefits and
protection afforded to their consumers.

Congress’ intent with respect to the notion of interest contained
in the National Bank Act. “Although the NBA [National Bank
Act] was enacted 100 years earlier, the same tensions, namely
parity between federal and state lenders and preservation of
local usury laws, were present and these conflicting
considerations generated substantial concerns surrounding the
passage of the earlier banking statute. The record of
Congressional debate and deliberation concerning the
enactment of DIDA strongly supports the understanding that
preemption of credit-card regulation under DIDA is confined to
traditional numerical interest rates .. . . Thus, the fact that
Congress was specifically concerned about effecting a
preemption limited to numerical interest rates is significant. If
we cannot attribute to legislative initiative of 15 years ago the
intent to include discrete, specialized charges within a
definition of interest, we cannot ascribe that expansive
definition of a legislative initiative that occurred over 100 years
earlier.” Sherman v. Citibank (South Dakota), N.A., No. A-102-94
slip op., Pet.App. 151, 160-64 (N.J. Nov. 28, 1995).

22

Ill. AGENCY INTERPRETATIONS SUPPORTING
PREEMPTION UNDER § 85 ARE NOT ENTITLED
TO DEFERENCE BECAUSE THEY CONTRADICT
CONGRESSIONAL INTENT TO PREEMPT
STATE CONSUMER CREDIT LAWS NARROWLY.

The decision below bolsters its expansive construc-
tion by reference to interpretations of the Office of Comp-
troller of the Currency (OCC) and its rulemaking
proposal to define “interest” broadly to include almost
any charge a national bank may impose upon a borrower.
60 Fed. Reg. at 11940 (March 3, 1995). Recently the OCC
issued the final rule which includes such a sweeping
definition of interest.26 However, the lower court did not
base its decision on these administrative actions which
are entitled to neither weight nor deference.

Although the OCC rule purports to define “interest,”
the obvious consequence will be the wholesale preemp-
tion of state laws limiting charges not included in calcu-
lating a rate of interest imposed by out-of-state national

26 The final text is as follows: “The term ‘interest’ as used in
12 U.S.C. 85 includes any payment compensating a creditor or
prospective creditor for an extension of credit, making available
of a line of credit, or any default or breach by a borrower of a
condition upon which credit was extended. It includes, among
other things, the following fees connected with credit extension
or availability: numerical periodic rates, late fees, not sufficient
funds (NSF) fees, overlimit fees, annual fees, cash advance fees,
and membership fees. It does not ordinarily include appraisal
fees, premiums and commissions attributable to insurance
guaranteeing repayment of any extension of credit, finders’
fees, fees for document preparation or notarization, or fees
incurred to obtain credit reports.” 60 Fed. Reg. at 4869 (February
9, 1996). 12 C.F.R. § 7.4001(a).

23

banks.?” However, Congress has never explicitly pre-
empted state limitations on non-interest charges such as
late charges, default charges or state limitations on
charges related to collection costs, such as attorney fees.

The OCC’s rulemaking attempt to preempt state laws
conflicts with the spirit if not the letter of § 114 of the
Riegle-Neal Interstate Banking and Branching Efficiency
Act of 1994, P.L. 103-328, Sept. 29, 1994, 108 Stats. 2338.
That Act requires agencies to specify particular state
banking laws which are to be administratively pre-
empted. The OCC did not attempt in the preamble or in
the text of the rule to identify those state laws, thereby
depriving states of adequate notice of the potential pre-
emptive impact of the proposed rule. Without such
notice, many states may not realize that substantial por-
tions of their versions of the Uniform Commercial Code,
the Uniform Consumer Credit Code, the Retail Install-
ment Sales Act and the common law of contracts, collec-
tions, attorney fees and penalties have been displaced by
administrative fiat.

The legislative history of Riegle-Neal makes clear
Congressional intent to narrowly preempt state consumer
protection laws:

27 The OCC’s definition of “interest” does not apply to all
transactions. In order to enable national banks located in states
with fixed interest rate limits to avoid violating these usury
laws ~ a likely result if late payment penalty fees and other
charges were included as part of the interest rate - OCC’s rule
states that the definition is not to be used for credit extended
within the state where the bank is located. 12 C.F.R. § 7.4001(c).
The OCC offers no reasoned explanation for this approach.

24

States have a strong interest in the activities and
operations of depository institutions doing busi-
ness within their jurisdictions. States have a
legitimate interest in protecting the rights of
their consumers, businesses, and commu-
nities . . . Congress does not intend that the
Interstate Banking and Branching Efficiency Act
of 1994 alter this balance and thereby weaken
States’ authority to protect the interests of their
consumers, businesses, or communities. . . .

It is of utmost concern to the Conferees that
the agencies issue opinion letters and in
tive rules concluding that Federal law preempts
state law regarding community reinvestment,
consumer protection, fair lending, or establish-
ment of intrastate branches only when the agency
has determined that the Federal policy interest in
preemption is clear.

H. Conf. Rep. No. 651, 103rd Cong., 2nd Sess. 53
reprinted in 1994 U.S.C.C.A.N. 2068, 2074 (emphasis
added)

Long-standing principles of administrative law pro-
hibit giving any weight to the OCC’s actions. First, there
is no explicit congressional mandate to the OCC regard-
ing § 85 or relating to the definition of the preemptive
reach of the Act. The interpretations and rule definition
do not advance traditional administrative objectives or
fill in the gaps of statutory coverage or explain how the
comptroller will exercise discretion in the future. Cf. Per-
due v. Crocker Nat'l Bank, 38 Cal. 3d 913, 702 P.2d 503, 523,
n. 38 (Cal. 1985), appeal dismissed, 475 U.S. 1001 (1986).

Second, the interpretations themselves are of ques-
tionable authority as they are not based on the banking

25

expertise of the agency. Instead they are quasi-judicial
determinations of whether state consumer protection
laws are preempted by federal banking laws.

Finally, as has been shown above, the conclusion
advanced by the OCC - that interest rate includes other
charges - cannot be reconciled with the plain language
and Congressional intent of § 85. “|A]n agency’s inter-
pretation of a statute is not entitled to deference when it
goes beyond the meaning that the statute can bear... ”
MCI Telecommunications v. AT&T, 114 S.Ct. 2223, 2231
(1994). These recent interpretations and rulemaking are
nothing more than an attempt to shore up the position of
national banks in pending litigation. The courts, not an
administrative agency without authorization from Con-
gress, are the final authority on these issues of statutory
construction. Administrative constructions which are
contrary to clear congressional intent must be rejected.
The OCC should not have attempted to accomplish indi-
rectly what Congress only recently has refused to pre-
empt directly.

26

CONCLUSION

For the above reasons, the judgment of the California
Supreme Court should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

Scott HARSHBARGER
Attorney General
of Massachusetts

Ernest L. SARASON, JR.

(Counsel of Record)

Assistant Attorney General

One Ashburton Place, 19th Floor
Boston, Massachusetts 02108
(617) 727-2200

Date: March 1, 1996

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0672%3A13. Public record. Not legal advice.
