# Reply Brief — M. L. B. v. S. L. J. (No. 95-853)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0670%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1996

## Text

nm ~ Ourt, U.
(>) : a Ss eae a

No. 95-853 | FEB 28 1996

) » CLERK
In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1995
+

M.L.B.,

Petitioner,
Vs.

S.L.J., INDIVIDUALLY, AND AS NEXT FRIEND
OF THE MINOR CHILDREN, S.L.J. AND M.LJ.,
AND HIS WIFE, J.PJ.,

Respondents.
.
On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The Supreme Court Of Mississippi
+

PETITIONER’S REPLY MEMORANDUM
.

*Rosert B. McDurr

771 North Congress Street
Jackson, Mississippi 39202
(601) 969-0802

Danny LAMPLEY

ACLU/M Cooperating Attorney
Post Office Box 7245

Tupelo, Mississippi 38802

(601) 840-4006

Marina HsietH

Boalt Hall School of Law
University of California
Berkeley, California 94720
(510) 642-4474

Counsel for Petitioner
*Counsel of Record

Ni

TABLE OF CONTENTS ......
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ....

THE IMPORTANCE OF THE FEDERAL
CONSTITUTIONAL ISSUE ...

THE CONFLICT AMONG THE COURTS

CONCLUS ION . . id . ° . .

ii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Boddie v. Connecticut, 401 U.S.
371 (1971) 7 . >. >. . om . .

Carson v. Natchez Children’s
Home, 580 So.2d 1248 (Miss.
1991) o o > > 7. >. — >. >. ° >.

De La Oliva v. Lowndes County
Dept. of Public Welfare, 423
So.2d 1328 (Miss. 1982) ..

Doe V. Attorney W., 410 So.2d
1312 (Miss. 1982) .....

G.M.R., Sr. Ve H.E.S., 489 So.
2d 498 (Miss. 1986) ....

Griffin v. Illinois, 351 U.S.
12 (1956) . >. >. . _ >. > >. >

In Re Adoption of a Female
Child,412 So.2d 1175
(Miss. 1982) . . . . . . .

In Re Marriage of Valleroy,
548 U.S. 857 (Mo., 1977) °

Lassiter v. Department of
Social Services, 452 U.S.
18 (1991) > >. . >. > > > . >.

Lecates v. Justice of the
Peace Court No. 4, 637
F.2d 898 (3rd Cir. 1980) °

Lindsey v. Normet, 405 U.S.
56 (1972) . . . . . . . 7 .

iii

Mayer v. Chicago, 404 U.S.
189 (1971) im @ 6 6 e «

Natural Mother v. Paternal]
Aunt, 583 So.2d 614 (Miss.
1991) >. — al > oo > = — = = =

Nickens v. Melton, 38 U.S.
BGS (Sth Cis. 1996) ....

Ortwein v. Schwab, 410 U.S.
656 (1973) a 6 6 © @ «

Petit v. Holifield, 44?
So.2d 874 (Miss 1°84) ...

Rich v. Lang, 604 P.2d. 1248
(Okla. 1979) ie ee.) S » «

Vance v. Lincoln County Dept.

of Public Welfare, 582 So.2d
414 (Miss. 1991) eeeee

Statutes & Rules
Miss. Code §§ 93-15-103 ....
Rule 10(b), U.S. Supreme Court

Rules 16 - 17, Miss. Rules of
App. Procedure -~ a oe

PETITIONER'S REPLY MEMORANDUM

Nowhere does the Respondent's brief address the
Petitioner's claim that certiorari should be granted because
this case implicates a fundamental right — specifically, the
right of a parent in her relationship with her child. Instead,
the Respondent bases its contention that certiorari should be
refused upon case law which, for the most part, deals with the
denial of in forma pauperis appeals in situations where no
fundamental rights are at stake.

of the federal constitutional issue involved in this case, and

THE IMPORTANCE OF THE
FEDERAL CONSTITUTIONAL ISSUE

As noted in the Petition, the issue raised in this case is
an important one that has yet to be decided by this Court, and
the decision of the Mississippi Supreme Court conflicts with
the reasoning of this Court's holdings in Griffin v. Illinois,
351 U.S. 12 (1956), and Boddie v. Connecticut, 401 U.S. 371
(1971). The Respondent claims, however, that the Mississippi
Supreme Court's decision “is in conformity with this Court's
decision Ortwein v. Schwab, 410 U.S. 656 (1973),”
Respondent's Brief at 2, and that Ortwein specifically stated
that Boddie “was not concerned with post-hearing review.”
Id., quoting 410 U.S. at 659. While it is true that Boddie
involved a trial court proceeding and Ortwein an appeal, this
Court specifically based its decision in Ortwein on the fact
that the interest in that case - seeking increased welfare
payments -- had what this Court called “far less constitutional
significance than the interest of the Boddie appellants.”
Ortwein, 410 U.S. at 659. Boddie dealt with the dissolution
of a marriage, which is of a similar magnitude, in terms of
constitutional significance, as the dissolution of parental rights

2

that occurred in the present case. This distinguishes both
Boddie and the present case from Ortwein. Moreover, the fee
required in Ortwein was only twenty-five dollars, while the
Mississippi Supreme Court in the present case required the
advance payment of over two thousand dollars. None of
these crucial points are addressed by the Respondent.

As for Griffin, the Respondent contends that Griffin and
its progeny “are not relevant since they deal only with
criminal cases.” Resp. Br. at 3. This fails to recognize that
this Court specifically has discussed Griffin in the context of
civil cases, stating in Boddie that “the rationale of Griffin
covers this case.” 401 U.S. at 382. See also, Lindsey v.
Normet, 405 U.S. 56, 77 (1972) (citing Griffin in the course
of striking down a _ procedural requirement that
unconstitutionally burdened the availablity of appeals for
some civil litigants). Indeed, the present case falls within the
intersection of the principles in Griffin, which involved an
appeal in a criminal case, and those in Boddie, which
involved a trial court proceeding relating to a fundamental
right in a civil case, and that is one of the reasons this Court
should grant certiorari to review this case.

Also, with respect to Griffin and its progeny, nowhere
does the Respondent address the very important point that, for
many parents, the termination of parental rights by a state
court is a much more grievous harm that what could be
imposed by a state court in a misdemeanor criminal case, see,
Mayer v. Chicago, 404 U.S. 189 (1971) (indigent defendant
has a right to provision of a transcript for appeal in a case
where he was faced with a $500 fine, and no imprisonment,
for two misdemeanor offenses), or even in a felony case.

In this connection, the Respondent states that there were
no allegations in the present case upon which criminal
charges could be lodged against the Petitioner. Accordingly,

says the Respondent:

[T}he statement by the Court in Lassiter v. Department
of Social Services, 452 U.S. 18 (1991), that appointed
counsel may be required in a termination of parental
rights case if there are allegations upon which criminal
charges could be based is not applicable to this case.

Resp. Br. at 4. Of course, Lassiter held that a number of
factors should be considered in determining whether
appointment of counsel is constitutionally required in any
given parental termination case, and only one of them --
mentioned in passing by the Court -- is whether the case
included allegations of criminal activity. 452 U.S. at 27 n.3,
31. But even in Lassiter, in which the parental termination
proceeding also involved no allegations of criminal conduct
toward the child, id. at 32, the Court held that the
Constitution requires at least an individual evaluation of
whether the appointment of counsel was required in that
particular case. The Mississippi Supreme Court's practice,
refusing across-the-board to permit in forma pauperis civil
appeals, does not allow even that much, although this Court's
decisions establish that the right of access to existing
appellate avenues is much broader than the right to counsel.
See, Petition for Certiorari at 16, and the cases cited therein.

The Respondent attempts to denigrate the importance of
the present case by contending that even if the Petitioner were
constitutionally entitled to appeal despite her indigency, it is
unlikely she would prevail on any such appeal to the
Mississippi Supreme Court. Resp. Br. at 6-7 and n. 6. Of
course, that is beside the point. The question here is whether
the Petitioner has the constitutional right to appeal the
termination of her parental rights just as a wealthier person
can, even though the Petitioner cannot pay over $2,000 in
advance of the appeal.

7 and n. 6, the Mississippi Supreme Court has said it will
hesitate to reverse a termination of parental rights if the
evidentiary standard has not been met. Pet. Cert. at 13-14.

Indeed, from 1980 to the present, there are sixteen
reported Mississippi Supreme Court cases citing the
termination statute, Miss. Code § 93-15-103. (Only about a
year ago did Mississippi begin utilizing an intermediate Court
of Appeals, but appeals still lie to the Supreme Court, which
determines whether to keep the cases or send them to the
Court of Appeals. See Rules 16-17, Miss. Rules of App.

meet the evi standard, Petit v. Holifield, 443 So.2d
874 (Miss. 1984); De La Oliva vy. Lowndes County Dept. of
Public Welfare, 423 So.2d 1328 (Miss. 1982); In Re Adoption
of a Female Child, 412 So.2d 1175 (Miss. 1982), while five
were affirmed. Natural Mother v. Paternal Aunt, 583 So.2d
614 (Miss. 1991); Vance v. Lincoln County Dept. of Public
Welfare, 582 So.2d 414 (Miss. 1991); Carson vy. Natchez
Children's Home, 580 So.2d 1248 (Miss. 1991); G.M.R., Sr.
v. H.E.S., 489 So.2d 498 (Miss. 1986); Doe v. Attorney W.,
410 So.2d 1312 (Miss. 1982).

5

Thus, any suggestion that appellate review is unimportant
or unavailing in these cases is simply wrong. Given the
availability of appellate review to parents who are not
indigent and the fundamental nature of the interest at stake,
the present case raises a very important issue of constitutional
law.

THE CONFLICT AMONG THE COURTS

The Respondent does not dispute the fact that the
decisions of at least five state supreme courts are at odds with
the holding of the Mississippi Supreme Court in the present
case, see Pet. Cert. at 20-21. Instead, the Respondent
contends that these other decisions “are aberrations based on
the predeliction of the individual justices rather than well
reasoned opinions.” Resp. Br. at 5, n. 5. That is a rather
reckless and unsupportable statement. But more importantly,
whether those other cases are the result of individual
“predelictions” or serious constitutional analysis, they create
a conflict that is appropriate for this Court's review and
resolution on certiorari. See Rule 10(b) of the Rules of this

costs for her to appeal the details of the terms of the
dissolution, this came in a context where she nevertheless

6

could afford to appeal inasmuch as she did appeal, and
inasmuch as the appellate court reviewed her claim on the
merits. In the other case, Rich v. Lang, 604 P.2d 1248 (Okla.
1979), the indigent parent was permitted to appeal, in forma
pauperis and on the merits, the denial of his termination of
parental rights without paying the cost deposit, even though
the Court held that a transcript was unnecessary and that he
was not entitled to a transcript in the context of that case.
That is a far cry from the present case, where the Mississippi
Supreme Court will not even consider the possibility of an in
forma pauperis appeal and will not consider waiving the cost
deposit -- irrespective of any questions about the necessity of
a transcript.

As for the federal courts of appeals cases cited by the
Respondent, Resp. Br. at 2, 4, none of them involved
fundamental rights of the type at issue here. See, e.g.,
Nickens v. Melton, 38 F.3d 183, 185 n. 5 (Sth Cir. 1994) (“we
note that the interest here at stake . . . is not as fundamental
as, for example, marriage or liberty”). With respect to
Lecates v. Justice of the Peace Court No. 4, 637 F.2d 898
(3rd Cir. 1980), the Respondent is correct that it hinged in
part on the right to obtain a jury trial with a law-trained judge
as part of the appeal de novo from a Justice of the Peace
court to a court of record. Resp. Br. at 4-5. In that sense, it
is different from the present case. But Lecates is relevant,
and in conflict with the present case, inasmuch as it suggests
that if a state creates court procedures that are available to
litigants dissatisfied with the initial court proceeding in a civil
case, access to the subsequent proceedings may not hinge on
a litigant’s wealth without violating the federal constitution.
637 F.2d at 909.

)
CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, as well as those set out in the
Petition, the writ of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully Submitted,

ROBERT B. McDUFF*
771 North Congress Street
Jackson, Mississippi 39202
(601) 969-0802

DANNY LAMPLEY

ACLU/M Cooperating Attorney
Post Office Box 7245

Tupelo, Mississippi 38802
(601) 840-4006

MARINA HSIEH

Boalt Hall School of Law
University of California
Berkeley, California
(510) 642-4474

Counsel for Petitioner

* Counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0670%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
