# Amicus Curiae Brief — Bennett v. Spear

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0666%3A20

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1997
- **Citation:** 520 U.S. 154

## Text

fan
/

No. 95-813 1 Oh

— — a

IN THE UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT
OCTOBER TERM, 1995

BRAD BENNETT, et al., Petitioners,
Vs.

MARVIN PLENERT, et al., Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals, Ninth Circuit

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE STATE OF TEXAS
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

DAN MORALES
Attorney General of Texas

JORGE VEGA
First Assistant Attorney General

JAVIER P. GUAJARDO*
Special Assistant Attorney General
*Counsel of Record

SAM GOODHOPE

Special Assistant Attorney General
P.O. Box 12548, Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711-2548

(512) 463-2191

COUNSEL FOR AMICUS CURIAE

TABLE OF CONTENTS
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

DURUS OG We ec cccccccccehecvccctccccces 1

The Self-Governing Interests of the State of
Texas Are Adversely Affected by the Ninth
Circuit’s Decision .........

The Property Interests of the State of Texas

and Its Citizens are Threatened ............. 2

The Property Interests of the Plaintiff-Petitioners

are Left Unprotected .................005. 5

Fundamental Protections of Private Property Are
Abandoned by the Ninth Circuit

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

I. Consequences of the Ninth Circuit’s Opinion .. .
A. The Ninth Circuit’s Opinion Renders
Hollow the Promise of Article III
B. The Ninth Circuit’s Failure to Embrace
Article II] Disrupts the Proper Balance of
State and Federal Powers and Damages the
neo ee

- The USFWS Tramples the Private
Property Rights of Texas Citizens
- The States and Their Citizens Must

Be Able to Vindicate Their Self-Governing

and Private Property Rights

II. The Analytical Shortcomings of the Ninth

Circuit’s Amalysis .........0eceeeeeeeees 20

A. The Ninth Circuit Misreads 16 U.S.C.

pt a a aD 21
B. The Ninth Circuit Failed to Acknowledge

the Significance Given by the Court to
Economic Interests in Standimg Doctrine ... 25
CONCLUSION ...... ccc cccccccvasessesceces 28
APPENDICES
Private Groups Endorsing this Brief.............. la

Map of Counties Potentially Affected by USFWS’
Designation of Endangered or Threatened Species ... 5a

Letters to Central Texas Landowners

1. Mr. & Mrs. Igua (Feb. 20, 1991) ......... 6a
2. Marge Krueger .........5 cece eeeeees 8a
3. Phil Frazier (June 24, 1993) ........... 10a
4. Keith E. Young (Dec. 3, 1993) .......... 12a
5. Patrick Noack (Jan. 13, 1994) .......... l4a
6. Jerri Garner (Jan. 13, 1994) ........... l6a
7. Rex Bohls (Jan. 13, 1994) .........445. 18a
8. Lee Sherrod (Jan. 25, 1994) ........... 20a
9. Lee Sherrod (April 14, 1994). .......... 22a

10. Fran and Larry Collmann (Sept. 23, 1994) 25a
11. Glenn Williams/Terry Wynn (Jan. 13, 1994) 28a
12. Stan & Donna Buck (June 9, 1994) ...... 30a
13. Lee Sherrod (Sept. 22, 1994). .......... 32a

iii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES

Alabama-Tombigbee Rivers Coalition v. Fish and Wildlife
Service, No. 93-AR-2322-S, 1993 WL 646409 (N.D. Ala.
Nov. 9, 1993), aff'd, 26 F.3d 1103 (11th Cir. 1994) .. 10

American Tobacco Co. v. Patterson, 456 U.S. 63 (1982) . 24

Association of Data Processing Service
Organizations, Inc. v. Camp, 397 U.S. 150 (1970)... 26

Babbitt v. Sweet Home Chapter of Communities fora

Greater Oregon, 115 S.Ct. 2407 (1995) .......... 28
Bennett v. Plenert, 63 F.3d 915 (9th Cir. 1995) .... passim
Calder v. Bull, 3 U.S. (3 Dall.) 386 (1798) ........... 6

California Coastal Comm'n v. Granite Rock Co.,
oo ee 15

Catron County Bd. of Comm'rs, New Mexico v

United States Fish & Wildlife Service,

75 F.3d 1429 (10th Cir. 1996)................. 21
Central Arizona Water Conservation Dist. v. United

States Environmental Protection Agency, 990 F.2d 1531,
PN I oo bo Gb4 dub We ccc ode 21

Clarke v. Securities Industry Ass'n, 479 U.S. 388 (1987) . 20
Crowell v. Benson, 285 U.S. 22 (1932)

Delaware v. New York, 113 S. Ct. 1550 (1993)

iv
Dolan v. City of Tigard, 114 S.Ct. 2309 (1994) ....... 15
Douglas County v. Babbitt, 48 F.3d 1495

le 2 errr rr re ree 21
Federal Energy Regulatory Comm'n v. Mississippi,

456 UB. P42 CIGEZ) on ccc ccc cccccccccceces 13
Fidelity Federal Savings & Loan Assoc. v. de la Cuesta,

458 U.S. 141 (19BZ) cc ccc ccc ccc cccceces 15
Gladstone Realtors v. Village of Bellwood,

O60 UD. GE CIDTID cc cccccccccccccscccccees 23
Gregory v. Ashcroft, 501 U.S. 452 (1991) ........---. 13
Immigration and Naturalization Service v.

Cardoza-Fonseca, 107 S.Ct. 1207 (1987) ...... 22, 24
Lake County v. Rollins, 130 U.S. 662 (1889) ......... 22
Lane County v. Oregon, 7 Wall. 71 (1869) .......... 14

Lujan v. Defenders of Wildlife, 504 U.S. 555 (1992) . 21, 27

Mausolf v. Babbitt, 913 F. Supp. 1334

Ce BE SE db cobb ccdobevececcéesees 10, 11
Mul_ane v. Central Hanover Bank & Trust Co.,

SOD UG. FEB CIRRED ccccccccccccccsaccccees 19
Nevada v. Hall, 440 U.S. 410 (1979) ... 2.6... 66 665- 12
New York v. United States, 112 S.Ct. 2408 (1992) ..... 13

Pacific Northwest Generating Co-op v. Brown,
25 F.3d 1443, 1450 (9th Cir. 1994). ............ 21

v

Perrin v. United States, 444 U.S. 37 (1979) ......... 22
Rodriguez v. United States, 107 S.Ct. 1391 (1987) .. 23, 24
Seminole Tribe v. Florida, 116 S.Ct. 1114 (1996) ...... 12

State of Idaho, by and through Idaho Public Utilities
Comm'n v. Interstate Commerce Comm'n,

eK Ee 21
Tennessee Valley Authority v. Hill,

Se EEE 6 pb dveecdced¢eoeestu's 23, 25
Texas v. White, 7 Wall. 700 (1869) ............... 19

United States v. Geyser, 932 F.2d 1330 (9th Cir. 1991) .. 22
United States v. Locke, 471 U.S. 84 (1985) .......... 24
United States v. Lopez, 115 S.Ct. 1624 (1995) ........ 12

Valley Forge Christian College v. Americans United for
Separation of Church and State, Inc..,

SE Cacwdes cv gene 666% ee tee. 9
Warth v. Seldin, 422 U.S. 490 (1975) .............. 15
Watt v. Alaska, 451 U.S. 259 (1981) ............... 21

Watt v. Energy Action Educational Foundation,
os ee Ede sods cones 27

vi

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

Sf PP PPE TPE RETER LEE EET eT passim
ees I OGD ov ok ccccccccetevesceuseans 2
U.S. Comet. amend. Xo... ccc ccc eee eens passim
es GQ ED sh cwwedcnccnvcdsedeceeen 14

STATUTES, LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS AND RULE

Se geskaduadua 3
16 U.S.C. § 1531(c)(2), §2(cM 2)... eee ee 3
ME loo ela ica vodedes 3
1G UBC. 6 ISTMSMAD .... 2. cee eee eee eee 25
SE eo. oo cade aedeenaber 3
ee ee iu awes 3
I 8, ok oac cucu ctccekeedus 25
BO I III. Co os cisccccccccccescs 25
16 U.S.C. § 1533(b( IMA) . 0... ee eee 25
I ED oo cuskccccscdesenns 25
MM TE fil occ kv been Saasikcewces 18
oe cNeaecusvewcnets 16
i ot erit ee ceewrent 21
ee ee aedonceuweee 25
16 U.S.C. § 1540(g) .. 0.0.0.0... 21, 22, 23, 25
16 U.S.C. § 1540(gX IMA) 2.000. eee ee eee. 22
16 U.S.C. § 1540(gX 1B)... 0.0.0 ee eee. 22
16 U.S.C. § 1540(gMIKC) ooo. ee eee 22, 25
ee 24
SU I aio vc cca vdccccecccas 15
43 U.S.C. §§ 371, 485(f)-(h), 511-13 2.2... 5
43 U.S.C. §§ 1701, 1712(cX9) .........0- 000 ee 15
Publ. No. 95-632, 92 Stat. 3571 (1978) ............. 25
I I ae i ccc pine 0c cuccexas 25
ee oS) a 25

H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 95-1804, 95th Cong., 2d Sess. (1978) 25

GR, Gs Be 6 ccc ecckacceseceaccctesevucens l

vii
OTHER AUTHORITIES

Bryan Arroyo, Threatened and Endangered Species of Texas,
DEPARTMENT OF THE INTERIOR, U.S. FISH AND WILDLIFE
Service, Aug. 1992 ........................ 3

Cass R. Sunstein, What's Standing After Lujan? of
Citizen Suits, “Injuries, "and Article III,
91 Mich. L.R. 163 (1992)................. 27, 28

Deborah Jones Merritt, The Guarantee Clause and State
Autonomy: Federalism for a Third Century, 88 CoLUm. L.
REV. 1, 23 (1988) (“Guarantee Clause and State
Autonomy”), citing The Federalist No. 39 (James
EE WAC e ie ee 14

-- — | he ac aap “New” Endangered

S Act: | ing and Redefining the Untapped
Power of Ordeal Agencies’ Duty to Conserve Species,
75 ENVTL. L. 1107, 1109 (1995) ............... 18

La Pierre, The Political Safeguards of Federalism Redux:
Intergovernmental Immunity and the States as Agents of
the Nation, 60 Wash. U.L.Q. 779, 790-92 & nn. 31-33

te BR lens SI ari ee, la 14
R. DICKERSON, THE INTERPRETATION AND

APPLICATION OF STATUTES, 231 (1975) ........... 22
San Antonio Express News, July 27,1994 ............ 5

No. 95-813

a

IN THE UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT
OCTOBER TERM, 1995

BRAD BENNETT, et al., Petitioners,
vs.

MARVIN PLENERT, et al., Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals, Ninth Circuit

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE STATE OF TEXAS
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

LS

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE
STATE OF TEXAS

The Attorney General of the amicus curiae State of Texas
submits this brief, pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 37.4, on
behalf of the State of Texas (“Texas”), and the private groups
that have endorsed this brief,' to bring to the attention of the
Court the adverse impact of the Ninth Circuit’s decision in
Bennett v. Plenert, 63 F.3d 915 (9th Cir. 1995) (“Plenert”) on

' The list of the twenty-one private groups that have endorsed this brief is
included in the Appendix at 1a. Citations to the Appendix to this brief will
be cited as: Texas App. at la.

2

the state’s self-governing rights and powers. Texas also submits
this brief in its capacity as parens patriae in order to ensure that
the doors of the federal judiciary remain open to Texas citizens,
when necessary, to protect their rights in property and interests

in contracts.’

The Self-Governing Interests of the State of Texas Are
Adversely Affected by the Ninth Circuit’s Decision

The property rights of Texas citizens are defined,
maintained, and protected by state laws, and rules, regulations,
and ordinances promulgated pursuant to state law. This body of
state law and the right to establish and set forth the preservation
of private property under state law is protected from federal
government intrusion by the Tenth Amendment,’ the Guarantee
Clause,‘ and the inherent structure of the United States

Constitution.

The Property Interests of the State of Texas and Its
Citizens are Threatened

The listing of a species as endangered and the concomitant
designation of the critical habitat by a federal agency have a

> Throughout this brief, the plaintiffs below will be referred to as “plaintiff-
petitioners” and the defendants below will be referred to as “defendant-

respondents.”

* U.S. CONST. amend. X (“Tenth Amendment”): “The powers not delegated
to the United States by the Constitution, nor prohibited by it to the States, are
reserved to the States respectively, or to the people.”

* U.S. CONST. art. IV, § 4 (“Guarantee Clause”): “The United States shall
guarantee to every State in this Union a Republican Form of Government.”

|

3

direct impact on the interests of private land owners in Texas.’
Every time the United States Fish and Wildlife Service
(“USFWS”) lists and designates critical habitat under sections
3 and 4 of the Endangered Species Act (“ESA”), 16 U.S.C. §§
1532, 1533, it potentially affects a substantial portion of the
land in Texas. This is so because of the USFWS’ over-
expansive interpretation and use of the ESA and because over
ninety-eight percent of the land in Texas is private or state-
owned land. The federal government’s actual ownership interest
in Texas land is negligible. Texas’ experiences with the
USFWS illustrate the magnitude of the problem.

Sixty-five species found in Texas have been listed as
endangered or threatened under the ESA by the USFWS.° The
sixty-five species listed are found in approximately 212 of
Texas’ 254 counties. See Bryan Arroyo, Threatened and
Endangered Species of Texas, DEPARTMENT OF THE INTERIOR,
U.S. FISH AND WILDLIFE SERVICE, Aug. 1992.

* Indeed, Texas also has a direct interest in the outcome of this issue.
Because Texas is a “person” within the meaning of § 3(B) of the Endangered
Species Act, 16 U.S.C. § 1532(13), it is entitled to sue under the citizen suit
provision. See 16 U.S.C. § 1531(cX2), § 2(cX2) of the ESA, which states that
it is the “policy of Congress that Federal agencies shall cooperate with State
and local agencies to resolve water resource issues in concert with
conservation of endangered species.” The Ninth Circuit's decision not only
violates the Congressional policy stated in § 2(c)(2), it directly limits Texas’
ability to bring an action for violations of the ESA.

* Forty-six of these species are fish or wildlife. Included in the listing are the
following: the golden-cheeked warbler (Dendroica chrysoparia), the Texas
blind salamander (Typhlomolge rathbuni), Texas wild rice (Zizania texana),
the fountain darter (Etheostoma fonticola), the Houston toad (Bufo
houstonensis), the piping plover (Charadrius melodus).

4

Thus, every time the USFWS lists or designates critical
habitat, it potentially affects some portion of ninety-eight
percent of the land in 212 Texas counties, or approximately
255,506 square miles. See Texas App. 5a (showing the counties
potentially affected should the USFWS designate critical habitats
for all sixty-five listed endangered or threatened species in the
state).

The listing of a species and the designation of a critical
habitat by the USFWS resonates in every corner of Texas: it
reduces the value of land and diminishes the ability of land
owners to “capture” groundwater; it affects the use and
productivity of land whose legal title is held by the State of
Texas for the benefit of the school children supported by the
Permanent School Fund; it diminishes the value and use of state
parks, as when the Texas Parks and Wildlife Commission had
to delay plans to expand a golf course at a state park because
the expansion had to be evaluated and approved by the USFWS
because of the “possible” presence of the Houston toad, (a
species listed under the ESA as endangered); and, in a scenario
reminiscent of the one in Plenert, it will affect the ability of the
Canadian River Municipal Water Authority, a political
subdivision of the State of Texas similar to the water districts in
Oregon, to fulfill its duties and mission to facilitate the delivery
of water to Texas Panhandle residents because of the listing of
the Arkansas River shiner.

As if to add insult to injury, top federal administrators, some
of whom are far removed from Texas, fail to grasp the import
of their actions. For example, the Director of the USFWS has

5

said, while discussing a listed species, the golden-cheeked
warbler, that “[t]he critical-habitat designation doesn’t add
anything to the constraints on the average landowner” implying
that the mere listing of a species is sufficient to constrain the
landowner. See “Agency defends plan for songbird habitat,”
San Antonio Express News, July 27, 1994. See also in the same
article comment of Nancy Kaufman, Deputy Director of the
USFWS, “[i]f a farmer is currently going out and destroying
this [warbler] habitat, it is already a problem”.

The USFWS is enforcing a regulatory regime under the ESA
where it dictates to the State of Texas, the political subdivisions
of the state, and private landowner-citizens what they can and
cannot do with their property. Under Plenert this de facto
regulatory scheme graphically illustrates why the Court must
give property owners in every state the ability to sue to protect
their interests in the courts of the United States.

The Property Interests of the Plaintiff-Petitioners are
Left Unprotected

The plaintiff-petitioners, ranchers and water districts rely on
water provided under federal contract,’ by the Klamath Project,
a federal reclamation project, for “commercial purposes, as well
as for their primary sources of irrigation water.” See Appendix

” In 1905 Oregon and California ceded title in the Lower Klamath and Tule
lakes to the United States for project development under the Reclamation Act
of 1902 to drain lakebed lands in order to store and provide water for
irrigation and other purposes out of the sale of water rights to homesteaders
on the reclaimed project lands. See generally 43 U.S.C. §§ 371, 485(f)-(h),
& 511-13.

6

to Petition for Writ of Certiorari (“Cert. App.”) 33-34, 4 5
(emphasis added). The plaintiff-petitioners, who were denied
standing to challenge the federal government’s decision to stop
providing water for their needs -- individuals and state political
subdivisions with vested and concrete economic interests, secured
in part by contractual agreement with the federal government --
possess significant interests that provide the Court with a unique
opportunity to clarify the law of standing to ensure that
individuals, political subdivisions of the states, and states with
concrete economic interests that are threatened by agency action
will, at a minimum, have access to the courts of the United

States to protect their interests.

Fundamental Protections of Private Property Are
Abandoned by the Ninth Circuit

It is a bedrock principle of our jurisprudence that interests in
property are determined in the courts according to the rule of
law.

[T]he right of property, . . . as well as the
mode, or manner, of acquiring property, and
of alienating or transferring, inheriting or
transmitting it, is conferred by society, is
regulated by civil institutions, and is always
subject to the rules prescribed by positive law.

Calder v. Bull, 3 U.S. (3 Dall.) 386 (1798) (Chase, J.)
(emphasis added). The Ninth Circuit, in Plenert, silenced
plaintiff-petitioners, ranchers and water districts, denying them
the ability to protect their interests in property. If the Court lets

7

the result in Plenert stand, the Constitution’s guarantee to
protect, according to the rule of law, vested property rights and
contract rights of its citizens in the courts of the United States
is also silenced.

Texas writes because it is important that the law of standing
include plaintiffs such as the plaintiff-petitioners, whose concrete
economic interests meet constitutional and prudential standards.
If these plaintiff-petitioners lack standing, as a practical matter the
courts of the United States will be closed to most plaintiffs
attempting to review agency action under the ESA or the
Administrative Procedure Act.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

This appeal presents the Court with two straightforward
questions of standing under the ESA.* The Ninth Circuit’s
Plenert decision must be overruled because it unnecessarily
restricts the reach of Article III of the United States
Constitution,’ it violates fundamental principles of federalism,
it misreads the citizen suit provision of the ESA, it violates the
principles of stare decisis by ignoring case precedence, and it
misapplies the law of standing established by this Court. The

* The first question is whether the broad grant of standing in the citizen suit
provision of the ESA is subject to a zone of interests test. If the Court
answers no, the inquiry ends. If the Court answers yes, the second question
is whether plaintiff-petitioners -- public water suppliers and water users with
economic interests -- fall within the zone of interests protected or regulated
by the ESA.

* U.S. Const. art. Il

Ninth Circuit’s decision will leave landowners and political
subdivisions of the states barred from the courtroom while
federal agencies make policy decisions without supervision and
regard to the rule of law.

ARGUMENT

I. Consequences of the Ninth Circuit’s Opinion

A. The Ninth Circuit’s Opinion Renders Hollow the
Promise of Article III

The Ninth Circuit denied standing to plaintiffs who have
meritorious causes of action to protect valuable property rights.
These plaintiffs clearly have standing, undier both an Article III
analysis and an analysis under the prudential zone of interests
test. The decision challenged here tramples the constitution’s
guarantee to citizens of a judicial forum for protection of their
rights and interests in property and it permits unsupervised
policy making, exempting a federal agemcy from meaningful
judicial review.

Article III defines the limits of federal judicial power and
determines who may come to the federal courts to seek judicial

relief.
[I]t is a part of the basic charter promulgated
by the Framers of the Comstitution at
Philadelphia in 1787, a charter which created
a general government, provided for the
interaction between that government and the
governments of the several States, and was
later amended so as to either enhance or limit

9

its authority with respect to both States and
individuals.

Valley Forge Christian College v. Americans United for
Separation of Church and State, Inc., 454 U.S. 464, 476 (1982)
(“Valley Forge”). Valley Forge recognizes that Article III
guarantees to the states and its citizens access to the courts for
redress of injuries to them, so long as they meet the minimum
dictates of Article III. The Ninth Circuit’s opinion breaks the
promises embodied in Article III. See Valley Forge, 454 U.S.
at 471-76 (discussing constitutional and prudential principles,
all of which are embodied within the context of the guarantees
of the constitution).

The Ninth Circuit’s Plenert ruling allows federal
environmental agencies to immunize themselves from suit so
long as they characterize their actions as protecting endangered
or threatened species. The Ninth Circuit achieved this
immunization by making a value-laden decision, unauthorized
by Article Ill or the ESA, that some plaintiffs are more
deserving of federal judicial recourse than others. A district
court from the Northern District of Alabama wisely refused to
take the course taken by the Ninth Circuit, explaining:

To limit standing to public interest groups who
complain of the possible endangerment of a
species, asserting an aesthetic, or moral, or a
scientific, or a philosophical interest, is both
unfair and one-sided, and invites disingenuous
pleading by parties who have legitimate
interests of whatever kind. There is no reason
for only one side of an issue to have access to

10

a federal court. Public and judicial scrutiny
of the listing process of the Endangered
Species Act and its regulation is part of the
legislative design to guarantee fair and full
access by all persons and entities truly
interested in the outcome including those
whose interest is economic in whole or in part.
Alabama-Tombigbee Rivers Coalition v. Fish and Wildlife
Service, No. 93-AR-2322-S, 1993 WL 646409 (N.D. Ala. Nov.
9, 1993), aff'd, 26 F.3d 1103 (11th Cir. 1994) (emphasis added).
The ESA, of course, speaks to species protection, but it also
contains a broad citizen suit provision allowing a wide range of
plaintiffs to sue the federal government. The views of the Ninth
Circuit, advocated by defendant-respondents, restrict the ESA’s
citizen suit provision and reduce it to the propositions that only
those asserting a supposedly pro-species position have standing,
and that no one may sue to complain of an agency’s actions as
being too protective. These propositions, if accepted by the
Court, would render meaningless the ESA citizen suit provision.
See infra at 22, discussion of the Ninth Circuit's erroneous
reading of 16 U.S.C. § 1540(g). See, e.g., Mausolf v. Babbitt,
913 F. Supp. 1334, 1342 & n.13 (D. Minn. 1996) (“Mausolf”)
(questioned about who could challenge a federal government
action “overzealously” protecting an endangered species, the
“{federal] defendants took the remarkable position that such an
action would be immune from challenge, and entirely beyond
review, because it benefits, rather than harms, endangered or
threatened species”). These interpretations cannot be the law,
at least under our constitutional system of governance.

The court in Mausolf held that “interests other than those
asserted on behalf of endangered species also fall within the
zone of interests protected by the ESA” and stated that it was:

unwilling to adopt the view that the FWS
[United States Fish and Wildlife Service] is
unrestrained if it cloaks any of its acts in the
laudable robe of endangered and threatened
species protection. This is a form of
totalitarian virtue -- a concept for which no
precedent has been advanced and which is
foreign to the rule of law. It is instead, the
Court’s view that the FWS must operate
within the parameters of the ESA.

913 F. Supp. at 1342.

The Constitution demands that litigants who meet standing
requirements (constitutional and prudential) be heard. Congress
in the ESA broadly encourages citizen participation in an
unequivocal voice. The Ninth Circuit’s decision, if allowed to
stand, would render meaningless the dictates of Article III] and
the citizen suit provision of the ESA, allowing federal
environmental regulatory agencies to escape judicial review.
Put another way, the Ninth Circuit's view of judicial process
would be akin to a baseball game in which only one team got
to bat, while the other team was perpetually playing defense on
the field -- assuming it were allowed to leave the dugout, or
even enter the stadium in the first place.

12

B,. The Ninth Circuit’s Failure to Embrace Article Ill
Disrupts the Proper Balance of State and Federal
Powers and Damages the Self-Governing Rights of
the States and Their Citizens

The Ninth Circuit’s improper reading of Article III and the

citizen suit provision of the ESA, denying the self-governing
rights of the states and their citizens to protect vested economic
interests, infringes upon additional constitutional safeguards.
1. The Constitution Protects the Self-Governing
Rights of the States, Which Thereby Protect
Private Property Rights

The proper balance between the federal government and the
states in “our federalism” is textually preserved by the Tenth
Amendment and the Guarantee Clause, and is embedded in the
inherent structure of the Constitution." See Nevada v. Hall,
440 U.S. 410, 433 (1979) (Rehnquist, J., joined by Burger, C.J.,
dissenting). Certain irreducible principles flowing from the
Constitution protect the interests of the states and their citizens.

By constituting a federal government of limited powers,
while reserving “the powers not delegated to the United States,
nor prohibited by it” to the states and the people, the
Constitution established a framework in which the states

‘© The appropriate balance between the states and the federal government is
further safeguarded by the Eleventh Amendment as well as by proper
limitations on the powers of Congress under the Commerce Clause. See
United States v. Lopez, \15 S.Ct. 1624 (1995). See also Seminole Tribe v.
Florida, 116 S.Ct. 1114 (1996) (The Court reiterated that: “each State is a
sovereign entity in our federal system”; the Eleventh Amendment limits
federal courts’ jurisdiction under Article III; and “(t)he [Eleventh] Amendment
is rooted in a recognition that the States, although a union, maintain certain
attributes of sovereignty, including sovereign immunity.”).

13

retained “substantial sovereign authority.” Federal Energy
Regulatory Comm'n v. Mississippi, 456 U.S. 742, 762 (1982)
(“FERC”). See Gregory v. Ashcroft, 501 U.S. 452, 457 (1991).
If the states or the people have not conferred a power upon
Congress, then a fortiori a federal agency cannot assume that
power in derogation of the Tenth Amendment. See New York
v. United States, 112 S.Ct. at 2417 (1992) (“New York’) (“{I}f
a power is an attribute of state sovereignty reserved by the
Tenth Amendment, it is necessarily a power the Constitution has
not conferred on Congress.”).

The Guarantee Clause is predicated on the proposition that
state governments are accountable to their citizens with respect
to fundamental decisions about how to allocate, control, and use
resources and define property rights. FERC at 761. A state’s
“republican form” of government is diminished when its ability
to make decisions is fettered, constrained, or overridden by a
federal agency voluntarily or otherwise acting ultra vires.''
These inherent protections prevent an abuse of power by the
federal government. See New York, 112 S.Ct. at 2431 (citations
omitted) (“The Constitution does not protect the sovereignty of
the States . . . as abstract political entities. Rather, federalism
secures to citizens the liberties that derive from the diffusion of
sovereign power.”).

'' Of course, pursuant to the Supremacy Clause and assuming a basis for
exercising a power (e.g, the Commerce Clause or the Spending Clause),
Congress can intrude into state sovereignty and override state law. The
requirement, however, is that Congress must plainly state that it intends to
override state law.

14

The Guarantee Clause, like the Tenth Amendment, protects
states from #> over-intrusive federal government ensuring that
the states and the citizens of the states retain control over the
essential elements of self-governance."

Thus, the federal system of government created by the
Constitution under the Guarantee Clause, the Tenth Amendment,
and the Eleventh Amendment, established a national government
Operating in a mutual sphere of influence with state governments
that act as independent political communities with the authority
to make decisions of self-governance that “include the power to
structure and organize the processes of government.” La Pierre,
The Political Safeguards of Federalism Redux:
Intergovernmental Immunity and the States as Agents of the
Nation, 60 Wash. U.L.Q. 779, 790-92 & nn. 31-33 (1982). See
Lane County v. Oregon, 7 Wall. 71, 76 (1869). The right of
states to control incidents of self-governance creates “a healthy
balance of power between the states and the federal government
[that] will reduce the risk of tyranny and abuse from either
front.” New York, 112 S.Ct. at 2431.

There is no incident of self-governance more fundamental to
the processes of government than the system of laws that define

? The control of elected officials by the electorate and their accountability to
the citizens who entrust them to office is the sine qua non of a republican
form of government. “Since at least the eighteenth century, political thinkers
have stressed that a republican government is one in which the people control
their rulers [citing J. Locke, Second Treatise of Government, 149}.” Deborah
Jones Merritt, The Guarantee Clause and State Autonomy: Federalism for a
Third Century, 88 COLUM. L. REV. 1, 23 (1988) (“Guarantee Clause and State
Autonomy”), citing The Federalist No. 39 (James Madison).

15

and protect the property of the citizens of the various states."
Indeed, under the police power reserved to the states, and protected
by the Constitution, state and local governments are responsible and
entitled to enact, maintain, and enforce zoning," land use planning,
and natural resource management laws to regulate and govern the
use of land and water.

2. The USFWS Tramples the Private Property
Rights of Texas Citizens

The USFWS has construed the listing and designation
provisions of the ESA in an alarming manner. See supra at 2.
Because of the over-expansive use of the listing and designation
provisions, as well as other overly intrusive interpretations of
the ESA, the State of Texas is concerned that USFWS has and

“Property interests, of course, are not created by the Constitution, but
rather ‘by existing rules or understandings that stem from an independent
source such as state law.’ Delaware v. New York, 113 S. Ct. 1550 (1993)
(citations omitted). Real property law, furthermore, has been recognized by
the Court as a matter of special concern to the states. Fidelity Federal Savings
& Loan Assoc.v. de la Cuesta, 458 U.S. 141, 153 (1982).

* “[Z}oning laws and their provisions . . . are peculiarly within the province
of state and local legislative authorities.” Warth v. Seldin, 422 U.S. 490, 509
n.18 (1975) See Dolan v. City of Tigard, 114 S.Ct. 2309, 2317 (1994)
(“[T]}he authority of state and local governments to engage in land use
planning has been sustained against constitutional challenge.”). The Court has
recognized that the states’ land use planning powers are formidable. See
California Coastal Comm'n v. Granite Rock Co., 107 S.Ct. 1419, 1431 (1987)
(“[E}ven within the sphere of the Property Clause, state law is preempted only
when it conflicts with the operation or objectives of federal law, or when
Congress ‘evidences an intent to occupy a given field.’ ”). See also Federal
Urban Land Utilization Act, 40 U.S.C. §§ 531, 533 and Federal Land Policy
and Management Act of 1976, 43 U.S.C. §§ 1701, 1712(c\9) where Congress
has also directed federal agencics to cooperate with local land use planning
and zoning measures that would not otherwise apply to federal property.

16

will contrive a de facto comprehensive resource management
scheme in Texas that prevents landowners and the State of
Texas from using their land, property, and resources in ordinary,
customary ways (such as building homes and pumping
groundwater) in accordance with state and local law. This
resource management scheme violates basic tenets of federalism
textually embodied in the United States Constitution, as well as
deeply embedded in the federalism structure of the Constitution.

The USFWS’ intrusion does not stop with the listing and
designation provisions and procedures. In a series of letters to
Central Texas landowners in thirty-three Texas counties, the
USFWS sought to apply the “take” prohibition of section 9 of
the ESA, 16 U.S.C. § 1538, to property recently under
consideration for designation as critical habitat for the golden-
cheeked warbler.'* In one letter to a landowner engaged in
clearing his property, the USFWS laid out its policy.

This letter is in reference to recent clearing
activity on your property. ... This property
supports vegetation that is possibly occupied by
the federally listed endangered warbler.

If the activities raking place on the subject site

disrupt the breeding and/or foraging activities of

'S The letters manifest USFWS’ contention and policy that “takes” in
violation of the ESA occur whenever a human activity modifying habitat
“disrupt{s}] the breeding and/or foraging activities” of a listed species.
USFWS has taken this position regarding clearing of property throughout
much of Central Texas, advising property owners that they may not clear or
cut down certain trees without violating or risking violation of the ESA’s
prohibition against “taking” endangered species. The USFWS has not
formally or officially rescinded any of its letters.

17

the . . . warbler, these activities would constitute
ake of listed species . . . prohibited under
section 9 of the Endangered Species Act (Act) and
must be avoided.
See Texas App. 6a for additional examples of these letters
(emphasis added).

The individual impact of these letters is devastating. For
example, Margaret Rodgers, who owns land in Travis County,
has received letters from the USFWS informing her that clearing
her land to build a fence may “take” an endangered species, the
golden-cheeked warbler. The letters, which are obviously
intended to operate in terrorem, stated that she could be subject to
a fine of up to $50,000 and imprisonment up to one year.
Understandably, she stopped trying to build the fence. The letters
did not accuse her of killing or injuring a golden-cheeked warbler
or allege that she proximately caused the death or injury of a
golden-cheeked warbler (as would be required by the Court in
Babbitt v. Sweet Home Chapter of Communities for a Greater
Oregon, 115 S.Ct. 2407 (1995) (“Sweet Home’). In fact, they did
not even say that any warblers live, or have ever been seen, on her
property -- the mere clearing of her land was sufficient reason to
prompt the USFWS to send its letters. Hundreds of other
landowners in the Texas Hill Country are in Mrs. Rodgers’
predicament.’°

'* Mrs. Rodgers at least knows that she risks civil and criminal penalties
being imposed as a result of using her land. But an unknown number of other
landowners and governmental entities in Texas are also subject to those
penalties for making ordinary use of their land, but do not know it. Indeed,
they are unable to know it, because USFWS does not make clear the extent
of its regulatory program under section 9 of the ESA.

The State of Texas is additionally concerned that if the USFWS
cannot directly use its continuing, over-expansive interpretation of
“harm” pursuant to section 9 of the ESA to reach activity on
private land (such as the pumping of groundwater or the clearing
of cedar trees in which a protected bird may nest), it will
illegitimately increase its efforts to control those activities indirectly
through forced consultation procedures pursuant to section 7 of the
ESA, 16 U.S.C. § 1536, with a federal agency having some federal
program delivery nexus with the landowner. See, e.g., J.B. Ruhl,
Section 7(A)(1) of the “New” Endangered Species Act:
Rediscovering and Redefining the Untapped Power of Federal
Agencies’ Duty to Conserve Species, 25 ENvTL. L. 1107, 1109
(1995) (section 7 is the “sleeping giant” of the ESA programs and
“section 7(a)(1)’s species conservation duty has the potential to
eclipse all other ESA programs”). For example, in central Texas,
the USFWS could pressure the Farmers Home Administration,
utilizing the ESA's section 7 consultation process, to refrain from
making or guaranteeing loans to farmers seeking financing for
farming activities which depend on the pumping of aquifer water
from the Edwards Aquifer.'’ In another setting, the Department of
Air Force could be forced to consult with USFWS prior to any
redevelopment of Kelly Air Force Base.

'’ In July 1994, the USFWS convened a meeting of approximately 40 federal
agencies to discuss the Edwards Aquifer issue and the duty of federal agencies
to abide with its over-expansive interpretation of the ESA. See Sierra Club
v. Glickman, MO-95-CV-091, (W.D. Tex. filed Apr. 28, 1995) (signaling that
ESA litigation may switch to the ESA section 7 front).

19

3. The States and Their Citizens Must Be Able to
Vindicate Their Self-Governing and Private

Property Rights

Chief Justice Chase in Texas v. White, 7 Wall. 700 (1869),
discussed the effects of the Ordinance of Secession on the existence
of Texas as a member of the Union. In concluding that Texas did
not cease to be a state, he recognized that the “preservation of the
States, and the maintenance of their governments, are as much
within the design and care of the Constitution as the preservation
of the Union and the maintenance of the National Government.”
7 Wall. at 725. The states must be able to access the federal court
system not only in order to protect their self-governing powers, but
also the self-governing and economic interests of their citizens.
If the Court does not allow the states and their citizens to protect
their economic interests from rogue actions of federal agencies, the
promise of the preservation of the states and their governments is
broken.

'* The denial of the right to bring a suit to protect a property interest, whether
that right was created by Congress as in the citizen suit provision of the ESA
or exists independently, as in the plaintiff-petitioners’ contract with the federal
government, may itself be viewed as an injury. By closing the federal
judiciary to the plaintiff-petitioners, the Ninth Circuit caused a deprivation of
property. See, e.g., Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank & Trust Co., 339 U.S.
306, 313 (1950) (the denial of the right to bring a lawsuit may constitute a
deprivation of property). It is the deprivation of a right to use property
coupled with the ability to bring a legal action to enforce that right, that is the
core and fundamental attribute of standing, in federal court. Cf Crowell v.
Benson, 285 U.S. 22, 86-87 (1932) (Brandeis, J., dissenting) (“Under certain
circumstances, the constitutional requirement of due process is a requirement
of judicial process.”).

20

II. The Analytical Shortcomings of the Ninth Circuit’s Analysis

The Ninth Circuit, in concluding that plaintiff-petitioners did
not have standing, employed a multi-step analysis. First, it held
that Congress in enacting the citizen suit provision of the ESA did
not expand standing to the full limits of Article III, thereby
engrafting a zone of interests analysis onto the standing inquiry."”
Second, the panel of the Ninth Circuit held that the plaintiff-
petitioners did not fall within the zone of interests protected by the
ESA.”° At each analytical juncture, the Ninth Circuit took the
wrong turn. It seriously misread the citizen suit provision of the
ESA, failing to give the language its plain meaning. Using
ordinary methods of statutory analysis suggests a very different
conclusion than that reached by the Ninth Circuit. Additionally, in
its analysis of the zone of interests test, the Plenert Court failed to
give economic interests the significance that they have been

'* Relying on Clarke v. Securities Industry Ass'n, 479 U.S. 388, 410 (1987),
the Ninth Circuit reasoned that “the fact that a statute contains a citizen-suit
provision does not necessarily establish that Congress intended that any
particular plaintiff have standing to assert a violation.” 63 F.3d at 919.
Applying what it called its “consistent use of the zone of interests test in
determining the standing of plaintiffs who have sued under citizen-suit
provisions,” it held that the ESA’s citizen suit provision does not
automatically confer standing “on every plaintiff who satisfies constitutional
requirements and claims a violation of the Act’s procedures.” 63 F.3d at 919.

°° Having determined that the zone of interests test should be applied, the
Ninth Circuit asked whether the “ESA protects plaintiffs who assert an interest
of the type asserted here.” 63 F.3d at 919. Without much substantive
adornment, the Plenert court simply answered “in the negative, holding that
only plaintiffs who allege an interest in the preservation of endangered species
fall within the zone of interests protected by the ESA.” /d. at 919 (emphasis
in original).

21
accorded by other panels within the Ninth Circuit,”' by other circuit
courts,” and, most importantly, by this Court. Texas first addresses
the misreading of the ESA’s citizen suit provision.

A. The Ninth Circuit Misreads 16 U.S.C. § 1540(g)

“The starting point in every case involving construction of a
statute is the language itself.” Wart v. Alaska, 451 U.S. 259, 265
(1981). If the words of a statute in their ordinary and common
usage “convey a definite meaning, which involves no absurdity, .

*! The Ninth Circuit applied the zone of interests test in a manner inconsistent
with its own prior opinions. See, e.g., Douglas County v. Babbitt, 48 F.3d
1495 (9th Cir. 1995) (a county’s proprietary interest in its lands adjacent to
a designated critical habitat represented the necessary concrete interest under
Lujan and fell within the zone of interests protected by the National
Environmental Policy Act); Pacific Northwest Generating Co-op v. Brown, 25
F.3d 1443, 1450 (9th Cir. 1994) (plaintiffs with an economic interest [large
direct purchasers of hydropower] have a footnote 7 procedural interest in
ensuring that the ESA is followed); and Central Arizona Water Conservation
Dist. v. United States Environmental Protection Agency, 990 F.2d 1531, 1538-
39 (9th Cir. 1993) (economic interests of water conservation district and four
irrigation districts met Article III requirements and zone of interests test to
challenge the final rule of the Environmental Protection Agency under the
visibility provisions of the Clean Air Act).

# The Ninth Circuit also failed to follow the decisions from other circuits.
See, e.g., Catron County Bd. of Comm'rs, New Mexico v United States Fish
& Wildlife Service, 75 F.3d 1429, 1233-34 (10th Cir. 1996) (county’s claimed
injuries to its proprietary and procedural interests fall within the zone of
interests protected by the ESA where the designation of a Critical habitat
would cause flood damage to county-owned property); and State of Idaho, by
and through Idaho Public Utilities Comm'n v. Interstate Commerce Comm'n,
35 F.3d 585, 590-92 (D.C. Cir. 1994) (the specific authority to sue under 16
U.S.C. § 1540(g) coupled with Idaho’s proprietary interest in state land
surrounding Wallace Branch was sufficient to meet the prudential standing
limitation under the ESA).

22

. . then that meaning . . . must be accepted” as the expression of
Congress’ legislative purpose. Lake County v. Rollins, 130 U.S.
662, 670 (1889). See Immigration and Naturalization Service v.
Cardoza-Fonseca, 107 S.Ct. 1207, 1213 (1987) (“Cardoza”)
(legislative purpose is expressed by the ordinary meaning of the
words used); Perrin v. United States, 444 U.S. 37, 42 (1979)
(“[{UJnless otherwise defined, words will be interpreted as taking
their ordinary, contemporary, common meaning.”).

In 16 U.S.C. § 1540(g), Congress created a unique three-part
citizen suit provision that confers standing to the full extent of
Article III.” Congress in § 1540(g)(1)(A) allowed “any person” to
sue any governmental unit who might be in violation of any
provision of the ESA or any regulation flowing from the ESA.
Further, in § 1540(g)(1)(C) Congress allowed “any person” to sue
the Secretary for failure “to perform any [nomndiscretionary} act or
duty under section 1533” of the ESA.

The plain meaning of “any” is “any and all”; “any” should be
given its natural broad meaning. See United States v. Geyler, 932
F.2d 1330, 1333-34 (9th Cir. 1991). Additiomally, reference to the
lexicon, in the historical and cultural context of the language, is
another way to establish plain meaning. See, e.g., R. DICKERSON,
THE INTERPRETATION AND APPLICATION OF STATUTES, 231 (1975).
The lexicon, through the repeated use of “any person,” “any

> Congress under 16 U.S.C. § 1540(g)(1)(B) granted “any person” the
authority to file a civil action to compel the Secretary to apply the ESA
prohibitions against taking of resident endangered (or threatened) species.
Although the taking language is not relevant at this time, this subpart shows
that Congress intended to open the courts to as large a group of plaintiffs as
possible.

23

provision of the ESA or any regulation,” and “any act or duty” in
Subsections (B) and (C), evinces Congress’ desire to open standing
under the ESA’s citizen suit provision to the limits of Article III.
The language of 16 U.S.C. § 1540(g) “admits of no exception” --
all persons who meet the requirements for standing under Article
III, whether on purely aesthetic, recreational, professional, or
economic grounds, must be heard. Tennessee Valley Authority v.
Hill, 437 U.S. 153, 173 (1978) (“TVA”) (The Court in an ESA case
stated: “[o}ne would be hard pressed to find a statutory provision
whose terms were any plainer than those in § 7 of the Endangered
Species Act.”).

Finally, any question about the plain meaning of statutery
language is conclusively settled where Congress knowingly
borrows language that carries an established interpretation. See
Rodriguez v. United States, 107 S.Ct. 1391, 1393 (1987)
(“Rodriguez”) (“{I)n passing the Comprehensive Crime Control Act
of 1984, Congress acted -- as it is presumed to act -- with full
awareness of the well established judicial interpretation.”) (citations
omitted). In Gladstone Realtors v. Village of Bellwood, 441 U.S.
91, 109 (1979) (“Gladstone”), the Court held that Congress had
granted standing “as broad as permitted by Article III” in the Fair
Housing Act of 1968 when it authorized “any person aggrieved” to
file « civil action. Congress’ use of “any,” with the understanding
that the word is equated with the broadest grant of standing under
Article III, see Gladstone, supra, directly supports the position that
the plain meaning of the language in 16 U.S.C. § 1540(g) grants
full Article III standing. Indeed, Congress knows exactly how to
enact a narrower citizen suit provision in environmental legislation.

24

See 33 U.S.C. § 1365 (limiting an action by a citizen against a
governmental entity “who is alleged to be in violation of (A) an
effluent standard or limitation under this chapter or (B) an order
issued by the Administrator or a State with respect to such a
standard or limitation’).

Once the plain meaning of the statutory language settles the
question of legislative :rtent, legislative history is reviewed “to
determine only whether there is ‘clearly’ expressed legislative
intention contrary to that language which would require [a court]
to question the strong presumption that Congress expresses its
intent through the language it chooses.” Cardoza, supra, 107 S.Ct.
at 1213 n.12. The plain-meaning presumption is so strong that
“going behind the plain language of a statute in search of a possibly
contrary congressional intent is ‘a step to be taken cautiously’ even
under the best circumstances.” American Tobacco Co. Vv.
Patterson, 456 U.S. 63, 75 (1982). Nothing in the legislative
history of the ESA overcomes the plain language presumption.
When the plain statutory language settles a question of statutory
construction, “any further steps take the courts out of the realm of
interpretation and place them in the domain of legislation.” United
States v. Locke, 471 U.S. 84, 96 (1985). The defendant-
respondents’ limited view of the citizen suit provision is
unpersuasive. See Rodriguez, 107 S.Ct. at 1393 (omissions and
brackets by the Court) (“Where, as here, ‘the language of a
provision . . . is sufficiently clear in its context and not at odds with
the legislative history, . . . [there is no occasion] to examine the
the lawmakers in the formulation of the statute.”).

25

As the Court noted in TVA:

[c}itizen involvement was encouraged by the

Act, with provisions allowing interested persons

to . . . bring civil suits in United States district

courts to force compliance with any provision of

the Act, §§ 1540(c) and (g).
437 U.S. at 181 (citations omitted). The Court did not qualify
“citizen.” The Ninth Circuit erred when it did. Congress in 16
U.S.C. § 1540(g) generally, and in 16 U.S.C. § 1540(g)1)(C) in
particular,” ensured that plaintiffs who meet Article III standing
requirements must have their day in court.

B. The Ninth Circuit Failed to Acknowledge the
Significance Given by the Court to Economic Interests
in Standing Doctrine

* The Court's use of “interested person” embraces Congress’ broad grant of
enforcement authority to any person who meets Article III requirements.

** The defendant-respondents improperly minimize the significance of 16
U.S.C. § 1S40(gX1K(C). See Brief for the Respondents in Opposition at | |-12
& n.6. Many of the agency actions that led to the filing of this lawsuit were
arguably based on section 1533. The ESA process begins with the listing of
a species as either threatened or endangered under 16 U.S.C. § 1533 (a).
Species listings are based solely upon the best available scientific and
commercial data pertaining to the species in question under 16 U.S.C. § 1533
(bX IMA). The Secretary must consider five factors in listing a species. See
16 U.S.C. § 1533 (al). The ESA was amended in 1978 to require the
Secretary to consider factors other than solely biological factors in designating
critical habitat. See Pub.L. No. 95-632, 92 Stat. 3571 (1978); H.R.Rep. No.
95-1625, S. Rep. No. 95-874, H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 95-1804, 95th Cong., 2d
Sess. (1978). For example: the Secretary must identify the areas that meet the
scientific definition of critical habitat in 16 U.S.C. § 1532 (SA); and he is
to consider the “economic impact and any other relevant impact of specifying
any particular area as critical habitat,” see 16 U.S.C. § 1533 (b\2).

26

In Association of Data Processing Service Organizations, Inc.
v. Camp, 397 U.S. 150 (1970) (“Data Processing”), the Court
announced a prudential standing requirement in addition to the
Article II] standing requirements, for determining whether a
plaintiff had standing under the Administrative Procedure Act.
The test is “whether the interest sought to be protected by the
complainant is arguably within the zone of interests to be protected
or regulated by the statute.” Jd. at 153.

In Data Processing, the Court, treading cautiously, emphasized
that an interest “may reflect ‘aesthetic, conservational, and
recreational’ as well as economic values.” 397 U.S. at 154. Data
Processing appeared to presume that plaintiffs asserting economic
concerns would meet the zone of interests test. See 397 U.S. at 154
(“We mention these noneconomic values to emphasize that standing
may stem from them as well as from the economic injury in which
petitioners rely here.”). The Court concluded that “[cJertainly he
who is ‘likely to be financially’ injured . . . may be a reliable
private attorney general to litigate the issues of the public interest
in the present case.” 397 U.S. at 154.

The Court in Data Processing recognized the significance of
economic values because the linchpin in many standing inquiries,
either under Article III or a prudential consideration, is whether the
plaintiff alleges a property-based legal interest for which a cause of
action lies. See, e.g., Cass R. Sunstein, What's Standing After
Lujan? of Citizen Suits, “Injuries,” and Article III, 9\ Mich. L.R.
163, 189, 192 & n.132 (1992) (“The loss of money is a real and
tangible harm; the offense produced by objectionable government
policy may be intense, but it is merely [an] offense.”) (“Sunstein”).

27

The significance of an economic injury is no less important,
with regard to the ultimate inquiries into standing, because of the
nature of the lawsuit. See Sunstein at 191 (“When Congress creates
a cause of action enabling people to complain against racial
discrimination, consumer fraud, or destruction of environmental
assets, it is really giving people a kind of property right in a certain
state of affairs. Invasion of that property right is the relevant
injury.”). The Court recognized the importance of an economic
interest when it held that California, as a participant and
beneficiary in federal OCS leasing off the California coast, had
standing to challenge the adequacy of the bidding process of the
Secretary of the Interior. Wart v. Energy Action Educational
Foundation, 454 U.S. 151, 161 (1981) (“Watt”) (California’s direct
financial stake in federal OCS leasing off the California coast
coupled with its interest in seeing that the Secretary of the Interior
used the most successful bidding system on all OCS lease tracts
gave it standing to challenge the Secretary’s refusal to experiment
with non-cash-bonus bidding systems. ).

The Court has acknowledged that an injury to a “procedural
right” to protect concrete interests may support standing under the
citizen suit provision of the ESA. Lujan v. Defenders of Wildlife,
504 U.S. 555 (1992) (“Lujan”) (“There is much truth to the
assertion that ‘procedural rights’ are special: The person who has
been accorded a procedural right to protect his concrete interests
can assert that right without meeting all the normal standards for

28

redressability and immediacy.”).” Cf. Sunstein at 226 in footnote
seven (a procedural right is created “because it structures incentives
and creates pressures that Congress has deemed important to
effective regulation”).

Recently, the Court spoke of the interests cognizable under the
ESA.

In the elaboration and enforcement of the ESA,
the Secretary and all persons who must comply
with the law will confront difficult questions of
proximity and degree; for, as all recognize, the
[ESA] encompasses a vast range of economic and
questions must be addressed in the usual course of
the law, through case-by-case “resolution
adjudication.”
Sweet Home, 115 S.Ct. at 2418 (emphasis added).

The concrete property and economic interests of the plaintiff-
petitioners, which have been infringed by the actions of the
defendant-respondents, are sufficient to support standing under the
citizen suit provision of the ESA, regardless of whether the analysis
is subjected to the bare Article III requirements or the zone of
interests test.

CONCLUSION

This case is about fair access to the courts of the United States.
The Ninth Circuit erred when it straight-jacketed the citizen suit
provision of the ESA by applying the zone of interests test. A

*® The Court’s phraseology, “a procedural right to protect [a] concrete
interest,” refers to a due process right to a judicial determination of an
economic interest so that a deprivation of property does not occur. See supra
at 9.

29

plaintiff, to have standing under the citizen suit provision, must
meet the case and controversy requirements of Article III, nothing
more. The plaintiff-petitioners have the most cognizable types of
interests, concrete property and contract rights, that litigants need
to have standing. They certainly meet the requirements of Article
III or even the prudential zone of interests test. Accordingly, for
the reasons set forth above, the decision of the Ninth Circuit should
be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

DAN MORALES
Attorney General of Texas

JORGE VEGA
First Assistant Attorney General

JAVIER P. GUAJARDO*
Special Assistant Attorney General
*Counsel of Record

SAM GOODHOPE

Special Assistant Attorney General
P.O. Box 12548, Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711-2548 °

(512) 463-2191

May 24, 1996 COUNSEL FOR AMICUS CURIAE

APPENDICES

la

PRIVATE GROUPS ENDORSING THIS BRIEF

Associated Milk Producers, Inc.
The Association is the nation’s largest dairy farmer cooperative.
Its members produce twelve percent of the nation’s milk supply.

Blackland Cotton & Grain Producers Association

The Association is composed of approximately five thousand
cotton and grain producers all interested in the protection of the
rights of landowners.

Exotic Wildlife Association

Organization of breeders, owners, ranchers and managers of
exotic hoofstock species and alternative livestock interested in
conservation, propagation and preservation of exotic species on
private land.

Independent Cattlemen’s Association of Texas, Inc.

The Association represents approximately 6,000
cattlemen/ranchers throughout the State. Their mission is to be the
premier representative of the cattle industry, provide an effective
legislative voice for all its members, and have the vision to accept
and promote changes which impact their well being.

Riverside and Landowners Protection Coalition

The Coalition is a non-profit corporation whose members own
and operate rural land throughout Texas. The group is committed
to educating the general public on private property issues and
working state and federal agencies io preserve the privacy attached
to ownership of private property.

Southern Rolling Plains Cotton Growers Association, Inc.

The Association represents 1,500 various cotton producers
dedicated to enhance the standard of living for cotton farmers

2a

through promotion of cotton, participation in research and
technology to improve cotton yield and economy of production.

Southwest Association

A regional association which represents various hardware retail
stores and farm equipment retail dealers throughout Texas,
Oklahoma, Louisiana and New Mexico.

Southwest Meat Association

The Association is an organization representing the meat
industry throughout a five state area. Members are mostly small to
medium size packers and processors and associated supply
companies.

Take Back Texas

A non-profit organization comprised of landowners located
primarily in the Texas Hill Country area, seeking to educate the
landowning community regarding governmental actions that may
affect their property and their property rights.

Texas Ag Industries Association
The Association is a non-profit entity representing the plant food
and crop protection industries in Texas.

Texas Agri-Women

The association is a non-profit, non-partisan organization
primarily composed of farm and ranch women, agri-business women
and consumers working together to develop and promote
agriculture.

Texas Association of Agricultural Consultants

TAAC serves as the offical organization for private, independent
agricultural advisors in Texas. With 61 members, the Association

—— a —

3a

serves around 1000 farmers and ranchers by recommending
production practices that will least adversely affect the environment.

Texas Association of Nurserymen

The organization is a trade association representing the wholesale
production, retail garden center, landscape professional and allied
supplier segments of the nursery industry in Texas.

Texas Cotton Ginners’ Association

A non-profit trade association, consisting of 85% of the gins in
the State, that represents cotton ginners on issues impacting the
cotton ginning industry of the State.

Texas Cotton Producers, Inc.

A non-profit trade association comprised of the nine regional
cotton producing organizations in the State. Acts as a forum for the
regional organizations to collectively address issues impacting the
Texas Cotton industry.

Texas Farm Bureau

The Bureau is a private non-profit membership corporation
committed to the advancement of agriculture and prosperity for rural
Texas, with 302,352 current members and affiliated county Farm
Bureaus in 211 Texas counties.

Texas Food Processors Association

The organization is a non-profit trade association representing
companies engaged in the processing of food products in Texas. It
is dedicated to support, promote, and encourage education in all
aspects of the food industry in Texas.

Texas Grain Sorghum Association

A voluntary membership organization working on iegislative and
regulatory issues that affect Texas grain sorghum producers.

4a

Texas Justice Foundation

The organization is a non-profit litigation foundation which
supports the principles of free markets, limited government, private
property and parental rights as the fundamental structure of a free
society.

Texas Seed Trade Association

An organization formed as an effective voice of action in all
matters concerning the development, marketing and free movement
of seed, associated products and services throughout Texas, the
United States and around the world.

Texas Wildlife Association

The Association in a non-profit entity which serves as an
advocate for the rights of wildlife, wildlife managers, landowners,
and hunters. It is dedicated to the maintenance, management, and
enhancement of wildlife habitat on private land.

a Oe

Sa

Texas Counties Potentially Impacted
By Critical Habitat Designation

6a

UNITED STATES

DEPARTMENT OF THE INTERIOR

FISH AND WILDLIFE SERVICE
Ecological Services
Stadium C Buildi
711 Stadium Drive East, Suite 252
Arlington, Texas 76011

February 20, 1991

Mr. & Mrs. Mike Igua
P.O. Box 4748
Lago Vista, TX 78645

Dear Mr. & Mrs. Igua:

It has come to our attention that clearing of a strip of woodland has
recently occurred on a tract of land located south of FM 1431 in the
vicinity of Lago Vista, Texas. We understand that you are one of the joint
owners of the property. Information available to us indicates that this
property supports prime habitat for the federally-listed endangered golden-
cheeked warbler. Destruction of habitat of an endangered species may
constitute a “take” of that species as defined by the Endangered Species
Act, which prohibits “take” of a federally-listed species unless the “take”
is incidental to otherwise lawful activity and a permit in compliance with
the Act has been obtained. In this case, a permit under Section 10(a) of
the Act would apply. Information on the Section 10(a) permit process is
enclosed.

Destruction of endangered species habitat, without a permit, that results in
“take” of a federally-listed endangered species could be held to be a
violation of the act and could expose a violator to the criminal penalties
provided for under Section | 1(b)\(1) of the Act or to the civil penalties
provided for under Section | 1(a){1) of the Act. Section 11(b\(1) provides
for a fine of not more that $50,000 or imprisonment up to one year, or
both. Section 11(a\1) permits assessment of up to $25,000 as a civil
penalty for each violation.

7a

This matter is currently under investigation by Special Agent Alex
Hasychak of the Fish and Wildlife Service Law Enforcement Office in San
Antonio and by personnel of this office. If you are indeed an owner of the
property in question, we respectfully urge that you cease any further land
clearing activities and contact Alex Hasychak at (512) 229-5412 or Joe
Johnston of this office at (817) 885-7830 for additional information on
compliance of such activities with the Endangered Species Act.

Sincerely,

Robert M. Short
Field Supervisor
Enclosure
ce: Law Enforcement, FWS, San Antonic, TX

Regional Director, FWS, Albuquerque, NM (FWE/HC)
Regional Solicitor, USDI, Tulsa, OK

8a
United States Department of the Interior

FISH AND WILDLIFE SERVICE
611 E. Sixth Street
Grant Bldg., Suite 407
Austin, Texas 78701

Marge Krueger
6208 Shadow Mountain Drive
Austin, Texas 78731

Dear Ms. Krueger:

This responds to our telephone conversation of June 7, 1993, requesting
that this office reevaluate the following property for its suitability as habitat
for federally listed threatened or endangered species:

Lot in Jester Point, Phase |, or 7101 Foxtree Cove,
Austin, Travis County, Texas

We have reviewed the information you provided as well as other available
information concerning the potential of the above property to provide
suitable habitat for the federally listed endangered golden-cheeked warbler,
black-capped vireo and cave invertebrates.

We believe this property would be suitable habitat for the federally listed
endangered golden-cheeked warbler and/or the cave invertebrates. We
believe that clearing or development-related activities of this acreage would
constitute a “take” as defined by Endangered Species Act (Act). The Act
prohibits the “take” of a federally listed species unless the “take” is
incidental to an otherwise lawful activity and a section 10 (aX1)\(B) permit
under the Act has been obtained. Therefore, our biological evaluation of
development on the subject lot and compliance with the Act remains
unchanged.

9a

We appreciate your concern for endangered species and your desire to
comply with the Endangered Species Act. This response is intended to
assist you in such compliance. You are ultimately responsible f
compliance with all laws, and this letter does not exempt you from
complying with current or future federal, state, regional, or local
development requirements. If you wish to discuss this further, please
contact Alma Barrera at 512-482-5436.

g

Sincerely,

Sam D. Hamilton
State Administrator

10a
United States Department of the Interior

FISH AND WILDLIFE SERVICE
611 E. Sixth Street
Grant Bldg., Suite 407
Austin, Texas 78701

June 24, 1993
Phil Frazier
Horizon Enviornmental Services, Inc.
P.O. Box 162017

Austin, Texas 78746
Dear Mr. Frazier:

This responds to your letter, dated May 24, 1993, requesting this office
review the following property for its suitability as habitat for federally
listed threatened or endagered species:

0.321 acres located on Lakeview Drive in Comanche
Trail Subdivision, Travis County, Texas.

We have reviewed the information you provided as well as other available
information concerning the potential for the above property to provide
suitable habitat for the federally listed endangered golden-cheeked warbler,
black-capped vireo and cave invertebrates. We believe this property would
not provide suitable habitat for the black-capped vireo and the cave
invertebrates, but would provide suitable habitat for the golden-cheeked
warbler.

Our records indicate that golden-cheeked warblers have been observed on
the periphery of this property. Current biological information indicates the
warbler is sensitive to several factors associated with residential

development, including increases in noise levels, predators, human activity

in nesting areas, and other disturbance factors. We believe that clearing or
development-related activities of this area, would constitute a “take” as

defined by the Endangered Species Act (Act). The Act prohibits “take”
unless it is incidental to an otherwise lawful activity and been authorized

' under section 7 or section 10(a)(1)(B) of the Act. Therefore, construction

in this area would require authorization under the Act.

We appreciate your concern for endangered species and your desire to
comply with the endangered Species Act. This response is intended to
assist you in such compliance. You are ultimately responsible for
compliance with all laws, and this letter does not exempt you from
complying with current or future federal, state, regional, or local
development requirements. If you wish to discuss this further, please
contact Alma Barrera at (512) 482-5436.

Sincerely,

Sam D. Hamilton
State Administrator

12a

United States Department of the Interior

FISH AND WILDLIFE SERVICE
611 E. Sixth Street
Grant Bldg., Suite 407
Austin, Texas 78701

December 3, 1993

Keith E. Young

KEY Group Engineering

3701 Bee Caves Road, Suite 102
Austin, Texas 78746

Dear Mr. Young:

This responds to your letter, dated August 31, 1993, requesting this
office review the following property for its suitability as habitat for
federally listed threatened or endangered species:

Part of 25.4 area tract located 4.1 miles from 1431
off Lime Creek Road, Travis County, Texas

We have reviewed the information you provided as well as other available
information concerning the potential for the above property to provide
suitable habitat for the federally listed endangered golden-cheeked warbler,
black-capped vireo and cave invertebrates. We believe this property would
provide suitable habitat for the golden-cheeked warbler, the black-capped
vireo and/or the cave invertebrates.

The subject tract is part of a large tract occupied by golden-cheeked
warbler, black-capped vireo and/or the cave invertebrates. Additionally,
areas that are biologically necessary for the continued existence of a

l3a

species may not be continuously occupied by that species. Current
biologicial information indicates the warbler and vireo are sensitive to
several factors associated with residential development, including increases
in noise levels, predators, human activity in nesting areas, and other
disturbance factors. We believe that clearing or development-related
activities of this area, would constitute a “take” as defined by the
Endangered Species Act (Act). The Act prohibits “take” unless it is
incidental to an otherwise lawful activity and been authorized under
section 7 or section 10(a)(1)(B) of the Act. Therefore, construction in this
area would require authorization under the Act.

We appreciate your concern for endangered species and your desire to
comply with the Endangered Species Act. This repsonse is intended to
assist you in such compliance. You are ultimately repsonsible for
compliance with all laws, and this letter does not exempt you from
complying with current or future federal, state, regional, or local
development requirements. If you wish to discuss this further, please
contact Alma Barrera at (512) 482-5436.

Sincerely,

/s/ Jana Grote

Sam D. Hamilton
State Administrator

Enclosure

l4a

United States Department of the Interior

FISH AND WILDLIFE SERVICE
611 E. Sixth Street
Grant Bldg., Suite 407
Austin, Texas 78701

January 13, 1994

Patrick Noack
2000 Yaupon Valley Road
Austin, Texas 78746

Dear Mr. Noack:

It has come to our attention that clearing and construction activities
associated with residential development are occurring on a 23-acre tract
located off Yaupon Valley Road in Westlake Hills, Travis County, Texas.
Information received from the Travis County Tax Appraisal District
indictates that you are the owner of this property.

The Fish and Wildlife Service (Service) has reviewed this property for
endangered species concerns in a letter, dated June 10, 1992, (see enclosed
copy). In this letter, based on biological surveys provided by Horizon
Environmental Services and other information available at that time, our
agency advised that development of this tract would require a permit for
“incidental taking” under section 10(a\(1)(B) of the Endangered Species
Act (Act). Further development of this property would be prohibited under
section 9 of the Act. We are providing information on this section
10(aX1)(B) permitting process for your information.

lSa

Provisions of the Act prohibit unauthorized take of endangered species
listed under the Act. “Take” is defined as activities that harass, harm,
pursue, hunt, shoot, wound, kill, trap, capture, or collect, or attempt to
engage in such a conduct. “Harm” in this definition includes the
disturbance or destruction of habitat occupied by the species or necessary
for its recovery. Activities that could affect the warbler include clearing,
construction, or change in flora or fauna of areas in or adjacent to habitat.

iediennto Gap Gaancntidin tesnateniy onl result boven of the
Act and possible criminal or civil actions that could result in fines and/or
imprisonment.

Should you have any questions regarding the determination on this
property, or would like to have a meeting concerning this property and the
section 10(a1)B) permitting proccess, please contact Bob Simpson at
512/482-5436.

Sincerely,

/s/ Joseph E. Johnston

Sam D. Hamilton
State Administrator

16a

United States Department of the Interior

FISH AND WILDLIFE SERVICE
611 E. Sixth Street
Grant Bldg., Suite 407
Austin, Texas 7870]

January 13, 1994

Jerri Garner
25613 River Fern Court
Leander, Texas 78641

Dear Ms. Garner:

This letter is in reference to recent clearing activities on the property across
River Fern Court from your horse stable operations near Leander, in
Williamson County, Texas. This property supports vegetation that is
possibly occupied by the federally listed endangered golden-cheeked
warbler. According to our files, golden-cheeked warblers have been
sighted on adjacent properties in similar habitat, and are very likely present
on your property close to the area that has been cleared.

If the activities taking place on the subject site are in any way disrupting
the breeding and/or foraging activities of the federally protected golden-
cheeked warbler, these activities would constitute a “take” of listed species.
Take of listed species is prohibited under section 9 of the Endangered
Species Act (Act) and must be avoided or authorized under section 7 or
section 10 of the Act.

The term “take” means to harass, pursue, hunt, shoot, wound, kill, trap,
capture, or collect, or attempt to engage in such conduct. “Harm” in this

17a

definition of “take” in the Act means an act which actually kills or injures
wildlife. Such act may include significant habitat modification or
degradation where it actually kills or injures wildlife by significantly
impairing essential behavioral patterns, including breeding, feeding, or
sheltering. “Incidental taking,” authorized under section 7 or 10 of the
Act, means any taking otherwise prohibited, if such taking is incidental to,
and not the purpose of, the carrying out of an otherwise lawful activity.

Based on aerial photographs, and other information available to this office,
we recommend that clearing activities on the property be discontinued and
a biological survey be performed by qualified biologists to determine if this
habitat is currently being utilized bv golden-cheeked warblers. This would
help you, and our office, determine if further development of this site
would require authorization under the Act. Please see the appropriate
enclosures for minimal survey requirements for the golden-cheeked
warbler.

If you have further questions regarding the ecology of the golden-cheeked
warbler, of the Act, please contact Bob Simpson of my staff at (512) 482-
5436.

Sincerely,

/s/ Jana Grote
/s/ Joseph E. Johnston

Sam D. Hamilton
State Administrator

ce: Jean Nance

United States Department of the Interior

FISH AND WILDLIFE SERVICE
611 E. Sixth Street
Grant Bldg., Suite 407
Austin, Texas 78701

January 13, 1994

Austin Americana Enterprises
Rex Bohls

1301 S IH-35

Austin, Texas 78741

Dear Mr. Bohls:

It has come to our attention that clearing and construction activities
associated with residential development are occurring on a 473 acre tract
of land known as the Friendship Ranch in Hays County, Texas.
Information received from the Hays County Tax Appraisal District
indicates that you are the owner of this property.

The Fish and Wildlife Service reviewed this property in a letter to the
Doug Hodge Company on October 16, 1991, for endangered species
concerns (see enclosure). In that letter we stated that, based on aerial
photographs and other data available to this office, the property could
provide suitable habitat for the federally listed and protected golden-
cheeked warbler (Denroica chrysoparia). We also included information
regarding minimal survey (warblers) using the property.

Provisions of the Act prohibit unauthorized take of endangered species
listed under the Act. “Take” is defined as activities that harass, harm,
pursue, hunt, shoot, wound, kill, trap, capture, or collect, or attempt to
engage in such a conduct. “Harm” in this definition includes the
disturbance or destruction of habitat occupied by the species or necessary

19a

for its recovery. Activities that could affect the warbler include clearing,
construction, or change in flora or fauna of areas in or adjacent to habitat.

We have not received any information, since that correspondence, to
change our determination that the subject property could provide suitable
habitat for the warbler. If there are warblers present on this property,
development could require a permit for “incidental taking” under section
10(aX 1B) of the Endangered Species Act (Act). We are providing
information on the section 10(aX1\B) permitting process for your
consideration and urge you to contact this office for further assistance on
how to comply with the Act.

Should you have any questions regarding this property, or would like to
schedule a meeting concerning this property and the section |0(a\ 1B)
permitting process, please contact Bob Simpson at 512/482-5436.

Sincerely,
/s/ Joseph E. Johnston

Sam D. Hamilton
State Administrator

Enclosure

cc: Alex Hasychak, FWS, Special Agent, Law Enforcement

20a
United States Department of the Interior

FISH AND WILDLIFE SERVICE
611 E. Sixth Street
Grant Bidg., Suite 407
Austin, Texas 78701

January 25, 1994
Lee Sherrod
Horizon Environmental Services, Inc.
P.O. Box 162017

Austin, Texas 78716
Dear Mr. Sherrod:

This responds to your fax, dated September |7, 1993, requesting that this
office evaluate the following property for its suitability as habitat for
federally listed threatened or endangered species:

Two tracts on River Hills Road off FM 2244 (Bee Caves Road),
Austin, Travis County, Texas

We have reviewed the information on the 1991 and 1993 surveys you
provided as well as other available information concerning the potential for
the above property to provide suitable habitat for the federally listed
endangered golden-cheeked warbler, black-capped vireo and cave
invertebrates. We believe that this property would not provide suitable
habitat for the black-capped vireo or the cave invertebrates, but could
provide suitable habitat for the golden-cheeked warbler.

Because of sightings on or adjacent to these tracts, we believe that clearing
or development related activities on this acreage would constitute a “take”
as defined by Endangered Species Act (Act). The Act prohibits the “take”

2la

of a federally listed species unless the “take” is incidental to an otherwise
lawful activity and section 7 or section 10(a) 1B) permit under the Act
has been obtained. Therefore, development of this acreage would require
authorization under the Act.

This response is intended to assist you in such compliance. You are
ultimately responsible for compliance with all laws, and this letter does not
exempt you from complying with current or future federal, state, regional
or local development requirements. If you wish to discuss this further,
please contact Alma Barrera at (512) 482-5436.

Sincerely,
/s/ Jana Grote

Sam D. Hamilton
State Administrator
Enclosure
ce: City of Austin, Conservation & Environmental Department

City of Austin, Electric Department
Jim Nuckles, Travis County Tax Appraisal District

22a
United States Department of the Interior

FISH AND WILDLIFE SERVICE
611 E. Sixth Street
Grant Bldg., Suite 407
Austin, Texas 78701

April 14, 1994
Lee Sherrod
Horizon Environmental Services, Inc.
P.O. Box 162017

Austin, Texas 78716
Dear Mr. Sherrod:

This responds to your letter dated March 4, 1994, requesting this office
review the following property for its suitability as habitat for federally
listed threatened or endangered species:

Painted Bunting Subdivision, Austin, Travis County, Texas

We have reviewed the information you provided as well as other available
information concerning the potential of the above property to provide
suitable habitat for the federally listed endangered golden-cheeked warbler,
black-capped vireo and czve invertebrates. Based on current biological
information, we do not believe that this property would provide suitable
habitat for the black-capped vireo or the cave invertebrates, but would
provide habitat for the golden-cheeked warbler.

Your bird survey indicates that two golden-cheeked warblers were
observed in the canyon. Current information indicates the warbler is

23a

sensitive to several factors associated with residential development,
including increases in noise levels, predators, human activity in nesting
areas, and other disturbance factors. Therefore, we believe that clearing or
development-related activities on Lots 6-13, would constitute a “take” as
defined by the Endangered Species Act. The Act prohibits the “take”
unless it is incidental to an otherwise lawful activity and section
10(aX1)(B) permit under the Act has been obtained. Therefore,
construction of residences on these lots would require authorization under
the Act.

However, construction on Lots 1-4 and 14-15 (drawing enclosed) would
not require authorization under the Act if the following conservation
measures are incorporated in the construction.

l. Remove only those trees and shrubs necessary for construction of
driveway, septic tank and house.

2. Confine the development activities on the front 200 feet of the lot.
3. Use only native plant species for landscaping.

a Confine exterior construction activities so that it occurs outside the
breeding season for the golden-cheeked warbler (breeding period
is from March | through August 1), so as to avoid disruption of
breeding behavior.

We believe that destruction of the habitat located beyond the front 200 feet

of the lot could result in a “take” of the endangered golden-cheeked
warbler and thus, require authorization under the Act.

We appreciate your concern for endangered species and your desire to
comply with the Act. This response is intended to assist you in such
compliance. However, you are ultimately responsible for compliance with
all laws, and this letter cannot assure you complete protection from any
future liability or exempt you from any current or future federal, state,

24a

regional or local development requirements. If you wish to discuss this
matter further, please contact Alma Barrera at (512) 482-5436.

Sincerely,
Field Supervisor
Enclosure
ce: City of Austin, Conservation & Environmental Department

City of Austin, Electric Department
Jim Nuckles, Travis County Tax Appraisal District

25a
United States Department of the Interior

FISH AND WILDLIFE SERVICE
611 E. Sixth Street
Grant Bidg., Suite 407
Austin, Texas 78701

September 23, 1994

Fran & Larry Collmann
9911 Anderson Mill Road
Austin, Texas 78750

Dear Mr. & Mrs. Collmann:

This responds to your letter, dated September 19, 1994, requesting this
office re-evaluate the 13.942 acres located near Spicewood Springs Road
and Loop 360 off White Cliff Dr., Austin, Travis County, Texas property.
We have re-evaluated the new information you provided.

As stated in our letter June 1, 1994, our records indicate that golden-
cheeked warblers hove been sighted on the western, southern and eastern
boundaries of this property. Mr. Lee Sherrod’s letter to you of June 13,
1994, indicated the possibility of black-capped vireos in the area. Current
information indicates the warbler and vireo are sensitive to several factors
associated with residential development, including increases in noise levels,
predators, human activity in nesting areas, and other disturbance factors.
Therefore, we believe that clearing or development-related activities on the
majority of this tract, could constitute a “take” as defined by the
Endangered Species Act. The Act prohibits “take” unless it is incidental
to an otherwise lawful activity and has been authorized under section
10(aX(1(B) of the Act. We recommend that authorization under the Act
be secured prior to any development.

26a

However, we also said, there may be a possibility of building a single
house on the 13.942 acres without constituting “take” if the following
conditions are observed. We wish to reiterate that this property is very
close to habitat that is occupied by the golden-cheeked warbler and/or
black-capped vireo. To avoid harassment (a possible “take” violation) of
the species that may occur in the area, we wish to recommend the
following conservation measures:

I. Construction of only one single family home on the northeast
portion of the property, the area which is already cleared.

2. The driveway be constructed in the already cleared roadway.

3. Exterior construction activities on this property not occur between
March | and August !.

4. Remove only the trees that are needed for construction of the
house and septic field.

5. Use only native plants and grasses for landscaping.

6. Ensure that all clearing and construction operations are consistent
with current practices of the Texas Forest Service to prevent the
spread of oak wilt.

7. Prohibit the use of pesticides, herbicides and fertilizers.

If these conservation recommendations are not followed, then we believe
a take could occur and recommend obtaining authorization under section
10(a)(1 XB) or section 7 of the Endangered Species Act. Section
10(a)(1(B) permit procedures are enclosed.

Thank you for providing pertinent information to help re-evaluate this
property. If you wish to discuss this matter further, please contact Alma
Barrera at (512) 482-5436.

27a
Sincerely,
/s/ Jana Grote
Field Supervisor
Enclosure
ce: City of Austin, Conservation & Environmental
Department

City of Austin, Electric Department
Jim Nuckles, Travis County Tax Appraisal District

28a
United States Department of the Interior

FISH AND WILDLIFE SERVICE
611 E. Sixth Street
Grant Bldg., Suite 407
Austin, Texas 78701

January 13, 1994

Glenn Williams and Terry Wynn, Partners
P.O. Box 64138
Lubbock, Texas 79464

Gentlemen:

This letter is in reference to recent vegetation clearing activities on
611.208 acres of your property located near Spanish Pass Road and Tower
Road in Kendall County, Texas. This property supports vegetation that is
likely to be occupied by the federally listed endangered golden-cheeked
and/or black-capped vireo.

If the development activities on the subject site are in any way disrupting
the breeding and/or foraging activities of the federally protected golden-
cheeked warbler and/or black-capped vireo, these activities could constitute
a “take” of listed species.

The Endangered Species Act (Act) prohibits the “take” of federally-listed
species unless the “take” is incidental to otherwise lawful activity and a
section 10(a1)(B) permit under the Act has been obtained. “Take” is
defined as harass, harm, pursue, hunt, shot, wound, kill, trap, capture, or
collect, or to attempt to engage in any such conduct.

29a

We recommend that clearing activities on the property be discontinued and
you contact Alma Barrera for additional information on compliance of such
activities with the Act at (512) 482-5436.

Sincerely,
/s/ Joseph E. Johnston

Field Supervisor

cc: Regional Director, Region 2

Solicitor, Department of the Interior, Tulsa, OK
Fish and Wildlife Service, Law Enforcement, San Antonio, TX

30a

United States Department of the Interior

FISH AND WILDLIFE SERVICE
611 E. Sixth Street
Grant Bldg., Suite 407
Austin, Texas 78701

June 9, 1994

Stan & Donna Buck
305 Golden Oaks Drive
Georgetown, Texas 78628

Dear Mr. & Mrs. Buck:

This responds to your letter, dated March 23, 1994, requesting this office
to review the following property for its suitability as habitat for federally
listed threatened or endangered species:

Lot 8, Lake Georgetown Estates II, located on County
Road 262, Georgetown, Williamson County, Texas

We have reviewed the information you provided as well as other available
information concerning the potential of the above property to provide
suitable habitat for the federally listed endangered golden-cheeked warbler,
black-capped vireo and cave invertebrates. We believe that this property
would not provide suitable habitat for the black-capped vireo or the cave
invertebrates, but would provide habitat for the golden-cheeked warbler.

The subject lot is part of a block of habitat occupied by the golden-cheeked
warbler. Areas that are biologically necessary for the continued existence
of a species may not be continuously occupied by that species. Current

3la

biological information indicate the warbler is sensitive to several factors
associated with residential development, including increases in noise levels,
predators, human activity in nesting areas, and other disturbance factors.
We believe that clearing or development-related activities in this area,
would constitute a “take” as defined by the Endangered Species Act (Act).
The Act prohibits the “take” unless it is incidental to an otherwise lawfu!
activity and has been authorized under section 10(a)(1)(B) of the Act. We
recommend that authorization under the Act be secured prior to any
development. Procedures for the section 10(a)(1)(B) permit process are
enclosed.

We appreciate your concern for endangered species and your desire to
comply with the Endangered Species Act. This response is intended to
assist you in such compliance. You are ultimately responsible for
compliance with all laws, and this letter does not exempt you from
complying with current or future federal, state, regional or local
development requirements. If you wish to discuss this matter further,
please contact Alma Barrera at (512) 482-5436.

Sincerely,

Field Supervisor

32a

United States Department of the Interior

FISH AND WILDLIFE SERVICE
611 E. Sixth Street
Grant Bldg., Suite 407
Austin, Texas 78701

September 22, 1994
Lee Sherrod
Horizon Environmental Services, Inc.
P.O. Box 162017

Austin, Texas 78716
Dear Mr. Sherrod:

This responds to your letter, dated June 28, 1994, regarding the re-
evaluation of the HE Brodie tract, located Barton Creek Loop 360, Lamar
and Ben White Blvd., Austin, Travis County, Texas.

Our records indicate that golden-cheeked warblers have been observed
along the Barton Creek greenbelt adjacent to this property and some
observations along the property line. The subject tract is part of a large
tract occupied by golden-cheeked warblers. a on
biologically necessary for the continued existence o @ species may
continuously occupied by that species. Current biological information
indicates the warbler is sensitive to several factors associated with
development, including increases in noise levels, predaitors, human activity
in nesting areas, and other disturbance factors.

We believe that clearing or development-related actiwities on part of this
property (the water quality buffer and transition zones), could constitute a
“take” as defined by the Endangered Species Act (Act). The Act prohibits
“take” unless it is incidental to an otherwise lawful activity and has been
authorized under section 10(a)(1)(B) of the Act.

33a

As discussed during our meeting of July 12, we believe some development
can occur outsice the City of Austin water quality buffer and transition
zones, 800 feet from the middle of Barton Creek, without constituting
“take” if the following conditions are observed.

I. Exterior construction activities within 1000 feet from the middle
of the creek not occur between March | and August |.

2. Remove only trees that are needed for construction.

3. Use only native plants and grasses for landscaping

4 Ensure that all clearing and construction operations are consistent
with current practices of the Texas Forest Service to prevent the
spread of oak wilt.

If these conservation recommendations are not followed, then we believe
a take could likely occur and we recommend obtaining authorization under
section 10(aX 1B) or section 7 of the Endangered Species Act.

We appreciate your concern for endangered species and your desire to
comply with the Act. If you wish to discuss this matter further, please
contact Alma Barrera at (512) 482-5436.

Sincerely,
/s/ Jana Grote
Field Supervisor
Enclosure
fl City of Austin, Environmental & Conservation Services

City of Austin, Power & Light
Jim Nuckles, Travis County Tax Appraisal District

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0666%3A20. Public record. Not legal advice.
