# Amicus Curiae Brief — Bennett v. Spear

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0666%3A18

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1997
- **Citation:** 520 U.S. 154

## Text

> } |
- |

No. 95-813 MAY 23 |

an |

-——< on

Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1995

BRAD BENNETT, et al., Petitioners
V.

MARVIN PLENERT, et al., Respondents

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Ninth Circuit

BRIEF OF THE AMERICAN FARM BUREAU
FEDERATION, CALIFORNIA FARM BUREAU,
IDAHO FARM BUREAU, TEXAS FARM BUREAU,
AND OREGON FARM BUREAU
AS AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

JOHN J. RADEMACHER
General Counsel Counsel of Record
RICHARD L. KRAUSE MICHAEL F. ROSENBLUM
American Farm Bureau JEFFREY W. SARLES
Federation TRACY M. FLYNN

225 Touhy Avenue Mayer, Brown & Platt
Park Ridge, Illinois 60068 190 South LaSalle Street
(708) 399-5700 Chicago, Illinois 60603

(312) 782-0600

TIMOTHY S. BISHOP

Counsel for Amici Curiae

[Additional counsel listed on signature page]

Supreme Coor

~

LX

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether private landowners are within the “zone of
interests” of the Endangered Species Act and thus have
standing to challenge the government’s failure to adhere to
that statute’s enforcement standards and procedures.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTION PRESENTED ... 1... cccccccccsctt i
INTERESTS OF THE AMICI CURIAE ......... l
ARGUMENT ....0se000000 60 eee 2

I. FARMERS AND RANCHERS ARE WELL WITH-
IN THE ZONE OF INTERESTS OF THE ESA . 3

A. Farmers And Ranchers Are Regulated By The
ESA And Hence Are Within Its Zone Of
I 3

B. The ESA Provides Procedural Protections
Against Needless Economic Harm To Private
Lendowaems ....ccvccsncnnncen 5

C. Farmers And Ranchers Must Have Standing If
The ESA’s Procedural Limits Are To Be
I 9

D. The Court Of Appeals’ Motivation Test For
Standing Would Abrogate An Important Check
On Governmental Misconduct ......... 10

E. The Decision Below Was A Premature And
Partisan Ruling On The Merits ......... 13

F. The Impact Of The Decision Below Extends
Well Beyond The ESA Provisions At Issue
PP 14

-lii-
TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Page

Il. THE COURT OF APPEALS’ DENIAL OF

STANDING VIOLATES SEPARATION OF
POWERS

-iv-
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases: Page
Air Courier Conf. vy. APWU, 498 U.S. 517 (1991) ... 5

Arnold Tours. Inc. v. Camp, 400 U.S. 45 (1970) .. 5,7

Association of Data Processing Serv. Orgs. v. Camp,

397 U.S. 190 (1D) . 0. ees 3, 5, 7, 10, 15
Babbitt v. Sweet Home Chapter of Communities for a

Great Or., 115 S. Ct. 2407 (1995) ....... 4, 8,9
Barlow v. Collins, 397 U.S. 159 (1970)... ....... 8
Christy v. Lujan, 490 U.S. 1114 (1989) ......... 12

Clarke v. Securities Indus. Ass'n, 479 U.S. 388
CP cc cecceerebeccucesececsess passim

Ferrer Tere ee eee Te 10

Gladstone Realtors v. Village of Bellwood, 441 U.S.
SE Gee ob cece baseeehantba bate xs 9, 16

Idaho Farm Bureau Fed'n v. Babbitt, 900 F. Supp.
1349 (D. Idaho 1995) ......... 2, 4, 10, 14, 15

Investment Co. Inst. v. Camp, 401 U.S. 617 (1971) 5, 13

Mausolf v. Babbitt, 913 F. Supp. 1334 (D. Minn.
aes ee ee ee 11, 12

Middlesex County Sewerage Auth. v. National Sea
Clammers Ass'n, 453 U.S. 1 (1981)... ...... 16

-Vy-
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page
Schering Corp. v. FDA, 51 F.3d 390 (3d Cir.), cert.
denied, 116 S. Ct. 274 (1995) ..........., 10
Swan View Coalition, Inc. v. Turner, 824 F. Supp.
PE EE ha ead ei fe ae 16

Tennessee Valley Auth. v. Hill, 437 U.S. 153 (1978) .. 7

Statutes:

IC Nites Bec vi ou et ots f 5, 6
4 Pe eee 5, 6,9
a) ee eee ee 3, 16
Miscellaneous:

Albert, Standing to Challenge Administrative Action:

An Inadequate Surrogate for Claim for Relief, 83
We ee PT 6 wh cnc ccnccececenn 13

Soe Came. Gis. SEEDS CISPR . ww we ccc cece 6

Fletcher, The Structure of Standing, 98 Yale L.J. 221
De sesels bi bee tuneeee se eek cele 17

Jaffe, The Citizen as Litigant in Public Actions: The
Non-Hohfeldian or Ideological Plaintiff, 116 U.
3 4 £2 are 16

-Vi-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Ring & Behrend, Using Plaintiff Motivation to Limit
Standing: An Inappropriate Attempt to Short-
Circuit Environmental Citizen Suits, 8 J. Envtl. L.
& Litig. 345 (1994) 0... eee eee eee

Scalia, The Doctrine of Standing as an Essential
Element of the Separation of Powers, 17 Suffolk

U. L. Rev. 881 (1983)... 2... 2 ee ee ees

Sunstein, What's Standing After Lujan? Of Citizen
Suits, “Injuries,” and Article III, 91 Mich. L. Rev.

tl FRPPrrrereerecry ieee

United States Fish & Wildlife Service, An Ecosystem
Approach to Fish and Wildlife Conservation

C—O eee ee re ee ee

Page

INTERESTS OF THE AMICI CURIAE’

The American Farm Bureau Federation (“AFBF”) is a
voluntary general farm organization organized in 1920 under
the General Not-For-Profit Corporation Act of the State of
Illinois. AFBF was founded to protect, promote, and
represent the business, economic, social, and educational
interests of American farmers and ranchers. AFBF has
member organizations in all 50 states and Puerto Rico
representing more than 4.4 million members and their
families. Amici California, Idaho, Oregon, and Texas Farm
Bureaus are constituent members of AFBF, representing the
interests of farmers and ranchers in their respective states.’

The AFBF and state Farm Bureau amici have a direct
interest in the outcome of this case. Their farmer and rancher
members own or lease significant amounts of property, on
which they depend for their livelihoods and upon which all
Americans rely for food and other basic necessities. Amici’s
members’ use and enjoyment of their land has often been
restricted by application of the Endangered Species Act
(“ESA” or “Act”). The decision below denies amici and
their members the right to bring judicial challenges to such
restrictions, even where an agency flagrantly violates express
provisions of the ESA. In consequence, amici have a strong
interest in reversing the Ninth Circuit’s ruling that farmers
and ranchers who have been harmed by the U.S. Fish and
Wildlife Service’s (“FWS”’s) perverse application of the
ESA have no standing to bring a judicial challenge.

We believe that amici’s experience in litigating ESA
issues will be helpful to this Court in reaching a decision.
For example, the AFBF and Idaho Farm Bureaus have

* The consents of the parties to the filing of this amicus brief
are on file with the Clerk.

' Texas Farm Bureau has additionally endorsed the amicus
curiae brief in support of petitioner filed by the State of
Texas in this case.

2

recently appealed to the Ninth Circuit a decision by a district
court in Idaho that—based on the Ninth Circuit’s ruling in
this case—denied them standing to challenge the govern-
ment’s listing of five species of Snake River snails as
endangered or threatened. See Idaho Farm Bureau Fed’n v.
Babbitt, 900 F. Supp. 1349, 1360 (D. Idaho 1995) (“Five
Snails Case”).

In the Five Snails Case, the Farm Bureau plaintiffs allege
that FWS failed to follow procedures and apply standards
mandated by the ESA, including the requirement that FWS
use the “best scientific and commercial data available” in
making a listing decision. 16 U.S.C. § 1533(b)(2). As a
result, plaintiffs contend, they were denied access to river
waters for recreational and agricultural use and restricted in
the type of agricultural practices they could employ. The
district court, relying heavily on the Court of Appeals’
opinion in this case, held that the plaintiffs lacked standing
because their injuries did not fall within the zone of interests
of the ESA. 900 F. Supp. at 1360.

On appeal in the Five Snails Case, the Farm Bureau
plaintiffs argue that the zone of interests test does not apply
to their situation because they were directly regulated by the
ESA and the FWS’s listings. In the alternative, plaintiffs
contend that even if the zone of interests test does apply,
they satisfied its requirements by showing that they had been
and would continue to be indirectly regulated by the snail
listings. The Five Snails Case illustrates one common and
concrete way in which the ESA harms farmers and ranchers.
If standing is denied them in such cases on the basis of
Bennett, Farm Bureau members will be denied any signifi-
cant avenue of relief against regulatory excesses in the ESA
listing process.

ARGUMENT

Amici agree with Petitioners that the zone of interests
test is not applicable where Congress has expressly made

3

standing coterminous with the reach of Article III by enacting
a broad citizen suit provision like that in the ESA, 16
U.S.C. § 1540(g)(1). Our purpose in this brief, however, is
to show that if the Court finds the zone of interests test
applicable to this proceeding, the text, structure, and purpos-
es of the ESA, as well as this Court’s precedents, mandate
that farmers and ranchers injured by government failure to
adhere to the ESA’s procedures and standards are within the
ESA’s zone of interests and have standing to seek redress.

I. FARMERS AND RANCHERS ARE WELL WITHIN
THE ZONE OF INTERESTS OF THE ESA

The Court of Appeals banished farmers and ranchers
from the zone of interests of the Endangered Species Act.
But this Court has held that persons have standing to chal-
lenge government action that has caused them injury,
provided there is a “plausible relationship” between the
injured party’s interests and the policies incorporated in “the
overall context” of the statute at issue. Clarke v. Securities
Indus. Ass'n, 479 U.S. 388, 401-403 (1987). The policies
embodied in the ESA require government agencies both to
protect endangered species and, in the course of doing so, to
weigh the impact of species-protection measures on private
landowners. Thus, the relationship between the interests of
the plaintiffs in this case and the purposes of the ESA is
more than the “plausible” link demanded in Clarke; the
plaintiffs must have their day in court if the balancing
process contemplated by the ESA is to take place at all.

A. Farmers And Ranchers Are Regulated By The
ESA And Hence Are Within Its Zone Of Interests

It is well-established that injured persons who are
“‘regulated by the statute * * * in question’” are within its
zone of interests. Association of Data Processing Serv. Orgs.
v. Camp, 397 U.S. 150, 153 (1970) (*ADAPSO”). Farmers
and ranchers typically satisfy this test. No one, for example,
is more heavily impacted by FWS’s disregard for the

4

standards imposed by the ESA in the preparation of biologi-
cal opinions than the rancher plaintiffs in this case. Plaintiffs
will have less water available for irrigation and recreation,
which wili determine how they can use their land. Though
this form of regulation may be indirect, it is regulation
nonetheless. It ignores the realities of the situation to
maintain, as did the Court of Appeals (63 F.3d at 917 n.2),
that the government's actions here regulate only itself and not
the plaintiff ranchers.

Another example of how the ESA regulates farmers and
ranchers is the “take” prohibitions of the Act. Once a species
is listed, these prohibitions apply automatically. They often
limit or prevent the most routine agricultural activities, from
clearing land to plowing fields. See Babbitt v. Sweet Home
Chapter of Communities for a Great Or., 115 S. Ct. 2407
(1995). It is pure fiction to pretend that listing decisions do
not regulate the conduct of farmers and ranchers. See Five
Snails Case, supra.

Farmers and ranchers are impacted by the ESA so
immediately and to such a great extent that they are effec-
tively regulated by the statute and are obviously within its
zone of interests. But even if this were not the case, there
can be no doubt that Congress envisioned that procedural
constraints on FWS would benefit landowners and intended
that they have standing to enforce those limits. Farmers’ and
ranchers’ activities would fall outside the ESA’s zone of
interests only if their interests were so “marginally related”
to the statutory scheme that Congress reasonably could not
have intended to permit them to enforce the relevant provi-
sions of the Act. Clarke, 479 U.S. at 399. This test for
standing is not “especially demanding”; in fact, there need

5

be “no indication of congressional purpose to benefit the
would-be plaintiff” at all. Jd. at 399-400.’

B. The ESA Provides Procedural Protections Against
Needless Economic Harm To Private Landowners

Congress sought to protect property owners against
unreasonable and overbroad regulation under the ESA by
requiring responsible agencies to factor the economic impact
of species-protection proposals into their decision-making.

The ESA requires that any action taken by government
agencies to protect endangered species be “reasonable and
prudent” (16 U.S.C. § 1536(b)(3)(A)), that agencies “tak[e]
into consideration the economic impact” of their action in a
balancing process that weighs the respective benefits of
acting or not acting (§ 1533(b)(2)), and that they rely on the
“best scientific and commercial data available”
(§ 1536(a)(2)). The natural and ordinary meaning of these
provisions is that Congress intended that ESA enforcement
should be as aggressive as necessary to prevent species

> Even if the rancher plaintiffs were not subject to ESA

regulation, they should have standing as economic competi-
tors of the endangered fish and their champions. Indeed, the
Court of Appeals justified its denial of standing based on the
plaintiffs’ “competing interest” with the suckers. 63 F.3d at
921. This Court often has granted standing to the economic
competitors of regulated parties. E.g., Clarke, 479 U.S. at
409 (trade association representing securities entities had
standing under statute regulating banks); Air Courier Conf.
v. APWU, 498 U.S. 517, 529 (1991) (“competitors of
regulated entities have standing to challenge regulations”);
see also ADAPSO, 397 U.S. at 156; Arnold Tours, Inc. v.
Camp, 400 U.S. 45, 46 (1970); Investment Co. Inst. v.
Camp, 401 U.S. 617, 620-621 (1971).

6

extinction but not more so, and that enforcing agencies
should minimize any detrimental economic impact of species
protection on property owners. In determining whether the
zone of interests test is satisfied, courts properly consider the
“overall purposes” of the statute in question and are not
limited to consideration of any particular statutory section.
Clarke, 479 U.S. at 401. Although the “economic impact”
consideration is required specifically for designations of
critical habitat (§ 1533(b)(2)), it reaches more widely and
clearly reflects one of the “overall purposes” of the ESA.

For one example, it is impossible to conceive how an
agency decision can satisfy the § 1536(b)(3)(A) requirement
that it be “reasonable and prudent” if that decision was
reached without taking into account its likely economic
impact. Economic consequences always inform a reasonable
and prudent decision. For another, the statute specifically
requires “consideration of the economic impact of * * *
designating critical habitat” (124 Cong. Rec. 38134 (1978)
(Statement of Rep. Leggett)), including “revisions” to and
“exclusion{s]” from habitat designation. § 1533(b)(2).
Properly interpreted, the ESA demands that economic

interests be taken into account at every stage of the species .

protection process.

Other provisions of the ESA likewise indicate a congres-
sional purpose to require that agencies balance the interests
of landowners, broadly conceived, against the goal of species
protection. For example, the Act’s requirement that an
agency conduct a hearing on a listing proposal, if requested
(§ 1533(b)(5)(E)), creates a forum in which competing
interests can be aired. But farmers’ and ranchers’ ability to
demand a hearing and make statements on a listing proposal
would be meaningless if they were denied standing to
challenge the agency’s unreasoned and arbitrary rejection of
their views. Other provisions too—such as notice and
comment requirements more demanding than those imposed
by the Administrative Procedure Act—would be otiose if

7

Congress’ sole concern were to protect endangered species;
they show that a more balanced approach was intended.’

Plaintiffs allege that in preparing its biological opinion on
how to protect two endangered species of suckers, FWS
failed accurately to assess and balance the competing
interests at stake. As a result, FWS developed an unreason-
able and imprudent plan to save the fish, requiring substan-
tially higher-than-necessary water levels in the Klamath
reservoirs and thereby inflicting substantial harm on local
property owners like plaintiffs who depend on that water for
irrigation and other purposes. Because the solution proposed
by FWS and adopted by the Bureau of Reclamation goes far
beyond what was necessary to save the fish, plaintiffs allege,
respondents acted unlawfully and should be restrained.

The ESA contemplates the possibility that agencies will
adopt overbroad species protection measures of the type
alleged by plaintiffs. The Act incorporates standards to guard
against this overreaching. Plaintiffs allege a violation of those
standards and seek to restore agency consideration of the full
array of interests contemplated by Congress. The Court of
Appeals would bar them from doing so.

That Congress did not specifically identify farmers and
ranchers as beneficiaries of the ESA is of no moment. This
Court in Clarke recognized that classes of persons not
specifically mentioned in a statute nevertheless often fall
within its zone of interests and have standing. 479 U.S. at
395-396 & n.10 (citing ADAPSO, 397 U.S. 150, and Arnold

> For all these reasons, amici urge this Court to reconsider
its dictum in Tennessee Valley Auth. v. Hill, 437 U.S. 153,
184 (1978), that Congress intended to authorize species-
protection measures “whatever the cost.” It is very doubtful,
given the plain language and structure of the statute, that ary
agency decision concerning species protection may be made
without first employing cost-benefit analysis.

8

Tours, Inc. v. Camp, 400 U.S. 45 (1970)). Here, concern
for the interests of farmers and ranchers—parties whose
interests are inevitably and obviously affected by the ESA
restrictions—is “[iJmplicit in the statutory provisions,” and
thus their very concrete and substantial injuries fall within
the statute’s “zone of interests.” Barlow v. Collins, 397 U.S.
159, 164 (1970); see also Sweet Home, 115 S. Ct. at 2410
(assuming without discussion that landowners and logging
companies had standing to challenge regulations promulgated
under the ESA).

The Congressional mandate that agencies identify and
weigh economic and other interests when considering
species-protection measures is both eminently reasonable and
completely consistent with contemporary thinking regarding
the interrelated issues of protecting the environment and
promoting agricultural production. Farmers and ranchers are
central players in the ecosystem that the ESA seeks to
protect. They have long prided themselves on being stewards
of the land. Indeed, it is through their dedication to scientific
conservation methods and willingness to develop and em-
brace new technology that the United States is able to
produce, on about 300 million acres of crop land, food and
other essentials that would otherwise require setting aside a
billion or more acres for farming. The efforts of the farming
and ranching community have thus freed some 700 million
acres for other uses, including species conservation.

The FWS itself has recognized that the ESA mandates
this mutually reinforcing approach, defining its own responsi-
bility under the ESA as “protecting or restoring the function,
structure, and species composition of an ecosystem while
providing for its sustainable socioeconomic use,” and
including as its “partners” in that effort “corporate and
individual landowners.” United States Fish & Wildlife
Service, An Ecosystem Approach to Fish and Wildlife
Conservation (1995) (emphasis added). By requiring that the
government’s species protection efforts be “reasonable and

—.

9

prudent” and take account of “economic impact[s],” the ESA
contemplates a lasting and healthy relationship between the
humans and animals who share the land—not the single-
minded pursuit of species protection at any cost.

Agency regulation that fails to take full account of
economic and other consequences upsets the balanced
relationship between agricultural production and species
protection, and thus runs afoul of this broad statutory
purpose. Justice O’Connor, concurring in Sweet Home,
recognized that FWS, in the course of enforcing the ESA,
might well engage in just such “questionable applications” of
its regulations. 115 S. Ct. at 2421. Plaintiffs’ suit—claiming
that the government swept aside the balancing of landowners’
and species protection interests required by the ESA in the
interagency consultation process—strengthens the species
protection program enacted by Congress by inviting judicial
correction of “questionable applications.” The decision below
deprives plaintiffs of the ability to enforce the very part of
the Act designed to protect their interests.

C. Farmers And Ranchers Must Have Standing If
The ESA’s Procedural Limits Are To Be Enforced

It would make no sense to impose a requirement that
species protection be “reasonable and prudent” (16 U.S.C.
§ 1536(b)(3)(A)) if no one had standing to challenge unrea-
sonable and imprudent agency action. By denying the
plaintiffs standing in this case, the Court of Appeals effec-
tively removed overregulation by the challenged agencies
from any judicial oversight. Such an extreme position not
only defies common sense, but also conflicts with the well-
established principle that injury resulting from a regulatory
agency’s failure to abide by required procedures is more than
sufficient to confer standing. E.g., Gladstone Realtors v.
Village of Bellwood, 441 U.S. 91, 103-104 (1979) (complain-
ants had standing where they were “dissatisfied with the
* * * delays” resulting from HUD’s procedural irregulari-
ties).

10

Because farmers and ranchers are regulated and economi-
cally impacted by the ESA, and because their property
houses so many listed species, farmers and ranchers are
“reasonable candidates” (Clarke, 479 U.S. at 403) to serve
as “reliable private attorney[s] general” (ADAPSO, 397 U.S.
at 154) to monitor the government’s compliance with the
Act. In many instances, they may be the only class of
interested parties with the incentive and information neces-
sary to play such a watchdog role. See Five Snails Case,
infra pp. 14-15. Thus, if farmers and ranchers do not have
standing to challenge the government’s overregulation, it is
unlikely that anyone does, and there will exist no judicial
safeguard against a government run amok.

It is essential, then, if FWS and other agencies are to be
constrained within statutory limits, that economically affected
persons like plaintiffs be accorded standing. See also FCC v.
Sanders Bros. Radio Station, 309 U.S. 470, 477 (1940)
(granting standing under the Communication Act of 1934 to
the only class of persons likely to have “a sufficient interest
to bring to the attention of the appellate court errors of law”
by the FCC); Schering Corp. v. FDA, 51 F.3d 390, 396 (3d
Cir. 1995) (pioneer drug manufacturers are “well-positioned”
to monitor the FDA regulations at issue because they possess
the scientific data “to recognize when the FDA may stray
from the legislatively mandated testing requirements”).
Otherwise, those statutory limits effectively will be unen-
forceable.

D. The Court Of Appeals’ Motivation Test For
Standing Would Abrogate An Important Check
On Governmental Misconduct

The Court of Appeals would limit standing under the
ESA to plaintiffs with the “correct” motivation. Only those
purporting to be motivated by “an interest in the preservation
of endangered species” (63 F.3d at 919) would be permitted
to challenge governmental misconduct in enforcing the Act.
The court below thereby effectively transformed the zone of

ll

interests test from an objective check for a minimal nexus
between a plaintiff's interest and the statutory scheme into a
subjective inquiry into the plaintiff's motivation.

As one federal district court correctly reasoned in a
recent case presenting a similar challenge to standing under
the ESA, to deny standing to plaintiffs motivated by their
own economic well-being rather than species protection
would leave FWS “unrestrained” so long as it “cloaks any of
its acts in the laudable robe of endangered and threatened
species protection.” Mausolf v. Babbitt, 913 F. Supp. 1334,
1342 (D. Minn. 1996). And such a blanket exemption from
procedural regularity, the court continued, would be “a form
of totalitarian virtue [and] foreign to the rule of law.” /bid.
(holding that snowmobilers had standing to challenge
National Park Service’s closure of national park areas
without following proper notice and comment procedures
because “interests other than those asserted on behalf of
endangered species also fall within the zone of interests
protected by the ESA”).

Yet, that is precisely the Court of Appeals’ “Catch-22”
holding in this case: if the government's regulatory zeal leads
it to overstep the constraints imposed upon it by the ESA, the
only parties able to challenge the government's misconduct
would be those with no incentive to do so. As a practical
matter, no one would enforce these important statutory
protections. Congress could not have intended such a bizarre
result.

To illustrate the implications of the Court of Appeals’
rule, suppose that federal agencies closed Grand Canyon or
Yellowstone Park on the ground that human visitors threat-
ened the survival of a listed rodent, and did so without
following the ESA’s required procedures. According to the
court below, the affected tourists would have no standing to
sue because their interests would be opposed to those
promoted by the ESA. Likewise, the ruling below would
routinely deny standing to farmers whose livelihoods are

12

directly and significantly impacted by a regulation designed
to protect a listed species, such as the farmer who is told he
may not bring an area of land into productive use because it
harbors a listed mole, or who may not pretect livestock from
the ravages of a protected predator. Cf. “hristy v. Lujan,
490 U.S. 1114, 1115-1116 (1989) (White, J., dissenting).

These hypotheticals may seem far-fetched. But at oral
argument in Mausolf, counsel for the federal government
urged that “there is absolutely no judicial recourse for
persons who contend the FWS acts overzealously on behalf
of listed species.” 913 F. Supp. at 1342 n.13. And, in
response to a hypothetical posed by the court (with reference
to the national park at issue), the government “asserted that
the FWS could close the entire park to human access to
minimize the possibility of any incidental takes of protected
species.” Jbid. (emphasis added). As the court summed up
the government’s “remarkable position,” such an action
would be “immune from challenge, and entirely beyond
review, because it benefits, rather than harms, endangered or
threatened species.” /bid. Congress could not have intended
that government regulation roam so unchecked.

To avert such a radical unleashing of governmental
power, the zone of interests test for standing has not
been—and should not be—treated as a motivation test, as the
Court of Appeals would have it. Courts are ill-suited to
engage in such an inquiry. A motivation test for standing,
moreover, would prevent courts from hearing the variety of
positions that the ESA clearly contemplates is to be consid-
ered as disputes arise over species protection. It would result
in a skewed federal environmental policy reflecting the
positions of only certain favored groups espousing only one
set of the interests incorporated into the ESA's statutory
scheme. See generally Ring & Behrend, Using Plaintiff
Motivation to Limit Standing: An Inappropriate Attempt to
Short-Circuit Environmental Citizen Suits, 8 J. Envtl. L. &
Litig. 345, 355 (1994).

ae °

13

E. The Decision Below Was A Premature And Parti-
san Ruling On The Merits

The Court of Appeals’ ruling was, in effect, a premature
resolution of the merits of plaintiffs’ claims. Standing is a
threshold question, not a stand-in for resolution on the
merits. But, as one commentator has pointed out,
“[c]anvassing the entire statute and legislative background for
indicia of protective intent necessarily involve[s] a prelimi-
nary examination of the merits and a forecast of the strength
of the claims.” Albert, Standing to Challenge Administrative
Action: An Inadequate Surrogate for Claim for Relief, 83
Yale L.J. 425, 494-495 (1974). Here, plaintiffs’ allegation
was that FWS failed to prepare its biological opinion in
conformity with the ESA’s requirements. By denying
and incentive to bring a judicial challenge—and thereby
totally immunizing FWS’s conduct from judicial review, the
Court of Appeals effectively ruled that FWS did no wrong
(indeed, that it never can do wrong when it extends species
protection). Such a ruling was premature because, as this
Court explained in Investment Co., so long as Congress
“arguably” legislated against the challenged conduct, whether
Congress actually did so is “a question for the merits.” 401
U.S. at 620. Especially given the procedural posture of this
case—a motion to dismiss prior to any discovery—the Court
of Appeals should not have short-circuited plaintiffs’ opportu-
nity to support their allegations.

The problem is not simply one of timing, but of basic
fairness. The Court of Appeals’ version of the zone of
interests test would transform courts from neutral adjudica-
tors into partisans favoring only one side in environmental
adjudication. The absurd implications of reserving standing
only for proponents of a certain course of action—in this case
only for those asserting a “community of interest [with] the
suckers” (63 F.3d at 921)—may be demonstrated with an
illustration. Suppose Congress were to pass a statute prohibit-

14

ing alteration of any building determined to be “a historical
treasure.” Overzealous regulators ban alteration of homes
built before 1960, preventing a homeowner from pursuing a
badly needed renovation. Because the homeowner has
interests at odds with historic preservation, he or she would
not have standing to challenge the ban. A court thus would
uphold the overregulation without ever hearing substantive
arguments against it.

This Court never intended its zone of interests test—a
mere “gloss on the meaning of [APA] § 702” (Clarke, 479
U.S. at 400 n.16)—to be wielded as a sword in this manner,
vanquishing enemies of whatever point of view a court
adopts as politically proper. This Court should restore the
zone of interests test to its properly neutral and objective
role—helping to ensure that those whose interests Congress
required to be considered are granted standing to sue an
agency that has ignored that mandate.

F. The Impact Of The Decision Below Extends Well
Beyond The ESA Provisions At Issue Here

The Ninth Circuit’s niggardly approach to ESA standing
is not restricted to the species-protection sections of the ESA
at issue in this case. A federal district court in Idaho already
has relied on the ruling below to deny standing to farmers
and ranchers challenging species-listing decisions by FWS.
See Five Snails Case, 900 F. Supp. at 1360. The Court of
Appeals’ rule would quash ail efforts to constrain ESA
enforcement within the confines of the statute.

In the Five Snails Case, farmers and ranchers sued to
enjoin the FWS’s listing of five species of Snake River
mollusks as endangered or threatened. The Plaintiffs alleged
that the listings threatened both the continued viability of
their agricultural operations by denying them use of river
waters and their recreational enjoyment of the mollusk
habitat. They maintained that in reaching its decisions, FWS
ignored procedures and failed to apply standards required by

15

the ESA. The district court, relying heavily on the Bennett
opinion, denied the plaintiffs standing because their injuries
did not fall within the zone of interests of the ESA. 900 F.
Supp. at 1360.

Thus, the distorted and cramped vision of standing
advocated by the Court of Appeals already has been extended
by one court and is certain, if upheld, to annul the right of
injured parties to challenge governmental improprieties in
many additional areas of environmental regulation. A proper
understanding of the zone of interests test should be restored
before the damage done to individual landowners becomes

irreparable.
Il. THE COURT OF APPEALS’ DENIAL OF STAND-
ING VIOLATES SEPARATION OF POWERS

So long as it stays within the limits of Article III,
Congress, as the author of the ESA, has the authority to
determine ESA standing requirements. See ADAPSO, 397
U.S. at 154 (“Congress can, of course, resolve the question
one way or another, save as the requirements of Article III
dictate otherwise”). Thus, whether plaintiffs have standing to
bring this litigation “turns on congressional intent, and all
indicators helpful in discerning that intent must be weighed.”
Clarke, 479 U.S. at 400. See also Scalia, The Doctrine of
Standing as an Essential Element of the Separation of
Powers, 17 Suffolk U. L. Rev. 881, 885 (1983) (standing “is
largely within the control of Congress”).

In enacting the ESA, Congress left no doubt about its
intent. Perhaps foreseeing efforts to challenge the standing of
private landowners to bring ESA actions, Congress took care
to inscribe in the statute the broadest possible standing
provision:

“[A]ny person may commence a civil suit on his
own behalf * * * to enjoin any person, including
the United States and any other governmental
instrumentality or agency * * * who is alleged to

16

be in violation of any provision of this chapter
or regulation issued under the authority thereof.”

16 U.S.C. § 1540(g)(1)(A). That provision proceeds specifi-
cally to authorize “any person” to do exactly what plaintiffs
in this case did—sue “the Secretary where there is alleged a
failure of the Secretary to perform any act or duty under
section 1533 of this title which is not discretionary with the
Secretary.” Id. § 1540(g)(1)(C). As one commentator ex-
plained with regard to such “citizen suit” provisions, they are
designed to permit a broad array of parties to “question the
procedural regularity” of agency action. Jaffe, The Citizen as
Litigant in Public Actions: The Non-Hohfeldian or Ideological
Plaintiff, 116 U. Pa. L. Rev. 1033, 1044 (1968). That
precisely characterizes both Congress’ purpose in enacting
§ 1540 and plaintiffs’ allegations in this litigation.

Congress thus has spoken on the issue of plaintiffs’
standing. A broad citizen suit provision like that in the ESA
represents Congress’ charge to courts to be inclusive in the
diversity and breadth of interests accorded the right to
challenge governmental misconduct. See Gladstone, 441 U.S.
at 103-104 (a citizen suit provision of the Fair Housing Act
“contains no particular statutory restrictions on potential
plaintiffs”); Middlesex County Sewerage Auth. v. National
Sea Clammers Ass'n, 453 U.S. 1, 16-17 (1981) (the citizen
suit provision in the Federal Water Pollution Control Act
“was intended by Congress to allow suits by [a] broad
category of potential plaintiffs”); Swan View Coalition, Inc.
v. Turner, 824 F. Supp. 923, 928-929 (D. Mont. 1992)
(based on the citizen suit provision of the ESA, challengers
to the adequacy of a biological opinion prepared by FWS had
Standing to sue). What Congress has granted, the judiciary
may not, without violating separation of powers, take away.
The Court of Appeals further violated the principle of
separation of powers by slighting Congress’ mandate that
FWS balance the economic costs and benefits of its species-
protection decisions. As Professor Sunstein has commented,

a

— en ee ee

eee

ee

ee

17

“[a]gency rejection of congressional enactments” that
mandate “cost-benefit balancing” is “inconsistent with the
system of separation of powers.” Sunstein, What's Standing
After Lujan? Of Citizen Suits, “Injuries,” and Article III, 91
Mich. L. Rev. 163, 217-218 (1992).

This separation-of-powers principle underlying the law of
standing “prevent[s] the anti-majoritarian federal judiciary
from usurping the policy-making functions of the popularly
elected branches.” Fletcher, The Structure of Standing, 98
Yale L.J. 221, 222 (1988). The Ninth Circuit panel in this
case clearly disagreed with Congress’ resolve to grant
standing broadly to persons injured by enforcement of the
ESA. But such policy determinations, under our system, are
the province of the legislature. The Court of Appeals
impermissibly overstepped its proper bounds by using a
narrowly conceived and hopelessly biased zone-of-interests
requirement to thwart Congress’ purpose to ensure that
affected citizens could serve as a check on excessive regula-
tion in the name of species protection. By reversing the
Court of Appeals’ unwarranted exercise of judicial power,
this Court will give effect to Congress’ intent and to the
separation of powers embodied in our Constitutional struc-
ture.

CONCLUSION
The judgment of the court of appeals should be reversed.

JOHN J. RADEMACHER

General Counsel

RICHARD L. KRAUSE

Assistant Counsel

American Farm Bureau
Federation

225 Touhy Avenue

Park Ridge, Illinois 60068 )
(708) 399-5700 (312) 782-0600

NANCY N. MCDONOUGH JOSEPH H. Hopson, Jr.
General Counsel General Counsel
California Farm Bureau Oregon Farm Bureau
1601 Exposition Boulevard 3415 Commercial Street
Sacramento, California 95815 Salem, Oregon 97302
(916) 924-4000 (503) 399-1701

RIDGELY H. PATE
Legal Director
STEPHANIE C. MCMULLEN
Texas Farm Bureau
7420 Fish Pond Road
Waco, Texas 76710
(817) 772-3030

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0666%3A18. Public record. Not legal advice.
