# Amicus Curiae Brief — Warner-Jenkinson Co. v. Hilton Davis Chemical Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0663%3A25

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1997
- **Citation:** 520 U.S. 17

## Text

oy

“Ae
a,

34 >
je

«23% :

ms a oe et: pe eek a! Pa

ST ee

¥

xy

Ho sa eet eaten
a a ¢ ye bad ¥- 5 be ~2
. ” ** : ney” “- > so

+

J
\ Qe
ae

*

ta
f, *!
aie? BID,

BEST AVAILABLE COPY

opie Supreme Court, U.S,
ets FILED

____No. 95-728 ——_| ___ war 18 19%
In the Supreme Court °"
OF THE

United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1995

WARNER-JENKINSON COMPANY, INC.,
Petitioner,
Vv.
HILTON DAvis CHEMICAL Co.,
Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States
Court of Appeals for the
Federal Circuit

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE
CHIRON CORPORATION IN SUPPORT OF
RESPONDENT

DONALD S. CHISUM
Counsel of Record
RACHEL KREVANS
Sue C. HANSEN
Emeryville, California 94608 § STEPHEN B. THAU
(510) 655-8730 MORRISON & FOERSTER LLP
345 California Street
: San Francisco, California 94104

(415) 677-7000
Counsel for Amicus Curiae
Chiron Corporation
Bowne of San Francisco, Inc., Law Printers (415) 362-2300 E Ii
iv

ee ee ee ee ee ee —
» Say
re
<
a
A ‘ ; i

re

TABLE OF CONTENTS

I. THE BIOTECHNOLOGY INDUSTRY
DEPENDS ON A HEALTHY DOCTRINE
OP TRPUVALGIOTS «once cc ccccccs.

A. Industries and Inventors Rely on the Doc-
trine: Abolition or Limitation Would Be a
Drastic Change in Patent Law that
Should Be Made, If at All, by Congress

B. Loss of the Doctrine Would Be a Step
Backwards in the Movement to Provide
Effective International Patent Protection

C. The Doctrine of Equivalents Is Integral to
United States Patent Law and Is Compat-
ible with Particular and Distinct Claiming

D. The Public Interest in Biotechnology
Development Would Be Impaired If the
Doctrine Were Eliminated or Cut Back

E. Equivalents Must Include Later-Discov-
ered Equivalents.....................

F. Absolute Certainty in Claim Interpre-
tation Is an Unattainable Goal.........

10

1]

li

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Il. DETERMINATION OF INFRINGEMENT
UNDER THE DOCTRINE OF EQUIV-
ALENTS IS A QUESTION OF FACT,
BASED ON OBJECTIVE CRITERIA,
THAT MUST BE TRIED TO THE JURY 2!

A. Infringement Is a Question for the Jury 21

B. The Existence of Infringement by
Equivalents Should Be Based on Objec-
dct nccewhaesebeeeccescsece 24

Ill. AS MOST APPLICATIONS ARE
AMENDED, ADOPTING PETITIONER'S
POSITION ON PROSECUTION HIST-
ORY ESTOPPEL WOULD RESULT IN A
DE FACTO ELIMINATION OF THE

DOCTRINE OF EQUIVALENTS........ 26
SEE CAG FG obn be d6ecasesviosdescewes 30
EE OE OT Teer eer Tree ee la

iil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES
Page(s)

Amgen, Inc. v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co.,

927 F.2d 1200 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied,

eS ecg etiecocces 15, 16-17
Autogiro Co. of Am. v. United States,

ee, GE Me ccecccescoscccccs 20
Bausch & Lomb, Inc. v. Barnes-Hind/Hydrocurve,

Inc., 796 F.2d 443 (Fed. Cir. 1986), cert. denied,

| 8
Bischoff v. Wethered,

76 U.S. (9 Wall.) 812 (1870) ................ 23
Brothers v. United States,

ned cadnbccseeeeeedex 19
Burr v. Duryee,

68 US. (1 Wall.) S31 (1063) .........0eeeee: 21
Chiron Corp. v. Abbott Labs., Inc.,

902 F. Supp. 1103 (N.D. Cal. 1995) ......... 2,9n.2
Continental Paper Bag Co. v. Eastern Paper Bag

in 6.5 see edensecesens 5-6, 19
Credle v. Bond,

25 F.3d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1994) ................ 13
Eibel Process Co. v. Minnesota & Ontario Paper

OED onccccedeceseccoceees 8,13
Exhibit Supply Co. v. Ace Patents Corp.,

TN eid h ot cekndscnseees 27
Fiers v. Revel,

984 F.2d 1164 (Fed. Cir. 1993) ............... 15
Graver Tank & Mfg. Co. v. Linde Air Prods. Co.,

CR a re 28

Graver Tank & Mfg. Co. v. Linde Air Prod. Co.,
Be Gs EY CED a hoses ccscceces 5, 21, 25 n.11, 28

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES
Page(s)

Haynes Int'l, Inc. v. Jessop Steel Co.,

8 F.3d 1573 (Fed. Cir. 1993), on rehg,

15 F.3d 1076 (Fed. Cir. 1994) .............. 26 n.12
Hilton Davis Chems. Co. v. Warner-Jenkinson Co.,

62 F.3d 1512 (Fed. Cir. 1995) ...... 23 n.8, 23 n.9, 25
Hoechst Celanese Corp. v. BP Chem. Lid.,

78 F.3d 1575 (Fed. Cir. 1996) .............05- 19, 20
Hoganas AB v. Dresser Indus., Inc.,

9 F.3d 948 (Fed. Cir. 1993) ...........0555. 26 n.12
Hughes Aircraft Co. v. United States,

717 F.2d 1351 (Fed. Cir. 1983) ..............- 9, 27
1.T.S. Rubber Co. v. Essex Rubber Co.,

SD Bs Ge SE Gc evbbuccecccetccoouagss 27
In re Angstadt,

$37 F.2d 498 (C.C.P.A. 1976) ............555. 7,9
In re Bell,

991 F.2d 781 (Fed. Cir. 1993) .............055. 2, 16
In re Brana,

$1 F.3d 1860 (Fed. Cir. 1995) ............54.- 9n.2
In re Deuel,

Be fF Fe eee 2
In re Ochiai,

71 F.3d 1565 (Fed. Cir. 1995) ..............4.. 9 n.2
In re Wands,

858 F.2d 731 (Fed. Cir. 1968) ................ 17
Kewanee Oil Co. v. Bicron Corp.,

Ge Te ee eh bedicncncccsedstictodns 9
Machine Co. v. Murphy,

AOS fo Seen 21, 22

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES
Page(s)
Markman v. Westview Instruments, Inc.,
64 U.S.L.W. 4263 (U.S. Apr. 23, 1996) ...... 6, 21, 23

Miles Labs., Inc. v. Shandon, Inc.,
997 F.2d 870 (Fed. Cir. 1993), cert. denied,
EE ie dive cdanansasesec< 13,19

Musher Found., Inc. v. Alba Trading Co.,
150 F.2d 885 (2d Cir.), cert. denied,
dee carat eeseweee ce 27-28

North Am. Vaccine, Inc. v. American Cyanamid
Co., 7 F.3d 1571 (Fed. Cir. 1993), cert. denied,

en OEN cee vedivesses 13
Pall Corp. v. Micron Separations, Inc.,
Fs br Re | Tere 27

Royal Typewriter Co. v. Remington Rand, Inc.,
168 F.2d 691 (2d Cir.), cert. denied,

eS oa co eck eeckeaceees 12-13
Royer v. Schultz Belting Co.,

i 22
Sanitary Refrigerator Co. v. Winters,

EY 6, 21
Smith v. Magic City Kennel Club, Inc.,

Ee Pe ows cc oweccene 27
TSC Indus., Inc. v. Northway, Inc.,

OE ee 7
Texas Instruments, Inc. v. United States Int'l Trade

Comm'n, 805 F.2d 1558 (Fed. Cir. 1986) ...... 19
Tilghman v. Proctor,

EE in oc ede tendeetsecesesve 18

Transmatic, Inc. v. Gulton Indus., Inc.,
53 F.3d 1270 (Fed. Cir. 1995) ................ 7

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES
Page(s)

Tucker v. Spalding,

80 U.S. (13 Wall.) 453 (1872) ............... 23-24
Tyler v. Boston,

74 US. (7 Wal.) 327 (IGGB) .. wc ccccccesess 22
Winans v. Denmead,

56 U.S. (15 How.) 330 (1853) ............... passim

CONSTITUTIONS, STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

Se i Es UR indcncecescecesses set 11
ST TT eee 8
TT TT ee 8
Be Cee non pecans ccvecscasibe 8, 12 n.5, 13, 28-29
FP ee ED chi cecssdeccdesctbevenan 12 n.5, 24
BP Ce chee cdicecntcvectede ste 25 n.10
Be Cy RR i dune vee édcbiebebdeseneceeal 25 n.10
37 C.F.R. $§ 1.821 et seq. (1995) ............... 16 n.7
Pub. L. No. 103-465, tit. V, § 532(a)(1), 1994

U.S.C.C.A.N. (108 Stat.) 4809 (1994) ........ 8

MISCELLANEOUS

141 Cong. Rec. S7300-01 (daily ed. May 24, 1995) .. 14
141 Cong. Rec. S15221 (daily ed. Oct. 17, 1995) .. 14
2 D. Chisum, Patents (rev. ed. 1995)......... 8, 29 n.13
K. Drlica, Understanding DNA and Gene Cloning:

A Guide for the Curious (2d ed. 1992) ........ 141.6

T. Takenaka, New Policy in Interpreting Japanese
POD c vcdectbucdscancosveauachenemadsen 10, 16

vii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

U.S. Department of Commerce, Patent &
Trademark Office, Manual of Patent Examining
Procedure (rev. ed. Sept. 1995)............... 16 n.7

U.S. General Accounting Office, /ntellectual
Property Rights: U.S. Companies’ Patent
Experiences in Japan, GAO/GGD-93-126
SLED Sn cud bec tdnecusese cs 7, 8,9, 10 & n.4, 26

No. 95-728

In the Supreme Court

OF THE

United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1995

WARNER-JENKINSON COMPANY, INC.,
Petitioner,
Vv.
HILTON Davis CHEMICAL Co.,
Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States
Court of Appeals for the
Federal Circuit

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE
CHIRON CORPORATION IN SUPPORT OF
RESPONDENT

STATEMENT OF INTEREST

Founded in 1981 by scientists at the University of Califor-
nia, Chiron Corporation (“Chiron”), with more than seven
thousand employees, is the world’s largest biotechnology
company. Chiron applies biotechnology and other tech-
niques of modern biology to develop products intended to
lower the overall cost of healthcare and improve the quality
of life by diagnosing, preventing, and treating disease. To
carry out this mission, Chiron invests heavily in biological

2

research. Last year, Chiron spent over $300 million on
research and development; in the past five years, Chiron’s
research and development expenditures averaged nearly
40 percent of its annual revenues. Chiron’s inventions in-
clude the first genetically engineered vaccine for hepatitis B,
the first drug to treat multiple sclerosis, blood tests used
worldwide to screen donated blood for HIV (the virus that
causes AIDS) and hepatitis C virus, drugs to treat cancer,
and a genetically engineered form of the whooping cough
vaccine which eliminates the risks to children of the tradi-
tional vaccine.

As do other biotechnology companies, Chiron depends on
patent protection to achieve adequate returns on its research
outlay to encourage stockholder investment. Chiron now
owns over two thousand United States and foreign patents.
Chiron has also taken a lead role in litigating issues related
to biotechnology patent protection, including both infringe-
ment actions against companies that seek to use its patented
technologies without a license and appeals from Patent and
Trademark Office (“PTO”) decisions related to issues of
patentability for biotechnology inventions. See, e.g., Jn re
Bell, 991 F.2d 781 (Fed. Cir. 1993); Chiron Corp. v. Abbott
Labs., Inc., 902 F. Supp. 1103 (N.D. Cal. 1995); cf In re
Deuel, 51 F.3d 1552 (Fed. Cir. 1995) (appearing on behalf
of Amici). From its vantage point on the cutting edge of
biotechnology law, Chiron has a unique perspective on the
necessity of the doctrine of equivalents to ensure adequate
protection for biotechnology inventions.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The doctrine of equivalents fills a critical role in United
States patent law. Since at least 1853, inventors, industries,

‘Written consent to the filing of this brief has been obtained from
Petitioner and Respondent, and is lodged herewith.

3

and their patent counsel have benefited from the application
of the doctrine to “temper the unsparing logic” of literal
infringement. By deterring infringement through insubstan-
tial alterations to a patented invention, the doctrine has
protected inventors’ intellectual property rights and ensured
fair returns on their investments in innovation, without
creating uncertainty about the scope of patents.

The biotechnology industry and the consumers of the
industry’s medical innovations benefit from a healthy appli-
cation of the doctrine of equivalents. Patent protection for
biotechnological inventions has attracted investment capital
to the industry, making possible the research necessary to
discover and develop life-saving and life-improving medical
treatments at a time when public funding for research is on
the decline. Because of peculiar features of biotechnology
inventions, and because of the law that the Federal Circuit
has developed to deal with those inventions, the doctrine of
equivalents is crucial to protect biotechnology inventions
adequately. Without such patents, however, the industry
would be unable to attract investment, and could not con-
tinue the research necessary to develop new treatments and
save lives.

Biotechnology patents also illustrate the need for the
doctrine of equivalents to protect patentees’ property rights
against loss from alterations found to be equivalent after a
patent is filed. Biotechnology presents two such problems.
First are modifications that have no effect on an invention,
such as certain substitutions of one amino acid for another
in a_ large protein molecule. Allowing _later-
discovered modifications such as these to avoid infringement
could obliterate the value of an inventor’s patent grant.
Second are improvements that build upon an invention,
adding additional features or properties. In the case of
improvements, the improvement itself may be patentable.

4

That fact, however, should not limit the rights of the
inventor whose basic invention is being exploited.

The loss of the doctrine of equivalents, or a substantial
reduction in its scope, would be a serious blow to the
biotechnology industry’s viability. It would not, however,
provide the certainty in claim interpretation that Petitioner
seeks. Inherent limits in the ability of language to describe
“the heart of an invention” preclude absolute certainty
regarding the scope of patent claims, even in cases of literal
infringement. Without the doctrine of equivalents, patent
attorneys would attempt to protect against insubstantial
alterations to an invention by blurring the borders of their
claims, making literal infringement determinations even
more difficult. Moreover, if patent attorneys could no longer
rely on the doctrine of equivalents, the number of claims per
patent would rise, as would the complexity of each claim.
Parties seeking to determine whether they infringe a patent
would be buried in an avalanche of information, and would
have more difficulty drawing conclusions about infringement
than they do today.

As the brief of the Solicitor General notes, it is the policy
of the United States government to encourage other coun-
tries to adopt a doctrine of equivalents as healthy as our
own. A very recent decision by the High Court in Osaka,
Japan shows that Japanese courts are turning to our view. In
light of the changes occurring internationally, and en-
couraged by the United States, it would be ironic for this
Court now to limit dramatically a doctrine which is recog-
nized as a cornerstone of United States industrial policy.

Anyone who chooses to practice an invention on the
borders of its claims takes a risk. The doctrine of
equivalents, which states only that insubstantial alterations
to an invention will not eliminate infringement, does little to
increase that risk or make it less predictable. Nor does
application of the doctrine by juries. Infringement is, and

5

has always been, a question for the jury. In addition,
application of the doctrine should not depend on equitable
factors. A rule that allowed only “good” plaintiffs to sue
“bad” defendants under the doctrine would promote, rather
than lessen, uncertainty.

Petitioner asks this Court to extend the application of
prosecution history estoppel, a long-established limit on the
doctrine of equivalents, beyond its proper circumstances.
Prosecution history estoppel prevents a patentee from using
the doctrine of equivalents to recapture subject matter that
would not have been patentable over prior art. Petitioner,
however, would find an estoppel whenever there was an
amendment, regardless of its purpose. As most patent appli-
cations are amended, Petitioner’s proposal would amount to
a de facto elimination of the doctrine of equivalents. Such a
rule has no basis in this Court’s decisions and would serve no

useful purpose.

ARGUMENT

I. THE BIOTECHNOLOGY INDUSTRY DEPENDS
ON A HEALTHY DOCTRINE OF EQUIVALENTS.

A. Industries and Inventors Rely on the Doctrine: Abo-
lition or Limitation Would Be a Drastic Change in
Patent Law that Should Be Made, If at All, by

Congress.

The doctrine of equivalents has been an integral part of
the United States patent system for nearly a century-and-a-
half, since this Court decided Winans v. Denmead, 56 U.S.
(15 How.) 330 (1853). In subsequent years, this Court’s
decisions repeatedly affirmed the vitality of the doctrine and
rejected efforts to limit its scope. See, e.g., Graver Tank &
Mfg. Co. v. Linde Air Prods. Co., 339 U.S. 605, 608-09
(1950) (collecting cases); Continental Paper Bag Co. v.
Eastern Paper Bag Co., 210 U.S. 405, 415 (1908) (refusing

6

to limit the doctrine’s applicability to “pioneer” inventions).
Just last month, in Markman v. Westview Instruments, Inc.,
64 U.S.L.W. 4263 (U.S. Apr. 23, 1996), this Court again
reiterated the importance of the doctrine, noting that a
patent claim “functions to forbid not only exact copies of an
invention, but products that go to ‘the heart of the invention
but avoid the literal language of the claim by making a
noncritical change.’” Jd. at 4264 (quoting H. Schwartz,
Patent Law and Practice 82 (2d ed. 1995)).

The long-established pedigree of the doctrine of
equivalents puts individuals on notice that “to copy the
principle or mode of operation [described in a patent], is an
infringement, although such copy should be totally unlike
the original in form or proportions.” Winans, 56 U.S. at 342;
see also Sanitary Refrigerator Co. v. Winters, 280 U.S. 30,
42 (1929) (finding infringement “by a device in which there
is no substantial departure from the description in the
patent”). Patentees and accused infringers alike anticipate
that the doctrine will be used to determine questions of
infringement. Patentees rely on the doctrine when drafting
their claims. Patent attorneys, who interpret patent claims
according to familiar rules of patent interpretation, which
include a doctrine of equivalents, apply this law every day to
ascertain properly the scope of a claimed invention. Poten-
tial infringers also must consider the doctrine when evaluat-
ing whether to engage in conduct that may infringe a patent.

The decision to practice a patented invention near the
borders of its claims is a calculated risk, requiring no more
care than in analogous areas of the law. Application of the
“substantial differences” test used by the majority of the
court below in this case is no less certain, for example, than
application of a “reasonableness” test found in ordinary tort
law. Parties must make judgment calls, and patent attor-
neys, schooled in claim interpretation and familiar with the
technology involved in the patent, are eminently able to

7

make such determinations. That they may sometimes be
wrong is no reason to eliminate or severely limit the doc-
trine. They are also sometimes wrong in opining on literal
infringement. See, e.g., Transmatic, Inc. veGulton Indus.,
Inc., 53 F.3d 1270, 1278-79 (Fed. Cir. 1995).

Elimination or limitation of the doctrine of equivalents
would result in a number of predictable adverse conse-
quences. First, patentees, unable to rely on the doctrine of
equivalents, would claim a greater number of variants of
their inventions to attempt to gain protection against insub-
stantial changes. Such additional disclosures could cause an
explosion in the verbiage a patent contains. The Court of
Customs and Patent Appeals noted that “[t]o require such
a complete disclosure would apparently necessitate a patent
application or applications with ‘thousands’ of examples...
along with information as to whether each exhibits [the
property of the invention].” Jn re Angstadt, 537 F.2d 498,
502 (C.C.P.A. 1976). Because the additional information
disclosed would consist of insubstantial variations, there
would be little corresponding public benefit from this disclo-
sure, if any. Instead of reasonable notice of the scope of
claims (including equivalents), competitors would be buried
in “an avalanche of trivial information—a result that is
hardly conducive to informed decisionmaking.” TSC Indus.,
Inc. v. Northway, Inc., 426 U.S. 438, 448-49 (1976) (find-
ing that financial disclosure in too much detail provides
investors less useful information).

Practices in Japan, where patents traditionally have been
subject to narrow literal interpretations, substantiate this
fear. See U.S. General Accounting Office, /ntellectual Prop-
erty Rights: U.S. Companies’ Patent Experiences in Japan,
GAO/GGD-93-126, at 28 (July 1993) (“Under Japanese
patent practice, patent claims are construed as narrowly as
possible.””). Whenever a patent of value is published, com-
petitors of the patentee will file “excessive numbers” of

8

patents claiming minor variations, a practice known as
“patent flooding.” Jd. at 18. Without a doctrine of
equivalents, competitors would do the same in the United
States, to hem in important inventions and extort a cross-
license at an unfair price.

Second, loss of the doctrine of equivalents would provide
added incentive for patentees to blur the boundaries of their
inventions with broadening terms and imprecise adjectives.
See, e.g., Eibel Process Co. v. Minnesota & Ontario Paper
Co., 261 U.S. 45, 66 (1923) (using “substantial” and
“high” to describe a patentable improvement to a
papermaking machine); Bausch & Lomb, Inc. v. Barnes-
Hind/Hydrocurve, Inc., 796 F.2d 443, 450 (Fed. Cir. 1986)
(claiming a “smooth” contact lens), cert. denied, 484 U.S.
823 (1987). See generally 2 D. Chisum, Patents
§ 8.03[3][c] (rev. ed. 1995) (discussing words of degree
and relational terms). Literal infringement analyses, already
difficult, would become more so.

Third, abolition of the doctrine of equivalents would
increase the number of claims per patent, increasing the
burden on an already overworked PTO. During examination,
a patent examiner must evaluate whether each claim is
definite, enabled by the specification, and supported by a
written description. 35 U.S.C. § 112. In addition, the exam-
iner must compare each claim to the prior art to determine
whether the art anticipated or rendered obvious the claim.
35 U.S.C. §§ 102, 103. The additional work created by
vastly greater numbers of claims per patent would increase
the time from the filing of a patent application to issuance of
a patent. The impact on inventors would be exacerbated by
the recent change in the term of patent protection, formerly
seventeen years from the date the patent issues, now twenty
years from the date of filing. Pub. L. No. 103-465, tit. V,
§ 532(a)(1), 1994 U.S.C.C.A.N. (108 Stat.) 4809, 4983-
4984 (1994) (codified as amended at 35 U.S.C. § 154).

9

Biotechnology patents, which now may take eight or ten
years to issue,’ could well take fifteen years instead, leaving
the patentee with only a few years of protection.

If this Court were to limit the doctrine of equivalents,
patents obtained in reliance on the doctrine would become
valueless. Indeed, very few patents are granted with claims
as originally filed. General Accounting Office, supra, at 17;
Hughes Aircraft Co. v. United States, 717 F.2d 1351, 1363
(Fed. Cir. 1983). Many patentees have accepted claim
language amendments suggested by the PTO because cur-
rent law provides adequate coverage and does not create an
estoppel. If any change in the law is appropriate, it should be
made by Congress, which can adopt appropriate
grandfathering legislation.

Lastly, and contrary to the patent law's objective of
encouraging the public disclosure of useful inventions, the
loss of the doctrine of equivalents would inevitably cause
companies to rely more heavily on trade-secret protection
for their inventions. “The interest of the public is that the
bargain of 17 years of exclusive use in return for disclosure
be accepted.” Kewanee Oil Co. v. Bicron Corp., 416
U.S. 470, 489 (1974). Faced with uncertainty that their
patents may be rendered “hollow and useless” by only strict
literal reading, or that prosecution history estoppel would
nullify the doctrine, inventors will be forced to limit disclo-
sure of certain inventions, especially in unpredictable arts
such as biotechnology. See Angstadt, 537 F.2d at 503. The
public interest would suffer from the delay in industry's
ability to build on patented inventions.

*See, eg. In re Ochiai, 71 F.3d 1565, 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1995)
(seventeen years from filing to final rejection by the PTO and three
more years for appeal, which allowed the patent to issue); /n re Brana,
51 F.3d 1560, 1562 & n.2 (Fed. Cir. 1995) (eight years from application
to appeals court decision reversing PTO rejection); Chiron Corp., 902 F.
Supp. at 1108 (eight years from filing to issuance).

10

B. Loss of the Doctrine Would Be a Step Backwards in
the Movement to Provide Effective International
Patent Protection.

It would be ironic for this Court now to cut back the
doctrine of equivalents. As the brief of the Solicitor General
notes, it has been the policy of the United States govern-
ment to encourage other countries to adopt an effective
doctrine of equivalents like our own. Just recently, a deci-
sion by the High Court in Osaka, Japan shows that Japanese
courts are turning to our view. See T. Takenaka, New Policy
in Interpreting Japanese Patents (in press, submitted in the
appendix to this brief).’ Genentech, a large United States
biotechnology company, sued a Japanese pharmaceutical
company for infringing Genentech’s Japanese patents for a
protein called t-PA, which is comprised of a chain of four
hundred thirty-nine amino acids. The Japanese company’s
product differed from Genentech’s claimed invention . by
only one amino acid and functioned almost identically.
Applying traditional Japanese law of infringement, which
focuses exclusively on literal claim language, see Takenaka,
supra, General Accounting Office, supra, at 28, the Japa-
nese trial court found no infringement. In an opinion that
reflects fundamental changes in Japanese patent law, the
Osaka High Court reversed, based on reasoning largely
similar to that of the majority of the Federal Circuit in the
decision below in this case. See Takenaka, supra. That the
rest of the world is adopting policies this Court has long
affirmed emphasizes the soundness of U.S. law.‘

*Dr. Takenaka’s remarks, including her translation of the Japanese
High Court decision that she discusses, will be published in Volume 3,
Issue 2, of the CASRIP Newsletter (Summer 1996).

“In its 1993 study of patent practice in the United States, Europe, and
Japan, the General Accounting Office surveyed over three hundred
companies, including top patent holders in the chemical, semiconductor,
and biotechnology industries. General Accounting Office, supra, at 19.

C. The Doctrine of Equivalents Is Integral to United
States Patent Law and Is Compatible with Particu-
lar and Distinct Claiming.

Since 1853, when this Court decided Winans, the doc-
trine of equivalents has been a necessary and integral part of
United States patent law. In Winans, Justice Curtis, a
former patent practitioner, found the doctrine necessary to
carry out Congress’ constitutional mandate “To Promote the
erty of Science and Useful Arts.” U.S. Const., art. I,
§ 8, cl. 8.

The exclusive right to the thing patented is not
secured, if the public are at liberty to make sub-
stantial copies of it, varying its form or proportions.
And, therefore, the patentee, having described his
invention, and shown its principles, and claimed it
in that form which most perfectly embodies it, is,
in contemplation of law, deemed to claim every
form in which his invention may be copied, unless
he manifests an intention to disclaim some of
those forms.

Winans, 56 U.S. at 343. The Winans majority endorsed the
application of the doctrine in the face of the identical
arguments now raised by Petitioner and several Amici, that
the doctrine of equivalents is inimical to the policy of
providing notice about the scope of patent claims. See id. at
347 (Campbell, J., dissenting).

When aches to commas dieu Ge petent putection Gey mode to
Japan, 41 percent reported significant problems with the narrow scope
given these patents. Only 5 percent, however, criticized the scope of
Lasted States patent protection, which includes the doctrine of
equivalents. /d at 28. Efforts to harmonize the patent laws of the United
States, Europe, and Japan call for Japan to adopt a United States-like

doctrine of equivalents, not vice-versa. Jd at 73 tbl. 6.2.

12

Although the doctrine has never been expressly part of
any of this nation’s Patent Acts,° it plays a fundamental role
in United States patent laws. As Judge Learned Hand
explained:

[A] boundary [in patent claims] cannot be drawn
with precision; and the draftsman of claims is
always in something of a dilemma—the dilemma
which has led to the very “doctrine of equivalents”
itself. ...On the one hand, if he confines himself
rigidly to those elements as they appear in the
specifications, he deprives the patent of any practi-
cal value, because it is always, or almost always,
possible to change the form of these as they
appear, and yet cull the full advantage of the
discovery. On the other hand, if he too much
abandons the elements as they are disclosed, he
will not “particularly point out * * * the part * * *
or combination which he claims”: i.e. he will have
so far generalized the disclosure, that the combi-
nation of any elements which will effect the same
result will be covered. The patent will then pro
tanto stifle progress in the art and be invalid. It is
impossible in practice to emerge from this embar-
rassment without some measure of compromise;
the elements as they appear in the claims must be
clearly enough identified with elements as they
appear in the manifold to be “substantially” lim-
ited by their description, verbal and pictorial. Yet

*The Patent Acts have never expressly proscribed “literal” infringe-
ment either. The relevant section of the current Act says only that
“whoever without authority makes, uses, offers to sell or sells any
patented invention . . . infringes the patent.” 35 U.S.C. § 271(a). The
Act defines “invention” through section 112, which states that an
applicant must claim “the subject matter which the applicant regards as
his invention.” 35 U.S.C. § 112.

13

the claims must be given enough scope to cover
“substantially similar” variants.

Royal Typewriter Co. v. Remington Rand, Inc., 168 F.2d
691, 693-94 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 335 U.S. 825 (1948).

Petitioner argues that the doctrine of equivalents is in-
compatible with the current Patent Act, particularly with
35 U.S.C. section 112, which requires that a patentee
“particularly point[ ] out and distinctly claim[ ]” his inven-
tion. There is no incompatibility. As the Federal Circuit,
which has special expertise in this area, has explained, a
patentee can only draft claims that are “as precise as the
subject matter permits.” See, e.g, North Am. Vaccine, Inc.
v. American Cyanamid Co., 7 F.3d 1571, 1580 (Fed. Cir.
1993), cert. denied, 114 S. Ct. 1645 (1994); see also Eibel
Process, 261 U.S. at 65-66. It may not be possible to
describe the inventor’s technical concept with absolute pre-
cision, and a patent’s claims will be allowed if they ““reason-
ably apprise those skilled in the art of the scope of the
invention.” Credle v. Bond, 25 F.3d 1566, 1576 (Fed. Cir.
1994) (quoting Miles Labs., Inc. v. Shandon, Inc., 997 F.2d
870, 875 (Fed. Cir. 1993)).

Section 112, then, establishes only a “reasonableness”
standard for claim precision, one that must be evaluated
according to the facts and circumstances of each case. This
“reasonableness” standard would be inconsistent with a
legal regime that did not allow for infringement by
equivalents. No purpose would be served by a requirement
for “reasonable” precision in the description of an invention
if the law also required absolute identity between the claims
and the accused device for a finding of infringement.

14

D. The Public Interest in Biotechnology Development
Would Be Impaired If the Doctrine Were Elimi-
nated or Cut Back.

“The biotechnology industry has been one of the success
stories in U.S. industry, creating new jobs and pioneering
exciting breakthroughs that improve our way of life.” 141
Cong. Rec. $15221 (daily ed. Oct. 17, 1995) (statement of
Sen. Hatch). “In 1994, sales of biotechnology products totaled
close to $8 billion, and the Department of Commerce esti-
mates that biotechnology will be a $50 billion industry by the
year 2000.” 141 Cong. Rec. S7300-01 (daily ed. May 24,
1995) (statement of Sen. Harkin). Biotechnology products
include insulin to treat diabetes, drugs to treat AIDS and
cancer, human growth hormone to treat dwarfism, and diag-
nostic tests to ensure the safety of the world’s blood supply
against viruses such as those causing hepatitis and AIDS.

“The biotechnology industry relies heavily on patent protec-
tion in recouping the costs of bringing new drugs to the
market. Furthermore, adequate patent protection is vital in
persuading investors to provide the necessary capital to the
industry.” 141 Cong. Rec. S15221 (daily ed. Oct. 17, 1995)
(statement of Sen. Hatch). Cutting back the doctrine of
equivalents would devastate the biotechnology industry's ca-
pacity to protect the value of its inventions. Any such change
would dramatically inhibit the industry's ability to conduct the
extensive research and development required to deliver new
life-saving products to the public.

To understand the importance of the doctrine of equivalents
to biotechnology patents, a modicum of background in biology
is helpful. All living organisms contain genetic material,
usually made of DNA (deoxyribonucleic acid). Smaller mole-
cules, called nucleotides, are arranged in a DNA molecule like

*For addiuonal background, see K. Drlica, Understanding DNA and
Gene Cloning: A Guide for the Curious 27-37 (2d ed. 1992).

15

beads on a string. Only four nucleotides, typically labeled A,
T, C, and G, comprise DNA, but a single strand of DNA may
have thousands or millions of nucleotides.

DNA contains encoded information that living cells use
to build proteins. Proteins are molecules that help to per-
form a wide variety of functions in living organisms, from
digesting food to forming muscles to helping the immune
system combat infections. Like DNA, proteins can be
described as linear (chain-like) molecules. All protein
chains are made from combinations of twenty smaller mole-
cules, called amino acids. The sequence of nucleotides in
DNA “encodes” the sequence of amino acids in a protein.
Each group of three nucleotides in a DNA sequence
“codes” for one amino acid. In this way, a long molecule of
DNA describes a long protein molecule. Living cells have a
complex machinery that “reads” a molecule of DNA, taking
the sequence information from the DNA molecule and
building the corresponding protein. A “gene” is simply a
sequence of DNA that encodes for a particular protein.

The doctrine of equivalents is essential for biotechnology
patents claiming particular genes or proteins. In biotech-
nology patent cases, the Federal Circuit has developed a rule
that an inventor cannot claim a gene without disclosing its
sequence. Fiers v. Revel, 984 F.2d 1164, 1170 (Fed. Cir.
1993); Amgen, Inc. v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co., 927 F.2d
1200, 1206 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 502 U.S. 856 (1991).
Thus, under the law that the PTO applies during biotechnol-
Ogy patent examinations, it is impossible to write a valid
claim for “a DNA sequence encoding protein X” unless the
specification to the patent discloses that the sequence
AGGTTAAATCAC etc. encodes protein X. Therein lies
the rub. Because there are sixty-four combinations of three
nucleotides (recall that three nucleotides encode one amino
acid) and only twenty amino acids, several different combi-
nations of nucleotides are known to encode for the same

16

amino acid. For example, nucleotides AGG and CGA both

code for the same amino acid. Thus, two very different

strands of DNA can encode the same amino acid sequence:
AGG TTA AAT CAC ACT GAA Nucieotides

a 4 eee ee 8 ee ee Tee
| | |

Arg Leu Asn His Thr Glu Amino Acids

| ) | J |
i" eer: Oe be ae) Se

CGA CTT AAC CAT ACC GAG

Equivalent
Nucleotides

So, too, for proteins: certain individual amino acids are
interchangeable without effect on some functions of a pro-
tein. See Takenaka, supra.

Without a doctrine of equivalents, a gene patent would be
valueless unless it claimed every equivalent sequence of
nucleotides — competitors could infringe at will simply by
substituting nucleotides with others known to be inter-
changeable. The mathematics alone, however, make
describing every possible variant impractical. See Jn re Bell,
991 F.2d 781, 784 (Fed. Cir. 1993) (noting that 10°
nucleotide sequences encode a protein called IGF). While
no doubt a computer could be programmed to print out
every analog, the resulting patent claims would be a stack of
paper many miles high, and would overwhelm the PTO, as
well as those who track patents, with their sheer bulk.’

Protein patents present a similar problem. As the Federal
Circuit noted in analyzing a patent claim to the protein
erythropoietin, “over 3,600 different [protein] analogs can
be made by substituting at only a single amino acid position,
and over a million different analogs can be made by substi-

"The difficulties of examining DNA and protein patents have already
forced the PTO to adopt special rules in this area. 37 C.F.R. §§ 1.821 et
seq. (1995); U.S. Department of Commerce, Patent & Trademark
Office, Manual of Patent Examining Procedure §§ 2420 et seq. (rev. ed.
Sept. 1995).

17

tuting three amino acids.”” Amgen, 927 F.2d at 1213. Many
analogs are functionally indistinguishable, and no purpose
would be served by requiring their disclosure.

Biotechnology also needs a doctrine of equivalents to allay
unpredictability in application of the law concerning the
breadth of claims allowable under section 112. An applicant
who isolates a particular protein may, for example, claim
that protein. In addition, he or she may identify particularly
useful protein fragments, and claim those as well. The
patentee may then attempt to claim all similar protein
fragments generally. Whether the PTO or courts will allow
such a claim depends on an eight-factor test, described by
the Federal Circuit in Jn re Wands, 858 F.2d 731 (Fed. Cir.
1988). The factors include:

(1) the quantity of experimentation necessary [to
make the claimed invention], (2) the amount of
direction or guidance presented [in the specifica-
tion], (3) the presence or absence of working
examples, (4) the nature of the invention, (5) the
state of the prior art, (6) the relative skill of those
in the art, (7) the predictability or unpredictability
of the art, and (8) the breadth of the claims.

Id. at 737. Stating the test emphasizes the difficulty an
inventor faces at the time of application in predicting whether
the claims will be allowed based on the patent’s specification.
See Amgen, 927 F.2d at 1212-14. As a result, section 112
alone, without any prior art, can severely limit claims.

Without a doctrine of equivalents to temper this unpre-
dictability, decisions in the PTO based on the Wands test
could cut of} legitimate rights to claim an invention and its
substantial equivalents. An inventor’s only protection against
these losses would be to make and test each potentially
useful variant and to describe each in his specification. The
extra work would slow down patent applications and would

18

divert the industry's resources from developing the best
commercial embodiments of its inventions.

E. Equivalents Must Include Later-Discovered
Equivalents.

The special problems in biotechnology highlight the need
for a doctrine of equivalents that includes equivalents dis-
covered after a patent is filed. The example described in the
appendix to this brief illustrates this point. Genentech ob-
tained a patent for t-PA, which is made up of four hundred
thirty-nine amino acids. One of Genentech’s competitors
later discovered that substituting the amino acid methionine
for the amino acid valine as the protein’s two hundred and
forty-fifth amino acid created a protein with functionally
identical biological properties. Without a doctrine of
equivalents, the value of Genentech’s patent would have
been lost, even though the substitution of methionine for
valine creates a molecule which is, for all known relevant
biological purposes, the “same” protein.

Later-discovered improvements also should not preclude
a finding of infringement by equivalents. Additional research
on t-PA could show, for example, that all but the last fifty of
the molecule’s four hundred thirty-nine amino acids make
up the part of the molecule with therapeutic uses, and that
cutting off the last fifty amino acids lowers the molecule’s
cost of manufacture by making the molecule more soluble.
That discovery may itself be patentable. See Tilghman v.
Proctor, 102 U.S. 707, 724-25 (1880). Nevertheless, one
using t-PA without its last fifty amino acids is still using
t-PA and still exploiting the basic discovery of t-PA.

Later-discovered equivalents and improvements in bio-
technology are most likely for pioneer patents, which open
up new avenues of research. Loss of the doctrine of
equivalents in such cases would lead to the ironic result that
pioneer patents would receive less protection than merely

19

incremental inventions, instead of the full protection to
which they are entitled. See Brothers v. United States, 250
U.S. 88, 89 (1919) (noting that pioneer patents are “enti-
tled...to a liberal application of the doctrine of
equivalents”); Continental Paper Bag, 210 U.S. at 415.

A doctrine of equivalents that established a per se rule
based on distinctions between noninfringing improvements
and infringing equivalent alterations would unfairly elimi-
nate patentees’ property rights. It would also be arbitrary.
The distinction between these concepts inevitably turns on
facts unique to each case. Compare Miles Labs., 997 F.2d
at 877 with Texas Instruments, Inc. v. United States Int'l
Trade Comm'n, 805 F.2d 1558, 1571 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Any
attempt by this Court to fashion a rigid rule based on an
improvement/alteration distinction would only exacerbate
the uncertainty already inherent in infringement analysis.

F. Absolute Certainty in Claim Interpretation Is an
Unattainable Goal.

Petitioner and several Amici argue that by eliminating the
doctrine of equivalents this Court would return certainty to
questions of infringement. They also suggest that the doc-
trine of equivalents is unnecessary, or can be drastically
limited, because patentees could protect themselves against
too narrow literal infringement findings simply by claiming
their inventions with more care.

These arguments imply that there is little or no uncer-
tainty in a literal infringement analysis. This is demonstrably
wrong. The inherent limits in the ability of language to
describe inventions create an inevitable amount of uncer-
tainty at the borders of patent claims, whether the infringe-
ment asserted is literal or equivalent. In Hoechst Celanese
Corp. v. BP Chems. Ltd., 78 F.3d 1575 (Fed. Cir. 1996), the
patent-at-issue claimed a method for reducing iodide con-
tamination in an organic medium. The method requires a

20

“stable” resin. Jd. at 1578. The specification of the patent
defined “stable” to mean “that the resin will not chemically
decompose, or change more than about 50 percent of its dry
physical dimension upon being exposed to the organic me-
dium. ...” Jd. at 1578-79.

Despite the detail in this definition, Hoechst and BP, both
sophisticated parties, hotly disputed the literal meaning of
“stable.” The particulars of the dispute are unimportant to
this discussion. What matters is that these two large chemi-
cal companies, and their patent counsel, each felt that a
literal reading of “stable” led to a literal infringement
finding in its favor.

Disputes such as these are inevitable, especially when
words in a document are used to describe new technology.

An invention exists most importantly as a tangible
structure or a series of drawings. A verbal portrayal is
usually an afterthought written to satisfy the require-
ments of patent law. This conversion of machine to
words allows for unintended gaps which cannot be
satisfactorily filled. Often the invention is novel and
words do not exist to describe it.

Autogiro Co. of Am. v. United States, 384 F.2d 391, 396-97
(Ct. Cl. 1967). Loss of the doctrine of equivalents would
give patent attorneys added incentive to blur the borders of
their claims with broadening terms and imprecise adjectives.
Infringement evaluations would become more uncertain, not
less.

21

Il. DETERMINATION OF INFRINGEMENT UNDER
THE DOCTRINE OF EQUIVALENTS IS A QUES-
TION OF FACT, BASED ON OBJECTIVE CRITE-
RIA, THAT MUST BE TRIED TO THE JURY.

A. Infringement Is a Question for the Jury.

Determination of infringement by equivalents is a ques-
tion of fact, historically left to juries. Some have argued that
the application of the doctrine of equivalents is an equitable
“remedy,” granted by the court under certain circum-
stances, or a matter of claim construction, also for the court.
Those arguments, based on a misconception of the doctrine,
are incorrect.

The doctrine of equivalents recognizes that, in patent law,
if two devices do the same work in substantially the same
way, and accomplish substantially the same result, they are
the same, even though they differ in name, form, or shape.”
Graver Tank, 339 U.S. at 608 (quoting Machine Co. v.
Murphy, 97 U.S. 120, 125 (1877)); see also Sanitary
Refrigerator, 280 U.S. at 41-42 (“There is a substantial
identity, constituting infringement,” where a device copies a
claimed device, without variations or with such variations
‘““as are consistent with its being in substance the same
thing.””) (quoting Burr v. Duryee, 68 U.S (1 Wall.) 531,
573 (1863)). Therefore, a device or product which does not
literally infringe a claim may be an infringement nonethe-
less, because a claim “functions to forbid not only exact
copies of an invention, but products that go to ‘the heart of
the invention but avoid the literal language of the claim by
making a noncritical change.’” Markman, 64 U.S.L.W. at
4264 (quoting Schwartz, supra, at 82).

A cause of action of infringement by equivalents is not an
equitable remedy, nor any sort of “remedy” at all. Nor is it,
as some have argued, analogous to contract reformation.
Application of the doctrine does not require a search for

22

errors made in drafting the claim, so that the claim can be
reformed. Instead, it allows for the inherent limitations of
language by recognizing that “the substantial equivalent of a
thing, in the sense of the patent law, is the same as the thing
itself... .” Machine Co., 97 U.S. at 125. No matter how
carefully drafted, words can never describe a claim so
completely and precisely that it encompasses all possible
variations. Therefore, it is fair and just to provide protection
not only to the exact language of the claim, but also to its
substantial equivalents. That is the only sense in which the
doctrine of equivalents is equitable.

Arguments made by Petitioner and Amici suggest that
the doctrine of equivalents requires two different construc-
tions of the claim. Such arguments are wrong. Application
of the doctrine of equivalents arises after the court construes
the claim, during the comparison of the claim as construed
with the accused device or process. Consideration of that
evidence is part of the factual determination of whether or
not infringement occurred. If the evidence shows that the
accused device is identical to a device literally described by
the claim, literal infringement is established, and the com-
parison is finished. If the accused device is not identical, the
fact-finder considers the evidence to determine the substan-
tiality of the differences between the accused device and one
that would be literally infringing. If the differences are
insubstantial, infringement by equivalents is established.
Both of these determinations are questions of fact.

This Court has held consistently for nearly one hundred
and fifty years that determinaticn of infringement by
equivalents is a factual question for the jury. See Royer v.
Schultz Belting Co., 135 U.S. 319, 325 (1890); Tyler v.
Boston, 74 U.S. (7 Wall.) 327, 330-31 (1868); Winans, 56
U.S. at 344, Less than a month ago, this Court explained
again that issues of product identification, that is, “‘ques-
tions of identity and diversity of inventions,” are properly

23

reserved for the jury. Markman, 64 U.S.L.W. at 4268
(quoting Bischoff v. Wethered, 76 U.S. (9 Wall.) 812, 816
(1870) ). Allowing the court to make an “initial” determina-
tion that the diversity between the claim and the accused
product or process is insubstantial, as has been suggested,"
would completely usurp the role of the jury. Once the judge
has considered the evidence and decided as a matter of fact
that the differences are insubstantial, nothing is left for the
jury to do. Just as it would be improper (as it was in
Bischoff) for the court to compare the claim and the
accused device or process to determine whether as a matter
of fact there are any differences, it would be improper for
the court to compare them to determine whether as a matter
of fact any differences are insubstantial. That sort of disposi-
tive role for the court is precisely what this Court warned in
Markman “would improperly eliminate the jury’s function
in answering the ultimate question of infringement.”
Markman, 64 U.S.L.W. at 4267.

Some of those who argue for the elimination of the jury
seem to be motivated by a belief that patent infringement
cases are too complicated for juries. That is not a new
complaint. One hundred twenty-four years ago, in Tucker v.
Spalding, 80 U.S. (13 Wall.) 453 (1872), this Court held

*This proposition was made in one of the dissenting opinions in the
lower court, which recognized that the assessment made by the judge
would overlap “in considerable degree” with the analysis to be applied
by the jury. Hilton Davis Chem. Co. v. Warner-Jenkinson Co., 62 F.3d
1512, 1544 (Fed. Cir. 1995) (Plager, J., dissenting).

* Affirming that the judge must not make the factual determinations
about the substantiality of differences does not mean that every case
where infringement by equivalents is alleged will get to the jury. To the
contrary, as the Federal Circuit clearly has established, the patentee
must offer admissible objective evidence of infringement. See, ez.
Hilton Davis, 62 F.3d at 1519. If the evidence is lacking, such that a
reasonable jury could not find infringement by equivalents, summary
judgment is appropriate.

24

““[w]hatever may be our personal opinions of the fitness of
the jury as a tribunal to determine the diversity or identity in
principle of two mechanical instruments, it cannot be ques-
tioned that .. . that question must be submitted to the jury,
if there is so much resemblance as raises the question at
all.” Jd. at 455. Patent cases may be complicated. Other
types of cases are complicated, too, but we do not take them
from the jury for that reason. The solution to complexity is
not to eliminate the jury, but to present the evidence in such
a way that the jury can understand it.

B. The Existence of Infringement by Equivalents
Should Be Based on Objective Criteria.

Those who would misconstrue the doctrine of equivalents
as an equitable remedy would have courts condition the
applicability of the doctrine on subjective criteria such as
the good behavior of the patentee or the ill intent of the
alleged infringer. That argument is inconsistent with the
strict liability aspect of patent law, which does not make
liability for infringement dependent on intent to infringe.
35 U.S.C. § 271(a). The law places the responsibility to
determine if an existing patent is being infringed on those
who are developing devices or products in a particular field.
Patents are publicly available so that anyone can determine
if a particular device or process has been patented. Liability
for infringement is avoided by taking care to avoid it, not by
ignoring the possibility of infringement. Liability should -
change just because a particular “innocent” infringer w
fortunate enough inadvertently to avoid literal olla
by having made insubstantial changes. Such a result would
be inconsistent with the policy of providing uniform protec-
tion for patents.

The argument that only deliberate copiers should be liable
for infringement by equivalents is also contrary to the
purpose of the doctrine itself. The doctrine protects “the

25

heart of the invention” from infringement through insub-
stantial changes. It guards against infringement by one who
is either clever or lucky enough to include an element that
uses the patented idea but avoids the exact words of
the claim. The doctrine is concerned with protecting the
ay cee eS eee not with punishing infring-
ers. The protection given through application of the doc-
trine would be severely diminished if it were applied only to
those who intentionally infringed.''

Evidence of deliberate copying versus independent devel-
opment is not irrelevant to infringement by equivalents.
Evidence that an alleged infringer studied the patent and
then made only the changes necessary to avoid the literal
scope of the patent could allow the fact-finder to draw an
inference that the differences are insubstantial. Evidence
that the alleged infringer undertook significant independent
research and development could allow the contrary infer-
ence. Neither type of evidence would be conclusive, how-
ever, as under the rules established by the expert judges of
the Federal Circuit, the determination of infringement by
equivalents depends on the objective differences between
the claim and the accused device or process. Hilton Davis,
62 F.3d at 1519.

°Punishment of infringers is found elsewhere in patent law. Under 35
U.S.C. sections 284 and 285, the court may award a patentee enhanced
damages and attorney fees if the infringer is shown to have acted in bad
faith. Those sections do not distinguish between literal and equivalent
infringers, but apply to both.

‘The Court's reference in Graver Tank to an “unscrupulous copyist”
was not a restriction on the application of the doctrine, but only a
recognition that the need for application of the doctrine is particularly
apparent where such infringers appear. Graver Tank, 339 U.S. at 607,
612.

26

lil. AS MOST APPLICATIONS ARE AMENDED,
ADOPTING PETITIONER’S POSITION ON
PROSECUTION HISTORY ESTOPPEL WOULD
RESULT IN A DE FACTO ELIMINATION OF
THE DOCTRINE OF EQUIVALENTS.

Prosecution history estoppel is a well-established limita-
tion on the scope of permissible equivalents to a patent
claim. In applying principles of prosecution history estoppel
established by this Court, the Federal Circuit, which reviews
dozens of prosecution histories each year, has established an
appropriate balance between the property interests of the
patentee and the reliance interests of accused infringers.'?
This case presents no reason to rewrite this law.

Petitioner essentially asks this Court to expand the appli-
cation of prosecution history estoppel to preclude a paten-
tee’s resort to the doctrine of equivalents whenever claims
are amended during prosecution. Although Petitioner
couches its argument in terms of “deliberate surrenders,” as
a practical matter, any narrowing amendment could be
characterized in later litigation as a surrender. Were the
Court to adopt Petitioner’s “surrender” approach to prose-
cution history estoppel, any patentee who amended his
claims would be unable to rely on the doctrine of
equivalents. Since most patent applications are amended
after filing, General Accounting Office, supra, at 17, Peti-
tioner is, in fact, seeking a de facto elimination of the
doctrine of equivalents. This result is not compelled either
by this Court’s precedents or by the policies behind prosecu-
tion history estoppel.

'? See Hoganas AB v. Dresser Indus., Inc., 9 F.3d 948, 952 (Fed. Cir.
1993) (measuring estoppel “from the vantage point of what a competi-
tor was reasonably entitled to conclude, from the prosecution history,
that the applicant gave up to procure issuance of the patent”); see also
Haynes Int'l. Inc. v. Jessop Steel Co.. 8 F.3d 1573, 1578 (Fed. Cir.
1993), on reh'g, 15 F.3d 1076 (Fed. Cir. 1994) (same).

27

This Court’s precedents have made clear that when, as in
Hilton Davis, a patent applicant surrenders subject matter
during patent examination to overcome an objection based
on prior art, the patentee cannot use the doctrine of
equivalents to recapture subject matter that was not patent-
able in the first instance. Exhibit Supply Co. v. Ace Patents
Corp., 315 U.S. 126, 136 (1942) (prosecution history estop-
pel applies when an applicant alters his claims “in order to
meet objections in the Patent Office, based on references to
the prior art”); Smith v. Magic City Kennel Club, Inc., 282
U.S. 784, 789 (1931) (“where an applicant for a patent to
cover a new combination is compelled by the rejection of his
application by the Patent Office to narrow his claim by the
introduction of a new element, he cannot after the issue of
the patent broaden his claim by dropping the element’’);
I.T.S. Rubber Co. v. Essex Rubber Co., 272 U.S. 429, 443
(1926) (same). A more expansive view of the doctrine is
not warranted.

As the Federal Circuit has noted, “in the course of patent
examination claims are often amended and rewritten and
added and subtracted.” Pall Corp. v. Micron Separations,
Inc., 66 F.3d 1211, 1219 (Fed. Cir. 1995). “No reason or
warrant exists for limiting application of the doctrine of
equivalents to those comparatively few claims allowed ex-
actly as originally filed and never amended.” Hughes Air-
craft Co. v. United States, 717 F.2d 1351, 1363 (Fed. Cir.
1983). Application of the Wands test, for example, often
results in limiting amendments. For this reason, “[a] non-
substantive change or a change that did not in fact deter-
mine patentability does not create an estoppel.” Pall Corp.,
66 F.3d at 1219; see also Musher Found., Inc. v. Alba
Trading Co., 150 F.2d 885, 888 (2d Cir.) (L. Hand, J.)
(when a patentee’s amendment is not to overcome prior art
“it becomes an open question which must be proved,
whether he intends to surrender the disclosure in such sense

—s

28

that he abandons any equivalents of the elements of those
claims which he keeps”), cert. denied, 326 U.S. 770 (1945).

Petitioner's position on prosecution history estoppel ig-
nores its purpose, and would apply prosecution history
estoppel in even those cases in which an amendment was not
required to overcome prior art. Graver Tank itself suggests
circumstances in which this could occur. The patent-at-
issue in Graver Tank originally contained broad claims that
read literally on the defendant’s infringing process as well as
narrow claims that did not. Graver Tank, 339 U.S. at 616
(Black, J., dissenting). The broad claims were found unpat-
entable because they covered inoperable ermbodiments. See
Graver Tank & Mfg. Co. v. Linde Air Prods. Co., 336 U.S.
271, 276-77 (1949). Nevertheless, in finding infringement
of the narrow claims under the doctrine of equivalents, the
majority of this Court acknowledged a zone of patent
coverage that was broader than the literal language of the
claims, but which was not unpatentable over the prior art,
and could therefore be infringed. The same situation could
arise through an amendment during patent prosecution.

Single
inoperative
Original Embodiment
Claim
Limits
Limits of
Allowable No
Claims Based Prior
on section An
112/Wands
Equivalent
Invention

As this diagram illustrates, a patentee may be forced to
limit his claims under the enablement requirement of sec-
tion 112 to only a portion of the full scope of his invention.
This could occur, as in Graver Tank, if the original claims

29

contained inoperative embodiments. If the next broadest
claim the applicant files consistent with the requirements of
section 112 is substantially narrower than the original claiin,
the claims will be limited to a narrow scope, even though a
broader invention scope is allowable over the prior art.'?
Petitioner would have this Court adopt a rule allowing
anyone to commercialize “B” without any liability to the
patentee, depriving the patentee of the benefits of his inven-
tion and chilling patent law’s incentives for research.

Petitioner’s prosecution history estoppel position creates
odd justice. An applicant who filed narrow claims, and
received no rejections, would be entitled to the full range of
equivalents. An applicant who submitted broad claims, and
narrowed them during examination, would get no protection
against equivalents, even though the narrower claims are the
same as would have been allowed in the first instance.

Rigid application of prosecution history estoppel would
also flood the courts with PTO appeals. Applicants, reluc-
tant to risk the estoppel effect of narrowing amendments,
would have newfound incentive to litigate examiner’s deci-
sions. The result would be increased administrative expense
for the entire patent system, from the examiners through the
Board of Patent Appeals and into the courts. Patent attor-
neys well understand the application of prosecution history
estoppel, which this Court and the Federal Circuit have
clearly described. No new rules are needed.

A patentee is not free to amend claims in any manner he or she
desires. Section 112 requires support in the application as filed for each
claim limitation. For example, if a patentee has claimed a process with a
temperature range from 25° to 75°, the patentee may not limit that
claim to a range of 30° to 60° unless the application as filed also
disclosed the latter specific range. Merely being within the originally
disclosed range is not sufficient to satisfy section 112. See 2 Chisum.
supra, at § 7.04[2].

30

CONCLUSION

The doctrine of equivalents plays an important role in
patent law, and is particularly crucial for the biotechnology
industry. The loss or limitation of the doctrine would harm
the industry without adding any certainty to claim interpre-
tation. The decision of the court below should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

DONALD S. CHISUM

Counsel of Record
RACHEL KREVANS
Sue C. HANSEN
STEPHEN B. THAU
MORRISON & FOERSTER LLP
345 California Street
San Francisco, California 94104
(415) 677-7000

CHIRON CORPORATION

ROBERT P. BLACKBURN

KENNETH M. GOLDMAN

4560 Horton Street

Emeryville, California 94608

(510) 655-8730

Counsel for Amicus Curiae

Chiron Corporation

.
ee ee ee ee

———— ee

APPENDIX

New Policy in Interpreting Japanese Patents:
Osaka High Court Affirming Infringement of
Genentech’s t-PA Patents under the Doctrine of
Equivalents

Toshiko Takenaka*

On March 29, 1996, Osaka High Court reversed Osaka
District Court’s decision and found that Sumitomo’s t-PA
infringes Genentech’s pioneer patents for human t-PA
under the doctrine of equivalents. Since this case may
change Japanese case law on patent claim interpretation | 80
degrees to merge with German and U.S. case law, I have
included a summary of the case as well as my comments in
comparative law aspects.

Decision of Osaka High Court (Osaka Koto Saibansho)
March 29, 1996-Case No. Heisei 6 (ne) 3292

Background

The plaintiff-appellant, who owns two patents for a
human tissue plasminogen activator (t-PA), sued the defen-
dant, who was preparing to manufacture and sell a human
tissue plasminogen activator, in order to prevent defendant

*Assistant Director, Center for Advanced Study and Re-
search on Intellectual Property (“CASRIP’’), University
of Washington School of Law. Ph.D. and LL.M., Univer-
sity of Washington School of Law (1990, 1992); B.A.,
Seikei University (1981).

es ||

2a

from engaging such manufacture and sale. Claims of Patent
A issued to the plaintiff read:

1. A recombinant human tissue plasminogen activator
resulting from a non-human host cell, having no other
human protein, which activator is characterized by

(1) a function to convert plasminogen to plasmin;
(2) an ability to provide an affinity for fibrin;

(3) an ability to immunoprecipitate with antibody
against human tissue plasminogen activator
originating from Bowes melanoma cell line;

(4) an amino acid sequence providing a kringle region
and serine protease region; and

(5) either single or multiple amino acid; and

comprises a segment of 89th to 527th amino acid as indi-
cated in the appendix 1.

2. A method for manufacturing a recombinant human
tissue plasminogen activator having no other human protein,
comprising steps of culturing non-human host cell trans-
formed with a DNA sequence encodinghuman tissue plas-
minogen under conditions to enable said host cell to express
said DNA; whereby providing a recombinant human tissue
plasminogen activator characterized by

(1) a function to convert plasminogen to plasmin;
(2) an ability to provide an affinity for fibrin;

(3) an ability to immunoprecipitate with antibody
against human tissue plasminogen activator
originating from Bowes melanoma cell line;

(4) an amino acid sequence providing a kringle region
and serine protease region; and

(5) either single or multiple amino acid; and

3a

comprises a segment of 89th to 527th amino acid as indi-
cated in the appendix 1; arid recovering said recombinant
human tissue plasminogen activator.

3. A medicine for the treatment of thrombosis compris-
ing an amount of recombinant human tissue plasminogen
activator resulting from a non-human host cell, having no
other human protein, which amount is sufficient for such
treatment and mixed with a carrier permissible as a
medicine, which activator is characterized by

(1) a function to convert plasminogen to plasmin;
(2) an ability to provide an affinity for fibrin;

(3) an ability to immunoprecipitate with antibody
against human tissue plasminogen activator
originating from Bowes melanoma cell line;

(4) an amino acid sequence providing a kringle region
and serine protease region; and

(5) either single or multiple amino acid; and

comprises a segment of 89th to 527th amino acid indicated
in the attached appendix |.

The only claim of Patent B read:

A microorganism, yeast, and mammal cell transformed
by a recombinant expression vector containing a DNA
sequence encoding human tissue plasminogen activa-
tor, having a sequence of Ist to 527th amino acids listed
in the attached appendix 1.

The defendant requested a trial of nullity on both patents
but the request was rejected by the Japanese Patent Office.
Plaintiff sued another Japanese pharmaceutical company for
infringement of the same patents. The Osaka District Court
found for plaintiff because that company’s t-PA included a
sequence of amino acids as they are listed in the claims
although the sequence also included some insignificant

4a

amino acids. In contrast, the same court found no infringe-
ment for this case since one amino acid was different from
the claimed sequence. The court rejected to look at sources
other than the claims, stating that it is not necessary to
make reference to other sources when the invention is clear
from the claim language. Since one amino acid is missing
from defendant's t-PA, the court did not find literal infringe-
ment. It also rejected plaintiff's request to apply the doctrine
. of equivalents, emphasizing on the third parties’ interests,
relying on the claims. The plaintiff appealed, arguing that
the defendant’s product was substantially the same or
equivalent to the patented invention.

In determining equivalency, the parties’ arguments fo-
cused on the obviousness of replacing valine with methio-
nine, because the replacement is the only structural
difference between the patented inventions and the defen-
dant’s product. The plaintiff emphasized that the patented
inventions are pioneer inventions. To establish non-
equivalency, the defendant argued that its t-PA was devel-
oped independently from the patented inventions.

Opinion

The contested decision is set aside and the defendant-
appellee is sustained from engaging in infringing activities.
The plaintiff-appellant’s appeal is admissible.

I. Infringement by Equivalents

As arguments by the parties indicate, it is not automati-
cally clear whether the invention including met-t-PA is
substantially the same as the invention including val-t-PA.
Since an invention is defined as a highly advanced creation
of technical idea using a law of nature, courts must put
weight on experts’ (those skilled in the art) opinions and
views in deciding whether an accused embodiment falls
within the technical scope provided in Article 70. Unless the

Sa

experts can understand the technical scope of the patented
invention with no uncertainty on the basis of the claim,
claim language is not the only resort for determining the
technical scope of a patented invention. Although an inven-
tion, which is the subject matter of a patent, ic., an
industrial property right, is described in a claim, the content
described in claims is simply the gist of the invention. Since
an invention is intangible, its structure must be described in
terms of words. It should be noted that although Article 70
provides a means with which to decide the technical scope
of the invention on basis of claim language, but does not
limit the scope to only cover the literal scope of the claim.
Because it is impossible to fully describe the structure of an
intangible subject in terms of words, Article 70 provides
courts with the flexibility to decide the scope in granting an
injunction based on a patent, on the basis of the claim
language. The question of whether an accused embodiment
falls within the technical scope of a patented invention is a
step to define the outermost boundary of the technical scope
and is solved by the court which decides infringement.

If an accused embodiment corresponds to the claimed
invention and thus is clearly found by one skilled in the art
to fall within the technical scope, patent law requires a
method for determining the technical scope of a patented
invention. This enables courts to find such embodiment
being equivalent to the patented invention, even if the
embodiment neither literally infringes the claim, nor meets
every element of the claim.

In affirming infringement by an embodiment which is not
literally the same as the structure of patented invention,
courts must pay attention to third parties’ interests which
rely on the technical scope based on the claim language in
balance with the patentee’s interest. It is necessary to
establish a standard to balance both interests. In scholarly
opinions, two elements of interchangeability and obvi-

6a

ousness of interchangeability are proposed as requirements
to find equivalency to establish such a standard. Therefore,
the parties’ dispute in this case centers on whether the
accused product meets the two elements. These two cle-
ments are positive requirements to affirm equivalency. On
the other hand, there are other elements in particular cases,
such as some facts in patent prosecution which may prevent
courts from finding equivalency. In determining whether the
defendant's t-PA including met-t-PA is equivalent to Pat-
ented Invention A or B including val-t-PA, courts must
affirm equivalency by examining every positive and negative
element, while confirming that finding of equivalency would
not upset the balance between interests of third parties, who
rely on the description of the claims, and those of patentees.

Il. Evaluation With Respect To Positive Elements for
Equivalents

1. Interchangeability

It is not disputed that all amino acid sequence in patented
t-PA and defendants’ t-PA are exactly the same, except that
the 245th amino acid in Patented Inventions A and B is
valine, whereas the corresponding acid in the defendants
t-PA is methionine. The defendant also does not dispute
that its t-PA has the characteristics cited in the claims of
Patents A and B. Accordingly, the defendant’s t-PA pro-
vides the same function as the patented t-PA, and thus
satisfies the interchangeability element.

2. Obviousness of Interchangeability

(Courts listed 11 expert opinions obtained from distin-
guished professors in molecular biology.)

7a

Expert Opinions

In summary, the experts’ opinions on whether one skilled
in the art would have readily obtained the defendant's
thrombolytic agents by replacing valine with methionine is
as follows:

(1) Valine and methionine behave similarly in struc-
turing three dimensional protein structure.

(2) Transformation from valine to methionine in pro-
tein amino acid sequences occurs relatively frequently.
This transformation does not affect the function of the
protein (trivial transformation).

(3) t-PA’s 245th position is buried in the hydrophobic
region of the three dimensional structure of the protein
and has no significant role in relation to biological activity.

(4) If a sequence of amino acids is identified, one
skilled in the art could have manufactured a t-PA varia-
tion wherein some amino acid residues are replaced,
deleted or added by manufacturing t-PA’s cDNA and
changing a segment of the canonical amino acid sequence
in the t-PA.

(5) The significance of Patented Inventions A and B is
to express a t-PA cDNA encoding a recombinant t-PA
which provides a biological activity.

(6) In scientists’ view, the significance of the first
successful cloning of a t-PA c-DNA and producing a
recombinant t-PA is vastly greater than subsequently

repeating the cloning of t-PA by making reference to the
disclosure of the first cloning procedure.

(7) Production of a different form of t-PA by making
reference to amino acid sequence of t-PA has no practical
use, unless the different form of t-PA provides improved
characteristics.

(8) Cloning errors occur very frequently. In most
cases, such errors result from replacements of insignifi-
cant amino acid residues with similar amino acid residues
which do not affect the function of the protein. When a
protein resulting from a cloning error has the same
function as that of the original protein, the error results
from a replacement of insignificant amino acids with
similar amino acids. Therefore, one skilled in the art
could have known that the protein in a different form
resulting from the error would have the same function as

the original protein.

Technical Objective of Patented Inventions A and B

On the priority date of Patented Inventions A and B,
natural t-PA was only produced by isolating from human
cells, and the quantity produced by this isolation was very
small. Although production of useful proteins through Te-
combinant DNA technology was about to become a reality,
the production of t-PA through recombinant DNA technol-
ogy was very difficult, because an only very small quantity of
natural t-PA is available, the concentration of t-PA mRNA
is extremely low; and t-PA mRNA consists of a very long
sequence. Based on the state of art as discussed, the objec-
tive of Inventions A and B is to produce a sufficient quantity
of t-PA through a recombinant DNA and to develop t-PA
thrombolytic agents. Inventions A and B achieved the
objective by determining the sequence of a full-length t-PA
clone, which is essential to produce t-PA through recombi-
nant DNA technology. This results in information disclosure
which enables one skilled in the art to produce a sufficient
quantity of t-PA which is capable of replacing natural t-PA,
a sufficient quantity of t-PA to conduct animal and clinical
experiments for governmental approvals to commercialize
t-PA as medicine.

9a

Significance of Inventions

With respect to the objective, the significance of Inven-
tions A and B relies on a form of t-PA, i.e., an invention of a
product, obtained through a recombinant DNA technology.
The list of amino acids in the claims indicates that the
invention identified t-PA and discovered all amino acids in
t-PA. The t-PA claimed as Inventions A and B is defined as
a t-PA obtained through a recombinant DNA technology.

The disclosure of Inventions A and B enabled one skilled
in the art to understand the manufacturing method of t-PA
with the disclosed characteristics through a recombinant
DNA technology. One skilled with his or her general knowl-
edge in the art would have been able to produce a sufficient
quantity of t-PA, which was not possible by conventional
methods.

As the findings from the expert opinions indicate, if the
amino acid sequence of t-PA is identified, t-PA in various
forms could be produced. This is also discussed in the
specification. These findings support the view that one
skilled in the art, with the general knowledge available on
the priority date of Inventions A and B, could have readily
made t-PA in various forms by replacing a portion of the
amino acid sequence recited in the claims, so as to obtain a
form of t-PA with improved characteristics. In the Scien-
tists’ view, unless a t-PA in a different form reveals charac-
teristics superior to that of the original t-PA, the modified
t-PA does not have any practical significance above that of
the original t-PA.

Because the 245th position is not in a significant region,
the replacement of valine with methionine does not affect
the function of the protein, and a t-PA in a different form
would have been readily made; it was highly possible or
expected on the priority date, for one skilled in the art, to
replace valine in the 245th position with methionine in the

10a

t-PA protein so as tc ~htain a T-PA in a different form with
a function comparable to that of the original T-PA. The
defendant’s witness’s statement that the defendant’s T-PA
resulted from a cloning error also supported that it was well
expected for one skilled in the art to obtain a t-PA in a
different form resulting from a cloning error.

(The court rejected defendant's arguments that a replace-
ment of valine with methionine would change the character-
istics of the protein, relying on the expert opinions that the
characteristics of defendant’s t-PAs are indistinguishable
from those of the patented t-PA.)

III. Negative Element: Prosecution History
1. Prosecution History of Patented Inventions A and B

The original application for Invention A_ included
16 claims, including a claim which reads: “a DNA human
tissue plasminogen activator, having substantially no other
human protein.” During the examination of the opposition
against the application, the JPO examiner upheld the oy »o-
sition and rejected on the basis of lack of enablement. [he
examiner agreed with the opponent that the claim was too
broad compared with the disclosure. The published claims
covered any t-PA having characteristics cited in the claims,
which are comparable to the characteristics of natural t-PA.
The application, however, did not include any disclosure on
variations where amino acid residues in positions 69 through
527 were replaced. Since the characteristics of t-PA in a
different form were unknown, the claim scope including
these unknown variations was not permitted. In the trial
against the decision of refusal, the plaintiff gave up and
limited the claims to include a list of amino acids in
positions 69 to 527.

Similarly, the original application of Invention B did not
include a list of amino acids, and was rejected for lack of
enablement, on the ground that the claims were too broad

compared with the disclosure in the specification. To over-
come this rejection, the plaintiff introduced the list of amino
acids in positions | to 527 positions. In its argument accom-
panying the amendment, the plaintiff emphasized that the
introduction of the limitation on the specific sequence of
amino acids should not be interpreted to exclude t-PA in
different forms, which would be obvious to one skilled in the
art from the amino acid sequence cited in the amended
claims. This amendment did not satisfy the JPO examiner.
The defendant again amended the claim and deleted the
words “allelic variations” and “derivatives,” these words
were pointed out by the examiner as being not fully sup-
ported by the disclosure in the application.

Although the claims were amended to recite only the
particular amino acid sequence, the specification of Patent
Invention A described possible variation resulting from
single or multiple amino acid substitutions, deletions, addi-
tions or replacements, and made clear that the scope of this
invention comprised these variations, as long as they main-
tained the characteristics of human tissue plasminogen acti-
vator. The specification of Patent B also maintained a
description that the term “a DNA sequence encoding
human tissue plasminogen activator” included all DNA
encoding all allelic variations and modifications resulting in
derivatives of human tissue plasminogen activator.

These facts in the patent prosecution indicate that the
limitation of amino acid sequence was introduced to meet
the requirement provided in Article 36, because variations
included in the original claims were not supported by the
disclosure in the specification. When a claim is amended to
overcome the rejection for lack of novelty or inventive step,
the invention is not patentable if its scope is interpreted
beyond the literal claim scope. Thus, the interpretation is
not permissible. In comparison, when a claim is amended to
clarify the description of an invention, the interpretation

l2a

beyond the literal claim scope would not result in lack of
novelty or inventive step and thus should be permissible.
Communications from the examiner do not indicate that all
variations were excluded from the technical scope of pat-
ented t-PA. Thus, no fact in the patent prosecution history
gives rise to an element to prevent the court from finding
equivalency. No plaintiff's argument gives rise to the appli-
cation of estoppel.

IV. Argument of Independent Development

A product or method infringes a patent as long as it
falls within the technical scope of the patented invention
regardless of its independent development from the patented
invention. Evidence of the defendant’s copying of the pat-
ented invention is indirectly relevant to suggest that the
interchangeability and obviousness of interchangeability ele-
ments are met in affirming equivalency. An argument of
independent development is relevant to refute the plaintiff's
contention that the accused product meets the two elements
of interchangeability and obviousness of the interchangea-
bility, because the defendant copied the patented invention.
Because a finding of infringement does not rest on the
subjective awareness of the defendant, argument of indepen-
dent development is not directly relevant to establish none-
quivalency by the defendant.

In this case, the plaintiff did not introduce the evidence of
the defendant's copying of the patented t-PA. Thus, the
defendant’s argument was not relevant in determining
equivalency.

(Despite the irrelevancy of the evidence on independent
development, the court examined evidence on the defen-
dant’s process of developing its t-PA and rejected the
argument that the defendant independently developed the
t-PA.)

l3a

V. Conclusion

In summary, no fact which prevents a finding of
equivalency was found, and a finding of equivalency between
the patented inventions and defendant’s t-PA does not upset
third parties’ reliance on the patent claims. Accordingly, the
defendant's t-PA is equivalent to the patented t-PA. The
defendant’s t-PA, its manufacturing method and

thrombolytic agents fall within the technical scope of the
patented invention.

It is established that the defendant is preparing to culture
the accused cell and manufacture and sell the accused
thrombolytic agents by using the accused method. Since
these activities constitute infringement of the plaintiff's
patents, the plaintiff's request to enjoin the activities, and
destroy the accused products, is lawful.

Comments

This case is very important not only because it may
completely change case law direction on Japanese claim
interpretation, but also because it involves pioneer inven-
tions owned by U.S. biotech company, the significance of
the invention is great not only to that company but also to
US. industry. The Osaka District Court’s denial of finding
infringement almost resulted in trade disputes between U.S.
and Japanese government. Interestingly, infringement suit
was also brought against the defendant’s licensor in the
United States on the basis of the U.S. patents corresponding
to Japanese patents in this case (although U.S. patent
claims did not include the limitation of amino acid se-
quence). In appeal from the trial court’s finding of infringe-
ment, the defendant of the U.S. case did not appeal on the
issue of infringement concerning the form of t-PA disputed

ae Inc. v. Welcome Foundation Lid., 29 F3d 1555 (Fed. Cir.

l4a

in Japanese case. Regarding the U.S. defendant's FEIX
protein, a different product from the Japanese defendant’s
product, Federal Circuit found no infringement.

Japanese patent law has been extensively criticized for its
narrow claim interpretation and its reluctance to find in-
fringement under the doctrine of equivalents.’ As typically
shown by the first instance decision of this case, when the
disputed claim does not literally cover the accused embodi-
ment, Japanese courts find no infringement and reject pat-
entee’s request to apply the doctrine of equivalents, giving
weight on third parties’ interests and legal certainty. When
parties dispute a claim term whether the claim includes the
accused device, courts find that the claim does not clearly
specify the invention, and limits the scope to the scope
explicitly or implicitly disclosed in the specification.’ The
recent cases, however, indicate a new tendency in Japanese
courts which favors the patentee’s interests although even in
a most progressive case Tokyo High Court carefully avoided
using a term “equivalency or equivalents” as the reason to
extend the protection beyond the claim literal scope.* The
Osaka High Court’s determination to change the case law
and affirm the doctrine of equivalents is clear from its
discussion of patent law policy. In civil law countries,

*For a general discussion of Japanese patent claim interpretation in
comparison with United States and German patent claim interpretation,
see Takenaka, /nterpreting Patent Claims: The United States, Germany

and Japan (1996).

*Fujitsu v. TI, Judgment of Tokyo District Court August 31, 1994,
reported in Hanrei Jiho (No. 1510) 35 (1995); Hanrei Taimuzu
(No. 862) 108 (1995). (In this case, the Tokyo Trial Court rejected the
literal coverage of a pioneer invention for manufacturing integrated
circuits including the modifications resulting from the later technologi-
cal development, stating that no suggestion of the modification is found
in the disclosure. )

“Takenaka, Case Comment “Ball Spline Bearing” 26 11C 683 (1995).

lSa

particularly Japan, courts’ opinions do not include an exten-
sive discussion on legal theory and policy since their power
is limited to solve disputes involved in a particular case. This
court opinion begins with an extensive discussion of needs
for extending the protection beyond the literal claim scope
because the nature of words makes impossible to fully
describe an invention, a technical idea, without any ambigu-
ity. The patent policy discussed by the Osaka High Court
closely parallels to the United States Patent Policy to make
reference to sources other than claims and find infringement
under the doctrine of equivalents.’

An important rule that the Osaka High Court emphasized
was that patent claims must be interpreted as if one skilled
in the art would have read the claim. Claims should be read
by making reference to the specification, drawings and
general knowledge of one skilled in the art. In other words,
the protection scope of Japanese patents includes not only
disclosed embodiments but also those obvious to one skilled
in the art. From now on, expert testimony may take a
significant role in Japanese patent infringement cases deal-
ing with high technology such as biotechnology.

A strong U.S. influence is also shown by the test adopted
by Osaka High Court. The court’s crag test, neaaiine
(1) whether the amino acid recited in the claims is inter-
changeable with the amino acid in the defendant’s t-PA and
(2) whether one skilled in the art would have known or
conceived the replacement of such amino acids clearly
parallels to the interchangeability and known interchangea-
bility tests in determining an insubstantial difference
adopted by Federal Circuit in Hilton Davis Chemical Com-

“Autogiro Company of America v. the United S
tates, 384 F.
(Ct. Cl. 1967). oe

l6a

pany Inc. v. Warner-Jenkinson Co.° Similarly, Osaka High
Court’s reasoning to reject the defendant’s argument of
independent development parallels to that of Federal Circuit
in Hilton Davis, stating that the argument is relevant only if
patentee argued that the accused embodiments are copied to
establish the interchangeability and known interchangeabil-
ity between the claimed invention and accused embodiment
for finding equivalency. Finally, the Osaka Court followed
Federal Circuit in limiting the application of prosecution
history estoppelonly when limitations are introduced to
overcome a rejection for lack of novelty and inventive step.’
In short, this t-PA case moved Japanese patent claim
interpretation merged with the United States patent claim
interpretation. Since Hilton Davis has moved United States
patent claim interpretation to German counterpart,® patent
claim interpretation in three major jurisdictions is now in
line. Giving the pending disposition before the Supreme
Court of Hilton Davis, the test and limitation for the
doctrine of equivalents the Osaka High Court is premature
in the United States at this time. For the sake of harmoniza-
tion, I cannot help hoping that the Supreme Court would
affirm the substantial difference test adopted in Hilton
Davis.

‘Hilton Davis Chemical Company Inc. v. Warner-Jenkinson Co., 62
F.3d 1512, USPQ2d 1641 (Fed. Cir. 1995).

"Id., at 1525.

*Takenaka, Doctrine of Equivalents After Hilton Davis: Comparative
Law Analysis, Rutgers Technology and Computer Law Journal (forth-
coming 1996 May).

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0663%3A25. Public record. Not legal advice.
