# Amicus Curiae Brief — Warner-Jenkinson Co. v. Hilton Davis Chemical Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0663%3A23

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1997
- **Citation:** 520 U.S. 17

## Text

e eee
ru —

2 FT ED
. MAY 13 1996
No. 95-728 | |

In The Supreme Court

OF THE
United States

CN Rie ee
* ar ‘

OcTOBER TERM 1995

WARNER-JENKINSON COMPANY, INC.,
Petitioner,
vs.
Hilton Davis Chemical Co.,
Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Federal Circuit

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE
OHIO STATE BAR ASSOCIATION
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT

Eugene P. Whetzel,
General Counsel

Counsel of Record
Albert L. Bell, Of Counsel
Ohio State Bar Association
1700 Lake Shore Drive
Columbus, OH 43204
(614) 487-2050

Counsel for Amicus Curiae

Bowne of Cleveland, Inc., Legal-Financial Printers. (216) 621-8384

’

~TDECT AVATL ani r n VY?
7 4 ALT if? IE da 19 [Y :

TABLE OF CONTENTS

„ „, ee errr epee

I. Determining Similarity of an Accused
Device to the Patented Invention Has

Long been a Factual Determination for

P Cree re eee
II. The Markman Rule Does Not Alter

the Manner In Which A Jury

Determines Equivalence of An Accused

Device to A Patented Invention. .....

III. Petitioner and Supporting Amici Fail
to Demonstrate Any Public Policy
Reason for Overturning the Right to
Jury Determination of Infringement

Under the Doctrine of Equivalents. ...

[ee oct dN thes ve eke whens en duke

Page

10

12

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page
Atlantic Works v. Brady, 107 U.S. 192 (1883) ....... 6
General Electric Co. v. Wabash Appliance Corp.,

„„ „ 6
Graver Tank & Mfg. Co. v. Linde Air Products

Ca., 3399 U.B. GOS ee)) 4, 6, 11
Halliburton Oil Well Cementing Co. v. Walker,

„„ „„ 6
Markman v. Westview Instruments, Inc.,

„„ „„ „„ 8
Odiorne v. Winkley, 18 F. Cas. 581

(C.C.D. Mass. 161: 4
Pennwalt Corporation v. Durand-Wayland, Inc.,

833 F.2d 931 (Fed. Cir. 1987y))))) 4,5
Reutgen v. Kanowrs, 20 F.Cas. 555

(C.C.D. Nh) 4
SRI International y. Matsushita Elec. Corp. of America,

775 F.2d 1107 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (en banc)... ..... 9
Universal Oil Products Co. v. Globe Oil &

Refining Co., 322 U.S. 471 (1944))))ik1w.J cues 6
Winans v. Denmead, 56 U.S. (15 How.)

„„ 4, 6, 7, 8, 11
Statutes:
Patent Act of 1836, 5 Stat. 117, 119, 07 5
Patent Act of 1870, 16 Stat. 198, 201, § 26......... 5
bbb „0 5
bbb 5, 6
Other Sources:

R. Lempert, Civil Juries and Complex Cases: Taking Stock
after Twelve Years in VERDICT: ASSESSING THIE CIVIL
Jury SysTeM 181 (R. Litan ed. 1993))0)h)) ) 12

No. 95-728

In The Supreme Court

OF THE
United States

OcToOBER TERM 1995

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Federal Circuit

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE
OHIO STATE BAR ASSOCIATION
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT

INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE

The Ohio State Bar Association is an unincorporated
association of more than 25,000 members. Its membership
includes lawyers, judges and associate members. It speaks on
behalf of thousands of practitioners from a wide range of
industrial, urban, and rural areas in a populous state, and on
behalf of the six hundred members of its Intellectual
Property Law Section, many of whom devote their careers
largely to the procurement and enforcement of United
States patents. The Association carefully guards the right to
trial by jury in civil actions, and seeks to defend the use of
this well-tested “common-sense” engine of justice against
encroachments in the name of purported efficiency or
certainty or predictability. This brief is authorized by the
Board of Governors of the Association’s Intellectual Prop-

2

erty Law Section and by the Board of Governors of the
Association itself. Counsel for Petitioner and Respondent
have consented to the filing of this brief.

The doctrine of equivalents is an important adjunct to
enforcement of the patent laws and should not be abolished.
Other amici (e., the United States, the Intellectual Prop-
erty Owners, the American Intellectual Property Law Asso-
ciation [““AIPLA’’]) have stated well the rationale for the
doctrine, and this Amicus will not add to those statements.

The doctrine of equivalents should not be applied de-
pending on the conduct, motive or intent of the accused
infringer. Other amici have adequately stated the reasons
why this limitation upon use of the doctrine proposed by
dissenters below should be rejected as contrary to the very
concept of uniformity in enforcing patent claims otherwise
sought by Petitioner. This Amicus will not further address
that question.

This Amicus seeks to address only the Petitioner’s chal-
lenge to the submission of the equivalence issue to a jury.
The Federal Circuit determined, following many years of
unbroken precedent, that the question whether an accused
product infringes a patent under the doctrine of equivalents
is a question of fact to be decided by a jury when a jury
demand has been made. Two of the dissenting opinions
suggested that the determination of infringement by equiva-
lence should be removed from jury consideration and given
to the trial court. Dissent by Plager, J., 62 F.3d at 1543;
dissent by Lourie, J., 62 F.3d at 1549. Several amici support
the dissenters on this point. This Amicus urges continuance
of the present role of the jury in equivalents determinations.

3

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The doctrine of equivalents has long been applied by the
courts of the United States through submission of the
question of similar or equivalent structure to juries. This
well-established practice has continued notwithstanding
many revisions of the patent statutes, showing legislative
recognition of and acquiescence in the doctrine. The princi-
pal cases of this Court clearly characterize equivalence
analysis as a question of fact not of law, to be decided by a
jury when demanded.

The Markman decision does not alter the accepted
practice of submitting to the jury the question of equiva-
lence after the court construes the words of the claims in its
instructions to the jury. The doctrine of equivalents is not a
separate construction of the patent that draws separate
boundaries for the claims. Rather, the doctrine of
equivalents assumes that the accused product or process falls
outside the boundary drawn by the court in construing the
claims, and merely asks the jury to determine whether the
beyond-boundary difference in the accused product or pro-
cess is so insubstantial as to make it equivalent in substance
to the patented invention. This determination is not part of
construing a written instrument, for which judges are
particularly adept, but is a factual determination at which
jurors are presumed to excel.

Neither the facts of this case nor the opinions in the
court below or the briefs submitted to this Court demon-
strate any pattern of substantial injustice or unconscionable
results that would justify altering the long-standing doctrine
of equivalents. However, certain comments made by dissent-
ers below suggest a hostility to the use of juries in complex
cases, a suggestion that should be rejected by this Court as
inimical to the fundamental role of juries in all manner of
civil actions in this country.

4
ARGUMENT

I. Determining Similarity of an Accused Device to the
Patented Invention Has Long been a Factual Determi-
nation for the Jury.

Although Graver Tank & Mfg. Co. v. Linde Air Products
Co., 339 U.S. 605 (1950), is considered to be the definitive
authority for the modern doctrine of equivalents, the con-
cept of putting to the jury the question whether the accused
product is so similar to the patented invention as to infringe
the inventor’s rights has been a part of American patent
jurisprudence virtually from the beginning. This concept
can first be found in a jury charge of Justice Bushrod
Washington, sitting as a Circuit Justice in Reutgen v.
Kanowrs, 20 F. Cas. 555 (C.C.D. Pa. 1804), in which
George Washington’s nephew instructed the jury to deter-
mine whether the defendants were using a machine similar
to the one mentioned in the plaintiff's patent and specifica-
tion. Jd. at 556. Similarly, Justice Story, sitting as Circuit
Justice in Odtorne v. Winkley, 18 F. Cas. 581 (C. C. D. Mass.
1814), charged the jury to consider whether the machines
used by the defendant are substantially, in their principles
and mode of operation, like the plaintiff's machines. Id. at
582. He then defined the material question as not whether
the same elements of motion, or the same component parts
are used, but whether the given effect is produced substan-
tially by the same mode of operation, and the same combi-
nation of powers, in both machines. Id. Many other early
cases requiring findings of similarity or equivalence are cited
in Circuit Judge Newman’s commentary in Pennwalt Corpo-
ration v. Durand-Wayland, Inc., 833 F.2d 931, 957-70
(Fed. Cir. 1987).

The doctrine of equivalents first appeared in a Supreme
Court decision in Winans v. Denmead, 56 U.S. (15 How.)
330, 342-43 (1853). At that time, the existing patent
statute did not formally require distinct claims, but merely
required that the patentee

5

particularly specify and point out the part, im-
provement, or combination, which he claims as
his own invention or discovery.

Patent Act of 1836, 5 Stat. 117, 119, § 6. Thereafter in the
Patent Act of 1870, 16 Stat. 198, 201, § 26, Congress
amended the critical statutory language to require the
patentee to

particularly point out and distinctly claim the
part, improvement, or combination which he
claims as his invention or discovery.

While the 1870 statute is considered the genesis of the
principle that the metes and bounds of an invention are set
forth in the claims, see, e g., Pennwalt Corp. v. Durand-
Wayland, Inc., supra, 833 F.2d at 959, the previous statute
under which the doctrine originated contained closely simi-
lar language requiring specificity in setting forth the claimed
invention. In comparison, the present statute, 35 U.S.C.
§ 112, provides:

The specification shall conclude with one or
more claims particularly pointing out and dis-
tinctly claiming the subject matter which the
applicant regards as his invention.

Nothing in the text of the present statute suggests that
the role of the jury in determining whether the accused
product is the same as, or insubstantially distinct from, the
claimed invention should differ from the manner in which
juries were used under the previous patent statutes.

More important than § 112 for defining the manner in
which infringement is to be determined is the infringement
statute, § 271, which provides that “whoever without
authority makes, uses, offers to sell or sells any patented
invention . . during the term of the patent therefor,
infringes the patent.” This provision, last amended on
January 1, 1996, does not say “whoever makes, uses or sells
a claimed invention”’ or “whoever practices any claim of

6

a patent. Nothing in the statute requires that the factual
determination of infringement occur exclusively within the
explicit bounds of a claim,’ even though § 271 has been
amended repeatedly since the Graver Tank decision —
most recently after the Federal Circuit announced its deci-
sion in this case. Congress accepts the manner in which
infringement is determined under the doctrine of
equivalents.

There is thus no reason within the patent statute for this
Court to overrule the holding in Graver Tank that [a
finding of equivalence is a determination of fact,” 339 U.S.
at 609-610, upon which the court below grounded its
decision, 62 F.3d. at 1520.

Amicus AIPLA asserts that the seminal Winans decision
supports its view that the scope of equivalents is a question
of law. To the contrary, Winans held precisely the opposite,
namely, that the lower court erred in taking the question of
infringement away from the jury because even though there
could be no literal infringement of the claims, there was
evidence to show that defendant’s octagonal railcars
achieved substantially the same result as the plaintiff's
patented round railcars by substantially embodying his
mode of operation. 56 U.S. (15 How.) at 343-44. The
Court stated:

In Graver Tank, Petitioners raised the spectre of uncertainty, asserting that if
the doctrine of equivalents were not repudiated, then the claims of the
patent no longer will serve to warn the public of the area closed to it, citing
General Electric Co. v. Wabash Appliance Corp., 304 U.S. 364, 369 (1938)
and Universal Oil Products Co. v. Globe Oil & Refining Co., 322 U.S. 471,
484-85 (1944), and asserting that businesses will face “fears and apprehen-
sions of concealed liens and unknown liabilities,” citing Atlantic Works v.
Brady, 107 U.S. 192, 200 (1883), and Halliburton Oil Well Cementing Co.
v. Walker, 329 U.S. 1, 12 (1946). Brief of Petitioners on Rehearing at 60.
In deciding the Graver Tank case, this Court made an unequivocal determi-
nation that the need for business certainty is an insufficient reason to
repudiate the doctrine of equivalents. The business-certainty argument has
not changed since then, and the doctrine of stare decisis should dispose of it.

7

It may safely be assumed, that neither the
patentee nor any other constructor has made, or
will make, a car exactly circular. In practice,
deviations from a true circle will always occur.
How near to a circle, then must a car be, in order
to infringe? May it be slightly elliptical, or other-
wise depart from a true circle, and, if so, how far?

In our judgment, the only answer that can be
given to these questions is, that it must be so near
to a true circle as substantially to embody the
patentee’s mode of operation, and thereby attain
the same kind of result as was reached by his
invention. It is not necessary that the defendant’s
cars should employ the plaintiff's invention to as
good advantage as he employed it, or that the
result should be precisely the same in degree. It
must be the same in kind, and effected by the
employment of his mode of operation in sub-
stance. Whether, in point of fact, the defendant's
cars did copy the plaintiff's invention, in the sense
above explained, is a question for the jury, and the
court below erred in not leaving that question to
them upon the evidence in the case, which tended
to prove the affirmative.

56 U.S. (15 How.) at 343-44 (emphasis added). Amicus
AIPLA seizes upon isolated passages referring to the lav
as somehow supporting its position that the “scope of
equivalents” is a matter of law for the judge. To the
contrary, in these passages, the Court was merely stating its
conclusion, in opposition to that reached by the lower court,
that non-literal infringement could be actionable: that it was
recognized in law. This is made clear by putting these
passages in context:
Where form and substance are inseparable, it is
enough to look at the form only. Where they are

separable; where the whole substance of the in-
vention may be copied in a different form, it is

8

the duty of courts and juries to look through the
form for the substance of the invention — for
that which entitled the inventor to his patent, and
which the patent was designed to secure; where
that is found, there is an infringement; and it is
not a defence, that it is embodied in a form not
described, and in terms claimed by the patentee.

Patentees sometimes add to their claims an
express declaration to the effect that the claim
extends to the thing patented, however its form
or proportions may be varied. But this is unneces-
sary. The law so interprets the claim without the
addition of these words.

56 U.S. (15 How.) at 343 (emphasis added). Here
again, the Winans Court reserved a role for the jury, not
merely to apply the scope of equivalents as set forth by the
court, but to look to the substance of the patent and make
its own determination of whether the defendant had in-
fringed it, despite the absence of literal infringement.

Il. The Markman Rule Does Not Alter the Manner In
Which A Jury Determines Equivalence of An Accused
Device to A Patented Invention.

This Court held in Markman v. Westview Instruments,
Inc., 116 S.Ct. 1384 (1996), that claim construction is
purely a question of law to be decided by the court. Claims
are construed by the court without reference to the accused
product or process. The court instructs the jury on the
proper construction of the claims. Then the jury determines
whether the accused product or process falls within the
scope of the claims as properly construed. This test of literal
infringement is a factual determination.

Under the Markman rule, the same procedure must occur
in cases asserting infringement by equivalents that is pre-
scribed for cases of literal infringement. The court instructs
the jury as to the proper construction of the claims. Then
the jury determines whether, if the accused product or

9

process does not fall within the literal scope of the claims,
the difference between the accused product or process is so
insubstantial as to make it equivalent to the patented
invention. This is a finding of fact.

Amicus AIPLA erroneously asserts that the doctrine of
equivalents should encompass a two-step process in which
the trial court first determines the scope of equivalents, and
then the jury determines whether the accused product falls
within that scope. Such proposed rule (which has no case-
law support) contains a serious flaw — it assumes that the
doctrine of equivalents operates to draw a boundary which is
different than the boundary drawn by the language of the
claims. Under such a rule, the judge would describe two
boundaries for the jury: a boundary for literal infringement
and a wider boundary for infringement by equivalents — a
wholly anomalous result which can only confuse a jury.

The doctrine of equivalents does not involve construing
the scope of a patent separate from the scope of the claims
as literally construed. There is no second boundary to be
drawn by the court. Rather, the doctrine of equivalents
assumes that the accused product or process falls outside the
boundary drawn by the court in its instructions to the jury.
If so, then the jury may determine whether the beyond-
boundary difference in the accused product or process is so
insubstantial as to be equivalent to the claimed invention.

There is nothing inconsistent in assigning to the court
the task of construing the claim and then allowing a jury in
an appropriate case to determine equivalents. To do other-
wise would improperly degrade the process of claim con-
struction. Proper claim construction is performed without
reference to the accused device or process. M International
v. Matsushita Elec. Corp. of America, 775 F.2d 1107, 1118
(Fed. Cir. 1985) (en banc). However, equivalence cannot
be determined in a vacuum, without reference to an accused
device. The question whether a device falling outside the
scope of the claims has such an insubstantial difference as to
be equivalent cannot begin to be addressed without consid-

10

ering the characteristics of the accused device and the scope
of the claims as construed by the court. Thus the suggestion
of the AIPLA that the court also construe the scope of
equivalents, apparently without reference to the nature of
the accused device, flies in the face of accepted patent law
procedures.

The rationale of the Markman decision assigning claim
construction exclusively to the court rested upon the pre-
mise that courts are more adept than juries at construing
written legal instruments. This rationale is inapplicable to
the determination whether a product or process is equivalent
to the patented invention.’ Juries are assigned by law and
the Constitution the task of determining whether an ac-
cused device or process falls within the claim, and similarly
they should function at least as well as judges in deciding
whether, though not within the claim, the accused product
or process is so close as to be equivalent. The latter
determination is a question of fact, to be distinguished from
construing a claim, as described by Circuit Judge Nies in
dissent, 62 F.3d at 1578.

III. Petitioner and Supporting Amici Fail to Demon-
strate Any Public Policy Reason for Overturning the
Right to Jury Determination of Infringement Under
the Doctrine of Equivalents.

Neither the facts of this case, nor the briefs filed by
Petitioner or the supporting amici, nor any of the opinions
written by the judges of the court below, have presented any
concrete instances in which submission of the question of
infringement under the doctrine of equivalents to a jury has
resulted in a fundamentally unjust verdict, or an anomalous

If the applicability of the doctrine of equivalents to an accused product or
process is circumscribed by prosecution history estoppel, then the court can
make that determination using its expertise in construing written instru-
ments, and can inform the jury of the limitations imposed by the contents of
the prosecution history. This case does not squarely present a question of
prosecution history estoppel to this Court.

11

result when compared to another case, or any example of
the theoretical parade of horrors presented by those who
would remove the determination of equivalents from a jury.
All is speculation, theory, hypotheticals. The doctrine of
equivalents is not a new development. Many years have
passed in which, if all of the terrible results such as
inconsistent application of patents to similar products, lack
of certainty, and runaway juries were a natural consequence
of allowing juries to consider infringement by equivalents,
surely such results would have surfaced somewhere among
the many cases decided under the patent laws. Before the
longstanding and long-applied principle of Winans and
Graver Tank is overruled, a petitioner should be required to
demonstrate concretely that the present rule is producing
results that are unjust, and that a change will produce more
just results. Nothing in this record shows that switching the
determination of infringement by equivalents from a jury to
the trial judge will improve the quality of justice in patent
cases.

The dissenting judges below do make reference to a very
unfortunate public policy argument — an argument to
which this Amicus takes emphatic exception. The sugges-
tion that juries are too unsophisticated to decide complex
issues should be rejected by this Court. In particular, Circuit
Judge Lourie’s expressed hostility to a jury considering the
greater complexity of today’s patented high technology
inventions,” 62 F.3d at 1549 n. 3, and his statement that an
equivalence determination should be reserved to the court
because of the need to exercise “discretion,” id. at 1549, is
a flat condemnation of the ability of juries to decide hard
cases and do justice. Juries routinely decide complex matters
in many fields of law. They consider voluminous complex
financial and economic evidence in securities fraud and
antitrust cases, complex scientific forensic evidence in crimi-
nal cases, complex medical evidence in personal injury cases,
and complex technological evidence in products liability
cases. Complexity exceptions to the right to jury trial in a
civil action, widely debated in the early 1980's, were never

12

adopted by this Court. R. Lempert, Civil Juries and Com-
plex Cases: Taking Stock after Twelve Years, in VERDICT:
ASSESSING THE CIVIL JURY SYSTEM (R. Litan ed. 1993).
To a lesser extent, Circuit Judge Plager’s peroration (62
F.3d at 1538) that the decision below is a virtually
uncontrolled and unreviewable license to juries to find
infringement if they so choose“ assumes that jurors cannot
adequately decide when an accused product contains a
significant change from the patented invention. He cites no
past experience, no cases from many years of doctrine of
equivalents jurisprudence, to support his assertion that jury
determinations under the doctrine of equivalents are uncon-
trollable. The right to a jury determination of equivalents
should not be overturned on such a thin showing as the
record and arguments made in this case.

CONCLUSION

For all of the above-stated reasons, the decision of the
court below should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

Eugene P. Whetzel,
General Counsel

Counsel of Record
Albert L. Bell, Of Counsel
Ohio State Bar Association
1700 Lake Shore Drive
Columbus, OH 43204
(614) 487-2050

Counsel for Amicus Curiae
May 13, 1996

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0663%3A23. Public record. Not legal advice.
