# Amicus Curiae Brief — Warner-Jenkinson Co. v. Hilton Davis Chemical Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0663%3A12

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1997
- **Citation:** 520 U.S. 17

## Text

Supreme Court; U. L.
‘1 FILED
| APR n 1996

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1995

WARNER-JENKINSON COMPANY, INC., PETITIONER
*.
HILTON DAvis CHEMICAL Co.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
AS AMICUS CURIAE

Drew S. Days, III
Solicitor General

ANNE K. BINGAMAN
Assistant Attorney General

LAWRENCE G. WALLACE
Deputy Solicitor General

CORNELIA T.L. PILLARD

Assistant to the Solicitor
General
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530
(202) 514-2217
NANCY J. LINCK
Solicitor

ALBIN F. DROST
Deputy Solicitor

CRAIG R. KAUFMAN

KAREN A. BUCHANAN
Patent & Trademark Office
Arlington, Virginia 22215

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the equitable doctrine of equivalents in
patent infringement litigation should be limited to
situations in which the patent holder shows (1) that
the differences between the elements of the accused
device and the patent claims are insubstantial, and
(2) that there are no equitable considerations that
would preclude application of the doctrine.

(I)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

the goals of the Patent Act

A. The doctrine of equivalents applies only where
each element claimed in the patent, or a sub-

D. The doctrine of equivalents does not conflict
with Sections 251-252, the Patent Act’s reissue

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:

Aro Mfg. Co. v. Convertible Top Replacement Co.,
2
Bonito Boats, Inc. v. Thunder Craft Boats, Inc.,
CS
Corning Glass Works v. Sumitomo Elec. U.S.A.,
Inc., 868 F.2d 1251 (Fed. Cir. 1989) .
D.M.1., Inc. v. Deere & Co., 755 F.2d 1570 (Fed.
1 ——»

—— —

(IID

Cases—Continued: Page

Graver Tank & Mfg. Co. v. Linde Air Products Co.,

339 U.S. 605 (1950) 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 19
Halliburton Oil Well Cementing Co. v. Walker,

8) xx eee 11
Hybritech Inc. v. Monoclonal Antibodies, Inc.,

802 F. 2d 1367 (Fed. Cir. 1986), cert. denied,

Rf . ee 23
Insta-Foam Products, Inc. v. Universal Foam

Systems Inc., 906 F.2d 698 (Fed. Cir. 1990) 20-21
Intel Corp. v. United States Int'l Trade Comm'n,

946 F.2d 821 (Fed. Cir. 19001) . . 19
Lemelson v. United States, 752 F.2d 1538 (Fed.

K . 17
London v. Carson Pirie Scott & Co., 946 F. 2d 1534

ü a ee 17
Machine Co. v. Murphy, 97 U.S. 120 (1877) ............ 14
Markman v. Westview Instruments, Inc., cert.

granted, 116 S. Ct. 40 (1988) 16
Pall Corp. v. Micron Separations, Inc., 66 F.3d

of. | > T 17, 22, 23

Pennwalt Corp. v. Durand-Wayland, Inc., 833

F. 2d 931 (Fed. Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 485 U.S.

CES, SE GRD ccepeesssenegetienasiee 17, 24
Royal Typewriter Co. v. Remington Rand, Inc.,

168 F.2d 691 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 335 U.S. 825

89 — — 17
Sanitary Refrigerator Co. v. Winters, 280 U.S. 30
——— . . —— 4. 16
Standard Indus., Inc. v. Tigrett Indus., Inc.,
900.0 — (—-— 14. 21
Valmont Indus., Inc. v. Reinke Mfg. Co., 983 F.2d
I ee 24, 25

Wilson Sporting Goods Co. v. David Geoffrey &
Associates, 904 F.2d 677 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied,
1? a» —— 15, 21

V
Constitution and statutes: Page
US. Const. Art. I, § 8, Cl. 8 (Patent Clause) 12
Patent Act, 35 U.S.C. 1 et seg.
EE 13
EE ee ae 13, 18
c 13, 18
35 U.S.C. 112:
Ee 13, 22
FEES EE EES eae 13
— 0 8, 11, 23, 25, 26
a RS rE 26
SS 26, 27
. 8, 11, 26, 27
8 19
Ee 19
Miscellaneous:
Martin Adelman & Gary Francione, The Doctrine
of Equivalents in Patent Law: Questions that
Pennwalt Did Not Answer, 137 U. Pa. L. Rev.
— 23
PJ. Federico, Commentary on the New Patent Act,
35 U.S. C. A. 1 (West 1954) . s 2⁵
Sean Moorhead, The Doctine of Equivalents: Rarely
Actionable Non-Literal Infringement of the Second
Prong of Patent Infringement Charges? , 53 Ohio
111 „ 14-15

SS

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1995

No. 95-728
WARNER-JENKINSON COMPANY, INC., PETITIONER
.

HILTON Davis CHEMICAL Co.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
AS AMICUS CURIAE

INTEREST OF THE UNITED STATES

Under the equitable doctrine of equivalents, a product
or process that does not literally infringe a patent, be
cause it has elements that differ from those specified in
the patent claim limitations, may nonetheless be held to
infringe if the differences are insubstantial. The United
States has an interest in the preservation of a predictable,
clearly defined, and consistently administered doctrine of
equivalents, to assure that patents provide meaningful
scope of protection but are also properly confined to the
scope of the claimed invention. The public is thereby
assured notice of the limits of exclusionary rights con-
ferred by existing patents, while competition and innova-
tion are fostered. The United States accordingly seeks to

encourage foreign nations that provide patents under
their own laws to United States citizens and corporations

(1)

2

to afford patent protection commensurate with that pro-
vided in the United States by the doctrine of equivalents.

STATEMENT

Respondent claimed that petitioner did not literally
infringe its patent, but infringed under the doctrine of
equivalents. The jury applied the doctrine, found in-
fringement and, determining that the infringement was
not willful, awarded 20% of respondent’s requested dam-
ages. The district court entered judgment accordingly,
and enjoined petitioner from using the patented process.
On appeal, the court of appeals en banc considered the
issue of infringement, and, voting 7-5, affirmed in a per
curiam opinion. The en banc court assigned the issue of
patent validity to a panel, which affirmed per curiam.
Petitioner challenges only the judgment of the en banc
court affirming the infringement determination under
the doctrine of equivalents.

1. Both parties manufacture dyes for use in food,
drugs and cosmetics. The companies must remove by-
products in their dyes in order to meet federal food and
drug standards. They have traditionally done so by an
expensive and environmentally burdensome process
known as “salting out,” involving adding salt to the
reaction solution of a dye to crystallize the dye, which
then may be filtered from the remaining solution to
remove impurities.

In 1985, however, respondent obtained patent No.
4,560,746 (the “746 patent) on an alternative dye purifica-
tion process involving ultrafiltration. Pet. App. 2a-3a,
154a-155a. The 746 ultrafiltration process uses osmcais to
separate the impurities from the dye by drawing the
impurities through a membrane at certain pressures, pH
levels, and membrane pore sizes, leaving a high purity
dye. Respondent’s process operated under a hydrostatic

pressure of approximately 200 to 400 pounds per square
inch gage (p.s.i.g.) and at a pH from approximately 6.0
to 9.0. Pet. App. 2a-3a, 157a-159a.

Meanwhile, by 1986, petitioner had developed a suc-
cessful ultrafiltration process operating at pressures from
200 to nearly 500 p.s.i.g. and a pH of 5.0, and was using
that process commercially. Pet. App. 4a-5a. Petitioner
did not learn until October 1986 that in 1985 respondent
had obtained the ‘746 patent. Claim 1 of the ‘746 patent
describes the improvement as:

subjecting an aqueous solution . . to ultrafiltration
II through a membrane having a nominal pore
diameter of 5-15 Angstroms [2] under a hydrostatic
pressure of approximately 200 to 400 p.s.ig., [3] at a
pH from approximately 6.0 to 9.0, to thereby cause
separation of said impurities from said dye, said
impurities of a molecular size smaller than the
nominal pore diameter passing [through] said mem-
brane and said dye remaining in the concentrate.

See id. at 3a-4a. The inventors added the phrase “at a
pH from approximately 6.0 to 9.0” in response to objec-
tions from the Patent and Trademark Office (PTO), in
order to distinguish the preexisting Booth Patent, which
operates at a pH above 9.0 and preferably between 11.0
and 13.0. Id. at 4a.

Respondent sued petitioner for patent infringement in
1991. Following a nine-day jury trial, judgment was
entered in respondent’s favor. Pet. App. 5a.

2. The en banc court of appeals affirmed. Pet. App.
la-152a. After a Federal Circuit panel had heard oral
argument but before it issued a decision, the en banc
court decided to rehear the issues relating to in-
fringement under the doctrine of equivalents. The court
asked the parties to brief the nature of the proof

required under the doctrine, whether the doctrine is a
jury question or an equitable remedy to be decided by the
court, and whether, if the court decides the question,
application of the doctrine is discretionary. Id. at 5a-Ga.

The en banc court held that “the application of the
doctrine of equivalents rests on the substantiality of the
differences between the claimed and accused products or
processes, assessed according to an objective standard.”
Pet. App. 9a. Because the standard is an objective one,
“{ijntent is not an element of infringement” under the
doctrine, although Aplroof of bad faith by an infringer
may entitle the patent owner to enhanced damages and
attorney fees for willful infringement under 35 U.S.C.
§§ 284-285 (1988).” Id. at 12a.

The court noted that it had often measured the insub-
stantiality of the differences between the claimed and the
accused product or process by “the so-called triple iden-
tity, or function-way-result, test.” Pet. App. 8a. Under
that test, “one device is an infringement of another ‘if it
performs substantially the same function in substantially
the same way to obtain the same result.“ Id. at 9a
(quoting Sanitary Refrigerator Co. v. Winters, 280 U.S.
30, 42 (1929)). The court held, however, that factors
other than function, way and result may also be relevant
to show insubstantiality. Id. at 10a-14a, 17a. For ex-
ample, if a person reasonably skilled in the art would
have known at the time of infringement that an accused
element was interchangeable with a claimed element, the
court viewed such interchangeability as “potent evi-
dence” that the difference between the two elements was
insubstantial. Jd. at lla. The court concluded that
“le]vidence of copying is also relevant,” despite the ir-
relevance of a copyist’s subjective intent, because “[wJhen
an attempt to copy occurs, the fact-finder may infer that
the copyist, presumably one of some skill in the art, has

*

made a fair copy, with only insubstantial changes.“ Ibid.
Evidence of designing around” the patent claims is also
relevant, in the court’s view, because “the fact-finder
may infer that the competitor, presumably one of skill in
the art, has designed substantial changes into the new
product to avoid infringement.” Id. at 13a. The court
believed that evidence of independent development is not
relevant, however, because, “[w]ithout knowledge, the
independent developer could not have set out to make its
product or process either similar to or different from the
claimed invention,” and, given that intent is not a factor,
“independent development does not excuse infringement
of the patent owner's right to exclude.” Id. at 13a-14a.

The court further held that “infringement under the
doctrine of equivalents is an issue of fact to be submitted
to the jury in a jury trial with proper instructions, and to
be decided by the judge in a bench trial.” Pet. App. 17a.
That conclusion followed from the court es observation
that this Court has described application of the doctrine
as a question of fact. Id. at I4a-16a. The court of ap-
peals noted that this Court also has characterized the
doctrine as “equitable,” but rejected the suggestion that,
in using that label, the Court was referring to “equity
in the technical sense”—a traditionally non-jury func-
tion—because, in the court of appeals’ view, “equity” in
this context has been used to refer only to “equity as
general fairness.” Id. at 16a. Because it believed the
doctrine is not equitable in the traditional sense, the
court concluded that Athhe trial judge does not have
discretion to choose whether to apply the doctrine.” /d.
at 18a.

Applying its analysis, the court determined that the
jury instructions were not erroneous, and that substantial
evidence supported the verdict. Pet. App. 18a-25a. The
district court instructed the jury on the doctrine of

equivalents in terms of function, way and result, and did
not invite it to consider other factors, but, because the
parties argued the case in those terms and did not
present other relevant evidence, the court of appeals
held that the instructions were not overly narrow a
applied to this case. Jd. at 19a-2la.' The court also
concluded that substantial evidence showed that the
difference between petitioner’s use of a pH of 5.0 and
respondent’s claimed pH range of 6.0-9.0 was insub-
stantial, that petitioner sometimes employed pressures in
the claimed range of 200-400 p.s.i.g., and that even use of
higher pressures “performed the same function—forcing
the solution through the membrane—in an equivalent
way, to achieve the same result.” /d. at 23a-24a. Finally,
the court held that prosecution history estoppel did not
preclude application of the doctrine of equivalents. Id.
at 24a. The inventors amended their claims to limit them
to a pH from approximately 6.0-9.0 in order to avoid
infringing the Booth patent, which claimed operation at
pHs higher than 9.0; At his amendment surrendered pHs
above 9, but does not bar Hilton Davis from asserting
equivalency to processes such as Warner-Jenkinson’s op-
erating sometimes at a pH below 6.” Ibid.

In a concurring opinion, Judge Newman stressed the
substantial role of technologic innovation in national eco-
nomic development, and the security that patents pro-
vide for commercial investment in innovation. Pet. App.
34a-35a. She also noted the countervailing factor that
technologie growth benefits not only from the activities
of the originators, but also from those who improve, en-
large, and challenge.“ Id. at 39a. She observed that, in
the absence of the doctrine, patent protection may be so

The court also noted that petitioner did not object to the
relevant jury instruction. Pet. App. 21a.

narrow that “the advantages to imitation (as compared to
innovation) become sufficiently large that erstwhile in-
novators will simply wait for something to imitate.” Id.
at 42a. If, however, “minor improvements are likely to
be captured by the doctrine of equivalents,” major, or
“leapfrogging,” technologic advances will be encouraged
over “minor improvements and substantial imitation.”
Id. at 41a. The doctrine thus promotes “a fairer, less
technocratic, more practical patent system; one that is
oriented toward encouraging technologic innovation and
discouraging free riding.” Id. at 44a. The doctrine
must, however, be reasonably predictable if it is to serve
its purposes, and Judge Newman concluded that the
court’s decision “does not answer the difficult question of
improving the predictability and reducing the uncer-
tainty of technologie decisionmaking.” Id. at 48a.

Judge Plager dissented in an opinion joined by Chief
Judge Archer and Judges Rich and Lourie. Pet. App.
5la-69a. In Judge Plager’s view, At he majority opinion
correctly recognizes the notion of protecting legal rights
by extending a flexible remedy when the difference
between the protected rights of the patentee and the
product of the infringer is insubstantial,” but “the
majority fails to acknowledge—indeed, denies—the equi-
table source of that remedy.” Id. at 61a; see also id. at
52a (“the doctrine has its roots in a court’s traditional
equity powers”). In his view, infringement generally
should be determined by the literal terms of the claim,
and the doctrine of equivalents should apply only “in
those special cases in which the competitor’s product is
literally different but the difference is so insubstantial a
to constitute a ‘fraud on the patent“ Id. at 59a. He
emphasized that the doctrine must have “clear and
reviewable boundaries * * * lest the power inherent in
the doctrine of equivalents destroy the reliance on the

scope of claims to which every competitor is entitled.”
Id. at 60a. As it has been applied by juries, however,
he believes the doctrine of equivalents has afforded
“virtually uncontrolled and unreviewable license” to find
infringement. Id. at 55a.

Judge Lourie also filed a dissenting opinion, in which
Judges Rich and Plager joined. Pet. App. 70a-8la. Be-
cause Judge Lourie believed that the jury instructions
were erroneous even under the majority’s analysis, he
would have remanded for a new trial. Jd. at 70a-7la. He
agreed with the majority that the function-way-result
test is not the exclusive measure of equivalency. Id. at
7Ia-74a. He disagreed, however, that all other factors
are subsumed within the determination of insubstantial-
ity. Id. at 74a-75a. In his view, intent is also relevant to
applicability of the doctrine, id. at 75a-78a, differentiat-
ing a “pirate” from one “who unintentionally happens to
come close to the claims of a patent,” id. at 77a. He also
urged that the pioneering status of an invention should
affect application of the doctrine: “Pioneers should be
given more scope of protection than inventors in a
crowded art.” Id. at 78a.

Judge Nies also filed a dissenting opinion, in which
Chief Judge Archer joined in part. Pet. App. 82a-152a.
Although Judge Nies believed the doctrine of equivalents
was incompatible with the express terms of Sections 112
1 6 and 251-252 of the Patent Act, she accepted that it
“continues to be viable.” Pet. App. 104a. In her view,
“(t]he meaning of the words in the claim must be defined
by the court, a question of law. Also, the scope of
protection which may be given the claim beyond its
words is a question of law. In addition, the accused
product or process must meet the limitations of the claim
as defined by the court either literally or by equivalent
means or steps, questions of fact.” Id. at 82a.

Judge Nies faulted the majority for eliminating what
she believed are important safeguards in the doctrine.
She identified four limitations: First, equivalence must
be limited to what was known to those skilled in the art
as an equivalent substitute at the time the patent issued.
Pet. App. 126a-130a. Second, it must be limited by prose-
cution history estoppel. Id. at 130a-13la. Third, “a claim
to a product or process cannot be construed to encompass
the same or substantially the same overall product or
process in the prior art.“ Id. at 13la. Finally, it must
not enlarge a claim; enlargement is avoided if the
doctrine applies only to each element of a claim, rather
than to the invention as whole. Id. at 13la-136a. Judge
Nies would have directed a verdict for petitioner in this
case, because, in view of petitioner’s use of pHs and
pressure levels outside the ranges claimed in the patent,
any other result would require enlargement of the
patent. Jd. at 146a-152a.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The doctrine of equivalents is an equitable, extra-
statutory theory of patent infringement that plays a
useful role in protecting patentees from imitation of their
inventions. The Patent Act seeks to balance competing
concerns by protecting novel and useful inventions, while
making such inventions publicly known and encouraging
further competition in innovation. If the doctrine of
equivalents is clearly defined, and employed in a manner
consistent with the express requirements of the Patent
Act, it helps to strike that balance.

As this Court has recognized, outright duplication of a
patented invention is rare. Graver Tank & Mfg. Co. v.
Linde Air Products Co., 339 U.S. 605, 607 (1950). If an
imitator can circumvent an existing patent by making
mere technical, insubstantial changes to the patented

10

invention and so avoid the literal scope of the patent
claims, patent protection can be rendered meaningzless.
The doctrine of equivalents affords patentees a remedy
against the infringer who has avoided literal infriinge-
ment only by making insubstantial changes to elemenits of
the claimed invention.

A. The doctrine of equivalents is properly invoked
only upon a showing that the differences between the
accused device and the patent claims are insubstamtial,
and that equitable considerations would not preclude a
finding of infringement under the doctrine. Important
indicators of insubstantiality include, but are not limited
to, whether the accused product or process performs
substantially the same function in substantially the same
way to obtain the same result. The insubstantiality
inquiry must be undertaken, not by comparing the
accused and the claimed inventions as a whole, but om an
element-by-element basis with reference to each linnita-
tion in the patent claims. An accused invention need not
be sufficiently novel or nonobvious to itself be patent able
in order for it to be found to differ substantially from the
claimed invention. If the interchangeability of a sulbsti-
tuted element with a claimed element is evident to
persons of skill in the relevant art, that fact will support
a finding of insubstantiality. Insubstantiality does not
turn on the state of mind of the alleged infringer, but is
an objective inquiry.

B. If an accused device employs substitutions that
differ insubstantially from those specified by the patent
claim’s limitations, it nonetheless may not be found to
infringe if such a finding would be inequitable in light of
the policies of the Patent Act. Where, for example, a
patentee included a limitation in its claims to steer clear
of prior art, the doctrine of equivalents cannot be
employed to capture the surrendered turf. A patemtee

11

will not necessarily be estopped, however, from claiming
infringement by equivalents where it tailored claim
language for other reasons, such as to add precision or to
comport with the patent specification’s explanation of the
invention.

C. Section 112 9 6 of the Patent Act, permitting
means-plus-function claiming, did not displace the doc-
trine of equivalents. That paragraph permits patentees
to claim a means for performing a function, rather than a
particular product or process; such claims are limited,
however, by the requirement that the means perform
exactly the specified function. Paragraph 6 was added to
the Act in 1952 not, as petitioner asserts, to codify or
displace the doctrine of equivale ts, but to statutorily
overrule Halliburton Oil Well Cementing Co. v. Walker,
329 U.S. 1 (1946), which held that means-plus-function
language could not be employed at the exact point of
novelty in a combination claim. Indeed, there are
important areas in which means-plus-function claiming
cannot effectively be employed to protect against in-
fringement by insubstantial equivalents.

D. Similarly, the doctrine of equivalents does not
conflict with or displace the statutory provisions for
patent reissue, 35 U.S.C. 251-252. Under those provi-
sions, a patent that is inoperative or invalid in whole or in
part may be reissued in order to correct the specification,
or to broaden or narrow the patent’s claims to bring them
into line with the scope of the specification. The doctrine
of equivalents fulfills a different function, focusing not
on changing the claims to bring them into line with the
specification, but on ensuring that the claims in sub-
stance, and nut only in form, are enforced. The doctrine
of equivalents should not be employed as an extra-
statutory means to accomplish reissue without complying

12

with the reissue procedures and limitations set forth in
the Patent Act.

ARGUMENT

The Patent Clause of the Constitution authorizes
Congress it jo Promote the Progress of Science and
useful Arts, by securing for limited Times to * * *
Inventors the exclusive Right to their * * Dis-
coveries.” U.S. Const. Art. I, § 8, Cl. 8. In implement-
ing the constitutional mandate in the Patent Act,
Congress has granted inventors the exclusive right to
practice their inventions for a period of years in
exchange for public disclosure of those inventions. See,
e.g., Bonito Boats, Inc. v. Thunder Craft Boats, Inc., 489
U.S. 141, 150-151 (1989). The patent system balances
competing concerns. It grants a temporary right to ex-
clude others from making, using and selling a novel and
useful invention while also seeking to foster further
competition in innovation. The grant of a patent
encourages innovation and disclosure of useful knowledge
because patent holders can make their inventions public
without thereby losing the inventions’ commercial value.
Patents also encourage further innovation because, as a
condition of obtaining a patent, the inventor must
describe the invention with enough specificity that the
public is taught how to make and use it as a “building
block” for new inventions. /d. at 151.

Thus, to serve the patent system’s goals, a patent must
provide meaningful protection for the disclosed inven-
tion, or inventors will choose to keep their inventions
secret and impede the flow of new knowledge. See
Graver Tank & Mfg. Co. v. Linde Air Products Co., 339
U.S. 605, 607 (1950). But the patent must provide
meaningful protection for the public as well. It must
give notice of the nature and limits of the exclusive

can be used without infringement and be able to practice
the patented invention when the patent expires.

To those ends, Congress has specified the conditions
that must be met to warrant the grant of a patent. First,
a patent may be granted only to one who invents or
discovers a new and useful product or process. 35 U.S.C.
101. Second, a patent grant is prohibited if the alleged
invention is already in the public domain. 35 U.S.C. 102.
Third, the subject matter of the patent must not have
been obvious to those skilled in the art. 35 U.S.C. 103.
The statute also requires specific claiming: The claims to
the product or process must particularly point{] out and
distinctly claim[] the subject matter which the applicant
regards as his invention.” 35 U.S.C. 112 1 2. The
specification must be “in such full, clear, concise, and
exact terms” as to enable a person skilled in the art to
make and use the patented product or process. 35 U.S.C.
112 11.

The doctrine of equivalents can play a useful role in
ensuring that the balance struck in the Patent Act is not
subverted by meaningless formalism. As the Court ob-
served in Graver Tank, ſolutright and forthright dupli-
cation is a dull and very rare type of infringement.” 339
U.S. at 607. Patentees should be protected against
imitations that involve only colorable or trivial deviation
from the literal terms of the patent claims, and not
placed “at the mercy of verbalism.” Ibid. The doctrine
of equivalents must also, however, not be defined or
applied so broadly that it undermines the basic functions
of patent claims: clearly to define and limit the scope of
the exclusionary rights they confer, and to give the
public fair notice of what the patentee owns and what

14

remains in the public domain. If the doctrine of
equivalents is properly limited, retaining the Patent
Act’s primary focus on the patent claims, the doctrine
can continue to serve a valid and useful function
consistent with the Act.”

A CLEARLY DEFINED DOCTRINE OF EQUIVALENTS

SERVES THE GOALS OF THE PATENT ACT

As the Court stated in Graver Tank, the theory on
which the doctrine of equivalents is founded is that, “if
two devices do the same work in substantially the same
way, and accomplish substantially the same result, they
are the same, even though they differ in name, form,
or shape.” 339 U.S. at 608 (quoting Machine Co. v.
Murphy, 97 U.S. 120, 125 (1877)). That statement should
not, however, be understood to invite a direct comparison
of the patented device to the accused device; rather, the
focus should be on whether the elements of the accused
device are the same as the elements set forth in the
patent claims. “Technically, the doctrine of equivalents
does not expand the coverage of the claims, it just
expands the patent holder’s right to exclude ‘equivalents’
of what is claimed.” Sean Moorhead, The Doctrine of
Equivalents: Rarely Actionable Non-Literal Infringement

2 In our brief amicus curiae in this Court in Standard Industries,
Inc. v. Tigrett Industries, Inc., 397 U.S. 586 (1970) (No. 445) (O. T. 1969)
(aff g by an ecually divided Court 411 F.2d 1218 (6th Cir. 1969)), the
United States opposed use of the doctrine of equivalents to expand the
scope of express patent claims (while advocating a narrower approach
to afford protection against merely colorable or trivial deviation from
the claims). The United States continues to believe that patent claims
must be the primary focus of any determination whether infringement
occurs, see pages 16-18, infra, but we believe that, if properly confined,
a doctrine of equivalents that seeks to give effect to patent claims by
reaching only insubstantial deviations from literal claim terms is

15

of the Second Prong of Patent Infringement Charges?, 53
Ohio St. L. J. 1421, 1424 (1992). “To say that the doctrine
of equivalents extends or enlarges the claims is a
contradiction in terms. The claims—i.e., the scope of
patent protection as defined by the claims—remain the
same and application of the doctrine expands the right
to exclude to ‘equivalents’ of what is claimed.” Wilson
Sporting Goods Co. v. David Geoffrey & Associates, 904
F.2d 677, 684 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 498 U.S. 992
(1990).

In our view, a patent owner may establish infringe-
ment under the doctrine of equivalents upon a showing
(1) that the differences between the accused device and
the patent claims are insubstantial, and (2) that there are
no equitable considerations that would preclude a finding
of infringement under the doctrine. This test serves the
doctrine’s purpose of preventing the impairment of
existing patent protection through making “unimportant
and insubstantial changes and substitutions in the patent
which, though adding nothing, would be enough to take
the copied matter outside the claim, and hence outside
the reach of law.” Graver Tank, 339 U.S. at 607. It also
confines the doctrine to circumstances that are pre-
dictable from the standpoint of the potential infringer.
The test should be applied only “when the proper
circumstances for its application arise,” id. at 608; in par-
ticular, it should be interpreted consistently with the
requirement of specific claiming and other limitations
imposed by the Patent Act. For example, equity weighs
against allowing a patentee, through the doctrine of
equivalents, to recapture claim scope the patentee sur-

16

rendered in order to avoid prior art and obtain the

patent.“
A. The Doctrine Of Equivalents Applies Only Where
Each Element Claimed In The Patent, Or A Sub-

stitute For Each Element That Differs Only Insub-
stantially From A Claimed Element, Is Present In

The Allegedly Infringing Device

We agree with the court of appeals’ basic approach to
determining whether differences between a claimed and
accused device are insubstantial. See Pet. App. 6a-1la.
As that court held, “the application of the doctrine of
equivalents rests on the substantiality of the differences
between the claimed and accused products or processes,
assessed according to an objective standard.” Id. at 9a.
Analysis of insubstantiality should look to what is known
as the “function-way-result test,” i.e., whether the ac-
cused device “performs substantially the same function in
substantially the same way to obtain the same result.”
Sanitary Refrigerator Co. v. Winters, 280 U.S. 30, 42
(1929) (quoted in Graver Tank, 339 U.S. at 608); see Pet.
App. 9a. That test is not, however, the exclusive test of
equivalency. A court should consider “all evidence rele-
vant to the substantiality of the differences.” Id. at 10a.

3 This Court's decision in Markman v. Westview Instruments, Inc.,
cert granted, 116 S. Ct. 40 (1995) (No. 95-26), will shed light on, if not
determine, the question much mooted in the court of appeals regarding
the proper roles of the jury and the trial judge in the application of the
doctrine of equivalents. Although the Court’s decision in Markman
might, of course, change our view, we are inclined to believe that
reference of the entire issue to the jury in this case was erroneous
because insubstantiality is, in essence, a matter of claim interpretation,
and it involves an equitable extension of infringement remedies to
equivalents. See generally Pet. App. 63a-69a (Plager, J., dissenting);
id. at 79a-81a (Lourie, J., dissenting); id. at 82a (Nies, J., dissenting).

17

The insubstantiality inquiry must be applied on an
element-by-element basis. See Corning Glass Works v.
Sumitomo Elec. U.S.A., Inc., 868 F.2d 1251, 1259 (Fed.
Cir. 1989) (“An equivalent must be found for every
limitation of the claim somewhere in an accused device”);
Pennwalt Corp. v. Durand-Wayland, Inc., 833 F.2d 931,
935 (Fed. Cir. 1987) (en banc), cert. denied, 485 U.S. 961,
1009 (1988); id. at 949-954 (additional views of Nies, J.);
Lemelson v. United States, 752 F.2d 1538, 1551 (Fed. Cir.
1985) (“It is * * * well settled that each element of a
claim is material and essential, and that in order for a
court to find infringement, the plaintiff must show the
presence of every element or its substantial equivalent in
the accused device.“). Under the element-by-element re-
quirement, however, one element in an accused device
may be the equivalent of more than one element in a
claim, and, similarly, a single claimed element may be
met by more than one element in the accused device. See
Corning Glass Works, 868 F. 2d at 1259; Royal Typewriter
Co. v. Remington Rand, Inc., 168 F.2d 691, 693 (2d Cir.),
cert. denied, 335 U.S. 825 (1948).

The element-by-element requirement under the doc-
trine of equivalents mirrors the requirement that a pat-
entee establishing literal infringement must demonstrate
that every limitation of the disputed claim is found in the
accused device. See Pall Corp v. Micron Separations,
Inc., 66 F.3d 1211, 1217 (Fed. Cir. 1995); London v.
Carson Pirie Scott & Co., 946 F.2d 1534, 1539 (Fed. Cir.
1991). Under equivalency analysis, as under literal in-
fringement, the claimed matter must remain the touch-
stone for a determination of infringement. See Corning
Glass Works, 868 F.2d at 1259 (“In the All Elements

18

rule, ‘element’ is used in the sense of a limitation of a
claim.”) (emphasis omitted).

The key question in applying the doctrine of equiva-
lents is whether the differences between the elements of
the claimed device and the elements of the accused
device are insubstantial. The test of insubstantiality,
while easily stated, is difficult to define with specificity.
Two considerations may, however, help to define that
inquiry. First, an accused device need not be independ-
entiy patentable in order for it to be found to be
substantially different from the claimed device. Thus, an
accused device may be found to have more than in-
substantial differences from the patented device even
though the accused device is not considered to be novel
or nonobvious as required for patentability under the
Act. See 35 U.S.C. 102, 103.

Second, the fact that the interchangeability of a sub-
stituted element for a claimed element would have been
known to one skilled in the relevant art at the time of
alleged infringement is a useful indicator of insubstantial-
ity. It ensures that the doctrine operates consistently
with the statutory policy that members of the public,
such as competitors seeking to make further advances in
the field, be on notice of activities that infringe. If
persons of skill in the relevant art would have found it
evident that an equivalent substitution could be made for
an element of the claimed invention, the extent to which
the substitution diverges from the claimed element is

4 Insubstantiality, however, necessarily depends on the con-
text—an inquiry that requires the court to take into account
the overall function of the accused device. Substitution of a
digestible acid for a non-digestible one in a metal polish might,
for example, be an insubstantial change, whereas such an acid
substitution in a citrus soft drink might well be found to be
substantial.

19

likely insubstantial. See Graver Tank, 339 U.S. at 609,
612. Expert witness testimony on that subject can thus
be useful in determining insubstantiality.°

In our view, the subjective state of mind of the alleged
infringer is not relevant to infringement by equivalents.
We recognize that Graver Tank explained the purpose of
the doctrine of equivalents as avoiding “fraud,” “piracy”
and “stealing” of patented inventions, and that some
have understood those references to invite inquiry into
the alleged infringer’s subjective bad faith or intent. See
Pet. App. 75a-78a (Lourie, J., dissenting). Petitioner
similarly would limit the doctrine to “bad faith ‘copy-
ing. Pet. 29-30. Literal infringement, however, does
not turn on intent, see 35 U.S.C. 271; Intel Corp. v.
United States Int'l Trade Comm'n, 946 F.2d 821, 832
(Fed. Cir. 1991), and we submit that the same rule—an
objective standard—should apply to infringement by
equivalents. °

From the perspective of the statutory policy of
protecting the claimed invention, a device that has the
same or equivalent elements as the claimed invention,
and fulfills the same function in the same way to achieve
the same result, is equally harmful to patent rights
whether the equivalency was intended or not. The
statutory policy of patent protection does not provide
any basis for distinguishing between, for example, an

5 Unlike obviousness affecting validity under Section 103, the focus
in determining equivalency is not on the time of application, but on the
time of infringement. Moreover, the equivalency inquiry looks not to
the obviousness of the allegedly infringing device as a whole, but to
the obviousness of the substitution, in view of the prior art on the
substitute at the time of the substitution.

As the court of appeals correctly noted, however, the willfulness
of an infringement may properly affect the availability of damages
and attorneys’ fees. Pet. App. 12a, 20a; see 35 U.S.C. 284-285.

20

effort to “design around” and legitimately build upon a
patented invention that ultimately fails to steer clear of
the claims, and an outright effort to copy a patented
invention. Moreover, if intent were determinative, a
device developed with knowledge of the patent could be
held to be infringing, while the very same device
independently developed by one ignorant of the patent
would be non-infringing. Such a result would ill serve
the Patent Act’s policy of providing uniform and
predictable protection for a claimed invention. Thus, the
fact that petitioner in this case developed the ultra-
filtration process independently of respondent’s process,
without knowledge of the patent or any bad-faith effort
to replicate it, should not be material to the application of
the doctrine.

B. The Doctrine Of Equivalents Does Not Apply
Where It Would Yield Inequitable Results

Even if an accused device employs substitutions that,
as an objective matter, differ only insubstantially from
the elements specified in the claim limitations, infringe-
ment under the doctrine of equivalents should not be
found where it would be inequitable in view of the poli-
cies of the Patent Act.

The principal circumstance in which the doctrine of
equivalents should not be available to a patentee is where
the patentee seeks to use the doctrine to obtain what he
was required, as a condition of patentability, to surrender
during prosecution of the patent. This limitation on the
doctrine is known as prosecution history estoppel (or file
wrapper estoppel). It prevents a patentee from obtain-
ing, through the doctrine of equivalents, protection that
he could not have obtained, or that he refrained from ob-
taining, from the PTO at the time the patent was issued.
However, as the court correctly noted in Insta-Foam

21

Products, Inc. v. Universal Foam Systems, Inc., 906
F.2d 698, 703 (Fed. Cir. 1990), “[wJhenever prosecution
history estoppel is invoked as a limitation to infringement
under the doctrine of equivalents, ‘a close examination
must be made as to, not only what was surrendered, but
also the reason for such a surrender.’ ”

A common reason that limitations are added to claims
during claim prosecution is to steer clear of prior art; the
doctrine of equivalents cannot then be applied to re-
capture prior art that, had it not been surrendered,
would have defeated the patent ab initio. ISlinee prior
art always limits what an inventor could have claimed,
it limits the range of permissible equivalents.” Wilson
Sporting Goods, 904 F.2d at 684. Respondent in this case
could not, for example, assert infringement by equiva-
lents against an accused device operating at a pH greater
than 9.0, because respondent surrendered the higher pH
range during prosecution of its claim in order to avoid
the prior art described in the Booth patent. A patentee
should not be permitted to take inconsistent positions in
the PTO and before the court regarding the scope of the
prior art. Moreover, the rights of the public to utilize
non-patented technology should not be foreclosed by the
inability to prove directly (by reference to amendments
made before the PTO) that the patentee drafted its
claims to avoid prior art. If, in light of the prior art, a
substantially different question would have been pre-
sented to the PTO in the issuance proceedings if the
claims had literally extended to the allegedly infringing
device, then it cannot be said that the public was on
sufficient notice that the patent that was issued would
extend to that device. See Brief for the United States as
Amicus Curiae at 15-17, Standard Industries, Inc. v.
Tigrett Industries, Inc., 397 U.S. 586 (1970) (No. 445)
(O. T. 1969).

22

As the lower-end pH limitation in this case illu strates,
not every limitation added during prosecution of a patent
is added to avoid prior art. Estoppel will not necessarily
apply based on prosecution history showing that claim
language was used or changed for reasons other than
avoidance of prior art. In this case, there apparently was
no prior art on ultrafiltration at pHs less than 6.0. The
court of appeals did not identify why respondent sur-
rendered pHs lower than 6.0. Pet. App. 24a. Judge
Plager in dissent, however, pointed to the trial testimony
of respondent’s inventor, Dr. Cook, that “though the
{claimed ultrafiltration] process would work to separate
the dye from the impurities at pH-values as low as 2.0, a
solution with a pH below 6.0 would cause ‘tremendous
foaming problems in the plant.’” Jd. at 62a. Thus, it
appears that the claims may have been limited to what
was “enabled” as of the date of the patent application—
i. e., to what could be described in sufficient detail to
enable a person of ordinary skill in the art to practice it.
See 35 U.S.C. 112 J 1.

Amendments before the PTO to reflect the scope of
what was enabled or to add specificity raise considera-
tions different from those raised by amendments to avoid
prior art. The purpose of the enablement requirement is
not to limit the scope of the patent right, but to ensure
that the invention has been fully disclosed so that, upon
the patent’s expiration, the public can practice the
invention. Similarly, “when claim changes or arguments
are made in order to more particularly point out the
applicant’s invention, the purpose is to impart precision,
not to overcome prior art. Such prosecution is not pre-
sumed to raise an estoppel, but is reviewed on its facts,
with the guidance of precedent.” Pall Corp., 66 F.3d at
1220 (collecting cases). In order to be sufficiently spe-
cific, a patent need not be a catalogue of all existing

23

technology; “a patent need not teach, and preferably
omits, what is well known in the art.” Hybritech Inc. v.
Monoclonal Antibodies, Inc., 802 F.2d 1367, 1384 (Fed.
Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 480 U.S. 947 (1987). Thus, it
may be appropriate for a patentee not to specify or to
claim all known equivalents, and a failure to do so should
not necessarily estop it from obtaining protection under
the doctrine of equivalents.’? In sum, At here is no all-
encompassing rule that estoppel results from all claim
changes, or all arguments, whatever their cause or
purpose.” Pall Corp., 66 F.3d at 1220.

C. Section 112 4 6 Of The Patent Act, Permitting

Means-Plus-Function Claiming, Did Not Displace
The Doctrine Of Equivalents

Petitioner argues that 35 U.S.C. 112 J 6 codifies the
doctrine of equivalents. Pet. 25. Paragraph 6 provides:

An element in a claim for a combination may be
expressed as a means or step for performing a speci-

Of course, when an accused equivalent (meeting the objective
standard of insubstantiality) could not have been known because it was
developed or discovered only after the patent issued, the case for
application of the doctrine of equivalents becomes especially clear. For
example, a claim to a chemical composition might include an inactive
filler as a minor, unimportant ingredient. After the patent issues, a
competitor of the patentee might manufacture a composition exactly as
claimed but use a different, inactive filler, unknown in the art at the
time the patent application was filed, that performs exactly as those
literally covered by the claim. Such a substitution, once it became
available, might be known to persons of skill in the relevant art to be
interchangeable with the claimed filler, and yet it would not have been
possible to include the accused element in the patent because it did not
exist at the time of issue. See Martin Adelman & Gary Francione, The
Doctrine of Equivalents in Patent Law: Questions that Pennwalt Did
Not Answer, 137 U. Pa. L. Rev. 673, 707-708, 712-715 (1989) (endorsing
legitimacy of doctrine of equivalents to capture equivalents generated
by new technology).

24

fied function without the recital of structure, nnate-
rial, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall
be construed to cover the corresponding structure,
material, or acts described in the specification and
equivalents thereof.

Claims written in this format are known as “means-plus-
function” claims. See, e.g., In re Donaldson Co., 16 F.3d
1189, 1193 (Fed. Cir. 1994) (en banc). Using means-plus-
function claiming, a patentee may broadly claim a means
for performing a function, rather than a particular prod-
uct or process. The PTO and the courts, in deter-
mining the limits of the claim scope, will then refer to
the structure described in the patent specification (and to
equivalents thereof). Jd. at 1195; Valmont Indus., Inc.
v. Reinke Mfg. Co., 983 F.2d 1039, 1042 (Fed. Cir. 1993)
(second clause of paragraph 6 “confines the breadth of
protection otherwise permitted by the first clause”
limiting the applicant to “the structure, material, or acts
in the specification and their equivalents”).

Contrary to petitioner’s assertions, the doctrine of
equivalents was not codified in the Patent Act of 1952.
See, e.g., Pennwalt, 833 F.2d at 933-934; Valmont Indus.,
983 F.2d at 1042-1043; D. M. I., Inc. v. Deere & Co., 755
F.2d 1570, 1575 (Fed. Cir. 1985). This Court in Aro Mfg.
Co. v. Convertible Top Replacement Co., 365 U.S. 336, 342
(1961), stated that the provisions defining infringement
in the new Patent Act “left intact the entire body of case
law on direct infringement.” That body of case law
included Graver Tank—the case said to establish the
modern doctrine of equivalents—and its progenitors. As
far as we are aware, there are no contemporaneous indi-
cations that Congress intended to codify the doctrine of
equivalents, or to overrule Graver Tank. See generally

25

P. J. Federico, Commentary on the New Patent Act, 35
U.S. C. A. 1, 24-26 (West 1954).

As the Federal Circuit has explained, At he record is
clear on why paragraph six was enacted. In Halliburton
Oil Well Cementing Co. v. Walker, 329 U.S. 1 (1946), the
Supreme Court held that means-plus-function language
could not be employed at the exact point of novelty in
a combination claim. Congress enacted paragraph six,
originally paragraph three, to statutorily overrule that
holding.” In re Donaldson, 16 F.3d at 1194 (parallel
citations omitted). “The doctrine of equivalents has a
different purpose and application than section 112.”
Valmont Indus., 983 F.2d at 1043. Whereas Section 112
1 6 provides guidance for interpreting claims phrased
in means-plus-function language, the doctrine of equiva-
lents “prevents a copyist from evading patent claims
with insubstantial changes.” Ibid.

There are specific reasons why Section 112 J 6 cannot
satisfactorily fill the role of the doctrine of equivalents.
For example, means-plus-function claiming will not al-
ways have been used where it might, in hindsight, have
proved useful to protect a patented invention. Indeed,
means-plus-function claiming is particularly inadequate
for ensuring the protection of chemical and biotech-
nological inventions. The elements of a given chemical
are generally so numerous, and their properties so varied
and, in many cases, not fully known, that it is difficult to
anticipate at the time of patent application precisely how
means-plus-function claims might usefully be framed.
Instead, because chemical inventions are susceptible of
precise chemical definition, a chemical patent will typi-
cally be claimed using a generic formula. Yet, if con-
ventional claiming is used, a new chemical may be made
or a substitute discovered that is structurally different
from the patented chemical, but, for purposes of the

invention, does not operate any differently (or only
insignificantly so). In that case, the claim will not be
literally infringed so, in the absence of a doctrine of
equivalents, the patent will be evaded. The doctrine of
equivalents can serve to protect the patent in such
circumstances.

Hence, petitioner’s suggestion that Section 112 16
codifies the doctrine of equivalents, precluding judicial
application of the doctrine beyond that paragraph, should
be rejected.

D. The Doctrine Of Equivalents Does Not Conflict
With Sections 251-252, The Patent Act's Reissue
Provisions

The presence in the Patent Act of Sections 251-252,
authorizing patent reissue, also does not, contrary to
petitioner’s contention (Pet. 26; see also Pet. App. 108a-
104a (Nies, J., dissenting)), conflict with or negate the
utility of the doctrine of equivalents. Reissue of a patent
that is wholly or partly inoperative or invalid is statu-
torily authorized to correct “a defective specification or
drawing,” or to broaden or narrow the patent claims
when, in view of the specification, the patentee claimed
“more or less than he had a right to claim in the patent.”
35 U.S.C. 251. The reissue provision states that Injo new
matter shall be introduced into the application for
reissue.” Ibid. By “new matter” the statute refers to
additions to the abstract, specifications or drawings that
disclose the invention. Cf. 35 U.S.C. 132 (“No amend-
ment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of
the invention.”). The scope of the claims in the reissued
patent may be broader than the scope of the claims in the
original patent only if the reissue is applied for within
two years of the grant of the original patent (but even

27

then may not exceed the of the speci i
US.C, 251. — 1

Sections 251-252 fulfill a function distinct from that
of the doctrine of equivalents. Reissue focuses on the
specification—allowing it to be corrected, and the claims
conformed to it. The doctrine of equivalents, in contrast,
focuses on the existing claims themselves, and seeks to
ensure that they are given full substantive effect. Unlike
reissue, the doctrine of equivalents is not, for example, a
method of expanding claims to conform to the specifica-
tion. Rather, it simply authorizes a determination of
infringement where the elements of the accused device
differ only insubstantially from the elements claimed.
Under a properly defined doctrine of equivalents, the
existing claims remain the touchstone, and are not, in
effect, judicially reissued, or set aside in favor of an
overall equivalency inquiry focused on the scope of the
invention disclosed in the specification. Of course, it
would be a misapplication of the doctrine of equivalents
to use it as an extra-statutory means to accomplish the
same result as reissuance without following the statu-
torily prescribed reissuance procedure.

28

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the court of appeals should be
vacated, and the case remanded to the court of appeals
for further proceedings consistent with the foregoing
analysis.

Respectfully submitted.

Drew S. Days, III
Solicitor General

ANNE K. BINGAMAN
Assistant Attorney General

LAWRENCE G. WALLACE
Deputy Solicitor General

CORNELIA T.L. PILLARD
Assistant to the Solicitor

General
NANCY J. LINCK
Solicitor

ALBIN F. DROST

Deputy Solicitor

CRAIG R. KAUFMAN
KAREN A. BUCHANAN
Patent & Trademark Office

APRIL 1996

See also page 16 note 3, supra.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0663%3A12. Public record. Not legal advice.
