# Amicus Curiae Brief — Holly Farms Corp. v. NLRB

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0639%3A15

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1996
- **Citation:** 517 U.S. 392

## Text

No. 95-210

In the Supreme Court of the
OCTOBER TERM, 1995

HOLLY FARMS CORPORATION;
TYSON Foops, INCORPORATED,

Petitioners,

Vv.

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,
Respondent,

and

CHAUFFEURS, TEAMSTERS AND HELPERS,
LOCAL 391, 29, 71, 355, 592, 657, 988,
AND ALL AFFILIATED WITH THE

INTERNATIONAL BROTHERHOOD OF TEAMSTERS,
Intervenors.

On Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals
for the Fourth Circuit

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE FOR THE AMERICAN
FARM BUREAU FEDERATION, THE ALABAMA
FARM BUREAU FEDERATION, THE NORTH
CAROLINA FARM BUREAU FEDERATION, AND
THE NATIONAL COUNCIL OF AGRICULTURAL
EMPLOYERS IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

JOHN J. RADEMACHER ROBERT P. DAVIS
MICHAEL J. STIENTIES Counsel of Record
American Farm Bureau Mayer, Brown & Platt
Federation 2000 Pennsylvania Ave., N. W.
225 Touhy Avenue Washington, D.C. 20006
Park Ridge, IL 60068 (202) 463-2000
(312) 399-5700

[Additional Counsel are listed on the Signature Page]

THE NLRB’S INTERPRETATION OF THE AGRI-
CULTURE DEFINITION SHOULD NOT BE EN-
FORCED BECAUSE IT IS INCONSISTENT WITH
THE PLAIN MEANING OF THE STATUTE. . .

A. The “On A Farm” Component Of The
Secondary Meaning Of “Agriculture” Does Not
Depend Upon The Employer Of The Laborer.

B. The Live-Haul Employees In This Case Are
ig “Agriculture” Under The Statutory

Forklift drivers are
i under

Live-haul drivers are engaged in
i under the statutory

. THE NLRB’S INTERPRETATION OF THE
FLSA’S DEFINITION OF “AGRICULTURE” IS
INCONSISTENT WITH THE LEGISLATIVE

13

“Agriculture” Covering Wack of Thiet Peny
Employees On A Farm.

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS — Continued

I. THIS COURT SHOULD NOT DEFER TO THE
INTERPRETATION OF THE NLRB ......-

B. If The Court Were To Show Deference To The

NLRB’s Decision, The Bargaining Order Should
Not Be Enforced Even Under The Relaxed Stan-

C. Assuming Arguendo That This Court Were To
Defer To The Agency’s Decision In This Case,

The Court Should Expressly Limit Its Holding
To The NLRA Context In Order To Prevent
The Board’s Rationale From Infecting Analysis

16

18

18

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases
Bayside Enter., Inc. v. N.L.R.B., 429
kk passim
Beth Israel v. N.L.R.B., 437 U.S.
T) sieberereteh nee .
Chevron U.S.A. Inc. v. Natural Resources
Council, yy 467 U.S. 837
EEE 19
Coleman v. Sanderson Farms, 629 F.2d
1077 (Sth Cir. Unit A 1980) ee 12
Farmers Reservoir & Irri Co. v.
McComb, 337 U.S. 755 (1949) ........ 4, 6, 16
oy Doe . v. N.L.R.B., 48 F.3d
le 6, 8, 16
Imco Poultry, 202 N.L.R.B. 259 (1973) ......... 11
Waialua Agric. Co., 349 U.S. .
(1955) DMC ih. pebeGeeecesce passim
Marshall v. Abbott Farms, Inc., 559 F.2d
ea 19, 21
Mitchell v. Budd, 350 U.S 473 (1956) .......... 10
N.L.R.B. v. Brown, 380 U.S. 278 (1965)... ...... 19
N.L.R.B. v. Denver . & Constr. Trades
Council, 341 U.S. a 18
N.L.R.B. vy. Hudson Farms, Inc. , 681 F.2d
duvind a Cir.) (per curiam), cert.
459 U.S. 1069 (1982) ............. 16

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Pages

NEI ONC IST) eee cece 12

tog (sth Cer 1993) oo ; — ore 16
Universal Camera Corp. v. N.L.R.B., 340

Wee GOP EEE ccc ewbocecetecoceceees 18
Valmac Indus. v. N.L.R.B., 599 F.2d 246

SG UY 6b 6 6605 cach 6b eweeewe. 16
Statutes and Regulations
y TAA RD fT) eee 8
29 C.F.R. § 780.118(b) (1995) .. 2 2 2 6 we ees 8,9
a Ue EE bcc ccevcecoesceeesaen 5, 21
OO 6 bs oo haces aeeenh ou passim
Pe, DEED ccceeeecs cece en eane 21
_ ) tte) = ee ee 21
EUs UD ccocecoceccsssecesvecnses 21
108 Stat. 2569-2570 (1994) .. 2... cc ees 5
PPE, DPE weccccsccopenseneseens 20
Miscellaneous
| BUREAU OF THE CENSUS, U.S. DEPARTMENT OF

COMMERCE, 1992 CENSUS OF AGRICULTURE,

app. A, at gkeaplpyeelpeteg 6-2, spent mee 8
08 Gs i, TE x 6. cca neu eues ens 13

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Pages

81 Cong. Rec. 7657-7658 (1937) .............. 7
81 Cong. Rec. 7659 (1937) ................. 15
81 Cong. Rec. 7888 (1937) ................. 15
Allen M. Featherstone & Bruce J

Sherrick, Financing

Coordinated Firms, 74

AM. J. AGric. Econ. 1232 (1992) .......... 17
H.R. . No. 2182, 75th ., 3d Sess

(1998) 7182, 75a pio 16

SL ts ble @ well ere om ie aad ook awk ca *

In the Supreme Court of the Anited States
OCTOBER TERM, 1995

No. 95-210

HOLLY FARMS CORPORATION;
TYSON Foops, INCORPORATED,

Petitioners ,

Vv.

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,
Respondent,

and

CHAUFFEURS, TEAMSTERS AND HELPERS,
LOCAL 391, 29, 71, 355, 592, 657, 988,
AND ALL AFFILIATED WITH THE
INTERNATIONAL BROTHERHOOD OF TEAMSTERS,
Intervenors.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Fourth Circuit

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE FOR THE AMERICAN
FARM BUREAU FEDERATION, THE ALABAMA
FARM BUREAU FEDERATION, THE NORTH
CAROLINA FARM BUREAU FEDERATION, AND
THE NATIONAL COUNCIL OF AGRICULTURAL
EMPLOYERS IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE

The American Farm Bureau Federation (AFBF) is a

voluntary general farm organization formed in 1919 and
organized in 1920 under the General Not-For-Profit

2

Corporation Act of the State of Illinois. AFBF was founded
to protect, promote, and represent the business, economic,
social and educational interests of American farmers and
ranchers. It has member organizations in all 50 states and
Puerto Rico, including amici Alabama Farm Bureau and
North Carolina Farm Bureau (collectively, with AFBF,
“Farm Bureau”), representing more than 4.5 million member
families. Farm Bureau first expressed its long-standing
interest in the proper construction of § 3(f) of the Fair Labor
Standards Act of 1938 (FLSA), 29 U.S.C. § 203(f), to this
Court as amicus curiae in Maneja v. Waialua Agric. Co. , 349
U.S. 254, 256 (1955).

The North Carolina Farm Bureau is a non-profit corpora-
tion, organized and domiciled in North Carolina, with its
Carolina Farm Bureau is North Carolina’s largest general
farm organization with a voluntary membership of over
374,000 families. The organization is dedicated to improving
the quality of life for North Carolina’s farmers and rural
residents, including the increase of net farm income.

The Alabama Farm Bureau is a non-profit corporation
organized and domiciled in Alabama, with its principal office
located in Cullman, Alabama. It represents 3,000 member
families. The purposes of the Alabama Farm Bureau are to
promote, protect and represent the business, economic, social
and educational interests of the family farm in Alabama. It
works toward the betterment of conditions of persons engaged
in agricultural pursuits, the improvement of the grade of
agricultural products, and the development of a higher degree
of proficiency in agriculture.

The National Council of Agricultural Employers is a
Washington, D.C.-based association representing growers and
agricultural organizations throughout the United States on
agricultural labor and employment issues. Its membership
includes farm cooperatives, growers, packers, processors, and
agricultural associations in all 50 states. Collectively, they

3

employ about 75 of the nation’ i
pee. percent nation’s total agricultural

The amici and their members have a direct interest in the

outcome of this case. Many of the activities involved in
modern production agriculture, such as irrigation, fertilizer

express language and legislative history of the statutory
definition of “agriculture” and erodes the protections given by
statute to the employers of agricultural laborers who perform

: The parties’ letters of consent to the filing of this brief have

a with the Clerk pursuant to Rule 37.3 of the Rules of this

4

solely at the status of the live-haul unit employer, disregarded
the alternative, “on a farm,” locus-of-services element of the
statutory definition.

Chicken catchers and forklift drivers in live-haul units are

leave storage for processing.

This statutory interpretation is supported by the legisla-
tive history of the FLSA’s definition of “agriculture,” a
source to which this Court has turned at least twice. Farmers
Reservoir & Irrigation Co. v. McComb, 337 U.S. 755, 767
(1949); Maneja v. Waialua Agric. Co., 349 U.S. 254, 260
(1955). The bill that became the FLSA was amended during
passage to include in the definition of “agriculture” work
performed “on a farm” and “delivery to storage or to
market.” The Senate debate over these provisions in 1937
clearly shows that the term “agriculture” should be construed
expansively.

While decisions of the NLRB construing the NLRA are
treated deferentially on judicial review, the broad deference
accorded the Board by the court below is inappropriate. This
case, unlike Bayside Enter., Inc. v. N.L.R.B., 429 U.S. 298,
302 & n.10 (1977), solely involves a question of statutory
interpretation where the NLRB has made legal errors. The
statute being interpreted is the FLSA, which has not been
entrusted to the NLRB to administer. Even under a deferen-
tial standard of review, however, the decision should not
stand because it has no reasonable basis in the language or
legislative history of the statute. Finally, if the Court decides
to defer to the NLRB in this case, it should explicitly limit its
holding to the National Labor Relations Act as administered

5

by the Board, so that lower courts do not defer to the
NLRB’: rationale when construing the definition of “agricul-
ture” in cases arising only under the FLSA.

ARGUMENT

I. THE NLRB’S INTERPRETATION OF THE AGRI-
CULTURE DEFINITION SHOULD NOT BE EN-
FORCED BECAUSE IT IS INCONSISTENT WITH
THE PLAIN MEANING OF THE STATUTE.

The National Labor Relations Act specifically exem
agricultural laborers from the broad scope of its definition of
“employee.” 29 U.S.C. § 152(3). Congress, through annual
appropriations riders, ¢.g., 108 Stat. 2569-2570 (1994), has
tied the agricultural laborer exception to the du..aition of
“agriculture” in § 3(f) of the FLSA. In deciding whether
Holly Farms’ chicken catchers, forklift drivers, and live-haul
drivers were agricultural laborers, it is FLSA § 3(f) “and the
decisions construing it which are relevant even though this
ae arose under the NLRA.” Bayside, 429 U.S. at

n.6.

This Court has explained that the FLSA’s definition of
“agriculture”? has two distinct meanings. The primary
meaning includes farming in all its branches, including those

. “Agriculture” includes farming in all its branches and among
other things includes the cultivation and tillage of the soil, dairying,
the production, cultivation, growing, and harvesting of any
agricultural or horticultural commodities (including commodities
defined as agricultural commodities in section 1141j(g) of Title 12),
the raising > ee bees, fur-bearing animals, or poultry, and
any practices (including any forestry or lumbering ations
performed by a farmer or on a farm as an incideat to or in
conjunction with such farming operations, including preparation for
market, delivery to storage or to market or to carriers for transpor-
tation to market.

29 U.S.C. § 203(f).

6

practices (such as poultry raising) listed specifically in the

definition. Farmers Reservoir, 337 U.S. at 762-763. The

secondary meaning is broader:
Agriculture is defined to include things other
than farming as so illustrated. It includes any
practices, whether or not themselves farming
practices, which are performed either by a
farmer or on a farm, incidentally to or in con-
junction with “such” farming operations.

Id. at 763 (emphasis added). It is the meaning of “on a

farm” which is the principal issue in this case, and which the

NLRB and the court below erred in interpreting.

A. The “On A Farm” Component Of The Secondary
Meaning Of “Agriculture” Does Not Depend
Upon The Employer Of The Laborer.

The NLRB, and the majority below, held that employees
who work “on a farm” can be considered exempt agricultural
laborers only if that work is performed incidental to or in
conjunction with their employer’s primary agricultural
practices. As Judge Niemeyer explained in his partial
dissent, work “on a farm” is covered when it is performed
incident to or in conjunction with primary farming as defined
functionally in the statute (which includes poultry raising),
with no limiting reference to the agricultural practices of the
employer.’ Holly Farms Corp. v. N.L.R.B., 48 F.3d 1360,
1373 (4th Cir. 1995).

> The principal cases from this Court relied upon by the
majority below are inapposite, for they construe the “by a farmer”
component of the test in circumstances where the Court concluded
that the work was not done on a farm. Farmers Reservoir, 337
U.S. at 767-769 (work, not done on the farm, was performed for
an employer who was not engaged in farming); Bayside, 429 U.S.
at 301 (where work not done on a farm, “by a farmer” test
“depends on the character of the employer’s activities.”).

7

The statute limits on-farm work by looking at whether
such work is “incident to or in conjunction with” farming
activities, instead of looking at the activities of the employer.
As Senator Black, the author of the definition of “agricul-
ture,” put it during the Senate debate on the FLSA, “For
instance, a farmer might build on his farm a factory for the
purpose of manufacturing shirts and sending them throughout
the United States * * * * [T]hat would not be considered a
farming activity.” 81 Cong. Rec. 7657-7658 (1937).

This Court construed the “on a farm” test forty years ago
in determining the status of laborers working in a sugar
milling operation located on a large sugar cane plantation.
Maneja v. Waialua Agric. Co., 349 U.S. 254 (1955). In
determining whether the workers in the mill were agricultural
employees, the Court remarked that “the question here
presented is a limited one: is the milling operation part of the
agricultural venture?” Jd. at 265. The Court answered the
question by determining whether the type of work was
ordinarily performed by farmers. Id. at 265-266. If the type
of work is ordinarily performed by farmers, it is probably
incident to the farming operation; if not, the process may be
“more akin to manufacturing than to agriculture.” Jd. at 265.
Thus, the relevant inquiry is whether the type of work in
question is ordinarily performed by a farmer, rather than
whether the employer is engaged in farming activities.

B. The Live-Haul Employees In This Case Are

Engaged In “Agriculture” Under The Statutory
Definition.

Under the proper statutory analysis, each of the three
different types of live-haul employees are agricultural
laborers. Chicken catchers and forklift drivers perform
primary farming activity as well as secondary farming activity
on a farm, and live-haul drivers perform secondary farming
activity for a farmer.

Chicken catchers fall squarely within the agriculture
definition because they work “on a farm.” The NLRB
conceded this point below. See Holly Farms, 48 F.3d at
1371. As it is self-evident that catching chickens and putting
them in crates on the farm is farming activity, this work
satisfies the secondary definition of “agriculture.” At a
minimum, under the Maneja test, this activity is more akin to
agriculture than it is to manufacturing.

Primary agriculture includes, inter alia, “the rais-
ing * * * of poultry,” and “harvesting of any agricultural
*** commodities.” 29 U.S.C. § 203(f). The work of
chicken catchers is an essential part of poultry raising.
Chicken catchers also are involved in “harvesting” chickens,
which are agricultural commodities. See WEBSTER’S II NEW
RIVERSIDE UNIVERSITY DICTIONARY at 86 (“agriculture” is
“[t]he science, art, and business of cultivating the soil,
producing crops and raising livestock”); 1 BUREAU OF THE
CENSUS, U.S. DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE, 1992 CENSUS
OF AGRICULTURE, app. A, at A-6 (including chickens as part
of the “Poultry and eggs” category of agricultural commodi-
ties); 29 C.F.R. § 780.112 (1995) (stating that the term
“agricultural commodity” includes “domesticated animals and
some of their products”). The Secretary of Labor, who is
responsible for interpreting the FLSA, defines “harvesting”
as “the actual process whereby agricultural or horticultural
commodities are severed from their attachment to the soil or
otherwise reduced to possession.” 29 C.F.R. § 780.118(b)
(1995). The activity of catching chickens and putting those
chickens into crates evokes a particularly striking image of
“reduc[tion] to possession,” and those who perform this work
are engaged in primary agriculture.

Forklift drivers also qualify as agricultural laborers. The
forklift drivers on the live-haul crews take the caged chickens
provided by the chicken catchers and load the cages onto a
flat-bed truck. Forklift drivers on live-haul crews work “on
a farm,” as the NLRB conceded. The task of congregating
agricultural materials before shipping them off to market has
been traditionally performed by farmers, and this work is
certainly more akin to agriculture than it is to manufacturing.

Forklift drivers, like the chicken catchers discussed in the
preceding section, also are involved in the primary agricultur-
al activity of harvesting. As the Secretary of Labor interprets
the term, “harvesting” includes “transportation to a concen-
tration point on the farm.” 29 C.F.R. § 780.118(b) (1995).
The forklift drivers meet this test, because they transport the
caged chickens from the point on the farm where the chickens
are caged, to the point on the farm where the cages are
loaded onto the truck.

3. Live-haul drivers are engaged in
“agriculture” under the statuto-
ry definition.

The work of live-haul drivers differs from the work of
chicken catchers and forklift drivers. A live-haul driver
drives a flat-bed truck, which carries the entire live-haul crew
to the farms of the contract growers. Once the chickens have
been loaded onto the truck, the live-haul driver delivers the
chickens to a storage area near Holly Farms’ processing
plant.

Much of the work of live-haul drivers is not, unlike the
work of other members of live-haul crews, performed “on a
farm.” Nevertheless, the statutory definition of “agriculture”
in § 3(f) of the FLSA expressly includes the task of “delivery
to storage” within the boundaries of secondary agriculture.

10

Accordingly, live-haul drivers are engaged in agriculture if
their work is done “by a farmer,” which depends upon
whether Holly Farms, the drivers’ employer, is engaged in
primary agriculture at relevant intervals with respect to the
chickens. See Bayside, 429 U.S. at 301.

The agriculture definition is very broad, and Congress
intended for it to cover all phases of the agricultural process.
Beginning with activities such as cultivating the soil or
undertaking preparatory secindary farming activities incident
to the raising of poultry. agriculture continues until the
agricultural commodity in question has been safely delivered
to market, storage, or a common carrier. As this Court
indicated in Maneja, agriculture ends when the agricultural
commodity is used in a manufacturing process. Until such
time, however, the process of agriculture continues unabated.

For example, in Mitchell v. Budd, 350 U.S. 473 (1956),
the Court held that a bulking plant changed the nature of
tobacco, and thus was “‘more akin to manufacturing than
agriculture.’” Jd. at 481-482 (quoting Maneja, 349 U.S. at
265). Because the bulking plant engaged in manufacturing,
the agricultural process ended “with the delivery of the
tobacco at the receiving platform of the bulking plant. That
is the ‘delivery * * * to market’ within the meaning of § 3(f)
of the Act.” Mitchell, 350 U.S. at 481 (quoting 29 U.S.C.
§ 203(f)). In the case at bar, Holly Farms’ poultry process-
ing plant engages in manufacturing, and the agricultural
process ends at the storage sheds, from which the chickens
are taken for processing.‘

* The Board may argue that the agricultural process ends on the
farm of the contract grower rather than at the storage shed.
Alternatively, the Board may attempt to characterize the live-haul
drivers’ work as incidental to Holly Farms’ poultry processing
work rather than incidental to Holly Farms’ raising of poultry.

(continued...)

* (...continued)

Such arguments should be rejected as being flatly inconsistent with
tt. language and intent of the agriculture definition. The statutory
language expressly includes “delivery to storage” as agricultural
activity; amy attempt by the Board to end the process sooner is in
flagrant derogation of the wording of the definition. Similarly, the
Board cannot point to any indication that Congress intended for
manufacturing to be construed broadly, or that Congress recognized
the concept of “secondary manufacturing” that would incorporate
practices incident to manufacturing.

12

Status with respect to the birds, through “delivery to storage,”
29 U.S.C. § 203(f), to the point in the process where
Thus, Holly Farms is engaged in the primary agricultural
activity of raising poultry when the live-haul drivers do their
work. Because live-haul drivers are employed by a firm
engaged in primary agricultural activity, their secondary
agricultural activity qualifies as work performed “by a
farmer” under the definition. The inescapable nature of this
conclusion has been addressed by the Fifth Circuit:
Transportation of grownout broiler chickens
from the contract farms where they are raised to
the processing plants where they are sold is
clearly work performed “by a farmer * * * as
an incident to or in conjunction with” [a verti-
cally integrated poultry firm's] primary farming
task of raising poultry. Any doubt that this is
the case is removed by the express statutory
language including “preparation for market” and
“delivery to storage or to market” as practices
incidental to any agricultural enterprise.
Coleman v. Sanderson Farms, 629 F.2d 1077, 1081 (Sth Cir.
Unit A 1980) (quoting 29 U.S.C. § 203(f)). See also
N.L.R.B. vy. Victor Ryckebosch, Inc., 471 F.2d 20 (9th Cir.
1972) (live-haul drivers are agricultural laborers). Therefore,
when live-haul drivers perform the statutorily-defined
secondary agricultural activity of “delivery to storage,” they
are agricultural laborers excluded from the scope of the

13

0. THE NLRB’S INTERPRETATION OF THE FLSA’S
DEFINITION OF “AGRICULTURE” IS INCONSIS-
TENT WITH THE LEGISLATIVE HISTORY OF
THE STATUTE.

A. Congress Intended a Broad Definition of
“Agriculture” Covering Work of Third-
Party Employees On A Farm.

Senator Black, the author of the agricultural exception in
the FLSA, explained on the floor of the Senate that his bill
had been drawn carefully to exclude agricultural laborers of
all kinds from the scope of the Act:

It ificall ud — oe
ture of all kinds and of all types. There is con-
tained in the measure, perhaps, the most com-

enstee Gafiattien of enttent hich has
been included in any one legislative proposal.

We have placed together in the bill defini-
tions of agricultural work which have been fixed
from time to time in other legislative enact-
ments, and in addition to that we have drawn
liberally from Mr. Webster’s definition of
agriculture.

81 Cong. Rec. 7648 (1937) (statement of Senator Black).

Notwithstanding Senator Black’s assurances, other
senators became concerned that the proposed definition was
not sufficiently comprehensive. When the bill was first
introduced, secondary agriculture was defined as “any
practices ordinarily performed by a farmer as an incident to
such farming operations.” 81 Cong. Rec. 7653 (1937). The
senators knew that farmers frequently found it necessary to
engage others to perform on-farm agricultural work. These
senators were concerned that the work of persons employed
by such businesses would not fall within the scope of the
definition as originally drafted:

14

Mr. TYDINGS: The threshing of wheat and
similar crops on the farm would be classed as
coming within the agricultural exemption; would
it not?

Mr. BLACK: I so understand.

Mr. TYDINGS: What I am thinking of is that
quite often the threshing crew is not a part of
the farmer’s organization. There are men who
make a business of going around with threshing
and baling machines with enough help to come
upon a farm and make a contract with the
farmer to thresh his wheat. I should like to
know if in such a case it is the Senator’s opinion
that the threshing crew would be exempt, or
whether they would be under the operation of
the hours provision of the bill. * * *

I am asking this question because I believe,
inadvertently, a loophole has been left which I
am sure the proponents of the bill do not mean
to leave. * * * [A]}s I understand, farming in all
its Operations, from the time the grain is put
into the ground until it leaves the farm, is to be
exempted from the provisions of the measure;
but under the bill such a man as I have indicated
is not exempt.

15

is engaging in a cold-blooded business opera-
tion, going from one farm to another, precisely
as a huckster goes around and sells tinware to
farmers.

81 Cong. Rec. 7659 (1937) (statement of Senator Bone).

In order to clarify that workers performing agricultural
work on farms were to be included in the definition, the
Senate adopted Senator McGill’s amendment, which added
the words “or on a farm” and “including delivery to market”
to the secondary meaning of “agriculture.” 81 Cong. Rec.
7888 (1937). Although the independent-contractor wheat
thresher was the paradigm example of an agricultural laborer
to be included under the amendment, Senator McGill clearly
indicated that the amendment applied to any farm commodity:

Mr. GEORGE: Is it the purpose of the amend-
ment to exempt those who thresh grain?
Mr. McGILL: Those who thresh grain, who
harvest grain and deliver it to market.
Mr. GBORGE: Would the amendment also
apply to the harvesting of any other crop?
Mr. McGILL: It would apply to any commodi-
ty produced on a farm.
Ibid. Senator McGill also explained that the amendment was
intended to apply broadly to on-farm work:

81 Cong. Rec. 7653 (1937). Mr. McGILL: I may say to the Senator from
At least ome senator, however, believed that such Georgia aid other Senators that it is my object
employees should not be considered agricultural laborers: to make the language of the amendment broad

I think the business experience of us all will
justify the conclusion that if a man operates a
threshing outfit, and goes from one farm to
another farm, such a man is an independent
contractor. He is not a farmer. That is not an
operation incident to farming, because the man

enough to include all work done on a farm, so

long as it is incidental to agricultural purposes

* * * * and the language would also include all

labor performed in making delivery to market.
Ibid. The Senate approved Senator McGill’s amendment,

16

of § 3(f) of the FLSA. See 29 U.S.C. § 203(f). The House
of Representatives subsequently expanded the agriculture
definition even further by adding the “delivery to storage”
language. See H.R. Rep. No. 2182, 75th Cong., 3d Sess.
(1938).

B. The NLRB’s Decision is Contrary to the Legisla-

tive History, Renders the Agriculture Exception
Meaningless, and Burdens American Farmers.

The legislative history of the FLSA shows clearly that
Congress intended the term “agriculture” to include on-farm
farming work and delivery to storage, performed by third-
party employees. This Court has used the legislative history
as an aid to interpreting the agriculture provision in Farmers
Reservoir, 337 U.S. at 767, and in Maneja, 349 U.S. at 260.
The Fifth Circuit provided a thorough analysis of the legisla-
tive history in an FLSA case construing § 3(f). Reich v.
Tiller Helicopter Serv., 8 F.3d 1018, 1023-1027 (Sth Cir.
1993). Significantly, none of the cases adopting the NLRB’s
present construction of the statute even mention the legislative
history. See, e.g., Holly Farms Corp. v. N.L.R.B., 48 F.3d
1360 (4th Cir. 1995); N_.L.R.B. v. Hudson Farms, Inc... 681
F.2d 1105 (8th Cir.) (per curiam), cert. denied, 459 US.
1069 (1982); Valmac Indus. v. N.L.R.B., 599 F.2d 246 (8th
Cir. 1979). Thus, none of these courts has faced the impossi-
ble task of reconciling the NLRB’s construction with the

agriculture definition’s legislative history.

The erroneous reasoning in the NLRB’s interpretation
and the decision of the court below can be seen clearly in the
following example. Assume that a farmer wishes to engage
a non-farmer third party and his or her employees to perform
secondary agricultural tasks on a farm. The laborers thus
hired are precisely those to whom Senator McGill’s amend-
ment was designed to apply. Under the decisions of this
Court, the laborers would be employed in “agriculture.”
Under the NLRB’s interpretation, however, the laborers
would be dragged within the scope of the NLRA as “employ-

17

ees” because the laborers’ employer (the third party with
whom the farmer contracts) does not perform primary

aeuke, Geeaaetemate eutnenediatiel
labor exception meaningless. The fact that the NLRB’s

interpretation reaches an incorrect result in a case explicitly
anticipated by a legislative amendment shows that the Board's

decision does not have a reasonable basis in law.

By tuming its back on clear congressional intent, the
NLRB destroys the value of the agricultural exemption to
farmers. In today’s economic environment in production
agriculture, farmers are increasingly finding it necessary to
seek out the specialized efficiency of third parties to perform
secondary agricultural tasks. If, contrary to Congress’
desires, the NLRB succeeds in placing such third parties
outside of the agricultural exemption, the contractors will be
subject to vastly increased costs in the form of unionization
costs and overtime costs under the FLSA. Such costs will
almost certainly be passed through to the farmer employing
the independent contractor, and will add significantly to the
cost of production agriculture.
ized by increased vertical integration. Vertical integration
allows farmers to reduce costs that would otherwise become
prohibitive. See Allen M. Featherstone & Bruce J. Sherrick,
Financing Vertically Coordinated Agricultural Firms, 74 AM.
J. AGRIC. ECON. 1232, 1235 (1992) (referring to cost
efficiencies resulting from the reduced transaction and agency
costs, improved scale, and improved technology adoption).
Vertical integration has also become necessary to obtain
maximum productivity from agricultural assets. See id. at
1237 (observing that vertical integration in the hog sector
could release between 20% and 40% of assets from a
farmer’s balance sheet and allow for more productive use of
those assets). The evolving challenges of modern production
agriculture will continue to require farmers to internalize
some agricultural production functions and to contract others

18

away. By reading the words “on a farm” out of the agricul-

ture definition, the NLRB is imposing huge costs on the

farming community.

Ill. THIS COURT SHOULD NOT DEFER TO THE
INTERPRETATION OF THE NLRB.

This case comes to the Court after deferentially limited
review by the court below. Several factors in this case point
away from judicial deference to the NLRB’s decision. Even
if the most deferential standard were to be applied, however,
the NLRB’s decision cannot survive scrutiny.

A. Under The Circumstances Of This Case, The

NLRB Does Not Deserve Extensive Deference
From This Court.

Although this Court deferred to the NLRB in analogous
circumstances in Bayside, 429 U.S. at 303-304, several
circumstances in this case indicate that deference is not
appropriate. First, the NLRB in this case is interpreting
statutory language, not making fundamental policy choices or
finding facts. Second, the language that the NLRB is
interpreting has not been committed to that agency s iscre-
tion. Finally, Congress has announced in a separate statutory
command that the NLRB is not to expand its jurisdiction at
the expense of farming in America.

The NLRB is entitled to broad deference when making
factual determinations, N.L.R.B. v. Denver Bldg. & Constr.
Trades Council, 341 U.S. 675, 691 (1951) (citing Universal
Camera Corp. v. N.L.R.B., 340 U.S. 474 (1951)), or
developing fundamental national labor policy. Beth Israel
Hosp. v. N.L.R.B., 437 U.S. 483, 500 (1978). In the case at
bar, however, the facts are agreed upon, and the NLRB has
construed unambiguous statutory language. This Court has
made clear that:

Reviewing courts are not obliged to stand aside
and rubber-stamp their affirmance of administra-

19

tive decisions that they deem inconsistent with a
statutory mandate or that frustrate the congres-
sional policy underlying a statute. Such review
is always properly within the judicial province,
and courts would abdicate their responsibility if
they did not fully review such administrative
decisions

N.L.R.B. v. Brown, 380 U.S. 278, 291-292 (1965). It is the
judiciary, not the NLRB, that is the final authority on
statutory construction, and this Court must reject administra-
tive constructions that are contrary to clear i
intent. Chevron U.S.A. Inc. v. Natural Resources Defense
Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837, 843 n.9 (1984).

Courts should defer to an agency’s interpretation of a gap
in a statute that Congress entrusted the agency to administer.
Id. at 842-843. In the present case, however, the NLRB
interpreted a provision of the FLSA, a statute entrusted by
Congress to the Secretary of Labor. According to the
Secretary of Labor’s interpretation of the FLSA (discussed
supra in section I.B), it appears likely that the Secretary
would at least find chicken catchers and forklift drivers to be
employed in “agriculture” under the FLSA. Indeed, substan-
tive interpretation by the NLRB of § 3(f) of the FLSA may
intrude inappropriately into construction of this section in
FLSA cases. See, ¢.g., Marshall vy. Abbott Farms, Inc. , 559
F.2d 1006, 1007 & n.1 (Sth Cir. 1977).

The appropriations rider that directs the use of § 3(f) of
the FLSA also suggests that deference should not be granted
here. The appropriations rider contains the following
cautionary language:

Provided, That no part of this appropriation
shall be available to organize or assist in orga-
nizing agricultural laborers or used in connec-
tion with investigations, hearings, directives, or
orders concerning bargaining units composed of

20

agricultural laborers as referred to in section
2(3) of the [NLRA], and as defined in section

3(f) of the [FLSA] * * * *

108 Stat. 2570 (1994). The fact that Congress felt so
strongly about protecting the boundaries of the agriculture
definition that it made the NLRB’s operating funds contingent
upon the NLRB abiding by the statutory language is strong
evidence that Congress did not want courts deferring to the
Board’s decisions in this area.° The appropriation, set forth
in a statute not committed to the NLRB’s discretion, express-
es deep congressional concern that the NLRB will illegiti-
mately attempt to expand its jurisdiction at the expense of the
agriculture definition. In order for this Court to effectuate
this clearly expressed congressional intent, it must scrutinize
the NLRB’s decisions construing the agriculture definition.

B. If The Court Were To Show Deference To The

NLRB’s Decision, The Bargaining Order Should
Not Be Enforced Even Under The Relaxed Stan-
dard Of Review.

Earlier this Term, this Court indentified the factors it will
consider when applying deferential review to a decision of the
NLRB. See N.L.R.B. v. Town & Country Elec., Inc., No.
94-947, slip op. (November 28, 1995). In that case, the
Court evaluated the NLRB’s decision against the statutory
language, the statutory purpose, the legislative history, and
the relevant precedent. See id. at 5-6. As has been demon-
strated supra, the Board’s decision in this case contravenes
the statutory language and violates manifest congressionai
intent. It runs foul of precedent such as Maneja, and runs

* The appropriations rider may not be dismissed as a lonely
indication of subsequent congressional intent. Congress has
consistently maintained this policy for almost 50 years by inserting
identical language in the NLRB’s appropriation every year since
1946. Bayside, 429 U.S. at 300 n.6.

21

counter to the congressional policy of limiting the Board’s
jurisdiction to non-agricultural employees. See 29 U.S.C.
§ 152(3). Thus, the Board’s decision does not have a reason-
able basis in law, and this Court should refuse to enforce the
Board’s order.

C. Assuming Arguendo That This Court Were To
Defer To The Agency’s Decision In This Case,

The Court Should Expressly Limit Its Holding To
The NLRA Context In Order To Prevent The
Board’s Rationale From Infecting Analysis Under
The FLSA.

If, notwithstanding the above compelling reasons not to
defer, this Court were to decide in this case that it should
defer to the Board, the Court should expressly limit its
holding to the NLRA context. As stated above, the agricul-
tural definition is located in the FLSA and materially affects
many provisions in that statute of great interest to the farming
community. See, e.g., 29 U.S.C. § 213(a)(6) (family farm
exemption); 29 U.S.C. § 213(b)(12) (agricultural exemption);
29 U.S.C. § 213(c) (agricultural child labor exemption). The
FLSA has been entrusted by Congress to the Secretary of
Labor. Given an opinion by this Court deferring to the
NLRB’s interpretation of the FLSA, many lower courts
would likely apply the Board’s rationale when applying the
FLSA. See Marshall vy. Abbott Farms, Inc., 559 F.2d 1006,

1007 & n.1 (Sth Cir. 1977) (applying NLRA precedent to an
FLSA case).

There is no conceivable argument that the Board’s views
on the agriculture definition should constitute precedent under
a separate statute committed to the discretion of a different
agency. Accordingly, if the Court should decide to defer to
the NLRB in this case, it should expressly limit its holding to
the NLRA context in order to prevent the NLRB’s rationale
from infecting lower courts’ analysis under the FLSA.

22

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the court of appeals should be reversed.
Respectfully submitted.

JOHN J. RADEMACHER ROBERT P. DAVIS
MICHAEL J. STIENTJES Counsel of Record
American Farm Bureau Mayer, Brown & Platt

Federation 2000 Pennsylvania Ave., N. W.
225 Touhy Avenue Washington, D.C. 20006
Park Ridge, IL 60068 (202) 463-2000
(312) 399-5700

ALABAMA FARM BUREAU MICHAEL F. ROSENBLUM
4250 Ala. Highway 157 Timothy S. BISHOP
Suite D Mayer, Brown & Platt
Cullman, AL 35055 190 S. LaSalle Street

Chicago, IL 60603

NORTH CAROLINA FARM NATIONAL COUNCIL OF

BUREAU AGRICULTURAL EMPLOYERS
5301 Glenwood 1112 16th St., N.W.
Raleigh, NC 27612 Suite 920

Washington, D.C. 20005

Counsel gratefully acknowledge the assistance of
Robert L. Bronston in the preparation of this brief.

DECEMBER 1995

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0639%3A15. Public record. Not legal advice.
