# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Lackey v. Texas

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0620%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1995
- **Citation:** 514 U.S. 1001

## Text

a

vo, QU FAGL

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1994

CLARENCE ALLEN LACKEY
Petitioner,
v.
STATE OF TEXAS

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE TEXAS COURT OF CRIMINAL APPEALS

THIS IS A CAPITAL CASE:

MR. LACKEY IS CURRENTLY SCHEDULED TO BE EXECUTED

ON MARCH 6, 1995, SHORTLY AFTER 12:01 a.m.

* Robert C. Owen
Brent E. Newton
3223 Smith Street, Ste. 215
Houston, Texas 77006
(713) 522-5917
fax: (713) 522-2733

* Counsel of Record
Member, Supreme Court Bar

RECEIVED
FEB 2 7 1995

Urrile UF ime CLERK
SUPREME COURT, U.S.

a

QUESTION PRESENTED

Petitioner was indicted for capital murder in mid-1977. As
a result of two mandatory appeals in state court, Texas did
not cbtain a final conviction and schedule Petitioner’s
execution until fifteen years later. Since that point, in
mid-1992, Petitioner has expeditiously pursued state and
federal habeas corpus proceedings; over that same span, the
state courts have issued four death warrants for Petitioner.

Under English common law, the execution of a death
sentence under such circumstances would constitute
cruel and unusual punishment. See Riley v. Attorney
General of Jamaica, 1 AC 719, 3 All ER 469 (Privy
Council 1983) (Lord Scarman, dissenting, joined by Lord
Brightman) (arguing that “execution after inordinate
delay would [{infringe]) the prohibition against cruel
and unusual punishment [in] Section 10 of the Bill of
Rights of 1689...."), majority opinion overruled by
Pratt & Morgan v. Attorney General of Jamaica, 2 AC l,
4 All ER 769 (Privy Council 1993) (en banc); see also
Pratt & Morgan.

Given these circumstances, this petition presents the
following question:

Whether the execution of a death sentence
constitutes cruel and unusual punishment
under the Eighth Amendment as intended by the
Framers if, as a result of inordinate delay
not attributable to his own conduct, the
condemned is forced to endure nearly two
decades on death row, during which time his
execution is repeatedly rescheduled.

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED eeeeoevoeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeser ii
wees GE EGE COED cccccceccccceccceceeee cocccccccccccsccce SA

GEM EGe BEE cccccccccccceccccecesceces

eoeeeoeeveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee 1

JURISDICTION eoeneernieeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

eevee eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee 1

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED .............. 1

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ...cccccccccces eeeces ee ee

REASONS FOR GRANTING CERTIORARI ............ eeccccces coeccscese 8

CONCLUSION ..cccccccccccces Ccoeresocececscseesecss ceoccccscccses 29
iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES

Adams v. Texas, 448 U.S. 38 (1980) ° ° . .

Attorney General, No., S.C. 73 (Zimb. June 24, 1993)

Coker v. Georgia, 433 U.S. 584 (1977) .
Coleman v. Balkcom, 451 U.S. 949 (1981) . . .
Commonwealth v, O’Neal, 339 N.E.2d 676 (Mass. 1975)
Enmund v. Florida, 458 U.S. 782 (1982)

Estelle v. Gamble, 429 U.S. 97 (1976)
Fisher v. United States, 328 U.S. 463 (1946)

Ford v. Wainwright, 477 U.S. 399 (1986)
Furman v. Georgia, 408 U.S. 238 (1972)
Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S. 153 (1976)
Harmelin v. Michigan, 501 U.S. 957 (1991)

Hopkinson v. State, 632 P.2d 79 (Wyo. 1981)
Hudson v. McMillan, 112 U.S. 995 (1992)

Jurek v. Texas, 428 U.S. 262 (1976)

Kilbourn v. Thompson, 103 U.S. 168 (1881)

Kyles v. Whitley, 498 U.S. 931, 111 S. Ct. 333 (1991)
Lackey v. Collins, No. MO-92-CA-181

, 28 F.3d 486 (5th Cir. 1994), cert. denied,
115 S. Ct. 743 (Jan. 9, 1995) . : . ° °

Lackey v. State, 638 S.W.2d 439 (Tex.Crim.App. 1982)
Lackey v. State, 819 S.W.2d 111 (Tex.Crim.App. 1989)

, Writ No. 24,267-01 (Tex.Crim.App. Dec. 16,

1992), cert, denied, Lackey v. Texas, 113 S. Ct. 1319
(1993) . ‘ ; ; . ; ; ; , : :

Penry v. Lynaugh, 492 U.S. 302 (1989)

iv

1l,

20,
12,

21,

PAGE

27,

People v. Anderson, 493 P.2d 880, 6 Cal. 3d 628 (Cal. 1972) . 12

, 494 U.S. 1015 (1990), later proceeding,
498 U.S. 38 (1991) . : : , ‘ : : ; ; ‘ » 2 | IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

No.

, Privy Council
Appeal No. 10 . . . . : . ° . . . . passim

Richmond v. Lewis, 948 F.2d 1473 (9th Cir. 1990). . ° ° 11

Riley v. Attorney General of Jamaica, 1 AC 719, 3 All ER 469 . 9, 18

Robinson v. California, 370 U.S. 660 (1962) . , , , . 2

Sawyer v. Whitley, 112 S. Ct. 2514 (1992) . ° ° ; ° ° 27

Sher Singh et al. v. The State of Punjab, 2 S.C.R. 582. . 13

Smith v. Aldingers, 999 F.3d 109, 110 n.4 (5th Cir. 1993) . . 25

Soering v. United Kingdom, 11 Eur. Hum. Rts. Rep. 439 (1989) . 13

Solesbee v. Balkcom, 339 U.S. 9 (1950) ; , ; ; j . 12

Stankorsy. Kentucky, 492 U.S. 361 (1969) . ; ; ; , ‘ ” | issue a Writ of Certiorari to review the judgment of the Texas
State ex. rel. Francis v. Resweber, 329 U.S. 459 (1947) : 23, 28 |
State v. Richmond, 886 P.2d 1329, 1994 WL 699008 (Ariz. Dec.

October Term, 1994

CLARENCE ALLEN LACKEY,
Petitioner,
Vv.
STATE OF TEXAS

| Respondent.

Petitioner Clarence Lackey prays that this Honorable Court

Court of Criminal Appeals in his case.

15, 1994) .. i a ee > “Soe CITATION TO OPINION BELOW
State v. Ross, 646 A.2d 1318 (Conn. 1994) . " . . P . 13 Copies of the order of both the Texas Court of Criminal
Suffolk County District Attorney v. Watson, 411 N.E.2d 1274 12, 13 Appeals and the state habeas trial court denying habeas corpus
Teague v. Lane, 489 U.S. 288 (1989) . 4 . P , , 28 relief will be forwarded to this Court as soon as they are
Trop v. Dulles, 356 U.S. 86 (1958) , ‘ ‘ . ? 21, 22, issued. They are unavailable as of the time that this petition
24

is being lodged with the Court.
United States v. Raddatz, 447 U.S. 667 (1980) . ° ° ° ; 19

JURISDICTION
, 2 S.C.R. 348, 353
(India 1983) . . P . . P ; . 4 ——— Mr. Lackey invokes this Court’s jurisdiction pursuant to 28
Weems v. United States, 217 U.S. 349 (1910) ° , ° ° - 21 U.S.C. § 1257.
STATUTES CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

28 U.S.C. § 1257 . P “ A . ‘ - . . 1 The issues raised in this petition implicate the “cruel and
Tex. Code Crim. Pro. Art. 37.071(f) (Vernon 1974) . , r .. unusual punishments" clause of the Eighth Amendment and the Due

Vv Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States

Constitution. Those provisions read in pertinent part as

follows:

U.Ss. CONST.
Amendment VIII

"Excessive bail shall not be required, nor excessive

fines imposed, nor cruel and unusual punishments
inflicted."

Amendment XIV

"... [NJor shall any State deprive any person of life,
liberty, or property, without due process of law... "

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
The State of Texas alleged by indictment that Mr. Lackey
committed the capital murder of Diane Kumph on or around July 31,
1977. Mr. Lackey was arrested immediately thereafter and charged
with capital murder; he has remained in custody during the
ensuing eighteen years.

Mr. Lackey was originally tried in the 238th District Court
of Midland County, Texas, on a change of venue from Lubbock
County in the spring of 1978. At that trial, he was convicted of
capital murder and sentenced to death. His case was then pending
on an automatic direct appeal’ to the Texas Court of Criminal
Appeals for over four years. On September 15, 1982, that court

reversed Petitioner’s conviction and sentence on the authority of

' The post-Furman Texas capital sentencing statute provides
for a mandatory, automatic direct ap>»eal to the Texas Court of

++ rome Appeals. See Tex. Cope Crim. Pro. Art. 37.071(f) (Vernon

Adams v. Texas, 448 U.S. 38 (1980). Lackey v. State, 638 S.W.2d
439, 471-76 (Tex.Crim.App. 1982).

The case was remanded to the trial court, and Mr. Lackey
was retried. He was again convicted of capital murder and
sentenced to death in April 1983. Another automatic appeal to
the Court of Criminal Appeals ensued. After deliberating over
Mr. Lackey’s second direct appeal for a total of eight years, the
Court of Criminal Appeals -- with four judges dissenting --
ultimately affirmed Mr. Lackey’s conviction and sentence both on
original submission and on rehearing. See Lackey v. State, 819
$.W.2d 111 (Tex.Crim.App. 1989); id. at 128-41 (Tex.Crim.App.
1991) (on rehearing). Because no petition for certiorari was
filed, Mr. Lackey’s conviction and sentence became final ninety-
days thereafter in August 1991, when the time for filing a
certiorari petition passed.* Thus, it took the State of Texas
from mid-1977 until mid-1991 -- a period of fourteen years from
the time of Mr. Lackey’s arrest -- to secure a final conviction

3

in Mr. Lackey’s case.” The state trial court subsequently

2 In Penry v. Lynaugh, 492 U.S. 302 (1989), this Court
defined “finality” as being the date of the denial of a direct
appeal certiorari petition or, if no certiorari petition is
filed, 90 days from the date that .inal judgment is entered by
the state appellate court on direct appeal.

3 On federal habeas corpus review, the district court was
highly critical of the unusually protracted nature of the state
court proceedings. See Lackey v. Collins, No. MO-92-CA-181,
memorandum order and opinion, at 4 n.1 (W.D. Tex. June 11, 1993)
(noting that it took 16 years for the case to go from Lackey’s
arrest to federal habeas corpus review). As discussed infra,
such criticism is appropriately directed at the Texas courts --
and not Petitioner -- since fourteen of those sixteen years were

(continued...)

scheduled Mr. Lackey’s first execution date to occur on July 17,
1992 -- 15 years from the date of the capital murder.

Only from that point in 1992, when Mr. Lackey filed his
first discretionary habeas corpus appeal and sought a stay of
execution, can it be said that he was in any way “responsible”
for any subsequent delay. From 1992 until January 1995 -- a
period of less than three years -- Mr. Lackey litigated his state
and federal habeas corpus appeals. See Ex Parte Lackey, Writ No.
24,267-01 (Tex.Crim.App. Dec. 16, 1992), cert. denied Lackey v.
Texas, 113 S. Ct. 1319 (1993); Lackey v. Collins, memorandum
opinion and order, No. MO-92-181 (W.D. Tex. June 11, 1993), aff’d
Lackey v. Scott, 28 F.3d 486 (5th Cir. 1994), cert. denied, 115
S. Ct. 743 (Jan. 9, 1995).*

While Mr. Lackey litigated his state habeas corpus appeals

3(...continued)
spent on criminal proceedings that were non-discretionary in
terms of Mr. Lackey’s wishes.

*“ The many claims raised on habeas review -- including
various challenges to the capital sentencing instructions at
trial -- involved quite substantial issues. Indeed, four members
of the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals believed that one or more
of those claims entitled Mr. Lackey to a new trial. See Lackey
vy. State, 819 S.W.2d 111, 122-23 (Tex.Crim.App. 1991) (Clinton,
J., dissenting); id. at 128 (Miller, J., dissenting); id. at 136-
39 (Clinton, J., dissenting from denial of appellant’s motion for
rehearing, joined by Maloney, J.); id. at 139-41 (Baird, J.,
dissenting from denial of appellant’s motion for rehearing). In
addition, the federal district court felt compelled to conduct an
evidentiary hearing, see Lackey v. Collins, No. MO-92-CA-181
memorandum opinion and order, at 1 (W.D. Tex. June 11, 1993),
which is further evidence of the substantial nature of the claims
raised on habeas review. Mann v. Scott, 41 F.3d 968, 985 n.
13 (Sth Cir. 1994) ("(T)he holding of an evidentiary hearing is
the exception, not the rule. In 1988, for example, only 1.11
percent of all (federal) habeas petitions obtained a full
evidentiary hearing.") (citation omitted).

4

in 1992, the state courts set three separate execution dates --
the first for July 17, 1992; the second for October 17, 1992; and
the third for December 17, 1992. See Lackey v. Collins, supra,
memorandum opinion and order, at 3. The first two dates were
stayed by the state trial court. The third execution date was
stayed by the federal district court late in the day on December
16, 1992, within hours of the execution scheduled to occur on
December 17th at 12:01 a.m. A fourth execution date was
scheduled shortly after this Court denied Mr. Lackey’s federal
habeas certiorari petition on January 9, 1995. That execution
date is presently pending.

Both the sheer length of time Clarence Lackey has spent on
Texas’ death row, nearly two decades, and the repeated execution
dates that have been scheduled in this case have caused him a
tremendous amount of psychological anguish and pain. The
sustained stress and anxiety that Mr. Lackey has been subjected
to while on death row -- to date, waiting nearly as much time to
die as he had spent on the earth at the time that he was arrested
on capital murder charges in 1977° -- have taken an extreme toll
on Mr. Lackey’s spiritual well-being and mental health. See
Affidavit of Clarence Lackey (Appendix A); Affidavit of Josette
Tilling (Appendix B). As Mr. Lackey has stated in a recent
affidavit:

4. The many years that I have spent on death row have
been filled with severe stress, depression, and

5 Mr. Lackey was 22 years old when he was arrested.

5

Appendix A, 4% 4-7.

anxiety. The experience of the third
execution date was the most traumatic for me.
I came within a matter of hours of being
executed before that third execution date was
stayed by a federal court. After the third
date was stayed, I became very ill --
emotionally and physically -- as a result of
that traumatic experience.

Being on death row so long has been an emotional roller
coaster for me. There have been times when I’ve had
great hope that I would win a new trial or have my
death sentence commuted. But there have also been
countless times when I have believed that the State was
actually going to kill me. Preparing for death is a
draining experience, both emotionally and spiritually.
It should be something that a person has to do only
once in a lifetime. I have had to do that many times
since being on death row during these many years. I’ve
also had to watch my loved ones experience similar
pain.

Death row is one of the loneliest, most miserable
places on the earth. It is not only miserable
because you know the state is planning on killing
you, but also because you see the state killing
other human beings around you. There have been
approximately 90 executions in Texas since I’ve
been here. My inmate identification number is
591. The guys that they’re bringing to death row
now have their inmate identification numbers in
the 1100s. A lot of time has passed, almost two
decades, since I’ve been here. I was a young man
when I was arrested. Now I’m approaching my
middle aged years.

There have been countless times that I have been
unable to eat or sleep because of the never-ending
stress that I have felt during my lengthy time on
death row. Depression and anxiety always follows
‘you around. You never seem to be able to escape
it here. I regularly have had nightmares. I have
them almost every night when I have had an
execution date pending.

REASONS WHY CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED

THE EXECUTION OF A DEATH SENTENCE AFTER KEEPING THE
CONDEMNED ON DEATH ROW FOR ALMOST TWO DECADES -- DURING
WHICH TIME REPEATED, UNNECESSARY EXECUTION DATES WERE
SCHEDULED -- PARTICULARLY WHEN THE DELAY IS LARGELY
ATTRIBUTABLE TO THE STATE RATHER THAN THE INMATE ~--~-
CONSTITUTES CRUEL AND UNUSUAL PUNISHMENT IN VIOLATION
OF THE EIGHTH AMENDMENT.

* "“Wasn’t the real delay here much before the
[habeas corpus appeal)? - What accounts for
that length of time just on ... the direct
appeal [which] took so long -- 3 years. ...
Well, I must say that that’s -- it’s hard to
expect Federal judges or any judges to get
excited about staying a Texas execution when
Texas itself diddles arcund for 3 or 4 years
e° If you want us to get serious, you
should get serious yourselves.”®

* "There is an instinctive revulsion against
the prospect of [executing] a man after he
has been held under sentence of death for
many years. What gives rise to this
instinctive revulsion? The answer can only
be our humanity; we regard it as an inhuman
act to keep a man facing the agony of
execution over a long, extended period of
time.’

¢ Remarks of Justice Scalia to Margaret P. Griffey, |
assistant attorney general of Texas, during oral arguments in
, No. 93-6497 (March 29, 1994), quoted in
Official Transcript [of) Proceedings before the Supreme Court of
the United States, McFarland v. Scott, at pp. 35-37 (Anderson
Reporting Co.).

’ Pratt & Morgan v. Attorney General of Jamaica, Privy
Council Appeal No. 10 of 1993, slip op., at 16, reported at 3 WLR
995, 143 NLJ 1679, 2 AC 1, 4 All ER 769 (British Privy Council |
Nov. 2, 1993) (en banc) (available on LEXIS). A copy of the slip

opinion in Pratt & Morgan is attached hereto as Appendix C.

7

* “(Tjhere is a formidable case for suggesting
that execution after inordinate delay would
have infringed the prohibition against cruel
and unusual punishment to be found in Section
10 of the Bill of Rights of 1689...."®
A. Introduction
The execution of a prisoner pursuant to a constitutionally-
obtained judgment is not cruel and unusual punishment per se
under the Eighth and Fourteenth Amendments to the United States
Constitution. See, e.g., Jurek v. Texas, 428 U.S. 262 (1976).
However, it has long been recognized that while the death penalty
itself may not be a cruel and unusual punishment, the manner of
its imposition may violate the Eighth Amendment depending on the
circumstances.

Because of the unusual circumstances surrounding the
State’s attempt to implement capital punishment in this case, the
State of Texas has forfeited its right to execute Clarence Lackey
under the Eighth and Fourteenth Amendments. This forfeiture has
resulted both from the inordinate amount of time that Mr. Lackey

has spent on Texas’ death row and the States’ unnecessary setting

of repeated execution dates in this case.’ Largely the result of

. Riley v. Attorney General of Jamaica, 1 AC 719, 3 All ER
469 (Privy Council 1983) (Lord Scarman, dissenting, joined by
Lord Brightman), j
Attorney General of Jamaica

, 2 AC 1, 4 All ER 769 (Privy Council
1993) (en banc).

* The first three execution dates scheduled in this case
were set by the Texas trial court solely in order to force Mr.
Lackey to initiate his habeas corpus appeals in state and federal
court. It is widely understood by members of the bench and bar
in Texas -- although not understood by death row inmates facing
such execution dates -- that in the overwhelming majority of

(continued...)

unnecessary delays by the Texas courts in hearing Mr. Lackey’s
two mandatory, automatic direct appeals, Mr. Lackey has been
required to spend almost two decades on death row. Had Mr.
Lackey been sentenced to “life” imprisonment at trial -- which
was the only alternative to the death penalty upon a conviction
of capital murder -- he would have been eligible for parole in
mid-1987."°

As explained above, Mr. Lackey’s death sentence was
originally imposed in 1978 following his 1977 arrest. The Texas

Court of Criminal Appeals took over four years to render a

9(...continued)
Texas capital cases, such premature execution dates will not
result in an actual execution. Judge Edith Jones of the U.S.
Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit has noted this largely
peculiar Texas practice of setting premature execution dates
solely to force the immediate filing of habeas corpus appeals by
death row inmates. See Hon. Edith Jones, Death Penalty
Procedures: A Proposal for Reform, 53 Tex. BaR J. 850, 851 (1990)
(referring to the practice as "{d]jocket control by execution
date"); see also Mark Ballard, Death Penalty System Ridiculed,
TEXAS LAWYER, May 11, 1992, at 4 (quoting Fifth Circuit Judge
Thomas Reavley’s criticism of Texas’ system of "jump-starting"
habeas corpus appeals by setting premature execution dates).

Petitioner does not dispute that the state has a legitimate
interest in seeing that habeas corpus appeals are pursued
efficiently by death row inmates; however, considerably less
cruel methods are available to assure that habeas corpus appeals
are pursued by death row inmates in an efficient manner than
Texas’ preferred method of setting execution dates. For
instance, Texas could enact a reasonable statute of limitations
requiring habeas appeals to be filed within a specified period of
time. Trial courts could also informally set filing deadlines,
which could be enforced with the threat of setting an execution
date in the event that such appeals were not timely filed.

© See Tex. Cope CRIM. PRO. Art. 42.12, § 15(b) (Vernon’s ed.
1979) (capital murder defendant sentenced to "life" eligible for
parole after 20 flat calendar years from time that he is taken
into custody).

decision on Mr. Lackey’s first automatic, mandatory direct
appeal. Mr. Lackey’s death sentence was re-imposed after a re-
trial in early 1983. It then took another eight years for the
Texas Court of Criminal Appeals to finally resolve Mr. Lackey’s
“second mandatory direct appeal in 1991. Mr. Lackey’s conviction
thus became final 14 years after he was indicted for capital
murder. Mr. Lackey exhausted his first round of state and
federal habeas corpus appeals in less than three years. Thus,
only a fraction of the total time that Mr. Lackey has spent on
death row is attributable to the delay occasioned by the filing
discretionary appeals that he has initiated.

In this regard, Mr. Lackey’s case should be contrasted with
other long-time residents of death row, whose delay between trial
and execution of a death sentence is largely a function of the
inmates’ decisions to pursue discretionary appeals. See, e.g.,
Richmond v. Lewis, 948 F.2d 1473, 1491 (9th Cir. 1990) (rejecting
superficially similar claim of a 16-year resident of Arizona’s
death row, whose discretionary habeas corpus appeals were

responsible for the vast majority of the time he had spent on

death row).

B. The "Death Row Phenomenon" as Unconstitutional
Torture

The torturous effects of the “death row phenomenon" -- that
is, the psychologically devastating effects of a lengthy stay on
death row -- have been widely noted by jurists during the last

three decades. See, e.g., Coleman v. Balkcom, 451 U.S. 949, 952
10

(1981) (Stevens, J., concurring in the denial of certiorari)
(recognizing that the mental pain suffered by a condemned
prisoner awaiting execution "is [a] significant form of
punishment" that “may well be comparable to the consequences of
the ultimate step itself {i.e., the actual execution)"); Solesbee
v. Balkcom, 339 U.S. 9, 14 (1950) (Frankfurter, J., dissenting)
("In the history of murder, the onset of insanity while awaiting
execution of a death sentence is not a rare phenomenon.");
Furman v. Georgia, 408 U.S. 238, 288-89 (1972) (Brennan, .
concurring) ("(WJe know that mental pain is an inseparable part
of our practice of punishing criminals by death, for the prospect
of pending execution exacts a frightful toll during the
inevitable long wait between the imposition of sentence and the
actual infliction of death."); People v. Anderson, 493 P.2d 880,
6 Cal.3d 628, 649 (Cal. 1972) ("The cruelty of capital punishment
lies not only in the execution itself and the pain incident
thereto, but also in the dehumanizing effects of the lengthy
imprisonment prior to the execution during which the judicial and
administrative procedures essential to due process of law are
carried out. Penologists and medical experts agree that the
[protracted] process of carrying out a verdict of death is often
so degrading and brutalizing to the human spirit as to constitute
psychological torture."); Suffo Count istric Vv.
Watson, 411 N.E.2d 1274, 1289-95 & nn. (Mass. 1980) (Liacos, J.,
concurring) (vivid and detailed description of the type of

psychological pain and torture that a condemned person

11

experiences while awaiting execution); id. at 1287 (Braucher, J.,
concurring) (arguing that capital punishment is unconstitutional
under Massachusetts Constitution in part because "it will be
carried out only after agonizing months and years of
uncertainty"); Commonwealth v. O’Neal, 339 N.E.2d 676, 680-81
(Mass. 1975) (Tauro, C.J., concurring) ("The convicted felon
suffers extreme anguish in anticipation of the extinction of his
existence."); State v. Richmond, 886 P.2d 1329, 1994 WL 699008,
at *3 (Ariz. Dec. 15, 1994); Hopkinson v. State, 632 P.2d 79,
209-11 (Wyo. 1981) (Rose, C.J., dissenting in part) (recognizing
“the dehumanizing effects of long imprisonment pending
execution"); State v. Ross, 646 A.2d 1318, 1379 (Conn. 1994)
{(Berdon, J., dissenting) (same); Soering v. United Kingdom, 11
Eur. Hum. Rts. Rep. 439 (1989) (European Court of Human Rights
refused to extradite a German national from UK to Virginia to
face capital murder charges because of anticipated time that he
would have to spend on death row if sentenced to death);
Vatheeswaran v. State of Tamil Nadu, 2 S.C.R. 348, 353 (India
1983) (criticizing the “dehumanizing character of the delay" in
carrying out an execution); Sher Singh et al. v. The State of
Punjab, 2 S.C.R. 582 (India 1983) ("Prolonged delay in the
execution of a death sentence is unquestionably an important

consideration for determining whether the sentence should be

allowed to be executed."); Catholic Comm’n for Justice & Peace in

Zimbabwe v. Attorney General, No. S.C. 73/93 (Zimb. June 24,
1993) (reported in 14 Hum. Rts. L. J. 323 (1993)).

12

Similar views have been expressed by legal commentators and

mental health experts. See, e.g., Schabas, Execution Delayed,
Execution Denied, 5 CRIM. L. Forum 180 (1994) [available on
WESTLAW]; Lambrix, The Isolation of Death Row in FACING THE DEATH
PENALTY 198 (M. Radelet ed. 1989); Millemann, Capital Post-

Conviction Prisoners’ Right to Counsel, 48 Mod. L. REV. 455, 499-

500 (1989) ("There is little doubt that the consciousness of

impending death can be immobilizing. ... This opinion has been

widely shared by [jurists], prison wardens, psychiatrists and

psychologists, and writers.") (citing authorities); Mello, Facing

Death Alone, 37 AmeR. L. REV. 513, 552 & n.251 (1988) (same)

(citing studies); Wood, Competency for Execution: Problems in Law
and Psychiatry, 14 FLa. St. U. L. Rev. 35, 37-39 (1986) ("The
physical and psychological pressure besetting capital inmates has
been widely noted .... Courts and commentators have argued that
the extreme psychological stress accompanying death row
confinement is an eight amendment violation in itself or 1s an
element making the death penalty cruel and unusual punishment.")
(citing authorities); Stafer, Symposium On Death Penalty Issues:
Volunteering for Execution, 74 J. Crim. L. 860, 861 & n.10 (1983)
(citing studies); Holland, Death Row Conditions: Progression
Towards Constitutional Protections, 19 AKron L. Rsv. 293 (1985);
Johnson, Under Sentence of Death: The Psychology of Death Row
Confinement, 5 Law & PsYCHOLOGY REVIEW 141, 157-60 (1979); Hussain &
Tozman, Psychiatry on Death Row, 39 J. CLINICAL PSYCHIATRY 183

(1979); West, Psychiatric Reflections on the Death Penalty, 45

- 382

AMER. J. ORTHOPSYCHIATRY 689, 694-95 (1975); Gallemore & Parton,
Inmate Responses to Lengthy Death Row Confinement, 129 Amer. J.
PSYCHIATRY 167 (1972); Bluestone & McGahee, Reaction to Extreme
Stress: Impending Death By Execution, 119 AmeR. J. PSYCHIATRY 393
(1962); Note, Mental Suffering Under Sentence of Death: A Cruel
and Unusual Punishment, 57 Iowa L. REV. 814, 830 (1972); G.
Gottlieb, Testing The Death Penalty, 34 S. CAL. L. REV. 268, 272 &
n.15 (1961); A. Camus, Reflections on the Guillotine in
RESISTANCE, REBELLION & DEATH 205 (1966) ("As a general rule, a man
is undone waiting for capital punishment well before he dies.");
F. Dostoyevsky, THE IpioT 47-48 (D. Magarshack trans. 1955); Duffy
& Hirshberg, EIGHTY-EIGHT MEN AND Two WoMEN 254 (1962) ("One night on
death row is too long, and the length of time spent there by
[some inmates) constitutes cruelty that defies the imagination.
It has always been a source of wonder to me that they didn’t all
go stark, raving mad.") (quoting former warden of California’s
San Quentin Prison).

Of the approximately 3,000 persons on death row in this
country, only a handful of inmates have spent as long a time on
Geath row as Clarence Lackey. Cf. State v. Richmond, 886 P.2d
1329, 1994 WL 699008, at *1-*2 (Ariz. Dec. 15, 1994). What is
especially remarkable about Mr. Lackey’s case is that the bulk of
his many years on death row was not attributable to Mr. Lackey’s
filing discretionary appeals. Rather, those fourteen years
involved two trials (an original trial and a re-trial) and two

automatic, mandatory direct appeals -- proceedings not initiated

14

by Mr. Lackey. The remainder of the time -- less than three
years -- has been spent expeditiously pursuing legitimate state
and federal habeas corpus appeals raising many substantial
issues. Such a delay, according to Chief Justice Rehnquist,
makes “a mockery of our criminal justice system,” which
"“undermine(s) the integrity of the entire criminal justice

system." Coleman v. Balkcom, 451 U.S. 949, 958-59 (1981)

(Rehnquist, J., dissenting from denial of certiorari).

Cc. The British Privy Council’s Landmark Decision in
Pratt & Morgan |

In addition to the above-cited authorities, Mr. Lackey’s
Eighth Amendment arguments are strongly supported by a recent
landmark decision in a capital appeal rendered by the Judicial
Committee of the Privy Council of the United Kingdom (the "Privy
Councii")," which involved a factual situation quite similar to

Mr. Lackey’s case. See

Jamaica, Privy Council Appeal No. 10 of 1993, 3 WLR $95, 143 NIJ
1639, 2 AC 1, 4 All ER 769 (Nov. 2, 1993) (en banc) (available on
LEXIS).

In Pratt, an appeal by two condemned men on Jamaica’s death
row, the Privy Council, sitting en banc for the first time in
five decades, unanimously helu that carrying out the death

sentences of the two men would be “torture,” and “inhuman” and

" The Privy Council is the highest appellate court for
Commonwealth nations. The jurists who sit on the Privy Courcil
are likewise members of England’s highest domestic appellate
court, the House of Lords (“the Law Lords").

15

“degrading” punishment. The Privy Council did not hold that
capital punishment was ervel and unusual per se, but instead
focused on the fact that the condemned men had been on death row
for a protracted period of time (fourteen years) and,
furthermore, that the men had been read execution warrants on
three separate occasions, only to have their scheduled executions
stayed shortly before the sentences were to be carried out.

The rationale of the case was summarized in the opening

paragraph:
The appellants ... were arrested 16 years ago for
murder ... On 15th January 1979 they were convicted

of murder and sentenced to death. ... On three
occasions the death warrant has been read to [Pratt and
Morgan) and they have been removed to the condemned
cells immediately adjacent to the gallows. ... The
Statement of these bare facts is sufficient to bring
home to the mind of any person of normal sensitivity
and compassion the agony of mind that these men must
have suffered as they have alternated between hope and

despair in the 14 years that they have been in prison
facing the gallows.

Slip op., at 1 (emphasis added). As the Privy Council further
stated:

There is an instinctive revulsion against the prospect
of [executing] a man after he has been held under
sentence of death for many years. What gives rise to
this instinctive revulsion? The answer can only be our
humanity; we regard it as an inhuman act to keep a man

facing the agony of execution over a long extended
period of time.

Id. at 16.

The Privy Council’s primary focus was on the sheer length of
time that Pratt and Morgan were kept on death row, although a
significant secondary theme in the court’s reasoning was that the
setting of numerous execution dates that were withdrawn and then

16

re-set was itself inhumane and cruel. The court quoted Winston

Churchill on this point:
i f the
Mr. Winston Churchill expressed the sentiment o
House when he said “people ought not to be brought up
to execution, or believe that they are to be executed,

time after time whether innocent or guilty, however it
may be, whatever the crime. That is a wrong thing.

Id. at 3.

Pratt & Morgan also surveyed the history of English common
law regarding the subject of lengthy imprisonment of a condemned
man on death row and the repeated setting of execution dates in a
single case. The Privy Council concluded that neither practice
was condoned historically at common law. See, e.g., id. at 2-3
("It is difficult to envisage any circumstance in which in
England a condemned man would have been kept in prison for years
awaiting an execution."); id. at 5 (noting the “common law
practice that execution followed as swiftly as practical after
sentence"); see also Riley v. Attorney General of Jamaica, 1 AC
719, 3 All ER 469 (Privy Council 1983) (Lord Scarman, dissenting,
joined by Lord Brightman) ("(T)here is a formidable case for
suggesting that execution after inordinate delay would have
infringed the prohibition against cruel and unusual punishment to
be found in Section 10 of the Bill of Rights of 1689...."),
majority opinion overruled by Pratt & Morgan v. Attorney General
of Jamaica, 2 AC 1, 4 All ER 769, 3 WLR 557 (Privy Council 1993)

(en banc) .“

2 as Justice Scalia has recognized, “(t}here is no doubt"

English Bill of Rights of 1689 "is the
that Section 10 of the Eng eA

1?

Pratt & Morgan, along with U.S. and international
authorities discussed herein, offers a firm legal basis for Mr.

Lackey’s Eighth Amendment claim challenging the State’s right to

execute the death sentence in this case."

D. Eighth Amendment Authority Supporting Mr. Lackey’s

Claim

Recent Eighth Amendment decisions have, as a threshold
matter, focused on whether a challenged punishment was considered
unacceptable at the time of the adoption of our Bill of Rights.
See, e.g., Stanford v. Kentucky, 109 S. Ct. 2969, 2974 (1989) (in
rejecting claim that the execution of 16 and 17 year olds is
cruel and unusual, Court noted that the punishment was not "‘one
of those modes or acts of punishment that had been considered
cruel and unusual at the time that the Bill of Rights was
adopted’") (quoting Ford v. Wainwright, 477 U.S. 399, 405
(1986)). If a punishment was considered cruel and unusual in

1789, then this Court’s Eighth Amendment analysis goes no

further; if the Framers considered a punishment cruel and unusual

2... continued)
antecedent” of the cruel-and-unusual-punishments clause of our

Eighth Amendment. See Harmelin v. Michigan, 501 U.S. 957, 966
(1991) (opinion of Scalia, J.).

% Literally hundreds of American courts and jurists have
been guided by the decisions of the Privy Council, the highest
expositor of law in our Mother Country, whose common law has
greatly shaped our own law. See, e.g., United States v. Raddatz,
447 U.S. 667, 679 (1980) (citing a Privy Council decision with
approval); Kilbourn v. Thompson, 103 U.S. 168, 186 (1881) (same) ;
see also Fisher v. United States, 328 U.S. 463, 486-88 (1946)
(Frankfurter, J., dissenting) ‘"This Court in reviewing a
conviction for murder ... ought not be behind ... the Privy
Council ....") (discussing Privy Council decisions).

18

in 1789, then a fortiori it is cruel and unusual today. See
Ford, 477 U.S. at 405-06.

As discussed above, the Privy Council’s review of English
common law makes it clear that a nearly two-decade stay on death
row would never have been tolerated at common law under any
circumstances. Although elaborate appeals in capital cases
(leading to frequent re-trials) are a relatively recent
phenomenon -- largely a function of this Court’s post-Furman
Eighth Amendment capital jurisprudence -- the necessary delay
occasioned by such appeals cannot constitutionally extend to the
point where the State keeps a man on death row for well over a
decade because of mandatory appeals, as in this case.” That is,
even factoring in the incidental delay caused by modern appeals,
a state cannot justify taking over a decade to obtain a final
conviction and death sentence on direct review. See Pratt &
Morgan, slip op. at 20 ("In their Lordships’ view a State that
wishes to retain capital punishment must accept the
responsibility of ensuring that an execution follows as swiftly
as practicable after sentence....").

The Texas courts took fourteen years to obtain a
constitutional final conviction and sentence in Mr. Lackey’s

case. Such an inordinate delay -- which would never have been

“% Relying on other international law cases, the Privy
Council in Pratt held that even if an inordinate delay between
trial and execution is attributable to discretionary appeals
filed by the condemned person, the government nevertheless has no
right to carry out an execution if the delay resulted from

legitimate, non-frivolous appeals. See, e.g., Pratt & Morgan,
Slip op., at 18-20 (discussing cases).

19

permitted at common law -- is by itself a sufficient reason to
prohibit the State of Texas from carrying out Mr. Lackey’s
scheduled execution. The Eighth Amendment requires no more.

Assuming that a particular type of punishment was permitted
at the time that the Bill of Rights was adopted -- or, in this
case, assuming that the post-Furman requirement of meaningful
appellate review in capital cases somehow alters the common law
requirement described above -- a second, more difficult question
arises: whether a punishment that may have been acceptable to the
Framers of the Constitution nonetheless now viciates modern
society’s civilized standards. See, e.g., Campbell v. Wood, 18
F.3d 662 (9th Cir. 1994) (en banc) (hanging not a cruel and
unusual punishment).

Addressing the second prong of this Court’s Eighth Amendment
analysis, this Court has interpreted the reach of the Amendment
in a “flexible and dynamic manner." Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S.
153, 171 (1976); see also Weems v. United States, 217 U.S. 349,
373 (1910) ("a principle, to be vital, must be capable of wider
application than the mischief which gave it birth"). Rather,
The Eighth Amendment “must draw its meaning from the evolving
standards of decency that mark the progress of a maturing
society." Trop v. Dulles, 356 U.S. 86, 101 (1958). As the
concepts of dignity and civility evolve, so too do the limits of
what is considered cruel and unusual. Such factors include the

practices among the majority of the states in this country and
international practices. See, e.g., Stanford v. Kentucky, 492

20

U.S. 361, 369 (1989); Coker v. Georgia, 433 U.S. 584 (1977);
Enmund v. Florida, 458 U.S. 782 (1982).

The latter is obviously particularly relevant for purposes
of the claim presented herein. As discussed above, the weight of
international authority -- including a recent unanimous decision
by the highest court in our Mother Country -- strongly supports
Mr. Lackey’s contention that his execution would violate the
Eighth Amendment.

Other well-established Eiahth Amendment principles of broad
application are relevant to this Court’s analysis. The Eighth
Amendment “embodies ‘broad and idealistic concepts of dignity,
civilized standards, humanity and decency’" against which forms
of punishment must be measured. Estelle v. Gamble, 429 U.S. 97,
102 (1976) (citation omitted). It “expresses the revulsion of
civilized man against barbarous acts -- the ‘cry of horror’
against man’s inhumanity to his fellow man." Robinson v.
California, 370 U.S. 660, 676 (1962) (Douglas, J., concurring).

The Eighth Amendment’s restrictions on the ability of a
state to impose certain types of punishment “aim ... to protect
the condemned from [unnecessary] fear and pain ... or to protect
the dignity of society itself from the barbarity of exacting
mindless vengeance." Ford v. Wainwright, 477 U.S. 399, 410
(1986). At its core, the Eighth Amendment stands to safeguard
“nothing less than the dignity of man." Trop v. Dulles, 356 U.S.
86, 100 (1958). It cannot be gainsaid that keeping a condemned

man on death row -- a place that Mr. Lackey has appropriately

21

described as “one of the loneliest, most miserable places on
earth" -- for nearly two decades impugns fundamental human
dignity when there is no legitimate state interest justifying the
inordinate delay.

In the particular context of capital punishment -- where the
infliction of some incidental pain is obviously unavoidable --
this Court’s Eighth Amendment analysis of what is "cruel and

unusual” turns on whether unnecessary or gratuitous pain is part

of the punishment. As the Court stated in State ex. rel. Francis
Vv. Resweber, 329 U.S. 459 (1947):

The traditional humanity of modern Anglo-American law
forbids the infliction of unnecessary pain in the
execution of the death sentence. Prohibition against
the wanton infliction of pain has come to our law from
the (English) Bill of Rights [of 1689}. ... Mr.
Francis’ suggestion is that because he once underwent
the psychological strain of preparation for
electrocution, now to require him to undergo this
preparation again subjects him to a lingering or cruel
and unusual punishment.... [The Constitution does not
protect against) the necessary suffering involved in
any method employed to extinguish life humanely. The
fact that an unforeseen accident prevented the prompt
consummation of the sentence cannot, it seems to us,
add an element of cruelty to a subsequent execution.
There is no purpose to inflict unnecessary pain nor any
unnecessary pain involved in the proposed execution.
The situation of the unfortunate victim of this
accident is just as though he had suffered the
identical amount of mental anguish and physical pain in
any other occurrence, such as, for example, a fire in
the cell block.

Id. at 463-64 (emphasis added).
As a result of the abhorrent conditions to which he has

been subjected during the last eighteen years, Clarence Lackey

'' See Appendix A, 46.

22

has endured a needlessly lingering form of torturous
psychological punishment that, if the State has its way, will
culminate in a lethal injection following the recent issuance of
Mr. Lackey’s fourth execution warrant. See Gregg v. Georgia, 428
U.S. 153, 170-71 (1976) (unnecessarily lingering form of
execution is unconstitutional under the Eighth Amendment) (citing
In re Kemmler, 136 U.S. 436, 447 (1890)).

Finally, the fact that Petitioner is challenging the
lingering psychological anguish resulting from his excessively
lengthy stay on death row and repeated execution dates -- and is
not alleging physical torture -- does not foreclose an Eighth
Amendment claim.'® It is well-established that the infliction of
extreme mental anguish can be a form of unconstitutional torture.
See, e.g., Trop v. Dulles, 356 U.S. at 102 (expatriation as
penalty for desertion "subjects the individual to a fate of ever-
increasing fear and distress"); Hudson v. McMillan, 112 U.S. 995,
1004 (1992) (Blackmun, J., concurring) ("I am unaware of any
precedent of this Court to the effect that psychological pain is
not cognizable for constitutional purposes [under the Eighth

Amendment). If anything, our precedent is to the contrary.");

Furman v. Georgia, 408 U.S. 238, 271-73 (1972) (Brennan, J.,

% In Pratt & Morgan, the British Privy Council focused
exclusively on the mental torture inflicted on two condemned men
on Jamaica’s death row. See Pratt and Morgan, slip op., at 1-2
(describing "the agony of mind that these men must have suffered
as they have alternated between hope and despair in the 14 years
that they have been in prison facing the gallows. It is
unnecessary to refer to the evidence describing ... the emotional
and psychological impact of this experience, for it only reveals
that which is to be expected.").

23

concurring) ("(T]jhe Framers also knew {]that there could be
exercises of cruelty other than those which inflicted bodily pain
or mutilation.");: see also Smith v. Aldingers, 999 F.3d 109, 110
n.4 (Sth Cir. 1993) (collecting recent cases holding that mental
or psychological torture can violate the Eighth Amendment); cf.
in_re Medley, 134 U.S. 160, 172 (1890) (recognizing the “immense
mental anxiety" that a condemned man experiences when the

authorities intentionally refuse to inform him of the precise

"date of his scheduled execution, and referring to it as "one of

the most horrible feelings to which he can be subjected")

(emphasis added).

Admittedly, In re Medley was an ex post facto case.
However, its century-old recognition of the “immense" and
"horrible" mental anguish that a condemned man feels when he does
not know the date of his execution -- which this Court recognized
as a form of "punishment" implicating the ex post facto clause --
is instructive here. Petitioner does not allege that particular
type of mental anxiety caused by his confinement on Texas’ death
row; however, he does contend that the conditions on death row
that he has faced have been equally or more "immense" and
"horrible." Therefore, to permit the State to carry out an
execution after requiring Clarence Lackey to endure such

conditions for nearly two decades would unquestionably violate

the Eighth Amendment.

24

E. Inordinate Delay in the Disposition of a Capital
to the te of the
Legislature

Finally, Petitioner calls this Court’s attention to the
Texas statute governing the imposition of capital punishment in
existence from 1974-91, which expressly provided for an extremely
prompt automatic direct appeal. See TEx. CopE CRIM. PRO. 37.071(f)
(Vernon’s ed. 1974) (automatic direct appeal requiring "review
within 60 days of certification of record," with a possibility of
a 30-day extension upon the showing of “good cause,” and
providing for priority over non-capital appeals). This statutory
provision, which was enacted at the very same time that the Texas
Legislature enacted the original post~Furman capital sentencing
statute in 1973, evinces a clear legislative judgment that
promptness is necessary in automatic capital appeals. Of course,
the provision has been ignored by the Texas Court of Criminal
Appeals in hundreds of cases, including Mr. Lackey’s case.

Although not necessarily dispositive of Mr. Lackey’s claim,
but cf. Ford v. Wainwright, 477 U.S. 399, 428-29 (1986)
(O'Connor, J., concurring), this statutory provision further
should inform this Court’s analysis of what the Eighth Amendment
requires based on a legislative judgment made contemporaneously

with the resurrection of capital punishment in Texas after

Furman.

F. This Claim is Appropriately Raised at this
Juncture

Although Petitioner recognizes that "this Court rarely

25

grants review at this stage of the [post-conviction] litigation
even when the application for state habeas relief is supported by
arguably meritorious constitutional claims,""’ this Court’s
primary rationale for not doing so is the Court’s belief that
“federal habeas proceedings [are] the more appropriate avenues
{in the first instance] for consideration of federal

"8 In this case, Petitioner has already

constitutional claims.
exhausted one round of federal habeas corpus appeals and --

barring unforeseen circumstances -- does not intend to file a
successive federal petition raising this claim."

There is no need to require Petitioner to file a successive

a Kyles v. Whitley, 498 U.S. 931, 932, 111 S. Ct. 333
(1991) (Stevens, J., concurring in denial of stay and
certiorari).

7 2.

’% Petitioner believes that such a successive federal
petition would not be barred under the federal abuse-of-the-writ
doctrine because Petitioner’s claim asserts that he is now
constitutionally ineligible for capital punishment and, thus,
permitting his execution would constitute a fundamental
“miscarriage of justice." See Sawyer v. Whitley, 112 S. Ct.
2514, 2519-23 (1992); cf. Penry v. Lynaugh, 492 U.S. 302, 329-30
(1989) (interpreting the first exception of Teague v. Lane, 489
U.S. 288 (1989), as encompassing claims asserting that an inmate
is ineligible for capital punishment; when "the Constitution
itself deprives the State of the power to impose a certain
penalty, and the finality and comity concerns underlying [the
Teague doctrine} have little force here") (citing Ford v.

Wainwright, 477 U.S. 399 (1986)).

A similar claim was raised on federal habeas review in the
Court of Appeals; however, it was rejected both on the ground
that it was not raised in the federal district court and also
(mistakenly) on the ground that it was barred under the Teague
retroactivity doctrine. See Lackey v. Scott, 28 F.3d 486, 492
(5th Cir. 1994). Notably, the federal district court denied
relief well before the Privy Council’s decision in Pratt &
Morgan, which was rendered in November 1993.

26

federal habeas appeal as a prerequisite for review by this Court
because Petitioner herein asserts a claim which may be addressed
just as appropriately by this Court in the present procedural
posture as by a lower federal court. No additional factual
development is required. The only issues raised are questions of
law. Moreover, under the law of the case doctrine the federal
district court and Fifth Circuit would presumably be bound by the
Fifth Circuit’s mistaken holding on Petitioner’s federal habeas
appeal that this type of claim is barred under the Teague
doctrine.*® Thus, resort to the lower federal courts would be
futile.

Moreover, such a grant of certiorari would hardly be
unprecedented in this procedural posture. Indeed, in State ex

rel. Francis v. Resweber, 329 U.S. 459 (1947), this Court granted

certiorari to a review a state post-conviction habeas corpus

appeal. See also Perry v. Louisiana, 494 U.S. 1015 (1990), later

proceeding, 498 U.S. 38 (1991) (granting cert. to review state

post-conviction appeal).

0 Mr. Lackey’s requested relief is not barred under this
Court’s non-retroactivity doctrine, see Teague v. Lane, 489 U.S.
288 (1989), because this is not a species of constitutional claim
that could be subject to a Teague retroactivity analysis.

Rather, this is a claim that was not fully ripe for consideration
until 1992 -- after Petitioner’s conviction was final. It was
not a claim that could have been anticipated at the onset of Mr.
Lackey’s second direct appeal (i.e., when the brief was filed),
since it does not concern anything that happened at trial. Thus,
Teague has no application to this type of claim. Finally,
assuming arguendo that Teague applied to this type of claim, the
claim would fall squarely under Teague’s first exception because
the claim alleges that Mr. Lackey is ineligible for capital

punishment. See Penry v. Lynaugh, 492 U.S. 302, 329-30 (1989).

27

CONCLUSION
Although this Eighth Amendment claim may be somewhat novel
in the U.S. courts, it is firmly rooted in both this Court’s
Eighth Amendment jurisprudence and English common law going back
eaves centuries. In order to address the many important Eighth
Amendment issues raised by this petition, this Court should grant

certiorari and stay Petitioner’s imminent execution.

Respectfully submitted,

LN 4 6 We hun Lagu? florméstr
* Robert C. Owen a

Brent E. Newton Jn A™

Texas Resource Center Ww? C

3223 Smith Street

Suite 215

Houston, Texas 77006

(713) 522-5917

fax: (713) 522-2733

Counsel for Petitioner

* Counsel of Record
Member, Supreme Court Bar

28

APPENDIX A

STATE OF TEXAS ) Page Two
) Lackey Affidavit
COUNTY OF WALKER)

AFFIDAVIT OF CLARENCE ALLEN LACKEY

Comes now Clarence Allen Lackey and states the following:

1. My name is Clarence Allen Lackey. I am a death row
inmate who is incarcerated at the Ellis One Unit of the
Texas Department of Criminal Justice, Institutional
Division, in Hunstville, Texas. I am over the age of
21 and am otherwise competent to make this affidavit.

2. I was arrested on capital murder charges in 1977. I
was first tried (and convicted and sentenced to death)
in 1978. I was told by the trial judge and my attorney
that Texas law provided for a mandatory, automatic
direct appeal, which was taken to the Texas Court of
Criminal Appeals. That court reversed my conviction
and sentence in 1982. I then was re-tried in 1983 and
again convicted of capital murder and sentenced to
death. Once again, I had a mandatory, automatic direct
appeal. In 1989, the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals
denied my direct appeal and, two years later, in 1991
denied a motion for rehearing. Thereafter, new
attorneys took over my case and state and federal
habeas appeals were filed. '

3. So far four different death warrants (setting my
execution dates) have been issued in my case. The
first date was in July of 1992. The second date was in
October of 1992. The third date was in December of
1992. Each of those execution dates was stayed by the
state or federal courts. My fourth execution date is
now pending.

4. The many years that I have spent on death row have
been filled with severe stress, depression, and
anxiety. The experience of the third execution date
was the most traumatic for me. I came within a matter
of hours of being executed before that third execution
date was stayed by a federal court. After the third
date was stayed, I became very ill -- emotionally and
physically -- as a result of that traumatic experience.

5. Being on death row so long has been an emotional

roller coaster for me. There have been times when I
have had great hope that I would win a new trial cr
have my death sentence commuted. But there have also
been countless times when I have believed that the
State was actually going to kill me. Preparing for
death is a draining experience, both emotionally and
spiritually. It should be something that a person has
to do only once in a lifetime. I have had to do that
many times since being on death row during these many
years. I’ve also had to watch my loved ones experience
similar pain.

6. Death row is one of the loneliest, most miserable
places on the earth. It is not only miserable because
you know the state is planning on killing you, but also
because you see the state killing other human beings
around you. There have been approximately 90
executions in Texas since I’ve been here. My inmate
identification number is 591. The guys that they’re
bringing to death row now have their inmate
identification numbers in the 1100s. A lot of time has
passed, almost two decades, since I’ve been here. I
was a young man when I was arrested. Now I’m
approaching my middle aged years.

7. There have been countless times that I have been
unable to eat or sleep because of the never-ending
stress that I have felt during my lengthy time on death
row. Depression and anxiety always follows you around.
You never seem to be able to escape it here. I
regularly have had nightmares. I have them almost
every night when I have had an execution date pending.

8. Although one of my attorneys, Brent Newton, typed
this affidavit, it reflects what I have said. I have
carefully read this over before signing it.

Affiant further sayeth not.

APPENDIX B

CITY ot DIFFEKUVANGE, GKAND DUCHY of LUXEMP/™IRG (EUROPE).

AFFIDAVIT

Comes now the Affiant, Josette TILLING, and states the following :

1.

My name is Josette TILLING. I am a citizen of Luxembourg, a country in
Europe. I am over the age of 21 and am otherwise competent to make this
affidavit.

I have known a Texas death row inmate named Clarence LACKEY for over four
years. Since January 1991, I have corresponded with him by mail. In the
first two years of knowing Clarence, I corresponded with him on a weekly
basis; since December of 1992, I have corresponded with Clarence on a
nearly daily basis. He has written me letters nearly every other over
day for the last two years. I have also flown to the U.S.A. in order to
visit personally with Clarence on numerous occasions at the Ellis One
Unit in Huntsville, Texas. I have personally visited with Clarence on
18 different occasions at the prison, for approximately 80 total hours.
Although we are not related, I feel like Clarence is a close relative.
He has opened up his life to me. I love him very much.

. Since I have known Clarence, he has had four execution dates set by the

Texas courts. The first date was in July of 1992. The second date was
in October of 1992. The third date was in December of 1992. Each execution
date was ultimately stayed by the courts. Clarence's fourth execution
date is now pending.

. In letters and in personal visits, Clarence has told me about what he

felt when those execution dates were scheduled and then stayed. I have
also observed the effect of the repeated dates on Clarence. The repeated
execution dates have caused Clarence severe stress, depression, anxiety,
and fear. The experience of the third execution date was the most trauma-
tic for Clarence. He came within seven hours of being executed before
that third execution date was stayed by a court. Clarence became very
ill — emotionally, mentally, and physically — as a result of that expe-
rience. After this latest execution was scheduled in early 1995, Clarence
has become extremely depressed and scared of dying. What has really trauma-
tized Clarence is the repeated nature of the execution dates scheduled
between 1992-1995. Clarence’s pain has also been the result of the fact
that he has spent nearly two decades on death row, waiting to die.

"=o 1"V

TILLING Affiday

APPENDIX C

5. Clarence has limited intellectual abilities. There was evidence at his
trial that he suffers from borderline or mild mental retardation. In many
ways, he is very much like a little boy. It is my opinion that his stress
and anxiety caused by the repeated execution dates and the length of ti-
me that he has been on death row have been increased because of Clarence's

limited intellectual abilities.

Y
Affiant further sayeth aot. , ,
uu
oA tin por
(

Josett¢ TILLING )

SWORN AND SUBSCRIBED BEFORE ME ON THIS 7** DAY OF FEBRUARY, 1995.

APOSTILLE
(Convention de la Haye du 5 octobre 1961)
Le présent acte public

2. @ été signe par He &
3. agissant en quslité de... ae

4. est revétu du sceeu/timbre de.

Attesté

5.4 Luxembourg gj 14 FEV. 1995
aad Ministére

9. Scua. tiie: 10. Signature:

ete eee ee e

X
‘a

du Service des Passeports,
Visas et Légalisations

2

and psychological upact of this experience, for it only
reveals that which it is to be expected. These men are not
alone in their suffering for there are now 23 prisoners in
death row who have been awaiting execution for more than
ten years and 8? prisoners who have been awaiting

execution for more than five years. It is against this ~

disturbing background that their Lordships must now
determine this constitutional appeal and must in particular
re-examine the correctness of the majority decision in Riley
v. Attorney-General of Jamaica [1983] 1 A.C. 719.

The death penalty.

The death penalty in the United Kingdom has always been
carried out expeditiously after sentence, within a matter of
weeks or in the event of an appeal even to the House of

Lords within a matter of months. Delays in terms of years
are unheard of.

In earlier times execution for murder, as opposed to other
capital offences, followed immediately after conviction. In
1752 An Act for better preventing the horrid Crime of
Murder (25 Geo. 2, ¢.37) provided that all persons
convicted of murder should be executed on the next day but
one after sentence, unless convicted on Friday_in which
case they were to be executed on Monday and kept in
solitary confinement upon bread and water until executed.
The extreme rigour of this regime of immediate execution for
murder was re-enacted in the Offences against the Person
Act 1828 (9 Geo. 4, ¢.31) but was repealed by the Act of
1836 (6 Will. 4, c.30) “more effectually to preserve from an
irrecoverable Punishment any Persons who may hereafter be
convicted upon erroneous or perjured Evidence" and it was
enacted that henceforth sentence of death in murder cases
should be pronounced in the same manner and the judge

should have the same powers as after convictions for other
capital offences.

In England the practice in capital cases, henceforth
including murder, was for the sheriff to fix a date of
execution in the fourth week after the death sentence was
passed. In Scotland, the date of execution was fixed by the
court under section 2 of the Criminal Law (Scotland) Act
1830: if sentence was pronounced south of the Forth, it was
fixed between 15 and 21 days hence, and if north of the
Forth, between 20 and 27 days hence. In both England and.
Scotland the Court of Appeal heard an appeal in a capital
case within three weeks of verdict. If the appeal was
unsuccessful a revised execution date was set not less than
14 or more than 18 days after the day when the appeal was
dismissed, in order to allow the Secretary of State time to
decide whether the sentence should be commuted. The
Report of the Royal Commission on Capital Punishment 1949-
53 (Cmd. 8932) gave the average delay in 1950 as six weeks
if there was an appeal and three weeks if there was not.

In 1947 there was great public disquiet that men
convicted of a murder on the Gold Coast had been under

6

Sea na le

3

sentence of death for two years. The matter was debated
in Parliament and the Colonial Secretary gave an
assurance to the House that the rules and practice to be
adopted in the Colonies should be quite sufficient to
prevent a repetition of the happenings in the Gold Coast.
The concern expressed by members of Parliament in the
course of the debate reflected the expectation that the
Colonies would follow the long established practice in this
country that execution would not be long delayed after
sentence. Mr. Winston Churchill expressed the sentiment
of the House when he said “people ought not to be
brought up to execution, or believe that they are to be
executed, time after time whether innocent or guilty,
however it may be, whatever their crime. That is a
wrong thing™.

The rules and practice referred to by the Colonial
Secretary were those that laid down a strict timetable for
appeals to the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council and
provided that execution would only be stayed so long as
the timetable was adhered to. Such rules were in force in
Jamaica-before independence and were adopted after
independence by the Governor-General in PriVy Council
on 14th August 1962; it will in due course be necessary to
consider why they were-noet-followed in this case.

Delay of the character which has occurred in this case
had never happened in Jamaica before independence.
Appendix C of the appellants’ case contains a schedule
showing the time that elapsed between the date of
conviction, appeal and execution in 40 capital cases
immediately after independence between the years 1962
and 1970. The time is never more than 18 months and
usually considerably shorter. The Solicitor-General felt
unable to accept the accuracy of this schedule, but no
figures were submitted to contradict it, and their
Lordships accept it as showing that the delays that are
now being encountered in the execution of the death
penalty are of fairly recent origin.

It is difficult to envisage any circumstances in which in
England a condemned man would have been kept in prison
for years awaiting execution. But if sucha situation had
been brought to the attention of the court their Lordships
do not doubt that the judges would have stayed the
execution to enable the prerogative of mercy to be
exercised and the sentence commuted to one of life
imprisonment. Prior to independence, applying the
English common law, judges in Jamaica would have had
the like power to stay a long delayed execution, as
foreshadowed by Lord Diplock in Abbott v. Attorney-
General of Trinidad and Tobago [1979] 1 W.L.R. 1342
when he said at page 1348:-

“In such a case, which is without precedent and, in
their Lordships’ view, would involve delay measured
in years, rather than in months, it might be argued
that the taking of the condemned man's life was not
“by due process of law’ ."

4,

And as was asserted by Lord Templeman in Bell v. D.P.P-
[1985] A.C. 937 where at page 950 he said:-

“Their Lordships do not in any event accept the
submission that prior to the Constitution the law of
Jamaica, applying the common law of England, was

era pg to provide a remedy against unreasonable
e ay.”

The Chronology.

It is now necessary to consider and comment upon the
course of events that has resulted in the inordinate delay
that has occurred in this case.

The murder was committed on Sth October 1977 and the
appellants were sentenced to death on 15th January 1979.
Their application for leave to appeal was dismissed by the
Court of Appeal on Sth December 1980 who said that they
would hand down their reasons later. Although notice of
application for leave to appeal was given within three days
of the conviction on 18th January 1979, it took almost two
years to arrange a hearing by the Court of Appeal. Making
every allowance for the pressure of work on the Jamaican
courts this does seem a long time to arrange a-hearing in a
capital case which one would have expected to have been
expedited. On their application for leave to appeal the
appellants both asked that the Court of Appeal should
assign legal aid tothem. The appeal was listed for hearing
before the appellants had been assigned legal aid and had
to be taken out of the list on their application on 28th May
1980 so that they might be legally represented. On the
following day, 29th May 1980, a legal aid certificate was
issued and counsel were assigned to the appellants. It
appears therefore that at least part of the delay in hearing
the appeal was attributable to the failure to issue a legal aid
certificate at a much earlier date.

On 7th January 1981, a month after their application for
leave to appeal was dismissed, the appellants wrote to the
Registrar of the Court of Appeal requesting that the
necessary papers be made available to their Attorneys-at-
law so that whenever they wished they could take the case
to the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council. On 30th
January the Registrar replied to say she had spoken to
their Attorney-at-law, Mr. Eric Frater, who had advised
her that he was endeavouring to take their matter to the
Privy Council in England.

It was at this stage, after the dismissal of their
application by the Court of Appeal, that their Lordships
would have expected the Governor-General to refer the case
to the Jamaican Privy Council (JPC) to advise him whether
or not the men should be executed in accordance with
sections 90 and 91 of the Constitution which provide: -

“90.-(1) The Governor-General may, in Her Majesty's
name and on Her Majesty's behalf -

ia

c
J

(a) grant to any person convicted of any
offence against the law of Jamaica a
pardon, either free or subject to lawful
conditions;

(b) grant to any person a respite, either
indefinite or for a specified period, from
the execution of any punishment imposed
on that person for such an offence;

(c) substitute a less severe form of punishment
for that imposed on any person for such an
offence; or

(d) remit the whole or part of any punishment
imposed on any person for such an offence
or any penalty or forfeiture otherwise due
to the Crown on account of such an
offence.

(2) Im the exercise of the powers conferred on
him by this section the Governor-Generalshall act
on the recommendation of the Privy Council.

91.(1) Where any person has been sentenced to
death for an offence against the law of Jamaica, the
Governor-General shall cause a written report of the
case from the trial judge, together with such other
information derived from the record of the case or
elsewhere as the Governor-General may require, to
be forwarded to the Privy Council so that the Privy
Council may advise him in accordance with the
provisions of section 90 of this Constitution.

(2) The power of requiring information
conferred on the Governor-General by subsection
(1) of this section shall be exercised by him on the
recommendation of the Privy Council or, in any case
in which in his judgement the matter is too urgent to
admit of such recommendation being obtained by the
time within which it may be necessary for him to act,
in his discretion."

These sections are included in the Constitution against
the background of the pre-existing common law practice
that execution followed as swiftly as practical after
sentence. They must be construed as imposing a duty on
the Governor-General to refer the case to the JPC and
the JPC to give their advice as soon as practical. In the
ordinary course of events the Governor-General should
refer a capital case to the JPC immediately after the
appeal is dismissed by the Court of Appeal, unless there
exist some special circumstances such as a moratorium
upon the execution of all death sentences or a decision is
awaited in another case of either the Judicial Committee
of the Privy Council or a human rights body that may
affect the view of the JPC. The Instructions approved
by the Governor-General in Privy Council date? 14th

6

August 1962 for dealing with applications from or on behalf
of prisoners under sentence of death for special leave to
appeal to the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council are
written upon the premise that the date for execution has
already been set and will only be postponed if the prisoner
adheres _to the strict timetable contained in the
instructions. It is implicit in these Instructions that, by
the time the prisoner has taken advice as to whether or not
he should petition the Judicial Committee of the Privy
Council in England, a decision will already have been taken
by the JPC as to whether or not he should be executed or
reprieved. There is no indication that the letter written to
the Registrar on 7th January 1981 was brought to the notice
of the Governor-General, and certainly no intimation in
writing was sent to the Governor-General of an intention to
apply to the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council as
required by the Instructions.

Their Lordships were surprised to learn from the written
submissions of the respondents that the procedure set out
in the 1962 Instructions is no longer adhered to. The
respondents say:-

“The appellants in keeping with what had now become
established practice gave no intimation .to the
Governor-General of his intention to apply for special
leave. That procedure had long fallen into disuse; it
was a relic of history; it was obsolete; it was not
required by law. The practice was now to apply
directly to the Registrar of the Court of Appeal so that

papers could be sent directly to the solicitors in
London.”

Their Lordships can perceive no reason why the
appeilants’ case should not have been referred to the JPC
for a decision early in 1981. A reason for a short period of
delay after the decision of the Court of Appeal in December
1980 may be found in the political debate on the desirability
of retaining the death sentence in Jamaica which resulted in
a resolution of the Senate on 9th February 1979 to suspend
all executions for a period of eighteen months pending the
report of a Committee of inquiry. The Committee of Inquiry
was appointed in June 1979. Before the Committee
reported, an execution took place on 27th August 1980
which drew a protest to the JPC from the Chairman of the
Committee. No further executions took place before the
Committee reported in March 1981. On 12th May 1981
executions were resumed. The JPC must have considered
and advised on the 12th May execution shortly after the
Committee reported in March and it is difficult to see why at
about that time they should not have considered and
advised upon the appellants’ case.

it is true that on 12th June 1981 Pratt petitioned the
Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (LACHR) but
it would not appear that the Jamaican authorities were aware
of this until the LACHR wrote to the Government of Jamaica
requesting information about Pratt's case on 17th February
1953. So these proceedings provide no answer to the

os

/

question why the JPC did not consider the appellants’
case in 1981.

If the case had been considered by the JPC at that time
and an execution date had been fixed their Lordships
have little doubt that this would have galvanised the
appellants and their legal advisers into pursuing their
application for leave to appeal to the Judicial Committee
of the Privy Council. As it was, no date was set for
execution and matters were allowed to drift on; whether
this was a deliberate policy adopted by the appellants and
their advisers or, as seems more likely, due to the
appellants’ lack of access to legal advice, cannot be
determined with any certainty.

Pratt showed renewed interest in the possibility of an
appeal to the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council
when he wrote on 23rd March 1984 to an English Member
of Parliament to enquire about his right to appeal to the
Privy Council and received advice in the form of a letter
written by the Registrar to the Judicial Committee of the
Privy Council which was forwarded to him on.l/th May.
Pratt then on 16th August wrote to the Registrar of the

transpired that no reasons had yet been prepared by the
judge to whom the writing of the judgment had been
assigned. The papers had apparently been put in the
wrong bundle and forgotten. This was a serious
oversight by the judge and by those in the office of the
Court of Appeal who should have reminded him that
reasons had not been provided in accordance with the
practice of the Court of Appeal, which is to provide a
reserved judgment or reasons within three months of a
hearing. Prompted by Pratt's request reasons were
quickly prepared and handed down on 24th September
1984. No immediate steps were, however, taken to
petition the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council.

On 3rd October the LACHR rejected Pratt's submission
that his trial was unfair; but recommended that his
sentence be commuted for humanitarian reasons.

Again their Lordships do not understand why the case
was not then referred to the JPC to advise whether or not
the execution should proceed. However it was not and
1985 appears to have been a year of total inactivity.

On 28th January 1985 Pratt petitioned the United
Nations Human Rights Committee under the International
Covenant on Civil and Political Rights.

On 13th March 1986 the appellants lodged notice of
intention to petition for special leave to appeal to the
Judicial Committee of the Privy Council. The application
for special leave was heard with reasonable dispatch and
special leave to appeal was refused by the Judicial
Committee of the Privy Council on 17th July 1986. Rule 5

8

of the Judicial Committee (General Appellate Jurisdiction)
Rules Order 1982 requires that a petition for special leave
should be lodged as soon as possible after judgment. This
was certainly not done in this case; but the requirement
appears to have been ‘waived without comment.

In dismissing the application Lord Templeman expressed
the concern of the Judicial Committee that three years and
nine months had elapsed between the dismissal of the appeal
and the delivery of the reasons. He said:-

“On Sth December, 1980 the Court of Appeal dismissed
the petitioner's appeal against conviction and the
sentence of death for murder and promised to put their
reasons for so doing in writing. Those reasons were
not delivered until three years and nine months later,
namely on 24th September, 1984. During the whole of
that period the appellant had sentence of death
hanging over him and, of course, no action could be
taken on his behalf, or on behalf of the authorities,
pending the possibility of an appeal to this Board
which could only be considered when those reasons had
been delivered.”

As Rowe P. pointed out in his judgment in the Court of
Appeal this comment was -_ pone accurate and
undoubtedly misled the two international bodies to whom the
appellants petitioned. In practice it is necessary to have
the reasons of the Court of Appeal available at the hearing
of the application for special leave to appeal, as without
them it is not usually possible to identify the point of law or
serious miscarriage of justice of which the appellant
complains. The availability of the reasons is not, however
a condition precedent to lodging an application for special
leave to appeal. Their Lordships have no doubt that if an
application for special leave to appeal had been lodged
together with a request for the reasons they would have
been swiftly delivered as they were when Pratt finally
requested them in 1984. Although it is most regrettable
that the Court of Appeal overlooked the delivery of its
reasons for dismissing the appeal, it is not possible to
attribute the delay in lodging the notice of application for

leave to appeal to the Judicial Committ i
Council to the lack of reasons. sacri taed

On 2st July 1986 the UNHRC re i
quested Jamaica not to
carry out the death sentence on Pratt and Morgan before it

had an opportunity to consider t ibili
complaint . y er the admissibility of the

On 18th November 1986 the JPC, a i
; » apparently for the first
time, considered the appellants’ case. They did not accede
to the request of the UNHRC to stay the execution and the

first warrant of execution was issued on 12
- th
for execution on 24th February. February 1987

On 23cd February the Governor-General issued a stay of
pesoutien. The reasons for the stay are not entirely clear
ut may have been the result of a telegram from the UNHRC

‘Sa -

9

urging a stay of execution and a letter from Mr. Noel
Edwards Q.C., to the Governor-General informing him
that the case of the appellants was due to be considered
by the UNHRC on 23rd March 1987 and the [ACHR on 26th
March 1987.

The Superintendent of the Saint Catherine District
Prison at that time says in his affidavit that he was
informed of the stay by telephone at 4.30 p.m. on 23rd
February and ten minutes later informed the appellants in
the condemned cell and that as soon as he received
written confirmation about twenty minutes later the men
were removed from the condemned cell and returned to
death row. The appellants in their affidavits say that
they were not informed of the stay until 45 minutes before
they were due to be executed on the orning of 24th
February. This is a dispute which their Lordships
cannot resolve on the affidavit evidence.

On 9th July 1987 the LACHR pursuant to further
representations of Pratt and Morgan informed the
Jamaican government of the following findings: -

“Pratt and Morgan suffered a denial of justice during
the period 1980-1984<violative of Article 5(2) of the
American Convention on Human Rights. The
Commission found that the fact that the Jamaican
Court of Appeal issued its decision on December 5
1980 but did not issue the reasons for that decision
until four years later, September 24, 1984, was
tantamount to cruel, inhuman and degrading
treatment because during that four year delay the
petitioners could not appeal to the Privy Council and
had to suffer four years on death row awaiting
execution.

The Inter-American Commission on Human Rights,
pursuant to its cable of July 7 1987 requests that the
execution of Messrs. Pratt and Morgan be commuted
for humanitarian reasons.”

This decision, as has already been explained was based
on a misunderstanding of the appellants’ right to appeal
to the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council.

On 13th October 1987 the JPC reconsidered the
appellants’ case. They did not accede to the request of
the LACHR and on their advice the second warrant of
execution was issued on 18th February 1988 for execution
on Ist March.

On 29th February 1988 the second stay of execution
was issued by the Governor-General. This time ut
appears to have been as a cesult of a further request
from the UNHRC not to execute the men until the
Committee had completed their review of the case.

10

On 24th March the UNHRC decided that the appellants’
case was admissible contrary to the submission of the
Jamaican government that the appellants had not yet
exhausted their domestic remedies and requested Jamaica
not to carry out the death sentence until -he Committee had
arrived at their decision on the merits. Their Lordships
observe that it had taken over two years for the Committee
to determine that the case was admissible. The ground
upon which the Jamaican government had opposed the
appellants’ submission is stated in paragraph 6(4) of the
Committee's decision :-

“The State party contends that the authors’
communications are inadmissible because they have
failed to exhaust domestic remedies as required by
Article 5(2) (b) of the Optional Protocol. It points out
that in respect of the authors’ complaints - breach of
the right to trial without undue delay and breach of the
right to protection against subjection to torture or
cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment - it would have
been open to the authors to apply to the Supreme Court
for redress alleging breaches of these fundamental
rights protected by sections 17 and 20(1) of the
Jamaican Constitution respectively.“

Their Lordships find this a puzzling stance to te taken by
the Jamaican government in view of their successful
submission in Riley v. Attorney-General of Jamaica (supra)
that delay in carrying out execution could afford no ground
for holding the execution to be in breach of the Jamaican
Constitution; unless it is perhaps to be construed as an
encouragement to the appellants to challenge the decision in
Riley and seek relief under the Constitution. This,
however, seems to be unlikely in view of the Solicitor-
General's formidable argument before their Lordships in
support of the majority reasoning in Riley. What is certain
is that it added to the delay in the Committee dealing with
the case on the merits.

On 6th April 1989 the UNHRC gave their decision on the
merits. They held that the failure of the Court of Appeal to
deliver reasons for 45 months was a violation of Article 14
para. 3(c) and Article 14 para. 5 of the International
Covenant on Civil and Political Rights and Optional Protocol
which are in the following terms: -

“3. In the determination of any criminal charge against
him, everyone shall be entitled to the following
minimum guarantees, in full equality: ...

(c) To be tried without undue delay.

5. Everyone convicted of a crime shall have the right
to his conviction and sentence being reviewed by a
higher tribunal according to law.”

The Committee gave the following reasons for their
decision :-

“13.4 The State party has contended that the time
span of three years and nine months between the
dismissa_ of the authors’ appeal and the delivery of
the Court of Appeal's written judgement was
attributable to an oversight and that the authors
should have asserted their right to receive earlier
the written judgement. The Committee considers
that the responsibility for the delay of 45 months lies
with the judicial authorities of Jamaica. This
responsibility is neither dependent on a request for
production by the accused in a trial nor is non-
fulfilment of this responsibility excused by the
absence of a request from the accused. The
Committee further observes that the Privy Council
itself described the delay as inexcusable (see para.
2.3 above).

13.5 In the absence of a written judgement of the
Court of Appeal, the authors were not able to
proceed to appeal before the Privy Council, thus
entailing a violation of article 14, paragraph 3(c),
and article 14, paragraph 5. In reaching this
conclusion it matters not that in the event the Privy
Council affirmed the conviction of the authors. The
Committee notes thatda all cases, and especially in
capital cases, accused persons are entitled to trial
and appeal without undue delay, whatever the
outcome of those judicial proceedings turns out to

lt seems to their Lordships unlikely that the Committee
would have made this finding if they had not been misled
into believing that the delay in giving reasons prevented
an appeal to the Privy Council.

The Committee also found a violation of Article 7 which
provides: -

“No one shall be subjected to torture or to cruel,”
inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment. In
particular, no one shall be subjected without his free
consent to medical or scientific experimentation .“

The Committee gave their reasons as follows: -

“13.6 There are two issues concerning article 7
before the Committee: the first is whether the
excessive delays in judicial proceedings constituted
not only a violation of article 14, but ‘cruel, inhuman
and degrading treatment’. The possibility that such
a delay as occurred in this case could constitute
cruel and inhu.aan treatment was referred to by the
Privy Council. In principle prolonged judicial
proceedings do no per se constitute cruel, inhuman
ovr degrading treatment even if they can be a source
of mental strain for the convicted prisoners.
However, the situation could be otherwise in cases
involving capital punishment and an assessment of
the circumstances of each case would be necessary.

12

in the pcesent cases the Committee does not find that
the authors have suff iciently substantiated their claim
that delay in judicial proceedings constitutea for them
are inhuman and degrading treatment under article

13.7 The second issue under article 7 concerns the
issue of warrants for execution and the notification of
the stay of execution. The issue of a warrant for
execution necessarily causes intense anguish to the
individual concerned. In the authors case, death
warrants were issued twice by the Governor-General,
first on 13 February -957 aad again on 23 February
1988. It is uncontested that the decision to grant a

first stay of execution, taken at noon on 23 February |

1987, was not notified to the authors until 45 minutes
before the scheduled time of the execution on 24
February 1987. The Committee considers that a delay
of close to 10 hours from the time the stay of execution
was granted to the time the authors were removed from
their death cell constitutes cruel and inhuman
treatment within the meaning of article 7."

The Committee did not know that this allegation was
strenuously denied by the Jamaican government. The
Solicitor—General has told their Lordships that the Jamaican
government did not know that this allegation had been made
to the Committee on behalf of Pratt and Morgan and that if
the government had known of it they would have put in
affidavit evidence denying it. If that had been done their
Lordships surmise that the Committee, like their Lordships,
might have found it difficult to resolve the conflict of
evidence and thus to find a violation of Article 7 on the
ground of delay of notification in the stay of execution.

The Committee made the following recommendation: -

“It is the view of the Committee that, in capital
punishment cases, States parties have an imperative
duty to observe rigorously all the guarantees for a fair
trial set out in article 14 of the Covenant. Although in
this case article 6 is not directly at issue, in that
capital punishment is not per se unlawful under the
Covenant, it should not be imposed in circumstances
where there have been violations by the State party of
any of its obligations under the Covenant. The
Committee is of the view that the victims of the
violations of articles 14, paragraph 3(c), and 7 are
entitled to a remedy; the necessary prerequisite in the

particular circumstances is the commutation of the
sentence.”

Eighteen months then passed before a decision was taken
by the JPC on this recommendation of the UNHRC. Press
reports of Parliamentary proceedings show that in June 1990
the question of the death penalty was under review by the
Cabinet but that no conclusions had yet been reached on
commuting sentences.

13

On 17th September 1990 the JPC again reconsidered the
appellants’ case. They rejected the recommendations
made eighteen months earlier by the UNHRC. On 18th
February 1991 the warrant of execution was issued for
execution on 7th March 1991, the delay in issuing the
warrant of execution from 17th September 1990 to 18th
February 1991 apparently being accounted for by the
wish of the Governor-General to obtain the Attorney-
General's advice on the legal status of decisions of human
rights bodies. This is advice which it would have been
appropriate to place before the members of the JPC at a
much earlier date, and before they considered any
recommendations of such bodies. Their Lordships have
not seen the Attorney-General's advice but do not doubt
that it correctly advised that, Jamaica being a signatory
to the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights
and to the Optional Protocoi, the views of the UNHRC
should be afforded weight and respect but were not of
legally binding effect; and that the like considerations
applied to the L[ACHR.

On 28th February 1991 the appellants commenced these
proceedings pursuant to section 25 of the Constitution
and as a result the execution set for 7th March was
stayed. On 14th June the Supreme Court dismissed their
application.

On 8th June 1992 the Court of Appeal dismissed their
appeal and on 18th January 1993 gave leave to appeal to
the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council.

The primary submission of the appellants is that to
hang them after they have been held im prison under
sentence of death for so many years would be inhuman
punishment or other treatment and thus in breach of
section 17(1) of the Constitution.

Section 17 of the Constitution provides: -

“17.-(1) No person shall be subjected to torture or to
inhuman or degrading punishment or other
treatment.

(2) Nothing contained in or done under the
authority of any law shall be held to be inconsistent
with or in contravention of this section to the extent
that the law in question authorises the infliction of
any description of punishment which was lawful tn
Jamaica immediately before the appointed day.”

This submission cannot succeed unless their Lordships
are pecsuaded to prefer the construction of section 17(2)
adopted by the munority in Riley v. A.C. of Jamica to
that of the majority. The five appellants in A&tley had
been sentenced to death and held in custody for between
six and seven years before their appeal was heard by the
Privy Council. They submitted that to execute them al tec
such a prolonged delay would contravene Chew rights

14

undas sem 17(1) of the Constitution. By a majority the
atone A eg ejected this submission because they
. cu section 17(2) as authorising execution by

anging for murder no matier how long the delay between

the passing of the sentence and th :
of Harwich said at page 726: - e execution. Lord Bridge

“The question, therefore, is whether the d
execution of a sentence of death by hanging, Bana
it could otherwise be described as ‘inhuman or
degrading punishment or other treatment’ - a question
on which their Lordships need express no opinion - can
escape the unambiguous prohibition imposed bv the
words in section 17(2) emphasised as follows: _

‘Nothing contained in or done under th

of any law shall be held to be inconsis a uthes
in contravention of this section to the extent that
the law in question authorises the infliction of any
description of punishment which was lawful in
Jamaica immediately before the appointed day.'

An act will fall within this prohibition if it satisf

three related conditions, viz.: (a) it must be an aa
done under the authority of law; (b) it must be an act
involving the infliction of punishment of-adescription
authorised by the law in question, being a description
of punishment which was lawful in Jamaica immediately
before the appointed day; (c) it must not exceed in
extent the description of punishment so authorised.

There can be no doubt whatever that
execution would satisfy conditions (a) and Ag
only words in section 17(2) that are even arguably
ambiguous are the words ‘to the extent that’. It seems
to their Lordships that in their context these words
pose the question: to what extent did the law in
; Jamaica before independence authorise the description
of punishment which is under challenge? This question
can only be answered by asking in turn the further
question: if the like description of punishment had
been inflicted in the like circumstances before
independence, would this have been authorised by law?
An obvious instance of a description of punishment
exceeding in extent that authorised by law would be
the execution of a death sentence by burning at the
stake. But since the legality of a delayed execution by
hanging of a sentence of death lawfully imposed under
section 3(1) of the Offences against the Person Act
could never have been questioned before
independence, their Lord sen
it satisfies condition (c) yo tI =
reasons for oc length of delay in executing a sentence
of death lawfully imposed, the delay can afford no

ground for holding the execution t
ae eantten 17) o be a contravention

15

This construction of section 17(2) focuses on the act of
punishment, and proceeds upon the assumption that the
legality of a long delayed execution could never have
been questioned before independence. Their Lordships,
having had the benefit of much fuller argument, cannot
accept that there could have been no challenge toa long
delayed execution before independence and for the
reasons already given are satisfied that such an
execution could hewe been stayed as an abuse of process.
The due process « law does not end with pronouncement
of sentence - see Abbott v. Attorney-General of Trinidad
and Tobago (1979) 1 W.L.R. 1342.

The minority, who would have allowed the appeal,
adopted a narrower construction of section 17(2) which
limited the scope of the sub-section to authorising the
passing of a judicial sentence of a description of
punishment lawful in Jamaica before independence and
they held it was not concerned with the act of the
executive in carrying out the punishment.

Their-Lordships are satisfied that the construction of
section 17(2) adopted by the minority is to be preferred.
The purpose of section 17(2) is to preserve all
descriptions of punishment »lawful immediately before
independence and to prevent them from being attacked
under section 17(1) as inhuman or degrading forms of
punishment or treatment. Thus, as hanging was the
description of punishment for murder provided by
Jamaican law immediately before independence, the death
sentence for murder cannot be held to be an inhuman
description of punishment for murder.

Section 17(2) does not address the question of delay
and is not dealing with the problem that arises from delay
in carrying out the sentence. The primary purpose of
the Constitution was to entrench and enhance pre-
existing rights and freedoms, not to curtail them. Before
independence the law would have protected a Jamaican
citizen from being executed after an unconscionable
delay, and their Lordships are unwilling to adopt a
construction of the Constitution that results in depriving
Jamaican citizens of that protection.

The majority also relied upon the judgment of the Board
in de Freitas v. Benny (1976) A.C. 239. In that case
which concerned the construction of the Constitution of
Trinidad and Tobago the time scale was wholly different
from the present case. The appellant had been sentenced
to death in August 1972 and his constitutional appeal was
heard and determined by the Privy Council in May 1975.
Their Lordships in de Freitas v. Benny said that they
had difficulty in formulating the appellants’ argument
based on delay: but it appears to have been founded
upon a submission that as the time between sentence and
execution was before independence on average five
months, an execution that involved a delay longec than
this was open to attack as cruel and unusual punishment .

16

Their Lordships dismissed this argument without calling on
the respondents. Both the argument and the extent of the
delay are so different from the present appeal that their

Lordships are unable to gain any assistance from this
decision.

Their Lordships will therefore depart from Riley and hold
that section 17(2) is confined to authorising descriptions of
punishment for which the court may pass sentence and does
not prevent the appellant from arguing that the
circumstances in which the executive intend to carry out a
sentence are in breach of section 17(1).

The Court of Appeal rightly held that they were bound by
the majority decision in Rileyand ‘/d not therefore consider
whether the appellants had been subjected to inhuman or
degrading punishment or treatment within the meaning of
section 17(1). It is however to this question which is
central to this appeal that their Lordships must now turn.

There is an instinctive revulsion against the prospect of
hanging a man after he has been held under sentence of
death for many years. What gives rise to this instinctive
revulsion? The answer can only be our humanity; we
regard it as an inhuman act to keep a man facing-the agony
of execution over a long extended period of time. But
before their Lordships condemn the act of execution as
“inhuman or degrading punishment or other treatment”
within the meaning of section 17(1) there are a number of
factors that have to be balanced in weighing the delay. If
delay is due entirely to the fault of the accused such as an
escape from custody or frivolous and time wasting resort to
legal procedures which amount to an abuse of process the
accused cannot be allowed to take advantage of that delay
for to do so would be to permit the accused to use
illegitimate means to escape the punishment inflicted "pon
him in the interest of protecting society against crime.

A much more difficult question is whether the delay
occasioned by the legitimate resort of the accused to all
available appellate procedures should be taken into account,
or whether it is only delay that can be attributed to the
shortcomings of the State that should be taken into account.

There is a powerful argument that it cannot be inhuman
or degrading to allow an accused every opportunity to
prolong his life by resort to appellate procedures however
extended may be the eventual time between sentence and
execution. This is the view that currently prevails in some
States in the United States of America and has resulted in
what has become known as the death row phenomenon where
men are held under sentence of death for many years while
their lawyers pursue a multiplicity of appellate procedures.
Powerf ul statements in support of this point of view appear
in the opinion of Circuit Judge O'Scannlain in Richmond v.
Lewis (1990) 948 F. 2d. 1473, a decision of the United States
Couct of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, and in the judgment
of La Forest J. in Kindler v. Canada (Minister of Justice)

——-

i7

~

(1991) 67 C.C.C. (3d) 1, a decision of the Supreme Court
of Canada. A further vaiuabie analysis of tne decisions
in the United States Courts appears in the judgment or
the Supreme Court of Zimbabwe in Catholic Commisston
for Justice and Peace in Zimbabwe v. The Attorney
General and Others (Judgment No. S.C. 73/93,
unreported, delivered on 24th June 1993).

Support for this view is also to be found in previous
decisions of the Privy Council. In Abbott v. A.G. of
Trinidad and Tobago {1979}; 1 W.L.R. i342 an
unsuccessful appeai against the death sentence was made
upon the ground that the period of eight months taken to
reject the petition for reprieve infringed the appeilant's
constitutional rights. The appeal was heara by the Privy
Council on 4th April 1979 nearly six years after the
convicuon on 16th July i973. In delivering the judgment
of the Board, Lord Diplock said at page 1345:-

“That so long a total period should have been allowea
to elapse between the passing of a death sentence
and its being carried out is, in their Lordships"
view, greatly to be deplored. It brings the
administration of criminal justice into disrepute
among law-abiding citizens. Nevertheless their
Lordships doubt whether it is realistic to suggest
that from the point of view of the condemned man
himself he would wish to expedite the final decision
as to whether he was to die or not uf he thought that
there was a serious risk that the decision would be
unfavourable. While there's life, there's hope. At
any rate, as inde Freitas v. Benny {1976] A.C. 239,
it has to be conceded that the applicant cannot
complain about the delay totalling three years
preceding his petition for pardon caused by nis own
action in appealing against his conviction oc about
the delay cotaliing two years suDsequent to the
rejection of his petition caused by his own action in
appealing against tne sentence on constitutional
grounds. His case as advanced before their
Lordships has depended solely on the period of
somewhat less than eight months sandwiched between
the two longer periods, which was ailowed by the
state to elapse between the lodging of his petition for
pardon and its reicction by the President. This it is
claimed amounted to deiay so inordinate as to involve
a contravention of his constitutional rights."

In Rtley Lord Bridge of Harwich said at page 724:-

“Apart from the delays necessarily occasioned by the
appeliate procedures pursued dy tne applicant (of
which it couid hardly lie in any applicant's mouth to
compiain) .“

Lord Scarman anda Lord Brightman concluded their
dissenting judgment by saying at page 736:-

18

“?rolonged delay when it arises from factors outside the
controi of the condemned man can render a decision to
carry Out the sentence of death an inhuman and
degrading punishment. it is, of course, for the
applicant for constitutional protection to shew that the
delay was inordinate, arose from no act of nis, and was
likely to cause such acute suffering that the infliction
of the death penalty would be in the circumstances
which had arisen inhuman or degrading.”

However, in an earher passage of their judgment at page
73S Lord Scarman and Lord Brightman said:-

“It is, of course, true that a period of anguisn and
suffering is an inevitable consequence of sentence of
death. But a proiongation of it beyond the time
necessary for appeai and consideration of reprieve is
not. And it is no answer to say that the man will
struggie to stay alive. in truth, it is this ineradicable
human desire which makes prolongation inhuman and
degrading.“

Their Lordships are therefore doubtful whether Lord
Scarman and Lord Brightman would have regarded delay
caused by appeals made within the time scale permitted by
the State as time to be left out of account in cémputing the
total period of delay.

There are other authoriues which do not accept that
delay occasioned by use of appeal procedures is to be
disregarded. in Catholic Commission for Justice and

Peace in Zimbabwe v. Attorney-General (supra) Gubbay
C.J. said:-

“It seems to me highiy artificial and unrealistic to
discount the mental agony and torment experienced on
death row on the basis that by not making the maximum
use of the judicial process available the condemned
prisoner would have shortened and not lengthened his
suffering. The situation could be otherwise if he had
resorted to a series of untenable and vexatious
proceedings which, in consequence, had the effect of
delaying the ends of justice.”

.And he expressed his dissent from the contrary view

contained in Abbott v. A.G. of Trinidad and Tobago and
Others.

In Soering v. United Kingdom (1989) 11 E-H.R.R. 439 the
applicant, a West German national, alleged that the decision
by the Secretary of State for the Home Department to
extradite him to the United Statés of America to facc trial in
Virginia on a charge of capital murder would, if
implemented, give cise to a breach by the United Kingdom
of Article 3 of the European Convention for the Protection
of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms (Cmd. 8969)
which provides that no one should be subjected to torture
or to inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment.

o~_

19

The United States had applied to the United Kingdom
to extradite the applicant to stand trial in the State of
Virginia on a charge of capital murder. The European
Court of Human Rights recognised that the death row
phenomenon in Virginia where prisoners were held for a
period of six to eight years before execution arose from
repeated applications by the prisoner for a stay of
execution but nevertheless held that such a long period
of delay might go beyond the threshold set by Article 3.

In India, where the death penalty is not mandatory,
the appellate court takes into account delay when
deciding whether the death sentence should be imposed.
In Vatheeswaran v. State of Tamil Nadu [1983] 2S.C-.R.
348 Chinnappa Reddy J. said at page 353:-

“While we entirely agree with Lord Scarman and Lord
Brightman about the dehumanising effect of
prolonged delay after the sentence of death, we
enter a little caveat, but only that we may go
further. We think that the cause of the delay is
immaterial when the sentence is death. Be the cause
for the delay, the time necessary for appeal and
consideration of reprieve or some other cause for
which the accused himself may be responsible, it
would not alter the dehumanising character of the
delay ."

The court held that delay exceeding two years in the
execution of a sentence of death should be sufficient to
entitle a person under sentence of death to demand the
quashing of his sentence on the ground that it offended
against Article 21 of the Indian Constitution which
provides “No person shall be deprived of his life or
personal liberty except according to procedure
established by law".

In Sher Singh and Others v. The State of Punjab
[1983] 2 S.C.R. 582 the court held:-

“Prolonged delay in the execution of a death sentence
is unquestionably an important consideration for
determining whether the sentence should be allowed
to be executed. But no hard and fast rule that
‘delay exceeding two years in the execution of a
sentence of death should be considered sufficient to
entitle the person under sentence of death to invoke
Article 21 and demand the quashing of the sentence
of death’ can be laid down as has been in
Vatheeswaran.“

The court pointed out that to impose a strict time limit of
two years would enable a prisoner to defeat the ends of
justice by pursuing a series of frivolous and untenable
proceedings.

In Smt. Treveniben v. State of Gujarat (1989) 1
S.C.J. 383 the Supreme Court of India approved the
judgment in Sher Stngh v. The State of Punjab and held

20

that a sentence of death wmposed by the “Apex Court”,
which wiil itseif nave taken into account delay when
imposing the death sentence, can only be set aside
thereafter upon petition to the Supreme Court upon grounds
of delay occurring after that date. Oza J. said, at page
410:- ;

“Lf, therefore, there is inordinate delay in execution,
the condemned prisoner is entitled to come to the court
requesting to examine whether, it is just and fair to
aliow the sentence of death to be executed.”

In their Lordships’ view a State that wishes to retain
capital punishment must accept the responsibility of
ensuring that execution follows as swiftly as practicable
after sentence, allowing a reasonable time for appeal and
consideration of reprieve. It is part of the human condition
that a condemned man will take every opportunity to save
his life through use of the appellate procedure. If the
appellate procedure enabies the prisoner to prolong the
appellate hearings over a period of years, the fault is to be
attributed to the appellate system that permits such delay
and not to the prisoner who takes advantage of it.
Appellate procedures that echo down the years are not
compatible with capital punishment. The death row
phenomenon must not become established as a part of our
jurisprudence.

The application of the appellants to appeal to the Judicial
Committee of the Privy Council and their petitions to the two
human rights bodies do not fall within the category of
frivolous procedures disentitling them to ask the Board to
look at the whole period of delay in this case. The total
period of delay is shocking and now amounts to almost
fourteen years. It is double the time that the European
Court of Human Rights considered would be an infringement
of Article 3 of the European Convention and their Lordships
can have no doubt that an execution would now be an
infringement of section 17(1) of the Jamaican Constitution.

To execute these men now after holding them in custody
in an agony of suspense for so many years would be
inhuman punishment within the meaning of section 17(1).
In the last resort the courts have to accept the
responsibility of saying whether the threshold has been
passed in any given case and there may be difficult
borderline decisions to be made. This, however, is not a
borderline case. The delay in this case is wholly
unacceptable and this appeal must be ailowed.

In arriving at this conciusion their Lordships do not
overlook the reliance placed by the Solicitor—General on the
dissenting judgment of Sir Gerald Fitzmaurice in The
Republic of Ireland v. The United Kingdom (1978) 2
E-H.R.R. 25, 120 but prefer an interpretation of the
Constitution of Jamaica that accepts civilised standards of
behaviour which will outlaw acts of inhumanity, albeit they
fall short of the barbarity of genocide.

es

21

Section 25(2) of the Constitution provides that: -

“The Supreme Court shall have origina! jurisdiction to
hear and determine any application made by any
person in pursuance cf subsection (1) of this section
and may make such orders, issue such writs and
give.such directions as it may consider appropriate
foc the purpose of enforcing, or securing the
enforcement of, any of the provisions of the said
sections 14 to 24 (inclusive) to the protection of
which the person concerned is entitled.”

The width of the language of this subsection enables
the court to substitute for the sentence of death such
order as it considers appropriate. The appropriate order
in the present case is that the sentence of death of eacn
appellant should be commuted to life imprisonment.

Their Lordships are very conscious that many other
prisoners under sentence of death are awaiting the
outcome of this appeal. In an attempt to assist tne
Jamaican authorities who may be faced with a large
number of appeals their Lordships wish to«make some
general observations.

The delay in this case would never have reached
anything like its present dimensions if the Governor-
General and the JPC had reviewed the case pursuant to
sections 90 and 91 of the Constitution early in 1981 after
the Court of Appeal had dismissed the appellants’
application for leave to appeal. As has already been
pointed out, there was no reason why the case should not
have been reviewed at that time and it appears inevitable
in the light of after events that the JPC would have
advised that the execution should proceed and a date
would have been set. This would have provided the
impetus for an immediate application to the Judicial
Committee of the Privy Council which would have been
disposed of in the summer of 1981 and a new execution
date set within a matter of weeks. If this had occurred,
the grounds upon which the two human rights bodies
recommended commutation of sentence to life imprisonment
would never have arisen, because the Court of Appeai
wouid have been prompted to deliver their reasons by the
application to the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council
and the execution would have taken place years before
the late reprieve of which the appellants have
complained.

There may of course be circumstances which will lead
the JPC to recommend a respite in the carrying out of a
death sentence, such as a poiitical moratorium on the
death sentence, or a petition on behalf of the appeliants
to [ACHR oc UNHRC or a constitutional appeal to the
Supreme Court. But if these respites cumulatively result
in delay cunning into several years an execution will be
likely to infringe section 17(1) and call for commutation
of the death sentence to life imprisonment.

22

Their Lordships are very couscious that the Jamaican
government faces great difficullies with a disturbing
murder rate and limited financial resources at their disposal
to administer the legal system. Nevertheless, if capital
- punishment is to be retained it must be carried out with all
possible expedition. Capital appeals must be expedited and
legal aid allocated to an appellant at an early stage. The
aim should be to hear a capital appeal within twelve months
of conviction. The procedure contained in the Governor-
General's Instructions should be reinstated so that the IPC
consider the case shortly after the Court of Appeal hearing
and if an execution date is set and there is to be an
application to the Judiciai Committee of the Privy Council it
must be made as soon as possible, as both the rules of the
Judicial Committee of the Privy Council and the Governor-
General's Instructions require, in which case it should be
possible to dispose of it within six months of the Court of
Appeal hearing or within a further six months u there is to
be a full hearing of the appeal. In this way it should be
possible to complete the entire domestic appeal process
within approximately two years. Their Lordships do not
purport to set down any rigid timetable but to indicate what
appear to them to be realistic targets which, if achieved,
would entail very much shorter delay than has occurred in
recent cases and could not be considered to involve inhuman
or degrading punishment or other treatment.

The final question concerns applications by prisoners to
IACHR and UNHRC. Their Lordships wish to say nothing
to discourage Jamaica from continuing its membership of
these bodies and from benefiting from the wisdom of their
deliberations. It is reasonable to allow some period of delay
for the decisions of these bodies in individual cases but it
should not be very prolonged. The UNHRC does not accept
the complaint unless the author “has exhausted all available
domestic remedies". The UNHRC has decided in this case
and in Carlton-Reid that a constitutional motion to the
Supreme Court of Jamaica is not a remedy to which the
complainant need resort before making an application to the
Committee under the Optional Protocol. A complainant will
therefore be able to lodge a complaint immediately after his
case has been disposed of by the Judicial Committee of the
Privy Council. If, however, Jamaica is able to revise its
domestic procedures so that they are carried out with
reasonable expedition no grounds will exist to make a
complaint based upon delay. And it is to be remembered
that the UNHRC does not consider its role to be that of a
further appellate court:-

“The Committee observes that it is generally for the
appellate courts of States parties to the Covenant and
not for the Committee to evaluate the facts and
evidence placed before domestic courts and to review
the interpretation of domestic law by national courts.
Similarly, it is for the appellate coucts and not for the
Committee to review specific instructions to the jury by
the judge, unless it is apparent from the author's
submission that the instructions to the jury were

-_—

23

ciearly arbitrary or tantamount toa denial of justice,
or that the judge manifestly violated his obligation of
impartiality.”

lt therefore appears to their Lordships that provided
there is in future no unacceptable delay in the domestic
proceedings complaints to the UNHRC from Jamaica shoulda
be infrequent and when they do occur it should be
possible for the Committee to dispose of them with
reasonable dispatch and at most within eighteen months.

These considerations lead their Lordships to the
conclusion that in any case in which execution is to take
place more than five years after sentence there will be
strong grounds for believing that the delay is such as to
constitute “inhuman or degrading punishment or other
treatment". If, therefore, rather than waiting for ail
those prisoners who have been in death row under
sentence of death for five years or more to commence
proceedings pursuant to section 25 of the Constitution,
the Governor-General now refers all such cases to the
JPC who, in accordance with the guidance contained in
this advice, recommend commutation to life imprisonment,
substantial justice will be achieved swiftly and without
provoking a flood of applications to the Supreme Court
for constitutionai relief pursuant to section 17(1).

The appellants pursued alternative grounds of appeal
upon which thew Lordships find it unnecessary to
express any conclusions.

Their Lordships will accordingly humbly advise Her
Majesty that this appeal ought to be allowed, and the

sentences of the appellants be commuted to life
imprisonment.

AFFIDAVIT IN SUPPORT OF A MOTION FOR LEAVE TO PROCEED IN FORMA PAUPERIS

Crarencte LAcKEeY being first duly sworn, depose and say
that I am the Petitioner in the above- entitled case; that in support of my
motion to proceed without being required to repay fees, costs or give
security therefor, I state that because of my poverty I am unable to pay
the costs cf this case or to give security therefor; and that I believe I
CLARENCE LACKEY am entitled to redress.

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1994

I further swear that the responses which I have made to the questions

Segstsener, and instructions below relating to my ability to pay the cost of proceeding
v. in this Court are true.
STATE OF TEXAS 1. Are you presently employed? Yes wo X
Respondent. a. If the answer is yes, state the amount of your salary or wages per

month and give the name and address of your employer.

b. If the answer is no, state the date of your last employment and the
amount of the salary or “GUS per "F420, which yo eceived.

MOTION TO PROCEED IN FORMA PAUPERIS m
2. Have you received within the past twelve months any income from a
Petitioner Clarence Lackey, an indigent, respectfully moves business, profession or other form of self-employment, or in the fo
of rent payments, interest, dividends or other sources? Yes No

this Court for leave to file the attached Petition for Writ of ,
a. If the answer is yes, describe each source of income and state the

Certiorari without costs and to proceed in forma pauperis in this amount received from each during the past twelve months.

Court. An affidavit of indigency is attached hereto. 3. Do you own any cash or checking or savings account? Yes wo X
If the answer is yes, state the total value of the items owned:

Respectfully submitted,

4. Do you own any real estate, stocks, bonds, notes, automobiles, or
WH « 0 Wee | other valuable property (excluding ordinary household furnishings and
* Robert C. Owen Age {~'g clothing)? Yes No

Brent E. Newton
Texas Resource Center YS « Nkntorn_ a. If the answer is yes, describe the property and state its approximate
3223 Smith Street value.
Suite 215
Houston, Texas 77006 5. List the persons who are depending upon you for support and state your
(713) 522-5917 relationship to those persons. NE

fax: (713) 522-2733
I understand that a false statement or answer to any question in this

* Counsel of Record affidavit will subject me to penalties for perjury.
/s/ rf

Subscribed and sworn to before me this 22 day we Sot 19 94.

Che Wd urcroche

Notary

My commission expires + hen ~~ -93 '

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0620%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
