# Amicus Curiae Brief — United States v. Virginia

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0607%3A24

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1996
- **Citation:** 518 U.S. 515

## Text

SS COMMONWEALTH OF Winona, eta Cross-Petitioners,
ak 2 | v.

i ae | | Uneven Sram oF Avec, Cross Respondent

oo Om Writs of Certiorari to the
+ : _Doited Sues Court of Appeals forthe Fourth Circuit

tee

~

FS isotonic

ie "AMICI CURIAE BRIEF OF WOMEN’S SCHOOLS
8, “TOGETHER, INC.; BOYS’ SCHOOLS: AN
INTERNATIONAL COALITION; ROBERT BOBB;

ee : we - (Additional Amici Listed on Inside Front Cover)

os St. Louis, Missouri 63102-2750
an. (314) 259-2000

Wes . Attorneys for Amici Curiae

314-231-4477

Questions Presented

|. Whether a state or political subdivision is ever permitted
to offer the benefits of same-gender education to one sex without
offering them to the other.

2. Whether a state or political subdivision is permitted to
offer different educational methodologies to each sex when
providing same-gender education to both sexes.

Publicly-Sponsored Single-Sex Educational
Programs Are Constitutionally Permissible If
They Are Substantially Related to the Achieve-
ment of an Important Governmental Objec-
OOD .. cqusreereresestoreenpeicereestmnnens

A. The Promotion of Academic Achieve-
ment Constitutes an Important Govern-
I SOD ccenenescccnsnssnsnsesssemnesescens

B. The Use of Same-Gender Education is
Substantially Related to Achieving the

A State is Constitutionally Permitted to Pro-
vide Same-Gender Education for One Sex
Without Providing it for the Other ................

A. Local Communities and Educators Must
Be Permitted to Prioritize the Use of

ment of Needs Rather than to Engage in
Gestures of Superficial Equality ...........

10

10

10

16

17

21

aw iy —

III. When Offering Single-Sex Education to Both
Sexes, Educators Are Constitutionally Per-
mitted to Use Different Educational Method-

Table of Authorities
Page(s)
Cases:

Adarand Constructors, Inc v. Pefia, 115 S.Ct. 2097
SERED tinnsthdaniinenesneiatiitemntinineentehatennanidiperiaimigpiateunens 23

Brown v. Board of Education, 347 U.S. 483, 493
SE Wilthcicnntniicadibalchtiniinsinednishhitinnsimdnandineteeniaiinies 1]

City of Richmond vy. J.A. Croson, 488 U.S. 469
IE vicdmecictenipentensitninctabitninichaepneemmmmsinntetanees 23
Craig v. Boren, 429 U.S. 190 (1976) ........ccccccceceeeeeeees 10,11,12
Frontiero v. Richardson, 411 U.S. 677 (1973) .........0. 10

Garrett v. Board of Educ.,775 F. Supp. 1004 (E.D. Mich.
ere nctesanitninmasiinntceastedenisnaiesingepiviiimbemnenbneuaenees 19
Goodman v. Lukens Steel Co., 482 U.S. 656 (1987)..... 16
J.E.B. v. Alabama, 14 S.Ct. 1419 (1994) occ 10

Michael M. v. Superior Court of Sonoma County, 450
ee ee ED entererctptetntnctiapilinintnicntimnens 11,19,20,26

Mississippi Univ. for Women v. Hogan, 458 U.S. 718
UTE. ceceesininnepermacinittisbanmensesintinmeesneccmmnents 10,12,16,19,
20,23,24,25,27

Newburg v. Board of Public Education, 9 Phila. 556
(C.P. Phila. County 1983), aff'd, 478 A.2d 1352

GO, BRED: Ga, TOD ccctccssccnesenszmnszsttesnerescccensscsece 11
Norwood v. Harrison, 413 U.S. 455 (1973) ..............0+. 27
Parham v. Hughes, 441 U.S. 347 (1979) ......cccccccceeseeees 20

Plyler v. Doe, 457 U.S. 202 (1982) ....ccccccsssssssssesseeeeeeee i

on Yon
Rogers v. Lodge, 458 U.S. 613 (1982) .........cccccccccceseees 16
Rostker v. Goldberg, 453 U.S. 57 (1981) .............. 10,20,22,23
Stanley v. Illinois, 405 U.S. 645 (1972) ......cccccccccceeeeeees 10
Stanton v. Stanton, 421 U.S. 7 (1975) ......ccccccccseceeeseeeees 12
United States v. Doe, 465 U.S. 605 (1984) oo... 16

Vorcheimer v. School Dist. of Philadelphia, 532 F.2d
880 (3d Cir. 1976), aff'd by slates divided Court,

SP es CP CITED vitettticnsntetaretteniittaliitendinesin 11
Weinberger v. Weisenfeld, 420 U.S. 636 (1975)........... 12,20
Wengler v. Druggists Mutual Ins. Co., 446 U.S. 142

CUDIED cicccsencccseschetistabibblaciumnesiisieiteanbiaadasciusessenens 10

Statutes:
The Equal Educational Opportunity Act, 20 U.S.C. §§

5 PI CUE GPU cinicdiisandedstneilicnabeadeldsuiiintistecemiane 21
Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, 20

Felice ©. HES GUE conntinetenttcentunniniininsesnicusstaabes 21

Other Authorities:
Am. Ass'n of Univ. Women Educ. Found., How Schools

Shortchange Girls 147 (1992) .........cccccccccceeosveeneees 15
Anita Blair, Separate and Equal, N.Y. Times, November

FET ae Le CL IN 23
Kristin Caplice, The Case for Single Sex Education,

Harv. J. L. & Pub. Pol’y 227 (1994) .0000........ 18,20,28

Detroit Public Schools, Male Academy Grades K-8: A
Demonstration Program for At-Risk Males 15 (De-
cember 7, 1990) (working draft) ..................000000. 17,18

— Vvii—

Susan Estrich, For Girls’ Schools and Women's Col-
leges; Separate is Better, N.Y. Times, May 22,
Uo MINES Seve re ee

Richard Hawley, A Case for Boys Schools, reprinted in
Office of Educ. Research & Improvement, U.S.
Dept. of Educ., Single-Sex Schooling: Proponents
ey ee Hee i ialerchtessecinsciectsticabetdinuiadeeens

Richard Hawley, A Progressive Case for an Ancient
Reform, 92 Tchrs. College Rec. 433 (1991)..........

Mikyong Kim & Rodolfo Alvarez, Women-Only
Colleges:Some Unanticipated Consequences, 66
Fuigher Bac. 640 (1995) ........-cecoccrsocoresesceceserererees

V.E. Lee and H.M. Marks, Sustained Effect of the Single-
Sex School Experience on Attitudes, Behaviors, and
Values in College, 1990 J. of Educ. Psychol. 82,
578-592, summarized in Office of Educ. Research
& Improvement, U.S. Dept. of Educ., Single-Sex
Schooling: Proponents Speak Vol 1, 13, 37-38
SS EAS TLS ae

Mary Moore et al., Single Sex Schooling and Educa-
tional Effectiveness: A Research Overview, Office
of Educ. Research & Improvement, U.S. Dept.of
Educ., Single-Sex Schooling: Proponents Speak
OU ND i

Note, Inner-City Single-Sex Schools: Educational Re-
form or Invidious Discrimination?, 105 Harv. L.
IRE ee nn ene

Office of Educ. Research & Improvement, U.S. Dept. of
Educ., Single-Sex Schooling: Proponents Speak
ERT i PSN eID FANE a

21

15

15

13

15

15

17,19

— vili —

Diane Ravitch, Things Go Better in Single-Sex Schools,
Wash. Post, August 31, 1995, at A23.............000

Laura Rehrmann, Where the Smart Girls are Away from
Boys, Western Students Excel, Balt. Sun, January
FF, CBD, 0 SD eeinttrtertsbineanseintinttacnccttninatsaniiniainnien

Letter from Cornelius Riordan to Senator John C. Danforth
(June 30, 1994), reprinted in Cong. Rec. $10,205
(daily ed. August 1, 1994) ..........cccccccserseeseeeneneneees

Cornelius Riordan, Girls and Boys in School: Together
OF Separate? (1DBD) .......eccerorcerocccesecerccccscceessesoecees

Cornelius Riordan, Public and Catholic Schooling: The
Effects of Gender Policy, Am. J. of Educ., Aug.
BO, 60 BOD coeicnteictencscnsestesecinnsiantnnintinssinitamcnninetiin

Cornelius Riordan, Reconsidering Same Gender Schools:
The VMI Case and Beyond, Educ. Wk., February
BD, Fs CB cccansctecencnneecn ss tnnctncmnnrcinnintiemanonitaintin

Cornelius Riordan, The Case for Single Sex Schools,
reprinted in Office of Educ. Research & Improve-
ment, U.S. Dept. of Educ., Single-Sex Schooling:
Proponents Speak Vol II, 47 (1992) ..........cesseeeeee

Catherine Saillant, Ventura New Math Class Recruiting
Method, L.A. Times, February 4, 1995, at B2 ......

Catherine Saillant, Ventura’s All-Girl Math Classes Pass
Test on Bias, U.S. Civil Rights Authorities Suggest
Courses Be Renamed but Find They Do Not Dis-
criminate Against Boys, L.A. Times, March 8,
7) a

Ventura Unified School District, Educational Diversity
for Gender Equity Proposal, (undated manuscript)
OD ceciesestindinivineenaitnermenremntingbieniantminciaptchaainnemmetien

15

21

28

14

14

14

14

22

21

22

== iX——

Eric Wee, A Lesson in Confidence: Va. Middle School
Tries All-Girl Classes, Wash. Post, May 1, 1995, at
Al

SPEER EEE EEE EE EEE EEE EEE HEHE EEE ERE OEE ES

Ann Zanders, A Presentation of the Arguments For and
Against Single-Sex Schooling, reprinted in Oftice
of Educ. Research & Improvement, U.S. Dept. of
Educ., Single-Sex Schooling: Proponents Speak
Vol. II, 15 (1992)

SRE EEE E Ee

21

Nos. 94-1941 and 94-2107
In THE
Supreme Court of the United States

Octoser Term, 1995

Unrrep States or AMERICA, Petitioner
Vv.

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ef al., Respondents.

COMMONWEALTH OF ViraINniA, ef al., Cross-Petitioners,
Vv.

Unrrep States or America, Cross-Respondent.

On Writs of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit

AMICI CURIAE BRIEF OF WOMEN’S SCHOOLS
TOGETHER, INC.; BOYS’ SCHOOLS: AN
INTERNATIONAL COALITION; ROBERT BOBB;
THOMAS H. BUTLER, Ed.D; DR. ROY J. DAWSON;
PETER M. FLANIGAN; DR. RICHARD HAWLEY;
FRANK HAYDEN; DR. SPENCER HOLLAND;
NANCY E. KUSSROW; PROFESSOR MARY R.
LEFKOWITZ; KATHLEEN S. McCREARY; JOAN S.
McMENAMIN; JOSEPH W. McPHERSON; DR.
ANGELA PIENKOS; DR. DIANE RAVITCH; DR.
CORNELIUS RIORDAN; DR. JOSEPH SPIRITO;
MICHAEL M. UHLMANN; AND THE HONORABLE
ARNOLD W. WEBSTER, Ph.D.

IN SUPPORT OF
RESPONDENTS, CROSS-PETITIONERS

ws

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE

This brief amici curiae is submitted by a diverse array of
individuals concerned about the potential implications of the
Court’s resolution of this case. While all of the amici do not
necessarily endorse the overall educational philosophy at VMI,
they share a concern that this Court’s decision will have conse-
quences for what they believe is an important pedagogical
alternative: single-sex education.

Some of the amici on this brief represent urban school districts
which have developed or are considering the development of
elementary or secondary same-gender programs. In the exercise
of their professional judgment, these educators maintain that
same-gender public schools or classes benefit young people, and
they are concerned that a decision against VMI in this case will
not only set back VMI but will also crush their fledgling
programs. In addition, most of these educators teach at-risk,
disadvantaged children. They do not want the Constitution
interpreted in a way that permits only those who can afford
private education to have access to the proven benefits of same-
gender education.

Other amici are scholars, both women and men, who have
spent years studying the educational system. These experts
believe firmly, and with good cause, that single-sex education
can help both boys and girls. They are concerned that a decision
against VMI in this case could deny the benefits of same-gender
education to future generations of young women and young men.

Other amici represent or teach at single-sex private schools.
They are apprehensive about the implications of this decision for
their schools. Some students at their institutions receive federal
funds. Many of the institutions themselves are exempt from
federal taxation as nonprofit organizations. Others receive
substantial forms of federal or state aid. As the district court
stated, “the public-private shibboleth is more apparent than real.
It cannot be gainsaid that private colleges receive substantial

ee ieee

infusions of both federal and state money. Thus, the distinction
{ ] draw([n] is illusory.” Pet’r App. at 71a. These amici worry
about the implications of this decision for same-gender private
schools.

Descriptions of the amici are set forth in the attached appen-
dix.'
STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Virginia offers a wide selection of publicly supported and
privately funded colleges and universities. Pet’r App. at 187a.
Fourteen of fifteen state-supported, four-year colleges in Vir-
ginia are now coeducational, the Virginia Military Institute
(VMI) being the only exception. /d. at 185a, 187a. The
Commonwealth currently has five private all-women’s colleges
and one private all-men’s college. /d. at 189a. The hallmarks of
Virginia’s educational policy are “diversity and autonomy,”
with the Boards of Visitors of each institution having broad
autonomy in the determination of its mission. /d. at 187a. The
Commonwealth now offers three public programs of higher
education targeted specifically at promoting leadership in mili-
tary and civilian life. Jd. at 107a, 202a-203a, 214a.

The Virginia Polytechnic Institute (VPI) offers both men and
women the opportunity to pursue together this education in the
VPI Corp of Cadets. /d. at 214a. The VPI method differs
significantly from the system used at VMI, using “positive
motivation” and recognizing individual differences in a more
informal environment. /d. at 218a.

VMI offers men the opportunity to pursue together this
leadership education through a unique, adversative method
found by experts, the district court, and the court of appeals to be
suited specifically for a sexually homogeneous environment. /d.
at 148a, 171a, 173a. The adversative system includes physical

' The parties’ written consents to the filing of this brief have been filed with
the Court.

rigor, mental stress, absolute equality of treatment, absence of
privacy, minute regulation of behavior, and indoctrination in
desirable values for VMI cadets. Jd. at 191a-192a.

The Virginia Women’s Institute for Leadership (VWIL), in its
first year, offers women the opportunity to pursue together a
leadership education through an analogy to the holistic VMI
program, using a “cooperative method which reinforces self-
esteem rather than the leveling process used by VMI.” /d. at 63a-
64a.

This case originated from a complaint filed in 1990 by the
United States Department of Justice on behalf of a female high
school student seeking admission to VMI. /d. at 160a. After a
six-day trial, id. , the district court found three important govern-
mental interests: (1) the diversity added by a same-gender VMI;
(2) the substantial educational benefits flowing to each sex from
same-gender education; and (3) the benefits flowing specifically
to men from the adversative method:

“(t]he evidence in the case, which is virtually uncontradicted,
supports Virginia’s view that substantial educational ben-
efits flow from a single gender environment, be it male or
female, that cannot be replicated in a coeducational set-
ting.” Id. at 176a-177a.

The court then held that Virginia’s provision of same-gender
education at VMI survived constitutional scrutiny under this
Court’s decision in Mississippi Univ. for Women v. Hogan, 458
U.S. 718 (1982). Id. at 177a.

The Fourth Circuit agreed with the district court about the
undisputed and unique educational benefits associated with
same-gender education, see id. at 150a-15la, but disagreed

t the Commonwealth’s ability, consistent with the Four-
teenth Amendment, to provide this benefit only to men. /d. at
15la. In the process, however, the court affirmed the district
court’s factual findings that such a single-gender education is
educationally justifiable. Jd. The court also affirmed findings of

—

fact that “coeducation would destroy aspects of VMI's program
which lie near the core of its holistic system ... deny[ing] those
women the very opportunity they sought.” /d. at 6a.

In finding a violation of the Fourteenth Amendment, the
appellate court ultimately drew three significant conclusions:

“(1) single-gender education, and VMI's program in par-
ticular, is justified by a legitimate and relevant institutional
mission which favors neither sex; (2) the introduction of
women at VMI will materially alter the very program in
which women seek to partake; and (3) the Commonwealth
of Virginia, despite its announced policy of diversity, has
failed to articulate an important policy that substantially
supports offering the unique benefits of a VMI-type of
education to men and not to women.” /d. at 15Sa.

Instead of mandating that women be admitted to VMI or that
public funds be withdrawn from the institution, the Fourth
Circuit remanded the case, permitting VMI to explore alterna-
tives and specifically suggesting that VMI “might establish
parallel institutions or parallel programs.” /d. at 1 56a.

After the Fourth Circuit's decision, the Governor approved
the proposed Virginia Women’s Institute for Leadership (VWIL)
at Mary Baldwin College (MBC), a private women’ s college. Id.
at 102a, 122a. A task ferce, comprising faculty, staff and
students at MBC, with the input of external education experts,
developed an implementation proposal promoting the same
goals and values as VMI, but intentionally using a different
methodology. /d. at 102a-103a. Through a contractual arrange-
ment with the state, id. at 104a, VWIL now is a “publicly-
supported, single-sex ed» ation program with military training
for women.” /d. at 107a.

On remand, the district court was persuaded by the testimony
of three experts that VWIL is “a pedagogically sound and
justified program.” /d. at 73a. Specifically relying on this expert
testimony, the district court found that “the differences between

— oo

VWIL and VMI are justified pedagogically and are not based on

stereotyping.” Id. at 76a (emphasis added). Accordingly, the

court concluded
“(that] controlling legal principles in this case do not
require the Commonwealth to provide a mirror image VMI
for women. Rather, it is sufficient that the Commonwealth
provide an all-female program that will achieve substan-
tially similar outcomes in an all-female environment and
that there is a legitimate pedagogical basis for the different
means employed to achieve the substantially similar ends.
VWIL satisfies the Fourth Circuit's requirement that the
Commonwealth adopt a parallel program for women which
takes into account the differences and needs of each sex.”
Id.

On the second appeal, the Fourth Circuit affirmed the district
court, using a “heightened intermediate scrutiny test specially
tailored to the circumstances...” Jd. at Sa. The court observed
that “[jJust as a state’s provision of publicly financed education
to its citizens is a legitimate and important governmental objec-
tive, SO too is a state’s opting for single-gender education as one
particular pedagogical technique among many.” /d. at 21a. The
court then concluded that “the only way to realize the [educa-
ional] benefits of homogeneity of gender is to limit admission
to one gender.” Jd. at 22a.

Instead of ending the “Hogan analysis” with the two steps
articulated in Mississippi Univ. for Women v. Hogan, 458 U.S.
718 (1982), the Fourth Circuit added a third step, asking whether
excluded men and excluded women have reasonable opportuni-
ties to obtain benefits substantively comparable to those they are
denied. /d. at 24a.

After specifically rejecting the government's argument that a
comparable opportunity requires an identical program, id. at
25a, 27a, the court of appeals held that the programs are substan-
tively comparable in design and approved the remedy condi-

_

tioned on Virginia's maintaining a high level of commitment to
VWIL. /d. at 27a-28a. The court of appeals issued a judgment
accordingly, remanding the case to the district court with instruc-
tions regarding appropriate oversight of the implementation of
the VWIL program. /d. at 30a.
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Under the test in Mississippi Univ. for Women v. Hogan, 458
U.S. 718, 724 (1982), a gender-based classification must serve
employed must be substantially related to the achievement of

Virginia has both a broad and a narrow important objective in
employing the means of same-gender education. The first
objective is the obvious responsibility of every state government
to provide a superior education to all of its students. The second,
narrower objective, which is related to the first, is to provide the
discrete benefits of higher academic achievement, greater self
esteem, and greater career advancement that have been proven
to result from single-sex education.

substantially related to
the achievement of those objectives. 458 U.S. at 724. Thus, a
State or a school board must not use gender reflexively as an
overbroad proxy for more relevant criteria. The creation of
same-gender schools or classes is not an overbroad proxy. In
fact, the educational benefit of same-gender education for some
young people is beyond dispute. The evidence is strong and
tional achievement of some young people and achieves the
important goals of increased self-esteem, increased academic

Unquestionably, single-sex schools and classes substantially
serve the important governmental interest of providing a supe-
rior education to some students. The issue in this case then

becomes: What constraints does the Constitution place on an
educational authority's use of this important educational tool?
Specifically, (1) is an educational authority ever permitied to
offer the benefits of same-gender education to one sex without
offering them to the other? And (2) is an educational authority
permitted to offer different educational methodologies to each
sex when providing single-sex education to both sexes?

Amici are concerned about the legal standard announced by
the Fourth Circuit in this case. In order to provide guidance to
lower courts, and more importantly to educators, this Court
should lay to rest the notion that a state or school district is always
required by the Constitution to provide parallel programs in
order to initiate same-gender educational experimentation. A
requirement of parallel programs in every instance will chill the
revived interest in this important educational method.

In the case of urban school districts, which have the legitimate
and substantial goal of providing a quality education to all their
students, single-sex education can be warranted to ensure in-
creased achievement for a subset of the overall student popula-
tion for whom the current range of classroom settings is inad-
equate. In the best judgment of educators, the particular educa-
tional needs of some boys in certain urban areas, and some girls
in others, cry out for alternative single-sex educational settings.

State governments and school districts operate under finite
budgets to provide the range of educational programs that will
best meet the educational needs of the total student population.
School districts should not always be constitutionally required to
offer parallel programs in each instance of experimentation with
single-sex education. That requirement could force school
districts to shift limited funds from other beneficial educational
programs to create what may be, in their professional judgment,
a much less needed same-sex program. The most likely outcome
of a parallelism requirement for these school districts struggling
to use their limited resources in the most effective manner

—

possible would be to abandon single-sex experimentation alto-
gether — a tragic outcome, as this method is gaining in popular-
ity and beginning to produce positive results for many children
in Our inner Cities.

Certainly, when a state or schoo! district offers the benefits of
publicly funded same-gender education to both sexes, as Vir-
ginia has done in this case, the Constitution does not serve as an
educational micromanager, second-guessing the methodologies
recommended. In the case at hand, an independent group of
experts in women’s education recommended a non-adversative
system as the most effective methodology to teach leadership
and military skills to women. Virginia has provided substantial
resources for the project. VMI has pledged both monetary and
nonmonetary aid. Thus, the Commonwealth, having studied the
issue thoroughly, has provided the resources and the support
necessary to offer the significant benefits of single-sex education
to both sexes. The Constitution requires no more, and the vast
= ity of parents and students would be disappointed with any

~~

ARGUMENT

I. Publicly-Sponsored Single-Sex Educational Programs
Are Constitutionally Permissible If They Are Substan-

tially Related to the Achievement of an Important Gov-
ernmental Objective.

In Mississippi Univ. for Women v. Hogan, 458 U.S. 718, 724
(1982), the Court articulated the standard for analyzing the
constitutionality of a public university’s policy of admitting
members of only one gender to a particular educational program.
Under this test, a gender-based classification is permissible if (1)
“the classification serves ‘important governmental objectives’”
and (2) “‘the discriminatory means employed’ are ‘substantially
related to the achievement of those objectives.”” /d. citing
Wengler v. Druggists Mutual Ins. Co.,446 U.S. 142, 150(1980).

A. The Promotion of Academic Achievement Consti-
tutes an Important Governmental Objective.

This Court’s Equal Protection jurisprudence requires that
those using an explicit gender classification must put forward an
“important governmental objective” as justification. Hogan,
458 U.S. at 724. The Court repeatedly has found objectives such
as administrative ease and convenience insufficient to justify
gender-based classifications. Craig v. Boren, 429 U.S. 190, 198
(1976), citing Stanley v. Illinois, 405 U.S. 645, 656 (1972);
Frontiero v. Richardson, 411 U.S. 677, 690 (1973) (plurality
opinion). The Court also has scrutinized carefully the “statutory
objective itself” to insure that it does not reflect “archaic and
stereotypic notions” or is not designed to “exclude or ‘protect’
members of one gender because they are presumed to suffer from
an inherent handicap.” Hogan, 458 U.S. at 725. See also J.E.B.
v. Alabama, 114 S.Ct. 1419, 1426 (1994).

In contrast, the Court has accepted as important governmental
objectives the protection of public health and safety, Craig v.
Boren, 429 U.S. at 199-200; the raising and supporting of armies,
Rostker v. Goldberg, 453 U.S. 57, 70 (1981); and the prevention

— |

of illegitimate pregnancies. Michael M. v. Superior Court of
Sonoma County, 450 U.S. 464, 470 (1981) (plurality opinion).

Although the cases do not offer a bright line for drawing
distinctions between important and unimportant objectives, they
indicate that an objective is important if it is a responsibility
traditionally assigned to government and highly valued by
citizens. Cf. Craig v. Boren, 429 U.S. at 199-200 (public health
and safety represents “an important function of state and local
governments’’).

Certainly, increasing academic achievement is more analo-
gous to the interests found important by this Court than to those
which have been rejected. “Today, educ:tion is perhaps the most
important function of state and local governments.” Plyler v.
Doe, 457 U.S. 202, 222 (i982), citing Brown v. Board of
Education, 347 U.S. 483, 493 (1954). In addition, “education
provides the basic tools by which individuals might lead eco-
nomically productive lives to the benefit of us all.” Jd. “The
primary aim of any school system must be to furnish an educa-
tion of as high a quality as is feasible. Measures which would
allow innovation in methods and techniques to achieve that goal
have a high degree of relevance.” Vorcheimer v. School Dist. of
Philadelphia, 532 F.2d 880, 888 (3d Cir. 1976), aff'd by equally
divided Court, 430 U.S. 703 (1977).?

_ B. The Use of Same-Gender Education is Substan-
tially Related to Achieving the Important Govern-
mental Objective of Increasing Academic Achieve-
ment.

“If the State’s objective is legitimate and important, [the
Court] next determine[s] whether the requisite direct, substantial

? In Vercheimer, the Third Circuit, utilizing emerging heightened scrutiny,
permitted Philadelphia to retain an all-male high school and an all-female
high school, finding the objective of a quality education sufficiently impor-
tant. But see Newburg v. Board of Public Education, 9 Phila. 556 (C.P. Phila.
County 1983), aff'd, 478 A.2d 1352 (Pa. Super. Ct. 1984) (state court found
inequities between Central High School for boys and Girls High School for
girls in violation of federal and state constitutions).

—

relationship between objective and means is present.” Hogan,
458 U.S. at 725. “The purpose of requiring that close relation-
ship is to assure that the validity of a classification is determined
through reasoned analysis rather than through the mechanical
application of traditional, often inaccurate, assumptions about
the proper roles of men and women.” /d. at 725-726.

In explaining how to determine the existence of a sudstantial
relationship between means and ends, the Court in Hogan cited
a series of cases in which the Court struck down statutes for
unthinkingly applying traditional assumptions about the sexes.
Hogan, 458 U.S. at 726 nn.11, 12. In those cases, state legisla-
tures or the United States Congress reflexively used gender as an
overbroad proxy for more relevant criteria. See Craig v. Boren,
429 U.S. at 201-02 (gender as a proxy for “drinking and driv-
ing”); Stanton v. Stanton, 421 U.S. 7, 13 (1975) (gender as a
proxy for likelihood of attending college); Weinberger v.
Weisenfeld, 420 U.S. 636, 643 (1975) (gender as a proxy for
wage earning).

Rather than being an overbroad proxy, the gender distinction
itself in single-sex education creates the desired unique educa-
tional benefits for both sexes. As noted by both courts below, the
concrete benefits of same-gender education cannot be achieved
for one sex unless the other is not present.’ For that reason, the
district court found and the Fourth Circuit agreed that “it would
be impossible for a female to participate in the ‘VMI experience’
... her introduction into the process would change it.” See Pet’r
App. at 155a, 175a. The benefits from this experience, like all
same-gender experiences, flow from its homogeneity. Once a
member of the other sex is introduced into the educational mix,

* Of course, because co-education is the norm and same-gender education
is optional, no one is forced to receive those benefits.

a we

the class becomes coeducational and loses the distinctive ben-
efits of same-gender education for both sexes.‘

Both the district court’s findings of fact and significant inde-
pendent research demonstrate the close fit between the objective
of higher academic achievement and the means of single-sex
education.’ The district court’s findings of fact, upheld by the
court of appeals, establish that “a substantial body of ‘exceed-
ingly persuasive’ evidence supports VMI’s contention that some
students, both male and female, benefit from attending a single-
sex college.” Jd. at 168a. The benefits found by the district court
include growth in self-esteem, pursuit of non-traditional careers,
and higher starting salaries after graduation. /d. at 169a.

Research regarding the benefits of same-gender schools at
both the college and secondary school level supports the district
court’s findings of fact. In November 1995, a new study by
Mikyong Kim and Rodolfo Alvarez concluded that “attending
women-only colleges advantageously affects students’ academic
ability.” The researchers also believe that students in women-
only colleges have better opportunities to be actively involved in

‘The government argues that excluded women who meet VMI's entrance
requirements have a right to experience the “distinctive educational method”
used at VMI. Again, the district court correctly found that the remedy would
be illusory. “A coeducational VMI would offer neither males nor females the
VMI education that now exists. The changes would substantially affect the
method now used to educate citizen-soldiers.” Pet’r App. at 227a. The district
court found that it would be necessary to adapt VMI for privacy, to change
certain physical training programs, and most importantly, to create different
treatment for different classes, thus destroying the egalitarian ethic. /d. at
237a.

* The brief of amici curiae filed in support of the government by the
American Association of University Professors, et al. argues that “the lower
courts relied on palpably insufficient evidence to justify continuing sex
discrimination.” Brief for Amici Curiae, AAUP at 20 (No. 94-1941). The
challenged findings of fact not only are not clearly erroneous, they are
supported by the vast weight of the testimonial and scholarly evidence.

* Mikyong Kim & Rodolfo Alvarez, Women-Only Colleges: Some Unan-
ticipated Consequences, 66 Higher Educ. 640, 661 (1995).

—)

student organizations, to exercise leadership, and to improve
their social self-confidence.’

Cornelius Riordan, who has written a book and conducted
numerous studies on the benefits of single-sex schools,* supports
this notion emphatically:

[single gender schools generally are more effective aca-
demically than coeducational schools. This is true-at all
levels of school, from elementary to higher education.
Over the past decade, the data consistently and persistently
confirm this hard-to-accept educational fact.’”

In the same article, Riordan summarized the intense interest of
educators, parents and students in same-gender education:

“Single-gender schools work. They work for girls and
boys, women and men, whites and nonwhites. Research
has demonstrated that the effects of single gender schools
are greatest among students who have been disadvantaged
historically — females and racial/ethnic/religious minori-
ties (both males and females).”"°

At the secondary school level, researchers have found strong
evidence that same-gender education enhances academic achieve-
ment and promotes greater self-esteem. A 1990 study by Lee and
Marks found that both males and females attending single-sex
schools were more likely than students in coeducational high

"Id.

* See Cornelius Riordan, Girls and Boys in School: Together or Separate?
(1990); Cornelius Riordan, The Case for Single Sex Schools, reprinted in
Office of Educ. Research & Improvement, U.S. Dept. of Educ., Single Sex
Schooling: Proponents Speak (hereinafter DOE Report} Vol. II, 47 (1992),
Cornelius Riordan, Public and Catholic Schooling: The Effects of Gender
Policy, Am. J. of Educ., Aug. 1985, at 518.

* Cornelius Riordan, Reconsidering Same Gender Schools: The VMI Case
and Beyond, Educ. Wk., February 23, 1994, at 48.

10 Id.

=

schools to attend selective four-year colleges and were more
likely to consider applying to graduate schools.'' The study also
determined that young women in all -girls schools showed higher
educational aspirations, more active political involvement, and
ultimate satisfaction with academic and social aspects of college
environment."

At the same time, recent research has also questioned whether
gender equity actually exists in public coeducational schools."’
Indeed, three researchers have found evidence that “coeduca-
tional schools may foster stereotypical sex roles.”’"*

Hence, the district court’s conclusion that same-gender edu-
cation provides educational benefits to some young people is
more than amply supported in the record and by independent
research.' Moreover, this Court has frequently noted its reluc-

"VE. Lee and H.M. Marks, Sustained Effect of the Single-Sex School
Experience on Attitudes, Behaviors, and Values in College, 1990 J. of Educ.
Psychol. 82, 578-592, summarized in DOE Report Vol. I, 13, 37-38 (1992).

Id.

'’ Am. Ass'n of Univ. Women Educ. Found., How Schools Shortchange
Girls 147 (1992) (girls do not receive equitable teacher attention, equitable
attention in course materials or encouragement in math and science).

'*Mary Moore et al., Single Sex Schooling and Educational Effectiveness:
A Research Overview, reprinted in DOE Report Vol. I, 11 (1992).

'S See Richard Hawley, A Case for Boys Schools, reprinted in DOE Report,
Vol II, 11 (boys in boys schools do better than boys in coeducational schools
on some measures — never, apparently, worse); Richard Hawley, A Progres-
sive Case for an Ancient Reform, 92 Tchrs. College Rec. 433, 440 (1991)
(schooling boys within structure designed to realize distinctive developmen-
tal features has resulted in high count of most longstanding and most
demonstrably effective schools in world); Diane Ravitch, Things Go Better
in Single-Sex Schools, Wash. Post, August 31, 1995, at A23 (of top 150
schools in Great Britain, only 14 were coeducational); Ann Zanders, A
Presentation of the Arguments For and Against Single-Sex Schooling, re--
printed in DOE Report, Vol. II, 15 (research shows that girls benefit from
single-sex schools and shows promise and documented successes for African
American children).

= =

tance to disturb findings of fact concurred in by two lower courts.
Goodman v. Lukens Steel Co., 482 U.S. 656, 665 (1987); United
States v. Doe, 465 U.S. 605, 614 (1984); Rogers v. Lodge, 458
U.S. 613, 623 (1982).

II. A State is Constitutionally Permitted to Provide Same-
Gender Education for One Sex Without Providing it for
the Other.

The evidence clearly indicates that single-sex education can
be substantially related to achieving an important governmental
objective. Of course, offering the educational opportunity to
both sexes is the ideal in that both sexes benefit from the
experience. However, these amici are concerned that transform-
ing this ideal into an inviolable constitutional principle would
impose rigidities on educators that would limit their abilities to
provide promising alternatives to children in their schools. For
many students, single-sex education is beneficial to higher
educational achievement, greater self-esteem and enhanced ca-
reer advancement. The important issue then becomes whether a
state or political subdivision is free to use same-gender educa-
tion to meet the needs of one gender without always offering a
parallel program for the other gender. The Fourth Circuit, at the
liability phase of this trial, found that Virginia had violated the
Constitution by not making the benefits of same-gender educa-
tion available to both sexes. Whether or not this Court agrees
with the court below as to VMI'’s liability, the Court should
clarify that the Constitution does not require this parallelism
every time a state or school district determines that providing
same-gender education for one sex would serve an important
governmental objective.

A school district’s ability to experiment constitutionally with
single-sex schools or classes for only one sex turns on the Court's
interpretation of footnote 17 in Hogan. 458 U.S. at 731 n. 17. In
that footnote, the Court made clear that the issue is not whether

=

the benefited class profits from the classification, but whether
the state’s decision to confer a benefit only upon one class by
means of such a classification is substaniially related to achiev-
ing a legitimate and substantial goal. /d. This determination, of
course, depends on the facts and circumstances of each case.
A. Local Communities and Educators Must Be Per-
mitted to Prioritize the Use of Scarce Resources in
Experimenting with Optional Same-Gender Pro-
grams.

Whether it is at the level of higher or elementary education, the
practical impact of the Fourth Circuit’s decision will be to
discourage states and cities from offering the option of a single-
sex education to students of one gender unless a “substantively
comparable” parallel program is offered to students of the other
gender, regardless of the need or resources required for such a
program. A rigid requirement of parallelism simply is not useful
to the real-life problems faced by school superintendents. ad-
ministrators and teachers.

In 1991, the City of Detroit attempted to establish three all-
male academies.’ The task force recommending the male
academies cited a series of dispiriting statistics to justify its
important interest in exploring the possibilities of same-gender
education. “Males of White, Hispanic and African American
ethnic groups [were] at the greatest risk of dropping out of
Detroit public schools.”'’ Of the 24,000 males enrolled in the
Detroit public high schools, fewer than 30% had cumulative
grade point averages above 2.0.'* Boys were suspended from
Detroit public schools at three times the rate of girls.'? Sixty

'© Note, Inner-City Single-Sex Schools: Educational Reform or Invidious
Discrimination?, 105 Harv. L. Rev. 1741, 1742 (1992).

'’ Detroit Public Schools, Male Academy Grades K-8: A Demonstration
Program for At-Risk Males 15 (December 7, 1990) (working draft).

iu Id.
' Id. at 16.

percent of the drug offenses in Wayne County were committed
by 8th and 9th grade dropouts, and 97% of the offenders were
African American males.” In sum, urban males suffered “a
multitude of educational, social, health, and economic problems
... [MJales appear{fed] to suffer disproportionate rates of school
failure, poverty, violence, delinquency, unemployment, incar-
ceration, illness and death.”

The report demonstrated that Detroit had previously responded
to the problems of young, urban females. “When it was deter-
mined that 40% of the females who drop out of school, do so
because of pregnancy, three schools and several programs were
established to prevent, as well as address, the problems facing
pregnant and parenting teens.”"” The report also showed a
disparity in academic performance between boys and girls in the
Detroit school system. Girls were suspended less often and did
not drop out at the rate of boys. In addition, they outperformed
boys on standardized tests.’

The Detroit academy demonstration program was designed
to offer to boys the educationally sound benefits accompanying
attendance at a single-sex school: self esteem, rites of passage,
role model interaction and academic improvement.” The idea
was popular, with 1200 applying for 560 spots.” The city had
plans to open up similar Female Academies, but resource alloca-
tion forced it to prioritize the implementation of the program,
believing males to be more at risk.”

» Id.
*! Id. at 3.

* Id. at 15. See Kristin Caplice, The Case for Single Sex Education, Harv.
J. L. & Pub. Pol’ y 227, 276 (1994) [hereinafter Single Sex Education) (Detroit
has existing single-sex schools, three for pregnant girls and one for boys in
danger of expulsion).

* Caplice, Single Sex Education, at 276.

* Id. at 275.

8 Id.

*® Id.

—_—

Misapplying Hogan, a federal district court preliminarily
enjoined the academies, finding that “there is no evidence that
the educational system is failing urban males because females
attend school with males.” Garrett v. Board of Educ., 775 F.
Supp. 1004, 1008 (E.D. Mich. 1991). But neither Hogan nor its
progeny required such a showing. The “means-ends” test should
not be interpreted to sequire a strict correlation between a
coeducational environment and educational impairment. In-
stead the burden is a positive one of demonstrating that single-
sex schools and programs contribute to higher academic achieve-
ment, self-esteem and prospects for attending college.”” Provid-
ing these concrete benefits to urban males is an important
governmental interest, and the single-sex admissions standar¢ ot
a school has been shown in independent research to be related,
directly and substantially, to achieving that interest.

To be sure, single-sex academies have different and concrete
benefits for girls. But the Detroit School Board, with very
limited resources, prioritized its needs. The community, with the
input of educational experts, decided first to create schools for
pregnant teenagers, then to turn its attention to at-risk males. Of
course, if Detroit may not constitutionally provide male acad-
emies, then it raises the question whether Detroit was permitted
under the Constituiion to initiate schools for pregnant mothers,
without parallel schools for boys. Amici believe strongly that
schools for pregnant mothers are constitutional in that “the
gender classification is not invidious, but rather reflects the fact
that the sexes are not similarly situated in certain circum-
stances.” Michael M. v. Superior Court of Sonoma County, 450
USS. at 469 (plurality opinion).

A city’s prioritizing decisions are not invidious gender classi-
fications, but rather realistic reflections of the fact that males and
females are not fungible. /d. Just as “a legislature may provide

27 See Note, Inner-City Single-Sex Schools: Educational Reform or Invidi-
ous Discrimination’, 105 Harv. L. Rev. 1741, 1750-51 (1992).

— es

for the special problems of women,” id., citing Weinberger v.
Weisenfeld, 420 U.S. 636, 653 (1975), a city should be able to
respond to the very real needs of urban males, provided that it has
done so in a reasoned way, without relying on “archaic and
stereotypic notions,” Hogan, 458 U.S. at 725, or in a way which
“demean(s] the ability or social status of the affected class.”
Michael M. v. Superior Court, 450 U.S. at 469, citing Parham v.
Hughes, 441 U.S. 347, 354 (1979) (plurality opinion). If the
Fourth Circuit's emphasis on “parallelism” is interpreted to
require that every time a schoo! district initiates an educational
experiment designed to address real problems with one gender it
must simultaneously initiate a “substantively comparable” edu-
cational experiment with the other gender, the courts will have
placed an inadvisable straitjacket on school districts and parents
in the use of single-sex schooling:
“[C]ities [should not be] categorically prevented from
doing what they c[an] to address the particular needs of
specific elements of [their] school-age population simply
because [they] [cannot] simultaneously offer a solution to
every problem facing every group. This is the kind of
flexibility that is essential to the education reform that the
country desperately needs.”
The Constitution does not require absolute and simultaneous
parallelism. “The Constitution requires that [government] treat
similarly situated persons similarly, not that it engage in gestures
of superficial equality.” Rostker v. Goldberg, 453 U.S. at 79.
The practical effect of the Fourth Circuit's test in a poor city
will not be to expand opportunities for girls but instead to quash
the experimentation for boys. If Detroit cannot afford to create
court’s standard effectively requires them to abandon both
projects.

* Caplice, Single Sex Education, at 276.

=

B. Local Communities and Educators Must Be Per-
mitted to Make an Honest Assessment of Needs
Rather than to Engage in Gestures of Superficial
Equality.

In Ventura, California; Manassas, Virginia, Baltimore, Mary-
land; and Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, among other areas, school
districts have offered or proposed to offer classes, programs or
entire schools targeted at girls.” Ventura was told by the
Department of Education to rename classes aimed at females as
classes for the “mathematically challenged,” presumably to
avoid a loss of federal funds or a constitutional challenge.”
Philadelphia and Baltimore each has an all-girls high school,
although each says that boys are free to apply.”

According to one strong supporter of single-sex schools,
“[c}lasses like those in Ventura County ... survive constitutional
challenge by formally opening their doors to men, with a wink
and a nod to keep them from coming in.” Statutory require-
ments aside,”’ amici believe that the Constitution does not

* See Eric Wee, A Lesson in Confidence: Va. Middle School Tries All-Girl
Classes, Wash. Post, May |, 1995, at Al; Catherine Saillant, Ventura's All-
Girl Math Classes Pass Test on Bias; U.S. Civil Rights Authorities Suggest
Courses Be Renamed but Find They Do Not Discriminate Against Boys, L.A.
Times, March 8, 1995, at B!; Laura Rehrmann, Where the Smart Girls are
Away from Boys, Western Students Excel, Balt. Sun, January 27, 1990, at 3B.

* Catherine Saillant, Ventura's All-Girl Math Classes Pass Test on Bias;
U.S. Civil Rights Authorities Suggest Courses Be Renamed but Find They Do
Not Discriminate Against Boys, L.A. Times, March 8, 1995, at B1.

" Laura Rehrmann, Where the Smart Girls are Away from Boys, Western
Students Excel, Balt. Sun, January 27, 1990, at 3B.

® Susan Estrich, For Girls’ Schools and Women's Colleges; Separate is
Better, N.Y. Times, May 22, 1994, § 6, at 39.

* Amici realize that these schools may still encounter opposition from the
federal government under two federal statutes, see Title [X of the Education
Amendments of 1972, 20 U.S.C. § 1681 (1994) and the Equal Educational
Opportunity Act, 20 U.S.C. §§ 1701-1758 (1994).

require the cities of Baltimore, Philadelphia and Ventura to
maintain “gestures of superficial equality,” see Rostker v.
Goldberg, 453 U.S. at 79, by permitting boys to apply to their all-
girls math classes and high schools when the boys’ presence will
change the dynamic believed by educators and researchers to
provide the desired benefits for girls.

Ventura launched high school classes aimed at females be-
cause studies had shown that girls’ grades and interest in math
begin to fall off markedly during junior high.’ The Unified
School District conducted a survey to identify barriers that deter
female students from taking advanced math classes. The school
district then launched an experimental program described as
follows: “[oJur project, E.D.G.E. (Educational Diversity for
Gender Equity), addresses negative perceptions through the
vehicle of an algebra 2 class exclusively for female students.”
As has been demonstrated, same-gender classes have been
proven extremely effective in addressing this specific need.”

Just as Detroit should be free to respond to research regarding
urban males, Ventura should be permitted to do so for females.*’

™ Catherine Saillant, Ventura New Math Class Recruiting Method, L.A.
Times, February 4, 1995, at B2.

* Ventura Unified School District, Educational Diversity for Gender
Equity Proposal, (undated manuscript) at 2 (characterized by Assistant
Superintendent Patricia L. Chandler Ed.D., Ventura Unified School District,
as a “proposal which describes need, goals, and program design” in letter to
Peter Leibold (November 21, 1995)).

* See generally DOE Report Vols. Land II (1992).

” Although amici for petitioner argue that programs on behalf of women
should be subject to less scrutiny than those for men, see Brief for Amici
Curiae, Employment Law Center, et al. at 25-30 (Nos. 94-1941, 94-2107),
this view is shortsighted since optional same-gender education has different
benefits, and few costs, for each sex. In addition, those favoring “affirmative
action” for women alone at the college level must, in making their case, deal
with recent statistics regarding the greater percentages of women in higher

(Footnote 37 continued on next page)

—_— =

Of course, the decision must be reasoned, without employing
archaic stereotypes, and must be targeted at obtaining tangible
benefits. See Hogan, 458 U.S. at 724-25. In addition, the system
as a whole must provide diverse opportunities, with programs
targeted at producing bencficial outcomes, for the other sex.

Amici do not contend that it would be permissible for a school
district to concentrate all of its attention at improving the
educational achievement of one gender while systematically
ignoring the other. This is not to say, though, that a rigid
parallelism is required or that it is always impermissible to
improve the achievement of one gender without improving the
other, if the opportunity presents itself. In addition, efforts on
behalf of each gender should not have to be exactly the same. For
instance, if Ventura’s educational experts do not believe that an
all-male math class would benefit boys but that a coeducational
program to stimulate interest in the arts would be more benefi-
cial, the Constitution should not require a “gesture of superficial
equality,” see Rostker v. Goldberg, 453 U.S. at 79, in order to
justify an all-female math class.

In sum, this Court should clarify the Fourth Circuit’s standard
to rid the decision of its foreseeable consequences: a slavish
fidelity to parallelism, regardless of the circumstances facing a
state or school district.

(Footnote 37 continued)

education in every year since 1978. Anita Blair, Separate and Equal, N.Y.
Times, November 20, 1995, at A15. Following this Court's decisions in City
of Richmond v. J.A. Croson, 488 U.S. 469 (1989) and Adarand Constructors,
Inc v. Pefia, 115 S.Ct. 2097 (1995), “invidious” or “benign” discrimination
receives the same level of scrutiny. This does not mean, of course, that
increased scrutiny will not permit a court from taking “relevant differences”
into account. Adarand, 115 S.Ct. at 2113. “[A] gender based classification
favoring one sex can be justified if it intentionally and directly assists
members of the sex that is disproportionately burdened.” Hogan, 458 U.S. at
728. The burdens accompanying life as an urban male need to be addressed
as well.

—

Ill. When Offering Single-Sex Education to Both Sexes,
Educators Are Constitutionally Permitted to Use Dif-
ferent Educational Methodologies for Each Sex.

In the case at hand, the remedy for the alleged constitutional
violation, extending the benefits of publicly-funded same-gen-
der education to women in a manner considered most effective
by educational experts, certainly meets the standard enunciated
in Hogan.* As has been shown, the objective of providing
women and men with the establishebenefits of single-sex educa-
tion is a legitimate and important one. The remaining question,
then, is whether the means of providing same-gender education,
using different educational methodologies for each sex, substan-
tially serves the achievement of that cbjective.

As stated previously, “[i]f the State’s objective is legitimate
and important, [the Court] next determine(s] whether the requi-
site direct, substantial relationship between objective and means
is present.” Hogan, 458 U.S. at 725. “The purpose of requiring
that close relationship is to assure that the validity of the
classification is determined through reasoned analysis rather
than through the mechanical application of traditional, often
inaccurate, assumptions about the sexes.” /d. at 725-26.

Virginia’s remedy of creating a VWIL to complement VMI

and VPI substantially serves the important governmental objec-
tives of providing a public education and offering the established

* The Fourth Circuit felt compelled to add a third “substantive compara-
bility” prong to the Hogan test. Although amici understand the court's goal,
this requirement is unnecessary. If the government's objective is to provide
the benefits of same-gender education to both sexes, and it does so in a way
that reasoned analysis dictates will not succeed for both genders, the second
prong in Hogan has not been satisfied. The means employed are not
substantially related to achieving the Commonwealth's important goals. In
the case before the Court, however, Virginia has done everything in its power
to see that both programs succeed, including choosing the educational
methodologies which experts believe will make for both a successful VMI
and a successful VWIL.

= =

benefits of increased academic achievement and superior lead-
ership training for both men and women. Respondents have
articulated forcefully and at some length the reasoned analysis
by the Commonwealth and by VMI’s Board of Visitors used in
deciding to retain VMiI's single-sex policy. Brief for Cross-
Petitioners, at 28-32 (No. 94-2107). For present purposes, it is
enough to say that VMI, in exercising its delegated authority
from the Commonwealth, appointed a Mission Study Commit-
tee to consider carefully the “legality and wisdom of VMI's
single-sex policy.” Pet’r App. at 208a. Afterextensive study and
site visits, the Mission Committee recommended remaining a
single-sex institution because attracting women would be diffi-
cult and their admission would “alter the mission of VMI.” Jd.
at 2122, 214a.

After the decision on liability in this case, the Commonwealth
again made a reasoned study of the most effective way to
“provide women the access to a single-sex educational program
which would prepare them for leadership positions in civilian
and military life.” Jd. at 10la. The district court found as a fact
that “[t}he methods by which this goal could be achieved were
the subject of intensive study and planning by professionals who
are leaders in the field of designing and implementing educa-
tional programs for women.” /d. at 63a. Thus, the decisions
regarding admissions and teaching methodology were not made
reflexively, but with care, in a reasoned, informed manner. See
Hogan, 458 U.S. at 726 nn. 11, 12.

The Commonwealth and VMI have crafted a meticulous plan
to make VWIL a success. Virginia, among other things, will
contribute “dollar-for-dollar for VWIL students as it pays for
VMI.” Pet’r App. at 80a n.18. The VMI Foundation will endow
the VWIL program with a contribution of $5.4625 million in
addition to its other contributions. /d. at 120a. The VMI alumni
association will support VWIL graduates with its alumni net-
work. /d. at 120a, 12la. Thus, in its remedial plan, the

—

Commonwealth has used a reasoned approach in making avail-
able the distinct benefits of same-gender education for each
sex.”

As stated earlier, the benefits from the single-sex experience
flow from its homogeneity. Thus, underlying the decision to
provide same-gender schools is not an overbroad generalization
based on sex which is entirely unrelated to any differences
between men and women or which demeans the ability or social
status of the affected class. See Michael M. v. Superior Court,
450 U.S. at 469 (plurality opinion). The Equal Protection Clause
does not “‘demand that a statute necessarily apply equally to all
persons’ or require ‘things which are different in fact to be
treated in law as though they were the same.’” Jd. This Court has
consistently upheld state action where the gender classification
is not invidious but rather realistically reflects the fact that boys
and girls, men and women, do not always have the same needs
and do not always benefit equally from a given approach. /d.

In deciding to offer public single-sex education to both
women and men, Virginia has a right to depend on the reasoned,
respected views of relevant experts in determining the educa-
tional methodology which would be most advantageous to fulfill
each school’s respective mission. As the court of appeals stated,
“we should not reject programs that are aimed at achieving

* The government argues that the forced coeducation of VMI is required
because excluded women must have access to the “intangible qualities”
which make for the greatness of the school. Brief for Petitioner, at 25 (No.
94-1941). If taken to its logical conclusion, this argument does nothing less
than require the abolition of public single-sex schools or at least those schools
deemed to have intangible benefits. There will always be intangible differ-
ences in distinct schools. Not borne of malice or invidious discrimination,
some schools will have better teachers. Others will have wealthier alumni.
These “intangible qualities” are the product of the fact that all schools are
unique. If any individual of one sex has a right to obtain admission to another
school, limited to the opposite sex, because that school is different, public
single-sex schools by definition will be a thing of the past.

—_ =

similar results, not generally available from other institutions of
higher learning, simply because they differ in approach.” Pet'r
App. at 26a. The Constitution does not require cookie-cutter,
single-sex schools, all forced to offer their students the exact
same educational methodology for fear of being dragged into
court. Such a requirement would go well beyond Hogan or
anything this Court has even implied.

CONCLUSION

Virginia’ s remedy in this case fully satisfies the requirements
of the Fourteenth Amendment. The result of a holding against
VMI would be to threaten every single-sex public school in the
country and possibly to endanger numerous single-sex private
schools.”

Recent experimentation with same-gender classes for both
sexes in Baltimore and other cities, which have a track record of

“ In an amici curiae brief submitted in support of the government, 26
private women’s colleges struggle mightily to distinguish themselves from
VMI. While citing numerous cases on the “state action” doctrine, the brief
contains no persuasive argument to differentiate this Court’s decision in
Norwood v. Harrison, 413 U.S. 455 (1973). In Norwood, this Court found
that the provision of free textbooks to students attending racially discrimina-
tory schools constituted unconstitutional state action: “A State's constitu-
tional obligation requires it to steer clear, not only of operating the old dual
system of racially segregated schools, but also of giving significant aid to
institutions that practice racial or other invidious discrimination.” Norwood,
413 U.S. at 467 (emphasis added). The amici women's colleges offer the
following less-than-convincing distinction: “th{is}] Court's broad reading of
the state action in th[is] case has been limited to circumstances in which the
challenged action involves invidious racial discrimination.” Brief for Amici
Curiae, Twenty-six Private Women's Colleges, at 19 n.12 (Nos. 94-1941, 94-
2107). If this Court accepts the government's invitation to make gender a
suspect class or requires all public schools to be coeducational, we do not feel
as confident as those amici that aid given to private, same-gender schools
would be insulated from attack.

= we

increasing achievements among disadvantaged children,*' would
be jeopardized. This would be a tragedy for those children —
one not required by the Constitution or this Court’s precedents.
We urge the Court to find Virginia’s chosen remedy for the
alleged constitutional violation below consistent with the Four-
teenth Amendment, and at the very least, to clarify the standard
enunciated below regarding the need for a strict parallelism in
the offering of same gender opportunities. For the foregoing
reasons, the judgment of the Fourth Circuit in No. 94-1941
should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted.

John C. Danforth

(Counsel of Record)

Thomas C. Walsh

Peter M. Leibold
Bryan Cave LLP
One Metropolitan Square
211 North Broadway, Suite 3600
St. Louis, Missouri 63102-2750
(314) 259-2000

Attorneys for Amici Curiae

*' See Caplice, Single-Sex Education, at 277 (reporting the success of same
gender classes for both boys and girls in Baltimore, Milwaukee, Washington,
D.C., Norfolk, and Dade County); see also Letter from Cornelius Riordan to
Senator John C. Danforth (June 30, 1994), reprinted in Cong. Rec. $10,205
(daily ed. August |, 1994) (preliminary data on single-sex classrooms in a
public elementary school that is 98 percent African- and Hispanic-American
showed that students in single-gender classes outperformed co-educational
classes in NCE reading and mathematics tests, higher attendance rates, lower
suspension rates and higher parental participation rates).

APPENDIX

APPENDIX
Women’s Schools Together, Inc.

Women's Schools Together, Inc. is a national coalition of
Catholic high schools for young women. The group is commit-
ted to ensuring the option of women’s single-gender education
and to revisioning the education of women for the 21st century.
Women’s Schools Together includes approximately 150 Catho-
lic women’s high schools nationwide.

Boys Schools: An International Coalition

The coalition is an association of educators representing 150
schools dedicated to understanding and promoting the develop-
ment of school-age boys. In promoting schools and school
programs that focus on the distinctive tempo, sequence, and style
of boys’ learning, the Coalition aims to insure a future in which
humane and capable boys will bring their gifts to bear on the

creation of a just and livable world.
Robert C. Bobb

Robert C. Bobb is the City Manager of Richmond, Va. He has
served previously in that capacity for Kalamazoo, Michigan and
Santa Ana, California. Mr. Bobb has served on the Virginia State
Crime Commission and presently serves on the Commission on
Parole Abolition and Sentencing Reform. Governor L. Douglas
Wilder appointed Mr. Bobb to the Board of Visitors of the
Virginia Military Institute. He is also a Fellow of the National
Academy of Public Administration. Mr. Bobb’s interest in this
case stems not only from his seat on the Board of Visitors of VMI
but also from his deep commitment to improving the lives of
urban youth. Mr. Bobb believes that same-sex education can
play a valuable role in accomplishing that task.

Thomas H. Butler, Ed.D.

Thomas H. Butler is the President of the Governing Board of
Tempe Preparatory Academy (TPA) in Tempe, Arizona. TPA
will be a co-ed, publicly and privately funded Arizona Charter

Ye

school with ultimate enrollment of 216 students in grades seven
through twelve. TPA envisions itself as a community of learn-
ers, both teachers and students, promoting personal integrity,
diligent scholarship, creative imagination, community service,
and a life-long quest for learning. It is TPA’s belief that the
greatest educational achievement in its Charter School can be
made if boys and girls are in single-sex classrooms.

Dr. Roy J. Dawson

Dr. Roy J. Dawson Jr. is Superintendent of Schools in Camden
City, New Jersey. He also is an adjunct professor at Glassboro
State College. He has served in numerous capacities for the City
of Camden, including as the Director of its Title I program and
as the Acting Assistant Superintendent responsib!e for Compen-
satory Education, Migrant Education, Bilingual Education and
Staff Development programs in Camden City. At the present
time, he is responsible for 34 schools, and 20,000 students in
Camden. Camden City presently employs same-gender experi-
mentation in its schools and has a keen interest in the continua-
tion of this experimentation with this valuable pedagogical tool.
Peter M. Flanigan

Peter M. Flanigan is a Director of Dillon, Read & Co., a New
York City international investment banking firm. He is the
founder and the Chairman of the Finance Committee of the
Student/Sponsor Partnership, a Trustee of the Manhattan Insti-
tute for Policy Research and the founder of its Center for
Educational Innovation. He is a member of the New York City
Partnership's Education Committee and is committed to provid-
ing the benefits of single-sex education to the youth of New York
City.

Dr. Richard Hawley

Dr. Richard Hawley is headmaster of the University School,
an all-boys school in Cleveland, Ohio. In 1994, he was elected
President of Boys’ Schools: An International Coalition. Dr.

—"

Hawley has written extensively on the subject of single-sex
education for boys and has taught courses in history, govern-
ment, economics and philosophy. He has lectured and spoken
extensively on child development and education issues.

Frank Hayden

Frank Hayden is former president of the Detroit Board of
Education and was the chairman of the board committee that
recommended the establishment of three all-male academies
after studying the academic performance and disciplinary prob-
lems of urban male students.

Dr. Spencer Holland

Dr. Spencer Hoiland is President of Project 2000, Inc., a
nonprofit corporation whose primary mission is to provide
to inner-city African American males from 7th to 12 grades. He
founded the Center for Educating African-American Males and
has served in a variety of teaching and administrative positions
in urban public school systems. He has worked closely with the
Baltimore City Public Schools in implementing same-gender
classroom organization in elementary schools and with the
Camden puolic schools at the middle school level.

Nancy E. Kussrow

Ms. Nancy E. Kussrow is the Executive Director of the
National Association of Principals of Schools for Girls. The
Association exists to serve the cause of education for women and
girls. Organized in 1920 and operated exclusively for charitable
and educational purposes, the NAPSG is an association of
approximately 550 members: heads and other administrators of
independent schools enrolling girls, and executives of colleges
representing wide geographical diversity. Ms. Kussrow has
been the Executive Director of the NAPSG since 198! and
before that served as a principal and teacher in Kentucky and
Michigan.

= ee

Professor Mary R. Lefkowitz

Professor Mary R. Lefkowitz is the Andrew W. Mellon
Professor in the Humanities at Wellesley College. She is the
author of many books on the ancient world, including Lives of the
Greek Poets and Women in Greek Myth, as well as articles for
The Wall Street Journal and The New Republic. She is the co-
editor of Women’s Life in Greece and Rome and ot the forthcom-
ing Black Athena Revisited. She teaches at one of the most
prestigious all-women’s colleges in America and has a signifi-
cant interest in the success of same-sex schools.

Kathleen S. McCreary

Kathleen S. McCreary is a senior tax attorney at the Metlife
Insurance Company. She serves on the Boards of Directors of
the Catholic League for Religious and Civil Rights and the
Center for Law and Religious Freedom. She is a graduate of
Wellesley College and a strong advocate of the benefits of same-
gender education.

Joan S. McMenamin

Ms. Joan S. McMenamin is the Headmistress Emerita of the
Nightingale-Bamford School. She is on the Board of Trustees of
the Lawrenceville School and a member of the Headmasters
Association and the Headmistresses Association of the East. She
previously served as President of the New York State Associa-
tion of Independent Schools, the National Association of Princi-
pals of Schools for Girls and the Headmistresses Association of
the East.

Joseph W. McPherson

Joseph W. McPherson has been headmaster of The Heights
School since 1984. The Heights is an independent college
preparatory day school for boys in grades three through twelve.
The school was founded in 1959.

ae Ss

Dr. Angela Pienkos

Dr. Angela Pienkos is chief administrator of Divine Savior
Holy Angeles High School. She has served in that capacity for
twenty years. The Catholic all-girls high schools has an enroll-
ment of 570, and this institution as well as its chief administrator
have a keen interest in continuing to provide the benefits of a
single-sex institution to young women..

Dr. Diane Ravitch is a Senior Research Scholar at New York
University. She served as an Assistant Secretary of Education
for the Office of Educational Research and Improvement under
President George Bush. While at the Department, she commis-
sioned an impartial review of research on single-gender school-
ing. She has written on the subject and believes that same-gender
opportunities should be available for both young women and
young men. She has a deep interest in the educational achieve-
ment of young Americans in the setting most appropriate for
each child.

Dr. Cornelius Riordan

Dr. Cornelius Riordan is Professor of Sociology at Providence
College. He received an M.A. in Sociology from Clark Univer-
sity, his doctorate in Sociology from Syracuse University, and he
completed two years of postdoctoral work in educational re-
search at Johns Hopkins University. His area of specialization
is the social organization of schools and the educational out-
comes that are related to school organization. He has studied the
affects of single-gender education at all levels of schooling for
the past decade. He is the author of Girls and Boys in School:
Together or Separate? and numerous professional articles on
Dr. Joseph P. Spirito

Dr. Joseph P. Spirito is the Superintendent of Schools for the
Ventura Unified Schools District in Ventura, California. He

—_S

oversees a budget of $65 billion budget, 16,300 students, and
1,200 employees. Ventura has initiated the “Educational Diver-
sity for Gender Equity” proposal. The proposal was designed to
address the underrepresentation of women in careers that require
a math and/or science background. Because of his involvement
in this issue, the superintendent has a keen interest in the
constitutional analysis used to evaluate same-gender classes and
schools.

Michael M. Uhlmann

Michael M. Uhimann is a senior fellow in Law and Public
Policy at the Ethics and Public Policy Center in Washington,
D.C., concentrating in education policy, among other issues. He
has taught law at the George Mason University Law School and
served in the United States Department of Justice. He served as
a Special Assistant to President Ronald Reagan and has a deep
and abiding interest in the continuation of single-sex schools for
both young men and young women..

The Honorable Arnold W. Webster, Ph.D.

The Honorable Arnold W. Webster has been the Mayor of the
City of Camden since January 1994. He has served in Camden
City public education for more than two decades. He served as
superintendent of schools from July 1986 until January 1994. He
was assistant superintendent for eleven of the twelve years
preceding 1986. The Mayor has received numerous awards,
including the Youth of Camden’s Outstanding Citizen Award.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0607%3A24. Public record. Not legal advice.
