# Amicus Curiae Brief — United States v. Virginia

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0607%3A12

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1996
- **Citation:** 518 U.S. 515

## Text

@) | NOV 16 1995
Nos. 94- i

In THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1995

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

. Petitioner,

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ef all,
Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Fourth Circuit

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE OF WELLS COLLEGE,
SOUTHERN VIRGINIA COLLEGE
AND SAINT MARY’S COLLEGE
SUPPORTING AFFIRMANCE

DAVID M. LASCELL

Counsel of Record

REBECCA A. KIRCH

HALLENBECK, LASCELL, NORRIS
& Zorn, LLP

One Exchange Street

Rochester, New York 14614

(716) 423-5900

Counsel for Amici Curiae
Wells College,
Saint Mary’s College and
Southern Virginia College

Witson - Eras Painrine Co., Inc. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

~ BEST AVAILABLE COPY

TABLE OF CONTENTS |

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .... Se
INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAB o.2.0.0..0-.0.0-:c0cc--cocceeesionoe-
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT his

ARGUMENT

SINGLE-GENDER EDUCATION PROVIDES
SUBSTANTIAL EDUCATIONAL BENEFIT TO

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases

Albert v. Carovano, 851 F.2d 561 (2d Cir. 1988)...
Mississippi University for Women v. Hogan, 458
U.S. 718 (1982)
Powe v. Miles, 407 F.2d 78 (2d Cir. 1968) ..............
Rice v. President and Fellows of Harvard College,
668 F.2d 886 (ist Cir. 1981)
United States v. Commonwealth of Virginia, 44
F.3d 1229 (4th Cir. 1995) (VMI 11)
United States v. Commonwealth of Virginia, 976
F.2d 890 (4th Cir. 1992) (VMI 1)
United States v. Commonwealth of Virginia, 852
F.Supp. 471 (W.D. Va. 1994)
United States v. Commonwealth of Virginia, 766
F.Supp. 1407 (W.D. Va. 1991)

Articles

Marvin Bressler & Peter Wendell, The Sex Com-
position of Selective Colleges and Gender Dif-
ferences in Career Aspirations, 51 J. Higher
BR, GED COD cccvcsccnsccctiiicntseceensinteamaiasiiieaidaics

Mikyong Kim & Rodolfo Alvare:, Women-Only Col-
leges: Some Unanticipated Conseqences, 66 J.
Higher Educ. 641 (Nov./Dec. 1995) —..................

Daryl G. Smith, Lisa W. Wolf, and Diane E. Mor-
rison, Paths to Success: Factors Related to the
Impact of Women’s Colleges, 66 J. Higher Educ.
245 (May/June 1995) ....

Growing Smart: What’s Working for Girls in
School, Report Commissioned by the American
Association of University Women Educational
Foundation, Executive Summary and Action
Guide, Oct. 1995 ........................ OE EES

“A Burst of Popularity,” U.S. News & World Re-
OTR, HOR, GE, TRS cccectetensscatssunnenensiindaiiitdaeasai

In THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcTOBER TERM, 1995

Nos. 94-1941 and 94-2107

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

7 Petitioner,

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ef ai.,
Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Fourth Circuit

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE OF WELLS COLLEGE,
SOUTHERN VIRGINIA COLLEGE
AND SAINT MARY’S COLLEGE
SUPPORTING AFFIRMANCE

INTEREST OF AMIC/ CURIAE

Wells College, founded in 1868, is a private women's
college located in Aurora, New York. Saint Mary's Col-
lege, founded in 1842, is a private women’s college lo-
cated in Raleigh, North Carolina. Southern Virginia
College, a private college located in Buena Vista, Vir-
ginia, has been dedicated to educating women since its
founding in 1867. For more than a century, these schools
have provided high quality education for women. Through-
out their history, they have become enthusiastic supporters
of the pedagogical value of single-gender education. In-

2

deed, Wells, Saint Mary’s and Southern Virginia College
believe that they and other single-gender educational in-
stitutions provide needed diversity in American post-
secondary education.

Because amici are committed to the education of women
in a single-gender environment, amici urge this Court to
protect the ability of these institutions to continue to offer
single-gender education.*

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Amici Wells, Saint Mary’s and Southern Virginia Col-
lege are all private liberal arts colleges for women. These
singie-gender institutions provide excellent education in
the liberal arts and offer an environment conducive to
producing female leaders. Indeed, the Fourth Circuit
Court of Appeals in this case twice affirmed the District
Court’s findings that single-gender educational opportuni-
ties are valuable for both males and females. Said the
Court in this case:

Thus, while the data support a pedagogical justifica-
tion for a single-sex education, they do not materially
favor either sex. Both men and women appear to
have benefited from single-sex education in a mate-
rially similar manner.

United States v. Commonwealth of Virginia, 976 F.2d
890, 897-98 (4th Cir. 1992) (VM. I); see also United
States v. Commonwealth of Virginia, 44 F.3d 1229, 1239
(4th Cir. 1995) (VMI II) (reaffirming that single-gender
education benefits both sexes). Similarly, in Mississippi
University for Women v. Hogan, 458 U.S. 718 (1982),
this Court also recognized the viability of single-gender
education. /d. at 728, 732, n.17. This Court's decision
in Mississippi University for Women v. Hogan and the

* Petitioner /Cross-Respondent and Respondents /Cross-Petitioners
consented to the filing of this brief. Copies of the consent letters
have been filed with the Clerk.

3

District Court’s findings in this case support the conclu-
inn Cees ees pape
justification for single-gender education.

Amici urge this Court to affirm that finding with re-
spect to single-gender education and to construct a deci-
sion that will allow the continuation of single-gender
education in the United States.

ARGUMENT

SINGLE-GENDER EDUCATION PROVIDES SUBSTAN-
TIAL EDUCATIONAL BENEFIT TO WOMEN

As is amply demonstrated by the evidence considered
by the District Court in this case, a large number of
studies have confirmed the value and importance of single-
gender education. See, e.g., Marvin Bressler & Peter
Wendell, The Sex Composition of Selective Colleges and
Gender Differences in Career Aspirations, 51 J. Higher
Educ. 650, 662 (1980), cited in the Circuit Court’s opin-
ion, VMI I, 976 F.2d at 897. Acknowledging the merit
of these studies and the testimony supporting them, the
District Court in this case found that men and women
are treated differently in the classroom and women have
more chances for leadership at single-sex institutions.
United States v. Commonwealth of Virginia, 852 F.Supp.
471, 480 (W.D. Va. 1994). The District Court also
found that the educational benefits flowing from a single-
gender environment cannot be replicated in a coeduca-
tional setting. Thus, concluded the District Court, single-
gender education adds an important measure of diversity
in an overall educational system. United States v. Com-
monwealth of Virginia, 766 F. Supp. 1407, 1415 (W.D.
Va. 1991).

The Circuit Court in this case expressly adopted the
District Court’s factual findings, concluding that single-
gender education “yields concrete educational benefits.”
VMI Il, 44 F.3d at 123%. In reaching its conclusion, the
Circuit Court stated:

VMI Il, 44 F.3d at 1238.

Based on the factual record before it, the Fourth Circuit
Court held:

Just as a state’s provision of publicly financed educa-
tion to its citizens is a legitimate and important gov-
ernmental objective, so too is a state’s opting for
single-gender education as one particular pedagog-
ical technique among many.

VMI II, 44 F.3d at 1239.

In fact, several studies published since the Fourth Cir-
cuit Court’s ruling confirm its conclusion that single-
gender education offers significant advantages when com-
pared to coeducation. See, e.g., Mikyong Kim & Rodolfo
Alvarez, Women-Only Colleges: Some Unanticipated
Consequences, 66 J. Higher Educ. 641 (Nov./Dec. 1995);
Daryl G. Smith, Lisa W. Wolf, and Diane E. Morrison,
Paths to Success: Factors Related to the Impact of
Women's Colleges, 66 3. Higher Educ. 245 (May/June
1995); see also Growine Smart: What's Working for
Girls in School, Report Commissioned by the American
Association of University Women Educational Foundation,
Executive Summary and Action Guide, Oct. 1995. The
popular press has echoed these conclusions, reporting
that women’s colleges produce successful leaders in the
workplace. See, e.g., “A Burst of Popularity,” U.S. News
& World Report, Sept. 26. 1994, at 105, cited in the Cir-
cuit Court’s opinion, VMI II, 44 F.3d at 1238-39.

Despite the Circuit Court's conclusions in this case and
this Court’s holding in Mississippi University for Women,
several commentators and amici supporting the govern-
ment assert that public support of any kind of single-

5

gender education is unconstitutional. They urge this
Court to adopt a strict scrutiny standard and measure
every institution according to that standard. See Brief of
Amici Curiae National Women’s Law Center, et al., On
Petition for Writ of Certiorari, U.S. v. Virginia, cert.
granted, ——- US. ——, 116 S.Ct. 281 (1995), p. 9.
Single-gender education, they claim, can be supported
only as remedial action on behalf of women, not because
single-gender education is valuable standing by itself.
The implication is that even a private institution will be
unable to offer single-gender education if it receives fed-
eral financial assistance, state aid, or merely a state or
federal tax exemption. Indeed, since Grove City College
v. Bell, 465 U.S. 555 (1984), and the resulting amend-
ments to Title IX, the government has maintained con-
sistently that federal jurisdiction over the entire institu-
tion is triggered if a private institution receives any pub-
lic financial assistance, direct or indirect. Although the
Second Circuit Court of Appeals (the Circuit in which
Wells is located) twice reaffirmed that such government
funding does not transform a private institution into a
public one, Albert v. Carovano, 851 F.2d 561 (2d Cir.
1988): Powe v. Miles, 407 F.2d 73 (2d Cir. 1968); ac-
cord Rice v. President and Fellows of Harvard College,
663 F.2d 336 (ist Cir. 1981), the government and its
supporting amici seem to suggest that a private institution,
by accepting public benefits or taxpayer largess, be-
comes subject to the same constitutional scrutiny as pub-
lic institutions. Thus, they argue, traditionally private in-
stitutions will be unable to offer single-gender education.

Amici do not believe that this Court has made any such
ruling. Already, however, lawsuits are emerging to test
this argument and the viability of single-gender admissions
policies at private institutions. A District Court in Geor-
gia may soon be adjudicating the rights of a male appli-
cant seeking admission to Spelman College, a private
women’s college in Atlanta, Georgia. The Chronicle of

6

Higher Education (Oct. 27, 1995, at A29) reports the
male applicant asserts that because Spelman receives fed-
eral financial assistance, it cannot discriminate against
men in its admissions policy without violating Title IX.
Thus, the issue of how far this Court’s ruling in this case
will extend is already being raised. Similarly, the U.S.

lege in South Carolina. Converse is the college where a
program similar to the one at Mary Baldwin College (dis-
cussed in the record in this case) has been established.
The complaint chailenges the College’s receipt and use of
state funds to create a new, single-gender leadership pro-
gram for women, urging that this aid makes the institu-
tion a public one that is subject to Title IX’s prohibition
on discrimination in admissions.

Contrary to the arguments urged by the government
and its supporters in this case, amici believe strongly that
private women’s colleges are protected by Title [IX and
the U.S. Constitution. Recognizing, however, that almost
every private, single-gender institution could not survive
without public funds, amici urge that this Court clear any
remaining doubt. This Court’s decision in Mississippi
University for Women and the District Court's findings
in this case support the holding that providing the option
of a single-gender college education is a legitimate and
important aspect of both a public and private system of
higher education.

Against such a background, this Court cannot allow a
misinterpretation of its holding in Mississippi University
for Women, supra. Instead, it should reaffirm the value
of single-gender education, hold firmly and clearly that it
has its place in the American higher: education system,
and rule that educationally successful institutions like
amici may constitutionally offer single-gender education.

7

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Court should affirm the
Fourth Circuit Court’s decision upholding the constitu-
tionality of the proposed single-gender remedial plan.

Respectfully submitted,

DAVID M. LASCELL
Counsel of Record
REBECCA A. KIRCH
HALLENBECK, LASCELL, NORRIS
& Zorn, LLP
One Exchange Street
Rochester, New York 14614
(716) 423-5900
Counsel for Amici Curiae
Wells College,
Saint Mary’s College and
November, 1995 Southern Virginia College

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0607%3A12. Public record. Not legal advice.
