# Amicus Curiae Brief — Romer v. Evans

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0575%3A26

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1996
- **Citation:** 517 U.S. 620

## Text

Oo Oetopmn Term, 1994

ae Roy Romer, as Governor of the State of Colorado,

art | and the STATE OF COLORADO,

¥ Petitioners,

RicHarRD G. EVANS, ANGELA ROMERO, LINDA FOWLER,
“PauL BROWN, Priscitta INKPEN, JoHN MILLER, the
‘Boutperk VALLEY ScHoot District Re-2, the City
AND COUNTY OF DENVER, the City or BouLper, the
City oF ASPEN, and the Ciry CoUNCIL OF ASPEN,

Respondents.

: “On Writ of Certiorari to the
. Sapreme Court of the State of Colorado

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE OF AFFIRMATION: UNITED
METHODISTS FOR GAY, LESBIAN AND BISEXUAL
Se AXIOS USA, INC.; THE BRETHREN/
ITE eeray FOR LESBIAN AND GAY
1S; DIGNITY/USA; EVANGELICALS
sD, INC. INTEGRITY, INC.; LUTHERANS
RNI /NORTH AMERICA; PRESBYTERIANS
FOR LESBIAN/GAY CONCERNS; UNITED CHURCH
COALITION FOR LESBIAN/GAY CONCERNS; and
THE WORLD CONGRESS OF GAY AND
(BIAN JEWISH ORGANIZATIONS
‘SUPPORT OF THE RESPONDENTS

CELESTE McCoLLOUGH *
MATTHEW L. HESS
Suite 1700
3399 Peachtree Road, N.E.
Atlanta, Georgia 30826
(404) 841-8229

-* Counsel of Record . Counsel for Amici Curiae

OE a

BEST AVAILABLE COPY.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

IDENTITY AND INTEREST OF THE AMICI
IIIT Sieesicecbaehicsidetanehiibhaliahartahiainanhnicticasibgbhsetentedateséniementnete

Be I ait iat icaicciticicesitcgdinbicinieperincineeniisnatio
B. Gur Interest As Amiel .................ccccccccccccccccoccccccceess

I iain nlaaiihiliieiaiihciininnintaenicibiintbinmenincniemesie
I. THE WELL-WORN TECHNIQUES FOR EX-

II.

Ill.

CLUDING A MINORITY: IF TYRANNY IS
YOUR AIM, “IF YOU HAVE NO DOUBT OF
YOUR PREMISES OR YOUR POWER,” THEN
FIRST, YOU PUT YOUR EXCLUSION “IN
LAW” NOW AND, SECOND, YOU “SWEEP
AWAY ALL OPPOSITION” NOW AND INTO
THE FUTURE SO AS TO PRESERVE THAT
EXCLUSION FOR ALL TIME.............................

AMENDMENT 2 FOLLOWS THE HISTORIC
PATTERN OF EXCLUSION: IT EXCLUDES
GAY PEOPLE IN THE PRESENT AND
GUARANTEES THAT RESULT INTO THE
FUTURE BY SUPPRESSING FIRST AMEND-
FE i re

AMENDMENT 2 TRANSGRESSES THE
FIRST AMENDMENT IN FOUR WAYS ........
EER a oe ee
as sesonieaseunlbons
ae ee
EE A CS ec a

I iia inesistcticninsiscnshiiihdidicniddataicdiipbiniantaneneasinnsints

Page

11

13

ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

DECISIONS OF THE UNITED STATES SUPREME

COURT Page
Abrams v. United States, 250 U.S. 616 (1919) ....... 13, 21
Adarand Constructors v. Petia, No. 93-1841, ——

if TT) 8 8 Eee 15, 17
Bowers v. Hardwick, 478 U.S. 186 (1986) ............... passim
California Motor Transp. Co. v. Trucking Uniltd.,

Peel | 6 6f) ee ee 27
City of Madison v. Wisconsin Employment Rels.

Comm’n, 429 U.S. 167 (1976) ...............-...--------2-+-- 25
Cohen v. California, 403 U.S. 15 (1971) ................... 21
Crist v. Murray, 1995 U.S. LEXIS 3622 (May 30,

BI ecenencnecesniessenscccsnensescssenseninnneeaaennals o
Dred Scott v. Sandford, 60 U.S. 393 (1856) ............. passim
Eastlake v. Forest City Enters., Inc., 426 U.S. 668

CTD aceecesennsencnsccccceneceeseneseinscinindsietinnaaana 24
Eisenstadt v. Baird, 405 U.S. 488 (1972) -............. 11, 18
First Nat’l Bank v. Bellotti, 435 U.S. 765 (1978) .... 24
Garrison v. Louisiana, 379 U.S. 64 (1964) -.............. 21
Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479 (1965) ......... 8
Groppi v. Wisconsin, 400 U.S. 505 (1971) ............... 24
Hague v. Committee for Indus. Org., 307 U.S. 496

CDBG nncceccsccecsesracnsvindsovinsonininmiaiamanimmn 22
Hortonville Joint School Dist. No. 1 v. Hortonville

Educ. Ass’n, 426 U.S. 482 (1976) -....................... 24
James B. Beam Distilling Co. v. Georgia, 501 U.S.

BED. CRBIED cececerecnccescennecssssssensntictonetecanaan 17
Landmark Communs., Inc. v. Virginia, 435 U.S.

BED CRIG ED q...-n-nncccnsaanscccesensesssnsctnnsssieeaseaneie 24
Linmark Assocs., Inc. v. Willingboro, 431 U.S. 85

CRIT oncaccccoccecescnccinsctetntsnttnnneseuaniiaa 22
Loving v. Virginia, 388 U.S. 1 (1967) ....................- 18
McDonald v. Smith, 472 U.S. 479 (1985) —............. 22, 26
Memorial Hosp. v. Maricopa County, 415 U.S. 250

CRIED envccecccercenrenenccenoscsisinasiiliaantansinediea 24
Minnesota State Bd. for Community Colleges v.

Knight, 465 U.S. 271 (1984) ............................ 10, 27, 28
Mullaney v. Wilbur, 421 U.S. 684 (1975) ~............ 24

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
NAACP v. Button, 371 U.S. 415 (1963) 00. 22
North Carolina v. Butler, 441 U.S. 369 (1979) ..... 24
O’Brien v. Skinner, 414 U.S. 524 (1974) 0. 24
Planned Parenthood v. Casey, —— U.S. ——, 112
Nn cceteseneuscuecves 17
Police Dep’t v. Mosley, 408 U.S. 92 (1972) ......... ; 23
Shelley v. Kraemer, 334 U.S. 1 (1948) ..........0-.... 17
Slaughter-House Cases, 83 U.S. 36 (1873)... 12, 22
Southeastern Promotions, Ltd. v. Conrad, 420 U.S.
LE EE 25
Ward v. Illinois, 431 U.S. 767 (1977) .................... 24
Wardius v. Oregon, 412 U.S. 470 (1973) 24
Whitney v. California, 274 U.S. 357 (1927) 21, 22

OTHER DECISIONS

Ben-Shalom v. Marsh, 881 F.2d 454 (7th Cir.
1989) . 18
Equality Found. ‘of Greater Cincinnati, Ine. ' v. », Cit
of Cincinnati, 1995 U.S. App. LEXIS 10462 (6th

Nn novcedesevenece 18
Evans v. Romer, 854 P.2d 1270 (1998) nn ieee 24
Evans v. Romer, 882 P.2d 1335 (1994)... 12, 28
High Tech Gays v. Defense Indus. Security Clear-

ance Office, 895 F.2d 563 (9th Cir. 1990) 18
Padula v. Webster, 822 F.2d 97 (D.C. Cir. 1987) .... 18
Steffan v. Perry, 41 F.3d 677 (D.C. Cir. 1994)... 18
Woodward v. United States, 871 F.2d 1068 (Fed.

a nescenpnssscsooorcnces 18

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION
SEE passim
I cccucscosvensesvcnscovece 12

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Blasi, The Pathological Perspective and the First
Amendment, 85 CoLuM. L. REV. 449 (1985) _..... 21

H.M. Hart, JR. & A.M. Sacks, THE LEGAL
PROCESS: BASIC PROBLEMS IN THE MAKING AND
APPLICATION OF LAW (tent. ed. 1958)... 10

iv |
IN THE

— | Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Higginson, A Short History of the Right to Petition
Government for the Redress of Grievances, 96

Pn’ |) — eeccaseeeeecnee 26-28
Karst, The Freedom of Intimate Association, 89
Wasad Vad. CBE CIGBB) ..20ccccncccnccccsesecorcsosscveoseseorssesies 18 No. 94-1039

Roy Romer, as Governor of the State of Colorado,
and the STATE OF COLORADO,

. Petitioners,

RICHARD G. EVANS, ANGELA ROMERO, LINDA FOWLER,
PAUL BROWN, PRISCILLA INKPEN, JOHN MILLER, the
BOULDER VALLEY SCHOOL DisTRICT RE-2, the City
AND COUNTY OF DENVER, the CiTy OF BOULDER, the
City OF ASPEN, and the City CouNcIL OF ASPEN,

Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
Supreme Court of the State of Colorado

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE OF AFFIRMATION: UNITED
METHODISTS FOR GAY, LESBIAN AND BISEXUAL
CONCERNS; AXIOS USA, INC.; THE BRETHREN/
MENNONITE COUNCIL FOR LESBIAN AND GAY
CONCERNS; DIGNITY/USA; EVANGELICALS
CONCERNED, INC.; INTEGRITY, INC.; LUTHERANS
CONCERNED/NORTH AMERICA; PRESBYTERIANS
FOR LESBIAN/GAY CONCERNS; UNITED CHURCH
COALITION FOR LESBIAN/GAY CONCERNS; and
THE WORLD CONGRESS OF GAY AND
LESBIAN JEWISH ORGANIZATIONS
IN SUPPORT OF THE RESPONDENTS

2
IDENTITY AND INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE

We address the Court as Jews and Christians who de-
pend in our society upon all of the full panoply of civil
liberties guaranteed us by the First Amendment to the
Constitution of the United States. As groups consisting
largely of Christian and Jewish gay males, lesbians, and
bisexuals, our organizations have unanimously adopted
as our unified purpose to speak, to advocate, to publish,
and to petition for recognition of our inalienable rights.

Our religious commitment and tradition propel us to
claim the rights of citizenship of our constituents and to
call upon this Court to honor its mandate and tradition
of safeguarding the fundamental rights of all citizens of
this Nation, no matter how despised or unpopular. While
we fully support the equal protection rights, as briefed by
the Respondents, and the rights secured by the religion
clauses, as briefed by other amici supporting the Respond-
ents, we submit this Brief to demonstrate the massive
infringement by Amendment 2 of the First Amendment
rights of speech and petition.

A. Our Identity

Affirmation: United Methodists for Gay, Lesbian and
Bisexual Concerns consists of lesbians, bisexuals, gay
men, and their friends, families and supporters who af-
firm full participation of all persons in the United
Methodist Church. We celebrate God’s gifts of sexuality
and sensuality, with all their blessings for intimacy, rela-
tionship and personal growth. We have organized to care
for one another, to represent our concerns to and with
the United Methodist Church, and to speak boldly for
the inclusion of all people. We seek to respond positively
to God’s love to all persons and, in doing so, speak in
a prophetic voice to church and society.

Axios USA, Inc. is an organization of gay and lesbian
lay Christians. We work for the knowledge and under-
standing of men and women of homosexual orientation
among the public and within the institutions of the

3

various Eastern Orthodox, Oriental Orthodox (Non-
Chalcedonian), and Eastern-Rite Catholic Churches by
means of educational and charitable activities. Our mem-
bers engage in research and dialogue with church au-
thorities and members of the gay and lesbian community.
We honor, among others, the lives and martyrdom of
Saints Sergius and Bacchus (recognized by both Catholics
and Orthodox), whose accepted martyrium has one call-
ing the other “sweet campanion and [erotic/romantic]
lover.” They were martyred at the turn of the third cen-
tury A.D. for refusing to worship Jupiter. Their love for
each other inspired those around them and us today.

The Brethren/Mennonite Council for Lesbian and Gay
Concerns is organized for purposes of the advancement
of education regarding lesbian, bisexual and gay male
concerns in the church and in general society—especially
the elimination of prejudice and discrimination, the de-
fense of civil rights secured by law, and the development
of social activities and public or professional services for
the betterment of lesbians, bisexuals and gay men and of
the Brethren and Mennonite churches.

Dignity/USA is a national organization of gay, lesbian,
and bisexual Catholics; their families; and friends. This
year, we celebrate twenty-five years of ministering to the
spiritual needs of the gay, lesbian, and bisexual com-
munity. We have eighty-five affiliated chapters through-
out the country, and each week we provide spiritual nur-
turing to the thousands of our members of the gay com-
munity who seek guidance and renewal. We live our be-
liefs by joining with other lay organizations of the Roman
Catholic Church in proclaiming our Catholicism and our
beliefs in living the Gospel message. Dignity/USA seeks
to be an instrument through which its members may be
heard by the institutional church and society. We seek to
speak our conviction that we, as gay people, can express
our sexuality in a maner consonant with Christ’s teaching
and that we can express our sexuality physically in a
unitive manner that is loving, life-giving, and life-affirming.

4

We encourage our members to work for justice and social
acceptance through education and legal reform.

Evangelicals Concerned, Inc. is a national organiza-
tion dedicated to assisting lesbians and gay men and
churches better to understand homosexuality and the good
news of God’s grace and peace. We fulfill our purpose
of providing a fellowship of Christians concerned about
the interface between Christian life and homosexuality by,
among other things, publishing literature and conducting
professional fora ard educational colloquia on homo-
sexuality and Christian life.

In Integrity, Inc., we hold our mission to be the wit-
ness of the lesbian and gay community in the Episcopal
Church and of the Episcopal Church in the lesbian and
gay community. We engage in a ministry of worship, ed-
ucation, advocacy, fellowship, and service. We started out
as a newsletter in rural Georgia and have grown to more
than seventy chapters in the United States, Canada, and
Australia. Our membership is open to all who support
gay and lesbian rights in the Episcopal church, and we are
proud to count several of our bishops among our mem-
bership. In 1993, we adopted a resolution calling upon
“our national church and the agencies and institutions
which report to it to refrain from scheduling General
Convention, other meetings or official activities in the
State of Colorado until such time as Amendment 2 is
repealed or overturned.” At last year’s General Conven-
tion of the Episcopal Church, some 27 openly lesbian and
gay deputies, elected by dioceses, played a role in the
Convention’s passage of several pro-gay resolutions, includ-
ing the call for the inclusion of sexual orientation in state
and federal civil rights laws.

Lutherans Concerned/North America, Inc. stands as a
community of faith, modeling the gospel within the church
and within the lesbian and gay community. We seek to
embody the Gospel’s principles of inclusiveness and justice,
celebrating God’s gifts of sexuality and diversity. Our
members serve as pastors, officials, and lay leaders with-

5

in the Lutheran Church. Our goals are to affirm the
God-given nature of sexual orientation, to proclaim the
good news of Jesus Christ through inclusive worship and
to promote positive changes in all expressions of the
Lutheran Church, including the Evangel.cal Lutheran
Church in America; the Lutheran Church—Missouri
Synod; and the Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod.
In furtherance of these goals, we have adopted as our
logo a combination of the fish and pink triangle, a symbol
that visually unites symbols of our Christian faith and
courage against sexual discrimination. The ichthus, or
fish symbol, originated as a secret recognition sign when
Christians in the Roman Empire were persecuted for
their faith. The pink triangle was used by the Nazis to
identify tens of thousands (no one knows exactly how
many) of European homosexuals who were persecuted
by, and murdered in the death camps of, the Third Reich.
The triangle shape also symbolizes the Holy Trinity.
Both symbols are now used by our respective communities
today as signs of honor and support. We unite them to
show that Christian life and human sexuality can be recon-
ciled into one. Through our ministry, we seek to help the
hurting and to speak up for those who cannot risk open-
ness.

Presbyterians for Lesbian/Gay Concerns is a “special
organization” within the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.).
We report annually to the Theology and Worship unit
within the national headquarters of the Presbyterian
Church (U.S.A.). Through proclamation of the liberat-
ing and inclusive Gospel of Jesus Christ to all people,
we seek to facilitate, by the distribution of educational
materials and otherwise, the intelligent consideration by
Presbyterian governing bodies of support for legislation
prohibiting discrimination on the basis of affectional and
sexual preference or orientation and for legislation delet-
ing restrictions on the private sexual behavior of con-
senting adults.

6

United Church Coalition for Lesbian/Gay Concerns
affirms, empowers, educates, and advocates, providing sup-
port and sanctuary to all our lesbian, gay, and bisexual
sisters and brothers, their families and friends. We ad-
vocate for full civil rights and bring Christ’s affirming
message of love and justice for all to the Church and s$O-
ciety. We affirm the good news that all persons without
regard to sexual orientation are loved and empowered
by God, and we promote ministries of pastoral care, educa-
tion, and advocacy within the United Church of Christ
and society as a whole. We enjoy a good working re-
lationship with the various instrumentalities and admin-
istrative officers of the United Church of Christ.

The World Congress of Gay and Lesbian Jewish Or-
ganizations has over fifty member organizations through-
out the world. To have voting or associate member
status in the World Congress, an organization must be a
primarily Gay and/or Lesbian and a primarily Jewish
organization. Many of our member organizations are
religious communities and congregations, most of which
are affiliated with the United Hebrew Synagogues of
America. We are established in order to coordinate and
promote educational and development programs for gay
and lesbian Jewish groups throughout the world and to
further the concerns of the World Congress in the wider
Jewish and gay lesbian communities. We pursue the
eradication of sexism, homophobia, and anti-semitism
through educational programs. Thus, for instance, one of
our member organizations, the Society for the Protection
of Personal Rights, planned and scheduled a ceremony
last year at Yad Vashem to commemorate the six million
Jews slaughtered by the Nazis in World War II, includ-
ing the five to ten percent among them who were homo-
sexual men and women. The World Congress partici-
pated in this ceremony, which was disrupted by dis-
senters. We stood together as proud gays and lesbians,
facing down the disrupters with our singing and our
faith.

B. Our Interest As Amici

As Jewish and Christian gay people dedicated to the
mandates and promises of our faiths, we claim our right to
this Court’s vigilant guardianship over our fundamental
rights as citizens of this Nation, including our First Amend-
ment rights of speech and petition. Speaking on January
29, 1995, to the Church of the Covenant, a federated
church of the United Church of Christ and the Presby-

terian Church (U.S.A.) in Boston, Massachusetts, Roger
S. Powers commended:

Like the abolitionists of the nineteenth century
who fought against slavery, like the suffragists who
fought for the rights of women, and like the African-
American churches that fought for civil rights, we
are fighting today for gay rights, and with God’s
help, we, too, shall overcome ... We have a respon-
sibility to speak the truth to them, but to do so with
love and compassion in ways that they can hear us
and not simply reject us out of hand... .

The responsibility to speak of which Mr. Powers ad-
monished is borne of our faith and our commitment to
a God of equality and justice. As Americans, our in-
nate right to proclaim this message and to claim its im-
plications is guaranteed through our Constitution.

A prominent purpose of our organizations, in exer-
cise of our First Amendment freedoms of speech and
petition, is to claim our rights as equal citizens in this
country and in God’s world order. By forbidding the
promulgation or enforcement of any law or regulation
that would entitle our members “to claim” protection,
Colorado’s Amendment 2 forbids that which our religious
faith and civic conviction require us to do.

To remove any doubt, we stand before this Court to
give witness to the fact that gay people in the United
States encounter discrimination in a multitude of invid-
ious ways. One need only look to the law of this Court
to discover how pervasively society demeans us. We hold

8

our loving relationships of companionship to be “a com-
ing together for better or for worse, hopefully enduring,
and intimate to the degree of being sacred.” Griswold v.
Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479, 486 (1965) (all emphasis
herein supplied unless otherwise indicated). Yet, even
certain expressions of our love—which we believe to be
blessed by God—have been deemed by this Court to jus-
tify criminalization and imprisonment. In a similar vein,
it is often the very identification of ourselves as gay
people that provokes the discrimination we suffer. A
lesbian couple who fly the rainbow flag (often a symbol
of pride in our sexual orientation) in front of their home
awaken to a violent attack upon their property. A gay
man who, out of dignity and honesty, reveals his sexuality
at work loses his job. A gay or lesbian couple cannot find
housing because they introduce themselves as life part-
ners. Gay or lesbian parents are declared unfit, and
their children are taken away. In Colorado, we achieve
a modicum of equality in isolated measures taken to
afford to us the basic freedoms enjoyed by other people,
and a State constitutional amendment is adopted that
prohibits us even from claiming equal protection. If we
articulate our sexual orientation, we must constantly con-
front a world of antagonism and suspicion.

This Court has a clear and unquestionable duty to
guard our right to speak and to petition our school dis-
tricts, our city and county governments, all levels of
government, our Nation and its constituent States, and our
fellow citizens. Through this Brief, we bring this in-
terest before the Court.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

In their defense of Amendment 2, Petitioners focus
narrowly on the repeal of existing protection for gay
people effectuated by Amendment 2. E.zg., Brief for Peti-
tioners at 6. If Amendment 2 presented nothing more
than a repeal, this Court could perhaps rely more com-
fortably upon the background assumption that the po-

9

litical branches and democratic processes generally would
remain available to rectify any improvident decision. See
Brief for Respondents at Arg. Sec. I.A.1. But Amendment
2 is far more than an instance of repealing legislation, and
for this reason, the judicial assumption of available po-
litical processes must not become operative. Indeed,
Amendment 2, in addition to excluding gay people in
the present time by repealing all existing protection, op-
erates prospectively to preserve that exclusion for all
time. Respondents demonstrate that this second feature
of Amendment 2, the prospective exclusion, unconstitu-
tionally burdens the right to participate equally in the
political process. The present Brief demonstrates that,
wholly apart from an equal protection analysis, the means
chosen to accomplish this second goal are also in direct
violation of the right to participate (to speak and to
petition) in the political process as guaranteed by the
First Amendment.

Amendment 2 accomplishes its second goal, perpetuat-
ing the exclusion of gay people into the future and pre-
venting any future adoption of protection, by suppressing
the political speech that precedes the adoption of legis-
lation. Specifically, Amendment 2 accomplishes _ this
second goal 1) by establishing an absolute prohibition on
even the making of a claim for protection and 2) by
eliminating the capacity of government even to hear such
a claim. The record in this case provides concrete ex-
amples of how this will work. Plaintiff Romero brought
about protection from discrimination in the Denver
Police Department by petitioning the Department, using
a departmental grievance procedure, whether formal or
informal, to consider adopting such protection. Likewise,
Plaintiff Evans brought about protection in state govern-
ment by petitioning the Governor, using a state rulemak-
ing procedure, to consider adopting such protection. See
Brief for Respondents at Statement of Case Sec. IT.A.
Among the many other things it will do. Amendment 2
will prohibit Romero. Evans, and others from using such
state and local procedures in the future to make a claim

10

for—to speak out for, to advocate for, to petition for—
the adoption of such protection. And the Amendment
will also eliminate the capacity of the Denver Police De-
partment, the Governor, and all other state and local
branches and levels of government to hear, or even to re-
ceive, such a petition.

This Brief demonstrates that, in these aspects at the
very least, Amendment 2 transgresses the First Amend-
ment in four ways. The prohibition on the making of a
claim for protection violates well-settled First Amend-
ment doctrines condemning 1) content restrictions, 2)
speaker restrictions, and 3) discriminatory access to public
fora. These doctrines and the protections they afford
are supported by both the Speech Clause and the Peti-
tion Clause.

This Brief submits that Amendment 2’s elimination of
the capacity of government to hear such a claim violates
an additional fourth protection supported by the Peti-
tion Clause. Mindful of this Court’s decision in Minne-
sota State Bd. for Community Colleges v. Knight, 465 U.S.
271 (1984), the Brief does not posit a (judicially en-
forceable) duty on the part of government to hear a peti-
tion. The Brief does not, and need not, posit a govern-
mental duty corresponding to the citizen’s right to peti-
tion. Instead, the Brief posits that, in light of its language,
its history, and its place in our constitutional structure,
the Petition Clause protects the capacity of representa-
tive government—in Hohfeldian terms, the power *—to
receive; to listen to; to be informed by; to entertain; and
when appropriate, to respond meaningfully to a petition.

It is precisely because Amendment 2 so alters the
inherited structure of democratic self-government that the
judicial assumption of rectification through the political
process must not be allowed to become operative in this

1 See H.M. Hart, Jr. & A.M. SACKS, THE LEGAL PROCESS: BASIC
PROBLEMS IN THE MAKING AND APPLICATION OF LAW 141-79
(tent. ed. 1958).

11

case. Amendment 2 not only undermines impartial demo-
cratic process, see Brief for Respondents at Arg. Sec.
I.A.1, it also dismantles the process itself.

ARGUMENT

It has been said that the civic religion of the United
States is human rights. This civic religion first found
expression in the concept of universal citizenship. The
Declaration of Independence proclaimed a precivic, na-
tural, and God-given citizenship for all human beings:
“all men are created equal,” and “they are endowed by
their Creator with certain unalienable rights.” When the
United States Constitution followed, it used the word
citizen to give civic expression to this belief in the full
and equal dignity of every person. Despite the reference
to men, these formulations have always been rightly un-
derstood to mean women and minors as well. See Dred
Scott v. Sandford, 60 U.S. 393, 422 (1856) (opinion
of the Court per Taney, C.J.)

Perhaps more important than the actual rights, priv-
ileges, and immunities bound up in citizenship is the
principle that each and every person is entitled to full and
equal participation in those rights whatever they may be.
The content of these privileges and immunities has been
found, at least in part, in the concept of ordered liberty.
See Bowers v. Hardwick, 478 U.S. 186, 191-92 (1986).
But the ultimate guarantee of liberty resides much more
in the promise of full and equal participation by every-
one. A right granted to one must be afforded to all
others. And if a right is to be denied to one, all others
must suffer a like deprivation. See Eisenstadt v. Baird,
405 U.S. 438, 454-55 (1972). It is in the rigorous and
vigilant application of the principle of equality, inherent
from the beginning in the promise of full and equal
citizenship for all, that we can best preserve against the
fencing-out of any one of us.

It may be that this Court has begun to doubt the le-
gitimacy of its fundamental rights jurisprudence, at least

12

when called upon to acknowledge these rights in certain
despised classes of citizens, on the ground that these rights
are not “textual.” See Bowers, 478 U.S. at 191, 194-95.
On the textualist’s objection, it is instructive to consider
the views advanced in the concurring opinion filed by
Justice Scott in the Colorado Supreme Court. Justice
Scott maintains that, but for the mistake of the Slaughter-
House Cases, 83 U.S. 36 (1873), the present case and
many others would be governed by the substantive en-
titlements afforded by the Privileges or Immunities Clause
of the Fourteenth Amendment. See Evans v. Romer, 882
P.2d 1335, 1356 (1994) (Scott, J., concurring). In-
deed, viewed from this perspective, much of this Court’s
substantive due process and fundamental rights juris-
prudence, and even the incorporation doctrine, are not
so much nontextual exercises in judicial illegitimacy as
they are compensating mechanisms: that is, doctrines de-
veloped to compensate for the mistake of the Slaughter-
House Cases and to realize the express and textual prom-
ise of the Privileges or Immunities Clause. Cf. id at
1353-54. In light of Justice Scott’s assessment of the con-
trolling significance (but for the Slaughter-House rule of
decision) of the Privileges or Immunities Clause, it would
be wise to recall what necessitated the Clause. This
Clause was given top billing in the Fourteenth Amend-
ment because the Clause, together with the opening sen-
tence of the Amendment, was designed to overrule the
Dred Scott decision, the classic fencing-out decision of
American judicial history.

13

I. THE WELL-WORN TECHNIQUES FOR EXCLUD-
ING A MINORITY: IF TYRANNY IS YOUR AIM,
“IF YOU HAVE NO DOUBT OF YOUR PREMISES
OR YOUR POWER,” THEN FIRST, YOU PUT YOUR
EXCLUSION “IN LAW” NOW AND, SECOND, YOU
“SWEEP AWAY ALL OPPOSITION” NOW AND
INTO THE FUTURE SO AS TO PRESERVE THAT
EXCLUSION FOR ALL TIME?

Mr. Scott brought a claim to be free of Mr. Sanford’s
assaults. Sanford defended by claiming a slaveholder’s
privilege to lay his hands upon and imprison Scott and
family. Further, Sanford challenged even Scott’s right
to make a claim, on the ground that Scott was assert-
edly not a citizen. If Scott had no citizenship, then he
had no right to make a claim, one of the privileges of
citizenship. See 60 U.S. at 396-99. The Dred Scott
Court’s fateful decision of this question of citizenship
came in some two parts.

First, the Court acknowledged the universality of the
language employed in the founding documents, the Dec-
laration and the Constitution, and that this language and
“the principles” thereby expressed would seem to “em-
brace the whole human family.” /d. at 410. Neverthe-
less, the Court embarked upon an inquiry into who was
“intended to be included” and who was “intended to be
excluded” “at that time.” Jd. at 406-07. The “proof”
of this original intent was to be divined through a sur-
vey of legislative acts, court decisions, and everyday
practices throughout “the public history of every Euro-
pean nation’ of “the English Government and English
people,” and of “the British colonies” up until the time
that the Declaration and Constitution were framed (and
possibly even thereafter into the early decades of the
nineteenth century). /d. at 407-17. The Court found
in this history not merely an original intent to exclude
those who were enslaved. The Court found much more

2 Abrams v. United States, 250 U.S. 616, 630 (1919) (Holmes,
J., dissenting).

14

an original intent to exclude all persons of African de-
scent regardless of whether enslaved, once enslaved and
later emancipated, or even never enslaved, say, because
of recent immigration and (attempted) naturalization.
Id. at 416-23. For every example where someone in
this public history had broken free of the abysmal record
of racism and had inched forward in realizing the prom-
ise of full and equal citizenship for all (in the abolition
of slavery in some colonies and state: for instance), the
Court found a counterexample. This, even in these free
states, the Court noted, some had remained “actively
engaged in the slave trade, procuring cargoes on the coast
of Africa, and transporting them for sale” in this country.
Id. at 412. As between two such conflicting examples,
the Court felt constrained to heed the latter example in
its search for original intent. By these means, the Dred
Scott Court drained the founding documents of prin-
cipled content.

It was as if at the moment that Mr. Jefferson glimpsed
new principles by which to organize a more nearly just
polity and put them to paper, if at that moment it was
beyond Jefferson’s power to realize these principles in-
stantaneously in the world about him, then his “intent”
would rather be found in the examples set by the very
old order he had vainly sought to revolutionize. Tragi-
cally, this completely neglected Jefferson’s capacity to
imagine a better way and his indisputable intention to
bequeath that vision to posterity. Indeed, the entire
polity would be held in check until the last blackheart
slavetrader on the coast of New England had been per-
suaded to desist.

Put another way, this technique of constitutional inter-
pretation may well be useful under certain carefully delim-
ited circumstances. If, in a given instance, the Framers
were merely constitutionalizing a preexisting rule of law,
then it may be legitimate to survey public history to as-
certain the content of that rule. When, however, the
Framers were establishing new principles, when they were

oo

15

writing a new page in world history, then it is nothing
short of a travesty to purport to find the “intent” ani-
mating these new principles in the example of the old
order they were squarely rejecting.

In 1856, the Constitution held no express guarantee
of equal protection, but the equality principle has always
been understood as the central meaning of justice. How
did the Dred Scott Court formally introduce apartheid
into America in the very teeth of this bedrock principle
of justice? It was done by finding that African-Americans
constitute “an inferior and subordinate class.” Jd. at
417; see also id. at 404-05, 416. If people of African
descent were found to be inferior, why they would not
be entitled to equal treatment. There seems to have
been no consciousness that, in matters of this nature,
even this Court’s finding of inferiority in the person of
the petitioner is utterly irrelevant. The entitlement to
participate fully and equally in citizenship is a political
and civic claim and not in any way contingent upon a
factual showing of superior worth or even of equal worth.*
The privileges and immunities attaching to citizenship

are not contingent or conditional, but rather “unalien-
able.”

Second, having embarked on the course of exclusion,
the Dred Scott Court took the further step of disabling
other political actors so that the scheme of apartheid
would remain virtually unalterable. On why the exclu-
sion had to cover, not only slaves, but all “persons of
the negro race” including free persons, the Court can-
didly admitted that it was necessary in order to elimi-
nate any entitlement to First Amendment rights: If
free Blacks qualified as citizens, then

It would give to persons of the negro race, who were
recognised as citizens in any one State of the Union,

3 See Adarand Constructors v. Pena, No. 93-1841, ——— U.S. ——
(June 12, 1995) (Thomas, J., concurring) (“Government cannot

make us equal; it can only recognize, respect and protect us as
equal before the law’).

16

the right to enter every other State whenever they
pleased, singly or in companies, without pass or pass-
port, and without obstruction, to sojourn there as
long as they pleased, to go where they pleased at
every hour of the day or night without molestation,
unless they committed some violation of law for
which a white man would be punished; and it would
give them the full liberty of speech in public and in
private upon all subjects upon which its own citizens
might speak; to hold public meetings upon political
affairs ....

Id. at 417; see also id. at 425. Having thereby sup-
pressed the political voice of the people whose every
last hope of liberty was being snatched away, the Court
then also disabled the political branches from hearing
that voice, specifically declaring Congress and the Ex-
ecutive to be without power to interfere with slavery in
any way or even to pass laws protecting emancipated
Black persons. Id. at 425-26; see also id. at 452.

By these means, Mr. Scott was rendered stateless. As
a stateless person, Scott had none of the privileges and
immunities of citizenship and therefore did not have the
right even to assert a claim. Accordingly, his case was
dismissed without the Court’s ever having addressed the
merits of his claim. See id. at 454.

For African-Americans, the Dred Scott decision was
a one-act play with two devastating scenes. For gay
Americans, the play is being rewritten as a two-act play.
Retracing the first scene of the Dred Scott decision with
remarkable fidelity, the Bowers decision was the first act.
This Court’s resolution of the present case could well be
the second act.

The Bowers decision excluded gay Americans from
participation in the fundamental rights of privacy and
of intimate association. Of course, by insisting upon an
“as applied” analysis; by disregarding the actual text of
the Georgia statute (which made no reference to the
gender mix of those committing “sodomy”); by ignor-

17

ing the possibility of heterosexual plaintiffs regardless of
whether “John and Mary Doe” had standing; and per-
haps most important, by arbitrarily redefining the fun-
damental right to be “a fundamental right to homosex-
uals” only to engage in “consensual homosexual sodomy,”
see 478 U.S. at 188 n.2, 192, the Bowers Court stacked
the deck. But one might ask why Mr. Scott was, in simi-
lar fashion, perceived by this Court exclusively in terms
of being Black, Negro, and African, but never as a hu-
man being pure and simple. In both cases, the Court
gave the appearance of devaluing the right at issue, at
least in the hands of certain rightholders, because of a
low appraisal of the worth of the rightholder. There was,
moreover, in Bowers the same evasion of principle and
the same recourse instead to a purportedly original intent
to be proven by historical examples of blackhearted op-
pression dating back to the ancient Romans and beyond.
See id. at 192-94; see also id. at 196-97 (Burger, C.J.,
concurring).

The Court said that it would come “nearest to illegiti-
macy” to acknowledge these fundamental rights in gay
Americans. Jd. at 194. If the Court was truly seized
with doubt in 1986 about its fundamental rights juris-
prudence, there was at least one remaining overriding
principle with which to contend. The Court said that
there was no equal protection claim before it. Jd. at 196
n.8. But it seems to have been totally unconscious of the
duty of judges, too, see Shelley v. Kramer, 334 US. 1
(1948), to observe the principle, the supreme principle,
of equality. See Planned Parenthood v. Casey, US.
, 112 S. Ct. 2791 (1992) (opinion of the Court per
O’Connor, J.; Kennedy, J.; and Souter, J.); James B.
Beam Distilling Co. v. Georgia, 501 U.S. 529 (1991)
(opinion of the Court per Souter, J.); see also Adarand
Constructors, U.S. at (Thomas, J., concur-
ring) (“the principle of inherent equality that underlies
and infuses our Constitution”). Even if some constitu-
tional value was deemed to be offended by fundamental
rights, that value was norétheless subordinate to the

18

supreme constitutional principle of equality. Because
the rights had been recognized in others, rigorous ap-
plication of the equality principle demanded that the
rights be recognized in all. As in Dred Scott, the only
pu. ported escape from the equality principle would have
been a finding of the inferiority of gay people, of their
capacity to be loving human beings, and of their intimate
relationships of companionship and family. Indeed, later
courts have found evidence in the Bowers opinion that
the Court endorsed this assertion of inferiority.*

Branded with this Court’s imprimatur of criminality;
immorality; and in a word, inferiority, gay people were
robbed of an essential part of what it means to be a
human being of full and equal dignity.° As citizens, they
were reduced to the barebone rights of self-defense em-
bodied in the First Amendment. Even while bearing the
brand of inferiority and all the injurious consequences
(the relentless discrimination in the workplace, in hous-
ing, in family relations) flowing therefrom, at least they
had the bare minimum of First Amendment rights to

4E.g., Equality Found. of Greater Cincinnati, Inc. v. City of
Cincinnati, 1995 U.S. App. LEXIS 10462, at *9-*16 (6th Cir. May
12 & 17, 1995) ; Steffan v. Perry, 41 F.3d 677, 684 (D.C. Cir. 1994)
(en banc); High Tech Gays v. Defense Indus. Security Clearance
Office, 895 F.2d 563, 571 (9th Cir. 1990); Ben-Shalom v. Marsh,
881 F.2d 454, 464-65 (7th Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 494 U.S. 1004
(1990) ; Woodward v. United States, 871 F.2d 1068, 1075-76 (Fed.
Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 494 U.S. 1004 (1990); Padula v. Webster,
822 F.2d 97, 102-03 (D.C. Cir. 1987); see also Bowers, 478 U.S.
at 196.

5 The right of intimate association has been said to encompass
values as essential to human dignity and happiness as opportunities
for caring, commitment, and love. See Karst, The Freedom of
Intimate Association, 89 YALE L.J. 624, 630-36 (1980). Short of
changing their gender through surgery, gay people are now denied
the liberty to pursue these opportunities. Cf. id. at 658; Loving
v. Virginia, 388 U.S. 1 (1967). Nor will it do to say that only
the most casual of relationships have been forbidden for it is by
casual beginnings that human beings develop their most durable
intimate associations. See Karst, supra, at 633; cf. Eisenstadt,
405 U.S. at 453.

19

attempt to persuade a hostile majority to acknowledge
their humanity. And in this one particular, the Bowers
decision did differ from the Dred Scott decision; because
the Bowers Court expressly acknowledged that there was
“no question about the right or propriety of state legis-
lative decisions to repeal their laws that criminalize homo-
sexual sodomy.” Bowers, 478 U.S. at 190. The instant
case presents the question whether gay people will re-
tain even this right to speak out, to advocate, to petition,
and to claim recognition of their full and equal dignity—
the right to participate in the political processes of this
Nation.

II. AMENDMENT 2 FOLLOWS THE HISTORIC PAT-
TERN OF EXCLUSION: IT EXCLUDES GAY
PEOPLE IN THE PRESENT AND GUARANTEES
THAT RESULT INTO THE FUTURE BY SUP-
PRESSING FIRST AMENDMENT RIGHTS

Again following the historic pattern of exclusion,
Amendment 2 is designed to accomplish two goals. First,
to the fullest extent of Colorado’s power, the Amend-
ment repeals ali existing legal protection for gay people.
Second, having fenced out gay people in the present time,
the Amendment would seek to freeze that result and make
it unalterable for all time. The means chosen to ac-
complish this second goal—1) an absolute prohibition on
even the making of a claim for protection and 2) an
incapacitation of government even to hear such a claim—
are in direct violation of the rights guaranteed by the
First Amendment.

Amendment 2 prohibits the use of any state or local
procedural vehicle or setting “—and, further, prohibits any
state or local government actor’ from permitting the

®* Under “any statute, regulation, ordinance or policy.” Amend-
ment 2.

7 The “State of Colorado, through any of its branches or depart-
ments, ... any of its agencies, political subdivisions, municipalities
or school districts.”” Amendment 2.

20
use of any state or local vehicle *—“to have or claim
any minority status, . . . protected status or claim of dis-

crimination.” ° The Amendment uses the phrase to claim,
a verb or action word. It prohibits even the making, or
speaking, of a claim. The Amendment prohibits even
the making of a claim seeking protection from discrimi-
nation based on “homosexual, lesbian or bisexual orien-
tation, conduct, practices or relationships.” Accord Brief
for Respondents at Arg. Sec. I.B.1 (citing State’s expert
witness Finnis); Brief Amici Curiae of Christian Legal
Society, et al. at 21. And all state and local officials are
likewise instructed to deny all their procedures, to turn
a deaf ear, even to the making of a claim for the pro-
tection of gay people.

This second goal (freezing a result for all time) ap-
parently presented the drafters of Amendment 2 with an
age-old dilemma. One of the virtues of the republican
form of government, resting upon principles of democracy
and self-governance, is that it will be capable of adapt-
ing and thus ever-changing. Working hand in glove with
principles of our collective democracy are the First
Amendment rights of each individual citizen. In good

8 No state or local governmental actor “shall enact, adopt or
enforce.” Amendment 2.

* Petitioners have misquoted Amendment 2 in their briefing
before this Court, performing a certain elision at critical passages
in the text of the Amendment. See Petition for Writ of Certiorari
at 2; (Uncorrected) Brief for Petitioners at 2. The full and cor-
rect text of Amendment 2, as now coJified, is as follows:

Section 30b. No Protected Status Based on Homosexual,
Lesbian or Bisexual Orientation. Neither the State of Colo-
rado, through any of its branches or departments, nor any of
its agencies, political subdivisions, municipalities or school dis-
tricts, shall enact, adopt or enforce any statute, regulation,
ordinance or policy whereby homosexual, lesbian or bisexual
orientation, conduct, practices or relationships shall consti-
tute or otherwise be the basis of or entitle any person or class
of persons to have or claim any minority status, quota prefer-
ences, protected status or claim of discrimination. This Sec-
tion of the Constitution shall be in all respects self-executing.

21

times and bad times alike, First Amendment rights are
rights of self-determination that may be exercised for
political purposes or for wholly nonpolitical purposes.
See Cohen v. California, 403 U.S. 15, 24 (1971). But
especially in bad times, when faced with a hostile ma-
jority, the individual’s First Amendment rights become
rights of self-defense in the political arena. See Blasi,
The Pathological Perspective and the First Amendment,
85 CoLtum. L. Rev. 449, 449-50 (1985). First Amend-
ment rights “are means indispensable to the discovery
and spread of political truth” and are a necessary predi-
cate to “political change.” Whitney v. California, 274
U.S. 357, 375, 377 (1927) (Brandeis, J., concurring).
For an unpopular and embattled minority, these rights
are quite simply the ticket to continued participation in
our self-governing democracy. They enable each citizen
to remain a part of the collective “self” of self-governance.
See Garrison v. Louisiana, 379 U.S. 64, 74-75 (1964).
And that ticket also creates the potential that its holder
may someday be successful in bringing about political
change. This is a desideratum in our political and con-
stitutional structure. Indeed, it “is the theory of our Con-
stitution.” Abrams, 250 U.S. at 630 (Holmes, J., dis-
senting). Without at ieast the potential for political
change, First Amendment rights and, indeed, participa-
tion in the political processes of self-governance would
become exercises in futility. And our government would
likewise lose the capacity to adapt.

For those who would forever forestall such political
change, the words of Justice Holmes are instructive: “If
you have no doubt of your premises or your power and
want a certain result with all your heart you naturally
express your wishes in law and sweep away all opposi-
tion.” Jd. Justice Holmes was discussing, not merely
psychology, but political necessity. In order to forestall
all potential for political change, one must disable the
mechanisms of democracy, and that means suppressing
First Amendment rights. The Dred Scott Court knew
this when it suppressed the political voice even of emanci-

22

pated Blacks. And the drafters of Amendment 2 knew
this as well.’®

The making of a claim is a privilege of citizenship;
the Dred Scott decision tells us this much. The making
of a claim in an adjudicatory setting, whether judicial or
administrative, is likewise expressive activity protected
by the First Amendment. NAACP v. Button, 371 U.S.
415 (1963); see also McDonald v. Smith, 472 U.S. 479,
484 (1985). And lest there be any lingering doubt about
the applicability of the First Amendment to the States,
it is worth noting that, before the incorporation doctrine
became second nature, this Court freely acknowledged
that First Amendment rights are among “the privileges,
immunities, rights, and liberties of citizens.” Hague v.
Committee for Indus. Org., 307 U.S. 496, 515-16
(1939) (at least, with an apparent nod to the Slaughter-
House rule, when expression bears upon “national
questions” ).

But claim-making also has a broader signification, one
fairly synonymous with petitioning. See McDonald, 472
U.S. at 488 & n.2 (Brennan, J., concurring) (collecting
cases showing different kinds of petitioning). And this
broader sense is the one used in Amendment 2 for it
prohibits claim-making in any and all conceivable pro-

10 Petitioners, in their defense of Amendment 2, display the same
mindset when they assert that Amendment 2 is the best way to
deal with the divisive, political issue of gay people. Thus, Peti-
tioners suggest that Amendment 2 is ultimately the best way be-
cause it uniformly denies protection to gay people and, at the
same time, uniformly eliminates all further discussion of the issue.
See Brief for Petitioners at 47-48. Colorado’s ultimate solution
for the “gay problem” is not only deeply offensive, it is not even
Colorado’s choice to make. The First Amendment long ago made
the choice of remedies: Absent an emergency, “ ‘the remedy to be
applied is more speech, not enforced silence. Only an emergency
can justify repression.’” Linmark Assocs., Inc. v. Willingboro,
431 U.S. 85, 97 (1977) (quoting Whitney, 274 U.S. at 377 (Bran-
deis, J., concurring) ) ; see Crist v. Murray, 1995 U.S. LEXIS 3622,
at *10 (May 30, 1995) (Scalia, J., concurring).

23

cedural settings *' for proceedings by or before any and
all conceivable governmental actors.” Petitioning, of
course, is expressly protected by the Petition Clause of
the First Amendment.

Ill. AMENDMENT 2 TRANSGRESSES THE FIRST
AMENDMENT IN FOUR WAYS

Colorado’s prohibition on claiming and petitioning di-
rectly transgresses the First Amendment in at least three
well-settled ways, and in a fourth way that flows directly
from the Petition Clause.

Content Restriction. First, it is long-since established
territory that the First Amendment will not brook a
speech prohibition that turns on the content of speech:
“[A]bove all else, the First Amendment means that gov-
ernment has no power to restrict expression because of
its message, its ideas, its subject matter, or its content.”
Police Dep’t v. Mosley, 408 U.S. 92, 95 (1972). Colo-
rado’s Amendment 2 does not prohibit the making of all
claims. The Amendment prohibits only the making of
those claims that would seek protection for gay people on
account of “minority status” or “protected status” (status
in the sense of “homosexual, lesbian or bisexual orienta-
tion”) or that would seek protection from “discrimina-
tion” based on such orientation, conduct, practices, or
relationships. Claims seeking protection and freedom
from all other kinds of discrimination may be made and
entertained. Indeed, all other kinds of claims, whether
having to do with discrimination or not, are left un-
touched. Only the making of claims with the content as
specifically described in Amendment 2 is prohibited. In-
disputably, Amendment 2 establishes an impermissible
content restriction.

11 All those procedures established under “any statute, regula-
tion, ordinance or policy.” Amendment 2.

12 The “State of Colorado, ... any of its branches or depart-
ments, ... any of its agencies, political subdivisions, municipali-
ties or school districts.” Amendment 2.

24

Speaker Restriction. Second, the First Amendment will
not brook a speech prohibition that distinguishes among
speakers, permitting some speakers while barring other
speakers. See First Nat'l Bank v. Bellotti, 435 U.S. 765,
784-85 (1978). By its terms, Amendment 2 describes
the speakers it prohibits from making a claim as “any
person or class of persons.” The reference here to a
certain “class of persons” betrays the intended speaker
restriction. It is not difficult to understand which “class”
of speakers might wish to petition for the protection of
gay people. Indeed, this class of persons is twice spe-
cifically described in Amendment 2: all those persons of
“homosexual, lesbian or bisexual orientation.” The polliti-
cal reality is that it is gay people and only gay people
who, in their own self-defense, will petition for the pro-
tection of gay people. The Colorado Supreme Court had
no difficulty in finding that Amendment 2 capitalizes on
this political reality and that, when it bars speakers de-
scribed as a certain class of persons, the Amendment
“expressly fences out” and “singles out” a “class of per-
sons [consisting of] gay men, lesbians, and bisexuals.”
Evans v. Romer, 854 P.2d 1270, 1284 (1993). This
interpretation of Colorado law by the Colorado high
court is binding upon this Court.” And it likewise es-
tablishes beyond doubt the speaker restriction in Amend-
ment 2.

Beyond statutory exegesis, the speaker restriction in
Amendment 2 is readily apparent when one considers
some of the important, foreseeable applications of the

13 See, e.g., North Carolina v. Butler, 441 U.S. 369, 376 n.7
(1979) ; Landmark Communs., Inc. v. Virginia, 435 U.S. 829, 837
n.9 (1978); Ward v. Illinois, 431 U.S. 767, 772 (1977); Eastlake v.
Forest City Enters., Inc., 426 U.S. 668, 674 n.9 (1976); Horton-
ville Joint School Dist. No. 1 v. Hortonville Educ. Ass’n, 426 U.S.
482, 488 (1976); Mullaney v. Wilbur, 421 U.S. 684, 691 (1975);
Memorial Hosp. v. Maricopa County, 415 U.S. 250, 256 (1974);
O’Brien v. Skinner, 414 U.S. 524, 581 (1974); Wardius v. Oregon,
412 U.S. 470, 477 (1973); Groppi v. Wisconsin, 400 U.S. 505, 507
(1971).

25

Amendment’s speech prohibition. In future adjudica-
tory proceedings, whether in state or local court or before
an administrative agency, a petitioner may wish to claim
Federal equal protection or Colorado equal protection
to be free of discrimination against gay people. Even
if that protection gives rise at most to rational basis
scrutiny, the petitioner’s plea would clearly transgress
Amendment 2’s prohibition on making such claims. See
State’s opening brief, Colo. Sup. Ct., No. 93SA017 (State's
concession regarding “supremacy problem”). Moreover,
because of familiar rules of standing, in most cases, only
a gay person could even assert such a claim. See Bowers,
478 U.S. at 188 n.2. At that point, standing rules and
Amendment 2 will merge to silence gay people and only
gay people. The speaker restriction is palpable.

Public Forum. Third, the First Amendment will not
brook a speech prohibition that establishes discrimina-
tory access to a public forum. See Southeastern Promo-
tions, Ltd. v. Conrad. 420 U.S. 546 (1975). Every pro-
ceeding where the Amendment 2 speech prohibition will
apply will be, by definition, a government-provided forum
(that is, all those fora provided for by “any statute, reg-
ulation, ordinance or policy”). And in many of the
important, foreseeable applications of Amendment 2, this
government forum will be an indisputably public forum.
Consider Amendment 2’s express mention of “school dis-
tricts.” The place for making a claim for the protection
of gay people in school districts would naturally be at
the school board meeting. Nearly two decades ago,
this Court had no difficulty in declaring school board
meetings to be public fora. See City of Madison v. Wis-
consin Employment Rels. Comm'n, 429 U.S. 167, 169,
174-75 (1976). The same will be true of countless other
governmental fora where Amendment 2’s speech prohibi-
tion will be brought to bear: university trustee meet-
ings, county board meetings, city council meetings, state
legislative committee meetings, and on and on. The roll-
back of First Amendment rights is simply staggering.

26

Perhaps the most sinister application of Amendment
2 to a public forum will come if ever there is an at-
tempt to submit a new round of petitions to the Colorado
Secretary of State in order to use the initiative procedure,
itself a form of public forum, to repeal Amendment 2.
In that instance, Amendment 2’s prohibition on certain
kinds of petitioning could very well serve as a basis for
enjoining such access to the initiative procedure. Or the
Colorado Secretary of State (clearly one of the “depart-
ments” or “agencies” specified in Amendment 2) could
very well be compelled to reject the initiating petitions
as a violation of Amendment 2’s petitioning prohibition.

Petition Clause. Finally, this case has serious distinct
implications for the Petition Clause of the First Amend-
ment. Over the years, the protections afforded by the
Petition Clause have seldom been developed because
these protections were frequently assumed to be sub-
sumed within the protections afforded by the other clauses
of the First Amendment. See, e.g., McDonald, 472 USS.
at 488 n.2 (Brennan, J., concurring). Serious recent
legal scholarship disputes this assumption. See, e.g., Hig-
ginson, A Short History of the Right to Petition Govern-
ment for the Redress of Grievances, 96 YALE L.J. 142,
143 n.2 (1986). There is no doubt that all the expres-
sion protected by the Petition Clause is also protected
by the other clauses. The question is whether the Petition
Clause provides additional protections, protections greater
than or different from those of the other clauses. The
language of the Petition Clause, its place in our consti-
tutional structure, and the history of the Clause all sug-
gest that it does. Indeed, the right to petition has been
regarded as so important to our system of self-govern-
ment that some have considered it one of “the citizenry’s
two constitutional means of approaching the government:
periodic election and continual instruction through peti-
tioning.” Jd. at 162 (footnote omitted, characterizing
the views of John Quincy Adams).

27

All the expressive activity protected by the Petition
Clause is almost by definition expression addressed to
government. See California Motor Transp. Co. v. Truck-
ing Unltd., 404 U.S. 508, 510-11 (1972) (all branches
or levels of government, whether state or Federal). And
the nature of that expression is by definition an appeal,
a petitioning, by a constituent for the kind of “redress
of grievances” that government can provide—in other
words, for a meaningful response by government to its
citizen. This language suggests that the Petition Clause
is keenly interested in preserving, not only the citizen’s
right to make a petition, but also the government’s ability
to hear; to entertain; and if appropriate, to respond mean-
ingfully to that petition. Whereas the Speech Clause
may in some settings protect only the right to speak out,
the Petition Clause also protects, in political matters,
the right “to be heard.” California Motor, 404 U.S. at
513. In structural terms, the Petition Clause is, as noted,
necessary for the citizen’s participation in self-govern-
ment. Moreover, it is necessary “to preserve the informed
operation of governmental processes.” Jd. at 516 (Stew-
art, J., concurring).

In 1984, the Court tended to make the alarming sug-
gestion that, of these two constitutional means available
to address government, only one remained: voting “at
the polls.” See Knight, 465 U.S. at 285. The narrow
question before the Knight Court, however, was whether
the First Amendment gave to citizens a “constitutional
right to force the government to listen to their views.”
Id. at 283; see also id. at 285. The Knight Court re-
jected this asserted right to force government to listen,
citing the difficulty of judicial definition and enforcement
and pragmatic concern over the efficiency of conducting
government. See id. Unwittingly, the Knight Court tended
thereby to lend credence to a theory of the right to peti-
tion first developed by John C. Calhoun and other rep-
resentatives of the slave states in their efforts to preserve
slavery and stifle all further discussion of it. See Higgin-

28

son, supra, at 159-61, 165-66. Indeed, the debate at the
time of the ratification of the Bill of Rights expressly
confirmed a much different understanding of the right
to petition. See id. at 155-56; see also id. at 156 n.98
(“right to consult Congress is non-binding, but Congress
has responsibility never to shut its ears to petitions (state-
ment of E. Gerry)”).

In the present case, there is, however, no occasion for
reconsidering the Knight holding. There is no need to
posit a right to force government to listen in order to
show Amendment 2’s incompatibility with the Petition
Clause. Amendment 2 operates in a different fashion.
The Amendment prohibits governmental actors from
listening to a petition and thereby informing themselves
regardless of whether they are willing to listen. The
Amendment disables even willing governmental listeners.
Unlike the Knight case, there is no question of compell-
ing government to listen. Amendment 2 eliminates the
very capacity of government, irrespective of willingness,
to listen to or even to receive a petition.

This is a serious dismantling of the accepted structure
of self-government. All the petitioning prohibited by
Amendment 2 is, seemingly, petitioning addressed to gov-
ernment. In this way, Amendment 2 presents a striking
parallel with the Petition Clause itself. The two are vir-
tually coextensive; all that which Amendment 2 prohibits
is that which the Petition Clause protects. And Amend-
ment 2 is designed, not only to suppress the petitioner,
but also to disable every possible governmental actor in
Colorado from even receiving—much less listening to,
being informed by, entertaining, and meaningfully re-
sponding to—a claim for the protection of gay people.
See Evans, 882 P.2d at 1355 (Scott, J., concurring).
It is in this way a near perfect disabling of the political
mechanisms of democratic self-governance—a step, as
noted, the drafters of Amendment 2 had to take in order
to forestall all potential for political change in the future.

29

CONCLUSION

For all these reasons, these Amici Curiae respectfully
urge this Court to affirm the decision of the Colorado
Supreme Court."

Respectfully submitted,

CELESTE MCCOLLOUGH *
MATTHEW L. HESS

Suite 1700

3399 Peachtree Road, N.E.
Atlanta, Georgia 30326
(404) 841-3229

* Counsel of Record Counsel for Amici Curiae

4 Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 37.3, the written consents
of all parties to the filing of this Brief have been filed with the
Clerk.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0575%3A26. Public record. Not legal advice.
