# Amicus Curiae Brief — Heintz v. Jenkins

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0556%3A10

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1995
- **Citation:** 514 U.S. 291

## Text

| Morene Coot ta)
= FILE D

1) | DEC 15 1994

No. 94-367 [OFFICE OF THe CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcTOBER TERM, 1994

GEORGE W. HEINTZ, et ai.,
Petitioners,

Vv.

DARLENE JENKINS,
Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

BRIEF OF THE COMMERCIAL LAW LEAGUE
OF AMERICA, AMICUS CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF THE PETITIONERS

MANUEL H. NEWBURGER
BARBARA M. BARRON
Counsel for the Commercial

Law League of America,
Amicus Curiae

BARRON & NEWBURGER, P.C.

900 gg we Avenue, Suite 200
Austin, Texas 78701

(512) 476-9103
Telecopier: (512) 476-9253

Midwest Law Printing Co., Chicago 60611, (312) 321-0220

iit

de. =
“se

\

pe

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether attorneys engaged solely in the prosecution of
litigation against consumers are regulated by the Fair Debt
Collection Practices Act (15 U.S.C. §§ 1692 - 16920, Pub.L.
90-321, Title VIII, §§ 802 - 817).

Te . ae ee ee ee eee ee me

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

QUESTION PRESENTED ...........++++5+: i
TABLE OF CONTENTS ..........0-eeeeeeees ii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .............++5- iii
OPINIONS BELOW ........ccsccccccccccccees 1
INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE ..... 2
STATHIGBNT oon ccccccvccecsecestccsscesosss 2
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ............+++: 4
ARGUMENT oo cccccccccccccccccesscesssosces 5
Imtrodeaction 2... cc ccccccccccccescccccscccs 5
Special Judicially-Created Rules ........... 6
Lawyers As “Debt Collectors” ............ 7
Validation Of Debts ............-eeeeeeees 11
Overshadowing the Thirty Day Notice .... 13
Demanding Verification .............+++++: 15
The “Miranda Warning” ............-.++++ 15
Communications In General .............-. 17
Acquisition Of Location Information ....... 17
Communication With Third Parties ........ 18
Ceasing Communication .............++++++ 20
False Or Misleading Representations ...... 21
Reverse Forum Abuse ..........++++++005 23
Rule 11 and Its State Court Equivalents .... 24
Privileged Use of Civil Proceedings ....... 25

ion of Liti Activities Is

em ,
CONCLUSION ...ccccccccccccccccccscccccecs 27

iii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases PAGE
Baker v. G.C. Services Corp., 677 F.2d 775 (9th
ER Rete hid dn bE de ecccavccencee: 20
Bates v. C&S Adjustors, Inc., 908 F.2d 865 (2d
EEE SESE ETE OE POPP ET PEPE 23
Bentley v. Great Lakes Collection Bureau, Inc.,
6 F.3d 60 (2d Cir. 1998)............ 6, 9, 15, 20, 22

Carroll v. Wolpoff & Abramson, 961 F.2d 459 (4th
Cir. 1992), cert. denied, _._. U.S. ___, 113
S.Ct. 298, 121 L.Ed.2d 222 (1992).......... 5, 16

Clomon v. Jackson, 988 F.2d 1314 (2d Cir. 1993) .
Sstiibadadaheeedeeseséeceoceccces 6, 15, 20, 22

Cooter & Gell v. Hartmarx Corp., 496 U.S. 384,
110 S.Ct. 2447, 110 L.Ed.2d 359 (1990) ..... 24

Emmanuel v. American Credit Exchange, 870
F.2d 805 (2d Cir. 1989) .................. 7, 20, 23

Fox v. Citicorp Credit Services, Inc., 15 F.3d 1507
a NSU odUNa SS sce crcvcsocce ce 8,9

Frey v. Gangwish, 970 F.2d 1516 (6th Cir. 1992) .
etl eaaieaeataaS 5, 6, 11, 12, 16

George A. Fuller Co. v. Carpet Services, Inc.,
S.WSd GOS (Tex. 1908) .......ccccccccccces 12

Graziano v. Harrison, 950 F.2d 107 (3d Cir. 1991) .
EES oes cece cucucccocace 5, 7, 13, 14, 23

Green v. Hocking, 9 F.3d 18 (6th Cir. 1993)...
Licbirhitanaes ehhdhedecdodes 5, 8, 9, 10, 11, 19, 21

Harper v. Better Business Services, Inc., 961 F.2d
Tn noo cccecccccnccenncecs 7

iv
Hollis v. Roberts, 984 F.2d 1159 (11th Cir. 1993) . 7

Jenkins v. Heintz, 25 F.3d 536 (7th Cir. 1994), cert.
granted, __ U.S. ___., 68 U.S.L.W. 3161 (Oc-

| > Perr: pore ery rrr 11
Jeter v. Credit Bureau, Inc., 760 F.2d 1168 (11th

Cie, Sa Bic bc cebc kc ddoe ce ddeReees degectod 6
Masuda v. Thomas Richards & Co., 759 F.Supp.

BABB CCA TAGE vivid ve d cbs iWon cteBer cee 19
Miller v. Payco-General American Credits, Inc.,

943 F.2d 482 (4th Cir. 1991) ............... 13, 14

Paulemon v. Tobin, 30 F.3d 307 (2d Cir. 1994) .. 11

Pipiles v. Credit Bureau of Lockport, Inc., 886
PPO8 BB GE Cir. TRGB) onc cccccccccccccses 7, 16, 23

Scott v. Jones, 964 F.2d 314 (4th Cir. 1992)... 8,9
Smith v. Transworld Systems, Inc., 953 F.2d 1025

ee Se FERRE OTTUTTTTTITTTT TTT Tee 6, 20
Stojanovski v. Strobl & Manoogian, P.C., 783 F.

Supp. 319 (E.D.Mi. 1992) ............-.006: 8
Swanson v. Southern Oregon Credit Service, Inc.,

869 F.2d 1222 (9th Cir. 1988) .............. 13, 14

Constitution, Statutes, and Rules

Fair Debt Collection Practices Act,
15 U.S.C. §§ 1692-16920, Pub.L. 90-321,
Title VIII, §§ 802-817:

Section 802, 15 U.S.C. § 1692 ............. 5
Section 808, 15 U.S.C. § 1692a .......... 5, 7, 8, 26
Section 804, 15 U.S.C. § 1692b ............ 15, 18

Section 805, 15 U.S.C. § 1692c . 13, 17, 19, 20, 21, 23

—————

Vv

Section 807, 15 U.S.C. §1692e ..... 9, 10, 16, 22, 23

Section 808, 15 U.S.C. § 1692f............. 3, 4, 10

Section 809, 15 U.S.C. § 1692g ....... 11, 13, 15, 23

Section 811, 15 U.S.C. § 16921 ............. 8, 9, 24

Section 813, 15 U.S.C. § 1692k ............ 20, 22
Pe We TE covecauscbsenscccceceses 9, 24, 25
Py Wie Wh We MIE oc ccd cccdcccccevocccete 4
DB is beuc cadcacencceeceecece 13
, = % 2 leila anes 13

Miscellaneous

H.R. Rep. No. 405, 99th Cong., 2d Sess. 3-7, re-

printed in 1986 U.S.C.C.A.N. 1752, 1754-57 ... 5
S. . No. i

wit USCCAN ite, ‘ae ~ Mar 5, 6
MODEL CODE OF PROFESSIONAL RESPONSIBILITY

ELS. Sndauctusdedsekeenidnmseciocecsss 26
MODEL RULES OF PROFESSIONAL CONDUCT PRE-

SD. ash cb bee ccvoediecéeeedecddeedevces 26
RESTATEMENT (SECOND) OF TorTS § 586 (1977) .. 25
RESTATEMENT (SECOND) OF TorTS § 674 (1977) .. 26

No. 94-367

In THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

GEORGE W. HEINTZ, et ai.,
Petitioners,

Vv.

DARLENE JENKINS,
Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

BRIEF OF THE COMMERCIAL LAW LEAGUE
OF AMERICA, AMICUS CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF THE PETITIONERS

Pursuant to Rule 37 of the Rules of this Court, the Com-
mercial Law League of America respectfully submits this
brief as Amicus Curiae, in support of the Petitioners. Peti-
tioners and Respondent have both consented to the filing of
this brief, and true copies of such are filed herewith.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals is reported at 25 F.3d
536. The opinion of the district court is not reported.

a

INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE

The Commercial Law League of America (CLLA) is a 100-
year-old national organization of attorneys, commercial col-
lection agencies, and other experts in credit and finance
actively engaged in the fields of commercial law and bank-
ruptcy and reorganization. The CLLA is the publisher of
the award-winning Commercial Law Journal and Commer-
cial Law Bulletin. It has long been associated with the
representation of creditor interests, while at the same time
seeking fair, equitable, and efficient administration of com-
mercial and bankruptcy cases for all parties-in-interest. The
League has been firmly committed to policing its own in-
dustry and has regularly provided articles and presenta-
tions to its members on the manner in which attorneys, col-
lection agents, and creditors need to conduct themselves
when engaging in debt collection activities.

Through its representatives, the CLLA has testified
before Congress on numerous occasions, and the League
has provided expert testimony in the fields of collections
and bankruptcy and reorganization. In 1992, the League
provided testimony at the oversight hearings on the Fair
Debt Collection Practices Act. A substantial number of the
attorneys and agencies in the League collect consumer
debts, and the FDCPA has a significant impact on those
members and their clients.

STATEMENT

Respondent Darlene Jenkins borrowed money from
Gainer Bank to purchase a car. The installment contract
between Respondent and the bank required that she keep
insurance on the car until she made her last payment. If
she did not keep insurance, the installment contract
allowed the bank to purchase insurance for the car and

a

then to charge Jenkins for the cost of the insurance. Speci-
fically, the installment contract provided:

if the Buyer does not pay the taxes on the collateral! [or]
keep it insured against loss or damage, . . . the Creditor
can if it wishes to do so and Buyer will have to reim-
burse the Creditor upon demand, or Creditor at its sole
option, may add said expenses to the Buyer’s unpaid
balance, which shall be payable by the Buyer at the
annual percentage rate then in effect.

Respondent defaulted on her loan. She also stopped buy-
ing insurance for the car. The bank then purchased insur-
ance and hired an attorney (Petitioner George W. Heintz)
and his law firm (Petitioner Bowman, Heintz, Boscia: &
McPhee) to recover the remaining installment payments
and the cost of the insurance. Petitioners sued Respondent
on behalf of the bank, demanding both the installment
payments and a $4,173.00 insurance charge, and then
attempted to settle the matter out of court.

Respondent took issue with the $4,173.00 insurance
demand. She believed that the bank did not buy simple
damage and loss insurance for the car but instead pur-
chased a financial protection policy to insure against the
possibility that she might default on the loan. Her position
was that she was only required to reimburse the bank if it
purchased damage and loss insurance for the car and that
she had no obligation to reimburse the bank for the protec-
tion policy.
their attempts to pass the unauthorized insurance costs on
to her violated the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act. Her
legal theory was two-fold. First, she claimed that the insur-
ance charge was not authorized by the installment contract,
and therefore alleged that Petitioners violated 15 U.S.C.
§ 1692f of the Act by adding an unauthorized amount onto

oo

the debt. Second, she claimed that Petitioners’ attempt to
include the insurance charge on her bill amounted to a
“false representation or deceptive means to collect any debt”
in violation of 15 U.S.C. § 1692e.

Petitioners moved to dismiss under Fed. R. Civ. P.
12(bX6), asserting that Congress simply could not have
intended to regulate normal legal proceedings under the
auspices of the Act. The District Court agreed and dis-
missed the case. Respondent appealed to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit, which held that
Congress’ deletion of the attorney exemption renders
attorneys subject to the restrictions of the FDCPA even

when they are engaged in purely legal activities.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Amicus Curiae contends that the wholesale application of
the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act to all activities of
collection attorneys, including those activities that are
purely legal in nature, prevents attorneys from effectively
practicing law and aggressively representing their clients.
These effects were neither envisioned nor intended by Con-
gress in deleting the attorney exemption from the Act in
1986, and they go far beyond the legislative goal of protect-
ing consumers from abusive debt collection practices.

The Court of Appeals’ holding that purely litigation activi-
ties are regulated by the FDCPA results in the Congres-
sional regulation of state court pleadings and procedures.
Furthermore, such regulation could prevent creditors from
ever having their day in court and could impose upon their
attorneys strict liability every time a creditor fails to
prevail on each and every theory of liability and element of
damages sought in a suit.

=

ARGUMENT
Introduction

The Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, 15 U.S.C. §§ 1

- 16920, Pub.L. 90-321, Title VIII, §§ 802 - 817 emanate
“the Act”), was enacted in 1977, “to eliminate abusive debt
collection practices by debt collectors, to ensure that those
debt collectors who refrain from using abusive debt collec-
tion practices are not competitively disadvantaged, and to
Promote consistent state action to protect consumers
against debt collection abuses.” 15 U.S.C. § 1692(e). Al-
though 15 U.S.C. § 1692a(6\F) originally exempted attor-
neys engaged in debt collection from regulation under the
Act, that exemption was deleted in 1986 in order to elimi-
nate the ability of attorneys to engage in those sorts of
activities prohibited for other debt collectors and to prevent
attorneys from competing unfairly with non-lawyer collec-
tors. See H.R. Rep. No. 405, 99th Cong., 2d Sess. 3-7,
reprinted in 1986 U.S.C.C.AN. 1752, 1754-57; Green v.
Hocking, 9 F.3d 18, 21 (6th Cir. 1993).

Despite the evil that Congress intended to address, the
reported case law indicates that attorneys are being sub-
jected to liability not for the sort of abusive practices that
the Act was intended to regulate, (see S. Rep. No. 382, 95th
Cong., 1st Sess. 2, reprinted in 1977 U.S.C.C.A.N. 1695,
1696), but rather for technical violations of the Act that
have caused little or no injury to the consumer. See, e.g.
Carroll v. Wolpoff & Abramson, 961 F.2d 459 (4th Cir.
1992), cert. denied, _ _U.S.__, 113 S.Ct. 298, 121 L.Ed.2d
222 (1992); Frey v. Gangwish, 970 F.2d 1516 (6th Cir.
1992); Graziano v. Harrison, 950 F.2d 107 (3d Cir. 1991). At
least one appellate judge has suggested that in some
instances, the Act has become a mere profit-generating
mechanism for attorneys who appear to be more interested
in making fees than in stopping abusive collection practices

ufien

or helping consumers. See Frey v. Gangwish, supra, at
1521-1522, (Suhrheinrich, J., dissenting). The CLLA ac-
knowledges that these cases have involved violations of the
technical language of the Act, but they certainly do not evi-
dence the sort of abuse or harassment of consumers that
the FDCPA was designed to address.

The legislative history of the FDCPA indicates that by
deleting the attorney exemption, Congress was attempting
to level the playing field and subject attorneys to the same
sort of restrictions and burdens that were already imposed
upon collection agencies. See 8. Rep. No. 382, 95th Cong.,
ist Sess. 2, reprinted in 1977 U.S.C.C.A.N. 1695, 1696.
Instead, as will be addressed below, the holding of the
Court below serves to go far beyond removing a competitive
disadvantage as it impairs the ability of attorneys to con-
duct any business at all. :

Special Judicially-Created Rules

The earlier case law that has developed under the
FDCPA has resulted in the evolution of a number of “rules”
of application of the Act. The holding of the Court of
Appeals’ in the instant case should be examined in light of
some of these earlier “rules” in order to fully appreciate its
implications. These general doctrines are:

a. The FDCPA is a strict liability statute and the degree
of culpability of a “debt collector” is relevant only on
the issue of damages. Clomon v. Jackson, 988 F.2d
1314, 1320 (2d Cir. 1993); Bentley v. Great Lakes Col-
lection Bureau, Inc., 6 F.3d 60, 63 (2d Cir. 1993).

b. In testing for a violation of the FDCPA, the question
is whether the conduct of a debt collector would tend
to deceive the “least sophisticated consumer.” Clomon
v. Jackson, supra, at 1318; Jeter v. Credit Bureau,
Inc., 760 F.2d 1168 (11th Cir. 1985); Smith v. Trans-
world Systems, Inc., 953 F.2d 1025 (6th Cir. 1992).

~~

c. Upon proof of a violation of the Act, a prevailing con-
sumer will be entitled to an award of attorney's fees,
even if (s)he fails to prove any damages. Emmanuel v.
American Credit Exchange, 870 F.2d 805, 809 (2d Cir.
1989); Pipiles v. Credit Bureau of Lockport, Inc., 886
F.2d 22, 28 (2d Cir. 1989); Graziano v. Harrison,
supra, at 113-114.

d. In awarding fees to a prevailing consumer, a trier of
fact may make such award at prevailing market rates,
even if the attorneys are not themselves paid at
market rates. Hollis v. Roberts, 984 F.2d 1159 (11th
Cir. 1993); Cf. Harper v. Better Business Services, Inc.,
961 F.2d 1561 (11th Cir. 1992). Thus, legal assistance
organizations who have access to vast pools of poten-
tial clients have the ability to bully attorneys into
settlements by the threat of market rate fees in cases
which will otherwise result in no damage awards.

There are additional special doctrines under the Act
which will be addressed below as they apply to the instant
case. In this case, the Court of Appeals has held that Peti-
tioners’ conduct in filing pleadings is a type of collection
activity regulated by the FDCPA. The remainder of this
brief will address the effect of subjecting purely litigation
activities to regulation under the Act.

Lawyers As “Debt Collectors”

In the Fair Debt context, the term “debt” means “any
obligation or alleged obligation of a consumer to pay money
arising out of a transaction in which the money, property,
insurance, or services which are the subject of the transac-
tion are primarily for personal, family, or household pur-
poses, whether or not such obligation has been reduced to
judgment.” 15 U.S.C. § 1692a(5). To qualify as a “debt col-
lector,” an attorney must be a “person who uses any instru-
mentality of interstate commerce or the mails in any busi-

atice

ness the principal purpose of which is the collection of
debts, or who regularly collects or attempts to collect,
directly or indirectly, debts owed or due or asserted to be
owed or due another.” 15 U.S.C. § 1692a(6). Even those
attorneys who only occasionally collect debts for others may
be regulated by the Act since debt collection may be a
“regular” part of one’s practice, even if not a substantial
part. Thus, collection activities amounting to only a small
fraction of a firm’s total activity may be enough to qualify
the firm as a “debt collector.” Stojanovski v. Strobl &
Manoogian, P.C., 783 F.Supp. 319 (E.D.Mi. 1992).

In Scott v. Jones, 964 F.2d 314 (4th Cir. 1992), the Court
of Appeals held that the FDCPA applied to attorneys who
were engaged in purely legal activities, reasoning that the
performance of exclusively legal tasks can be the sort of
“indirect” debt collection subject to the Act. Although Scott
only involved violations of 11 U.S.C. § 1692i (the venue pro-
vision of the Act), the Fourth Circuit did not expressly limit
its holding to violations of that one section and left open the
question of whether the Act regulated all litigation activi-
ties. That gap has been filled with a split in Circuit authori-
ties. The Sixth Circuit held in Green v. Hocking, 9 F.3d 18
(6th Cir. 1993), that “the actions of an attorney while con-
ducting litigation are not covered by the FDCPA” but the
Ninth Circuit in Fox v. Citicorp Credit Services, Inc., 15
F.3d 1507 (9th Cir. 1994) and the Seventh Circuit in the
present case held that such activities are covered by the
Act.

The CLLA does not contend that the result in Scott v.
Jones was erroneous, since 15 U.S.C. § 1692i evidenced a
clear intent by Congress to protect consumers from the
abuse occasioned by the filing of debt collection suits in
distant forums. In few other sections of the Act, however,
did Congress address litigation-related activities, and in

atin

those instances where it did so, it concerned itself with
unauthorized practices of law, falsification of official court
documents, and misrepresentations concerning legal pro-
cess. 15 U.S.C. §§ 1692e(3), (9), (13), and (15). The specific
prohibitions in these areas were enacted prior to the 1986
amendment, and they appear merely to provide restrictions
upon non-lawyers that already would exist under attorney
disciplinary rules and/or Fed. R. Civ. P. 11. Because Fox v.
Citicorp Credit Services, Inc. involved venue violations of 15
U.S.C. § 1692i, the CLLA asserts that it is distinguishable
from the case at bar and does not provide good authority in
support of Respondent’s position.

If this Court chooses to extend the regulation of the
FDCPA to all legal activities and not just those specifically
described in the Act, then the Court will be effectively
ruling that attorneys are to be held strictly liable for viola-
tions allegedly committed in the course of prosecuting suits.
See Bentley v. Great Lakes Collection Bureau at 63. This
may not be an inherently evil result in the area of venue
violations such as those in Scott v. Jones and Fox v. Citi-

such application could prevent a creditor from ever having
its day in court.

In Green v. Hocking, the attorney (Hocking) did not
contact the debtor before filing suit and engaged in none of
the traditional non-litigation collection activities such as
telephoning the debtor or sending dunning letters. The

_=- =

original collection suit that Hocking filed alleged that Green
owed his client a total of $304.83, which included interest
at an erroneous rate. Hocking subsequently filed an
amended complaint, stating that Green owed $239.56
(calculated at the correct interest rate) after Green called to
his attention the interest rate error. After the parties
settled the underlying collection dispute, Green sued Hock-
ing in federal court, alleging that he had violated 15 U.S.C.
§ 1692e(2)\A)' by the falsely representing the amount of a
debt, and 15 U.S.C. § 1692f(1)’ by attempting to collect an
amount, including interest, that was not “expressly autho-
rized by the agreement creating the debt or permitted by
law.” The District Court dismissed the case, ruling that
Hocking was immune from liability under the FDCPA
because he confined his activities to those of a legal nature.
The Sixth Circuit upheld that finding, holding that “the
actions of an attorney while conducting litigation are not
covered by the FDCPA.” Jd. at 22.

The Seventh Circuit reached an opposite result in the
instant case, holding that regardless of the wisdom of its
actions, Congress regulated even litigation-related debt
collection activities when it deleted the attorney exemption.

ait CAO. 0 ites oo 9 eet eset fan weg any
alse, ive, or mi ing representation or means in con-
nection with the scout a debt. 15 U.S.C. § 1692e(2XA)
includes under the heading of “false, deceptive, or
falsely representing the character, amount, or legal status of any

* 15 U.S.C. § 1692f prohibits a debt collector from using unfair
or unconscionable means to collect or attempt to collect any debt.
Pursuant to 15 U.S.C. § 1692f{1) the term “unfair

= =

Jenkins v. Heintz, 25 F.3d 536, 539 (7th Cir. 1994), cert.
granted, __ U.S. ___, 63 U.S.L.W. 3161 (October 31, 1994).
The Second Circuit, while it has not yet ruled on the issue,
has at least indicated in dicta that it would probably be in
accord with the Seventh and Ninth Circuits. See Paulemon
v. Tobin, 30 F.3d 307, 310 (2d Cir. 1994). The Sixth Circuit
noted in Green v. Hocking that this “result would produce
absurd outcomes,” and most of the remainder of this brief
will concentrate on examples of some of the outrageous
situations that could easily result from the Seventh Cir-
cuit’s ruling in the instant case.

Validation Of Debts

Within five (5) days of a debt collector’s initial communi-
cation with the consumer in connection with the collection
of any debt, (s)he must send the consumer the validation of
debt notice required by 15 U.S.C. § 1692g. Some attorneys
(such as Mr. Hocking) have attempted to avoid this require-
ment by limiting their activities to exclusively legal tasks.
They make it their practice to file suit without ever making
written or oral demand on the debtor, thus avoiding engag-
ing in the sort of “traditional” debt collection activities that

able for an attorney to correspond with the judgment debtor
if the judgment is to be enforced.

In Frey v. Gangwish, 970 F.2d 1516 (6th Cir. 1992), the
“debt collector” was an attorney who had filed suit and ulti-
mately negotiated an agreed judgment and payout with the
consumer. More than a year later, the consumer defaulted
on the payment plan and the attorney wrote to her in con-
nection with the judgment debt. The consumer filed suit
against Mr. Gangwish asserting, inter alia, that he had
violated the FDCPA by failing to give to her the validation

afin

of debt notice in his post-judgment communications. The
Court of Appeals reversed a summary judgment in favor of
the attorney, finding that because he had never communi-
cated directly with the debtor prior to judgment, he was
required to give the notice after he wrote directly to Ms.
Frey. Thus, although the consumer had actually appeared
in the suit and had agreed to a judgment, the attorney was
still subjected to liability for failing to furnish her with
information that she already possessed as a result of the
suit, informing her of the right to dispute a debt consisting
of the very judgment to which she had agreed.

The question of whether all litigation activities are “debt
collection” was not before the court in Frey v. Gangwish. If
that is the ruling of the Supreme Court in this case, then
it is possible that in cases where there has been no prior
communication, the validation notice will have to be given
within five days of service of the suit upon the debtor.
Granted, one may argue that: (a) the complaint is directed
to the court and not the debtor;’ and (b) the citation is a
communication from the court and not the attorney.
Neither of those excuses is particularly satisfactory with
regard to discovery, however, since discovery is ordinarily
directed from the attorney to the debtor. The application of
the Act to litigation activities could trigger a duty to send
the validation notice (if not previously given) within five
days of the service of discovery and possibly within five
days of service of the complaint in jurisdictions that permit
service of discovery with the initial complaint. (See, e.g.,

> In A. Fuller Co. v. Carpet Services, Inc., 823 8.W.2d 603
(Tex. 1992), the issue before the Court was whether the filing of
a suit an excessive amount of interest was a “

of interest for the purpose of the Texas usury statute. The
held that it was not, based in part upon the conclusion that
pleadings are directed to the trial court rather than to the oppos-
ing party. Jd. at 605.

= =

Tex. R. Civ. P. 167 and 168.) The establishment of such a
rule of law would undermine the very purpose of the Act as
it only serves to confuse and mislead the consumer who is
told by the attorney that (s)he has thirty days to validate
the debt but is instructed by the Court to answer the suit
in a shorter time.

Overshadowing the Thirty Day Notice

The problems with the validation notice and litigation
activities go far beyond the question of when it must be
sent. In Swanson v. Southern Oregon Credit Service, Inc.,
869 F.2d 1222 (9th Cir. 1988), the Ninth Circuit held that
the validation notice must not be overshadowed or contra-
dicted by other messages or notices appearing in the initial
communication, and that any attempt to require the debtor
to act immediately and not take the full thirty days to
request verification is a violation of § 1692g. Id. at 1225 -
1226. Similar results were reached by the Third Circuit in
Graziano v. Harrison, supra, and the Fourth Circuit in
Miller v. Payco - General American Credits, Inc., 943 F.2d
482 (4th Cir. 1991).

A review of the FDCPA indicates that nowhere does the
Act generally prohibit a debt collector from taking action to
collect the debt during the thirty-day validation period. If
Congress had wanted to include such a prohibition it cer-
tainly could have done so, as it did for the specific situa-
tions in which a debt collector must cease collection activi-
ties because the consumer has made a written request for
verification of the debt or a written demand to cease com-
munications. See 15 U.S.C. §§ 1692g(b) and 1692c(c). In
Graziano v. Harrison, the attorney (Harrison) sent a letter
containing the validation notice, but that letter also threat-
ened legal action if the debt was not paid within ten days.
Relying upon Swanson, the Third Circuit held that in

elites

making that threat Harrison had violated the FDCPA
because the “least sophisticated debtor” might have been
induced to overlook the right to dispute the debt within
thirty days. Thus, as things currently stand, it appears that
it is not a violation of the Act to file suit during the valida-
tion period, but it is a violation to truthfully inform the con-
sumer that the creditor may take such action.

If any and all litigation activities are “debt collection”
then the combination of such a rule with the Swanson
doctrine presents a significant disruption in the practice of
debt collection litigation. If service of the citation and com-
plaint (or a transmittal letter in connection therewith) is a
“communication,” then a citation’s requirement to answer
within a period of less than thirty days may arguably
violate the holdings in Swanson, Graziano, and Miller.

Even if attorneys can escape the problem with regard to
pleadings, one must come back to the question of discovery.
In the common situation in which: (a) the attorney has
never written nor spoken to the debtor; (b) suit has been
filed and the defendant has answered pro se; and (c) a depo-
sition notice is served, directed from the attorney to the
debtor, requiring the debtor to appear in ten days to give a
deposition, a problem may arise under the Act. If the attor-
ney does not give the validation notice at this point (s)he
may be in violation of the FDCPA, and if the validation
notice is given then the deposition notice may overshadow
and contradict the thirty-day period so as to constitute a
violation. Even if the deposition is scheduled for after the
expiration of the thirty-day period, the effect of a subpoena
duces tecum may be that by forcing the consumer to begin
collecting documents, it coerces the debtor to take less than
thirty days to dispute the debt, and that is the result pro-
hibited by Swanson, Graziano, and Miller, supra.

= Ss

Demanding Verification

In addition to the problem of when to send the validation
notice and the “overshadowing” issue, the validation of debt
section of the Act presents an additional complication when
applied to litigation. If the consumer notifies the attorney
in writing within the thirty day period described in 15
U.S.C. § 1692g(a) that the debt or any portion thereof is
disputed or that the consumer requests the name and
address of the original creditor, the attorney will be
prohibited from attempting to collect the debt or any
disputed portion thereof, until (s)he obtains verification of
the debt or a copy of the judgment or the name and address
of the original creditor and a copy of such information is
mailed to the consumer. 15 U.S.C. § 1692g(b). If this
provision of the Act is applied to litigation activities, the
FDCPA gives a debtor the ability to temporarily shut down
the litigation and discovery processes, as the creditor's
attorney can be prevented from continuing to litigate until
verification has been sent. Moreover, if the filing of an
answer in a suit is construed to be written notice to the
attorney that the debt is disputed, the debtor’s mere failure
to default may trigger the attorney’s obligations and restric-
tions under 15 U.S.C. § 1692g(b) in every contested case.
Because of the strict liability holding in Clomon and Bent-
ley, supra, and the mandatory fee award holdings noted
above, this presents significant exposure to the creditors’
bar in the United States.

The “Miranda Warning”

Except for communications made to acquire location infor-
mation under § 1692b, the debt collector must disclose
clearly in all communications made to collect a debt or to
obtain information about a consumer “that the debt collec-
tor is attempting to collect a debt and that any information

= Ss

obtained will be used for that purpose.” 15 U.S.C.
§ 1692e(11). The failure to make such disclosure is a “false,
deceptive, or misleading representation or means” in con-
nection with the collection of a debt. Id. Unlike other por-
tions of the Act that deal with actual abuse of consumers,
this section has been applied against attorneys who neither
abused nor harassed debtors, producing results which are
illogical and do nothing to further the purposes of the Act.
In Frey v. Gangwish, supra, and Carroll v. Wolpoff &
Abramson, supra, attorneys were held liable for failing to
notify debtors in post-judgment communications that they
were attempting to collect debts and that the information
obtained would be used for that purpose. How could the
consumer not know at the post-judgment stage that the
attorney is attempting to collect a debt, and for what other
purpose would any information be used?

If litigation activities are “debt collection,” then the warn-
ing arguably has to be given in all pleadings. Even if this
Court decides that pleadings are not “communications,” the
question remains as to whether the warning will be neces-
sary in discovery documents, transmittal letters, hearings,
depositions, etc. Those communications appear to be clearly
intended for the purpose of collecting the debt and it is
hard to reconcile the holding of the Court below with the
arguments of those who insist that the warning need not be
given in connection with litigation-related communications.
While the apparently unambiguous language of the Act (see
Pipiles v. Credit Bureau of Lockport, Inc., supra at 26-27)
may necessitate a slavish adherence to the letter of the
statute in post-judgment dunning letters and phone calls,
applying the Act to litigation activities and permitting it to
regulate the contents of pleadings is an invitation to open
the floodgates of litigation for plaintiffs who have not
actually suffered any damages.

= =

Communications In General

Unless (s)he has received direct prior consent from the
consumer or express permission from a court of competent
jurisdiction, a debt collector may not communicate with a
consumer in connection with the collection of any debt:

a. at any unusual time or place or a time or place known
or which should be known to be inconvenient to the
consumer; or

b. at the consumer’s place of employment if the debt col-
lector knows or has reason to know that the consum.
er’s employer prohibits the consumer from receiving
such communication. 15 U.S.C. $§ 1692c(aX1) and (3).

If the Act regulates attorneys’ litigation activities, it may

be argued that a debtor cannot be served with citation or
discovery subpoenas at his/her place of employment. A
debtor might even be able to prevent service of citation or
subpoenss completely by notifying the attorney that all
times will be inconvenient. Beyond the possibility that this
section of the Act could impair a creditor's ability to
diligently prosecute a suit against a debtor who is evading
process, a creative debtor’s attorney may be able to find a
Fair Debt claim in every debt collection suit. The clearest
example of this problem is in the area of medical collection
suits against the ill and infirm. Their lawyers could easily

_™

a. state that such consumer owes any debt, 15 U.S.C.
§ 1692b(2); nor

b. communicate with any person other than the consum-
er’s attorney, at any time after the debt collector
knows the consumer is represented by an attorney
with regard to the subject debt and has knowledge of,
or can readily ascertain, such attorney’s name and
address, unless the attorney fails to respond within a
reasonable period of time to communication from the
debt collector. 15 U.S.C. § 1692b(6).

If applied to litigation activities, these sub-sections would
substantially restrict an attorney’s ability to communicate
with process servers and skip-tracers, a result that does not
appear to have been envisioned by Congress in deleting the
attorney exemption. If an attorney cannot skip-trace the
debtor (s)he may be unable to effect personal service.
Admittedly, there may be the option of service by publica-
tion, but leaving collection attorneys with that as their only
option seems to be contrary to the very purposes of the Act.
Furthermore, as is discussed below, applying the Act to
litigation activities presents problems for an attorney seek-
ing to serve by publication.

Communication With Third Parties

Except as provided in 15 U.S.C. § 1692b*, a debt collector
may not communicate in connection with the collection of
a debt with any person other than the consumer, the con-
sumer’s attorney, a consumer reporting agency if otherwise
permitted by law, the creditor, the attorney of the creditor,
or the attorney of the debt collector, without either: (a) the
prior consent of the consumer given directly to the debt
collector; (b) the express permission of a court of competent

* The section dealing with locating the debtor.

alitien

jurisdiction; or (c) as reasonably necessary to effectuate a
post-judgment judicial remedy. 15 U.S.C. § 1692c(b). Apply-
ing this section of the Act under the holding of the Court
below to purely pre-trial litigation activities would mean
that a creditor’s attorney could not (without express prior
approval from the trial court) discuss a case with fact wit-
nesses® or even process servers, as such communications
would be “in connection with” the collection of a debt. The
most literal reading of this section would prohibit the attor-
ney from discussing the suit with the clerk or other person-
nel employed by the trial court, and the Sixth Circuit has
stated its belief that such is the very result of the legal
position taken by Respondent. See Green v. Hocking, supra,
at 21. It would also bar citation by publication without a
specific court order, even if that form of service is expressly
authorized under state law, as such publication would be a
communication with thousands of third parties.® Substi-
tuted service upon other persons at the consumer’s place of
business or abode in situations in which the consumer is
evading service of process will require orders granting
express permission under this section. Thus, the Court of
Appeals’ holding in the instant case will also necessitate a
flood of additional motions and pleadings in all consumer
debt collection suits in which the debtor cannot be served
personally, as attorneys will want to limit their exposure
under the Act.

®° In Masuda v. Thomas Richards & Co., 759 F.Supp. 1456
(C.D.Cal. 1991), the Court found, as a matter of law, that con-
tacting the consumer’s insurance without his consent
violated § 1692c(b). In a disputed over medical bills, for
example, such contact may be essential, especially when a cred-
itor is asserting a medical lien and the consumer received direct
payment from the insurer and spent the money.

ers can publish the names of parties, facts of cases, and results

—20—

The result of applying Section 1692c(b) of the Act to pure-
ly legal activities is a massive chilling effect upon attorneys.
How can attorneys carry out their ethical duty to represent
their clients zealously within the bounds of the law if they
are subject to being second-guessed and sued in connection
with every service of citation or subpoena or public sale of
a debtor’s property under court process, over whether the
public communications made in connection therewith were
“reasonably necessary?” Since the bona fide error defense
set out in 15 U.S.C. § 1692k(c) will not be available if the
attorney commits an error of law, (see Smith v. Transworld
Systems, Inc., 953 F.2d 1025 (6th Cir. 1992), Baker v. G.C.
Services Corp., 677 F.2d 775, 779 (9th Cir. 1982)), the hold-
ings in Clomon, Bentley, and Emmanuel, supra, expose
attorneys to strict liability for guessing wrongly about the
reasonable necessity of third party communications relating
to pending suits or judgments.

Ceasing Communication

If a consumer’ notifies a debt collector in writing that
(s)he refuses to pay a debt or that (s)he wishes the collector
to cease further communication, the debt collector is

prohibited from communicating further with the consumer
except:

a. to advise the consumer that the debt collector’s fur-
ther efforts are being terminated;

b. to notify the consumer that the debt collector or cred-
itor may invoke specified remedies which are ordinari-
ly invoked by such debt collector or creditor; or

" For the purpose of this section, the term “consumer” includes
the consumer's spouse, parent (if the consumer is a minor),
guardian, executor, or administrator. 15 U.S.C. § 1692c(d).

=

c. where applicable, to notify the consumer that the debt
collector or creditor intends to invoke a specified
remedy. 15 U.S.C. § 1692c(c).

If litigation activities are regulated by the FDCPA, then
arguably a consumer could send written notice to an attor-
ney that (s)he refuses to pay a debt, and the attorney would
be prohibited from pursuing suit since that would necessari-
ly require numerous communications with the consumer.
This very concern was raised by the Sixth Circuit as a
reason to not include litigation activities as debt collection.
Green v. Hocking, supra, at 21. What even that court did
not consider was that the application of Section 1692c(c) to
purely legal activities could also enable a judgment debtor
to prevent an attorney from conducting discovery in aid of
judgment or otherwise enforcing a judgment. Surely that
result deprives creditors of their right to due process under
the Constitution. Furthermore, if creditors cannot adequate-
ly enforce debts that are due to them then consumers will
ultimately be the ones to suffer as there will be a necessary

tightening of credit granting practices.
False Or Misleading Representations

A debt collector may not use any false, deceptive, or mis-
leading representation or means in connection with the col-
lection of any debt. The terms “false, deceptive, or mislead-
ing” include:

a. the false representation of -

(1) the character, amount, or legal status of any debt;
or

(2) any services rendered or compensation which may
be lawfully received by any debt collector for the
collection of a debt;

b. the threat to take any action that cannot legally be

taken or that is not intended to be taken; and

afin

c. communicating or threatening to communicate to any
person credit information which is known or which
should be known to be false, including the failure to

communicate that a disputed debt is disputed. 15
U.S.C. §§ 1692e(2), (5), and (8).

These sections of the Act were written prior to the 1986
deletion of the attorney exemption. While they make perfect
sense when applied to debt collection activities outside of
litigation (such as demand letters and collection calls), they
present numerous problems when applied to purely legal
activities. With regard to the first two sub-sections set forth
above, they leave attorneys exposed to statutory liability for
any typographical errors in pleadings and for any theory of
recovery on which they are not successful. For example, if
an attorney’s secretary makes a typographical error on the
amount of a debt, the error can be corrected without injury
to the consumer, since: (a) the pleading can be amended;
and (b) the trial court will still presumably allow recovery
only for that which is legally proven at trial. Because the
FDCPA is a strict liability statute, however, (see Clomon v.
Jackson at 1320 and Bentley v. Great Lakes Collection
Bureau at 63), the attorney could still be exposed to statu-
tory damages and attorney’s fees for the innocent error.
While the attorney could, in that instance, invoke the bona
fide error defense under 15 U.S.C. § 1692k(c), (s)he would
still have to incur the substantial expense of defending the
Fair Debt suit and proving that defense.

In addition to exposure for technical violations, an attor-
ney is also exposed to FDCPA liability if (s)he asserts a
cause of action or theory of recovery which is not ultimately
successful, as arguably that would be misrepresenting the
“compensation which may be lawfully received” or a “threat
to take any action that cannot legally be taken.” Thus,
Respondent’s assertion that the Act applies to purely legal
activities has the potential effect of imposing strict statu-

33

tory liability on attorneys if they should lose on their
theories of liability. The CLLA urges the Court not to
countenance such a result because of its chilling effect on
the practice of law. Even if such a violation produces no
actual damages because the consumer was found to be
liable on an alternate theory of recovery, the award of attor-
ney’s fees for a violation of the Act is still mandatory, and
the attorney could be punished for the client’s inability to
prove even one of its claims. See Emmanuel v. American
Credit Exchange, supra, at 809; Pipiles v. Credit Bureau of
Lockport, Inc., supra, at 28; Graziano v. Harrison, supra, at
113-114.

Yet another problem presented by 15 U.S.C. § 1692e is
that which arises when the consumer has previously
disputed the debt. Assuming that suit can even be filed at
that point,” an attorney’s failure to disclose in the complaint
that the debt is disputed may arguably create liability
under 15 U.S.C. § 1692e(8). Thus, the extension of FDCPA
regulation to purely legal activities results in Congressional
regulation of the content of all collection suit pleadings.

Reverse Forum Abuse

While the FDCPA protects consumers from the burden of
being sued in a distant and inconvenient forum, it has pre-
cisely the opposite effect for debt collectors who are sued
under the Act. The Second Circuit has held that it is the
place where the consumer receives the offending communi-
cation from a debt collector that governs venue in a Fair
Debt suit. Bates v. C & S Adjustors, Inc., 908 F.2d 865 (2d
Cir. 1992). In that case, the collection letter was mailed to

* As noted above, 15 U.S.C. §§ 1692c and 1692g(b) may arguably
prohibit the attorney from filing suit.

ong.

the debtor at his former address in Pennsylvania, but it
was forwarded by the post office to his new address in New
York. Although the collector did not intend to communicate
with the debtor in New York, the receipt of the notice there
was controlling. The Court of Appeals suggested that the
only way to avoid such exposure is to stamp the envelope
“do not forward.” It would therefore appear that an attorney
“debt collector” who properly sues a resident of another
state in full compliance with 15 U.S.C. § 1692i might be
subjected to venue and jurisdiction in that foreign state if
the suit pleadings received by the debtor are alleged to be
violations of the Act.

Rule 11 and Its State Court Equivaler is

As noted by the Court of Appeals in Green v. Hocking,
Fed. R. Civ. P. 11 already insures that an attorney who
signs any document verifies that (s)he has conducted an
investigation, and that, to the best of the attorney’s knowl-
edge, the averments are accurate and grounded in fact. The
decision to impose Rule 11 sanctions, however, rests with
the sound discretion of the trial court. Cooter & Gell v.
Hartmarx Corp., 496 U.S. 384, 405, 110 S.Ct. 2447, 2461,
110 L.Ed.2d 359 (1990). This discretion, integral to Rule 11
because the court knows best how to regulate its forum, is
eliminated and in its place is substituted a system of strict
liability mandating sanctions in the form of attorney’s fees
and statutory damages whenever an attorney makes the
slightest error.

Affirming the Court of Appeals holding in this case will
effectively shift the regulation of attorneys from the judi-
ciary to the Congress. Also, as noted above, the application
of the FDCPA to purely litigation activities means that
Congress will be taking over the regulation of pleadings
and practice in state court lawsuits. The CLLA believes

=~“ ™=

that these are results which should not be permitted and
which are not necessary evils for the protection of consum-
ers. These issues will not be addressed at greater length,
however, as it is the CLLA’s understanding that the Ameri-
can Bar Association will be addressing them in its amicus
curiae brief.

Privileged Use of Civil Proceedings

Outside of Rule 11, the authors of the RESTATEMENT OF
TORTS recognized certain immun’ties for attorneys from
liability arising out of the inst**ution of litigation and the
contents of pleadings. In the area of defamation, the
RESTATEMENT (SECOND) 0% TORTS § 586 (1977) provides:

An attorney at law is absolutely privileged to publish
defamatory matter concerning another in communica-
tions preliminary to a proposed judicia! proceeding, or
in the institution of, or during the course and as 4 part
of, a judicial proceeding in which he participates as
counsel, if it has some re‘ation to the proceeding.
“Comment a” to that secticn explains that “(t]he privilege
stated in this Section is based upon a public policy of
securing to attorneys as officers of the court the utmost
freedom in their efforts to secure justice for their clients.
Therefore the privilege is absolute.”

The authors of the RESTATEMENT also recognized a general
doctrine in favor of providing attorneys immunity from
liability for the wrongful use of civil proceedings.

An attorney who initiates a civil proceeding on behalf of
his client or one who takes any steps in the proceeding
is not liable if he has probable cause for his action (see
§ 675); and even if he has no probable cause and is con-
vinced that his client’s claim is unfounded, he is still
not liable if he acts primarily for the purpose of aiding
his client in obtaining a proper adjudication of his

affiie:

claim. (See § 676). An attorney is not required or
expected to prejudge his client’s claim, and although he
is fully aware that its chances of success are compara-
tively slight, it is his responsibility to present it to the
court for adjudication if his client so insists after he has
explained to the client the nature of his chances. RE-
STATEMENT (SECOND) OF TORTS § 674 comment d (1977).
These sections of the RESTATEMENT make sense as they
enable the attorney to represent the client “zealously within
the bounds of the law.” See MODEL CODE OF PROFESSIONAL
RESPONSIBILITY Canon 7; MODEL RULES OF PROFESSIONAL
CONDUCT Preamble. If the opinion of the Court of Appeals
below is affirmed, however, this Court may be adopting a
rule of law diametrically opposed to that doctrine. The
attorney will become the strictly liable insurer of the
success of the creditor’s assertions, while the creditor itself
will not face such liability. 15 U.S.C. § 1692a(6\A). This
only serves to exacerbate an inherent and unavoidable
conflict between attorney and client, a result which lessens
the effectiveness and integrity of the judicial process.
Furthermore, as the FDCPA only applies to suits to collect
debts, the Court will be singling out a segment of the
nation’s bar who will be subject to strict liability in the
conduct of litigation when attorneys in no other area are
subject to such a standard.

FDCPA Regulation of Litigation
Activities Is Likely to Harm Consumers

Finally, this Amicus Curiae contends that the long-term
effect of regulating litigation activities under the FDCPA is
that consumers, the very group whom the Act was intended
to protect, will suffer. For all of the reasons noted above,
the affirmation of the Court below will have a substantial
chilling effect on the practice of law. That effect will impact
upon credit grantors who will find it more difficult and
more expensive to hire attorneys to sue on consumer debts.

= =

If collecting such debts becomes more difficult (if not impos-
sible), those credit grantors will necessarily require greater
security in order to extend credit, and they will have to
charge higher interest rates to compensate for the increased
costs. These burdens will be borne by the consumers.

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals, insofar as it
reversed the trial court’s dismissal of Respondent’s suit and
held that the FDCPA regulates attorneys when they are
engaged in purely legal activities should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

MANUEL H. NEWBURGER
BARBARA M. BARRON
Counsel for the Commercial
Law League of America,
Amicus Curiae

BARRON & NEWBURGER, P.C.
900 Co Avenue, Suite 200
Austin, Texas 78701

(512) 476-9103

Telecopier: (512) 476-9253

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0556%3A10. Public record. Not legal advice.
