# Amicus Curiae Brief — Nebraska v. Wyoming

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0544%3A67

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1995
- **Citation:** 515 U.S. 1

## Text

MOTION Fitzy
te Le Te)
DES $0 1207 | 66

No. 108, Original

In the
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 1994

STATE OF NEBRASKA, Plaintiff,
v.
STATE OF WYOMING, et al., Defendants.

MOTION OF BASIN ELECTRIC POWER COOPERATIVE FOR

LEAVE TO FILE AND MEMORANDUM IN RESPONSE TO

CERTAIN EXCEPTIONS TO THIRD INTERIM REPORT OF
THE SPECIAL MASTER

Edward Weinberg
Counsel of Record

Richmond F. lan

DUNCAN, WEINBERG, MILLER
& PEMBROKE, P.C.

1615 M Street, N.W.

Suite 800

Washington, DC 20036

(202) 467-6370

Michael J. Hinman

General Counsel

Claire Olson

Assistant General Counsel

Basin Electric Power
Cooperative

1717 E. Interstate Ave.

Bismarck, ND 58501

December 30, 1994 (701) 223-0441

No. 108, Original

In the
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1994

STATE OF NEBRASKA,

Plaintiff,
v.

STATE OF WYOMING, et al.,

Defendants.

MOTION OF BASIN ELECTRIC POWER COOPERATIVE

FOR LEAVE TO FILE MEMORANDUM IN RESPONSE —

TO CERTAIN EXCEPTIONS TO THE THIRD INTERIM
REPORT OF THE SPECIAL MASTER

Basin Electric Power Cooperative (Basin) moves for
leave to file the accompanying memorandum in response to
Certain exceptions to the Third Interim Report of the Special
Master. In support of its motion Basin states:

1. Basin is the operator and, with five other
consumer owned electric utilities, the owner of the Missouri
Basin Power Project, the facilities of which include the

2

Grayrocks Dam and Reservoir and the 1500 megawatt
Laramie River Power Station (Grayrocks) located on the
Laramie River in Wyoming about ten miles above its
confluence with the North Platte River. The owners of the
project and their member distribution systems provide
electric energy to about 1.2 million people in sight states.

2. Basin is an amicus curiae in the proceedings
before the Special Master and twice before has been granted
leave by the Court to file memoranda. 485 U.S. 931,
(1988), Spec. Mast. Doc. No. 59; 117 L.Ed. 2d 102 (1992),
Spec. Mast. Doc. No. 423. All amici, including Basin,
were granted leave by the Court to file exceptions and
replies in relation to the First and Second Interim Reports of
the Special Master. 118 L.Ed 2d 538 (1992), Spec. Mast.
Doc. No. 477.

3. Grayrocks controls the Laramie below the
Wheatland Project and is operated in accordance with a
Settlement Agreement and an exemption from the
Endangered Species Act that limit Basin’s diversions and
require it to release certain minimum flows year round,
during both the irrigation and non-irrigation seasons, for the
benefit of the North Platte. See 113 S.Ct. at 1697.

4. The Special Master’s Third Interim Report
recommends that Nebraska be permitted to file her proposed
Count III, which seeks to secure the inflows to Grayrocks
essential to its operation in accordance with the Settlement
Agreement and the Endangered Species Act exemption and
to enjoin Wyoming from impounding or interfering with the
passage to the North Platte of the water Basin is required to
release . Third Int. Rpt. 44. Wyoming’s Second Exception
opposes the Special Master’s recommendation to the extent

ee ee ee ee

3

that, as Wyoming conceives, it contemplates consideration of
injury to non-irrigation season uses and uses downstream of
Tri-State Dam, including protection of endangered species
and wildlife habitat. Nebraska’s proposed Count III and
Wyoming’s opposition involve Basin’s ability to operate
Grayrocks in accordance with the Settlement Agreement and
the order of the Endangered Species Act Committee.

5. The United States and Nebraska except to the
Special Master’s recommendation that Wyoming be
permitted to file her Fourth Cross-Claim against the United
States, which alleges that the United States is operating the
federal reservoirs on the North Platte in violation of the
governing laws and contracts. If the allegations of this claim
are proved and the United States is required to operate the
reservoirs in accordance with law, the pressure on Wyoming
to increase diversions from the Laramie will be substantially
reduced and Basin’s ability to operate Grayrocks in
accordance with the Settlement Agreement and the
Endangered Species Act exemption will be bolstered.

Basin respectfully requests that its motion for leave
to file the accompanying memorandum be granted and that
the recommendations of the Special Master relating to
Nebraska’s Count III and Wyoming’s Fourth Cross-Claim be

accepted.

Respectfully submitted,

Edward Weinberg
Counsel of Record
Richmond F. Allan
DUNCAN, WEINBERG,
MILLER & PEMBROKE, PC
1615 M Street, N.W.
Suite 800
Washington, DC 20036
(202) 467-6370

Michael J. Hinman

General Counsel

Claire Olson

Assistant General Counsel

Basin Electric Power
Cooperative

1717 E. Interstate Ave.

Bismarck, ND 58501

(701) 223-0441

December 30, 1994

No. 108, Original

In the
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1994

STATE OF NEBRASKA,

Plaintiff,
Vv.

STATE OF WYOMING,

Defendant.

MEMORANDUM OF BASIN ELECTRIC POWER
COOPERATIVE IN RESPONSE TO CERTAIN
EXCEPTIONS TO THIRD INTERIM REPORT

OF THE SPECIAL MASTER

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .............
EET Waa eG 0's Se dd w eens oss

ARGUMENT

I. Allowing Nebraska To Pursue Her Claim
Ii Is Entirely Consistent with the
Existing Apportionment ............

Il. This Case Is Uniquely Appropriate for
Determining Wyoming’s Fourth Cross-
Claim that the United States Is
Disturbing the Apportionment by
Violating the Laws and Contracts that
Govern the Operation of the North
Platte Reservoirs ................

I ea ga eo. ie

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Nebraska v. REA, 12 Env. Rep. Cases (BNA)
1156 (D. Neb. 1978), judg. vacated and
app. dsm’d, 594 F.2d 870 (8th Cir.

se SW es eae Sk eal en oe ew 5
Nebraska v. Wyoming, 113 S. Ct. 1689
DE DACeEUS oes Coes au eos @ 4 GG 3, 4
CS a ee 12
STATUTES
Endangered Species Act, 16 U.S.C.
ak or ee ee ea 5

Warren Act, 43 U.S.C. § 523 ........... 10

ll

No. 108, Original

In the
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1994

STATE OF NEBRASKA,

Plaintiff,
v.

STATE OF WYOMING, et al.,

Defendants.

MEMORANDUM OF BASIN ELECTRIC POWER
COOPERATIVE IN RESPONSE TO CERTAIN
EXCEPTIONS TO THIRD INTERIM REPORT

OF THE SPECIAL MASTER

STATEMENT

In his Third Interim Report, the Special Master
recommends that Nebraska be allowed to amend her
complaint to include her proposed Count III and that
Wyoming be allowed to amend her pleadings to assert her
proposed Fourth Cross-Claim.

2

By her proposed Count III, Nebraska seeks to secure
the inflows necessary to enable Grayrocks to be operated in
accordance with the Settlement Agreement and the
Endangered Species Act exemption and to enjoin Wyoming
from impeding or interfering with the releases Basin is
required to make from Grayrocks for the benefit of the
North Platte. By her proposed Fourth Cross-Claim
Wyoming seeks to require the United States to operate the
North Platte reservoirs in accordance with the laws and
contracts applying thereto.

Basin supports both of these recommendations. The
recommendation that Nebraska be allowed to pursue her
proposed Count III is supported also by the United States
and the Audubon Society. It is opposed in part by
Wyoming. The recommendation that Wyoming be allowed
to pursue her Fourth Cross-Claim is opposed by the United
States and Nebraska.

Basin is vitally interested in protecting its ability to
operate Grayrocks in accordance with the Settlement
Agreement and the Endangered Species Act exemption, in
assuring that flows of the Laramie above Grayrocks are not
depleted to the extent that Basin’s ability to operate the
project and make the required releases is impaired, and in
assuring that the releases reach the North Platte. Basin is
also vitally interested in preventing the Bureau of
Reclamation from improperly operating the North Platte
reservoirs in ways that diminish the natural flow, disturb the
apportionment prescribed by the decree, and increase
demands on the Laramie.

In 1993, addressing exceptions to the First and
Second Interim Reports of the Special Master, the Court

3

observed that "it is undisputed that Wyoming is not currently
interfering with those flows [that Basin is required to
maintain under the Settlement Agreement]" and that, "Other
than Corn Creek, Nebraska points to no proposed
development that might deplete releases from Grayrocks."
113 S. Ct. at 1698.

This is no longer the case. Shortly after the Court’s
1993 opinion came down, it was discovered that Wyoming
has supplied funds to the Goshen Irrigation District, which
has an old water right on the Laramie supplemental to its
rights on the North Platte, to install new pumps that will
enable Goshen to divert a much larger quantity of water than
it was ever formerly able to do and to interfere substantially
with the passage downstream of the releases Basin is
required to make from Grayrocks. Additionally, it appears
that groundwater pumping in Wyoming is depleting surface
flows in the Laramie between the foot of the Wheatland
Project and Grayrocks.

Substantial evidence has also come to light indicating
that the Bureau of Reclamation, among other improprieties
in the operation of the North Platte reservoirs, routinely
impounds water that constitutes natural flow to which, as
such, holders of water rights on the river are entitled and of
which they are deprived by the Bureau’s malfeasance. To
the extent that the government shorts Goshen of water to
which it is entitled under its natural flow rights on the North
Platte, Goshen looks to the Laramie and claims to be entitled
to tap the flows Basin is obligated to maintain to the North
Platte under the Settlement Agreement and the exemption
granted by the Endangered Species Act Committee.

4
ARGUMENT

I.
Allowing Nebraska To Pursue Her Count III
Is Entirely Consistent with the Existing
Apportionment

In its 1993 opinion, the Court held that the Laramie
below Wheatland had not been apportioned to Wyoming and
that the 1945 decree assumed that the Laramie would
contribute to the natural flow in the Whelan to Tri-State
section of the North Platte apportioned between Wyoming
and Nebraska. The Court indicated that Nebraska would be
entitled to relief if, in the future, Wyoming threatened to
interfere with the releases called for by the Settlement
Agreement. The Court declined to adopt the Special
Master’s recommendation that Paragraph XIII of the decree
be amended to provide specifically for such relief "Because
we do not believe such an amendment would add to our
authority under subparagraph (f).” 113 S. Ct. at 1698.

Nebraska has now made a persuasive showing that,
by activities both above and below Grayrocks, Wyoming is
threatening to interfere substantially with the ability of Basin
to operate the project as required by the Settlement
Agreement and the Endangered Species Act exemption, to
make the releases called for, and to secure the passage of the
water to the North Platte. Subject to proving the threat,
Nebraska is entitled to have her rights to the releases and to
inflows from the Laramie protected by modification of the
decree. To allow Nebraska to pursue her proposed Count III
to secure her rights in the Laramie and the releases Basin is
required to make engenders no modification of the existing
apportionment (as distinguished from modification of the

5

existing decree to secure the apportionment) and is by no
stretch tantamount to allowing Nebraska through the back
door to press claims to obtain water for wildlife and non-
irrigation season purposes, like those she has twice
previously been denied the right to file. Wyo. Except’s &
Br. 28-31. Here, again, by her proposed Count IV,
Nebraska sought leave to amend her complaint to press a
claim for a general non-irrigation season apportionment.
The Special Master recommended against allowing her to do
so, Third Int. Rpt. 35-36, 47, and Nebraska has not excepted
to this recommendation.

While Grayrocks was under construction, Nebraska
and several environmental organizations brought suit in the
federal district court in Nebraska challenging the issuance by
the Corps of Engineers of the 404 permit for the project and
the undertaking of the REA to assist in its financing as in
violation of federal environmental laws. Nebraska v. REA,
12 Env. Rep. Cases (BNA) 1156 (D. Neb. 1978), judgment
vacated and appeal dismissed, 594 F.2d 870 (8th Cir. 1979).
After protracted negotiations, Nebraska, Basin, and the other
parties to the litigation, including the Department of J ustice,
the Corps of Engineers, and the Rural Electrification
Administration, entered into the Settlement Agreement.
Among other things, the Settlement Agreement prescribes
conditions for the use, storage, and release of water by
Grayrocks.

The obligations the Settlement Agreement imposes on
Grayrocks were incorporated as conditions of the exemption
for the project granted by the Endangered Species Act
Committee. See 16.U.S.C. § 1536(e)-(p). The releases
Basin is required to make from Grayrocks for the benefit of

6

the North Platte were found by the Secretary of the Interior
to be necessary to meet the requirements of the Endangered
Species Act and, independently of the Settlement Agreement,
are mandated by the order of the Endangered Species Act
Committee granting the exemption for Grayrocks.

The only issue respecting Grayrocks to be determined
pursuant to Nebraska’s Count III is whether, as a matter of
fact, Wyoming’s actions on the Laramie pose a substantial
threat of interfering with the ability of Basin to operate the
project as required by the Settlement Agreement and the
Endangered Species Act exemption and with the passage to
the North Platte of the releases Basin is required to make
from Grayrocks.

Although Wyoming is not formally a party to the
Settlement Agreement, she actively participated in its
negotiation and sought and applauded its achievement. In
equity she cannot be heard to say that she is not bound by it
and may, with impunity, frustrate or impair its execution.

When Nebraska and Basin reached an impasse in
their efforts to reach a settlement, the Governor of Wyoming
joined the Governor of Nebraska in convening the round of
negotiations which finally succeeded in producing the
Settlement Agreement. The final negotiating session at
which the terms of the agreement were settled upon, subject
to approval by the principals of the parties, was conducted
under the auspices of the Governor of Wyoming in his office
in Cheyenne in early November 1978. The Governors of
Wyoming and Nebraska jointly announced on November 3,
1978 that the settlement had been reached and the Governor
of Wyoming stated that it secured the interests of both
Wyoming and Nebraska.

7

After the agreement had been cleared by all the
signatory parties and on the eve of its being submitted to the
Eighth Circuit, the Attorney General of Wyoming, in a letter
of December 28, 1978, to Basin’s counsel, questioned
Basin’s authority under Wyoming law to make the releases
contemplated by the Settlement Agreement. Significantly,
the Attorney General’s letter noted that he had delayed
raising the point "until all federal actions re approval were
cleared." The letter is reproduced in the Appendix to
Basin’s motion for leave to intervene filed herein on April
13, 1987. Spec. Mast. Doc. No. 14,

Grayrocks’ exemption from the Endangered Species
Act was granted by unanimous vote of the Endangered
Species Act Committee of which, by his request to the
President to be appointed, the Governor of Wyoming was a
member.

II.
This Case Is Uniquely Appropriate for
Determining Wyoming's Fourth Cross-Claim
that the United States Is Disturbing the
Apportionment by Violating the Laws and
Contracts that Govern the Operation of the
North Piaite Reservoirs

By her proposed Fourth Cross-Claim, Wyoming
charges that the United States, through the Bureau of
Reclamation, is violating the laws and contracts that govern
the operation of the North Platte reservoirs by, among other
things, capturing and using natural flow in derogation of the
apportionment made by the decree. She asks simply that the
government be required to comply with the applicable laws
and contracts.

8

During the course of these proceedings substantial
evidence has come to light indicating that the Bureau of
Reclamation routinely impounds water in its North Platte
reservoirs that constitutes natural flow to which, as such,
holders of water rights on the river are entitled and of which
they are being systematically and wrongfully deprived. The
Bureau treats this improperly impounded natural flow as
storage water for which, upon subsequent distribution, it
charges both project entrymen, who were entitled to the
water without charge as natural flow, and others, such as
Warren Act contractors, who were not so entitled.

The Goshen Irrigation District has natural flow rights
on the North Platte and claims to have supplemental natural
flow rights on the Laramie. To the extent that the
government shorts Goshen of water to which it is entitled
under its rights on the North Platte, Goshen looks to the
Laramie, where it claims the right to tap the flows that Basin
is obligated to maintain under the Settlement Agreement and
the order of the Endangered Species Act Committee.

The United States and Nebraska except to the
recommendation of the Special Master that Wyoming be
permitted to pursue her Fourth Cross-Claim on the same
grounds they laid before the Special Master and he found
unpersuasive, namely: that the claim seeks an apportionment
of storage water and would interfere with the Bureau of
Reclamation’s administration of the reservoirs; that
Wyoming is not a proper party to seek enforcement of the
contract rights of entrymen on the North Platte Project; and
that the Bureau’s violations of the laws and contracts
governing the capture and use of water by the project
reservoirs should be challenged in other fora.

9

All of these objections to the allowance of
Wyoming’s Fourth Cross-Claim misrepresent the claim and
the effects of granting the relief Wyoming seeks.

1. Wyoming does not seek an apportionment of
storage water nor to interfere in any way with the proper and
lawful operation of the North Platte reservoirs but only to
compel the government, to the extent it is shown to be doing
otherwise, to operate the reservoirs and to release and
distribute water from them in conformity with the applicable
laws and contracts. Requiring the Bureau of Reclamation to
Obey the laws and contracts governing its administration of
the North Platte Project would hardly constitute
"interfere[nce] with the operation of federal water storage
facilities” or an "apportionment" of storage water. Govt.
Except’s & Br. 17-18 (Nov. 1994): Neb. Except’s & Br. 9-
15 (Nov. 22, 1994).

2. While it is true that an ingredient of Wyoming’s
Fourth Cross-Claim is that, in contravention of the
controlling laws and contracts, the Bureau is distributing
storage water to Warren Act contractors on an equal basis
with North Platte Project entrymen, a more fundamental
ingredient of the claim is that the Bureau is capturing water
in the reservoirs that is Properly natural flow and treating it
as storage water, in violation of the rights of all who have
entitlements to the natural flow, the subject of the
apportionment.

Focusing exclusively on the former ingredient of the
claim and wholly ignoring the latter, the Government
Suggests that the claim ought not be allowed because
"Wyoming is not the appropriate party to challenge the
federal government's allocation of Storage water.” Govt.

10

Except’s & Br. 24. Averring that Wyoming has no direct
interest in storage water apart from the interests of her
citizens who have rights thereto, the Government suggests
that Wyoming’s claim is "concerned solely with the Bureau
of Reclamation’s method of ‘allocat[ing] storage water’
among Nebraska and Wyoming water users." /d. at 24-25.

But Wyoming’s claim is not concerned "solely" or,
indeed, at all, with the Bureau’s method of allocating storage
water "among Nebraska and Wyoming water users." It is
concerned primarily with the Bureau’s capturing and treating
as storage water natural flow that ought to be passed through
the federal reservoirs, to the injury of all who have rights in
such flow, the substance of the apportionment. Secondarily,
the claim is concerned with the Bureau’s distributing storage
water to Warren Act contractors on an equal basis with
North Platte Project entrymen, when the law is clear that
only storage excess to the requirements of the latter can be
made available to the former. 43 U.S.C. § 523; see Third
Int. Rpt. 67-70.

The decree was formulated on the assumption that the
government would operate the North Platte Project and store
and deliver water in accordance with the laws and contracts
applicable thereto. See Third Int. Rpt. 70. To the extent
that the project is not operated in accordance with this
assumption, the apportionment provided for by the decree is
disturbed.

The Government’s suggestions _ that allowing
Wyoming to prosecute its Fourth Cross-Claim will
complicate the proceedings and may necessitate allowance of
interventions by parties to the "water contracts at issue,”
Govt. Except’s & Br. 25-26, are gossamer. Assuming, as

11

Basin does, that the Government will be truthful and
forthcoming about the Bureau’s administration of the North
Platte reservoirs, the issue of whether the Bureau is
operating them in accordance with law will be one of law --
and not a particularly complex one at that. And, where the
conduct of the government is challenged as in violation of
law, the notion that third parties who are incidental
beneficiaries of the government’s malfeasance need be let in
as parties before the government’s wrongdoing can be
remedied, has the virtue of novelty, but none other.

3. The gravamen of Wyoming’s Fourth Cross-Claim
is that the Bureau of Reclamation’s operation of the North
Platte reservoirs in contravention of the law of the river is
disturbing the apportionment, not, as Nebraska and the
Government mischaracterize it, that the Bureau’s misconduct
is violating particular water users’ rights. Govt. Except’s &
Br. 28; Neb. Except’s & Br. 19.

It is apparent from the Goshen Irrigation District’s
complaint in the federal district court, Govt. Except’s & Br.
Appendix, that the claim Goshen is Prosecuting against the
Bureau of Reclamation there does not touch or concern the
apportionment here in any way. Goshen’s claim is simply
that the Bureau is not Providing it with the quantity of water
to which it is entitled under its contract. It is just not true
that the claims Goshen is pursuing in the district court "are
essentially identical to those Wyoming presses here." Govt.
Except’s & Br. 28. Wyoming’s claims are fundamentally
different and much broader. Wyoming seeks to require the
Bureau to abide by the laws and contracts governing the
administration of the North Platte reservoirs because the

12

assumption that it would do so is built into the North Platte
decree and the apportionment is skewed if it does not.

After this case was commenced by Nebraska in 1934,
the Court held that the Secretary of the Interior was not a
necessary party because, as an appropriator of water under
the reclamation laws, he is no different from any other
appropriator under state law. 395 U.S. 40 (1935). In 1938,
the United States sought and was granted leave to intervene.
In its motion, the government contended that, for the
protection of its interests in the irrigation works it had
constructed at great cost in the North Platte basin, it should
not be required to rely on any state, even if, legally, its
position is no different from that of a private appropriator.

While asserting here that the proper forum for
challenging the propriety of the Bureau’s administration of
the North Platte reservoirs is the district court -- where, it
asserts, the Goshen Irrigation District is currently so doing --
the Government there is seeking to dismiss Goshen’s suit on
the ground of sovereign immunity. Third Int. Rpt. 71,
n.173; Govt. Except’s & Br. 29, n.16. And, while the
Government all but concedes here that its challenge to the
jurisdiction of the district court is not well founded, it does
not indicate that it intends to withdraw its motion to dismiss.
Id. On the contrary, it ventures that "a meritorious
sovereign immunity defense would bar suit in this Court as
well as in the district court." /d.

This, of course, is not true. Having voluntarily come
into this case, after the Court had determined it was not a
necessary party, for the express purpose of litigating its
rights in relation to its irrigation works on the North Platte,
the government waived any immunity it may otherwise have

13

had from examination in this case of the propriety of its
administration of those works.

This case is preeminently the proper and appropriate
forum in which to hear and determine Wyoming’s claims
that the government is interfering with the apportionment by
Operating the North Platte reservoirs in violation of the laws
and contracts governing their use.

14

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Court should adopt the
Special Master’s recommendations that Nebraska be allowed
to amend her complaint to pursue her proposed Count III and
that Wyoming be allowed to amend her pleadings to pursue
her proposed Fourth Cross-Claim.

Respectfully submitted,

Edward Weinberg
Counsel of Record
Richmond F. Allan
DUNCAN, WEINBERG,
MILLER & PEMBROKE, PC
1615 M Street, N.W.
Suite 800
Washington, DC 20036
(202) 467-6370

Michael J. Hinman

General Counsel

Claire Olson

Assistant General Counsel

Basin Electric Power
Cooperative

1717 E. Interstate Ave.

Bismarck, ND 58501

(701) 223-0441

December 30, 1994

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0544%3A67. Public record. Not legal advice.
