# Petitioners Brief — O'NEAL v. McAninch

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0535%3A05

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petitioners Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1995
- **Citation:** 513 U.S. 432

## Text

No. 93-7407

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1993
°

ROBERT O'NEAL,

Petitioner,
VS.

FRED McANINCH, WARDEN,
Respondent.

+

On Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Sixth Circuit
°

BRIEF FOR PETITIONER
¢

GioriA EYEerRLy
Ohio Public Defender

Grecory L. Ayers
Chief Deputy Public Defender

JOHN A. Bay
Assistant State Public Defender

THomMAS R. WertTERER, JR.
(Counsel of Record)
Assistant State Public Defender

Ohio Public Defender Commission
8 East Long Street, 11th Floor
Columbus, Ohio 43266-0587

(614) 466-5394

Counsel for Petitioner

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO, (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTION PRESENTED

WHEN A PETITIONER HAS ESTABLISHED A CONSTI-
TUTIONAL VIOLATION IN A FEDERAL HABEAS
ACTION, DOES THE STATE HAVE THE BURDEN OF
PROVING THE ERROR WAS HARMLESS UNDER
BRECHT V. ABRAHAMSON, 113 S. Ct. 1710 (1993)?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTION PRESENTED. . ......060.sscccscesdounae i
OPINIONS. BELOW. 2.0.56 6sescecvesdeusenbeeeeee ]
PURI TOON . 0.0 ce orsceevsitechdeeneneeee 1
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED....... 1
STATEMENT OF THE CAGE... ..00cvscssseseneee 2
SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT ................. 9

ARGUMENT

I. BRECHT V. ABRAHAMSON, 113 S. CT. 1710
(1993), DID NOT CHANGE THE LONGSTAND-
ING RULE THAT THE PARTY THAT COMMIT-
TED AND STANDS ‘TO BENEFIT FROM A
PROVEN CONSTITUTIONAL VIOLATION
HAS THE BURDEN OF SHOWING THE VIO-
LATION DID NOT AFFECT THE PROCEEDING
WELTSTERTETVI PT tie 14

A. The Nature Of Harmless Error Analysis Has
Long Been Understood To Require Allocat-
ing The Burden Of Proof To The State.... 14

B. Although Brecht Changed Chapman's Harm-
less Error Standard, It Evidenced No Inten-
tion To Change The Longstanding Rule,
Predating Chapman, That Gives The Proven
Wrongdoer The Burden Of Proving Harm-
SOSOROES .... 20S 005406-00ne aa eee 17

C. Not Only The Concurring Opinion That
Supplied The Fifth Vote For The Majority In
Brecht, But Also All The Authorities That
Brecht Identified As Authoritative In Defin-
ing The New Standard Of Harmlessness On
Habeas, Assign The Burden Of Proof To The
POISENT ET es ee 20

Il.

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued
Page

THE STATE MUST BEAR THE BURDEN OF
PROVING A CONSTITUTIONAL ERROR
HARMLESS IN A FEDERAL HABEAS PRO-
CEEDING TO ENSURE THE ACCURACY OF
CONVICTIONS AND TO PRESERVE THE
ESSENTIAL FUNCTION OF HABEAS CORPUS
AS A REMEDY FOR CONSTITUTIONAL VIO-
LATIONS THAT RENDER. A TRIAL FUNDA-
MENTALLY UNFAIR ........---6--000 eee eee 23

A. The Court’s Modern Habeas Corpus Juris-
prudence Balances The Competing Policies
Of Protecting The Reliability Of The Trial
Process And Effectuating The State’s Inter-
est In Finality, Comity, And Federalism... 23

B. ‘Brecht’s Standard Of Proof For Harmless
Error Sufficiently Accommodates The
State’s Interests Without Changing The Bur-
CE ac occcescecccerosccccscccess 28

C. Giving Petitioners The Burden To Prove A
Constitutional Error Is Not Harmless Will
Increase The Risk Of An Erroneous Decision
By The Habeas Court And Not Ensure The
Accuracy Of Convictions..............++-: 30

D. Placing The Burden Of Proof On The Peti-
tioner Is Not Consistent With Traditional
Habeas Practice And Will Burden Rather
Than Assist The Court In Deciding Which
Constitutional Claims Are Entitled To Relief

ne eee eee eee re eeeeeeeeweseeweeeeeeseeee eo eS

35

E. Considerations Of Finality, Comity, And
Federalism Do Not Support A Change In
The Current Burden Of Proof Procedure .. 39

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued -
Page

Ill. BECAUSE THE SIXTH CIRCUIT ERRO-
NEOUSLY PLACED THE BURDEN OF PRO-
VING THE CONSTITUTIONAL VIOLATION
WAS NOT HARMLESS ON O'NEAL, THIS
CASE SHOULD BE REMANDED TO THE
SIXTH CIRCUIT FOR HARMLESS ERROR
RIGA 65 ci scciniicivcdies kebab encbiacaens: 42

A. The Sixth Circuit Decided This Case With-
out The Benefit Of Briefing On The Impact
OS BOGE 0 concn se sngeh4seadseuacowedorts 42

B. Under A Fair Allocation Of The Burden To
The State, O’Neal Is Entitled To Habeas

| Pre en ee Oe 44
SE 9 Ss's-rs'c knoe chav seek o enka cacueeeeee cs 50
APPENDIX

Pe Oe I WE PP ho inh bck kc Rasantccea ts dondess la
Rule 2, Rules Governing Section 2254............. 2a
Rule 4, Rules Governing Section 2254............. 4a
Rule 5, Rules Governing Section 2254............. 5a
Ohio Rev. Code Ann., § 2903.01................... 6a
Ohio Rev. Code Ann., § 2905.01................... 6a
Ohio Rev. Code Amn., § 2011.O1. ...:.......c000-.: 7a
St EN NO oh 08 kdb Ses olededeeweeniebaloveeus 8a
WM Ak OI 5k oe sbdca es occ ends 9a
Ss Mins 4 batasineus 6s socnnbbaniad ouaas 10a
28 U.S.C. § On 2a ne So Oe lla

Wh A Soros iid 12a

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases:
Addington v. Texas, 441 U.S. 418 (1979) .............. 35
Amadeo v. Zant, 486 U.S. 214 (1988) ................. 36
Arizona v. Fulminante, 499 U.S. 279 (1991) ........... 31
Brecht v. Abrahamson, 113 S. Ct. 1710 (1993)..... passim
Bruno v. United States, 308 U.S. 287 (1939)........... 21
Chapman v. California, 386 U.S. 18 (1967) ........ passim
Coleman v. Thompson, 111 S. Ct. 2546 (1991) ...... 25, 26
Darden v. Wainwright, 477 U.S. 168 (1986) ........... 17
Delaware v. Van Arsdall, 475 U.S. 673 (1986) ......... 31
Desist v. United States, 394 U.S. 244 (1969)........... 30
Dowling v. United States, 493 U.S. 342 (1990)......... 41
Edelman v. Jordan, 415 U.S. 651 (1974)............... 18
Elder v. Holloway, 114 S. Ct. 1019 (1994)............. 19
Engle v. Isaac, 456 U.S. 107 (1982)........ 24, 25, 26, 41
Estelle v. McGuire, 112 S. Ct. 475 (1991) ............. 41
Estelle v. Smith, 451 U.S. 454 (1981) ................. 36
Fahy v. Connecticut, 375 U.S. 85 (1963)............... 28
Fey vw. Neola, 372 US. -FP2 (19GB) «2 5 00. cc cecccwcccces 24
Franks v. Bowman Transportation Co., 424 U.S. 747
Ss sid nak bball dte Ob ta Se ReN ORES needs ave chans 16
Godinez v. Moran, 113 S. Ct. 2680 (1993)............. 36
Granberry v. Greer, 481 U.S. 129 (1987)............... 36

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page
Greer ©. Miller, 463 US. TE6 CISBZ) «oc... ccc cccccecis 15
Haynes v. Washington, 373 U.S. 503 (1963) ........... 15
Herrera v. Collins, 113 S. Ct. 853 (1993).............. 28
Holland v. McGinnis, 963 F.2d 1044 (7th Cir. 1992),
onve, Gated, BES BGR. Te Cs bi vs ives tcccccs 36
Hopper v. Evans, 456 U.S. 605 (1982).............05.. 17
Ge ve Werte, SOT UG. SOO (aOP ee cs cc ccc vccscvcases 35
Jackson v. Virginia, 443 U.S. 307 (1979)............... 26

Keeney v. Tamayo-Reyes, 112 S. Ct. 1715 (1992) ....25, 40
Keyes v. School District No. 1, 413 U.S. 189 (1973) .... 16
Kimmelman v. Morrison, 477 U.S. 365 (1986).......... 27
Kotteakos v. United States, 328 U.S. 750 (1946).... passim

Kuhlmann v. Wilson, 477 U.S, 436 (1986)............. 29
Lankford v. Idaho, 500 U.S. 110 (1991)............. 13, 43
Lockhart v. Fretwell, 113 S. Ct. 838 (1993) ............ 15
Lynumn v. Illinois, 372 U.S. 528 (1963)............... 15
Mackey v. United States, 401 U.S. 667 (1971).......... 30
McCleskey v. Zant, 499 U.S. 467 (1991)........... passim
Miller v. Fenton, 474 U.S. 104 (1985)................. 27
Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966)........... 15, 26
Murray v. Carrier, 477 U.S. 478 (1986) ........ 11, 25, 26

O'Neal v. Morris, 3 F.3d 143 (6th Cir. 1993)...... passim

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES..- Continued

Page
Payne v. Arkansas, 356 U.S. 560 (1958).......6....4.. 15
Price v. Johnston, 334 U.S. 266 (1948) .............5. . 34
Reed v. Ross, 468 U.S. 1 (1984) ...... PSE ee ay 24, 42
Riggins v. Nevada, 112 S. Ct. 1810 (1992).......... 32, 33
Rose v. Clark, 478 U.S. 570 (1986)............. 17, 31, 43
Satterwhite v. Texas, 486 U.S. 249 (1988)........... 11, 33
Sherley v. Seabold, 929 F.2d 272 (6th Cir. 1991)....... 42
Spano v. New York, 360 U.S. 315 (1959) .............. 15
State ex rel. Greene v. Enright, 63 Ohio St. 3d 729,
590 N.E.2d 1257, cert. denied, 113 S. Ct. 667
Rock a'sllh oceca ca ceekenretdaennedeaehtes nee4.s5 34
Stone v. Powell, 428 U.S. 465 (1976).............. passim
Stoner v. Sowders, 997 F.2d 209 (6th Cir. 1993)....... 43
Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668 (1984)......... 35

Sullivan v. Louisiana, 113 S. Ct. 2078 (1993) ..11, 32, 33, 37
Teague v. Lane, 489 U.S. 288 (1989) ........... 10, 26, 30
United States v. Cerro, 775 F.2d 908 (7th Cir. 1985) .... 33

United States v. Lane, 474 U.S. 438 (1986)........ passim
United States v. Mechanik, 475 U.S. 66 (1986)......... 41
United States v. Olano, 113 S. Ct. 1770 (1993)........ passim
Wainwright v. Sykes, 433 U.S. 72 (1977).......... passim

- Viil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
Withrow v. Williams, 113 S. Ct. 1745 (1993)...11, 26, 27, 28
Wright v. West, 112 S. Ct. 2482 (1992) ............... 27
RUuLes:
. eg Bt ES Merry treet e Te eee Tere -... passim
Rule 2, Rules Governing Section 2254.............6.. 37
Rule 4, Rules Governing Section 2254............ 14, 37
Rule 5, Rules Governing Section 2254........ 36, 37, 41

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION:

Fourteenth Amendment, United States Constitu-

STATUTORY PROVISIONS:

Ohio Rev. Code Ann. (Anderson 1980), § 2903.01 ..... 2
Ohio Rev. Code Ann. (Anderson, 1980), § 2905.01 ..... 2
Ohio Rev. Code Ann. (Anderson, 1980), § 2911.01..... 2
pO AUN a cnes coun eehabadhe seesauens beet 2, 21
nhs pk chy cee shaeneues ever Ganeekan a
i ind 66 nee va evs 40 05 ACR EEE OLA RTO: 2
eC Gin 5) dnc Se thks neues okemwebauians 2
ee Ee a ivibdnivecdes tue shsdstsurvaseeda passim

MISCELLANEOUS:
1 Wigmore, Evidence § 21 (3d ed. 1940) ............ 16

Brief of Amici Curiae The National and Ohio Asso-
ciations of Criminal Defense Lawyers in Sup-
Re ee I a 0 dad es otters seh Ksebuns qeevs 48

ix
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Brief of Amicus Curiae Timothy Scott Sherman in
NE GET 5 oc vcnvsivanccisscoedsessses¥s 15

Faust, et al., The Great. Writ In Action: Empirical
Light On The Federal Habeas Corpus Debate, 18
N.Y.U. Rev. L. & Soc. Change, 637 (1990-91) ...... 34

Jeitelbaum, et al., Evaluating the Prejudicial Effect of
Evidence; Can Judges Identify the Impact of
Improper Evidence on Juries? 1983 Wis. L. Rev.

DOE Cease oc tar yecheesacieese ins eReeceackakewat 33

R. Traynor, The Riddle of Harmless Error (1970)... 31, 33

OPINIONS BELOW

The decision of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Sixth Circuit is reported. O'Neal v. Morris, 3 F.3d
143 (6th Cir. 1993) (Joint Appendix (hereinafter J.A.)
217-29). The entry of the Court of Appeals denying
rehearing and suggestion for rehearing en banc, (J.A. 230),
is not reported. 3

The judgment and opinion of the United States Dis-
trict Court for the Southern District of Ohio, Western
Division, (J.A. 211-16), the Magistrate’s Supplemental
Report and Recommendation, (J.A. 200-12), the district
court’s original remand order, (J.A. 191-99), and the Mag-
istrate’s Report and Recommendation, (J.A. 99-190), are
unreported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Sixth Circuit was entered on August 20, 1993. (J.A.
217.) The order of the Court of Appeals denying O’Neal’s
petition for rehearing and suggestion for rehearing en
banc was entered on October 4, 1993. (J.A. 217, 230.) The
petition for certiorari was timely filed on January 3, 1994,
and was granted on April 4, 1994.

The Court’s jurisdiction rests upon 28 U.S.C.
§ 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED

This case involves the Fourteenth Amendment to the
Constitution of the United States, which provides in per-
tinent part: :

FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT

SECTION I. All persons born or naturalized in
the United States, and subject to the jurisdiction
thereof, are citizens of the United States and of
the State wherein they reside. No State shall

1

2

make or enforce any law which shall abridge the
privileges or immunities of citizens of the
United States; nor shall any State deprive any
person of life, liberty, or property, without due
process of law; nor deny to any person within
its jurisdiction the equal protection of the laws.

STATUTES INVOLVED

Ohio Revised Code Annotated, Section 2903.01 — Aggra-
vated Murder ,

Ohio Revised Code Annotated, Section 2905.01 — Kidnap-
ping

Ohio Revised Code Annotated, Section 2911.01 —- Aggra-
vated Robbery

The United States Code, 28 U.S.C. § 391

The United States Code, 28 U.S.C. § 1254

The United States Code, 28 U.S.C. § 2111

The United States Code, 28 U.S.C. § 2254(a)

The United States Code, 28 U.S.C. § 2243

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
A. Procedural History

Dimple Podborny, Lloyd Allen, and Petitioner Robert
O'Neal (hereinafter O’Neal), were tried jointly and found
guilty, in October 1981, of the kidnapping (Ohio Revised
Code Annotated (hereinafter O.R.C.) Section 2905.01),
aggravated robbery (O.R.C. Section 2911.01), and aggra-
vated murder (O.R.C. Section 2903.01) of Henry Pod-
borny. After exhausting his state remedies on appeal to
the Cuyahoga County, Ohio Court of Appeals and the
Supreme Court of Ohio, O’Neal filed a pro se petition for
a writ of habeas corpus, pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 2254, in
the United States District Court for the Southern District
of Ohio, Western Division, on September 24, 1986. (J.A.

3

1.) The District Judge assigned the case to a Magistrate
who appointed counsel on August 22, 1988. (J.A. 1.) The
Magistrate held an oral argument on July 27, 1990 and an
evidentiary hearing on February 19, 1991. On January 22,
1992, the Magistrate issued his Report and Recommenda-
tion finding the jury instructions on intent were constitu-
tionally defective, and that prosecutorial misconduct and
erroneously admitted evidence deprived O’Neal of a fun-
damentally fair trial. (J.A. 161-62.)

Upon review of the Report and Recommendation, the
District Court remanded the case to the Magistrate for
further review on the jury instruction issue. (J.A. 191-99.)
The Magistrate issued a Supplemental Report and Rec-
ommendation reaffirming that a new trial was mandated.
(J.A. 200-10.) The District Court adopted both reports.
(J.A. 211-16.)

Respondent (hereinafter the State) appealed to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit and
obtained a stay of the new trial order. While the State’s
appeal was pending, this Court issued its decision in
Brecht v. Abrahamson, 113 S. Ct. 1710 (1993). (J.A. 1.)

Without benefit of briefing on the impact of Brecht, the

Sixth Circuit held that O’Neal had the burden of proving
the constitutional error was not harmless. O'Neal v.
Morris, 3 F.3d 143 (6th Cir. 1993). (J.A. 221.) The Sixth
Circuit concluded that the constitutional errors resulting
from the jury instructions and prosecutor’s closing argu-
ment were harmless. Id. at 147. (J.A. 227-29.) O’Neal’s
timely Petition for Rehearing with Suggestion for Rehear-
ing En Banc was denied on October 4, 1993. (J.A. 1, 230.)

B. Trial Facts And Lower Court Rulings

This case involves the kidnapping, aggravated rob-
bery, and aggravated murder of Henry Podborny and the

4

conspiracy to commit those acts. As a result of constitu-
tionally defective jury instructions, erroneously admitted
evidence, and egregious prosecutorial misconduct,
O'Neal was wrongfully convicted of these crimes.

The events leading to the commission of these crimes
began with the 1980 separation of Henry and Dimple
Podborny of Chicago, Illinois. (Tr: 5350-51.) Shortly after
the separation, Dimple began receiving threats, believed
to be delivered at the direction of her husband, Henry.
(Tr. 5315, 5321-22, 5349.) Turning to her daughter-in-law,
Gail Toney, Dimple asked for assistance in hiring some-
one to provide protection. (Tr. 1762-63, 5349-50) (J.A. 7.)

Recognizing an opportunity to defraud her mother-
in-law, Toney contacted James McLean, who agreed to
play the role of the personal security provider. (Tr. 1752,
1764-65) (J.A. 708.) In June 1980, Toney introduced
McLean to Dimple. A $5,000 fee was negotiated and paid.
(Tr. 1776, 1778-83.) Two months later, terrified and believ-
ing her life was in danger from her husband after a
month of threats made by McLean’s associates, Dimple
paid Toney another $10,000 to continue the personal pro-
tection. (Tr. 2981-83.)

Distressed by the continuing threats, Dimple again
turned to Toney, this time to ask for assistance in arrang-
ing the murder of Henry. (Tr. 1784-86.) After consulting
with McLean, Toney quoted her mother-in-law a fee of
$25,000. (Tr. 1787.) A few days later, Dimple paid Toney
$24,400. (Tr. 1791-94.)

Toney, the state’s principal witness against O’Neal,
testifed in exchange for a reduced sentence and admitted
she would lie to stay out of prison. (Tr. 2120, 2126-27,
2351-53.) Toney claimed to have contacted and invited
O’Neal to join the conspiracy. (Tr. 1807-08.) The plan,
according to Toney, was to lure Henry to Cleveland,
kidnap him, loot his Chicago residence and business,

AP ee Eee

5

drug him, and then release him safely in Chicago. (Tr.
1840-44.) In January 1981, the plan was put into action.
Dimple lured her husband to Cleveland on the pretext of
reconciling their marriage. (Tr. 1842.) According to Toney,
she picked up Henry at the airport and drove him to
O’Neal’s saloon. (Tr. 1842, 1858) (J.A. 13-14.) Toney testi-
fied she dropped off Henry and watched him enter the
saloon. Within minutes, according to Toney, O'Neal
exited the saloon and gave her Henry’s valuables. (Tr.

— 1859) (J.A. 14-15.)

Toney then began the process of looting the Pod-
borny residence and business. (Tr. 1869-1906, 1915-18,
1928-29, 1935-37.) In February 1981, the plan began to
unravel when the FBI arrested McLean for forging
Henry’s traveler’s checks. (Tr. 3279-82.) McLean told the
FBI that he had information concerning the disap-
pearance of Henry and agreed to cooperate. (Tr. 3002.)
Wearing a wire, McLean contacted Toney and discussed
her and Gary Gabbard’s (Toney’s brother) participation in
the kidnapping and robbery of Henry. (Tr. 4783-90.) No
mention was made of O’Neal. (Tr. 3240-41.)

On April 24, 1981, Henry’s body was found in a
vacant lot in Cleveland, Ohio. (Tr. 4489-90.) He had been
struck five times in the head with a blunt instrument and
shot in the forehead. (Tr. 3708-09.) The assistant coroner
testified that a date and time of death could not be
accurately determined, but Henry ” . . . had been dead for
a period of at least weeks.” (Tr. 3711) (J.A. 26.)

During the course of O’Neal’s trial, the prosecutor
improperly introduced evidence that O’Neal had been
involved in a prior killing in which a man was shot in the
head, (J.A. 139-51, 209-210), and numerous gruesome
exhibits, including: “the actual ‘smelly’ clothing and

6

wrappings in which [Henry] was discovered; a jar con-
taining the skin from [Henry’s] left finger; a box contain-
ing scalp hair from [Henry]; and a crowbar found in
O'Neal's bar.” Magistrate’s Report and Recommendation.
(J.A. 132.) The Magistrate found that: “[T]he prosecutor
introduced the gruesome evidence for the express pur-
pose of enabling him to make an inflammatory argument
at the conclusion of the case.” (J.A. 151.)

During closing argument, the prosecutor made the
following inflammatory argument to the jury, explaining
how he wanted the jurors to use the gruesome evidence
he had introduced:

And as far as the crowbar, you pick that crowbar

up, you get the dirt on your hands, you tell me

about it. There is nothing on the crowbar, but

when you get back there, think about what it
might be like, first of all, to sit down and talk
about kidnapping another human being. Get
into the case. You are going to have his clothes
back there. Grab those things, they stink, ’
they’ve got blood on them. Wrap yourself in
that blanket and see what the victim of a murder

is like.

MR. D’ANGELO: Objection.
THE COURT: Overruled.
MR. MARINO: _ As I said, I asked you to do
this, to get into the case, to really handle this
case. You can always wash up later, folks. To
find out how seedy an act is, to grab a man and
murder him, pick up that tire iron and ask your-
selves to really take that iron yourself and hit
somebody in the head five times, could you do

that? Who could be a murderer. Who could but a

man who would never < he would be crazy to

kill someone with a registered gun.

(Tr. 6121-26) (J.A. 63-65.)
Immediately after the prosecutor's closing argument,
the trial court improperly instructed the jury by relieving

7

the State of the burden of proving the intent element of
each of the crimes charged. (J.A. 169-90.) For example,
regarding aggravated murder, the trial court instructed:

Purpose to kill is an element of the crime of
aggravated murder. A person acts purposely
when it is his specific intention to cause a cer-
tain result. It must be established in this case
that at the time in question there was present in
the minds of the defendant or co-defendant or
aiders and abettors, if you so find, a specific inten-
tion to kill the decedent Henry Podborny.

(Tr. 6159) (J.A. 170) (emphasis added).

The prosecutor compounded the impact of these
defective instructions by encouraging the jury to use the
instructions to determine O’Neal’s guilt or innocence.
The Magistrate identified the prosecutor’s conduct in his
Report:

MR. MARINO: Now, I fear that defense coun-
sel gave you the impression that each defendant
must commit every element of the crime to be
liable (sic). That’s incorrect.”

(Tr. 6075.) The judge overruled an objection to the
statement, thus appearing to endorse it. Id. The pros-
ecutor continued:

MR. MARINO: In the state of Ohio and in most
states in my opinion we have what's called con-
spiracy and the judge is going to tell you about
that. The State is bound to prove to a jury two
things. First, that the crimes alleged have been
committed. And at this point, is there any doubt
in your mind that the man was kidnapped, he
was robbed, he was bludgeoned and shot to
death. The next thing we’re bound to prove to
you is that those accused of the crime partici-
pated in a criminal conduct and engaged in a
course of criminal conduct which eventually led
to the commission of those crimes.

8

MR. MILANO: Objection. It is misstatement of

the law, sir.

THE COURT: Overruled.

MR. MARINO: Folks, if that’s a misstatement

of the law, you are the second jury to hear it

(referring to the trial of the codefendants).
Magistrate’s Report and Recommendation. (Tr. 6075-76)
(J.A. 129-30.)

During jury deliberations, the jury sent the following
question to the trial court: “Can we please have a brief
definition on the laws of aggravated murder?” (Tr.
6207-08) (J.A. 77.) The trial court repeated the defective
instructions, and the jury returned guilty verdicts on all
counts. (J.A. 77-82.)

The District Judge adopted the Magistrate’s conclu-
sion that the jury instructions and prosecutor’s argument
were, in the context of O’Neal’s trial, constitutional
errors. (J.A. 130-31, 206-09, 214.) According to the Magis-
trate:

The jury was left with the impression that the

State did not have to prove beyond a reasonable

doubt an independent intent to commit each

crime so long as it proved that each defendant
was in some way involved in a conspiracy that
eventually led to kidnapping, robbery, and mur-

der.

Magistrate’s Report and Recommendation. (J.A. 130.)

On the State’s appeal to the Sixth Circuit, the court
agreed that the prosecutor’s closing argument “improp-
erly suggested that the prosecution need not make an
independent showing of intent as to each defendant in
order for conspiracy liability to attach.” O'Neal, 3 F.3d at
147 (J.A. 227.) However, the Sixth Circuit concluded that
the constitutional errors resulting from the jury instruc-
tions and closing argument were harmless because
“... all of the evidence upon which the jury could have

9

relied to establish [O’Neal’s] guilt pointed to his guilt as a
principal . . . [and] any error by the trial court pertaining
to the intent of the conspirators or aiders and abettors did
not injuriously influence the jury’s decision to convict
[O’Neal] as a principal.” Id. (J.A. 227-28.)

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

I. Throughout this country’s history, in both the consti-
tutional and nonconstitutional contexts, and as a matter
of common law, statutory provision, and federal rule, the
burden of demonstrating that a proven error was or was
not harmless has always rested with the State. Chapman v.
California, 386 U.S. 18, 24 (1967) (constitutional errors);
Kotteakos v. United States, 328 U.S. 750, 760-61 (1946) (non-
constitutional errors); United States v. Olano, 113 S. Ct.
1170, 1778 (1993) (Fed. R. Crim. P. 52(a)).

In Brecht v. Abrahamson, 113 S. Ct. 1710 (1993), this
Court evidenced no intention to change the longstanding
rule predating Chapman that the party that committed
and stands to benefit from a proven constitutional viola-
tion has the burden of showing the violation did not
affect the proceeding. What the Court did change with
Brecht was Chapman's harmless error standard. The Court
decided that the “harmless beyond a reasonable doubt”
standard did not apply in federal habeas review. Brecht,
113 S. Ct. at 1721. Instead, the Court held that “the
standard for determining whether habeas relief must be
granted is whether the [constitutional] error ‘had sub-
stantial and injurious effect or influence in determining
the jury’s verdict.” Id. at 1714 (quoting Kotteakos v.
United States, 328 U.S. at 776). The Court adopted the
Kotteakos standard because it is “grounded in the federal
harmless error rule” and “federal courts may turn to an
existing body of case law to apply it.” Id. at 1722. The

10

Kotteakos federal harmless error standard places the bur-
den of proof on the issue of harmless error on the govern-
ment.

The Sixth Circuit incorrectly interpreted Brecht to
place the burden on O'Neal to prove not only that a
constitutional error occurred, but also that it was not
harmless. In explaining its departure from Chapman, the
Court in Brecht repeatedly confined its discussion to the
standard of proof, never purporting to change, either
Chapman's or the longstanding pre-Chapman allocation of
the burden of proof to the State. The Court’s statement in
Brecht that petitioners are not entitled to relief unless they
can establish the constitutional error resulted in “actual
prejudice,” Brecht, 113 S. Ct. at 1722, is a synonym for the
harmless error standard a petiticner must meet.

The concurring opinion that supplied the fifth vote
for the majority in Brecht, as well as all the other authori-
ties that Brecht identified in defining the new standard of
harmlessness on habeas review, assign the burden of
proof to the State. See Kotteakos, 328 U.S. at 760; United
States v. Lane, 474 U.S. 438, 449 (1986). To make Brecht’s
application consistent with all the statutes, rules, and
decisions it treats as authoritative, the Court must place
the burden of proving harmless error on the State.

Il. The Court’s habeas decisions have effectuated the
State’s interests in finality, comity, and federalism by
excluding certain issues that do not bear on guilt or
innocence, see Stone v. Powell, 428 U.S. 465, 482 (1976), by
enforcing procedural defaults, see Wainwright v. Sykes, 433
U.S. 72, 87-89 (1977), and by only applying constitutional
rules in existence when a conviction becomes final, see
Teague v. Lane, 489 U.S. 288, 306 (1989). At the same time,
the Court’s decisions have protected the reliability of the
trial process by ensuring that habeas relief will be

eS

11

afforded to petitioners who are innocent or would other-
wise be victims of a miscarriage of justice. Sykes, 433 U.S.
at 91; Murray v. Carrier, 477 U.S. 478, 496 (1986). The
Court has also resisted broad-based attacks on the writ
designed to eliminate from review issues that are central
to the correct ascertainment of guilt. See Jackson v. Vir-
ginia, 443 U.S. 307 (1979); Withrow v. Williams, 113 S. Ct.
1745 (1993). Throughout its modern jurisprudence the
Court has preserved the core function of the writ as a
remedy for fundamentally unfair trials and for avoiding
conviction of the innocent.

Brecht’s standard of proof for harmless error suffi-
ciently accommodates the State’s interests in finality
without changing the burden of proof. Habeas relief is
now limited to petitioners who actually had a fundamen-
tally unfair trial (constitutional errors had a substantial
and injurious effect or influence in determining the jury’s
verdict, Brecht, 113 S. Ct. at 1722) rather than the possi-
bility of one, as under the Chapman standard. Brecht
increases the likelihood that retrials will occur only in
situations where removal of the error may make a differ-
ence in the outcome. A change in the longstanding rule
on the burden of proof for harmless error is unnecessary.

The central focus of the Court's jurisprudence is the
writ’s assurance that constitutional errors do not cause
the conviction of the innocent. Giving habeas petitioners
the burden to prove a constitutional error is not harmless
will increase the risk of an erroneous decision and will
not ensure the accuracy of convictions. Harmless error
analysis speaks directly to the reliability of criminal pro-
cedures and the accuracy of their outcomes. The Court
has acknowledged that harmless error analysis is inher-
ently difficult and often speculative. See Sullivan v. Louisi-
ana, 113 S. Ct. 2078, 2082 (1993); Satterwhite v. Texas, 486
U.S. 249, 258 (1988). Since the vast majority of habeas

12

petitioners proceed pro se, without legal training, and
without access to the complete record, they are ill-
equipped to bear the burden of proof. Given the imbal-
ance between the State and most habeas petitioners,
switching the harmless error burden of proof to petitioner
may substantially increase the number of unremedied
constitutional errors affecting the reliability of trials. Such
result is inconsistent with the Court’s habeas jurispru-
dence and with the goals of fair trials and accurate deter-
minations of guilt or innocence.

Placing the burden of proof on petitioner is also
inconsistent with current habeas practice. Petitioners now
must justify they are entitled to relief when they pro-
cedurally default their claims. Likewise, the equitable
nature of habeas practice should require that once the
petitioner establishes the State has violated his constitu-
tional rights, the State should bear the burden of proving
its violation was harmless. Moreover, harmless error is an
issue normally pleaded by the State to avoid the conse-
quences of constitutional violations, similar to the other
habeas defenses of non-exhaustion, non-retroactivity,
procedural default, and abuse of the writ. Further, the
State has access to the complete record and is better
positioned to identify the salient facts and arguments on
the harmless error issue.

More importantly, shifting the harmless error burden
to petitioner could drastically increase the federal courts’
workload. If showing prejudice becomes a part of a
habeas petitioner’s burden, it could drastically increase
the length, complexity, and time required to plead, brief,
argue, and decide habeas cases. This issue would be
addressed as to all claims in all cases throughout the
habeas proceedings. Efficiency counsels that the burden
remains a part of the State’s case. Finally, the Kotteakos
body of case law (allocating the burden of proof on

13

harmless error to the State) will be of no value to the
habeas court if the burden is allocated to the petitioner.

The considerations of finality, comity, and federalism
do not support a change in the current burden of proof.
When habeas petitioners have established constitutional
violations, the State’s interests have been accommodated.
See McCleskey v. Zant, 499 U.S. 467 (1991). Requiring
habeas petitioners to initially establish prejudice to obtain
relief, the same as petitioners who procedurally default
their claims, would not only be inequitable, but would
deprive the Court’s jurisprudence of a rational unifor-
mity. The State does not have a valid interest in the
finality of a conviction if there has not been a reliable
determination of guilt. See Stone, 428 U.S. at 491 n.31.
Requiring a petitioner to prove a constitutional error
harmless will not ensure the accuracy of convictions or
avoid conviction of the innocent.

Ill. For these reasons, the burden of proving a constitu-
tional error was harmless error must be placed on the
State. Because the Sixth Circuit erroneously placed the
harmless burden on O'Neal, this case must be remanded
to the Sixth Circuit for harmless error review. Since the
impact of Brecht was not briefed in the Sixth Circuit
before O’Neal’s case was decided, a remand will afford
the parties an opportunity to submit their best arguments
before the court conducts its harmless error analysis.
Principles of due process and fair procedure require no
less. See Lankford v. Idaho, 500 U.S. 110, 126 n.22 (1991).

With a fair allocation of the burden to the State,
O’Neal is entitled to habeas relief because the constitu-
tionally defective jury instructions, coupled with the
prosecutorial misconduct, did have a substantial and
injurious effect on the jury verdict. In finding the consti-
tutional errors harmless, the Sixth Circuit failed to con-
sider the following critical items: (1) the impact of the

14

improper transferred intent instructions on the defense’s
theory of actual innocence; (2) the evidence that did not
neatly fit within the State’s theory of O’Neal’s guilt as a
principal, but did fit within the State’s alternative theory
that O’Neal could be convicted as an aider and abettor
lacking any intent to kill; (3) the wide range of errors and
prosecutorial misconduct at O’Neal’s trial that made the
jury prone to use the defective instructions to convict;
and (4) the evidence that the defective, unconstitutional
jury instructions and the prosecutor’s improper argument
confused the jury.

ARGUMENT

I. BRECHT V. ABRAHAMSON, 113 S. CT. 1710 (1993),
DID NOT CHANGE THE LONGSTANDING RULE
THAT THE PARTY THAT COMMITTED AND
STANDS TO BENEFIT FROM A PROVEN CONSTI-
TUTIONAL VIOLATION HAS THE BURDEN OF
SHOWING THE VIOLATION DID NOT AFFECT
THE PROCEEDING.

A. The Nature Of Harmless Error Analysis Has
Long Been Understood To Require Allocating
The Burden Of Proof To The State.

A federal court’s habeas corpus jurisdiction is
invoked when a petition is filed on behalf of a person
who is held in state custody in violation of the Constitu-
tion, laws or treaties of the United States. 28 U.S.C.
§ 2254(a). The federal court must dismiss the petition
unless it reveals on its face that the prisoner is entitled to
relief. Rule 4, Rules Governing Section 2254 Cases in the
United States District Courts (hereinafter Rules Govern-
ing Section 2254 Cases). To obtain relief a petitioner must
prove that the State has committed a constitutional error.
Only at this point does the question of harmless error
arise. “[H]armless error analysis is triggered only after the

15

reviewing court discovers that an error had been commit-’
ted.” Lockhart v. Fretwell, 113 S. Ct. 838, 842 n.2 (1993);
accord Greer v. Miller, 483 U.S. 756, 761 n.3 (1987). |

The burden of proving harmless error has historically
rested with the party that benefited from the error.' In
Chapman v. California, 386 U.S. 18, 22 (1967), this Court
held for the first time that some constitutional errors may
be harmless, i.e., may have little or no effect on the
outcome of the trial.2 The Court recognized, however,
that constitutional errors “affect[ing] substantial rights”
of a defendant cannot be harmless. Id. at 23. The Court
recognized as well that, in fairness, the State should bear
the burden of proving the error it committed was harm-
less:

Certainly error, constitutional error, in illegally

admitting highly prejudicial evidence or com-

ments, casts on someone other than the person
prejudiced by it a burden to show that it was
harmless.

Id. at 24. As the Chapman Court noted, the same equitable
considerations had prompted the allocation of the burden
of proof to the wrongdoer under the original common-
law harmless error rule:

It is for that reason that the original common-

law harmless-error rule put the burden on the

beneficiary of the error either to prove that there

was no injury or to suffer a reversal of his

erroneously obtained judgment.

1 See Brief for Timothy Scott Sherman as Amicus Curiae in
Support of Petitioner, Section 1.

2 Prior to Chapman a Constitutional violation resulted in an
automatic new trial. Payne v. Arkansas, 356 U.S. 560 (1958); Spano
v. New York, 360 U.S. 315 (1959); Lynumn v. Illinois, 372 U.S. 528
(1963); Haynes v. Washington, 373 U.S. 503 (1963); Miranda v.
Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966).

16

ld. (citing 1 Wigmore, Evidence § 21 (3d ed. 1940).* The
Court_therefore held that the beneficiary of the constitu-
tional error must prove beyond a reasonable doubt that
the error complained of did not contribute to the verdict.
Id.

Nearly two decades before Chapman, the Court had
interpreted the federal harmless error statute governing
nonconstitutional error to place the burden of proving
any substantial, or “non-technical,” error harmless on the
government. Kotteakos v. United States, 328 U.S. 750,
760-61 (1946). Just last term, nearly three decades after
Chapman, the Court confirmed that the burden of proving
harmlessness under Federal Rule of Criminal Procedure
52(a) falls on the government. United States v. Olano, 113
S. Ct. 1770, 1778 (1993). Throughout this country’s his-
tory, therefore, in both the constitutional and noncon-
stitutional contexts and as a matter of common law,
statutory provision, and federal rule, the burden of dem-
onstrating that a proven error was or was not harmless
has always rested with the State. Chapman, 386 U.S. at 24.

Justice Blackmun summarized the Court’s harmless
error history concisely:

* The Court has followed this equitable rule in civil cases
where there is evidence a party has violated the other party's
constitutional rights. See Keyes v. School District No. 1, 413 U.S.
189, 208 (1973) (prima facie case of unlawful segregrative design
on part of school authorities shifts to those authorities the bur-
den of proving that other segregrated schools within the system
are not also the result.of intentionally segregrative actions);
Franks v. Bowman Transportation Co., 424 U.S. 747, 772 (1976)
(“petitioners here have carried their burden of demonstrating
the existence of a discriminatory hiring pattern and practice by
the respondents and, therefore, the burden will be upon respon-
dents to prove that individuals who reapply were not in fact
victims of previous hiring discrimination.”).

17

Every harmless-error standard that this Court
has employed, however, shares two salient fea-
tures. [First,] once serious error has been identi-
fied, the burden shifts to the beneficiary of the
error to show that the conviction was not
tainted.

Darden v. Wainwright, 477 U.S. 168, 197 (1986) (Blackmun,
J., dissenting) (citations omitted).
B. Although Brecht Changed Chapman's Harmless
Error Standard, It Evidenced No Intention To
Change The Longstanding Rule, Predating

Chapman, That Gives The Proven Wrongdoer
The Burden Of Proving Harmlessness.

Prior to Brecht v. Abrahamson, 113 S. Ct. 1710 (1993),
Chapman's “harmless beyond a reasonable doubt” stan-
dard of harmless error was applied in federal habeas
cases. See, e.g., Rose v. Clark, 478 U.S. 570, 576 (1986);
Hopper v. Evans, 456 U.S. 605, 613-14 (1982). In Brecht, the
Court decided that the “harmless beyond a reasonable
doubt” standard did not apply in federal habeas review.
Id. at 1721. Instead, the Court held that “the standard for
determining whether habeas relief must be granted is
whether the [constitutional] error ‘had substantial and
injurious effect or influence in determining the jury’s
verdict.’ ” Id. at 1714 (quoting Kotteakos, 328 U.S. at 776).
The Court adopted this harmless error standard from its
decision in Kotteakos, which since 1946 had governed
harmless error analysis for nonconstitutional errors
under the federal harmless error statute. Id. at 1718. In
explaining its departure from Chapman, the Court repeat-
edly confined its discussion to the standard of proof,
never purporting to change either Chapman’s or the long-
standing pre-Chapman allocation of the burden of proof to
the State:

The imbalance of the costs and benefits of

applying the Chapman harmless-error standard

18

on collateral review counsels in favor of apply-
ing a less onerous standard on habeas review of
constitutional error. The Kotteakos standard, we
believe, fills the bill. The test under Kotteakos is
whether the error “had substantial and injurious
effect or influence in determining the jury’s ver-
dict.” 328 U.S., at 776, 66 S. Ct., at 1253. Under
this standard, habeas petitioners may obtain
plenary review of their constitutional claims,
but they are not entitled to habeas relief based
on trial error unless they can establish that it
resulted in “actual prejudice.” See United States
v. Lane, 474 U.S. 438, 449, 106 S. Ct. 725, 732, 88
L.Ed.2d 814 (1986). The Kotteakos standard is thus
better tailored to the nature and purpose of
collateral review, and more likely to promote the
considerations underlying our recent habeas
cases.

Brecht, 113 S. Ct. at 1721-22 (emphasis added).

The Sixth Circuit in this case interpreted the above
passage in Brecht to mean that O’Neal had the burden of
proving not only that a constitutional violation occurred
but also that it was not harmless. O'Neal, 3 F.3d at 145.
(J.A. 221.) This interpretation is incorrect, for several
reasons. First, the only issue before the Court in Brecht
was whether the Chapman harmless error standard applies
in habeas cases. Brecht, 113 S. Ct. at 1713-14. This was the
only issue on which the Court granted review and the
only issue the Court undertook to address and decide. See
id. at 1721-22. Although Brecht reprised both the Chapman
standard of proof and Chapman's allocation to the State of
the burden of proof, id. at 1717, it confined its holding to
the standard, and not the burden, of proof. Id. at 1717-18.
Thus, the burden of proof issue was not decided. See
Edelman v. Jordan, 415 U.S. 651, 670-71 (1974) (constitu-
tional claims are not decided until fully explored and

19

considered). At most, the Sixth Circuit's interpretation
relies on a dictum in Brecht.

Second, although Chapman defined the standard of
harmlessness that the Court modified in Brecht, Chapman
was not responsible for allocating the burden of proving
harmlessness to the State. That allocation had long preda-
ted Chapman, so more than a change in Chapman would be
needed to revise the allocation of the burden of proof to
the State. Yet, to the extent the Brecht Court addressed
pre-Chapman practice, e.g., in Kotteakos, it endorsed that
practice. See, e.g., Brecht, 113 S. Ct. .at 1718, 1721-22
(adopting Kotteakos standard).

Third, the Court's statement that petitioners “are not
entitled to habeas relief based on trial error unless they
can establish that it resulted in ‘actual prejudice,’ ” id. at
1722, does not create a burden of proof, even in dicta. See
Elder v. Holloway, 114 S. Ct. 1019, 1022-23 (1994) (lower
court erred in interpreting language in prior Supreme
Court decision, which said that. plaintiffs had to make a
particular “showing,” as giving plaintiffs the burden of
making the showing; in fact, the language simply
described the legal standard the courts were to apply).
The quoted language from Brecht can just as easily be
read as a statement of the traditional principle that
habeas petitioners bear the burden of establishing consti-
tutional violations that withstand analysis under the
harmless error (or synonymously, the “actual prejudice”)
standard that applies.* Given this noncontroversial inter-
pretation, there is simply no basis for ascribing to this

4 The Court’s use of the term “actual prejudice” adds no
support to the court of appeals’ controversial construction. Both
the cited case, Lane, 474 U.S. at 449, and the Court's decision last
term in Olano, 113 S. Ct. at 1778, make clear that, in this context,
“actual prejudice” is simply a synonym for harmless error anal-
ysis. Indeed, the cited passage in Lane applies both Kotteakos and

20

passage the exceedingly controversial sea change in pre-
existing law that the court of appeals thought it saw
there.

Finally, as will be shown below, all of the authorities
that Brecht cited in support of this passage, and partic-
ularly the Kotteakos decision from which the Court
adopted its new habeas corpus standard, assign the bur-
den of proof to the State. The Court in Brecht therefore
evidenced no intention to change this longstanding rule.

C. Not Only The Concurring Opinion That Sup-
plied The Fifth Vote For The Majority In Brecht,
But Also All The Authorities That Brecht Iden-
tified As Authoritative In Defining The New
Standard Of Harmlessness On Habeas, Assign
The Burden Of Proof To The State.

Justice Stevens’s vote was necessary to make a major-
ity for Chief Justice Rehnquist’s lead opinion in Brecht. In
his concurring opinion, Justice Stevens stated that he
joined the Court’s opinion adopting the rule of Kotteakos
precisely because Kotteakos places the burden of proving
an error to be harmless squarely on the prosecution:

Because [the Kotteakos] standard accords with
the statutory rule for reviewing other trial errors
that affect substantial rights; places the burden on
prosecutors to explain why those errors were harm-
less; requires a habeas court to review the entire
record ¢e novo in determining whether the error
influenced the jury’s deliberations; and leaves
considerable latitude for the exercise of judg-
ment by federal courts, I am convinced that our
answer is correct. I write separately only to
emphasize that the standard is appropriately
demanding.

Federal Rule of Criminal Procedure 52(a), both of which give the
state the burden of proving harmlessness. See |.C, infra.

21

Brecht, 113 S. Ct. at 1723 (Stevens, J., concurring)
(emphasis added); accord id. at 1723-24 (“Kotteakos plainly
stated that unless an error is merely ‘technical,’ the bur-
den of sustaining a verdict by demonstrating that the
error was harmless rests on the prosecution,” and “[a]
constitutional violation, of course, would never fall in the
‘technical’ category.”).

Justice Stevens’s analysis of Kotteakos is correct. As
Brecht noted, id. at 1718, the Kotteakos standard is based
on the federal harmless error statute, now codified in 28
U.S.C. § 2111: “On the hearing of any appeal or writ of
certiorari in any case, the court shall give judgment after
an examination of the record without regard to errors or
defects which do not affect the substantial rights of the
parties.”° Interpreting the predecessor statute, the Kot-
teakos Court distinguished technical errors from errors
affecting substantial rights. As to merely technical errors,
i.e., errors unrelated to the rights of litigants,® the burden
is upon the defendant seeking a new trial to show the
error affected his substantial rights. Kotteakos, 328 U.S. at
760. On the other hand, where a violation affects any
nontechnical right, i.e., a right that is intended for the
protection of litigants, Kotteakos puts the burden of dem-
onstrating harmlessness upon the State:

If the error is of such a character that its natural

effect is to prejudice a litigant’s substantial
rights, the burden of sustaining a verdict will,

> Kotteakos construed Section 2111's predecessor, 28 U.S.C.
§ 391, but as Brecht recognized, Congress left untouched the
phrase “affect substantial rights of the parties.” Id. at n.7. Thus,
“Section 2111 did not alter the basis for the harmless error
standard announced in Kotteakos.” Id.

© See Bruno v. United States, 308 U.S. 287, 293-94 (1939)
(technical errors concern the “mere etiquette” and “formalities”
of trials and procedure).

22

notwithstanding this legislation rest upon the
one who claims under it.

Id. at 760-61.

In adopting the Kotteakos standard for harmless error,
the Brecht Court also cited United States v. Lane, 474 US.
438, 449 (1986). Brecht, 113 S. Ct. at 1722. In Lane, the
Court interpreted Federal Rule of Criminal Procedure
52(a),7 the harmless error rule, in considering a defen-
dant’s misjoinder claim. Lane, 474 U.S. at 444. The Court
noted that Rule 52(a) focuses on whether the error
“affectted] substantial rights” and that the Court had
construed a harmless error statute with similar language
in Kotteakos. Id. at 449. Then, in the very passage this
Court cited in Brecht, the Lane, Court applied the Kotteakos
standard in interpreting Rule 52(a):

Invoking the Kotteakos test, we hold that an error
involving misjoinder “affects substantial rights”
and requires reversal only if the misjoinder
results in actual prejudice because it “had sub-
stantial and injurious effect or influence in
determining the jury’s verdict.”

Lane, 474 U.S. at 449. (quoting Kotteakos, 328 U.S. at 776).

The Brecht Court's citation of this passage from Lane
supports O’Neal’s argument that the State bears the bur-
den of proving harmlessness in three separate ways.
First, the passage from Lane treats Kotteakos as authorita-
tive, and, as shown above, Kotteakos gave the government
the burden of proof on the nontechnical and constitu-
tional error under consideration there. Second, the cited
passage in Lane additionally makes Criminal Rule 52(a)
authoritative; and, in Olano, 113 S. Ct. at 1777-78, the

7 Rule 52(a) provides: “Harmless Error. Any: error, defect,
irregularity or variance which does not affect substantial rights
shall be disregarded.”

23

Court squarely reaffirmed that the government bears the
burden of proving harmlessness under Rule 52(a) (as
opposed to plain error, under Rule 52(b), which the
defendant must prove). Third, the cited passage from
Lane makes clear that the term “actual prejudice,” on
which the court below relied, has nothing to do with any
allocation of a burden of proof to the petitioner. Instead it
is simply a shorthand for the Kotteakos standard of proof,
i.e., for an error that “had substantial and injurious effect
or influence in determining the jury’s verdict.” Lane, 474
U.S. at 449. |

Brecht further indicated it was adopting the Kotteakos
standard because it is “grounded in the federal harmless-
error rule” and “federal courts may turn to an existing
body of case law in applying it.” Brecht, 113 S. Ct. at 1722.
As shown above, the Kotteakos federal harmless error
standard places the burden of proof on the issue of harm-
less error on the government.

To make Brecht’s application consistent with all the
statutes, rules, and decisions that it treats as authorita-
tive, this Court must place the burden of proving harm-
less error on the State.

Il. THE STATE MUST BEAR THE BURDEN OF PRO-
VING A CONSTITUTIONAL ERROR HARMLESS
IN A FEDERAL HABEAS PROCEEDING TO
ENSURE THE ACCURACY OF CONVICTIONS
AND TO PRESERVE THE ESSENTIAL FUNCTION
OF HABEAS CORPUS AS A REMEDY FOR CON-
STITUTIONAL VIOLATIONS THAT RENDER A
TRIAL FUNDAMENTALLY UNFAIR.

A. The Court’s Modern Habeas Corpus Jurispru-
dence Balances The Competing Policies Of Pro-
tecting The Reliability Of The Trial Process
And Effectuating The State’s Interest In Final-
ity, Comity, And Federalism.

This Court’s modern habeas corpus jurisprudence
has balanced two competing policies. On one hand, the

24

writ of habeas corpus is a fundamental safeguard against
unlawful custody. Fay v. Noia, 372 U.S. 391, 449 (1963)
(Harlan, J., dissenting). In enacting the federal habeas
corpus statute, 28 U.S.C. § 2254, Congress clearly
expressed its intent to provide a federal forum and rem-
edy for a violation of a state prisoner’s federal constitu-
tional rights. Reed v. Ross, 468 U.S. 1, 10 (1984). The
independent federal courts have been described by the
Court, in the words of James Madison, as the “guardians
of those [constitutional] rights,” Chapman, 386 U.S. at 21,
“to protect the people from unconstitutional action.”
Reed, 468 U.S. at 10. As one of the most important grants
of jurisdiction to the federal courts to perform that task,
the Great Writ of Habeas Corpus “indisputably holds an
honored position in our jurisprudence.” Engle v. Isaac, 456
U.S. 107, 126 (1982). It is a “bulwark against convictions
that violate fundamental fairness.” Id.

On the other hand, in defining the scope of the
modern writ, the Court has paid close attention to the
competing policies of finality of convictions, comity, and
federalism that are implicated when the federal courts
review state judgments. See Brecht, 113 S. Ct. at 1719-20.
In particular, the Court has sought to avoid an overly
liberal allowance of the writ that would undermine the
finality of state convictions, impinge on a state’s sover-
eignty and good-faith efforts to honor constitutional
rights, id. at 1720-21, or impose significant costs, such as
problematic retrials. Engle, 456 U.S. at 128.

During the last two decades, this balancing process
has led the Court to adjust habeas law so as to focus its
remedial power on, and limit its effects on state interests
to, situations in which the reliability of the trial process is
threatened and there is a risk of the conviction of the
innocent. Several decisions of the Court are illustrative.

25

In Stone v. Powell, 428 U.S. 465, 482 (1976), the Court
determined that Fourth Amendment search and seizure
claims were not cognizable in federal habeas proceedings
when there was a full and fair opportunity to litigate
them in the state courts. The Court found the benefits of
applying the exclusionary rule on collateral review, i.e.,
deterrence, did not outweigh the costs to the system of
excluding reliable evidence and ften freeing the guilty.
Id. at 489-90. Although the Court validated broad habeas
corpus relief as an additional safeguard against the con-
viction of the innocent, id. at 491 n.31, it stressed that a
petitioner’s Fourth Amendment claims actually deflect
the truth-finding process, id. at 490, and have “no bearing
on the basic justice of his incarceration.” Id. at 491-492 n.
31.

In Wainwright v. Sykes, 433 U.S. 72 (1977), a petitioner
failed to comply with a state procedural rule in raising a
constitutional claim in state court. The Court held this
default constituted an adequate and independent state
ground for the state courts’ refusal to hear his claim,
which barred habeas corpus relief. Because the petitioner
was at fault for not respecting the State’s rules and the
State’s interest in curing its own errors, the Court held
that he could not obtain habeas relief unless he could
meet the extenuating burden of showing “cause” for the
procedural default and “prejudice” therefrom. Id. at
87-89; accord Engle, 456 U.S. at 129 (1982); Murray v.
Carrier, 477 U.S. 478, 489 (1986); Coleman v. Thompson, 111
S. Ct. 2546, 2565 (1991); see also Keeney v. Tamayo-Reyes,
112 S. Ct. 1715, 1719-20 (1992) (“cause and prejudice”
standard applicable to petitioner’s failure to develop
material fact in state court proceedings); McCleskey v.
Zant, 499 U.S. 467, 490 (1991) (“cause and prejudice”
standard applies to determine if there has been an abuse
of the writ through inexcusable neglect).

26

Nevertheless, the Court in Sykes and subsequent
cases held that this rule will not prevent a habeas court
from hearing the claim of a petitioner who would other-
wise be a victim of a “miscarriage of justice.” Sykes, 433
U.S. at 91; Engle, 456 U.S. at 135; Coleman, 111 S. Ct. at
2565. “Where a constitutional violation has probably
resulted in the conviction of one who is actually innocent,
a federal habeas court may grant the writ even in the
absence of a showing of cause for the procedural
default.” Murray, 477 U.S. at 496.

These goals were further expressed in Teague v. Lane,
489 U.S. 288 (1989), where the petitioner sought to estab-
lish a new rule of constitutional law in federal habeas
proceedings. This Court denied relief, finding that the
“[a)pplication of constitutional rules not in existence at
the time a conviction became final seriously undermines
the principle of finality which is essential to the operation
of our criminal justice system.” Id. at 309. In reaching this
conclusion, however, the Court was careful to create an
exception for new rules or procedures that were “central
to an accurate determination of innocence or guilt.” Id. at
313. Throughout its modern jurisprudence, therefore, the
Court has emphasized the importance of the writ in pro-
tecting the reliability and accuracy of the trial process
and avoiding the conviction of the innocent.

At the same time, the Court has resisted broad-based
attacks on the writ that would seriously impair its impor-
tant functions. This is especially true when, unlike in
Sykes, the petitioner has adhered to all state and federal
procedural rules and has met a heavy burden of estab-
lishing that the State has violated important constitu-
tional norms. For example, in Withrow v. Williams, 113 S.
Ct. 1745 (1993), the Court was asked to extend Stone to
bar habeas relief for violations of Miranda v. Arizona, 384
U.S. 436 (1966). The Court refused to do so because,
unlike the Fourth Amendment exclusionary rule, Miranda

safeguards “a fundamental trial right,” i.e., a defendant’s .

Fifth Amendment privilege against self-incrimination,

27

which often helps to achieve the “correct ascertainment
of guilt.” Withrow, 113 S. Ct. at 1753. See also Jackson v.
Virginia, 443 U.S. 307 (1979) (Court refused to apply Stone
to Fourteenth Amendment due process claim that evi-
dence was insufficient to support the conviction, stress-
ing that the issue was “central to the basic question of
guilt or innocence,” id. at 323); Kimmelman v. Morrison,
477 U.S. 365 (1986) (Court refused to apply Stone to
claims of ineffective assistance of counsel, recognizing
that the Sixth Amendment right to counsel is a funda-
mental trial right that “assures the fairness, and thus the
legitimacy, of our adversary process,” id. at 374); Withrow,
113 S. Ct. at 1757 (O’Connor, J., dissenting) (a prisoner’s
equitable interest in avoiding incarceration when inno-
cent normally is sufficient by itself “to outweigh other
concerns and justify adjudication of the prisoner’s consti-
tutional claim”).

Similarly, in Wright v. West, 112 S. Ct. 2482 (1992), the
State sought to have the Court change the settled rule
that “mixed constitutional questions are ‘subject to plen-
ary federal [or de novo] review’ on habeas.” Id. at 2491
(quoting Miller v. Fenton, 474 U.S. 104, 112 (1985). The
State asked the Court to replace this standard with one
that afforded deference to state court determinations
applying law to the specific facts of a case. West, 112 S.
Ct. at 2486. The case was decided on other grounds, but
Justice Thomas acknowledged, in his plurality opinion
for the Court, that such a change would be “far-reach-
ing.” Id. at 2492. In'a concurring opinion, Justice O’Con-
nor indicated the Court has strongly adhered to the de
novo review of constitutional claims on habeas and
“always held that the federal courts, even on habeas,
have an independent obligation to say what the law is.”
Id. at 2497 (O’Connor, J., concurring). Justice O’Connor
warned that a move away from this standard would be a
“substantial change in our construction of the authority
conferred by the habeas corpus statute.” Id. at 2498. The
following Term in Withrow a majority of the Court then

28

reaffirmed the rule of de novo review. Withrow, 113 S. Ct.
at 1754.

Finally, in another decision last Term, Herrera v. Col-
lins, 113 S. Ct. 853 (1993), the Court made clear the crucial
focus of habeas corpus relief: it is not simply the interest
in accurate outcomes or the interest in correcting viola-
tions of federal law, but rather the confluence of both
interests. As such, even proof of a colorable claim of
innocence, in the absence of any violation of federal
constitutional law, could not justify relief. Id. at 862. The
Court thus emphatically reiterated that the federal court's
remedial powers on habeas are focused on “constitutional
violations occurring in the course of underlying state
criminal proceedings.” Id.

The above habeas decisions preserve the core func-
tion of the writ as a remedy for fundamentally unfai
trials and for avoiding conviction of the innocent. T e
State’s interests in finality, comity, and federalism also are
accommodated. To receive plenary review of a constitu-
tional claim, a petitioner must be properly before the
court. Claims brought by petitioners who have disre-
garded state and federal rules and cannot comply with
the Court’s rules regarding exhaustion, procedural

default, abuse of the writ, and retroactivity are not heard. i

B. Brecht’s Standard Of Proof For Harmless Error
Sufficiently Accommodates The State’s Inter-
ests Without Changing The Burden Of Proof.

Prior to Brecht, Chapman required relief if there was
any “ ‘reasonable possibility’ ” that constitutional trial
error contributed to the verdict. Chapman, 386 U.S. at 24
(quoting Fahy v. Connecti. ‘t, 375 U.S. 85, 86-87 (1963)). In
Brecht the Court determined that habeas relief requires
more certainty of harm to assure that the petitioner has
been “grievously wronged” — the historic standard for
granting habeas relief. Brecht, 113 S. Ct. at 1721. The
Court therefore adopted the more forgiving Kotteakos

29

standard, which requires relief only if the error “had

substantial and injurious effect or influence in determin-

ing the jury’s verdict.” Id. at 1722 (quoting Kotteakos, 328
U.S. at 776).

The Brecht/Kotteakos standard sufficiently satisfies the
state’s interest in finality. The Brecht/Kotteakos standard
denies relief for errors having no substantial impact on
the jury’s deliberations and verdict. Relief is limited to
petitioners who actually had a fundamentally unfair trial.

- Once the court reaches this degree of certitude that con-

stitutional error causing prejudice actually occurred, a
petitioner has been “grievously wronged.” The historic
habeas standard for relief has been met. The State’s inter-
est in finality is no longer decisive.

The Brecht/Kotteakos standard also adequately
addresses the “social costs” involved in retrying defen-
dants, such as “erosion of memory” or “dispersion of
witnesses,” Brecht, 113 S. Ct. at 1721, making reconviction
on retrial more difficult. Id. Under the Chapman standard,
there was a greater risk, due to these factors, that a
defendant would be acquitted even though he deserved
to be convicted. See McCleskey v. Zant, 499 U.S. at 491
(“[w]hen a habeas petitioner succeeds in obtaining a new
trial the ‘erdsion of memory’ and ‘dispersion of wit-
nesses’ that occur with the passage of time prejudice the
government and diminish the chances of a reliable adju-
dication.” (quoting Kuhlmann v. Wilson, 477 U.S. 436, 453
(1986) (plurality opinion)). Brecht solved this problem by
limiting habeas reversals to cases where the constitu-
tional error actually affected, in a substantial and inju-
rious way, the outcome of the trial. Under the Brecht/
Kotteakos standard, therefore, there will be a high proba-
bility that any new outcome on retrial is a function of
curing the constitutional error, and not a product of the
staleness of evidence.

30

The Brecht/Kotteakes standard sufficiently accommo-
dates the State’s interest in finality. A change in the
longstanding rule on the burden of proof regarding
harmless error is therefore unnecessary and unwarranted.
Moreover, as demonstrated below, it will undermine the
important function of the writ in protecting the reliability
of the trial process and avoiding conviction of-the inno-
cent.

C. Giving Petitioners The Burden To Prove A Con-
stitutional Error Is Not Harmless Will Increase
The Risk Of An Erroneous Decision By The
Habeas Court And Not Ensure The Accuracy Of
Convictions.

Under the Sixth Circuit’s ruling, O’Neal not only had
the burden of establishing the constitutional error, but
also had the burden of proving it was not harmless.
O'Neal, 3 F.3d at 145. (J.A. 221.) Such a major change in
federal habeas law is unwise, unsound, and’ inconsistent
with the Court’s recent habeas jurisprudence. This
change will create the substantial risk that inaccurate
convictions, including those of actually innocent people,
will be preserved.

As developed above, the central focus of this Court's
modern habeas jurisprudence is the writ’s assurance that
constitutional errors do not cause the conviction of an
actually innocent person. Stone, 428 U.S. at 491-92 n.31;
Teague, 489 U.S. at 312-13; Brecht, 113 S. Ct. at 1729
(O’Connor, J., dissenting). In Desist v. United States, 394
U.S. 244 (1969), Justice Harlan stated one of the principal
functions of the writ of habeas corpus is ” . . . to assure
that no man has been incarcerated under a procedure
which creates an impermissibly large risk that the inno-
cent will be convicted.” Id. at 262 (Harlan, J., dissenting);
see also Teague, 489 U.S. at 313 (“Since Mackey [Mackey v.
United States, 401 U.S. 667 (1971)] was decided, our cases

ee Oe ae | er a

31

have moved in the direction of reaffirming the relevance
of the likely accuracy of convictions in determining the
available scope of habeas review.”). This view of habeas
is, of course, consistent with the often stated principle
that the central purpose of a trial is to decide the question
of guilt or innocence. Stone, 428 U.S. at 490; Rose v. Clark,

478 U.S. at 577.

Harmless error analysis speaks directly to this central
question of the reliability of criminal procedures and the
accuracy of their outcomes. When a court conducts a
harmless error analysis after finding constitutional error,
it must quantitatively assess the error in the context of
the other evidence to determine the effect it had on the
fact-finding process at the trial. Brecht, 113 S. Ct. at 1717
(citing Arizona v. Fulminante, 499 U.S. 279, 281 (1991));
accord Delaware v. Van Arsdall, 475 U.S. 673, 681 (1986). As
this Court recognized in Van Arsdall:

The harmless-error doctrine recognizes the prin-

ciple that the central purpose of a criminal trial

is to decide the factual question of the defen-

dant’s guilt or innocence, and promotes public

respect for the criminal process by focusing on

the underlying fairness of the trial . . .

Id. at 681 (citations omitted); accord Fulminante, 449 U.S. at
308 (Rehnquist, C.J. concurring). Thus, the harmless error
standard and its proper application are “crucial to our
faith in the accuracy of the outcome.” Brecht, 113 S. Ct. at
1730 (O’Connor, J., dissenting); see Lane, 474 U.S. at 478
(Stevens, J., concurring and“ dissenting) (“A determina-
tion that an error was harmless is an extremely weighty
conclusion; it implicates profound notions of fairness and
justice.”); R. Traynor, The Riddle of Harmless Error 80
(1970) (“[T]he evaluation of an error as harmless or preju-
dicial is one of the most significant tasks of an appellate
court, as well as one of the most complex.”).

32

In Brecht, 113 S. Ct. at 1722, the Court reduced the
standard for finding a constitutional error to be harmless
in a federal habeas proceeding. No longer will the State
have to prove beyond a reasonable doubt that there is no
reasonable possibility that the constitutional error con-
tributed to the verdict. Id. at 1721; see Chapman, 386 U.S.
at 24. Instead, habeas relief will only be granted where
the error “had substantial and injurious effect or influ-
ence in determining the jury’s verdict.” Brecht, 113 S. Ct.
at 1722 (quoting Kotteakos, 328 U.S. at 776). No less than
four Justices of the Court dissented from the Court's
departure from the Chapman standard. See Brecht, at
1725-32 (White, Blackmun, Souter, O'Connor, JJ., dissent-
ing). Substantial doubts thus have been raised whether
the new standard can adequately protect federal constitu-
tional rights. Justice O’Connor specifically found that the
new standard “increases the likelihood that a conviction
will be preserved despite an error that actually affected
the reliability of the trial.” Id. at 1730 (O'Connor, J.,
dissenting).

As the 5-4 vote and the dissenters’ concerns suggest,
the balance struck in Brecht was delicate. As O’Neal dem-
onstrates below, tipping the balance even further against
the redress of proven constitutional errors by giving the
petitioner the burden on the harmless error issue will
skew the balance. It will increase the risk of preserving
the conviction despite constitutional error that affected
the reliability of the result.

This Court has frequently acknowledged that harm-
less error review is inherently difficult. See, e.g., Sullivan
v. Louisiana, 113 S. Ct. 2078, 2082 (1993) (misdescription of
the burden of proof vitiates jury’s findings, and review-
ing court can only engage in pure speculation of what a
reasonable jury would have done); Riggins v. Nevada, 112
S. Ct. 1810, 1816 (1992) (guesses as to outcome of trial if

CD Rear ott

nd og -

Oe oe

Sr ect en nae

33

defendant had not been forcibly medicated would be
purely speculative); Satterwhite v. Texas, 486 U.S. 249, 258
(1988) (evaluation of consequences of an error in sentenc-
ing phase of a capital case may be more difficult because
of discretion given to the sentencer). See also United States
v. Cerro, 775 F.2d 908, 915 (7th Cir. 1985) ((“It is always
perilous to speculate on what the effect of evidence
improperly admitted was on a jury, or what the effect of
evidence improperly excluded would have been.”) (citing
Jeitelbaum, Sutton-Barbere and Johnson, Evaluating the
Prejudicial Effect of Evidence; Can Judges Identify the Impact
of Improper Evidence on Juries? 1983 Wis.. L. Rev. 1147));
Traynor, Supra, at 29 (“It is not always easy to answer the
[harmless error] question in the light or the dark of a
trial.”); Kotteakos, 328 U.S. at 764 (“The crucial thing is the
impact of the thing done wrong on the minds of other
men, not on one’s own, in the total setting.”); Cf. Satter-
white, 486 U.S. 256; Riggins, 112 S. Ct. at 1816; Olano, 113
S. Ct. at 1780-81 (all recognizing that in some situations
harmless error analysis becomes so speculative as to be
impossible). As stated by Chief Justice Rehnquist in his
concurring opinion in Sullivan:
In the typical case, of course, a jury does not
make explicit factual findings; rather it simply
renders a general verdict on the question of
guilt or innocence. Thus, although it may be
possible to conclude from the jury’s verdict that
it has found a predicate fact (or facts), the
reviewing court is usually left only with the
record developed at trial to determine whether
it is possible to say beyond a reasonable doubt
that the error did not contribute to the jury’s
verdict. Moreover, any time an appellate court con-
ducts harmless-error review it necessarily engages in
some speculation as to the jury’s decisionmaking
process; for in the end no judge can know for certain
what factors led to the jury’s verdict.

113 S. Ct. at 2084 (citations omitted) (emphasis added).

34

Given the inherent difficulty of harmless error anal-
ysis, the vast majority of habeas petitioners are ill-
equipped to bear the burden of proof on the issue. It is
well known that most federal habeas petitioners are unre-
presented by counsel. See Price v. Johnston, 334 US. 266,
292 (1948) (“prisoners .. . act. . . often as their own
counsel in habeas corpus proceedings”); Faust, Rubens-
tein & Yackle, The Great Writ In Action: Empirical Light On
The Federal Habeas Corpus Debate, 18 N.Y.U. J.L. & Soc.
Change, 637, 688 (1990-91) (1973-75 and 1979-81 data)
(“[M]ost petitioners filed their habeas corpus petitions
pro se.”). Unlike the State, which is always represented
by counsel, petitioners often must prepare their own
petitions and subsequent pleadings without any legal
training or ability to marshal the facts and law in their
favor. Additionally, prisoners frequently do not have
access to the complete record in their case. See, e.g., State
ex rel. Greene v. Enright, 63 Ohio St. 3d 729, 590 N.E.2d

1257, cert. denied, 113°S. Ct. 667 (1992) (pro se defendant on

direct appeal not entitled to have trial transcript sent to
him in prison so he could prepare his appellate brief).
Thus, most habeas petitioners would be at a distinct
disadvantage in trying to meet such a critical burden of
proof. |

Given the imbalance between the State .and most
habeas petitioners, switching the burden of proof on
harmless error from the State to the petitioner may sub-
stantially increase the number of unremedied constitu-
tional errors affecting the reliability of trials. Such a result
is inconsistent with this Court’s habeas jurisprudence and
with the goals of fair trials and accurate determinations
of guilt-or innocence. This is especially so in the wake of
two decades worth of decisions of this Court limiting the
availability of habeas relief to petitioners who have assid-
uously respected state procedural rules, who have borne

tin

35

the burden of proving violations of well-established con-
stitutional norms that affect the integrity of the trial
process, and who are the victims of violations that cannot
be shown to lack substantial effect on the outcome. In
addition, such result fails to comport with the traditional
principle that “[i]n the administration of criminal justice,
our society imposes almost the entire risk of error on
itself.” Addington v. Texas, 441 U.S. 418, 423-24 (1979). See
also In re Winship, 397 U.S. 358, 364 ( 1970).

D. Placing The Burden Of Proof On The Petitioner
Is Not Consistent With Traditional Habeas Prac-
tice And Will Burden Rather Than Assist The
Court In Deciding Which Constitutional Claims
Are Entitled To Relief.

Placing the burden of proving harm on the petitioner
is inconsistent with traditional habeas practice and will
burden, rather than assist, federal courts in deciding
which claims are entitled to relief. To begin with, by the
time the harmless error question arises, habeas peti-
tioners already will have met the burden of establishing a
constitutional violation. In some cases that burden will
have been very great. See, e.g., Strickland v. Washington,
466 U.S. 668, 687 (1984) (to estabtish claim of ineffective
assistance of counsel petitioner must show counsel vio-
lated essential duty to client and reasonable likelihood
result of trial would have been different). As the Court’s
procedural default rules illustrate, see I/.A, supra, once a
party has demonstrated that the other party has not
played. by the established rules (in this case, fundamental
constitutional rules), the burden should shift to the proven
wrongdoer to show that its interests should be vindicated
despite its wrongdoing. Thus, once procedural default or
abuse of the writ is shown by the State, the petitioner has
the burden to establish “cause” and “prejudice” to obtain
habeas relief. Sykes, 433 U.S. at 87: McCleskey, 499 US. at

36

468. The equitable traditions of federal habeas practice
should likewise require that once the petitioner has estab-
lished that the respondent State has violated his constitu-
tional rights, the State should bear the burden of showing
its violation is harmless.

Moreover, harmless error is logically an argument or
defense to be pleaded by the responding party to avoid
the consequences of the proven wrongdoing. It is for this
reason that courts have found the State waived the harm-
less error argument by failing to timely raise it. See
Amadeo v. Zant, 486 U.S. 214, 228 (1988); Holland v.
McGinnis, 963 F.2d 1044, 1057 (7th Cir. 1992), cert. denied,
113 S. Ct. 1053 (1993). Such allocation of the burden is
dictated by longstanding harmless error practice in civil,
criminal, constitutional, nonconstitutional, statutory, and
common law contexts. See 1.A, supra. In addition, it is
consistent with the other habeas defenses of non-exhaus-
tion, non-retroactivity, procedural default, and abuse of
the writ which must be pleaded and proved by the State.
See Granberry v. Greer, 481 U.S. 129, 134 (1987) (exhaus-
tion); McCleskey, 499 U.S. at 482 (abuse of writ); Godinez v.

——-Meran, 113 S. Ct. 2680, 2685 n.8 (1993) (non-retroactivity);

Estelle v. Smith, 451 U.S. 454, 468 n.12 (1981) (procedural
default).

Furthermore, allocating the burden to. petitioner is
not an efficient use of scarce judicial resources. The
State’s attorney has access to the complete record and is
the party that Congress and this Court in the habeas rules
have made responsible for responding to the allegations
of the petition in an answer. See Rule 5, Rules Governing
Section 2254 Cases; Granberry, 481 U.S. at 132 n.5. Respon-
dent is in a much better position to identify the salient
facts and legal arguments on the harmless error issue
than most habeas petitioners. This current allocation of
the burden of proof assists the court in its analysis of the

ee eee -

oo amt wer ing -

37

harmless error issue and ultimate decision-making. See
Rule 5, Rules Governing Section 2254 Cases, Advisory
Committee Note, 28 U.S.C. § 2254 at 1122 (“[T]he return
serves several important functions: it permits the court
and parties to uncover quickly the disputed issues.”).
Putting the burden on a lay petitioner will be less likely
to do so. Judicial economy and use of resources will not
be promoted if the court must seek out a lay petitioner’s
facts and arguments on the harmless error issue. A dili-
gent habeas court may also see the need for an evidenti-
ary hearing or further discovery if the facts have not been
adequately marshaled by the petitioner. Even when rep-
resented by counsel, the petitioner is still not in a better
position to answer the Brecht/Kotteakos harmless error
question (whether the constitutional error had a substan-
tial impact on the verdict). The petitioner has no better
access to the relevant information than the state. See
Sullivan, 113 S. Ct. at 2084. (Rehnquist, C.J., concurring)
(harmless error determination must be made from record
developed at trial).

More important, shifting the burden to the petitioner
could drastically increase the federal courts’ workload. If
a petitioner must demonstrate that the error is harmful to
obtain relief, doing so might become an essential part of
every petitioner’s burden in habeas cases. This may cre-
ate an incentive, or even, eventually, a legal requirement
on the part of petitioners to demonstrate harm as to every
claim in every petition. See Rules 2 and 4 of the Rules
Governing Section 2254 Cases (petitioner bears burden of
comprehensively pleading bases necessary for relief, and
federal court may summarily dismiss petition for failure
to do so without securing answer from State). At the
least, reallocating the burden would create an incentive
on the part of the respondent to demand a showing of
harm at the pleading stage as to all claims.

38

Making harm a threshold component of every claim
in every habeas petition could drastically increase the
length, complexity, and time required to plead, brief,
argue and decide habeas corpus cases. Giving petitioners
the burden on the issue and subjecting them to dismissal
if they do not comprehensively treat the issue from the
outset would inevitably force petitioners to address
harmless error from the outset as to all claims in all cases.
For example, given a habeas petition raising ten claims,
the new burden on petitioner would create the possibility
of ten new discussions devoted to “harm” in the petition,
the answer, the opening and responsive briefs, the oral
argument, and the opinion. Moreover, each discussion of
error might have to be lengthy because each would
require consideration of an as yet unadjudicated error in
light of the entire record. The most efficient way to deal
with the harmlessness issue is not to make it a part of
petitioner’s case. Otherwise, it threatens to become a
major aspect of every claim in every case. Instead, it
should remain a part of the State’s case, but only if the
State is found to have violated the Constitution.

Finally, the Kotteakos body of case law will not be of
assistance to the court if the allocation of the burden of
proof on harmless error is changed. In Brecht, the Court
stated that it adopted the Kotteakos standard so that “the
federal courts may turn to a body of case law in applying
it” and “[t}herefore, application of the Kotteakos standard
is unlikely to confuse matters for habeas courts.” Brecht
113 S. Ct. at 1722. This will not be the case if this Court
changes longstanding law and practice governing who
has the burden of proof on harmless error. The Kotteakos
case law discussing the harmless error issue in the con-
text of the State’s burden of proof not only will be of no
value, but will be extremely confusing to federal courts.
In addition, to require habeas courts to follow a different

a ella dn

ve Gus:

| hte meal ete nam Mg he

39

procedure for analyzing harmless error issues in habeas
proceedings than in other proceedings, such as federal
postconviction proceedings, will contribute to erroneous
decision-making. Simplicity and consistency in judicial
procedures strongly counsel against a change in the tradi-
tional burden of proof on harmless error.

E. Considerations Of Finality, Comity, And Feder-
alism Do Not Support A Change In The Current
Burden of Proof Procedure.

Placing the burden of proof of harmlessness on peti-
tioners who have established constitutional violations
will not advance the interests of finality, comity, and
federalism. These petitioners are properly before the
court. They have exhausted their state remedies. They
have not procedurally defaulted their claims in either the
state or federal courts. They have not abused the writ.
They have borne the burden of proving constitutional
error. Moreover, under Brecht, they cannot obtain habeas
relief if it is shown that the constitutional error had no
substantial impact on the outcome of the trial. Under
such circumstances, the interests of finality, comity, and
federalism have been fully accommodated. See McCleskey,
499 U.S. at 492-93 (“The federal writ of habeas corpus
overrides all these considerations, essential as they are to
the rule of law, when a petitioner raises a meritorious
constitutional claim in a proper manner in a habeas peti-
tion.”).

Piling on petitioners the additional burden imposed
by the court below thus is unnecessary in terms of the
State’s interest. Worse, the effect of that proposed burden
would be to undermine the equitable force and pruden-
tial effect of the Court’s procedural default and abuse of
the writ doctrines. It would treat all petitioners as if they
have procedurally defaulted their claims in the state or

40

federal courts and thereby harmed the State’s interests. If
all petitioners have to prove prejudice as part of their
constitutional claim, then all will essentially have to make
the same showing as petitioners who have procedurally
defaulted or abused their claims. See Sykes, 433 U.S. at
87-89 (habeas petitioners who procedurally default their
constitutional claims in state court must show “cause” for
the default and “prejudice” therefrom to obtain relief);
McCleskey, 499 U.S. at 468 (same burden as to “abused”
claims).

This proposed subjection of all petitioners to a bur-
den now reserved for those who have procedurally
defaulted in the state or federal courts not only is unfair,
it also deprives the Court’s habeas jurisprudence of a
rational uniformity by according the same treatment to
petitioners who the Court has long recognized are not
similarly situated. See Keeney, 112 S. Ct. at 1720 (applica-
tion of cause-and-prejudice standards to habeas peti-
tioner’s failure to develop material fact in state court
proceedings “advances uniformity in the law of habeas
corpus”). Cf. Olano, 113 U.S. at 1178 (under the federal
criminal rules the government has the burden of proving
a properly preserved error was harmless; the defendant
only bears the burden of proof on the prejudice issue
when he has procedurally defaulted or forfeited the claim
and must claim plain error (Rule 52(b)). Giving all, rather
than only defaulted, petitioners a burden of proving prej-
udice could undermine the incentives the Court's default
and abuse doctrines give petitioners to obey state and
federal procedural rules.

Moreover, the State has no valid interest in the final-
ity of a conviction if there has not been a fair trial and a
reliable determination of guilt. Indeed, the Court in Stone
expressly excluded constitutional claims bearing on guilt

en ee

SE er NN IL Ne Pe I Eo we pee ny ede. @ set? OD.

a

41

or innocence from other habeas claims that impinge upon
a state’s interest in finality, comity, and federalism:

Resort to habeas corpus, especially for purposes
other than to assure that no innocent person suffers
an unconstitutional loss of liberty, results in
serious intrusions on values important to our
system of government.

We nevertheless afford broad relief, recognizing
the need in a free society for an additional safe-
guard against compelling an innocent man to suffer
an unconstitutional loss of liberiy.

Stone, 428 U.S. at 491-92 n.31 (emphasis added).

It is true there are costs to the system, such as prob-
lematic retrials, when habeas relief is granted. Engle, 456
U.S. at 128. These costs are, however, the inevitable con-
sequence of three factors that, in our system, require relief
notwithstanding its costs: (1) having superior federal con-
stitutional law that governs state criminal proceedings in
order to safeguard important individual liberties; (2) a
state’s demonstrated violation of that law that has not
been shown to lack substantial effect; and (3) a federal
statute adopted 127 years ago that requires federal habeas
corpus relief in the event of a constitutional violation. 28
U.S.C. § 2254. As this Court has recognized, these costs
are “an acceptable and necessary consequence when an
error in the first proceeding has deprived a defendant of
a fair determination of the issue of guilt or innocence.”
United States v. Mechanik, 475 U.S. 66, 72 (1986). It is
important to remember, however, these costs are incurred
in only few cases where defendants’ trials were funda-
mentally unfair. Brecht, 113 S. Ct. at 1719; see also Estelle v.
McGuire, 112 S. Ct. 475, 482 (1991) ((“ ‘We have defined
the category of infractions that violate fundamental fair-
ness very narrowly.’ ”) quoting Dowling v. United States,
493 U.S. 342, 352 (1990)).

42

Finally, as pointed out above, see /I.B, supra, the
Brecht standard requires more certainty that the error
adversely affected the jury’s verdict than the Chapman
standard. By doing so, the Court has increased the likeli-
hood that retrials will occur only in situations where
removal of the error may make a difference in the out-
come. No further adjustment in habeas law is necessary
to accommodate the State’s interest in finality.

Requiring a petitioner to prove a constitutional error
harmless would not ensure the accuracy of convictions or
avoid conviction of the innocent. It would not permit the
writ to serve as a remedy for those errors that violate
fundamental fairness, constitute a miscarriage of justice,
and are an extreme malfunction in the state criminal
justice system. See Brecht, 113 S. Ct. at 1719-20. Rather, it
would remove any guarantee that the writ would issue
under such egregious circumstances, and thereby remove
the federal courts as the “guardians of the people’s fed-
eral rights.” See Reed, 468 U.S. at 10.

Ill. BECAUSE THE SIXTH CIRCUIT ERRONEOUSLY
PLACED THE BURDEN OF PROVING THE CON-
STITUTIONAL VIOLATION WAS NOT HARM-
LESS ON O’NEAL, THIS CASE SHOULD BE
REMANDED TO THE SIXTH CIRCUIT FOR
HARMLESS ERROR ANALYSIS.

A. The Sixth Circuit Decided This Case Without
The Benefit Of Briefing On The Impact Of
Brecht.

Brecht v. Abrahamson did not change the longstanding
rule that the party who committed and stands to benefit
from a proven constitutional violation has the burden of
showing that the violation did not affect the proceeding.
Sixth Circuit law prior to, and after Brecht, placed the
burden on the prosecution. See Sherley v. Seabold, 929 F.2d

43

272 (6th Cir. 1991) and Stoner v. Sowders, 997 F.2d. 209, 213
(6th Cir. 1993).

Because Brecht was announced while O'Neal was
pending before the Sixth Circuit and after the parties’
briefs had been filed, the appellate court did not have the
benefit of the parties’ analysis and reasoning in reaching
its decision to place the burden on the habeas petitioner.
Offering no analysis for its interpretation of Brecht, the
Sixth Circuit abruptly changed existing law and erro-
neously placed the burden of proving the constitutional
violation was not harmless on O'Neal. O'Neal, 3 F.3d at
147 (J.A. 221.) For this reason, O’Neal’s case should be
remanded to the Sixth Circuit for harmless error analysis
with the burden placed on the prosecution. Remand
would afford the parties an opportunity to submit their
best arguments before the court conducts its harmless
error analysis. Principles of due process and fair pro-
cedure require no less. See Lankford v. Idaho, 5U0 U.S. 110,
126 n.22 (1991) (“In a variety) of contexts, our cases have

repeatedly ernphasized the’ importance of giving the par-

‘ties sufficient notice to enable them to identify the issues
on which a‘ decision may.turn.”). Furthermore, this
Court’s general practice not to conduct harmless error
analysis on the facts of a particular case, Rose v. Clark, 478
U.S. 570 (1986), and the extraordinary length (over 6200
pages) of the trial transcript strongly militate in favor of
remand.§

8 Even if this Court determines the burden of proving the
constitutional violation was not harmless was correctly placed
on O'Neal, this case should be remanded to afford O’Neal an
opportunity to satisfy the burden.

44

B. Under A Fair Allocation Of The Burden To The
State, O’Neal Is Entitled To Habeas Relief.

The Magistrate and District Court in this case con-
cluded that the trial court’s jury instructions, in combina-
tion with the prosecutor’s closing argument,
unconstitutionally relieved the state of its burden of pro-
ving that O'Neal not only intended to participate in a
conspiracy to kidnap and rob Henry, but also intended to
kill him. (J.A. 130-31, 206-09, 214.)° Nonetheless, after
giving O'Neal the burden of proving harm, the Sixth
Circuit found these constitutional violations harmless
because: (1) the record contained sufficient evidence of
O’Neal’s guilt; and (2) “ .. . all of the evidence upon
which the jury could have relied to establish petitioner's
guilt pointed to his guilt as a principal.” O'Neal, 3 F.3d. at
147. (J.A. 227.) Neither reason is sound. Indeed, given the
dearth of proot.in this record that O’Neal had the requi-
site intent, the Sixth Circuit’s erroneous allocation of the
burden of proving harmlessness has led to precisely the
kind of error that habeas corpus was designed to correct
~ the affirmance of a constitutionally tainted conviction of
one who may well be innocent of the offense.

This case was not as simple as the Sixth Circuit's
Opinion suggests, for five reasons. First, the fact that the
remaining evidence may be sufficient to support.a convic-
tion does not make the error harmless under the rule of
Brecht and Kotteakos. Brecht, 113 S. Ct. at 1724 (Stevens, J.,
concurring).

* For example, regarding the intent element of aggravated
murder, the trial court instructed the jury that it must be estab-
lished that “at the time in question there was present in the
mind of the defendants or co-defendants or aiders and abettors, if
you so find, a specific intention to kill the decedent Henry
Podborny.” (Tr. 6159) (J.A. 170) (emphasis added).

aes a 1 gee RE
'

:
.
;
:

45

If, when all is said and done, the conviction is
sure that the error did not influence the jury, or
had but very slight effect, the verdict and the
judgment should stand .. . But if one cannot say,
with fair assurance, after pondering all that hap-
pened without stripping the erroneous action
from the whole, that the judgment was not sub-
stantially swayed by the error, it is impossible to
conclude that substantial rights were not
affected. The inquiry cannot be merely whether
there was enough to support the result, apart from
the phase affected by the error. It is rather, even so,
whether the error itself had substantial influence. If
so, or if one is left in grave doubt, the conviction
cannot stand.

Kotteakos, 328 U.S. at 764-65 (emphasis added).

Second, the appellate court failed to consider the
impact of the improper transferred intent instructions,
(J.A. 169-190), on the defense’s theory of actual inno-
cence. The physical evidence and all the testimonial evi-
dence save Toney’s (given in return for a reduced
sentence) was consistent with the defense theory that
Toney and her brother, Gabbard, with or possibly without
the help of Waress, killed Henry at O’Neal’s saloon with-
out O’Neal’s knowledge, and that O’Neal’s participation,
if any, in the conspiracy did not include an intent to kill
Henry. (Tr. 3227-30, 5840-43.)!° Toney told the other con-
spirators about O’Neal; O’Neal was not part of their
discussions. (Tr. 2062, 2065, 2071, 3069, 3222-23, 3232,

10 The day after Henry disappeared, Toney told McLean
that she and her brother had taken Henry to Gabbard’s home in
Amherst, Ohio to hold him a few days. (Tr. 2989.) Toney also
told McLean that Henry was moved later from Amherst to
Cleveland. (Tr. 3233-34.) It is possible that Henry was later taken
to O’Neal’s saloon and killed. Henry’s date of death could not
be determined. (Tr. 3712.)

46

3240-41, 5177, 5249.) Under the constitutionally defective
instructions, however, O’Neal could have been found
guilty of murder based on the mental state of Toney or
Gabbard as long as O’Neal played some part in the
balance of the conspiracy.

Moreover, there is ample evidence in the record of
O’Neal’s actions that do not reveal any homicidal or even
criminal intent, but nevertheless may have furthered the
conspiracy of Toney and Gabbard, and may have quali-
fied O’Neal for conviction under the defective instruc-
tions and prosecutorial argument. For example, there was
evidence that O’Neal: (1) provided Dimple with protec-
tion during her divorce by traveling with her to Chi-
cago!! (Tr. 4837-39, 4870); (2) attempted to help Toney
invest $6,500 of the money she received from Dimple for
attempting to kill Henry (Tr. 4024-32, 4042-44, 4841,
4885-86) (J.A. 47-48); (3) gave Toney, his employee, the
keys to his saloon, where Toney and others secreted and
killed Henry (Tr. 4900, 4952); and loaned Toney his .38
caliber Smith and Wesson handgun. (Tr. 4878-79.) The
defective transferred intent instructions, coupled with the
prosecutor’s improper closing argument, would have
confused and led any rational juror to impute Toney’s
criminal responsibility to O’Neal without proof of
O’Neal’s mental culpability or involvement in the actual
robbery, kidnapping, and murder of Henry. As the Magis-
trate found:

The jury had substantial credibility issues to

resolve. The improper instructions on state of

mind could have led the jury to convict even if

'' The jury could have found O’Neal guilty because he
assisted Toney when he protected Dimple on the Chicago trip.
The prosecutor's closing argument also implied that O’Neal
was guilty solely due to the trip to Chicago, since he provided
Dimple with protection. (Tr. 6094-95) (J.A. 62-63.)

-

ae hee

BE © Bnet d

Pk 9 it ahs Laser OO tein *) e932

47

they believed O’Neal’s version of events, on the
basis that O’Neal had been involved in a con-
spiracy to obtain money from either Mrs. or Mr.
Podborny that eventually led to kidnapping,
robbery and murder. See discussion supra pp.
18-24 [J.A. 123-31]. The impartial atmosphere in
which the jury should have resolved these
issues was destroyed by the needless introduc-
tion of gruesome evidence, the prosecutor’s
inflammatory argument regarding said evi-
dence, the prosecutor’s improperly establishing
that O’Neal had previously killed a person by
shooting him in the head with his revolver, and
by the prosecutor’s improperly suggesting that
the previous killing was credible evidence that
O’Neal was guilty of Podborny’s murder. Addi-
tionally, the prosecutor intentionally deprived
O'Neal of jurors of his own race to help deter-
mine his guilt. We find it impossible to conclude
that these factors “pale into relative insignifi-
cance” in the face of the record evidence of
O’Neal’s guilt... .

For all these reasons, we conclude O’Neal did

not receive a fair trial.
Magistrate’s Report and Recommendation (J.A. 160-62)
(citation. omitted).

Third, the Sixth Circuit unfairly ignored the above
evidence that did not neatly fit within the State’s theory
of O’Neal’s guilt as a principal, but did fit within the
State’s alternative theory that O’Neal could be convicted
as an aider and abettor lacking any intent to kill. The
Sixth Circuit ignored the very evidence to which the
prosecutor pointedly referred in his comments inviting
the jury to convict O’Neal whether or not he intended the

48

victim to be killed. (Tr. 6075-76) (J.A. 58-59.)!2 As stated

by the Magistrate:
The jury was left with the impression that the
State did not have to prove beyond a reasonable
doubt an independent intent to commit each
crime so long as it proved that each defendant
was in some way involved in a conspiracy that
eventually led to kidnapping, robbery, and mur-
der.

Magistrate’s Report and Recommendation (J.A. 130.)

Fourth, the Sixth Circuit also failed to consider how
the wide range of errors and prosecutorial misconduct at
O’Neal’s trial made the jury prone to use the defective
instructions to convict O’Neal.!* The prosecutor did not
seek to have the jury methodically and rationally evalu-
ate the testimony and evidence. Instead, the prosecutor
intentionally introduced evidence of an unrelated shoot-
ing and pleaded to the emotions and passions of the
jurors through gruesome evidence. (J.A. 150-51, 209-10.)
The* Magistrate recognized that the prosecutor deliber-
ately sought to have the jury abandon its impartiality in
weighing the evidence:

The prosecutor’s improper conduct in eliciting

the details of O’Neal’s killing another man was

calculated, highly prejudicial and extensive. See

Id. at 30-39 [J.A. 139-50]. The introduction of

gruesome evidence, coupled with the prosecu-

tor’s inflammatory remarks regarding such evi-
dence, was also prejudicial and was done for the

'2 Even though the state identified Toney, Allen, O'Neal
and Dimple as principals, (Tr. 6107-08), the jury was instructed
on aiding and abetting. (Tr. 6159-61) (hA. 170-71.)

'S O'Neal's prosecutor has also engaged in misconduct in
other cases. See Brief of Amici Curiae The National and Ohio
Associations of Criminal Defense Lawyers In Support Of Peti-
tioner, 7 n.1.

snnmntinapebieet aes

— “, -

ed

——

-" 0 ete

49

express purpose of inflaming the jury’s pas-
sions. See id. at 28-30, 39-40 [J.A. 135-39, 148-51].
It is likely that these errors, which were effec-
tively endorsed by the trial judge, caused the
jury to abandon its impartiality in weighing the
evidence. Although the evidence against O’Neal
was substantial, it was not overwhelming and
there were substantial credibility issues for the
jury to resolve. Id. at 47-48 [J.A. 159-61]. Accord-
ingly, we conclude that the prosecutor’s miscon-
duct and the erroneous admission of
inflammatory evidence, taken as a whole and
within the context of the entire record, deprived
O'Neal of a fundamentally fair trial.

Supplemental Report and Recommendation (j.A. 209-10.)

Finally, the appellate court did sot consider that the
defective, unconstitutional jury instructions and the pros-
ecutor’s improper argument confused the jury. After
deliberating for some time, the jury asked, “Can we
please have a brief definition on the laws of aggravated
murder?” (Tr. 6207-08) (J.A. 77.) In reply, the trial court
compounded the error by repeating the constitutionally
defective intent instructions. (Tr. 6208-15) (J.A. 77*82.) As
a result, the jury, emotionally disposed against O’Neal by
the prosecutor's intentionally inflammatory tactics,
decided O’Neal’s fate without the proper legal tools to
complete its task. |

With a fair allocation of the burden of proof to the
State, O’Neal is entitled to habeas relief because the
defective jury instructions, coupled with the pros-
ecutorial misconduct, did have a substantial and inju-
rious effect on the jury verdict.

50
CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, Petitioner Robert. O’Neal
requests the judgment of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Sixth Circuit be reversed and his case
remanded to that court to determine whether or not the
State can demonstrate that the constitutional errors were
harmless.

Gioria Every

Ohio Public Defender

Grecory L. Ayers
Chief Deputy Public Defender

Joun A. Bay
Assistant State Public Defender

THomas R. Werterer, Jr.
(Counsel of Record)
Assistant State Public Defender

Ohio Public Defender Commission
8 East Long Street, 11th Floor
Columbus, Ohio 43266-0587

(614) 466-5394

4 . .
Counsel for Petitioner

—_—

ee a a a oe

la

RULES

Federal Rule of Criminal Procedure 52 provides:

“(a) HARMLESS ERROR. Any error, defect, irregu-
larity or variance which does not affect substantial rights
shall be disregarded. «/

“(b) PLAIN ERROR. Plain errors or defects affecting
substantial rignts may be noticed although they were not
brought to the attention of the court.”

2a

RULE 2, RULES GOVERNING § 2254 CASES
Rule 2. Petition

(a) Applicants in present custody. If the applicant
is presently in custody pursuant to the state judgment in
question, the application shall be in the form of a petition
for a writ of habeas corpus in which the state officer
having. custody of the applicant shall be named as
respondent.

(b) Applicants subject to: future custody. If the
applicant is not presently in custody pursuant to the state
judgment against which he seeks relief but may be sub-
ject to such custody in the future, the application shall be
in the form of a petition for a writ of habeas corpus with
an added prayer for appropriate relief against the judg-
ment which he seeks to attack. In such a case the officer
having present custody of the applicant and the attorney
general of the state in which the judgment which he seeks

to attack was entered shall each be named as respon-
dents, ~

(c) Form of petition. The petition shall be in sub-
stantially the form annexed to these rules, except that any
district court may by local rule require that petitions filed
with it shall be in a form prescribed by the local rule.
Blank petitions in the prescribed form shall be made
available without charge by the clerk of the district court
to applicants upon their request. It shall specify all the
grounds for relief which are available to the petitioner
and of which he has or by the exercise of reasonable
diligence should have knowledge and shall set forth in
summary form the facts supporting each of the grounds
thus specified. It shall also state the relief requested. The

s a

3a

petition shall be typewritten or legibly handwritten and
shall be signed under penalty of perjury by the petitioner.

(d) Petition to be directed to judgments of one
court only. A petition shall be limited to the assertion of a
claim for relief against the judgment or judgments of a
single state court (sitting in a county or other appropriate
political subdivision). If a petitioner desires to attack the
validity of the judgments of two or more state courts
under which he is in custody or may be subject to future
custody, as the case may be, he shall do so by separate
petitions.

(e) Return of insufficient petition. If a petition
received by the clerk of the district court does not sub-
stantially comply with the requirements of rule 2 or rule
3, it may be returned to the petitioner, if a judge of the
court so directs, together with a statement of the reason
for its return. The clerk shall retain a copy of the petition.

4a

RULE 4, RULES GOVERNING § 2254 CASES
Rule 4. Preliminary Consideration by Judge

The original petition shall be presented promptly to a
judge of the district court in accordance with the pro-
cedure of the court for the assignment of its business. The
petition shall be examined promptly by the judge to
whom it is assigned. If it plainly appears from the face
the petition and any exhibits annexed to it that the peti-
tioner is not entitled to relief in the district court, the
judge shall make an order for its summary dismissal and
cause the petitioner to be notified. Otherwise the judge
shall order the respondent to file an answer or other
pleading within the period of time fixed by the court or
to take such other action as the judge deems appropriate.
In every case a copy of the petition and any order shall be
served by certified mail on the respondent and the attor-
ney general of the state involved.

5a

RULE 5, RULES GOVERNING § 2254 CASES
Rule 5. Answer; Contents

The answer shall respond to the allegations of the
petition. In addition it shall state whether the petitioner
has exhausted his state remedies including any post-
conviction remedies available to him under the statutes
or procedural rules of the state and including also his
right of appeal both from the judgment of conviction and
from any adverse judgment or other in the post-convic-
tion proceeding. The answer shall indicate what tran-
scripts (of pretrial, trial, sentencing, and post-conviction
proceedings) are available, when they can be furnished,
and also what proceedings have been recorded and not
transcribed. There shall be attached to the answer such
portions of the transcripts as the answering party deems
relevant. The court on its own motion or upon request of
the petitioner may order that further portions of the
existing transcripts be furnished or that certain portions
of the non-transcribed proceedings be transcribed and
furnished. If a transcript is neither available nor procur-
able, a narrative summary of the evidence may be sub-
mitted. If the petitioner appealed from the judgment of
conviction or from an adverse judgment or order in a
post-conviction proceeding, a copy of the petitioner’s
brief on appeal and of the opinion of the appellate court,
if any, shall also be filed by the respondent with the
answer.

6a

STATUTES
Ohio Revised Code, Section 2903.01 —- Aggravated Murder

(A) No person shall purposely, and with prior calcula-
tion and design, cause the death of another.

(B) No person shall purposely cause the death of
another while committing or attempting to commit, or
while fleeing immediately after committing or attempting
to commit kidnapping, rape, aggravated arson or arson,
aggravated robbery or robbery, aggravated burglary or
burglary, or escape.

(C) Whoever violated this section is guilty of aggra-
vated murder and shall be punished as provided in sec-
tion 2929.02 of the Revised Code.

Ohio Revised Code Section 2905.01 — Kidnapping

(A) No person, by force, threat, or deception, or, in the
case of a victim under the age of thirteen or mentally
incompetent by any means, shall remove another from
the place where he is found or restrain him of his liberty,
for any of the following reasons:

(1) To hold for ransom, or as a shield or hos-
tage;

(2) To facilitate the commission of any felony
or flight thereafter;

(3) To terrorize, or to inflict serious physical
harm on the victim or another;

(4) To engage in sexual activity, as defined in
section 2907.01 of the Revised Code, with
the victim against his will;

7a

(5) To hinder, impede, or obstruct a function of
government, or to force action or conces-
sion on the part of governmental authority.

*+* + *

(C) Whoever violates this section is guilty of kidnap-
ping, a felony of the first degree. If the offender releases
the victim in a safe place unharmed, kidnapping is a
felony of the second degree.

Ohio Revised Code Section 2911.01 - Aggravated Rob-
bery

(A) No person, in attempting or committing a theft
offense as defined in section 2913.01 of the Revised Code,
or in fleeing immediately after such attempt or offense,
shall do either of the following:

(1) Have a deadly weapon or dangerous ord-
nance as defined in section 2923.11 of the
Revised Code on or about his person or
under his control;

(2) Inflict, or attempt to inflict serious physical
harm on another.

(B) Whoever violates this section is guilty of aggravated
robbery, a felony of the first degree.

8a

28 U.S.C. § 391
(Repealed)

On the hearing of any appeal, certiorari, writ of error,
or motion for new trial, in any case, civil or criminal, the
court shall give judgment after an examination of the
entire record before the court, without regard to technical
errors, defects, or exceptions which do not affect the
substantial rights of the parties.

9a

2 28 U.S.C. § 1254

§ 1254. Courts of appeals; certiorari; certified ques-
tions

Cases in the courts of appeals may be reviewed by
the Supreme Court by the following methods:

(1) By writ of certiorari granted upon the petition of
any party to any civil or criminal case, before or after
rendition of judgment or decree.

10a

28 U.S.C. § 2111

§ 2111. Harmless error

On the hearing of any appeal or writ of certiorari in
any case, the court shall give judgment after an examina-
tion of the record without regard to errors or defects
which do not affect the substantial rights of the parties.

lla

28 U.S.C. § 2243
§ 2243. Issuance of writ; return; hearing; decision

A court, justice or judge entertaining an application
for a writ of habeas corpus shall forthwith award the writ
or issue an order directing the respondent to show cause
why the writ should not be granted, unless it appears
from the application that the applicant or person
detained is not entitled thereto.

The writ, or order to show cause shall be directed to
the person having custody of the person detained. It shall
be returned within three days unless for good cause
additional time, not exceeding twenty days, is allowed.

The person to whom the writ or order is directed
shall make a return certifying the true cause of the deten-
tion.

When the writ or order is returned a day shall be set
for hearing, not more than five days after the return
unless for good cause additional time is allowed.

Unless the application for the writ and the return
present only issues of law the person to whom the writ is
directed shall be required to produce at the hearing the
body of the person detained.

The applicant or the person detained may, under
oath, deny any of the fats set forth in the return or allege
any other material facts.

The return and all suggestions made against it may
be amended, by leave of court, before or after being filed.

The court shall summarily hear and determine the
facts, and dispose of the matter as law and justice require.

12a

28 U.S.C. § 2254

§ 2254. State custody; remedies in State courts:

(a)

“[A] district court shall entertain an application for a
writ of habeas corpus in behalf of a person in cus-
tody pursuant to the judgment of a State court only
on the ground that he is in custody in violation of
the Constitution or laws or treaties of the United
states.” . .

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0535%3A05. Public record. Not legal advice.
