# Petitioners Brief — Williamson v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0522%3A06

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petitioners Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1994
- **Citation:** 512 U.S. 594

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED

MAR 4 1994

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

No. 93-5256

—"

In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1993

+

FREDEL WILLIAMSON,

Petitioner,
vs.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

On Writ Of Certiorari To The
United States Court Of Appeals
For The Eleventh Circuit

«

BRIEF FOR PETITIONER

¢

BENJAMIN S. WAXMAN

Rossins, TUNKEY, Ross, AMSEL
& Rasen, P.A.

2250 Southwest Third Avenue

Miami, Florida 33129

(305) 858-9550

Counsel for Petitioner

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

I. Whether a post-arrest confession by an accom-
plice implicating a defendant, offered as an admission
against penal interest of an unavailable declarant under
Federal Rule of Evidence 804(b){3), bears adequate indi-
cia of reliability to render it admissible under Rule
804(b)(3) and the Sixth Amendment Confrontation
Clause?

II. Whether a post-arrest confession by an accom-
plice implicating a defendant, offered as an admission
against penal interest of an unavailable declarant under
Federal Rule of Evidence 804(b)(3), constitutes a firmly
rooted hearsay exception rendering it presumptively reli-
able and not subject to further analysis under the Sixth

Amendment Confrontation Clause?

Ill. Whether 804(b)(3)’s requirement that a state-
ment must be corroborated by circumstances clearly indi-
cating its trustworthiness, is subject to the further
requirernent of Idaho v. Wright, 497 U.S. 805 (1990), that
the only circumstances that can be considered are those
surrounding the making of the statement?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ...............0 eee euees
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .........cccccccccccceess
OPINION BELOW 0. cis cccsccccccessccsesesescucun

RIRISONCTION ........05000s0esanecen seen

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION AND RULES
BIVOLVED oc ccccccccccccsccdcssessvessseneeeaee

STATEMENT OF THE CASE...........-sceseeeeees
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT..............6.-.0.00 00)

ABTGUMIENT 2... ccccccccccccsssccesscesseeeenenees

I. THE ADMISSION OF HARRIS’S POST-
ARREST HEARSAY STATEMENTS VIOLATED
WILLIAMSON’S SIXTH AMENDMENT
RIGHT TO CONFRONT HIS ACCUSER .....

A. A POST-ARREST STATEMENT OF A
NON-TESTIFYING ALLEGED ACCOM-
PLICE WHICH INCRIMINATES THE
DECLARANT AND A CRIMINAL
DEFENDANT DOES NOT CONSTITUTE
A FIRMLY ROOTED HEARSAY EXCEP-

B. HARRIS’S POST-ARREST STATEMENTS
IMPLICATING WILLIAMSON DID NOT
BEAR ADEQUATE INDICIA OF
RELIABILITY TO RENDER THEM
ADMISSIBLE UNDER THE CONFRON-
TATION CLAUGE ...cccccccscccccccscses

iv

11

1]

14

TABLE OF CONTENTS ~- Continued
Page(s)

C. A POST-ARREST STATEMENT OF A
NON-TESTIFYING ALLEGED ACCOM-
PLICE WHICH INCRIMINATES THE
DECLARANT AND A CRIMINAL
DEFENDANT AND WAS ELICITED
THROUGH CUSTODIAL INTERROGA-
TION IS INHERENTLY UNRELIABLE.
ITS INTRODUCTION AT THE DEFEN-
DANT’S SEPARATE TRIAL NECES-
SARILY VIOLATES THE CON-
FRONTATION CLAUSE................. 30

Il. HARRIS’S POST-ARREST STATEMENTS
INCULPATING WILLIAMSON WERE INAD-
MISSIBLE AS STATEMENTS AGAINST
INTEREST UNDER FEDERAL RULE OF EVI-
a wedeegvbeccecsddccecccces 34

A. TO SECURE ADMISSION OF STATE-
MENTS IMPLICATING THE DECLAR-
ANT AND THE ACCUSED IN A
CRIMINAL CASE, THE GOVERNMENT
MUST ESTABLISH CORROBORATING
CIRCUMSTANCES CLEARLY INDICAT-
ING THE TRUSTWORTHINESS OF THE
EE 35

B. HARRIS’S POST-ARREST STATEMENTS
IMPLICATING WILLIAMSON WERE
INADMISSIBLE BECAUSE THEY WERE
NOT AGAINST HARRIS’S PENAL
ED ISLES LLL SLE 38

C. HARRIS’S POST-ARREST STATEMENTS
IMPLICATING WILLIAMSON WERE
INADMISSIBLE BECAUSE THE GOV-
ERNMENT FAILED TO ESTABLISH COR-
ROBORATING CIRCUMSTANCES
CLEARLY INDICATING THEIR TRUST-
reese see eteseccoccce ce: 45

EEGs es ccseccceesccceccccccces 46

“SY

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page(s)
CASES
Bourjaily v. United States, 483 U.S. 171 (1987)........ 15
Bruton v. United States, 391 U.S. 123 (1968)...... passim
California v. Green, 399 U.S. 149 (1970) ........... 12, 36

Chambers v. Mississippi, 410 U.S. 284 (1973)
iecveuddnee ves éeteceséceevanwans 15, 17, 24, 25, 29, 38

Cruz v. New York, 481 U.S. 186 (1987) ............... 31
Davis v. Alaska, 415 U.S. 308 (1974) ............5005. 12
Donnelly v. United States, 228 U.S. 243 (1913)........ 17
Douglas v. Alabama, 380 U.S. 415 (1965)....... 15, 22, 31
Dutton v. Evans, 400 U.S. 74 (1970)........... 24, 25, 36
Florida v. Wells, 495 U.S. 1 (1991) ............ 00 eee 30
Fuson v. Jago, 773 F.2d 55 (6th Cir. 1985)......... 19, 43
Idaho v. Wright, 497 U.S. 805 (1990) ............. passim

Jennings v. Maynard, 946 F.2d 1502 (10th Cir. 1991) 20, 21
Latine v. Mann, 830 F.Supp. 774 (S.D.N.Y. 1993). ..20, 22

Lee v. Illinois, 476 U.S. 530 (1986) ............... passim
Mattox v. United States, 156 U.S. 237 (1895).......... 14
Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966).............. 32
Morrison v. Duckworth, 929 F.2d 1180 (7th Cir.

Be hak 60.64. ddedd dey tang seh bbandeceheceescavsense 21
New Mexico v. Earnest, 477 U.S. 648 (1986)........... 31
Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56 (1980)............... passim

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page(s)
Olson v. Green, 668 F.2d 421 (8th Cir.), cert. denied,
ee id pana ute esenee es eenesess 22
Parker v. Randolph, 442 U.S. 62 (1979) ............... 31
People v. Leach, 15 Cal.3d 419, 124 Cal.Rptr. 752,
541 P.2d 296 (1975), cert. denied, 424 U.S. 916
Se dwaidurddchéedshonehhentscesensdwacndwéevens 20
People v. Nally, 134 Ill.App.3d 865, 480 N.W.2d
SP NES BN 6 Oo cone ednuecbebesesbeccesabene odes 20
Pointer v. Texas, 380 U.S. 400 (1965) ................. 12
Richardson v. Marsh, 481 U.S. 200 (1987)............. 31
State v. Abourezk, 359 N.W.2d 137 (S.D. 1984)........ 20
State v. Hansen, 312 N.W.2d 96 (Minn. 1981)......... 20
State v. Hughes, 244 Neb. 810 (1993)................. 20
State v. St. Pierre, 759 P.2d 383 (Wash. 1988)......... 20
Sussex Peerage Case, 11 Cl. & F.85, 8 Eng.Rep. 1034
Scud wh whees Gkceans ceeck buakseeedssGebuanees 17

United States v. Alvarez, 584 F.2d 694 (5th Cir. 1978)
RR ee re eee ee er Oey en 19, 36, 37, 38

United States v. Bailey, 581 F.2d 341 (3d Cir. 1978) .... 25
United States v. Bakhtiar, 994 F.2d 970 (2d Cir. 1993) 20, 21

United States v. Boyce, 849 F.2d 833 (3d Cir. 1988)
6d aein ke a then eae ce eee tal iia otek wreien 19. 24, 27

United States v. Brainard, 690 F.2d 1117 (4th Cir.

BU 0 bien cdcceceeduduvessetecsece cacncesescuses 38

eb 66660 én dueeu nde cbousededas es ceases cunas 27
United States v. Flores, 985 F.2d 770 (5th Cir. 1993) passim

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued
Page(s)

United States v. Garcia, 897 F.2d 1413 (7th Cir. 1990) .... 38
United States v. Gomez-Lemos, 939 F.2d 326 (6th Cir.

Pn «0000 65605ds50cscbeeb ns enenuseaetapeetiesesas 19
United States v. Harrell, 788 F.2d 1524 (11th Cir.

BI 6ooccccucutobscnccvedvicubbsbebesneeceuss 28, 29
United States v. Harty, 930 F.2d 1257 (7th Cir. 1991) .... 38
United States v. Inadi, 475 U.S. 387 (1986)............ 14
United States v. Innamorati, 996 F.2d 456 (1st Cir.

Scucnd's sccnnceudesets bedsetuandeewsendéacecens 21
United States v. Johnson, 802 F.2d 1459 (D.C. Cir.

Pc k ccc ccccovapecdsessdedebsabsesderiedeeressec 19
United States v. Katsougrakis, 715 F.2d 769 (2d Cir.

1983), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 1040 (1984)......... 20, 37

United States v. Lilley, 581 F.2d 182 (8th Cir. 1978) 19, 43
United States v. Love, 592 F.2d 1022 (8th Cir. 1979)

sine Seb 6604usenennebecesesesdteusueeaceness 25, 27, 43
United States v. Magna-Olvera, 917 F.2d 401 (9th
Gh BD ves vcccccenccssnceustduncestsancksn 18, 24, 41

United States v. Oliver, 626 F.2d 254 (2d Cir. 1981)
peeuuleeaesneneesescnsektiawkeeeeseness 25, 27, 28, 38

United States v. Palumbo, 639 F.2d 123 (3d Cir.),
cert. denied, 454 U.S. 819 (1981) ............... passim

United States v. Riley, 657 F.2d 1377 (8th Cir. 1981),
cert. denied, 459 U.S. 111 (1983)..... 19, 24, 27, 38, 42

United States v. Robinson, 635 F.2d 363 (5th Cir.
Unit B), cert. denied, 452 U.S. 916 (1981)....27, 28, 29

United States v. Sarmiento-Perez, 633 F.2d 1092 (5th
Cir. Unit A 1981), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 834
GROUED 6 bs cccewcccenctoveccesovceusececcouesese passim

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued
Page(s)
United States v. Seeley, 892 F.2d 1 (1st Cir. 1989). .20, 37
United States v. Sokolow, 490 U.S. 1 (1989)........... 30

United States v. Taggart, 944 F.2d 837 (11th Cir.
TTT eT COTTE TUTTE TT ET eT 20, 21, 38

United States v. Vernor, 902 F.2d 1182 (5th Cir.),
cert. denied, 111 S.Ct. 301 (1990)................ 19, 22

United States v. Williams, 989 F.2d 1061 (9th Cir.
Ssbh as eWbkbbed dee dseee eeuadia oddudeuss bublus 38

United States v. York, 933 F.2d 1343 (7th Cir.), cert.
denied, 112 S.Ct. 321 (1991) ............ 20, 21, 36, 37

White v. Illinois, __ U.S. __, 112 S.Ct. 736 (1992)
bbbOG65 95450600) 08000 600000 0s 0 eeesséedees 14, 15, 25, 36

Withrow v. Williams, __ U.S. __, 113 S.Ct. 1745
INE Se ts SERS a oe DG Re, Son Aer IO Pat Sp 32

StaTuTES, RULES, AND CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

Ashameas Statute § 20-1001. ...... ccc ccccccccccccces 19
Federal Rules of Evidence
CS Ce dicen es ecuvinusdathaneecscaeend 1, 34
eos bedi abe Gent ndenes nse cwes 2, 34, 43
A 8 as a ane 34
EE ee se ee passim
Florida Statute § 90.804(2)(C) (1990)................. 19
Maine Rule of Evidence 804(b)(3) (1993)............. 19
Nevada Revised Statute Title 4 § 51.345............. 19
North Dakota Rule of Evidence 804(b)(3)............ 19
Uniform Rule of Evidence 804(b)(3)................. 19

viii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page(s)

United States Constitution
Ny SD osc pccccsecenckvececeeeesseses 30
Ey ene reer er eee rT 3
Be CN bob cscccdncesondcdcssiccsess passim
United States Code Title 28, Section 1254(1).......... 1
Vermont Rule of Evidence 804(b)(3)................. 19

OrHer AUTHORITIES
E. Crirary, McCormick ON Evipence § 279 (2d ed.

a Sadi ns HOCK OA NKRENSOMASR ESR ADRRENERSEES ESS 39
E. Creary, McCormick ON Evipence (3d ed. 1984)

NK as 5:6:o5-064% 5s Uh ce eNSEbOdE 690 Es 684s sesso aess 17

SR Ee heen ee Teer eee PS r ee rer ee e 40

H.R.Rep.No. 650, 93d Cong., 2d Sess. (1974),
reprinted in 1974 U.S. Cope Conc. & ApmIN.
EE a ee ae pe | ee PN ym ENR 18, 32, 35

Notes of Advisory Committee on 1972 Proposed
Rules, West’s Federal Criminal Code and Rules
i |<: san adias wh bees SOkeeeens Anke eenenbeeaesses 25

Notes of Conference Committee, H.Rep.No.

93-1597, West’s FeperAL CRIMINAL CODE AND
Es 6.6. ob50300060060s605500s08 060 CRS SERN 36

4 J. Weinstein & M. Bercer, WEINSTEIN’S EviDENCE
(1993)

ad ale a a a a 39
{ 804(b)(3)[03].......0...cceeeeeeees 18, 20, 32, 36, 40

ix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page(s)

5 J. Wicmore, Evipence § 1395 (3d ed. 1940)......... 12
5 J. Wicmore, Evipence § 1476 (Chadbourn rev.

POPPE TERT eT CV TVEPUTCT ee TT oreerre rewuies 17

S.Rep.No. 1277, 93d Cong., 2d Sess. (1974),
reprinted in 1974 U.S. Cope Conc. & Apmin.
PERRET LETTS T ETE TT TT ETT Tree eer 18, 32, 36

OPINION BELOW

The judgment of the United States Court of Appeals,
Eleventh Circuit, is unpublished. J.A. 78. The evidentiary
rulings by the district court, which the court of appeals
affirmed, are also unpublished. J.A. 31-32, 35-36, 51-52.

¢

JURISDICTION

The judgment under review was entered on Decem-
ber 23, 1992. J.A. 78. The Petitioner’s Suggestion of
Rehearing En Banc was denied on March 24, 1993. J.A. 79.
On June 16, 1993, this Court granted Petitioner’s Applica-
tion for Extension of Time to File Petition for Writ of
Certiorari to July 15, 1993. The Petition was timely filed
and certiorari was granted on January 10, 1994. J.A. 80.
Jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C. section 1254(1).

6

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION AND
RULES INVOLVED

Confrontation Clause of the Sixth Amendment to the
United States Constitution:

In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall
enjoy the right . . . to be confronted with the
witnesses against him... .

Federal Rule of Evidence 801(c):

Hearsay. “Hearsay” is a statement, other than
one made by the declarant while testifying at

the trial or hearing, offered in evidence to prove
the truth of the matter asserted.

Federal Rule of Evidence 802:

Hearsay Rule. Hearsay is not admissible except
as provided by these rules or by other rules
prescribed by the Supreme Court pursuant to
statutory authority or by Act of Congress.

Federal Rule of Evidence 804(b)(3):

(b) Hearsay exceptions. The following are not
excluded by the hearsay rule if the declar-
ant is unavailable as a witness:

(3) Statement against interest. A statement
which was at the time of its making so far
contrary to the declarant’s pecuniary or
proprietary interest, or so far tended to
subject the declarant to civil or criminal
liability, or to render invalid a claim by the
declarant against another, that a reasonable
person in the declarant’s position would
not have made the statement unless believ-
ing it to be true. A statement tending to
expose the declarant to criminal liability
and offered to exculpate the accused is not
admissible unless corroborating circum-
stances clearly indicate the trustworthiness
of the statement.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Fredel Williamson and Reginald Harris were charged
in the Middle District of Georgia with conspiring to pos-
sess with intent to distribute cocaine, possession with
intent to distribute cocaine, and interstate travel for the

purpose of promoting and carrying on the unlawful activ-
ity of distributing cocaine. J.A. 4-6. Harris had been
stopped by a Georgia deputy sheriff after his vehicle
veered off an interstate highway. Tr.80-83. He consented
to a search of the vehicle, which resulted in the discovery
of 19 kilograms of cocaine in two suitcases in the trunk.
Tr.89-90, 93-95, 228. Harris was arrested, interrogated
twice over the next several hours, and made various
statements implicating himself and Williamson. J.A.
20-30, 33, 36-41, 43-44; Tr.94.

Prior to trial, the government moved to sever the
defendants, recognizing that introduction of Harris's
post-arrest statements would incriminate Williamson. J.A.
7; R.27. The government acknowledged that the introduc-
tion of Harris’s statements would violate Williamson’s
Sixth Amendment rights. J.A. 7; R.27. The district judge
granted the government's motion to sever. J.A. 7-8.

At Williamson’s trial, the government called Harris
as a witness. J.A. 9. Harris immediately invoked his Fifth
Amendment privilege. J.A. 9. When he persisted in his
refusal to testify after being granted immunity, the court
held Harris in contempt. J.A. 14; R.50, 51, 52. Contrary to
the position it had taken in requesting severance, the
government then introduced Harris’s post-arrest state-
ments through DEA agent Walton. J.A. 15, 20-31, 33-34,
36-44. Williamson interposed timely hearsay and confron-
tation clause objections. J.A. 16-19, 34-36, 69-70. The dis-
trict judge overruled all objections and related motions
for mistrial. J.A. 31-32, 35-36, 51-52, 69-70.

The testimony established that after being in custody
for approximately one hour and being advised that any

cooperation he provided would be relayed to the pros-
ecuting attorney, Harris was interrogated telephonically
by DEA agent Walton. J.A. 25-27, 33, 36, 52-53. The agent
testified that during this interrogation, Harris told him
that the cocaine seized from his vehicle was acquired by
Williamson, that it belonged to Williamson, and that he
(Harris) was supposed to drop it in a dumpster later that
night in Atlanta. J.A. 37. Harris asked whether this con-
versation was being tape recorded. J.A. 25.

Harris was interrogated a second time by the agent,
this time in person, after being in custody for approx-
imately six and one-half hours. J.A. 22, 38, 43. Harris was
again told that any cooperation he provided would be
documented and relayed to the prosecutor. J.A. 26. The
agent testified that this time Harris stated he had rented
his automobile several days before and had driven it to
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida, to meet Williamson. J.A. 38.
Harris told him he acquired the cocaine in Ft. Lauderdale
from a Cuban acquaintance of Williamson who placed the
cocaine in the trunk and left written instructions on how
to deliver it. J.A. 39.

When the agent pressed Harris to assist with a con-
trolled delivery, Harris stated he had lied about the deliv-
ery to the trash dumpster, the pick-up from the Cuban,
and the note regarding the delivery instructions. J.A.
39-40, 56. The agent testified that Harris now stated he
was delivering the cocaine to Williamson in Atlanta, but
that any controlled delivery would be impossible because
Williamson had been travelling in front of him at the time
of his arrest and would have observed the entire event.
J.A. 40-41. Harris refused to provide any written state-
ment. J.A. 24. Upon the conclusion of this interrogation,

Harris requested the assistance of an attorney. J.A. 24,
29-30.

The district court addressed Mr. Williamson’s objec-
tions to admission of Harris’s hearsay statements on at
least three separate occasions. The court initially found
the statements admissible reasoning that because the
statements were voluntary, they necessarily were trust-
worthy and, thus, admissible under Rule 804(b)(3), and
not contrary to Williamson's confrontation rights. J.A. 31.
Addressing the issue a second time, the court confirmed
its prior ruling, this time reasoning Harris’s statements
were admissible as co-conspirator hearsay statements.
J.A. 35-36. Finally, the court ruled, specifically under Rule
804(b)(3), that the statements were admissible because
Harris had implicated himself, was unavailable, and there
existed “sufficient corroborating circumstances” to insure
the trustworthiness of the statements. J.A. 51-52.

Harris's post-arrest statements were clearly the most
damaging evidence against Williamson. The govern-
ment’s other evidence mainly consisted of items seized
from Harris’s rental vehicle including a piece of luggage
which bore initials corresponding with Williamson’s sis-
ter’s name, Gov.Ex.7, Tr.93, 256, an envelope addressed to
Williamson found inside the glove compartment,
Gov.Ex.11, Tr.101, a receipt in the name of Williamson’s
girlfriend also found in the glove compartment,
Gov.Ex.17, Tr.107-08, and the automobile rental agree-
ment which listed Williamson as an additional driver.
Gov.Exs.3, 5, Tr.84, 153, 301-05. No fingerprints of Mr.
Williamson were found in the vehicle or upon any of its
contents. Tr.112. The government also introduced, over
objection, the testimony of a narcotics trafficker awaiting

sentencing on two federal indictments exposing him to a
life without parole sentence. Tr.274-75, 284-87. This wit-
ness claimed he had sold cocaine to Williamson on 5 to 10
occasions, in amounts ranging from 10 to 20 kilograms,
ending approximately 18 months before the events
underlying the charges in the instant case. Tr. 275-78, 297.

The jury found Mr. Williamson guilty on all three
counts. ].A. 71. The district court adjudicated him guilty
and sentenced him to 327 months imprisonment. J.A.
71-73. He is presently in custody serving this sentence.
The United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit,
affirmed Williamson’s conviction without opinion, J.A.
78, and denied rehearing. J.A. 79.' On January 10, 1994,
this court granted Williamson's Petition for Writ of Cer-
tiorari and Motion for Leave to Proceed In Forma Pauperis.
].A. 80.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

IA. The admission of Harris’s post-arrest hearsay
statements violated Williamson’s Sixth Amendment right
to confront his accuser. To comport with a defendant's
Confrontation Clause rights, in addition to demonstrating

1 While the case was pending on appeal, the government
secured a remand to the district court to address its claim that
Mr. Williamson had waived his confrontation rights by procur-
ing Harris’s silence at trial. R.96. Following an evidentiary hear-
ing, the district court concluded that Mr. Williamson had not
waived his confrontation rights. It also found, ironically, that
Harris was not a credible witness. Tr.Nov. 26 & 27, 1991; R.111.

the declarant’s unavailability, the government must dem-
onstrate that the hearsay bears adequate indicia of
reliability. Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56, 65-66 (1980).
Reliability can be inferred where the evidence falls within
a firmly rooted hearsay exception. Otherwise, the evi-
dence must be excluded absent a showing of partic-
ularized guarantees of trustworthiness. Id.

The post-arrest statement of a non-testifying alleged
accomplice which incriminates the declarant and a crimi-
nal defendant does not constitute a firmly rooted hearsay
exception. Tne hearsay exception for statements against
interest has long been recognized but wes traditionally
limited to pecuniary and proprietary interests. Expansion
to include statements against penal interest is recent.
Particularly where such statements are elicited through
custodial interrogation, this Court has repeatedly empha-
sized their suspect nature and the grave threat they pose
to the reliability of the factfinding process. See Lee v.
Illinois, 476 U.S. 530 (1986).

Federal Rule of Evidence 804(b)(3), the exception for
statements against interest, includes statements against
penal interest. However, its legislative history reflects
that statements against penal interest which implicate the
declarant and an accused were intended to be excluded
from this exception. Although the language expressly
excluding such statements was ultimately deleted, many
decisions of the federal courts of appeals continue to hold
that these statements are inherently unreliable and do not
pass muster under the Confrontation Clause. For all of
these reasons, these statements do not constitute a firmly
rooted exception.

IB. Harris’s post-arrest statements implicating Wil-
liamson do not bear adequate indicia of reliability to
render them admissible under the Confrontation Clause.
This Court observed in Lee that the “truthfinding function
of the Confrontation Clause is uniquely thrzatened when
an accomplice’s confession is sought to be introduced
against a criminal defendant without the benefit of cross-
examination.” Id., 476 U.S. at 541. This is due to the
accomplice’s “strong motivation to implicate the defen-
dant” in order “to shift or spread blame, curry favor,
avenge himself, or divert attention to another. .. . “ Id.
“{[W]hen one person accuses another of a crime under
circumstances in which the declarant stands to gain by
inculpating another, the accusation is presumptively sus-
pect and must be subjected to the scrutiny of cross-
examination.” Id. at 451.

The facts of the instant case confirmed the presump-
tive unreliability of Harris’s hearsay statements. The
statements were made in response to custodial interroga-
tion. They were made after Harris was advised that the
prosecutor would be advised of any cooperation. Harris's
statements minimized his own involvement and ascribed
the bulk of the blame to Williamson. The statements were
inconsistent. The totality of the circumstances surround-
ing Harris’s statements failed to establish their trust-
worthiness.

IC. This Court should fashion a bright-line test
excluding from a criminal defendant's separate trial, all
post-arrest custodial statements which jointly incriminate
the declarant and the defendant. This Court has
expressed its doubt about the trustworthiness of such
statements in the strongest terms. In practice, it has never

sanctioned their admission into evidence. In the context
of joint trials of a non-testifying declarant and an incrimi-
nated defendant, this Court has consistently assumed
that such statements are inadmissible against the defen-
dant. Establishing a bright-line test excluding hearsay
statements within this narrow but common class would
add invaluable safeguards to the truthfinding function of
trials and contribute substantially to the efficient admin-
istration of justice.

IIA. Harris’s post-arrest statements inculpating Wil-
liamson were inadmissible as statements against interest
under Federal Rule of Evidence 804(b)(3). Besides this
Rule’s express requirement that a proponent demonstrate
the unavailability of the declarant and that the statement
was against the declarant’s penal interest, the Rule’s leg-
islative history reflects an implicit requirement that post-
arrest incriminatory statements of non-testifying declar-
ants be supported by particularized guarantees of trust-
worthiness. The standard is similar to the one expressly
employed by the Rule which requires similar statements
offered to exculpate a defendant to be corroborated by
circumstances clearly indicating their trustworthiness. In
the interests of simplicity and uniformity, this Court
should require the government to establish circumstances
clearly indicating trustworthiness to secure admission of
inculpatory hearsay statements, too.

IIB. Harris’s post-arrest statements implicating Wil-
liamson were inadmissible because they were not against
Harris’s penal interest. The justification for admitting
such hearsay is that a reasonable person in the declarant’s
position would not make a statement against interest

10

unless it were true. The Rule does not address the situa-
tion where a declaration contains both self-serving and
disserving parts. This Court’s decision in Lee, as well as
respected scholarly opinion, indicates that all self-serving
parts of such statements should be excluded.

The portions of Harris’s post-arrest statements incul-
pating Mr. Williamson were self-serving. They minimized
Harris’s role while characterizing Williamson as a princi-
pal. The statements were made after Harris was advised
that his cooperation would be relayed to the prosecutor.
Thus, the portions of his statements implicating Wil-
liamson should have been excluded.

IIC. Harris’s post-arrest statements implicating Wil-
liamson were inadmissible because the government failed
to establish corroborating circumstances clearly indicat-
ing their trustworthiness. These circumstances, according
to this Court’s decision in Idaho v. Wright, 497 U.S. 805
(1990), are limited to those immediately surrounding the
making of the statement. Thus, the same circumstances
that failed to establish trustworthiness under the Con-
frontation Clause similarly fail to establish trustworthi-
ness under Rule 804(b)(3).

11

ARGUMENT

I. THE ADMISSION OF HARRIS’S POST-ARREST
HEARSAY STATEMENTS VIOLATED WIL-
LIAMSON’S SIXTH AMENDMENT RIGHT TO
CONFRONT HIS ACCUSER.

Williamson’s conviction rests upon the post-arrest
hearsay statements of an uncross-examined alleged
accomplice who implicated him under circumstances
which this Court has repeatedly held are highly suspect
and render such statements presumptively unreliable.
The two statements were made after one hour and six and
one-half hours in custody, respectively. They were made
in response to police interrogation and upon repeated
assurances that any cooperation would be relayed to the
prosecutor. The statements were consistent only inas-
much as they minimized the claimed accomplice’s
involvement as a drug courier and maximized Wil-
liamson’s involvement as the purchaser, owner, and
intended recipient of the cocaine. They were, otherwise,
contradictory. The declarant refused to give a written
statement and was concerned about his oral statement
being tape recorded. He had every possible incentive to
wrongfully blame Williamson. These circumstances con-
firmed the presumptive unreliability of the hearsay.
Admitting these statements into evidence violated Wil-
liamson’s constitutional confrontation rights and compro-
mised his right to a fair trial.

The Sixth Amendment's Confrontation Clause guar-
antees the right of an accused in a criminal prosecution
“to be confronted with the witnesses against him. The
main essential purpose of confrontation is to secure for
the opponent the opportunity of cross-examination.”

12

Davis v. Alaska, 415 U.S. 308, 315-16 (1974) (quoting 5
J. Wicmore, Evipence § 1395 at 123 (3d ed. 1940)). “There
are few subjects, perhaps, upon which this Court and
other courts have been more nearly unanimous than in
the expression of belief that the right of confrontation and
cross-examination is an essential and fundamental
requirement for the kind of a fair trial which is this
country’s constitutional goal.” Pointer v. Texas, 380 U.S.
400, 405 (1965).

The right to confront and cross-examine adverse wit-
nesses serves symbolic and functional goals. First, the
Confrontation Clause advances the perception of fairness
by “ensuring that convictions will not be based on the
charges of unseen and unknown - and hence
unchallengeable - individuals.” Lee v. Illinois, 476 US.
530, 540 (1986). Second, it promotes reliability in criminal
trials. As this Court observed in California v. Green, 399
U.S. 149 (1970), confrontation

(1) insures that the witness will give his state-
ments under oath - thus impressing him with
the seriousness of the matter and guarding
against the lie by the possibility of a penalty for
perjury; (2) forces the witness to submit to cross-
examination, the “greatest legal engine ever
invented for the discovery of truth”; [and] (3)
permits the jury that is to decide the defendant's
fate to observe the demeanor of the witness in
making his statement, thus aiding the jury in
assessing his credibility.

Id. at 158 (footnote omitted).

In Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56 (1980), this Court set
forth the general framework for determining when

13

incriminating statements, admissible under an exception
to the hearsay rule, also satisfy the requirements of the
Confrontation Clause. As this Court restated in Idaho v.
Wright, 497 U.S. 805, 110 S.Ct. 3139 (1990):

“First, in conformance with the Framers’ prefer-
ence for face-to-face accusation, the Sixth
Amendment establishes a rule of necessity. In
the usual case... , the prosecution must either
produce or demonstrate the unavailability of,
the declarant whose statement it wishes to use
against the defendant.” . . . Second, once a wit-
ness is shown to be unavailable, “his statement
is admissible only if it bears adequate ‘indicia of
reliability.’ Reliability can be inferred without
more in a case where the evidence falls within a
firmly rooted hearsay exception. In other cases,
the evidence must be excluded, at least absent a
showing of particularized guarantees of trust-
worthiness.”

Id., 110 S.Ct. at 3146 (quoting Roberts, 448 U.S. at 65-66).
With regard to this latter requirement, Wright clarified
that in demonstrating the trustworthiness of such hearsay
statements, a court may only consider those circum-
stances surrounding the making of the statement that
rendered the declarant particularly worthy of belief, not
the totality of circumstances that may have been proved
at trial. Id. at 3148.

According to the foregoing analysis, there are two
paradigms for analyzing the admissibility of hearsay
statements for Confrontation Clause purposes. Under
both, the Confrontation Clause generally requires the

14

proponent to show that the declarant is unavailable? and
the statement bears adequate indicia of reliability. Wright,
110 S.Ct. at 3146. If the hearsay falls within a firmly
rooted hearsay exception, reliability may be presumed.
Id. If not, reliability must be shown from particularized
guarantees of trustworthiness derived only from those
circumstances surrounding the making of the statement
and that render the declarant particularly worthy of
belief. Id.

A. A POST-ARREST STATEMENT OF A NON-
TESTIFYING ALLEGED ACCOMPLICE
WHICH INCRIMINATES THE DECLARANT
AND A CRIMINAL DEFENDANT DOES NOT
CONSTITUTE A FIRMLY ROOTED HEARSAY
EXCEPTION.

This Court uses the term “firmly rooted” to describe
those hearsay exceptions which “rest upon such solid
foundations that admission of virtually any evidence
within them comports with the ‘substance of constitu-
tional protection.’ ” Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. at 66 (quot-
ing Mattox v. United States, 156 U.S. 237, 244 (1895)).
Stated differently, firmly rooted hearsay exceptions
describe categorical situations that provide substantial
guarantees of trustworthiness. See White v. Illinois, __
U.S. __, 112 S.Ct. 736, 742 (1992). “Admission under a
firmly rooted hearsay exception satisfies the constitu-
tional requirement of reliability because of the weight

2 This Court held in United States v. Inadi, 475 U.S. 387
(1986), that unavailability is not required when the hearsay
statement is the out-of-court declaration of a co-conspirator.

15

accorded long-standing judicial and legislative experi-
ence in assessing the trustworthiness of certain types of
out-of-court statements.” Idaho v. Wright, 497 U.S. 805,
__, 110 S.Ct. 3139, 3147 (1990).

In determining whether a particular hearsay state-
ment falls within a “firmly rooted exception,” this Court
has looked to, inter alia, the length of time the exception
has been recognized, White, 112 S.Ct. at 742 n.8 (exception
for spontaneous declarations at least two centuries old);
Bourjaily v. United States, 483 U.S. 171, 183 (1987) (co-
conspirator hearsay exception first established in
Supreme Court over a century and a half ago); the
breadth of its acceptance, id., and whether all types of
statements which fall within the exception bear the requi-
site indicia of reliability. See Wright, 110 S.Ct. at 3147
(residual hearsay exception not firmly rooted because it
accommodates ad hoc situations in which hearsay state-
ments made); Lee, 476 U.S. at 544 n.5 (categorization of
statements as simple “declaration against penal interest”
describes too large a class for meaningful confrontation
clause analysis).

Statements against penal interest, such as the ones
Harris made against Williamson, do not fall within a
firmly rooted hearsay exception. This Court has repeat-
edly emphasized the suspect nature of these statements
and the grave threat they present to the reliability of the
fact-finding process. E.g., Lee, 476 U.S. at 541, 544-45;
Bruton v. United States, 391 U.S. 123, 136, 141-42 (1968);
Douglas v. Alabama, 380 U.S. 415, 419 (1965); see Chambers
v. Mississippi, 410 U.S. 284, 299-300 (1973). Indeed, in Lee,
the majority decision summarily rejected [llinois’s asser-
tion that the statements at issue, parts of an accomplice’s

16

confession which incriminated the defendant, bore suffi-
cient indicia of reliability because they fell within a firmly
rooted hearsay exception: “We reject respondent’s cate-
gorization of the hearsay involved in this case as a simple
‘declaration against penal interest.’ That concept defines
too large a class for meaningful Confrontation Clause
analysis. We decide this case as involving a confession by
an accomplice which incriminates a criminal defendant.”
Id. at 544 n.5. Accord Bruton v. United States, 391 U.S. 123,
128 n.3 (1968). Even the dissenting Justices in Lee, though
of the opinion that the hearsay exception for declarations
against interest is firmly established, recognized that
accomplice confessions which incriminate a defendant do
not fit squarely within it:

Indeed, accomplice confessions ordinarily are
untrustworthy precisely because they are not
unambiguously adverse to the penal interest of
the declarant. It is of course against one’s penal
interest to confess to criminal complicity, but
often that interest can be advanced greatly by
ascribing the bulk of the blame to one’s confed-
erates. It is in circumstances raising the latter
possibility - circumstances in which the accom-
plice’s out-of-court statements implicating the
defendant may be very much in the accom-
plice’s penal interest - that we have viewed the
accomplice’s statements as “inevitably suspect.”

Id. at 552-53 (Blackmun, J., dissenting with whom Powell
and Rehnquist, J.J., and Burger, C.J., concurred) (citation
omitted). Thus, it appears that this Court has already
rejected the notion that hearsay statements like those of
Harris fall within a firmly rooted hearsay exception. The
fact that they do not is well supported.

17

Although the hearsay exception for statements
against interest has long been recognized, the inclusion of
statements against penal interest is relatively recent.
Throughout the 18th Century and into the early part of
the 19th Century it was customary to admit statements
against pecuniary or proprietary interest as an exception
to the hearsay rule. 5 J. Wicmore, Evipence § 1476 at 350
(Chadbourn rev. 1974). However, in 1844, in the Sussex
Peerage Case,* the House of Lords specifically held that
the hearsay exception for declarations against interest did
not cover statements subjecting the declarant to criminal
liability. Id. at 351 n.6; E. CLeary, McCormick ON Evipence
§ 278 at 822-23 (3d ed. 1984). In Donnelly v. United States,
228 U.S. 243 (1913), this Court relied on the Sussex Peerage
Case and the “great and practically unanimous weight of
authority” in holding the out-of-court confession of an
unavailable declarant inadmissible. Id. at 274. This rule
was generally followed in this country well into the 20th
Century. 5 J. Wicmore, supra, at 352-58 and n.9; McCor-
MICK ON EvipeNnce, supra, at 823. This Court noted in Cham-
bers v. Mississippi, 410 U.S. 284 (1973), that most states
disallowed statements against penal interests from the
general “declarations against interest” exception to the
hearsay rule. Id. at 299.

The Advisory Committee Notes to the proposed 1972
Federal Rules of Evidence reflect that the common law
refused “to concede the adequacy of a penal interest” to
satisfy the traditional “statement against interest” excep-
tion. Fed.R.Evid. 804(b)(3), Notes of Advisory Committee
on 1972 Proposed Rules, West’s Federal Criminal Code

3 11 Cl. & F85, 8 Eng.Rep. 1034 (1844).

18

and Rules at 285 (1993). The House Committee on the
Judiciary noted that the rule eventually enacted as
804(b)(3) would “expand the hearsay limitation from its
present federal limitation to include statements subject-
ing the declarant to criminal liability... . ” H.R.Rep.No.
650, 93d Cong., 2d Sess., reprinted in 1974 U.S.Copg Conc.
& Apmin. News 7075, 7087. In expanding this limitation to
include statements against penal interest, the House
Committee specifically amended the draft of the rule
before it to exclude “a statement or confession offered
against the accused in a criminal case, made by a co-
defendant or other person implicating both himself and
the accused.” See id. This addition was not deleted until
later drafts and then only because it was deemed unnec-
essary to codify prevailing constitutional evidentiary
principles. S.Rer.No.1277, 93d Cong., 2d Sess., reprinted in
1974 U.S. Cope Conc. & Apmin. News 7051, 7068. It has
been authoritatively noted that in context, the reasoning
for the deletion means that the Rule should be interpreted
to include this language. 4 J. Weinstein & M. Bercer,
WEINSTEIN’s Evipence ¥ 804(b)(3)[03] at 804-158 (1993).

Notwithstanding expansion of the rule excepting
statements against interest from the hearsay rule to
include statements against penal interest, the question of
whether statements or confessions of a co-defendant
which implicate an accused fall within this exception
remains highly controversial. Many of the federal circuit
courts of appeals have taken the view that inculpatory
confessions of non-testifying accomplices are inadmiss-
ible because they fail to even meet Rule 804(b)(3)’s
requirement that the statements be against the declarants’
penal interest. E.g., United States v. Magna-Olvera, 917 F.2d

19

401, 407-09 (9th Cir. 1990); United States v. Johnson, 802
F.2d 1459, 1464-65 (D.C. Cir. 1986); Fuson v. Jago, 773 F.2d
55, 60-61 (6th Cir. 1985); United States v. Riley, 657 F.2d
1377, 1383-85 (8th Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 111
(1983); United States v. Palumbo, 639 F.2d 123, 127-28 (3d
Cir.), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 819 (1981); United States v.
Sarmiento-Perez, 633 F.2d 1092, 1102 (5th Cir. Unit A 1981),
cert. denied, 459 U.S. 834 (1982); United States v. Lilley, 581
F.2d 182 (8th Cir. 1978). Other courts continue to exclude
these statements for their failure to bear adequate indicia
of reliability. E.g., United States v. Flores, 985 F.2d 770,
780-83 (5th Cir. 1993); United States v. Gomez-Lemos, 939
F.2d 326, 329-32 (6th Cir. 1991); United States v. Vernor, 902
F.2d 1182, 1187 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 111 S.Ct. 301 (1990);
United States v. Boyce, 849 F.2d 833, 836-37 (3d Cir. 1988);
United States v. Alvarez, 584 F.2d 694, 701-02 (5th Cir.
1978). The continuing reluctance of the federal circuit
courts of appeals to admit these hearsay statements high-
lights the uncertainty of this hearsay exception as applied
to inculpatory confessions of accomplices and belies any
notion that it is firmly rooted.

Even since the promulgation of the Federal Rules of
Evidence, the states have not uniformly embraced the
notion that the hearsay exception for statements against
interest include post-arrest statements of accomplices
which implicate defendants. The evidentiary codes of
several states specifically exclude such statements.4 Other

4 Ark.Stat. § 28-1001; Me.R.Evid. 804(b)(3) (1993);
Nev.Rev.Stat.tit. 4 § 51.345; N.D.R.Evid. 804(b)(3); Vt.R.Evid.
804(b)(3); accord Uniform Rule of Evidence 804(b)(3); cf. Fla.Stat.
§ 90.804(2)(C) (1990) (provision disallowing statements

20

states have excluded these statements through judicial
opinions.5 The states’ divergent treatment of the issue
further indicates that the hearsay exception allowing
introduction of post-arrest statements of alleged accom-
plices which implicate criminal defendants is not firmly
rooted.

Cases from the First, Second, Seventh, Tenth, and Elev-
enth Circuit Courts of Appeals have held that the against-
penal-interest exception to the hearsay rule is firmly rooted.
United States v. Seeley, 892 F.2d 1, 2 (1st Cir. 1989); United
States v. Katsougrakis, 715 F.2d 769, 775 (2d Cir. 1983), cert.
denied, 464 U.S. 1040 (1984); United States v. York, 933 F.2d
1343, 1362-64 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 112 S.Ct. 321 (1991);
Jennings v. Maynard, 946 F.2d 1502, 1505-06 (10th Cir. 1991);
United States v. Taggart, 944 F.2d 837, 840 (11th Cir. 1991).
These decisions are not persuasive and are in error. Kat-
sougrakis was decided before this Court’s authoritative deci-
sion to the contrary in Lee. A later panel of the Second
Circuit has questioned its vitality. United States v. Bakhtiar,
994 F.2d 970, 977-78 (2d Cir. 1993). See Latine v. Mann, 830
F.Supp. 774, 780-81 (S.D.N.Y. 1993) (statements against penal
interests not within firmly rooted hearsay exception). Seeley
simply relied on Katsougrakis to support its conclusion. See

inculpating both declarant and accused under statement against
interest exception dropped). See generally WetnsteIn’s EviDENce,
supra, at 804-164-174.

5 E.g., People v. Leach, 15 Cal.3d 419, 124 Cal.Rptr. 752, 541
P.2d 296 (1975), cert. denied, 424 U.S. 926 (1976); People v. Nally,
134 Ill.App.3d 865, 480 N.E.2d 1373 (1985); State v. Hansen, 312
N.W.2d 96 (Minn. 1981); State v. Hughes, 244 Neb. 810 (1993);
State v. Abourezk, 359 N.W.2d 137 (S.D. 1984); State v. St. Pierre,
759 P.2d 383 (Wash. 1988).

21

United States v. Innamorati, 996 F.2d 456, 474 n.4 (1st Cir. 1993)
(citing York for proposition that most courts have concluded
declaration against interest exception is firmly rooted).

The Seventh Circuit in York held that the declaration
against penal interest exception is firmly rooted. Id., 933
F.2d at 1363. In doing so it struggled, but failed, to
distinguish this Court’s decision in Lee and its own prior
decision in Morrison v. Duckworth, 929 F.2d 1180 (7th Cir.
1991), which held that statements inculpating a third
party “do not come within an established hearsay excep-
tion.” Id. at 1181 n.2; see United States v. Flores, 985 F.2d
770, 776 n.13 (5th Cir. 1993) (criticizing reasoning of York
and other cases finding penal interest exception firmly
rooted). Even though the court in York held that the penal
interest exception was firmly rooted, it inconsistently
found the need to evaluate the specific circumstances
surrounding the statements it was considering. Id., 933
F.2d at 1362-64. York might be best read to hold that the
against-penal-interest exception is firmly rooted as to
only those statements not made to limit the declarant’s
exposure. Bakhtiar, 994 F.2d at 977.

The Tenth and Eleventh Circuit decisions which seem
to conclude that the against penal interest exception is
firmly rooted are also unconvincing. The Tenth Circuit in
Jennings and the Eleventh Circuit in Taggart seemed to
focus on how well the hearsay statements each court was
considering, fit within the against-penal-interest hearsay
exception, instead of how well established this hearsay
exception is according to the relevant factors this Court
has identified. Jennings, 946 F.2d at 1505-06; Taggart, 944
F.2d at 940. The courts in Jennings and Taggart also found

22

the need to evaluate the circumstances surrounding the
making of the hearsay statements to determine reliability.
This would have been unnecessary had the hearsay
exception been firmly rooted. Id. Thus, none of these
decisions are persuasive that the against-penal-interest
hearsay exception is firmly rooted.®

B. HARRIS’S POST-ARREST STATEMENTS
IMPLICATING WILLIAMSON DID NOT
BEAR ADEQUATE INDICIA OF RELIABILITY
TO RENDER THEM ADMISSIBLE UNDER
THE CONFRONTATION CLAUSE.

In a solid line of cases, this Court has recognized that
the “truthfinding function of the Confrontation Clause is
uniquely threatened when an accomplice’s confession is
sought to be introduced against a criminal defendant
without the benefit of cross-examination.” Lee, 476 U.S. at
541 (emphasis added). In Douglas v. Alabama, 380 U.S. 415
(1965), this Court reversed the defendant’s conviction
because a confession purportedly made by the non-testi-
fying accomplice, which implicated the defendant, was
read to the jury by the prosecutor. The Court held that the
defendant's “inability to cross examine [the accomplice]
as to the alleged confession plainly denied him the right

6 The best reasoned decisions, consistent with the analyti-
cal framework suggested by the decisions of this Court, are the
ones that have found that the against-penal-interest hearsay
exception is not firmly rooted. Flores, 985 F.2d at 778-80; United
States v. Vernor, 902 F.2d 1182, 1186-87 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 498
U.S. 922 (1990); Olson v. Green, 668 F.2d 421, 427 n.11 (8th Cir.),
cert. denied, 456 U.S. 1009 (1982); Latine v. Mann, 830 F.Supp. 774,
780-81 (S.D.N.Y. 1993).

a EE Feet me en Mee ee MO DL tT se A ee eR.

—

23

of cross-examination secured by the Confrontation
Clause.” Id. at 419. The holding was premised on the
understanding that “when one person accuses another of
a crime under circumstances in which the declarant
stands to gain by inculpating another, the accusation is
presumptively suspect and must be subjected to the scru-
tiny of cross-examination.” Lee, 476 U.S. at 451.

Likewise, in Bruton v. United States, 391 U.S. 123
(1968), this Court reversed the defendant’s conviction
because the jury heard his non-testifying co-defendant’s
confession which implicated him. Despite an instruction
limiting consideration of this statement to the co-defen-
dant, this Court concluded that the introduction of the co-
defendant’s uncross-examined confession violated the
defendant's right of confrontation. Id. at 135. After noting
the “inevitably suspect” credibility of an accomplice’s
inculpatory statements about his alleged co-conspirator,
this Court declared that the unreliability of such a confes-
sion is “intolerably compounded” when the alleged
accomplice “does not testify and cannot be tested by
cross-examination.” Id. at 136.

In its most recent case, this Court held in Lee v. Illinois
that the trial judge’s reliance upon the post-arrest confes-
sion of a non-testifying accomplice in sustaining the
defendant’s conviction was reversible error. In a murder
case in which only one bullet had been fired, the accom-
plice fingered the defendant as the triggerman. The Court
recognized that due to a co-conspirator’s “strong motiva-
tion to implicate the defendant” in order “to shift or
spread blame, curry favor, avenge himself, or divert
attention to another,” a co-conspirator’s post-arrest state-
ments about the defendant’s involvement in the crime

24

must be viewed with “special suspicion.” Id., 476 U.S. at
541, 545. “[O]nce partners in crime recognize that the ‘jig
is up,’ they tend to lose any identity of interest and
immediately become antagonists, rather than accom-
plices.” Id. at 544-45. Cf. Chambers v. Mississippi, 410 U.S.
284, 299-300 (1973) (confessions of criminal activity often
motivated by extraneous considerations and, thus, not as
reliable as statements against pecuniary or proprietary
interest).

Turning to the facts of the instant case, not only did
the government fail to demonstrate that Harris’s hearsay
statements had particularized guarantees of trustworthi-
ness, but the circumstances affirmatively established their
untrustworthiness. Foremost, declarant Harris’s state-
ments were made to the police while in custody. He was
arrested immediately following the seizure of the cocaine
from his vehicle. Tr.94. He gave his telephonic statement
to agent Walton after being in custody approximately one
hour. J.A. 33, 52. He gave his second statement to Walton
after being in custody for approximately six and one-half
hours. J.A. 22, 38, 43. The custodial setting of the inter-
rogation undermined the reliability of the statements. See
Dutton v. Evans, 400 U.S. 74, 87 (1970) (distinguishing
inculpatory statement of declarant to fellow prisoner
from those made “in the coercive atmosphere of official
interrogation” ).”

7 Accord United States v. Flores, 985 F.2d 770, 780 (Sth Cir.
1993); United States v. Magna-Olvera, 917 F.2d 401, 409 (9th Cir.
1990); United States v. Boyce, 849 F.2d 833, 836-37 (3d Cir. 1988);
United States v. Riley, 657 F.2d 1377, 1384 (8th Cir. 1981); United
States v. Palumbo, 639 F.2d 123, 127-28 (3d Cir. 1981); United
States v. Sarmiento-Perez, 633 F.2d 1092, 1093, 1102-04 (5th Cir.

SO RO, Lt Ot rename i en le OR Oe al Ae ny eo ate i tte th a atenl old 2a tn ilvaite Be sate all tee e

ee ee ls

alt st a

\ ee ee

25

Second, Harris’s statements were most certainly not
spontaneous, but instead were in response to police inter-
rogation. The testimony makes clear that after being
arrested and brought to the Dooley County Sheriff's
office, Harris was interrogated by state and federal
agents. J.A. 20, 25-26, 30, 36-37. He was questioned on the
telephone by agent Walton at which time he gave one
statement inculpating Mr. Williamson. He gave his sec-
ond statements in response to further interrogation
designed to set-up a controlled delivery of cocaine, at the
Macon Marshal’s Service office. Clearly, these were not
the type of “spontaneous” statements made without con-
scious thought or deliberation that might partially sup-
port a ruling admitting them. See White, 112 S.Ct. at
742-43 (spontaneous out-of-court declaration may carry
more weight with jury than in-court statement under
oath); Chambers v. Mississippi, 410 U.S. 284, 300 (1973)
(spontaneity of statement provided indicia of reliability);
Dutton, 400 U.S. at 88-89 (spontaneity of statement pro-
vided indicia of reliability).®

A third significant factor tending to negate the reliability
of Harris’s post-arrest statements is that they were made
under circumstances in which Harris had a strong incentive
to “shift or spread blame, curry favor, avenge himself, or
divert attention to another.” Lee, 476 U.S. at 545. To be sure,

Unit A 1981); United States v. Oliver, 626 F.2d 254, 261 (2d Cir.
1981); United States v. Love, 592 F.2d 1022, 1025 (8th Cir. 1979);
United States v. Bailey, 581 F.2d 341, 345 (3d Cir. 1978); Notes of
Advisory Committee on 1972 Proposed Rules, West’s Feperat
CRIMINAL Cope AND Rutes at 285 (1993).

8 Accord Palumbo, 639 F.2d at 133; Sarmiento-Perez, 633 F.2d
at 1102.

26

the jig was up. Harris had been arrested and was advised he
was facing federal prosecution. He had been caught cold
possessing 19 kilograms of cocaine. He was also told before
each interrogation session that any cooperation would be
relayed to the prosecutor, J.A. 25-26, ostensibly for him to
receive some benefit.? Thus, Harris had a tremendous incen-
tive to minimize his own role and shift blame to someone
else, in this case Williamson. Harris also had a strong incen-
tive to avenge himself: he was in custody while Mr. Wil-
liamson was free.

Harris apparently acted to advance these selfish
interests. After a full taste (six and one-half hours) of
police custody, he advised his captors that he was a mere
courier and the cocaine found in his vehicle was acquired
by Williamson, belonged to Williamson, and was
intended to be delivered to Williamson. By describing
Williamson as his principal and ascribing the bulk of the
blame to him, Harris shifted blame, curried favor,
avenged himself, and diverted attention to Williamson
from himself. Cf. United States v. Flores, 985 F.2d 770, 782
(5th Cir. 1993) (“Taking on the full blame for a minor role
in an offense, such as claiming to be a mere courier in a
drug conspiracy, does little to demonstrate trustworthi-
ness because the declarant still has the motive to shift the

9 The government will undoubtedly argue that because the
police did not offer a specific benefit to Harris in exchange for
his cooperation, he was not motivated to curry favor with his
interrogators. Petitioner submits that because Harris was left to
fantasize about what benefit he might possibly secure, his
incentive to curry favor was even greater than had the inter-
rogators specified the limitations upon what benefit he might
actually receive.

: ee

36 <0 ed Ah. ws

ee ee ee ee ee ee es

arent

en ade cetelion

27

blame to others so as to receive a lesser penalty.”). State-
ments made under these circumstances fail to justify any
reasonable belief in their trustworthiness. !°

Other circumstances surrounding Harris’s statements
further undermined their trustworthiness. During his inter-
rogation, Harris gave at least two, if not three different
stories concerning the events leading up to his arrest. J.A.
53-57. Although each of these statements tended to implicate
Williamson, the material contradictions between them
negated their trustworthiness. See United States v. Cuthel, 903
F.2d 1381, 1384 (11th Cir. 1990) (district court excluded out-
of-court statements on ground statements were not suffi-
ciently trustworthy in light of, inter alia, pattern of material
inconsistency). Harris indicated his own lack of confidence
in his statements by expressing concern that they not be
electronically recorded. He balked when he was requested to
provide a written statement. J.A. 24. His refusal to incrimi-
nate Williamson under oath at trial, despite having been
granted use immunity, suggests Harris abandoned his post-
arrest statements. Lastly, the custodial statements were made
before Harris had any contact with an attorney or his family.
See Boyce, 849 F.2d at 836. All of these circumstances, individ-
ually and cumulatively, vitiated the trustworthiness of
Harris’s custodial statements.

10 Accord Boyce, 849 F.2d at 836 (nothing in record that
indicated declarant was not motivated by a desire to curry favor
with interrogating agents); Riley, 657 F.2d at 1384; Palumbo, 639
F.2d at 128; Sarmiento-Perez, 633 F.2d at 1102 (desire to curry
favor, alleviate culpability, and for revenge might well have
been motivation to misrepresent the role of others in the crimi-
nal enterprise); Oliver, 626 F.2d at 260; Love, 592 F.2d at 1026
(“strong incentive to speak whether it be truthfully or falsely”).

28

The district court based its evidentiary ruling on two
cases: United States v. Robinson, 635 F.2d 363 (5th Cir. Unit
B), cert. denied, 452 U.S. 916 (1981), J.A. 31, and United
States v. Harrell, 788 F.2d 1524 (11th Cir. 1986). J.A. 47-52.
Both cases are materially distinguishable from the instant
case and fail to support its ruling. In Robinson, the court
rejected the appellants’ challenge to the district court's
admission of a co-conspirator’s post-arrest statement.
Concluding that corroborating circumstances sufficiently
indicated the trustworthiness of the statement, the court
considered the following facts: (1) the declarant was not
in custody; (2) the declarant’s statement was preceded by
Miranda warnings; (3) the interrogating agents gave the
declarant no reason to believe it would help him to
inculpate others; (4) the declarant never attempted to
shift the blame elsewhere; (5) the declarant’s statement
was judicially determined to have been knowing and
voluntary; and (6) the truth of the declarant’s statement
was corroborated by the totality of the evidence intro-
duced against the defendants at trial. Id., 635 F.2d at 364.

By contrast, in the instant case, declarant Harris was
in custody when he gave the inculpatory statements.
Although agent Walton testified that the second state-
ment was preceded by Miranda warnings, J.A. 20, 24,
there was no evidence that the first statement was pre-
ceded by Miranda warnings. Unlike the declarant in Rob-
inson, Harris’s interrogator specifically advised him
before both interrogations that any cooperation he pro-
vided would be made known to the prosecutor, implying
that some benefit would be provided in exchange. J.A.
25-27. Harris’s statements can only be interpreted as

wath ten alae a A Al int. beds ch i, UN Mt Pe at Sem

a a ‘ .

a

29

shifting the blame for his criminal conduct to Williamson.
Regarding the voluntariness of Harris’s statements,
though the record does not disclose the court's ruling on
Harris’s motion challenging the voluntariness of his
statements, R.10, 13, 56, 57, 58, 60, this Court observed
that a finding that a confession is voluntary has no bear-
ing on the question of whether the confession was also
free from any desire, motive, or impulse of the declarant
to minimize the appearance of his own culpability and
spread the blame to a third person. Lee, 476 U.S. at 544.
Accord United States v. Oliver, 626 F.2d 254, 261 (2d Cir.
1980). Finally in Idaho v. Wright, 497 U.S. 805 (1990), this
Court rejected the notion relied upon in Robinson that
other evidence introduced at a defendant's trial can sup-
ply the corroboration of a statement necessary to pass
muster under the Confrontation Clause. These factual
and legal distinctions virtually nullify the precedential
value of Robinson to the instant case.

The contrast between Harrell and the instant case is
even more striking. In Harrell, the declarant gave the
statement spontaneously to an undercover agent whom
he believed was a confederate. Id., 788 F.2d at 1525, 1527.
Such spontaneous statements, when made to friends or
confederates, are widely held to have special guarantees
of trustworthiness. See, e.g., Chambers, 410 U.S. at 300;
Palumbo, 639 F.2d at 133; Sarmiento-Perez, 633 F.2d at 1102.
By contrast, Harris’s hearsay statements were made dur-
ing custodial interrogation to government agents and
bore all the attendant characteristics of untrustworthi-
ness. Also, as in Robinson, the court in Harrell relied upon
independent evidence introduced at trial to support its

30

ruling upholding the district court’s admission of state-
ments against interest of unavailable declarants. Wright
now prohibits consideration of such evidence to establish
trustworthiness.

The foregoing analysis demonstrates the overwhelm-
ing unreliability of Harris’s hearsay statements against
Williamson. The admission of these statements violated
Mr. Williamson’s critical constitutional right to defend
against the government's accusations: the right to con-
front the witnesses against him. Only through the cruci-
ble of rigorous cross-examination could Mr. Williamson
have fully and fairly tested the credibility of Harris and
the trustworthiness of the statements that so severely
incriminated him. The denial of this right rendered Wil-
liamson’s trial fundamentally unfair and requires reversal
of his conviction.

C. A POST-ARREST STATEMENT OF A NON-
TESTIFYING ALLEGED ACCOMPLICE
WHICH INCRIMINATES THE DECLARANT
AND A CRIMINAL DEFENDANT AND WAS
ELICITED THROUGH CUSTODIAL INTER-
ROGATION IS INHERENTLY UNRELIABLE.
ITS INTRODUCTION AT THE DEFENDANT’S
SEPARATE TRIAL NECESSARILY VIOLATES
THE CONFRONTATION CLAUSE.

This Court has expressed its reluctance to establish
bright-line rules of constitutional criminal procedure.
E.g., Florida v. Wells, 495 U.S. 1 (1990) (rejecting Florida
Supreme Court’s mechanical “all or nothing” interpreta-
tion of Fourth Amendment’s limitations on inventory
searches); United States v. Sokolow, 490 U.S. 1 (1989)

at Sra dictieis ahigie ate td teem

31

(cejecting Ninth Circuit's bright-line test for analyzing
drug courier profile facts in assessing reasonable suspi-
cion). However, the routine and devastating violation of
confrontation rights that results from introduction of
hearsay statements within the narrow but extremely com-
mon class represented by Harris’s post-arrest custodial
statements fully warrants such a rule of exclusion. This
Court has consistently expressed its doubt about the
trustworthiness of these hearsay statements in the stron-
gest terms. Lee, 476 U.S. 530, 541-43 (1986); Bruton v.
United States, 391 U.S. 123, 136 (1968); Douglas v. Alabama,
380 U.S. 415, 419 (1965). Although this Court, until now,
has described them as being only “presumptively unreli-
able,” Lee at 541, members of this Court have stressed
that the presumption of unreliability is “weighty.” New
Mexico v. Earnest, 477 U.S. 648, 649 (1986) (Rehnquist,
Powell, and O’Connor, J.J., and Burger, C.J., concurring in
summary vacation of judgment).

In practice, this Court has never sanctioned admis-
sion into evidence of a hearsay statement falling within
this narrow category. Indeed, the only reasonable inter-
pretation of this Court's cases discussing the admission of
these statements at joint trials of the non-testifying
declarants and the inculpated co-defendants is that they
are strictly inadmissible against the co-defendants. See,
e.g., Richardson v. Marsh, 481 U.S. 200, 206 (1987); Cruz ».
New York, 481 U.S. 186, 189-90, 193 (1987); Parker v. Ran-
dolph, 442 U.S. 62, 73-74 (1979); Bruton v. United States, 391
U.S. 123, 126-29 (1968). These cases would make little
sense if the Confrontation Clause permitted such hearsay
statements to be admitted against the incriminated co-
defendant.

32

A per se bar against admission of these statements
was included in the early drafts of Federal Rule of Evi-
dence 804(b)(3). H.Rer.No. 93-650, 93d Cong., 2d Sess.,
reprinted in 1974 U.S. Cove Conc. & Apmin. News p. 7075,
7090; S.Rer. 93-1277, 93d Cong., 2d Sess., reprinted in 1974
U.S. Cove Conc. & Apmin. News pp. 7051, 7068; 4 J.
Weinstein & M. Bercer, Weinstein’s EvipeNnce
q 804(b)(3)[03] at 804-158 (1993). It was eliminated
because the Senate believed, and the House ultimately
concurred, that it was unnecessary to codify this constitu-
tional rule. 4 J. Weinstein, supra, at 804-158. Judge Weins-
tein has concluded in his authoritative treatise that “[i]n
context, this means the Rule should be interpreted to
include this language.” /d.

This Court’s decisions in other, related areas support
establishing a bright-line rule of inadmissibility here. In
Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966), this Court held
that confessions elicited through custodial interrogation
are per se inadmissible at trial if the interrogation is not
preceded by an advisement and waiver otf the rights to
silence and counsel. This rule was established to protect
against the coercive circumstances of custodial interroga-
tion, and ensure the reliability of a trial’s truth-seeking
function. Despite widespread criticism based largely on
the suppression of such potentially probative evidence,
this Court has strictly adhered to the rule because of its
efficacy in protecting the truthfinding function of trials
and its significant ease of administration. See Withrow v.
Williams, __ U.S. __, 113 S.Ct. 1745 (1993) (discussing
purposes, benefits, and detriments of Miranda’s bright-
line rule). Likewise, in Bruton, this Court created a bright-
line rule requiring prosecutors intending to introduce the

33

confession of a non-testifying defendant which incrimi-
nates a co-defendant to either sever the defendants (so
the confession would not be admitted at the co-defen-
dant’s trial), sanitize the confession to remove any refer-
ences to the co-defendant and have the jury instructed it
cannot consider the non-testifying defendant's confession
against the co-defendant, or not use the confession at the
joint trial. The manifest purpose of the rule in Bruton also
was to protect the integrity of the trial’s truth-seeking
function.

A bright-line rule of exclusion is necessary with
regard to hearsay statements such as Harris’s for all these
same reasons. These statements are inherently unreliable.
Absent a full opportunity to cross-examine the declarant,
an incriminated defendant is denied the ability to effec-
tively challenge their credibility, sift the conscience of the
declarant, and demonstrate the statement’s lack of trust-
worthiness to the jury. Such statements are typically the
most damning evidence against a defendant; they are
often the key to the entire prosecution. A bright-line rule
excluding such statements would add invaluable safe-
guards to the trial’s truthfinding function and would
contribute substantially to the efficient administration of
justice in the federal courts.!!

11 See United States v. Flores, 985 F.2d 770, 780-83 and n.27
(Sth Cir. 1993) (holding that introduction of statements of
unavailable declarant at a defendant’s trial, which were elicited
through custodial interrogation and incriminated the defen-
dant, categorically violates the Confrontation Clause); United
States v. Sarmiento-Perez, 633 F.2d 1092, 1093 (5th Cir. Unit A
1981) (“the custodial confession of a non-testifying, separately
tried conspirator/co-defendant, insofar as [it] directly impli-

34

Il. HARRIS’S POST-ARREST STATEMENTS INCUL-
PATING WILLIAMSON WERE INADMISSIBLE AS
STATEMENTS AGAINST INTEREST UNDER FED-
ERAL RULE OF EVIDENCE 804(B)(3).

Analysis of the admissibility of Harris’s post-arrest
statements under Rule 804(b)(3) must begin with the rec-
ognition that they were hearsay. Hearsay is any “state-
ment, other than one made by the declarant while
testifying at the trial or hearing, offered in evidence to
prove the truth of the matter asserted.” Fed.R.Evid.
801(c). Harris’s statements were introduced through the
testimony of agent Walton. They were offered to prove
the truth of the matters asserted, i.e., that Mr. Williamson
possessed, and conspired to possess, the cocaine seized
from Harris’s automobile, and directed Harris’s interstate
travel for the purpose of carrying on the unlawful activity
of distributing cocaine. Consequently, unless they fit
within one of the codified exceptions, the statements
were inadmissible. Fed.R.Evid. 802.

The statements were offered and admitted into evi-
dence under Federal Rule of Evidence 804(b)(3), titled
“Statement against interest.” This exception to the hear-
say rule applies to statements of unavailable declarants.
Fed.R.Evid. 804(b). In relevant part it renders admissible
“la] statement which at the time of its making . . . so far
tended to subject the declarant to . . . criminal liability,
that a reasonable person in the declarant’s position would

cates an accused in the crime charged, . . . is [per se] inadmissible
because it is not reliable or trustworthy evidence against the
accused”).

—— os /

35

not have made the statement unless believing it to be
true.” The rule is silent with regard to inculpatory state-
ments, i.e., statements of a declarant which inculpate the
defendant. However, with regard to exculpatory state-
ments, the rule further provides: “A statement tending to
expose the declarant to criminal liability and offered to
exculpate the accused is not admissible unless corroborat-
ing circumstances clearly indicate the trustworthiness of
the statement.”

A. TO SECURE ADMISSION OF STATEMENTS
IMPLICATING THE DECLARANT AND THE
ACCUSED IN A CRIMINAL CASE, THE GOV-
ERNMENT MUST ESTABLISH CORROBO-
RATING CIRCUMSTANCES CLEARLY
INDICATING THE TRUSTWORTHINESS OF
THE STATEMENTS.

The Rule’s legislative history, Committee Notes, and the
weight of judicial authority support the conclusion that, to
secure the admission of inculpatory statements under this
rule, the government must not only demonstrate the
unavailability of the declarant and that the statements were
contrary to penal interests, but also that the statements sat-
isfy the Confrontation Clause requirement that they be sup-
ported by a showing of particularized guarantees of
trustworthiness. See, e.g., Idaho v. Wright, 497 U.S. 805, ___
110 S.Ct. 3139, 3148 (1990); Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56, 66
(1980). As explained above, the House Judiciary Commit-
tee initially amended the Rule to exclude from its pur-
view a statement or confession of an accomplice
implicating both himself and the accused. H.Rep.No.
93-650, 93d Cong., 2d Sess., reprinted in 1974 U.S. Cope

36

Conc. & Apmin. News pp. 7075, 7090. See 4 J. WeINsTEIN & M.
Bercer, WEINSTEIN’s Evipence J 804(b)(3)(03] at 804-158
(1993). The addition was intended to codify Bruton. The
Senate Judiciary Committee deleted this amendment explain-
ing that it was unnecessary to codify this evolving constitu-
tional principle. S.Rep.No. 93-1277, 93d Cong., 2d Sess.,
reprinted in 1974 U.S. Cope Conc. & Apmin. News pp. 7051,
7068. The Conference Committee adopted the Senate’s ver-
sion. Notes of Conference Committee, H.Rep.No.
93-1597, West’s FeperAt CriMINAL Cope AND Ru tes at p. 288
(1993).

The exchange between the House, Senate, and Con-
ference Committee clearly indicates an intent to superim-
pose this Court’s evolving Confrontation Clause
jurisprudence upon Rule 804(b)(3) with regard to inculpa-
tory statements. E.g., United States v. Alvarez, 584 F.2d 694,
700 (5th Cir. 1978); see United States v. Flores, 985 F.2d 770,
774-77 (5th Cir. 1993); United States v. York, 933 F.2d 1343,
1361 (7th Cir. 1991). Although this Court has been careful
“not to equate the Confrontation Clause’s prohibitions
with the general rule prohibiting the admission of hear-
say statements, Idaho v. Wright, 497 U.S. 805, ___, 110 S.Ct.
3139, 3146 (1990), it has long recognized that “hearsay
rules and the Confrontation Clause are generally
designed to protect similar values

.. and stem from the same roots.” White v. Illinois, ___
U.S. __, ___ 112 S.Ct. 736, 741 (1992) (quoting California v.
Green, 399 U.S. 149, 155 (1970) and Dutton v. Evans, 400
U.S. 74, 86 (1970)). See generally Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. at
66 n.9 (noting complexity of reconciling Confrontation
Clause and hearsay rules). This approach avoids the
unnecessary confusion that would arise if the Rule

— — Gihedes

37

adopted one standard for admissibility and this Court
demanded adherence to a different standard under the
Sixth Amendment. York, 933 F.2d at 1361.

In Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56 (1980), this Court
examined the parameters of the Confrontation Clause in
determining the admissibility of an unavailable declar-
ant’s sworn testimony elicited at the defendant's prelimi-
nary hearing. Id. at 58-63. After noting the essential value
of a face-to-face confrontation between accuser and
accused to the integrity of the factfinding process, the
Court held that the Constitution forbids admission into
evidence of hearsay statements of unavailable declarants
unless they are shown to bear “particularized guarantees
of reliability.” Id. at 63-66. This Court’s Confrontation
Clause jurisprudence continues to adhere to this general
requirement. E.g., Wright, 110 S.Ct. at 3146. Whether one
articulates the test as requiring “corroborating circum-
stances clearly indicat[ing] the trustworthiness of the
statement,” Fed.R.Evid. 804(b)(3) (applicable to exculpa-
tory statements), or requiring a showing of “partic-
ularized guarantees of reliability,” e.g., Roberts at 66, in
addition to the unavailability of the declarant and a state-
ment contrary to the declarant’s penal interests, to secure
admission of an inculpatory hearsay statement under
Rule 804(b)(3), the proponent must, in addition, make a
heightened showing of trustworthiness.!2 In the interests

12 The First, Second, Third, Fifth, Seventh, Eighth, and
Eleventh Circuit Courts of Appeals require that, to secure
admission of an inculpatory statement under Rule 804(b)(3), the
statement must be corroborated by circumstances clearly indi-
cating its trustworthiness. E.g., United States v. Seeley, 892 F.2d 1,
2 (1st Cir. 1989) (citing Alvarez with approval); United States v.

38

of simplicity, consistency, and ease of judicial administra-
tion, this Court should require the government to estab-
lish “corroborating circumstances clearly indicating the
trustworthiness of the statement” to secure admission
under Rule 804(b)(3).

B. HARRIS’S POST-ARREST STATEMENTS
IMPLICATING WILLIAMSON WERE INAD-
MISSIBLE BECAUSE THEY WERE NOT
AGAINST HARRIS’S PENAL INTEREST.

The justification for admitting hearsay declarations
against interest, notwithstanding their lack of the conven-
tional indicia of reliability, i.e., declarant under oath,
subject to cross-examination, available for fact-finder to
assess demeanor and credibility, is that a person is
unlikely to fabricate a statement against his own interest
at the time it is made. E.g., Chambers v. Mississippi, 410
U.S. 284, 298-99 (1973). As Federal Rule of Evidence

Katsougrakis, 715 F.2d 769, 775 (2d Cir. 1983); United States v.
Oliver, 626 F.2d 254, 260 (2d Cir. 1980); United States v. Palumbo,
639 F.2d 123, 128 n.5, 131 (3d Cir. 1981); United States v. Brainard,
690 F.2d 1117, 1124 (4th Cir. 1982); United States v. Flores, 985
F.2d 770, 774 n.10 (5th Cir. 1993); United States v. Alvarez, 584
F.2d 694, 701 (5th Cir. 1978); United States v. Harty, 930 F.2d 1257,
1262-3 (7th Cir. 1991) (citing Alvarez with approval); United
States v. Garcia, 897 F.2d 1413, 1420 (7th Cir. 1990); United States
v. Riley, 657 F.2d 1377, 1383, 1385 (8th Cir. 1981) (citing Alvarez
with approval); United States v. Taggart, 944 F.2d 837, 840 (11th
Cir. 1991). The Ninth Circuit has specifically reserved judgment
on whether, when admission of inculpatory statements is
sought, Rule 804(b)(3) requires a demonstration of corroborat-
ing circumstances. See, e.g., United States v. Williams, 989 F.2d
1061, 1068 (9th Cir. 1993).

er

oo ee

39

804(b)(3) specifically requires, to be admissible the hear-
say statement must be one “that a reasonable person in
the declarant’s position would not have made... unless
believing it to be true.”

The difficulty in applying Rule 804(b)(3)’s “statement
against interest” requirement to Harris’s hearsay state-
ments is that Harris’s declarations contained both self-
serving (shifting the blame to Wiiliamson and charac-
terizing him as the principal) and disserving (acknowl-
edging complicity) facts. As Judge Weinstein has
indicated in his treatise, Rule 804(b)(3) is silent about this
“most troublesome” aspect of the declaration against
interest exception. WeINnsTeIN’s EvIDENCE, supra,
{ 804(b)(3)[02] at 804-150-51. In McCormick’s treatise on
evidence, three methods of handling these types of hear-
say statements are recognized:

First, admit the entire declaration because part
is disserving and hence by a kind of contagion
of trustfulness, all will be trustworthy. Second,
compare the strength of the self-serving inter-
ests and the disserving interest in making the
statement as a whole, and admit it all if the
disserving interest preponderates, and exclude
it all if the self-serving interest is greater. Third,
admit the disserving parts of the declaration,
and exclude the self-serving parts.

E. Creary, McCormick ON Evipence § 279 at 677 (2d ed.
1972).!° McCormick’s treatise gave its stamp of approval

13 In the 1984 Third Edition to McCormick on Evipence, the
discussion about the three methods of handling declarations
containing self-serving and disserving facts has been dropped.

40

to the third method: “The third solution seems the most
realistic method of adjusting admissibility to trustworthi-
ness, where the serving and disserving parts can be
severed.” Id. Accord WeiNnsTEIN’s EVIDENCE, supra,
{ 804(b)(3)[03] at 804-160 (“fact that part of the statement
was against penal interest does not sufficiently establish
trustworthiness”), 163 (“Because of the dangers involved,
exclusion should almost always result when a statement
against penal interest is offered against an accused.”).

In Lee v. Illinois, 476 U.S. 530 (1986), the majority of
the Court clearly placed its imprimatur on McCormick’s
third approach, excluding the self-serving portions of the
declaration. The majority stated: “As we have consis-
tently recognized, a co-defendant’s confession is pre-
sumptively unreliable as to the passages detailing the
defendant’s conduct or culpability because those pas-
sages may well be the product of the co-defendant’s
desire to shift or spread blame, curry favor, avenge him-
self, or divert attention to another.” Id. at 545. It would
appear that even the dissenting Justices would adopt this
approach. In reconciling the Court’s “customary”
approach of treating the confessions of co-defendants

The section still notes the “controversial” issue concerning
“contextual or related statements.” The new text indicates that
in civil cases, “to admit the critical related statement or part of
the statement is acceptable, even though not itself against inter-
est, if it is closely enough connected in neutral as to interest.” Id.
at § 279 at 825. The section goes on to note that in criminal cases,
judicial scrutiny has been more exacting: “[WJhen the statement
is offered by the prosecution to inculpate the accused, an even
stricter approach is sometimes found . . . requir[ing] rejection of
any part or related statement not in itself against interest.” Id. at
825-826 (footnote omitted).

se bl att pai >

41

with suspicion, with their assessment that the inculpatory
portion of the declarant’s confession was sufficiently
trustworthy to meet Confrontation Clause concerns, the
dissenting Justices stated:

It is of course against one’s penal interest to
confess to criminal complicity, but often that
interest can be advanced greatly by ascribing
the bulk of the blame to one’s confederates. It is
in circumstances raising the latter possibility,
circumstances in which the accomplice’s out-of-
court statements implicating the defendant may
be very much in the accomplice’s penal interest
- that we have viewed the accomplice’s state-
ments as “inevitably suspect.”

Id. at 552-53 (Blackmun, Powell, and Rehnquist, J.J., and
Burger, C.J., dissenting).

This third approach has been employed in many
federal appellate court decisions to support a conclusion
that the inculpatory portion of a co-defendant’s confes-
sion does not meet the “against penal interest” require-
ment of Rule 804(b)(3). In United States v. Magna-Olvera,
917 F.2d 401 (9th Cir. 1990), the court reversed the district
court’s finding that the post-arrest statements of a co-
conspirator implicating the defendant in a drug conspir-
acy qualified for admission under Rule 804(b)(3). The
court concluded that the statements were not sufficiently
against the declarant’s interest because they were made
under custody, in an attempt to curry favor, upon the
government's suggestion of penal benefit for the coopera-
tion, and because the statements trivialized the declar-
ant’s role in the drug conspiracy by identifying the
defendant as the “kingpin.” Id. at 409.

: Foes

42

In United States v. Palumbo, 639 F.2d 123 (3d Cir.), cert.
denied, 454 U.S. 819 (1981), the court also reversed the
defendant's conviction for conspiracy to possess with
intent to distribute cocaine, based on the erroneous
admission of a co-conspirator’s post-arrest hearsay state-
ments which implicated the defendant. Upon arrest, and
again before the grand jury, the accomplice stated she
received the cocaine found on her person at the time of
her arrest from Palumbo. When the accomplice claimed
she could not recall the source of the cocaine at trial, the
government introduced the accomplice’s hearsay state-
ments through the arresting officer. Id. at 125-26. Con-
cluding that these hearsay statements were not within the
exception for declarations against interest, the court
noted that the accomplice’s identification of the defen-
dant as the source of the cocaine occurred only after the
drugs had been found on her person by police. Id. at 128.
Although the statement, technically, could have been
used to support a conspiracy or possession conviction
against the declarant, “[t]he legal implications of her
statement may well have been unknown to her.” Id. The
court also found significant that the statement was made
in police custody, in response to police questioning, cir-
cumstances under which the arrestee’s motivation may
well have been to curry favor with the authorities. Id.

In United States v. Riley, 657 F.2d 1377 (8th Cir. 1981),
cert. denied, 459 U.S. 111 (1983), the court also reversed
the defendant’s conviction based on its conclusion that
the declarant’s hearsay statement, though ostensibly
against interest, was not in fact against her interest under
all the surrounding circumstances at the time it was
made. Id. at 1385. The court extensively reviewed the

43

applicable cases, treatises, law review commentaries, and
rationale underlying the exception. Id. at 1381-84. To sup-
port its decision, the court noted that the statement was
made in response to custodial interrogation and that,
because she had been told a conviction might jeopardize
the custody of her child, the declarant may well have
believed it was in her best interest to make a statement
implicating her co-defendant to ingratiate herself with
the authorities. Id. at 1384. Additionally, the crime to
which the declarant confessed was less serious than the
one in which she implicated the defendant. Id. Thus,
numerous decisions, for good reason, have found that the
inculpatory portions of accomplice post-arrest statements
which are both self-serving and disserving are not, in
fact, against the declarant’s interests under Rule 804(b)(3)
and are inadmissible under Rule 802. Accord Fuson v. Jago,
773 F.2d 55, 60-61 (6th Cir. 1985); United States v. Love, 592
F.2d 1022, 1025-26 (8th Cir. 1979) (“it may have appeared
to [declarant] that her best chance of being released
promptly was to make a statement implicating someone
else”); United States v. Lilley, 581 F.2d 182, 188 (8th Cir.
1978) (“restriction advocated by McCormick excluding
portions of statements which are not against the declar-
ant’s interest is in keeping with the reasoning behind the
804(b)(3) exception to the hearsay rule”).

Using the cited authorities as guidelines, it is appar-
ent that Harris’s post-arrest statements were not against
penal interest within the meaning of Rule 804(b)(3). It
cannot be said “that a reasonable person in [Harris’s]
position would not have made the statement(s] unless
believing [them] to be true.” Id. The overall tenor of the

44

statements was self-serving. While the statements cer-
tainly implicated Harris in a narcotics offense, they only
confirmed what was already obvious to the police from
the discovery of the cocaine in his vehicle: Harris was in
possession of the cocaine discovered in the trunk. Much
more significantly, however, Harris’s statements demon-
strated a concerted effort to minimize his role in the
offense and to shift the blame to Williamson. In each of
Harris’s statements, he characterized his role as a courier,
a person following someone else’s directions and con-
cerned only with transportation of the cocaine. By con-
trast, in each of the statements he characterized
Williamson as the principal, the person directing the
operation who acquired, owned, and was the intended
recipient of, the cocaine. He ascribed the bulk of the
blame to Williamson.

The factual setting of Harris’s statements gave rise to
the strongest motivation to misrepresent the truth in
order “to shift or spread blame, curry favor, avenge him-
self, or divert attention to another. . . .” Lee v. Illinois, 476
U.S. at 545. At the time he gave his first statement, he had
already been in custody for an hour and knew full well
that he was in the worst possible trouble. He was speci-
fically advised that any cooperation he gave would be
made known to the prosecutor. Harris’s motive and
opportunity to falsify his custodial statements could not
have been greater. Thus, the portions of Harris’s state-
ments implicating Williamson were entirely self-serving.
Under a strict test requiring exclusion of all self-serving
parts of a declarant’s post-arrest statements, these state-
ments should have been excluded. Even under a more
moderate test requiring comparison of the strength of

45

Harris's self-serving interest and his disserving interest
his self-serving interest predominated requiring a finding

under Rule 804(b)(3) that his statements were not, in fact
against his penal interest.

C. HARRIS’S POST-ARREST STAT
IMPLICATING WILLIAMSON WERE INAD.
MISSIBLE BECAUSE THE GOVERNMENT
FAILED TO ESTABLISH CORROBORATING
CIRCUMSTANCES CLEARLY INDICATING
THEIR TRUSTWORTHINESS.

| As is argued in section II A, supra, the legislative
history of Rule 804(b)(3) dictates that this Court’s appli-
cable Confrontation Clause jurisprudence must be A
laid upon Rule 804(b)(3). That jurisprudence requires
that, at a minimum, to secure admission of hearsay state-
ments ostensibly against the declarant’s penal interest
va government must establish that the hearsay bear

particularized guarantees of trustworthiness.” E.¢
Wright, 110 S.Ct. at 3146.14 As is argued in section I B,
supra, this Court decision in Wright limits the government
in establishing its circumstantial indicia of reliability to
those circumstances that immediately surround the mak-
ing of the statement and that render the declarant partic-
ularly worthy of belief. Id., 110 S.Ct. at 3148. It prohibits

a 16 Williamson has argued in section I A, supra, that to main-
in consistency with the portion of Rule 804(b)(3) dealing with
exculpatory statements, to secure admission of ediieies

statements, the government should bear the same hediin of

establishing corroborating ci
: g circumstances clearly indicati
trustworthiness of the statements. ii may

46

the government from attempting to establish trustworthi-
ness based on extraneous facts and circumstances inde-
pendent of the hearsay statement.

Analysis of the facts offered to establish the trust-
worthiness of the hearsay statements under Rule
804(b)(3) is identical to the analysis of the same circum-
stances under the Confrontation Clause. Section I B,
supra. The same circumstances that failed to establish the
trustworthiness of Harris’s post-arrest hearsay statements
under the Confrontation Clause are similarly inadequate
to establish trustworthiness under the Rule.'°

+

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the Eleventh Circuit Court of
Appeals should be reversed and this matter should be
remanded to the district court for a new trial.

Respectfully submitted,

BENJAMIN S. WAXMAN

Rossins, TUNKEY, Ross, AMSEL
& Rasen, P.A.

2250 Southwest Third Avenue

Fourth Floor

Miami, Florida 33129

Telephone: (305) 858-9550

1S The limitation on the circumstances to be considered
under Wright make it unnecessary to consider the physical evi-
dence seized from Harris’s vehicle or the details of the testi-
mony of the witness who claimed he had sold Williamson
cocaine in the past. It is submitted that even were these circum-
stances to be considered, they would not meet the government's
burden of establishing corroborating circumstances clearly indi-
cating the trustworthiness of Harris’s hearsay statements.

ae ae

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0522%3A06. Public record. Not legal advice.
