# Amicus Curiae Brief — Curtiss-Wright Corp. v. Schoonejongen

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0517%3A14

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1994
- **Citation:** 512 U.S. 1288

## Text

No. 93-1935

ee

IN THE _
Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1994

CURTISS-WRIGHT CORPORATION,
Petitioner,
V.

FRANK C. SCHOONEJONGEN, ef ai.,
Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit

BRIEF OF THE NATIONAL UNION FIRE INSURANCE
COMPANY OF PITTSBURGH, PA
AS AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

ROBERT N. ECCLES

(Counsel of Record)
KAREN M. WAHLE
O'MELVENY & MYERS
555 13th Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20004
(202) 383-5300

Counsel for Amicus Curiae

BEST AVAILABLE. COPY

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ................ il
INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE............ l
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ............... 2
EO ee eee 4

I. Curtiss-Wright Did Not Violate § 402(b)(3)
ES a

II. Assuming Arguendo That § 402(b)(3) Was
Violated, the Remedy Chosen by the Court
Below Was Not Warranted ............ 18

as dia bby 64-60 0:0 0a 06 00 46 6 25

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page
Adams v. Avondale Indus., Inc., 905 F.2d 943
(6th Cir.), cert. denied, 498 U.S. 984 Se 19, 24

Albedyll v. Wisconsin Porcelain Co. Revised Retirement
Plan, 947 F.2d 246 (7 Cee. TIPE) ccecasescccens 24

Amato v. Western Union Int'l, Inc., 773 F.2d 1402
(2d Cir. 1985), cert. dismissed, 474 U.S. 1113
(3 re 12, 14

Berlin v. Michigan Bell Tel. Co., 858 F.2d 1154
ke || 8

Biggers v. Wittek Indus., Inc., 4 F.3d 291 (4th Cir. 1993) .. 24

Bongiorno v. Associates in Adolescent Psychiatry,
17 Employee Benefits Cas. (BNA) 1847
GUD. Gh. GB) oc 00s cbseeeeen cee 15

Carroll v. Primerica Financial Servs. Ins. Marketing,
811 F. Supp. 1558 (N.D. Ga. 1992) .............. 15

Cefalu v. B.F. Goodrich Co., 871 F.2d 1290
(Si Cir. 1DGD) . .. . . os 0.0.0: 04h 8

Central States, Southeast & Southwest Areas Pension
Fund v. Gerber Truck Serv., Inc., 870 F.2d 1148
Ut SP er RE 8

Central States, Southeast & Southwest Areas Pension
Fund v. Central Transport, Inc., 472 U.S. 559
(ISGS) wc ccscecedeccescenees 16

iii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES -- continued
Confer v. Custom Eng'g Co., 952 F.2d 34

ee ccc cece eccees 5
Firestone Tire & Rubber Co. v. Bruch, 489 U.S. 101

EE 15, 16, 22
Frank v. Colt Indus., Inc., 910 F.2d 90 (3d Cir. 1990) .... 24

Gable v. Sweetheart Cup Co., 1994 U.S. App. LEXIS
25008 (4th Cir. Sept. 13, 1994) .............000. 14

Gordon v. Barnes Pumps, Inc., 999 F.2d 133
PERSE GES sks ccccccccccccccces 14

Gulf Life Ins. Co. v. Arnold, 809 F.2d 1520
ee cece ccc ccccccccccccs 22

Hozier v. Midwest Fasteners, Inc., 908 F.2d 1155
EE 12, 21

In re Gulf Pension Litig., 764 F. Supp. 1149
(S.D. Tex. 1991), aff'd sub nom. Borst v.
Uhevron Corp., 1994 U.S. App. LEXIS 19473
OC ccc esc cece cess 15

In re Unisys Corp. Retiree Medical Benefits ERISA
Litig., 18 Employee Benefits Cas. (BNA) 1257
EES Dies sees ecccccccccs 14

In re White Farm Equipment Co., 788 F.2d 1186
Daa Lb dled acide ccccoccccs 14

Izzarelli v. Rexene Prods. Co., 24 F.3d 1506
EE ae binianan 12

iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES -- continued

Kleinhans v. Lisle Savings Profit Sharing Trust, 810
Funes CO GD SEED hv couveobvcivibetesees 19

Kreutzer v. A.O. Smith Corp., 951 F.2d 739
Gran es GNU ar en bes scdebweweiecewe sk 642% 19

Kwatcher v. Massachusetts Serv. Employees Pension
Fund, 879 F.2d 957 (1st Cir. 1989) ............... 5

Lewandowski v. Occidental Chemical Corp., 986 F.2d
Soe GD GU ON be Voce deeberebiccecece 19

McGann v. H. & H. Music Co., 946 F.2d 401
(Sth Cir. 1991), cert. denied, 113 S. Ct. 482
GD os0c vcdawebs deena duets oa 21

Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Massachusetts, 471 U.S.
i TE ee ee ne nw ee re 21

Moore v. Metropolitan Life Ins. Co., 856 F.2d 488
PT eer ee re ae 14, 21

Musto v. American Gen. Corp., 861 F.2d 897

(6th Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 490 U.S. 1020

Ge ves. 2veeveunaa eéeeetesecacee< 12, 14
Nachwalter v. Christie, 805 F.2d 956 (11th Cir. ae 8

Reynolds v. Stahr, 758 F. Supp. 1276 (W.D. Wis. 1991) ... 22

Scarbrough v. Perez, 870 F.2d 1079 (6th Cir. 1989) ....... 5
Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 463 U.S. 85 (1983) ....... 10

Simmons v. Diamond Shamrock Corp , 844 F.2d 517
Gs GR. GE 6. 0k ons Kn cene decdctietiensciel 19

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES -- continued
Transamerica Occidental Life Ins. Co. v. DiGregorio,

811 F.2d 1249 (9th Cir. 1987) ......... 20.0.0. 22
| Wise v. El Paso Natural Gas Co., 986 F.2d 929
| (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 114 S. Ct. 196 (1993) ....... 14
Statutes

Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974,
29 U.S.C. §§ 1001 ef seq.

§ 3(9), 29 U.S.C. § 100219)... 2... eee eee eee 5
§ 102(aX(1), 29 U.S.C. § 1022(aX1) ... 2... 0.000. 9, 10
§ 102(b), 29 U.S.C. § 1022(b) ..........0. 000 9, 13
§ 104(a\1)B), 29 U.S.C. § 1024(aX1X(B) ......... 13
§ 104(aX1XC), 29 U.S.C. § 1024(aX1KC) ......... 13
§ 104(b), 29 U.S.C. § 1024(b) .... 0.2... eee eee 13
§ 104(b(1), 29 U.S.C. § 1024(bX1) ..... 2.0.0. 10, 13
§ 104(b(2), 29 U.S.C. § 1024(bX2) ... 2.2... 11, 12
§ 104(b\(4), 29 U.S.C. § 1024(bM4) ... 0.0.0. 1
§ 201(1), 29 U.S.C. § 1051(1) .. 22.2... cece eee. 20
§ 402(a), 29 U.S.C. § 1102(a) ............... passim

§ 402(b), 29 U.S.C. § 1102(b) ... 1... ee eee eee 18

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES -- continued

§ 402(b\(1), 29 U.S.C. § 1102001) .............. 18
§ 402(b(2), 29 U.S.C. § 1102(bx2) .............. 18
§ 402(b\3), 29 U.S.C. § 1102(bX3) ........... passim
§ 402(b\(4), 29 U.S.C. § 1102(bK4) .... 0.0... 18
§ 404(a(1), 29 U.S.C. § 1104(aX1) .............. 21
§ 404(aX1(D), 29 U.S.C. § 1104(aX1\D) ....... 11, 21
§ 502(a(1)(B), 29 U.S.C. § 1132(aX1XB) ......... 22
§ 502(c\(1), 29 U.S.C. § 1132(cX1) ..... 2.6... i
Legislative History
H.R. 2 (as passed in House), 93d Cong., 2d Sess. (1974)
GR site ick Gia) wares bie i ace 16
H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 1280, reprinted in 1974 U.S. Code
Cong. & Admin. News 5038 ................. 8, 12

H.R. Rep. No. 93-807, reprinted in 1974 U.S. Code Cong.
© AR TE ii 9.5 60 ks Da wekidsdadds oi 21

H.R. Rep. No. 93-533, reprinted in 1974 U.S. Code Cong.
Rsv kd chbid vacanvocets 10

Regulations
a CER. 6 RU MBG...0 0 0 i'sidae edinesei see & 13

* ypu Been es Yelk wats ails pete,

vii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES -- continued
eee 13

Miscellaneous

American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language
eee cree eS dno ak us Gkcé sce caves 6

ERISA: The Law and the Code (Paul F. Albergo ed., 1994). 16
Human Resources Div., U.S. General Accounting Office,
Employer-Based Health Insurance: High Costs, Wide
Variation Threaten System (92-125) (1992) ......... 17
Human Resources Div., U.S. General Accounting Office,
Retiree Health Plans: Health Benefits Not Secure Under
Employer-Based System (93-125) (1993) ...... 16, 17, 22

Restatement (Second) of Trusts § 331 (1959) ..... 16, 23, 24

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1994

No. 93-1935

CURTISS-WRIGHT CORPORATION,
Petitioner,

V.

FRANK C. SCHOONEJONGEN, ef al.,
Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit

BRIEF OF THE NATIONAL UNION FIRE INSURANCE
COMPANY OF PITTSBURGH, PA
AS AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

The National Union Fire Insurance Company of Pitts-
burgh, PA ("National Union") is one of the largest underwrit-
ers in the United States of insurance covering certain liabili-
ties arising from claims under the Employee Retirement
Income Security Act of 1974 ("ERISA"). National Union has
issued a policy which covers certain ERISA-related liabilities
of petitioner Curtiss-Wright Corporation ("Curtiss-Wright").
In addition, National Union has issued similar policies to well

over a thousand other employee benefit plan sponsors which
may be exposed to liability if the decision below is not
reversed. National Union therefore has a substantial interest
in the outcome of this case. Moreover, the uncertainty
engendered by the decision below as to the validity of current
terms of employee benefit plans makes it more difficult for
National Union to underwrite policies of insurance that cover
ERISA-related liabilities. Unless the decision below is
reversed, this difficulty will either increase the cost or restrict
the availability of such insurance, thus harming the compa-
nies that sponsor employee benefit plans and making it less
likely that they will continue to provide such plans.'

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Court of Appeals held that Curtiss-Wright had
expressly reserved its power to make amendments to its
employee welfare benefit plan. The court also held, however,
that a plan amendment eliminating plaintiffs’ retiree health
benefits was invalid because, in the court’s view, the plan
lacked an amendment procedure which satisfied § 402(b)(3)
of ERISA, 29 U.S.C. § 1102(b)(3).

Section 402(b)(3) does not require the detailed amend-
ment procedure envisioned by the Couri of Appeals. To the
contrary, all § 402(b)(3) requires is that plan sponsors which
want to maintain their power to amend rlans reserve the

' This brief is filed with the consent of the parties. Their
letters of consent have been filed with the Clerk of the Court with
this brief.

power to do so, thus alerting plan participants that future
amendments could modify their current benefits. The
statutory purpose identified by the Court of Appeals of
ensuring that all parties involved with an employee benefit
plan be able to determine the plan’s terms with certainty is
already amply served by § 402(a)’s requirement that the plan
be maintained in writing and is frustrated by the court’s
holding invalidating the written terms of an amended plan.

Even if the Court of Appeals were correct in its reading
of § 402(b)(3), the remedy it upheld -- an award of the very
benefits intended to be eliminated by the plan amendment --
is unwarranted. Regardless of how the perceived violation of
§ 402(b)(3) is characterized, it did not, by itself, detrimental-
ly affect participants whose benefits would still have been
eliminated even if the plan had fully complied with the
court’s reading of § 402(b)(3). The appropriate result when
a procedural violation relating to an amendment has occurred
is, as trust law principles provide, to give effect to the
amendment where, as here, the sponsor’s intent to amend has
been clearly manifested and the amendment is not prohibited
by the plan instrument.

Because the Court of Appeals erred both in finding a
violation of § 402(b)(3) and in awarding a substantive

remedy for such a violation, its judgment to that effect should
be reversed.

ARGUMENT
I. Curtiss-Wright Did Not Violate § 402(b)(3) of ERISA

This litigation arose from Curtiss-Wright’s decision, an-
nounced in November 1983, to close a plant in Wood-Ridge,
New Jersey. (Pet. App. 34.) Consistent with the terms of its
health benefit plan for retirees, as set out in a 1983 Summary
Plan Description ("SPD"), health benefits for non-bargaining
unit employees who had retired from the Wood-Ridge plant
were discontinued once the plant closed. (Pet: App. 4a-6a.)
This lawsuit followed.

The District Court held that the 1983 SPD constituted an
amendment to Curtiss-Wright’s plan (Pet. App. 36a) and this
issue was not presented to the Court of Appeals. Although
the Court of Appeals held that Curtiss-Wright had reserved
the power to make such an amendment and it was undisputed
that this amendment was in writing, the court held that the
amendment was unenforceable because the Curtiss-Wright
plan lacked an amendment procedure as required by § 402
(b)(3) of ERISA. (Pet. App. 10a, 13a-14a.)

Section 402(b)(3) states:
(b) Every employee benefit plan shall . . .

(3) provide a procedure for amending such plan, and
for identifying the persons who have authority to
amend the plan.

The Court of Appeals held that Curtiss-Wright had expressly
reserved its power to amend the plan by stating in various
documents, including the Constitution that served as an
umbrella document for all of Curtiss-Wright’s benefit plans,

that "the Company reserves the right at any time and from
time to time to modify or amend, in whole or in part, any or
all of the provisions of the Plan." (Pet. App. 4a.) The court
held, however, that the Curtiss-Wright plan lacked the
amendment procedure required by § 402(b)(3), thus rendering
the 1983 amendment unenforceable. (Pet. App. lla.) The
court concluded that the reservation clause in the Constitution
satisfied neither of the two requirements of § 402(b)(3), i.e.,
that the plan provide an amendment procedure and a proce-
dure for identifying the persons with authority to make
amendments. (Pet. App. 7a-8a.)

As to the second of these requirements, the court clearly
erred by holding that identification of the "Company" was not
a sufficient identification of "persons" with amendment
authority. (Pet. App. 8a.) Section 3(9) of ERISA, 29 U.S.C.
§ 1002(9), expressly defines the term "person" to include a
"corporation" and other entities in addition to an "individual."
Thus, Curtiss-Wright was not, as the court suggested,
required by § 402(b)(3) to identify the actual "individuals or
bodies within the Company" (Pet. App. at 8a) who would
make the amendment decision for the "Company."’ Its
designation of the "Company" was sufficient to comply with
the statute.

2 In a variety of other contexts, courts have recognized what
§ 3(9)’s language makes plain, i.e., that a "person" need not be an
"individual." See, e.g., Confer v. Custom Eng’g Co., 952 F.2d 34,
36 (3d Cir. 1991) (corporation is a "person" for purposes of
ERISA under § 3(9)); Kwatcher v. Massachusetts Serv. Employees
Pension Fund, 879 F.2d 957, 960 (ist Cir. 1989); Scarbrough v.
Perez, 870 F.2d 1079, 1082 (6th Cir. 1989).

As to the first requirement of § 402(b)(3) -- that the plan
"provide a procedure for amending such plan" -- the reserva-
tion of amendment power in the Constitution was also
sufficient. Placing the amendment power in the "Company"
by itself creates an amendment procedure, i.e., that the "Com-
pany" would take whatever corporate actions were necessary
in order to exercise its amendment authority. While an
amendment procedure may spell out those steps if the plan’s
sponsor so desires, nothing in ERISA suggests a reason why
§ 402(b)(3) must or should be read to require such detail.

A procedure is "[a] manner of proceeding; a way of
performing or effecting something." American Heritage
Dictionary of the English Language 1444 (3d ed. 1992).
Without question, Curtiss-Wright had a "procedure" in this
sense for amending its plan. Curtiss-Wright "proceeded" to
amend its plan by having the amendment approved by
company officials and inserted in the written document
governing the plan. This procedure was based on and
bounded by two different sets of legal requirements: the state
corporate law requirement that the "Company" act in an
authorized manner sufficient to bind the corporation and
ERISA’s requirement, contained in § 402(a), that amended
plan terms, like all other plan terms, be incorporated in the
written instrument pursuant to which the plan is established
and maintained. By authorizing the "Company" to amend the
plan, the plan Constitution necessarily required that the
Company act in an authorized fashion and effect its amend-
ments in writing.

The Court of Appeals rejected this construction of
§ 402(b)(3) on the grounds that it would render the "require-

ments of § 402(b)(3) essentially meaningless."’ (Pet. App.
8a.) That conclusion, however, rested entirely on the court’s
assumption that "[a] primary purpose of § 402(b)(3) is to
ensure that all interested parties will know how a plan may
be altered. . . . Only if they know this information will they
be able to determine with certainty at any given time exactly
what the plan provides." /d.

In divining this "primary purpose" of § 402(b)(3), the
court cited to no authority in the statute, legislative history,
or elsewhere evidencing such a purpose. Obviously, the
written plan requirement of § 402(a) serves the statutory pur-
pose associated by the court with § 402(b)(3) of letting "all
interested parties . . . determine with certainty at any given
time exactly what the plan provides." (See Pet. App. 8a.)
Indeed, the court’s phrasing of this statutory purpose tracks
closely the legislative history’s description of § 402(a), not
§ 402(b)(3), as permitting an employee to "determine exactly

> The court’s conclusion dealt inconsistently with the two
requirements of § 402(b\(3). As to the second of these require-
ments -- that the plan "provide a procedure . . . for identifying the
persons who have authority to amend the plan" -- the court appar-
ently concluded that it would have been sufficient to specifically
identify the persons with amendment authority without also setting
forth separately a written "procedure" for such identification. As
to the first requirement, however, the court found it insufficient
that Curtiss-Wright actually engaged in a process that produced a
written amendment and required that this process be described in
a written "procedure".

what his rights and obligations are under the plan."* Recog-
nizing the importance of certainty to all "interested parties"
-- i.€., to plan sponsors and administrators as well as plan
participants and beneficiaries -- the lower courts have
consistently held that plan benefit entitlements must be deter-
mined solely under the terms of the plan.°

The lower court’s interpretation of § 402(b)(3), however,
disserves, not advances, this statutory purpose of certainty as
it casts doubt on the reliability of the written plan instrument.
Rather than looking solely at the plan’s provisions, interested
parties would have to investigate further to determine which
provisions had resulted from amendments and whether each
amendment had been promulgated in compliance with the
plan’s amendment procedure. As to any amendments

* H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 1280, 93d Cong., 2d Sess. 297
(1973) (hereinafter "Conference Report"), reprinted in 3 Senate
Subcomm. on Labor, Legislative History of ERISA 4518, 4564
(Comm. Print 1976) (hereinafter "Legislative History") and in 1974
U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News 5038, 5077-78.

* See, e.g., Cefalu v. B.F. Goodrich Co., 871 F.2d 1290,
1295-97 (Sth Cir. 1989); Central States, Southeast & Southwest
Areas Pension Fund v. Gerber Truck Serv., Inc., 870 F.2d 1148,
1149 (7th Cir. 1989); Nachwalter v. Christie, 805 F.2d 956, 960
(11th Cir. 1986). The sole exception recognized by some courts
is where a participant has reasonably relied to his or her detriment
on some authoritative statement not contained in the written plan.
See, e.g., Berlin v. Michigan Bell Tel. Co., 858 F.2d 1154, 1163-
64 (6th Cir. 1988) (affirmative misstatements made by corporate
sponsor and relied upon by participants may entitle participants to
those benefits). This Court need not address any of these grounds,
which are not at issue before the Court.

revealed to be the product of a defective procedure, the
question would then have to be resolved whether the amend-
ment was, in the phrase used by the court below, "advanta-
geous to the sponsor’s interest" (Pet. App. | la, n.5), and thus
unenforceable, or whether it fell into some other category that
perhaps rendered it enforceable despite its procedural
deficiency.® Thus, the court’s reading of § 402(b)(3) actual-
ly undermines the certainty purpose embodied in § 402(a).

The importance of § 402(a)’s requirement that a plan be
maintained in writing is confirmed by ERISA’s provisions
requiring disclosure to plan participants. While Curtiss-
Wright followed the not uncommon practice of letting a
single document do double duty as both an SPD and a plan
document, many plans publish SPDs that are separate from,
and merely summarize, the more detailed terms of the plan
instrument created in compliance with § 402(a).’ Only the

® The Court of Appeals’ attempt to limit its holding to
amendments "advantageous to the sponsor’s interest" has no basis
in the statute and is itself meaningless. All plan amendments, even
ones that increase benefits, are presumably "advantageous" to the
sponsor, or the sponsor would not make the amendment. More-
over, it is common for plan amendments both to simultaneously
improve and restrict benefits and to affect different participants
differently. For example, an amendment implementing a preferred
provider network may provide greater benefits to participants who
use network providers while increasing deductibles and copayments
for other participants who choose not to use the network.

? — Although §§ 102(aX1) and (b) contemplate that the SPD
will be a readable summary of the plan’s provisions, nothing in
ERISA precludes a plan from combining the plan instrument and
SPD into a single document.

10

SPD, not a separate plan document, is required to be distrib-
uted to participants. See § 104(b)(1), 29 U.S.C.
§ 1024(b)(1). Moreover, although plan administrators are
required to distribute updated SPDs every five years to reflect
plan amendments and summaries of material modification
("SMMs") more frequently to reflect material plan changes
(see §§ 102(a)(1), 104(b)(1)), the required distribution need
not be made simultaneously with the plan modifications. To
the contrary, balancing the participants’ need for disclosure
with the cost burdens on plan sponsors, Congress enacted
§ 104 of ERISA which requires only that SMMs be distribut-
ed within 210 days after the end of the plan year in which
the modification was made. See § 104(b)(1).* Thus, to take
the extreme case, a plan amendment made effective at the
beginning of one plan year need not be disclosed in an SMM
until nineteen months later; even for a year-end amendment,
a seven-month delay could ensue.

* Because ERISA does not require employers to provide any

benefit plans, Congress balanced its desire to regulate plans exten-
sively against the danger that increased regulation would deter
employers from creating plans in the first place. Although ERISA
was Clearly "designed to promote the interests of employees and
their beneficiaries in employee benefit plans," Shaw v. Delta Air
Lines, Inc., 463 U.S. 85, 90 (1983), the statute was also drafted to
“minimize[ }" the "adverse impact" of "cost increases" imposed on
employers by the tougher regulation. H.R. Rep. No. 93-533, 93d
Cong., Ist Sess. 1, reprinted in 2 Legislative History 2348 and in
1974 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News 4639. Thus, Congress
analyzed "all of the provisions in [ERISA] . . . on the basis of their
Projected costs in relation to the anticipated benefit to the employ-
ee participant." Jd. at 4639-40.

ll

Most employers, of course, do not operate their business-
es by keeping employees in the dark about significant
changes affecting their benefits. ERISA’s provisions, in any
event, protect against such conduct. The statutory provisions
which primarily ensure that participants have access to
contemporaneous information about plan terms without any
gap resulting from delayed distribution of an SPD or SMM
are § 104(b)(2) and § 402(a). Section 104(b)(2) requires that
the plan administrator make available for inspection by
participants certain specific documents, including "instru-
ments under which the plan was established or is operated."”
Because § 402(a) requires that the plan terms be reflected in
a written instrument, those terms are available to participants
for contemporaneous inspection under § 104(b)(2)."° The
purpose identified by the Court of Appeals as "a primary
purpose" of § 402(b)(3) is instead fully served by the
combination of § 402(a) and § 104(b)(2). Or, as the legisla-
tive history of § 402(a) phrases it: "A written plan is to be

* In addition, § 104(b)(4) requires a plan administrator, upon
written request of any participant or beneficiary, to furnish a copy
of these same documents or else risk penalties for noncompliance
in an action brought under § 502(c\1).

© Despite § 402(a)’s singular reference to a plan "instru-
ment," § 104(b)(2) makes clear that there may be multiple
"documents" and "instruments" governing a plan. See also
§ 404(aX 1D), 29 U.S.C. § 1104(aX 1D) ("a fiduciary shall
discharge his duties . . . in accordance with the documents and
instruments governing the plan"). Once a written plan amendment
is effected it becomes such a governing document; even if it has
not yet been incorporated into a restated plan document, it is
available for inspection under § 104(b)(2).

_ li ——

12

required in order that every employee may, on examining the
plan documents, determine exactly what his rights and obliga-
tions are under the plan." Conference Report at 297.

Section 402(b)(3) does not add significantly to the
protection afforded participants under § 402(a). To be sure,
some disclosure function may be served by spelling out in the
plan instrument exactly what steps a sponsor must follow in
order to amend a plan and alerting participants who are
searching for amendments that have not yet been incorporated
into written plan instruments, SPDs or SMMs exactly what
form the. written amendment took. The benefit of such
disclosure is slight, if any, since under § 104(b)(2) the
participant can already examine the written plan terms,
including the amendment. Moreover, the details of how a
corporation goes about amending a plan is not information
which participants are likely to find useful. The lower courts
have consistently held that employers, even if they otherwise
occupy fiduciary positions in the administration of plans, do
not act as fiduciaries when they amend a plan; rather, like the
settlor of a trust, they are free to design and amend plans in
their own interests as long as the terms do not violate any
other provisions of ERISA or other federal jaw.'' Given the

'' See, e.g., Izzarelli v. Rexene Prods. Co., 24 F.3d 1506,
1524 (Sth Cir. 1994) ("an employer that decides to terminate,
amend, or renegotiate a plan does not act as a fiduciary, and thus
cannot violate its fiduciary duty, provided that . . . the amendment
does not otherwise violate ERISA or the express terms of the
plan,” citing Hozier v. Midwest Fasteners, Inc., 908 F.2d 1155,
1160-61 (3d Cir. 1990) (emphasis omitted)); Musto v. American
Gen. Corp., 861 F.2d 897, 912 (6th Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 490
U.S. 1020 (1989); Amato v. Western Union Int'l, Inc., 773 F.2d

13

lack of a fiduciary-beneficiary relationship arising from the
plan amendment process, there is no obvious reason why plan
participants would want to know the details of an amendment
procedure in which they play no part, as long as they know
the result.

Indeed, the conclusion that participants do not need to
know the details of a plan’s amendment process was shared
by the drafters of the statutory and regulatory disclosure
requirements. Section 104(b) imposes a requirement on a
plan administrator to prepare and distribute both a plan
description and an SPD." Notably, none of the information
required by the statute to be disclosed in these documents
relates to a plan’s amendment procedure. Likewise, although
the implementing regulation promulgated by the Department
of Labor provides for even greater and more detailed types
of disclosure, the information described in § 402(b)(3)
relating to the plan amendment procedure is not among the
items required to be disclosed. See 29 C.F.R. § 2520.102-3.

1402, 1416-17 (2d Cir. 1985), cert. dismissed, 474 U.S. 1113
(1986).

'2 Section 102(b) contemplates the preparation of a plan
description and a summary plan description containing identical
information. Both documents are required to be filed with the
Secretary of Labor (see §§ 104(aX1)(B), (C)), but only the SPD is
distributed to participants (see § 104(b\(1)). Recognizing the sub-
stantial duplication between the plan description and SPD, the
Department of Labor has granted regulatory relief which permits
both requirements to be satisfied by a single document, which is
generally referred to as an SPD. See 29 C.F.R. § 2520.104a-2.

14

Given the absence of express disclosure requirements
relating to § 402(b)(3), it is not surprising that model plan
documents widely used by employee benefit practitioners,
including prototype plan documents published by the Internal
Revenue Service, contain amendment language essentially
identical to that in the Curtiss-Wright plan Constitution."

'S See Pet. at 8-9; Amicus Brief of the National Union Fire
Insurance Company of Pittsburgh, PA in Support of the Petitioner
at 9. Likewise, numerous judicial decisions have involved
amendments of plans which contain similar language without
suggesting that this language did not satisfy § 402(b\(3). See, e.g.,
Gable v. Sweetheart Cup Co., 1994 U.S. App. LEXIS 25008, *5
(4th Cir. Sept. 13, 1994) ("Maryland Cup Corporation reserves the
right to modify, change or terminate the medical coverage for
retirees at any time in the future"); Gordon v. Barnes Pumps, Inc.,
999 F.2d 133, 135 (6th Cir. 1993) ("the Company reserves the
right to modify, suspend or terminate the Plan, at any time and for
any reason"); Wise v. El Paso Natural Gas Co., 986 F.2d 929, 933
(Sth Cir.) ("[t]he Company reserves the right to alter, amend,
delete, cancel or otherwise changes the plan or any of the provi-
sions of the plan at anytime [sic]"), cert. denied, 114 S. Ct. 196
(1993); Musto v. American Gen. Corp., 861 F.2d at 903 ("the
Company does, as it always has, reserve the right to change the
Plan and, if necessary, discontinue it"); Moore v. Metropolitan Life
Ins. Co., 856 F.2d 488, 490 (2d Cir. 1988) ("[t]he Company
reserves the right at any time to change or discontinue this
[plan]"); Jn re White Farm Equipment Co., 788 F.2d 1186, 1189
(6th Cir. 1986) ("the Company does reserve the right to change the
plans, and, if necessary, discontinue them"); Amato v. Western
Union Int'l, Inc., 773 F.2d at 1418 ("the Company does reserve the
right to change or even terminate the Plan"); Jn re Unisys Corp.
Retiree Medical Benefits ERISA Litig., 18 Employee Benefits Cas.
(BNA) 1257, 1274 (E.D. Pa. 1994) ("[t]he Company reserves the
right to amend or terminate this Plan at any time in its sole discre-

ee, ee | hfe

15

Thus, the language used by Curtiss-Wright does not represent
some unique instance of careless plan drafting but is instead
a formulation of the amendment power that is commonly in
use throughout the country.

The fact that plan amendments are so common itself
suggests two other purposes for § 402(b)(3), both of which
were served by Curtiss-Wright’s language. First, the pres-
ence of such language in a plan document at least alerts
participants to the possibility that an amendment can be made
by "the Company," thus simultaneously warning them, in the
case of welfare benefits, that those benefits are not vested and
alerting them that they may wish to examine all plan docu-
ments in order to determine their current rights with certain-
ty. Second, it ensures that the plan sponsor has retained,
unless it chooses not to do so, the power to make amend-
ments to the plan.

As this Court has noted, ERISA "abounds with the
language and terminology of trust law," Firestone Tire &
Rubber Co. v. Bruch, 489 U.S. 101, 110 (1989), and many

tion"); Bongiorno v. Associates in Adolescent Psychiatry, \7
Employee Benefits Cas. (BNA) 1847, 1848 (N.D. III. 1993) ("[t]he
corporation reserves the right to change any policy or benefit");
Carroll v. Primerica Financial Servs. Ins. Marketing, 811 F. Supp.
1558, 1560-61 (N.D. Ga. 1992) ("[t]he Corporation reserves the
right to modify, revoke, suspend, terminate, or change any or all
policies and procedures, in whole or in part, at any time, with or
without notice"); Jn re Gulf Pension Litig., 764 F. Supp. 1149,
1187 (S.D. Tex. 1991) ("[t]he Company reserves the right to
modify or amend the Plan, in whole or in part"), aff'd sub nom.
Borst v. Chevron Corp., 1994 U.S. App. LEXIS 19473 (Sth Cir.
Oct. 21, 1994).

re aw . . z ‘ > = es eee ee

16

ERISA provisions are drawn from trust law concepts. /d.;
see also Central States, Southeast & Southwest Areas Pension
Fund v. Central Transport, Inc., 472 U.S. 559, 570-71
(1985). Section 402(b)(3) is one of those provisions. At
trust law, a settlor of a trust has power to modify the trust
only to the extent that power is reserved in the trust instru-
ment. See Restatement (Second) of Trusts § 331(1) (1959).
Section 402(b)(3) requires a specification of that amendment
power and of any limits placed on that power.'* The twenty
years since ERISA’s enactment have demonstrated the
wisdom of retaining amendment flexibility as employers have
scrambled to amend their plans to comply with waves of new
legislation'’ and to adjust to economic forces such as the

'* Indeed, although the legislative history of § 402(b)(3) is
scant, it also suggests a Congressional concern that flexibility to
amend be preserved. The House version of the bill that went into
Conference and became ERISA gave a plan administrator authority
to amend a plan "(except with respect to contribution rates) where
such an amendment is necessary to meet the requirements of this
title or where such an amendment is necessary to protect the inter-
ests of the participants." H.R. 2 (as passed in House), 93d Cong.,
2d Sess. § 111(a)(1) reprinted in 3 Legislative History 3898, 3947-
48. Although the concept of having a fiduciary make amendments
disappeared in the final bill, § 402(b\(3) evidences the concern to
preserve amendment power.

'* See Human Resources Div., U.S. General Accounting
Office, Retiree Health Plans: Health Benefits Not Secure Under
Employer-Based System 5 (93-125) (1993) (hereinafter "1993 GAO
Report"); see also ERISA: The Law and the Code v-ix (Paul F.
Albergo ed., 1994).

: Le i ded See ae a kN
ra %
——- ee. Wee ait tan Sell

i

17

national explosion in health care costs." A principal pur-
pose served by § 402(b)(3) under these circumstances has
been the inclusion in plans of provisions reserving amend-
ment rights on behalf of plan sponsors and disclosing to
participants that amendments may occur."

In short, a holding that Curtiss-Wright’s amendment
language was in compliance with § 402(b)(3) would give
meaning to the provision by recognizing the purposes it
serves, not render it meaningless. The conclusion reached by
the court below, in contrast, is not required by the language
of § 402(b)(3), does not serve the certainty purpose identified
by the court, and renders unlawful plan provisions that have
been widely used and endorsed by the Internal Revenue
Service and treated as effective by numerous other courts
since the enactment of ERISA in 1974. Accordingly, it
should be reversed by this Court.

'© See 1993 GAO Report at 12-16; see also Human Resourc-
es Div., U.S. General Accounting Office, Employer-Based Health
Insurance: High Costs, Wide Variation Threaten System 4 (92-125)
(1992).

17 "In general, employers may make changes in their plans
as long as they have reserved the right to do so. According to the
benefit consultants we contacted, virtually all employers have re-
served their right, in some fashion, to change their health benefit
plans." 1993 GAO Report at 6.

18

II. Assuming Arguendo That § 402(b)(3) Was Violated,
the Remedy Chosen by the Court Below Was Not
Warranted

Assuming arguendo that the Court of Appeals was correct
in determining that a violation of § 402(b)(3) occurred, the
remedy awarded -- a declaration that the plan amendment
promulgated by Curtiss-Wright was unenforceable and,
consequently, that plaintiffs were entitled to benefits under

the pre-amendment plan -- was unwarranted for several

reasons.

First, as discussed supra at p. 7, the real criticism made
by the Court of Appeals was not that Curtiss-Wright lacked
some "procedure", i.e., "manner of proceeding" to amend its
plan document; a method did exist by which the amendment
was accomplished. Rather, the perceived defect was that this
procedure was not spelled out to the court’s satisfaction in
the written instrument required under § 402(a). It is difficult
to imagine that an award of benefits would be the appropriate
remedy for the failure of a plan to comply with any of the
other provisions required or permitted by other subsections of
§ 402(b), i.e., a funding policy (§ 402(b)(1)), an allocation of
fiduciary responsibilities (§ 402(b)(2)), or a specification of
the basis of payments made to a plan (§ 402(b)(4)). The
same should be true as to a violation of the remaining
subsection, § 402(b)(3).

Even if the violation of § 402(b)(3) is characterized as
the failure to have a "procedure," not merely to set forth the
procedure in writing, an award of benefits is still not the
appropriate remedy. Courts have consistently refused to
award substantive remedies for "procedural" violations,

‘ 19

especially where no substantive harm or detrimental reliance
had resulted from the procedural failure.'* Here, there is no
claim that a failure to have an amendment procedure itself
caused any harm to participants; if the procedure had fully
complied with the court’s conception of § 402(b)(3), the
participants would have been in no better, or even different,
situation than resulted from the actual amendment process
used by Curtiss-Wright. The 1983 amendment would still
have eliminated their benefits.

Moreover, the award of a substantive remedy cannot be
justified by the statutory purpose of § 402(b)(3) as identified
by the Court of Appeals. Far from producing certainty, the
lower court’s remedy would presage a litigator’s dream and
a practical nightmare for all of the parties connected to
employee benefit plans. Participants and beneficiaries could
never rely on a plan’s terms as describing their benefit
entitlements. Given the frequency with which employee
benefit plans have been amended in response to statutory
changes and other concerns (see supra notes 15, 16), they
would be foolish to do so.

Plan sponsors could presumably deal prospectively with
the decision below by formalizing and particularizing their

‘8 See, e.g., Lewandowski v. Occidental Chemical Corp., 986
F.2d 1006, 1008-09 (6th Cir. 1993); Kreutzer v. A.O. Smith Corp.,
951 F.2d 739, 743 (7th Cir. 1992); Adams v. Avondale Indus., Inc.,
905 F.2d 943, 949 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, 498 U.S. 984 (1990);
Simmons v. Diamond Shamrock Corp., 844 F.2d 517, 524-25 (8th
Cir. 1988); Kleinhans v. Lisle Savings Profit Sharing Trust, 810
F.2d 618, 621-22 (7th Cir. 1987).

20

plan amendment procedures.'? They could not, however, fix
the past; even if a plan’s amendment procedure were immedi-
ately brought into conformance with the lower court’s
interpretation of § 402(b)(3) and a plan were immediately
restated to ratify all past amendments, benefit claims arising
from events prior to such restatement would be determined
under the pre-restated plan. Thus, the enforceability of many
existing plan terms is placed in doubt by the decision below
and can only be resolved through the litigation which, given
that billions of dollars of benefits are potentially at stake,
would inevitably ensue. The unanticipated costs of providing
past benefits which employers thought had been modified or
eliminated by plan amendments now deemed to be ineffective
under the decision below would be staggering, not to mention
the concomitant legal and administrative expenses to be
suffered by corporations, large and small.

Moreover, by holding that Curtiss-Wright’s amendment
language was inadequate to effect an amendment, the
decision below provides an obvious litigation route to avoid
Congress’ intent that welfare benefits do not vest. See
§ 201(1), 29 U.S.C. § 1051(1) (ERISA’s vesting require-
ments do not apply to employee welfare benefit plans).
Congress declined to require vesting of welfare benefits,

19

A large portion of the employee benefit plan universe,
however, involves insured plans in which the plan sponsor’s role
in amending the plan is usually limited. Typically, the insurance
policy itself as issued by the insurer is the only plan instrument,
and the plan is amended via a written policy endorsement from the
insurer which is accepted by the employer’s payment of a premi-
um. Exactly how these plans would cope with the decision below
is another mystery that would only be resolvable through litigation.

vee te eh ee Pe Te ae iene eet gt ede gn

ae

21

recognizing that this requirement "would seriously complicate
the administration and increase the cost of plans whose
primary function is to provide retirement income." H.R. Rep.
No. 93-807, 93d Cong., 2d Sess. 60, reprinted in 2 Legisla-
tive History 3180 and in 1974 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin.
News 4670, 4726. Instead, Congress intended employers to
be free to create, modify, or terminate the terms and condi-
tions of welfare benefit plans as inflation, changes in medical
practice and technology, and the costs of treatment dictate.
Moore v. Metropolitan Life Ins. Co., 856 F.2d at 492; see
also Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Massachusetts, 471 U.S.
724, 732 (1985) (ERISA "does not regulate the substantive
content of welfare-benefit plans"). Lower courts have
uniformly recognized this principle, refusing to vest welfare
benefits in the absence of an intent to do so. McGann v. H.
& H. Music Co., 946 F.2d 401, 405-07 (Sth Cir. 1991), cert.
denied, 113 S. Ct. 482 (1992); Hozier v. Midwest Fasteners,
Inc., 908 F.2d at 1160.

Also at risk from the decision below, but for different
reasons, would be the fiduciaries charged with plan adminis-
tration who owe statutory duties to act in accordance with
plan terms (see § 404(a)(1)(D)) but also to act "solely in the
interest" of plan participants and beneficiaries (see
§ 404(a)(1)). Like the other interested parties, they too
would need to examine more closely the procedural propriety
of past plan amendments and perhaps take affirmative steps

22

to establish the validity of plan provisions through actions for
declaratory relief.”

These effects on plan parties are not the product of a
doomsday scenario but are readily predictable. As litigation
explodes and benefit costs surge, employers would, as they
have in the past, react by cutting benefits and their attendant
costs in other respects.”' Thus, while past participants and
beneficiaries might gain unanticipated benefits from the
decision below, future participants and beneficiaries would
pay for those benefits, as well as their attendant litigation and
other expenses. Certainty in plan administration and elimina-
tion of unnecessary expenses that discourage employers from
maintaining plans -- two recognized objectives of the
Congress that enacted ERISA -- would be among the
casualties.

20 This course of action itself is not without uncertainty.
Although, as this Court noted in Firestone Tire & Rubber Co. v.
Bruch, 489 U.S. 101, 108 (1989), § 502(aX1)(B) of ERISA allows
a participant or beneficiary to sue "to obtain a declaratory judg-
ment of future entitlement to benefits under the provisions of the
plan contract," a number of lower courts have held that ERISA
does not authorize a cause of action by a fiduciary for such relief.
See Transamerica Occidental Life Ins. Co. v. DiGregorio, 811 F.2d
1249, 1252-53 (9th Cir. 1987); Gulf Life Ins. Co. v. Arnold, 809 .
F.2d 1520, 1523 (11th Cir. 1987) ("Gulf Life’s declaratory judg-
ment action simply is unnecessary to further the statute’s pur-
pose"); Reynolds v. Stahr, 758 F. Supp. 1276, 1280-81 (W.D. Wis.
1991).

21 See 1993 GAO Report at 3 & App. II.

23

The court below also justified its remedy by a perceived
need to deter violations of § 402(b)(3). Thus, the court
stated that not to award a substantive remedy "would place
those who violate § 402(b)(3) by including no procedure for
amendment in a plan in a better position than those who
comply with that requirement and would thereby discourage
employers from complying with § 402(b)(3)." (Pet. App.
lla.) If, however, deterrence is the remedial goal, it is ill-
served by an award of benefits in this case since there is no
need to deter an employer which adopted a plan amendment
provision endorsed by the IRS and commonly used by other
employers.

Moreover, the court’s distinction between non-complying
employers who require a deterrence remedy and complying
employers who do not is a misleading one. Rather, as the
court’s discussion makes clear, its comparison is between
employers which do not have an amendment procedure that
satisfies § 402(b)(3) and employers which have a satisfactory
procedure but then fail to comply with it. These latter
employers have not violated § 402(b)(3) but instead have
violated the terms of the plan. Thus, the distinction in
remedy identified by the Court of Appeals relates to non-
complying employers in two different circumstances. As
discussed below, however, that distinction is a logical one,
well-recognized in trust law.

Under trust law, a settlor has the power to modify the
trust if and to the extent that he reserved such a power by the
terms of the trust. If the settlor does not by the terms of the
trust reserve a power to alter or amend or modify it, he has
no power to do so. Restatement (Second) of Trusts § 331.

ee Oe a es ee ee =_ rar” yr” = - -” _——- 2

24

The settlor may reserve a power to alter the trust in any
way he sees fit, or he may reserve a power to modify it only
in some particular way. If the settlor reserved the power to
modify the trust using only a particular method, or placed
any other limitation on the right to amend, those restrictions
must be obeyed; any attempt to modify the trust which
exceeds the limitations placed on the amendment power by
the terms of the trust will be deemed a nullity. See id. cmt.
d. This rule has been carried over into ERISA by decisions
holding that amendments made in violation of plan terms are
ineffective. See Albedyll v. Wisconsin Porcelain Co. Revised
Retirement Plan, 947 F.2d 246, 255 (7th Cir. 1991); Frank
v. Colt Indus., Inc., 910 F.2d 90, 98 (3d Cir. 1990).

This case, however, does not involve a violation of limits
placed on a plan’s amendment procedure by the terms of the
plan itself. At trust law, where the settlor reserved a power
to amend and placed no limits on that power, the power is
considered unlimited and may be exercised by any method
which sufficiently manifests an intention to modify the trust.
See Restatement (Second) of Trusts § 331 cmt. c. This rule
too has been recognized in ERISA cases in which courts have
upheld amendments clearly intended by a plan sponsor but
made to plans which, much more clearly than in this case,
did not comply with § 402(b)(3) because they contained no
reservation of an amendment power whatsoever. See Adams
v. Avondale Indus., Inc., 905 F.2d 943, 949 (6th Cir.), cert.
denied, 498 U.S. 984 (1990); Biggers v. Wittek Indus., Inc.,
4 F.3d 291, 296 (4th Cir. 1993).

The rules established by trust law and the decisions in
Adams and Biggers, which conflict with the decision of the

25

Court of Appeals in this case, make sense. A plan provision
that places limits on the amendment power must be followed.
Where a plan contains no such limits, however, the sponsor’s
intent to amend should be given effect, especially where any
procedural violation of § 402(b)(3) had not caused substan-
tive harm to participants. The sponsor in that case is not
receiving "better" treatment than in the former case; different
remedies are merely being tailored to different situations. By
ignoring these differences and invalidating the Curtiss-Wright
amendment, the Court of Appeals erred, and its decision
should be reversed.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, this Court should reverse the
judgment of the Court of Appeals to the extent it holds
Curtiss-Wright liable for plaintiffs’ benefits.

Respectfully submitted,

ROBERT N. ECCLES

Counsel of Record
KAREN M. WAHLE
O’MELVENY & MYERS
555 13th Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20004
(202 383-5300

Counsel for Amicus Curiae

November 8, 1994

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0517%3A14. Public record. Not legal advice.
