# Amicus Curiae Brief — New York State Conference of Blue Cross & Blue Shield Plans v. Travelers Insurance

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0498%3A30

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1994
- **Citation:** 511 U.S. 1067

## Text

‘ie Supreme Court int the United 2

out OcToBER TERM, 1994

a New York STATE CONFERENCE OF BLUE Cross &
3 BLUE SHIELD PLANS, ef al.,

a Petitioners

Ke TRAVELERS INSURANCE Co,, et al.

‘. Manio M. Cuomo, Governor of New York, et al.,
A " Petitioners
* TRAVELERS INSURANCE Co., et al.

As 41

a

ay

ae HOSPITAL ASSOCIATION OF NEW YorK STATE,
1a Vv.
ae TRAVELERS INSURANCE Co., et al.

ys On Writ of Certiorari to the

ae? United States Court of Appeals

moi >, for the Second Circuit

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF
THE SELF-INSURANCE INSTITUTE OF AMERICA, INC,
m SUPPORT OF THE RESPONDENTS

*

we r e
‘a create ae fe:

mt - Seas Priwnne Co., Inc. -7

- Me t—ncm , L ecincdt

: ma
2
>. By - hay

BEST AVAILABLE copy

——

INTEREST OF THE AMICUS
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
ARGUMENT ......

TABLE OF CONTENTS

I. THE SECOND CIRCUIT PROPERLY REC-

II,

CONCLUSION

OGNIZED THAT ERISA PREEMPTS THE
CHALLENGED STATE LAW

A. ERISA Preemption Is Broad In Scope ........

B. The Challenged State Law Is Preempted Be-
cause It “Relates To” ERISA Plans ..............

C. The “Saving” Clause Is Not Applicable -.......

D. ERISA’s “Deemer” Clause Also Bars The
Challenged State Law .

THE HOSPITAL SURCHARGE LAW WILL
ADVERSELY AFFECT SELF-FUNDED
HEALTH PLANS AND THEIR PARTICI-
PANTS

A. Plan Choices of Arrangements For Provid-
ing Health Benefits Will Be Affected ............

B. Health Plan Costs Will Increase Or Benefit
Levels Will Be Reduced

C. The Administrative Burdens of Operating
ERISA Plans Will Increase

Page

18
15

|
‘
|

ii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page
Andrus v. Glover Construction Co., 446 U.S. 608

CRO) cccovinsunescninicitesnitsimasiinsiaiiaraeiiaiatie 10
Children’s Hospital v. Whitcomb, 778 F.2d 239 (5th

| RE 10
District of Columbia v. Greater Washington Board

of Trade, 113 S.Ct. 580 (1992) 6
Farmer v. Monsanto Co., 517 S.W. 2d 129 (Mo.

1974) ..... 9

FMC Corp. v. Holliday, 498 U.S. 52 (1990) .......... 5, 6, 8,9
Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Barnes, 571 F.2d 502 (9th

Cir.), cert. denied, 489 U.S. 881 (1978) ............ 11
Holland v. Burlington Industries, Inc., T72 F.2d

1140 (4th Cir. 1985), summarily aff’d, 477 U.S.

901 (1986) 5
Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, 498 U.S. 133

CRD cxnicsiicssncinenennsiiasaaagtieiatiadis ee 5
Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Massachusetts, 471

U.S. 724 (1985) 5, 6, 8,9
Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeauz, 481 U.S. 41 (1987).. 5,6
Powell v. Chesapeake & Potomac Tel. Co., 780 F.2d

419 (4th Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 476 US. 1170

) RRRSRES 10
Reilly v. Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Wisconsin,

846 F.2d 416 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 488 U.S.

856 (1988) 10
Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 463 U.S. 85 (1988). ‘passin
Standard Oil of California v. Agsalud, 688 F.2d

760 (9th Cir. 1980), aff'd mem., 454 U.S. 801

CD vaciideseddiiins 10
United Food & Commercial Workers & Employers

Arizona Health & Welfare Trust v. Pacyga, 801

F.2d 1157 (9th Cir. 1986) 8
STATUTES

15 U.S.C. § 1011 ..... ; 8

29 U.S.C. § 1001 .2, 6, 12

29 U.S.C. § 1144 passim

PRI TS MET! Ne eee Pe Gere | Ce ey

iii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

New York Human Rights Law, §§ 290-301 (Mc-
Kinney 1982 and Supp. 1982-83) 7

New York Public Health Law, § 2807-c (McKinney
EE IE ES EE 2

MISCELLANEOUS

A. Foster Higgins & Company, Health Care Survey

TE 12,138

Activity Report of the Committee on Education
and Labor, Rpt. No. 91-1785 (January 3, 1977) .. 10
Employee Benefit Research Institute, Sources of
Health Insurance and Characteristics of the Un-

ee 6
Geisel, Health Care Law and Disorder, Business In-

surance, November 28, 1994 at 2 ........ 11
HCFA Review, Self-Insured Health Plans, Vol. 8

No. 2 (1986) ................. 12

Self-Insurance Institute of America, TPA Client
Composition Survey, January, 1998 .................... 4

©.

Ca

In THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OcToBER TERM, 1994

No. 93-1408

New YorK STATE CONFERENCE OF BLUE Cross &
BLUE SHIELD PLANS, ef al.,
e Petitioners

TRAVELERS INSURANCE Co., ef al.

No. 93-1414
Mario M. Cuomo, Governor of New York, et al.,

e. Petitioners

TRAVELERS INSURANCE Co. et al.

No. 93-1415
HOSPITAL ASSOCIATION OF NEW YORK STATE,

2. Petitioner

TRAVELERS INSURANCE Co. et al.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Second Circuit

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF
THE SELF-INSURANCE INSTITUTE OF AMERICA, INC.
IN SUPPORT OF THE RESPONDENTS

2

INTEREST OF THE AMICUS

The Self-Insurance Institute of America, Inc. (“SIIA”)
submits this amicus curiae brief with the consent of Peti-
tioners and Respondents.’

SIIA is a non-profit corporation composed of over 1500
members dedicated to the advancement and protection of
the self-insurance industry. It is the only association in the
United States which represents firms, professionals, and or-
ganizations which participate in the broad spectrum of self-
insurance. Its membership includes users of self-insurance
such as employers who sponsor group health plans, con-
tract third-party administrators who process claims for
self-insured health plans, stop-loss insurance companies,
and other entities engaged in the self-insurance business.

SITA’s members will be significantly affected by the prin-
cipal issue presented in this case—whether the Employee
Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 (“ERISA”), 29
U.S.C. § 1001, et seq. preempts sections of the New York
Public Health Law, § 2807-c (McKinney 1993), which
require that in-patient hospital rates covered by certain
payors, including ERISA regulated self-funded health
plans, be increased by prescribed percentage differentials.
The New York law requires commercial insurers to pay
24% more for hospital services and self-funded plans that
directly reimburse hospitals to pay 13% more than Blue
Cross/Blue Shield.

The issue presented is of major concern to the self-
insurance industry for three reasons. First, the state law
at issue clearly is designed to influence an ERISA health
plan’s decision as to how best to fund hospital benefits for
plan participants. Thus, the state-imposed assessments
will interfere with employer selection of the most effective
method of providing health benefits to employees and their

1 Original consent letters from Petitioners and Respondents have
been lodged with the Court.

3

dependents. By increasing the cost of obtaining health
services, the surcharges imposed on hospital bills directly
influence the choices that employer-sponsored plans may
make for health care coverage—precisely the type of im-
pact Congress intended to avoid when it enacted ERISA.

Second, SIIA members are concerned that the state-
imposed assessments will affect the structure and admin-
istration of self-funded plans, including the type and level
of benefits offered by such plans. As plan costs increase,
employers will be forced to adjust benefits to offset the
assessments. Higher costs will result either in reduced
health care benefits under such plans, or higher out-of-
pocket costs for plan participants in the form of higher
co-payments and deductibles, or both.

Third, the rising cost to employers of providing health
benefits will escalate further if states may impose sur-
charges on hospitals which in turn are passed along to
employer sponsored health plans, including self-funded
plans. Unless the court of appeals decision which held
that ERISA preempts the challenged hospital surcharges
is upheld, even the continued viability of self-insurance as
a cost-efficient alternative for providing health benefits to
millions of employees is threatened.

Accordingly, SIIA submits this amicus curiae brief in
support of the respondents.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

In acknowledging that the New York Public Health
Law is preempted by ERISA, the court of appeals recog-
nized the expansive sweep and purpose of ERISA’s pre-
emption clause, which has been repeatedly noted by this
Court. By finding that the hospital surcharge provisions
have the effect of restricting the choices ERISA plans
make for health care coverage, the Second Circuit prop-
erly held that such provisions are preempted because
they have a clear “connection” with ERISA plans.

4

This finding is supportable in light of ERISA’s express
statutory preemption language and its legislative history
which prevent state statutes from impacting on the struc-
ture, administration, and benefit design aspects of ERISA
plans. Unless the Second Circuit's decision is upheld, the
New York statute will cause substantial economic injury
to ERISA plans and their participants by imposing on
them the obligation to pay for millions of dollars in fi-
nancial liabilities which are unrelated to specific benefits
provided under the terms of such plans. In turn, this
fiscal impact will impermissibly affect the structure and
administration of ERISA plans which are critical to the
sound functioning of the self-insurance system.

Failure to uphold the Second Circuit’s decision will have
severe detrimental implications for the continued growth
of self-funded health benefit programs because the sur-
charges will necessarily be passed along to employers and
ultimately to employees and their dependents who partici-
pate in such plans. Thus, the real losers will be employers
and plan participants, including the millions of employees
covered by self-insured plans who will bear the ultimate
cost-shifting burden of these costs.* There is nothing in
the statute or legislative history to suggest that Congress
intended these results. In sum, the Second Circuit’s read-
ing of ERISA preemption is consistent with this Court’s
prior decisions and should be upheld.

2 Over 70 million employees and their dependents are covered by
self-insured group health plans. Self-Insurance Institute of Amer-
ica, TPA Client Composition Survey, January, 1998.

5
ARGUMENT

I. THE SECOND CIRCUIT PROPERLY RECOGNIZED
THAT ERISA PREEMPTS THE CHALLENGED
STATE LAW.

A. ERISA Preemption Is Broad In Scope.

This Court has repeatedly noted the expansive sweep
of ERISA’s preemption clause. Pliot Life Ins. Co. v.
Dedeaux, 481 U.S. 41 (1987); Metropolitan Life Ins.
Co. v. Massachusetts, 471 U.S. 724 (1985); Shaw v.
Delta Air Lines, Inc., 463 U.S. 85 (1983). In finding the
challenged surcharges preempted, the Second Circuit recog-
nized the “unparalleled breath” attributed to ERISA’s
preemption clause by Congress. 29 U.S.C. § 1144(a),
Holland v. Burlington Industries, Inc., 772 F.2d 1140,
1147 (4th Cir. 1985), summarily aff'd, 477 U.S. 901
(1986). This clause states that ERISA “supersede[s] any
and all State laws insofar as they may now or hereafter
relate to any employee benefit plan” covered by ERISA.
29 U.S.C. § 1144(a) (emphasis added).

This Court has described ERISA preemption as “con-
spicuous for its breadth,” noting that “[i]t establishes as.
an area of exclusive concern the subject of every state
law that “relates to” an employee benefit plan governed by
ERISA.” FMC Corp. v. Holliday, 498 U.S. 52, 56-58
(1990) (emphasis added). ERISA preempts state law
even if it is of general application and has only an indirect
effect on employee benefit plans, and regardless of whether
it is consistent with ERISA’s substantive requirements.
Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, 498 U.S. 133 (1990);
Metropolitan Life, 471 U.S. at 739-41.

“Preemption may be either express or implied,” and
“is compelled whether Congress’ command is explicitly
stated in the Statute’s language or implicitly contained in
its structure and purpose.” FMC Corp., 498 U.S. at 57.
ERISA therefore preempts state law if it either (1) has

6

a direct or indirect “connection with” or reference to the
establishment or administration* of self-funded ERISA
plans within the meaning of § 1144(a), FMC Corp.,
498 U.S. at 57; or (2) conflicts with the accomplishment
of the full “purpose and objectives” of Congress to make
such plans “exclusively a federal concern” immune from
any direct or indirect state regulation. Shaw, 463 U.S.
at 96; FMC Corp., supra.

The New York law at issue is not a law of “general
application” that simply regulates hospital rates in a neu-
tral matter. The very purpose of the hospital surcharges
is to influence the users of commercial insurance, self-
insurance and HMOs, which are overwhelmingly
employer-sponsored ERISA plans.* Moreover, ERISA
preemption bars even a state law of general application
which involves the indirect regulation of self-funded em-
ployee benefit plans. Metropolitan Life, 471 U.S. at 739.

B. The Challenged State Law Is Preempted Because
It “Relates To” ERISA Plans.

ERISA preempts the challenged differentials because
plainly they “relate to” ERISA plans within the “broad
common-sense meaning” of having “a connection with or
reference to” such plans. 29 U.S.C. § 1144(a). Pilot
Life, 481 U.S. 41. In particular, this Court has empha-
sized that the preemption clause is not limited to “state
laws specifically designed to affect employee benefit plans.”
District of Columbia v. Greater Washington Board of
Trade, 113 S.Ct. 580, 583 (1992). Shaw, 463 US. at 98,
Pilot Life, 481 U.S. at 48. Even though the challenged

3 The Congressional findings and declaration of policy state that
ERISA was intended to control the “establishment” as well as the
“operation and administration” of employee benefit plans. 29 U.S.C.
§ 1001 (a).

4In 1992, 62.5 percent of non-elderly Americans were covered
by employment-based health plans. Employee Benefit Research
Institute, Sources of Health Insurance and Characteristics of the
Uninsured, January, 1994.

—_

New York statute does not expressly refer to ERISA
plans, under a broad reading of “relate to”, the Second
Circuit properly concluded that the hospital surcharges
have a clear connection with such plans because they af-
fect the choices of arangements by ERISA plans for the
payment of health care benefits: °

The 13% and 11% surcharges are designed to in-
crease hospital costs for patients covered by health
plans other than the Blues, and thus make these com-
peting plans less attractive than the Blues. Obviously,
the surcharges will affect ERISA plans’ health care
benefits. Likewise, the 9% assessment imposed on
HMOs will interfere with a plan’s selection of the
most effective method to provide benefits. Thus, the
surcharges purposely interfere with the choices that
ERISA plans make for health care coverage. Such
interference is suffient to constitute “connection with”
ERISA plans.

Pet. App. A-22 (emphasis added).°

Additionally, it is well settled that a state law “relates
to” an ERISA plan within the meaning of 29 U.S.C.
§ 1144(a) and therefore is preempted where, as here, it
interferes with the freedom of employers to structure the
specific benefits or other terms and conditions of their
health plans. For example, in Shaw, 463 U.S. at 96-97,
this Court held that the New York Human Rights Law,
§§ 290-301 (McKinney 1982 and Supp. 1982-83), “related
to” self-funded ERISA plans within the meaning of § 1144
(a) and therefore was preempted because it “prohibited
employers from strructuring their employee benefit plans

5 The purpose of the 18% surcharge is “to contain hospital costs
and to increase the availability of hospital insurance coverage to
needy New Yorkers” by making the Blues—traditionally the “in-
surance of last resort” for high risk individuals—more competitive
with commercial insurers. Appendix to the Petitioners Writ of
Certiorari in No. 93-1414.

* References to the joint appendix filed with Petitioner’s Brief
are cited as “Pet. App. ——”.

$

in a manner that discriminated on the basis of pregnancy,”
and required employers to pay specific benefits to em-
ployees. See United Food & Commercial Workers & Em-
ployers Arizona Health & Welfare Trust v. Pacyga, 801
F.2d 1157, 1160 (9th Cir. 1986) (Arizona anti-subroga-
tion law was preempted because it prohibited employers
from structuring plans to require reimbursement in the
event of recovery from third party). Thus, the New York
law is preempted unless it falls within the ambit of the
saving clause referred to in the ERISA preemption clause.

C. The “Saving” Clause Is Not Applicable.

The Second Circuit concluded that the “saving” clause
does not exempt the challenged state statutes because the
hospital surcharges expressly regulate hospital rates and
not any practice that constitutes the “business of insur-
ance.” ERISA’s “saving” clause preserves from preemp-
tion any state law which “regulates insurance, banking or
securities.” 29 U.S.C. § 1144(b)(2)(A). As construed
by the Court, the exemption for state regulation of insur-
ance is a narrow one, and it applies only if the state law
actually regulates the “business of insurance”, and even
then it applies only if the employee benefit plan is insured
instead of self-funded. Metropolitan Life, 471 U.S. at
746-48. As stated in FMC Corp., 498 U.S. at 64, “if the
plan is uninsured, the State may not regulate.” The Sec-
ond Circuit applied well settled law in finding that the
criteria established by the courts to determine whether a
practice constitutes the “business of insurance” within the
meaning of the McCarran-Ferguson Act were not met by
the challenged New York statute."

™In enacting McCarran-Ferguson, Congress declared that “the
continued regulation of the business of insurance is in the public
interest.” 15 U.S.C. § 1011 et seg. In enacting ERISA, Congress
reserved to exclusive federal authority the regulation of the field
of employee benefit plans. Shaw, 463 U.S. at 120. In drawing
upon the analysis of McCarran-Ferguson, the court of appeals
properly distinguished the hospital surcharge from the “business

$

Moreover, the District Court properly concl.uded—and
the court of appeals did not question—that those portions
of the 13% surcharge referring to self-funded plans could
not possibly fall within the scope of the “saving” clause
because self-funded plans do not engage in the “business
of insurance” as a matter of law.*®

D. ERISA’s “Deemer” Clause Also Bars The Chal-
lenged State Law.

The contention that the 13% surcharge is saved from
preemption even in the case of self-funded plans ignores
this Court’s recent ruling in FMC Corp., 498 U.S. at 61
(the “deemer clause” exempt[s] self-funded ERISA plans
from state laws regulating insurance). The “deemer
clause” limits the scope of the “saving” clause by requiring
that an employee benefit plan “shall [not] be deemed to
be an insurance company or other insurer . . . engaged
in the business of insurance . . . for purposes of any law
of any state purporting to regulate insurance companies
[or] insurance contacts.” 29 U.S.C. § 1144(b)(2)(B).

In explaining the “deemer” clause’s operation, this Court
has held that it exempts self-funded ERISA plans from
state laws that otherwise “regulate insurance” within the
meaning of the “saving” clause, FMC Corp., 498 U.S. at
61; Metropolitan Life, 471 U.S. at 724.°

of insurance,” stating that: 3]jecause the sucharges expressly
regulate hospital rates they relate only to the contractual obliga-
tions between hospitals and insurers or insureds, but do not directly
implicate the policy relationship between insurers and their in-
sureds.” Pet. App. A-29.

8 Indeed, even prior to the passage of ERISA, state courts
understood that an employer who self-funds health benefits is not
in the “insurance business” because the risk of loss for health
benefits is retained by the employer. Farmer v. Monsanto Co.,
517 S.W. 2d 129 (Mo. 1974).

® Petitioners all but ignore the likely consequences of the hospital
surcharges on self-funded plans, suggesting that since no self-

10

It is well settled that where, as in the deemer provision,
“Congress explicitly enumerates certain exceptions to a gen-
eral prohibition, additional exceptions are not to be im-
plied, in the absence of a contrary legislative intent.”
Andrus v. Glover Construction Co., 446 U.S. 608, 616-17
(1980). That contrary intent is not to be found in the
legislative history of ERISA. Instead, ERISA and its leg-
islative history explicitly—indeed, unqualifiedly—show that
Congress knew exactly what it wanted to accomplish in
29 U.S.C. § 1144(b)(2)(B) to prevent the savings clause
from leading to a characterization of employee benefit
plans as insurance companies—and used unmistakably
plain language to achieve that objective. Thus, any con-
tention that ERISA does not insulate self-funded plans
from state regulation not only ignores the plain language
of the “deemer” clause,° but also the great weight of
authority upon which the self-insurance industry has

relied.”

funded ERISA plan is among the plaintiffs in this action, questions
concerning the “deemer” clause are not presented by this case.
We disagree. As argued by the respondents in their brief, this case
does raise important questions concerning application of the N.Y.
statute to self-funded plans. SIIA, therefore, fully endorses the
respondents arguments on this issue. It will not, however, repeat

those arguments.

10 Faced with a conflicting and uncertain basis for regulation
among the states, the “deemer” language was utilized to create
an irrebuttable presumption that these plans are not insurance trust
companies, etc., for purposes of state regulation. The irrebuttable
presumption would not be overcome even if an employee benefit
plan engages in activities which bring it within the insurance...
activities generally regulated by a state. Activity Report of the
Committee on Education and Labor, Rpt. No. 91-1785 (January 3,
1977) (emphasis added).

11 See Reilly v. Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Wisconsin, 846
F.2d 416 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 488 U.S. 856 (1988); Powell v.
Chesapeake & Potomac Tel. Co., 780 F.2d 419 (4th Cir. 1985),
cert. denied, 476 U.S. 1170 (1986); Children’s Hospital v. Whit-
comb, 778 F.2d 239 (5th Cir. 1985) ; Standard Oil of California v.
Agsalud, 633 F.2d 760 (9th Cir. 1980), aff'd mem., 454 U.S. 801

11

Il. THE HOSPITAL SURCHARGE LAW WILL AD-
VERSELY AFFECT SELF-FUNDED HEALTH
PLANS AND THEIR PARTICIPé.NTS.

A. Plan Choices of Arrangements For Providing
Health Benefits Will Be Affected.

The hospital surcharges will impact on the ability of
ERISA plans to select the form of health care arrange-
ments which are most appropriate for plan participants
and beneficiaries. ERISA plans have the choice of pro-
viding health coverage through: (1) the purchase of
commercial health insurance from an insurer; (2) self-
insurance, whereby the employer-sponsored plan is di-
rectly responsible for health care bills; (3) subscription
with a health maintenance organization; and (4) a non-
profit health service corporation, such as Blue Cross/Blue
Shield plans. The hospital surcharges affect ERISA plans
significantly and immediately—and not in a “remote and
tenuous” manner—because they directly affect plan
choices of the above options. The surcharges impact on
the price of hospital services paid by ERISA plans (mis-
takenly described by petitioners as “an indirect and solely
economic impact,”) and are designed to make these plans
less attractive than the Blues. As the Second Circuit
noted, the surcharges “were designed to induce ERISA
plans to switch their hospital coverage from commercial
insurers to the Blues.” (Pet. App. A-29.) Insofar as
the New York law is designed to “level the playing field”
between the Blues and competing plans it has the effect

(1981) ; Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Barnes, 571 F.2d 502 (9th Cir.),
cert. denied, 489 U.S. 831 (1987).

12The New York hospital surcharges on commercial insurers,
self-funded plans, and HMOs are designed to offset higher costs
in Blue Cross plans with higher risk enrollees. “[E]mployers
argue that such surcharges essentially make them pay twice for
health care benefits—once for their own employees and a second
time, through the surcharges, to subsidize uncompensated care.”
Geisel, Health Care Law and Disorder, Business Insurance, No-
vember 28, 1994 at 1.

"f2

of influencing the most fundamental choice to be made by
plans—selection of the most desirable and effective
method for providing and funding health benefits.

B. Health Plan Costs Will Increase Or Benefit Levels
Will Be Reduced.

In enacting ERISA, Congress helped foster the favor-
able legal regulatory environment“ that has resulted in
the phenomenal growth of self-funded plans.“ This
growth also reflects recognition of self-insurance as a
viable alternative to conventional insurance for funding
health benefits, and as a cost-efficient method of providing
expanded benefit coverage during a period of rapidly
escalating health costs.”

18 As reflected in the congressional findings and declaration of
policy, Congress drafted ERISA to carry forward public policy
interests which included the following: (1) encourage the growth
and development of a system of cost-effective employee benefit plans
and (2) protect interstate employers and plans from inconsistent
state and local regulation by providing for uniform federal law to
govern employee benefits. 29 U.S.C. §§ 1001(a) and (b).

14 According to a recent survey, 67 percent of employers of all
sizes surveyed in 1992 self-fund their group health plans, up from
52% in 1989. A. Foster Higgins & Company, Health Care Survey
(1992).

18 Self-insurance is an important—and often-used—option for
the thousands of employers who provide health benefits to their
employees. Self-funding of plans provides employers flexibility
to design and administer health plans to meet specific employee
needs. It also provides cash flow advantages and freedom from
costly state regulation. Moreover, employers who self-insure gain
the financial advantage of the time-value of their capital assets.
Since medical claims are paid by employers as they are submitted,
firm assets can ¥e retained by the employer. These unique charac-
teristics and the favorable legal regulatory environment fostered
by ERISA have contributed significantly to the dramatic expansion
of self-insured health plans in this country in recent years. More
than 50% of the U.S. workforce covered by group health plans
participate in self-funded plans. HCFA Review, Self-Insured
Health Plans, Vol. 8 No. 2 (1986).

‘13
important factor which has contributed to this
is

the flexibility of employers within the present
administer self-funded

i
He
é.

can be used to pay enhanced benefits.”*

The surcharges will, however, result in increased hos-
pital expenses for patients covered by employer sponsored
health plans other than the Blues, thus increasing the
cost of plans competing with the Blues. Requiring plans

choice but to restrict payments for expenses related to
hospital stays or to eliminate or restrict coverage for other
benefits such as vision and dental care. In other cases,
in order to maintain current benefit coverages and levels,
higher plan costs necessarily will be shifted to plan par-
ticipants in the form of higher co-payments and larger
deductibles. Thus, the hospital surcharges not only
interfere with the benefit structure of ERISA plans, but
also affect the financial basis upon which such plans are
established and maintained.

C. The Administrative Burdens of Operating ERISA
Plans Will Increase.

The New York hospital surcharge law currently affects
the administration of both insured and self-insured plans.
Based on plan terms and conditions, health plans cus-

1% In 1990, employees that self-insured health benefits reported
much smaller cost increases than employers who purchased health
plans from commercial insurers. Plan costs for self-funded em-
ployers rose 17.6% in 1990 to an average of $2,587 per employee
from $2,200 in 1989. By contrast, costs for insured health plans
jumped 22.7% in 1990 to an average of $2,608 per employee from
$2,125 in 1989. A. Foster Higgins, supra, note 14.

14

tomarily provide reimbursement for “medically necessary”
expenses such as the hospital stay, supplies, prescriptions,
and other services. Tax assessments and fees included on
hospital bills over and above the charge for covered ex-
penses are normally treated as “excluded” items and are
not reimbursable under plan terms. Since assessments
such as the New York surcharges are usually included as
a component of specific hospital expenses (i.e., a $250/
day hospital rate would generally include a 13% sur-
charge which is built into the rate), plan administrators
are required to incur substantial costs to process (i.e. to
recalculate) millions of hospital rate charges submitted
annually on benefit claims forms. For example, these
time consuming calculations—an integral component of
plan administration—require costly adjustments to com-
puter programs utilized by claims processors to handle
snatieth aia

Moreover, written notices and other communications
with plan participants which provide an explanation of
items excluded from hospital bills also affect plan admin-
istration, to say nothing of the resulting negative implica-
tions on relationships between plans and their partici-
pants. In sum, the imposed surcharges place significant
administrative costs and other burdens on plans which
must comply with the state statute.

Finally, another effect of allowing hospital surcharges
to be imposed on ERISA plans is the increased complex-

is customary for hospitals to require an assignment

by patients to third party payors for direct reimbursement of

expenses, this practice adds an additional administrative com-
the

:
.
:

on —

15

likely to enact such statutes, while others will choose not
to do so. Monitoring and compliance with varying and
often inconsistent state statutes will create significant new
administrative burdens. Instead of promoting order and
greater uniformity, greater fragmentation and confusion
will result, particularly for large employers which operate
in many states.
CONCLUSION

Inclusion of a broad preemption provision in ERISA
was designed by Congress to displace state laws, primarily
because of the increasingly interstate nature of employee
benefit plans and the often conflicting state standards
applicable to such plans. To limit the breadth of the
preemption provision in connection with state hospital
surcharge laws that significantly affect ERISA plans
would close an important chapter in the development of
ERISA’s preemption policy and open a new chapter with
adverse implications for employee benefit plans. In sum,
failure to uphold the Second Circuit’s decision will open
the door for state legislatures to enact statutes which sig-
nificantly affect ERISA plans in flawed reliance on a
“law of general application” standard which would
threaten the very viability of ERISA plans and self-
insurance as an attractive alternative for providing health
benefits to millions of employees and their families.

Respectfully submitted,

GEORGE J. PANTOS

VEDDER, PRICE, KAUFMAN,
KAMMHOLZ & DAY

1600 M Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 828-5026

Counsel for Amicus Curiae

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0498%3A30. Public record. Not legal advice.
