# Amicus Curiae Brief — United States v. Mezzanatto

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0495%3A09

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1995
- **Citation:** 513 U.S. 196

## Text

MOTION FILED

JUL 1 1994
No. 93-1340

-. eg, tf the Supreme Court of the United States
= October Term 1993

United States of America, Petitioner
V.

Gary Mezzanatto, Respondent

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE AND THE
BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE IN
SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT

National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
California Attorneys for Criminal Justice

John J. Cleary, Attorney

Cleary & Sevilla

1010 Second Avenue, Suite 1010
San Diego, California 92101-4906
(619) 232-2222

No. 93-1340

In the Supreme Court of the United States
October Term 1993

United States of America, Petitioner
V.

Gary Mezzanatto, Respondent

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

APPLICATION FOR LEAVE TO FILE BRIEF
OF AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF THE
RESPONDENT

National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
California Attorneys for Criminal Justice

John J. Cleary
Cleary & Sevilla

1010 Second Avenue,
_ §uite 1010
San Diego, California
92101-4906
(619) 232-2222
Member of the Supreme Court Bar

APPLICATION FOR LEAVE TO FILE BRIEF OF
AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT BY
THE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF CRIMINAL
DEFENSE LAWYERS AND THE CALIFORNIA
ATTORNEYS FOR CRIMINAL JUSTICE

The National Association of Criminal Defense
Lawyers and the California Attorneys for Criminal Justice
request the Court leave to file the amicus brief in support
of respondent pursuant to Rule 37.4. The National
Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers is a national
organization composed of public and private criminal
defense lawyers whose work emphasis is in the area of
federal criminal defense.

The California Attorneys for Criminal Justice
(CACJ) is the second largest criminal defense
organization in the country. CACJ is a California non-
profit organization with approximately 2,700 dues paying
members, primarily criminal defense lawyers, both public
and private, who appear regularly in the state and federal
courts.

Previously, the amici had garnered permission to
file an amicus brief in support of the respondent from
both the Solicitor as well as the respondent. (See
footnote one to the amicus brief, and the copy of the
consent from the Solicitor.) However, just prior to our
filing this brief, the respondent informs us that he has
withdrawn his previously given consent, thus
necessitating this motion for leave to file the brief.

Respondent objects to our including within our
brief an important issue we believe inherent in the

1

question presented by the case, that is, whether the
record reflects any “waiver’ of rights by the respondent
prior to or during the pre-trial settlement discussions.
The amici believe that if the Court were to find that such
“waivers" are permissible prior to a settlement conference,
then no discussion of the question presented could
ensue without both analyzing the nature of admonitions
and waiver required as well as whether such waiver is
supported in this record.

Respondent does not wish this issue presented to
the Court, resulting in his withdrawal of consent to file
the attached brief on his behalf. We strongly believe the
issue we raise concerning respondent's non-waiver of
rights supports respondent and in no way detracts from
his other arguments.

That this issue must be confronted in any analysis
of the question in this case is manifest. Indeed, because
this record contains nothing approaching a waiver of
rights,’ the Court may elect to dismiss this case as
improvidently granted because the record will not support
addressing, except as an advisory opinion, the merits of
the question presented. See Monrosa v. Carbon Black,
Inc., 359 U.S. 180, 184 (1959 ).

As we explain in our brief (pp. 27-30), the
Government has the burden to show that a waiver of
rights was made by respondent prior to the settlement
conference and that it was knowing, intelligent and

" "[Clourts indulge every reasonable presumption against waiver’ of
fundamental constitutional rights." Carniey v. Cochran, 369 U.S.
506, 514 (1962); quoting from Johnson v. Zerbst, 304 U.S. 458,
464-465 (1938).

voluntary. Town of Newton v. Rumery, 480 U.S. 386,
397-398, 399 (1987). Yet, the trial record shows only that
respondent and the one agent to the settiement interview
testified conceming this issue. Nothing respondent
testified to could in the least support either an
understanding of the dangers of making statements, the
constitutional rights which were being sacrificed, or any
knowing and intelligent waiver of those rights.

The Government agent merely testified that the
prosecutor told respondent at the start of the meeting
that if respondent took the stand at trial anything that he
might say at the meeting could be “brought up in a trial
setting." J.A. 97. The agent also testified that respondent
was told that if respondent lied, he would be charged
with false statements. He was told of some Kastigar
matter of which the agent did not recall the details. J.A.
96-97. The agent then moved on to recite what
statements respondent made about the drugs charges.
JA. 97.

Nothing in the agents’ trial testimony shows that
the respondent either received proper wamings,
understood those warnings or knowingly waived them.
A mere admonishment is not a waiver. J.A. 83.

Because the record shows no proper admonition,
or waiver or affirmative agreement to the conditions of the
meeting, this Court has no “waiver issue to assess. Cf.
Boykin v. Alabama, 395 U.S. 238 (1969) (courts cannot
assume from a silent record that a guilty plea had been
voluntarily made or that constitutional rights have been
freely and intelligently waived).

As we note in our brief, the waiver issue in this

3

context is particularly delicate given the dramatic
imbalance of power in the negotiations, the ex parte
nature of the discussions, and the unilateral post-
conference power of the prosecution to inform the
defendant that the Government deems his previously-
made statements false with the consequence that the
statements given may now be used as evidence against
him.

Assuming as a matter of policy this Court permits
“waivers” in settlement negotiations, given the noted
non-reported) nature of these conferences, any “waiver”
must be unequivocally clear and with full disclosure of
fact that the defendant may well be incriminating himself
without the slightest guarantee that his statements will not
be used against him later at atrial. -

Uniess this brief is filed, an important issue
contained within the question presented may go
unaddressed by the parties. We ask leave to file the
attached brief.

DATED: July 1, 1994 John J. Cleary
for the amici
Member of Supreme Court Bar

No. 93-1340

In the Supreme Court of the United States
October Term 1993

United States of America, Petitioner
V.

Gary Mezzanatto, Respondent

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE IN
SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT

National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
California Attorneys for Criminal Justice

John J. Cleary, Attorney

Cleary & Sevilla

1010 Second Avenue, Suite 1010
San Diego, California 92101-4906

(619) 232-2222

TABLE OF CONTENTS

INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE............ 1
ADDITIONAL CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS ... 3
STATEMENT OF THE CASE ............50065 4
Supplemental Statement of Facts ....... 4
ARGUMENT ........ cece eee ceccccececees 10
Congress Established A “Free Zone" in
Settlement Negotiations ......... 10

Prosecutorial Primacy in Federal Sentencing:
the Motion to Depart for Substantial
Assistance .........0.eeeeeees 13

Pilea Negotiations in Federal Courts .... 16

Waiver of Congressional Protection of
Settlement Discussions in Criminal
Cases is a General Public Concern,
Rather than a Private Concern, and is
Invalid as Contrary to Public Policy.. 20

Benefit without Bargaining: Post-indictment
Interrogation under Guise of Settlement
1B EIST. coccccccceccecceveces 24

Preclusion of Prosecution Exploitation of
Inconsistencies Will Not Create a
Defendant’s "Right to Lie’. ....... 27

The Government Failed to Prove That There
Was Any Waiver for Impeachment, That
it Was Knowingly and intelligently Made,
or That it Was Voluntary ......... 27

GESTS cc cccceccesecseseccocoeces 30

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES

Arizona v. Fulminante, 499 U.S. 279 (1991) . 30
Boykin v, Alabama, 395 U.S. 238(1969). .... 2
Brewer v. Williams, 430 U.S. 387 (1977) . . 25
Brooklyn Savings Bank v, O'Neil, 324 U.S. 697 (1945) 22
Bruno v. Rushen, 721 F.2d 1193 (9th Cir. 1983). . 12
Chapman v. United States, 111 S. Ct. 1919 (1991) . 15
Cooper v. Dupnik, 963 F.2d 1220 (9th Cir. 1992) . . 26
Harris v. New York, 401 U.S. 222(1971). . . . . .26
Jencks v. United States, 353 U.S. 657 (1957)... .. 17
Kastigar v. United States, 406 U.S. 441 (1972) . . . 9
Katz v. United States, 389 U.S. 347 (1967) . . 20
Kuhiman v. Wilson, 477 U.S. 436 (1986) . ... . 25
Maine v. Moulton, 474 U.S. 159(1985). ... . .25
Malloy v. Hogan, 378 U.S. 1(1964). .. . .
Massiah v. United States, 377 U.S. 201 (1964) . .. B
McNeil v. Wisconsin, 111 S. Ct. 2204 (1991). . 25
Mincey v. Arizona, 437 U.S. 385 (1978). . . . 30
Mistretta v. United States, 488 U.S. 361 (1989) . . 15
North Carolina v. Alford, 400 U.S. 25 (1970). . . .2, 16
Oregon v. Haas, 420 U.S.714(1975) .. .. . .26
Newton v. Rumery, 480 U.S. 386 (1987) . . . 21, 27
United States v. Gordon, F.3d , 1994 WL

135383 (11th Cir. No. 93-6207 4 May ee 19
United States v. Henry, 447 U.S. 264(1980) . .. . 25
United States v. Keene, 933 F.2d 711 (9th Cir. 1991). 19
United States v. Prantil, 756 F.2d 759 (9th Cir. 1985). 8
Wade v. United States, 112 S. Ct. 1840 (1992). . 2, 8, 16

STATUTES

18 U.S.C. 3553(e) .
18U.S.C.3600. . .

18 U.S.C. 4205(a) [repealed] .
18 U.S.C. 4205(b) (b) —:
18U.S.C.3583 . . .
18 U.S.C. 3624(e) . .

21 U.S.C. 841(a)(1) .

21 U.S.C. 841(b)(1)(A) .

21 U.S.C. 843(b).

21U.S.C. 844 . .

28 U.S.C.994(d). . .

28 U.S.C. 2072, 2073.

42 U.S.C. 1983

FEDERAL RULES

Fed. R. Crim. P. 11(e)(6) .
Fed. R. Crim. P. 32.1.

Fed. R. Crim. P. 35(b) [repealed & present]

Fed. R. Crim. P. 12(i).
Fed. R. Crim. P. 26.2.
Fed. R. Evid. 201.
Fed. R. Evid. 410.

.2, 8, 16

310

INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE’

The National Association of Criminal Defense
Lawyers is the national organization of public and private
criminal defense lawyers with emphasis on federal
criminal practice. The Califomia Attorneys for Criminal
Justice (CACU*) is the second largest criminal defense
organization in the country.

Both organizations are concerned about the forced
waiver of the defendant's rights as an incident of plea
bargaining in the federal courts. Given the shift of
sentencing power to the prosecutor under the Sentencing
Guidelines, the amici are concerned about the ability of
the Government to extract informal ‘waivers" of
constitutional rights at the outset of a prosecution in
settlement negotiations. This situations is so fraught with
the potential for abuse, it is why, as a matter of public
policy, Congress prohibited the evidentiary use of
Statements made during settlement discussions.

Today in federal plea bargaining, the Sentencing
Reform Act of 1984 and draconian minimum mandatory
sentences force the accused federal defendant to con-

* Letters of consent to file this brief have been lodged with the Clerk
of the Court pursuant to Rule 37.3.

* This 34-year-old District of Columbia non-profit corporation has a
membership of 8,000 lawyers and 28,000 affiliate members. It is an
affiliate of the American Bar Association.

* CAC is a California non-profit organization with approximately 2,700

dues paying members, primarily criminal defense lawyers, both public
and private, who appear regularly in the state and federal courts.

1

sider and enter into settlement negotiations. This is so
even for the innocent. North Carolina v. Alford, 400
U.S. 25 (1970). Such "settlement negotiations” currently
take place on a nor-level playing field, in which the
federal prosecutor determines the sentence. Only
prosecution-approved “cooperation™ will be the basis for
the award of a sentence less than statutory minimum
mandatories or a basis for a downward departure. The
prosecution's conditioning participation in settlement on
waiver of basic rights provides neither a voluntary waiver
nor free consent.

In this case, the record shows no attempt by the
Government to fulfill its burden to show waiver of consti-
tutional or statutory rights by respondent. If the Govern-
ment is to be deemed able to extract and use at trial
evidence garnered in settlement discussions, the waiver
of constitutional and statutory rights must be explicit. It
does not exist in this case.

Approximately 90 per cent of all federal criminal
cases are resolved by pleas of guilty. The settlement
process is not one of choice. Because defense counsel
must explore the options to litigation, rules established by
Congress protect this process from exploitation. In any
negotiation, much is unknown, and there may be misun-
derstandings in need of clarification and re-evaluations
based on proffers. To work, the process has to foster an
atmosphere of open-ended “give-and-take." The

“ Even if a defendant provides “substantial assistance” in cooperation
against another, the prosecutor need not make the requisite motion
(18 U.S.C. 3553(e)) to permit the court to impose a sentence less than
the Guidelines or the minimum mandatory. Wade v. United States,
112 S.Ct. 1840 (1992).

“negotiation” cannot be converted into a device for an
extended interrogation by the prosecution agents in
order to obtain information for use at trial. To entice a
defendant into settlement discussions which serve as a
battleground for an eventual evidentiary ambush at trial,
makes the defendant a compelled adverse witness
against himself in violation of the Fifth Amendment.

Further, basic due process and equality of
negotiation position cannot be waiveable without making
the process completely unfair. The Ninth Circuit majority
opinion was correct as a matter of law and policy, a
policy dictated by Congress in the promulgation of the
Rules.* Those Rules create a fair balance in the negotia-
tion process and so encourage settlement.

ADDITIONAL CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS:

Fifth Amendment: . . . “nor shall [any person] be com-
pelied in a criminal case to be a witness against himself,
nor be deprived of life, liberty, or property, without due
process of law;....

* The two rules, Fed. R. Crim. Proc. 11(e)(6) and Fed. R. Evid. 410,
were promulgated by Congress under its constitutional authority to
constitute tribunals inferior to this Court (Article |, Section 8, clause 9)
and the “necessary and proper” clause. The district court criminal and

proceedings, should not be eroded by an analogy to this Court's
primacy in the interpretation of the rights of individuals under the

E. Cleary, Preliminary Notes on Reading the Rules of
L. Rev. 908, 910 (1978).

!

3

Sixth Amendment: ‘in all criminal prosecutions, the
accused shall enjoy the right . . . to have the assistance
of counsel for his defense."

STATEMENT OF THE CASE >
Supplemental Statement of Facts’
The attorney who represented respondent at the

pre-trial post-indictment interview was not the same
attorney who represented him at trial. J.A. 40.

Trial Testimony

At trial the respondent, an unemployed electrician,
testified in his own behalf. J.A. 14-38, 14-15. Respondent
was hired by Gordon Shuster to do some electrical work
and became his on-call handyman. J.A. 19-20. Shuster
told respondent he was a shipbuilder and a special agent
for the CIA who made plastic explosives.”

° An amplified statement of the facts setting forth the order of
evidence at trial is necessary to demonstrate that the “settlement
interview” was not for a resolution of the case or the exploration of the
“substantial assistance in the investigation or prosecution of another
person,” but a planned interrogation that could be successfully
exploited at trial pitting the agent’s recollection of the events against
that of respondent.

’ The court sustained the prosecution’s objection, on relevancy
grounds, to the presentation of defense witnesses Bernard and Lorene
Cook, who would have testified that Shuster had also told them that
he was making explosives on his property. J.A 86-90, 92-94. The
statements were not offered for the truth of the matter, but to
corroborate the challenged statemant of the respondent that he
believed Shuster’s operation involved explosives, not drugs.

4

ae Oe te Bl

Respondent testified that on the day of his arrest,
1 August 1991, he had a pager that Shuster had in-
structed him to buy so he could be contacted for work.
J.A. 29. Shuster advised him not to have it registered in
his own name because of their connection, and respon-
dent later wrote to the pager company giving them the
name of a fictitious purchaser. J.A. 31.

On 1 August 1991, respondent answered a page
from Shuster who asked him to bring him a sealed and
stapled brown mailer package that Shuster had given
respondent the day before. J.A. 29-32. He was reluctant
to comply because of a prior commitment, but agreed
when Shuster offered him $1,300 for the delivery. J.A. 32-
34. Respondent met Shuster, who had been arrested
earlier that day, at a restaurant. Shuster was now acting
as an informant for the agents. An undercover officer,
posing as Shuster’'s friend, was also there. J.A. 34-35, 36.
Shuster asked him if he had the stuff. Respondent said
the package was in his car. J.A. 35. Shuster suggested
that they check out the stuff. J.A. 36. The officer stated,
“Stuff looks real good and clean," apparently to Shuster.
J.A. 37. Respondent, referring to a glass pipe in the
ashtray, not the package, asked them if they wanted a
hit. J.A. 37. Respondent denied the testimony of the
agent who previously testified that respondent was trying
to get them to test the contents of the package or that he
wanted money to get another pound of drugs. J.A. 38.

One third of the cross-exenination of the respon-
dent by the prosecutor focused on his interview of
respondent in the U. S. Attomey’s Office before trial.
(Total cross: 36 pages. J.A. 38-73. Cross as to interview:
12 pages. J.A. 39-44, 61-67.) At the outset of cross-
examination, the prosecutor inquired about respondent's

meeting with two agents and himself. JA. 39-40.
Respondent stated that at the meeting he knew that
Shuster and Uncle Bob were trafficking in meth-
amphetamine and that he pickes up the package of
methamphetamine on the day of the arrest from Uncle
Bob. J.A. 41-42. When asked whether he stated the
package contained methamphetamine, he testified he
was unaware of it at the time he delivered it. JA. 42. He
denied telling the prosecutor that he dealt in ounce
quantities of methamphetamine prior to his arrest, but
testified that he had told them that the largest amount he
had known to be in transactions were ounces. J.A. 43.
During the interview he stated that although he never
dealt in methamphetamine, he previously had smoked it.
JA. 44.

Redirect examination of the respondent was
devoted almost entirely to the interview with the prosecu-
tor and the agents.* J.A. 74-83. During the meeting, one
of the agents corrected the respondent's error in thinking
he was facing a minimum mandatory five-year sentence.
Rather, he told respondent it was a ten-year minimum

» Ten eee ee

sentencing guidelines, the judge had no contro! over it.”
J.A. 78-79. The atmosphere of the settlement interview
was “intimidating [and] unfriendly." J.A. 79. One agent
called him a liar and accused him of lying about picking
up the package from Uncle Bob, and respondent
admitted that statement was false at the interview. J.A.
80-81. According to respondent, the prosecutor termi-
mated the interview. JA. 81. Respondent, in his /ast
@mswer On re-direct, testified that on the day of his arrest
the did not know what the package contained."° J.A 83.

in rebuttal, the Government called Agent Moreland,

mandatory sentence. 22 Oct 91 R.T. 2-3, 6-9. This judge confirmed
at a court hearing what the prosecutor told respondent — that only the
Government could influence the amount of the sentence: “First of all,
the reason you have plea bargaining is because the Government is in
@ position to manipulate under the Guidelines what the sentence -—

manipulate the mandatory minimum. That's all there is to it." 22 Oct
91 R.T. 9; JA 79.

i iew.”* 06. The
who had been present at the interview. J.A. 95-106.
agent testified that respondent and his attorney had

minutes, total. J.A. 96. Respondent was told that he had
to provide information, that he had to be truthful, that he
could be subject to being charged with false statements,
that if he told one thing at one time and something
contradictory at a later time, that could be brought up in
a trial setting, that if he pleaded guilty, he would receive
some consideration for any truthful information, that if any
information he supplied could be used at a later date he

: call the

"’ afer this witness testified, respondent's attorney asked to
Se oueasel — a. anes 4a 18
lawyer [for the Government J. .
oor of a material witness was violated

another prosecutor to avoid the trial attorney being called as a
me United States v. Prantil, 756 F.2d 759 (9th Cir. 1985).

2 Section 3553(e) of Tite 18 provides: "Upon motion of the
Government, the court shail have the authority to impose a sentence
below a level established by statute as a minimum sentence so as to

would be given consideration, and some reference about
a Kastigar meeting."® J.A. 96-97. According to Agent
Moreland, the prosecutor also told the respondent:
“that none of the information would be used against him

in [the] case in chief, only if he lied and took the stand."
JA. 97.

Respondent denied being apprised of the waiver
permitting his statements to be used for impeachment
purposes. The agent testified only as to the admonition
of the conditions of the interview, but never inquired
whether respondent understood those conditions or
waived any rights.“

Agent Moreland testified that during the interview
respondent started by telling him he had only dealt
ounce quantities prior to the meeting on 1 August. J.A.
97. He admitted knowing the package contained meth-
amphetamine, but said that this was the first time he ever
dealt a pound of methamphetamine. J.A. 98. Respon-
dent stated that he had obtained the pound from Uncle
Bob and did not know anything about the manufacturing.

"* The prosecutor had earlier stated to the judge: “And, third, we made

be to Kastigar v. United States, 406 U.S. 441 (1972),

Moreland testified that the agents thought respondent
was lying and confronted him. J.A. 98. They asked
respondent if his fingerprints were on any of the giass-
ware found at Shuster’s property, and he admitted that
he handied some of the glassware, heiped set it up, and
knew it was a methamphetamine lab." J.A. 98-99.
During the interview, respondent made no mention of
the CIA. J.A. 100.

ARGUMENT

Congress Established A "Free Zone” in Settlement
Negotiations

In 1972, the proposed Federal Rules of Evidence
contained a provision on the inadmissibility of settlement
discussions in a criminal case. Rule 410,"° established
a policy to encourage and protect settlement negotiations
to achieve resolution through compromise, “give and
take," of the majority of cases without formal time-con-
suming litigation.’ The Senate Report adopted a more
limited Government position that statements made in

"* The agent who made a report of the interview made no mention of
the question about fingerprints or respondent's alleged admissions
about the methamphetamine lab. J.A 101. When the agent made the
statement about the respondent’s fingerprints on the glass, he had
no knowledge of the results of any such test. J.A 102-3.

** Rule 410 is set forth in Petitioner's Brief, Appendix 1a-2a.

’ See Notes of the Advisory Committee on 1972 Proposed Rules
(West 1994 Federal Criminal Code and Rules 231): “As with
compromise offers generally, Rule 408, free communication is needed,
and security against having an offer of compromise or related
statement admitted in evidence effectively discourages it.

10

settlement agreements could be used for impeachment
purposes,”* as well as a prosecution for perjury, (No.
93-1277), 1974 Cong. & Admin. News 70*7-7058. By
contrast, the House Report would have preciuded their
use. The Conference Committee adopted the Senate
provision allowing a prosecution for perjury but only
under the most restrictive setting in which the statement
is made on the record, under oath, and with counsel. It
deferred implementation of this rule until the review and
adoption of Federal Rule of Criminal Procedure 11
(e)(6)."° In 1979 Congress clarified Rule 11(e)(6) and
Rule 410 by limiting the application of the rule to settie-
ment negotiations with prosecutors, thereby expressly
making it inapplicable to negotiations with agents. The
Note to the 1979 amendment stated “this history shows
the purpose of Fed. R. Evid. 410 and Fed. R. Crim. P.
11(@)(6) is to permit the unrestrained candor which
produces effective plea discussions” between the

"* The Government's position before Congress was a far more limited
impeachment request. As stated by Assistant Attorney General W.
Vincent Rakestraw: “While we agree that conversations occurring
during informal plea discussions should not be admissible in

parties. The Committee noted, “Moreover, by relating
the statements to ‘plea discussions’ rather than ‘an offer
to plead,’ the amendment ensures ‘that even an attempt
to open plea bargaining [is] covered under the same rule
of inadmissibility.’ United States v. Brooks, 536 F.2d
1137 (6th Cir. 1976)." The 1979 amendment then added
@ second exception ‘to the general rule of
nonadmissibility’: if part of the plea discussions are
properly before the court, then the remaining plea
discussions may be admissible.”

in summary, as a general rule, settlement negotia-
tions between the Government and the accused are
inadmissible. Congress specifically rejected the use of
the Senate’s proposal that such settlement negotiations
could be used to impeach the defendant.” The legisia-

* 1994 Federal Criminal Code and Rules (West) 48.
*" Ibid, 49.

* Settlement negotiations must be fair and, equally important, be
perceived as fair. If petitioner prevails in its position, the bargaining
process will be turned into a process for the accumulation of
devastating trial evidence. Both sides at the settlement table, armed
with tape recorders, wil be waiting for the other to make some
tactical blunder that could be used at trial. It would difficult to call this
a negotiating atmosphere. Wil a defendant be able to use at trial
staternents made by the agents or the prosecutors during negotiations
to show inconsistencies of position or weakness in the case?
Compare Bruno v. Rushen, 721 F.2d 1193, 1195 (9th Cir. 1963)
(prosecution misconduct suggests weakness in prosecution case).
These are the predictable absurdities which will ensue if petitioner's
position is adopted..

12

eee Se ee Pee eae

tie ati ie a

tive policy is clear and unequivocal.” Except for two
specified, narrow exceptions, settlement discussions
concerning issues of facts, assessment of witnesses,
anticipated legal rulings, probable outcome of the case
(a fact determination made by the jury), and possible
sentence, are inadmissible. Congress has made a
fundamental policy determination and expressly rejected
the exception for the purposes of impeachment of a
defendant at the time of trial.

Prosecutorial Primacy in Federal Sentencing: the
Motion to Depart for Substantial Assistance

Although Congress did not grant prosecutors the
right of impeachment of defendants with their settlement
Statements, Congress has dramatically increased the
power of prosecutors over sentencing. Prior to 1 Novem-
ber 1987, the effective date of the Sentencing Reform Act
of 1984, federal sentencing had a system of checks and
balances. The prosecutor, with the unlimited discretion to
charge offenses, could set the maximum penalty for the
misconduct. The prosecutor could recommend a specific
sentence to the court,** and in 90% of the cases that
recommendation was not exceeded by the judges and
most often followed by them. Under pre-Guidelines law,
the judge had unfettered discretion up to the Statutory
maximum, but had begun to use the Parole Guidelines,

* Petitioner's arguments should be addressed to the Congress or the
Rules Committee.

™ Fed. R. Crim Proc. 11(e)(1)(B).

13

an advisory sentencing matrix.” The judge was a check
on the sentencing power of the prosecutor. If the judge
was arbitrary and excessive, his sentencing decision was
subject to further review by the Parole Commission.
The judge within a short time after sentence was able to
reduce it.” The sentence a prisoner would serve was a
result of the interaction of the three agencies - prosecu-
tor, judge, and parole authority.

The Department of Justice proffered, and Con-
gress accepted, the limit on the discretion of judges at
sentencing and the abolition of parole. Congress had the
right to create a Sentencing Commission, narrow the
discretion of judges at sentencing, and abolish parole.

* Parole Guidelines are similar to Sentencing Guidelines, but not as
offense specific. They also considered age at first offense, drug
addiction, successful performance on probation or parole, and
confinement-free history. USPC Salient Factor Scoresheet.

=G , all were eligible to be paroled after completion
of — of + =e (18 U.S.C. 4205(a) [repealed]), and the
judge could make the prisoner immediately eligible for parole (18
U.S.C. 4205(b)(2) [repealed]).

” Prior to the Guidelines, judges were granted a second4ook and
opportunity to reduce the sentence imposed within 120 days of the
finality of the sentence and conviction (Fed. R. Crim. P. 35(b)
[repealed]). Now a reduction is permitted only if made on the motion
of the Government to reflect "defendant's subsequent, substantial assi-
stance in the investigation of another person.” Fed. R. Crim. P. 35(b).

* Although parole was abolished, Congress created its functional
equivalent named supervised release, which was added to the
sentence. If a violation occurs, the defendant answers to the court
rather than a parole authority. 18 U.S.C. 3583, 3624(e). Fed. R. Crim.
P. 32.1.

14

et OE Ae Tal et ee i tlie at

le ee ee ee ee ee Te eee er ee

oe

Mistretta v. United States, 488 U.S. 361 (1989). Al-
though Congress permitted the Sentencing Commission
to consider the defendant's age, education, mental and
emotional condition, physical condition, previous employ-
ment record, family ties and responsibilities, and commu-
nity ties,” the Sentencing Commission chose to exclude
these factors as irrelevant at sentencing.” The criteria
relevant to federal sentencing today are the nature of the
offense (which may be calculated from the amount of
contraband, i.e. Chapman v. United States, 500 US.
—__, 111 S.Ct. 1919 (1991), or money involved) and
criminal history.*" The elimination of parole and the
substantial curtailment of judicial discretion shifted the
sentencing power to the prosecutor, who still retains
control of sentencing by the charge filed or the charge to
which the defendant will plead guilty.** Under the new

* 28 U.S.C. 994(d). Prior to the Guidelines, these were the usual
factors set forth in the probation officer's presentence report to
provide a comprehensive view of the offender, as well as the offense.

and similar prior good works are not ordinarily relevant. §5H1.11._

*' The Sentencing Commission also lists role in the offense (§ SH1.7)
and dependence upon criminal activity for a livelihood (§ 5H1.9), but
the former relates to the offense and the latter to criminal history.

“ The Sentencing Guidelines do not affect the power of the
Prosecutor to manipulate the charge to a result he approves. A
common example is where a defendant, like respondent, charged
with one pound of methamphetamine faces a mandatory minimum

15

i tekeeper on
sentencing scheme, the prosecutor is the ga
sentence reductions below the Guidelines as well as

ISLA ITS ‘f1- -~1U%(-1h
and prosecution of another. 18 U.S.C 3553, U.S.S.G. §
5K1.1, and Fed. R. Crim. P. 35(b).

A competent federal defense lawyer must seek out
all options, cates avenues of disposition other than trial,
and persuade the prosecutor to make the requisite
motion, without which the cooperation is meaningless
because the court will not be able to consider it. Wade
y. United States, 112 S.Ct. 1840 (1992). Given the
nature of federal sentencing, defense counsel are
forced to seize upon the opportunity for cooperation,
even if the client protests his or her innocence. North
Carolina v. Alford, 400 U.S. 25, 37 (1970). if the lawyer
is to serve the best interest of the client, discussion with
the prosucutor about sentence is obligatory if there is any
chance the defendant will be convicted. The prosecutor
knows that the only “break” in mandatory minimum is in
“cooperation” and has absolute control over the award
of any sentencing departure. The prosecutor knows the
defendant and defense counsel must come to him to
discuss the case.

Plea Negotiations in Federal Courts

sentence (21 U.S.C. 841(b)(1)(A)(vill)). With the
see a of the prosecutor, he could plead guity to a telephone
count (use to facilitate a drug transaction) (21 U.S.C. 843(b)) with a

maximum exposure of four years confinement.
16

Most negotiations, like this case, occur after the
prosecutor has filed a complaint or returned an indict-
ment.” The defendant is fumished with discovery the
prosecutor is willing to part with, for under the law, the
prosecutor need not turn over statements of the witness,
and then only if they are substantially verbatim and
adopted by the witness, until that witness has testified at
trial.* Defense counsel must contact the prosecutor as
soon as possible, for the information his client may have
to offer could become stale or useless if already revealed
by co-defendants. In attempting a compromise short of
formal litigation, the negotiations are often completed
before the filing of motions to avoid unnecessary work.
Defense counsel is forced, often with only limited discov-
ery and little or no investigation, to explore quickly the
range of sentencing options; he is thus handicapped at
the outset of negotiations. Prosecutors are reluctant to
make a commitment until they have had an opportunity
to assess the value of the proffered cooperation. De
fense counsel and the prosecutor will usually discuss in
advance the nature of the cooperation and the individuals
about whom they seek information. it can be either
specific persons by name or other participants, i.e., the
supplier in this or other instances, buyers, sources,
information about other laboratories, transactions wit-

* 18 U.S.C. 3600 (‘The Jencks Act’, so named after Jencks v. United
States, 353 U.S. 657 (1957) (defense entitied to statements of

nessed, and even hearsay about other law violators.

Once the Government believes the proffer has
value, it arranges a scheduled “debriefing” with the
agents, either with or without the prosecutor. At this
"debriefing" the agents go into great detail searching for
every possible fact conceming the activities and identity
of the persons they will investigate or prosecute. Some-
times there are follow-up sessions where the agents want
clarification or seek additional information or assistance.”
lf a concem exists, the prosecutor or the agents may
obtain a sworn statement (i,e., @ written statement made
under oath, or a deposition before a court reporter) or the
prosecutor may take the cooperating defendant before
the grand jury to "lock in* his or her testimony against a
later change of heart.

The Government generally gives no commitnent
on the extent of a downward departure,” for the presecu-
tor reserves the right to not only evaluate the nature of
the cooperation about others but retains the right to
determine its authenticity. After the debriefing(s) and
other assistance, the defendant will enter a plea usually
pursuant to a written plea agreement. Left unti! the time
of sentencing is the prosecution decision on whether the
Government will make a motion for departure or provide
any other favorable sentence recommendation.

* The agents will often ask the cooperating defendant to testify or
work undercover to earn “substantial assistance” for making other
cases.

* In this case, the agent at the interview suggested a possible
sentence or sentence reduction of two years (JA 77) without
knowing what type of information the respondent would furnish.

18

Under the Guidelines, the sentencing procedure is
protracted, and sentencing wil! occur not less than eleven
weeks after the plea of guilty is entered.” In many
instances, the prosecutor reserves the right to make the
motion for cooperation or substantial assistance and the
amount to be credited below the Guidelines or the
minimum mandatory sentence.” The prosecutor will
have substantial time to evaluate the cooperation, and if
misied, may withdraw from any commitment to making
the motion for a departure for cooperation. if the
prosecutor concludes the defendant was = untruthful
during the debriefing, there are other remedies available
other than allowing the inconsistent statements to be

— impeachment when the defendant testifies at

* in the Southern District of California, which is typical of other district
courts, sentencing is scheduled at least 11 weeks after the plea of
Quilty is entered or the verdict or finding of guilt are returned. U.S.
Dist Ct. So. Dist. Calif. General Order 350, dated 16 Mar 93. See
Fed. R. Evid. 201(Judicial Notice).

* if the prosecutor makes the motion, the court may go below the

level or reduction proposed by the prosecutor. United States v.
Keene, 933 F.2d 711 (9th Cir. 1991).

gn A py thy yn F.3d , 1994 WL 135383 (11th Cir.
. 93-620 (defendant's tying during plea agreement
exempted Government from making the motion for departure for
cooperation). The Government's claim that k needs a sanction for the
dishonest “cooperator (Pet. Brief 27) is greatly overstated. Not only
may the Government withdraw from any commitment to move for a
reduction of sentence, but may seek an increased sentence for
obstruction of justice. § 3C1.1.

19

Waiver of Congressional Protection of Settlement
Discussions in Criminal Cases is a General Public
Concern, Rather than a Private Concern, and is invalid
as Contrary to Public Policy.

Not every right may be waived. The Government
should not be able to extract from a criminal defendant
a waiver of the Constitutional protection against cruel and
unusual punishment (Eighth Amendment) or the free-
doms of speech or religion (First Amendment), which are
fundamental protection of society as a whole rather than
limited to the individual holder of the right. The Fourth
Amendment right of privacy consists of two components:
the individual’s expectation of privacy and that which
society deems as a reasonable expectation of privacy.“
The individual may consent to the intrusion of his per-
sonal right of privacy, but his action could not control
what society deems as reasonable, nor could the individ-
ual waive the societal standard of reasonableness so as
to make an otherwise unlawful search valid. Also, the
primary focus of Fourth Amendment protects the individ-
ual from Government intervention, rather than the public
generally. Each Amendment, like each statute, must be
evaluated on its own to determine the public and private
interest protected. The public interest in freedom of
religion and speech and freedom from cruel and unusual
punishment is of paramount concem, for these rules
define who we are as a society. Because of the para-

” The definition now adopted by the court was formulated by Justice
Harlan in his concurring opinion in Katz v. United States, 389 U.S.
347, 361 (1967): *[T}here is a twofold requirement, first that a person
have exhibited an actual (subjective) expectation of privacy and,
second, that the expectation be one that society is prepared to
recognize as ‘reasonable.

20

mount public interest, a waiver of these rights
individual would be invalid. . adeg

The Government, as well as the dissenting judge
below, placed great weight (Pet. Brief 8, 22, 26, 32) on
Town of Newton v. Rumery, 480 U.S. 386 (1987),*’ in
which a knowledgeable defendant in a criminal case after
careful deliberation waived his potential civil rights action
(42 U.S.C. 1983) in return for the dismissal of the criminal
charge. The Court carefully noted this was the surrender
of an uncertain civil judgment in return for a guaranteed
dismissal of the criminal case. Justice O’Connor noted:
“The legitimacy of plea bargaining depends in large mea-
sure upon eliminating extraneous considerations from the
process. [Citations omitted.] No court would knowingly
permit a prosecutor to agree to accept a defendant's plea
to a lesser charge in exchange for the defendant's cash
payment to the police officers who arrested him." 480
U.S. at 400-401. The waiver agreement was written by the
defendant's attorney and considered by him three days
before he signed it. 480 U.S. at 394. The Court noted that
although this release-agreement did not take place under
judicial supervision, plea bargaining generally is subject
to judicial supervision which serves to insulate it from
prosecutorial abuse. 480 U.S. at 400. Because the
majority acknowledged the existence of frivolous civil
rights complaints, there may be a public interest favoring
release agreements. Justice Powell's opinion made it

*' Justice Powell wrote the plurality opinion indicating that Congress
gave the individual the right under 42 U.S.C. 1963, not the public
generally. 480 U.S. at 395. Justice O'Connor wrote the decisive
concurring opinion emphasizing the Government had the burden to
prove “the agreement is neither involuntary nor the product of an
abuse of the criminal process.” 480 U.S. at 399. (Emphasis added.)

21

clear that the resolution affected release of a civil case,
and that this was not a criminal case. 480 U.S. at 397 n.
8.

The most obvious difference between Rumery and
this case is that Congress created an individual right in
42 U.S.C. 1983, but it established a process of settlement
negotiations that governed both the Government and all
defendants prohibiting the use of statements made
during those discussions. The settlement rules apply to
both parties, prosecution and defense, and it was
primarily to protect the process from abuse that caused
Congress to not permit negotiation statements from being
used for impeachment.

An apt analogy is the employer-employee relation-
ship conceming the Congressional regulation of that
superior-inferior relationship. The Government, even
more than the employer, has absolute contro! over the
sentence, and deals with individual defendants one at a
time, unlike the employer whose authority can be coun-
tered by collective bargaining. The Fair Labor Standards
Act of 1938 imposed minimum wages for covered
employees and established liquidated damages against
employers for violations. In Brooklyn Savings Bank v.
O'Neill, 324 U.S. 697 (1945), an employee was given a
check for $423.16 for overtime and as a release for any
claim against the employer bank for liquidated damages.
The Court stated the general principle concerning the
waiver of rights created by Congress:

it has been held in this and other courts that a

statutory right conferred on a private party, but
affecting the public interest, may not be waived or
released if such waiver contravenes the statutory

22

policy. 324 U.S. at 704.

That statute recognized the unequal power of the em-
ployer and employee (324 U.S. at 706-707), much as the
Fed. R. Crim. Proc. 11(e) recognizes the power of the
prosecutor in making non-binding (11(@)(1)(8)) or binding
sentencing recommendations (11(e)(1)(C)).“ The Court
emphasized the unavailability of waiver:

Neither the petitioner nor respondent suggests that
the right to the basic statutory minimum wage
could be waived by any employer subject to the
Act. No one can doubt but that to allow waiver of
Statutory wages would nullify the purposes of the
Act . 327 U.S. at 707.

Substitute Government or prosecutor for employer, and
settlement negotiations for statutory wages, and the
public policy prohibition of waiver of the minimum wage
- @ protection against the abuse of the unequal
bargaining positions of the parties— applies to preciude
waiver of rules that further settlement discussions in
criminal cases.

The power and superior bargaining position of the
prosecutor leads inexorably to the extraction of other un-
reasonable waivers because of the defendant's compul-
sion to seek alleviation from the Guidelines or statutory
minimums. in this case respondent apparently gave up

“ Under Fed. R. Crim. Proc. 11(e)(1)(C) the court may reject the
semtence agreed to by both parties, but then must permit the
defendamt to withdraw the plea of guilty. This rarely occurs. The
prosecutor may also dismiss charges (11(e)(1)(A)), to which the court
usually acquiesces.

23

his Kastigar rights. Thus, even if the privilege against
self-incrimination was violated by coercion, the Govern-
ment precluded any inquiry as to the use or derivative
use of the improper statements secured. What is to pre-
clude the prosecutor from demanding from a defendant
and the defense lawyer that in order to enter into § 5K1.1
negotiations, the defendant would have to give up the
right to trial by jury or any hearsay objection short of a
Confrontation Clause violation.” The right to trial by jury
may be surrendered in open court after a careful exami-
nation of the options, which would be subject to judicial
scrutiny. The advantage the prosecutor has in controlling
the sentence should not be permitted to defeat the policy
established by Congress to foster settlement negotia-
tions.

Benefit Without Bargaining: Post-indictment
Interrogation Under Guise of Settlement Is Error.

The nature and conduct of the pretrial interview
reveals it was a post-indictment interrogation about the
specific offense under the guise of a “proffer’ or plea
bargain for a lesser sentence. Such interrogation is in
violation of the Sixth Amendment right to counsel when
defense counsel does not realize that the "settlement

“ The Government referred to the stipulations agreeing to the waiver
of evidentiary rules. (Pet. Brief 17-18). in the trial of a cese, there will
be many motivations for entering into such stipulations by both sides
that ease the trial of the case and focus on the critical issues. The
settlement conference, f the Government's theory is correct, could
now be used by the prosecutor to secure waivers of the rules of
evidence. It is one thing to stipulate on a level playing field, it Is
another to be forced to surrender every fundamental right to gain the

opportunity to plea bargain.
24

conference" is a post indictment interrogation. Massiah
v. United States, 377 U.S. 201 (1964); Brewer v. Wil-
liams, 430 U.S. 387 (1977); United States v. Henry, 447
U.S. 264(1980); and Maine v. Moulton, 474 U.S. 159
(1985)."" This Court, summarizing the Sixth Amendment
prohibition, stated: “As our recent examination of this
Sixth Amendment issue in Moulton makes clear, the
primary concer of the Massiah line of decisions is
secret interrogation by investigatory techniques that are
the equivalent of direct police interrogation." While the
Massiah line of cases dealt with statements made by a
defendant in absence of his attorney, the principles are
applicable when the attorney is present but is unaware
that an interrogation is taking place. Defense counsel
and respondent did not waive the right to be free from
interrogation, because they did not know the settlement
session was a disguised attempt to elicit statements from
the accused that could be used against him at trial.

. Neither the prosecutor nor the agents sought
information about “another person,™ but focused instead
on the actions and statements of the accused. They

“The actions of the police were designed to

deliberately elicit
incriminating remarks. Kuhiman v. Wilson, 477 U.S. 436 (1986).
Also, the inquiry was directed toward the offense with which

—— McNeil v. Wisconsin, 111 S.Ct. 2204

“ The prosecutor stated that reason for respondent coming to their
office “was to cooperate with the government and provide information
about other traffickers." J.A. 61. Agent Moreland testified that Shuster,
the respondent's alleged source of the methamphetamine, was
arrested, tured Government informant, and agreed to act as a
broker to obtain methamphetamine from the respondent on the day
of his and respondent's arrest. R.T. 101-106, 157-161.

25

accused him of lying, a standard interrogation technique.
They confronted respondent with evidence for the sole
purpose of eliciting impeaching statements. J.A. 98.
They used a ruse of saying his fingerprints were on the
glassware to extract admissions from him about the
knowledge of the laboratory. J.A. 102-103.

All prosecutors and agents know that statements
taken in violation of Miranda wamings may be used to
impeach a defendant if the defendant testifies at the time
of trial. Oregon v. Haas, 420 U.S. 714 (1975); Harris v.
New York, 401 U.S. 222 (1971). The police ere not
allowed to deliberately refrain from Miranda wamings
with the planned expectation to use the statements for
impeachment. See Cooper v. Dupnik, 963 F.2d 1220
(9th Cir. 1992) (en banc). In Cooper the police planned
to arrest a rape suspect and question him without
Miranda warnings until they obtained a confession. The
officers knew that the confession or admissions would be
inadmissible in the prosecutor's case in chief, but they
anticipated they would be used for impeachment. The
police expected the confession would prevent the
defendant from testifying he was innocent or would
hinder an insanity defense. 963 F.2d at 1224. The
officers knew their plan violated the law. 963 F.2d at
1225. The court found that Cooper's Fifth Amendment
privilege against self-incrimination was violated and that
the police conduct shocked the conscience and stated a
cause of action under 42 U.S.C. 1983. 963 F.2d at 1236-

1237.

Public policy, the interplay of the Fifth Amendment
privilege against self incrimination, the right to due
process and the Sixth Amendment right to counsel
preclude the prosecutor from using settlement confer-

26

ences as post-indictment interrogation sessions to
deliberately obtain statements that will be used against

the defendant if he testifies or to keep him off the witness
stand.

Preciusion of Prosecution’s Exploitation of the Incon-
sistencies Will Not Create a Defendant’s "Right to Lie.”

Petitioner's characterization of a "defendant's right
to lie" is an exaggerated prejudgment about the nature of
the inconsistencies in a statement. Many reasons other
than lies could explain inconsistencies. Thus, here, the
failure of respondent to tell the prosecutor and agents at
the settlement interview about his belief that Shuster was
a CIA operative engaged in the manufacture of explosives
was exploited at trial. J.A. 63, 65. Just because respon-
dent may testify differently than what the agents said he
said at the interview is not necessarily a lie. That deter-
mination is one for a jury. It is indelible bias and pre-
judgment to assume every inconsistency is a lie of the
defendant and the truth recounting by the agent. There
is an even greater evil avoided by Congress’ policy
exclusion of such “evidence” — the danger that the jury
would consider the existence of such “plea bargaining" by
a defendant as an admission of guilt.

The Government Failed to Prove That There Was Any
Waiver for impeachment, That it Was Knowingly and
intelligently Made, or That it Was Voluntary.

The Government has the burden to show the
waiver was voluntarily made. Town of Newton v.
Rumery, 480 U.S. 386, 397-398, 399 (1987). Only
respondent and the one agent to the interview testified
conceming this issue. Respondent, whose testimony

27

was unchallenged as to his dealings with defense
counsel, spent only five minutes with him before the
meeting, and had only a vague understanding that the
meeting was to reduce his sentence.” J.A. 74-75. Prior
to the meeting the defense attorney even misinformed
respondent that he faced a five-year minimum mandatory
sentence, when for a pound of methamphetamine it was
ten years.*” Although the agent testified that the prosecu-
tor told respondent at the start of the meeting:

_. . if he decided to later take the stand in his
defense anything that he might say at this meeting
could be used to — basically for perjury reasons.
if he told us one thing at that meeting and later
told us another thing and they were contradictory
to each other, that that could be brought up in a
trial setting.“ J.A. 97.

The agent then testified by reciting what respondent
said. SA. 97. However, nothing in the agents on

imony shows that the respondent either understood
ais Sal r_waiv . The admonishment

with
“ During the meeting the respondent testified he consulted once
his attorney (J.A. 66), but the agent testified he consulted twice with

his attorney (J.A. 100).

a more of methamphe-
21 U.S. C. 041()(1)(A)(HM) (100 grams & agent corrected the

“ Respondent was also told that if he lied he would be charged with
false statements. If he pleaded guilty, he would receive consideration
for truthful testimony. He was told of some Kastigar matter of which
the agent did not recall the details. J.A 96-97.

28

itself by the prosecutor is not a waiver. Respondent had
no recall of ground rules of the meeting, a waiver of
rights, the authority of the Government to unilaterally
determine whether his statements were accurate (and use
them against him at trial if they determined that issue
adversely) or his right not to speak.” J.A. 83. Because
the record shows no waiver or affirmative agreement to
the conditions of the meeting, this Court has no waiver to
assess. Cf, Boykin v. Alabama, 395 U.S. 238 (1969)
(Courts cannot assume from a silent record that a guilty
plea had been voluntarily made or that constitutional
rights have been freely and intelligently waived).

A knowing and intelligent waiver of rights is
fundamental to review of the question presented. Not
existing, there is no basis to determine if an otherwise
proper waiver of rights may be made in the context of
bargain. This petition should be dismissed as having
been improvidently granted.

lf respondent's policy arguments fail, this Court
will have to grapple with the issue of what sort of waiver
will allow Government use at trial of a defendant's
settlement statements. For example, respondent was not
advised of his statutory rights to exclude such statements
under Rule 11(e)(6). Should that not be incorporated in
any “waiver?" Or that the prosecutor unilaterally deter-
mines the truthfulness of the cooperation, and may not
only reject it, but use it against the defendant at trial?

Here, both the agent and respondent knew the

“ Respondent admitted he was told that he had to be truthful (J.A.
64-65), but his only other of “guidelines” (conditions of
the interview) was the Sentencing Guidelines (J.A 75-76).

29

interview was a condition precedent to a lesser sentence.
J.A. 75. Respondent said that the agent “offered me two
years of a reduced sentence for coming in the debriefing
if he accepted my answers of what it was that | was
supposed to answer of his questions." J.A. 77. He knew
the prosecutor had contro! over the sentence that the
judge did not have. J.A. 7879. The meeting was in-
duced by a conditional promise of leniency, which
undermines the voluntariness of the statements. For an
action to be “free and voluntary: that is, it must not be
extracted by any sort of threats or violence, nor obtained
by any direct or implied promises, however slight, nor by
the exertion of any improper influence." Malloy v.
Hogan, 378 U.S. 1, 7 (1964). Also, unlike an improperly
Mirandized statement, an involuntary statement cannot
be used for impeachment. Mincey v. Arizona, 437 U.S.
385, 398 (1978).

CONCLUSION

Because there was no proof of waiver, the petition
should be dismissed as improvidently granted. In the
alternative, the judgment of the lower court should be
affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

DATED: 30 June 1994
Attorney at Law

© Use against a defendant of his involuntary statement is a denial of
due process of law. Although use of an involuntary confession or
statements does not call for automatic reversal (Arizona v.
Fulminante, 499 U.S. 279 (1991)), the use of the settlement interview
statements here could not be harmless beyond a reasonable doubt.

30

ag Noone (OO

we" " TS

7y”.

a

|

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0495%3A09. Public record. Not legal advice.
