# Amicus Curiae Brief — US Bancorp Mortgage Co. v. Bonner Mall Partnership

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0469%3A11

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1994
- **Citation:** 513 U.S. 18

## Text

Supreme Court, U. 8. \
— FILED

2 FEB 24 1994
THE CLERA

No. 93-714

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OcTOBER TERM, 1993

U.S. BANCORP MORTGAGE COMPANY, PETITIONER
v.
BONNER MALL PARTNERSHIP

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
AS AMICUS CURIAE SUPPORTING PETITIONER

Drew S. Days, III
Solicitor General
FRANK W. HUNGER
Assistant Attorney General
PAUL BENDER
Deputy Solicitor General

RONALD J. MANN
Assistant to the Solicitor General

Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530
(202) 514-2217

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the Bankruptcy Code authorizes a judge to
confirm a plan of reorganization that grants the equity
owners of a failed debtor an exclusive opportunity to
purchase an ownership interest in the reorganized
business, but does not provide for full payment of
objecting classes of unsecured claims.

(I)

2

TABLE OF CONTENTS

e „„
Argument:

The plan proposed by respondent does not satisfy the
requirements of the Bankruptcy Code

Sections 362 and 1129 of the Bankruptcy Code pro-
vide a comprehensive framework for determining
whether a proposed plan of reorganization is suffi-
cent to justify continuation of an automatic stay
preventing a creditor from taking control of its
collateral upon default by a bankrupt debtor .........
The Bankruptcy Code does not authorize a judge
to confirm a plan of reorganization that grants the
equity owners of a failed debtor an exclusive opp-
ortunity to purchase ownership interests in the
reorganized business if the plan does not provide
for full payment of objecting classes of unsecured
claims 113
A. The fair and equitable standard does not per-
mit confirmation of a plan granting - equity
owners an ownership interest in the reorgan-
ized enterprise over the objection of a class of
unpaid unsecured elaims ..
B. At a minimum, the absolute priority rule does
not permit confirmation of a plan that grants
equity owners an exclusive right to acquire an
ownership interest in the reorganized enter-
prise over the objection of a class of unpaid un-
Zn

e ESET
D ESE eT

1

13

15

> N

IV
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page

Bjolmes Realty Trust, In re, 134 B.R. 1000 (Bankr. D.
K ͤ A . 26

Case v. Los Angeles Lumber Products Co, 308 U.S. 106
3 12, 15-16, 17, 18, 21, 22
Dewsnup v. Timm, 112 8. Ct. 773 (1992) . . 4

Louisville Trust Co. v. Louisville, N.A. & C. K, 174
III . 17

Marine Harbor Properties Inc. v. Manufacturers Trust
Gag SEF Gree Ce ED . 17

Norwest Bank Worthington v. Ahlers, 485 U.S. 197
— . 7 . ß 14

Phoenix Mutual Life Insurance Co. v. Greystone II]
Joint Venture (In re Greystone III Joint Venture), 995
F.2d 1274 (th Cir. 1991), withdrawn on reh’g, 995

F.2d 1284 (1992), cert. denied, 113 8. Ct. 72 (1992) ....... 6
Toibb v. Radloff, 111 S8. Ct. 2197 (1991) . ccccceeeeees 2
United Savings Association v. Timbers of Inwood

Forest Associates, 484 U.S. 365 (1988))))))))) 3. 10

Statutes:
Bankruptcy Act of 1898, ch. 541, 30 Stat. 54ũ4 6, 15
Act of June 7, 1934, ch. 424, 48 Stat. 911 (formerly codi-
fied as Bankruptcy Act § 77B, 11 U.S.C. 207 (1935)) ..... 15
Bo 4 12, 15, 16, 17
r . 16
L. UE venrecenccisesitdactinaniindtteuniniondnidass 15

Act of June 22, 1988 (Chandler Act), ch. 575, 52 Stat.
883 (formerly codified as Bankrupty Act Chapter X, 11

e 15, 16, 17, 18
Len 16
LON. 15
21), 11 U.S.C. 62102) (1976) . . . 15, 16

Bankruptcy Code, 11 U.S.C. 101 et seg:
Ch. 1, 11 U.S.C. 101 et seq:
ü 11

U
Statutes—Continued: Page
Ch. 3, 11 U.S.C, 301 et seq.:
I —, . ——— 23, 9
1. K — 10
. nciicnscstencupuntiiaetennicscenipiiaiamiesieaiios 3
Ch. 5, 11 U.S.C, 501 et seq.:
I. ——,, 4
I 0 4
Ch. 11, 11 U.S.C, 1101 et seq. ....... 2, 7, 8, 9, 10, 19, 20, 23, 24, 25
Ic . 4
By Se IEEE cccsserccesetprccstpiactbncbiestisnsdtbaveenieiccctetl 29
. 10, 14
I cnccscucasenitpccnsscetsensteipetntnenunnninananeienin 11, 16
RFS ³ͤ 2, 7, 10, 15, 19, 28, 29, 30, la
l. . 10, 1a
IL acenssconsrencessitpascniactetingzarvesteqnmesiel 10, 2a
I ..KLͤ˖ö˖1łỹ4j%äĩç 8 22, 3a
SES ͤͤ—4 9, 10, 11, 13, 16, 25, 4a
11 U.S.C. 112 b) 8, 11, 12, 13, 19, 20, 25, 29, 4a
ee ene 11, 25, 4a
L cxnsccnsevcecocessspanqensnsocemginentd 11, 12, 4a
29e — 11, 12, 18, 5a
11 U.S.C. e 12, 14, 22, 5a
11 U.S.C. 1129(b)2)( Bi) ........ 7, 9, 12, 13, 22, 26, 27, 28, 5a
Miscellaneous:
Harry E. Adler, Bankruptcy and Risk Allocation, 77
Gre 23
John D. Ayer, Rethinking Absolute Priority After Ahlers,
ee 17, 19
Douglas G. Baird, The Uneasy Case for Corporate Reor-
ganizations, 15 J. Legal Stud. 127 (1986) 23
Lucian A. Bebchuk, A New Aproach to Corporate Reor-
ganizations, 101 Harv. L. Rev. 775 (1988) .................... 23
Black’s Law Dictionary (Sth ed. 1978) 27

Walter J. Blum and Stanley A. Kaplan, The Absolute
Priority Doctrine in Corporate Reorganizations, 41 U.
ENS . eee 20-21

VI

Miscellaneous—Continued: Page

Michael Bradley and Michael Rosenzweig, The Untenable
Case for Chapter 11, 101 Yale L.J. 1043 (1992) ............. 23, 24

Collier on Bankruptcy (James Wm. Moore 14th ed. 1940,
Ian. . eee 12, 15, 16

124 Cong. Ree. (1978):

— — Ekä—— — 19
ͤ—ẽ———— — 19

Peter F. Coogan, Confirmation of a Plan Under the
Bankruptcy Code, 32 Case W. Res. L. Rev. 301 (1982) .. 15
H.R. Rep. No. 595, 95th Cong., Ist Sess. (1977) ....... 11, 12, 13, 20

Thomas H. Jackson and Robert E. Scott, On the Nature

of Bankruptcy: An Essay on Bankruptcy Sharing and

the Creditor’s Bargain, 75 Va. L. Rev. 155 (1989) ......... 23
Jerome R. Kerkman, The Debtor in Full Control: A Case

for Adoption of the Trustee System, 70 Marq. L. Rev.

2 ———— — 25
Lynn M. LoPucki, Strategies for Creditors in Bank-
rupte Proceedings (2d ed. 1991) .. . . 4. 27

Lynn M. Lo Pucki, The Debtor in Full Control Systems
Failure Under Chapter 11 of the Bankruptcy Code? (Pt.

FF GB FOE fF ee 24, 29
Lynn M. LoPucki, The Trouble with Chapter 11, 1993
eS Oe eC) SLL eee eee 24

Lynn M. LoPucki and William C. Whitford, Bargaining

over Equity Share in the Bankruptcy Reorganization

of Large, Publicly Held Companies, 139 U. Pa. L. Rev.

1...— —. 7 2⁵
Lynn M. LoPucki and William C. Whitford, Venue Choice

and Forum Shopping in the Bankruptcy Reorganiza-

tion of Large, Publicly Held Companies, 1991 Wis. L.

TOD. ED ccnssssensesenrecatneiennitenimensgmusininuanaptbmenniteeaiapnmsageees 29, 30
Robert K. Rasmussen, Debtor’s Choice: A Menu Approach

to Corporate Bankruptcy, 71 Texas L. Rev. 51 (1992) 23
Report of the Commission on the Bankruptcy Laws of the

United States, Pt. 2, H.R. Doc. No. 137, 93d Cong.,

IL... T 18
David A. Skeel, Jr., Markets, Courts and the Brave New

World of Bankruptcy Theory, 1993 Wis. L. Rev. 4665 .... 24

Vil

Miscellaneous—Continued:

Elizabeth Warren, A Theory of Absolute Priority, 1991

Ann. Survey Amer. Law 9

—— ñ œ[u9ſꝛ—2⸗,Rũãõů „„ HEHEHE

Page

—

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1993

No. 93-714
U.S. BANCORP MORTGAGE COMPANY, PETITIONER
.

BONNER MALL PARTNERSHIP

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
AS AMICUS CURIAE SUPPORTING PETITIONER

INTEREST OF THE UNITED STATES

This case presents the question whether the
Bankruptcy Code authorizes a judge to confirm a plan
of reorganization that grants the equity owners of a
failed debtor an exclusive opportunity to purchase an
ownership interest in the reorganized business, but
does not provide for full payment of objecting classes
of unsecured claims. That question is of great
interest to the United States because various agen-
cies of the federal government—including the Federal
Deposit Insurance Corporation, the Resolution Trust
Corporation, the Small Business Administration, the
Farmers Home Administration, and the Rural Elec-
trification Administration—frequently participate as
creditors in bankruptcy reorganization proceedings,

(1)

2

and because the Court's resolution of that question
significantly will affect the ability of creditors to vain
control of businesses that seek to reorganize under
the Bankruptcy Code without repaying their credi-
tors.

STATUTORY PROVISION INVOLVED

Section 1129 of the Bankruptcy Code, 11 U.S.C.
1129, is set forth in an appendix, infra, la-6a.

STATEMENT

1. In 1984 and 1985, an entity named Northtown
Investments built the Bonner Mall in Bonner County,
Idaho, Northtown financed construction of the mall
with a $6.3 million loan from First National Bank of
North Idaho; petitioner now holds that loan. In
October of 1986, Northtown sold the mall to respon-
dent, subject to the mortgage that secures repayment
of petitioner’s loan. Respondent is an investment
vehicle formed for the purpose of buying the mall; it is
composed of five trusts and an individual investor.
When income from the mall declined, respondent
defaulted in the payment of real property taxes owed
to Bonner County, Idaho. Petitioner then exercised
its right under the loan documents to schedule the
property for a foreclosure sale to be held on March 14,
1991. See Pet. App. A4-A5, A91-A92.

2. On the day before the sale, respondent filed a
petition in the United States Bankruptcy Court for
the District of Idaho, seeking relief under Chapter 11
of the Bankruptcy Code.' Under Section 362(a) of the

Chapter 11 generally provides for the reorganization of
business enterprises. See Toibb v. Radloff, 111 S8. Ct. 2197,
2199-2202 (1991) (discussing the scope of Chapter 11).

Code, 11 U.S.C, 362(a),* the filing of the bankruptcy
petition automatically stayed petitioner’s foreclosure
sale. Petitioner accordingly sought relief from the
stay. Because the amount due to petitioner (about
$6.6 million) exceeded the value of the mall, petitioner
was entitled under the Code to proceed to foreclosure
unless respondent could establish that retention of
the mall was necessary to an effective reorganization
and that there was a reasonable possibility of a
successful reorganization within a reasonable time.
Section 362(d)(2); see United Savings Association v.
Timbers of Inwood Forest Associates, 484 U.S. 365,
374-376 (1988); Pet. App. A5-A7, A19, A92-A93.

a. On August 23, 1991, the bankruptcy court issued
an opinion denying petitioner’s motion for relief from
the stay. Pet. App. Al18-A129. The court accepted
respondent's argument that there was a realistic
prospect for reorganization, based on respondent's
intention to contribute additional capital, in return
for which it was contemplated that respondent would
retain an ownership interest in the reorganized
enterprise. Id. at Al24-Al25. Because the court
concluded that it could not rule out the possibility of
an effective reorganization, the court denied the
motion for relief from the stay. Id. at A127.

b. Respondent filed its First Amended Plan of
Reorganization on October 31, 1991. See Pet. App.
Agg. That plan provides for transfer of respondent's
assets to a new entity, Bonner Mall Properties, Inc.
(BMP). J.A. 6. Three aspects of the plan are impor-
tant for this case. First, BMP would pay petitioner's

* For convenience, we cite the provisions of Title 11 by
Section number only; similarly, we refer to the entire Title as
the Code.

— —

4

secured claim ($3.2 million)“ in a single balloon
payment 32 months after confirmation, with monthly
interest payments to be made during the interim.‘
J. A. 11. Second, the general unsecured claims
(petitioner’s deficiency of about $3.4 million,“ as well
as the claims of other miscellaneous creditors) would
be discharged in exchange for shares of stock in BMP
at a rate of under ten cents on the dollar; all of those
claims would be satisfied by the-issuance of 300,000
shares of preferred stock with a par value of $1 each.
Those preferred shares could be redeemed at any time
by BMP for their par value, but could be converted by
petitioner, if respondent succeeded in repaying
petitioner’s secured claim, to 15% of the then out-
standing common stock of BMP. J.A. 19-20. In return
for a contribution of $200,000, and an obligation to
fund. any shortfall in working capital until the

In its — 1991 epinien, the court concluded that the
mall was worth only $3.2 million, relying on local tax assess-
ment figures. Pet. App. Al25-A126.

* Alternatively, if petitioner elected that its entire claim be
treated as secured under Section 1111(b), petitioner would be
repaid in equal monthly installments over 30 years in an
amount that would have a discounted present value equal to
petitioner's secured claim. J. A. 14. For a general discussion of
the reasons a creditor would make a Section 1111(b) election,
see Lynn M. LoPucki, Strategies for Creditors in Bankruptcy
Proceedings § 12.9.4 (2d ed. 1991) [hereinafter LoPucki, Strat-
egies}.

The holders of the other secured claims also were to be
repaid by various schedules of monthly or annual payments
specified in the plan. J. A. 13-17.

Under Section 506(a), the portion of petitioner’s claim that
exceeds the value of the collateral is treated as an unsecured
claim. See generally Dewsnup v. Timm, 112 S8. Ct. 773 (1992)
(discussing the effect of Section 506 on undersecured
creditors).

5

maturity date of petitioner’s claim, respondent's
owners would receive 2 million shares of common

stock. J. A. 19. See generally Pet. App. Al9-A22, A93-
A95 (summarizing terms of the plan).

To put the matter in practical terms, if BMP did
not succeed in paying off petitioner’s secured claim,
petitioner would be able to take control of the mall at
the end of the 32 months,’ in which event the
ownership interests (including the preferred stock
representing petitioner’s unsecured claim) would
have negligible value. If BMP did succeed, peti-
tioner’s secured claim would be repaid, and the
preferred stock representing petitioner’s $3.4 million
unsecured claim could either (a) be redeemed for
$300,000 (if BMP desired to do so) or (b) be exchanged
for 15% of the ownership in BMP (if BMP did not
redeem the stock before petitioner decided to ex-
change it for common stock).* If petitioner's pre-
ferred stock were converted to common stock, re-
spondent’s owners would hold about 85% of the owner-
ship as compensation for their contribution of
$200,000; if petitioner’s preferred stock were re-
deemed, the contribution of respondent's owners

would bring 100% of the ownership interests.

* See J. A. 11-12 (discussing petitioner's remedies if respond-
ent fails to comply with the plan).

The actual amounts would be about 93% of the $300,000
and 15% figures stated in the plan, because those entitlements
were to be shared pro rata among all of the general unsecured
claimants (classified under the plan as Class 3a unsecured
claims). J. A. 19-20. Petitioner's $3.4 million claim constitutes
about 93% of the $3.644 million in Class 3a unsecured claims.
See First Amended Disclosure Statement (Oct. 31, 1991),
Record on Appeal item 15, at 18 & n.4 (included in the excerpts
of record filed by petitioner in the court of appeals).

ce. After consideration of the proposed plan, the
bankruptcy judge issued an opinion on December 6,
1991, granting petitioner’s motion for relief from the
stay, based on the court’s conclusion that the
Bankruptcy Code does not permit the owners of a
failed enterprise to retain an ownership share in the
reorganized business over the objection of unpaid
creditors, even if the ownership share rests on “new
value” contributed by the owners. J.A. 29-33. The
court relied on the opinion issued by a panel of the
Fifth Circuit in Phoenix Mutual Life Insurance Co.
v. Greystone III Joint Venture (In re Greystone 111
Joint Venture), 995 F.2d 1274 (1991), which set forth a
similar interpretation of the Code.’ J. A. 31-32.

3. The district court reversed. Pet. App. A90-
A117.“ The court concluded “that the new value
exception to the absolute priority [rule) did survive
the enactment of the 1978 Bankruptcy Code.” Id. at
All6.

4. The court of appeals affirmed. Pet. App. Al-A84.
The court first concluded (id. at A33-A51) that the
precise terms of the Code did not eliminate the rule,
developed in cases under the old Bankruptcy Act, that
permitted owners to participate in reorganizations if
they contributed new value to the reorganized entity
(a rule generally referred to as the “new value
exception”). The court acknowledged that the Code
bars owners from receiving an interest under a plan
of reorganization “on account of” their prior interest

* The Greystone panel's opinion subsequently was with-
drawn on rehearing. 995 F.2d 1284 (per curiam), cert. denied,
113 S. Ct. 72 (1992).

1% A slight correction was made by an opinion reprinted at
Pet. App. A88-A89.

7

in the failed business. The court reasoned, however,
that a plan giving the prior owners an interest is
permissible—even if they have an exclusive right to
acquire that ownership interest—because their par-
ticipation is permitted not “on account of” their prior
interest in the debtor but “because such participation
is necessary for a successful reorganization and in
the best interests of all concerned.” Id. at A50.

The court also rejected (Pet. App. A61-A71) peti-
tioner’s argument that the dramatic changes in reor-
ganization practice introduced by the Code had
abolished the new value exception. The court con-
cluded that “the structural changes to the reorgani-
zation process made by the Code are in harmony with
the pro-confirmation principle underlying the new
value exception.” Id. at A64.

Finally, the court stated (Pet. App. A71-A79) that
the new value exception is consistent with the under-
lying policies of Chapter 11 because it encourages
“successful rehabilitation of debtors,” and “max-
imizels] the value of the estate.” Id. at A71-A72. The
court rejected petitioner’s argument that the new
value exception conflicts with the Chapter 11 policy of
protecting creditor interests because “successful
debtor reorganization and maximization of the value
of the estate are the primary purposes [of Chapter
111“ Id. at A74-A75.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Section 1129 of the Code bars confirmation of a plan
of reorganization in a Chapter 11 proceeding over the
objection of a class of unpaid unsecured claims if the
plan grants the owners of the failed business “any
property” “on account of” their ownership of the
failed business, Section 1129(b)(2)(B)(ii), and permits

8

confirmation only if the plan is otherwise “fair and
equitable,” Section 1129(b)(1). The plan proposed in
this case fails both of those standards.

1. The statutes that preceded the Code permitted
confirmation of a plan only if it was both fair and
equitable and also approved by the creditors. In cases
interpreting those statutes, this Court suggested
that a plan could be fair and equitable even if the
owners retained an interest in the reorganized
business without repaying all of the creditors, but
only if that interest were given in return for a contri-
bution of new value by the owners. Because those
statutes did not permit confirmation of any plan with-
out creditor consent, the new value rule recognized
by the Court did not permit the owners of the failed
business to retain an interest without consent of the
creditors as a group.

The Code adopts a different framework for approv-

ing reorganizations, under which a plan can be
confirmed if it is either fair and equitable or approved
by the creditors. In our view, that framework is
designed to allow creditors to determine when con-
tinuing participation in ownership by the owners of
the failed business would aid the success of the
reorganized enterprise. Because the creditors are
the parties with money at stake, the Court should be
reluctant to read the Code to permit judges to second-
guess the creditors’ judgment regarding how best to
reorganize the business. Furthermore, offering the
owners an opportunity to insist on a share of the
reorganized business without repaying their credi-
tors would tend to exacerbate the problems that have
made Chapter 11 proceedings both expensive and pro-
tracted. These considerations indicate that a plan
allowing owners to retain an interest over the

9

objection of a class of unpaid unsecured claims is not
“fair and equitable” within the meaning of the Code
and thus cannot be confirmed under Section 1129(b).

2. The Court can decide this case without reaching
the broad question whether the Code permits any plan
providing for continued participation without repay-
ing objecting creditors, because the plan proposed in
this case is objectionable on a narrower ground as
well. The plan would grant respondent’s owners the
exclusive right to purchase a controlling interest in
the reorganized business; that exclusive right
constitutes “property” that would be conferred by the
plan. Because the only plausible basis for granting
that right would be the status of its recipients as
former owners of the business, the grant would be one
made “on account of” the interest those individuals
held in the failed business. Accordingly, it is barred
by the language of Section 1129(b)(2)(B)(ii).

ARGUMENT

THE PLAN PROPOSED BY RESPONDENT DOES
NOT SATISFY THE REQUIREMENTS OF THE
BANKRUPTCY CODE ;

I. Sections 362 And 1129 Of The Bankruptcy
Code Provide A Comprehensive Framework
For Determining Whether A Proposed Plan Of
Reorganization Is Sufficient To Justify Con-
tinuation Of An Automatic Stay Preventing A
Creditor From Taking Control Of Its Collat-
eral Upon Default By A Bankrupt Debtor

This case comes to the Court on appeal from
petitioner’s motion for relief from the automatic stay
imposed by Section 362(a) of the Code. Petitioner
seeks relief from the stay so that it can foreclose the
mortgage it holds on the mall respondent owns.

10

Under Section 362(d), petitioner is entitled to relief
from the stay if respondent “does not have an equity
in [the] property” and if the “property is not neces-
sary to an effective reorganization.” Because it is
clear that respondent does not have an equity in the
property—petitioner’s claim of about $6.6 million far
exceeds the value of $3.2 million determined by the
bankruptcy court—the remaining question is
whether the property is necessary to an effective re-
organization. See generally United Savings Associa-
tion v. Timbers of Inwood Forest Associates, 484 U.S.
365, 374-376 (1988) (discussing Section 362(d)). As the
case now stands, the only possible basis for an
effective reorganization is the plan considered by the
court of appeals. Hence, petitioner is entitled to relief
from the stay if the Code prohibits confirmation of
that plan.

Section 1129 of the Code sets forth the exclusive
circumstances under which a judge can confirm a plan
of reorganization in a Chapter 11 proceeding." The
thirteen paragraphs of Section 1129(a) impose specific
requirements for confirmation, including, of particu-
lar relevance here, the requirement in paragraph (8)
that each impaired class of claims must accept the
plan. Section 1129%(b), however, allows a judge in

The first clause of Section 1129(a) states that It he court
shall confirm a plan only if all of the following requirements
are met” (emphasis added).

1 Section 1124 of the Code defines impairment. It is
undisputed that the proposed plan would impair the classes of
claims that include petitioner's secured and unsecured claims.
See J.A. 11, 17. It also is undisputed that petitioner would
oppose the plan. See Pet. App. A23 (“It is a foregone conclusion
that * * * the unsecured class of which [petitioner] is the
principal member will vote not to confirm the plan.”). Because

11

certain circumstances to confirm a plan even if an
impaired class of claims does not consent, but only if
“the plan does not discriminate unfairly, and is fair
and equitable, with respect to each class of claims or
interests that is impaired under, and has not accepted,
the plan,” Section 1129(b)(1). The common references
to “cramdowns” in reorganization proceedings refer
to a judge’s approval of a plan under Section 1129(b)
without the consent of all of the impaired classes of
claims."

Paragraph (2) of 1129(b) sets forth the minimum
content for the meaning of the “fair and equitable”
requirement, by stating that “the condition that a
plan be fair and equitable with respect to a class in-
cludes the following requirements.” Those re-
quirements are grouped into three subparagraphs:,
subparagraph (A) dealing with secured claims,
subparagraph (B) dealing with unsecured claims, and
subparagraph (C) dealing with interests. Subpara-
graph (B) is the provision relevant to this case, which
involves the fairness of the plan’s treatment of

petitioner holds about 93% of the clairns in that class, see note
8, supra, its vote would be sufficient to prevent acceptance of
the plan by that class under Section 1126(c); that Section
requires an affirmative vote of “at least two-thirds in amount
and more than one-half in number of the allowed claims of [the]
class.”

See, e.g., H.R. Rep. No. 595, 95th Cong., Ist Sess. 413
(1977) (hereinafter House Report] (noting that Section 1129(b)
“contains the so-called cramdown”).

4 The provisions of the Code establishing rules of con-
struction make it clear that the specific references in Section
1129(b)(2) to what the “fair and equitable” standard “includes”
are not exclusive. See Section 102(3) (“‘{I}ncludes’ and
‘including’ are not limiting.”).

12

petitioner’s unsecured elaim.“ Subparagraph (B)
requires a plan, at a minimum, to meet one of two
options in order to satisfy the “fair and equitable”
standard of Section 1129(b)(1). First, the plan can pay
the claim in full as of the date of the plan. Section
1129(b)(2)(B)(i). If the plan does not pay the claim in
full, however, it must comply with the so-called
“absolute priority” rule,“ which states: IThhe holder
of any claim or interest that is junior to the claims of
such class will not receive or retain under the plan on
account of such junior claim or interest any
property.“ “ Section 1129(b)(2)(B)(ii). In addition, as

1 The proposed plan would satisfy the requirements of
Section 1129 6b ANA) with respect to petitioner’s secured claim
by providing for payments with a present value as of the date
of the plan equal to the entire value of petitioner's secured
claim. See J.A. 11-12.

1s The term “absolute priority” apparently was adopted to
distinguish the rule from a system of “relative priority,” which
would allow interests with claims of lower priority to share in
the estate, provided they received less than claims of higher
priority. See Collier on Bankruptcy J 11.06, at 221 (James Wm.
Moore 14th ed. 1940, Lawrence P. King rev. 1977) [hereinafter
Colliers 14th ed. see also Case v. Los Angeles Lumber
Products Co., 308 U.S. 106, 119 (1939) (holding that a plan
violated the absolute priority rule of Section 77B of the
Bankruptcy Act even though “the relative priorities of the
bondholders and the old * * * stockholders are maintained”).

7 The House Report explained the purpose of the provision
as follows:

It requires simply that the plan meet certain standards of
fairness to dissenting creditors or equity security holders.
The general principle of the subsection permits confirma-
tion notwithstanding nonacceptance by an impaired class if
that class and all below it in priority are treated according
to the absolute priority rule. The dissenting class must be

13

noted above, even if a plan meets one of subparagraph
(B)’s two options, it also must satisfy the general
“fair and equitable” standard of Section 1129(b)(1).

Respondent’s plan proposes that its owners, whose
interests are junior to petitioner’s, receive an owner-
ship interest in the reorganized debtor in return for a
capital contribution of $200,000 and an obligation to
fund working capital shortfalls during the first 32
months of the plan. J.A. 19. That plan violates
Section 1129(b) if it fails the general “fair and
equitable” standard established by Section 1129(b)(1),
or if it gives those junior claimants any “property”
“on account of” their prior ownership interest,
Section 1129(b)(2)(B)(ii). For the reasons set forth
below, we submit that the proposal does not comport
with either of those standards.

Il. The Bankruptcy Code Does Not Authorize A
Judge To Confirm A Plan Of Reorganization
That Grants The Equity Owners Of A Failed
Debtor An Exclusive Opportunity To Purchase
Ownership Interests In The Reorganized
Business If The Plan Does Not Provide For
Full Payment Of Objecting Classes Of Unse-
cured Claims

This is not the first time that the Court has
considered the permissibility under the Code of a plan
of reorganization that would force creditors to accept
a plan under which the equity owners of a failed

paid in full before any junior class may share under the

plan. If it is paid in full, then junior classes may share.
House Report, supra note 13, at 413; see ibid. (II the class is
impaired, then they must be paid in full or, if paid less than in
full, then no class junior may receive anything under the
plan.”).

14

debtor would retain an ownership interest in a
reorganized debtor. The Court previously considered
that question in Norwest Bank Worthington v.
Ahlers, 485 U.S. 197 (1988), where the Court deter-
mined that the plan proposed in that case violated the
Code because the consideration offered by the owners
for the interest in the reorganized debtor was not
sufficiently concrete. Id. at 202-209. We argued in
that case that the language and structure of the Code
prohibit in all circumstances confirmation of a plan
that grants the prior owners an equity interest in the
reorganized debtor over the objection of a class of
unpaid unsecured claims.“ See Brief for the United
States as Amicus Curiae at 11-23, Ahlers (No. 86-958,
O. T. 1987) [Ahlers Brief }'*; Ahlers, 485 U.S. at 203-
204 n.4 (noting the government’s argument). As
explained below, we continue to hold the views we
expressed in Ahlers. See Point II. A, infra. But even
if there are some circumstances in which the Code
would permit confirmation of such a plan, this case
does not present them, because the plan proposed in
this case would grant the prior owners an exclusive
opportunity to acquire an ownership interest in the
reorganized debtor. See Point II. B, infra.

' We refer to a class of unpaid unsecured claims as a
convenient term to describe a class of claims that is both
impaired (under Section 1124), and not paid in full (under
Section 1129(b)\(2)(B)i)).

1% We have provided copies of the Ahlers Brief to all counsel
who participated in this case at the petition stage.

15

A. The fair and equitable standard does not
permit confirmation of a plan granting
equity owners an ownership interest in the
reorganized enterprise over the objection
of a class of unpaid unsecured claims

1. The Congress that enacted the Code in 1978 did
not write on a clean slate in drafting the framework
for approving plans of reorganization that appears in
Section 1129. Both the Chandler Act of 1938 (codified
as Chapter X of the old Bankruptcy Act of 1898) and
Section 77B (its 1934 precursor)" included procedures
for adopting plans for the reorganization of failing
businesses. Three features of those predecessor
statutes are important for understanding the legal
landscape that confronted the drafters of the Code.
First, the prior statutes authorized a court to
approve a plan only if it was “fair and equitable”; thus,
those statutes did not permit adoption of a plan that
did not meet the “fair and equitable” standard, even if
the creditors voted to approve the plan.” Second,

The Chandler Act of 1938, ch. 575, 52 Stat. 883, added a
new Chapter X to the Bankruptcy Act. Under Section 221 of
that Chapter, a court could confirm a plan only if it found,
among other things, that “the plan is fair and equitable.” 11
U.S.C. 621(2) (1976). See generally Collier’s 14th ed., supra
note 16, 1 11.06 (discussing “fair and equitable” requirement of
Chapter X of the Bankruptcy Act).

Section 77B was added to the 1898 Act by the Act of June
7, 1934, ch. 424, 48 Stat. 911. Under Section 77B(f)(1), a judge
could confirm a plan only if it found that the plan was “fair and
equitable and d{id) not discriminate unfairly in favor of any
class of creditors or stockholders.” 48 Stat. 919.

2 See Peter F. Coogan, Confirmation of a Plan Under the
Bankruptcy Code, 32 Case W. Res. L. Rev. 301, 325-326 (1982)
(discussing pre-Code law requiring both approval by creditors
and a finding that plan was fair and equitable); see also Case v.

16

neither of those statutes offered any definition of the
“fair and equitable” standard.” Third, each of those
statutes required creditor consent for adoption of a
plan in all cases.“

In the absence of a statutory definition, this Court
concluded that “(t]he words ‘fair and equitable’ as
used in § 77B(f) are words of art which prior to the
advent of § 77B had acquired a fixed meaning through
judicial interpretations in the field of equity
receivership reorganizations.” Case v. Los Angeles
Lumber Products Co., 308 U.S. 106, 115 (1939). In
Justice Douglas’s words, that phrase was intended to
codify “the ‘familiar rule’ * * * that ‘any arrangement
of the parties by which the subordinate rights and
interests of stockholders are attempted to be secured
at the expense of the prior rights of either class of

Los Angeles Lumber Products Co., 308 U.S. 106, 115 (1939)
(denying confirmation of a Section 77B plan as not fair and
equitable even though creditors had approved the plan;
explaining that “the fact that [an overwhelming majority of the
creditors] have approved the plan is * * * immaterial on the
basic issue of its fairness”).

2 11 U.S.C. 621(2) (1976); 48 Stat. 919 (Bankruptcy Act
§ 77B(f)(1)). See generally Collier’s 14th ed., supra note 16,
411.06 (discussing “fair and equitable” requirement of Chapter
X of the Bankruptcy Act); id. 1 11.04, at 181 & n.1 (noting that
the relevant provision of Chapter X was “derived from former
§77B(f)(1)” and that “(tJhere has been no change in sub-
stance”).

*4 Section 77B(e)(1), 48 Stat. 918 (requiring acceptance of
plan by two-thirds in amount of the claims of each class);
Chapter X § 179, 11 U.S.C. 579 (1976) (requiring acceptance by
two-thirds in amount of the claims of each class); cf. Section
1126(c) (current provision, which requires acceptance by at
least two-thirds in amount and more than one-half in number of
the claims of each class, but which need not be satisfied if plan
is crammed down under Section 1129(b)).

17

creditors comes within judicial denunciation.” Id. at
116 (quoting Louisville Trust Co. v. Louisville, N.A.
& C. Ry., 174 U.S. 674, 684 (1899)). Because the plan
before the Court did not satisfy that standard—old
equity owners received property under the plan, even
though creditors were not repaid in full—the Court
rejected the plan. 308 U.S. at 122-132 (analyzing
plan).

In the course of elueidating the meaning of the
“familiar rule” that the Case Court discerned in the
“fair and equitable” requirement of Section 77B,
Justice Douglas stated in dictum that “there are
circumstances under which stockholders may par-
ticipate in a plan of reorganization of an insolvent
debtor,” which he described as arising out of “the
necessity, at times, of seeking new money essential to
the success of the undertaking from the old stock-
holders.” 308 U.S. at 121. Even in those circum-
stances (which would have included, under the
applicable statutory scheme, onsent by a requisite
majority of the affected classes of claims), the Court
explained that the opportunity for participation by the
old stockholders should be strictly limited. The
Court explained:

[W]e believe that to accord the creditor his full
right of priority against the corporate assets

As at least one commentator has noted, the accuracy of
Justice Douglas’s analysis of the prior cases is questionable. See
John D. Ayer, Rethinking Absolute Priority After Ahlers, 87
Mich. L. Rev. 963, 974-975 (1989).

26 Three years later, in Marine Harbor Properties, Inc. v.
Manufacturers Trust Co., 317 U.S. 78, 85 (1942), the Court
applied its analysis of the “fair and equitable” standard in
Section 77B to cases arising under Chapter X of the Bank-
ruptey Act.

18

where the debtor is insolvent, the stockholder’s
participation must be based on a contribution in
money or in money’s worth, reasonably equivalent
in view of all the circumstances to the participa-
tion of the stockholder.

Id. at 122 (internal quotation marks omitted).

2. When Congress enacted the Bankruptcy Code in
1978, it dramatically restructured the framework for
business reorganizations, in a way that removes any
need or basis for the new value rule articulated by
Justice Douglas in Case. Most importantly, the
Code—unlike Chapter X of the Act—includes a
detailed definition of the “fair and equitable” stan-
dard, which for the most part codifies the absolute
priority rule that was the basis for the holding in
Case. As described above, Section 1129(b)(2)(B)
proscribes plans that allow the old equity owners to
receive “any property” under the plan “on account of”
their ownership interest in the debtor. Nothing in
that definition mirrors the new value rule articulated
in dictum in Case, and thus nothing in the statute
specifically authorizes a judge to confirm a plan
permitting old equity owners to participate over the
objection of a class of unpaid unsecured claims. 25

*7 Congress’s treatment of the subject was not inadvertent.
The 1973 Report of the Bankruptcy Commission, on which the
Code was based, recommended that Congress include a
provision that would have authorized the judge to allow old
equity owners to retain an interest under a plan whenever the
judge determined that the owners would “make a contribution
which is important to the operation of the reorganized debtor.”
Report of the Commission on the Bankruptcy Laws of the
United States, Pt. 2, H.R. Doc. No. 137, 93d Cong., Ist Sess. 242
(1973) (proposed Section 7-303(4)). As the Commission
explained in the accompanying note, its intent was that “the

19

Furthermore, in a significant departure from the
Code’s predecessors, the Code allows a plan to be
confirmed even if it does not meet the fair and
equitable standard, if the creditors consent. The
Code’s reliance on creditor consent limits the scope of
concerns courts need to address under the malleable
“fair and equitable” requirement. Under Chapter 11
of the Code, creditors are permitted to determine if
their best interests will be served by a plan that
permits participation by the old equity holders even if
the creditors’ claims are not repaid in full, and if the
creditors—voting in classes—agree to the plan, the
bankruptcy judge can confirm it, even if it does not
satisfy the “fair and equitable” standard of Section
1129( b)(1).

Creditors might agree to such a plan for any
number of reasons. Most obviously, one or more of
the old equity owners might have a special expertise

absolute priority rule * * * [be] made more flexible.” Id. at 254.
After the Commission’s proposal on that point was criticized
heavily, Congress abandoned it in favor of the scheme that’
appears in Section 1129. See Ayer, supra note 25, at 978-979.

Congress recognized the importance of that change. As
Senator DeConcini and Representative Edwards explained in
their detailed comments to their respective Chambers regard-
ing the final version of the bill that became the Code:

It must be emphasized that the fair and equitable require-
ment applies only with respect to dissenting classes.
Therefore, unlike the fair and equitable rule contained in
chapter X and section 77 of the Bankruptcy Act under
section 1129(b)(2), senior accepting classes are permitted to
give up value to junior classes as long as no dissenting
intervening class receives less than the amount of its claims
in full.

124 Cong. Rec. 32,407 (comments of Representative Edwards),
34,006 (remarks of Senator DeConcini) (1978).

20

or interest in the business that could not securely be
brought to the aid of the continuing business without
according an ownership interest to the old equity
owner. In cases where the creditors believe that
participation in ownership of the reorganized busi-
ness by the old equity owners would increase the
value of the business, they should be able to negotiate
an agreement under which a portion of that increase
would inure to the benefit of the creditors, and thus
increase the amounts they recover on their claims.
On the other hand, creditors in many cases might
oppose continued participation by the old owners,
either because they do not believe that continued
management by the old owners would be helpful
(perhaps because mismanagement by the old owners
was the cause of the business’s failure), or because
they believe that continued assistance in management
by the old owners can be ensured adequately by
employment agreements, without also conferring an
ownership interest in the reorganized enterprise. As
a result, the provisions of Chapter 11 create a
mechanism that allows the parties with an economic
interest in maximizing the value of the business—the
unpaid creditors—the ability to negotiate an agree-
ment with the equity owners allowing continuing
ownership participation in those cases where it is in
the best interests of the creditors.”

See House Report, supra note 13, at 224 (“{NJegotiation
among the parties after full disclosure will govern how the
value of the reorganizing company will be distributed among
creditors and stockholders. * * * Only when the parties are
unable to agree on a proper distribution of the value of the
company does the [Bankruptcy Code] establish a financial
standard.”); Walter J. Blum and Stanley A. Kaplan, The
Absolute Priority Doctrine in Corporate Reovganizations, 41 U.

21

3. The provisions of the Code permitting a court to
confirm a plan that does not meet the “fair and
equitable” standard if the plan secures the requisite
votes of the creditors remove any need for a court to
recognize a rule that would permit prior equity
owners to participate in a reorganization upon the
contribution of new value. The Case Court discerned
such an exception in the general language of the Act
to deal with cases where “the necessity * * * of
seeking new money [was] essential to the success of
the undertaking,” 308 U.S. at 121. As the Case
opinion makes clear, that exception was designed to
increase the economic prosperity of the reorganized
business—and thus the recovery of the unsecured
creditors—not to further some more generalized
policy favoring continued participation by the old
owners for its own sake.“

Because the new Code includes a separate mecha-
nism that allows creditors to decide for themselves
when continued participation will increase their
recovery, there is no need for courts to interpret the

Chi. L. Rev. 651, 653 (1974) (“The absolute priority doctrine
can be characterized as a way of structuring negotiations so
that they are sufficiently disciplined to be held within permis-
sible areas and to permit judicial review.“).

% The “necessity” to which the Court refers in Case is for
money “essential to the success of the undertaking.” Given the
Case Court’s clear premise that “creditors are entitled to
priority over stockholders against all the property of an
insolvent corporation,” 308 U.S. at 120, and its admonition that
the interest given old owners for any contributions of new
value must be “reasonably equivalent to their contribution,” id.
at 121—lest “the creditor’s rights * * * be easily diluted by
inadequate contributions by stockholders,” id. at 122—the Case
Court plainly understood that any net increase in value would
be applied to defray the claims of the creditors.

22

“fair and equitable” standard to permit participation
in other circumstances. When the creditors have not
consented, the parties with money at stake“ have
expressed their view that continued participation by
old equity owners on the terms proposed by the debtor
would not be in the best interests of the enterprise as
a whole. If the purpose of allowing the old owners to
participate is to increase the recovery of the
creditors—and we do not discern any other basis in
the Court’s opinion in Case or the language of the
Code—courts should not second-guess the view of the
creditors themselves that continued participation
would not be beneficial.

The old owners would be entitled to a recovery from the
business (and thus would have money at stake) only if their
participation would be so productive that the business (under
their direction) would produce sufficient funds not only to pay
off the unsecured creditors, but also to produce a return for
their residual interests. If the old owners believed that to be
the case, they could protect their interest by causing the debtor
to propose a plan that would pay off the unsecured creditors
entirely, thus satisfying Section 1129(b)(2)(B)(i), and obviating
the need for application of the absolute priority rule set forth
in Section 1129(b)(2)(B)(ii). Of course, the judge could confirm
such a plan only if it found that the plan was “not likely to be
followed by the liquidation, or the need for further financial
reorganization, of the debtor.” Section 1129(a)(11).

The court of appeals in this case did not suggest that the
new value rule should be used to further some general interest
in continued ownership of the business by the prior owners.
Rather, the court concluded (Pet. App. A50) that the absolute
priority rule does not bar a plan that allows the owners of a
debtor to participate in ownership of the reorganized business
upon the contribution of new value because that “participation
is necessary for a successful reorganization and in the best
interests of all concerned.” In our view, the best yardstick for
measuring a “successful” reorganization under the Code is

A rule permitting judges to force creditors to
accept plans that allow continuing ownership on
terms that the creditors believe would not further the
profitability of the business also would tend to have
adverse consequences for the reorganization process
as a whole. As numerous commentators have recog-
nized, the delay and expense involved in Chapter 11
proceedings has undermined the effectiveness of that
Statute considerably.“ Many commentators believe
that the problems with Chapter 11 are closely related
to a debtor’s incentive and ability to delay those
proceedings and bargain for results to which it is not
entitled under the Code.“ The rule adopted by the

whether it increases the value of the estate over the other
available alternatives. To put it another way, a reorganization
is not “successful” solely because it allows the owners of the
failed business to remain in control if it at the same time
decreases the recovery of the parties who have money at stake

creditors.

= See, é.g., Barry E. Adler, Bankruptcy and Risk
Allocation, 77 Cornell L. Rev. 439, 489 (1992): Douglas G.
Baird, The Uneasy Case for Corporate Reorganizations, 15 J.
Legal Stud. 127 (1986); Lucian A. Bebchuk, A New Approach
to Corporate Reorganizations, 101 Harv. L. Rev. 775, 777-781
(1988); Michael Bradley and Michael Rosenzweig, The Unten-
able Case for Chapter 11, 101 Yale L.J. 1043 (1992); Thomas H.
Jackson and Robert E. Scott, On the Nature of Bankruptcy:
An Essay on Bankruptcy Sharing and the Creditors’ Bargain,
—.— L. Rev. 155, 190 (1989); Robert K. Rasmussen, Debtor's

ice: A Menu Approach to Corporate Bankru „7117

L. Rev. 51, 78-84 (1992). Pein vm

See, e. g., Bebchuk, supra note 33, at 780 & n.19 (“When
the value of the reorganized company is lower than the total

2

24

court of appeals in this case would give debtors an
additional incentive to delay and oppose prompt
resolution of the proceedings, in the hope that they
might be able to convince a judge to confirm a plan
that would allow their owners to retain an interest in
the business even if the owners are not able to repay
all of the unsecured creditors or convince them that
continued ownership would further the creditors’
interests. In light of the problems arising under the
current process, the Court should not adopt a rule
that increases the bargaining power of a debtor
beyond what it currently has.“

value of creditors’ claims, the equityholders might have noth-
ing to lose and something to gain from a delay.”); Bradley &
Rosenzweig, supra note 33, at 1076-1077 (“Filing a Chapter 11
petition, in effect, is a way to keep control of the firm free
from the intrusive monitoring of creditors, thereby permitting
management to extract wealth from the firm’s various security
holders.”); Lynn M. LoPucki, The Trouble with Chapter 11,
1993 Wis. L. Rev. 729, 731-737; Robert K. Rasmussen, supra
note 33, at 76 (“It is clear * * * that equity holders often par-
ticipate in a reorganization even where there is little
probability that they are contributing firm-specific skills to the
reorganized enterprise.”); David A. Skeel, Jr., Markets,
Courts, and the Brave New World of Bankruptcy Theory, 1993
Wis. L. Rev. 465, 515 (referring to “the hold up power cur-
rently wielded * * * by the shareholders of a Chapter 11 debtor
[in a nonclosely held corporation case]”).

Empirical studies suggest that debtors under the current
process generally receive significantly more in Chapter 11
plans than the absolute priority rule would permit. Lynn M.
LoPucki, The Debtor in Full Control—Systems Failure Under
Chapter 11 of the Bankruptcy Code? (Pt. 2), 57 Am. Bankr.
LJ. 247, 263-266 (1983) [hereinafter Lopucki, Full Control?)
(empirical study of one year’s cases from the Western District
of Missouri suggests that small debtors almost uniformly retain
ownership of the company if it successfully reorganizes,

In sum, the differences between the confirmation
provisions of the Code and those of the Act undercut
the concerns that led the Court to suggest in Case
that a contribution of new value by old equity owners
might suffice to permit continued participation under
a plan of reorganization. Under the framework
established by the Code, any plan that permits such
participation over the objection of a class of unpaid
unsecured claims is—even aside from the specific
requirements of Section 1129(b)(2)—not “fair and
equitable” within the meaning of Section 1129(b)(1 ).
Accordingly, Section 1129(b) does not authorize
confirmation of such a plan.

B. At a minimum, the absolute priority rule

does not permit confirmation of a plan
that grants equity owners an exclusive

As in Ahlers, the Court could dispose of this case
without reaching the broad question discussed in
without regard to whether creditors are fully paid); Jerome R.
Kerkman, The Debtor in Full Control: A Case for Adoption of
the Trustee System, 70 Marq. L. Rev. 159, 165-183 (1987)

pirical study of the bankruptcy reorganizations of large,
publicly held companies shows that equity received distrib-
utions in 70% (21 out of 30) of the cases in which the creditors
were not fully repaid).

Point II. A above, because the plan proposed by the
debtor in this case cannot be reconciled with the
language of the absolute priority rule set forth in
Section 1129(b)(2)(B)(ii).

The plan in this case grants the equity owners of
the debtor the right to purchase a substantial (indeed,
controlling) ownership interest in the reorganized
business in return for a contribution of $200,000 and
the obligation to fund any working capital shortfalls
that the enterprise experiences during the first few
years of operations.“ The plan does not allow any
other person—whether a creditor or an independent
financier—an opportunity to bid for that ownership
interest or to purchase a portion of it together with
respondent’s owners. To put it another way, the right
of respondent’s owners to acquire that ownership
interest—which includes the entirety of the common
stock to be issued at the inception of the plan—is
exclusive of the rights of all third parties to bid on or
otherwise acquire that interest.”

% We mention the obligation to fund working-capital
shortfalls for completeness, although the plan does not specify
that compliance with that obligation is a condition of respon-
dent’s owners continuing to control the reorganized business.
See J.A. 19 (describing obligation to fund future shortfalls but
not describing any remedy for a default). Compare J.A. 20
(collateral trust mortgage to be contributed by H.F. Magnuson
would be collateral only for “indebtedness assumed by the
Reorganized Debtor in conjunction with this Plan”).

„* For an example of a court that allowed prior owners to
purchase ownership interests in a reorganized business only if
they were willing to pay more than other parties in a competi-
tive auction, see Jn re Bjolmes Realty Trust, 134 B.R. 1000,
1008-1011 (Bankr. D. Mass. 1991) (Queenan, J.). For a dis-
cussion of the practical advantages a debtor would retain even
if other parties have an opportunity to compete with the

27

We submit that the exclusive right granted respon-
dent’s owners is a species of “property”; it closely
resembles a stock warrant.** The most plausible
justification for the grant is the status of those
individuals and entities as owners of the debtor. That
justification, however, violates the absolute priority
rule set forth in Section 1129(b)(2)(B)(ii), because it
results in a grant of “property” “on account of” the
“junior claim or interest” held by respondent’s
owners.

Nor can the interest granted to the old owners be
justified by stating that it is granted “on account of”
their contribution of new value. To be sure, it has
been argued that an ownership interest in a
reorganized business that is granted to old equity
owners who contribute new value is not barred
directly by Section 1129(b)(2)(B)(ii), because the
interest in the business is granted “on account of”
the contribution of new value, rather than the status
of the purchasers as prior owners.*® But that
argument can justify permitting prior owners to
participate in ownership of a reorganized debtor only

debtor’s owners for the purchase, see Lopucki, Strategies,
supra note 4, § 11.11.2.

See Black's Law Dictionary 1422 (5th ed. 1979) (defining
stock warrant as la] certificate entitling the owner to buy a
specified amount of stock at a specified time(s) for a specified
price”). When a warrant is issued by a company whose articles
of incorporation authorize the issuance of only a limited
number ——_ (as is customary, and as is the case here), the
warrant effective) ts an exclusive ri i
: — — gran right to acquire the

A lucid explication of that view appears in Elizabeth

Warren, A Theory of Absolute Priority, 1991 A
Amer. Law 9, 39. N *

28

if they participate on the same terms as other parties.
When a plan allows the old owners to participate on
terms not available to others, it has given the old
owners something“ property“ for purposes of Sect-
ion 1129(b)(2)(B)(ii)—that cannot be justified solely by
reference to the contribution of value.” If the rights
were granted solely “on account of” the value con-
tributed, then they would be accorded to any party
that is willing to make a similar contribution.“

As Professor Warren explains:
The Code leaves old equity in the position of any other
potential investor: it may offer to buy any of the assets of
the estate on the same terms as any other buyer.

Some commentators argue that the estate is not buying
on the same terms as any other buyer because it enjoys a
better position than all other buyers in chapter 11.
Nothing in the Code gives equity such a beneficial position.
If courts are in fact giving them enhanced status, they
should not do so.

Warren, supra note 39, at 39.

Nor is there merit in the suggestion of the court of
appeals (Pet. App. A50) that the interest is permitted because
it is granted in furtherance of “a successful reorganization and
in the best interests of all concerned.” The fundamental flaw
in that suggestion is that it authorizes confirmation of a plan
that grants an interest to a party with no claim against the
debtor. Section 1129 provides that a plan of reorganization will
distribute the assets and income of the estate of an insolvent
business to repay the claims against the estate. Except where
parties consent to different treatment, the distribution must be
made in accordance with the priority of the claims (except
where parties purchase assets of the estate, or an interest in the
estate, a justification abjured by the court of appeals). The
reasoning of the court of appeals is inconsistent with that
framework, because it authorizes judges to give an interest in
the reorganized business to a party on a basis other than the
party’s holding a claim against the debtor. Just as the Code

Finally, the fact that the plan (typically proposed by
the debtor, as in this case“) makes the right to
acquire the ownership interests exclusive strongly
suggests that—at least in the debtor’s view—the
right has value, in the sense that the debtor believes
that the ownership interests are worth more than the
price set by the plan. If the debtor did not believe that
the ownership interests were worth more than the
price set by the plan, it presumably would be willing
to compete for the purchase with other parties. When
the parties with money at stake object to that plan,
the ground for that inference is particularly strong.
Hence, cramdowns in exclusive-purchase cases pre-
sent especially strong concerns that the debtor’s
owners are securing value under the plan that

expressly provides that it is not fair and quiléble to grant an
interest to a junior claimant while an objecting class of senior
claimants is unpaid, courts should apply the general “fair and
equitable” language in Section 1129(b)(1) to bar plans that vest
in an interest in a party based on a claim junior to the claim
held by the most junior claimant—i.e., a party that has no claim
whatsoever.

Section 1121(b) generally grants the debtor the exclusive
right to file a plan for the first 120 days of the proceeding. As a
practical matter, it appears that it is quite unusual for a judge
to reject a debtor’s request to extend that period. As a result,
it is unusual for a party other than the debtor to propose a plar
of reorganization. See Lynn M. LoPucki & William
Whitford, Venue Choice and Forum Shopping in the Bank-
ruptcy Reorganization of Large, Publicly Held Companies, 1991
Wis. L. Rev. 11, 31 n.67 (empirical study of large bankruptcies
indicating that debtor retained the right of exclusivity
throughout the entire proceeding in 79% (34 of 43] of the
cases); LoPucki, Full Control?, supra note 35, at 253-257 (rarity
of creditor-proposed plans in smal! cases).

30

properly should belong to the unpaid unsecured

creditors.
SS. &.&: va

The plan proposed by respondent grants respon-
dent’s owners a right—not available to any other
party—to acquire an overwhelming share of the
ownership interests in the reorganized debtor.
Petitioner, however—who controls an impaired class
of unsecured claims—would not consent, and the plan
does not provide for payment in full of the claims of
that class. As a result, Section 1129 bars confirm-
ation of the plan.

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the court of appeals should be

reversed.
Respectfully submitted.

Drew S. Days, III
Solicitor General

FRANK W. HUNGER
Assistant Attorney General

PAUL BENDER
Deputy Solicitor General

RONALD J. MANN
Assistant to the Solicitor General

FEBRUARY 1994

APPENDIX

§ 1129. Confirmation of plan

(a) The court shall confirm a plan only if all of the
following requirements are met:

(1) The plan complies with the applicable pro-
visions of this title.

(2) The proponent of the plan complies with the
applicable provisions of this title.

(3) The plan has been proposed in good faith and
not by any means forbidden by law.

(4) Any payment made or to be made by the pro-
ponent, by the debtor, or by a person issuing securi-
ties or acquiring property under the plan, for ser-
vices or for costs and expenses in or in connection
with the case, or in connection with the plan and
incident to the case, has been approved by, or is
subject to the approval of, the court as reasonable;'

(5)(A)(i) The proponent of the plan has dis-
closed the identity and affiliations of any individual
proposed to serve, after confirmation of the plan, as
a director, officer, or voting trustee of the debtor, an
affiliate of the debtor participating in a joint plan
with the debtor, or a successor to the debtor under
the plan; and

(ii) the appointment to, or continuance in, such
office of such individual, is consistent with the in-
terests of creditors and equity security holders and
with public policy; and

So in original. The semicolon probably should be a period.

(la)

2a

(B) the proponent of the plan has disclosed the
identity of any insider that will be employed or re-
tained by the reorganized debtor, and the nature of
any compensation for such insider.

(6) Any governmental regulatory commission
with jurisdiction, after confirmation of the plan,
over the rates of the debtor has approved any rate
change provided for in the plan, or such rate change
is expressly conditioned on such approval.

(7) With respect to each impaired class of
claims or interests—

(A) each holder of a claim or interest of such
class—
(i) has accepted the plan; or
(ii) will receive or retain under the plan on
account of such claim or interest property of
a value, as of the effective date of the plan,
that is not less than the amount that such
holder would so receive or retain if the debtor
were liquidated under chapter 7 of this title
on such date; or
(B) if section 1111(b)(2) of this title applies to
the claims of such class, each holder of a claim
of such class will receive or retain under the

plan on account of such claim property of a

value, as of the effective date of the plan, that is

not less than the value of such holder’s interest
in the estate’s interest in the property that
secures such claims.

(8) With respect to each class of claims or

interests—
(A) such class has accepted the plan; or
(B) such class is not impaired under the plan.

3a

(9) Except to the extent that the holder of a
particular claim has agreed to a different treatment
of such claim, the plan provides that—

(A) with respect to a claim of a kind specified
in section 507(a)(1) or 507(a)(2) of this title, on the
effective date of the plan, the holder of such claim
will receive on account of such claim cash equal to
the allowed amount of such claim;

(B) with respect to a class of claims of a kind
specified in section 507(a)(3), 507(a)(4), 507(a)(5) or
507(a)(6) of this title, each holder of a claim of such
class will receive—

(i) if such class has accepted the plan,
deferred cash payments of a value, as of the
effective date of the plan, equal to the allowed
amount of such claim; or

(ii) if such class has not accepted the plan,
cash on the effective date of the plan equal to
the allowed amount of such claim; and
(C) with respect to a claim of a kind specified

in section 507(a)(7) of this title, the holder of such
claim will receive on account of such claim deferred
cash payments, over a period not exceeding six
years after the date of assessment of such claim, of
a value, as of the effective date of the plan, equal to
the allowed amount of such claim.

(10) If a class of claims is impaired under the
plan, at least one class of claims that is impaired un-
der the plan has accepted the plan, determined with-
= including any acceptance of the plan by any in-
sider.

(11) Confirmation of the plan is not likely to be
followed by the liquidation, or the need for further fi-
nancial reorganization, of the debtor or any successor

4a

to the debtor under the plan, unless such liquidation
or reorganization is proposed in the plan.

(12) All fees payable under section 1930, as de-
termined by the court at the hearing on confirmation
of the plan, have been paid or the plan provides for the
payment of all such fees on the effective date of the

lan.
a (13) The plan provides for the continuation after
its effective date of payment of all retiree benefits, as
that term is defined in section 1114 of this title, at the
level established pursuant to subsection (e)(1)(B) or
(g) of section 1114 of this title, at any time prior to
confirmation of the plan, for the duration of the period
the debtor has obligated itself to provide such bene-
fits.

(b)(1) Notwithstanding section 510(a) of this ti-
tle, if all of the applicable requirements of subsection
(a) of this section other than paragraph (8) are met
with respect to a plan, the court, on request of the
proponent of the plan, shall confirm the plan notwith-
standing the requirements of such paragraph if the
plan does not discriminate unfairly, and is fair and
equitable, with respect to each class of claims or in-
terests that is impaired under, and has not accepted,
the plan.

(2) For the purpose of this subsection, the condi-
tion that a plan be fair and equitable with respect to a
class includes the following requirements:

(A) With respect to a class of secured claims,
the plan provides—

(i)(1) that the holders of such claims re-
tain the liens securing such claims, whether
the property subject to such liens is retained
by the debtor or transferred to another en-

2 So in original. Probably should be section 1930 of title 28.

5a

tity, to the extent of the allowed amount of
such claims; and

(II) that each holder of a claim of such
class receive on account of such claim de-
ferred cash payments totaling at least the al-
lowed amount of such claim, of a value, as of
the effective date of the plan, of at least the
value of such holder’s interest in the estate’s
interest in such property;

(ii) for the sale, subject to section 363(k)
of this title, of any property that is subject to
the liens securing such claims, free and clear
of such liens, with such liens to attach to the
proceeds of such sale, and the treatment of
such liens on proceeds under clause (i) or (iii)
of this subparagraph; or

(iii) for the realization by such holders
of the indubitable equivalent of such claims.
(B) With respect to a class of unsecured

claims—

(i) the plan provides that each holder of a
claim of such class receive or retain on ac-
count of such claim property of a value, as of
the effective date of the plan, equal to the al-
lowed amount of such claim; or

(ii) the holder of any claim or interest
that is junior to the claims of such class will
not receive or retain under the plan on ac-
count of such junior claim or interest any
property.

(C) With respect to a class of interests—

(i) the plan provides that each holder of
an interest of such class receive or retain on
account of such interest property of a value,
as of the effective date of the plan, equal to

6a

the greatest of the allowed amount of any
fixed liquidation preference to which such
holder is entitled, any fixed redemption price
to which such holder is entitled, or the value
of such interest; or

(ii) the holder of any interest that is
junior to the interests of such class will not
receive or retain under the plan on account of
such junior interest any property.

(c) Notwithstanding subsections (a) and (b) of
this section and except as provided in section 1127(b)
of this title, the court may confirm only one plan, un-
less the order of confirmation in the case has been re-
voked under section 1144 of this title. If the require-
ments of subsections (a) and (b) of this section are
met with respect to more than one plan, the court
shall consider the preferences of creditors and equity
security holders in determining which plan to con-
firm.

(d) Notwithstanding any other provision of this
section, on request of a party in interest that is a
governmental unit, the court may not confirm a plan
if the principal purpose of the plan is the avoidance of
taxes or the avoidance of the application of section 5
of the Securities Act of 1933 (15 U.S.C. 77e). In any
hearing under this subsection, the governmental unit
has the burden of proof on the issue of avoidance.

*

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0469%3A11. Public record. Not legal advice.
