# Amicus Curiae Brief — Associated Industries of Mo. v. Lohman

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0453%3A11

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1994
- **Citation:** 511 U.S. 641

## Text

furtuma Cout, US
ZIinezD

«SAM 21

No. 93-397 Creise OF Beth CLARK

if
}
'

©
—<

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
Octoser Term, 1993

ASSOCIATED INDUSTRIES OF MISSOURI and
ALUMAX FOILS, INC.,

Petitioners,
Vv.

JANNETTE M. LOHMAN, Director of Revenue,
and DELONG’S, INC., THE CITY OF BLUE
SPRINGS, GARY MARKENSON, THE MISSOURI
ASSOCIATION OF COUNTIES, THE MISSOURI
MUNICIPAL LEAGUE, and THE ASSOCIATED
GENERAL CONTRACTORS OF MISSOURI,

Respondents.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE SUPREME COURT OF MISSOURI

BRIEF OF WASHINGTON LEGAL FOUNDATION AS
AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

DANIEL J. POPEO PAMELA F. OLSON
RICHARD A. SAMP SUE C. BAK

(Counsel of Record) 1440 New York Ave., NW
WASHINGTON LEGAL Washington, DC 20005
FOUNDATION (202) 371-7100

2009 Mass. Ave., NW
Washington, DC 20036
(202) 588-0302

Date: January 20, 1994

:
4
&
:
B

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. When a state imposes a statewide use tax upon
interstate sales at a rate which, in more than 50% of the
state’s taxing jurisdictions, is higher than the sales tax rate
on identical intrastate sales, is the resulting discrimination
against interstate commerce constitutionally irrelevant
merely because in the aggregate the state collects more
sales taxes than use taxes?

2. Does General American Tank Car Corp. v. Day,
270 U.S. 367 (1926), validate a state tax scheme which in
numerous instances burdens interstate Commerce more
heavily than intrastate commerce? If so, is General
American inconsistent with Halliburton Oil Well Cementing
Co. v. Reily, 373 U.S. 64 (1963); Maryland v. Louisiana,
451 U.S. 725 (1981); and Bacchus Imports, Lid. v. Dias,
468 U.S. 263 (1984); and should it be expressly
overruled?

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .............. iv
INTERESTS OF THE AMICUS CURIAE ....... l
STATEMENT OF THE CASE ............. 2
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ............. 4
SS TEE CEE eee 5

I. THE ADDITIONAL USE TAX

STATUTE IS DISCRIMINATORY ON

ITS FACE, AND CANNOT BE

JUSTIFIED AS PART OF A
COMPLEMENTARY TAX SCHEME ... §5

A. The Commerce Clause Requires

Absolute Equality in the Treatment

of Interstate Commerce in Each and
I "Se 666 000600000. 8

B. Statistical Data Cannot Accurately

Quantify the Extent of Discrimina-

tion, and Cannot Provide a

Meaningful and Reliable Test for
IT / O6\4 6 6 60 0 0 6 0 0 16

Il. THIS COURT’S' DECISION IN
GENERAL AMERICAN DOES NOT JUS-
TIFY MISSOURI'S DISCRIMINATORY
ADDITIONAL USE TAX STATUTE
AND, TO THE EXTENT IT CAN BE
INTERPRETED AS SUPPORTING THE
ADDITIONAL USE TAX STATUTE,
IT SHOULD BE OVERRULED ....... 20

Eas sss ds ees cc cccce « 22

iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases Page
Armco, Inc. v. Hardesty, 407 U.S. 638 (1984) .. . 5, 8
Associated Industries of Missouri v. Director
of Revenue, 857 S.W.2d 182 (Mo. 1993) .... passim
Bacchus Imports, Ltd. v. Dias,
2 2 ® ) Ae eee ca a 8
Boston Stock Exchange vy. State Tax
Commission, 429 U.S. 318 (1977) 2.2... 9-10, 18
Charleston Federal Savings & Loan Associ-
ation v. Alderson, 324 U.S. 182 (1945) ........ 21
Complete Auto Transit, Inc. v. Brady,
— 3 fe Fl, eer ee 4, 11, 16, 19
Container Corp. of America v. Franchise Tax
Se, See es SD gb a Se eee ec ee ees 12
Freeman v. Hewit, 329 U.S. 249 (1946)... 22... 14

General American Tank Car Corp. v. Day,
2g! 6S OU ere ee eee 20, 21

Gregg Dyeing Co. v. Query,
Se ED Sect eee eaeses 5, 6, 20-21

Halliburton Oil Well Cementing Co. v. Reily,
Se Ec on de 6.0900 06 bee 0 6, 8

Henneford v. Silas Mason Co.,
ee ar ee 5, 6, 20

Hinson vy. Lott, 75 U.S. (8 Wall.) 148 (1868)... .. 20

Vv

Lawrence v. State Tax Commission of Mississippi,

Se rrr 21
Maryland v. Louisiana, 451 U.S. 725 (1981)... . 6,8
Moorman Manufacturing Co. v. Bair,
oe ee, 5 we 5% 12
Nashville, Chattanooga & St. Louis Railway

Co. v. Wallace, 288 U.S. 249 (1932) ......... 21

National Bellas Hess, Inc. v. Department of
Revenue of Illinois, 386 U.S. 753 (1967) .. 13, 14, 15

Northwestern States Portland Cement Co.

v. Minnesota, 358 U.S. 450 (1959) ........... 14
Pacific Co., Lid. v. Johnson,

I, te oe a es deed ee ees 21
Phillips v. Oklahoma Tax Commission,

hs bo fe 6
Quill Corp. v. North Dakota, \12 S. Ct.
Re ee 10, 11, 13-16

Salomon v. State Tax Commission of New York,
go ke oo Sa yo 4 ue oe die 21

Trinova Corp. v. Michigan Dept. of Treas..,
ee aes SED 6 i's bere oh ees 10, 11, 12, 13

Underwood Typewriter Co. v. Chamberlain,
ee 12

vi
Constitutional Provisions and Statutes

United States Constitution

Article I, Section 8, Clause3.......... passim
Constitution of Missouri (1945, as amended)

Aaeteeee TV, Bema GON ww ttt ccc ce 3

RE 3
Missourt Revised Statute (1992)

+6 fast nie Sure alee pe et 2,3
Ee ee ee 2,3
ns se 6 es eae he oe eS 2
eee eee 3
Other Authoriti
J. Hellerstein & W. Hellerstein, State
PP Ce ee ae ee ee 6, 20

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
Octoser Term, 1993

No. 93-397

ASSOCIATED INDUSTRIES OF MISSOURI
and
ALUMAX FOILS, INC.,

Petitioners,
Vv.

JANNETTE M. LOHMAN, Director of Revenue,
and DELONG’S, INC., THE CITY OF BLUE SPRINGS,
GARY MARKENSON, THE MISSOURI ASSOCIATION

OF COUNTIES, THE MISSOURI MUNICIPAL

LEAGUE, and THE ASSOCIATED GENERAL
CONTRACTORS OF MISSOURI,

Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari
to the Supreme Court of Missouri

BRIEF OF WASHINGTON LEGAL FOUNDATION
AS AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

INTERESTS OF THE AMICUS CURIAE

The Washington Legal Foundation ("WLF") is a non-
profit public interest law and policy center based in Wash-
ington, D.C., with more than 100,000 members and sup-
porters nationwide. WLF regularly appears before federal

2

and state courts in a variety of areas, and devotes a
substantial portion of its resources to the promotion of
economic liberty, free enterprise principles, and a limited
and accountable government.

WLF strongly believes that the economic well-being
of this country depends on the unrestricted flow of
commerce, both interstate and across our nation’s borders.
WLF is concerned that a discriminatory taxing scheme
such as Missouri’s additional use tax will encourage other
States and local taxing jurisdictions to adopt similar taxing
measures which discriminate against and restrict the flow
of interstate commerce.

Amicus submits this brief in support of Petitioners
with the written consent of all parties. The written
consents are on file with the Clerk of the Court.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In the interest of brevity, amicus hereby adopts by
reference the Statement of the Case set forth in Petitioners’
Brief.

To summarize, Missouri imposes a statewide sales tax
upon all sellers for the privilege of selling tangible
property or rendering taxable service at retail within Mis-
souri. Mo. Rev. Stat. § 144.020 (1992). Missouri also
imposes a statewide use tax on any article of tangible
personal property stored, used, or consumed within the
state. Mo. Rev. Stat. § 144.610 (1992). Practically, the
sales tax burden is imposed upon purchases made within
Missouri, and the use tax burden upon purchases made
outside Missouri.” The basic sales tax and use tax rates
(including the additional levies authorized under the

“ Under Mo. Rev. Stat. § 144.615(2) (1992), all properties
purchased in transactions that are subject to the Missouri sales tax are
exempted from tne use tax; thus the use tax applies only to the prop-
erties purchased outside Missouri and subsequently brought into the
state for storage, use, or consumption.

3

Missouri Constitution) are both 4.225 percent. Mo.
Const. §§ 43(a), 47(a) (1945, as amended); Mo. Rev.
Stat. §§ 144.020, 144.610.

In addition, Mo. Rev. Stat. § 144.748 (1992) imposes
a statewide additional use tax of 1.5 percent upon all
transactions which are subject to the basic use tax. Thus,
the total statewide use tax rate in Missouri is higher than
the statewide sales tax rate by 1.5 percent.

Missouri has attempted to justify this blatant discrimi-
nation on the ground that local governments have the
authority to levy optional local sales taxes and, in some of
the taxing jurisdictions in Missouri, the local sales tax
rates are equal to or higher than 1.5 percent, resulting in
the aggregate sales tax rates equal to or higher than the
use tax rate. The state has advanced this rationale despite
the fact that, in a substantial number of taxing jurisdictions
in Missouri, the local sales tax rates are lower than 1.5
percent, resulting in aggregate sales tax rates lower than
the use tax rate.

The central issue in this case is whether the additional
use tax, which imposes a heavier statewide tax burden
upon purchases in interstate commerce than those in
intrastate commerce, is justified simply because local
jurisdictions may impose optional local sales taxes, where
the statute provides no guarantee that the total use tax rate
will be equal to or lower than the aggregate sales tax rates
in all instances, and in fact the total use tax rate is higher
than the aggregate sales tax rates in a number of taxing
jurisdictions in Missouri.

4
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Missouri additional use tax impermissibly
discriminates against interstate commerce on its face, in
violation of the Commerce Clause of the United States
Constitution. The discrimination cannot be ignored either
because its impact is experienced only in some, but not
all, taxing jurisdictions and transactions, or on the ground
that the "extent" of discrimination is insignificant. Unlike
the “fair apportionment" prong or “substantial nexus"
prong, two of the other prongs in the four-part test for
constitutionality under the Commerce Clause, articulated in
Complete Auto Transit, Inc. v. Brady, 430 U.S. 274
(1977), the discrimination prong does not require
examination of "extent." This Court has viewed the issue
of discrimination as a matter of dichotomy: Any state tax
statute that fails to accord to each and every instance of
interstate commerce treatment equal to intrastate commerce
has been struck down by this Court under the Commerce
Clause. In the present case, the Court could best deal
with the issue of discrimination by explicitly embracing the
bright line test of absolute equality, the standard that has
been applied in these precedents.

The bright line test of absolute equality is not only
conceptually sound, as it best reflects the nature of the dis-
crimination prong of the Complete Auto Transit test, but
also is advisable from a practical standpoint. Contrary to
Respondent’s and the Missouri Supreme Court’s sugges-
tion, statistical data cannot accurately quantify the extent
or effect of discrimination in this case or in any other
case, and cannot provide a meaningful and reliable test for
constitutionality. For example, if the Court allows any de
minimis exception to the Commerce Clause, the Court
would then have to define the de minimis level, which
decision would inevitably be arbitrary. These conceptual
and practical problems can be avoided only by the bright
line test of absolute equality (i.e., a state tax statute must
accord to each and every instance of interstate commerce
treatment equal to intrastate commerce, and cannot impose
more burdensome taxes on interstate commerce than intra-

5

state commerce however slight the extent of discrimination
might be). Furthermore, the bright line test will
discourage states and local jurisdictions from inventing
creative taxing schemes that discriminate against interstate
commerce, and will decrease the incidence of constitution-
al disputes which would eventually occupy this Court’s
and other courts’ time and resources.

ARGUMENT

I. THE ADDITIONAL USE TAX STATUTE IS
DISCRIMINATORY ON ITS FACE, AND
CANNOT BE JUSTIFIED AS PART OF A
COMPLEMENTARY TAX SCHEME

Standing together, the sales tax and the use tax
generally form a complementary taxing scheme. While
the use tax, standing alone, would appear to discriminate
against interstate commerce, this Court has not reviewed
a use tax statute “within its four comers," but in
conjunction with the same state’s sales tax statute. Gregg
Dyeing Co. v. Query, 286 U.S. 472, 479 (1931). This
Court has upheld the use tax under the Commerce Clause
when the sales tax and the use tax imposed equal burdens
on interstate and intrastate commerce. See Henneford v.
Silas Mason Co., 300 U.S. 577 (1937). Use taxes have
been justified under the Commerce Clause as "complemen-
tary" or "in lieu" taxes to sales taxes.

Generally, a "complementary" or "in lieu" tax must
be "complementary" not only in its nature,” but also in the
actual amount of tax burdens. In cases holding that two
different taxes are part of a "complementary" taxing
scheme, this Court has again and again emphasized that
the actual burdens under the two taxes are equal. In
Gregg Dyeing Co., for example, the Court emphasized the

See, e.g., Armco, Inc. v. Hardesty, 467 U.S. 638 (1984) (in
order to be “complementary ," taxes must apply to “substantially equiv-
alent events").

6

fact that the amount of taxes imposed under the compen-
sating tax was “precisely the same amount per gallon."
Gregg Dyeing Co., 286 U.S. at 480. Also in Henneford,
the Court emphasized with respect to the Washington use
tax statute at issue that "[e]quality is the theme that runs
through all the sections of the statute." Henneford, 300
U.S. at 583. In Halliburton Oil Well Cementing Co. v.
Reily, 373 U.S. 64, 70 (1963), the Court pronounced that
“equal treatment for in-state and out-of-state taxpayers
similarly situated is the condition precedent for a valid use
tax on goods imported from out-of-state." In Maryland v.
Louisiana, 451 U.S. 725, 760 (1981), the Court again
concluded: "We need not know how unequal the tax is
before concluding that it unconstitutionally discriminates."
The examples are numerous. See Petitioners’ Brief, at 15-
22.

Equality, the theme that runs through all truly
"complementary" taxing schemes, is precisely the quality
lacking in Missouri’s additional use tax statute. The
unequal treatment effected by the additional use tax is clear
on the face of the statute: The additional use tax statute
imposes a higher statewide use tax rate than the statewide
sales tax rate. Even if the effect of optional local sales
taxes were to be considered, the additional use tax statute
provides no guarantee whatsoever that the use tax burden
will be no greater than the aggregate sales tax burden in all
instances. In fact, in a number of taxing jurisdictions in
Missouri, the use tax rate is higher than the aggregate sales
tax rates; thus interstate purchases for use or consumption
within these taxing jurisdictions are subject to a heavier tax
burden than comparable intrastate purchases. Commenta-
tors described a similar sales/use tax scheme in Oklahoma
as "probably the most blatant attempted discrimination
against out-of-state purchasers. "*

* J. Hellerstein & W. Hellerstein, State Taxation, ¢ 16.10{3]
(1992). This description relates to the Oklahoma sales/use tax scheme
which imposed a 2 percent sales tax on sales within the state and a 4
percent use tax on sales outside the state.

(continued...)

The discrimination in this case is clear on the face of
the statute, and neither Respondents nor the Missouri
Supreme Court have denied the existence of discrim-
ination. On the contrary, the majority of the Missouri
Supreme Court admitted that: "we acknowledge that the
Missouri scheme of state and local sales and use taxes
does not provide for an equal burden in all situations."
Associated Industries of Missouri v. Director of Revenue,
857 S.W.2d 182, 191 (Mo. 1993); Petition, Appendix A
("Pet. App.") at A-16. Nevertheless, the Missouri
Supreme Court chose to ignore the facial discrimination,
and concluded that the additional use tax statute passed
scrutiny under a “practical analysis" or “practical effect"
test, because the use tax rate in some jurisdictions and
transactions are lower than the aggregate sales tax rate.
Associated Industries of Missouri, 857 §.W.2d at 192; Pet.
App. A-18. Thus, the Missouri Supreme Court concluded
that there was no discrimination against interstate
commerce on a "statewide basis." /d.

In essence, the Missouri Supreme Court’s holding and
Respondents’ arguments in this case are based on the
following fallacious assumptions, and amicus submits that
the Missouri additional use tax statute could be found per-
missible under the Commerce Clause only by accepting
these same assumptions. They are:

*(...continued)

The Oklahoma Supreme Court struck down the use tax as repug-
nant to the Commerce Clause, despite the state’s contention that the in-
equality in the sales/use tax scheme was rectified by the existence of
optional local sales taxes. Phillips v. Oklahoma Tax Commission, 577
P.2d 1278, 1285 (Okla. 1978). The state argued that the higher rate
of use tax in that case was merely the legislature's attempt to equalize
the interstate tax rate with the greater in-state tax burden and that, if
any discrimination existed, it was only a minimal or incidental
discrepancy because a large portion of in-state sales were subject to a
4 percent sales tax. Jd. at 1281. The Oklahoma Supreme Court
rejected these arguments, and held the use tax invalid "whether the
rate of those municipal taxes be 1%, 2% or 3%." Jd. at 1285.

(a) A sales/use tax scheme that discriminates
against interstate commerce may nevertheless
be tolerated under a "practical effect" test, if
the impact of the discrimination is not present
in each and every instance of interstate
commerce, or if the "extent" of discrimination
is small; and

(b) The "extent" of discrimination can be
ascertained through an examination of statis-
tical data and will provide a meaningful and
reliable test for determining whether the
discrimination is constitutionally significant.

Both of these assumptions are without support in this
Court’s Commerce Clause jurisprudence, and will lead to
a number of conceptual and practical problems. Amicus
will examine these two assumptions in turn.

A. The Commerce Clause Requires Absolute
Equality in the Treatment of Interstate
Commerce in Each And Every Instance

The first fallacious assumption has been explicitly
articulated by Respondent Lohman as well as by the
Missouri Supreme Court, which insisted on examining the
discrimination on a “statewide basis." Associated
Industries of Missouri, 857 S.W.2d at 192; Pet. App. at
A-18. Realizing that the additional use tax statute in issue
could not pass constitutional scrutiny under this Court’s
precedents, e.g., Bacchus Imports, Lid. v. Dias, 468 U.S.
263 (1984); Armco, Inc. v. Hardesty, 467 U.S. 638
(1984); Maryland v. Louisiana, 451 U.S. 725 (1981); and
Halliburton Oil Well Cementing Co. v. Reily, 373 U.S. 64
(1963), Respondent Lohman has attempted to distinguish
the present case on factual grounds:

The critical factual distinction between the present
case and Halliburton, Maryland v. Louisiana,
Bacchus, and Armco is that in each of these cases

9

the particular aspect of the sales or use tax under
examination operated in a discriminatory manner
each and every instance in \.hich it applied.

Respondent Lohman’s Opposition to Petition for Writ of
Certiorari ("Opposition"), at 10 (emphasis added). Thus,
Respondent has urged the Court to examine the "overall
effect" of the Missouri additional use tax statutes, as the
majority of the Missouri Supreme Court did. See
Resvondent Lohman’s Opposition, at 14.

Contrary to Respondent’s assertion, however, it is
clear from this Court’s precedents that, in order to be
found unconstitutional, a statute does not have to discrim-
inate against interstate commerce in each and every
instance; rather, in order to be found constitutional, a
Statute must provide an equal treatment to interstate
commerce in each and every instance. As discussed more
extensively in Petitioners’ Brief, a discriminatory tax
burden is not offset, nor does it lose its significance, by
nondiscriminatory treatment of other instances of interstate
commerce, and this Court has struck down state tax stat-
utes despite the allegedly small scale of their discriminato-
ry impact. See Petitioners’ Brief, at 15-25; see also
Boston Stock Exchange v. State Tax Commission, 429 U.S.
318 (1977).*

* In Boston Stock Exchange, the New York transfer tax on
securities transactions allowed: (i) a 50 percent reduction in the tax rate
when the sale was made within New York by a nonresident; and (ii)
a $350 limit on the total tax liability for a single sale when the sale
was made within New York, by a resident or nonresident. Sales made
outside New York were subject to the regular rate of tax, computed by
the number of shares involved. Boston Stock Exchange, 429 U.S. at
323-325.

Clearly the discrimination did not affect each and every instance
of interstate commerce. For example, in the case of a resident, the
discrimination did not affect transactions involving small numbers of
shares, because the $350 limit would not be triggered unless the sale
involved a large enough number of shares. In the case of a nonresi-

(continued...)

10

Respondent’s "each and every instance" or "de mini-
mis" type argument would turn the entire Commerce
Clause jurisprudence on its head. This Court has
repeatedly rejected similar attempts, and there is no reason
why Missouri’s discriminatory tax should be treated
differently.”

The Missouri Supreme Court’s error in this case is
based on its fundamental misunderstanding of the concepts
of "discrimination" and of the “practical analysis" or
“practical effect" test under the Commerce Clause. The
Missouri Supreme Court insisted on applying a "practical
analysis" or “practical effect" test, rather than a "formal-
istic and exacting approach," citing Trinova Corp. vy.
Michigan Dept. of Treas., 498 U.S. 358 (1991), and Quill
Corp. v. North Dakota, 112 S.Ct. 1904 (1992). Associat-
ed Industries of Missouri, 857 S.W.2d at 191-192; Pet.
App. A-17-18. While a brief examination of Trinova and
Quill «ill show that these cases were cited completely out
of context, a more careful analysis will help to explain
how the Missouri Supreme Court fundamentally misunder-
stood the meaning of “discrimination” under the
Commerce Clause, as well as how the concept should be
interpreted in this case.

*(...continued)

dent, the New York Court of Appeals observed that there was no
discrimination against interstate commerce in favor of intrastate
commerce, because New York sales by nonresidents also involved
interstate commerce. /d. at 333. This Court flatly rejected that
contention, noting: “Although it did not so state, the Court of Appeals
apparently believed that such discrimination was permissible under the
Commerce Clause. We disagree with the Court of Appeals with
respect to both residents and nonresidents." /d.

* Amicus does not believe that the discriminatory impact of the
additional use tax is de minimis. However, even if the impact of the
statute were de minimis, such a fact should be irrelevant as a matter of
law.

Trinova involved Michigan's single business tax,
which was imposed on a taxpayer’s total value added that
was apportioned to Michigan based on a formula provided
in the statute. The taxpayer in that case c
Michigan’s formulary apportionment under the Due
Process Clause and the Commerce Clause. Quill involved
North Dakota's attempt to compel out-of-state mail-order
houses to collect and pay a use tax on goods purchased for
use in the state, when such mail-order houses had neither
outlets nor sales representatives in North Dakota.

Trinova and Quill did not primarily involve the issue
of discrimination. Rather, in Trinova, the primary issue
was whether Michigan's formulary apportionment resulted
in “fair apportionment," as ired in the four-prong test
articulated in Complete Auto Tanai, Inc. v. Brady, 430
U.S. 274, 279 (1977).° Thus, Trinova involved the fair
apportionment issue, a different prong of the Complete
Auto Transit test.” The principal Commerce Clause issue
in Quill was the of “substantial nexus," which is
another prong in the te Auto Transit test. Unlike
the present case, neither case involved the discrimination
prong of the Complete Auto Transit test.

Trinova and Quill illustrate the kind of constitutional
scrutiny this Court applies when considering the fair
apportionment prong and the substantial nexus prong of the
Complete Auto Transit test, respectively. In Trinova, this

s

The four prongs in the Complete Auto Transit test are: (i)

substantial nexus between the taxing state and the taxed activity, (ii)

fair apportionment, (iii) no discrimination against interstate commerce,

oy (iv) oy ' weed between the tax and the services provided by
State. .

“While the taxpayer in Trinova also alleged that the apportionment
formula discriminated against interstate commerce, Trinova, 498 U.S.
at 384, that claim obviously depended on the fair apportionment issue.
Because the Court found the apportionment formula valid and the tax-
payer could not point to any facial discrimination in the statute, this
claim was rejected. /d. at 384-386. In contrast, the Missouri addi-
tional use tax statute in this case is facially discriminatory.

12

Court observed that the nature of the fair apportionment
prong test is informed by the original rationale for
apportionment of income. Apportionment of income
becomes necessary because of the difficulty of identifying
the geographic source of the income earned by a multistate
enterprise with any precision. Therefore, the Court noted
that allocating income among various taxing jurisdictions
“bears some resemblance . . . to slicing a shadow.”
Trinova Corp., 498 U.S. at 373-374 (citing Underwood
Typewriter Co. v. Chamberlain, 254 U.S. 113, 120-121
(1920); Container Corp. of America v. Franchise Tax
Board, 463 U.S. 159, 192 (1983)).

Because it is the lack of precision and certainty that
necessitates formulary apportionment in the first place,
formulary apportionment is inherently arbitrary; there is no
“precise” or “right" answer. In principle, all apportion-
ment formulas are to some degree arbitrary; in practice,
some apportionment formulas are more i than
others. Fairness of apportionment is not a matter of black
and white, but many different shades of gray. In the fair
apportionment prong, no bright line test of constitutional-
ity can be established or applied. Therefore, the Court
strikes down an apportionment formula only when it fails
to satisfy absolute minimum tests of rationality.” The
apportionment formula in Trinova passed muster under

* In the fair apportionment prong cases, the Court applies the
“internal consistency” and “external consistency” tests to ensure that
the apportionment meets a minimum level of rationality. The internal
consistency test is satisfied if the formula, if applied by every juris-
diction, would result in no more than all of the unitary business's
income being taxed. The external consistency test is satisfied if the
factors used in the apportionment formula actually reflect a reasonable
sense of how income is generated. Trinova, 498 U.S. at 380 (citing
Container Corp. , 463 U.S. at 169). In order to prevail on the external
consistency challenge, a taxpayer must prove by clear and cogent evi-
dence that the income attributed to the state under the formula is in
fact “out of all appropriate proportions to the business transacted . . .
in that State,” or “led to a grossly distorted result." Trinova Corp.,
498 U.S. at 380 (citing Moorman Manufacturing Co. v. Bair, 437 U.S.
267, 274 (1978)).

13

these tests. Furthermore, the formula advanced by the
taxpayer was not demonstrably less arbitrary than the
state’s formula. Trinova, 498 U.S. at 377. It was in this
Cates Se eS Sane cates Out Ge Constiation "does
not require a formalistic analysis resulting in a penalty for
Michigan's selection of an easier calculation method for its
taxpayers." Id.

The concept of “substantial nexus” at issue in Quill is
somewhat different. On the one hand, unlike the “fair
' " concept, "substantial nexus" presents a real
dichotomy at its two extremes: at one extreme, the
relationship between the taxing state and the taxed activity
is SO extensive that the nexus is clearly substantial; at the
other extreme, the relationship is nonexistent or so
minimal that the nexus is clearly not substantial.” On the
other hand, in the cases between these two extremes, the
substantiality of nexus is a matter of degree, just like the
fair apportionment" concept. Thus, substantiality is a
matter of black and white at two extremes of the spectrum,
but with many shades of gray in between. In the
substantial nexus prong, a bright line test can be estab-
lished and applied, because the issue is a matter of black
and white at its extremes; but such a bright line test
inevitably carries some artificiality and arbitrariness,
because the line is drawn at one point on the spectrum.

In Quill, this Court rejected the state’s suggestion to
abandon the bright line test established in National Bellas
Hess, Inc. v. Department of Revenue of Illinois, 386 U.S.
753 (1967), which held that a state may not impose a duty
to collect use taxes on a seller if the seller’s only
connection with customers in the taxing state is by
common carrier or the United States mail. Quill, 112 S.

* For example, if the taxpayer is physically present on a permanent
basis, has assets and employees, and conducts business within the state,
the nexus would be clearly substantial. In contrast, if the taxpayer has
no relationship or contact whatsoever with the state (not even through
common carrer, telephone, or the United States mail), the nexus
clearly would not be substantial.

14

Ct. at 1914.“ While the Court rejected the "formalistic”
approach in older Commerce Clause cases,“ the Court
noted: "not all formalism is alike. . . [T]he bright line rule
of Bellas Hess furthers the ends of the dormant Commerce
Clause." Jd. Therefore, the Court reasoned:

Like other bright-line tests, the Bellas Hess
rule appears artificial at its edges. . . This
artificiality, however, is more than offset by the
benefits of a clear rule. Such a rule firmly
establishes the boundaries of legitimate state
authority to impose a duty to collect sales a ! use
taxes and reduces litigation concerning these
taxes. This benefit is important, for as we have
so frequently noted, our law in this area is
something of a "quagmire" and the “application of
constitutional principles to specific state statutes
leaves much room for controversy and confusion
and little in the way of precise guides to the
States in the exercise of their indispensable power
of taxation." Northwestern States Portland
Cement Co. v. Minnesota, 358 U.S. 450, 457-458
(1959).

~ When the Court first established this rule in National Bellas Hess,
it was not clear whether the rule was based on the Due Process Clause
or the Commerce Clause. In Quill, the Court examined the evolution
of its Due Process jurisprudence since National Bellas Hess and, to the
extent that its prior decisions have indicated that the Due Process
Clause requires physical presence in a state for the impos’tion of a duty
to collect a use tax, overruled those holdings as superseded by
developments in the law of due process. Quill, 112 S. Ct. at 1911.
However, the Court refused to abandon the bright line rule in National
Bellas Hess for purposes of the Commerce Clause test. /d. at 1914.

“Freeman v. Hewit, 329 U.S. 249 (1946), and its progeny dis-
tinguished, for example, between "direct" and “indirect” taxes on
interstate commerce.

15
Id.”

In contrast to the fair apportionment and substantial
nexus prongs, the discrimination prong involved in this
case presents a pure dichotomy. Discrimination means a
lack of equality. For purposes of the Commerce Clause.
either the statute discriminates or it does not discriminate:
There is no middle ground. Discrimination in the
Commerce Clause is a matter of black and white, without
shades of gray in between.

In the discrimination prong, therefore, the only test
that reflects the nature of the issue, the only test that is not
arbitrary is a bright line test with the line drawn between
black and white. If the Court has retained the bright line
rule of National Bellas Hess because of the inherent
benefits of such a rule, despite the risk of “artificiality” in
the substantial nexus prong, there is much more reason to
apply a bright line rule in the discrimination prong, where
the only rule that is not arbitrary is a bright line test.
Indeed, failing to recognize a bright line rule of absolute
equality would lead to artificiality and arbitrariness.

The bright line test of absolute equality not only is
conceptually sound, but also will further the ends of the
Commerce Clause. Like the bright line test sustained in
Quill, it will provide “precise guides to the States in the
exercise of their indispensable power of taxation." Quill,
112 S. Ct. at 1915. As this Court has noted, providing

‘* _ The Missouri Supreme Court clearly cited Quill out of context.
In discussing the evolution of its Commerce Clause jurisprudence over
the years, this Court noted that it renounced the formalistic distinction
between “direct” and “indirect” taxation on interstate commerce so that
taxes with the same economic effect would not be treated differently
under the Constitution simply because of the “magic words or labels"

attached to them. It was in this context that this Court cited Complete
Auto Transit for the importance of ing past the formal language of
the tax statute to its practical effect. ill Corp., 112 S. Ct. at 1912.

However, as the Court noted in Quill, it is clear that “not all
formalism is alike," and the Court ultimately sustained the bright line
test of National Bellas Hess. Id. at 1914.

16

precise guides to the states is especially important in the
sales and use tax area, which is at issue in this case:

Moreover, a bright-line rule in the area of sales
and use taxes also encourages settled expectations
and, in doing so, fosters investment by businesses
and individuals.

Id. (fn. ref. omitted). A failure to acknowledge this rule,
in contrast, would result in more confusion and
controversy regarding application of the discrimination
prong of the Complete Auto Transit test.

This Court has in fact applied a bright line test of
absolute equality in its precedents, both before and since
the Complete Auto Transit decision. By explicitly ac-
knowledging and adopting the bright line test of absolute
equality which has been already established by this Court
(/.@., a state tax statute must accord to each and every
instance of interstate commerce treatment equal to
intrastate commerce, and cannot impose more burdensome
taxes on interstate commerce than intrastate commerce,
however slight the extent of discrimination might be), this
Court would put to rest any misguided conceptions regard-
ing the meaning of "discrimination" and any attempts by
states and local taxing jurisdictions to evade the Commerce
Clause through creative taxing schemes.

B. Statistical Data Cannot Accurately Quantify
The Extent of Discrimination, and Cannot
Provide a Meaningful and Reliable Test for
Constitutionality

The second fallacious assumption underlying the
Missour: Supreme Court’s analysis is that the extent of dis-
crimination could be ascertained with reasonable accuracy
based on statistical data, and could provide a meaningful
and reliable guide for determining the constitutionality of
the statute. In fact, however, statistical data and informa-
tion that would inevitably be utilized in determining the
extent of discrimination are inherently ambiguous and sus-

17

ceptible to misinterpretation, and would not provide a reli-
able test for constitutionality.

_A good example of the misuse or misinterpretation of
Statistical data is found in the Missouri Supreme Court
majority's reasoning. The record in this case shows that,
in the calendar year 1990, 841 out of 1,573 taxing juris-
dictions in Missouri (53.5 percent) had local sales tax rates
below 1.5 percent, and 26.5 percent of Missouri’s total
population lived in these 841 taxing jurisdictions. The
record further shows that 6.86 percent of the taxable
intrastate sales occurred in these 841 jurisdictions, yielding
2.76 percent of the total sales taxes collected in the state
Associated Industries of Missouri, 857 S.W.2d at 185, Pet.

App. A-5.

From this data, the majority of the Missouri Supreme
Court jumped to the conclusion that only 6.86 percent of
the taxable intrastate sales would have been subject to a
sales tax rate less than the use tax rate. Jd. at 191; Pet.
App. A-16-17. However, as Chief Justice Robertson of
the Missouri Supreme Court pointed out in his dissenting
opinion, this case is an attack on the use tax. See Pet.
App. A-26. Therefore, it is irrelevant what percentage of
intrastate sales occurred in those jurisdictions with local
sales tax rates below 1.5 percent. Jd. While the amount
and percentage of the total out-of-state purchases in those
jurisdiction may be a better indicator of the extent of
discrimination, the record in this case provides no basis
from which to calculate these numbers in 1990. /d
Moreover, even if these numbers were available, they
would essentially be irrelevant because they relate to the
—T in 1990, before the additional use tax came into
effect.~

_ Furthermore, even if the amount and percentage of
interstate purchases after the effective date of the
additional use tax statute were available, they would by no

iv

~ The additional use tax became effective as of July 1, 1992.

18

means reflect the actual impact of discrimination. The
actual impact of discrimination could be measured not by
comparing the amounts of interstate and intrastate pur-
chases, but by the actual economic impact which the dis-
criminatory tax had on the purchasing decisions of
consumers (i.e., whether to buy interstate or intrastate).
This impact is impossible to measure. Even if the
numbers showing the amounts and percentage of interstate
and intrastate purchases during the periods before and after
the effective date of the additional use tax were to be
obtained, such figures would not show the actual impact of
the discriminatory tax, unless all factors affecting purchase
decisions (other than the tax burden factor) could be
identified and neutralized.“

Assuming, arguendo, the actual impact of the
discriminatory tax could be ascertained, such figure would
not answer the very question for which the quantification
was attempted in the first place, i.e., whether the extent of
discrimination is de minimis. In order to answer this
question, the Court would have to: (i) decide where the de
minimis line is to be drawn, and (ii) then apply the de
minimis line test.

Establishing a test based on a “de minimis" level of
discrimination would be akin to establishing a bright line
test but without the bright in the line since what is de
minimis is always open to question. Thus, the Court will
be forced to draw a line one way or another; when the
Court does not adopt the test of absolute equality, howev-
er, the line will be unclear, arbitrary, and without support
in the Commerce Clause. Arbitrariness may be acceptable
where no bright line test is possible (as in the case of the

ia

Furthermore, the impact of such other factors would be legally
irrelevant. In Boston Stock Exchange, for example, this Court rejected
the New York Court of Appeals’s reasoning that higher transfer taxes
on New York residents upon out-of-state sales of securities than in-
state sales would have no “practicai" effect since "it is more than likely
. . . that the sale would be made on a New York exchange in any
event." Boston Stock Exchange, 429 U.S. at 333.

19

fair apportionment prong) or where a bright line test
inevitably carries arbitrariness and artificiality (as in the
case of the substantial nexus prong). In addressing the
discrimination prong, however, the bright line test of
absolute equality not only is possible but also is devoid of
arbitrariness and artificiality; therefore, arbitrariness is not

}——_ Amicus submits that only the bright line test

;

bsolute equality would be devoid of arbitrariness and
administrative problems, and would best reflect the nature
of the discrimination prong of the Complete Auto Transit
test.

Assuming further that a de minimis line could be
determined and somehow justified, the application of such
a line would raise another problem. Statistical data can
and does change over time. Thus, using statistical figures
as the measure of constitutionality would result in the
anomaly of changing the constutionality (thus, the
enforceability) of a statute each year, or even each quarter
or month, as the numbers have changed and will change.”

_ In sum, any attempt to quantify the "extent" of dis-
crimination resulting from the additional use tax, and
indeed any attempt to draw constitutional conclusions from
statistical data, would be essentially futile. Such inquiry
is bound to reach a wrong answer because it started with
a wrong assumption, i.e., that the “extent” of
discrimination can be quantified and is relevant under the
Commerce Clause.

1s

The record in this case shows that, as a matter of fact, local sales
taxes in some jurisdictions were temporarily imposed and then expired
by the passage of time. Joint Appendix, Stipulation Exhibit J. Both
the number of taxing jurisdictions imposing local sales taxes and the
local sales tax rates are subject to change. Thus, as long as the “ex-
tent" of discrimination, as the Missouri Supreme Court understands it,
remains a relevant inquiry, this Court and other courts would be forced
to shoot at a constantly moving target.

20

Il. THIS COURT’S DECISION IN GENERAL
AMERICAN DOES NOT JUSTIFY MISSOURI’S
DISCRIMINATORY ADDITIONAL USE TAX
STATUTE AND, TO THE EXTENT IT CAN BE
INTERPRETED AS SUPPORTING THE
ADDITIONAL USE TAX STATUTE, IT SHOULD
BE OVERRULED

It has been suggested by Respondents and the Missou-
ri Supreme Court that the additional use tax may be
justified by this Court’s decision in General American
Tank Car Corp. v. Day, 270 U.S. 367 (1926). As pointed
out in Chief Justice Robertson’s dissenting opinion in the
decision below, General American does not govern the
outcome of this case because it involved the application of
the Equal Protection Clause rather than the Commerce
Clause, and involved a property tax rather than a sales/use
tax scheme. See Pet. App. A-27-30. However, if and to
the extent that General American is interpreted as suggest-
ing that a discriminatory taxing statute does not violate the
Commerce Clause if it discriminates against interstate
commerce in some but not all instances or if the “extent”
of such discrimination is small, the case should be over-
ruled.

Contrary to the Missouri Supreme Court’s suggestion,
Pet. App. A-13, General American is not the seminal case
of the "complementary" or “in lieu" tax doctrine. The
“complementary” or "in lieu" tax doctrine was recognized
as early as the 19th century. See, e.g., Hinson v. Lott, 75
U.S. (8 Wall.) 148 (1868). It has been more clearly
articulated in Gregg Dyeing Co. v. Query, 286 U.S. 472
(1932), and Henneford v. Silas Mason Co., Inc. , 300 U.S.
577 (1937). Henneford is considered the classic example
of the "in lieu" tax doctrine in the sales/use tax area. See,
e.g., J. Hellerstein & W. Hellerstein, State Taxation,
{ 16.10[1]. Other than in Henneford, General American
has been cited by very few Supreme Court decisions,

21

usually in string citations and always for propositions
unrelated to the issue in this case.”

Reviving General American in the context of this case
would be perceived as an open invitation to the states and
local taxing jurisdictions to devise creative taxing schemes
in an attempt to evade the Commerce Clause. States could
be led to believe that they may generally be able to justify
discriminatory taxes simply by exempting some instances
of interstate commerce from the discrimination, or by
hiding behind local jurisdictions. The potential for such
misinterpretation would not be limited to the sales/use tax
area, but would breed confusion and uncertainty, and
therefore more litigation, in the discrimination prong of the
Commerce Clause in general. Thus, reviving General
American will not only restrict and harm the flow of inter-
State commerce, but also will divert more time and
resources of this Court and other courts, states, and
taxpayers into needless constitutional disputes.”

“General American has been cited for propositions that a state may
apply different modes of tax assessment unless they produce inequality
on persons or property of the same class, Charleston Federal Savings
& Loan Association v. Alderson, 324 U.S. 182, 190 (1945); and that
a state may impose taxes upon the instruments of interstate commerce
(such as rolling stock) and those who are ed in interstate
commerce under its general tax system, Nashville, Chattancons & St.
Louis Railway Co v. Wallace, 288 U.S. 249, 267 (1932); Pacific Co.,
Lid. v. Johnson, 285 U.S. 480, 493 (1932); and in tie Equal
Protection Clause context, Gregg Dyeing Co., 286 U.S. at 482:
Lawrence v. State Tax Commission of Mississippi, 286 U.S. 276, 283
(1932); Salomon v. State Tax Commission of New York, 278 U.S. 484,
491-492 (1929).

“In their Opposition to the Petition for Writ of Certiorari
("Opposition"), Respondents-Intervenors suggested that administrative
convenience justifies the Missouri additional use tax scheme.
Respondents-Intervenors’ Opposition at 19-23. However, judicial
economy should also be taken into account in considering administra-
tive convenience. The increased confusion and room for controversy
that will be caused by upholding the additional use tax in this case does
not warrant the conclusion that the concern for administrative
convenience supports the additional use tax.

22

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the decision of the Supreme
Court of Missouri should be reversed.

Dated: January 20, 1994

Respectfully submitted,

PAMELA F. OLSON
SUE C. BAK

1440 New York Ave., NW
Washington, D.C. 20005
(202) 371-7100

DANIEL J. POPEO
RICHARD A. SAMP
(Counsel of Record)
WASHINGTON LEGAL
FOUNDATION

2009 Massachusetts Ave., NW
Washington, DC 20036

(202) 588-0302

Attomeys for amicus

ee

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0453%3A11. Public record. Not legal advice.
