# Amicus Curiae Brief — Department of Taxation and Finance of NY v. Milhelm Attea & Bros.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0452%3A06

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1994
- **Citation:** 512 U.S. 61

## Text

ONT ss
we fh © No. 93-377
IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1993

DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION AND FINANCE OF THE
STATE OF NEW YORK and JAMES W. WETZLER,
COMMISSIONER OF TAXATION AND FINANCE OF THE
STATE OF NEW YORK and the TAX APPEALS TRIBUNAL
OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK, State Campus, Albany, New
York,

Petitioners,
against

MILHELM ATTEA & BROS., INC., a/kia MILHELM ATTEA &
BROTHERS, INC., aka MILHEM ATTEA & BROTHERS,

INC., 1509 Clinton Street, Buffalo, New York 14206,
Respondent.

(Additional Action Listed Inside Front Cover)

PETITION FoR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE COURT OF
APPEALS OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK.

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE BRIEF OF
AMICI CURIAE AND BRIEF AMICI CURIAE
On behalf of: Seneca Nation of Indians; Mohawk Tribal
Council; Iroquois Business Association; Honor
Indian Treaties; Seneca Coalition Against Taxes

HOBBS, STRAUS, DEAN ANTHONY J. COLUCCI, JR.
& WILDER Counsel of Record

HANS WALKER, Jk., Of Counsel BLOCK & COLUCCI, P.C.

1819 H Street, N.W. Suite 800 JOSEPH F. CRANGLE, Of Counsel

Washington, D.C. 20006 1250 Statler Towers

Telephone: (202) 783-8100 Buffalo, New York 14202

Telephone: (716) 854-4080

Attorneys for Amicus Parties
Dated: October 6, 1993

Batavia Times Publishing Co
Batavia. New York (716) 344.2000

0

JAMES W. WETZLER, as Commissioner of Taxation and Finance
of the State of New York; THE DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION

AND FINANCE OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK and the TAX
APPEALS TRIBUNAL OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK, State

Campus, Albany, New York 12227,
Petitioners,

against

ELIAS H. ATTEA, JR., 6175 Stickler Street,

Clarence, New York 14031,
Respondent.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1993

No. 93-377

DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION AND FINANCE OF THE
STATE OF NEW YORK and JAMES W. WETZLER,
COMMISSIONER OF TAXATION AND FINANCE OF THE
STATE OF NEW YORK and the TAX APPEALS TRIBUNAL
OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK, State Campus, Albany, New
York,

; Petitioners,
against
MILHELM ATTEA & BROS., INC., a/k/a MILHELM ATTEA &
BROTHERS, INC., a/k/a MILHEM ATTEA & BROTHERS,
INC., 1509 Clinton Street, Buffalo, New York 14206,
Respondent.
0.

JAMES W. WETZLER, as Commissioner of Taxation and Finance
of the State of New York; THE DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION
AND FINANCE OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK and the TAX
APPEALS TRIBUNAL OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK, State
Campus, Albany, New York 12227,

Petitioners,
against
ELIAS H. ATTEA, JR., 6175 Stickler Street,
Clarence, New York 14031,
Respondent.

PETITION For A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE COURT OF
APPEALS OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK.

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE BRIEF OF
AMICI CURIAE On behalf of: Seneca Nation
of Indians; Mohawk Tribal Council; Iroquois
Business Association; Honor Indian Treaties;
Seneca Coalition Against Taxes

ee

Pursuant to Rule 37.4 of the Supreme Court Rules, the
Seneca Nation of Indians by this Motion seeks
permission to file one amicus curiae brief in opposition to
the petition for certiorari in this case. The respondent is
a federally licensed Indian Trader who trades with
Seneca Nation of Indian retailers. The moving amici
parties are the Seneca Nation of Indians, the Mohawk
Tribal Council, the Honor Indian Treaties Committee,
Iroquois Business Association, and the Seneca Coalition
Against Taxes.

These parties appeared in the Court below as amici
curiae and attempted to obtain the consent of the parties
to appear before this Court as provided for in Rule 37.2.
The attorneys for the respondents, Milhelm Attea and
Brothers and Elias H. Attea, Jr., Inc., both have
consented. However, the attorney on behalf of the
petitioners, Department of Taxation and Finance of the
State of New York and James W. Wetzler,
Commissioner, has refused to consent.

Specifically, Mr. Millenbach, who appeared on behalf of
the petitioner in the New York Court of Appeals, advised
that the State would consent to the filing of an amicus
brief, but only if that brief did not discuss the Seneca
and Six Nations treaties or New York statutes that
prohibit taxation within the reservations of New York.

This Motion is being made so that the Court can have
all the relevant law before it, which is the function of an
amicus brief, as specified in Rule 37.1. When this case
was argued before the New York State Court of Appeals,
that court granted an order permitting the moving
parties herein to file one amicus brief on behalf of the
amici parties.

After receiving the amici brief in this matter and at
the request of the amici parties, the New York Court of
Appeals also granted the unusual relief of permitting oral

argument by the amici parties.

2

It is respectfully submitted that the petitioner's
attempt to determine what is relevant or to limit what
arguments are made by the Seneca Nation of Indians
should be rejected, as it would deprive this Court of the
opportunity to review the same points of law and
material that were presented to the court below.

Pursuant to Rule 37.4, the moving parties herein
submit that they have a more overriding interest in the
outcome of this case than either of the parties. The
Seneca Nation of Indians, a federally recognized Indian
tribe, is one of the Six Nations, [also known as the
Iroquois Confederacy] and as such possesses Sovereign
rights under the earliest treaties ever negotiated by the
United States government, guaranteeing peaceful
enjoyment of their land, free of disturbances.
Additionally and most significantly, the Senecas were
guaranteed freedom from State and local taxes on their
reservations in The 1842 Compromise Treaty with the
Senecas at the Buffalo Creek Reservation.

Because its treaty rights were negotiated at such an
early date in our Nation's history, the Seneca Nation
enjoys a unique historical posture which differentiates
them from other tribes. Unlike the western tribes, which
were defeated in battle, relinquished their claim of
ownership, and were often relocated, the Seneca Nation
of Indians was never defeated, nor ever relocated. The
New York State Senate in 1857 describe the Seneca’'s
title to their lands as “absolute, original and exclusive’.

The unique posture of the Seneca Nation of Indians
unlike that of the tribes discussed in the cases [Moe,
Colville, Potawatomi] relied on by the petitioner, has
resulted in a rich body of New York State law reflecting
and recognizing the unique, sovereign status of the
Seneca Nation. These state laws include a New York
statute prohibiting the petitioner from applying any of
its tax laws within the reservation. The actions of the

3

petitioner threaten to destroy the security from state
interference that the Senecas have enjoyed since New
York adopted a law in 1857, prohibiting tax collection on
the Seneca reservations.

Additionally, the State of New York expressly asked
Congress repeatedly for a grant of general authority to
apply its civil laws on New York reservations. These
requests have been repeatedly denied, and although
criminal jurisdiction was granted in 1948, Congress
expressly proclaimed in 1950 that the State of New York
lacked power to apply its tax laws within the
reservations. Again, the petitioner's actions threaten
these well settled rights of the Senecas, which they have
achieved and maintained for over 200 years.

More importantly, in the only New York Indian case
ever before this Court involving the question of taxation,
this Court, over 100 years ago, held that the treaties
prohibit New York State from attempting to apply any
of its tax laws on the reservations. This court wrote that
it examined the treaty language and could come to only
one conclusion—that the Nation does not hold title to its
land through the United States but holds it in its
original claim of ownership, and that the State of New
York, therefore, may not impose any of its laws,
including its tax laws within the reservation.

Only Congress, which was granted exclusive plenary
power to deal with Indian affairs, has the power to alter
this result and Congress has expressly spoken to the
subject and affirmatively denied New York taxing power
within the confines of the Nation's property.

4

It is respectfully submitted that the arguments raised
herein are significant and dispositive of the issues in this
case. The New York Court of Appeals felt these
arguments were significant enough to warrant granting
amicus curiae relief, and indeed felt these arguments
were so significant as to grant the unusual relief of
permitting oral argument to the amici parties.

The Court's attention is further directed to a
subsequent case commenced by the petitioner
Department of Taxation which is currently pending in
the New York State courts. Snyder v. Wetzler, Index No.
946-92. The Snyder case was, in the petitioner's own
words, a ‘‘test case’’ and directly at issue in that case is
the power of the State of New York to impose its taxing
regulations within the Seneca Nation lands. The moving
parties herein have also appeared in that case as amici
curiae.

Finally, in support of this motion, the Court's
attention is drawn to Rule 37.5, which provides that
consent to the filing of an amicus curiae brief is not
necessary when the brief is submitted on behalf of an
agency of the United States, a state, territory,
commonwealth, or political subdivision. Although Rule
37.5 does not expressly refer to an Indian Nation, there
is substantial precedent in federal law for not only
recognizing the sovereign status of the Indian Nations
but also regarding them for many purposes as equivalent
to a state.

In this matter the Seneca Nation of Indians has an
overwhelming interest in the outcome of this litigation,
as the integrity of the Nation's treaties, federal statutes
applicable only to tribes in New York as well as the
economic survival of the Nation itself are all at stake.

a OE +P ee nace

HOBBS, STRAUS, DEAN
& WILDER

HANS WALKER, JR., Of Counsel 1250 Statler Towers

1819 H Street, N.W. Suite 800 Buffalo, New York 14202

Washington, D.C. 20006

Telephone: (202) 783-8100

5

Because the Seneca Nation has such an overriding
interest in the outcome of this case and is uniquely able
to bring relevant matters to the court's attention,
permission to file the attached amici curiae brief is
respectfully requested of the Court.

Res»sctfully submitted,

ANTHONY J. COLUCCI, JR.
Counsel of Record

BLOCK & COLUCCI, P.C.
JOSEPH F. CRANGLE, Of Counsel

Telephone: (716) 854-4080

Attorneys for Amici Curiae Seneca Nation
of Indians; Mohawk Tribal Council; Iroquois
Business Association; Honor Indian Treaties;

Seneca Coalition Against Treaties

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1993

No. 93-377

DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION AND FINANCE OF THE
STATE OF NEW YORK and JAMES W. WETZLER,
COMMISSIONER OF TAXATION AND FINANCE OF THE
STATE OF NEW YORK and the TAX APPEALS TRIBUNAL

OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK, State Campus, Albany, New
York,

: Petitioners,
against
MILHELM ATTEA & BROS., INC., a/k/a MILHELM ATTEA &
BROTHERS, INC., a/k/a MILHEM ATTEA & BROTHERS,
INC., 1509 Clinton Street, Buffalo, New York 14206,
Respondent.
——

JAMES W. WETZLER, as Commissioner of Taxation and Finance
of the State of New York; THE DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION
AND FINANCE OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK and the TAX
APPEALS TRIBUNAL OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK, State
Campus, Albany, New York 12227,

Petitioners,
against

ELIAS H. ATTEA, JR., 6175 Stickler Street,
Clarence, New York 14031,
Respondent.

PETITION FoR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE COURT OF
APPEALS OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK.

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE
On behalf of: Seneca Nation of Indians; Mohawk Tribal
Council; Iroquois Business Association; Honor Indian
Treaties; Seneca Coalition Against Taxes

i.
QUESTION PRESENTED

Is the State of New York Department of Taxation
preempted by Treaty, Federal, or State Laws from
applying State Tax regulations taxing the conduct of
commerce on a Seneca Reservation?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

os Page
ts yy 6B yy * | Se i
ERED GE GRU RENEE cc ccc ccc cesscvccceccces iii
py) PF Tt MN iys 6 | yy | - Sere Vv
STATEMENT OF INTEREST .................. l
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT................... 2
FEET FOOT CTE TET ETE E TCT TEE T TOT 4

The Writ Of Certiorari Should Be Denied
Because The Court Of Appeals’ Decision Is
Consistent With The Federal Treaties And
Statutes Governing New York............... 4

A. The tax regulations are invalid because
they violate Seneca Nation treaties, which are
the Supreme Law of the Land ............. 7
B. The New York Legislature recognized
the unique effect of the Seneca treaties by
declaring the reservations wholly exempt
from taxation in Indian Law, §6 ........... 13
C. The uniqueness of the Seneca treaties
was conclusively established by the Supreme
Court in 1866 in the New York Indians case,
which held that New York may not apply its
laws within Seneca borders for any purpose.. 14
D. Congress reaffirmed the unique effect of
the Seneca treaties when, in enacting 25
U.S.C. $233, it refused to grant New York the
power to extend its civil laws to the
reservations and further expressly prohibited
state taxation on such reservations......... 17

Sn os oc en cccatesccedesdasececnerss 20

iv. Vv.
AMICI CURIAE APPENDIX: TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Treaty With The Six Nations, 1784............. AAI an
Treaty With The Six Nations, 1789............. AA4 Cases
Treaty With The Six Nations, 1794............. AA8 Aleskea Pacific Fisheries v. United States.
Treaty Wie The GemeeGe ...ccccccessveveeeen AA14 i cuccececces 6
Carpenter v. Shaw, 280 U.S. 363 (1930) ........... 6
Central Machinery Co. v. Arizona Tax Commission,
Ee Cee Ck cece secencece 17
Choctaw Nation v. Oklahoma, 397 U.S. 620 (1970)... 6
Choctaw Nation v. United States, 318 U.S. 423
ee Ce ccc cee ccceccccese 6
Commissioner v. Duberstein, 363 U.S. 278 (1960)... 4
County Yakima v. Yakima Nation, _. US.
MME, «cc cccccccccscssecs 17
Fellows v. Denniston, 23 N.Y. 420 (1861).......... 5
Jones v. Meehan, 175 U.S. 1 (1895)............... 6
Knights of Pythias v. Meyer, 265 U.S. 30 (1924).... 4
Marbury v. Madison, 5 U.S. 137 (1803)............ 5
McClanahan v. Arizona State Tax Commission, 411
ccc eescececes 3,5,6,11,20
Moe v. Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes,
es ctw cc ceces 4,9,10,11,12
Montana v. Blackfeet, 171 U.S. 759 (1985)......... 17
New Mexico v. Cotton Petroleum, 490 U.S. 163
ee ee ewe ccc ceseeseeecececs ll

Oklahoma Tax Commission v. Potawatomi Tribe of
Oklahoma, CIV-87-0338-W revd. 888 F. 2d 1303,
affd. in part, 498 U.S. 505 (1991)............... 4,12

Oklahoma Tax Comission v. Sac and Fox Nation,

No. 92-259, S. Ct. May 17, 1993................ 3,6

Oklahoma Tax Commission v. United States, 319
SE 16

vi.
Ramah Navajo School Board, Inc. v. Bureau of
Revenue, 458 U.S. 832 (1982).................. 6
Starr v. Long Jim, 227 U.S. 613 (1913)............ 6
The New York Indians, 72 U.S. 761 (1866) .. . 3,4,5,14,16
Tulee v. Washington, 315 U.S. 681 (1942).......... 6
United States v. Forness, et al, 125 F. 2d 928
SE bb bu deecddueecbetéaUanedsduaeeesandeds 19
United States v. Shoshone Tribe, 304 U.S. 111
66460666 446664086 6600550 60NReoS ee heer 6
Warren Trading Post Co. v. Arizona Tax Comm..,
Sy Ss PD Kb coeds keeacesschudetincees 17

Washington v. Confederated Tribes of the Colville
Indian Reservation, 447 U.S. 134 (1980) .... 4,10,11,12
White Mountain Apache Tribe v. Bracker, 448 U.S.

SG Akane daenseesdesbaesbeseeeckateece 6
Winters v. United States, 207 U.S. 564 (1908)...... 6
Wisconsin v. J.C. Penney Co., 311 U.S. 435 (1940)... 4
Worcester v. Georgia, 31 U.S. 515 (1832) .......... 6

United States Constitution
CE, Ge OR, Be cc ckcedc ceecéneeessessesss 17
Ne SI oe abs 5
United States Treaties
Seneca and Six Nation Treaties
Treaty with Six Nations, Oct. 22, 1784, U.S.—Six

Nations, 7 Stat. 15, (Fort Stamwix)............. 2,7
Treaty with Six Nations, Jan. 9, 1789, U.S.—Six
Nations, 7 Stat. 33, (Fort Harmar)....... 1,2,7,9,10,11

Treaty of Peace with Six Nations, Nov. 11, 1794,
U.S.—Six Nations, 7 Stat. 44, (Canandaigua)... . 2,8,10

Treaty with the Senecas, May 20, 1842,
U.S.—N.Y.—Mass.—Seneca Nation, 7 Stat. 586,
ee 1,2,8,9,10,11,13

Western Treaties
Treaty with the Pottowautomie Nation, June 5 and

7, 1846 U.S.—Pottowautomies, 9 Stat. 853 ...... 12
Treaty with the Flatheads, July 16, 1855,
U.S.—Flatheads Nation, 12 Stat. 975 ......... 9,10,11

Treaty at Point Elliot, Jan. 22, 1855
U.S.—Dwdmish Tribe—Suqudmish Tribe, 12 Stat.

GP cccdaccecdaddecensseeddekeestseccedcecs 10,11
Treaty with the Makah Tribe, Jan. 31, 1855
U.S.—Makah Tribe, 12 Stat. 939............... 10,11
Treaty with the Yakamas Nation, June 9, 1855
U.S.—Yakama Nation, 12 Stat. 951 ............ ll
Treaty with the Pottawatomies, Nov. 15, 1861
U.S.—Pottawatomie Tribe, 12 Stat. 1191........ 12

Treaty with the Pottawotomie Indians, Feb. 27,
1867 U.S.—Pottawatomie Tribe, 15 Stat. 531 .... 12

viii.

United States Statutes

ee DY ds oes rdccceedéceendes 2,17
ee 2,12,18,19,20
ee ueceveesoer 2
. Fe 8 8 8 rrr ee 12
, 3% FF & | Brrr rrr 12
United States Documents
H.R. 18735, 63rd Cong. 3d Sess. 1915............. 19
H.R. 9720, 71st Cong. 2d Sess. 1930.............. 19

New York State Statutes

New York Indian Law, §6 (McKinney 1950)....... 2,9,13
ee le I MD oc acecibcecewcess 2,14
Se sie Ss Wa OR Be Oc cee cceccccccvcss 14
1907 N.Y. Laws Ch. 5, art. 2, §6 ................. 14
Se ee I A SO odo ccccccsccvceeees 14

New York State Legislature Documents

New York Senate Doc. No. 28 (1857)......... 2,12,13,14
Whipple Report, New York State Assembly Doc.
Bs Oe Sc cede sb cednueesntebeoseossccccases 18

New York State Senate Bill S7988B (1992)......... 3

ix.
Miscellaneous

Cohen, Felix, Handbook of Federal Indian Law,
Ses GE Bee > PU, DUE oc cc ccccccccsose:s
Gunther, Gerald, Governmental Power and New
York Indian Lands—A Reassessment of a
Persistent Problem of Federal-State Relations,
Buff. L. Rev., 1, 13 (Fall 1958).................
Hauptman, Lawrence, Formulating American Indian
Policy in New York State, 1970-1986 (State
University of New York Press, Albany, 1988)....
Stern, Gressman, and Shapiro, Supreme Court
ec ci cosecagapenveceens
Tribe, Lawrence, American Constitutional Law (2d.
i rE ery ee rrr
State of Oklahoma, County of Pottowautomie,
Book 281, Quitclaim Deeds, p. 28 ..............

2,7

19

18

4

5

STATEMENT OF INTEREST

The Seneca Nation of Indians is a federally recognized
sovereign Indian Nation. It is one of the Six Nations
(Seneca, Mohawk, Onondaga, Oneida, Cayuga,
Tuscarora), also known as the Iroquois Confederacy. The
Senecas enjoy a unique position in early American
Indian history. Unlike many Western Tribes who were
defeated in battle and surrendered their claim of
ownership to the United States and who were often
forced to relocate, the Senecas were never conquered or
forced to surrender. The Seneca Nation never relocated
from their aboriginal lands. Treaties acknowledge the
Sovereignty of the Seneca Nation and their right to the
free use and enjoyment of their land, not to be disturbed
by the United States or New York State. For example,
the 1789 Treaty at Fort Harmar provides that the U.S.
“relinquishes”’ all claim to the Seneca’s land ‘‘and each
and every part thereof’. The Senecas 1842 Compromise
Treaty contains an express covenant that the taxing
power of New York will never be imposed on their
reservations ‘‘for any purpose”’.

If the New York Tax Commissioner's position
prevailed, the Seneca Nation Members and the other
amici parties would suffer irreparable harm. Heretofore
their treaties, federal and state statutes have protected
them from such injury. The Seneca Nation and the
Mohawk tribe possess Sovereign rights which New York
is attempting to obliterate without any congressional
authority.

The tax regulations in the instant case represent an
attempt by the State of New York to circumvent the
express promises made by the United States and the
State of New York in these treaties to the Senecas. This
Amici Brief is submitted to call to the Court's
attention the Federal and State statutes and decisional
law, including Supreme Court cases, that developed as a
result of the sacred promises made by the United States
and the State of New York to the Senecas.

2

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

In 1784, the fledgling United States Government
elected to buy its peace with the Six Nations of the
Iroquois Confederacy. '

The foremost author on Indian Affairs, Felix Cohen,
devoted an entire chapter of his Treatise to the unique
status of the “New York Indians’. Felix Cohen,
Handbook of Federal Indian Law, Chapter V, (Univ. of
N. Mex. Press, 1972). Unlike tribes that were defeated in
battle and relocated, the Six Nation Indians were never
defeated, the Senecas were not relocated and their title is
“original, absolute and exclusive’ and does not derive
from the United States, nor New York State. See New
York Senate Doc. No. 28 (1857).

The unique status of the Seneca Nation was recognized
by New York’s own State Legislature, which has
prohibited taxation of the reservations since 1857. 1857
N.Y. Laws Ch. 45, §4; New York Indian Law, $6
(McKinney 1950).

Congress as well, which has the exclusive power under
the Constitution to regulate Indian affairs, has
recognized the Six Nations as unique. Despite repeated
requests, Congress has refused to delegate to New York
the power to apply its civil laws on the reservations, see
25 U.S.C. §§232 & 233, and has refused to make the
reservations in New York subject to allotment. Dawes
Act, 24 Stat. 388 (1887).

‘The Treaties between the parties are set forth in an appendix to this
Brief and include the following: Fort Stanwix Treaty, Oct. 22, 1784,
U.S.—Six Nations, 7 Stat. 15; Fort Harmar Treaty, Jan. 9, 1789,
U.S.—Six Nations, 7 Stat. 38; Canandaigua Treaty of Peace, Nov. 11,
1794, U.S.—Six Nations, 7 Stat. 44; Buffalo Creek Compromise
Treaty, May 20, 1842, U.S.—N.Y.—Mass.—Seneca Nation.

3

Most importantly, in the only New York Indian tax
case to reach the United States Supreme Court, this
Court expressly held that the treaties with the Seneca
Nation allow only one interpretation—namely that the
treaties prohibit the State of New York from attempting
to apply any of its laws, including tax laws, within the
reservation. The New York Indians, 72 U.S. 761 (1866).

This Court has consistently and repeatedly held that
State intrusions onto Indian property must be measured
against the specific treaties and statutes that govern the
parties. McClanahan v. Arizona State Tax Commission,
411 US 164 (1973). This preemption analysis has recently
been reaffirmed in Oklahoma Tax Commission v. Sac and
Fox Nation, No. 92-259 (S.Ct., May 17, 1993).

Despite two hundred years of history, which includes
treaties, a State law, an Act of Congress, and a decision
from this Court, all prohibiting taxation on the
reservation, the New York Tax Commissioner on his own
motion has forged ahead without any federal or state
legislative authority and elected to apply a tax on a
commercial reservation transaction. This was done even
though the New York State Legislature in 1992 and 1993
refused to pass a bill that would have authorized the
Commissioner's unilateral conduct. New York Senate Bill
S7988B.

In light of these overwhelming facts, it is clear that
the New York State Court of Appeals correctly found the
conduct of this state agency preempted by federal law,
and the application for a writ of certiorari should be
denied.

4

ARGUMENT

The Writ Of Certiorari Should Be Denied Because The
Court Of Appeals’ Decision Is Consistent With The
Federal Treaties And Statutes Governing New York.

The petitioner's sole argument for granting certiorari
in this case is that the holding of the New York Court of
Appeals is in conflict with this Court's decisions in Moe
v. Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes, 425 U.S. 463
(1976), Washington v. Confederated Tribes of Colville
Indian Reservation, 447 U.S. 134 (1980), and Oklahoma
Tax Commission v. Potawatomi Tribe of Oklahoma, 498
U.S. 505 (1991) (hereinafter Moe, Colville. and
Potawatomi). As set forth in the Respondent's brief this
proposition is untenable.’

Irrespective, however, of what Moe, Colville &
Potawatomi imply or declare concerning the specific
treaties and statutes at issue in those cases, New York is
preempted from imposing its taxing or regulatory
authority on the transactions at issue under specific
treaties, federal statutes, state statutes, and an 1866
decision of this Court—The New York Indians, 72 U.S.
761—all uniquely applicable to New York and New York
Indians. These relevant sources of State and Federal law
make it abundantly clear that New York has no power or
authority to regulate these transactions on the
reservations. Thus, independently of the Indian Trader

*The New York Court of Appeals put this point beyond doubt by
finding that the tax scheme imposed “‘significant™ as opposed to
“minimal” burdens on the wholesalers and imposed a tax directly on
the retailers.

State Court characterizations of state law are accepted as binding
by this court. Knights of Pythias v. Meyer, 265 U.S. 30, 32 (1924).
Stern, Gressman, and Shapiro, Supreme Court Practice, 185 (6th ed.
1986). Cf. Commissioner v. Duberstein, 363 U.S. 278 (1960).

As stated by this Court: ‘A tax is an exaction. Ascertainment of
the scope of the exaction—what is included in it—is for the state
court.’ Wisconsin v. J.C. Penney Co., 311 U.S. 435, 443 (1940).

5

statutes or cases from other jurisdictions, the Court of
Appeals correctly found petitioner's regulations
preempted. Consequently, certiorari should be denied.

The preemption doctrine is one of the oldest and most
fundamental doctrines of this Court. In 1803 this Court
held, in Marbury v. Madison, 5 U.S. 137 (1803), that any
law that conflicts with the ‘Supreme Law of the Land

is null and void.

The United States Constitution provides that all
treaties made by the United States shall be “the
supreme Law of the Land’’—the ‘‘Laws of any State to
the Contrary notwithstanding.” U.S. Const. Art. VI, Cl.
2. State action in violation of the Treaties is null and
void. See Fellows v. Denniston, 23 N.Y. 420, 427 (1861).
As noted by Professor Tribe, in his treatise:

‘Under the supremacy clause, it is indisputable
that a valid treaty overrides any conflicting state
law, even on matters otherwise within state
control.’’ Lawrence Tribe, American Constitutional

Law [2d ed] p. 226.

Professor Tribe cites as authority several cases,
including New York's very own ‘The New York Indians

(72 U.S. 761).’

In McClanahan v. Arizona Tax Commission, 411 U.S.
164 (1973) this Court applied the preemption doctrine to
Indian Law issues. This Court articulated that State
intrusions on Indian Sovereignty must be measured by
examining the language of the ‘‘applicable treaties and
statutes which define the limits of State power ,

? Professor Tribe also points out that treaties are equal in force with
congressional acts. Accordingly, where a congressional act and a
treaty have conflicting provisions, the one later in time prevails
(Tribe, Jd., at pg. 226).

This rule is consistent with and buttresses a corollary principle:
that only Congress has the power to regulate Indian affairs and only
Congress can delegate power to the states, which are powerless to act
in the absence of congressional authorization.

6

McClanahan, at 172; Oklahoma Tax Commission v. Sac
& Fox Nation, No. 92-259 (S.Ct., May 17, 1993); White
Mountain Apache Tribe v. Bracker, 448 U.S. 136, 144-
145 (1986); see also Ramah Navajo School Board Inc. v.
Bureau of Revenue, 458 U.S. 832 (1982) [‘‘the dominant
trend of our cases is toward treating the scope of
reservation immunity from non-discriminatory taxation
as a question of preemption’’].

Moreover, in applying the McClanahan analysis, this
Court has mandated that the language of Indian treaties
and statutes applicable to Indians must be construed
according to the following rules:

[1] Ambiguous expressions must be resolved in
favor of the Indian parties. McClanahan v. State Tax
Commissioner, 411 U.S. 164, 174 (1973); Alaska
Pacific Fisheries v. United States, 248 U.S. 78, 89
(1912); Winters v. U.S., 207 U.S. 564, 576-77 (1908).

[2] Language must be interpreted as the Indians
would have understood them. Choctaw Nation v.
Oklahoma, 397 U.S. 620, 630 (1970); United States
v. Shoshone Tribe, 304 U.S. 111, 116 (1938); Starr v.
Long Jim, 227 U.S. 613, 622-23 (1913); Jones v.
Meehan, 175 U.S. 1 (1895); Worcester v. Georgia, 31
U.S. (6 Pet.) 515, 582 (1832);

[3] Language must be liberally construed in favor
of the Indians. Choctaw Nation v. United States,
318 U.S. 423, 431-32 (1943); Tulee v. Washington,
315 U.S. 681, 685-85 (1942).

[4] “[Tjax exemptions secured to the Indians by
agreement between them and the national
government are to be liberally construed in favor of
the Indians.” Carpenter v. Shaw, 280 U.S. 363, 367.

In accordance with McClanahan and the above cited
cases, the preemption issue in the present case can only
be resolved by examining the relevant treaties and
statutes applicable to the parties in this case.

7

A. The tax regulations are invalid because they violate the
letter and spirit of specific and unique Seneca Nation Treaties,
which are the Supreme Law of the Land.

The treaties governing the Senecas and the Six
Nations Indians, which are set forth in full in the
Amicus’ Appendix, prohibit the State of New York from
applying its laws, particularly its tax laws, on
Reservations. As stated by the pre-eminent authority on
American Indian law, Felix Cohen, in a special chapter of
his treatise devoted solely to the ‘‘New York Indians’’:

‘These several treaties guaranteed to the Iroquois
(Six Nations) the right of occupancy of their well-
defined territories and had the effect of placing the
tribes and their Reservations beyond the operation
and effect of general state laws.”

Felix Cohen, Handbook of Federal Indian Law, pp.
418-419 (Univ. of N. Mex. Press, 1972), (emphasis added).
The treaties referred to by Professor Cohen include the
following:

FORT STANWIX TREATY (1784), 7 Stat. 15

This very first treaty entered into between the Six
Nations and the United States illustrates that the
parties regarded each other as sovereigns who were both
claiming a right to possess the same land. In this first
treaty the parties agreed to divide up the lands and
thereafter live in peace.

Article III fixes the boundary line between the two
parties and provides that “the Six Nations shall and do
yield to the United States, all claims to the country west
of the said boundary and then they shall be secured in
the peaceful possession of the lands they inhabit east
and north of same... .”

FORT HARMAR TREATY (17839), 7 Stat. 38.
Five years later the parties executed a second treaty,

which further defined boundaries and provided that “the
said boundary line’’ shall ‘‘remain as a division line

8

between the lands of the said Six Nations and the
territory of the United States, forever’. The United
States agreed to “relinquish” all claims to the Indians’
land ‘‘and every part thereof’.

CANANDAIGUA TREATY OF PEACE (1794),
7 Stat. 44.

This treaty between the United States and the Six
Nations, held at Canandaigua, Nov. 11, 1794, recites that
it is made for the purpose of removing from the Six
Nations’ mind ‘‘all causes of complaint and establishing
a firm and permanent friendship’. The United States
acknowledges the boundaries of the lands belonging to
the members of the Six Nations. In Article III the
United States expressly promised:

‘Now the United States acknowledge all the lands
within the aforementioned boundaries to be the
property of the Seneca Nation; and the United
States will never claim the same, nor disturb the
Senecas in the free use and enjoyment thereof; but it
shall remain theirs until they choose to sell the same
to the people of the United States who have the right
to purchase.” 7 Stat. 44, Article III.

1842 COMPROMISE TREATY WITH THE SENECA
NATION BUFFALO CREEK RESERVATION,
7 Stat. 586.

In addition, and most importantly, there is the Buffalo
Creek Compromise Treaty of 1842 to which the State of
New York, Massachusetts, the United States and the
Seneca Nation were parties. Explicit language in this
treaty prohibits New York State from taxing Seneca
Nation Indian Reservation activities:

‘Art. 9. The parties to this compact mutually agree
to solicit the influence of the United States to
protect such of the lands of the Senecas within the
State of New York as may from time to time remain
in their possession from all taxes, and assessments

for roads, highways and other purposes until such
lands shall be sold and conveyed by said Indians
and possession thereof shall be relinquished by
them.” 7 Stat. 586.

This treaty was later codified by the New York
Legislature and revised to provide that no taxes would
be imposed on any reservations within the state. See
New York Indian Law §6 (McKinney, 1950).

The treaties applicable to the New York Indians are
markedly different from the treaties applicable to the
western tribes. The petitioner relies heavily on cases
which are based on treaties governing only the western
tribes. The chief difference is that the western tribes,
who were all defeated in battle, were forced to relinquish
title to their lands. In exchange they were allowed the
“use” of land owned by the United States, often
requiring the tribes to relocate.

Moe Treaties

In Moe v. Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes,
425 U.S. 463 (1976), for example, the treaty with the
Flatheads provided ‘‘The Flathead Nation hereby cede,
relinquish and convey to the U:S. all their right, title and
interest in the country occupied and claimed by them
within the described boundaries. ..."' Treaty with the
Flatheads, July 16, 1855, U.S.—Flathead Nation, 12
Stat. 975. The treaty went on to provide that the tract of
the land “above ceded’’ would be reserved for the “use
and occupation’’ of the tribe. Treaty with the Flatheads,
July 16, 1855, U.S.—Flathead Nation, 12 Stat. 975.

This treaty gave the Flatheads vastly limited rights
compared to what the Senecas enjoy. Noticeably absent
from the Flathead Treaty is the specific language found
in the Seneca Treaty of 1789, where the U.S. agreed to
“confirm the said boundary line’’ of the earlier treaty ‘‘to
the end that it may be and remain as a division line
between the lands of the said Six Nations and the

10

territory of the U.S., forever’’ Fort Harmar Treaty, 7
Stat. 38 (emphasis added). The Moe treaty did not
contemplate any similar jurisdictional division between
the Flatheads and the United States.

To the contrary, the Flathead Treaty placed the
reservation land under the ownership of the U.S. and
made it subject to allotment at the discretion of the
President. Treaty with the Flatheads, 12 Stat. 975. The
Senecas were never made subject to the Allotment Act
of 1887, a reflection of their unique status. Also,
significantly absent from the Moe treaty is any language
similar to the promises made in the 1794 Treaty with the
Senecas, wherein the ‘U.S. acknowledged that all land
within the reservation boundaries was the property of
the Seneca Nation’’ and promised that the “United
States will never claim the same nor disturb the Seneca
Nation in the free use and enjoyment thereof’. Treaty at
Canandaigua, 7 Stat. 44. The Flathead Treaty does not
contain any such explicit agreement prohibiting future
interference or disturbance in the use of their own
tribally held property.

Finally, perhaps the most significant difference is the
obvious absence from the Flathead treaty of any
language prohibiting state taxation on or within their
reservation. In the Flathead treaty there is no language
or provision similar to Article 9 of the 1842 Seneca
Treaty in which the United States and the State of New
York promised ‘‘to protect such lands from all taxes and
assessments '. Buffalo Creek Treaty, 7 Stat. 586.

Colville Treaties

The Treaties at issue in Washington v. Confederated
Tribes of the Colville Indian Reservation, 447 U.S. 134,
and specifically referred to by the Court, are the
following: (1) Treaty of Point Elliot, Jan. 22, 1855,
U.S.—Dwadmish and Suqudmish Indians, 12 Stat. 939; (2)
Treaty with the Makah Tribe, Jan. 31, 1855,

ll

U.S.—Makah, 12 Stat. 939; (3) Treaty with the Yakamas,
June 9, 1855, U.S.—Yakama Nation, 12 Stat. 951.

These treaties are quite similar to the Flathead Treaty
in Moe. The Treaties with the Dwamish Indians and the
Yakamas both generally provide that these tribes cede
their claims of ownership to the United States and that
specified tracts of land are reserved ‘for the use and
occupation” of the tribes.

The treaty with the Makah tribe similarly provides
“that a tract of land is reserved for the present use and
occupation” of the tribe. The Makah Treaty also made
the tribe subject to involuntary removal from such
reservation at anytime. Treaty with the Makah Tribe, 12
Stat. 939 (1855) (emphasis added).

All three of the Treaties with the Dwamish, Makah,
and Yakamas made the reserved land subject to
Allotment at the “‘discretion’’ of the President. Treaty at
Point Elliot, 12 Stat. 939 (1855). Significantly, once
again the treaties cited in Colville contain no specific

such reservations, as does the 1842 Treaty with the

Seneca Nation. 7 Stat. 586. Such preemptive language is
noticeably absent from all treaties relied on in Colville.

12

Potawatomi Treaties

The Potawatomi have even less autonomy than the
Colville and Flathead tribes. The District Court in the
Potawatomi opinion (W.D. Oklahoma, F.D.C., CIV-87-
0338-W) describes the tragic history of the tribe's
removal from the Great Lakes to Kansas and then to
Oklahoma. The court also related their allotment and
receipt of new land conveyed to them by the federal
government. Notably, the land at issue in Potawatomi
was conveyed to the Citizen Band by virtue of legislation
and a quit claim deed, both expressly providing that
“these tracts were not exempt from taxation or
restriction on use, management or disposition because of
Indian ownership.” See Oklahoma Tax Comm. v.
Potawatomi, supra; see also State of Oklahoma, County
of Pottowautomie, Book 281, Quitclaim Deeds, p. 28.

As in Moe and Colville, treaties with the Potawatomis
are significantly different from the relevant treaties
made with the Seneca Nation. Treaty with the
Pottowautomie Nation, June 5 & 17, 1846,
U.S.—Pottowautomies, 9 Stat. 853 (1846); Treaty with
the Pottawatomies, Nov. 15, 1861, U.S.—Pottawatomie
tribe, 12 Stat. 1191; Treaty with the Pottawatomie
Indians, Feb. 27, 1967, U.S.—Pottawatomie Tribe, 15
Stat. 531. The Senecas never relinquished title to their
land. They were never relocated like the Potawatomis.
Their title to the Cattaraugus and Allegheny
reservations is “original” “absolute” and “exclusive”. New
York Sen. Doc. 28, 1857. As noted above, the Senecas
are not subject to allotment. However, the most direct
contrast between the two situations is that the
Potawatomi lands were specifically declared by Congress
as ‘‘not exempt from taxation’’. 74 Stat. 903; 78 Stat.
392, whereas the 1842 Treaty with the Senecas declared
their reservation land free ‘from all taxes and
assessments’’. This tax exempt language is also found in
25 U.S.C. 233 (“Provided further, that nothing in this
section shall be construed as subjecting the lands within

13

Indian Reservation in the State of New York to Taxation
for state or local purposes.”’) and New York Indian Law,
§6 (“no taxation for any purpose whatsoever.’’).

B. The New York Legislature recognized the unique effect
of the Seneca Treaties by declaring the reservations wholly
exempt from taxation in Indian Law Section 6.

in the 1842 Buffalo Creek Compromise Treaty with the
Senecas, the United States and the State of New York,
who were both parties, expressly promised in Article 9 to
protect the lands of the Senecas ‘‘from all taxes’ until
such lands are conveyed by the Senecas and possession
relinquished by them.

In 1841 New York attempted to apply its tax laws
within the Seneca Nation reservations. In light of the
1842 Seneca Treaty, a New York State Senate
Committee in 1857 reviewed the treaties and concluded
as follows:

“From a careful examination of the several treaties
heretofore made with the Senecas ... your
committee are clearly of the opinion, that the
Senecas do not hold the title to the Cattaraugus and
Allegheny reservations under the State of New
York, nor under the United States, but their title to
same is i absolute and exclusive’ New York
Senate Doc. No. 28 ( (Emphasis added).

The New York Senate Judiciary Report adopted by the
Senate went on to conclude that the State of New York,
as a party to the treaty, “is also bound not to impose
taxes on said reservations” /d.

Based on the Senate Judiciary Report, the New York
State Legislature enacted in 1857 a state law expressly
prohibiting taxes:

“No tax shall hereafter be assessed or imposed on
either of said reservations, or on any part thereof,

for any purposes whatever, so long as said
reservations remain the property of the Seneca

14

Nation; and all acts of the legislature of this state
conflicting with the visions of this section, are
hereby repealed.” 1857 New York Laws Ch. 45, §4.

Since that time the State of New York Legislature has
continually reaffirmed the public policy of tax exemption
on Indian reservations. In 1892, this status was codified
as part of the state’s general Laws in Chapter V, Article
I, Sec. 6 incorporating the same text as the 1857 statute.
In 1907, the statute was revised and became part of the
Consolidated Laws in Chapter 5, Article 2, Sec. 6. The
language of the statute was broadened to generally
exempt all reservations in New York from state taxation,
in addition to the Seneca reservations. The new Sec. 6
was entitled Exemption of reservation lands from
taxation and stated:

“No taxes shall be assessed for any purpose
whatever, upon any Indian reservation in this state,
so long as the land of such reservation shall remain
the property of the nation, tribe or band occupying
the same’’. 1909 New York Laws, Ch. 31, Article 2.

Today, that provision is known as Indian Law Sec. 6
and thus this statute presently acknowledges and
confirms that the “Treaties made with the Senecas have
the effect of precluding any state taxation, “for any
purpose whatever’’, on the Indian reservations within the
State of New York. New York Senate Doc. 28 (1857).

C. The uniqueness of the Seneca Treaties was conclusively
established by the United States Supreme Court in 1866 in the
New York Indians case, which held that New York may not
apply its laws within Seneca borders for any purpose.

Shortly after the New York Senate had performed its
own analysis of the treaties and the State Legislature
had adopted what is now Indian Law §6, banning all
State taxes within the reservation, the issue was raised
in the United States Supreme Court. In The New York
Indians, 72 U.S. 761, this Court declared invalid the
1841 statute which authorized the construction of roads

15

and bridges on the reservations and which also provided
for tax assessments to pay for them. Even though the
statute barred the State from entering the reservation
for the purpose of collecting the tax, this Court
invalidated the law and declared the reservations wholly
exempt from not only state taxation but also from State
action building roads within Reservation borders.

This Court examined the treaties and came to the same
conclusion as did the New York Senate four years
earlier—that the State of New York has no power
whatsoever over the Reservations.

[T]he rights of the Indians do not depend on this
or any other statutes of the State but upon treaties
which are the supreme law of the land: it is to these
treaties we must look to ascertain the nature of
these rights, and the extent of them... .

“These treaties are historical ... beginning in
1784 and coming down to 1842. That of 1794,
entered into at Canandaigua, New York, may be
cited as a specimen. Third Article, ‘The United
States acknowledge all the land within the
aforementioned boundaries . .. to be the property of
the Seneca Nation, and the United States will never
claim the same nor disturb the Seneca Nation, ... in
the free use and enjoyment thereof; but it shall
remain theirs until they choose to sell the same to
the people of the United States, who have the right
to purchase. ...

“These are the guarantees given by the United
States, and which her faith is pledged to uphold.
Now we have seen that this law, [the 1841 NY
Statute] taxing the lands in the reservations,
authorizes the county authorities to enter upon
them, survey and lay out roads, construct and repair
them, construct and repair bridges, assess and
collect taxes to meet the expenses, and survey the
lands for the purpose of making the assessments,

16

and in pursuance of these powers the proper officers
of the counties have assessed upon them large sums
for the years 1840, 1841, 1842, and 1843.

“The answer to all this interference with the
possession and occupation, and exercise of authority
is, that the sale of the lands in default of payment of
the taxes shall not “affect the right of occupancy of
the Indians." We are of opinion that this is not a
satisfactory answer.

‘We have looked through all the treaties from
1784 down to the present time... .

“Until the Indians have sold their lands, . . . they
are to be regarded as still in their ancient
possessions, and are in under their original rights,
and entitled to the undisturbed enjoyment of them.

“We must say ... these reservations [are] wholly
exempt from State taxation, ... and the exercise of
this authority over them is an unwarrantable
interference, inconsistent with the original title of
the Indians, and offensive to their tribal relations”
The New York Indians, 72 U.S. at 766-771 (emphasis
added).

What is important to note about this holding of the
Supreme Court invalidating the 1841 statute, is that it
was based on the Treaty language of 1794, 7 Stat. 44,
which recognized the ‘‘ancient possession”’ of the Indians
of New York and. guaranteed their “undisturbed
enjoyment’. Such language, held this Court, not only
rendered the reservations ‘“‘wholly exempt from State
taxation’’ but prohibited the state from entering for the
purpose of constructing roads and bridges. Indeed, The
New York Indians case was later described by this Court

as one “where the State sought to raise money by taxes.

to build roads in Indian Reservations and where existing
treaties forbade the State’s building such roads”’
Oklahoma Tax Commission v. United States, 319 U.S.
598, 602 (1943).

17

The point is that what the treaties forbade, and forbid,
is the interference with the possessory right of the
Indians to use the reservation land as they see fit.
Building roads without approval on the reservations
interfered with this possessory right; taxing the land to
finance this construction interfered with such possessory
right; and what the Department of Taxation and Finance
has done here interferes with the basic possessory right
of the Seneca to conduct trade without the interference
and intrusion of the State of New York.

D. Congress reaffirmed the unique effect of the Seneca
Treaties when, in enacting 25 U.S.C. §233, it refused to grant
New York the power to extend its civil laws to the reservations
and further expressly prohibited state taxation on such
reservations.

The United States Constitution grants to Congress the
exclusive, plenary power to regulate Indian affairs
(United States Constitution, Art. I, §8, cl.3). The
founding fathers recognized the need to protect the
tribes from encroachment by state governments. This
philosophy is reflected in the Indian Trader statutes,
which, in accord with the United States Constitution,
have completely preempted the field and prohibit state
governments from encroaching into reservation matters.
Warren Trading Post Co. v. Arizona Tax Comm., 380
U.S. 685 (1965); Central Machinery Co. v. Arizona Tax
Comm., 448 U.S. 160 (1980). Only Congress, therefore,
can regulate trade occurring on the reservations. Absent
an express delegation of power from Congress, the state
may not regulate reservation affairs. Montana uv.
Blackfeet, 171 U.S. 759, 765 (1985), County of Yakima v.
Yakima Nation, USS. , 112 S. Ct. 683 (1992).

Congress did delegate in 1948 to New York State the
power to apply its criminal laws on the reservations (25
U.S.C. 232). Congress was asked, and expressly refused,
however, to allow New York to apply its civil laws on the
reservations.

18

This fact was admitted by Tax Commissioner Wetzler,
one of the petitioners herein, in a statement made last
year to the New York State Senate Committee, which
was considering a bill that would make New York's tax
laws applicable to the reservations. Commissioner
Wetzler candidly admitted:

“Despite the fact that New York once sought a
specific Congressional delegation of general civil
authority over Indians and Indian reservations,
Congress has not given New York such authority.
New York's general civil laws—including its tax
laws—are not, therefore, automatically applicable to
tribe members on reservations."

This statement of New York's Tax Commissioner
succinctly summarizes the attempts by New York to
extend its civil control over the reservations. Throughout
much of the early 1900's, efforts were made by leaders in
New York to assimilate the New York Indians and
abolish their Sovereign status. Legislative documents in
New York, such as the Whipple Report illustrate the
thinking at that time, which was “that the best that
could be done for the Indian would be ‘exterminate the
tribe and preserve the individual; make citizens of them
and divide their lands in_ severalty’’’ Lawrence
Hauptman, Formulating American Indian Policy in New
York State, 1970-1986, quoting the Whipple Report, New
York State Assembly Document No. 51 (1888).

‘The footnote to the statement provided: “The purported grant of
civil jurisdiction contained in 25 USC 233 is virtually identical to that
of another federal statute (28 USC 1360), which the U.S. Supreme
Court ruled in Bryan v. Itasca County, (426 U.S. 313 (1976)) was not
a general grant of authority over Indians and reservations, but only
opened up state courts to tribe members. ’

19

In furtherance of this plan, Congress was asked to
pass a law that would divide in severalty the lands of the
Six Nations. HR 18735, 63rd Cong. 3d Sess. (1915). A
House document on that bill noted a second attempt was
a constitutional amendment at the state level which
would have extended state laws to the reservations.
Gerald Gunther, Governmental Power and New York

Indian Lands—A Reassessment of a Persistent Prob
of Federal—State Relations, Buff. L. Rev., 1, 13 (Fall
1958). Along those same lines, in 1930 the Snell Bill was
introduced into Congress. This bill would have
authorized what the petitioner herein now seeks—State
law would generally have applied throughout the
reservation. HR 9720, 71st Congress 2nd Sess. 1930.
Like earlier attempts to grant New York State civil
authority over the Reservations, the Snell Bill was
rejected by Congress.

Instead, in response to a Second Circuit case holding
that New York Courts had no jurisdiction to hear civil
cases involving Indians, United States v. Forness, 125 F.
2d 928 (2d Cir. 1942), Congress in 1950 enacted 25 U.S.C.
$233 (1989). Section 233 did not provide that New York's
civil laws would apply on the reservations but provided
only that New York Courts could be used as a forum for
civil disputes involving Indians. For clarity, Congress
added a provision in §233 that “nothing in this section
shall be construed as subjecting the lands within any
Indian reservation in the State of New York to taxation
for State or Local purposes” 25 U.S.C. §233 (1989)
(Emphasis added).

Under the Constitution New York is powerless to
interfere with Indian matters unless Congress so
authorizes. Congress has expressly refused to delegate to
petitioner the authority they have usurped.

20

CONCLUSION

Under McClanahan, 411 U.S. 164, and its progeny, the
issue of preemption must be governed by the specific
treaties and federal statutes applicable to the parties. In
the case of the Seneca Nation and other New York
Indians, the treaties themselves expressly provide that
the reservations shall be free from State laws and

particularly State tax laws

& WILDER

The unilateral action of the New York State
Department of Taxation contradicts the laws of New
York's own State Legislature and violates 200 years of
history, including treaties as well as an Act of Congress
(25 U.S.C. $233) and a decision from this Court (The New
York Indians), both of which examined the applicable
treaties and found that they prohibit applying state tax
laws within the reservations.

For all these reasons the New York State Court of
Appeals correctly found the petitioner's regulations
preempted, and the petition for certiorari should be
denied.

Respectfully submitted,

ANTHONY J. COLUCCI, JR.

Counsel of Record

HOBBS, STRAUS, DEAN BLOCK & COLUCCI, P.C.
JOSEPH F. CRANGLE, Of Counsel
HANS WALKER, JR., Of Counsel 1250 Statler Towers

1819 H Street, N.W. Suite 800 Buffalo, New York 14202
Washington, D.C. 20006 Telephone: (716) 854-4080
Telephone: (202) 783-8100

Attorneys for Amici Curiae Seneca Nation
of Indians; Mohawk Tribal Council; Iroquois
Business Association; Honor Indian Treaties;

Seneca Coalition Against Taxes

AAI
AMICI CURIAE APPENDIX

TREATY WITH THE SIX NATIONS, 1784
Oct. 22, 1784
7 Stat., 15

Articles concluded at Fort Stanwix, on the twenty-second
day of October, one thousand seven hundred and
eighty-four, between Oliver Wolcott, Richard Butler,
and Arthur Lee, Commissioners Plenipotentiary from
the United States, in Congress assembled, on the one
Part, and the Sachems and Warriors of the Six
Nations, on the other.

The United States of America give peace to the
Senecas, Mohawks, Onondagas and Cayugas, and receive
them into their protection upon the following conditions:

ARTICLE I.

Six hostages shall be immediately delivered to the
commissioners by the said nations, to remain in
possession of the United States, till all the prisoners,
white and black, which were taken by the said Senecas,
Mohawks, Onondagas and Cayugas, or by any of them,
in the late war, from among the people of the United
States, shall be delivered up.

ARTICLE II.

The Oneida and Tuscarora nations shall be secured in
the possession of the lands on which they are settled.

ARTICLE III.

A line shall be drawn, beginning at the mouth of a
creek about four miles east of Niagara, called
Oyonwayea, or Johnston's Landing Place, upon the lake

AA2

named by the Indians Oswego, and by us Ontario; from
thence southerly in a direction always four miles east of
the carrying-path, between Lake Erie and Ontario, to the
mouth of Tehoseroron or Buffalo Creek on Lake Erie;
thence south to the end of the said north boundary;
thence south along the west boundary of the said state,
to the river Ohio; the said line from the mouth of the
Oyonwayea to the Ohio, shall be the western boundary of
the lands of the Six Nations, so that the Six Nations
shall and do yield to the United States, all claims to the
country west of the said boundary, and then they shall
be secured in the peaceful possession of the lands they
inhabit east and north of the same, reserving only six
miles square round the fort of Oswego, to the United
States, for the support of the same.

ARTICLE IV.

The Commissioners of the United States, in
consideration of the present circumstances of the Six
Nations, and in execution of the humane and liberal
views of the United States upon the signing of the above
articles, will order goods to be delivered to the said Six
Nation for their use and comfort.

Oliver Wolcott,

[L.S.]

Oneidas:

Richard Butler, [L.S.] Otyadonenghti, his x mark,
Arthur Lee, {[L.S.] Dagaheari, his x mark,

Mohawks: Cayuga:

Onogwendahonji, his x mark, [L.S.] amy his x mark,
Touighnatogon, his x mark, {L.S.]

Onondagas: ouninaianaee his x mark
Oheadarighton, his mark, {L.S.} Tharondawagon, his x mark,
Kendarindgon, his x mark, {L.S.] Seneka Abeal:

Senekas: Kayenthoghke, his x mark,
Tayagonendagighl, his x mark, [L.S.]

Tehonwaeaghrigagi, his x mark, [L.S.]

[L.S.]
[L.S.]

[L.S.]

[L.S.]
[L.S.]

[L.S.]

Witnesses:

Sam. Jo. Atlee,
Wm. Maclay,
Fras. Johnston,

Pennsylvania Commissioners.

Aaron Hill
Alexander Campbell,

AA3

James Dean,

Saml. Montgomery,

John Mercer, lieutenant,
William Pennington, lieutenant.
Mahlon Hord, ensign,

Hugh Peebles.

AA4

TREATY WITH THE SIX NATIONS, 1789
Jan. 9, 1789
7 Stat., 38

Articles of a treaty made at Fort Harmar, the ninth day
of January, in the year of our Lord one thousand seven
hundred and eighty-nine, between Arthur St. Clair,
esquire, governor of the territory of the United States
of America, north-west of the river Ohio, and
commissioner plenipotentiary of the said United
States, for removing all causes of controversy,
regulating trade, and settling boundaries, between the
Indian nations in the northern department and the
said United States, of the one part, and the sachems
and warriors of the Six Nations, of the other part:

Art. 1. WHEREAS the United States, in congress
assembled, did by their commissioners, Oliver Wolcott,
Richard Butler, and Arthur Lee, esquires, duly appointed
for that purpose, at a treaty held with the said Six
Nations, viz: with the Mohawks, Oneidas, Onondagas,
Tuscaroras, Cayugas, and Senekas, at fort Stanwix, on
the twenty-second day of October, one thousand seven
hundred and eighty-four, give peace to the said nations,
and receive them into their friendship and protection;
And whereas the said nations have now agreed to and
with the said Arthur St. Clair, to renew and confirm all
the engagements and stipulations entered into at the
before mentioned treaty at fort Stanwix; and whereas it
was then and there agreed, between the United States of
America and the said Six Nations, that a boundary line
should be fixed between the lands of the said Six
Nations and the territory of the said United States,
which boundary line is as follows, vix: Beginning at the
mouth of a creek, about four miles east of Niagara, called

AA5

Ononwayea, or Johnston's Landing Place, upon the lake
named by the Indians Oswego, and by us Ontario; from
thence southerly, in a direction always four miles east of
‘the carrying place, between lake Erie and lake Ontario,
to the mouth of Tehoseroton, or Buffalo creek, upon lake
Erie; then south, to the northern boundary of the state
of Pennsylvania; thence west, to ;the end of the said
north boundary; thence south, along the west boundary
of the said state to the river Ohio. The said line, from the
mouth of Ononwayea to the Ohio, shall be the western
boundary of the lands of ;the Six Nations, so that the
Six Nations shall and do yield to the United States, all
claim to the country west of the said boundary; and then
they shall be secured in the possession of the lands they
inhabit east, north, and south of the same, reserving only
six miles square, round the fort of Oswego, for the
support of the same. The said Six Nations, except the
Mohawks, none of whom have attended at this time, for
and in consideration of the peace then granted to them,
the presents they then received, as well as in
consideration of a quantity of goods, to the value of
three thousand dollars, now delivered to them by the
said Arthur St. Clair, the receipt whereof they do hereby
acknowledge, do hereby renew and confirm the said
boundary line in the words before mentioned, to the end
that it may be and remain as a division line between the
lands of the said Six Nations and the territory of the
United States, forever. And the undersigned Indians, as
well in their own names as in the name of their
respective tribes and nations, their heirs and
descendants, for the considerations before mentioned, do
release, quit claim, relinquish, and cede, to ;the United
States of America, all the lands west of the said
boundary or division line, and between the said line and
the strait, from the mouth of Ononwayea and Buffalo

AA6

Creek, for them, the said United States of America, to
have and to hold the same, in true and absolute
propriety, forever.

ART. 2. The United States of American confirm to
the Six Nations, all the lands which they inhabit, lying
east and north of the before mentioned boundary line,
and relinquish and quit claim to the same and every part
thereof, excepting only six miles square round the fort
of Oswego, which six miles square round said fort is
again reserved to the United States by these presents.

ART. 3. The Oneida and Tuscarora nations are also
again secured and confirmed in the possession of their
respective lands.

ART. 4. The United States of America renew and
confirm the peace and friendship entered into with the
Six Nations, (except the Mohawks), at the treaty before
mentioned, held at fort Stanwix, declaring the same to be
perpetual. And if the Mohawks shall, within six months,
declare their assent to the same, they shall be considered
as included.

Done at Fort Harmar, on the Muskingum, the day and
year first above written.

In witness whereof, the parties have hereunto,
interchangeable, set their hands and seals.

Ar. St. Clair, [L.S.] |Owenewa, or Thrown in the Water,
Cageaga, or Dogs Round the his x mark,
Fire, {L.S.] Gyantwaia, or Cornplanter, his x
Sawedowa, or The Blast, {L.S.] mark,
Kiondushowa, or Swimming Gyasota, or Big Cross, his x mark,
Fish, {L.S.] Kannawsee, or New Arrow,

Oncahye, or Dancing Feather, [L.S.} Achiout, or Half Town,

Sohaeas, or Falling Mountain, [L.S.} Anachout, or The Wasp, his x mark [L.S.]

Otachsaka, or Broken Tomahawk, Chishekoa, or Wood Bug, his x

his x

mark, {L.S.] mark,

AA7

Tekahias, or Long Tree, his x Sessewa, or Big Bale of a Kettle,
mark {L.S.] Sclahowa, or Council Keeper,
Onecnsette, or Loaded Man, his Tweanias, or Broken Twig,
x mark, [L.S.] Sonachghowa, or Full Moon,
x mark, {[L.S.| Cachunwasse, or Twenty Canoes,
Kiahtulaho, or Snake, {L.S.| Hickonquash, or Tearing Asunder,
Aqueis, or Bandy Legs, [L.S.]
Kiandogewa, or Big Tree, his
x mark, {L.S.]}

In presence of-

Jos. Harmar, lieutenant-colonel commanding
First U.S. Regiment and brigadier-general
by brevet,

Richard Butler,

Jno. Gibson,

Will. McCurdy, captain,

Ed. Denny, ensign First U.S. Regiment,

A. Hartshorn, ensign,

Robt. Thompson, ensign, First U.S. Regiment,

{L.S.]
{L.S.]
{L.S.}
{L.S.]
[L.S.]
{L.S.}

AA8

TREATY WITH THE SIX NATIONS, 1794
Nov. 11, 1794

7 Stat., 44, Proclamation,
Jan. 21, 1795

A Treaty between the United States of America,
and the Tribes of Indians called the Six Nations.

The President of the United States having determined
to hold a conference with the Six Nations of Indians, for
the purpose of removing from their minds all causes of
complaint, and establishing a firm and permanent
friendship with them; and Timothy Pickering being
appointed sole agent for that purpose; and the agent
having met and conferred with the Sachems, Chiefs and
Warriors of the Six Nations, in a general council: Now, in
order to accomplish the good design of this conference,
the parties have agreed on the following articles; which,
when ratified by the President, with the advice and
consent of the Senate of the United States, shall be
binding on them and the Six Nations.

ARTICLE I.

Peace and friendship are hereby firmly established, and
shall be perpetual, between the United States and the
Six Nations.

ARTICLE II.

The United States acknowledge the lands reserved to
the Oneida, Onondaga and Cayuga Nations, in their
respective treaties with the state of New York, and
called their reservations, to be their property; and the
United States will never claim the same, nor disturb
them or either of the Six Nations, nor their Indian
friends residing thereon and united with them, in the free

AAY

use and enjoyment thereof: but the said reservations
shall remain theirs, until they choose to sell the same to
the people of the United States, who have the right to
purchase.

ARTICLE III.

The land of the Seneka nation is bounded as follows:
Beginning on Lake Ontario, at the north-west corner of
the land they sold to Oliver Phelps, the line runs
westerly along the lake, as far as O-yong-wong-yeh
Creek, at Johnson's Landing place, about four miles
eastward from the fort of Niagara; then southerly up
that creek to its main fork, then straight to the main
fork of Stedman’s Creek, which empties into the river
Niagara, above fort Schlosser, and then onward, from
that fork, continuing the same straight course, to that
river; (this line, from the mouth of O-yong-wong-yeh
Creek to the river Niagara, above fort Schlosser. being
the eastern boundary of a strip of land, extending from
the same line to Niagara river, which the Seneka nation
ceded to the King of Great Britain, at a treaty held
about thirty years ago, with Sir William Johnson;) then
the line runs along the river Niagara to Lake Erie; then
along Lake Erie to the north-east corner of a triangular
piece of land which the United States conveyed to the
state of Pennsylvania, as by the President’s patent,
dated the third day of March, 1792; then due south to
the northern boundary of that state; then due east to the
south-west corner of the land sold by the Seneka nation
to Oliver Phelps; and then north and northerly, along
Phelps’s line, to the place of beginning on Lake Ontario.
Now, the United States acknowledge all the land within

. the aforementioned boundaries, to be the property of the

Seneka nation; and the United States will never claim
the same, nor disturb the Seneka nation, nor any of the

AAI10

Six Nations, or of their Indian friends residing thereon
and united with them, in the free use and enjoyment
thereof; but it shall remain theirs, until they choose to

sell the same to the people of the United States, who
have the right to purchase.

ARTICLE IV.

The United States having thus described and
acknowledged what lands belong to the Oneidas,
Onondagas, Cayugas and Senekas, and engaged never to
claim the same, nor to disturb them, or any of the Six
Nations, or their Indian friends residing thereon and
united with them, in the free use and enjoyment thereof:
Now, the Six Nations, and each of them, hereby engage
that they will never claim any other lands within the
boundaries of the United States; nor ever disturb the
people of the United States in the free use and
enjoyment thereof.

ARTICLE V.

The Seneka nation, all others of the Six Nations
concurring, cede to the United States the right of
making a wagon road from Fort Schlosser to Lake Erie,
as far south as Buffalo Creek; and undisturbed use of
this road, for the purposes of travelling and
transportation. And the Six Nations, and each of them,
will forever allow to the people of the United States, a
free passage through their lands, and the free use of the
harbors and rivers adjoining and within their respective
tracts of land, for the passing and securing of vessels
and boats, and liberty to land their cargoes where
necessary for their safety.

AAII1

ARTICLE VI.

In consideration of the peace and friendship hereby
established, and of the engagements entered into by the
Six Nations; and because the United States desire, with
humanity and kindness, to contribute to their
comfortable support; and to render the peace and
friendship hereby established, strong and perpetual; the
United States now deliver to the Six Nations, and the
Indians of the other nations residing among and united
with them, a quantity of goods of the value of ten
thousand dollars. And for the same consideration, and
with a view to promote the future welfare of the Six
Nations, and of their Indian friends aforesaid, the United
States will add the sum of three thousand dollars to the
one thousand five hundred dollars, heretofore allowed
them by an article ratified by the President, on the
twenty-third day of April, 1792;' making in the whole,
four thousand five hundred dollars; which shall be
expended yearly forever, in purchasing clothing,
domestic animals, implements of husbandry, and other
utensils suited to their circumstances, and in
compensating useful artificers, who shall reside with or
near them, and be employed for their benefit. The
immediate application of the whole annual allowance now
stipulated, to be made by the superintendent appointed
by the President for the affairs of ;the Six Nations, and
their Indian friends aforesaid.

ARTICLE VII.

Lest the firm peace and friendship now established
should be interrupted by the misconduct of individuals,
the United States and Six Nations agree, that for
‘It appears that this treaty was never ratified by the Senate. See

American State Papers, Indian Affairs, vol. 1, p. 232. Also, post
1027.

AAI12

injuries done by individuals on either side, no private
revenge or retaliation shall take place; but, instead
thereof, complaint shall be made by the party injured, to
the other: By the Six Nations or any of them, to the
President of the United States, or the Superintendent by
him appointed: and by the Superintendent, or other
person appointed by the President, to the principal chiefs
of the Six Nations, or of the nation to which the offender
belongs: and such prudent measures shall then be
pursued as shall be necessary to preserve our peace and
friendship unbroken; until the legislature (or great
council) of the United States shall make other equitable
provision for the purpose.

NOTE: It is clearly understood by the parties to this
treaty, that the annuity stipulated in the sixth article, is
to be applied to the benefit of such of the Six Nations
and of their Indian friends united with them as aforesaid,
as do or shall reside within the boundaries of the United
States: For the United States do not interfere with
nations, tribes or families, of Indians elsewhere resident.

In witness whereof, the said Timothy Pickering, and
the sachems and war chiefs of the said Six Nations, have
hereto set their hands and seals.

Done at Konondaigua, in the State of New York, the
eleventh day of November, in the year one thousand
seven hundred and ninety-four.

Timothy Pickering, {L.S.] Tauhoondos, his x mark, or
Onoyeahnee, his x mark, {L.S.} Open the Way,
Konneatorteeooh, his x mark, Twaukewasha, his x mark,

or Handsome Lake, [L.S.} Sequidongquee, his x mark,
Tokenhyouhav, his x mark, alias Little Beard,

alias Captain Key. [L.S.) Kodjeote, his x mark, or
Oneshauee, his x mark, {L.S.] Half Town,
Hendrick Aupaumut, [L.S.] Kenjauaugus, his x mark,
David Neesoonhuk, his x mark, [L.S.] or Stinking Fish,
Kanatsoyh, alias Nicholas

Kusik, [L.S.] | Soonohquaukau, his x mark,

[L.S.}
{L.S.]

[L.S.]
[L.S.]
{L.S.]}

[L.S.}

Sohhonteoquent, his x mark, [L.S.]
Ooduhtsait, his x mark, [L.S.]}
Konoohqung, his x mark, [L.S.]

Tossonggaulolus, his x mark, [L.S.]
John Skenendoa, his x mark, {L.S.]}
Oneatorleeooh, his x mark, [{L.S.]
Kussauwatau, his x mark, [L.S.]
Eyootenyootauook, his x mard, [L.S.]
Kohnyeaugong, his x mard,

alias Jake Stroud, {L.S.]
Shaguiesa, his x mark, {L.S.]
Teeroos, his x mark, alias

Captain Prantup, {L.S.]
Sooshaoowau, his x mark, {L.S.]

Henry Young Brant, his x mark,[L.S.]
Sonhyoowauna, his x mark,

or Big Sky, {L.S.]
Onaahhah, his x mark, [L.S.]
Hotoshahenh, his x mark, [L.S.]
Kaukondanaiya, his x mark, {L.S.]
Nondiyauka, his x mark, {L.S.]
Kossishtowau, his x mark, [L.S.]
Oojaugenta, his x mark, or Fish [L.S.]}

Carrier, {L.S.]
Toheonggo, his x mark, {L.S.]
Ootaguasso, his x mark, [L.S.]
Joonondauwaonch, his x mark, [L.S.]
Kiyauhaonh, his x mark, [L.S.]
Ootaujeaugenh, his x mark,

or Broken Axe, [L.S.]

Witnesses:
Israel Chapin.
Willian Shepard, jr.
James Smedley.
John Wickham.
Augustus Porter.
James K. Garnsey.
William Ewing.

AAI13

Twenniyana, his x mark,

Jishkaaga, his x mark, or Green
Grasshopper, alias Little Billy,

Tuggehshotta, his x mark,
Tehongyagauna, his x mark,
Tehongyoowush, his x mark,
Konneyoowesot, his x mark,
Tioohquottakauna, his x
mark, or Woods on Fire,
Taoundaudeesh, is x mark,
Honayawus, his x mark, alias
Farmer's Brother,

Soggooyawauthau, his x mark,

alias Red Jacket,
Konyootiayoo, his x mark,

Sauhtakaongyees, his x mard,

or Two Skies of a length,
Ounnashattakau, his x mark,

Kaungyanehquee, his x mark,

Sooayoowau, his x mark,
Kaujeagaonh, his x mark,

or Heap of Dogs,
Soonoohshoowau, his x mark,
Thaoowaunias, his x mark,
Soonongjoowau, his x mark,
Kiantwhauka, his x mark,

alias Cornplanter,
Kiantwhauka, his x mark,

Israel Chapin, jr.
Horatio Jones,
Joseph Smith,
Jasper Parish,
Intrpreters.
Henry Abeele.

{L.S.]

{L.S.]
{L.S.]
{L.S.]
{L.S.]
[L.S.]

{L.S.]
[L.S.]

[L.S.}

[L.S.]}
[L.S.]

{L.S.]
{L.S.]
{L.S.]
[L.S.]

{L.S.]
[L.S.]
{L.S.]
[L.S.]

[L.S.}
{L.S.]

AAI4

TREATY WITH THE SENECAS
May 20, 1842

7 Stat., 586, Proclamation,
Aug. 26, 1842

Articles of a treaty made and concluded at Buffalo Creek,
in the State of New York, on the twentieth day of May
in the year one thousand eight hundred and forty-two,
between the United States of America, acting herein
by Ambrose Spencer their Commissioner, thereto duly
authorized, on the one part, and the chiefs, headmen
and warriors of the Seneca nation of Indians, duly
assembled in council, on the other part.

Whereas a treaty was heretofore concluded, and made
between the said United States, and the chiefs,
headmen, and warriors of the several tribes of New York
Indians, dated the fifteenth day of January in the year
one thousand eight hundred and thirty-eight, which
treaty having been afterwards amended, was proclaimed
by the President of the United States, on the fourth of
April one thousand eight hundred and forty, to have
been duly ratified.

And whereas on the day of making this treaty, and
bearing even date herewith, a certain indenture was
made executed and concluded by and between the said
Seneca nation of Indians and Thomas L. Ogden, and
Joseph Fellows, assignees under the State of
Massachusetts, in the presence, and with the
approbation of a Commissioner appointed by the United
States, and in the presence and with the approbation of
Samuel Hoare, a superintendent on the part of the
commonwealth of Massachusetts, which indenture is in
the words and figures following to wit:

AAI5

“THIS INDENTURE made and concluded between
Thomas Ludlow Ogden of the city of New York, and
Joseph Fellows of Geneva, in the county of Ontario of
the one part, and the chiefs and headmen of the Seneca
nation of Indians, on the other part at a council duly
assembled and held at Buffalo Creek in the State of New
York on the twentieth day of May in the year one
thousand eight hundred and forty-two in the presence of
Samuel Hoare, the superintendent thereto authorized and
appointed by and on the part of the commonwealth of
Massachusetts, and of Ambrose Spencer a Commissioner
thereto duly appointed and authorized on the part of the
United States.

“Whereas at a council held at Buffalo Creek on the
fifteenth day of indenture of that date was made and
executed by and between the parties to this agreement,
whereby the chiefs and headmen of the Seneca nation of
Indians for the consideration of two hundred and two
thousand dollars did grant, bargain, release and confirm
unto the said Thomas Ludlow Ogden and Joseph
Follows, all those four several tracts of land, situate
within the State of New York, then and yet occupied by
the said nation, or the people thereof, severally described
in eh said indenture, as the Buffalo Creek Reservation,
containing by estimation forty-nine thousand nine
hundred and twenty acres of land, the Cattaraugus
Reservation containing by estimation twenty-one
thousand six hundred and eighty acres of land, the
Allegany Reservation, containing by estimation thirty
thousand four hundred and sixty-nine acres of land, and
eight hundred acres of land; a duplicate of which
indenture was annexed to a treaty of the same date made
between the United States of America and the chiefs,
headmen, and warriors of the several tribes of New York
Indians assembled in council; which treaty was amended

AAI6

and proclaimed by the President of the United States on
the fourth of April one thousand eight hundred and
forty, as having been duly ratified; as by the said
indenture, treaty and proclamation more fully appear.

‘‘And whereas divers questions and differences having
arisen between the chiefs and headmen of the Seneca
nation of Indians or some of them, and the said Thomas
Ludlow Ogden and Joseph Fellows in relation to the said
indenture, and the rights of the parties thereto, and the
provisions contained in the said indenture being still
unexecuted, the said parties have mutually agreed to
settle, compromise and finally terminate all such
questions and differences on the terms and conditions
hereinafter specified.

“NOW THEREFORE IT IS HEREBY MUTUALLY
DECLARED, AND AGREED, BY AND BETWEEN
THE SAID PARTIES AS FOLLOWS.

“ARTICLE FIRST. The said Thomas Ludlow Ogden,
and Joseph Fellows in consideration of the release and
agreements hereinafter contained, on the part of the said
Seneca nation do on their part consent covenant and
agree that they the said nation (the said indenture
notwithstanding) shall and may continue in_ the
occupation and enjoyment of the whole of the said two
several tracts of land, called the Cattaraugus
Reservation, and the Allegany Reservation with the
same right and title in all things, as they had and
possessed therein immediately before the date of the said
indenture, saving and reserving to the said Thomas
Ludlow Ogden, and Joseph Fellows the right of pre-
emption, and all other the right and title which they then
had or held in or to the said tracts of land.

AAI7

“ARTICLE SECOND. The chiefs and headmen of the
Seneca nation of Indians in consideration of the
foregoing, and of the agreement next hereinafter
contained, do on their part grant, release and confirm
unto the said Thomas Ludlow Ogden, and Joseph
Fellows, and the their heirs and assigns, in joint tenancy,
the whole of the said two tracts of land severally called
the Buffalo Creek Reservation, and the Tonnewanda
Reservation, and all the right and interest therein of the
said nation.

“ARTICLE THIRD. It is mutually agreed, between
the parties hereto that in lieu of the sum expressed in
the said indenture, as the consideration of the sale, and
release of the said four tracts of land, there shall be paid
to the said nation a just consideration sum, for the
release of the two tracts, hereby confirmed to the said
Ogden and Fellows, to be estimated and ascertained as
follows.

“The present value of the Indian title to the whole of
the said four tracts of land including the improvements
thereon, shall for all the purposes of this present
compact, be deemed and taken to be two hundred and
two thousand dollars, of which sum one hundred
thousand dollars shall be deemed to be the value of such
title in and to all the lands within the said four tracts
exclusive of the improvements thereon, and one hundred
ana two thousand dollars to be the value of all the
improvements within the said four tracts, and of the said
sum of one hundred thousand dollars the said Ogden and
Fellows shall pay to the Seneca nation such proportion
as the value of all the lands within the said two tracts
called the Buffalo Creek, and Tonnewanda Reservations
shall bear to the value of all the lands within all the said
four tracts—and of the said sum of one hundred and two

AAI8

thousand dollars, the said Ogden and Fellows shall pay
such proportion as the value of the improvements on the
same two tracts, shall bear to the value of the
improvements on all the said four tracts.

“ARTICLE FOURTH. The amount of the
consideration monies to be paid in pursuance of the last
preceding article, shall be determined by the judgment
and award of arbitrators, one of whom shall be named by
the Secretary of the War Department of the United
States, and one by the said Ogden and Fellows, which
arbitrators in order to such judgment and award, and to
the performance of the other duties hereby imposed on
them, may employ suitable surveyors to explore examine
and report on the value of the said lands and
improvements, and also to ascertain the contents of each
of the said four tracts, which contents shall govern the
arbitrators as to quantity in determining the amount of
the said consideration money.

“The same arbitrators shall also award and determine
the amount to be paid to each individual Indian out of
the sum which on the principles above stated, they shall
ascertain and award to be the proportionate value of the
improvements on the said two tracts called the Buffalo
Creek Reservation and the Tonnewanda Reservation, and
in case the said arbitrators shall disagree as to any of
the matters hereby submitted to them, they may choose
an umpire whose decision thereon shall be final and
conclusive, and the said arbitrators shall make a report
in writing of their proceedings in duplicate, such reports
to be acknowledged or proved according to the laws of
the State of New York, in order to their being recorded,
one of such reports to be filed in the office of the
Secretary of the Department of War, and the other
thereof to be delivered to the said Thomas L. Ogden and
Joseph Fellows.

AAI9

“ARTICLE FIFTH. It is agreed, that the possession
of the two parts hereby confirmed, to the said Ogden and
Fellows, shall be surrendered and delivered up to them,
as follows, viz: The forest or unimproved lands on the
said tracts, within one month after the report of the said
arbitrators shall be filed, in the office of the Department
of War, and the improved lands within two years after
the said report shall have been so filed: Provided always
that the amount to be so ascertained and awarded, as
the proportionate value of the said improvements shall
on the surrender thereof be paid to the President of the
United States, to be distributed among the owners of the
said improvements according to the determination and
award of the said arbitrators, in this behalf, and provided
further that the consideration for the release and
conveyance of the said lands shall at the time of the
surrender thereof be paid or secured to the satisfaction
of the said Secretary of the War Department, the income
of which is to be paid to the said Seneca Indians
annually.

‘But any Indian having improvements may surrender
the same, and the land occupied by him and his family at
any time prior to the expiration of the said two years,
upon the amount awarded to him for such improvements
being paid to the President of the United States, or any
agent designated by him for that purpose by the said
Ogden and Fellows, which amount shall be paid over to
the Indian entitled to the same, under the direction of
the War Department.

“ARTICLE SIXTH. It is hereby agreed and declared
to be the understanding and intent of the parties hereto,
that such of the said Seneca nation, as shall remove from
the State of New York, under the provisions of any
treaty, made or to be made, between the United States

AA20

and the said Indians, shall be entitled in proportion to
their relative numbers to the funds of the Seneca nation,
and that the interest and income of such their share and
proportion of the said funds, including the consideration
money to be paid to the said nation in pursuance of this
Indenture, and of all annuities belonging to the said
Nation shall be paid to the said Indians so removing at
their new homes, and whenever the said tracts called the
Allegheny and the Cattaraugus Reservations, or any part
thereof shall be sold and conveyed by the Indians
remaining in the State of New York, the Indians so
removing shall be entitled to share in the proceeds of
said sales in the like proportion. And it is further agreed
and declared, that such Indians owning improvements in
the Cattaraugus and Alleghany tracts as may so remove
from the State of New York, shall be entitled on such
removal, and on surrendering their improvements to the
Seneca nation, for the benefit of the nation to receive the
like compensation for the same, according to their
relative values, as in the third and fourth articles of this
treaty are stipulated to be paid, to the owners of
improvements in the Buffalo Creek and Tonnewanda
Tracts, on surrendering their improvements; which
compensations may be advanced by the President of the
United States, out of any funds in the hands of the
Government of the United States, belonging to the
Seneca nation, and the value of these improvements shall
be ascertained and reported by the Arbitrators, to be
appointed in pursuance of the fourth article.

“ARTICLE SEVENTH. This Indenture is to be
deemed to be in lieu of, and as a substitute for the above
recited Indenture made and dated the fifteenth day of
January, one thousand eight hundred and thirty eight, so
far as the provisions of the two instruments may be
inconsistent, or contradictory, and the said Indenture so

AA21

far as the same may be inconsistent with the provisions
of this compact, is to be regarded and is hereby declared
to be rescinded and released.

“ARTICLE EIGHT. All the expenses attending the
execution of this Indenture and compact including those
of the arbitration and surveys hereinbefore referred to,
and also those of holding the treaty now in negotiation
between the United States and the said Seneca Nation,
except so far as may be provided for by the United
States, shall be advanced and paid by the said Ogden
and Fellows.

ARTICLE NINTH. The parties to this compact
mutually agree to solicit the influence of the Government
of the United States to protect such of the lands of the
Seneca Indians, within the State of New York, as may
from time to time remain in their possession from all
taxes, and assessments for roads, highways, or any other
purpose until such lands shall be sold and conveyed by
the said Indians, and the possession thereof shall have
been relinquished by them.

“IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the parties to these
presents have hereunto, and to three other instruments
of the same tenor and date, one to remain with the
United States, one to remain with the State of
Massachusetts, one to remain with the Seneca Nation of
Indians, and one to remain with the said Thomas Ludlow

Ogden and Joseph Fellows, interchangeably set their
hands and seals the day and year first above written.”

THEREFORE taking into consideration the premises
it is agreed and stipulated by and between the United
States of America and the Seneca nation of Indians, as
follows, to wit:

AA22

First, The United States of America consent to the
several articles and stipulations contained in the last
recited Indenture between the said nation, and the said
Thomas Ludlow Ogden and Joseph Fellows, above set
forth.

Second, The United States further consent and agree
that any number of the said nation, who shall remove
from the State of New York, under the provisions of the
above mentioned Treaty proclaimed as aforesaid, on the
fourth day of April one thousand eight hundred and
forty, shall be entitled in proportion to their relative
numbers to all the benefits of the said Treaty.

Third, The United States of America further consent
and agree, that the tenth article of said Treaty
proclaimed as aforesaid on the fourth day of April one
thousand eight hundred and forty, be deemed, and
considered as modified, in conformity with the provisions
of the Indenture hereinabove set forth, so far as that the
United States will receive and pay the sum stipulated to
be paid as the consideration money of the improvements
therein specified, and will receive hold and apply the sum
to be paid, or the securities to be given for the lands
therein mentioned, as provided for in such Indenture.

In testimony whereof the undersigned Ambrose
Spencer Commissioner on the part of the United States
of America, and the undersigned chiefs and headmen of
the Seneca nation of Indians, have to two parts of this
treaty, one thereof to remain with the United States, and
the other thereof with the Seneca nation of Indians, set
their hands and affixed their seals the day and year first
above mentioned.

Ambrose Spencer.

AA23
Tit-ho-yah, or William Jones Samuel Goudon,
Saul Lagure, Tunis Halftown,
Gau-geh-gruh-doh, or George Jimison, Hau-sa-nea-nes, or White Seneca,
N.T.Strong, Gah-nang-ga-eot, or Young Chief,
Hau-neh-hoys-soh, or Blue Eyes, Thomas Jimeson,
Jabez Stevenson, Moses Stevenson,
William Krouse, Johah Armstrong,
Samuel Wilson, or Ni-ge-jos-a, Joseph Silverheels,
William Krouse, Da-o-as-sah-au, or Jo. Hunlock,
Thompson S. Harris, George Fox,
Sah-go-en-toh, or Morris Halftown, Yaw-sau-ge, or Peter Johnson,
Ten-wan-ne-us, or Governor Black Snake, Noh-sok-dah, or Jim Jonas,
Doa-ne-pho-gah, or Little Johnson, Dih-no-se-du, or Jacob Shongo,
Joh-nesh-ha-dih, or James Stevenson, John Seneca, or Jo-on-da-goh,
Ho-wah-tan-eh-goh, or John Pierce, Ho-no-yea-os, or Jacob Bennett,
Da-gon-de, or William Patterson, George Turkey,
Daniel Fau Guns, David Snow,
Goat-hau-oh, or Billy Shanks, John Bark
Daniel Fau Guns, George Killbuck
Goat-hau-oh, or Billy Shanks, George Dennis,
James Pierce, John Kennedy, sen.,
Gi-eut-twa=geh, or Robert Watt, Abram John,
Seneca White, Job Pierce,

Gesh-u-aw, or James Shongo,
Jarvis Spraing,
Ti-at-tah-co, or Aman Dextador,

Saw-da-ne, or George Deer,
Ga-na-waw, or John Cook,
Jaw-ne-es, or John Dickey,

Moris B. Pierce, George Big Deer,
So-gooh-quas, or John Tallchief. Nah-joh-gau-eh, or Tall Peter,
Isaac Halftown, John Kennedy, jr.

Signed sealed and delivered in the presence of—.

A. Dixon, Commissioner on the part O. H. Marshall,

of New York. Elam R. Jewett,
Benj. Ferris, Cortland B. Stebbins,
Orlando Allen, Joseph S. Wasson.
Asher Wright,

(To the Indian names are subjoined a mark and seal.)

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0452%3A06. Public record. Not legal advice.
