# Respondents Brief — Key Tronic Corp. v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0451%3A05

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Respondents Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1994
- **Citation:** 511 U.S. 809

## Text

LP ee ge aR ee Le Re TE

ae
No. 93-376

—

NOV - 8 1993
ORE OF WE GLERg

In the Supreme Court of the Giited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1993

» i . - > ¥ ‘ *

P e ois
~~ "2 « ee a

KEY TRONIC CORPORATION, PETITIONER
v.
: UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, ET AL.

STANTON ROAD ASSOCIATES, PETITIONER
Vv.
LOHREY ENTERPRISES, INC., ET AL.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

|

BRIEF FOR THE FEDERAL RESPONDENTS

Drew S. Days, III
Lots J. SCHIFFER )
Acting Assistant Attorney General
ANNE S. ALMY
DAVID C. SHILTON
M. ALICE THURSTON
Attorneys
Department of Justice «4
Washington, D.C. 20530
(202) 514-2217

—————

’

a=
e...
mF
oS
edhe
|
co
—
—
=
— «

BEST

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the provision in Section 107(a) of the Com-
prehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, and
Liability Act, 42 U.S.C. 9607(a), that allows a private
party to recover the “costs of response” to pollution at
designated sites, implicitly authorizes the recovery of
attorney fees.

(1)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

IITIITIIIII » tints nes dinesrenserneseneneennnsemenseneneeabetietéastedeseneesie
ESSEC T ee
alata caer cree emenesiereeeeeneneteeneees
ET ne nn Te
acinar enceniereen ese tet renee

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:

Alloy Briquetting Corporation v. Niagara Vest, Inc., 802
a Cs: Ge GUE AG Hs WEED cccncncensccnsciccsnnnnsesseticndanees
Alyeska Pipeline Service Co. v. Wilderness Society, 421
2 ET
BTR Dunlop, Inc. v. Rockwell International Corporation,
No. 90 C 7414 (N.D. Ill. Feb. 16, 1993) ................. ee
Brarton v. United States, 111 S.Ct. 1854 (1991) ...........
Chesapeake and Potomac Telephone Company v. Peck
Tron & Metal Co., 814 F. Supp. 1281 (E.D. Va. 1993),
appeal pending, No. 93-1903 (4th Cir.) .........cccccccceeee.
Donahey v. Bogle, 987 F.2d 1250 (6th Cir. 1993), petition
for cert. pending, No. SB-4EB .........cccccccscsssssccscccsssccesseees
FMC Corporation v. Aero Industries, Inc., 998 F.2d 842
SE TIES WII aieteradirnetteneeniaieihsinidiegdetebdinnesipigebisundanapiindininatios
General Electric Company v. Litton Industrial Automa-
tion Systems, Inc., 920 F.2d 1415 (8th Cir. 1990), cert.
I GE Wak Ge GED ccccsccccccccscnsccessencsuscnsssssecessons
Hatco Corporation v. W.R. Grace & Co.-Conn., 801 F.
SE SEE TNE TINIE cesicrcccencesasencscnnsnnsnscssusesssnesensons
HRW Systems, Inc. v. Washington Gas Light Company,
DG ee
Juniper Development Group v. Kahn (In re Hemingway
Transport, Inc.), 993 F.2d 915 (ist Cir. 1993), cert.
denied, No. 93-187 (Oct. 12, 1993) ...........cccccccccssessseneeees

(III)

3,5

6-7

IV

Cases—Continued: Page Jn the Supreme Court of the Cited States

Keystone Chemical Co. v. Mayer Pollock Steel Corporat-
ion, No. Civ. A 92-6000 (E.D. Pa. Apr. 7, 1993) ............. 8 re
Leonard Partnership v. Town of Chenango, 779 F. Supp.
ee GE ie TUNED enidtietcdeeidinnnieiivenaeatie te s
New York v. SCA Services, Inc., 754 F. Supp. 995, _ i
(S.D.N.Y. 1991) ssseerecestgnueanateenadenlannseheeepaasbaniattiaineninapadesinanenans 8 KEY TRONIC CORPORATION, PETITIONER
Runyon v. McCrary, 427 U.S. 160 (1976) ..0000.0 0. 3,5
Russello v. United States, 464 U.S. 16 (1983) .....000.00.... 6 v.
T & E Industries, Inc. v. Safety Light Corp., 680 F.
Supp. 696 (D.NiJ. 1988) ..cccccccccccssssccesssessssssssssssseseeooee 8 UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, ET AL.
United States v. Hardage, 982 F.2d 1436 (10th Cir.
STEED ‘scossnecsscsinnsseccettnnesinnimapensuninmbiiiianiindiihat iat ig ai 7
Statutes: STANTON ROAD ASSOCIATES, PETITIONER
Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, v.

and Liability Act, 42 U.S.C. 9601 ef seq.: , i |
JOHREY ENTERPRISES, INC., ET AL.

§ 101(25), 42 U.S.C. 9601(25) o..cccccccccccccsscscesscsssesessssccon 3

$ 104(b), 42 U.S.C. 9604(b) ......c.cccceccescocccsssessessessseoseeees 5

9 OL ae ee 7,8

§ 107(a), 42 U.S.C. 9607(A) o.cccccccecccsccccscesseseosee. idea 2, 3, 6 ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

$ 110(c), 42 U.S.C. 9610(C) .....ccccecceccossecceccsessesecesseseesee. 5 TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

§ 111(p)(1), 42 U.S.C. 9611(p\(1) (Supp. III 1991) ........ 9 FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

§ 122(g)(5), 42 U.S.C. 962205) oocccccccceccccsesesesecscossseee 4

$ B1O(f), 42 U.S.C. 96590f) o..cecccccceccccccccccsscecccsssesesssecece 5

Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1970, Pub. L. No. BRIEF FOR THE FEDERAL RESPONDENTS

101-508, § 6301, 104 Stat. 1388-319 oo cccccccccccccceececseoseoseee 9

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals in the Key Tronic
case (Pet. App. Al-A5) is reported at 984 F.2d 1025. The
opinion of the court of appeals in the Stanton Road case
(Pet. App. C1-C20) is reported at 984 F.2d 1015. The opin-
ion of the district court in the Key Tronic case (Pet.
App. B1-B15) is reported at 766 F. Supp. 865. The opinion

(1)

2

of the district court in the Stanton Road case (Pet. App.
D1-D15) is unreported.

JURISDICTION

The judgments of the court of appeals in both cases
were entered on January 28, 1993. Petitions for rehear-
ing were denied in both cases on June 7, 1993. Pet. App.
E1, Fl. The petition for a writ of certiorari was filed on
September 7, 1993 (a Tuesday after a Monday holiday).
The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
1254(1).

STATEMENT

The petition challenges two separate judgments of the
Ninth Circuit, rendered in two separate cases consoli-
dated for argument before the court of appeals. The
United States is a party only in the Key Tronic case.

1. The Stanton Road case arises out of the effects of a
dry cleaning plant owned and operated by the private re-
spondents near property owned by petitioner Stanton
Road Associates.' The private respondents allowed haz-
ardous chemicals from the dry cleaning plant to contam-
inate Stanton Road’s land. Pet. App. C2, D2-D6.

a. Stanton Road filed suit in the United States
District Court for the Northern District of California,
claiming that it was entitled under Section 107(a) of the
Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation,
and Liability Act (CERCLA), 42 U.S.C. 9607(a), to re-
cover from the private respondents the costs of remedy-
ing the contamination, including attorney fees. After a
bench trial, the district court ruled in favor of Stanton
Road. Pet. App. D1-D15. The district court ordered the
private respondents to pay Stanton Road $1,100,000 (to be
deposited in an escrow account to cover the costs of rem-

' This brief refers to the respondents in the Stanton Road case
as the private respondents.

3

edying the contamination), together with $126,197.78 for
attorney fees. Jd. at D11.

b. A divided panel of the court of appeals reversed.
Pet. App. C1-C20. Of relevance to the petition, the court
concluded that the district court erred in awarding at-
torney fees. Jd. at C4-C1l. The court reviewed the ap-
plicable statutory language, which authorizes recovery
of the “necessary costs of response” and defines
“response” as “removal, remedy, and remedial action
* * * inelud[ing) enforcement activities related
thereto.” CERCLA §8§ 107(a), 101(25), 42 U.S.C. 9607(a),
9601(25). Although the court of appeals acknowledged
(Pet. App. C5) that the Eighth Circuit had allowed recov-
ery of attorney fees as part of the “necessary costs of re-
sponse” in General Electric Company v. Litton Indus-
trial Automation Systems, Inc., 920 F.2d 1415, 1421-1422
(1990), cert. denied, 499 U.S. 937 (1991), the court of ap-
peals reached a different conclusion. The court noted the
“American Rule” described by this Court in Alyeska
Pipeline Service Co. v. Wilderness Society, 421 U.S.
240, 247 (1975), under which “a prevailing party cannot
recover attorneys’ fees in the absence of congressional
authority.” Pet. App. C6. The court also considered (id.
at C7) this Court’s opinion in Runyon v. McCrary, 427
U.S. 160 (1976), which stated that attorney fees are not
recoverable “absent explicit congressional authoriza-
tion,” id. at 185. Relying on those cases, the court con-
cluded that the reference to “eiiforcement activities” in
Section 101(25) of CERCLA was not sufficiently explicit
to justify an award of attorney fees. Pet. App. C7.”

2 Judge Canby dissented (Pet. App. C15-C20). On the attorney
fee question, he argued that the panel’s conclusion rendered the
reference to “enforcement activities” in 42 U.S.C. 9601(25) super-
fluous, because attorney fees would be the main component of the
costs of enforcement activities. Pet. App. C15-C19.

4

2. The Key Tronic case involves the Colbert Disposal
Site in Spokane County, Washington. During the 1970's,
the operator of that site disposed of hazardous waste it
accepted from several parties, including petitioner Key
Tronic as well as the United States Air Force. When it
was discovered in 1980 that water wells near the site
were contaminated, the Washington Department of Ecol-
ogy (WDOE) and the federal Environmental Protection
Agency (EPA) responded. Eventually, the government
agencies entered into separate settlements with both
Key Tronic and the Air Force. First, a settlement
agreement with the Air Force required it to pay $1.45
million; in accordance with a provision for de minimis
settlements in Section 122(g)(5) of CERCLA, 42 U.S.C.
9622(¢)(5), the agreement provided that the Air Force
would “not be liable for claims for contribution regarding
matters addressed in the settlement.” Second, a consent
decree with Key Tronic required it to pay $4.2 million in
cleanup costs. Pet. App. A2 & n.1, B2.

a. Petitioner Key Tronic Corporation filed suit
against a variety of parties (including the United States)
in the United States District Court for the Eastern
District of Washington, seeking recovery under
CERCLA for the costs it incurred pursuant to its set-
tlement, as well as attorney fees and additional response
costs that it claimed it had incurred independently. The
court resolved a variety of dispositive motions in an opin-
ion issued in 1991. Pet. App. B1-B15. Among other
things, the district court held that the United States
was liable for attorney fees as part of the necessary
costs of response. /d. at B6-B13.

b. A divided panel of the court of appeals reversed.
Pet. App. Al-A5. The relevant portion of the opinion re-
lied entirely on the opinion in the Stanton Road case,
summarized above. Pet. App. A4. Judge Canby dissented,

5

relying on his dissent in the Stanton Road case. Pet.
App. Ad; see note 2, supra.

3. The court of appeals denied petitions for rehearing
and suggestions for rehearing en bane in both cases,
wits no recorded dissent other than that of Judge Canby.
Pet. App. E1, F1.

ARGUMENT

Although we believe the decision of the court of ap-
peals is correct, the question presented by the petition is
an important one on which the courts of appeals are di-
vided. Accordingly, the petition should be granted.

1. As the court of appeals recognized, the question be-
fore the Court must be resolved under the principle, con-
sistently applied by this Court, that attorney fees are
not recoverable in federal courts except as prescribed in
an explicit authorization by Congress. See, e.g., Alyeska
Pipeline Service Co. vy. Wilderness Society, 421 U.S.
240, 247 (1975); Runyon v. McCrary, 427 U.S. 160, 185
(1976). The provisions of CERCLA relevant to these ac-
tions do not refer to attorney fees. Accordingly, peti-
tioners were not entitled to recover attorney fees as part
of the necessary costs of response to the covered envi-
ronmental contamination.

The significance of the absence of any reference to at-
torney fees in the provisions applicable to this action is
underscored by the presence of express references to at-
torney fees in other provisions of CERCLA. See, e.g., 42
U.S.C. 9659(f) (prevailing parties in citizens suits may
recover “costs of litigation (including reasonable attor-
ney and expert witness fees)”); 42 U.S.C. 9610(¢)
(employee-whistleblowers may recover “all costs and ex-
penses (including the attorney's fees)”).’ Accordingly, as

* See also 42 U.S.C. 9604(b) (authorizing federal government to
“undertake such * * * legal * * * studies or investigations as

6

the Ninth Circuit explained, CERCLA is a statute
where “Congress has repeatedly demonstrated that it
knows how to express its intention to create an excep-
tion to the American Rule.” Pet. App. C7. Thus, it also
is a statute where it would be particularly inappropriate
to interpret vague and indefinite language as implicitly
authorizing the recovery of attorney fees.’ Hence, the
Ninth Circuit’s conclusion that CERCLA does not au-
thorize attorney fees in this context is correct.’

2. For several reasons, the question presented by the
petition warrants review by the Court. First, the sev-
eral courts of appeals that have considered the question
have reached conflicting results. Like the Ninth Circuit
in this case, the First Circuit has concluded that the ab-
sence of an explicit reference to attorney fees in the rel-
evant provisions of CERCLA bars any recovery of attor-
ney fees as part of the “necessary costs of response”
under Section 107(a) of CERCLA.® On the other hand,

[it] may deem necessary [and] * * * to recover the costs
thereof”).

' See, e.g., Russello vy. United States, 464 U.S. 16, 23 (1983)
(“Where Congress includes particular language in one section of a
statute but omits it in another section of the same Act, it is gener-
ally presumed that Congress acts intentionally and purposely in
the disparate inclusion or exclusion.”) (brackets omitted).

® If the Court grants review in this case and (contrary to our
submission) reverses the decision of the court of appeals on the at-
torney fee issue presented by the petition, it should remand the
Key Tronic case to the Ninth Circuit for further proceedings on
the question whether Key Tronic nevertheless would be barred
from recovery because of its contribution to the contamination of
the site. Because the court of appeals ruled in the government's
favor on the question presented in the petition, it had no occasion
to consider that argument. Pet. App. A4.

® Juniper Development Group v. Kahn (In re Hemingway
Transport, Inc.), 993 F.2d 915, 934-935 (1993) (“Congress did not
consider, and [CERCLA] did not include, any attorney fee award

7

the Sixth and Eighth Circuits have reached a contrary
conclusion, reasoning that the “necessary costs of re-

‘

sponse” include attorney fees.’ The Tenth Circuit has
adopted an intermediate position, under which attorney
fees that are not incurred in pursuing litigation are re-
coverable, although attorney fees incurred in the Section
107 action itself are not recoverable. FMC Corporation
v. Aero Industries, Inc., 998 F.2d 842, 848 (1993): see also
United States v. Hardage, 982 F.2d 1436, 1447-1448 (1992)
(stating same rule in dictum). The FMC panel reasoned
that attorney fees that are not incurred in pursuing
litigation are not covered by the Alyeska rule, and then
determined that such fees would be “necessary costs of
response” if they were “necessary to the containment
and cleanup of hazardous releases” at the site.” 998 F.2d
at 848.”

amendment applicable to the private cost recovery provision in
[CERCLA Section 107(a)|. We therefore conclude that Congress
has elected not to authorize attorney fee awards in these actions.”),
cert. denied, No. 93-187 (Oct. 12, 1993). The petition for a writ of
certiorari in No. 93-187 did not raise the question presented in this
case.

7 Donahey v. Bogle, 987 F.2d 1250, 1256 (6th Cir. 1993) (“The
court can conceive of no surer method to defeat |Congress’s pur-
pose that Section 107 provide an incentive for parties to remedy
hazardous waste contamination] than to require private parties to
shoulder the financial burden of the very litigation that is neces-
sary to recover these costs.”), petition for cert. pending, No. 93-
428; General Electric Company v. Litton Industrial Automation
Systems, Inc., 920 F.2d 1415, 1421-1422 (&th Cir. 1990) (“Attorney
fees and expenses necessarily are incurred in this kind of enforce-
ment activity and it would strain the statutory language to the
breaking point to read them out of the ‘necessary costs’ that
[Section 107(a)] allows private parties to recover.”), cert. denied,
499 U.S. 9837 (1991).

* Petitioner Key Tronic argues (Pet. 12 n.14) that it would be
entitled under the rule articulated by the Tenth Circuit to recover
some of the attorney fees sought from the Air Force. In our view,

8

The practical consequences of the circuit conflict also
counsel in favor of review by the Court at this time. The
federal government and its various agencies often defend
against suits, such as in the Key Tronic case at issue
here, that seek to recover response costs based on the
contributions of federal agencies to contamination at Su-
perfund sites. The government is currently a defendant
in 22 response cost actions pending in the Eighth Circuit
and in 88 such cases in the Sixth Circuit. To the degree
that plaintiffs have the opportunity to choose between fo-
rums, a continuing disparity in result between those
courts and the First and Ninth Circuits could cause an
increasing number of cases to be brought against the
government in courts Within those circuits.

any recovery of nonlitigation attorney fees permitted by Section
107 necessarily would be limited to fees “necessary to the contain-
ment and cleanup of hazardous releases,” FMC Corp., 998 F.2d at
848; we do not believe that any of the costs sought by petitioner
Key Tronic fall within that category.

* The district courts in circuits that have not addressed the
question at the appellate level also have reached conflicting results,
with district courts disallowing fees in the Second and Third Cir-
cuits, see, e.g., Keystone Chemical Co. v. Mayer Pollock Steel Cor-
poration, No. Civ. A. 92-6000 (E.D. Pa. Apr. 7, 1993); Alloy Bri-
quetting Corporation v. Niagara Vest, Inc., 802 F. Supp. 943, 945-
947 (W.D.N.Y. 1992); Hatco Corporation v. W.R. Grace & Co.-
Conn., 801 F. Supp. 1309, 1333 (D. N.J. 1992); Leonard Partner-
ship v. Town of Chenango, 779 F. Supp. 223, 229-230 (N.D.N_Y.
1991); New York v. SCA Services, Inc., 754 Fr. Supp. 995, 1000-1001
(S.D.N.Y. 1991); T & E Industries, Inc. v. Safety Light Corp., 680
F. Supp. 696, 707-708 (D.N.J. 1988), and allowing fees in the
Fourth and Seventh Circuits, see, e.g., HRW Systems, Ine. vy.
Washington Gas Light Company, 823 F. Supp. 318, 345-346 (D. Md.
1993); BTR Dunlop, Inc. vy. Rockwell International Corporation,
No. 90 C 7414 (N.D. Ill. Feb. 16, 1993); Chesapeake and Potomac
Telephone Company v. Peck Iron & Metal Co., 814 F. Supp. 1281,
1282-1285 (E.D. Va. 1993), appeal pending, No. 93-1903 (4th Cir.).

2 MRS. Sem a te Wem 4

BP > Wins

9

Finally, we disagree with the argument of the private
respondents (Br. in Opp. 4)"° that the petition should be
denied because CERCLA is currently before Congress
for reconsideration and reauthorization. See CERCLA
Section 111(p)(1), 42 U.S.C. 9611(p)(1) (Supp. IIT 1991)
(funding for CERCLA authorized only through fiscal
year 1994). As the Court explained in Braxton v. United
States, 111 S.Ct. 1854 (1991), the possibility that
Congress will resolve a conflict among the courts of ap-
peals on a question of statutory interpretation is not
generally a basis for this Court’s refraining from con-
sidering the question. On the contrary, the Court ex-
plained there that it “[o|rdinarily * * * regard|s] the
task as initially and primarily” the responsibility of the
Court. /d. at 1857. Furthermore, respondents can only
speculate that Congress’s consideration of CERCLA
will resolve the problem at hand. It is entirely possible
that Congress will reauthorize CERCLA without any
amendments whatsoever,'' or with amendments that do
not address the question presented by the petition.”
Accordingly, we believe that it would be appropriate for
the Court to consider the question at this time.

it)

Br. in Opp.” refers to the brief of the private respondents in
opposition to the petition.

'! That was the result the last time funding was extended. See
Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1990, Pub. L. No. 101-508,
§ 6301, 104 Stat 1388-319.

'" We are not aware of any bill pending before Congress at this
time that would resolve the question presented by the petition.

10

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted.

DrEWS. DAys, III
Solicitor General

Lois J. SCHIFFER
Acting Assistant Attorney General

ANNES. ALMY

DAVID C. SHILTON

M. ALICE THURSTON
Attorneys

NOVEMBER 1993

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0451%3A05. Public record. Not legal advice.
