# Amicus Curiae Brief — West Lynn Creamery, Inc. v. Healy

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0444%3A14

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1994
- **Citation:** 512 U.S. 186

## Text

No. 93-141

seca “ou m EpY
Supreme Court of the United States renal :

OCTOBER TERM, 1993

WEST LYNN CREAMERY, INC., AND
LECOMTE’S DAIRY, INC..,

Petitioners,
i Vv.

JONATHAN HEALY, COMMISSIONER,
MASSACHUSETTS DEPARTMENT OF
FOOD AND AGRICULTURE,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari
to the Supreme Judicial Court of Massachusetts

BRIEF OF MASSACHUSETTS ASSOCIATION OF DAIRY
FARMERS, GORDON M. COOK, DAVID W. DUPREY,
WARREN E. FACEY, DONALD LEAB,
MASSACHUSETTS FARM BUREAU FEDERATION, INC.
AND MASSACHUSETTS COOPERATIVE MILK
PRODUCERS FEDERATION, INC. AS AMICI CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT

e

ERWIN N. GRISWOLD

(Counsel of Record)
GREGORY A. CASTANIAS

JONES, DAY, REAVIS & POGUE
Metropolitan Square

1450.G Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20005-2088
(202) 879-3939

oe eee

—

AVAILABLE COPY;

a

ALLEN TUPPER BROWN
58 River Road

Gill, Massachusetts 01376
(413) 863-3100
Counsel for Amici Curiae

—
Fe)
Adhd
co

'
t
.
|
b
:

aio

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
CAs Ge ECU vce cece cr euecsenn iii
INTEREST OF THE AMICI ...... Tre Te ey l
as a euh ws o 6 wa ee Oe eee ee ee 2
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT .................. 4
SE”. 6s db SEW se Se tS oe hdceer ee 5

I.

II.

III.

IV.

THE SO-CALLED "PRICING ORDER" HAS THE EFFECT OF
A TAX ON SALES OF MILK By DEALERS IN
i ee ts a es wi 6

THE NONDISCRIMINATORY PREMIUM IMPOSED UPON ALL
FRESH MILK SOLD IN MASSACHUSETTS DoEs Not
VIOLATE THE DORMANT COMMERCE CLAUSE ...... 8

A. The Burden Falls On Massachusetts Consumers... 8

B. In Any Event, The Pricing Order Is Not
IE re ee 10

THE COMMONWEALTH’S SUBSIDIZATION OF DOMESTIC
DAIRY FARMERS DOES NOT VIOLATE THE DORMANT
eR EER ee a ec oe OE ae ke a a 14

THE FACT THAT THE PREMIUM PAYMENTS ARE
SPECIFICALLY EARMARKED TO SUBSIDIZE

MASSACHUSETTS DAIRY FARMERS HAS No

CONSTITUTIONAL SIGNIFICANCE ............... 17

Ee ee ee ee ee er ee 21

(i)

(ii)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page

Cases
Bacchus Imports, Ltd. v. Dias,

ot eee eee ee eee ee 14
Baldwin v. G.A.F. Seelig, Inc.,

wack a tec tee cc ceseces 11, 12
Carmichael v. Southern Coal & Coke Co.,

i Ek wee te ee cece neces 19
Complete Auto Transit, Inc. v. Brady,

cee. bs cece ees e eles 11
Eastern Air Transport, Inc. v. South

Carolina Comm’n, 285 U.S. 147 (1932) ........... 7
Felt & Tarrant Mfg. Co. v. Gallagher,

kee ese see ecceeses 7
Henneford v. Silas Mason Co. ,

ek cee etc e eee sees 7
Hughes v. Alexandria Scrap Corp. ,

EE ee 8, 15
International Harvester Co. v. Department

of Treasury, 322 U.S. 340 (1944) .............. 11
Lacoste v. Department of Conservation,

ES OLE EEE 18
McGoldrick v. Berwind-White Coal Mining Co..,

ae. ete Geese cee te ce 18
Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Ward,

EES OE ee 14, 15
Milk Control Bd. v. Eisenberg Farm Prods..,

EEE 11
Monamotor Oil Co. v. Johnson,

TEs cc oc eek ec cee seen 7
Nelson v. Sears, Roebuck & Co..,

es ee chee eee eens 18
New Energy Co. of Indiana v. Limbach,

ee ea tet pees ee ees 14

New York Rapid Transit Corp. v.
City of New York, 303 U.S. 573 (1938) ........ 18, 19

(iii)
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (Cont’d)

Page
Pike v. Bruce Church, Inc..,

CE 11
Reeves, Inc. v. Stake, 447 U.S. 429 (1980) ........ 15, 17
Schwegmann Bros. Giant Super Mkts. v.

Louisiana Milk Comm’n, 365 F. Supp. 1144

(M.D. La. 1973), aff'd, 416 U.S. 922 (1974) ....... 13
Sonneborn Bros. v. Cureton,

RR 11
Southern Pacific Co. v. Gallagher,

a ED ccc cc cccccccccccccccces 7
Trinova Corp. v. Michigan Dep’t of Treasury,

498 U.S. 358 (1991) .........0.0 000. ee ee 18
United States v. Butler, 297 U.S. 1 (1936) .......... 19
Usery v. Turner Elkhorn Mining Co. .,

GE DOE co veccccersccccccccccccees 20
Woodruff v. Parham, 75 U.S. (8 Wall.) 123 (1869) ...... 7
Constitutional Provisions & Statutes
U.S. Const., art. 1, §8 ............0.0 000005. 19
Agricultural Adjustment Act of May 12, 1933,

c. 25, § 9(a), 48 Stat. 31 2.2.2... 2. ee ee ee 19
Black Lung Benefits Act of 1972, Pub. L.

No. 92-303, § 7, 86 Stat. 150 ................ 20
Mass. Gen. Laws Ann. ch. 94A

(West 1984 & Supp. 1993) ................. 3, 10
Miscellaneous Authorities
American Heritage Dictionary

(2d college ed. 1991) ... 2... ee eee, 6
Black’s Law Dictionary (6th ed. 1990) ............. 18
Richard B. Collins, Economic Union as a Constitutional

Value, 63 N.Y.U. L. Rev. 43 (1988) .......... 12, 14

(iv)
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (Cont'd)

Page

William B. Lockhart, The Sales Tax in Interstate Commerce,
Se, as ED ki ccvcctseeeenseess 7

2 Ronald D. Rotunda & John E. Nowak, Treatise on
Constitutional Law: Substance and Procedure § 11.8
Sa Pe oe 17

Kevin Sack, Proposing a Manhattan Stadium Is a Risky Play
for Cuomo and His Team, N.Y. Times, Oct. 3, 1993,

Pere de ae eel eee eh ek ooo} a 17
Laurence H. Tribe, American Constitutional Law

ee ae Be eee ales so 6 & 6 20
Jonathan D. Varat, State “Citzenship” and Interstate

Equality, 48 U. Chi. L. Rev. 487 (1981) ......... 12

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1993

No. 93-141

WEST LYNN CREAMERY, INC., and
LECOMTE’S DAIRY, INC.,
Petitioners,
Vv.

JONATHAN HEALY, COMMISSIONER,
MASSACHUSETTS DEPARTMENT OF
FOOD AND AGRICULTURE,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari
to the Supreme Judicial Court of Massachusetts

BRIEF OF MASSACHUSETTS ASSOCIATION OF DAIRY
FARMERS, GORDON M. COOK, DAVID W. DUPREY,
WARREN E. FACEY, DONALD LEAB,
MASSACHUSETTS FARM BUREAU FEDERATION, INC.
AND MASSACHUSETTS COOPERATIVE MILK
PRODUCERS FEDERATION, INC. AS AMICI CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT

INTEREST OF THE AMICT

The Massachusetts Association of Dairy Farmers (the
" Association") is an unincorporated association of milk producers
located in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. Messrs. Cook,

” Counsel for all parties have consented to the filing of this brief amici
curiae. Amici have filed those consents with the Clerk of this Court.

2

Duprey, Facey and Leab are members of the Association and are
Owners and operators of dairy farms within the Commonwealth.
Massachusetts Farm Bureau Federation, Inc. (the “Federation")
is am incorporated, not-for-profit organization consisting of
members of all segments of the Massachusetts agricultural
industry, including approximately eighty-six percent of the dairy
farms in Massachusetts. Massachusetts Cooperative Milk
Producers Federation, Inc. (the "Co-op"), a Massachusetts not-
for-profit corporation, is a marketing cooperative of approxi-
mately seventy Massachusetts dairy farmers. The Association, the
four individuals, and the dairy farming members of the Federation
and the Co-op are hereafter referred to as the "Producers."

The Producers’ farms are part of the dairy industry which the
Massachusetts Commissioner of Food and Agriculture declared to
be in a state of emergency, thus bringing into effect the Milk
Pricing Order which is the subject of Petitioners’ attacks. The
Producers have a direct interest in sustaining the validity of the
Milk Pricing Order in order to avoid the loss of their farms.

The Producers support the decision of the Massachusetts
Supreme Judicial Court that upheld the constitutionality of the
Milk Pricing Order, and support the position of Respondent in
this Court.

STATEMENT

1. In 1992, the Massachusetts Commissioner of Food and
Ay culture "determined that an emergency of unprecedented
proportions exists within the Massachusetts dairy industry." J.A.
30. The Commissioner's declaration of emergency was
underscored by these findings:

(a) In 1991, the average Massachusetts dairy farmer
received $12.64 per hundredweight of milk (approximately 11.6
gallons), but it cost farmers an average of $15.50 to produce that
same amount of milk (J.A. 27); and “the price of milk in
Massachusetts [is] twenty-six cents a gallon less than the national
average” (J.A. 18);

3

(b) Because of this economic shortfall, Massachusetts
dairy farmers “are no longer able to pay for feed for the[ir] cows,
have been forced to mortgage homes which have been in their
families for generations, are working twelve hours, seven days a
week to operate at a loss while being forced to forsake such basic
necessities as medical insurance for their families" (J.A. 27-28);

(c) Absent some form of relief, according to a professor
at the University of Massachusetts, the Commonwealth would lose
one-third of its remaining dairy farms in the next year (J.A. 28);

(d) The collapse of the local dairy industry would pose
an immediate threat to the supply of fresh milk available to
Massachusetts consumers: For instance, “farmers have petitioned
the [United States Department of Agriculture] to allow shipments
of powdered milk to be trucked to states like Massachusetts,
reconstituted, and treated as Class I fluid milk, despite significant
losses of flavor and nutritional value during processing and
shipping" (J.A. 29); it is a reasonable inference that this proposed
"reconstituted" milk, which is to be “treated as Class I fluid
milk," will be sold in Massachusetts without labelling to indicate
that it has been “powdered” and "reconstituted"; and

(e) The loss of its dairy farms would also seriously
endanger the remaining rural aspects of the Commonwealth:
"Without the continued existence of dairy farmers, the
Commonwealth will lose its supply of locally produced fresh
milk, together with the open lands that are used as wildlife
refuges, for recreation, hunting, fishing, tourism, and education."
J.A. 13.

2. Consistent with the finding of an emergency, and pursuant
to Massachusetts General Laws Annotated ch. 94A, §§ 10-12
(West 1984 & Supp. 1993), the Commissioner on February 26,
1992 issued an order which he called a “Pricing Order,"
“designed to boost the amount of money local dairy farmers . . .
receive for milk above and beyond that required by the Federal
{milk pricing) program." J.A. 121.

4

3. The Pricing Order works in this fashion:

(a) Each milk “dealer"' reports the amount of Class |
milk (milk consumed as fluid and not processed into other
products) which that dealer sold within the Commonwealth of
Massachusetts during the preceding month. J.A. 34-35.

(b) The volume of Class I milk sold by the dealer in the
prior month is then multiplied by an “order premium" -- one-third
of the difference between the federally set "blend price" and the
Commissioner-set target price. J.A. 35-36.

(c) The resultant amount is paid by the dealer into the
Massachusetts Dairy Equalization Fund (“Equalization Fund").
J.A. 35.

(d) Monies in the Equalization Fund are then distributed
to Massachusetts milk “producers”? in proportion to the milk
produced by that producer during the preceding month. J.A. 36-
38.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Pricing Order under scrutiny consists of two principal
elements: (1) It imposes a nondiscriminatory premium upon
every unit of milk sold in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts,
from whatever source; and (2) it provides for the payment of a
subsidy, out of the Equalization Fund created from those

' The Massachusetts Department of Food and Agriculture defines a milk
“dealer” as "any person who is engaged within the Commonwealth in the
business of receiving, purchasing, pasteurizing, bottling, processing,
distributing, or otherwise handling milk." J.A. 32-33; see also J.A. 119
n.3. Each of the Petitioners is a milk dealer. J.A. 119.

* The Department of Food and Agriculture defines a "producer" as "any
person producing milk from dairy cattle" -- i.e., dairy farmers. J.A.
33; see also J.A. 120 n.4. Each of the individual amici is a milk
“producer” within the Department’s definition.

5

premiums, to the Commonwealth’s dairy farmers in order to aid
in their continued survival.

Three propositions support the constitutionality of the
Commissioner’s Order. One, this Court’s decisions make clear
that a State may constitutionally impose a nondiscriminatory
premium upon a wholly in-State transaction. Two, a State may
provide a subsidy to support a local industry without running
afoul of the Constitution. Three, it is constitutionally inconse-
quential that the subsidy is related to the premium payments.

Since the order at issue accomplishes the permissible goal of
saving Massachusetts’ dairy industry without discriminating
against or impermissibly burdening interstate commerce, the
decision of the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court, sustaining
the Pricing Order, should be affirmed.

ARGUMENT

These amici support the basic arguments presented in the brief
filed on behalf of the Commissioner of the Massachusetts
Department of Food and Agriculture. In an effort to be of
assistance to the Court, and in the interest of the amici, counsel
submit the further arguments which are set out in this brief.

Petitioners’ contentions are summed up in three sentences
from their Brief:

The Massachusetts court reasoned that the Pricing Order is
“evenhanded in its application" because "[a}ll milk dealers that
sell Class I milk for consumption in Massachusetts are
required to contribute to the Fund." . . . But it is not just
who contributes to the Fund that is the gravamen; it is also
who takes out of the Fund. Almost all money paid into the
Fund comes from out-of-state milk sources, while all the
money paid out is given to in-state producers.

Petitioners’ Brief ("Pet. Br.") 24.

6

Petitioners’ understanding of the Pricing Order is largely
correct. The Order does impose a nondiscriminatory premium
upon all milk sold by dealers within Massachusetts’ borders. And
those whom the Fund benefits are only those milk producers
located within the Commonwealth. The flaw in Petitioners’
assessment of the Pricing Order is found in the third sentence; the
money paid into the Fund is paid by dealers, but it does not
follow that "all money paid into the Fund comes from out-of-state
milk sources." On the contrary, all money paid into the Fund
comes from a premium imposed only on the sale of milk within
Massachusetts. And the burden of the payment does not fall out
of State, but upon Massachusetts consumers. The result is not
enough to show a violation of the "dormant" Commerce Clause.

I.

THE SO-CALLED "PRICING ORDER" HAS THE
EFFECT OF A TAX ON SALES OF MILK BY DEALERS
IN MASSACHUSETTS.

As the Pricing Order under attack was issued by an executive
agency, though pursuant to a state statute, the assessed premium
is not referred to as a “tax."* It is clear, though, that the
premium bears many resemblances to a "tax" -- it is imposed by
the government and it is paid into a government fund which is
distributed in order to serve a public purpose. What Petitioners
and their amici fail to recognize is that their proposed
interpretation of the dormant Commerce Clause would not only
affect "Pricing Orders" and similar government actions; it would

* The question is also affected by the "no new taxes” atmosphere which
is quite often found today. Thus, government officers generally avoid
referring to exactions like this as a "tax" and prefer to use other
language to describe the payment. It does appear, however, that "the
amount owed to the fund" is "[a} contribution for the support of a
government required of persons, groups, or businesses within the
domain of that government." American Heritage Dictionary 1246 (2d
college ed. 1991).

7

also work a profound change upon this Court’s State-tax
jurisprudence under the dormant Commerce Clause. Indeed, the
"Pricing Order" in practical effect is a taxing provision requiring
a payment to the government on ail sales of fluid milk within
Massachusetts. When so recognized, its constitutionality should
be undisputed.

Although labeled a "Pricing Order," the Order under attack
does not fix the price which the milk dealer must pay for milk
produced outside Massachusetts. Rather, the minimum price to
be paid to the producers for such milk is fixed by federal orders.
The Pricing Order specifically provides, in its preamble, that
"[t]he price the farmer is paid for his milk is established by a
highly regulated federal pricing system." J.A. 32.

The Pricing Order has essentially the same effect as a sales tax
on all fluid milk sold by dealers in Massachusetts. Without any
reference to the dealer’s cost for milk purchased from producers,
it adds a charge when the milk is resold in Massachusetts for use
as ClassI milk. The result is in substance a tax paid to
Massachusetts for all such milk sold within Massachusetts
(regardless of where that milk was originally produced). The sale
which is subjected to this charge occurs within Massachusetts, and
the payment to the Commonwealth under the order is simply a
cost of doing business, like a sales tax or the cost of
transportation of the milk to the point of sale. The assessment of
the premium is completely non-discriminatory and is fully
applicable to milk produced both within and outside of
Massachusetts. The power to impose such a "tax" -- even upon
goods which originate out-of-State -- is firmly established in this
Court’s decisions. Woodruff v. Parham, 75 U.S. (8 Wall.) 123
(1869); Eastern Air Transport, Inc. v. South Carolina Comm'n,
285 U.S. 147 (1932); Monamotor Oil Co. v. Johnson, 292 U.S.
86 (1934); Henneford v. Silas Mason Co., 300 U.S. 577 (1937);
Felt & Tarrant Mfg. Co. v. Gallagher, 306 U.S. 62 (1939);
Southern Pacific Co. v. Gallagher, 306 U.S. 167 (1939). See
also William B. Lockhart, The Sales Tax in Interstate Commerce,
52 Harv. L. Rev. 617 (1939).

8

THE NONDISCRIMINATORY PREMIUM IMPOSED
UPON ALL FRESH MILK SOLD IN MASSACHUSETTS
DOES NOT VIOLATE THE DORMANT COMMERCE
CLAUSE.

A. The Burden Falls On Massachusetts Consumers.

Throughout the Petitioners’ brief, the contention is frequently
made that the burden of the Pricing Order will fall on out-of-State
producers -- in other words, that they will receive less for their
milk than they would in the absence of the premium.‘

There is little if any competent evidence in the record
supporting this contention. On the contrary, it seems clear that
the chief burden of the charge is borne not by out-of-State
producers, but by Massachusetts consumers of milk bought at
retail outlets, such as at grocery stores and supermarkets, or by
dealers that chose, for competitive reasons, to absorb a part of the
assessment as they might with any other cost. See J.A. 59. The
dealer will base his charge for the milk to retailers on all his
costs, which will include (a) the price paid to the farmer, (b) the
price of transportation into Massachusetts, and (c) the amount of
the Massachusetts premium, together with its other costs of doing
business. Cf. Hughes v. Alexandria Scrap Corp., 426 U.S. 794,
810 (1976). Since the premium is imposed equally on all dealers,
it has no direct competitive effect. All or most of the dealer’s
costs, with an appropriate profit, will be passed on to the retailer,
who, after a suitable markup, will fix his price to consumers in
Massachusetts. Since all milk, wherever produced, will be
subject to the Massachusetts premium, and not subject to non-
taxed competition, the cost burden will fall on Massachusetts

* Petitioners, both of whom are milk dealers located within the
Commonwealth of Massachusetts, nonetheless claim a Commerce Clause
injury in that "the Pricing Order is more economically harmful to out-of-
state farmers, and those who deal with them." Pet. Br. 19 n.17
(emphasis added).

9

consumers. The Supreme Judicial Court below (the only court
below that reviewed the record) concluded that "[t]he premiums
required under the pricing order may have detrimental financial
impacts on milk dealers such as West Lynn and LeComte, but
those detrimental impacts alone do not in our view run afoul of
the commerce clause. Rather, the premiums represent one of the
costs of doing business in the Commonwealth, a cost all milk
dealers must pay." J.A. 130.

The premium clearly has little, if any, impact on the price
received by producers outside of Massachusetts. Any impact on
out-of-State producers will be incidental, at most. Petitioners’
own expert witness testified via affidavit that the "primary
consumer impact is in the higher price that must be paid for
Massachusetts milk." J.A. 75. Even the President and Chief
Executive Officer of Petitioner West Lynn Creamery, Inc.
conceded that the Creamery passed the costs on to its
Massachusetts customers: ". .. we attempted to pass on these
costs. We’re not going to hide the fact that we attempted to pass
it on to all our customers." J.A. 58, 65. Indeed, the only injury
that Petitioner West Lynn Creamery has itself suffered is a
claimed monthly cost of $30,000 to $50,000 "to fund this tax
payment." J.A. 58. This cost, however, is attributable not to
any constitutional violation on the part of Massachusetts, but to
West Lynn Creamery’s own business judgment, since it has
chosen to pass on only about half of the cost of the premium to
its customers. Jd. And West Lynn is a Massachusetts
corporation, carrying on its operations, including these sales, in
Massachusetts.

The burden of proof in this case is on the Petitioners, who
were the plaintiffs in the trial court. They have not produced any
evidence which shows that the burden of the tax will fall, in any
significant degree, outside the Commonwealth. In fact, the
evidence which they have produced shows that Massachusetts
consumers have borne the burden of the charge. On this record,
it must be concluded that the burden of the tax falls on
Massachusetts consumers, who may petition the Massachusetts
legislature if, in the future, they become unwilling to pay a few

10

pennies more for milk in order to preserve the dairy farms of the
Commonwealth.

B. In Any Event, The Pricing Order Is Not Discrimina-
tory.

Petitioners claim that the Pricing Order is discriminatory in
purpose and effect, and therefore per se invalid. See Pet. Br. 16-
31. It is not. Petitioners, and to a large extent their amici as
well, reach this conclusion by erroneously focusing their attention
not upon the incidence of the tax, but upon the recipients of the
subsidy paid from the tax.

1. By properly focusing on the incidence of the premium, it
is plain that the Order is nondiscriminatory. To sell milk on the
wholesale level in Massachusetts, a milk dealer -- whether located
within or without the Commonwealth — must be licensed by the
Commonwealth of Massachusetts. See Mass. Gen. Laws Ann.
ch. 944A, §5 (West 1984 & Supp. 1993); see also Pet. Br. 3.
The Pricing Order imposes a premium upon each unit of milk
sold within the Commonwealth by a Massachusetts-licensed
dealer; it is irrelevant to the Pricing Order whether that dealer is
located within or without Massachusetts. Nor is it relevant to the
Pricing Order where the milk was originally produced.

Despite the undisputable fact that the Pricing Order applies
only to sales of fluid milk which occur with... Massachusetts,
Petitioners nonetheless seek immunity from paying premiums
based simply on the fact that they originally purchased the taxed
milk from an out-of-State source. Of course, this is completely
contrary to this Court’s Commerce Clause jurisprudence, which
holds that essentially local actions which benefit in-State interests
do not run afoul of the Commerce Clause:

Every state police statute necessarily will affect interstate
commerce in some degree, but such a statute does not run
counter to the grant of Congressional power merely because
it incideptally or indirectly involves or burdens interstate
commerce. . . . These principles . . . not only are inevitable
corollaries of the constitutional provision, but their unimpaired

11

enforcement is of the highest importance to the continued
existence of our dual form of government.

Milk Control Bd. v. Eisenberg Farm Prods. , 306 U.S. 346, 351-
52 (1939) (footnote omitted). See also Pike v. Bruce Church,
Inc., 397 U.S. 137, 142 (1970).

But, more drastically, Petitioners’ proposed rule wouid wholly
ignore a fundamental proposition established by this Court’s State-
tax precedents, that goods sold in-State are not immune from State
sales taxes merely because they originate outside the taxing State.
See, e.g., McGoldrick v. Berwind-White Coal Mining Co., 309
U.S. 33, 58 (1940) (sustaining sales tax "conditioned upon a local
activity, delivery of goods within the state upon their purchase for
consumption. It is an activity which apart from its effect on the
commerce, is subject to the state taxing power"); Sonneborn Bros.
v. Cureton, 262 U.S. 506, 508-09 (1923). Thus in Jnternational
Harvester Co. v. Department of Treasury, 322 U.S. 340, 346
(1944), this Court said that where a local transaction is made the
taxable event and that event is separate and distinct from the
transportation or intercourse which is interstate commerce, no
violation of the Commerce Clause occurs. That is precisely the
case here.

Under this Court’s four-part test for determining the
constitutionality of State taxes under the Commerce Clause, see
Complete Auto Transit, Inc. v. Brady, 430 U.S. 274, 279 (1977),
the Pricing Order would pass muster because (1) it is “applied to
an activity with a substantial nexus with" Massachusetts -- the sale
of milk in the Commonwealth; (2) it "is fairly apportioned,"
because no other State could impose such a premium upon the
same sale, and the amount of the premium is proportional to the
business transacted in Massachusetts; (3) it "does not discriminate
against interstate commerce" because it applies equally to all milk
dealers; and (4) it "is fairly related to services provided by the
State," such as police and highway services available to milk
dealers who transact business within the Commonwealth.

2. Petitioners and their amici have also attempted to force
their case into this Court’s decision in Baldwin v. G.A.F. Seelig,

12

Inc., 294 U.S. 511 (1935). In so doing, however, Petitioners
have glossed over the important differences between that case and
this one. In Baldwin, New York had established minimum prices
to be paid to in-State milk producers by milk dealers, a plainly
proper system which “has support in our decisions." Jd. at 519
(citing cases). However, the statute in Baldwin, unlike the
Pricing Order here, also banned the sale of milk imported from
another State unless the same minimum price had been paid to the
out-of-State farmers. Jd. This Court held that the latter
requirement ran afoul of the Commerce Clause: New York,
which had no sovereign interest in the well-being of Vermont's
farmers, was plainly requiring the Vermont farmers to receive the
same minimum prices -- not to preserve Vermont’s dairy farms,
but merely "[t]o keep the system unimpaired by competition from
afar." Id.°

The Pricing Order under attack here thus is far different from
the statute at issue in Baldwin. For one thing, the incidence of
the tax does not fall beyond Massachusetts’ borders, unlike the
situation in Baldwin, where New York "project[ed] its legislation
into Vermont by regulating the price to be paid in that state for
milk acquired there." Jd. at 521. Rather, Massachusetts imposes
the milk premium upon a wholly in-State transaction -- the sale of
milk, within Massachusetts’ borders, by a Massachusetts-licensed

* Ironically, the State of Vermont now objects to the fact that the
Massachusetts Order does not reach across State borders and pay
premiums to Vermont farmers. See Br. Amicus Curiae of State of
Vermont 2, 3, 4, 7. It is, however, "hard to see why out-of-state
traders should have a federal right to share in commerce created by the
state." Richard B. Collins, Economic Union as a Constitutional Value,
63 N.Y.U. L. Rev. 43, 102 (1988). See also Jonathan D. Varat, State
"Citzenship” and Interstate Equality, 48 U. Chi. L. Rev. 487, 540-41
(1981) ("When the states spend money directly on private parties, either
through subsidies or through payments for goods and services, they
would appear to have the strongest justification for preferring residents
as the recipients of those funds").

13

milk dealer. Indeed, the costs of that premium are ultimately
passed on to Massachusetts’ milk consumers, who -- if they are
not willing to pay a few cents extra for each gallon of milk in
order to subsidize the Commonwealth’s endangered dairy farms --
may avail themselves of the Massachusetts political processes in
order to rescind the Order. Since the Pricing Order has only an
intrastate reach, it does not implicate the same concerns for
national economic unity as did the overreaching statute struck
down in Baldwin.

Another important distinction between the statute at issue in
Baldwin and the Pricing Order under attack here is that the latter
does not "set a barrier to traffic between one state and another,"
as did the statute at issue in Baldwin. Rather, the Pricing Order
imposes a premium on an in-State transaction which funds a
subsidy for in-State dairy farmers. As the Massachusetts Supreme
Judicial Court correctly recognized, "[t}he constitutional infirmity
in Baldwin was not New York State’s desire to aid its farmers to
the exclusion of out-of-State farmers but, rather, the protectionist
nature of the regulation." J.A. 129.

Thus, the Pricing Order does not discriminate against
interstate commerce, for it is in substance and effect like a sales
tax (or value added tax) imposed upon each unit of fresh milk
sold within the Commonwealth, without regard to the place where
the milk was produced. It does not in any way extend itself to
transactions which take place beyond the Commonwealth’s
borders. Since the Pricing Order at issue suffers from neither of
these claimed defects, it does not violate the Commerce Clause.

* Compare Schwegmann Bros. Giant Super Mkts. v. Louisiana Milk
Comm'n, 365 F. Supp. 1144, 1156 (M.D. La. 1973) (three-judge court)
(“there is no constitutional infirmity in a state regulation requiring that
purely in-state transactions be governed by the Commission's pricing
schedules . . . even though the product sold within the state and whose
selling price is there regulated, originates outside of the state"), aff'd,
416 U.S. 922 (1974).

14

THE COMMONWEALTH’S SUBSIDIZATION OF
DOMESTIC DAIRY FARMERS DOES NOT VIOLATE
THE DORMANT COMMERCE CLAUSE.

Petitioners’ brief, and the briefs of their amici, are free in
their accusations of “economic protectionism" in the Pricing
Order. They say that since all milk dealers, in-State or out, are
taxed, but only in-State milk producers benefit from the subsidy,
the Commerce Clause is somehow violated. Petitioners seem to
believe that any effort by a State to assist local business interests,
which is funded by a tax levied upon a wholly in-State transaction
in which both in-and out-of-State businesses engage, is a violation
of the Commerce Clause. This is not an accurate reflection of
this Court’s decisions.’

Many cases support the right of a State to promote its own
industries: “{P]romotion of local industry is a legitimate state
interest in the Commerce Clause context." Metropolitan Life Ins.
Co. v. Ward, 470 U.S. 869, 877 n.6 (1985). See also Bacchus
Imports, Lid. v. Dias, 468 U.S. 263, 271 (1984) ("a State may
enact laws pursuant to its police powers that have the purpose and
effect of encouraging domestic industry").

Indeed, such promotion can take the form of a subsidy paid to
local industries, but not to foreign ones, so long as the subsidy
has a rational basis. “Direct subsidization of domestic industry
does not ordinarily run afoul of [the Commerce Clause]
prohibition; discriminatory taxation of out-of-state manufacturers
does." New Energy Co. of Indiana v. Limbach, 486 U.S. 269,

’ Accord Collins, supra n. 5, at 103: "Yet, the state treasury and state
property are, for the most part, simply accumulations of state taxes,
collected from out-of-state merchants as well as locais. Even so,
reservation of resources for state citizens exports costs to a lesser degree
than laws that selectively impose on outsiders. The treasury and other
property of a state are sufficiently related to the tax burden on its own
citizens to restrain subsidies by normal political discipline.”

15

278 (1988); see also Hughes v. Alexandria Scrap Corp., 426 U.S.
at $16 (Stevens, J., concurring); Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v.
Ward, 470 U.S. at 895 (O’Connor, J., dissenting) ("Moreover,
the Court has held in the dormant Commerce Clause context that
a State may provide subsidies or rebates to domestic but not to
foreign enterprises if it rationally believes that the former
contribute to the State’s welfare in ways that the latter do not.").
Petitioners point to no constitutional requirement that the subsidy
must be funded from taxes bearing solely on in-State interests,
and indeed they cannot.*

Here, it is plain that Massachusetts dairy farms contribute to
the Commonwealth’s welfare in ways that out-of-State dairy farms
cannot. As the Governor’s Special Commission Relative to the
Establishment of a Dairy Stabilization Fund found, Massachusetts’
dairy farmers “have been the stewards of the commonwealth’s
land since the first decade of the sixteenth [sic; perhaps

* Two of Petitioners’ amici, the Milk Industry Foundation and the Food
Marketing Institute, suggest in their joint brief (at p. 24) that this Court
has approved subsidies only where the State "limits benefits generated
by a state program to those who fund the state treasury" (quoting
Reeves, Inc. v. Stake, 447 U.S. 429, 442 (1980)). This quotation from
Reeves is cropped and incomplete. In full, it is not helpful to Petitioners
or their amici:
We find the label “protectionism” of little help in this context. The
State’s refusal to sell to buyers other than South Dakotans is
"protectionist" only in the sense that it limits benefits generated by
Se ee ee aa ea aD
was created to serve. Petitioner's argument apparently also
would cduasastesian 05 “pestestioniet” oulee sectdeting to cate
residents the enjoyment of state educational institutions, energy
generated by a state-run plant, police and fire protection, and
agricultural improvement and business development programs. Such
policies, while perhaps “protectionist” in a loose sense, reflect the
essential and patently unobjectionable purpose of state government
-- to serve the citizens of the State.

Reeves, Inc., 447 U.S. at 442 (emphasis added).

16

seventeenth was intended] century. . . . Without the continued
existence of dairy farmers, the Commonwealth will lose its supply
of locally produced fresh milk, together with the open lands that
are used as wildlife refuges, for recreation, hunting, fishing,
tourism and education." J.A. 12-13. At public hearings, citizens
of the Commonwealth "expressed concern over losing the rural
character of Massachusetts." “The overriding concern" expressed
by Massachusetts’ citizens in public testimony “was not that the
retail price of milk would be raised, but that the natural
characteristics of the Commonwealth would be gone forever if we
lost our dairy industry." J.A. 17.’

The Commerce Clause surely does not stand as a bar to a
State’s efforts to preserve its countryside. With these important
State concerns in mind, Massachusetts could appropriately
subsidize its dairy farms in order to preserve a bit of its rural and
rustic heritage, as well as a continuous supply of locally produced
fresh milk. The Special Commission’s findings make clear that
Massachusetts” citizens were only too willing to pay the "two
cents increase per quart of milk" (J.A. 18) which was estimated
to follow from the Pricing Order, in order to preserve the
Commonwealth’s dairy farms.

In fact, it is common for States to subsidize local interests in
similar ways. States may institute farm extension programs.
They may reduce state taxes or grant tax holidays in order to
encourage out-of-State businesses to relocate there, or to
encourage local businesses to remain there. Indeed, New York
has recently made efforts to retain its private financial institutions
with various public incentives, and has even encouraged the New
York Yankees to stay in New York with a potential offer to build

* Again with a touch of irony, the Petitioners’ amicus curiae, the State
of Vermont, bemoans the tide of "creeping urbanization” and the loss of
its own dairy farms, noting that this transformation from countryside to
urban landscape “is an irreversible process; once dairy farms are
transformed into subdivisions, there is no turning back." Br. Amicus
Curiae of State of Vermont 15.

- tere

17

a new Yankee Stadium in Manhattan. Kevin Sack, Proposing a
Manhattan Stadium Is a Risky Play for Cuomo and His Team,
N.Y. Times, Oct. 3, 1993, at A37, col. 1. Compare 2 Ronald D.
Rotunda & John E. Nowak, Treatise on Constitutional Law:
Substance and Procedure § 11.8, at 28 (2d ed. 1992) ("If New
York were to decide to aid its dairy farmers to compete with
Vermont dairy farmers, New York could, under Baldwin, decide
to give its farmers, e.g., cash subsidies or tax relief in the form
of reduced property tax or income tax payments.") (emphasis
added). See also Reeves, Inc. v. Stake, 447 U.S. at 441.

In sum, the encouragement of local industry, by means of a
subsidy, is a legitimate goal for a State to pursue; it does not
violate the Commerce Clause.

IV.

THE FACT THAT THE PREMIUM PAYMENTS ARE
SPECIFICALLY EARMARKED TO SUBSIDIZE
MASSACHUSETTS DAIRY FARMERS HAS NO

CONSTITUTIONAL SIGNIFICANCE.

Massachusetts has imposed a nondiscriminatory tax by
assessing a transaction which is wholly within its borders. It has
used those payments to build a Stabilization Fund, disbursements
from which are used to subsidize an important local industry with
historical, rural significance in the life of the Commonwealth’s
citizens. As the amici have shown, above, these are constitutional
means to constitutional ends.

Apparently recognizing that Massachusetts may constitutionally
subsidize local industry, Petitioners devote a section of their Brief
to arguing that the Pricing Order is not, in fact, a subsidy. See
Pet. Br. 28-31; see also Br. Amici Curiae of the Milk Industry
Foundation and the Food Marketing Industry 24. Petitioners’
argument has two threads to it. The first is that since "the Pricing
Order never uses the word subsidy," it cannot be "classified as a
subsidy." Pet. Br. 30. The second is that since the subsidy is not
paid from general tax revenues, it cannot be classified as a
"subsidy." Jd. at 29-30 & n.26.

18

Both arguments champion form over substance, and neither is
supported by this Court’s decisions. In the first place, this Court
has repeatedly eschewed distinctions based on labels in the
Commerce Clause context. See, e.g., Trinova Corp. v. Michigan
Dep’t of Treasury, 498 U.S. 358, 374 (1991); Nelson v. Sears,
Roebuck & Co., 312 U.S. 359, 363 (1941); Lacoste v.
Department of Conservation, 263 U.S. 545, 550 (1924) ("Regard
must be had to the substance of the measure rather than its
form"). Thus, whether or not the State labels the payments a
"subsidy" has no constitutional significance. And in any event,
it cannot seriously be disputed that State payments to local
farmers, whatever they are called, are "subsidies" within the
generally accepted definition of that term."

In the second place, it makes no constitutional difference
whether the subsidy originates in the State’s general treasury or
in a separate, earmarked Stabilization Fund, as is the case here.
In New York Rapid Transit Corp. v. City of New York, 303 U.S.
573 (1938), a New York statute enabled cities "to adopt and
amend local laws, imposing in any such city any tax... . to
relieve the people of any such city from the hardships and
suffering caused by unemployment." The statute specifically
provided that the revenues of such taxes "shall not be credited or
deposited in the general fund of any such city, but shall be
deposited in a separate bank account or accounts" created "for the
relief purposes for which the said taxes have been imposed." /d.

' Black's Law Dictionary (6th ed. 1990) defines "subsidy" as

A grant of money made by government in aid of the promoters of
any enterprise, work, or improvement in which the government
desires to participate, or which is considered a proper subject for
government aid, because such purpose is likely to be of benefit to the
public.

Id. at 1428 (emphasis added). Massachusetts obviously considered that
saving the Commonwealth’s dairy farms was “a proper subject for
government aid" and "likely to be of benefit to the public." See, e.g.,
J.A. 13, 27-30.

19

at 584 n.7 (quoting statute). In dismissing an equal protection
challenge to the statute, this Court held:

We conclude, therefore, that the provisions of the legislation
earmarking the funds collected are not of importance in
determining whether or not the classification of the challenged
acts is discriminatory.

Id. at 587. And in Carmichael v. Southern Coal & Coke Co.,
301 U.S. 495 (1937), Alabama’s employers were required to pay
a percentage of their payrolls into the State Unemployment
Compensation Fund. This Fund was then deposited into the
Federal Government’s "Unemployment Trust Fund," from which
benefits were paid to covered employees in the event of their
unemployment. /d. at 506-07. This Court held that the
earmarking of these funds for unemployed workers was irrelevant
to the constitutional calculus: "If the purpose is legitimate
because public, it will not be defeated because the execution of it
involves payments to individuals," rather than to the general
treasury. Id. at 518.

Another case involving a "taxing" scheme quite similar to the
Pricing Order is United States v. Butler, 297 U.S. 1 (1936).
Butler involved the Agricultural Adjustment Act of May 12,
1933, c. 25, § 9(a), 48 Stat. 31, which imposed a tax “upon the
first domestic processing" of certain commodities. The amount
of the tax was fixed by the Secretary of Agriculture at a rate equal
to the difference between the current average price of the
commodity and the price which would have given the commodity
"the same purchasing power" as it would have had in the pre-war
period 1909-1914. Section 12 of the same Act appropriated “the
proceeds derived from all taxes under this title" for specific
agricultural purposes, including benefit payments to farmers.

The Court held that the Act was not a “tax” but an
unconstitutional economic regulation; and that, for this reason, it
was not within the power "To lay and collect Taxes" given to
Congress by Article I, § 8 of the Constitution. However, “this
distinction proved unworkable, and since its decisions upholding
the Social Security Act, the Supreme Court has effectively

20

ignored Butler in judging the limits of congressional spending
power." Laurence H. Tribe, American Constitutional Law 322
(2d ed. 1988) (footnotes omitted). See, e.g., the Black Lung
Benefits Act of 1972, Pub. L. No. 92-303, § 7, 86 Stat. 150,
157, which required mine operators to pay black lung benefits
directly to claimants, and which was upheld against a due process
challenge in Usery v. Turner Elkhorn Mining Co., 428 U.S. 1
(1976). Petitioners’ argument -- that it somehow makes a
constitutional difference that the funds collected here are
earmarked for Massachusetts dairy farmers -- invites the Court to
engraft the same discarded formalism onto its Commerce Clause
jurisprudence. The invitation should be declined.

In short, Petitioners would have no complaint if Massachusetts
had enacted two separate statutes: one a nondiscriminatory tax
payable to the state treasury, the tax being on all dealer sales of
fresh milk within the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, and the
other providing for a subsidy to the Commonwealth’s dairy
farmers out of funds in the general treasury. The Pricing Order
accomplishes the same thing in a single statute, creating a separate
fund from which the subsidies are paid. Petitioners do not, and
can not cite any case which gives constitutional effect to such a
formalistic distinction. Nor can Petitioners cite any reason for
concern that a State may abuse an arrangement like the Pricing
Order to undermine the economic unity of this country.

21
CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the judgment of the Massachusetts
Supreme Judicial Court should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

ERWIN N. GRISWOLD
(Counsel of Record)
GREGORY A. CASTANIAS

JONES, DAY, REAVIS & POGUE
Metropolitan Square

1450 G Street, N.W.

Washington, DC 20005-2088

(202) 879-3939

ALLEN TUPPER BROWN
58 River Road
Gill, Massachusetts 01376
(413) 863-3100

Counsel for Amici Curiae

December 14, 1993

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0444%3A14. Public record. Not legal advice.
