# Amicus Curiae Brief — Powell v. Nevada

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0434%3A11

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1994
- **Citation:** 511 U.S. 79

## Text

DEC 14 1993
No. 92-8841 <_/ OFFICE OF THE CLERK

In The_
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1993

KITRICH POWELL, Petitioner
v.

THE STATE OF NEVADA, Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari
To the Supreme Court of Nevada

BRIEF FOR THE STATES OF UTAH, ARIZONA,
CONNECTICUT, HAWAII, IDAHO, KANSAS,
KENTUCKY, LOUISIANA, MASSACHUSETTS,
MONTANA, NEW JERSEY, OKLAHOMA, OHIO, AND
SOUTH CAROLINA, AS AMICI] CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF
RESPONDENT

JAN GRAHAM

Utah Attorney General
CAROL CLAWSON

Utah Solicitor General

J. KEVIN MURPHY
*Assistant Attorney General
236 State Capitol

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-0810
Telephone: (801) 538-1021

*Counsel of Record
(Other Counsel Listed on Inside Cover)

yi

"BEST AVAILABLE COPY;

No. 92-884]
In The
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1993

KITRICH POWELL, Petitioner
v.

THE STATE OF NEVADA, Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari
To the Supreme Court of Nevada

BRIEF FOR THE STATES OF UTAH, ARIZONA,
CONNECTICUT, HAWAII, IDAHO, KANSAS,
KENTUCKY, LOUISIANA, MASSACHUSETTS,
MONTANA, NEW JERSEY, OKLAHOMA, OHIO, AND
SOUTH CAROLINA, AS AMICI] CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF
RESPONDENT

JAN GRAHAM

Utah Attorney General
CAROL CLAWSON

Utah Solicitor General

J. KEVIN MURPHY

* Assistant Attorney General
236 State Capitol

Salt Lake City, UT 84114-0810
Telephone: (801) 538-1021

*Counsel of Record
(Other Counsel Listed on Inside Cover)

Honorable Grant Woods
Attorney General of Arizona
1275 West Washington
Phoenix, Arizona 85007

Honorable John M. Bailey
Chief State’s Attorney

State of Connecticut

340 Quinnipiac Street
Wallingford, Connecticut 06492

Honorable Robert A. Marks
Attorney General of Hawaii
425 Queen Street
Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

Honorable Larry EchoHawk
Attorney General of Idaho
Statehouse Room 210
Boise, Idaho 83720

Honorable Robert T. Stephan
Attorney General of Kansas

Second Floor, Kansas Judicial Center
Topeka, Kansas 66612-1597

Honorable Chris Gorman
Attorney General of Kentucky
Capitol Building

Frankfort, Kentucky 40601

Honorable Richard P. leyoub
Attorney General of Louisiana
Department of Justice

P.O. Box 94005

Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804-9005

Honorable Scott Harshbarger
Attorney General of Massachusetts
One Ashburton Place

Boston, Massachusetts 02108

Honorable Joseph P. Mazurek
Attorney General of Montana
Justice Building

215 North Sanders

Helena, Montana 59620-1041

Honorable Fred DeVesa

Attorney General of New Jersey
Department of Law and Public Safety
Richard J. Hughes Justice Complex
25 Market Street

Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0086

Honorable Susan B. Loving
Attorney General of Oklahoma
State Capitol

2300 North Lincoln Blvd.

Room 112

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73105

Honorable Lee Fisher
Attorney General of Ohio
State Office Tower

17th Floor

30 East Broad Street
Columbus, Ohio 43215-3428

Honorable T. Travis Medlock
Attorney General of South Carolina
P.O. Box 11549

Columbia, South Carolina 29211

QUESTION PRESENTED

Amici, focusing on the end result sought by petitioner,
respectfully submit that the question presented is:

Did the Nevada Supreme Court correctly decline to
retroactively apply the Fourth Amendment exclusionary
remedy against statements made by petitioner, who received
a probable cause determination four days after his warrantless
arrest, given that the "McLaughlin" rule, announced while
petitioner's conviction was not yet final, requires a judicial
probable cause determination within forty-eight hours of such
an arrest?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

INTEREST OF AMICI]

STATEMENT OF FACTS AND PROCEEDINGS
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

ARGUMENT

PETITIONER CANNOT INVOKE THE EXCLUSIONARY
REMEDY FOR THE FOURTH AMENDMENT "FORTY-

EIGHT HOUR RULE” VIOLATION THAT HE
ALLEGES

A. Powell Seeks to Suppress a Voluntary
Statement, Solely Upon Narrow, Fourth
Amendment "Prompt Probable Cause
Determination” Grounds.

B. Because the Challenged Judgment
Turned on State Law, Rather than the

Nevada Court’s Retroactivity Analysis,
This Certiorari Proceeding Should be
anata

S The Nevada Court’s Judgment Can be
Affirmed on the Ground that the
Exclusionary Remedy Should Not be
Applied Against Petitioner’s Post-
Arrest Statement.

4

2

Ie

(1) Compliance with Then-Existing Law. Ib | TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

(2) No "Flagrant" Misconduct, or CASES CITED
Causation. te)
Page
(3) No Future Deterrence, Wasteful Cost. 20)
: Brown v. Illinois, 422 U.S. 590 (1975)... ........ passim
D. This Court Should Articulate a Two-
Part, "Violation Plus Remedy" Caldwell v. Mississippi, 472 U.S. 320 (1985) ........ 13
Pleading Rule for Fourth Amendment-
Grounded Motions to Suppress Chambers V. Maroney, 399 U.S. 42 (1970) ree eeu es eee 22
Evidence. + ae
Chapman v. California, 386 U.S. 18 (1967) . Lee eeees 22
CONCLUSION 24
County of Riverside v. McLaughlin, _—_-*U.S. ___,
Fe ef ee passim
Deutscher v. State, 95 Nev. 669, 601 P.2d 407
(1979), vacated, US. __,111 S.Ct
re _
Gerstein v. Pugh, 420 U.S. 103 (1975). ........ passim

Griffith v. Kentucky, 479 U.S. 314 (1987)... .. 6, 10 12-14

- Illinois v. Gates, 462 U.S. 213 (1983). ............. 1]
Illinois v. Krull, 480 U.S. 340 (1987)......... 8, 16-17
Linkletter v. Walker, 381 U.S. 618 (1965).......... 12
Mapp v. Ohio, 367 U.S. 643 (1961). .......... 1, 10, 24
iV

Michigan v. DeFillippo, 443 U.S. 31 (1979) ... .8, 16, 17
Michigan v. Long, 463 U.S. 1032 (1983) ........ 13-23

Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966)... . 3, 4, 11, 19

New York v. Harris, 495 U.S. 14 (1990)... ....... 8, 20
Payton v. New York, 445 U.S. 573 (1980).......... 20
Powell v. State, 108 Nev. 700, 838 P.2d 921

aa as oak 6 oe ee ee ae eae passim
Schall v. Martin, 467 U.S. 253 (1984)... 2.0.0.0... 17
Schneckloth v. Bustamonte, 412 U.S. 218 (1973). ..... 1]
Soldal v. Cook County, __: U.S. ____, 113 S. Ct.

Or eer eT ER Tee ere eee 16
Stone v. Powell, 428 U.S. 465 (1976)...... 13, 20, 22-23
Tehan v. United States, 382 U.S. 406 (1966)....... 6, 12
United States v. Leon, 468 U.S. 897 (1984) ....... 21, 23
Weeks v. United States, 232 U.S. 383 (1914). ....... 1,2

Withrow v. Williams, _ U.S. __, 113 S. Ct.
oy Seo rece erent Cease 11

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS, STATUTES

AND RULES
Oe eS rn passim
a sie vivsceceseuca suns 14
ee INS Cle i As wadlns os ccos cade 15
Nevada Revised Statute § 47.040 (1986)........... 15
_ Nevada Revised Statute § 171.178 (1986)........ passim
Nevada Revised Statute § 174.105 (1992)........... 15
Nevada Revised Statute § 174.125 (1992)........... 15
OTHER AUTHORITIES

Durham, The New Judicial Federalism and the Policy
Making Role of State Supreme Courts, 2 Emerging Issues
in State Constitutional Law 219 (1989)........ rere 14

vi

No. 92-8841
In The
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1993

KITRICH POWELL, Petitioner
v.

THE STATE OF NEVADA, Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari
To the Supreme Court of Nevada

BRIEF FOR THE STATES OF UTAH, ET AL., AS
AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENT

INTEREST OF AMICI

Amici are states who, through their chief law
enforcement officers, seek to bring criminals to justice on the
strength of relevant evidence. Amici acknowledge a
concurrent obligation to honor the Fourth Amendment right
of all citizens to be free from unreasonable searches and
seizures.

The latter obligation is commonly enforced through
the judicially-created exclusionary remedy of Weeks v. United
States, 232 U.S. 383 (1914), and Mapp v. Ohio, 367 U.S. 643
(1961), whereby evidence obtained through Fourth

Amendment violations is suppressed from use at criminal
trials. Amici support a policy that reasonably limits that
remedy’s application to instances in which its purpose--the
deterrence of Fourth Amendment violations, is well worth its
cost--the loss of relevant evidence from criminal trials. In
this brief, submitted under Rule 37.5, Rules of the Supreme
Court of the United States, amici will demonstrate that no
such benefit can be achieved by the remedy’s application in
this case.

STATEMENT OF FACTS AND PROCEEDINGS
The Crime

The Nevada Supreme Court summarized the evidence
upon which Powell’s trial jury found him guilty of murder.
Over a period of about two months, Powell repeatedly
physically abused Melea Allen, the four-year-old daughter of
Powell’s girl friend. The last of these episodes severely
injured Melea’s head and neck, causing her to lapse into a
coma on November 3, 1989. At that time, Powell took Melea
to a Las Vegas hospital, where she died on November 8,
1989. Powell v. State, 108 Nev. 700, 838 P.2d 921, 923
(1992) (J.A. 2-21).

The Two Statements to Police

In finding Powell guilty, the jury heard, and
necessarily discredited, two statements in which Powell had
sought to exculpate himself. The statements were made
during two police interviews.

The first interview occurred at the hospital about an
hour after Powell arrived there with Melea on November 3.

The interview lasted about forty minutes, during which
Powell was twice allowed to leave, to smoke cigarettes (R.
814-16; 838 P.2d at 925, J.A. 7). In that pre-arrest interview,
Powell stated that Melea’s injury had been caused by an
accidental fall from his shoulders during the previous day.
He admitted that he occasionally spanked Melea to discipline
her, but denied otherwise striking her or intentionally injuring
her (838 P.2d at 924, J.A. 5; R. 814-16). At about 3:00 p.m.,
roughly an hour and a half after the interview, Powell was
arrested for child abuse (Br. for Petitioner, at 7).

November 3, 1989 was a Friday. Under Nevada
Revised Statutes section 171.178(3) (1986) (NRS 171.178),
described by the Nevada Supreme Court as a "timely
arraignment” rule, 838 P.2d at 925, J.A. 7, Nevada law
enforcement authorities were then permitted seventy-two
hours, exclusive of nonjudicial days, to bring an arrestee
before a magistrate. While he was not thus “arraigned” on
November 3, Powell acknowledges that an "arresting officer’s
declaration" form was completed that day, according to a date
stamp, within an hour after his arrest (Br. for Petitioner, at 7).
It is not known whether the "declaration of arrest" went
straightaway to a magistrate at that time.

On Tuesday, November 7--still within the "timely
arraignment" period of NRS 171.178--two police officers read
the jailed Powell his silence and counsel rights, per Miranda
v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966). Powell waived those rights,
and a second interview commenced (838 P.2d at 925, J.A. 7;
R. 820, 3629-85).

During that post-arrest interview, Powell explained
Melea’s head and neck injuries consistently with his pre-arrest
statement: she had accidentally fallen from his shoulders, he

claimed, on the day before he brought her to the hospital (R.
827, 3646). Powell asserted that various other, older injuries
observed by medical personnel were caused by other, minor
accidents, and by his physical discipline of Melea (R. 3671-
78). He again denied that he had ever intended to injure
Melea (R. 3683-85).

Also on November 7, a magistrate found probable
cause to arrest Powell on the child abuse charge. It appears,
and for purposes of this Court’s review amici assume, that
this finding was made ex parte (838 P.2d at 924, J.A. 5).
The following day, after Melea died, the charge against
Powell was changed from child abuse to murder. On that
charge, Powell first appeared before a magistrate on
November 13, 1989 (Powell’s Opening Br. to Nevada
Supreme Court, at 1; R. 4888). That "arraignment" was
untimely under NRS 171.178.

The "Timely Arraignment" Argument

On appeal to the Nevada Supreme Court, Powell
complained of the NRS 171.178 “timely arraignment"
violation. He did not equate that violation to a Fourth
Amendment violation, or invoke the Fourth Amendment in
any way. And while he inaccurately asserted a violation of
Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966), in connection with
one or both of his statements to police, he did not allege that
either statement was involuntary. Nevertheless, in conclusory
fashion, Powell argued that because of the NRS 171.178
violation, his “conviction should be reversed and the
Appellant should be set free" (Opening Br. to Nevada
Supreme Court, at 82-85; R. 4969-72).

The Nevada court rejected that sweeping demand,
determining that Powell’s pre-arrest statement was admissible
because it was voluntarily made, in a noncustodial setting.
838 P.2d at 925, J.A. 7 ("he was not coerced or involuntarily
detained in any way"). The court then held that Powell’s
November 7 post-arrest statement was also admissible because
under Nevada caselaw, the NRS 171.178 "timely arraignment"
requirement was waived when Powell, upon receipt of his
"Miranda" warnings, agreed to speak to the police without
counsel present. Jd, J.A. 6-7 (citing Deutscher v. State, 95
Nev. 669, 601 P.2d 407 (1979) (waiver of "Miranda" rights
also waives timely arraignment, at which defendant would be
informed of same rights), vacated on other grounds, __ U.S.
__, 111 S. Ct. 1678 (1991)). As with the pre-arrest
statement, the Nevada court found no record evidence that the
post-arrest statement was involuntary. Jd, J.A. 7 (referring
to both statements).

Importation of Fourth Amendment Issue

But before thus disposing of Powell’s state statute-
based argument, the Nevada court "initially note[d]" County
of Riverside v. McLaughlin, __ U.S. __, 111 S. Ct. 1661
(1991), in which this Court held that a judicial probable cause
determination must be made within forty-eight hours of a
warrantless arrest, including nonjudicial days. 838 P.2d at
924, J.A. 5. The McLaughlin "forty-eight hour" rule,
announced before Powell’s conviction was final, gave a
bright-line definition to this Court’s earlier holding, in
Gerstein v. Pugh, 420 U.S. 103, 125 (1975), that the subject
of a warrantless arrest must "promptly" receive a judicial
probable cause determination.

The Nevada court did not explain why it chose to
"note" McLaughlin. Nevertheless, it ruled that “(t]he
McLaughlin case renders NRS 171.178(3) unconstitutional
insofar that it permits an initial appearance up to seventy-two
hours after arrest and instructs that non-judicial days be
excluded from the calculation of those hours." 838 P.2d at
924, J.A. 6. That ruling evidently assumed that a post-arrest
probable cause determination, and the arrestee’s initial court
appearance or “arraignment,” would necessarily occur in the
same proceeding. The court stated: "Based on McLaughlin,
we hold that a suspect must come before a magistrate within
forty-eight hours, including non-judicial days, for a probable
cause determination." /d (emphasis added).

In a footnote, the Nevada court then explained that its
new, McLaughlin-based rule would not apply retroactively to
Powell’s case. This explanation was based upon a three-
factor retroactivity analysis set forth in Tehan v. United
States, 382 U.S. 406 (1966), that examines (1) the purpose of
the new rule; (2) the reliance on the prior, contrary rule; and
(3) the effect that retroactive application of the new rule
would have on the administration of justice. 838 P.2d at 924
n.1 (citing Tehan), J.A. 6. Emphasizing the third factor, the
Nevada court observed: “Were McLaughlin to be applied
retroactively, untold numbers of prisoners would be set free
because they were not brought before a magistrate within
forty-eight hours." /d.

Powell now assails the Nevada court’s non-
retroactivity decision as erroneous under Griffith v. Kentucky,
479 U.S. 314 (1987). Despite the mistaken retroactivity
analysis used by the Nevada court, amici will demonstrate
that, for a number of reasons, the court’s judgment, affirming
Powell's conviction, should not be disturbed.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Powell’s inconsistently-framed argument really asks
this Court to apply the Fourth Amendment exclusionary
remedy against the post-arrest statement he made to police,
and to reverse his conviction. Aside from the alleged
“prompt probable cause determination" violation, Powell
alleges no other official misconduct that might call the
admissibility of his post-arrest statement into question. The
initial validity of Powell's arrest is uncontested. Thus only
a quite narrow Fourth Amendment issue is presented.

On this issue, the Nevada court used an outmoded
analysis to determine that the McLaughlin "forty-eight hour
rule" for obtaining a probable cause determination should not
apply retroactively to Powell. Under current analysis (which
may arguably be inapplicable to this case), a new rule of
criminal procedure applies to all cases pending on direct
review, as was Powell's, when the rule is announced.

However, the Nevada Supreme Court’s mistake does
not compel relief from its judgment. As a threshold matter,
the structure of the Nevada court’s opinion reveals that its
discussion of McLaughlin, along with its retroactivity
analysis, was not dispositive of the appeal. The dispositive
issue was the one actually presented by Powell--a state
Statutory violation and the appropriate remedy for the
violation. Because the Nevada court decided that issue under
independent state law, federal question jurisdiction is absent,
and this Court should dismiss Powell's certiorari petition.

If jurisdiction is retained, the Nevada Supreme Court's
judgment can be affirmed on several alternative grounds that
were not identified by that court. Foremost among such

= ot.

grounds is the principle, found in Jllinois v. Krull and
Michigan v. DeFillippo, that when state authorities act in
conformity with law that has not yet been ruled
unconstitutional, suppression of evidence derived from such
action is inappropriate. Because Powell’s probable cause
determination was timely under then-existing statutory
guidelines and this Court’s pre-McLaughlin caselaw, Nevada
authorities did nothing that the exclusionary remedy should
deter, and Powell’s post-arrest statement was admissible under
the Fourth Amendment.

Next, as this Court held in Brown v. Illinois, even
when authorities violate the Fourth Amendment, subsequent
statements by a criminal suspect should not be suppressed if
the violation was not flagrant or designed to elicit the
statements. A similar “causation” analysis, in New York v.
Harris, holds that where probable cause to arrest is
established, error in the manner of making the arrest does not
require the exclusionary remedy. Such analysis of this case
demonstrates that Powell’s post-arrest statement was not
caused by, or the “fruit” of, any McLaughlin “forty-eight
hour” violation, and therefore was properly admitted at his
trial.

Further, use of the exclusionary remedy against
Powell’s post-arrest statement cannot advance deterrence of
future McLaughlin violations. The clarity of McLaughlin, by
itself, already serves as ample deterrence. It would also be
very difficult, at this late date, to resolve the factual
ambiguities necessary to prove a McLaughlin violation, and
whether such violation stems from law enforcement
misconduct or judicial error. A harmless error analysis--
appropriate were a remand granted to clarify the facts--would
probably defeat any prospect for a new trial. Therefore, an

evidentiary remand at this point would waste judicial
resources, and should not be granted.

The arguments for affirmance highlight the important
Fourth Amendment principle that a criminal defendant who
wishes to invoke the exclusionary remedy must do more than
merely prove some Fourth Amendment violation. He or she
must also demonstrate that the exclusionary remedy--not itself
a constitutional right--is appropriate under the circumstances
of the case. Re-articulation of this principle is needed to
guide future litigants and courts, and is urged by amici.

ARGUMENT

PETITIONER CANNOT INVOKE THE
EXCLUSIONARY REMEDY FOR THE FOURTH
AMENDMENT "FORTY-EIGHT HOUR RULE"
VIOLATION THAT HE ALLEGES

A. Powell Seeks to Suppress a Voluntary
Statement, Solely Upon Narrow, Fourth
Amendment "Prompt Probable Cause
Determination" Grounds.

The issue before this Court should be made clear.
Powell presents only a Fourth Amendment "prompt probable
cause determination” issue, under County of Riverside v.
McLaughlin, __ U.S. _, 111 S. Ct. 1661 (1991), regarding
the four-day interval between his warrantless arrest and the ex
parte, judicial probable cause finding that upheld the arrest.
Amici agree that Powell's "timely arraignment” right, and the
question of whether he waived that particular right (Br. for
Petitioner, at 19-23), are not before this Court. See
McLaughlin, 111 S. Ct. at 1668-71, and Gerstein v. Pugh,

420 U.S. 103, 122-25 (1975) (probable cause determination
and other pretrial proceedings, serving different functions,
may be combined or separate).

The relief sought by Powell should also be clarified.
In the conclusion to his brief, he formally asks only for a
remand to the Nevada Supreme Court “for further
proceedings" in light of McLaughlin and Griffith v. Kentucky,
479 U.S. 314 (1987) (Br. for Petitioner at 24). But Powell
elsewhere asserts--although in self-contradictory fashion--that
“reversal of the conviction,” and "the exclusionary remedy of
the Fourth Amendment or a remedy under state law" are
"require[d]" or “appropriate” for the allegedly unreasonable
delay in the probable cause determination after his arrest (Br.
for Petitioner, at 1, 8, 10, 11). Amici do not perceive this
Court to be at liberty to order an undefined "remedy under
state law" for the federal violation alleged by Powell.

The relief Powell actually seeks, amici believe, is the
federal, Fourth Amendment exclusionary remedy, suppressing
the statement he made to Nevada authorities during the
allegedly “unreasonable” delay before his probable cause
determination. See Mapp v. Ohio, 367 U.S. 643 (1961)
(evidence obtained by state authorities by violation of Fourth
Amendment is subject to exclusionary remedy); Brown v.
Illinois, 422 U.S. 590 (1975) (ordering suppression of
incriminatory statements given after an illegal arrest). Only
that post-arrest statement--not the pre-arrest statement taken
at the hospital--is encompassed in Powell’s argument (Br. for
Petitioner, at 8). Suppression of that "prejudicial" post-arrest
statement, Powell assumes, will require that he receive a new
trial.

10

Powell does not allege any other type of constitutional
transgression that might call the admissibility of his post-
arrest statement into question. The Nevada Supreme Court
found that Powell received and voluntarily waived his
"Miranda" rights before making that statement, and found no
indication that the statement itself was involuntary. 838 P.2d
at 925, J.A. 7.

Despite that uncontested finding, Powell broadly
alludes to the "oppressiveness” of "illegal custody,” and to the
detrimental "effect of prolonged detention upon the reliability
of statements elicited from a suspect" (Br. for Petitioner, at
11). However, Powell has never alleged that his post-arrest
Statement was in fact involuntary under the “totality of the
circumstances” analysis of Schneckloth v. Bustamonte, 412
U.S. 218, 223-27 (1973). Therefore, his evident attempt to
insinuate an “involuntariness" argument into this certiorari
proceeding should be rebuffed. Cf. Withrow v. Williams, __
U.S. __, 113 S. Ct. 1745, 1750-54 (1993) (distinguishing
values served by suppression of evidence under Fourth
Amendment, Fifth Amendment, and Due Process
voluntariness principles).

Finally, Powell does not argue that his arrest was
unsupported by probable cause. A magistrate did find such
probable cause, and that finding would be accorded great
deference even if Powell had contested it. JIlinois v. Gates,
462 U.S. 213, 236 (1983). The only “illegal custody” that
Powell alleges therefore began at roughly 3 p.m. on Sunday,
November 5--forty-eight hours after his warrantless arrest and
therefore exceeding the later-prescribed "reasonable delay"
period of McLaughlin. \t ended when, on November 7, the
magistrate found probable cause.

1]

In short, the issue presented by Powell is even
narrower than he admits (Br. for Petitioner, at 3). He
demands an exclusionary remedy against a voluntary
statement, made during a two-day period when his custody
would have been presumptively unreasonable under
McLaughlin, 111 S. Ct. at 1670. As follows, Powell's
demand should be rejected.

B. Because the Challenged Judgment Turned
on State Law, Rather than the Nevada
Court’s Retroactivity Analysis, This
Certiorari Proceeding Should be Dismissed.

As a threshold matter, this Court should reconsider its
grant of certiorari to review Powell's argument that the forty-
eight hour rule of McLaughlin ought to be retroactively
applied to his benefit. That argument, rejected by the Nevada
Supreme Court, was not dispositive of its ultimate judgment.

Powell has a _ well-supported point regarding
retroactivity. The retroactivity analysis of Tehan v. United
States, 382 U.S. 406 (1966), used by the Nevada Supreme
Court in this case, is identical to that of Linkletter v. Walker,
381 U.S. 618 (1965). That analysis has been supplanted by
Griffith v. Kentucky, 479 U.S. 314 (1987). Now, "a new rule
for the conduct of criminal prosecutions is to be applied
retroactively to all cases, state or federal, pending on direct
review or not yet final, with no exception for cases in which
the new rule constitutes a ‘clear break’ with the past.”
Griffith, 479 U.S. at 328. The Nevada court mistakenly
failed to recognize this.

The Nevada court’s mistake arguably demonstrates a
flaw in the Griffith rule, or at least a need to limit its reach.

12

The rule’s application to this case, as urged by Powell, might
compel retroactive appellate suppression of his post-arrest
Statement, and perhaps a new trial. This is unwarranted,
especially in a case like this one, where the alleged Fourth
Amendment error is wholly unrelated to the reliability of
trial. Sec Stone v. Powell, 428 U.S. 465, 489-91 (1976). To
avoid such a result, it could be argued that the McLaughlin
forty-eight hour requirement does not address the "conduct of
criminal prosecutions," and therefore falls outside the ambit
of the Griffith retroactivity rule. Cf. Gerstein v. Pugh, 420
U.S. 103, 122 (1975) (post-arrest probable cause
determination is not a "critical stage" in a prosecution).

But such argument need not be addressed, because the
Nevada Supreme Court’s retroactivity analysis was not
actually dispositive of Powell’s appeal. The dispositive
analysis was the NRS 171.178 “timely arraignment" analysis,
and was based entirely upon adequate, independent state law
grounds.

Amici are mindful of this Court’s preference for a
“plain statement” that a state court’s judgment rests upon
adequate and independent state law grounds. See Michigan
v. Long, 463 U.S. 1032, 1044 (1983). No such statement
appears in the Nevada court’s opinion. However, the "plain
Statement" rule only applies where the independent state
ground is not otherwise "clear from the face of the opinion."
Long, 463 U.S. at 1040-41; Caldwell v. Mississippi, 472 U.S.
320, 327 (1985). In this case, the structure of the Nevada
court’s opinion, and its silence as to any matter that might
have lifted the normal procedural bar to Powell’s McLaughlin
argument, make it clear that the court’s judgment rests upon
independent state law.

13

An alert reading of the opinion reveals that the
Nevada court did not regard any Fourth Amendment issue to
be properly before it. Instead, it "noted" McLaughlin in the
section of its opinion that bears the heading "Delay in
Appearing Before a Magistrate." 838 P.2d at 923, J.A. 4
(italics in original). That heading identifies the "timely
arraignment" issue that was actually advanced in Powell’s
briefs to that court (Opening Br. to Nevada Supreme Court,
at 82; Reply Br., at 1; R. 4969, 5107). The McLaughlin
discussion merely prefaced the dispositive analysis. That
analysis relied entirely upon state law, interpreting the "timely
arraignment" requirement of NRS 171.178, and defeated
Powell’s argument on appeal.

In other words, the Nevada court "noted" McLaughlin
in dictum or, at best, as an advisory opinion. While this
Court’s "case or controversy” jurisdiction, U.S. Const. Arr.
Il, § 2, counsels against such opinions, cf. Griffith, 479 U.S.
at 322, state courts may feel no such constraints. See
Durham, The New Judicial Federalism and the Policy Making
Role of State Supreme Courts, 2 Emerging Issues in State
Constitutional Law 219, 229 (1989) (noting absence of state
court “case or controversy" restrictions). Accordingly, the
Nevada court probably felt permitted, even obliged, to point
out what it perceived as a flaw in the state "timely
arraignment” statute.

Correspondingly, the Nevada court almost certainly
perceived, correctly, that Powell had waived any Fourth
Amendment argument under McLaughlin. In fact,
McLaughlin was decided on May 13, 1991-before either of
Powell’s state appellate briefs were filed, on October 10,
1991 and February 3, 1992, respectively (R. 4997, 5122).
Therefore, on appeal, Powell did not merely forfeit the issue

14

by default. Rather, Properly chargeable with awareness of
McLaughlin, he knowingly waived any appellate argument
under it.

Had the Nevada court deemed it central to the appeal,
one would expect its McLaughlin discussion to appear under
a separate heading, apart from the "timely arraignment”
violation actually argued by Powell. F urther, the court would
have specified its reason(s) for addressing an issue that had
been waived. Perhaps those reasons would have included the
“plain error" exception that Powell Suggests to this Court (Pet.
for Cert., at 2; Br. for Petitioner, at 16-18 & nn.).

The court did no such thing. Contrary to Powell’s
Suggestion, the Nevada court never cast its McLaughlin
discussion in terms of "error" at all--"plain" or otherwise.
Nor did it find a McLaughlin "violation" (ci. Br. for
Petitioner, at 4). Rather, the court merely expressed its view-
-albeit purporting to "hold," 838 P.2d at 924--that the NRS
171.178 “timely arraignment" statute ran afoul of
McLaughlin. The court never held that it meant to lift the
procedural bar of waiver--a bar that is an established
component of Nevada law. E.g., NRS § 47.040 (1986)
(Nevada "timely objection" rule, with "plain error" exception);
NRS §§ 174.105, 174.125 (1992). In short, the Nevada court
did nothing to make its discussion of McLaughlin dispositive
of its ultimate judgment.

Accordingly, this Court lacks federal question
jurisdiction, under 28 U.S.C. § 1257 (1988), to review the
Nevada Supreme Court’s judgment. This Court should
therefore dismiss Powell’s certiorari petition, as improvidently
granted.

15

ol The Nevada Court’s Judgment Can be
Affirmed on the Ground that the
Exclusionary Remedy Should Not be
Applied Against Petitioner’s Post-Arrest
Statement.

If this Court retains jurisdiction, the Nevada Supreme
Court’s mistaken retroactivity analysis still does not require
reversal of its judgment. A judgment can be affirmed upon
alternative grounds not identified by the court that entered it:
this can even be done by reversing an intermediate ruling
made en route to the judgment. Soldal v. Cook County, __
U.S. __, 113 S. Ct. 538, 543 n.6 (1992). In this case, there
are several alternative grounds upon which the Nevada court’s
judgment should be affirmed.

(1) Compliance with Then-Existing Law. This
Court has stated that "a conviction will not be vacated on the
ground that the defendant was detained pending trial without
a determination of probable cause." Gerstein v. Pugh, 420
U.S. 103, 119 (1975) (Br. for Petitioner, at 8). However,
even if it is assumed that a McLaughlin forty-eight hour
violation might require the exclusionary remedy and reversal
in some cases, that remedy is not appropriate in this case.

Under the principle embodied in JI/inois v. Krull, 480
U.S. 340, 349-50 (1987), and Michigan v. DeFillippo, 443
U.S. 31, 37-38 (1979), the exclusionary remedy does not
apply to evidence obtained by law enforcement conduct that
conforms to then-existing law. While Powell relegates this
principle to a footnote (Br. for Petitioner, at 12 n.7), it
provides the foremost ground for affirming the Nevada
court’s judgment.

16

In advancing this ground, amici indulge, as does
Powell (Br. for Petitioner, at 6), the Nevada court’s
assumption that at the time of Powell’s warrantless arrest,
judicial probable cause determinations in Nevada were subject
to the same time deadline as the "speedy arraignment"
provision of NRS 171.178. See 838 P.2d at 924, J.A. 6.
Powell’s judicial probable cause determination was made well
within that seventy-two hour deadline, excluding, as the
Statute permitted, the intervening weekend. Id., J.A. 5.

Because they obtained a probable cause determination
that was timely under their governing statute, and because
that statute had not yet been ruled unconstitutional, Nevada
authorities committed no error that justifies application of the
exclusionary remedy. Statutes are presumptively valid, and
law enforcement authorities are expected to follow them,
"until and unless they are declared unconstitutional.”
DeFillippo, 443 U.S. at 37-38. The only "possible exception"
to this principle is adherence to "a law so grossly and
flagrantly unconstitutional that any person of reasonable
prudence would be bound to see its flaws." Id.; accord Krull,
480 U.S. at 349-50.

By no stretch of imagination could NRS 171.178 be
deemed "grossly and flagrantly unconstitutional" at the time
of Powell’s 1989 arrest. In fact, both the statute and the
actual timing of Powell’s probable cause determination
conformed to a pre-McLaughlin statement by this Court,
Suggesting that a delay of five days between a warrantless
arrest and a judicial probable cause determination was
permissible. See Schall v. Martin, 467 U.S. 253, 277 n. 28
(1984) (citing Gerstein, 420 U.S. at 124 n. 25). Further, in
Gerstein, 420 U.S. at 123, this Court had “recognize[d] the
desirability of flexibility and experimentation by the States"

17

ee a

in providing prompt probable cause determinations, and
meeting other pretrial requirements, for warrantlr ss arrestees.

NRS 171.178 certainly did not overextend the
flexibility that this Court granted in Gerstein. Because
Nevada authorities complied with the law as it then existed--
eighteen months before the McLaughlin forty-eight hour rule
was announced, they committed no "misconduct" that the
exclusionary remedy should deter.

(2) No "Flagrant" Misconduct, or Causation. In
Brown v. Illinois, 422 U.S. 590 (1975), this Court rejected a
"but for" or "per se" analysis for application of the
exclusionary remedy against a statement made after an
improper arrest. 422 U.S. at 603. The correct analysis, the
Court held, looks at the temporal proximity of the arrest and
the statement, the presence or absence of intervening
circumstances between the arrest and the statement, "and,
particularly, the purpose and flagrancy of the official
misconduct." Jd. at 603-04 (emphasis added). In this case,
even if a McLaughlin violation was committed, as Powell
insists (Br. for Petitioner, at 4), it would not, under Brown,
justify suppression of his post-arrest statement.

The "temporal proximity” factor does not fit this case
very well, because the McLaughlin forty-eight hour violation
alleged by Powell was not a circumscribed event, like the
illegal arrest in Brown. Rather, that post-arrest "violation"
lasted about two days, until probable cause to arrest Powell
was confirmed by the magistrate, and appears to have
encompassed the time when Powell made the statement in
question.

18

Again, however, there is no evidence that Powell was
subjected to unusually coercive police conduct at any time
during his post-arrest confinement. This gives rise to a
significant "intervening circumstance” under Brown. Powell
makes no claim that he misunderstood his "Miranda"
warnings, given just before making his post-arrest statement.
Accordingly, those warnings should have accomplished their
purpose: dispelling the inherently "compelling atmosphere"
in which the statement was made. See Miranda v. Arizona,
384 U.S. 436, 465 (1966). Therefore, on the facts of this
case, Powell's waiver of "Miranda" rights was a powerful--
perhaps conclusive--intervening circumstance between the
alleged McLaughlin violation and his post-arrest statement.
Cf. Brown, 422 U.S. at 603 (warnings alone may not dispel
"taint" of Fourth Amendment misconduct).

The "purpose and flagrancy" factor, holding
“particular” importance under Brown, weighs even more
heavily against suppression of Poweli’s statement. There is
no evidence that Nevada authorities, who had probable cause
to arrest Powell in the first place, delayed the judicial
probable cause determination beyond the not-yet-announced
McLaughlin deadline with the purpose of thereby extracting
a staternent from Powell. That delay can hardly be viewed as
“calculated to cause surprise, fright, and confusion,” as this
Court characterized the at-gunpoint arrest, unsupported by
probable cause, that took place in Brown. 422 US. at 596,
606. And the Nevada authorities certainly cannot be faulted
for failing to predict that long after Powell's arrest, they
would be held to a new promptness standard for obtaining a
post-arrest probable cause determination. Thus Powell's
claim of a "flagrant" Fourth Amendment violation (Pet. for
Cert., at 6) must fail.

19

In like fashion, this Court reversed a state court order
to suppress an arrestee’s statement in New York v Harris, 495
U.S. 14 (1990), because it had not been caused by a
preceding Fourth Amendment violation. While having
probable cause, officers in Harris had violated the Fourth
Amendment by entering the suspect's home, without consent.
to make a warrantless arrest. /d. at 16-17 (citing Payton v
New York, 445 U.S. 573 (1980)). This Court held that the
statement in question, made after the arrestee was removed to
the police station and upon waiver of "Miranda" rights, was
not "the fruit of having been arrested in the home rather than
someplace else.” /d. at 19.

Similarly, in this case, Powell's post-arrest statement
to the Nevada police was not caused by the delay in his
judicial probable cause determination. He had given a
substantially identical, voluntary pre-arrest statement, in
which he denied wrongdoing. There is no sign, had his post-
arrest interview occurred within the later-announced
McLaughlin deadline, that Powell would have passed on the
opportunity to repeat that denial. In the terms of Harris, the
Statement in question was not the “fruit” of interviewing
Powell on November 7, rather than on November 5.

(3) No Future Deterrence, Wasteful Cost. Perhaps
Powell's vague prayer for relief reflects a desire to remand
this case back to the Nevada courts, to decide whether
application of the exclusionary remedy against his post-arrest
statement is required. No such remand is appropriate. If
Powell were granted suppression upon such remand, it would
have no meaningful deterrent effect against future “forty-eight
hour" McLaughlin violations—deterrence that is the prime
purpose of the Fourth Amendment exclusionary remedy
Stone v. Powell, 428 U.S. 465, 492 (1976).

20

_— Oe ee

Amici believe that the McLaughlin rule, by itself,
deters future violations. The rule gives a bright-line meaning
to this Court's prior holding, in Gerstein v. Pugh, 420 U.S.
103 (1975), that the subject of a warrantless arrest must
receive a "prompt" judicial probable cause determination.
With a bright-line standard now in place, future "promptness”
violations should be quite rare. Future violations will be
further deterred by the mere prospect that when an arrestee is
held beyond forty-eight hours without a probable cause
ruling, the responsible authorities will be haled into court to
explain themselves. McLaughlin, 111 S. Ct. at 1670.
Suppressing Powell's statement, because of the long-past
“violation” in this case, would not meaningfully enhance the
built-in deterrence of McLaughiin.

Against a non-existent deterrent benefit, the cost of a
remand would be excessive and, for Powell, probably futile.
Despite Powell’s protestations (Br. for Petitioner, at 3-4), no
“finding” of a McLaughlin violation was made. In fact, if the
November 3, 1989 date stamp on the “declaration of arrest”
notice of Powell’s arrest, there would be no such violation--or
at least not one attributable to law enforcement authorities.
At most, there would be judicial delay in reviewing the arrest.
The exclusionary remedy, aimed only at law enforcement
misconduct, not judicial error, would therefore not apply.
United States v. Leon, 468 U.S. 897, 916-17 (1984).

If law enforcement-caused delay were presumed, it
would still be necessary to explore whether "bona fide”
powerful reasons justified or excused the delay. McLaughlin,
111 S. Ct. at 1670 (delay past forty-eight hours only raises
presumption of "prompt probable cause determination”
violation). This would be a difficult, costly task, given the

years that have elapsed since the events in dispute. That cost
would not be worth the non-existent benefit that would be
achieved were a "48 hour” violation confirmed on remand.
Cf. Stone v. Powell, 428 U.S. at 493.

Even if Powell did show that suppression was
appropriate, it would seem only fair to re-examine, upon
remand, the Nevada Supreme Court's unanalyzed, rather
offhand assertion that the post-arrest statement in question
was “clearly prejudicial.” 838 P.2d at 924, J.A. 5. That
assertion actually referred to both Powell's pre-arrest and
post-arrest statements. Because the former statement was not
subject to suppression, the admission of the substantially
identical post-arrest statement was, in all probability, harmless
beyond a reasonable doubt. See Chambers v. Maroney, 399
U.S. 42, 52-53 (1970) (erroneous failure to suppress evidence
for Fourth Amendment violation can be harmiess); Chapman
v. California, 386 U.S. 18, 20-24 (1967).

In sum, under this Court’s sound precedent and the
particular circumstances of this case, the cost of suppressing
Powell’s post-arrest statement, or of finding the facts that
might justify suppression, fails to justify the paltry deterrent
"forty-eight hour” violations. On this basis, the Nevada
Supreme Court's judgment should be affirmed.

D. This Court Should Articulate a Two-Part,
"Violation Plus Remedy" Pleading Rul: for
Fourth Amendment-Grounded Motions to
Suppress Evidence.

The foregoing argurnents for affirmance highlight an
important Fourth Amendment principle: A criminal
defendant, wishing to suppress probative evidence, cannot
succeed by merely proving that the evidence was obtained in
connection with some Fourth Amendment violation. Instead,
suppression depends upon a showing that the exclusionary
remedy--not itself a constitutional right--is appropriate under
the circumstances of the case. See Stone v. Powell, 428 U.S.
465, 486 (1976); United States v. Leon, 468 U.S. 897, 905-13
(1984). Amici endorse this principle.

All too often, however, this principle seems lost upon
both litigants and the courts that adjudicate Fourth
Amendment issues. In this case, for example, the Nevada
court appears to have assumed, without analysis, that the
exclusionary remedy would necessarily attend any "forty-eight
hour" violation under McLaughlin. See 838 P.2d at 924 n.1,
J.A. 6. Powell apparently wishes to promote this assumption
of “automatic suppression" whenever a Fourth Amendment
violation is shown.

This Court should re-articulate, in no uncertain terms.
that this assumption is false. A two-part, "violation plus
remedy” showing is required. This is, in essence, a rule of
Fourth Amendment pleading.

Properly observed, this rule has the desired effect of

targeting, for the exclusionary remedy, the kind of intentional
Fourth Amendment violations against which all citizens

23

should be protected. After all, Brown v. Illinois, 422 U.S.
590 (1975), teaches that “flagrant” violations are the proper
target of that remedy. Mapp v. Ohio, where the remedy was
held applicable to the states, similarly involved deliberate
disregard of Fourth Amendment rights. 367 U.S. 643, 644-45
(1961). No such deliberate violation occurred in this case.

CONCLUSION

The state court judgment at bar rested entirely upon
state law grounds, and is not subject to review by this Court.
Further, there are powerful alternative reasons to affirm the
Nevada Supreme Court’s judgment. Accordingly, by
dismissal of certiorari or by affirmance, that judgment should
be left intact.

JAN GRAHAM
Utah Attorney General

CAROL CLAWSON
Utah Solicitor General

J. KEVIN MURPHY
Assistant Attorney General
(Counsel of Record)

DECEMBER 1993

24

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0434%3A11. Public record. Not legal advice.
