# Amicus Curiae Brief — Harris v. Forklift Systems, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0376%3A09

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1993
- **Citation:** 510 U.S. 17

## Text

vicea™
FILED

| APR 3.0 1993

No. 92-1168 7
——— ies CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Wuited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1992

TERESA HARRIS,

7 Petitioner,

FORKLIFT SYSTEMS, INC.,
Respondent,

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Sixth Circuit

BRIEF AMICI.CURIAE OF THE
EMPLOYMENT LAW CENTER, A PROJECT OF
THE LEGAL AID SOCIETY OF SAN FRANCISCO,
THE CALIFORNIA WOMEN’S LAW CENTER, AND
EQUAL RIGHTS ADVOCATES, INC.

IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

PATRICIA A. SHIU
(Counsel of Record)
PAULINE T. KIM
CATHERINE K. RUCKELSHAUS
EMPLOYMENT LAW CENTER,
A PROJECT OF THE LEGAL AID
SOCIETY OF SAN FRANCISCO
1663 Mission Street, Suite 400
San Francisco, CA 94103
(415) 864-8848

Attorneys for Amici Curiae

WILSON - Eres PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

® AHP. co

a

oat Bk AO i a i i le os inl

QUESTION PRESENTED

Is a plaintiff in a sexual harassment case also required
to prove, in order to prevail, that she suffered severe
psychological injury when the Trial Court has found that
she was offended by conduct that would have offended a
reasonable victim in the position of the plaintiff?

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED ..........2...2.02-0:0:ceveecceceecessenseneees

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ...............2..----cccecceeceseecenseneees

STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE..

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT. 0000000000... ccceccecceeceees =

ARGUMENT ................. alsa laaehdiencientnatieenaenstinapgen wipes

I. A REQUIREMENT OF “SEVERE PSYCHO-
LOGICAL DAMAGE” IN SEXUAL HARASS-
MENT CASES IS CONTRARY TO VINSON
AND THE PURPOSES OF TITLE VII ............

THE EXISTENCE OF A HOSTILE WORK
ENVIRONMENT SHOULD BE _ DETER-
MINED BY AN OBJECTIVE EVALUATION
OF THE HARASSER’S CONDUCT ....... aes

II.

A.

C,

The Leading Cases Of Andrews And Ellison
Articulate A Clear Formulation Of This Ob-
jective Inquiry ....... 6 ED oe ene

. A Standard Which Takes Into Account The

Perspective Of The Plaintiff Is Essential To
Eradicating Sexual Harassment In The
Workplace ....... eee = eS

A Majority Of Courts Have Adopted The
Reasonable Woman Standard To Evaluate
Employers’ Conduct In Hostile Work Envi-
ronment Cases . ae sees

Ee

(iii)

10

15

17

iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page

Andrews v. City of Philadelphia, 895 F.2d 1469
RRR eR ERE Ronee ire passim

Austen v. State of Hawaii, 759 F. Supp. 612 (D.
ESSE SES eee ees st Sree ae 15
Brooms v. Regal Tube, 881 F.2d 412 (1989)... 16

Burns v. McGregor Electronic Industries, 955 F.2d
RRR a bs CU A 16

Caleshu v. Merrill Lynch, 737 F. Supp. 1070 (E.D.
ERE PR ae En a, 16

Campbell v. Kansas State University, 780 F. Supp.
8 RRS ee 16

Ellison v. Brady, 924 F.2d 872 (9th Cir. 1991)... passim
Garvey v. Dickinson College, 775 F. Supp. 788

a 16
Jenson v. Evelethe Taconite, 189 F.R.D. 657 (D.

I I lhe ae eee 15
Meritor Savings Bank v. Vinson, 477 U.S. 57

STITT -caricibeiiinsedeaiitehbesarehi ban aana hk ennai 5-8
Rabidue v. Osceola Refining Co., 805 F.2d 611

er re 6,9, 12,14
Robinson v. Jacksonville Shipyards, 760 F. Supp.

BR RE ae 15-16

Rogers v. E.E.0.C., 454 F.2d 234 (5th Cir. 1971).. 6
Scott v. Sears, Roebuck & Co., 798 F.2d 210 (7th

EERE eae 6
Smolsky v. Consolidated Rail, 780 F. Supp. 283
nS Ts TR initia tie etait 15

Spencer v. General Electric, 697 F. Supp. 204
(E.D. Va. 1988), aff'd 894 F.2d 651 (4th Cir.

aes eS 16
Trotta v. Mobil Oil, 788 F. Supp. 1336 (S.D.N.Y.

EEE SEN es eS ew AS 16
Vermett v. Hough, 627 F. Supp. 587 (W.D. Mich.

EE a ee ie See ee 16
Yates v. Aveo Corp., 819 F.2d 630 (6th Cir.

SID cicieiipeliiithei ibn eme i 15

Statutes

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C.
Lk SR ee passim

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Miscellaneous Page
Brenneman, Comments: From A Woman’s Point
of View: The Use of the Reasonable Woman
Standard in Sexual Harassment Cases, 60 U.

Cin. L. Rev. 1281 (1981) —......... ee 13
Estrich, Sex at Work, 43 Stan. L. Rev. 813
STITT csinciieerittdastnlatinnienpmmnseainnestiaiaeatatastabinilssietiadaamianbens 11-12

In THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OcTOBER TERM, 1992

No. 92-1168

TERESA HARRIS,

7 Petitioner,

FORKLIFT SYSTEMS, INC.,
Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Sixth Circuit

BRIEF AMICI.CURIAE OF THE
EMPLOYMENT LAW CENTER, A PROJECT OF
THE LEGAL AID SOCIETY OF SAN FRANCISCO,
THE CALIFORNIA WOMEN’S LAW CENTER, AND
EQUAL RIGHTS ADVOCATES, INC.

IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE

Amici curiae listed below file this brief in support of
Petitioner Teresa Harris. Both parties have consented
to the submission of this brief.

The EMPLOYMENT LAW CENTER (ELC), a
project of the Legal Aid Society of San Francisco, is a
private, non-profit, public interest law firm which repre-
sents indigent workers in cases involving employment

2

discrimination and workplace rights. The ELC special-
izes in, among other areas of the law, sex discrimination.

The ELC was counsel of record for Katherine Vinson
in Vinson v. Superior Court, 43 Cal.3d 833, 239 Cal.
Rptr. 292 (1987), in which the California Supreme
Court ruled that a mental examination is not warranted
in a simple sexual harassment case where the claimant
seeks compensation for having to endure an oppressive
work environment or for wages lost following an unjust
dismissal.

Prior to the Vinson case, the ELC was counsel of
record in Priest v. Rotary, 98 F.R.D. 755 (N.D. Ca.
1983), a sexual harassment case in which the Court
denied discovery of detailed information about plaintiff's
sexual history, including the name of each person with
whom she had sexual relations in the ten years prior to
the defendants’ discovery request.

The ELC represented Lillian Garland in California
Federal Savings & Loan Ass'n v. Guerra, 479 U.S. 272
(1987), which upheld California Government Code Sec-
tion 12945(b)(2), a state law which provides up to four
months of pregnancy disability leave and a right to re-
turn to the same or similar job.

The ELC also represented Queen Foster in Johnson
Controls. Inc. v. Fair Employment & Housing Commis-
sion, 218 Cal.App.3d 517, 167 Cal.Rptr. 158 (1990),
where the California Court of Appeal ruled that the em-
ployer’s gender-based exclusionary “fetal protection” pol-
icy violated the Fair Employment and Housing Act. The
ELC also appeared as amicus curiae in the United States
Supreme Court in /nternational Union, UAW vy. Johnson
Controls, USS. , 111 S.Ct. 1196 (1991), in
which the Court held that the employer’s “fetal protec-
tion” policy constituted sex discrimination prohibited by
Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964.

3

The ELC has participated as amicus curiae in many
discrimination cases before the United States Supreme
Court, including Price Waterhouse v. Hopkins, 490 U.S.
228 (1989), and Wygant v. Jackson Bd. of Education,
476 U.S. 267 (1986), reh. den. 478 U.S. 1014 (1986).

EQUAL RIGHTS ADVOCATES, INC. (ERA) is a
San Francisco-based public interest legal and educational
corporation dedicated to working through the legal sys-
tem to secure equality for women. ERA has a twenty
year history of representing the interests of working
women in the courts, legislatures, and public education
campaigns.

Since its early days, ERA has worked to end sexual
harassment both through litigation and public policy initi-
atives. ERA represented plaintiff in the first case in the
Ninth Circuit to find sexual harassment a violation of
Title VII (Miller v. Bank of America, 600 F.2d 211
(9th Cir. 1979)). Even prior to that, ERA had appeared
as amicus curiae in sexual harassment cases (e.g., Tom-
kins v. Public Service Electric and Gas Co., 568 F.2d
1044 (3rd Cir. 1977)).

The law firm has continued its efforts to eradicate sex-
ual harassment from the work place. ERA represents in-
dividual plaintiffs in sexual harassment cases (e.g., Co-
lombano v. City and County of San Francisco, Superior
Court No. 838-649—woman police officer harassment
case resulting in a settlement worth over $800,000). It
has appeared before this Court as amicus curiae in cases
involving sexual harassment issues (Meritor Savings
Bank v. Vinson, 477 U.S. 57 (1986)) and in numerous
lower court cases where various issues concerning sexual
harassment have arisen.

In addition, ERA advises hundreds of women each
year through its advice and counseling “hot line” regard-
ing their legal right to be free from this invidious form
of discrimination. The firm also provides technical assist-
ance to scores of attorneys each year who are represent-

4

ing clients with sexual harassment claims. ERA has ap-
peared before this Court as amicus curiae in dozens of
sex and race discrimination cases interpreting Title VII
and other anti-discrimination laws.

The CALIFORNIA WOMEN’S LAW CENTER was
established in 1989 as the first Law Center in Southern
California solely devoted to addressing the civil rights of
women and girls. The Law Center has identified the fol-
lowing priorities for its work: Sex Discrimination in Em-
ployment, Sex Discrimination in Education, Reproductive
Rights, Family Law, Domestic Violence and Child Care.

The Law Center’s primary efforts in addressing these
priorities emphasize support and technical and legal as-
sistance to legal services agencies, community-based or-
ganizations, attorneys and policymakers.

Sex discrimination is clearly within the priority con-
cerns of the Law Center. Therefore, the CALIFORNIA
WOMEN’S LAW CENTER not only has a significant
interest in the issues before the court, but has extensive
background and expertise in the issues presented to the
court in this appeal.

Amici believe that this Court’s opinion in this case will
set important precedent for the enforcement of Title VII
of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, in the context of hostile
work environment sexual harassment cases.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

A requirement that a plaintiff prove “severe psycho-
logical damage” in order to establish liability in a hostile
work environment sexual harassment case is contrary to
this Court’s prior holding in Meritor Savings Bank v.
Vinson, 477 U.S. 57 (1986). Moreover, imposing such
a requirement would contravene the purposes of Title
VIL.

Amici respectfully submit that the proper inquiry for
determining whether conduct is sufficiently “severe or

3

pervasive” to give rise to Title VII liability is to examine
the harassing conduct complained of, not the plaintiff's
response to it, from the perspective of a reasonable per-
son of the same gender as the plaintiff. Adopting a
gender-conscious perspective is essential to eradicating
stereotyped notions and prevailing prejudices about
women and eliminating all barriers to true equality in
the workplace.

ARGUMENT

I. A REQUIREMENT OF “SEVERE PSYCHOLOGI-
CAL DAMAGE” IN SEXUAL HARASSMENT
CASES IS CONTRARY TO VINSON AND THE
PURPOSES OF TITLE VII.

The question presented to the Court by this case is a
narrow one: “Is a plaintiff in a sexual harassment case
required to prove that she suffered severe psychological
injury in order to establish the defendant’s liability?”
This Court’s precedent mandates that the answer to that
question is “no.”

In the landmark case of Meritor Savings Bank v.
Vinson, 477 U.S. 57 (1986), this Court first recognized
that a claim of hostile environment sexual harassment is
actionable under Title VII of the 1964 Civil Rights Act.
This Court rejected the argument that a violation of
Title VII occurs only where the plaintiff can show “eco-
nomic” or “tangible loss,” finding Congress’ intent was
“to strike at the entire spectrum of disparate treatment
of men and women.” 7d. at 64 (citations omitted). Rec-
ognizing that conduct “which creates a hostile or offen-
sive environment for members of one sex is every bit the
arbitrary barrier to sexual equality” that racial harass-
ment is to racial equality, this Court held that sexual
harassment which is “sufficiently severe or pervasive ‘to
alter the conditions of [the victim’s] employment and
create an abusive working environment,” is forbidden
under Title VII, whether or not a tangible loss results.
Id. at 97.

6

Vinson clearly stated that a hostile environment sexual
harassment claim, to be successful, need not entail eco-
nomic harm or other tangible discrimination; therefore,
a plaintiff cannot be required to prove that she suffered
severe psychological injury in order to prevail on such a
claim. To require a demonstration of tangible harm at
the liability stage is contrary to the plain language of this
Court’s unanimous opinion in Vinson. “Conduct can un-
reasonably interfere with work performance without caus-
ing debilitation and without seriously affecting an em-
ployee’s psychological well-being.” Ellison v. Brady, 924
F.2d 872, 878, n.8 (9th Cir. 1991)."

Requiring a plaintiff to demonstrate “severe psycholog-
ical injury” in order to prove the existence of a hostile
work environment is not only contrary to Vinson, it
would also undermine the strong public policies underly-
ing Title VII. Victims of sexual harassment would be
forced to endure demeaning and degrading treatment long
enough to sustain psychological injuries before they could
take legal action to enjoin the harassing conduct. Em-
ployers would be shielded from liability for conduct which

1 The Ellison court aptly notes the source of confusion which led
the courts in Rabidue v. Osceola Refining Co., 805 F.2d 611 (6th
Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 481 U.S. 1041, and Scott v. Sears, Roebuck
& Co., 798 F.2d 210 (7th Cir. 1986), gmstakenly to require severe
psychological harm. The courts in Rebidue and Sears misconstrued
a citation in Vinson (Vinson at 66) from Rogers v. E.E.0.C., 454
F.2d 234, 238 (5th Cir. 1971), cert. denied, 406 U.S. 957 (1972),
in which the Rogers court contemplates a working environment
“so heavily polluted with discrimination as to destroy completely
the emotional and psychological stability of minority group work-
ers.” As the Ellison court recognized, “|t|he Rogers court did not
hold that a hostile environment only exists when the emotional and
psychological stability of workers is completely destroyed.” Ellison
at 878, n.8 (emphasis in original). Requiring plaintiffs to show
severe psychological damage as an element of plaintiff’s case on
this erroneous reading of Vinson in the Rabidue and Sears cases
would create an altogether new and unprecedented element in sex-
ual harassment law and compound Rabidue and Sears’ defective
legal analysis.

7

is “every bit the arbitrary barrier to sexual equality” at
the workplace, when an employee understandably chose
to leave a sexually hostile workplace before her psycholog-
ical health was damaged. The myriad ways in which a
requirement of “severe psychological injury” would
thwart Title VII’s goal of eliminating barriers to equal
opportunity in the workplace are more fully discussed
by other amici on behalf of petitioner and need not be
repeated here.

In addition to undermining the goals of Title VII, a
requirement of “severe psychological injury” also intro-
duces a highly subjective and individualized element into
the analysis which will make it difficult for employers to
recognize and eliminate sexual harassment in their work-
places. Individual women may have widely differing psy-
chological responses to the exact same conduct. The
same behavior may cause psychological damage to one
woman, while another feels offended, but is not psy-
chologically injured. Without a clear standard employers
are unable to determine what conduct is “severe or per-
vasive” enough to create a hostile work environment and
to act affirmatively to ensure that such behavior stops.
Where the harassing conduct complained of is exactly
the same, there is no reason to find liability in one case
and not another, simply because different individuals may
be affected to different degrees.

An analysis of the degree of harm suffered as a result
of the harassment may, of course, be relevant to deter-
mine the amount of damages. However, it is irrelevant
to the determination of liability, and contravenes the
language of Vinson when used for that purpose. Rather,
a finding of hostile work environment sexual harassment
should rest on an evaluation of the conduct of the de-
fendant, not the effect it may have on a particular in-
dividual plaintiff.

The proper inquiry, as mandated by Vinson, is whether
that conduct is sufficiently “severe or pervasive” to affect

8

the terms and conditions of employment and create an
abusive working environment. The degree of the psy-
chological effect on the plaintiff simply has no part in this
analysis. In answering the narrow question presented by
this case, this Court need not look beyond the standard it
articulated in Vinson. If, however, any further explication
of what constitutes a “hostile or abusive working environ-
ment” is necessary, this Court should follow the great
weight of appellate court opinion, which has held that the
harasser’s conduct should be evaluated from the perspec-
tive of a reasonable person of the same gender as the
plaintiff.

II. THE EXISTENCE OF A HOSTILE WORK ENVI-
RONMENT SHOULD BE DETERMINED BY AN
OBJECTIVE EVALUATION OF THE HARASSER’S
CONDUCT.

A. The Leading Cases Of Andrews And Ellison Artic-
ulate A Clear Formulation Of This Objective In-

quiry.

Andrews y. City of Philadelphia, 895 F.2d 1469 (3rd
Cir. 1990), provides a straightforward and often-cited
statement that the perspective of “a reasonable person
of the same sex” as the plaintiff should be used in analyz-
ing the employer’s conduct.* /d. at 1482. The court
emphasized that this is an objective inquiry, and that
“it is here that the finder of fact must actually determine
whether the work environment is sexually hostile.” /d.
at 1483. “[This] objective standard protects the em-
ployer from the ‘hypersensitive’ employee, but still serves
the goal of equal opportunity by removing the walls of

2 Andrews goes beyond Vinson in that it sets out a rigid five-part
test plaintiffs are required to meet before prevailing in a hostile
work environment claim. Three of the five Andrews requirements
relate to standing. Amici curiae take exception to these require-
ments to the extent that they go beyond the Court’s requirements
in Vinson regarding a hostile work environment.

9

discrimination that deprive women of self-respecting em-
ployment.” /d. at 1483.

Following the lead in Andrews, the Ninth Circuit Court
of Appeals in Ellison, supra, articulates a similarly prac-
tical and fair standard for evaluating whether an employ-
er’s conduct is sufficiently severe or pervasive to alter the
terms and conditions of employment. After rejecting
Rabidue’s requirement that plaintiffs show that their psy-
chological well-being is “seriously affected,” the Ellison
court offers a sound framework for the inquiry mandated
by Vinson: a female plaintiff states a case of hostile
environment sexual harassment when she alleges “con-
duct which a reasonable woman would consider suffi-
ciently severe or pervasive to alter the conditions of
employment and create an abusive working environment.”
Ellison, 924 F.2d at 879. In determining whether sexual
harassment is sufficiently severe or pervasive to be action-
able, the fact-finder should “analyze the harassment from
the victim’s perspective.” Jd. at 878.

Like the analysis set out in Andrews, the Ellison court’s
“reasonable woman” standard contemplates an objective
standard for determining whether the severe or pervasive
requirement has been satisfied. This standard “shield{s]
employers from having to accommodate the idiosyncratic
concerns of the rare hyper-sensitive employee.” Ellison,
924 F.2d at 879. At the same time, adopting the per-
spective of a “reasonable woman,” rather than the
perspective of the alleged harasser, avoids the risk of
“reinforcing the prevailing level of discrimination.” /d.
at 878.

The Ellison formulation of this objective requirement
is squarely in accord with Andrews. While Ellison speaks
of the “reasonable woman,” this standard is simply the
application of the “reasonable victim” standard to that
particular case, where the plaintiff was a woman. The
Ellison court noted that “where male employees allege

10

that co-workers engage in conduct which creates a hostile
environment, the appropriate victim’s perspective would
be that of a reasonable man.” Z/d. at 879, n.11. Thus,
the Ellison “reasonable woman” test is substantively iden-
tical to the Andrews court’s “reasonable person of the
same sex” standard for purposes of determining liability
in a hostile work environment sexual harassment case.

B. A Standard Which Takes Into Account The Per-
spective Of The Plaintiff Is Essential To Eradicat-
ing Sexual Harassment In The Workplace.

Although the “reasonable woman” or “reasonable vic-
tim” standard takes into account the perspective of the
plaintiff, it should not be confused with the “reasonable
person” standard used in traditional tort analysis. The
purpose of this objective standard in sexual harassment
cases is not to judge the reasonableness of the response
of the particular woman, but to evaluate the conduct of
the harasser. Properly used, the Andrews/Ellison stand-
ard focuses attention solely on the harasser’s actions. It
is used to “determine whether the work environment is
sexually hostile” as a result of the harassing conduct.
Andrews, 895 F.2d at 1483. This determination is made
without any reference to the “reasonableness” of the
response by the particular individual affected. By focus-
ing on the defendant’s conduct, this standard advances
Title VII’s goal of “‘prevent[ing] the perpetuation of ster-
eotypes and a sense of degradation which serves to close
or discourage employment opportunities for women.” An-
drews, 895 F.2d at 1483.

The “reasonable woman” standard also differs from
the traditional “reasonable person” test in that it recog-
nizes and takes into account the differing experiences of
men and women. The Ellison and Andrews courts recog-
nized that a “sex-blind reasonable person standard tends
to be male-biased and tends to systematically ignore the
experiences of women.” Ellison at 879. The differences

11

in the historical and cultural experiences between men
and women are significant and numerous. An obvious
example, on which the Ellison court focused, is the dis-
parity in the rates of sexual assaults against men and
women. /d. at 879.

What makes sexual harassment more offensive, more
debilitating, and more dehumanizing to its victims
than any other form of discrimination is precisely
the fact that it is sexual. Not only are men exercis-
ing power over women, but they are operating in a
realm which is still judged according to a gender
double standard, itself a reflection of the extent to
which sexuality is used to penalize women. In my
view, these cases are such a disaster in doctrinal
terms precisely because, as with rape, they involve
sex and sexuality. And yet however clear all that
might be, the argument for treating these cases as
violations of Title VII begins from the premise that
the sexuality which lies at their core is legally in-
visible: They are simply cases of differential treat-
ment based on gender. Estrich, Sex at Work, 43
Stan. L. Rev. 813, 819 (1991).

Acknowledging these differences is absolutely critical to
understanding the principles underlying the “reasonable
woman” standard for female plaintiffs. “A complete un-
derstanding of the victim’s view requires, among other
things, an analysis of the different perspectives of men
and women.” Ellison, 924 F.2d at 878.

A gender-conscious standard like those of Andrews and
Ellison acknowledges the social reality that sexual harass-
ment in the American workplace is rampant and that
women are disproportionately harmed by it.’ Only by

* Estrich refers to a 1976 Redbook magazine questionnaire asking
its readers “whether they had been subject to unwanted sexual
‘attention’ at work from male bosses or colleagues. 9 out of 10
women who responded said yes, and 75% called the advances em-
barrassing, demeaning, or intimidating.” Estrich at 821. Estrich

12

employing a gender-conscious standard will the law reflect
the fact that offensive and oppressive sexual harassment
is part of the daily working environment of many women
and ensure the removal of these barriers to sexual equality
in the workplace.*

The “reasonable woman” is not any particular person,
nor even the average of some group of actual persons.
Rather, the “reasonable woman” is a theoretical con-
struct which assists the trier of fact in taking into account
the differing life experiences of men and women in this
society as a whole when evaluating the conduct of an
alleged harasser. The purpose of the “reasonable woman”
standard is to make conscious the unconscious stereotypes
and biases which might otherwise color an evaluation of
what is or is not acceptable behavior in the workplace.
It “discards the male-biased definition of acceptable be-

also cites to a “more scientific study by the federal government four
years later, [wherein] 42% of the women respondents reported
being subjected to some form of ‘sexual harassment,’ at an esti-
mated cost to the federal government of $189 million from 1978
to 1980. The harassment figures were roughly the same when the
government resurveyed in 1987, but the costs over a two-year
period rose to $267 million. Smaller surveys during this period,
sometimes phrased in terms of harassment or unwelcome advances,
consistently found that anywhere from 36 to 53 percent of the
women questioned identified themselves as victims.” Estrich at 822
(citations omitted).

* The decision of the Sixth Circuit in Rabidue, supra, demon-
strates the dangers of omitting a gender-conscious perspective and
relying solely on the purportedly neutral “reasonable person” stand-
ard in the context of sexual harassment cases. In Rabidue, the
Court’s use of a “reasonable person” standard permitted it to
evaluate plaintiff's claims from the perspective of the male em-
ployees who dominated that work environment. It completely ig-
nored the degrading effects of that environment on women. By a
perversion of logic, the Rabidue court excused the sexual jokes,
sexual conversations and pornography in the workplace because of
their pervasiveness, rather than recognizing these conditions for
what they are—a significant barrier to equality in the workplace.

13

havior and substitutes a viewpoint that acknowledges the
effects of sexual harassment on women.” Brenneman,
Comments: From a Woman's Point of View: The Use of
the Reasonable Woman Standard in Sexual Harassment
Cases, 60 U. Cin. L. Rev. 1281, 1296 (1981).

Because the “reasonable woman” is a theoretical con-
struct, not an empirical derivation, the particular re-
sponses of specific individuals cannot be used to define
what is “reasonable.” For example, the testimony of
other women employees that they were not offended by
the alleged harassment is largely irrelevant. These
women may believe that they are unaffected by certain
types of harassment because their indifference is a coping
mechanism for dealing with the harassment, or because
they have been conditioned to accept sexual stereotyping
as a condition of employment, or simply because they are
afraid of losing their jobs. The true test of “reasonable-
ness” from this theoretical perspective is whether the
conduct complained of operates as a barrier to the full
participation of women in the workplace. Thus, for ex-
ample, from this perspective, pornographic displays which
undermine the legitimacy of women’s presence in the
workplace are seen as barriers to equal opportunity:

It is doubtful that a female worker can believe her
male counterparts are taking her seriously when
depicted on the wall behind her is a male using
another woman’s naked breast as a golf tee. The
poster makes the statement that women are play-
things. That message flows from the wall of the
workplace into the heart of it. When women in the
workforce are viewed as a sexual obsession, it can
prevent men from taking them seriously, and can
preclude women from being able to focus on their
jobs. That is an obstacle to equal opportunity. That,
to the reasonable woman, is sexual harassment.
Brenneman at 1295.

As the Filison court noted, “a gender-conscious examina-
tion of sexual harassment enables women to participate

14

in the workplace on an equal footing with men.” 924
F.2d at 879.

If adopted by this Court, the Andrews/Ellison stand-
ard will encourage employers to view the conduct of their
agents and supervisors through the eyes of the reasonable
woman rather than through the rose colored lens of the
seemingly well-intentioned “Cyrano de Bergerac,” Ellison,
924 F.2d at 880, whose conduct nonetheless threatens,
intimidates and offends his female co-workers. The “ob-
jective” or “reasonable” element protects the employer
from the “hypersensitive employee,” Andrews, 895 F.2d
at 1483; Ellison, 924 F.2d at 879, while adopting the vic-
tim’s perspective ensures that stereotyped notions or un-
conscious prejudices do not serve to reinforce rather than
eliminate barriers to full equality in the workplace.”

The Ellison court clearly understood the ramifications
of failing to adopt a gender-based perspective, noting that
“Congress did not enact Title VII to codify prevailing
sexist prejudices,” /d. at 881, and that “[a]jdopting the
victim’s perspective ensures that courts will not ‘sustain
ingrained notions of reasonable behavior fashioned by
the offenders.’ ”’ Jd. at 880-1, quoting Rabidue, 805 F.2d
at 626 (Keith, J. dissenting).° To reject a gender-

5 As the Ellison court noted, using the victim's perspective “does
not establish a higher level of protection for women than men.” /d.
at 879. On the contrary, it affirms the simple notion that an em-
ployee of either gender should be protected from a work environ-
ment that a reasonable person of that gender would find hostile.

* Amici curiae emphatically urge the Court to reject the reason-
ing embodied in the following passage from Rabidue: “Indeed, it
cannot seriously be disputed that in some work environments,
humor and language are rough hewn and vulgar. Sexual jokes,
sexual conversations and girlie magazines may abound. Title VII
was not meant to—or can—change this.” 805 F.2d at 620. This
position amounts to a complete abdication of the clear goal of Title
VII: eradicating invidious employment discrimination. Failure to
adopt a gender-based perspective will, as it did in Rabidue, freeze
into place prevailing discriminatory attitudes, even where the con-
duct in question violates Title VII.

15

conscious standard is to effectively ignore the social and
historical context of sexual harassment in this country
and to trivialize the significance of this insidious form
of gender discrimination.

C. A Majority Of Courts Have Adopted The Reason-
able Woman Standard To Evaluate Employers’
Conduct In Hostile Work Environment Cases.

The Andrews/Ellison standard has proven influential
and workable. In the short period since these decisions
have been published, courts have repeatedly followed
these cases in analyzing hostile work environment claims
from the perspective of a reasonable person of the same
gender. Indeed, enough courts have followed Andrews
and/or Ellison in sexual harassment hostile work envi-
ronment cases to establish a near-consensus among the
courts that have explicitly considered the perspective
from which the defendant’s conduct should be evaluated.

In addition to the Third’ and Ninth * Circuits, courts
in the Fourth, Sixth, Eighth, and Eleventh Circuits
have employed the perspective of the reasonable person
of the same gender as plaintiff in analyzing sex harass-
ment hostile work environment claims.’ While the lan-

7 Andrews v. City of Philadelphia, 895 F.2d 1469 (3rd Cir. 1990) ;
Smolsky v. Consolidated Rail, 780 F. Supp. 283, 294 (E.D. Pa.
1991) ; Garvey v. Dickinson College, 775 F. Supp. 788, 800 (M.D.
Pa. 1991).

8 Ellison v. Brady, 924 F.2d 872 (9th Cir. 1991); Austen v. State
of Hawaii, 759 F. Supp. 612, 628 (D. Hawaii 1991).

* See Smolsky v. Consolidated Rail, 780 F. Supp. 283, 294 (E.D.
Pa. 1991) (perspective of “reasonable woman” used in sexual hostile
work environment analysis); Yates v. Aveo Corp., 819 F.2d 630,
637 (6th Cir. 1987) (perspective of “reasonable woman” used in
analysis of sexual harassment allegations relevant to constructive
discharge claim) ; Jenson v. Eveleth Taconite, 139 F.R.D. 657, 665
(D. Minn. 1991) (necessity of proof of work environment hostile
to a “reasonable woman” held to be a common question of law for
purposes of certification of a class of fernales); Robinson v. Jack-

16

guage varies slightly from circuit to circuit, the analysis
is conceptually identical.

The few court opinions that still insist on using a
“reasonable person” standard in sex harassment cases do
not discuss the standard to be used, nor do they reject a
victim-based perspective." There is no evidence from
these opinions that these courts considered the perspec-
tive question when choosing their language. Therefore,
courts that have considered this issue are nearly unani-
mous in analyzing employers’ conduct from the perspec-
tive of a reasonable person of the same gender, as An-
drews and Ellison did.

sonville Shipyards, 760 F. Supp. 1486, 1524 (M.D. Fla. 1991)
(perspective of “reasonable woman” used in hostile work environ-
ment sexual harassment analysis) ; Vermett v. Hough, 627 F. Supp.
587, 607 (W.D. Mich. 1986) (court denies liability using “reason-
able woman” standard) ; Spencer v. General Electric, 697 F. Supp.
204, 218-19 (E.D. Va. 1988), aff'd 894 F.2d 651 (4th Cir. 1990)
(court uses “reasonable person”, “reasonable employee in her sit-
uation”, and “reasonable female employee” interchangeably) ;
Garvey v. Dickinson College, 775 F. Supp. 788, 800 (M.D. Pa.
1991) (court uses “reasonable person of the same sex in that
position” in hostile work environment sexual harassment case).

10 See, e.g. Brooms v. Regal Tube, 881 F.2d 412, 423 (7th Cir.
1989) ; Burns v. McGregor Electronic Industries, 955 F.2d 559, 566
(8th Cir. 1992) ; Campbell v. Kansas State University, 780 F. Supp.
755, 762 (D. Kan. 1991); Caleshu v. Merrill Lynch, 737 F. Supp.
1070, 1082 (E.D. Mo. 1990), aff'd 985 F.2d 564 (8th Cir.).

The only opinion that does analyze its choice of a standard and
uses a “reasonable person” standard is Trotta v. Mobil Oil, 788
F. Supp. 1336 (S.D.N.Y. 1992). However, the court qualified its
description of the standard so as to make its position functionally
indistinguishable from Andrews and Ellison by noting that “[i]n
applying a reasonable person standard, courts can take account of
gender-based differences.” Jd. at 1350, n.1.

17

CONCLUSION

For all of the foregoing reasons, the Court should
hold that a plaintiff in a Title VII hostile environment
sexual harassment case is not required to prove severe
psychological injury in order to prevail. Rather, the ex-
istence of a hostile work environment should be evalu-
ated from the perspective of a reasonable person of the
same gender as the plaintiff.”

Respectfully submitted,

ATRICIA A. SHIU
(Counsel of Record)
PAULINE T. KIM
CATHERINE K. RUCKELSHAUS
EMPLOYMENT LAW CENTER,
A PROJECT OF THE LEGAL AID
SOcIETY OF SAN FRANCISCO
1663 Mission Street, Suite 400
San Francisco, CA 94103
(415) 864-8848

Attorneys for Amici Curiae

"The EMPLOYMENT LAW CENTER wishes to express its
appreciation to Julian Gross and Jan Proudfoot for their valuable
assistance in preparing this brief,

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0376%3A09. Public record. Not legal advice.
