# Opposition Brief — Shalala v. Schaefer

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0342%3A03

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1993
- **Citation:** 509 U.S. 292

## Text

Court, U.>5.
@ PILED
No. 92-311 aaptiaiias
i§ CLERK
IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1992

LOUIS W. SULLIVAN, Secretary of Health and
Human Services,

Petitioner,
v.
RICHARD H. SCHAEFER,
Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Eighth Circuit

RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

Brian Wolfman

Alan B. Morrison

Public Citizen Litigation Group
Suite 700

2000 P Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 833-3000

Randall J. Fuller

(Counsel of Record)
Babcock, Locher, Neilson &
Mannella

118 Main Street

Anoka, Minnesota 55303
(612) 421-5151

Attorneys for Respondent

= |
5
—}
— ‘4S
=)
— t
——
CJ) |
heded
CoS ji

October 16, 1992

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Was the court of appeals below correct in holding
that respondent’s fee application under the Equal Access
to Justice Act was timely, where the district court had
remanded the case to the agency for further proceedings,
resulting in an award of disability benefits to respondent,
and respondent’s fee application was filed prior to the
district court’s issuance of a post-remand judgment?

2. If not, should this Court’s ruling be given
prospective effect only because when respondent filed his
fee application it was timely under all then-existing
precedent and all of the agency’s pronouncements on the
subject?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .................. iv
STATEMENT OF THE CASE ................ l
A. This Court Should Deny Review ......... 4

B. The Proper Result Is Affirm-
eee 10
CE 24

Uwe is ce cccecaccccccccce la

IV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
CASES
Audette v. Sec'y of HHS, 776 F. Supp. 84
3, eee eee 15, 16
Bacon v. Sec'y of HHS, 786 F. Supp. 434
I iat ep 18, 22
Baker on Behalf of Baker v. Sullivan,
956 F.2d 234 (11th Cir. 1992) ................ 8
Boronat v. Sullivan, 788 F. Supp. 557
8 eee ; 23
Bowen v. City of New York, 457 U.S. 467 (1986) 19
Brown v. Sec'y of HHS, 747 F.2d 878
en ,, SRE SP re 3, 19

reaffirmed, 778 F. Supp. 453 (N.D. Ill. 1991) .... 23
Chevron Oil Co. v. Huson, 404 U.S. 97 (1971) ... 18-23
Comm’r, INS v. Jean, 496 U.S. 154 a ssaes 17, 21
Dow v. Sullivan, 774 F. Supp. 46

8 Ea a 15, 16, 17

Page
Hafner v. Sullivan, No. 91-1634,

972 F.2d 249 (Aug. 11, 1992) ...... 9, 10, 12, 13, 14
Harpster v. Sullivan, 793 F. Supp. 618

i 8 Oe pees 22
Heredia v. Sec'y of HHS, 783 F. Supp. 1550

(D. Peesto Rico 1992)... ccc cece 7
Irwin v. Veterans Administration,

a ko ees 18
James B. Beam Distilling Co. v. Georgia,

en 18
Labrie v. Sec'y of HHS, No. 92-1066

(Ist Cir. Sept. 30, 1992) ..........., 4, 7, 10, 11, 12
Linkins v. Sullivan, 779 F. Supp. 1324

SSA 7
Lopez v. Sullivan, 780 F. Supp. 496

I ere 22
Luna v. Dep't of HHS, 948 F.2d 169

4) 4 ae 4, 5, 15, 17, 22, 23
Marek v. Chesny, 473 U.S. 1 (1986) .............. 6

Sansano v. Sullivan, 788 F. Supp. 218

ee ee 18, 22
Santiago v. Sullivan, 783 F. Supp. 223

a te 22
Sargent v. Sullivan, No. 90-1521

DE, OE I ow cc cccccccccccecs 22
Sesker v. Sullivan, 779 F. Supp. 1042

de ee 15
Spurlock v. Sullivan, 783 F. Supp. 474

(N.D. Cal.), reaffirmed, 790 F. Supp. 979

ee ee 7, 15
Sullivan v. Finkelstein, 496 U.S. 617 (1990) .... passim
Sullivan v. Hudson, 490 U.S. 877 (1989) ...... passim
Swedberg v. Bowen, 804 F.2d 432

I 2, 19
Thomas for Brown v. Sullivan,

785 F. Supp. 788 (C.D. Ill. 1992) ........... 15, 22
Van Tassel v. Sullivan, 789 F. Supp. 1108

ES RSE eh SR a 7
Welter v. Sullivan, 941 F.2d 674

EE Gate Ceara ene seb bc acaba 4, 10

STATUTES
I ak ile a 6
Equal Access to Justice Act, 28 U.S.C.

Co aes ERAS ESS Ba rae 3
A eee 2
28 U.S.C. § 2412(d)(1)(B) ................. 13, 15
Title II of the Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C.

MM o66 66456646 4 6664665) 6 000e 8 l
SE ec ce etceeevesens 1, 3, 12, 16
Oe We OEE oo cc iccccccccccccecss 15, 22
42 US.C. § 2000e-16(c) ..................... 19

Pub. L. No. 99-80 (1985), 99 Stat. 183
(28 U.S.C. § 2412 note).................. 3, 15

vu
Page
REGULATIONS
po SL re 2
es A 0 OS Sr eee eee 2
ohn BF Po J 3, 20
57 Fed. Reg. 30,101 (July 8, 1992) .............. 9
RULES
a 6s add a'a od Goa wee eo deen 13
DMs ccsveckaanedpedeeseneaat 2, 12
RRR peers Seta rant ne gh ra 6
id wae oe ae ee oo ze 6
a a es 6
NURI sco cecveccrevceebeceecess 6
a oo ea ee cenne, 6
E.D. and W.D. Ark. R. 27(a) .................. 6
LEGISLATIVE HISTORY

H.R. Rep. No. 120, 99th Cong., Ist

Sess. (1985), 1985 U.S.C.CA.N. 132 ........ 14, 21

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1992

No. 92-311

LOUIS W. SULLIVAN, Secretary of Health and
Human Services,

Petitioner,
v.
RICHARD H. SCHAEFER,
Respondent.

*

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Eighth Circuit

RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITON

Statement of the Case

In June 1986, respondent Richard H. Schaefer filed an
application for social security disability benefits under Title
Il of the Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C. § 401 et seg., which
was denied at the administrative level by petitioner Secre-
tary of Health and Human Services (the "Secretary").
Respondent then sought review under 42 U.S.C. § 405(g)
in the United States District Court for the District of
Minnesota which, on April 5, 1989, reversed the Secre-
tary’s decision on various legal grounds, denied both

parties’ motions for summary judgment, and remanded for
further administrative proceedings (Pet. App. 27a). The
court did not ai that time enter a separate judgment pur-
suant to Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 58.

Thereafter, pursuant to the district court’s ruling, the
Secretary considered the case anew, and, on January 31,
1990, an administrative law judge ("ALJ") determined that
respondent was disabled (Pet. App. 10a). When the
Secretary’s Appeals Council did not review that determina-
tion within the time allowed by law (id.), see 20 C.F.R. §§
404.983, .984, the Secretary issued an award certificate to
respondent (Pet. App. 10a). Shortly thereafter, respond-
ent moved for entry of a final judgment in the district
court and filed an EAJA application for an award of
attorney's fees for 18.3 hours spent securing respondent's
entitlement to benefits (id.).

The procedural history of the fee dispute described in
the Petition (at 6-8) is largely accurate, and we will not
repeat it. The district court (Pet. App. 9a), affirming the
magistrate’s recommendation (Pet. App. 15a-18a), held
that respondent was entitled to an award of attorney's fees
under the EAJA because the Secretary’s position in the
litigation was not "substantially justified," see 28 U.S.C. §
2412(d)(1)(A), a finding that the Secretary did not chal-
lenge in the court of appeals. Both the district court and
the court of appeals rejected the Secretary’s claim
advanced here that respondent’s application was untimely
for the reasons set forth in the Petition.

Two facis omitted from the Petition are noteworthy.
First, respondent’s decision to seek fees only after the
administrative proceedings on remand had been completed
was fully consistent with, indeed demanded by, applicable
law. See, e.g., Swedberg v. Bowen, 804 F.2d 432, 434 (8th
Cir. 1986); accord Sullivan v. Hudson, 490 U.S. 877, 887
(1989). Moreover, the Secretary himself, through regula-
tions and in litigation, had specifically endorsed that

approach. See Brown v. Sec’'y of HHS, 747 F.2d 878, 887
(3rd Cir. 1984); 54 Fed. Reg. 37,789, 37,791 (1989).

Second, it is respondent’s money, not his lawyer’s, that
is at stake here. The district court, as required by law,
specifically ordered respondent’s attorney to refund the
EAJA fee to respondent, allowing the attorney to retain
only a contingent fee from respondent’s back benefits (Pet.
App. 9a). See Pub. L. No. 99-80, § 3 (1985), 99 Stat. 186
(28 U.S.C. § 2412 note)(requiring refund of smaller award
to claimant). Thus, a reversal here would diminish
respondent’s_ disability recovery, even though the
Secretary’s position on the merits was unreasonable.

The issue in this case is whether, in a social security
disability case remanded for further administrative
proceedings under the fourth sentence of 42 U.S.C. §
405(g), a claimant may file an application for attorney’s
fees under the Equal Access to Justice Act ("EAJA"), 28
U.S.C. § 2412(d), after a favorable conclusion of the
remand proceedings, as the court of appeals held, or, as
the Secretary argues, whether every claimant who obtains
a sentence-four remand must file a fee application shortly
after remand, before the claimant even knows if he or she
has prevailed.

As we explain in Part A below, although one court of
appeals disagrees with the approach taken below, the split
is not sufficiently important to warrant this Court’s time
and resources, especially because the issue does not affect
the substantive rights of social security claimants or their
attorneys, nor does it bear on any policies Congress sought
to advance in enacting the EAJA. Moreover, if the issue
needs resolution, Congress, rather than this Court, is the
preferable forum in which to resolve it.

Ordinarily, we would respond to the Petition simply by
explaining why review should be denied. But this is not
the usual case. The Solicitor General has not only asked
for a writ of certiorari, but for summary reversal, despite

the extreme complexity of the issues presented and the
fact that the Secretary’s position is at odds with virtually
all of the decisions of the lower courts. See Labrie v. Sec’y
of HHS, No. 92-1066, slip op. at 12-15 (ist Cir. Sept. 30,
1992)(discussing cases). | However, because of the
government’s request, we are constrained to explain in
Part B why the Secretary’s position on the merits is
incorrect and why, even if it were correct, the ruling
should not be applied retroactively. At the very least, that
discussion makes clear that the issues here are ill-suited
for summary disposition.

A. This Court Should Deny Review.

Respondent concedes that there is a split in the
circuits. The court below, following its previous decision
in Welter v. Sullivan, 941 F.2d 674 (8th Cir. 1991), held
that the district court may, after remanding a case
pursuant to sentence four of 42 U.S.C. § 405(g), hold its
judgment in abeyance until after the administrative
remand proceedings are completed, at which time the
claimant, if he or she has prevailed, may file an EAJA fee
application (Pet. App. la-2a). Accord Labrie, supra;
Gutierrez v. Sullivan, 953 F.2d 579 (10th Cir. 1992), cert.
pending, No. 92-361. The Fifth Circuit, on the other hand,
has held that the EAJA’s statute of limitations is triggered
immediately by a sentence-four remand. Luna v. Dep’t of
HHS, 948 F.2d 169 (1991). These cases all purport to
apply this Court’s recent decision in Melkonyan v. Sullivan,
111 S. Ct. 2157 (1991), and its predecessor decisions,
Sullivan v. Finkelstein, 496 U.S. 617 (1990), and Sullivan v.
Hudson, 490 U.S. 877 (1989). As we now explain, despite
this split in authority, there is no reason for this Court to
grant review in this case.

1. This Court’s decision in Melkonyan was issued only
a little more than a year ago and because of the nature of
the circuit split, there is no reason for this Court to enter
the fray so soon thereafter. The fact that there are

different rules currently in place in the Eighth and Fifth
Circuits is completely tolerable and, despite petitioner’s
conclusory assertion to the contrary (Pet. 18), will have no
lasting impact on petitioner’s administration of either the
Social Security Act or the EAJA.

Because fee litigation occurs after the merits of a
dispute have been adjudicated or otherwise resolved, it
does not directly affect the primary behavior either of the
litigants before the court or of other people whose
substantive conduct Congress wishes to influence. To be
sure, some fee decisions may have an impact on the ability
of litigants to hire attorneys, either by making it easier or
harder to obtain a reasonable fee.

Here, however, the only question is the timing of the
fee application, not the availability of fees. The EAJA’s
beneficent purposes are simply unaffected by differing
rules governing the EAJA’s limitations period. Thus,
while the lower courts have taken various approaches to
this Court’s decision in Melkonyan, as it applies to
sentence-four cases, once that litigation has played itself
out, there will be no confusion for claimants and their
lawyers as long as they follow the law in the circuit in
which they have filed. For instance, after the Fifth
Circuit’s decision in Luna, supra, claimants who obtain
sentence-four remands know to file their fee applications
within the next 90 days. If they fail to do so, it is they, not
the Secretary, who will suffer the consequences, just like
any other litigant who fails to follow procedural rules or
precedents. See Luna, 948 F.2d at 173 n.5.

While we agree with the Secretary that he operates a
very large adjudicatory system, in which there are many
remanded cases each year (see Pet. 18), that fact has
nothing to do with whether the split in the circuits creates
problems for him. Differing statutes of limitations present
no burden on the Secretary because the statute does not
run against him. Social Security practitioners, on the

other hand, generally practice in one locality, and almost
always within one circuit, and should have no problem
understanding the applicable rule once it is established.

There are well over 100 federal fee-shifting statutes,
see Marek v. Chesny, 473 U.S. 1 (1986)(appendix to
opinion of Brennan, J., dissenting), and, to our knowledge,
only the EAJA and a tax statute patterned on the EAJA,
26 U.S.C. § 7430, have statutes of limitations. With
respect to the dozens of fee provisions that do not contain
Statutes of limitations, a myriad of loval rules apply, many
of which contain filing deadlines.’ The circuit split
presented here is far less difficult to navigate for litigants
and their attorneys than are the requirements for other fee
applications, given the variation among local practice rules.
But the answer to the "problem" in both situations is the
same: unless and until Congress acts to provide uniformity,
lawyers will consult the appropriate rule and file their fee
applications accordingly. Meanwhile, given the priority
that ought to be given to matters of substantive concern,
there is no pressing need for this Court to attempt to
impose a nationwide EAJA filing deadline in a subcate-
gory of cases remanded to the agency for further pro-
ceedings under the Social Security Act.

2. Even if the split in the circuits was as intolerable as
the Secretary suggests, there is a second reason why this
Court should decline to hear this case. The resolution of
the question presented is not the simple one-issue case
that the Secretary’s one-paragraph request for summary
reversal suggests (Pet. 18-19). We completely disagree
with the Secretary’s conclusion as to when a fee applica-

' See, e.g, Fed. Cir. R. 47.9(a)(10 days after judgment); 9th Cir. R. 39-1.6
(30 days after judgment, except where party has asked for rehearing, in which
case, 14 days after denial of rehearing); 8th Cir. R. 47C (14 days after
judgment); S.D. Ohio L.R. 54.2 (30 days after judgment); D.D.C. Rule 215
(no filing deadline, but status conference ordinarily within 60 days of
judgment); E.D. and W.D. Ark. R. 27(a)(14 days after judgment).

tion should be filed and resolved in a sentence-four case,
and, as we show in Part B below, a careful review of the
statute’s relevant language shows that the Eighth Circuit’s
decision was correct.

But if this Court were to grant review, it would have to
deal comprehensively with the difficulties engendered by
this Court’s decisions in Finkelstein and Hudson, as well as
Melkonyan. Thus, the Court would need to determine not
only when a sentence-four fee application should be filed,
but whether a claimant is a prevailing party entitled to fees
by virtue of obtaining a sentence-four remand alone. That
issue has divided the lower courts, but, unlike the issue
discussed above, it presents a serious substantive question
for this Court to resolve. The Court will also need to
determine whether the rule in Hudson — that work done
in post-remand administrative proceedings are
compensable under the EAJA — applies in sentence-four
cases. Although we strongly believe that it does
(particularly because Hudson itself was a sentence-four
case), the courts have disagreed on that issue.’

In addition, there are questions as to what is meant by
a "final" judgment under the EAJA, which have continued
to plague the courts. In particular, the courts have come
to different conclusions about when the 30-day filing
period begins to run when the government purports to

* Compare, eg., Spurlock v. Sullivan, 783 F. Supp. 474, 479 (N.D.
Cal.)(claimant prevails and is eligible for fees by virtue of winning remand),
reaffirmed, 790 F. Supp. 979, 980 (N.D. Cal. 1992), with Van Tassel v. Sullivan,
789 F. Supp. 1108, 1108-09 (D. Colo. 1992)(fee application filed after remand
order premature; must wait to file until after plaintiff prevails on remand).

* Compare, e.g , Spurlock, 783 F. Supp. at 479 (Hudson fees not available
in sentence-four cases), with Heredia v. Sec'y of HHS, 783 F. Supp. 1550, 1558
(D. Puerto Rico 1992)(Hudson fees available in sentence-four cases); Linkins
v. Sullivan, 779 F. Supp. 1324, 1327 (M.D. Fla. 1991)(same). See generally
Labrie v. Sec'y of HHS, No. 92-1066, slip op. at 11.8, = F.2d (Ist Cir.

Sept. 30, 1992)(discussing problem).

settle a case or otherwise indicates that it will not appeal.*
Further, if the Secretary is correct and every sentence-four
remand immediately starts the running of the filing period,
the Court should also address whether its ruling should be
given prospective application only, since it would catch
thousands of claimants unaware.

Indeed, the immediate filing rule contradicts the direc-
tives that the Secretary still to this day gives claimants who
obtain such remands (see infra App. 2a-3a)(form sent by
Secretary to claimants in remand cases stating that the
U.S. Attorney will return to district court for further
proceedings after administrative remand is completed),
which presents another issue for this Court and another
basis for affirmance. See infra 18-23. Moreover, the
retroactivity issue will soon pass as the circuits fall into
line, and the Secretary has it fully within his power to
eliminate any charge of misleading claimants by unilater-
ally revoking the advice that he gives claimants that he
now believes is incorrect, thereby partially simplifying any
future case that the Court might feel compelled to take on
this issue.

Finally, the Court will need to revisit its 1990 decision
in Finkelstein, 496 U.S. 617, which held that the merits of
a sentence-four remand judgment are immediately appeal-
able by the Secretary, but in the same breath stated that
EAJA timeliness questions were separate and distinct. /d.
at 628-31 & n.8. Contrary to the Secretary’s position,
there is nothing in Melkonyan that forbids the district
court from, in effect, holding its fourth-sentence judgment
in abeyance pending the administrative remand pro-
ceedings — the approach endorsed by the Eighth Circuit
and by this Court in Hudson. See 490 U.S. at 887; see also

* Compare Myers v. Sullivan, 916 F.2d 659 (11th Cir. 1990), and Baker on
Behalf of Baker v. Sullivan, 956 F.2d 234, 235-36 (11th Cir. 1992), with Fed'l
Election Comm'n v. Political Contributions Data, Inc., No. 89 Civ. 5238 (SWK),
slip op. at 5-8, F. Supp. __ (July 30, 1992).

Hafner v. Sullivan, No. 91-1634, slip op. at 6 n.3, 972 F.2d
249, ___ n.3 (8th Cir. Aug. 11, 1992)("As a matter of
Statutory construction and common sense, we see no
reason why an appealable ‘final judgment’ under § 405(g)
must necessarily be a ‘final judgment’ for purposes of §
2412(d)(1))(B)"). But according to the Secretary,
Finkelstein’s holding on appealability applies to the EAJA,
and requires that the statute of limitations starts to run
immediately in every sentence-four case, no matter how
inconsistent that may be with the orderly presentation of
a fee application (see infra at 12-14).

Fortunately, there is no reason for this Court again to
become enmeshed in this morass, which, as Hudson,
Finkelstein, and Melkonyan show, lends itself to no easy
judicial solution. Congress, not this Court, should have the
opportunity to fix whatever problems remain after
Melkonyan. One easy and obvious solution is to repeal the
limitations period, which appears in only two federal fees
statutes. Recently, the Administrative Conference of the
United States formally recommended that the EAJA’s
Statute of limitations either be repealed or run only from
the completion of the administrative remand proceedings,
and that recommendation has been transmitted to the
relevant committees of Congress for consideration and
published in the Federal Register. See 57 Fed. Reg. 30,101,
30,109 (July 8, 1992)(to be codified at 1 C.F.R. § 305.92-
5). Congress may well choose a different solution, but
whatever path Congress takes, it will be able to consider
all of the difficulties at once. We are concerned that this
Court should not, and cannot, comprehensively resolve
these problems through case-by-case adjudication.
Because this case does not present a significant substantive
issue, nor any procedural issue bearing on the behavior
that Congress wished to encourage or discourage in
enacting the EAJA, we respectfully urge this Court to
deny review.

10

B. The Proper Result is Affirmance, Not Reversal.

If this Court does grant review, plenary consideration
is imperative. The post-Melkonyan case law makes clear
that the issues here are not simple ones. As we now
demonstrate, the Eighth Circuit’s decision was correct, and
the Secretary’s view as to how a sentence-four remand
case should be handled has no basis in the statutory
language and defies common sense.

1. The Eighth Circuit’s decision here was based on its
eminently reasonable prior ruling in Welter v. Sullivan, 941
F.2d 674, which fully considered Melkonyan. In Welter, the
court held that the district court’s sentence-four remand
did not constitute the sentence-four judgment, because the
district court intended to retain jurisdiction and issue its
judgment thereafter (Pet. App. 5a-6a). This is consistent
with Rule 58 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure and
both Melkonyan and Hudson.’

In Hudson, this Court held that work done in post-
remand administrative proceedings is compensable under
the EAJA because that work is necessary to the vindi-
cation of the claimant’s rights. 490 U.S. at 885-90. As
Hudson makes clear, the case there was not remanded
because the Secretary requested a remand prior to filing
his answer or because the district court found "good cause"
for the taking of newly discovered "material" evidence (the
only predicates for a sentence-six remand). Rather, the
decision was reversed and remanded because the Secretary
had ignored his own regulations and had failed to consider
the cumulative effect of the claimant’s disabilities (id. at
880-81) — a quintessential fourth-sentence remand. See
Labrie, slip op. at 11 (Secretary concedes Hudson involved
sentence-four remand).

’ The Eighth Circuit has recently reaffirmed Welter in Hafner v. Sullivan,
No. 91-1634, 972 F.2d 249 (Aug. 11, 1992).

11

Despite the fact that Hudson was remanded under sen-
tence four, this Court specifically noted that the district
court had entered a post-remand judgment of dismissal, at
the Secretary’s behest. Hudson, 490 U.S. at 881-82. The
claimant then filed a fee application, which no one even
intimated was untimely, and this Court affirmed an award
of fees, both for in-court work and for counsel’s time
before the Secretary on remand. On the latter point, this
Court held that the post-remand work was compensable
because it was necessary "to the ultimate vindication of the
claimant’s rights . . .[,]" id. at 890, and repeatedly noted
the district court’s ability to retain jurisdiction in order to
protect those rights. /d. at 886.

Significantly, Finkelstein and Melkonyan specifically
reaffirmed Hudson. Melkonyan, 111 S. Ct. at 2162;
Finkelstein, 496 U.S. at 629-31; see Labrie, slip op. at 17.
The principal holding in Melkonyan was that a "final
judgment" under 28 U.S.C. § 2412(d)(1)(B), may only be
issued by a court, not an administrative agency, rejecting
the Secretary’s position that a post-remand decision of the
Social Security Administration can be a "judgment" under
the EAJA, thus starting the statute of limitations. 111 S.
Ct. at 2162. The Court also agreed with the parties that
the district court’s remand was not one under sentence
four, id. at 2163, and went on, in dicta, to say that "ijn
sentence four cases, the filing period begins after the final
judgment (‘affirming, modifying, or reversing’) is entered
by the court and the appeal period has run, so that the
judgment is no longer appealable." 111 S. Ct. at 2165
(emphasis added).

Here, the district court did not issue a judgment when
it ordered a remand, realizing that it ought to retain
jurisdiction until after it was determined whether the
claimant had prevailed, as Hudson holds is usually
appropriate. 490 U.S. at 886-87. Rather, it simply
remanded the case under sentence four of 42 U.S.C. §

12

405(g), but postponed entry of its sentence-four judgment,
and thus the running of the EAJA’s statute of limitations,
until after the administrative proceedings were completed.
This is fully consistent with Melkonyan, which noted that,
in order to trigger the statute of limitations, there must be
a judgment "“accompany|ing]" the post-remand order. 111
S. Ct. at 2165. Here, there was no judgment "“accom-
panying" that order prior to the completion of the post-
remand proceedings. Accord Mendez v. Sullivan, 792 F.
Supp. 375, 378 (E.D. Pa. 1992). The court of appeals’
decision is, thus, fully consistent with Rule 58 of the
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, which requires that the
district court issue a separate judgment, i.e., separate from
the order remanding the case to the Secretary. /d.; see
also Labrie, slip op. at 18.°

2. The Eighth Circuit’s decision also makes practical
sense. By holding its judgment in abeyance until the post-
remand proceedings were completed, the district court was
able to effectuate Hudson —i.e., the court could determine
whether the claimant had prevailed and, if so, whether he
or she was entitled to fees for the post-remand proceed-
ings. Accord, Hafner, slip op. at 5-6,972 F.2d at __. On
the other hand, the rule suggested by the Secretary makes
no sense. In this case, for instance, the Secretary
complains that respondent’s EAJA application was filed
more than a year after the district court’s remand order
(Pet. 18-19). But it is inconceivable that the claimant
could have done anything else but wait for the completion
of the post-remand proceedings, since he had not yet pre-
vailed, at least as the law stood at that time, because he
had not yet been awarded any benefits. See Hudson, 490
U.S. at 887 (citing circuit precedent, including from Eighth
Circuit).

* Rule 58 provides in relevant part that “[e}very judgment shall be set
forth in a separate document. A judgment is effective only when so set forth

and when entered as provided in Rule 79(a).”

13

Although the Secretary agrees that respondent had not
prevailed at that point (Pet. 15-16), he argues, never-
theless, that the statute of limitations began to run when
the remand order was entered. Thus, under the Secre-
tary’s “file early and often" view, the claimant must file a
"protective" EAJA application in every sentence-four
remand case and then await the completion of adminis-
trative proceedings. Then, if the claimant prevails on
remand, the court may award attorney’s fees (presumably
after reviewing the remand proceedings). Accord Hafner,
slip op. at 6,972 F.2dat___.

To put it bluntly, this scheme is ridiculous and, not
surprisingly, finds little support in the post-Melkonyan case
law. First, it completely ignores the terms of the EAJA
itself, which require fee applicants to “allege that the
position of the United States is not substantially jus-
tified|,|" and "show| | that the party is a prevailing party .

" 28 U.S.C. § 2412(d)(1)(B). But, according to the
Secretary, the claimant has not prevailed by obtaining a
sentence-four remand, but must prevail on remand in
order to meet that requirement. Therefore, the fee
application simply cannot make the allegations required by
the EAJA. Indeed, a claimant cannot "allege" a lack of
substantial justification or "show" that he or she has
prevailed, consistent with Rule 11 requirements, if he or
she has not yet done so.

Second, as we have shown above (supra at 10-11), the
Secretary’s insistence on the filing of an EAJA application
in every case is inconsistent with Hudson, in which there
was a sentence-four remand, but the fee application was
not filed until the post-remand proceedings had been com-
pleted. Moreover, Melkonyan, by repeatedly stating that
prevailing party status is a prerequisite to the filing of a
fee application, 111 S. Ct. at 2159, 2161, 2163, also
strongly suggested that the filing of the fee application will
coincide with the attainment of prevailing party status.

14

The best way to make sense of Hudson and Melkonyan is
to allow, but not require, the district court to postpone
issuing its sentence-four judgment until after the post-

remand proceedings are completed, as the Eighth Circuit
held here.

Finally, the Secretary’s position would be unbelievably
inefficient. It would require that, in every fourth-sentence
remand case, the claimant file a fee application before he
or she knew what the results of the post-remand proceed-
ings were. Courts would thus be inundated with fee appli-
cations, even though, under the Secretary’s view, many of
these claimants will not even prevail in the post-remand
proceedings. If the claimant loses on remand before the
agency, there might be further judicial review of the merits
of the action, and thus the fee application, might never, or
only well into the future, be considered. "Thus, the Secre-
tary’s position would require the claimant to file an
anticipatory EAJA petition at a time when it either must
be denied or indefinitely suspended — the ultimate in
laying traps for the unwary and senselessly cluttering court
dockets." Hafner, slip op. at 4, 972 F.2d at ___. Absent
clear language mandating such a result, the Court should
not assume that Congress created such a preposterous
scheme. To the contrary, not only is that language lacking
here, but there is very strong evidence that Congress
envisioned that fee applications would be filed only after
the post-remand proceedings were completed, precisely as
the Eighth Circuit held here. See H.R. Rep. No. 120, pt.
1, 99th Cong., Ist Sess. 19 (1985), 1985 U.S.C.C.A.N. 148.
Given these absurdities, all doubts should be resolved
against the Secretary’s interpretation of the EAJA.’

" According to the Secretary's own data (Pet. 18 n.12), adoption of his
position would involve the filing of thousands of superfluous fee applications,
since non-prevailing parties, or at least not-yet prevailing parties, must file fee
applications in order to be timely. A claimant's attorney could, of course, opt
not to file a fee application at all, but that could pose a serious ethic:

15

3. If, as the Secretary believes, Melkonyan mandates
that the EAJA’s statute of limitations is triggered in every
sentence-four case by the issuance of the remand order,
then the only sensible reading of Melkonyan is that a
claimant who wins a sentence-four remand is a prevailing
party who may be awarded fees at that point. As we have
stated, this comports with the EAJA’s language, since the
statute requires that the claimant have prevailed at the
time the fee application is filed. 28 USC. §
2412(d)(1)(B). Furthermore, it avoids the utter irration-
ality of the system urged by the Secretary, in which
claimants who have not prevailed, and may never prevail,
must file fee applications in order to meet the statute of
limitations (but for no other reason).

Although the Secretary blithely states in one short
paragraph that the "answer" is so "clear" that the Court
should reverse summarily (Pet. 18-19), he does not even
cite the growing body of case law that holds that a
claimant who has obtained a sentence-four remand has
prevailed for EAJA purposes.’ In Dow v. Sullivan, 774 F.
Supp. 46 (D. Me. 1991), for example, the court held that:

[a] sentence four remand terminates the "civil
action” for which fees are available under
2412(d)(1)(A) [of the EAJA]. The "civil action" is

problem, since that attorney is obligated by law to return to the claimant the
smaller of the EAJA fee and the contingent fee awarded under 42 U.S.C. §
406(b)(1). See Pub. L. No. 99-80, § 3 (1985), 99 Stat. 186 (28 U.S.C. § 2412
note). In this case, respondent's attorney was awarded a contingent fee and
ordered to pay the smaller EAJA fee to respondent (Pet. App. 9a).

* See, e.g., Thomas for Brown v. Sullivan, 785 F. Supp. 788, 792 (C.D. Iil.
1992); Rollins v. Sullivan, 784 F. Supp. 253, 254, 258 (E.D. Pa. 1992); Spurlock
v. Sullivan, 783 F. Supp. at 479; Mills v. Sullivan, 782 F. Supp. 1347, 1349
(W.D. Mo. 1992); Sesker v. Sullivan, 779 F. Supp. 1042, 1044 (W.D. Mo.
1991); Audette v. Sec'y of HHS, 776 F. Supp. 84, 91 (D.R.I, 1991); Dow v.
Sullivan, 774 F. Supp. 46, 48-49 (D. Me. 1991); see also Luna v. Dep't of HHS,
948 F.2d 169 (Sth Cir. 1991)(by implication).

16

in fact terminated by our decision to reverse the
Secretary and the Plaintiff has “prevailed" in this
case. That is, the Plaintiff has succeeded in
achieving substantially all of the benefit he sought
in bringing the litigation, namely a reversal of the
Secretary’s decision.

Id. at 48-49 (footnote omitted). In Audette v. Sec'y of
HHS, 776 F. Supp. 84 (D.R.1. 1991), the court was even
more explicit:

|U]nder sentence four the remand effectively ends
speculation as to the final result. According to
Melkonyan, a sentence four remand does make the
claimant a prevailing party.
Id. at 91 (rejecting dicta to the contrary in Fergason v.
Sullivan, 771 F. Supp. 1008, 1012 (W.D. Mo. 1991)).

As we have indicated, we believe that the Eighth
Circuit’s approach is more sensible and comports with this
Court’s decision in Hudson. But while it may seem
anomalous to accord a claimant prevailing party status
before the completion of post-remand proceedings, if the
timing question is resolved as the Secretary urges, it is
consistent with both § 405(g) and the EAJA that a
claimant who obtains a remand under sentence four (but
not an award of benefits) has prevailed for EAJA
purposes at that point, because the government’s position
has been rejected by the court as a matter of law. This is
so even though a claimant who obtains a sentence-six
remand has not prevailed, because, under sentence six, the
court "does not in any way rule as to the correctness of the
administrative determination." Dow, 774 F. Supp. at 48.
Indeed, frequently a sentence-six remand occurs because
the claimant wants to present information to the ALJ of
which neither he nor the Secretary was even aware when
the Secretary’s original decision was made. Finkelstein,
496 U.S. at 626. It is only after the post-remand sub-
mission of a new administrative record required bv

17

sentence six, and the post-remand review contemplated by
sentence seven, that the court will be in a position fairly to
judge the Secretary’s decision.

In a sentence-four case, however, a court’s decision to
reverse or modify the Secretary’s decision always signifies
that the Secretary has violated the law, and so it makes
sense to say, at that point, that the claimant has prevailed.
See Luna, 948 F.2d at 171; Dow, 774 F. Supp. at 48-9. In
Finkelstein, for example, the sentence-four remand was
part and parcel of the district court’s invalidation of a
federal regulation concerning eligibility for survivors’
benefits. 496 U.S. at 624. Here, the district court’s
remand was necessary, among other things, to comply with
the Eighth Circuit’s precedent-setting ruling on the eval-
uation of pain, which the ALJ’s decision had violated
(36a). Thus, here, as in any case remanded under sen-
tence four, the court sent the case back to the Secretary
with instructions to follow the legal precepts that he had
previously breached, something which never occurs in a
sentence-six case.

This distinction between claimants who benefit from
sentence-four and those who benefit from sentence-six
remands — with the former prevailing immediately and the
latter awaiting the completion of proceedings on remand
and post-remand review — accords with the purposes of
the EAJA. The Supreme Court has recognized that the
EAJA was intended to “curb[] excessive regulations and
the unreasonable exercise of Government authority . . ..”"
Comm’r, INS v. Jean, 496 U.S. 154, 165 & n.14 (1990)
(quoting and citing H. R. Rep. No. 96-1418, p. 12 (1980));
see also Hudson, 490 U.S. at 883. The Secretary’s failure
to follow the law here was a perfect example of the type

See Polaski v. Heckler, 739 F.2d 1320 (8th Cir.), reaffirmed, 751 F.2d 943,
948-50 (8th Cir. 1984), remanded, 476 U.S. 1167 (1986), reaffirmed, 804 F.2d
457 (8th Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 482 U.S. 927 (1987).

18

of government conduct that the EAJA was intended to
discourage, and an award of fees based on the remand,
without more, would have served the statute’s purposes.

4. If this Court believes that the Eighth Circuit erred
in allowing respondent to file his fee application after the
post-remand proceedings were completed, that decision
should not be applied in this case. Under Chevron Oil Co.
v. Huson, 404 U.S. 97 (1971), a court may give only pro-
spective effect to decisions that establish new rules of law
or overrule clear past precedent, because retroactive appli-
cation would be inequitable to the party before the court
and others similarly situated."°

Turning to the proceedings below and the relevant
legal landscape, retroactive application of a rule allowing

| z We recognize that, under the patchwork plurality in James B. Beam
Distilling Co. v. Georgia, 111 S. Ct. 2439 (1991), a ruling cannot be applied
prospectively here, if it were applied retroactively in Melkonyan, because Beam
requires “pure prospectivity." /d. at 2448 (opinion of Souter, J.). However,
the rule at issue here — the timing of fee applications in sentence-four
remand cases — was not applied in Melkonyan, as both the parties and the
Court agreed that the case there did not involve a sentence-four remand. 111
S. Ct. at 2163. See, e.g, Rollins, 784 F. Supp. at 257-58 (Beam does not bar
prospective-only application of Melkonyan).

Further, the 30-day filing period is not a jurisdictional bar, like the one
present in Firestone Tire & Rubber Co. v. Risjord, 449 U.S. 368, 379-80 (1981),
which Precludes the Court from engaging in retroactivity analysis. Rather, the
provision here is worded virtually identically to 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-16(c), the
statute of limitations considered in Jrwin v. Veterans Admin., 111 S. Ct. 453
( 1990). There, the Court held, as a general matter, that once Congress has
waived the government’s immunity, equitable principles apply to the same
extent as in a suit among private parties, and that, therefore, statutes of
limitations in actions against the government are not jurisdictional. /d. at 457.
Accordingly, because the EAJA is a waiver of the federal government's
immunity to fees and litigation expenses, its 30-day filing period is not
jurisdictional, and ordinary retroactivity principles control. See Bacon v. Sec'y
of HHS, 786 F. Supp. 434, 438 (D.NJ. 1992)(EAJA’s filing period not
jurisdictional under Irwin); Golbach v. Sullivan, 779 F. Supp. 9, 11-12
(N.D.N.Y. 1991)(same); see also Sansano v. Sullivan, 788 F. Supp. 218, 225
(D.NJ. 1992)(rejecting Secretary's reliance on Firestone), Rollins, 784 F. Supp.
at 256 (same).

19

a sentence-four remand to trigger the EAJA’s limitations
period "would be anomalous indeed." Chevron Oil, 404
U.S. at 107. The remand order was issued on April 4,
1989 (26a). Ninety days later, or July 3, 1989, was less
than a month after this Court’s June 12, 1989 decision in
Hudson, which made clear that fee applications should
post-date the administrative decision on remand. This was
fully consistent with the law nationwide, including the
Eighth Circuit. See, e.g., Swedberg v. Bowen, 804 F.2d 432,
434 (8th Cir. 1986); see also Brown v. Sec'y of HHS, 747
F.2d 878, 887 (3rd Cir. 1984)(court relied on the Secre-
tary’s promise that he would, as a matter of policy, "return
to the district court and file a copy of the government's
decision upon conclusion of any remand proceeding in
which a claimant receives benefits") (emphasis in original).

On January 31, 1990, an ALJ found respondent to be
disabled, and the Appeals Council did not review that
ruling (Pet. App. 10a). An award certificate, determining
the amount of benefits due respondent, was issued on
June 12, 1990 (id.), and shortly thereafter, on July 17,
1990, respondent moved for entry of a final judgment and
filed his EAJA application (id.). At no time prior to that
point did the legal terrain portend that a sentence-four
remand prior to a finding of disability could possibly
trigger the filing deadline. The Secretary’s position also
remained constant, recognizing that the law required him,
“at least for purposes of awarding attorney’s fees" under
the EAJA, to return to the district court, for a post-
remand judgment to trigger the 30-day filing period.
Secretary’s Reply Brief at 12, Sullivan v. Hudson, 490 U.S.
877 (No. 88-616). Even in Finkelstein — which post-dated
Hudson by about a year — the Secretary remained true to
his prior position:

Of course, it is appropriate for the Secretary to

file any new decision awarding benefits with the

20

court so that the court can consider whether attor-
ney’s fees should be awarded under the EAJA.

Secretary’s Brief at 44 n.35, Sullivan v. Finkelstein, 496
U.S. 617 (No. 89-504)(emphasis added). It was not until
Melkonyan was decided on June 10, 1991 that anyone
could have conceivably thought that a fee application in a
sentence-four case had to be filed shortly after the remand
had occurred.

Moreover, elsewhere the Secretary has taken, and still
takes, the position that a Social Security claimant has the
absolute right to return to the district court on the merits
and, therefore, presumably, for attorney’s fees as well. 54
Fed. Reg. 37,789, 37,791 (1989). Furthermore, the forms
currently used by the Secretary to inform claimants of ALJ
decisions on remand, tell claimants that they have the right
to return to the district court and that "we will forward a
copy of the decision, and a transcript of the record in your

case to the United States Attorney for filing with the

court" (infra App. 2a-3a).

With this background in mind, we turn to the first of
three Chevron Oil factors — whether the decision below
established a new principle of law, either because it
overruled clear past precedent or because it decided an
issue of first impression the resolution of which was not
clearly foreshadowed. 404 U.S. at 107. In applying this
factor, we look to the law at the time that the underlying
conduct, or the failure to act, took place. /d. at 106-09.
There can be no question that, when the relevant event
took place approximately two years before Melkonyan was
decided — when respondent failed to divine the need to
file his fee petition within 90 days of the issuance of the
sentence-four remand in 1989 — the law unequivocally
required the Secretary to return to the district court after
remand to report the results of the proceeding, and there-
by either continue or dismiss the pending civil action.
Under the EAJA, it was equally clear that a final judg-

21

ment from the district court after remand was necessary to
trigger the 30-day limitations period, as the Secretary
expressly told this Court in Finkelstein, and as the Court
itself had indicated in Hudson. 490 U.S. at 887. Thus, a
reversal of the decision below would establish a new
principle of law, "by overruling clear past precedent on
which litigants may have relied." Chevron Oil, 404 U.S. at
106.

Next, given the prior history of the 30-day rule and its
purpose and effect, retroactive application of a new rule
would plainly retard the purposes of the law. Jd. at 106-
07. Indeed, retroactive application would be inconsistent
with the basic purposes of the EAJA which are to increase
court access for individuals and to improve government
policies. Comm’r v. Jean, 496 U.S. at 165 n.14. Moreover,
retroactive application would be the very "trap for the
unwary resulting in the unwarranted denial of fees" that
Congress sought to eliminate in its 1985 EAJA amend-
ments. H.R. Rep. No. 120, pt. 2, 99th Cong., Ist Sess. 6
n.26 (1985), reprinted in 1985 U.S.C.C.A.N. 156 n.26.

Finally, retroactive application would produce
substantially inequitable results, Chevron Oil, 404 U.S. at
107, as the facts of this case illustrate. Petitioner’s counsel
below, a small firm practitioner in Anoka, Minnesota, took
this case on a contingent basis. After pursuing his client’s
claim for several years, and after the Secretary failed to
file the administrative decision with the district court,
counsel moved for entry of a final judgment and EAJA
fees at a point considered timely under a settled nation-
wide practice. To deny respondent the right to recoup the
fee that he has already paid his attorney "would surely be
inimical to the beneficent purpose of the Congress."
Chevron Oil, 404 U.S. at 108.

Moreover, retroactive application also would be unjust
to the numerous other claimants and their lawyers who
would otherwise suffer from reversal here. Attorneys with

22

pending EAJA applications relied on settled law and
should not be penalized for doing so. More funda-
mentally, claimants will be damaged severely because,
although their attorneys may still obtain a fee in many
cases, such as this one, from their past-due benefits under
42 US.C. § 406(b)(1), a reversal here will, if applied
retroactively, negate any possibility of an EAJA fee, thus
creating the potential that claimants will suffer substantial
losses of needed disability benefits. As Judge Pollak has
put it, "it is difficult to believe that . . . the Supreme Court
would have ordered retroactive application of its newly
announced rule [in Melkonyan]|, because such a decision
would have left without a remedy a large number of Social
Security claimants who had relied on existing law."
Rollins, 784 F. Supp. at 258 (footnote omitted).

Thus, if this Court chooses to reverse, it should give its
ruling prospective effect only because, as in Chevron Oil,
the "equities require[] nonretroactive application of the ...
statute of limitations here." 404 U.S. at 109."

5. Finally, even if the Court decides that Chevron Oil
does not require prospective-only application, the filing
period should be equitably tolled, as it was in Luna v.
Dep't of HHS, 948 F.2d at 172-73, the case which the
Secretary contends properly resolved the timeliness issue
here. Noting that Luna tolled the limitations period

'' The majority of courts that have considered the issue have applied
Melkonyan's sentence-four dicta prospectively only. See, e.g., Sargent vy.
Sullivan, No. 90-1521 (4th Cir. Aug. 22, 1991)(unpublished); Mendez v.
Sullivan, 792 F. Supp. 375, 378 n.2 (E.D. Pa. 1992)(alternative holding); Green
v. Sullivan, 788 F. Supp. 275, 276-78 (W.D. Va. 1992); Sansano, 788 F. Supp.
at 222-25; Bacon, 786 F. Supp. at 438-41; Thomas for Brown, 785 F. Supp. at
791-93; Rollins, 784 F. Supp. at 256-58; Lopez v. Sullivan, 780 F. Supp. 496,
504 (N.D. Ill. 1991); Santiago v. Sullivan, 783 F. Supp. 223, 225-26 (E.D. Pa.
1992); Butts v. Bowen, 775 F. Supp. 1167, 1171-72 (N.D. Ill.), reaffirmed, 778
F. Supp. 453, 453-54 (N.D. Ill. 1981). But see, e.g., Harpster v. Sullivan, 793 F.
Supp. 618, 621-22 (W.D. Pa. 1991)(would not be applied retroactively under
Chevron Oil factors, but Beam requires retroactive application).

23

because the district court’s remand order purported to
retain jurisdiction, the Secretary argues cryptically that
there is "no comparable predicate for an estoppel claim"
here (Pet. 17 n.9). Actually, the situation here is quite
similar to that in Luna, since the district court here did
not enter judgment, but simply denied both parties’
motions for summary judgment (Pet. App. 27a), thus
evincing an obvious intent to retain jurisdiction (which
made sense, as Hudson indicates, since that was the law at
the time the district court’s remand order was issued).

But it is the Secretary’s actions that are most troubling.
The Secretary promised in Brown, supra, that he would
return to the court in every remanded case for entry of
judgment, so that EAJA applications could be considered
in an orderly fashion. The Secretary issued regulatory
commentary to the same effect. 54 Fed. Reg. at 37,791
(claimants have absolute right to return to court after
administrative decision on remand). It defies reason to
suggest, as the Secretary does here, that respondent should
be denied a fee after having taken actions fully consistent
with the Secretary’s own policies. Thus, there is more
than sufficient reason to toll the statute of limitations in

this case.”
o oe oe

If nothing else, this discussion amply illustrates that
summary disposition is wholly inappropriate for a case of
this complexity. But that does not mean that this Court
should become embroiled in these issues so soon after
Melkonyan, rather than allowing fee applicants and their
attorneys to follow the applicable rules in their juris-
dictions. If the problem is as important as the Secretary

" See also Boronat v. Sullivan, 788 F. Supp. 557, 561 (S.D. Fila.
1992)(equitable tolling); Misciagno v. Sec'y of HHS, 786 F. Supp. 1120, 1126
(E.D.N.Y. 1992)(relieving claimant from sentence-four judgment on account
of surprise, inadvertence, or excusable neglect); Ground v. Sullivan, 785 F.
Supp. 1407, 1410 & nn.2 & 3 (S.D. Cal. 1992)(declaring prior judgment null
and void, thus establishing timeliness of claimant's application), Robinson v.
Sullivan, 783 F. Supp. 245, 248 (E.D.N.C. 1991).

24

Says it is, Congress will surely agree and fix it. Meanwhile,
the Court should leave this situation alone.

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.
Respectfully submitted, \

Brian Wolfman

Alan B. Morrison

Public Citizen Litigation Group
Suite 700

2000 P Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 833-3000

Randall J. Fuller

(Counsel of Record)

Babcock, Locher, Neilson &
Mannella

118 Main Street 3

Anoka, Minnesota 55303 1

(612) 421-5151

Attorneys for Respondent

October 16, 1992

la

DEPARTMENT OF
HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
Social Security Administration
OFFICE OF HEARINGS AND APPEALS

SSN: [omitted]
{Claimaint’s name Date mailed: MAY 29 1992
{and address omitted]
[Attorney’s name
{and address omitted]
NOTICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE

LAW JUDGE DECISION
PLEASE READ CAREFULLY

Enclosed is the Administrative Law Judge’s decision on
your claim. This notice gives you information about what
you can do if you disagree with the decision. Please read
this notice and the decision carefully.

If You Disagree With The Decision

If you disagree with the Administrative Law Judge’s
decision, you may appeal to the Appeals Council. You
must do this by filing written exceptions. Exceptions are
your statements explaining why you disagree with the
decision of the Administrative Law Judge.

® Mail the written statement of your exceptions to the
Appeals Council, Office of Hearings and Appeals, P.0.
Box 3200, Arlington, VA 22203.

s You must file your written exceptions within 30 days
from the date you receive this notice. The Appeals
Council will assume that you received the notice within
five days after the date at the top of this notice unless
you show you did not receive it within the five-day
period

8 If you need more time to file your written exceptions,
you must file a written request for additional time with

2a

the Appeals Council within 30 days of the date you
receive this notice. If you request more than a 30-day
extension of time, you must explain why you need the
extra time.

® Please include the Social Security number(s) shown on
the decision on any paper you send to the Appeals
Council.

s The Appeals Council will consider your exceptions and
the parts of the decision you think are wrong. The
Appeals Council may also consider those parts which
you think are correct.

® Ifthe Appeals Council concludes that further action is
necessary, it will either return your case to an
Administrative Law Judge for further action or issue
a decision.

® If the Appeals Council issues a decision, its decision
may be either more or less favorable to you than the
decision of the Administrative Law Judge.

® If the Appeals Council concludes that the decision of
the Administrative Law Judge is correct, it will notify
you in writing why your exceptions do not warrant a
change in the decision of the Administrative Law
Judge.

® If you submit written exceptions and the Appeals
Council does not change the decision of the
Administrative Law Judge, that decision becomes the
final decision of the Secretary after remand.

You Do Not File Written Exceptions

Even if you do not file exceptions, the Appeals Council
may review your case on its own motion (within 60 days
from the date this notice was mailed). The Appeals
Council will notify you if it decides to do so and will
advise you what action it proposes to take.

If the Appeals Council does not review the decision on its
own motion and you do not file exceptions, we will
forward a copy of the decision, and a transcript of the
record in your case to the United States Attorney for filing

3a

with the court. You have the right to pursue your civil
action with the court.

New Application

You have the right to file a new application at any time,
but filing a new application is not the same as filing excep-
tions to this decision. You might lose benefits if you file a
new application instead of filing written exceptions to this
decision. Therefore, if you think this decision is wrong,
you should file your exceptions within 30 days.

If you have any questions, please contact your local Social
Security office. If you visit, please bring this notice and
decision with you.

Replaces Form HA-L99-U6

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0342%3A03. Public record. Not legal advice.
