# Amicus Curiae Brief — Zobrest v. Catalina Foothills School Dist.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0332%3A11

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1993
- **Citation:** 509 U.S. 1

## Text

No. 92-91

~ + - . Ley: >.
Iu the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1992

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES AS AMICI (LRA
SUE PPORTING PETITIONERS

’ '
Ki ‘ ’ .
~
~ 4} i
{ /
- | ’
if } ‘ |
l), /
R ‘ ’
.
|
D
TT
»?

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

The United States will address the fol! »wing ques-
tions:

1. Whether the Establishment Clause of the First
Amendment prevents a government from providing a
sign-language interpreter to a deaf child in a sec-
tarian high school as part of a general program pro-
viding interpreters to similarly handicapped children
in all schools.

2. Whether the Individuals with Disabilities Edu-
cation Act, 20 U.S.C. 1400 ef seg. (1988 & Supp. II
1991), or regulations promulgated under that Act,
prohibit local authorities from using funds granted
under the Act to provide a sign-language interpreter
to a deaf child in a sectarian high school.

(1)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Interest of the United States

Constitutional, statutory, and regulatory provisions
involved

Statement

Summary of argument

Argument:

I. The Establishment Clause does not prohibit
neutral government programs designed to aid
individuals that incidentally may benefit both
sectarian and non-sectarian institutions

A. The IDEA has a secular purpose: to assist
in the education of children with disabili-
ties

B. Because the IDEA neutrally provides bene-
fits to a class defined without reference to
religion, it has a permissible and secular
primary effect

C. The IDEA does not result in excessive en-
tanglement with religion

Il. Neither the IDEA ner regulations under the

IDEA bar respondent from providing an inter-

preter to a deaf child in a sectarian high

schow!
Conclusion
Appendix
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Aaquilar Vv. Felton, A473 US. 402 (1985) 2.

Roard of EKducation vy. Merqens, 196 US. 296
(1990) 2.11.12

Bowen V. Kendrick, 487 U.S. 589 (1988)

County of Allegheny Vo American Civil Lihertios
T’wion, 492 U.S. 573 (1989)

(III)

Page

14,

. 16,
2.17

fo

3
1]

14

22

18

.u4

IV
Cases—Continued : Page
Edwards Vv. Aquillard, 482 U.S. 573 (1987) 14,16
Everson V. Board of Education, 330 U.S. 1 (1947) 17

Goodall V. Statiord County School Board, 930 F.2d
363 (4th Cir.), cert. denied, 112 S. Ct. 188

(1991) “ Se ASE een Comes . 24
Lee V. Weisman, 112 8. Ct. 2649 (1992) 15
Lemon V. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602 (1971) 9,11, 14,17
MeDaniel Vv. Paty, 435 U.S. 618 (1978) 13
Meek V. Pittenger, 421 U.S. 349 (1975) 12, 19, 29
Mueller Vv. Allen, 463 U.S. 388 (1983) 9, 15, 16, 17, 18, 22
Pulido V. Cavazos, 934 F.2d 912 (8th Cir. 1991) {Nn
Roemer V. Board of Public Works, 426 U.S. 736 14
School District V. Ball, 473 U.S. 373 (1985) 9, 12,19
Wallace Vv. Jeffree, A472 US. 38 (1985) 14
Widmar V. Vincent, 454 U.S. 263 (1981) 17-18, 19
Witters Vv. Washington Department of Services for

the Blind, 474 U.S. 481 (1986) 9, 12. 17, 18, 23
Wolman V. Walter, 433 U.S. 229 (1977) 20, 22

Constitution, statutes, and regulations:
U.S. Const. :
Amend. I ( Establishment Clause) passim
Amend. I (Free Exercise Clause) 8, 10,11
Act of Apr. 13, 1970, Pub. L. No. 91-230, § 601,

84 Stat. 175 3
Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965,

20 U.S.C. 2701 ef seq. (1988 & Supp. Il 1991) 2

20 U.S.C. 2791 «f seq. (1988 & Supp. Ul
1991) 4
Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, 26
U.S.C. 1400 ef seq. (1988 & Supp. IIT 1991) 3
20 U.S.C. 1400(a) (1988 & Supp. II] 1991) 3, la,
= 2ha
20 U.S.C. 1400(b) (1988 & Supp. 111 1991) 15, la,
Pha
26U S.C. 140016) 01) (Supp. IIL 1991) 3, 26a
20 U.S.C. 140006) (3) (Supp. HT 1991) %, 26a

20 U.S.C. 1400(b) (8) (Supp. 111 1991) 15, 16, 27a

y
Statutes and regulations—Continued : : Page
20 U.S.C. 140006) 09) (Supp. 11 1991) 16, 27a
20 U.S.C. 14006e) (1988) 9, 2a
26U S.C. 1400e) (Supp. 111991) 4,11, 27a
20 U.S.C. 140 2
20 U.S.C. 1411-1420 (1988 & Supp. ITT 1991) 4,
$u-25a, 27a-44a
20 U.S.C. 1412-1414 (1988 & Supp. ITT 1991) »
3a-25a, 27a-Aia
26 U.S.C. 141212) (BR) (Supp. 11 1991) 4, 2Ra
20 USC. 1413tay (4) (1988 & Supp. II
1991) 5, Ra-9a, 34a-35a
20 U.S.C. 14123 (a) (4) 0A) (Supp. IT 1997) 5, 23,
34da-35a
20 US. 1413tar C4 OB) (Sapp. I 1991) 5, 35a
2OU S.C. 1415 tep C40 AD -
20 U.S.C. 1419 (1988 & Supp. 11 1991) 4

Special Education for Exceptional Children Act.
$$ 15-761 «f eey.. Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. (Weet

1991) 3

34C_.F.R.:
Pt. 76:

Section 76.1 8. a

Section 76.522 3, 7, 22, 45a-4Ga

Section 76.532 (ap (1) 7, 23, 45a

Section 76.532(a) (2) 7. a

Section 76.5232 (a) (3) 7. 45a

Section 76.532 (a) (4) 7. Ma

Sections 76 650-76 (42 3, Ma-52a

Sections 76.651-76.662 5, A7a-52a

Section T6.65liay¢l) 6, 23, 47a

Section 76.6510) §, 1Ra

Section 76.65% (a) 6. 18, 5a

Section T6.65R8 (hb) 6. 51a

Section 76.659 6. 5la

Seetion 76.602 6, 52a
MCPR.:

Pt. 30 5

Sertion-< “ie tite Sew 2

~

3%. 53a-Sia

Vi

Reyulations-—C ontinued :

Section 300.403 (a)

Section 300.451 (b)

Section 300.152
Pts. 300-338

Miscellaneous :

Dixie Snow Huefner & Steven F. Huefner, Pwb-
liely Financed Interpreter Services for Paro-
chial School Students with IDEA-B Disabilities,
21 J.L. & Educ. 223 (1992)

U.S. Dep't of Education, To Assure the Free Ap-
propriate Public Education of All Children with
Disahilitios ¢ 1992)

20-21

Iu the Supreme Court of the United States

OcTOLER Tero, 1992

No. 92-94
LARRY ZOBREST, ET AL., PETITIONERS
0.

CATALINA FOOTHILLS Scroor. District

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES AS AMICUS CURIAE
SUPPORTING PETITIONERS

INTEREST OF THE UNITED STATES

The principal question in this case is whether the
Establishment Clause permits a government author-
ity to provide a sign-language interpreter to a deaf
child in a sectarian high school as part of a general
program providing interpreters to similarly handi-
capped children in all schools. Congress's passage of
the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, 20
U.S.C, 1400 ef seg. (1988 & Supp. 111 1991) (IDEA),
reflects Congress®% determination that “State and
local educational agencies have a responsibility to
provide education for all children with disabilities,”

(1)

”
=

Section M00e(b) Cs) (Supp. LL 1991), and that “it
is in the national interest that the Federal Govern-
ment assist State and local etlorts to provide pro-
grams to meet the educational needs of children with
disabilities in order to assure equal protection of the
law,” Section 1400(b)(9) (Supp. IIL 1991). Ae-
cordingly, the United States has a significant inter-
est in defending the constitutionality of the program
challenged in this case.

Also, the Department of Education administers the
IDEA program challenged in this case, see 20 U.S.C,
1402, and has promulgated regulations that imple-
ment the IDEA. See 34 C.FLR. Pts. 300-338. Sim-
ilarly, the Department of Education provides reme-
dial educational services to educationally deprived
children in low-income areas attending private
schools under Chapter 1 of Title I of the Elementary
and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA), 20
U.S.C. 2701 ef seq. (1988 & Supp. IL 1991). The
['nited States has a substantial interest in ensuring
that the Court's disposition of this case is informed
by the Department of Education's understanding of
those progrems.

The United States has participated as a party or
amicus curize in numerous cases arising under the
Establishment Clause. See, ¢.¢.. Lee +. Weisman, 112
S. Ct. 2649 (1992): Board of Education v. Merqensa,
196 US. 226 (1990); County of Allegheny s. Amer-
CH Civil Vihe rlies [nion, 102 Us, 573 (1089):
Bowen s. Kendrick, AST US. 589 (1988): Willers vs.
Weshington Department of Services for the Bl vd,
174 U.S. 481 (1986): Aguilar vy. Felton, A72 US.
102 (1985): School District ». Ball, ATR VS. 278
(1985): Wueller ». Allen, 463 US. 388 (1983).

a3

CONSTITUTIONAL, STATUTORY, AND
REGULATORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED
1. The Establishment Clause of the First Amend-
ment provides: “Congress shall make no law respect-
ing an establishment of religion.”
2. 20 U.S.C, 1400 and 1412-1414 (1988 & Supp.
11] 1991) are reprinted in an Appendix, infra, la-t4a.
4. 34 CPLR. 76.1, 76.532, 76.650-76.662, and
SOO A00-300,452 are reprinted in an Appendix, infra,
Ma-a.
4. The Special Education for Exceptional Children
Act, $$ 15-761 «¢f seq., Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. (West
1991), is reprinted at Pet. App. A106-A127.

STATEMENT

1. When Congress enacted the Education of the
Handicapped Act in 1970 (now known as the In-
dividuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA),
see 20 USC, 140064) (Supp. ILL 19919), it found
that there vere “more than eight million handicapped
children in the United States” and that “more than
half of the handicapped children in the United States
dfid] not receive appropriate educational services
which would enable them to have full equality of
opportunity.” Pub. L. No, 91-230, $601, 84 Stat.
175, codified os amended at 20 ULS.C. 1400(b) 01)
and (3) (Supp. 11 1991). Recognizing that “it is in
the national interest that the Federe! Government
ixsjst State and hon! efforts to provide programs te
meet the educational needs of handicapped children
in order to assure equal protection of the law.”
Section 1100(b)(9) (Supp. TL 1991), Congress has
provided in Subchapter IL of the IDEA for » srogram
of federal «rants to aid state and local aw! ‘writies tp
providing educational assistance for children with

4

disabilities. See 20 U.S.C. 1411-1420 (1988 & Supp.
III 1991).

Those grants, together with other federal grants
the Department of Education administers to assist
children with disabilities,' currently provide more
than $2 billion each year in assistance to States and
local school districts to assist those children. See
U.S. Dep't of Education, To Assure the Free Appro-
priate Public Education of All Children with Dis-
abilities, A-207 (Table AG1) (1992) (Fourteenth
Annual Report to Congress on the Implementation of
the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act)
(hereinafter (92 IDEA Report]... During the 1990-
1991 school year, those programs served more than
42 million children, of whom about 60,000 were
identified as children primarily disabled because of a
hearing impairment. 1992 IDEA Report, at 7 (Table
1.3).

The fundamental requirement for obtaining a
grant under the IDEA is that the State make avail-
able “a free appropriate public education for all
children with disabilities” in the State, 20 U.S.C.
1412(2) (PR) (Supp. IT 1991). But the IDEA’s pur-
poses are not limited to children in public schools.
To the contrary, Section 1400(¢) (Supp. Hl 1991)
states thet the purpose of the IDEA is to “assure
that all children with disabilities have available * * *

‘The Department provides grants for three- to five-
year-olds with disabilities under the Preschool Grants Pro-
gram, 20 U.S.C. 1419 (1988 & Supp. II] 1991), and operates
a special program for children with disabilities in state-
operated or supported institutions as part of the larger pro-
gram for educationally deprived children under the ESEA,
see 20 U.S.C. 2791 et seq. (1988 & Supp. IIT 1991).

2 We have lodged a copy of the 1992 IDEA Report with
the Court and provided copies to counsel for the parties.

a

a free appropriate public education,” and “to assist
States and localities to provide for the education of
all children with disabilities’ (emphasis added).”
Section 1413(a)(4) (1988 & Supp. II] 1991) di-
rectly addresses the State’s obligations with respeci
to children in private schools. If school authorities
have selected the private school as the means of pro-
viding 2 “free appropriate public education” to the
child, Section 1413(a)(4)(B) (Supp. IIT 1991) re-
quires the State to provide the appropriate services
in all cases “at no cost to * * * parents or guardian.”
With respect to children placed by their parents in
private schools after rejecting an appropriate public
school placement, the public agency must provide for
participation of such children i» special education or
related services only “to the extent consistent with
the number and location of children with disabilities
in the State who are enrolled in private elementary
and secondary schools.” Section 1413(a) (4) (A)
(Supp. IT] 1991).

The Secretary of Education has promulgated regu-
lations implementing the grant program established
by the IDEA. See 34 C.F.R. Pt. 300. Section
300.403(a) provides that when children with dis-
abilities are placed in a private school by their par-
ents’ choice “the public agency is not required by this
part to pay fer the child’s education at the private
school or facility’: instead the agency is required
to “make services available to the child as provided
under S£ 300,450-300.452."" Section 300,452, in turn,
provides that the agency “shall provide specia! edu-
ention and related services designed to meet ive
needs of private school childyen with disabilities re-
siding in the jurisdiction of the agency.” The mean-
ing of this requirement is clarified hy the provisions
of 34 C.F.R. 76.651-76.662, which establish general

6

regulations for participation by private school stu-
dents in the various grant programs administered
by the Department of Education. Those regulations
require the agency to “provide students enrolled in
private schools with a genuine opportunity for equit-
able participation [in the programs offered by the
agency to other students].” Section 76.651(a)(1).’
Benefits provided to students in private schools must
“be comparable in quality, scope, and opportunity
fur participation to the program benefits that the
[agency] provides for students enrolled in public
schools.” Section 76.654(a). Where “necessary to
provide equitable program benefits” that are “not
normally provided by the private school,” the agency
“may use program funds to make public personnel
available” in the private school’s facilities. Section
76.659."

Finally, the regulations do not draw a distinction
in eligibility between students in private schools that

*That portion of Part 76 of 34 C.F.R. is made directly
applicable to IDEA grants by 34 C.F.R. 300.451 (b).

‘The Department of Education has advised us that pro-
grams funded under the IDEA during the 1989-1990 school
year assisted over 43,000 children placed in private schools
by their parents. Although the Department does not collect
data on the proportion of those students who attend sectarian
private schools, it has advised us that about 80° of the
private schools in this country are sectarian.

* Funds granted under the program may not be used “to
finance the existing level of instruction in a private school
or to otherwise benefit the private school.” Section 76.658 (a).
Rather, funds must be used “to meet the specific needs of
students enrolled in private schools.” Section 76.658 (b) ; see
also Section 76.662 (prohibiting use of program funds “for
the construction of private school facilities”).

7

are sectarian and those in private schools that are not
sectarian. To ensure that grants for students in sec-
tarian schools are not used for purposes that violate
the Establishment Clause of the First Amendment, 34
C.F.R. 76.532 prohibits the use of federal funds to
pay for “[rleligious worship, instruction, or prosely-
tization,” Section 76.532(a)(1),° or for activities of
schools of divinity, Section 76.532(a) (4).

2. Petitioner James Zobrest is profoundly deaf.
Pet. App. Ad; J.A. 87. Accordingly, he requires the
services of a sign-language interpreter in order to
obtain the benefit of normal classroom instruction.
J.A. SS. Before sixth grade, he attended a school for
the deaf. Pet. App. A128; J.A. 88. He attended
grades six through eight in a public school operated by
respondent; respondent provided an interpreter who
accompanied him to all of his classes. Pet. App. A128;
J.A. S&. For religious reasons, his parents, peti-
tioners Larry and Sandra Zobrest, who are Roman
Catholics, enrolled James for the ninth grade in the
Salpointe Catholic High School, a sectarian institu-
tion operated by the Carmelite Order of the Roman
Catholic Church. Pet. App. A5; J.A. 89-90. When
petitioners asked respondent to provide an interpreter
to accompany James to his classes at Salpvinte, re-
spondent referred the matter to the Pima County At-
tornev, who concluded that it would violate the Es-
tablishment Clause to provide an interpreter on Sal-
pointe’s premises. J.A. 10-18. In June 1988, the

" See also Section 76.532 (a) (2) and (3) (prohibiting the use
of federal grants to pay for “[e]quipment or supplies to be
used for any of the activities specified in [Section 76.532 (a)
(1)!” or for “fejonstruction, remodeling, repair, operation,
or maintenance of any facility * * * to be used for any of the
activities specified in [Section 76.532(a)(1)]").

8

Arizona Attorney General concurred in this opinion.
Pet. App. A137.

3. Petitioners then instituted this action in the
United States District Court for the District of Ari-
ozna, arguing that the IDEA and the Free Exercise
Clause of the First Amendment require respondent to
provide an interpreter, and that the Establishment
Clause does not bar that relief. J.A. 19-26." In re-
sponse to petitioners’ request for a preliminary in-
junction, respondent “admit[ted] that the [IDEA]
requires it to provide for [petitioner] * * * the serv-
ices of a sign language interpreter, so long as [peti-
tioner] is educated in a non-parochial setting,” J.A.
34, but argued that the Establishment Clause pro-
hibited it from providing an interpreter in a parochial
setting, J.A. 33-40. On August 15, 1988, the dis-
trict court denied petitioners’ request for a prelimi-
nary injunction, accepting respondent’s Establishment
Clause argument and explaining that it found “no
likelihood of success on the merits.” J.A. 52-53. On
July 20, 1989, the district court granted summary
judgment for respondent. Pet. App. A355. The court
stated that “the interpreter would act as a conduit for
the religious inculeation of [petitioner]—thereby, pro-

7 The district court had jurisdiction over petitioners’ action
under 20 U.S.C. 1415(e) (4) (A), which grants the district
court authority over actions brought to resolve disputes over
the appropriate services to be provided to handicapped chil-
dren under the IDEA. Although respondents initially con-
tended that the action should be dismissed based on petition-
ers’ failure to exhaust administrative remedies, see J.A. 45-
51, the parties eventually agreed that exhaustion of admin-
istrative remedies was not required because exhaustion would
be futile. See J.A. 94-95. Because respondents conceded the
point in the court of appeals, see Pet. App. A6 n.2, it is not
before the Court.

9

moting [petitioner’s] religious development at govern-
ment expense.”” /hid,

4. A divided panel of the court of appeals affirmed
(Pet. App. Al-A34), applying the three-prong test
articulated in Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602
(1971). First, the court concluded that the statute
passed the first prong, because “Congress made clear
its secular purpose” in the introductory portion of the
statute: “to assist States and Localities to provide for
the education of all handicapped children.” Pet. App.
A8 (quoting 20 U.S.C. 1400(¢c) (1988) ).

The court then turned to the second prong, whether
the primary effect of the statute advances religion.
Pet. App. A9-A13. The court concluded that the sta-
tute, as apnlied in this case, fails that prong, reason-
ing that the program creates a “symbolic union” of
the type found unacceptable in School District y. Ball,
473 U.S. 373, 392 (1985). The court reasoned that
the requested interpreter would attend classes at Sal-
pointe that would involve religious matters and thus
“would he the instrumentality conveying the religious
message and experience.” Pet. App. Al10. In the
court’s view, “!h]y placing its employee in the sec-
tarian school to perform this function, the government
would create the appearance that it was a ‘joint
sponsor’ of the school’s activities.” bid. j

The court distinguished Mueller y. Allen, 463 U.S.
388 (1983), and Witters v. Washington Department
of Services for the Blind, 474 U.S. 481 (1986)—
cases in which this Court upheld programs that made
governmental benefits available neutrally to classes
defined without reference to religion, even in cases
where religious entities benefited indirectly—as cases
in which the government was not “required to place
its own employee in the sectarian school.”’ Pet. App.

10

All. The court also rejected petitioners’ claim that
the secular content of the interpreter’s services would
be readily ascertainable, relying on the parties’ con-
cession that “the interpreter would be required to act
in a school environment in which the two functions of
secular education and advancement of religious values
or beliefs are inextricably intertwined.” Pet. App.
A12-A13 (internal quotation marks omitted ).”

Judge Tang dissented. Pet. App. A16-A34. He con-
cluded that the statute was constitutional because of
his view that “similar general educational welfare
programs have passed constitutional muster” in this
Court’s decisions in Witters and Mueller, Pet. App.
A19. He also rejected the majority’s reliance on Ball,
explaining that “[g]eneral welfare programs neu-
trally available to all children, in both public and pri-
vate schools, do not suffer the same constitutional dis-
ability [as programs limited to private schools! he-
cause their benefits diffuse over the entire population.”
Pet. App. A21. Accordingly, Judge Tang would have
reversed the district court.”

* The court also rejected petitioners’ Free Exercise Clause
claim. Pet. App. A13-A15. Although the court agreed that
denial of an interpreter would “placfe] a burden on an in-
dividual’s free exercise rights,” it found that burden accept-
able in light of what it viewed as “a compelling interest in
ensuring that the Establishment Clause is not violated.” Pet.
App. Al4. Petitioners have not challenged the Free Exercise
Clause holding in this Court. Pet. 10 n.9.

* During the lengthy pendency of petitioners’ case before
the Ninth Circuit panel (more than two years), petitioner
James pursued his high school studies; he graduated on May
16, 1992, 2 few weeks after the panel’s decision. Pet. 4. The
case nevertheless presents a continuing controversy because
petitioners still seek reimbursement for the cost of the inter-

11

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

1. Under this Court’s decision in Lemon v. Aurtz-
man, 403 U.S. 602 (1971), a statute does not violate
the Establishment Clause if it has a secular purpose,
its primary effect does not advance religion, and it
(oes not lead to excessive entanglement with reli-
gion. /d. at 612-613. The program challenged in this
case passes that test.

a. The statute has a secular purpose, set forth
in 20 U.S.C. 1400(¢c) (Supp. III 1991): “to assist
States and localities to provide for the education of
all children with disabilities.” Neither the court of
appeals nor respondent has identified any reason
to doubt the sufficiency or validity of that purpose.
Accordingly, the statute passes the first prong. Com-
pare Board of Education vy. Mergens, 496 U.S. 226,
219 (1990) (plurality opinion of O’Connor, J.)
(Court “is normally deferential to a [legislative]
articulation of a secular purpose’).

b. The primary effect of the statute neither ad-
vances nor inhibits religion. The challenged program
is part of a general government program that dis-
penses benefits neutrally, without regard to whether
the beneficiaries support religion, are opposed to re-
ligion, or express no opinion. This Court regularly
has rejected claims that such programs have a pri-
mary effect that advances religion simply because
some religious organizations might receive an in-
direct benefit. Instead, it has concluded that the

pretey they retained. See ibid.; J.A. 42 (respondent's ac-

knowledgment that petitioners “may be entitled to reimburse-
ment from [respondent] for the additional cost of an inter-
preter incurred”). The record suggests that the interpreter
cost petitioners approximately $7,000 each year. J.A. 65.

12

primary effect is the secular effect that was the goal
of the legislature. For example, in Wifters vy. Wash-
ington Department of Services for the Blind, 474
U.S. 481 (1986), this Court rejected an Establish-
ment Clause challenge to a program allowing the
use of government funds to defray educational ex-
penses of a blind student, in a case where the student
used the funds to pursue theological studies at a
pervasively sectarian institution. The Court should
reach the same result here.

The court of appeals justified a contrary result
by relying on this Court’s decisions in School Dis-
trict vy. Ball, 473 U.S. 373 (1985), and Meek v.
Pittenger, 421 U.S. 349 (1975). Those cases, how-
ever, are not dispositive. Those cases involved the
use of public funds to pay teachers who would teach
classes in classrooms in sectarian schools. In those
cases, the Court concluded that there was a substan-
tial risk that the teaching of the publicly funded
employees would be affected by the sectarian environ-
ment, which would result in the public funds being
used to convey sectarian ideology. But petitioners
are not asking for a publicly funded teacher; they
are asking for an interpreter, who will perform an
objective task not likely to be affected by the sec-
tarian atmosphere in which he works; as a practical
matter, his function is indistinguishable from that
of a highly developed hearing aid. Because the inter-
preter is not himself teaching the child anything,
the fact that his work assists the student in under-
<tanding the sectarian message of the student's teach-
ers does not create an establishment of religion. In
sum, the primary effect of the interpreter is to aid
the student in understanding his teachers. That is
noc an effect that impermissibly advances religion.

13

c. Finally, the case does not pose an unacceptable
risk of an excessive entanglement with religion.
Because the interpreter is merely a technical facili-
tator of communications, there is no need for the
State to monitor the interpreter’s daily activities.
Hence, the State’s monitoring generally would be
limited to the simple tasks of arranging for the in-
terpreter’s presence at the school, and assessing his
qualifications for his job and his adequacy in per-
forming that job, tasks that present no risk of inter-
ference with sectarian authorities at the school chosen
by petitioners.

At bottom, the analysis of the court of appeals is
inconsistent with this Court’s view that the “Estab-
lishment Clause does not license government to treat
religion and those who teach or practice it * * * as
subversive of American ideals and therefore subject
to unique disabilities.” Mergens, 496 U.S. at 248
(quoting ./ceDaniel vy. Paty, 435 U.S. 618, 641 (1978)
(Brennan, J., concurring in the judgment) ). Accord-
ingly, the judgment of the court of appeals should
be reversed. :

2. Neither the IDEA nor regulations promulgated
under it prohibit the use of IDEA grants to provide
interpreters in sectarian high schools. Although the
IDEA itself does not establish an individual entitle-
ment to services for students placed in private schools
at their parents’ option, it does require the States
to offer those students an equitable opportunity to
participate in the services made available with fed-
eral funds to al] students, and draws no distinction
between students in sectarian private schools and
those in secular private schools. Accordingly, nothing
in the IDEA or its regulations undermines _peti-
tioners’ arguments under the Establishment Clause.

11

ARGUMENT

Il. THE ESTABLISHMENT CLAUSE DOES NOT PRO-
HIBIT NEUTRAL GOVERNMENT PROGRAMS
DESIGNED TO AID INDIVIDUALS THAT INCI-
DENTALLY MAY BENEFIT BOTH SECTARIAN
AND NONSECTARIAN INSTITUTIONS

Under this Court’s decision in Lemon v. Kurtzman,
403 U.S. 602 (1971), a statute does not violate the
Establishment Clause of the First Amendment if it
passes each prong of a three-pronged test: (1) it
“ha[s] a secular legislative purpose”; (2) “its prin-
cipal or primary effect * * * neither advances nor
inhibits religion”; and (3) it does “not foster an
excessive entanglemen' with religion.” /d. at 612-
613 (internal quotation marks omitted). Although
a majority of the members of this Court have criti-
cized the tripartite test articulated by Lemon," the

” E.g., County of Allegheny V. American Civil Liberties
Union, 492 U.S. 573, 655 (1989) (Kennedy, J., concurring in
the judgment and dissenting in part) (“Substantial revision
of our Establishment Clause doctrine may be in order.”);
Edwards Vv. Aquillard, 482 U.S. 573, 636 (1987) (Scalia, J.,
dissenting) (“pessimistic evaluation * * * of the totality of
Lemon is particularly applicable to the ‘purpose’ prong”):
Wallace Vv. Jaffiree, 472 U.S. 38, 112 (1985) (Rehnquist, J..
dissenting) (Lemon test is “a constitutional theory [that]
has no basis in the history of the amendment it seeks to
interpret, is difficult to apply and yields unprincipled re-
sults”): Aguilar v. Felton, 473 U.S. 402, 429 (1985)
(‘O’Connor, J., dissenting) (expressing “doubts about the
entanglement test” of Lemon); Roemer Vv. Board of Public
Works, 426 U.S. 736, 768 (1976) (White, J., concurring in
the judgment) (“I am no more reconciled to Lemon 7 now
than I was when it was decided. * * * The threefold test of
Lemon I imposes unnecessary [and] superfluous tests for
establishing [a First Amendment violation].”).

15

Court has not seen fit thus far to revisit that test."
In any event, because the IDEA passes Lemon's three-
pronged test, it does not violate this Court’s Lemon-
based understanding of the Establishment Clause.

A. The IDEA Has a Secular Purpose: To Assist in
the Education of Children with Disabilities

In this case, as in other cases involving govern-
mental assistance programs, “f]]ittle time need he
spent on the question” of whether the IDEA has a
secular purpose, Jueller v. Allen, 463 U.S. 388, 394
(1983). The statute sets forth its secular purpose
with clarity. In 20 U.S.C. 1400(b) (1988 & Supp.
III 1991), Congress set forth nine findings explain-
ing its reasons for enacting the statute. The most
relevant to this case are the eighth and ninth find-
ings, which declare that “State and local educational
agencies have a responsibility to provide education
for all children with disabilities,” 20 U.S.C. 1400
(b) (8) (Sunmm. TTT 1991), and that “it is in the
national interest that the Federal Government assist

" The Court in Lee v. Weisman, 112 S. Ct. 2649 (1992),
declined our suggestion that it revisit the applicability of
Lemon in the context of civic acknowledgment of religion,
viewing the case as an instance of “state-sponsored and state-
directed religious exercise in a public school,” a view that led
directly to the result the Court reached without the need for
consideration of Lemon’s tripartite test. 112 S. Ct. at 2655.
In our view, a straightforward application of Lemon does not
draw seriously into question the service that petitioner was
denied. If, however, the court of appeals’ reasoning—or that
of the district court—-is deemed by this Court to be faithful
to Lemon's strictures, then reexamination of Lemon's ap-
proach to Establishment Clause analysis would be in order.

16

State and local efforts to provide programs to meet
the educational needs of children with disabilities,”
Section 1400(b) (9) (Supp. TIT 1991). Similarly, the
next subsection, Section 1400(¢) (Supp. TI] 1991).
headed “Purpose,” lists several purposes of the stat-
ute: the one relevant to the program at issue in this
case explains that “[i]t is the purpose of this chap-
ter “ * * to assist States and localities to provide
for the education of all children with disabilities.”
Nothing in Section 1400 offers the slightest sup-
port for a finding that the IDEA has a nonsecular
purpose. As Justice O'Connor explained two years
ago, this Court “is normally deferentia! to a [legis-
lative] articulation of a secular purpose.” Board of
Education vy. Merqgens, 496 U.S, 226, 219 (1990)
(plurality opinion) (quoting Edwards vy. Agvillard,
482 U.S. 578, 586 (1987)). Accordingly, because “a
plausible secular purpose for the * * * program
may be discerned from the face of the statute,”
Mueller, 463 US. at 394-395, the IDEA satisfies the
secular-purpose prong of the Lemon test.

B. Because the IDEA Neutrally Provides Benefits to
a Class Defined Without Reference to Religion, It
Has a Permissible and Secular Primary Effect

As discussed ahove, the IDEA is designed to assist
local governments in “provid!ing] education for a//
children with disabilities,” 20 U.S.C. 1400(b) (8)
(Supp. IIT 1991) (emphasis added); the statute
draws no distinction between sectarian end nonsec-
tarian schools. Only respondent would make the pro-
gram religion-conscious, because, it has conceded, it
would provide an irterpreter to any student with
the same disability as James Zobrest, whether he was
in a public school or a private school, so long as he

17

was not attending a sectarian private school. See
Pet. App, Ad-A5; J.A. 34. Accordingly, because the
program offers general government benefits on a
neutral basis to a class of beneficiaries defined with-
out reference to religion—students with disabilities—
it does not have an impermissible primary effect.

1. As the Court recently explained, “this Court
has never held that religious institutions are disabled
by the First \mendment from participating in pub-
licly sponsored social welfare programs.” Bowen vy.
Kendrick, 487 U.S. 589, 609 (1988). On the con-
trary, “a program * * * that neutrally provides [gov-
ernment] assistance to a broad spectrum of citizens is
not readily subject to challenge under the Establish-
ment Clause.” veller vy, Allen, 463 U.S. 388, 398-
399 (1983)."° This Court’s decisions offer three sepa-
rate reasons to support that conclusion in this case.
First, when 2 »rogram distributes benefits generally,
it is perverse to treat the fortuitous sectarian status
of the particular institution that beneficiaries like
petitioners choose to patronize as tainting the effect of
the program; rather, “[t]he provision of benefits to
so broad a spectrum of groups is an important index
of secular effect.” Widmar v. Vineent, 454 U.S, 268,

'? See Everson Vv. Board of Education, 330 U.S. 1, 16 (1947)
(“we must be careful * * * to be sure that we do not inad-
vertently prohibit [a government] from extending its general
state law benefits to all its citizens without regard to their
religious belief"); Witters v. Washington Department of
Services for the Blind, 474 U.S. 481, 490-491 (1986) (Powell,
J., concurring) (“state programs that are wholly neutral in
offering educational assistance to a class defined without
reference to religion do not violate the second part of the
Lemon V. Kurtzman test”): id. at 493 (O’Connor, J., con-
curring).

18

274 (1981).'" Second, in tases like this one,'' where
the “financial benefit [is] ultimately controlled by
the private choices of individual parents,” it is im-
plausible to conclude thet the primary effect of the
grant is the “attenuated financial benefit” sectarian
institutions receive when parents who are benefici-
uries enroll their children, Wvueller, 463 U.S. at 400:
it is more natural to conclude that the “primary”
effect is the benefit the program grants the parents,
in this case, assistance in providing education for
children with disabilities. See Witters v. Washington
Department of Services for the Blind, 474 U.S. 481,
187 (1986) (upholding program where “fa]ny aid
* * * that ultimately flows to religious institutions
does so only as a result of the genuinely independent
and private choices of aid recipients’’).'° Third, a

See Board of Education Vv. Merqens, 496 U.S. at 248
(same) (plurality opinion of O’Connor, J.); Mueller, 463
U.S. at 397 (same).

As discussed above, regulations under the IDEA prohibit
the use of federal funds “to finance the existing level of in-
struction in a private school or to otherwise benefit the pri-
vate school.” 34 C.F.R. 76.658 (a).

'" The court of appeals concluded (Pet. App. All) that this
line of reasoning is inapplicable here because the program
would involve the government placing one of its employees in
a sectarian school. We see no logical force to that argument.
The location of the employee is irrelevant to the question of
why he is there; it is clear that the emplovee would be placed
in a sectarian school only if the parents choose to enroll their
child there. What the court of appeals really seems to be
suggesting is that the Establishment Clause flatly prohibits
placing any public employee in a sectarian school. As we
explain below, that suggestion is inconsistent with this Court's
decisions.

19

contrary course of reasoning would lead to absurd
results, inconsistent with the traditions of our Nation
that have informed this Court’s understanding of the
Establishment Clause: “If the Establishment Clause
barred the extension of general benefits to religious
groups, a church could not be protected by the police
and fire departments or have its public sidewalk
kept in repair.” Widmar, 454 U.S. at 274-275 (in-
ternal quotation marks omitted). In Witters, this
Court applied that principle to a program strikingly
similar to the one at issue here, which allowed the
use of government funds to defray the educational
expenses of certain handicapped students. In our
view, the court of appeals erred in refusing to apply
the same principle to this case.

2. The decision of the court of appeals rested on
its view that a contrary result was required by this
Court’s decisions in School District y. Ball, 473 USS.
343 (1985), and Meek y. Pittenger, 421 U.S. 349
(1975). We disagree. In those cases, this Court was
concerned that the statements of teachers paid by
public funds to teach classes in sectarian classrooms
would be affected by the sectarian aspects of the at-
mosphere in which they taught, so that there was
an unacceptable chance that public funds would be
diverted into religious uses.

Contrary to the court of appeals’ understanding,
Ball and Meek do not establish a flat rule prohibiting
the government from “plac[ing] its own employee
in the sectarian school,” Pet. App. A11. Instead, the
Court has made clear that the concern on which
those decisions rest arises out of the confluence of
(1) en individual whose task is sufficiently subjective
to allow for the gradual insinuation of sectarian
ideology, and (b) the sectarian atmosphere that exists

20

in the classrooms of a sectarian school.” For exam-
ple, in Wolman vy. Walter, 433 U.S. 229 (1977), the
Court made clear that the Establishment Clause per-
mitted the provision of public health services to stu-
dents in sectarian schools. /d. at 242. Similarly, the
Court concluded that diagnostic speech and hearing
services could be provided at the same locations,'’
explaining that “[t]he nature of the relationship
between the diagnostician and the pupil does not
provide the same opportunity for the transmission of
sectarian views as attends the relationship between
teacher and student.” /d. at 244; see id. at 247
(therapists should be treated differently, based on
the “danger that publicly employed personne! who
provide services analogous to those at issue here
might transmit religious instruction” }.

Application of that reasoning to this case man-
dates reversal of the judgment of the court of ap-
peals. An interpreter’s task, unlike a teacher’s, does
not involve subjective choices that pose a substantial
risk of the intrusion of sectarian ideology. Ethical
guidelines require interpreters to “render the message
faithfully, always conveying the content and spirit
of the speaker.” J.A. 72. Moreover, as one com-
mentator has noted, it would be quite difficult for an
interpreter to insinuate sectarian ideas into his trans-
lation of a teacher’s comments “given the single-
minded concentration required to perform the job.”
Dixie Snow Huefner & Steven F. Huefner, Publicly
Financed Interpreter Services for Parochial School

Cf. Pulido Vv. Cavazos, 934 F.2d 12 (8th Cir. 1991)
(permissible in appropriate circumstances to provide educa-
tional services on publicly owned and controlled mobile units
parked on the sectarian school’s property).

'T See Meek, 421 U.S. at 371 n.21 (same).

21

Students with IDEA-B Disabilities, 21 JL. & Educ.
225, 236 n.65 (1992). At bottom, an interpreter is
analytically indistinguishable from a hearing aid,
which adds nothing to the message conveyed by the
teacher. It may be that the sectarian teacher is con-
veying sectarian ideas, but the interpreter is doing
nothing more than translating those ideas so the
student can understand what is being said. That
activity does not raise a significant Establishment
Clause concern.

In sum, the IDEA is a neutral government pro-
gram dispensing aid to children with disabilities.
The primary effect of the program is to increase the
educational opportunities for children with disabili-
ties. Because that effect is decidedly secular, the
program passes scrutiny under the second prong of
the Lemon analysis.

C. The IDEA Does Not Result in Excessive Entangie-
ment with Religion

The government activities necessary to administer
a grant providing for an interpreter in a sectarian
school do not result in an excessive entanglement
with religion. The only significant administrative
tusks would be ensuring in the first instance that the
interpreter was qualified, making arrangements with
the school officials to accommodate the presence of
the interpreter, and monitoring the interpreter’s per-
formance from time to time to ensure that he was
performing his job in an adequate manner. Those
tasks do not involve government officials in any way
with the sectarian administration of the private
school and thus cannot ipvelve the “comprehensive,
discriminating, «und continuing state surveillance

22

necessary to run afoul of [the entanglement] stand-
ard.” Mueller y. Allen, 463 U.S. 388, 403 (1983)
(internal quotation marks omitted). Nor is there
any need for the State to engage in any continuing
surveillance of the interpreter’s activities at the
school “to guard aganist the infiltration of religious
thought.” Aguilar v. Felion, 473 U.S. 402, 415
(1985). When the government has a neutral program
providing public health services on a sectarian school’s
premises, and the program pusses the primary effect
prong because there is not “an impermissible risk
of the fostering of ideological views, [i]t follows that
there is no need for excessive surveillance, and there
will not be impermissible entanglement.” Wolman vy.
Walter, 433 U.S. 229, 244 (1977).

* + * * ¥

In sum, the holding of the court of appeals con-
strues the Establishment Clause to require respond-
ent to put petitioners to a choice between their sin-
cerely held religious beliefs and James’s acknow!l-
edged need for an interpreter to enable him to secure
an appropriate education. This Court’s decisions do
not require such a choice. The decision of the court
of appeals should be reversed.

Il. NEITHER THE IDEA NOR REGULATIONS
UNDER THE IDEA BAR RESPONDENT FROM
PROVIDING AN INTERPRETER TO A’ DEAF
CHILD IN A SECTARIAN HIGH SCHOOL

Respondent argued in its brief in opposition to the
petition (Br. in Opp. 13) that 34 CPLR. 76.532 bars
respondent from providing an interpreter to a deaf
child in a sectarian high school. That argument is
incorrect. To be sure, the IDEA does not specify the

23

precise types of assistance educational agencies must
provide to students placed in private schools by their
parents. Instead, agencies must make services avail-
able to such students “to the extent consistent with
the number and location of children with disabilities
in the State who are enrolled in private elementary
and secondary schools.” 20 U.S.C. 1413(a)(4) (A)
(Supp. TT 1991). By regulation, the Secretary of
Mducation has interpreted that provision to require
local agencies to “provide students enrolled in private
schools with a genuine opportunity for equitable par-
ticipation” in the programs the agency offers to other
students. 34 C.FLR. 76.651 (a) (1).

As noted above, respondent’s argument rests on
O41 CFR. 76.532(a) (1), which prohibits the use of
federally granted funds to pay for “[rJeligious wor-
ship, instruction, or proselytization.”” But that regu-
lation dees nething more than implement the Secre-
tary’s understanding of the requirements of the
establishment Clause, which would prohibit the direct
use of federal funds for such overtly religious pur-
poses, It does not suggest in any way that the De-
partment would prohibit respondent from offering a
facially neutral program—identical to that available
for children in’ public and nonsectarian private
schools—to parents who hed enrolled their child in
a sectarian school.” Because the service requested
here would be used to overcome James Zobrest’s hear-
ing defect, rather than for religious worship, in-

'* See Brief for the United States as Amicus Curiae, at 21
n.l1, Witters Vv. Washington Department of Services for the
Blind, 474 U.S. 481 (1986) (0.7. 1985) (explaining this
interpretation of Section 76.532(a) (1)).

24

struction, or proselytization, the service would be
consistent with the regulation.”

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the court of appeals should be
reversed,

Respectfully submitted.

KENNETH W. STARR
Solicitor General

STUART M. GERSON
Assistant Attorney General

JOHN G. ROBERTS, JR.
Deputy Solicitor General

RONALD J. MANN
Assistant to the Solicitor General

—

JEFFREY C. MARTIN
General Counsel

SUSAN CRAIG
Assistant General Counsel
Department of Education

NOVEMBER 1992

1” As this discussion should make clear, we do not agree

with the interpretation placed on this regulation by the Fourth
Circuit in Goodall v. Stafford County School Board, 930 F.2d
263. 369, cert. denied, 112 S. Ct. 188 (1991). We note that

the Fourth Circuit did not have the benefit of the Secretary
of Education’s views when it construed Section 76.532 in

Goodall.

APPENDIX
20 U.S.C. 1400, 1412-1414 (1988):
SUBCHAPTER I—GENERAL PROVISIONS

$1100. Congressional statements and declarations

(a) Short title

This chapter may be cited as the “Education of the
Handicapped Act”.

(b) Findings
The Congress finds that—

(1) there are more than eight million handi-
capped children in the United States today;

(2) the specia! educational needs of such chil-
(ven are not being fully met;

(5) more than half of the handicapped chil-
dren in the United States do not receive appro-
priate educational services which would enable
them to have full equality of opportunity;

(4) one-million of the handicapped children
in the United States are excluded entirely from
the public school system and will not go through
the educational process with their peers;

(5) there are many handicapped children
throughout the United States participating in
regular school programs whose handicaps pre-
vent them from having a successful educational
experience because their handicaps are unde-
tected ;

(la)

2a

(6) because of the lack of adequate services
within the public school system, families are of-
ten forced to find services outside the public
school system, often at great distance from their
residence and at their own expense;

(7) developments in the training of teachers
and in diagnostic and instructional procedures
and methods have advanced to the point that,
given appropriate funding, State and local ed-
ucational agencies can and will provide effective
special education and related services to meet
the needs of handicapped children;

(8) State and local educational agencies have
a responsibility to provide education for all han-
dicapped children, but present financial resources
are inadequate to meet the special educational
needs of handicapped children; and

(9) it is in the national interest that the Fed-
eral Government assist State and local efforts to
provide programs to meet the educational needs
of handicapped children in order to assure equal
protection of the law.

(c) Purpose

_It is the purpose of this chapter to assure that all
handicapped children have available to them, within
the time periods specified in section 1412(2)(B) of
this title, a free appropriate public education which
emphasizes special education and related services de-
signed to meet their unique needs, to assure that the
rights of handicapped children and their parents or
guardians are protected, to assist States and locali-
ties to provide for the education of all handicapped
children, and to assess and assure the effectiveness
of efforts to educate handicapped children.

3a

§ 1412. Eligibility requirements

in order to qualify for assistance under this sub-
chapter in any fiscal year, a State shall demonstrate
to the Secretary that the following conditions are
met:

(1) The State has in effect a policy that as-
sures ail handicapped children the right to a
free appropriate public education.

(2) The State has developed a plan pursuant
to section 1413(b) of this title in effect prior to
November 29, 1975, and submitted not later
than August 21, 1975, which will be amended
so as to comply with the provisions of this para-
graph. Each such amended plan shall set forth
in detail the policies and procedures which the
State will undertake or has undertaken in order
to assure that—

(A) there is established (i) a goal of
providing full educational opportunity to all
handicapped children, (ii) a detailed time-
table for accomplishing such a goal, and
(iii) a description of the kind and number
of facilities, personnel, and services neces-
sary throughout the State to meet such a
goal;

(B) a free appropriate public education
will be available for all handicapped chil-
dren between the ages of three and eighteen
within the State not later than September
1, 1978, and for all handicapped children
between the ages of three and twenty-oie
within the State not later than September
1, 1980, except that, with respect to handi-
capped children aged three to five and aged

da

eighteen to twenty-one, inclusive, the re-
quirements of this clause shall not be ap-
plied in any State if the application of such
requirements would be inconsistent with
State law or practice, or the order of any
court, respecting public education within
such age groups in the State;

(C) all children residing in the State
who are handicapped, regardless of the se-
verity of their handicap, and who are in
need of special education and related serv-
ices are identified, located, and evaluated,
and that a practical method is developed and
implemented to determine which children
are currently receiving needed special edu-
cation and related services and which chil-
dren are not currently receiving needed spe-
cial education and related services ;

(D) policies and procedures are estab-
lished in accordance with detailed criteria
prescribed under section 1417(c) of this
title; and

(E) any amendment to the plan sub-
mitted by the State required by this section
shall be available to parents, guardians, and
other members of the general public at least
thirty days prior to the date of submission
of the amendment to the Secretary.

(3) The State has established priorities for
providing a free appropriate public education to
all handicapped children, which priorities <hal!
meet the timetables set forth in clause (B) of
paragraph (2) of this section, first with respect
to handicapped children who are not receiving

5a

an education, and second with respect to handi-
capped children, within each disability, with the
most severe handicaps who are receiving an in-
adequate education, and has made adequate
progress in meeting the timetables set forth in
clause (B) of paragraph (2) of this section.

(4) Each local educational agency in the State
will maintain records of the individualized edu-
cation program for each handicapped child, and
such program shall be established, reviewed, and
revised as provided in section 1414(a)(5) of
this title.

(5) The State has established (A) procedural
safeguards as required by section 1415 of. this
title, (B) procedures to assure that, to the maxi-
mum extent appropriate, handicapped children,
including children in public or private institu-
tions or other care facilities, are educated with
children who are not handicapped, and that spe-
cial classes, separate schooling, or other removal!
of handicapped children from the regular educa-
tional environment occurs only when the nature
or severity of the handicap is such that educa-
tion in regular classes with the use of supple-
mentary aids and services cannot be achieved
satisfactorily, and (C) procedures to assure that
testing and evaluation materials and procedures
utilized for the purposes of evaluation and place-
ment of handicapped children will be selected
and administered so as not to be racially or cul-
turally discriminatory. Such materials or proce-
dures shall be provided and administered in the
child’s native language or mode of communica-
tion, unless it clearly is not feasible to do 80,

6a

and no single procedure shall be the sole eri-
terion for determining an appropriate educa-
tional program for a child.

(6) The State educational agency shall be re-
sponsible for assuring that the requiremencs of
this subchapter are carried out and that all edu-
eational programs for handicapped children
within the State, including all such programs
administered by any other State or local agency,
will be under the general supervision of the per-
sons responsible for educational programs for
handicapped children in the State educational
agency and shall meet education standards of
the State educational agency. This paragraph
shall not be construed to limit the responsibility
of agencies other than educational agencies in a
State from providing or paying for some or ail
of the costs of a free appropriate public educa-
tion to be provided handicapped children in the

State. odes

(7) The State shall assure that (A) in carry-
ing out the requirements of this section proce-
dures are established for consultation with in-
dividuals involved in or concerned with the edu-
cation of handicapped children, including handi-
capped individuals and parents or guardians of
handicapped children, and (B) there are public
hearings, adequate notice of such hearings, and
an opportunity for comment available to the gen-
eral public prior to adoption of the policies, pro-
grams, and procedures required pursuant to the
provisions of this section and section 1413 of this
title.

Ta
£1113. State plans
(a) Requisite features

Any State meeting the eligibility requirements set
forth in section 1412 of this title and desiring to par-
ticipate in the program under this subchapter shall
submit to the Secretary, through its State educationa!
agency, a State plan at such time, in such manner,
and containing or accompanied by such information,
as the Secretary deems necessary. Fach such plan
shall—

(1) set forth policies and procedures designed
to assure that funds paid to the State under this
subchapter will be expended in accordance with
the provisions of this subchapter, with particular
attention given to the provisions of sections 141!
(hb), W41d(c), PIN), M122), and 1412(3)
of this title;

(2) provide that programs and procedures
will be established to assure that funds received
by the State or any of its political subdivisions
under any other Federal program, including sub-
part 2 of part D of chayter 1 of title | of the
Klementary and Secondary Edueation Act of
1965 120 U.S.C, 2791 et seq.] and section 2352
(1) of this title, under which there is specific
authority for the provision of assistance for the
education of handicapped children, will be uti-
lized by the State, or any of its political subdi-
visions, only in a manner consistent with the goal
of providing a free appropriate public education
for all hondicapped children, except that nothing
in this elauce shall be construed to limit the spe-
eifie requirements of the laws voverning such
Federal provrams ;

8a

(3) set forth, consistent with the purposes of
this Act, a description of programs and proce-
dures for—

(A) the development and implementation
of a comprehensive system of personnel de-
velopment, which shall include—

(i) inservice training of general and
special educational instructional and
support personnel,

(ii) detailed procedures to assure
that all personnel necessary to carry
out the purposes of this Act are appro-
priately and adequately prepared and
trained, and

(iii) effective procedures for acquir-
ing and disseminating to teachers and
administrators of programs for handi-
capped children significant information
derived from educational research, dem-
onstration, and similar projects, and

(B) adopting, where appropriate, promis-
ing educational practices and materials de-
veloped through such projects;

(4) set forth policies and procedures to as-
sure—

(A) that, to the extent consistent with
the number and location of handicapped
children in the State who are enrolled in
private elementary and secondary schools,
provision is made for the participation of
such children in the program assisted or
carried out under this subchapter by provid-

9a

ing for such children special education and
related services; and

(B) that—

(i) handicapped children in private
schools and facilities will be provided
special education and related services
(in conformance with an individualized
education program as required by this
subchapter) at no cost to their parents
or guardian, if such children are placed
in or referred to such schools or facili-
ties by the State or appropriate local
educational agency as the means of
carrying out the requirements of this
subchapter or any other applicable law
requiring the provision of special edu-
cation and related services to all handi-
capped children within such State; and

(ii) in all such instances, the State
educational agency shall determine
whether such schools and facilities meet
standards that apply to State and local
educational agencies and that children
so served have all the rights they would
have if served by such agencies;

(5) set forth policies and procedures which
assure that the State shall seek to recover any
funds made available under this subchapter for
services to any child who is determined to be
erroneously classified as eligible to be counted
under section 1411(a) or 1411(d) of this title;

(6) provide satisfactory assurance that the
control of funds provided under this subchapter,

10a

and title to property derived therefrom, shall be

in a public agency for the uses and purposes pro-

vided in this subchapter, and that a_ public

agency will administer such funds and property;
(7) provide for—

(A) making such reports in such form
and containing such information as the Sec-
retary may require to carry out the Secre-
tary’s functions under this subchapter, and

(B) keeping such records and affording
such access thereto as the Secretary may
find necessary to assure the correctness and
verification of such reports and proper dis-
bursement of Federal funds under this sub-
chapter;

(8) provide procedures to assure that final
action with respect to any application submitted
by a local educational agency or an intermediate
educational unit shall not be taken without first
affording the local educational agency or inter-
mediate educational unit involved reasonable
notice and opportunity for a hearing;

(%) provide satisfactory assurance that Fed-
eral funds made available under [sie] under this
subchapter— fey?

(A) will not be commingled with State
funds, and

(B) will be so used as to supplement and
increase the level of Federal, State, and local
funds (ineluding funds that are not under
the direct control of State or local educa-
tional agencies) expended for special educa-
tion and related services provided to handi-

lla

capped children under this subchapter and
in no case to supplant such Federal, State,
and local funds, except that, where the State
provides clear and convincing evidence that
all handicapped children have available to
them a free appropriate public education, the
Secretary may waive in part the require-
ment of this subchapter if the Secretary con-
curs with the evidence provided by the State;

(10) provide, consistent with procedures pre-
scribed pursuant to section 1417(a)(2) of this
title, satisfactory assurance that such fiscal con-
trol and fund accounting procedures will be
adopted as may be necessary to assure proper
disbursement of, and accounting for, Federal
funds paid under this subchapter to the State,
including any such funds paid by the State to
local educational agencies and intermediate edu-
cational units;

(11) provide for procedures for evaluation at
least annually of the effectiveness of programs in
meeting the educational needs of handicapped
children (including evaluation of individualized
education programs), in accordance with such
criteria that the Secretary shall prescribe pur-
suant to section 1417 of this title;

(12) provide that the State has an advisory
panel, appointed by the Governor or any other
official authorized under State law to make such
appointments, composed of individuals involved
in or concerned with the education of handi-
capped children, including handicapped individ-
uals, teachers, parents or guardians of handi-
capped children, State and local education offi-

12a l3a

out the purposes of this subchapter are appro-
priately and adequately prepared and trained,
including—

cials, and administrators of programs for handi-
capped children, which—

(A) advises the State educational agency
of unmet needs within the State in the edu-
cation of handicapped children,

(B) comments publicly on any rules or
regulations proposed for issuance by the ' ;
State regarding the education of handi- requirements which apply to the area in
capped children and the procedures for dis- | which such personnel are providing special

tribution of funds under this subchapter, | education or related services, and
and (LB) to the extent such standards are not

(C) assists the State in developing and based on the highest requirements in the
reporting such data and evaluations as may State applicable to a specific profession or
assist the Secretary in the performance of discipline, the steps the State is taking to

the responsibilities of the Secretary under require the retraining or hiring of personnel
section 1418 of this title: that mect appropriate professional require-

ments in the State.
(13) set forth policies and procedures for de-

veloping and implementing interagency agree-
ments between the State educational agency and Whenever a State educational agency provides free
other appropriate State and local agencies to— appropriate public education for handicapped chil-
dren, or provides direct services to such children,
such State educational agency shall include, as part
of the State plan required by subsection (a) of this
section, such additional assurances not specified in
such subsection (a) of this section as are contained
in section 1414(a) of this title, except that funds
available for the provision of such education or serv-
ices may be expended without regard to the provisions
relating to excess costs in section 1414(a) of this
title.

(A) the establishment and maintenance
of standards which are consistent with any
State approved or recognized certification,
licensing, registration, or other comparable

(b) Additional assurances

(A) define the financial responsibility of
each agency for providing handicapped chil- —.
dren and youth with free appropriate public
education, and

(B) resolve interagency disputes, includ-
ing procedures under which local educational]
agencies may initiate proceedings under the
agreement in order to secure reimbursement
from other agencies or otherwise implement
the provisions of the agreement; and

(14) set forth policies and procedures relating (c) Notice and hearing prior to disapproval of plan

to the establishment and maintenance of stand- (1) The Secretary shall approve any State plan
ards to ensure that personnel necessary to carry and any modification thereof which—

l4a

(A) is submitted by a State eligible in ac-
cordance with section 1412 of this title; and

(B) meets the requirements of subsection (a)
and subsection (b) of this section.

(2) The Secretary shall disapprove any State plan
which does not meet the requirements of paragraph
(1), but shall not finally disapprove a State plan
except after reasonable notice and opportunity for a
hearing to the State. °

(d) Participation of handicapped children in private
schools; payment of Federal amount; determina-
tions of Secretary: notice and hearing; judicial
review: jurisdiction of court of appeals, petition,
record, conclusiveness of findings, remand, re-
view by Supreme Court

(1) If, on December 2, 1983, a State educational
agency is prohibited by law from providing for the
participation in special programs of handicapped
children enrolled in private elementary and secondary
schools as required by subsection (a) (4) of this see-
tion, the Secretary shall waive such requirement, and
shall arrange for the provision of services to such
children through arrangements which shall be subject
to the requirements of subsection (a)(4) of this
section.

(2)(A) When the Secretary arranges for services
pursuant to this subsection, the Secretary, after con-
sultation with the appropriate public and private
school officials, shall pay to the provider of such
services an amount per child which may not exceed
the Federal amount provided per child under this
subchapter to all handicapped children enrolled in the

lda

State for services for the fiscal year preceding the
fiscal year for which the determination is made.

(B) Pending final resolution of any investigation
or complaint that could result in a determination
under this subsection, the Secretary may withhold
from the allocation of the affected State educational
agency the amount the Secretary estimates would be
necessary to pay the cost of such services.

(C) Any determination by the Secretary under
this section shall continue in effect until the Secretary
determines that there will no longer be any failure or
inability on the part of the State educational agency
to meet the requirements of subsection (a) (4) of this
section.

(3)(A) The Secretary shall not take any final
action under this subsection until the State educa-
tional agency affected by such action has had an
opportunity, for at least 45 days after receiving
written notice thereof, to submit written objections
and to appear before the Secretary or the Secretary’s
designee to show cause why such action should not be
taken.

(B) If a State educational agency is dissatisfied
with the Seeretary’s final action after a proceeding
under subparagraph (A) of this paragraph, it may,
within 60 days after notice of such action, file with
the United States court of appeals for the circuit in
which such State is located a petition for review of
that action. A copy of the petition shall be forthwith
transmitted by the clerk of the court to the Secretary.
The Secretary thereupon shall file in the court the
record of the proceedings on which the Secretary
based the Secretary's action, as provided in section
2112 of title 28.

léa 17a
(C) The tindings of fact by the Secretary, if sup- (1) provide satisfactory assurance that pay-
ported by substantial evidence, shall be conclusive: ments under this subchapter will be used for
but the court, for good cause shown, may remand the excess costs directly attributable to programs
cause to the Secretary to take further evidence, and which—

the Secretary may thereupon make new or modified
findings of fact and may modify the Secretary's pre-
vious action, and shall file in the court the record of
the further proceedings. Such new or modified find-
ings of fact shall likewise be conclusive if supported
by substantial evidence.

(D) Upon the filing of a petition under subpara-
graph (B), the court shall have jurisdiction to affirm
the action of the Secretary or to set it aside, in whole
or in part. The judgment of the court shall be sub-
ject to review by the Supreme Court of the United
States upon certiorari or certification as provided in
section 1254 of title 28.

(e) Prohibition on reduction of assistance

This chapter shall not be construed to permit a
State to reduce medical and other assistance available
or to alter eligibility under titles V and XIX of the
Social Security Act [42 U.S.C. 701 et seq., 1396 et
seq.] with respect to the provision of a free appro-
priate public education for handicapped children
within the State.

S1ttt Applicetion
(a) Requisite features

A local educational ageney or an intermediate edu-
cational unit which desires to receive payments under
section 1411 (d) of this title for any fiseal year shall
submit an application to the appropriate State educa-
tonal agency. Such application shall—

(A) provide that all children residing within
the jurisdiction of the local educational
agency or the intermediate educational unit
who are handicapped, regardless of the se-
verity of their handicap, and are in need of
special education and related services will be
identified, located, and evaluated, and pro-
vide for the inclusion of a practical method
of determining which children are currently
receiving needed special education and re-
lated services and which children are not
currently receiving such education and serv-
ices ;

(B) establish policies and procedures in
accordance with detailed criteria prescribed
under section 1417(c¢) of this title:

(C) establish a goal of providing full edu-
cational opportunities to all handicapped
children, including—

(i) procedures for the implementation
and use of the comprehensive system of
personnel development established by the
State educational agency under section
1413(a)(3) of this title:

(ii) the provision of, and the estab-
lishment of priorities for providing, a
free appropriate public education to all
handicapped children, first with respect
to handicapped children who are not re-

l&a

ceiving an education, and second with
respect to handicapped children, within
each disability, with the most severe
handicaps who are receiving an inade-
quate education ;

(iii) the participation and consulta-
tion of the parents or guardian of such
children; and

(iv) to the maximum extent practica-
ble and consistent with the provisions of

“section 1412(5)(B) of this title, the
provision of special services to enable
such children to participate in regular
educational programs;

(D) establish a detailed timetable for ac-
complishing the goal described in subclause
(C); and

(I.) provide a description of the kind and
number of facilities, personnel, and services
necessary to meet the goal described in sub-
clause (C);

(2) to provide satisfactory assurance that—

(A) the control of funds provided under
this subchapter, and title to property de-
rived from such funds, shall be in a public
agency for the uses and purposes provided
in this subchapter, and that a public agency
will administer such funds and property;

(13) Federal funds expended by local edu *
cational ayencies and intermediate educg-
tional units for programs under this sub-
chapter—

19a

(i) shall be used to pay only the ex-
cess costs directly attributable to the
education of handicapped children; and

(ii) shall be used to supplement and,
to the extent practicable, increase the
level of State and local funds expended
for the education of handicapped chil-
dren, and in no case to supplant such
State and local funds: and

(C) State and local funds will be used in
the jurisdiction of the loca] educational
agency or intermediate educational unit to
provide services in program areas that,
taken as a whole, are at least comparable to
services being provided in areas of such
jurisdiction that are not receiving funds
under this subchapter;

(2) provide for—

(A) furnishing such information (which,
in the case of reports relating to perform.
ance, is in accordance with specific perfurm-
ance criteria related to program objectives ),
us may be necessary to enable the State edy-
cational agency to perform its duties under
this subchapter, including information relat-
ing to the educational achievement of handi-
capped childrer participating in programs
carried out under this subchapter: and

(B) keeping such records, and affording
such access to such records, as the State
educational agency may find nece-sary to
assure the correctness and verification of
such information furnished under subpara-
graph (A);

20a

(4) provide for making the application and all
pertinent documents related to such application
available to parents, guardians, and other mem-
bers of the general public, and provide that all
evaluations and reports required under clause
(3) shall be public information:

(5) provide assurances that the local educa-
tional agency or intermediate educational unit
will establish or revise, whichever is appropriate,
an individualized education program for each
handicapped child at the beginning of each school
year and will then review and, if appropriate,
revise, its provisions periodically, but not less
than annually;

(6) provide satisfactory assurance that poli-
cies and programs established and administered
by the local educational agency or intermediate
educational unit shal! be consistent with the pro-
visions of paragraph (1) through paragraph (7)
of section 1412 and section 1413(a) of this title;
and

(7) provide satisfactory assurance that the
local educational agency or intermediate educa-
tional unit will establish and maintain procedural
safeguards in accordance with the provisions of
sections 1412(5)(B), 1412(5)(C), and 1415 of
this title.

(hb) Approval by State educational agencies of appli-
cations submitted by local educational agencies
or intermediate educational units: notice and
hearing

(1) A State educational agency shall approve any
application submitted by a local educational agency

I, a —

2la

or an intermediate educational unit under subsection
(a) of this section if the State educational agency
determines that such application meets the require-
ments of subsection (a) of this section, except that no
such application may he approved until the State plan
submitted by such State educational agency under eh
section (a) of this section is approved by the Secre-
‘ary under section 1413(c) of this title. A State
educational ageney shall disapprove any application
submitted by a local educational agency or an inter-
mediate educational unit under subsection (a) of this
section if the State educational agency determines that
such application does not meet the requirements of
subsection (a) of this section,

(‘2'(A) Whenever a State educational agency, after
reasonable notice and opport unity for a hearine, finds
hat a local edueational agency or an intermediate
educational unit, in the administration of an applica-
lion approved by the State educational ayeney under
paragraph (1), has failed to cormply with any require-
“ent set forth in such application. the State educa-
‘ional aveney, after giving appropriate notice to the
local educational avency or the intermediate educa.
‘ional unit, shall—

(i) make no further payments to such local
educational agency or such intermediate educa-
tional unit under section 1420 of this title until
the State educational agency is satisfied that there
is no longer any failure to comply with the re-
quirement involved: or

(ii) take sueh finding into aceount jn its re-
view of any application made by such local edu-
cational agency or such intermediate educational
unit under subsection (a) of this section,

22a

(B) The provisions of the last sentence of section
1416(a) of this title shall apply to any local educa-
tional agency or any intermediate educational unit
receiving any notification from a State educational
agency under this paragraph.

| (3) In carrying out its functions under paragraph
(1). each State educational agency shall consider any
decision made pursuant to a hearing held under sec-
tion 1415 of this title which is adverse to the local
educational agency or intermediate educational unit
involved in such decision.

(¢) Consolidated applications —

(1) A State educational agency may, for purposes
of the consideration and approval of applications
under this section, require local educational agencies
ty submit a consolidated application for payments if
such State educational agency determines that any
individual application submitted by any such local
educational agency will be disapproved because such
local educational agency is ineligible to receive pay-
ments because of the application of section il
(c) (4) (A) (i) of this title or such local educational
agency would be unable to establish and maintaln
programs ef sufficient size and scope to etTectively
meet the educational needs of handicapped children.

(2)(A) In any case in which a consolidated appli-
cation of local educational agencies is approved by a
State edueational agency under paragraph (I ), the
payments which such local educational agencies May
receive shall be equal to the sum of payments to
which each such local educational agency would be
entitled under section 1411(d) of this title if an

23a

individual application of any such local educational
avency had been approved.

(B) The State educational agency shall prescribe
rules and regulations with respect to consolidated ap-
plications submitted under this subsection which are
consistent with the provisions of paragraph (1)
through paragraph 7 of section 1412 and _ section
1413(a) of this title and which provide participating
local educational agencies with joint responsibilities
for implementing programs receiving payments under
this subchapter.

(C) In any case in which an intermediate educa-
tional unit is required pursuant to State law to carry
out the provisions of this subchapter, the joint re-
sponsibilities given to local educational agencies under
subparagraph (B) shall not apply to the administra-
tion and disbursement of any payments received by
such intermediate educational unit. Such responsi-
bilities shall be carried out exclusively by such inter-
mediate educational unit.

(1) Special education and related services provided
directly by State educational agencies; regional
or State centers

Whenever a State educational agency determines
that a local educational agency—

(1) is unable or unwilling to establish and
maintain programs of free appropriate public
education which meet the requirements estab-
lished in subsection (a) of this section;

(2) is unable or unwilling to be consolidated
with other local educational agencies in order to
establish and maintain such programs; or

24a

3) has one or more handicapped children who
can best be served by a regional or State center
designed to meet the needs of such children;

the Stute educational agency shall use the payments
which would have been available to such local educa-
tional agency to provide special education and reiated
services directly to handicapped children residing in
the area served by such local educational agency. The
State educational agency may provide such education
and services in such manner, and at such locations
(including regional or State centers), as it considers
appropriate, except that the manner in which such
education and services are provided shall be consis-
tent with the requirements of this subchapter.

(e) Realloecation of funds

Whenever a State educational agency determines
that a local educational agency is adequately provid-
ing a free appropriate public education to all handi-
capped children residing in the area served by such
agency with State and local funds otherwise available
to such agency, the State educational agency may
reallocate funds (or such portion of those funds as
may not be required to provide such education and
services) made available to such agency, pursuant to
section 1411(d) of this title, to such other local educa-
tional agencies within the State as are not adequately
providing special education and related services to all
handicapped children residing in the areas served by
such other local educational agencies.

(f) Prog rams using State or local funds

Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (a)
(2)(B)(ii) of this section, any local educational
agency which is required to carry out any program

25a

for the education of handicapped children pursuant
to a State law shall be entitled to receive payments
under section 1411(d) of this title for use in carry-
ing out such program, except that such payments may
not be used to reduce the level of expenditures for
such program made by such local educational agency
from State or local funds below the level of such
expenditures for the fiscal year prior to the fiscal year
for which such lécal educational agency seeks such
payments.

“ 26a
2) U.S.C. 1400, 1412-1414 (Supp. III 1991):
SUBCHAPTER I—GENERAL PROVISIONS

§ 1400. Congressional statements and declarations

(a) Short title |
This chapter may be cited as the “Individuals with
Disabilities Education Act”.

(b) Findings
The Congress finds that—
(1) there are more than eight million children
with disabilities in the United States today;

[See main edition for text of (2) |

(3) more than half of the children with dis-
abilities in the United States do not receive ap-
propriate educational services which would en-
able them to have full equality of opportunity ;

(4) one million of the children with disabili-
ties in the United States are excluded entirely
from the public school system and will not go
through the educational process with their peers;

(5) there are many children with disabilities
throughout the United States participating in
regular school programs whose disabilities pre-
vent them from having a successful educational
experience because their disabilities are unde-
tected ;

[See main edition for text of (6)]

(7) developments in the training of teachers
and in diagnostic and instructional procedures
and methods have advanced to the point that,
given appropiate funding, State and local educa-
tional agencies can and will provide effective spe-

27a

cial education and related services to meet the
needs of children with disabilities:

(8) State and local educational agencies have
a responsibility to provide education for all chil-
dren with disabilities, but present financial re-
sources are inadequate to meet the special educa-
tional needs of childyen with disabilities: and

(9) it is in the national interest that the Fed-
eral Government assist State and local efforts to
provide programs to meet the educational needs
of children with disabilities in order to assure
equal protection of the law.

(c) Purpose

It is the purpose of this chapter to assure that all
children with disabilities have available to them,
within the time periods specified in section 1412(2)
(B) of this title, a free appropriate public education
which emphasizes special education and related serv-
ices designed to meet their unique needs, to assure
that the rights of children with disabilities and their
parents or guardians are protected, to assist States
and localities to provide for the education of all chil-
dren with disabilities, and to assess and assure the
effectiveness of efforts to educate children with dis-
abilities.

$1112. Eligibility requirements

In order to qualify for assistance under this sub-
chapter in any fiscal year, a State shall demonstrate
to the Secretary that the following conditions are
met:

(1) The State has in effect a policy that as-
sures all children with disabilities the right to
a free Appropriate public education,

28a

(2) The State has developed a plan pursuant
to section 1413(b) of this title in effect prior to
November 29, 1975, and submitted not later than
August 21, 1975, which will be amended so as to
comply with the provisions of this paragraph.
Each such amended plan shall set forth in detail
the policies and procedures which the State will
undertake or has undertaken in order to assure
that—

(A) there is established (i) a goal of
providing full educational opportunity to all
children with disabilities, (ii) a detailed
timetable for accomplishing such a goal, and
(iii) a description of the kind and number
of facilities, personnel, and services neces-
sary throughout the State to meet such a
goal;

(B) a free appropriate public education
will be available for all children with dis-
abilities between the ages of three and eight-
een within the State not later than Septem-
ber 1, 1978, and for all children with disabil-
ities between the ages of three and twenty-
one within the State not later than Septem-
ber 1, 1980, except that, with respect to chil-
dren with disabilities aged three to five and
aged eighteen to twenty-one inclusive, the
requirements of this clause shall not be ap-
plied in any State if the application of such
requirements would be inconsistent with
State law or practice, or the order of any
court, respecting public education within
such age groups in the State;

29a

(C) all children residing in the State who
are disabled, regardless of the severity of
their disability, and who are in need of spe-
cial education and related services are iden-
tified, located, and evaluated, and that a
practical method is developed and imple-
mented to determine which children are cur-
rently receiving needed special education
and related services and which children are
not currently receiving needed special edu-
cation and related services:

[See main edition for text of (D) and (E)]

(3) The State has established priorities for
providing a free appropriate public education
ty all children with disabiilties, which priorities
shall meet the timetables set forth in clause (B)
of paragraph (2) of this section, first with re-
spect to children with disabilities who are not
receiving an education, and second with respect
to children with disabilities, within each disabil-
ity category, with the most severe disabilities
who are receiving an inadequate education, and
has made adequate progress in meeting the time-
tables set forth in clause (B) of paragraph (2)
of this section. ;

(4) Each local educational agency in the State
will maintain records of the individualized edu-
cation program for each child with a disability,
and such program shall be established, reviewed
and revised as provided in section 1414(a) (5 )

of this title.

(5) The State has established (A) procedural

safeguards as required by section 1415 of this
title, (B) procedures to assure that, to the maxi-
mum extent appropriate, children with disabili-

30a

ties, including children in public or private in-
stitutions or other care facilities, are educated
with children who are not disabled, and that spe-
cial classes, separate schooling, or other removal
of children with disabilities from the regular
educational environment occurs only when the
nature or severity of the disability is such that
education in regular classes with the use of sup-
plementary aids and services cannot be achieved
satisfactorily, and (C) procedures to assure that
testing and evaluation materials and procedures
utilized for the purposes of evaluation and place-
ment of children with disabilities will be selected
and administered so as not to be racially or cul-
tually discriminatory. Such materials or pro-
cedures shall be provided and administered in the
child’s native language or mode of communica-
tion, unless it clearly is not feasible to do so, and
no single procedure shall be the sole criterion for
determining an appropriate educational program
for a child,

(6) The State educational agency shall be re-
sponsible for assuring that the requirements of
this subchapter are carried out and that all edu-
cational programs for children with disabilities
Within the State, including all such programs
administered by any other State or local agency,
will be under the general supervision of the per-
sons responsible for educational programs for
children with disabilities in the State educational
avency and shall meet education standards of the

State educational agency. This paragraph shall

not be construed to limit the responsibility of
avencies other than educational agencies in a
State from providing or paying for some or all
of the costs of a free appropriate public educa-

3la

tion to be provided children with disabilities in
the State.

(7) The State shall assure that (A) in carry-
ing out the requirements of this section proce-
dures are established for consultation with in-
dividuals involved in or concerned with the edu-
cation of children with disabilities, including in-
dividuals with disabilities and parents or guard-
ans of children with disabilities, and (B) there
are public hearings, adequate notice of such hear-
ings, and an opportunity for comment available
to the general public prior to adoption of the
policies, programs, and procedures required pur-
suant to the provisions of this section and section
1415 of this title.

S 11413. State plans
(a) Requisite features

Any State meeting the eligibility requirements set
forth in section 1412 of this title and desiring to par-
licipate in the program under this subchapter shall
submit to the Secretary, through its State educational
agency, a State plan at such time, in such manner,
and containing or accompanied by such information,
as the Secretary deems necessary. Each such plan
shall—

| See main edition for tewst of (1 )}

(2) provide that programs and procedures
will be established to assure that funds received
by the State or any of its political subdivisions
under any other Federal program, including sub-
part 2 of part D of chapter 1 of title I of the
elementary and Secondary Education Act. of

2a

1965 [20 U.S.C. 2791 et seq.], under which there
is specitic authority for the provision of ussist-
ance for the education of children with disabili-
ties, will be utilized by the State, or any of its
political subdivisions, only in a manner consist-
ent with the goal of providing a free appropriate
public education for all children with disabilities,
except that nothing in this clause shall be con-
strued to limit the specific requirements of the
laws governing such Federal programs ,;

(3) describe, consistent with the purposes of
this chapter and with the comprehensive system
of personnel development described in section
1476(b) (8) of this title, a comprehensive sys-
tem of personnel development that shall include—

(A) a description of the procedures and
activities the State will undertake to ensure
an adequate supply of qualified special erlu-
cation and related services personnel, includ-
ing—

(i) the development and maintenance
of a system for determining, on an an-
nua! basis—

(1) the number and type of per-
sonnel, including leadership per-
sonnel, that are employed in the
provision of special education and
related services, by area of special-
ization, including the number of
such personnel who are employed
en an emergency, provisonal, or
other basis, who do not hold appro-
priate State certification or licen-
sure; and

33a

(II) the number and type of
personnel, including leadership per-
sonnel, needed, and a projection of
the numbers of such personnel that
will be needed in five years, based
on projections of individuals to be
served, retirement and other leav-
ing of personnel from the field, and
other relevant factors; .

— (ii) the development and mainte-
nance of a system for determining, on
an annual basis, the institutions of
higher education within the State that
are preparing special education and re-
lated services personnel, including lead-
ership personnel, by area of specializa-
tion, including—

(1) the numbers of students en-
rolled in such programs, and

(II) the number who graduated
with certification or licensure, or
with credentials to qualify for cer-
tification or licensure, during the
past year; and

(iii) the development, updating, and
implementation of a plan that—

(I) will address current and
projected special education and re-
lated services personnel needs, in-
cluding the need for leadership per-
sonnel; and

(II) coordinates and facilitates
efforts among State and local edu-
‘ational agencies, institutions of

34a

higher education, and professional
associations to recruit, prepare,
and retain qualified personnel, in-
cluding personnel from minority
backgrounds, and personnel with
disabilities; and
(B) a description of the procedures and
activities the State will undertake to ensure
that all personnel necessary to carry out this
subchapter are appropriately and adequately
prepared, including—

(i) a system for the continuing edu-
cation of regular and special education
and related services personnel ;

(ii) procedures for acquiring and
disseminating to teachers, administra-
tors, and related services personnel sig-
nificant knowledge derived from educa-
tion research and other sources; and

35a

for such children special education and re-
lated services; and

(B) that—

(i) children with disabilities in pri-
vate schools and facilities will be pro-
vided special education and related
services (in conformance with ar indi-
vidualized education program as_re-
quired by this subchapter) at no cost to
their parents or guardian, if such chil-
dren are placed in or referred to such
schools or facilities by the State or ap-
propriate local educational agency as
the means of carrying out the require-
ments of this subchapter or any other
applicable law requiring the provision
of special education and related serv-
ices to all children with disabilities
within such State; and

(iii) procedures for adopting, where
appropriate, promising practices, mate-
rials, and technology.’ (9) provide satisfactory assurance that Fed-
eral funds made available under this sub-
chapter—

[See main edition for text of (ii), (5) to (8)]

(4) set forth policies and procedures to as-
sure—

(A) that, to the extent consistent with
the number and location of children with dis-
abilities in the State who are enrolled in
private elementary and secondary schools,
provision is made for the participation of
such children in the program assisted or car-
ried out under this subchapter by providing

' So in original. The period probably should be a semicolon.

[See main edition for text of (A)]

(B) will be so used as to supplement and
increase the level of Federal, State, and
local funds (including funds that are not
under the direct control of State or local
educational agencies) expended for special
education and related services provided to
children with disabilities under this sub-
chapter and in no case to supplant such Fed-

36a

eral, State, and local funds, except that,
where the State provides clear and convinc-
ing evidence that all children with disabili-
ties have available to them a free appropri-
ate public education, the Secretary may
waive in part the requirement of this sub-
paragraph if the Secretary concurs with the
evidence provided by the State;

[See main edition for text of (10) ]

(11) provide for procedures for evaluation
at least annually of the effectiveness of programs
in meeting the educational needs of children with
disabilities (including evalution of individualized
education programs), in accordance with such
criteria that the Secretary shall prescribe pur-
suant to section 1417 of this title;

(12) provide that the State has an advisory
panel, appointed by the Governor or any other
official authorized under State law to make such
appointments, composed of individuals involved
in or concerned with the education of children
with disabilities, including individuals with dis-
abilities, teachers, parents or guardians of chil-
dren with disabilities, State and local education
officials, and administrators of programs for
children with disabilities, which—

(A) advises the State educational agency
of unmet needs within the State in the edu-
cation of children with disabilities,

(B) comments publicly on any rules or
regulations proposed for issuance by the
State regarding the education of children
with disabilities and the procedures for dis-

37a

tribution of funds under this subchapter,
and

[See main edition for text of (C)]

(13) set forth policies and procedures for de-
veloping and implementing interagency agree-
ments between the State educational agency and
other appropriate State and local agencies to—

(A) define the financial responsibility of
each agency for providing children and
youth with disabilities with free appropri-
ate public education, and

(B) resolve interagency disputes, includ-
ing procedures under which local educa-
tional agencies may initiate proceedings
under the agreement in order to secure re-
imbursement from other agencies or other-
wise implement the provisions of the agree-
ment;

(14) set forth policies and procedures relat-
ing to the establishment and maintenance of
standards to ensure that personnel necessary to
carry out the purposes of this subchapter are
appropriately and adequately prepared and
trained, including—

[See main edition for text of (A)]

(B) to the extent such standards are not
based on the highest requirements in the
State applicable to a specific profession or
discipline, the steps the State is taking to
require the retraining or hiring of person-
nel that meet appropriate professional re-
quirements in the State; and

38a

(15) set forth policies and procedures relat-
ing to the smooth transition for those individuals
participating in the early intervention program
assisted under subchapter VIII of chis chapter
who will participate in preschool programs as-
sisted under this subchapter, including a method
of ensuring that when a child turns age three an
individualized education program, or, if consist-
ent with sections 1414(a)(5) and 1477(d) of
this title, an individualized family service plan,
has been developed and is being implemented by
such child’s third birthday.

(hb) Additional assurances

Whenever a State educational agency provides free
appropriate public education for children with dis-
ahilities, or provides direct services to such children,
such State educational agency shall include, as part
of the State plan required by subsection (a) of this
section, such additional assurances not specified in
such subsection (a) of this section as are contained
in section 1414(a) of this title, except that funds
available for the provision of such education or serv-
ices may be expended without regard to the provisions
relating to excess costs in section 1414(a) of this
title.

[See main edition for tert of (c)]

(d) Participation of children with disabilities in pri-
va.e schools; payment of Federal amount; deter-
minations of Secretary: notice and hearing; ju-
dicial review: jurisdiction of court of appeals,
petition, record, conclusiveness of findings, re-
mand, review by Supreme Court

(1) If, on December 2, 1983, a State educational
agency is prohibited by law from providing for the

39a

participation in special programs of children with
disabilities enrolled in private elementary and_sec-
ondary schools as required by subsection (a) (4) of
this section, the Secretary shall waive such require-
ment, and shall arrange for the provision of services
to such children through arrangements which shall be
subject to the requirements of subsection (a) (4) of
this section.

(2)(A) When the Secretary arranges for services
pursuant to this subsection, the Secretary, after con-
sultation with the appropriate public and_ private
school officials, shall pay to the provider of such
services an amount per child which may “not exceed
the Federal amount provided per child under this sub-
chapter to all children with disabilities enrolled in the
State for services for the fiscal year preceding the
fiscal year for which the determinaton is made.

[See matn edition for text of (By and (C), (3))]

(ce) Prohibition on reduction of assistance

This chapter shall not be construed to permit a
State to reduce medical! and other assistance available
or to alter eligibility under titles V and XIX of the
Social Security Act [42 U.S.C. 701 et seq., 1396 et
seq.] with respect to the provision of a free appro-
priate public education for children with disabilities
within the State.

“1414. Application

(a) Requisite features

A local educational agency or an intermediate edu-
cational unit which desires to receive payments under
section 1411(d) of this title for any fiscal year shall

40a

submit an application to the appropriate State educa-
tional agency. Such application shall—

(1) provide satisfactory assurance that pay-
ments under this subchapter will be used for
excess costs directly attributable to programs
which—

(A) provide that all children’ residing
within the jurisdiction of the local educa-
tional agency or the intermediate educa-
tional unit who are disabled, regardless of
the severity of their disability, and are in
need of special education and related serv-
ices will be identified, located, and evaluated,
and provide for the inclusion of a practical
method of determining which children are
currently receiving needed special education
and related services and which children are
not currently receiving such education and
services;

[See main edition for text of (B)|

(C) establish a goal of providing full edu-
cational opportunities to all children with
disabilities, including—

[See main edition for text of (i) ]

(ii) the provision of, and the estab-
lishment of priorities for providing, a
free appropriate public education to all
children with disabilities, first with re-
spect to children with disabilities who
are not receiving an education, and sec-
ond with respect to children with dis-
abilities, within each disability, with

4la

the most severe disabilities who are re-
celving an inadequate education ;

[See main edition for tert of (iti) and (iv)

(D) and (E)]

(2) provide satisfactory assurance that—

[See main edition for text of (A)}

(B) Federal funds expended by local edu-
cational agencies and intermediate educa-
tional units for programs under this sub-
chapter—

(i) shall be used to pay only the ex-
cess costs directly attributable to the
education of children with disabilities:
and

(ii) shall be used to supplement and,
to the extent practicable, increase the
level of State and local funds expended
for the education of children with dis-
abilities, and in no case to supplant such
State and local funds: and

[See main edition for text of (C)]
(3) provide for—

(A) furnishing such information (which,
in the case of reports relating to perform-
ance, is in accordance with specific perform-
ance criteria related to program objectives ),
us may be necessary to enable the State
educational agency to perform its duties
under this subchapter, including informa-
tion relating to the educational achievement

42a

of children with disabilities participating in
programs carried out under this subchapter;
and

[See main edition for text of (B), (4)]

(5) provide assurances that the local educa-
tional agency or intermediate educational unit
will establish or revise, whichever is appropriate,
an individualized education program for each
child with a disability (or, if consistent with
State policy and at the discretion of the local edu-
cational agency or intermediate educational
unit, and with the concurrence of the parents or
guardian, an individualized family service plan
described in section 1477(d) of this title for each
child with a disability aged 3 to 5, inclusive) at
the beginning of each school year and will then
review and, if appropriate, revise, its provisions
periodically, but not less than annually;

[See main edition for text of (6) and (7); (b)]

(c) Consolidated applications

(1) A State educational agency may, for purposes
of the consideration and approval of applications
under this section, require local educational agencies
to submit a consolidated application for payments if
such State educational agency determines that any
individual application submitted by any such local
educational agency will be disapproved because such
local educational agency is ineligible to receive pay-
ments because of the application of section 1411(c)
(1)(A)(i) of this title or such local educational
egency would be unable to establish and maintain
programs of sufficient size and scope to effectively

48a

meet the educational needs of children with dis-
abilities,

[See main edition for text of (2)]

(d) Special education and related services provided
directly by State educational agencies; regional
or State centers

Whenever a State educational agency determines
that a local educational agency—

[See main edition for text of (1) and (2)]

(3) has one or more children with disabilities
who can best be served by a regional or State
— designed to meet the needs of such chil-

ren;

the State educational agency shall use the payments
which would have been available to such local educa-
tional agency to provide special education and related
services directly to children with disabilities residing
in the area served by such local educational agency.
The State educational agency may provide such edu-
cation and services in such manner, and at such loca-
tions (including regional or State centers), as it con-
siders appropriate, except that the manner in which
such education and services are provided shall be con-
sistent with the requirements of this subchapter.

(e) Reallocation of funds

Whenever a State educational agency determines
that a local educational agency is adequately provid-
ing a free appropriate public education to all children
with disabilities residing in the area served by such
agency with State and local funds otherwise available

44a

to such agency, the State educational agency may re-
allocate funds (or such portion of those funds as may
not be required to provide such education and serv-
ices) made available to such agency, pursuant to
section 1411(d) of this title, to such other local edu-
cational agencies within the State as are not ade-
quately providing special education and related serv-
ives to all children with disabilities residing in the
areas served by such other local educational agencies.

(f) Programs using State or local funds

Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (a)
(2)(B) (ii) of this section, any local educational
agency which is required to carry out any program
for the education of children with disabilities pursu-
ant to a State law shall he entitled to receive pay-
ments under section 1411(d) of this title for use in
carrying out such program, except that such pay-
mets may not be used to reduce the level of expendi-
tures for such program made by such local educa-
tional agency from State or local funds below the
level of such expenditures for the fiseal year prior to
the fiscal year for which such local educational agency
seeks such payments.

45a
34 C.F.R. 76.1, .532, .650-.662, and 300.400-452:
Subpart A—General

REGULATION THAT APPLY TO
STATE-ADMINISTERED PROGRAMS

° 76.1 Programs to which Part 76 applies.
(a) The regulations in Part 76 apply to each State-

administered program of the Department.

(b) If a State formula grant program does not
have implementing regulations, the Secretary imple-
ments the program under the authorizing statute
and. to the extent consistent with the authorizing
statute, under the General Educatien Provisions Act
and the regulations in this part. For the purposes
of this part, the term “State formula grant program”
means 9 pregram whose authorizing statute or im-
plementing regulations provide a formula for allo-
cating program funds among eligible States.

© 76.532 Use of funds for religion prohibited.

(2) No State or subgrantee may use its grant or
subgrant to pay for any of the following:

(1) Religious worship, instruction, or proselytiza-
tion.

(2) Equipment or supplies to be used for any of the
activities specified in paragraph (a)(1) of this see-
tion.

(3) Construction, remodeling, repair, operation, or
maintenance of any facility or part of a facility to be
used for any of the activities specified in paragraph
(a)(1) of this section.

46a

(4) An activity of a school or department of di-
vinity.

(b) As used in this section, “school or department
of divinity” means an institution or a component of
an institution whose program is specifically for the
education of students to:

(1) Prepare them to enter into a religious vocation;
or
(2) Prepare them to teach theological subjects.

PARTICIPATION OF STUDENTS ENROLLED
IN PRIVATE SCHOOLS

$ 76.650 Private schools; purpose of SS 76.651-76.662.

(a) Under some programs, the authorizing statute
requires that a State and its suberantees provide for
participation by students envol'ed in private schools.
Sections 76.651-76-662 apply to those programs and
provide rules for that participation. These sections
do not affect the authority of the State or a sub-
erantee io enter into a contract with a private party.

(b) If any other rules for participation of students
enrolled in private schools apply under a particular
program, they are in the authorizing statute or im-
plementing regulations for that program.

(Authority: 20 U.S.C. 122le-3(a)(1)).

~ NoTeE: Some program statutes authorize the Sec-
retary—under certain circumstances—to provide bene-
fits directly to private school students. These “by-
pass” provisions—where they apply—are implemented
in the individual program regulations.

47a

$ 76.651 Responsibility of a State and a subgrantee.

(a)(1) A subgrantee shall provide students en-
rolled in private schools with a genuine opportunity
for equitable participation in accordance with the re-
quirements in $$ 76.652-76.662 and in the authorizing
statute and implementing regulations for a program.

(2) The subgrantee shall provide that opportunity
to participate in a manner that is consistent with the
number of eligible private school students and their
needs,

(3) The subgrantee shall maintain continuing ad-
ministrative direction and control over funds and
property that benefit students enrolled in private
schools.

(b)(1) A State shall ensure that each subgrantee
complies with the requirements in $$ 76.651-76.662.

(2) If a State carries out a project directly, it shall
comply with these requirements as if it were a sub-
vrantee.

(Authority: 20 U.S.C. 1221e-3(a)(1))

$ 76.652 Consultation with representatives of private
school students.

(a) An applicant for a subgrant shall consult with
uppropriate representatives of students enrolled in
private schools during all phases of the development
and design of the project covered by the application,
including consideration of :

(1) Which children will receive benefits under the
project:

(2) How the children’s needs will be identified:

(3) What benefits will be provided;

(4) How the benefits will be provided; and

48a

(5) How the project will be evaluated.

(b) A subgrantee shall consult with appropriate
representatives of students enrolled in private schools
before the subgrantee makes any decision that affects
the opportunities of those students to participate in
the project.

(c) The application or subgrantee shall give the
appropriate representatives a genuine opportunity to
express their views regarding each matter subject to
the consultation requirements in this section.

(Authority: 20 U.S.C. 1221e-3(a) (1))

§ 76.653 Needs, number of students, and types of

services.

A subgrantee shall determine the following matters
on a basis comparable to that used by the subgrantee
in providing for participating of public school stu-
dents ;

(a) The needs of students enrolled in private
schools,

(b) The number of those students who will partici-
pate in a project.

(c) The benefits that the subgrantee will provide
under the program to those students.

(Authority: 20 U.S.C. 122le-3(a)1))

§$ 76.651 Benefits for private school students.

(a) Comparable bevefits. The program benefits that
a subvrantee provides for students enrolled in private
schools must be comparable in quality, scope, and
opportunity for participation to the program benefits
that the subgrantee provides for students enrolled in
publie schools.

49a

(b) Same Benefits. If a subgrantee uses funds un-
der a program for public school students in a par-
ticular attendance area, or grade or age level, the
subgrantee shall insure equitable opportunities for
participatis by students enrolled in private schools
who:

(1) Have the same needs as the public school stu-
dents to be served; and

(2) Are in that group, attendance area, or age or
vrade level.

(c) Different benefits. If the needs of students en-
rolled in private schools are different from the needs
of students enrolled in public schools, a subgrantee
shall provide program benefits for the private school
students that are different from the benefits the sub-
grantee provides for the public school students.

(Authority: 20 U.S.C. 1221e-3(a)(1))

$ 76.655 Level of expenditures for students enrolled
in private schools.

(a) Subject to paragraph (b) of this section, a
subgrantee shall spend the same average amount of
program funds on:

(1) A student enrolled in a private school who re-
ceives benefits under the program; and

(2) A student enrolled in a public school who re-
ceives benefits under the program.

(b) The subgrantee shall spend a different average
amount on program benefits for students enrolled in
private schools if the average cost of meeting the
needs of those students is different from the average
cost of meeting the needs of students enrolled in pub-
lic schools.

(Authority: 20 U.S.C. 1221e-3(a) (1))

50a

$ 76.656 Information in an application for a sub-
grant.

An applicant for a subgrant shall include the fol-
lowing information in its application:

(a) A description of how the applicant will meet
the Federal requirements for participation of students
enrolled in private schools.

(b) The number of students enrolled in private
schools who have been identified as eligible to benefits
under the program.

(c) The number of students enrolled in private
schools who will receive benefits under the program.

(1) The basis the applicant used to select the stu-
dents.

(e) The manner and extent to which the applicant
complied with § 76.652 (consultation ).

(f) The places and times that the students will
receive benefits under the program.

(:) The differences, if any, between the program
benefits the applicant will provide to public and pri-
vate school students, and the reasons for the dif-
ferences.

(Authority: 20 U.S.C. 1221e-3(a) (1) )

$ 76.657 Separate classes prohibited.

A subyrantee may not use program funds for classes
that are organized separately on the basis of school
enrollment or religion of the students if:

(a) The classes are at the same site; and

(b) The classes include students enrolled in public
schools and students enrolled in private schools.

(Authority: 20 U.S.C. 1221le-3(a)(1))

dla
§ 76.658 Funds not to benefit a private school.

(a) A subgrantee may not use program funds to
finance the existing level of instruction in a private
schoo! or to otherwise benefit the private school.

(b) The subgrantee shall use program funds to
meet the specific needs of students enrolled in private
schools, rather than:

(1) The needs of a private school; or
(2) The general needs of the students enrolled in
a private school.

(Authority: 20 U.S.C. 1221e-3(a) (1) )

$ 76.659 Use of public school personnel.

A subgrantee may use program funds to make pub-
lie personnel available in other than public facilities:

(a) To the extent necessary to provide equitable
program benefits designed for students enrolled in a
private school; and

(b) If those benefits are not normally provided by
the private school.

(Authority: 20 U.S.C. 1221e-3(a) (1) )

$ 76.660 Use of private school personnel.

A subgrantee may use program funds to pay for
the services of an employee of a private school if:

. (a) The employee performs the services outside of
his or her regular hours of duty; and -
(b) The employee performs the services under pub-
lic supervision and control.

(Authority: 20 U.S.C. 1221e-3(a) (1) )

52a

$ 76.661 Equipment and supplies.

(a) Under some program statutes, a public agency
must keep title to and exercise continuing administra-
tive control of all equipment and supplies that the
subgrantee acquires with program funds. This public
agency is usually the subgrantee.

(b) The subgrantee may place equipment and sup-
plies in a private school for the period of time needed
for the project.

(c) The subgrantee shall insure that the equipment
or supplies placed in a private school:

(1) Are used only for the purposes of the project;
and

(2) Can be removed from the private school with-
out remodeling the private school facilities.

(d) The subgrantee shall remove equipment or sup-
plies from a private school if:

(1) The equipment or supplies are no longer needed
for the purposes of the project; or

(2) Removal is necessary to avoid use of the equip-
ment or supplies for other than project purposes.

(Authority: 20 U.S.C. 1221le-3(a)(1))

§ 76.662 Construction.

A subgrantee shall insure that program funds are
not used for the construction of private school facili-
ties.

53a
Subpart D—Private Schools

HANDICAPPED CHILDREN IN PRIVATE SCHOOLS
PLACED OR REFERRED BY PUBLIC AGENCIES

$ 300.400 Applicability of $§ 300.401-300.402.

Sections 300.401-300.402 apply only to handicapped
children who are or have been placed in or referred
to a private school or facility by a public agency as a
means of providing special education and related
services.

(Authority: 20 U.S.C. 1413(a) (4) (B))

§ 300.101 Responsibility of State educational agency.

Each SEA shall ensure that a handicapped child
who is placed in or referred to a private school or
facility by a public agency:

(a) Is provided special education and related serv-
ices—

(1) In conformance with an IEP which meets the
requirements of $$ 300.340-300.350;

(2) At no cost to the parents; and

(3) At a school or facility that meets the stan-
dards that apply to the SEA and LEAs (including
the requirements in this part); and

(b) Has all of the rights of.a child with a disability
who is served by a public agency.

(Authority: 20 U.S.C. 1413(a)(4)(B))

$ 300.402 Implementation by State educational agency.

In implementing § 300.401, the SEA shall—

54a

(a) Monitor compliance through precedures such as
written reports, onsite visits, and parent question-
naires:

(hb) Disseminate copies of applicable standards to
each private school and facility to which a_ public
ageney has referred or placed a handicapped child;
anid

(c) Provide an opportunity for those private schools
and facilities to participate in the development and
revision of State standards that apply to them.

(Authority: 20 U.S.C. 1413(a)(4)(B))

$ 300.103 Placement of children by parents.

(a) If a handicapped child has FAPE available
and the parents choose to place the child in a private
school or facility, the public agency is not required
by this part to pay for the child’s education at the
private school or facility. However, the public agency
shall make services available to tie child as provided
under $$ 300,450-500,452.

(hb) Disagreements between a parent and a public
agency regarding the availability of a program ap-
propriate for the child, and the question of financial
respons

[Text truncated at 120,000 characters. The full text is on the page linked above.]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0332%3A11. Public record. Not legal advice.
