# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Ana Feijoo Tomala v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0307%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1992
- **Citation:** 504 U.S. 932

## Text

ORIGINAL

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1991

ANA FEIJOO TOMALA,

Petitioner,
-V.-

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

MARJORIE M. SMITH
THE LEGAL AID SOCIETY

FEDERAL DEFENDER SERVICES UNIT
52 Duane Street - 10th Floor

New York, New York 10007
Tel. No.: (212) 285-2842

Attorney for Petitioner.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the conscious avoidance charge approved by
the Second Circuit, which permits a jury to convict when the
evidence would have alerted a reasonable person to the
unlawfulness of her conduct, unconstitutionally reduced the
government’s statutory burden to prove petitioner’s knowledge
that she was transporting illegal drugs.

2. Whether the court’s precipitate declaration. of a
mistrial after the jury had deliberated for only one
afternoon violated petitioner’s right under the Double
Jeopardy clause to have her trial “completed by a particular

tribunal." Arizona v. Washington, 434 U.S. 497, 503 & n. ll

(1978).

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
TABLE OF CASES AND OTHER AUTHORITIES ......22eeeceeeees ii
QUESTIONS PRESENTED .....cccccccccvcsevseevesscecs Preceding Page
he le a a et ek eee ee we bb GR Ee eee etn eee 1
EE 0 0 544666003404 EE CEME WOO OSSD COCR OCR OESS 1
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED .......c cece eeecees 2
ees Ge Meee Ge ocsecdsoecesecesoeseresceoeséseeeses 2
The Facts Relevant to Conscious Avoidance ....... 2
The Facts Relevant to Double Jeopardy ........... 4
The Second Circuit’S Opinion ..... eee eeeeecncees 5
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
POINT I: THE SECOND CIRCUIT’S APPROVAL OF A “CONSCIOUS
AVOIDANCE" INSTRUCTION AT PETITIONER’S TRIAL
FOR NARCOTICS TRAFFICKING RAISES AN IMPORTANT
QUESTION OF FEDERAL LAW AS TO WHICH THERE IS
A CONFLICT AMONG THE CIRCUITS. ......2eeee08> 6
Intro — rrr rer TTT Te TS CVV PTT CTT TTTLITT ee 7
The Instruction Given was Factually Unwarranted
and Improperly Formulated ........ccceeeevevccces 8
ic te) oe ren. Vcpeceneeekeucerds 10
The Instruction Encroached on the Legislative
EM coccetccseoveceese CO ebeeeeseecoeerececuons 14
POINT II: DOUBLE JEOPARDY LAW BARRED PETITIONER’S
SECOND TRIAL, SINCE THERE WAS NO “MANIFEST
NECESSITY" FOR THE MISTRIAL DECLARATION ... 16
DD £6.65 66200066668 6966668 6664660460 6606 006800666 18

TABLE OF CASES

Arizona v. Washington, 434 U.S. 497 (1978) ......... 16, 17,
Downum v. United States, 372 U.S. 734 (1963) .........
Griego v. United States, 298 F.2d 845 (10th Cir.

BOOS) CocewasCesecesscevecccsprescoesvececeseonses
Leary v. United States, 395 U.S. 6 (1969) ......seeeee Ve
Morissette v. United States, 342 U.S. 246 (1952) ..... 14,
Turner v. United States, 396 U.S. 398 (1970) ......... 7,
United States v. Alvarado, 838 F.2d 311 (9th Cir.

1987), cert. denied, 487 U. S. 1222 (1988) ...... 12,
United States v. Aulet, 618 F.2d 182 (2d Cir.

SESS) cesesececececsedevcesCosedcccescsiecesececese
United States v. Batencort, 592 F.2d 916 (5th

Babe BOTE) cocevdeseccceewcccesecesseesessecciose
United States v. Bussey, 942 F.2d 1241 (8th Cir.

BDU) Ceevesveeseceverecceeesscececesesevessecooce
United States v. Caminos, 770 F.2d 361 (3d Cir.

BNODD Se Se coe erase erseriseceoesscsvescocecengveer 10,
United States v. Chen, 913 F.2d 183 (5th Cir.

BOGE) cecceacccecebecrccsecesdesccpecececosvesser
United States v. Cooperative Grain and Supply

Cone $76 F.24 47 (GER Cir. 1973) cccsccccsvccccees
United States v. de Francisco-Lopez, 939 F.2d

BGGe. CEOEM CEE. . SUPE) coccecccccavcccvocsescccces 10,
United States v. Feroz, 848 F.2d 359 (2d Cir.

EDGE) coevesececesecvcsereseceenesessoccccenecees
United States v. Garzon, 688 F.2d 607 (9th Cir.

BDOS) ch vcceeesresersececvecccoscaneeeesesvescecs

Vv. , 713 F.2d 1203 (6th Cir.

1983), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 1069 (1984) .......
United States v. Guzman, 754 F.2d 482 (2d Cir. '

BPE Sovocceeeeseecdecacegacsseeeesececcecosedes

e 44 «

18
16

10
10
15
10

14

ll

13

12

12

12

10

13

ll

12

ll

United States v. Jack, 890 F.2d 1250 (D.C. Cir. United States v. Wiltberger, 18 U.S. (5 Wheat.)

ADGD) cccccccccccrscccccesseseeeseeseresesesesoes 13 76 (1820) ...... eeeeegersccesccoecs TETTETILTTiTe 14
United States v. Jewell, 532 F.2d 697 (9th Cir. Wade v. Hunter, 336 U.S. 684 (1949) .....c ec eeeeeeeees 16
1976), cert. denied,
COS Gills FES COUPER Se cccecscvesscvuseess 7, Op O- 10, 12, 38 In re Winghip, 397 U.S. 358 (1970) ....ccccccccccccces 9
nite ates v. Jorn, 400 U.S. 470 (1971) ...eeeeeeee 17
Vv. , 790 F.2d 1015 (2d Cir. OTHER AUTHORITIES
SEED ub 0dbebbeednneberescen gene nesheewenekesane 10
, 948 F.2d 363 (7th Cir. Be Getote | Beme GE GOD cocccceccccdccececcccceccceces 1
BPG T) ccccccccceveerdsvcccesevessesseceesesssoece 13
ep rs i ET (Ch CeeU Ue ie keke cb eebsccoecoeseseceese 1
United States v. Mang Sun Wong, 884 F.2d 1537 (2d
Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 1082 a ne a Or See deedeednctecbseccesooctceccoese 6
C2990) wcccccccccccccvesesceseccsessvecncesessece 11, 13, 14
ey es ee ROOD n. . ececoesececececoses 1
United States v. Martin, 773 F.2d 579 (4th Cir.
BOOS) cecvcesdpececccereccerererecnsserseesecsese 10, 12 et ee CP EEE SS Gbedeeececcboseceteccorcoceeeoes 1
United States v. Moser, 509 F.2d 1089 (7th Cir. Model Penal Code, §2.02(7) (Official Draft and Revised
1978S) acvccccccweseseeceseceesereseeseeseceseeeees 10 COMMBMES LFGS) ccccccccccccscceccccccsececesecees 10
United States v. Murrieta-Bejarano, 552 F.2d 1323 Robbins, “The Ostrich Instruction: Deliberate
(StH Civ. 1977) wccccccccccssccccssccesesessecere 10, 13 Ignorance as a Criminal Mens Rea,” 81 J. Crim. L.
re BE COUUUD coccccccccccceceoceeeces 15
United States v. Nazon, 940 F.2d 255 (7th Cir.
BODE) cocccnveperesvescececerecssscceseseeseeseeses 12
168 F.2d 1096 (9th Cir. 1985) ccccscevceccccceeee 8
Vv. , 22 U.S. (9 Wheat.) 579
(1824) ...... CeO Keer eseocrenesdecneseereesesedeces 16

, 788 F.2d 39 (lst
Cir.), ge SPO G.8. GSP CBOSS coccieses 10, 12

, 575 F.2d 524
(5th Cir.), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 935

bo OP errpyrrrsesy errr sibawevwndsnneens 10
United States v. Rivera, 944 F.2d 1563 yt Cir.
ents, PE ry eT Po eee er re 10, 13
, 806 F.2d 318 (list Cir
1986) oe ewe Se = SS .e.e.e ews ewe eee eee 2 ae |] See eeeegeeeee &é ee & & 7
United States v. Thomas, 484 F.2d 909 (6th Ci«. )s SOKhs cert. os
Seen, GEE Ses CON COTES ccccaveccéeresa ; 10

- iii - - iv -

TO THE HONORABLE, THE CHIEF JUSTICE OF THE UNITED STATES AND THE
ASSOCIATE JUSTICES OF THE UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT.

Petitioner Ana Feijoo Tomala respectfully requests that a
writ of certiorari issue to review a judgment of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit that affirmed a
judgment of the United States District Court for the Eastern
District of New York dated March 6, 1991, convicting her of
importation of cocaine, 21 U.S.C. § 952(a), 960(b)(2)(B)(ii) and
18 U.S.C. § 3551 et seq., and sentencing her to five years of
imprisonment to be followed by four years of supervised release.

OPINION BELOW

The Court of Appeals rendered an unpublished opinion
affirming petitioner’s sentence on September 27, 1991, which is
annexed as Appendix A. The Court of Appeals denied petitioner's
petition for rehearing on November 4, 1991. The order denying
rehearing is annexed as Appendix B.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered on November

18, 1991. See Appendix A. No application has been filed for an
extension of time within which to file this petition. The

Court’s jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED
Due Process Clause of the Fifth Amendment:

{[Njor deprived of life, liberty, or property,
without due process of law.

Double Jeopardy Clause of the Fifth Amendment:
{[Njor shall any person be subject for the
same offence to be twice put in jeopardy of
life or limb.
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
The Facts Relevant to Conscious Avoidance
The government’s case against petitioner consisted of proof
that a suitcase containing dresses that she brought into the
United States had cocaine secreted in it. Since the cocaine was
hidden in the sides of the suitcase, the critical issue was
whether petitioner had knowledge of its presence. At trial, the
government argued that petitioner had actual knowledge that the
suitcase contained cocaine, not that she consciously avoided
learning that cocaine was in the suitcase. The government never
offered any evidence that petitioner was promised or received
money for taking the suitcase, or that the cocaine was visible to
anyone making a cursory examination of the suitcase’s contents.
The defense case was that petitioner was an innocent dupe,
who had looked in the suitcase and seen only that it contained
dresses, and that she had accepted the suitcase in accordance
with Ecuadorian custom which dictated that favors of this kind be

done even for a stranger. Petitioner testified that she had

looked hastily at the telephone number and address she had been
given for the person she was supposed to deliver the suitcase to
in New York, which was why she had not noticed that the
information was incomplete. Moreover, when petitioner was
stopped at the airport, she exclaimed "Damn it, wny did I bring
it for this woman. This woman gave it to me in the airport in
Ecuador. ”

Not only was a conscious avoidance instruction not factually
warranted but the charge given improperly created a presumption
of guilt. The charge did not state that before finding conscious
avoidance the jury had to find that petitioner had purposely
avoided leaning the truth about the presence of drugs in the
suitcase. Instead, it stated:

.--{I]}t is not necessary for the government

to prove to an absolute certainty that the

defendant knew that she possessed narcotics.

The defendant’s knowledge may be established

by proof beyond a reasonable doubt that the

defendant was aware...of a high probability

that the suitcase contained narcotics unless,

despite this high probability, the facts show

that the defendant actually believed that the

suitcase did not contain narcotics.
Petitioner argued that the charge was erroneous in that it failed
to iniorm the jury that Feijoo had to have deliberately closed
het éyes to the truth about the contents of the suitcase in order
for the jury to conclude that the government had met its burden

of proving conscious avoidance.

The Facts Relevant to Double Jeopardy

Two trials were held in this case, and petitioner argued on
appeal that the second trial should not have been held because
the first trial was aborted by the judge over the defendant's
(and the government’s) objection and without “manifest necessity”
for a mistrial.

After a two-and-a-half day trial, jury deliberations began
at approximately 12:30 P.M. Thereafter, the jury sent out notes
at 4:05 P.M. and 5 P.M. stating that it did not think it could
reach a decision. However, a 5:45 P.M. note, which was seized
upon by the court to declare a mistrial, stated only that the
jury had not as of that moment reached a unanimous verdict (and
gave no indication that the jury expected or wished to be
discharged).

The first note (at 4:05 P.M.) was immediately followed by a
note requesting that a portion of one government witness’ testi-
mony be re-read, indicating that the jury was hardly at a criti-
cal impasse at that time. The court responded to the second note
by telling the jury that it had not spent enough time deliberat-
ing and suggesting that it might return after the weekend to
resume deliberations. At 5:45 P.M. the jury sent out a note
that it had not reached a decision and that one juror had to

leave for religious observance at 6 P.M. Over both defense and

government opposition,’ the court announced that it would de-
clare a mistrial, and then questioned the jury foreman about
whether further deliberations would be productive (the foreman.
reported that some jurors felt that resuming deliberations after
the weekend might produce a verdict).

The Second Circuit’s Opinion

With respect to conscious avoidance, the Court held that it
was appropriate for the court to give such a charge. The panel
stated that such a charge is appropriate “when the evidence
demonstrates that the circumstances would have alerted a reason-
able person of the unlawful nature of his conduct." Noting that
petitioner acknowledged that she had accepted a suitcase from a
stranger to bring to the United S*ates “without further intelli-
gible instructions” the panel concluded that the conscious
avoidance charge was warranted. The Court did not address
petitioner’s claim that the charge given by the district court
was improperly formulated.

With respect to petitioner’s double jeopardy argument, the
Second Circuit held that the second trial.was not barred on
double jeopardy grounds because the district court’s declaration
of a mistrial came after it had given an Allen charge and after

the jury had announced that it was hopelessly deadlocked.

* The prosecutor stated: “I would [join] in [defense
counsel’s] request that they be asked to come back and try
again, if not *omorrow, then Monday.”

e Be

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
POINT I: THE SECOND CIRCUIT’S APPROVAL OF A “CONSCIOUS AVOID-
ANCE” INSTRUCTION AT PETITIONER'S TRIAL
FOR NARCOTICS TRAFFICKING RAISES AN IMPORTANT
QUESTION OF FEDERAL LAW AS TO WHICH THERE IS
A CONFLICT AMONG THE CIRCUITS.

In affirming petitioner’s conviction for drug importation,
the Second Circuit approved of the district court’s “conscious
avoidance” instruction. In doing so, the court reduced the
conscious avoidance standard to, at most, recklessness, vitiating
the statutory requirement that the government prove petitioner
acted knowingly in importing drugs.’ This instruction, as well
as conscious avoidance instructions approved by the Second
Circuit in recent reported decisions, see pp. 12-13, infra, is

inconsistent with the law of other circuits. The Court should

grant this writ to resolve the conflict among the circuits and to

* The statute under which petitioner was convicted, 21
U.S.C. § 960 (a), provides:

"(a) Any person who --
(1) contrary to section 952, 953 or 957

of this title, knowingly or intentionally
imports or exports a controlled substance,

seen

shall be punished as provided in subsection
(b) of this section.”

answer the previously unaddressed question’ of whether a
statutory requirement of knowledge may be satisfied by a showing
of conscious avoidance, and if so what that showing must include.

Introduction

One form or another of « onscious avoidance instruction has
been approved in each of the circuits.* The instruction is meant
to allow the jury to "impose criminal] liability on people who,
recognizing the likelihood of wrongdoing, nonetheless consciously
refuse to take basic investigatory steps." United States v.
Rothrock, 806 F.2d 318, 323 (lst Cir. 1986) (emphasis added). In

perhaps the most widely cited analysis of conscious avoidance,

United States v. Jewell, 532 F.2d 697 (9th Cir. 1976) (en banc),

cert. denied, 426 U.S. 951 (1976), the Ninth Circuit concluded

that conscious avoidance requires that the defendant’s ignorance
be “solely and entirely a result of... a conscious purpose to

avoid learning the truth." ld. at 704. This ignorance must

* In two cases this Court has touched on the related
issue of when knowledge can be inferred from circumstances.
Turner v. United States, 396 U.S. 398, 416 n.29 (1970) (adop-
ting proposed Model Penal Code definition of knowledge to
infer defendant's knowledge that heroin he sold was import-
ed); Leary v. United States, 395 U.S. 6, 46 n.93 (1969)
(adopting proposed Model Penal Code definition of knowledge
to negate inference of defendant’s knowledge that marihuana
he possessed was imported).

* The significance of the issue raised by this petition
is reflected in a Westlaw search which shows that since 1970
there have been over one hundred reported circuit court
decisions involving challenges to the application or
formulation of conscious avoidance charges.

— 2

result from "a calculated effort to avoid sanctions of the
statute while violating its substance." Ibid. See also United
tates v. Pacific Hid Fur Depot, Inc., 768 F.2d 1096, 1098
(9th Cir. 1985) (the government must "present evidence that the
defendant purposely contrived to avoid learning all of the facts
in order to have a defense in the event of subsequent
prosecution"). A finding of conscious avoidance is appropriate
only where "it can almost be said that the defendant actually
knew." United States v. Jewell, 532 F.2d at 704 (quoting G.
Williams, Criminal Law: The General Part, §57 at 159 (2d ed.
1961)).

The Instruction Given was Factually Unwarranted and
Improperly Formulated

In this case, a conscious avoidance charge was neither
factually warranted nor properly formulated. The government did
not argue its case on a conscious avoidance theory, nor did it
produce evidence that petitioner consciously refused to learn the
facts regarding the cocaine contained in the suitcase, a prereq-
uisite for a conscious avoidance charge. Contrary to the panel’‘s
conclusion, that petitioner accepted the suitcase from a stranger
“without further intelligible instructions" may evidence care-
lessness, but does not show that petitioner deliberately sought
to avoid knowing that there were drugs in the suitcase.

Moreover, the district court’s instruction made no reference

to the requirement that the jury find petitioner had purposely

avoided knowing about the cocaine. The Second Circuit’s approval
of the instruction without this requirement drastically diminish-
es the showing the government is required to make to prove
conscious avoidance. In so doing, it violates petitioner's
constitutional right to have the government carry the burden of
proving beyond a reasonable doubt that she knowingly transported
narcotics. In re Winship, 397 U.S. 358, 364 (1970).

Having approved a conscious avoidance charge that equated
knowledge with recklessness, the panel went even further, and
approved the giving of a conscious avoidance charge whenever
“evidence demonstrates that the circumstances would have alerted
a reasonable person of the unlawful nature of his conduct." By
approving the instruction when the evidence points only to
negligence, the Second Circuit invites the jury to convict not on
a finding of knowledge or even recklessness, both of which
require awareness by the defendant, but on a finding “that the
defendant should have known his conduct was illegal." United
States v. Garzon, 688 F.2d 607, 609 (9th Cir. 1982) (emphasis in
original). Yet "true ignorance, no matter how unreasonable,
cannot provide a basis for criminal liability when the statute
requires knowledge." United States v. Jewell, 532 F.2d at 707
(9th Cir. 1976) (Kennedy, J., dissenting). For this reason, a
conviction based on conscious avoidance requires that “the
defendant had subjective knowledge of his criminal behavior,"

i.e., that his “ignorance of an operant fact was deliberate."

‘

United States v. de Francisco-Lopez, 939 F.2d 1405, 1409-10 (10th

Cir. 1991) (emphasis added). To hold otherwise, as the Second
Circuit panel did in this case, in effect creates "a presumption
of guilt." United States v. Murrieta-Bejarano, 552 F.2d 1323,
1325 (9th Cir. 1977).
The Conflict Among the Circuits

The Second Circuit’s recent holdings on the content and the
circumstances justifying a conscious avoidance instruction
conflict with the law of other circuits.

In accordance with this Court’s holdings in Leary and Turner
(see n.4), each circuit has incorporated into its definition of
conscious avoidance the Model Penal Code definition of knowledge
-- that knowledge of a fact is established "if a person is aware
of a high probability of its existence, unless he actually
believes that it does not exist."® Except for the Second Cir-

cuit, whose most recent pronouncements have omitted this require-

° Model Penal Code, §2.02(7) (Official Draft and Revised
Comments 1985). See, e.g., United States v. Picciandra, 788
F.2d 39 (lst Cir.), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 847 (1986); United
States v. Lanza, 790 F.2d 1015 (2d Cir. 1986); United States
v. Caminos, 770 F.2d 361 (3d Cir. 1985); United States v.
Martin, 773 F.2d 579 (4th Cir. 1985); United States v. Res-
trepo-Granda, 575 F.2d 524 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 439 U.S.
935 (1978); U.S. v. Thomas, 484 F.2d 909 (6th Cir.), cert.
denied, 414 U.S. 912 (1973); United States v. Moser, 509 F.2d
1089 (7th Cir. 1975); United States v. Cooperative Grain and

Supply Co., 476 F.2d 47 (8th Cir. 1973); United States v.
Jewell, 532 F.2d 697 (9th Cir.) (en banc), cert. denied, 426

U.S. 951 (1976); Griego v. United States, 298 F.2d 845 (10th
Cir. 1962); United States v. Rivera, 944 F.2d 1563 (llth Cir.
1991).

e 109 «

ment, all the circuits have added to this two-part definition a
third component: that the defendant acted deliberately, willfully
or purposefully to avoid learning the truth. It is this third
element that sets conscious avoidance apart from reckless disre-
gard for the truth.

The Second Circuit’s recent decisions on conscious avoidance
have rejected the deliberateness test outlined in Jewell and in
its own prior decisions.® Thus, in United States v. Feroz, 848
F.2d 359, 360 (2d Cir. 1988), the Second Circuit approved a
conscious avoidance instruction consisting only of the Model
Penal Code definition of knowledge: "knowledge of the existence
of a particular fact is established (1) if a person is aware of a
high probability of its existence, (2) unless he actually be-
lieves that it does not exist." See also United States v. Mang
Sun Wong, 884 F.2d 1537, 1541 (2d Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493
U.S. 1082 (1990).

The Second Circuit’s approva!’ of the instruction without the

®* The Second Circuit has on prior occasions adopted some
form of the Jewell deliberateness test for conscious avoid-
ance. See, e.g., United States v. Guzman, 754 F.2d 482, 488
(2d Cir. 1985) (conscious avoidance requires finding that
defendant “deliberately refused to learn the specific
facts"); United States v. Aulet, 618 F.2d 182, 191 (2d Cir.
1980) (conscious avoidance charge must include reference to
“purposeful avoidance of the truth”). The Aulet - Guzman
deliberateness requirement has been overruled sub-silentio by
the Second Circuit’s decisions in United States v. Feroz, 848
F.2d 359, 360 (2d Cir. 1988) and United States v. Mang Sun
Wong, 884 F.2d 1537, 1541 (2d Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493
U.S. 1082 (1990).

» £28 «

Jewell deliberateness test sets it apart from other circuits.
See, e.g., United States v. Picciandra, 788 F.2d 39, 46 (lst Cir.
1986) (conscious avoidance charge appropriate only where “the
facts suggest a conscious course of deliberate ignorance");
United States v. Caminos, 770 F.2d 361 (3d Cir. 1985) (approving
conscious avoidance charge requiring jury to find that "defendant
deliberately closed his eyes to what otherwise would have been
obvious to him"); United States v. Martin, 773 F.2d 579, 584 (4th
Cir. 1985) (approving conscious avoidance instruction requiring
finding of "conscious purpose" and “deliberate closing of the
eyes"); United States v. Chen, 913 F.2d 183, 190-91 (5th Cir.
1990) (conscious avoidance occurs “only where it can almost be
said that the defendant actually knew"); United States v. Gul-
lett, 713 F.2d 1203, 1212 (6th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 464 U.S.
1069 (1984) (conscious avoidance instruction designed to prevent
defendant "from escaping conviction merely by deliberately

closing his eyes” to the truth); United States v. Nazon, 940 F.2d

255, 258 (7th Cir. 1991) (approving conscious avoidance instruc-

?

tion requiring finding that defendant “shut his eyes for fear of

what he would learn"); United States v. Bussey, 942 F.2d 1241,

1246 (8th Cir. 1991) (conscious avoidance occurs only where

defendant had “a conscious purpose to avoid enlightenment”);

United States v. Alvarado, 838 F.2d 311, 314 (9th Cir. 1987),
cert. denied, 487 U. S. 1222 (1988) (instruction warranted only

where defendant purposely “contrived to avoid learning all of the

~—

facts in order to have a defense in the event of a subsequent

prosecution"); United States v. de Francisco-Lopez, 939 F.2d at
1409 (10th Cir., 1991) (defendant’s acts to avoid truth must be

“deliberate and not equivocal"); United States v. Rivera, 944
F.2d 1563, 1571 (llth Cir. 1991) (defendant must have “purposely
contrived" to avoid learning the truth); United States v. Jack,
890 F.2d 1250 (D.C. Cir. 1989) (conscious avoidance instruction
warranted only where defendant “deliberately failed to investi-
gate the matter in order to remain ignorant of the truth").

Not only does the Second Circuit not require that a con-
scious avoidance charge incorporate the notion that the defendant
deliberately and purposefully shut her eyes to the truth, but the
Second Circuit’s approach conflicts in another way with that of
the Fifth, Ninth, Seventh and Eleventh Circuits. These Circuits
require the presence of facts indicating deliberate ignorance
before a conscious avoidance charge may be given. United States
v. Batencort, 592 F.2d 916, 918 (5th Cir. 1979); United States v.
Lennartz, 948 F.2d 363, 368-69 (7th Cir. 1991); United States v.

Murrieta-Bejarano, 552 F.2d 1323 (9th Cir. 1977); United States
v. Rivera, 944 F.2d 1563 (llth Cir. 1991). The Second Circuit,

however, requires merely that the “surrounding circumstances” be
such that “reasonable persons could have concluded that the
circumstances alone should have apprised defendant[] of.the

unlawful nature of [her] conduct." United States v. Mang Sun
Wong, 884 F.2d at 1541. Indeed, the Second Circuit has acknowl-

o £86

edged that it and the Ninth Circuit, at least, “arguably have
different views concerning use of the ‘conscious avoidance’
charge." Mang Sun Wong, 884 F.2d at 1542 n.5. In Mang Sun Wong,
the Second Circuit contrasted its view with United States v.
Alvarado, 838 F.2d at 314, in which the Ninth Circuit observed
that “cases in which the facts point to deliberate ignorance are
relatively rare.”

The Instruction Encroached on the Legislature's Domain

Moreover, the charge approved by the Second Circuit imper-
missibly encroached on the domain of the legislature. See
Morissette v. United States, 342 U.S. 246, 263 (1952); United
States v. Wiltberger, 18 U.S. (5 Wheat.) 76, 93, 95-96 (1820).
By focusing exclusively on petitioner’s alleged awareness that
there was a “high probability” that the suitcase contained
narcotics, the approved instruction reduced the conscious avoid-
ance standard to one of at most recklessness: it required the
jury to find only that petitioner was aware of a high probability
that the suitcase contained drugs, and that she recklessly
transported the suitcase without investigating further. Yet
recklessness is a distinctly lower standard for the government to
meet than the statutory requirement of knowledge. In approving
the conscious avoidance instruction used here, the Second Circuit
has run afoul of the “spirit of the doctrine which denies to the
federal judiciary power to create crimes,” which also admonishes

the courts not to “enlarge the reach of enacted crimes by consti-

e 84

tuting them from anything less than the incriminating components
contemplated by the words used in the statute.” Morissette v.
United States, 342 U.S. at 263. See also Robbins, “The Ostrich

Instruction: Deliberate Ignorance as a Criminal Mens Rea," 81 J.

Crim. L. & Criminology 191, 231-234 (1990).

. * .

The Second Circuit has relaxed the standard of conscious
avoidance, intended as a “strictly limited exception” to the
requirement of actual knowledge, Jewell, 532 F.2d at 700, to one
of recklessness or even mere negligence. In this case it ap-
proved a conscious avoidance instruction that was neither factu-
ally warranted nor properly formulated. This error was compound-
ed by the panel’s statement that the faulty instruction is
appropriate whenever “evidence demonstrates that the circumstanc-
es would have alerted a reasonable person of the unlawful nature
of his conduct.” The panel’s approach greatly reduces the
government’s burden to prove knowledge beyond a reasonable doubt
and encroaches on the prerogatives of the legislature. This
Court, which has not previously addressed conscious avoidance,
should grant this writ to settle an important and frequently
litigated question of federal law and to resolve the conflict
between the Second and other circuits.

eo

POINT Il: DOUBLE JEOPARDY LAW BARRED PETITIONER'S
SECOND TRIAL, SINCE THERE WAS NO “MANIFEST
NECESSITY” FOR THE MISTRIAL DECLARATION.

Certiorari should also be granted because the Second Cir-
cuit’s denial of petitioner’s double jeopardy claim conflicts
with applicable decisions of this Court.

If a trial court declares a mistrial without the defendant's
consent, a retrial is barred on Double Jeopardy grounds unless
there was “manifest necessity” for the mistrial. United States
v. Perez, 22 U.S. (9 Wheat.) 579, 580 (1824). In deciding
whether to declare a mistrial, a trial judge cannot slight a
defendant’s “valued right to have his trial completed by a
particular tribunal,” Wade v. Hunter, 336 U.S. 684 (1949); ina
close case, doubts about whether a mistrial was properly granted
are to be resolved in favor of barring retrial. Downum v. United
States, 372 U.S. 734, 738 (1963).

A “genuinely deadlocked” jury may be discharged without
implicating the Double Jeopardy clause, Arizona v. Washington,
434 U.S. 497, 509 (1978), and a trial judge’s decision to declare
a mistrial when he considers the jury deadlocked is properly
accorded deference by a reviewing court. Ibid. Deference is
accorded because the trial court is believed to be in the best
position to weigh all the factors that must be considered in
making the determination whether the jury will be able to reach a
just verdict if it continues to deliberate. Id., n. 28.

On the other hand "[{i]}f the record reveals that the trial

» 86 eo

judge has failed to exercise the ‘sound discretion’ entrusted to
him, the reason for such deference by an appellate court disap-
pears.” Ibid. In Arizona v. Washington, 434 U.S. at 509, this
Court explained the dangers being guarded against:

On the one hand, if [the trial judge] dis-

charges the jury when further deliberations

may produce a fair verdict, the defendant is

deprived of his “valued right to have his

trial completed by a particular tribunal.”

But if he fails to discharge a jury which is

unable to reach a verdict after protracted

and exhausting deliberations, there exists a

significant risk that a verdict may result

from pressures inherent in the situation

rather than the considered judgment of all
the jurors.

In United States v. Jorn, 400 U.S. 470, 487 (1971), the plurality
opinion declared that the trial judge had abused his discretion
in discharging the jury: the court had acted precipitately, not
giving due consideration to the possibility of alternatives to a
mistrial, such as a continuance. In short, the trial court had
made no effort to “exercise a sound discretion to assure that,
taking all the circumstances into account, there was a manifest
necessity for the sua sponte declaration of this mistrial.”

In petitioner’s case, the absence of jury deadlock is
evidenced by the fact that, after the 5:45 p.m. note, both the
government and the defense requested that the jury be permitted
to continue its deliberations. See Arizona v. Washington, 434 -
U.S. at 505 (prosecutor must “shoulder the burden of justifying

the mistrial...[{and]) demonstrate ‘manifest necessity’ for any

- 17 «

mistrial declared over the objection of the defendant”). Al-
though the panel opinion stated that there were three statements
by the jury that it was “hopelessly deadlocked,” that is a
misstatement of the record. See p. 6-7, supra.

In seizing upon a jury note after only a few hours of
deliberation as a springboard for declaration of a mistrial, the
district court acted without the requisite sound basis for
concluding that the jury was “hopelessly deadlocked” and thereby
violated petitioner’s “valuable right to have [her] trial com-
pleted by a particular tribunal.” Arizona v. Washington, 434
U.S. at 503. Certiorari should accordingly be granted because
the Second Circuit has decided the question of whether the Double
Jeopardy clause barred petitioner’s retrial in a way that con-
flicts with applicable decisions of this Court.

CONCLUS ION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for a writ of

certiorari should be granted.

Dated: New York, New York
January 17, 1992

Respectfully submitted,

MARJORIE M. SMITH

THE LEGAL AID SOCIETY

FEDERAL DEFENDER SERVICES UNIT
52 Duane Street, 10th Floor
New York, New York 10007

Tel. No.: (212) 285-2842

Attorney for Petitioner.

oe Me

RKW

89-—cr-795

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

At a stated term of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Second Circuit, held at the United States Courthouse in the
City of New York, on the twenty seventh day of September ’
one thousand nine hundred and ninety one

Present:
Honorable J. Edward Lumbard,

Honorable Ralph K. Winter,
Honorable Frank X. Altimari,

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Appellee,
Vv * ORDER
# 91-1233
ANA LENOR FEIJOO-TOMALA,
Defendant -Appellant.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the Eastern
District of New York.

This cause came on to be heard on the transcript of record
from the United States District Court for the Eastern District of
New York, and was argued.

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, it is now hereby ordered, adjudged,
and decreed that the judgment of said District Court be and it
hereby is affirmed.

Docket No. 91-1233
Page 2 of 7

Ana Lenora Feijoo-Tomala appeals from her conviction by a
jury before Judge Bartels. Appellant argues that the district
court abused its discretion by declaring a mistrial because of a
hung jury at her first trial and that her second trial was thus
barred on double jeopardy grounds.

We reject this claim. A trial judge may declare a mistrial
in a criminal case without the consent of the defendant if he or
she finds a “manifest necessity" to do so. United States yv.
Perez, 22 U.S. (9 Wheat.) 579, 580 (1824). A grant of a mistrial
is entitled to the "highest degree of respect" and is not to be
disturbed absent an abuse of discretion. Arizons v. Washington,
434 U.S. 497, 511 (1978); Hameed v. Jones, 750 F.2d 154, 161 (2d
Cir. 1984).

A trial judge's belief that a jury is deadlocked is "the most
common form of ‘manifest necessity'” justifying a mistrial.
Oregon v. Kennedy, 456 U.S. 667, 672 (1982) (hung jury the prime
example of sentdest necessity); Arizona v. Washington, 434 U.S.
497 (1978). Although Judge Bartels declared a mistrial after the
jury had deliberated only three and one-half urs, a finding of
manifest necessity is not a mechanical determination subject to
mathematical limits. United States v. Klein, 582 F.2d 186, 193
(24 Cir. 1978). A judge may properly take other factors into
account along with the length of deliberation, such as complexity
of the issues involved. See Arnold v. McCarthy, 566 F.2d 1377,

Docket No. 91-1233

Page 3 of 7

1387 (9th Cir. 1978) (citations omitted). Where the issues are
complex, an announcement of irreconcilable differences after brief
deliberations may suggest that a jury has not fully analyzed the
matter. Where the issues are simple and clear-cut, brief
deliberations may reveal well-considered differences that cannot
be resolved. Moreover, a jury's statement that it is unable to
come to a verdict is the most crucial factor to be considered.
United States v. Lorenzo, 570 F.2d 294, 299 (9th Cir. 1978). In
the instant case, the court did not abuse its discretion in
declaring a mistrial after giving an Allen charge twice and after
the jury had announced three times that it was hopelessly
deadlocked on what the court determined to be a rather simple
criminal case. The second trial was thus not’ barred on double
jeopardy grounds.

Appellant also claims that she was prevented from receiving a
fair second trial because of the court's alleged bias against the
defense and its interference with defense counsel's presentation.
We disagree. We have consistently recognized that it is a trial
court's responsibility to insure that evidence is presented to the
jury in an understandable manner, and the court's role is "not
restricted to that of a mere umpire or referee." United States v.
Mazzilli, 848 F.2d 384 (2a Cir. 1988) (citing United States v.
DiTommaso, 817 F.2d 201, 221 (2d Cir. 1987)). A new trial is thus

warranted only when the judge's conduct denied the defendant a

Docket No. 91-1233
Page 4 of 7
fair trial. DiTomasso, 817 F.2d at 220. The evidentiary rulings
cited by appellant and alleged limiting of defense questioning
were well within the bounds of judicial discretion and did not
deprive appellant of a fair trial.

Additionally, Feijoo-Tomala claims that the court erroneously
disallowed defense expert testimony on Ecuadorian travel
practices. We will overturn a decision regarding admittance of

expert testimony only when the court's decision was “manifestly

erroneous." United States v. Brown, 776 F.2d 397, 400 (2d Cir.

1985); United States v. Campino, 890 F.2d 588, 593 (2d Cir. 1989),
cert. denied, 111 S. Ct. 179 (1990). Neo such error occ:rred in

this case.

Appellant's defense to the narcotics trafficking offense was
that she unwittingly carried narcotics for a citizen of Ecuador
who approached her at the airport and asked her to deliver the
suitcase to a friend in the United States. Feijoo-Tomala sought
to call an expert to testify that it was common for Ecuadorians to
carry packages for each other to foreign countries, but the trial
judge disallowed the testimony. This was not error. See United
States v. Navarro-Varelas, 541 F.2d 1331, 1333-34 (9th Cir. 1976)
(no abuse of discretion to exclude expert testimony that the
practice of hiding —-_ in secret compartments in the luggage
of unsuspecting travelers was a common scheme of drug smugglers),

cert. denied, 429 U.S. 1045 (1977). We agree with the district

Docket No. 91-1233

Page 5 of 7

court that it is not clear what the testimony would have added
other than to bolster marginally Feijoo-Tomala's testimony
regarding her professed ignorance of the narcotics stash, if that.
Appellant's view of the facts was that, at the airport in Ecuador
and on her way back to the United States, she was approached by a
complete stranger and agreed to deliver the suitcase for the
stranger to a person in the United States. Feijoo-Tomala did not
know this person and had only a purported address scribbled on a
piece of paper that included no town. Appellant did not inquire
as to how or where to deliver the suitcase, and the stranger
disappeared moments after handing over the suitcase. Even as
proffered, the expert testimony did not support that story. In
sum, the district court's judgment that no expert was needed to
explain the "cultural context" of Feijoo-Tomala's conduct at the
Ecuadorian airport was not "manifestly erroneous."

Finally, Feijoo-Tomala faults the district court's jury
instructions on two grounds. First, she contends that the
instructions concerning credibility created the risk that the jury
would use a "prejudicial standard" in evaluating her testimony.
We disagree. In United States v. Matias, we made clear that a
court's instruction regarding a defendant's credibility is
"balanced" by using language which conveys the basic message that

a defendant's testimony should be judged no differently than that
of any other witness. United States v. Matias, 836 F.2d 744, 750

Docket No. 91-1233

Page 6 of 7

(2d Cir. 1988) (citations omitted). In the instant case, the
district court repeatedly used such balanced language in its
instructions regarding both the appellant's testimony and that of
law enforcement officials. Therefore, the credibility instruction
could not have prejudiced the jury.

Second, appellant contends that the district court
erroneously instructed the jury on her conscious avoidance,
pointing to the fact that the government offered no proof that
Feijoo-Tomala purposely avoided learning of the hidden cocaine.
The purpose of a conscious avoidance charge is to allow the jury
"to impose criminal liability on people whe, recognizing the
likelihood of wrongdoing, nonetheless consciously refuse to take
basic investigatory steps." United States v. Rothrock, 806 F.2d
318, 323 (1st Cir. 1986). Such a charge is appropriate when the
evidence demonstrates that the circumstances would have alerted a

reasonable person of the unlawful nature of his conduct. United

States v. Mang Sum Wong, 884 F.2d 1537, 1541 (2d Cir. 1989)
(quoting United States v. Guzman, 754 F.2d 482, 489 (2d Cir.
1985), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 1054 (1986)), cert. denied, 110 S.
ct. 1140 (1990).

Given appellant's view of the facts that included accepting a
suitcase from a stranger to be brought to the United States
without further intelligible instructions, the district court was

more than justified in concluding that the conscious avoidance

, rca THe

: SECOND CIRCUIT
tins

. At a stated Term of the United States Court of Appeals for the Second
Circuit, held at the United States Courthouse in the City of New York, on the

Docket No. 91-1233
day of October

Page 7 of 7 Ath
one thousand nine hundred and ninety one.
charge was warranted. :
9 Presest: Hon. J. EDWARD LUMBARD
Affirmed. RALPH K. WINTER
FRANK X. ALTIMARI
( Hon. J. Edward Lumbard, U.S.C.J.
Circuit Judges,

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
WHSDA APPELLEE,
Hon. Ralph K. Winter, U.S.C.J. ¥

ANA LENOR FEIJOO TOMALA, } Docket No. 91-1233
DEFENDANT-APPELLANT.

2 Ti. CK

——=-
Hon. Frank X. Altimari, U.S.C.J.

4

A petition for a rehearing having been filed herein by
Appellant, Ana Lenor Feijoo-Tomala.

N.B. THIS SUMMARY ORDER WILL NOT BE Upon consideration thereof, it is

LISH IN R
AND SHOULD NOT BE CITED OR OTHERWISE Ordered that said petition be and it hereby is DENIED.
RELIED UPON IN UNRELATED CASES BEFO
THIS OR ANY OTHER COURT. YS ae 2

' /
< ° -
ha j lL 4 |
Spi Uke }

laine B. Goldg$mith,
Clerk

\

GEO 966-786

BEST AVAILABLE COPY

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0307%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
