# Amicus Curiae Brief — Mertens v. Hewitt Associates

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0265%3A09

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1993
- **Citation:** 508 U.S. 248

## Text

No. 91-1671 4 nead
eee oeesea SLEKA 3

In the Supreme Court of the Chuted States —

Oc rorneR Terni, 1992

Witt tans J. MEbERTENS. ET AL... PETITIONERS

Hewitt ASSOCIATES

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THI
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
POR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
AS AMICUS CURIAE SUPPORTING PETLEIONERS

Ki nnt itt W. STARR
Solicitor General

NTAUC REEN FO MAHONEY

MARSHALL J. BRIEGER Deputy Solicitor General
Solicuor of lLahor RONALD J. MANN

ALT EN H. FELDMAN Issistant to the Solicitor General
Associate Solicitor Department of Justice

NATHANIEL T. Srirer HW ashington, D.C. 20530
Counsel for Appellat (202) 814-2217

l itivation
NTARK S. FLYNN
Wirornes
Department of dl abhor
HWashineton, 10.0 -20210

OUERSTION PRESENTED

Whether a nonfiduciary who knowingly participates ina
breach of a fiduciary duty imposed by the Employee Re
tirement Income Security Act of 1974, 29 U.S.C. 1001 ef
seq., 1S liable for losses that an employee benefit plan sus
tains as a result of the breach.

LABLE OF CONTENTS

Interest of the United States .
Statutory provisions involved

Statement

Summary of argument

Argument:
ERISA authorizes claims against nonfiduciaries
who knowingly participate in fiduciary breaches __

A.

B.

1).

Section $02(a)(3) of ERISA authorizes federal
courts to award “appropriate equitable relief
** *to redress * * * violations” of ERISA

Appropriate equitable relief includes a monc-

tary judgment requiring a nonfiduciary who

knowingly participates in a breach of fiduct-
ary duty to redress losses suffered by the plan
asaresult ofthe breach. .........

1. Traditional equitable principles provide
make-whole relief to beneficiaries of a
trust harmed by a nonfiduciary who par
ticipates in a breach of trust ....

tN

The relief sought by petitioners 1s appro
priate because it ensures that ERISA af-
fords beneficiaries no less protection than
they would have had in courts of equity
before ERISA

The availability of a civil penalty against non
fiduciaries under Section S02(/) of ERISA
demonstrates the propriety of awarding such
relief under Section SO02(a)(3)

This Court's decision in Massachusetts
Mutual Life Insurance Co. v. Russell does not
foreclose the claim for relef im this case

(I1t)

Page

Nm hw

A

10)

10

16

tN
ty

IV V
Page Cases — Continued: Page
FOOT CO Ep AE EEN eas 25 Nieto v. Ecker, 845 F.2d 868 (9th Cir. 1988)... .. 4, §,
IE So io steiner la 10, 20, 22
Novak \. Andersen Corp., 962 &.2d 787 (8th Cir.
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES 1992), petition for cert. pending, No. 92-352
; ES ey ee os eee li
Cases: Patterson \. Shumate, 112 S. Ct. 2242 (1992) |. . 20
Albemarle Paper Co. v. Moody, 422 U.S. 405 Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation .. LTV
SE bskcuneesadaceiesckousunuee eee 13 ig We rs CP IED wow cdccccpacncnuace 11, 2)
Brock v. Gerace, 635 F. Supp. 563 (D.N.J. 1986) .. 18 Pilot Life Insurance Co. v. Dedeaux, 481 US.
Brock v. Hendershott, 840 F.2d 339 (6th Cir. SE a se cc eke wae eee ees ee 17
DEE néek pheneeeackbeenaebcesnaae dene 10 ~ Seminole Nation v. United States, 316 U.S. 286
Cahall v. Lofland, 114 A. 224 (Del. Ch. 1921), DED Peau cess ch oe eae aaa moe 1S, 16
rk, Ce , I ns ei eck cena 16 Shaw \. Delta Aur Lines, Inc., 463 U.S. 85 (1983) 16
Central States, Southeast & Southwest Areas Sokol. Bernstein, 803 F.2d $32 (9th Cir. 1986) 1
Pension Fund v. Central Transport, Inc., 472 Thornton v. Evans, 692 &.2d 1064 (7th Cir.
Ls GEE cc nccncnapnadeescaccsbnuhiaes il 1982) ra ates aha tahoe eae an eur 10
Diduck v. Kaszycki & Sons Contractors, Inc., 974 United States \. Wise, 370 U.S. 405 (1962) ~ 21
- » > _ ap rS ns ees 10, 17 Useden v. Acker, 947 F.2d 1863 (lth Cir 1991),
Estate of Cowart v. Nicklos Drilling Co., 1128. Ct. petition for cert. pending, No. 91-1944 (filed
Tt > fun Seas teaes Eaaa RnR eae aeaees 20 7 June 1, 1992) Pry fa 10, 13
Fink v. National Savings & Trust Co., 772 F.2d Wechsler ». Bowman, 34 N.E.2d 322 (NY.
ee ee eae aidaw hs 10 1941) | 1s
Firestone Tire & Rubber Co. v. Bruch, 489 U.S. Whitfield \. Lindemann, 853 &.2d 1298 (Sth Cir
SN td Ce oes a eee a ao wis 11, 16, 17 IORR), cert. denied su/ nom. Klepak v. Dole, 490
First National Bank of Kingman v. Byrnes, 59 P. LS. 1OR9 (1989) ce ae ee oe 1. 10
I eo tan ae ee ae 15 HMhitford v. Reddeman, 219 NW Wl (Wis.
Fort Halifax Packing Co. v. Coyne, 482 U.S. 1 | 1928) ; 16
PE nda ceases dnuedcdausee ots nee 17 |
Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, 111 S. Ct. 478 | Statutes:
|) 14, 17, 25 Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974,
Lessee of Smith v. McCann, 65 U.S. (24 How.) 29 U.S.C. 1001 et seq. 12
398 (1861) ............. Pet es Fe tees 13 | $8 1-608. 29US.C 1001-1168 y
Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Co. v. § 1b). 291 S.C. 100K(b) | 16
Russell, 473 U.S. 134 (1985)... oe 7, 13, 22, 23, 24 § 414) B), 29 U.S.C. 100201408) 2
Mertens v. Black, 948 F.2d 1105 (9th Cir. 1991). . 3 § 10%d). 29U S.C. 102d) 1
Moskal v. United States, 111 S. Ct. 461 (1990)... 19, 24 S WIAcMIWB), I9U SC. LORWeEMIMB) 2

Vi

§ 2101(a), 103 Stat. 2123

Statutes Continued: Page
§§ 401-414, 29 U.S.C. HOL-1114 R
§ 404, 29U S.C. 1104 8
§ 406, 29U. S.C. 1106 ........ 18
§ 406(a 10), 29 USC. 1106taM TO) 3
§ 408(b)(2), 29 USC. LLOR(by2) | 3
§ 409, 29U S.C. 109... : 8,9, 19, 23,24
§ 409(a), 29 U.S.C. 1109¢a) 8, 9, 22, 23, 24
§ 412, 29U.S.C. 1112 ...... 8
§§ SOL-SIS, 299US.C. PEAE-114S e)
} & — 5 of ee 0)
§ $02, 29U.S.C. 1132 ...... camennne &, 9
§ SO2(a), 29 US.C. 1132fa) . —_, §, 7,9, 23
§ SO2(aM 1B), 29US.C. 132taM ti MB). 22). (7, 22
§ S02(aK2), 29 U.S.C. 1132(aM2) ........ 7,9, 19, 22
§ S02(ax3), 29 USC. 1132(and) -... passim
§ §02(aWS), 29US.C. 1132(anS) | 7, 8, 19, 22
§ S020), 29 U.S.C. 1132) (Supp. IE 1290) 8, 64,
7, 18
§ S021), 29 USC. 11320)01) (Supp.
1990) . SN an ee ee ee 18
§ SO2UMIMA), 29 U.S.C. TER20 IA) (Supp.
I} 1990) | oan i? 7
§$ S021 0B), 29 USC. 11320)01)0B) (Supp.
11 1990) _. ep ep | 7
§ S020 420 B), 29 U.S.C. 113202) B) (Supp.
UN fare i at 7 7,19
§ S14(a), 29U S.C. 1144¢a) me
Internal Revenue Code:
26 U.S.C. 4975 0
26 U.S.C. 497S(a) |. 20
26 U.S.C. 497S%(b) 20
26 U.S.C. 4975(h) |. 20
Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1989, Pub.
1. No. 101-239, 103 Stat. 2106:
§ 2101, 103 Stat. 2123 | 20
S

Vil
Miscellaneous: Pave
Black's Law Dictionary (6th ed. 1990) 1-11
3 Wilham Blackstone, Conmmnentartes on the Laws
of England 13, 14
George Gleason Bogert & George Taylor Bovert,
The Law of Trusts and Trustees (2d ed. tev.
19R2) 13,15, 16
Su Edward Coke, The First Part of the Institutes
of the Laws of Eneland 13
120 Cong. Rec. 29,932 (1974) 16
135 Cong. Rec. H6006 (daily ed. Sept. 27, 1990) 21
HR. 3299, 1O1st Conge., Ist Sess. (1989) 2)
HER. Rep. No. 247, 1Otst Cong., Ist Sess. (1989) 2!
b.W. Manland, Equity (2d ed. 1936) 14
4 John Norton Pomeroy, A Treatise on Equits
Jurisprudence (Spencer W. Symons Sth ed
1941) 14, 1S
Restatement (Second) of Trusts (1959):
Vol J 12
Vol 2 14, 18
S. Rep. No. 383, 93d Cong... Ist Sess. (1973) 1]
Austin Wakeman Scott, Participation in a Breach
of Trust, 34 Wars 1. Rev 454(1921) 1S, 16
Austin’ Wakeman Scott & William Franklin
bratcher, The law of Trusts (4th ed. 1988)
Vol. 3 13
Vol. 4 1s
2 Joseph Story, Commentaries on Equity Jurts
prudence (WEL Lyon, Ir 14th ed. 1918) 13

In the Supreme Court of the Chuted States

Oc ropER TERM, 1992

No. 91-1671
Witt tant J. MERTENS. ET AL. PETITIONERS
v.

Hewitt ASSOCIATES

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
POR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES
AS AMICUS CURIAE SUPPORTING PETITIONERS

INTEREST OF THE UNITED STATES

This case presents the question whether courts may en-
force the fiduciary responsibility provisions of the Em-
ployee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 (ERISA),
29 U.S.C. 1001 ef seq., against a nonfiduciary who know-
ingly participates in a violation of ERISA’s fiduciary
duties. The Secretary of Labor has primary enforcement
authority for the fiduciary provisions of Title | of ERISA
and has filed numerous ERISA actions seeking to impose
liability on nonfiduciaries for participation in breaches of
fiduciary duties imposed by ERISA. See, e.g., Whitfield v.
Lindemann, 853 &.2d 1298 (Sth Cir. 1988), cert. denied
sub nom. Klepak v. Dole, 490 U.S. 1089 (1989). As we ex-
plained in our brief filed at the petition stage at the Court's

(1)

ty

invitation, the court of appeals’ ruling unduly restricts
ERISA’s enforcement provisions. Because the Court’s dis-
position of the case ts likely to have a significant effect on
the enforcement of ERISA, the Secretary has a substantial
interest in this case.

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The pertinent provisons of ERISA are reproduced in the
Appendix to this brief, infra, la-3a.

STATEMENT

1. Petitioners are former employees of the Kaiser Steel
Corporation and participants in the Kaiser Steel Retire-
ment Plan, a qualified pension plan under the Employee
Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 (ERISA), 29
U.S.C. 1001 et seq.' In 1980, while respondent was serving
as the plan's actuary, Kaiser began to phase out its steel-
making operations. That action resulted in the early re-
tirement of a large number of employees. Respondent,
however, continued to use actuarial assumptions that did
not reflect the increased costs the early retirements would
impose on the plan. As a result, Kaiser did not adequately
fund the plan, and plan assets became insufficient to
satisfy benefit obligations. By early 1987, the Pension
Benefit Guaranty Corporation (PBGC) had determined
that the plan was underfunded and incapable of paying its
liabilities. The PBGC terminated the plan and began pay-
ing its participants substantially reduced benefits. J.A.
3-7; see Pet. App. A2-A3, A17-Al8.

2. In December 1989, petitioners filed this action
alleging that respondent had violated ERISA and state

' This case was decided on a motion to dismiss and therefore the
allegations of petitioners’ complaint are taken as true. See Pet. App
A2, Al9

malpractice law. Petitioners claimed that respondent had
caused losses to the plan by allowing Kaiser to set actuarial
assumptions, failing to disclose that it served as an actuary
for both Kaiser and the plan, and failing to disclose the
plan’s funding inadequacies.? Petitioners argued that
respondent violated ERISA by breaching respondent's
professional duties to the plan’ and by participating in an
unlawful party-in-interest transaction.* When respondent
moved to dismiss the complaint for failure to plead causes
of action cognizable under ERISA, petitioners advanced
several legal theories: (1) that respondent was an ERISA
fiduciary that breached its fiduciary duties; and (2) that
even if respondent was not a fiduciary, it was liable under

> Petitioners also filed suit against members of the Investment
C onynittee of the Kaiser Steel Retirement Plan, alleging that they had
violated their fiduciary duties. See Mertens v. Black, 948 F.2d 1105
(9h Cir. 1991) (upholding district court's refusal to dismiss peti-
toners’ claims against investment committee members).

‘ ERISA imposes various requirements concerning actuarial ser-
vices. See, e.g., 29U.S.C. 102% d) (certain ERISA plan administrators
must prepare annual reports including statements by enrolled actu-
aries) and 1OR2(c) 3B) (costs, liabilities, interest rates, and other fac-
tors are to be calculated on the basis of “reasonable” actuarial assump-
tions that offer the actuary’s “best estimate of anticipated experience
under the plan”). Petitioners alleged that respondent's actions in pro.
viding actuarial services did not comply with the obligations set forth
in ERISA and implementing regulations. J A. 9-13.

* ERISA forbids various transactions between a plan and a “party
in interest,” including the furnishing of services. 29 US.¢
11O06(an IMC). The statute defines the term “party im interest” to im
clude a “person providing services to [the] plan.” 29 U.S.C
1002014) B), but exempts from the prohibitions of Section 1106 any
service contract for which “no more than reasonable compensation is
paid.” 29U S.C. PLOR( bx 2). Petitioners claimed that respondent's fees
were not “reasonable” because respondent's conflict of interest pre
vented it from providing adequate services to the plan. J.-A. 13-14

4

ERISA (a) for breaching nonfiduciary duties imposed on
an actuary by ERISA or (b) for knowing participation in a
breach of duty by a fiduciary. J.A. 9-14; see Pet. App.
A2-A4.

The district court dismissed all of petitioners’ claims.
Pet. App. Al7-A30.° The court dismissed the claim that
respondent itself was a fiduciary based on its conclusion
that professional service providers such as actuaries, at-
torneys, and accountants do not act as fiduciaries when
they perform their ordinary duties. /d. at A20-A22. The
court also dismissed petitioners’ claim for monetary relief
based on respondent's alleged violation of its actuarial
duties. In the court's view, Section 502(a)(3) of ERISA, 29
U.S.C. 1132(a)(3), would not allow that type of relief
because petitioners had not alleged that respondent had
profited from the alleged violation. Pet. App. A23-A2S.
The court also rejected petitioners’ “prohibited trans-
action” claim, which it characterized as merely an effort to
recast the claimed breach of professional duty as a pro-
hibited transaction. /d. at A25-A26. Finally, the court dis-
missed petitioners’ claim that ERISA created a right of
recovery against respondent as a knowing participant in a
fiduciary breach, based on the Ninth Circuit's decision in
Nieto v. Ecker, 845 F.2d 868 (1988), which held that
ERISA bars such an action.® Pet. App. A22.

‘ The Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation (PBGC) was named
as a defendant in its capacity as the plan's statutory trustee. It
answered and filed a cross-claim asserting that any recovery by pet:
tioners should be paid to it. When the district court dismissed the ac
tion, it also dismissed the PBGC's cross-claim. See Pet. n

* The district court also held that petitioners’ pendent state-law
claim for professional negligence was barred by the State's two-year
statute of limitations. Pet. App. A26-A27

4)

3. The court of appeals affirmed with respect to the
ERISA claims.’ Pet. App. Al-A13. With respect to the
claim now at issue, the court relied on its holding in Nieto
that ERISA “limits its coverage to fiduciaries, and nothing
in the statute provides any support for holding others
liable.” Jd. at A7 (quoting Nieto, 845 F.2d at 871). The
court also rejected (Pet. App. A8-AQ) petitioners’ argu-
ment that the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1989
(OBRA), Pub. L. No. 101-239, § 2101(a), 103 Stat. 2123,
demonstrates that Section 502(a) authorizes a remedy
against nonfiduciaries for knowing participation in a
breach of fiduciary duty. OBRA amended ERISA to add
Section S02(/), 29 U.S.C. 1132() (Supp. 1 1990) (App., in-
fra, 2a-3a), which authorizes the Secretary of Labor to
assess a civil penalty against fiduciaries and “other per-
son{s]” for a breach of fiduciary duty under ERISA or for
“knowing participation” in such a breach. The court noted
that Section 1132(/) applies only to the Secretary, and
noted that the Congress that passed OBRA considered,
but did not adopt, an amendment that explicitly would
have overturned the result in Nieto. Pet. App. A8-A9.*

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

1. Section $02(a)(3) of ERISA grants any beneficiary
of a plan covered by ERISA the right to sue for any “equi-
table relief that is “appropriate * * * to redress * * * vio-

’ The court reversed the trial court's ruling that petitioners’ state
law professional negligence claim was barred by the statute of limita
tions. Pet. App. AlI-Al}3.

* Petitioners filed a petition for rehearing with a suggestion of re
hearing en banc, supported by the Secretary of Labor as an amicus
curiae, urging the Ninth Circuit to overrule Nieto. The court of ap
peals demed the petition and rejected the suggestion for rehearing en
hance. Pet. App. AIS-Al6

6

lations fof 29 U.S.C. 1001-1168 or the plan].” 29 U.S.C.
1132(a)(3). The sole issue in this case is whether the relief
petitioners seek —to be made whole for losses they suf-
fered because of a breach of fiduciary duty in which re-
spondent is alleged to have knowingly participated — is
“appropriate equitable relief to “redress” that breach.

2. Principles of equity traditionally applicable to cases
involving trusts support petitioners’ claim. First, courts of
equity regularly awarded make-whole monetary damages
to beneficiaries to redress violations of a breach of trust.
Although such damages resemble compensatory damages
awarded in courts of law, the equitable status of trusts
historically made courts of equity the only forum autho-
rized to provide such redress. Second, courts of equity did
not limit beneficiaries’ remedies to those against the trust's
fiduciary, but also ordered third parties who knowingly
participated in the breach of fiduciary duty to compensate
beneficiaries for resulting losses. Hence, the relief sought
by petitioners would have been available as a matter of
course In a case in equity arising before ERISA’s enact-
ment.

But the broad preemption provision set forth in Section
Si4(a) of ERISA preempts all state laws that “relate to”
any covered plan. Because the scope of the fiduciary duties
with respect to an ERISA plan is now exclusively a matter
of federal law, the States are no longer able to afford relief
for breaches of fiduciary duty that involve an ERISA
plan. Unless the general provision of Section S02(a)(3)
provides the relief formerly available in courts of equity,
ERISA will have left beneficiaries in a worse position than
they were prior to ERISA’s enactment. In light of ERISA’s
open-ended authorization to award “equitable relief in
Section $02(a)(3), ERISA should not be construed to re-
quire such a result.

3. Section $02(/) of ERISA, 29 U.S.C. 1132(/) (Supp.
Il 1990), confirms that ERISA did not abolish the equi-

table liability of nonfiduciaries. That provision explicitly
authorizes the Secretary to seek a civil penalty not only for
breach of fiduciary duty by “a_ fiduciary,” Section
SO2(/)(1)(A), but also for “knowing participation in such a
breach * * * by any other person,” Section 502(/)(1)(B).
Moreover, Section S02(/)(2)(B) defines the civil penalty to
be assessed by the Secretary in terms of the amounts
obtained in suits brought by the Secretary against “other
person[s]” under Section S02(a)(S) of ERISA. Section
502(/) thus is premised on the Secretary of Labor's ability
to secure, as “other appropriate equitable reliet * * * to
redress such violation” under Section 502(a)(S), a make-
whole monetary recovery against nonfiduciarics who
knowingly participate in a breach of fiduciary duty. Be-
cause the right of action granted to the Secretary by Sec-
tion 502(a)(S) is coextensive with the private right of action
under Section 502(a)(3) at issue in this case, the reference
in Section $02(/) to suits against “other person[s]” demon-
Strates that Section 502(a)(3) must permit such suits
against persons other than a fiduciary.

4. Finally, the relief sought by petitioners is not incon-
sistent with this Court's decision in Massachusetts Mutual
Life Insurance Co. v. Russell, 473 U.S. 134 (1985). The
Court in Russell held that a participant could not receive
damages under Section S02(a)(2) for bad-faith processing
of her claim for benefits, in excess of the damages avail-
able to her under the express terms of Section S02(a)(1)(B).
The plaintiff in that case relied expressly on Section
$02(a)(2), and the Court explicitly Jeclined to consider the
availability of relief under any other provision of ERISA.
473 U.S. at 139 nS.

Moreover, reading Russell to preclude courts from
granting any remedies beyond the specific remedies de-
fined in detail in Section S02(a) would nullify the general
provisions for “appropriate equitable relief” set forth in

Sections 502(a)(3) and 502(a)(5). Section S02 establishes a
comprehensive enforcement scheme, with several remedies
outlined in detail and two general provisions directing
courts to develop remedies in light of underlying equitable
principles. A ruling that relief is invariably limited to the
basic remedies would contravene the language and struc-
ture of the statute as a whole.

ARGUMENT

ERISA AUTHORIZES CLAIMS AGAINST NONFIDUCTH-
ARIES WHO KNOWINGLY PARTICIPATE IN FIDUCIARY
BREACHES

A. Section $02(a}(3) of ERISA Authorizes Federal Courts To
Award “Appropriate Equitable Relief * * * To Redress* * *
Violations” of ERISA

Part 4 of Title | of ERISA, 29 U.S.C. 1101-1114, titled
“Fiduciary Responsibility,” imposes a series of duties on
fiduciaries who administer employee benefit plans. For ex-
ample, Section 404, 29 U.S.C. 1104, enumerates certain
fiduciary duties; Section 406, 29 U.S.C. 1106, specifies
certain prohibited transactions; and Section 412, 29
U.S.C. 1112, establishes bonding requirements for of-
ficials who handle plan assets. In turn, Section 409 of
ERISA, 29 U.S.C. 1109, authorizes three specific remedies
against fiduciaries who breach those duties. First, a
fiduciary is “personally liable to make good to [the] plan
any losses * * * resulting from each * * * breach” of
fiduciary duty. 29 U.S.C. 1109(a). Second, a court may
order a breaching fiduciary to “restore to [the] plan any
profits of such fiduciary which have been made through
use of assets of the plan by the fiduciary.” /bid. Third, a
fiduciary “shall be subject to such other equitable or
remedial relief as the court may deem appropriate, in-
cluding removal of such fiduciary.” /hid.

9

Part S of Title | of ERISA, 29 U.S.C. 1131-1145, titled
“Administration and Enforcement,” sets forth the general
remedial framework for Title l of ERISA. Section S01, 29
U.S.C. 1131, establishes criminal penalties; Section $02,
29 U.S.C. 1132, authorizes six different civil actions,
described in the six numbered paragraphs of subsection
502(a). This case involves the second and third of those six
paragraphs. The second paragraph, 29 U.S.C. 1132(a)(2),
authorizes an action “for appropriate relief under [Section
409].” The third paragraph, on which petitioners’ action
rests, permits an action “by a participant, beneficiary, or
fiduciary (A) to enjoin any act or practice which viclaies
any provision of this subchapter or the terms of the plan
or (B) to obtain other appropriate equitable relief (i) to
redress such violations.” 29 U.S.C. 1132(a)(3).

By contrast to Sections 409 and 502(a)(2)— provisions
limited by their terms to relief against “[aJny person who is
a fiduciary,” 29 U.S.C. 1109(a)—nothing in Section
$02(a)(3) limits the class of permissible defendants. Hence,
the language of Section $02(a)(3) establishes a general
cause of action, available to any “participant, beneficiary,
or fiduciary,” for any “equitable relief” that is “appro-
priate * * * to redress * * * violations [of subchapter | or
the plan].” Because (i) it is undisputed that petitioners
were “participants” in the plan and (ii) petitioners have
alleged that the actions in which respondents participated
violated a “provision of thle] subchapter”® or the terms of
the plan, the sole issue before the Court is whether “appro-
priate equitable relief” includes the relief sought by peti-
tioners: recovery from a nonfiduciary of losses a plan suf-
fers because of a fiduciary breach in which the nonfiduci-
ary knowingly participated. For the reasons discussed be-

* Section $02 appears in Subchapter | of Chapter 18 of Title 29,
which includes 29 tL S.C LOOL-1T1OR

10

low, we believe —as do the majority of the courts of ap-
peals'® —that it does.

B. Appropriate Equitable Relief Includes a Monetary Judg-
ment Requiring a Nonfiduciary Who Knowingly Par-
ticipates in a Breach of Fiduciary Duty To Redress Losses
Suffered by the Plan as a Result of the Breach

Under traditional equitable principles, the relief sought
by petitioners would have been available before ERISA.
Because ERISA preempts the remedies traditionally
available under state laws that relate to covered employee
benefit plans—whether based on a statute or common
law —a conclusion that Section 502(a)(3) does not provide
the relief sought in this case would require the conclusion
that Congress intended to curtail that traditional form of
relief when it acted to protect employee benefit plans in
passing ERISA. That conclusion is untenable.

1. Traditional equitable principles provide make-whole
relief to beneficiaries of a trust harmed by a non-
fiduciary who participates in a breach of trust

“ERISA abounds with the language and teri.sinology of
trust law”; as a result, courts are to consult “general prin-
ciples of trust law” developed by courts of equity'' to de-

'© See Diduck v. Kaszvcki & Sons Contractors, Inc., 974 F.2d 270,
279-281 (2d Cir. 1992); Whitfield v. Lindemann, 853 F.2d 1298, 1303
(Sth Cir. 1988), cert. denied sub nom. Klepak v. Dole, 490 U.S. 1089
(1989); Brock v. Hendershott, 840 F.2d 399, 442 (6th Cir. 1988),
Thornton v. Evans, 692 F.2d 1064, 1078 (7th Cir. 1982); see also Fink
v. National Savings & Trust Co., 772 F.2d 951, 9588 (D.C. Cir, 1985S)
(dictum). But see Nieto v. Ecker, 845 F.2d 868, 870-873 (9th Cir.
19RR); Useden v. Acker, 947 F.2d 1863, 1882 (1ith Cir. 1991), petition
for cert. pending, No. 91-1944 (filed June 1, 1992)

'' It should be beyond dispute that the reference to “equitable
relief™ refers to relief available in courts of equity. See Black's law

termine what types of “equitable relief” are “appropriate”
to “redress” violations under Section $02(a)(3). Firestone
Tire & Rubber Co. v. Bruch, 489 U.S. 101, 110, 115
(1989); see Central States, Southeast & Southwest Areas
Pension Fund v. Central Transport, Inc., 472 U.S. 559,
570 (1985) (courts should consider “the common law of
trusts”). Two of those principles demonstrate that the
relief sought by petitioners is “appropriate equitable
relief”: courts of equity awarded make-whole monetary
relief to redress a breach of trust; and courts of equity
awarded relief against a nonfiduciary who participated in
a breach of trust by a fiduciary.'?

Dictionary $39 (6th ed. 1990) (defining “equitable relief” as “[t}hat
species of relief sought in a court with equity powers”).

'? The Eighth and Ninth Circuits have stated that the reference in
Section S02(a3) to “other appropriate equitable relief” should be
construed to include only three categories of relief: injunctions to pre-
vent violations of fiduciary duty, imposition of a constructive trust on
plan assets, and removal of trustees. See, e.g., Sokol v. Bernstein, 803
F.2d $32, S38 (9th Cir. 1986); Nowak v. Andersen Corp., 962 F.2d
757, 760 (8th Cir. 1992), petition for cert. pending, No. 92-352 (filed
Aug. 26, 1992). Those decisions rely to a significant degree on the fact
that the Senate Report offers those three types of relief as examples of
appropriate equitable relief. See S. Rep. No. 383, 93d Cong., Ist Sess.
105-106 (1973). There is no indication in the report, however, that the
passage was intended as an exhaustive catalogue of the types of relief
that would be available under Section $02(a)3); indeed, the relevant
passage begins with the phrase “[flor example.” /d. at 105. The best
guide for determining what types of relief should be available is the
Statutory language — which refers generally to the readily compre-
hensible concept of “equitable relief — not a list of examples offered
in the legislative history. See Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation
\ LTV Corp., 4996S) 633, 649 (1990)

12
a. In the realm of trust law, make-whole monetary
relief has long been a traditional equitable remedy. The
Second Restatement of Trusts illustrates this conclusion.
Section 199 sets forth the “equitable remedies” available to
the beneficiary of a trust. The third of these, set forth in
Section 199(c), allows the beneficiary “to compel the
trustee to redress a breach of trust.” | Restatement (Sec-
ond) of Trusts 437 (1959). The comment to Section 199(c)
explains that the suit to gain redress should be governed by
Section 205 of the Restatement, see id. comment c, at 438,
which permits an award of monetary relief by making the
trustee liable for any “loss” to the trust caused by a breach
of fiduciary duty.'* Indeed, each of the ten illustrations in
the comments to Section 205 involves a monetary award
against the trustee. /d. comments c-h, at 459-462.'4
Moreover, it is clear that the monetary relief available
under Section 20S included a right to “make-whole”
damages. Comment a explains that the beneficiary has a
number of options, one of which is “the option * * * of
pursuing a remedy which will put him in the position in
which he would have been if the trustee had not committed
the breach of trust.” 1 Restatement (Second) of Trusts 458
(1959). Thus, “the general rule fis] that the object of
damages is to make the injured party whole, that is, to put

'* Section 205 provides that a trustee who has committed a breach
of trust “is chargeable with (a) any loss or depreciation in value of the
trust estate resulting from the breach of trust; or (b) any profit made
by him through the breach of trust; or (c) any profit which would have
accrued to the trust estate if there had been no breach of trust.” | Re-
statement (Second) of Trusts 458.

‘* For example, Ilustration § provides: “A is trustee of $10,000 in
cash. He deposits the money in a bank which he knows or has reason
to know is insolvent. The bank fails and A recovers only $4000 from
the bank. A is liable for the loss.” 1 Restatement (Second) of Trusts
489

13

him in the same condition in which he would have been if
the wrong had not been committed and the trustee had
done his duty. Both direct and consequential damages may
be awarded.” George Gleason Bogert & George Taylor
Bogert, The Law of Trusts and Trustees § 701, at 198 (2d
ed. rev. 1982) [hereinafter Bogert & Bogert] (footnote
omitted) (liability for breach of investment duties): see
Russell, 473 U.S. at 187 (Brennan, J., concurring); see
also Albemarle Paper Co. v. Moody, 422 U.S. 408,
418-419 (1975) (application of similar principles of equity
to Title VII).

As the materials discussed above demonstrate, respond-
ent errs in suggesting (Br. in Opp. 8-9) that the make-
whole relief requested by petitioners constitutes a
“damage[s]” remedy not cognizable in equity.'’ “Trusts
are, and have been since they were first enforced, within
the peculiar province of courts of equity.” 3 Austin Wake-
man Scott & William Franklin Fratcher, The Law of
Trusts § 197, at 188 (4th ed. 1988) [hereinafter Scott &
Fratcher].'© Thus. although a beneficiary's action to

'* Respondent's analysis resembles the analysis of the Eleventh Cir
cuit in Useden v. Acker, 947 F.2d 1563, 1880 (1991), petition for cert
pending, No. 91-1944 (filed June 1, 1992).

'* See Lessee of Smith v. McCann, 658 U.S. (24 How.) 998, 407
(1861) (equity has “exclusive jurisdiction of trusts and trust estates”); 2
Joseph Story, Commentaries on Equity Jurisprudence § 1302, at 648
(WH. Lyon, Ir. 14th ed. 1918) (“For the most part indeed matters of
trust and confidence are exclusively cognizable in Courts of Equity:
there being few cases except bailments, and rights founded in contract
* * *in which a remedy can be administered in the Courts of Law.”):
3 William Blackstone, Commentaries on the Laws of England *43\
(“fraud, accident, and trust are the proper and peculiar objects of a
court of equity”); Sir Edward Coke, The First Part of the Institutes of
the Laws of England § 464, at 272b* (beneficiary of trust “had no
remedie by the common law, but for breach of trust, his remedie was
only by subpoena in chancerie”)

14

recover losses resulting from a breach of duty superficially
resembles an action at law for damages, such relief tradi-
tionally has been obtained in courts of equity.'’ Hence,
hecause that relief is, by definition, “equitable relief,”
there is no reason it should not be available in an action
under Section S02(a)(3) of ERISA, 29 U.S.C. 1132(a)(3).
See Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, 1118S. Ct. 478, 486
(1990) (noting that “there is no basis in § 502(a)’s language
for limiting ERISA actions to only those which seek ‘pen-
sion benefits,’ " and explaining that “[i]t is clear that the
relief requested” in that case — which included a prayer for
compensatory damages—“is well within the power of
federal courts to provide” under ERISA).

b. It also is clear that equitable remedies for a breach
of trust included monetary awards against nonfiduciaries
who knowingly participated in a breach of trust. Again,
the Second Restatement of Trusts is explicit. Section 326
provides that “[a] third person who * * * has notice that
the trustee is committing a breach of trust and participates
therein is liable to the beneficiary for any loss caused by
the breach of trust.” 2 Restatement (Second) of Trusts 124

'* See, e.g., 4 John Norton Pomeroy, A Treatise on Equity Juris
prudence § 1080, at 229 n.18 (Spencer W. Symons Sth ed. 1941) [here
inafter Pomeroy] (explaining that the equitable liability for breach of
trust is “of the same nature as that arising from breach of contract”); 3
William Blackstone, Commentaries on the Laws of England *4%9
(“The form of a trust * * * gives the courts of equity an exclusive
jurisdiction as to the subject-matter of all settlements and devises in
that form, * * * but the trust is governed by very nearly the same
rules, as would govern the estate in a court of law, if no trustee was in
terposed.”); see also F.W. Maitland, Equity 110-111 (2d ed. 1936) (ex
plaining that the historical reason trusts were not enforced at law ap
parently was that “the Chancellors were beforehand in this matter
and, by giving a far more perfect remedy than the common law courts
could give, made any remedy in those courts unnecessary”)

1S

(1959).'* This Court also has recognized that principle.
Seminole Nation vy. United States, 316 U.S. 286, 296
(1942) (“It is a well established principle of equity that a
third party who pays money to a fiduciary for the benefit
of the heneficiary, with the knowledge that the fiduciary
intends to misappropriate the money or otherwise be false
to his trust, is a participant in the breach of trust and liable
therefor to the beneficiary.”).'? Thus, if a trustee’s agent
knowingly participates and assists in a breach of fiduciary
duty, the agent could be held liable for losses arising from
the breach. See, e.g., 4 Scott & Fratcher, supra, § 326.4, at
310-313; 2 Restatement (Second) of Trusts, supra, § 326
comment a, at 124. Allegations such as those made by
petitioners —that an actuary knowingly participated in a
breach of fiduciary duty while acting as the fiduciary’s

'* Treatises and commentators uniformly have supported this view
as well. Bogert & Bogert, supra, § 9O1, at 257 ("[ The beneficiary, as
equitable owner of the trust res has the right that third persons shall
not knowingly join with the trustee in a breach of trust."); 4 Scott &
Pratcher, supra, § 326.8, at 314 (“Wher ‘be third person knowingly
and actively participates in the breach of vere 1s no difficulty in
holding him liable.”); Austin Wakeman |, Participation in a
Breach of Trust, 34 Wary. 1. Rev. 454, 481 (1921) [hereinafter Scott}
(“If third persons knowingly participate with a fiduciary in a breach of
his obligations it is proper to hold them liable."); 4 Pomeroy, supra,
§ 1080, at 230: ("If third persons are parties to a breach of trust, thes
are equally lable with the trustee.”).

'* State court decisions also have recognized this principle. See,
ee, first National Bank of Kineman v. Byrnes, 89 Po 1056, 1058
(Kan. 1900) ("As a general principle, all persons who knowingly par
Hicipate or aid in committing a breach of trust are responsible for the
wrong, and may be compelled to make good the loss."); Wechsler \
Bowman, 34 N.E.2d 422, 326 (N_Y. 1941) (The principle of law
which the plaintiff urges has been reiterated by this court many times
Any one who knowingly participates with a fiduciary in a breach of
trust ts hable for the full amount of the damage caused thereby to the
cesturs que trust")

16

agent — accordingly would be sufficient to state a cause of
action in equity under traditional principles of trust law.?°

2. The relief sought by petitioners is appropriate because it
ensures that ERISA affords beneficiaries no less protec-
tion than they would have had in courts of equity before
ERISA

As this Court has explained, “ERISA was enacted ‘to
promote the interests of employees and their beneficiaries
in employee benefit plans.’ ” Firestone Tire & Rubber Co.
v. Bruch, 489 U.S. 101, 113 (1989) (quoting Shaw v. Delta
Aur Lines, Inc., 463 U.S. 85, 90 (1983)); see 29 U.S.C.
1L001(b) (“[ T]he policy of [ERISA is] to protect * * * the in-
terests of participants in employee benefit plans and their
beneficiaries.”).?' Thus, the Court has been reluctant to
interpret ERISA in a way that “would afford less protec-

** There is no doubt that the cause of action lies in equity. See, e.2.,
Seminole Nation, 316 U.S. at 296; Scott, supra, 34 Harv. L. Rev. at
454 (“Anyone who participates with a trustee in a breach of trust may
be held liable in a court of equity. * * * [I)f he has never received or no
longer holds the trust property or its proceeds, he may be held liable in
equity for damages.”); Bogert & Bogert, supra, § 901, at 257 (rights of
beneficiary rest on status “as equitable owner of the trust res”); Cahall
\. Lofland, 114 A. 224, 237 (Del. Ch. 1921) (One who participates
with a trustee in a breach of trust may be held liable in a court of equi-
ty"), aff'd, 118 A. 1 (Del. 1922); Whitford v. Reddeman, 219 NW.
361, 368-366 (Wis. 1928) (“[ T]he power to compel an accounting by a
trustee, and to hold those liable with him for mismanagement of the
trust are well-recognized and well-defined powers of a court of
equity.”).

** The legislative history underscores this purpose. See 120 Cong
Rec. 29,932 (1974) (remarks of Sen. Williams) (the objectives of
ERISA’s fiduciary-related provisions “are to make applicable the law
of trusts; * * * to establish uniform fiduciary standards to prevent
transactions which dissipate or endanger plan assets; and to provide
effective remedies for breaches of trust”)

17

tion to employees and their beneficiaries than they enjoyed
before ERISA was enacted,” Firestone, 489 U.S. at 114,
and has never interpreted ERISA to circumscribe the equl-
table remedies available at common law. Adopting the
rule established by the court of appeals, however, would
do just that.

With exceptions not relevant here, Section S14(a) of
ERISA preempts “any and all State laws insofar as they
may now or hereafter relate to any [covered] employee
benefit plan.” 29 U.S.C. 1144(a). Hence, ERISA preempts
any cause of action dependent on proof that the defendant
participated in a breach of a fiduciary duty to an ERISA
plan, because any such cause of action would “relate to”
the plan by considering the duties imposed on fiduciaries
of the plan. See Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, 111 S.
Ct. 478, 483 (1990) (cause of action for wrongful termina-
tion to avoid paying benefits is preempted); Pilot Life In-
surance Co. v. Dedeaux, 481 U.S. 41, 47-48 (1987)
(common-law causes of action based on improper proc-
essing of a claim for benefits “undoubtedly meet the
criteria for pre-emption”). Hence, ERISA leaves the States
powerless to provide beneficiaries with a state-law remedy
against nonfiduciaries. Any right of recovery dependent
on proof that the defendant participated in a breach of a
fiduciary duty to an ERISA plan would be preempted.??

*? TE ERISA did not preempt state-law causes of action in the area.
matters would be just as unsatisfactory, because the “liability of non
fiduciaries would be assessed by varving state laws, while the conduct
and hability of the fiduciary whom the third party is claimed to have
knowingly assisted in breaching a duty would be governed by federal
law.” Diduck \. Kaszvcki & Sons Contractors, Inc., 974 F 2d 270. 281
(2d Cir, 1992). Such a result would interfere significantly with Con
eress’s patent intent to bring uniformity to the administration of
employee benefit plans. See Fort Halifax Packine Co... Cowne. 482
US. 1, 910 C1987)

18

Fiduciaries will not always have the financial capability
to provide complete relief. See, e.g., Brock v. Gerace, 635
I. Supp. 563, 569 (D.N.J. 1986). The absence of a remedy
against nonfiduciaries therefore will prevent beneficiaries
in some cases from being made whole. In our view, and in
the view expressed by common-law courts for centuries, it
is inequitable to require innocent beneficiaries to sustain
such a loss, instead of the individuals who knowingly par-
ticipated in the fiduciary’s wrongful conduct. Because
ERISA defines the scope of available relief through prin-
ciples of equity, that traditional view of what is equitable
in these circumstances should preclude dismissal of peti-
tioners’ claims.

In sum, the traditional existence of a right of equitable
recovery for individuals in the position of petitioners,
coupled with ERISA’s broad preemption clause, provides
powerful support for the conclusion that the remedy
sought by petitioners is “appropriate equitable relief to
“redress” the alleged violations of ERISA and the plan.

(. The Availability of a Civil Penalty Against Nonfiduciaries
Under Section 80201) of ERISA Demonstrates the Propriety
of Awarding Such Relief Under Section $02(a)(3)

1. Section 502(/) of ERISA, 29 U.S.C. 1132(/) (Supp.
Il 1990) confirms that Section 502(a)(3) should be inter-
preted to authorize monetary relief against nonfiduciaries.
Section $02(/)(1) provides in relevant part:
In the case of —

(A) any breach of fiduciary responsibility
under * * * part 4 of this subtitle by a fiduciary,
or

(B) any knowing participation in such a
breach * * * by any other person,

the Secretary shall assess a civil penalty against such
fiduciary or other person in an amount equal to 20
percent of the applicable recovery amount.

19

Section 502(/42)(B), in turn, defines the term “applicable
recovery amount” to include “any amount * * * ordered
by a court to be paid by such fiduciary or other person to a
plan or its participants and beneficiaries in a judicial pro-
ceeding instituted by the Secretary under subsection (a)(2)
or (a(S) of this section.” 29 U.S.C. 1132(/)(2)(B) (Supp. Il
1990).

Because Section 5$02(/)(2)(B) by its terms applies only to
actions instituted under Sections 502(a)(2) and $02(a)(5).
the reference to sums recovered from a fiduciary “or other
person” necessarily indicates that it is possible to recover
sums from “other person[s]” under at least one of those
two subsections. Because Section 502(a)(2) authorizes only
“relief under [Section 409],” and because Section 409 au-
thorizes relief only against “[aJny person who is a
fiduciary,” Section S02(a)(S) is t! 2 only provision under
which the Secretary plausibly could recover sums from any
“other person.” The authority granted to the Secretary by
Section S02(a)(5), however, is substantively identical to the
authority granted to beneficiaries under Section 502(a)(3)
to “obtain other appropriate equitable relief (i) to redress
such violations or (ii) to enforce any provisions of this sub-
chapter.”?* Hence, the only logical alternatives to our
reading of Section S02(a)(3) are (a) to conclude that the
reference to an “other person” in Section $02(/)(2)(B) was
erroneous, or (b) to hold that the substantively identical
passages in Sections S02(a)(3) and 502(a)(5) have different
meanings. Neither course comports with ordinary- prin-
ciples of statutory construction. See, e.g., Moskal v.
United States, WS. Ct. 461, 466 (1990) (“{A] court

“The only difference between the provisions is that Section
SO2(a 3) contains plural references to “violations” and “provisions” of
ERISA, where Section SO2aMS) contains singular references to a
“vrolation” and a “provision” of FRISA

20

should give effect, if possible, to every clause and word of
a Statute.” (internal quotation marks omitted)); Estate of
Cowart v. Nicklos Drilling Co., 112 S. Ct. 2589, 2596
(1992) (noting “the basic canon of statutory construction
that identical terms within an Act bear the same
meaning”); Patterson v. Shumate, 112 S. Ct. 2242, 2251
(1992) (Scalia, J., concurring) (“[CJonsistency of usage
within the same statute is to be presumed.”). Therefore,
Section 502(/) indicates that Section S02(a)(3)'s grant of
power to afford “appropriate equitable relief includes the
power to afford the time-honored equitable remedy grant-
ing make-whole monetary relief against nonfiduciaries
who knowingly participate in breaches of fiduciary duty.?*

2. Notwithstanding the import of Section S02(/) ex-
plained above, the court of appeals concluded that the
statute that enacted Section $02(/)—the Omnibus Budget
Reconciliation Act of 1989 (OBRA), Pub. L. No. 101-239,
§ 2101, 103 Stat. 2123 —actually supports the position of
respondent. The court noted that when Congress enacted
OBRA, it considered and did not enact an amendment to
ERISA that explicitly would have authorized claims

** Section 4978 of the Internal Revenue Code also mdicates that
Section S02(a)4) authorizes actions against nonfiduciaries. That pro
vision, which was enacted contemporanecously with Tithe Lof ERISA,
levies a tax on “disqualified person|s}]” who engage in prohibited trans
actions, a class of persons that includes nonfiducianies. 26 U.S¢
4975(a) and (b), see Nieto, 845 F.2d at 874.6. The provision provides
that before sending a notice of deficiency to such parties, the Secretary
of the Treasury shall notify the Secretary of Labor to give her a
reasonable opportunity to obtain a correction of the prohibited trans
action. 26U' S.C. 497S¢th). The only way the Secretary of Labor could
obtain a correction, however, would be by a civil action pursuant to
Section S02(aS) against the “disqualified person.” Thus, 26 US.¢
4975, like Section $02(/) of ERISA, rests on the premise that Section
SO2(anS), and thus Section SO02(a4) as well, allows actions against
parties other than fiduciaries

2)

against persons who knowingly participate in fiduciary
breaches. See H.R. 3299, 101st Cong., Ist Sess.
§ JISHeM6MA) (1989), 135 Cong. Rec. H6006 (daily ed.
Sept. 27, 1989). As this Court repeatedly has indicated,
however, Congress’s failure to act “lacks ‘persuasive
Significance’ because ‘several equally tenable inferences’
may be drawn from such inaction, ‘including the inference
that the existing legislation already incorporated the of.
fered change.’ ” Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation \.
LIV Corp., 496 U.S. 633, 650 (1990) (quoting United
States v. Wise, 370 U.S. 405, 411 (1962)).

In this case, two of the circumstances surrounding
OBRA’s enactment support the inference that Congress
failed to act because of its view that ERISA already
authorized the relief sought by petitioners, not because it
wished to deny that relief. First, the House Report accom-
panying OBRA noted that, at the time of the proposed
amendment, “[a]ll but one of the Circuit Courts of Appeal
that ha[d] considered the issue hafd] held that the broad
remedial powers conferred on federal courts under ERISA
section SC>’a)(3) and (5) create an implied cause of action
against non-fiduciaries who knowingly participate in
breaches of fiduciary duty proscribed by ERISA.” H.R.
Rep. No. 247, 101st Cong., Ist Sess. 77 (1989). The Ninth
Circuit alone had held to the contrary. See ihid. It is im-
plausible to infer that congressional inaction reflected ac-
quiescence in what Congress apparently understood to be
the minority view of the statute. Second, the amendment
was proposed to “clarif[y]” the existence of a right of ac-
tion against nonfiduciaries. /hid. Starting from = that
motivation, it would have been reasonable for Congress to
remove the amendment when it chose to enact another
prosision — Section $02(/)—that indicated that such relief
was avarlable. Accordingly, Congress’s failure to overrule
Nieto expressly does not undermine the strong indication

22

Section S02(/) offers: Section 502(a)(3), like Section
502(a)(S), allows monetary relief against nonfiduciaries
who knowingly participate in a breach of trust with respect
to an ERISA plan.

D. This Court’s Decision In Massachusetts Mutual Life tn-
surance Co. v. Russell Does Not loreclose the Claim for
Relief in This Case

1. Interpreting ERISA to incorporate the trust-law
principles of nonfiduciary liability also is consistent with
Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Co. v. Russell, 473
U.S. 134 (1985), on which the Ninth Circuit relied to sup-
port its contrary conclusion in Nieto, 845 F.2d at 872. In
Russell, a beneficiary sued a plan fiduciary for bad-faith
processing of her claim for benefits, asserting a right to
recover compensatory and punitive damages that were not
available under the terms of the plan. But the remedy in
Section 502(a)(1)(B) for a beneficiary who is denied bene-
fits wrongfully allows the beneficiary only “to recover
benefits due to him under the terms of his plan.” 29
U.S.C. 1132(a)(1)(B) (emphasis added). Accordingly, be-
cause the beneficiary was seeking relief in excess of the
relief available under Section 502(a)(1)(B), the beneficiary
relied on Section S02(a)(2), 29 U.S.C. 1132(ay(2), which
permits a beneficiary to sue a fiduciary for a breach of
fiduciary duty under Section 409. See Russell, 473 U.S. at
139-140.

The Court declined to read Section 409 as enlarging the
beneficiary's “explicitly authoriz[ed]"” (473 U.S. at 144)
right to recovery for wrongful denial of benefits. Relying
heavily on the overall purpose of Section 409(a)— which
provides that a fiduciary “with respect to [an ERISA]
plan” is personally liable to “make good to such plan any
losses to the plan” that result from a breach of the fidu-

23

clary’s duties—the Court concluded that the general
reference to “other equitable or remedial relief” that ap-
pears in Section 409(a) authorizes only “ ‘plan-related’
relief,” which could not encompass a right to recover
damages on a beneficiary's own account. 473 U.S. at 142.

2. For several reasons, Russell is not controlling here.
birst, and most obviously, the beneficiary in Russel! sued
exclusively under Sections 409 and S02(a)(2), and placed
no reliance on Section 502(a)(3), the provision at issue in
this case. Russel/, 473 U.S. at 139 n.5 (respondent “ex-
pressly disclaim[ed] reliance on § $02(a)(3), [so] we have
no occasion to consider whether any other provision of
ERISA authorizes recovery of extracontractual
damages”); see id. at 149 (Brennan, J., concurring).

Second, the question at issue in this case is quite differ-
ent from the question at issue in Russell. As noted above,
Russell involved a claim for relief brought by a beneficiary
against a fiduciary, based on a particular violation, with
respect to which the provisions of Sections 409 and S02(a)
provided for a specified recovery that was less than the
recovery sought by the beneficiary; moreover, it was not
suggested that the relief was traditionally available under
the law of trusts. By contrast, the beneficiary here is at-
tempting to obtain “equitable relief as authorized by the
Statute; the only question is whether the statutory term in-
cludes make-whole monetary relief against nonfiduciaries.
In answering that question, we believe that it is entirely
consistent with Russe// to interpret ERISA (as the Court
did in Firestone) to carry forward traditional principles of
trust law.

binally, a broad reading of Russell barring the relict
sought in this case would render Section $02(a3)(B)
essentially useless, because Section 409 and the other pro-
visions of Section SO2(a) already authorize removal of the
trustee, as well as declaratory and injunctive relief to

24

prevent future violations. If “other appropriate equitable
relief * * * to redress * * * violations” does not include
other types of rehef courts of equity would have issued to
redress violations of fiduciary duties, then it has no
substantial purpose. See Russell, 473 US. at 18S (Bren
nan, J., concurring); compare, e.g., Moskal v. United
States, TIES. Ct. 461, 466 (1990) ([A] court should give
effect, if possible, to every clause and word of a statute.”
(internal quotation marks omitted)).

3. Although portions of the Court's opinion in Russell
reflect reluctance to recognize new remedies that Congress
“simply forgot to mecorporate” in ERISA, 473 U.S. at
146-—on the theory that implying new remedies would
render the existing remedies set forth in Sections 409 and
S02(a) 1B) superfluous — that concern is not implicated
here. Section 409 not only provides general authority to
award appropriate relief against a fiduciary who breaches
his duties under ERISA, but also provides that a fiduciary
shall be subject to certain very definite remedies for
breaching the duties imposed under ERISA: make-whole
relief for the plan, disgorgement of profits earned in
breach of trust, and removal of a fiduciary. 29 U.S.C.
110%a). Even if Section $02(a)3) authorizes courts to
derive the same remedies by incorporating equitable trust
principles into ERISA, the enumeration of certain
remedies in Section 409 would not be superfluous, because
it would ensure that the specified relief would be available
irrespective of the federal courts’ conclusions regarding
the content of the equitable principles incorporated into
Section S02(a)(3). In effect, therefore, Section 409, as im.
plemented by Section S02(a(2), places a floor under the
types of rehef available from a fiduciary.

In sum, Section S02(a)(2) and the other precise remedial
provisions Congress included in Section $02(a) form the
first part of the “comprehensive civil enforcement scheme”

- 2s

set forth in Section SO2(a), Ingersoll Rand Co. v. McC len
don, 111 S. Ct. 478, 485 (1990): they establish the basic
minimum remedies Sections SO2(a M3) and SO2aMS) com
plete the scheme, by broadly authorizing courts to develop
other remedies as appropriate im light of the equitable
principles underlying ERISA, as modified in light of
ERISA’s particular terms. Because those principles allow
heneficiarics to seck make whole relief from nonfidu
cranes, Section $02(a)3) should do the same.

CONCTEUSION

The judgment of the court of appeals should be re
versed,

Respectfully submitted

Rita W Stape
Yolu. or Greneral

Niawoseate Fo Bereae Mint erin bo Magione
Selector of Labor Deputy Solwitor General
Vere BE Brrinsgas RONALD B Mas
Wssectate Sele tter Ihestant to the Soluior General

NATHANDED TE Srurie
f ounsel for Appellat
I thivation
Maren S Brynn
Nfrornes
Department of 1 ate

NovE<ORE ew P99)

APPENDIN

ERISA § 409(a), 29 ULS.C. 1109(a), provides:
Any person who is a fiduciary with respect to a plan
who breaches any of the responsibilities, obligations,
or duties imposed upon fiduciaries by this subchapter
shall be personally liable to make good to such plan
any losses to the plan resulting from each such
breach, and to restore to such plan any profits of such
fiduciary which have been made through use of assets
of the plan by the fiduciary, and shall be subject to
such other equitable or remedial relief as the court
may deem appropriate, including removal of such
fiduciary. A fiduciary may also be removed for a
violation of section 1111 of this title.

ERISA § SO02(a), 29 U.S.C. 1132(a), provides:
Persons empowered to bring a civil action
A civil action may be brought —
(1) by a participant or beneficiary —

(A) tor the relief provided for m subsection (c) of
this section, or
(B) to recover benefits due to him under the terms

of his plan, to enforce his rights under the terms of
the plan, or to clarify his rights to future benefits
under the terms of the plan;
(2) by the Secretary, or by a participant, beneficiary
or fiduciary for appropriate relief under section 1109
of this title;
(3) by a participant, beneficiary, or fiduciary (A) to
enjom any act or practice which violates any provt-
sion of this subchapter or the terms of the plan, or (B)
to obtain other appropriate equitable relief (i) to re-
dress such violations or (ii) to enforce any provisions
of this subchapter or the terms of the plan;

(la)

2a

(4) by the Secretary, or by a participant, or bene-
ficiary for appropriate relief in the case of a violation
of 1025(c) of this title;

(S) except as otherwise provided in subsection (b) of
this section, by the Secretary (A) to enjoin any act or
practice which violates any provision of this sub-
chapter, or (B) to obtain other appropriate equitable
relief (i) to redress such violation or (ii) to enforce any
provision of this subchapter; or

(6) by the Secretary to collect any civil penalty under
subsection (i) of this section.

ERISA § $020), 29 U.S.C. 11320) (Supp. TP 1999) pro-
vides:

Civil penalties on violations by fiduciaries

(1) Inthe case of —

(A) any breach of fiduciary responsibility
under (or other violation of) part 4 of this subtitle by
a fiduciary, or

(B) any knowing participation in such a breach
or violation by any other person, the Secretary shall
assess a civil penalty against such fiduciary or other
person in an amount equal to 20 percent of the appli-
cable recovery amount.

(2) For purposes of paragraph (1), the term “ap-
plicable recovery amount” means any amount which
is recovered from a fiduciary or other person with
respect to a breach or violation described im para.
graph (1)—

(A) pursuant to any settlement agreement with
the Secretary, or

(B) ordered by a court to be paid by such fidu-
ciary or other person to a plan or its participants and
heneficiaries in a judicial proceeding instituted by the
Secretary under subsection (a)(2) or (aS) of this sec
hhon

4a

(3) The Secretary may, in the secretary's sole
discretion, waive or reduce the penalty under para-
graph (1) if the Secretary determines in writing that —

(A) the fiduciary or other person acted reason-
ably and in good faith, or

(B) it is reasonable to expect that the fiduciary
or other person will not be able to restore all losses to
the plan without severe financial hardship unless such
waiver or reduction is granted.

(4) The penalty imposed on a fiduciary or other
person under this subsection with respect to any
transaction shall be reduced by the amount of any
penalty or tax imposed on such fiduciary or other per-
son with respect to such transaction under subsection
(1) of this section and section 4975 of title 26.

ERISA § 514(a), 29 U.S.C. 1144(a), provides:

Supersedure; effective date

Except as provided in subsection (b) of this section,
the provisions of this subchapter and subchapter II
of this chapter shall supersede any and all State laws
insofar as they may now or hereafter relate to any
employee benefit plan described in section 100%(a) of
this tithe and not exempt under section 100%(b)y of this
title. This section shall take effect on January 1, 1975.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0265%3A09. Public record. Not legal advice.
