# Amicus Curiae Brief — Franklin v. Massachusetts

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0252%3A11

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1992
- **Citation:** 505 U.S. 788

## Text

= FILED ©
9 APR 13 1992
No. 91-1502 | OFFICE OF THE am
IN THE
SUPREME COURT
OF THE
UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1991

BARBARA HACKMAN FRANKLIN, et al.,
Appellants,

Vv.

COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS, et al.,
Appellees.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES
DISTRICT COURT FOR THE
DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS

BRIEF OF STATE OF WASHINGTON
AS AMICUS IN SUPPORT OF APPELLANTS

KENNETH O. EIKENBERRY

Attorney General
‘ JAMES M. JOHNSON*

Sr. Assistant Attorney General

J. LAWRENCE CONIFF

JEFFREY T. EVEN

CAROLE A. RESSLER
Aflorneys

Attorneys for Amicus Washington
*Counsel of Record

7th Floor P.O. Box 40100
Olympia, Washington 98504
(206) 753-4556

No. 91-1502

—: .7.-See
IN THE

SUPREME COURT

OF THE
UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1991

BARBARA HACKMAN FRANKLIN, et al.,
Appellants,

Vv.

COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS, et al.,
Appellees.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES
DISTRICT COURT FOR THE
DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS

BRIEF OF STATE OF WASHINGTON
AS AMICUS IN SUPPORT OF APPELLANTS

KENNETH O. EIKENBERRY
Attorney General
JAMES M. JOHNSON*
Sr. Assistant Anorney General
J. LAWRENCE CONIFF
JEFFREY T. EVEN
CAROLE A. RESSLER

Attorneys

Atiorneys for Amicus Washington
*Counsel of Record

i
QUESTIONS PRESENTED

The three-judge district court held that the Census Clause
of the Constitution (Art. I, § 2, Cl. 3) and the Census Act (13
U.S.C. § 141) permit the Secretary of Commerce to include
federal personnel stationed abroad (and their dependents) in the
State population totals on which the apportionment of
Representatives is based. However, the court held that the
Secretary's manner of doing so following the 1990 census was
arbitrary and capricious, in violation of the Administrative
Procedure Act (APA), 5 U.S.C. § 706(2)(A), because he did not
furnish an adequate justification. The questions presented are:

1. Whether judicial review of the apportionment of
Representatives, based on the census including federal personnel
stationed abroad, is barred by virtue of the political question
doctrine, the APA's exceptions for situations in which “statutes
preclude review" and “agency action is committed to agency
discretion by law," 5 U.S.C. 702(a), and the inapplicability of
the APA to the President.

2. Whether, if judicial review is not barred the inclusion
of federal personne! stationed abroad was arbitrary and

3. Whether, if the district court correctly found that the
Secretary's determination violated the APA, it properly ordered
appellants to effect a new apportionment of Representatives with
the personnel abroad thrown out of the underlying census count,
rather than remanding the matter to the Secretary for further
proceedings.

ii iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS ll. THE SECRETARY OF COMMERCE ACTED
WITHIN AND IN ACCORDANCE WITH
CONGRESS’ DELEGATION OF CENSUS

INTERESTS OF AMICUS WASHINGTON ....__.. l RT hv eneus cheb ebbeé cea cecesec
: A. The Lower Court Ignored the Record Basis for the
A Washington's Interest in Retaining Nine House Decision to Use “Home of Record” ........
Seats and Declaring the Process Final ee 2 B. Congress Encouraged and Directed the Secretary's
B. Washington's Interests Include the Constitutional Decision to Include Federal Overseas Personnel by
Rights of Affected Citizens Serving Overseas .. 3 GE ccccccvowk ices c<
= C. The Court Misunderstood "Home of Record” . .
STATEMENT OF THECASE ............__.. 3 D. The Federal Uniformed and Overseas Citizens
Absentee Voting Act and the Washington State
The Washington Redistricting Process is Final... _. 6 —— nkehueeéucouewEttt ¢<
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT...........s.—s—a.:—si—_édis. 7 Ill. REFUSING TO COUNT PERSONS SERVING THE
nenene UNITED STATES (TEMPORARILY) OVERSEAS
ee ee 9 VIOLATES THE CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHTS OF
THOSE CITIZENS AND THEIR STATES ......
1. THE 1990 CENSUS AND APPORTIONMENT OF A. Those ing Their H ight to Be
REPRESENTATIVES IS FINAL, AND IS NOT NOW — a eer
1s Representation of all Their Citizens in Congress
Constitutionally Committed to Congress. Once
Reported to Congress it is Final ...... 9 Ra nc Dn Re A
B. The Court Improperly Ordered the House to
Change Each State's Certificate .......... 11
1. The APA Provides No Cause of Action
Against the President or Clerk ......_._. 1]

2. The Clerk Lacks Statutory Authority ‘o
Revoke or Modify Certificates o
Enutiement One On oes Gude 66 ee ll

17

21

24

24

27

iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page
Armstrong v. Bush,
924 F.2d 282 (D.C. Cir. 1991) ................ 11
Baker v. Carr,
LS 14, 15
Baldridge v. Shapiro,
TE 10
Board of Pardons v. Allen,
402 U.S. 369 (1967) ....................... 11
Bolling v. Sharpe,
oor Dam. Se Gee ..................... 8, 25
Borough of Bethel Park v. Stans,
449 F.2d S75 Grd Cir. 1971) ................. 16
Buckley v. Valeo,
424 U.S. 1 (1976) DEG du é cede cetedsts 8, 25, 27
Carey v. Klutznick,
a Le Sk so gs bars Haba ak 27
Carrington v. Rash,
i 27
City of Newark v. Blumenthal,
457 F. Supp. 30(D.D.C. 1978) ............._.. 19
Cuomo v.
674 F. Supp. 1089 (S.D.N.Y. Ns tie aia ei a 27

Federation for American Immigration Reform (FAIR) y.
486 F. Supp. 564 (D.D.C. 1980), appeal dismissed 447 U.S.

ee tr ns 26, 28, 29
Hampton & Co. v. United States

276 U.S. 394(1928) ................._.. 20, 21
Japan Whaling Ass'n v. American Cetacean Soc'y,

478 U.S. 221 (1986) ............... Pa lnwh ood 15
Karcher v.

462 U.S. 725 (1983) en ee 19
Kramer v. Union Free Sch. Dist
eee 26, 27

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (Continued)

Mistretia v. United States,
coc ccceaaun 21

801 F.2d 445 (D.C. Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 480 U.S. 911

DMEM eUGE bb oece sls ccecccccece 10
New York v. U.S. Dep't of Commerce,

EE 6
New York City Bd. of Estimate v. Morris

To Seas occ ccccccccceces 30
Nixon v. Administrator of Gen. Servs.,

ccc ecceene 21
Perrin v. United States, ,

Te on sw ccc cebccoccionn 12
Reynolds v. Sims,

EE 26, 30
Tucker v. U.S. Dep't of Commerce,

No. 91-2051 (7th Cir. Mar. 16, 1992) _.... 9, 15, 25, 26

U.S. Dep't of Commerce v. Montana,
No. 91-860 (U.S. Mar. 31, 1992) .... 2, 4,9, 10, 18, 20
United States v. Nixon

418 U.S. 683 (1974) Dtethdntehaneevedeanne 21
United States v. Turkente,

452 U.S. 576 A womg OE a ene e 12
Washington v. Davis

426 U.S. 229 (1945) eal og oe 25
Weinberger v. Romero-Barcelo,

ee ‘ec
Wesberry v. Sanders,

a 3, 28

Young v. Klutznick,

497 F. Supp. 1318 (E.D. Mich. 1980), rev'd on other grounds

aR a a a I 29

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (Continued)
Page

Constitutions, Statutes and Regulations
tin 6 604 60 ioé6 okcandust. 8, 29
SES Kd» 0.0.00 6 00:b00%s 000200 cen 29
DRED 5.0 0.05 cs0esevecencaduls 1, 10
DEY 6 «once neceecce ss. 7,9, 12, 14
PON, bn csvcccccccccce, 5, 7, 11, 12, 14
5 U.S.C. § 7OMaXIMA).................... 7, 11
ED ooo cc ccc cc ccccecce 4, 7,9, 16
EN 6 6 occccodtcceerecadic, 7
42 U.S.C. §§ 1973ff-197371-6 6. 8, 17, 23
55 Stat. 761 TMCS 060s 0604n0bk. nade 13
EE Sos 005s ccccccccncceensc, 13
U.S. Const. amend. XIV,§2 ............. 28
U.S. Const. art.1,§2,cl.3................. 749, 25
Wash. Const. art. Il, §43,amend.74....00202~2~O~O~C«w™ 6
Wash. Const. ant. VI,§4............... 8, 22-24
Wash. Rev. Code § 29.01.140 i ak 23, 24
Wash. Rev. Code § 44.05.100 hin. it mn einen 6

Other Authorities
1 Max Farrand, The Records of the Federal Convention

0 ees 8, 28, 29
87 Cong. Rec. 8053(1941)........ 13
87 Cong. Rec. 8078-83(1941)..... 13
136 Cong. Rec. H 4195-4197... 4
Cong. Globe, 39th Cong., 1st Sess. Saas 28

Department of Defense Military Pay and Allowances
CERT NES chess oan coccnee..... 22
H.R. Rep. No 99-765, 99th Cong., 2d Sess (1986) . 23, 24

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (Continued)

Page
Note, Constitutional Issues of the Federal Census,
94 Harv. L. Rev. 841 (1981)................ 26, 29
Pour’s Federal and State Constitution (1878) ......... 28

Uniformed and Overseas Citizens Absentee Voting:

Hearings on HR 4393 Before the Subcomm. on Elections

of the Committee on House Administration, U.S. House

of Representatives, 99th Cong., 2d Sess. (1986) ....... 16
Zuckerman, A Consideration of the History and Present

Status of Section 2 of the Fourteenth Amendment,

30 Fordham L. Rev. 93 (1961).................. 28

*

No. 91-1502

IN THE

SUPREME COURT

OF THE
UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1991

BARBARA HACKMAN FRANKLIN, et al.,
Appellants,

Vv.

COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS, et al.,
Appellees.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES
DISTRICT COURT FOR THE
DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS

BRIEF OF STATE OF WASHINGTON
AS AMICUS IN SUPPORT OF APPELLANTS

INTERESTS OF AMICUS WASHINGTON

The State of Washington participates herein to protect the
nine United States House of Representatives seats to which it is
“entitled” (2 U.S.C. § 2a) under the Certificate of Entitlement

2

issued by the Clerk of the House following the 1990 Census.’
The order below transfers one of these seats to Massachusetts
and also reduces by one the number of Washington's presidential
electors.

Washington also acts to Protect the rights of 922,819
United States citizens who, because they were serving their
country Overseas on the day of the census, have been ordered
treated as nullities for constitutional apportionment purposes by
the district court.

Finally, Washington acts to protect the rights of its citizens
whose share of representation in the House of Representatives
would be diluted (reduced by 11%) by the lower court’s order
reducing the Washington delegation from nine to eight.

A. Washington’s Interest in Retaining Nine House Seats
and Declaring the Process Fina]

"The 1990 census revealed that the population of certain
States . . . had increased more rapidly than the national average
. . . [which] caused 8 states to gain . . . additional seats in the
House of Representatives and 13 states to lose an equal number."
U. S. Dep't of Commerce vy. Montana, No. 91-860, slip. Op. at
2 (U.S. Mar. 31, 1992). Washington, a rapidly gtowing state,
gained one seat (to nine) and Massachusetts, a state of relative
decline, lost one seat (to ten). Montana, slip op. at 2, nn.4, 5.

Massachusetts (belatedly) filed this action in an attempt to
reverse or delay the effects of these population changes on its
congressional delegation.

Because Washington’s ninth seat was the last Seat allocated
under the 1990 apportionment (number 435), two of the legal
challenges filed by states losing seats have sought the seat gained
by Washington.?

In this action the United States District Court for the

' Washington's Certificate dated January 16, 1991 is appended as
Appendix A.

* First considered by this Court was United States Department of
Commerce v. Montana, No. 91-860 (U.S. Mar. 31, 1992).

3

District of Massachusetts issued an order excluding from the
census for apportionment purposes, the approximately 922,819
federal employees serving overseas on the census date, and
directing the Clerk to issue new Certificates of Entitlement with
the effect of taking a seat from Washington, and giving it to
Massachusetts. Washington has an interest in reversing that
decision, in order to retain its nine House seats (and the
presidential electors based on House and Senate delegations).

Washington also advocates the strong public interest in finality
of the apportionment process.

In Washington, as in a majority of states,’ redistricting into
congressional, and intertwined states districts, is now final (as
required by the Washington Constitution) and its Redistricting
Commission is no longer in operation.

Preparations for the 1992 congressional and other elections
are already in progress, both by the State and by the various
candidates. Candidates have declared and filed public disclosure
and financial reporting statements.

The Massachusetts court order would have the probable
effect of making it impossible for Washington to conduct its
elections in accordance with its laws.‘

B. Washington’s Interests Include the Constitutional Rights
of Affected Citizens Serving Overseas

Of arguably greater importance, Washington argues herein
on behalf of the over 922,819 citizens declared nullities for
apportionment by the decision below. Approximately 21,249 of
those citizens are Washingtonians by selection of Washington as
a “home of record" when entering government service.
However, the decision below denied representation to all citizens
who happened to be serving their country in an overseas

* Only nine states are still redistricting. See App. B.

* Massachusetts has previously suggested (Brief Opposing stay, p.
22) Washington should conduct elections from old districts. Those
distncts would be unconstitutional under Wesberry v. Sanders, 376
U.S. 1 (1964), standards.

3

location—often at the order of the President as Commander-in-
Chief—on the day of the census.

Washington speaks for the rights of its citizens so situated
and those of all states. Neither the United States nor
Massachusetts even purports to do so. The court below
disregarded the rights of all such citizens in its rush to add back
a Massachusetts seat. It will be demonstrated, infra at p. 24,
that denying representation under such circumstances is
unconstitutional as a violation of the equal protection concepts of
the Fifth Amendment. Totally refusing to count these citizens
has the effect in this case, of reducing the Washington delegation
to eight, thus reducing the “share of a representative" for both
the military personnel in question and for other citizens of the
State.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Census of the United States was conducted as of April
1, 1990. 13 U.S.C. § 141(a). Nearly nine months before (July
31, 1989), however, all states had been advised of the final
decision of Commerce that overseas federal employees would be
counted in the 1990 Census. J.A. 511-512.

Neither Massachusetts nor any representative complained
or moved to legally challenge this decision. Indeed, the House,
on June 26, 1990, passed on consent HR 4903 to prohibit census
exclusion of military personnel stationed outside the United
States and to direct “home of record" be used in counting.
There was no recorded dissent from Massachusetts’
representatives. 136 Cong. Rec. H 4195-4197.

It seems likely that such a bill would have passed, were it
not for the decision of the Secretary of Commerce to order the
counting of the overseas citizens and the later determination to
utilize the “home of record.” J.A. 919-920. The conclusion,
and its reasoning were communicated to Congress and the public
on July 23, August 7, and September 11, 1990. J.A. 925, 931-
32.

* "Share" is one measure of fairness in apportionment. Montana,
slip op. at 11-2, defined at n.28.

5

On December 26, 1990, the census results, including
overseas federal employees were reported to the President as
required by the statute. On January 3, 1991 (the first day of the
102nd Congress), the President transmitted to Congress a report
showing the results of the 1990 Census, and the number of
representatives to which each state was entitled.

On January 16, 1991, the Clerk of the House of
Representatives transmitted to each state a Certificate of
Entitlement to that number of representatives as required by 2
U.S.C. § 2a(b). Massachusetts is entitled to ten, and
Washington to nine under their respective Certificates.
(Washington’s certificate is attached as Appendix A.)

Nearly two years after the decision to include citizens
temporarily overseas, and four months after receiving its
Certificate, Massachusetts filed this action on May 12, 1991.
Washington moved to participate as an amicus, specifically
noting its refusal to waive sovereign immunity to be sued and
that it was an indispensable party in any suit to take a
Washington House seat.

Washington later argued amicus that it was unconstitutional
to deny representation of citizens whom the United States had
ordered temporarily out of country, describing the Massachusetts
theory as “one man no vote.”

On summary judgment, the Massachusetts court required
the results of the census be recomputed by the Executive to
exclude government employees temporarily overseas on April 1,
1990. These are mostly military, though thirty agencies have
such employees. The Executive (President) was ordered by the
Massachusetts court to submit a new statement to Congress,
showing the number of representatives to which each state would
be entitled if these counts are excluded. The court also ordered
the Clerk of the House to "send the executive of each state a
recertification of the number of Representatives to which such
State is entitled. . .."* J.$. App. 95a.

The parties below, which did not include Washington, had

* This relief, ordering the Clerk to issue new Certificates, was not
requested in Massachusetts’ Complaint. Washington is an indispensable
party in any suit to change its certificate.

6

stipulated that absent the inclusion of those federal employees,
Washington would be entitled to only eight representatives.
While Washington does not concede this is true, it is the
potential loss of one of its House seats that prompts participation
here.

These orders of the court below were stayed by this Court
on March 27, 1992.

The Washington Redistricting Process is Final

The Certificate of Entitlement to nine House seats was
transmitted to the Washington Redistricting Commission. Wash.
Const. art. Il, § 43, amend. 74.

The Commission redistricted Washington into the nine
United States House districts (and intertwined state legislative
districts). The Redistricting Plan was completed and filed on
January 1, 1992. It is now final. Wash. Rev. Code § 44.05.100
(1983). The Washington Legislature, like the Redistricting
Commission, is now out of session.

Washington's elections system, including its participation
in the nominating process for United States President, has
proceeded. Candidates for federal, state and local offices have
commenced organizing, raising and spending money (and filing
Public Disclosure Reports). The caucuses of the major political
parties were held on March 3, 1992. These are the first level of
selection of delegates to the national conventions.

Washington has proceeded in good faith following the
Statement by the President and issuance of its Certificate of
Entitlement by the Clerk of the United States House, both
confirming entitlement to nine congressional seats (and districts).

Other states have acted similarly. As of the filing of this
Brief over thirty-four states had completed redistricting b=sed on
the Census results and Certificates of Entitlement. Seven more

” Washington is willing to intervene on remand to contest the
factual basis for the total exclusion, and establish correct populations.
Note too an “adjustment” to the Census as sought in New York v.
United Stated Department of Commerce, 713 F. Supp. 48 (1989) (trial
pending) would add over 100,000 to Washington including this case.

7

(with a single House seat) have done legislative redistricting.
They have relied on the Census results all have assumed were
final. See App. B.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

I. A. The Constitution gives Congress express
authority to direct the conduct of the decennial census. U.S.
Const. art. I, § 2, cl. 3. Congress has delegated this authority
to Commerce which is to conduct the Census “in such form and
content as he may determine... .." 13 U.S.C. § 141(a). The
Census is statutorily required to be reported to the President on
a specific date (this decade, Dec. 26, 1990). 13 U.S.C. §141(b).

The President is statutorily required to report to Congress
the Census and the apportionment of House seats to states on the
first day of Congress (or within one week). 2 U.S.C. § 2a(a).
This was done, as required, on January 3, 1991.

B. Thereafter, the apportionment, including issuance
of Certificates of Entitlement to each state, is exclusively a
matter for Congress. The district courts had no authority to
interfere, especially where, as here, the Congress (House Clerk)
properly issued Certificates to each state on January 16, 1991 as
required by statute. 2 U.S.C. § 2a(b).

The court order below, directing new Certificates be issued,
is also improper because predicated on the Administrative
Procedure Act (Act). That Act provides cause of action neither
against the President, nor against Congress which is specifically
exempted. 5 U.S.C. § 701(a)(1)(A).

The statute under which the House Clerk acted does not
authorize any change in Certificates once issued. 2 U.S.C.
2a(b). Legislative history confirms this conclusion. Only on
one occasion have Certificates been changed once issued, and
that required an explicit act of Congress.

Il. Here, the Secretary of Commerce’ decision to count
overseas military, and to use “home of record” is clearly within
the delegated discretion, and indeed is required. Congress both
encouraged and directed these decisions (and probably would
have required it by law, had the Secretary not so acted).

The court below either overlooked, or disregarded

important parts of the Administrative Record which supported
(mandated) the Secretary's decision. This Record importantly
included a study by Congress itself (Congressional Research
Service), analyses by staff at the census and Secretary level, and
direct Congressional input.

appropriate, and that “home of record” provided the most
accurate data and conforms closely to the usual residence of the
Census.

Congress’ and the states’ treatment of these same
individuals for voting parallels the methodology chosen by
Commerce; these persons generally vote at the same place as
their “home of record" The Washington State Constitution
protects the right to do so. Wash. Const. art VI, § 4. The
federal Overseas Citizens Absentee Voting Act provides similar
protections. 42 U.S.C. §§ 1973ff-1973ff-6.

Ill. The court order that such persons be treated as
nullities for apportionment purposes, because of their serving the
country overseas, violates Constitutional Rights of these citizens
and of the states. The equal protection component of the Fifth
Amendment prohibits the federal government from such
discrimination. Bolling v. Sharpe, 347 U.S. 497 (1954); Buckley
v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1 (1976). Strict scrutiny is the standard to
apply, and Massachusetts has shown no compelling reason for
this discrimination.

The result also violates the right of the states to have their
citizens counted. Article 1, Section, 2 Clause 3 was written to
count for apportionment all “persons,” expressly to be inclusive
of all inhabitants. 1 Max Farrand, The Records of the Federal
Convention of 1787 35 (1911).

The first Census Act spoke of counting “inhabitants.” |
Stat. 101 (1790). As Madison had noted in 1787, when
discussing qualifications for House membership, inhabitants
“would not exclude persons absent occasionally for a
considerable time on public or private business.” 2 Jd. at 217.

9

ARGUMENT

I. The 1990 Census and Apportionment of Representatives
is Final, and is Not Now Subject to Review

A. The Manner of Conduct of the Census is
Constitutionally Committed to Congress. Once
Reported to Congress it is Final

Article I, Section 2, Clause 3 directs that the “enumeration
shall be made . . . in such manner as [Congress] shall by law
direct." The Census was conducted by Commerce under the
broad delegation of authority in 13 U.S.C. § 141(a). The
Statement of the President showing the census results and the
resulting apportionment was reported to Congress on January 3,
1991 as required by 2 U.S.C. § 2a(a).

Once the President’s Statement is received in Congress, any
review of, or change in the census or apportionment is
exclusively committed by Constitution and statute to Congress.

A federal court has no jurisdiction or authority to order
Congress to change its own apportionment—where, as here, there
is alleged no constitutional violation.’ This distinguishes
Massachusetts’ case from the challenge to apportionment in the
recent Montana case. U.S. Dep't of Commerce v. Montana, No.
91-860, slip op. at 2 (U.S. Mar. 31, 1992). There, a
constitutional violation was alleged which called for this Court's
interpretation of the constitutional provisions applicable. The
Montana claim involved “determining that specific congressional

* "The Constitution squarely places sole responsibility for this
fundamental function of government (apportionment of House seats) on
the Congress." Tucker v. U.S. Dep't of Commerce, No. 91-2051, slip
op. at 16 (Ripple, J., concurring) (7th Cir. Mar. 16, 1992).

* Massachusetts’ claim below that the inclusion of the overseas
mulitary violated the Constitution was rejected by the district court.
“Thus we do not find persuasive plaintiff's argument that the
Secretary's overseas census decision was unconstitutional on its face.”
J.S. App. 81a. Massachusetts did not appeal that ruling.

10

action does not violate the Constitution” and thus “turns on the
Proper interpretation of the relevant constitutional provisions.”
Montana, slip op. at 19.

The statutory scheme here, with explicit deadlines contained
in 2 U.S.C. § 2a requires the conclusion that the census and
apportionment are intended to be final upon the expiration of
those dates. Massachusetts inexcusably waited far too long to
bring its challenge. It will be further indicated below why that
challenge must fail.

There are many policy reasons supporting Congress’
decision to make the process final at a specified date. There can
be no doubt of Congress’ constitutional responsibility for
conducting the census and plenary authority to make it final.
Baldridge v. Shapiro, 455 U.S. 345 (1982).

This finality in congressional apportionment is of great
public interest because it would be harmful and disruptive to
permit continuous challenges to the highest representative
political authority. Both federal and state courts recognize tha’
there should be finality in political processes, especialiy
procedures relating to elections, e.g. Morgan v. United States,
801 F.2d 445, 450 (D.C. Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 480 U.S. 911
(1987) (“The pressing legislative demands of contemporary
government have if anything increased the need for quick,
decisive resolution of election controversies”).

Appendix B shows the number of states that have concluded
redistricting (or have one seat (41)). Changes to the Census or
apportionment results could impact all states, though Washington
is most directly affected herein.

To take a seat from Washington now would be especially
disruptive, requiring redistricting efforts to start again. In the
interest of preserving the integrity and finality of the
apportionment process, the Clerk should not now be ordered to
revoke or modify any state’s Certificate. These public
consequences justify reversing the district court’s order.
Weinberger v. Romero-Barcelo, 456 U.S. 305 (1982).

It is also important to consider that other challenges could
follow Massachusetts’; as other states find elements of the census
methodology that, if changed, could enure to their benefit in a
number sufficient to reclaim a “lost” House seat. Such problems

:
:
-

1]

are foreseeable, and justify Congress in setting deadlines, after
which, apportionment is irrevocable.

B. The Court Improperly Ordered the House to
Change Each State’s Certificate

1. The APA Provides No Cause of Action
Against the President or Clerk

The court below relied upon the Administrative Procedure
Act (APA), as the sole cause of action to support the relief
below.” However, the APA does not apply to the Clerk of the
United States House, nor to the President—both of whom were
ordered to perform affirmative acts as integral parts of the relief
below.

Neither of these defendants is an “agency” within the
meaning of the APA. Armstrong v. Bush, 924 F.2d 282 (D.C.
Cir. 1991), reached the specific conclusion the President was not
an “agency.” The Clerk of the House is also not subject to APA
review. Under 5 U.S.C. 701, “Agency . . . does not include
(A) the Congress . . ." 5 U.S.C. § 701(a)(1)(A).

The APA does not support the relief granted against the
President or House Clerk.

2. The Clerk Lacks Statutory Authority to
Revoke or Modify Certificates of Entitlement

2 U.S.C. § 2a(b) provides that the Clerk shall issue a
Certificate within fifteen days after receiving apportionment
figures from the President. It does not authorize the revocation
or modification of a Certificate once it has been issued.

The word “shall” in statutory parlance is mandatory
language. Board of Pardons v. Allen, 482 U.S. 369, 374
(1987).

The opinion concluded: “we . . . ALLOW plaintiffs’ motion for
summary judgment as to the overseas census claim grounded upon a
violation of the Administrative Procedure Act." J.S. App. 84a. As
noted, (infra, n.9) the constitutional claim was denied.

12

The statute even goes on to specify who “shall” perform
this duty if the Clerk does not:

In case of a vacancy in the office of the Clerk, or of
his absence or inability to discharge this duty, then
such duty shall devolve upon the Sergeant at Arms of
the House of Representatives; and in case of
vacancies in the offices of both the Clerk and the
Sergeant at Arms, or the absence or inability of both
to act, such duty shall devolve upon the Doorkeeper
of the House of Representatives.

2 U.S.C. § 2a(d).

Where statutory language is unambiguous, in the absence
of a clearly expressed legislative intent to the contrary, that
language must ordinarily be regarded as conclusive. United
States v. Turkette, 452 U.S. 576, 580 (1981). A fundamental
canon of statutory construction is that, unless otherwise defined,
words will be interpreted as taking their ordinary, contemporary,
common meaning. Perrin v. United States, 444 U.S. 37, 42
(1979).

The plain language of 2 U.S.C. §§ 2a(a) and 2a(b) indicates
that the Clerk must issue Certificates in accordance with the
President's Statement and has no authority to revoke or modify
an issued Certificate. The legislative history of the statute
confirms that the Clerk cannot, without explicit statutory
authority, revoke or modify the Certificate.

Each state is “entitled” to the number of seats shown in the
President's Statement and indicated in its respective Certificate
until the taking effect of a subsequent reapportionment. 2
U.S.C. §§ 2a(a), 2a(b). To interpret the statutes to allow the
Certificate to be changed would render this “entitlement”
language meaningless. It is in the nature of a vested right, upon
which all states are entitled to rely in redrawing their
congressional districts.

The vesting of each state’s entitlement probably occurs at
the time the President's Statement is filed with the Congress;
surely it vests when the Certificate is actually issued and
received.

ee

a ee E-e,

PP te Ae ene hs ae es ae

ee a

13

The Cierk has no authority to revoke or modify a
Certificate and may not be ordered to perform an act he has no
authority to perform.

3. Legislative History Confirms That the
Certificates of Entitlement are Irrevocable
(Absent Congressional Action)

There is only one historical instance in which a state was
denied a seat to which it was entitled according to a Certificate.
An explicit act of Congress was required to take away the seat.

In 1941, Congress debated amendments to 2 U.S.C. § 2.
The President had already reported the 1940 census results to the
Congress and certificates had been issued. The result was
explained on the Senate floor:

[T}he statute made reapportionment by so-called
major fractions final and conclusive and binding upon
all concerned. The case was closed; the incident was
finished; and the Clerk of the House so notified the
States.

87 Cong. Rec. 8053 (1941) (Statement of Senator Vandenberg).

The method of apportionment was changed, and “equal
proportions" accepted. However, a specific act of Congress was
required to change the States’ entitlement under already-issued
certificates. The debate confirmed the general proposition of our
argument here: unless Congress specifically acts, the
Certificates are final. 87 Cong. Rec. 8078-83 (1941). Congress
voted to specifically require new Certificates. Section 2b of the
Act of November 15, 1941 provided as follows:

(b) If before the enactment of this Act a certificate has
been sent to the executive of any State . . . as in force
before the enactment of this Act, the Clerk of the
House of Representatives shall, within fifteen calendar
days after the date of enactment of this Act, send a
new certificate to such executive stating the number
of Representatives to which State is entitled under this

14
section.

Pub. L. No. 87-291; 55 Stat. 761, 762 (1941) (originally
codified as 2 U.S.C. § 2b).

Congress’ action in 1941, and the legislative history
surrounding it, confirms that a Certificate of Entitlement cannot
be revoked or modified by the Clerk unless and until Congress
enacts legislation to that effect. A court may not order the Clerk

to perform beyond his statutory authority.

C. Whether to Change Congress’ Certificates of

Entitlement Apportioning Representatives Among
the Several States is a Political Question

Massachusetts filed this action ultimately seeking an extra
House seat. First, the President was ordered to make a new
report to Congress providing eleven House seats for
Massachusetts. Then the House Clerk was ordered to issue (all)
new Certificates of Entitlement with Massachusetts’ and
Washington’s changed.

Each of these steps involves reversing actions of the
separate branches of government, which had long become final.
The case clearly involves nonjusticiable political question(s).

This Court has said that:

In determining whether a question falls within [the
political question] category, the appropriateness under
our system of government of attributing finality to the
action of the political departments and also the lack of
satisfactory criteria for a judicial determination are
dominant considerations.

The nonjusticiability of a political question is
primarily a function of the separation of powers.

Baker v. Carr, 369 U.S. 186, 210 (1962) (citation omitted).
The Executive's final action occurred when the President

certified the final census results of the 1990 Census, including

states’ apportionment, to the Congress on January 3, 1991 (the

15

first day of the 102nd Congress). 2 U.S.C. § 2a(a).

The Legislative Branch has also taken its final action. The
Clerk of the House sent each state its Certificate of Entitlement
on January 16, 1991. 2 U.S.C. § 2a(b). On their face, and by
statute, these Certificates are final until the next decennial census
and apportionment. In affirming dismissal of another challenge
to the 1990 Census and apportionment, one judge noted:

[I}n my view, to the extent that the plaintiffs seek a
redetermination of the Congress’ apportionment of the
seats of the House of Representatives, this suit
presents a nonjusticiable political question. See Baker
v. Carr, 369 U.S. 186 (1962); Coleman v. Miller,
307 U.S. 433 (1939). The Constitution squarely
places sole responsibility for this fundamental function
of government on the Congress.

Tucker v. U.S. Dep't of Commerce, No. 91-2051, slip op. at 16
(7th Cir. Mar. 16, 1992) (Ripple, C.J. concurring).

It should be also noted that there are “policy choices and
value determinations" tied to conduct of the census which are
“constitutionally committed for resolution to the halls of
Congress .. .." Japan Whaling Ass'n v. American Cetacean
Soc’y, 478 U.S. 221, 230 (1986). These decisions were, in turn,
delegated to Commerce. Such issues do not lend themselves to
judicial resolution.

A last observation of Baker is also relevant to the finality
argument. “The political question doctrine, [is] a tool for
maintenance of government order, [and] will not be so applied
as to promote only disorder." Baker, 369 U.S. at 215.

Most states already redistricted, creating congressional
districts intertwined with legislative and local districts, raising
questions of when states may rely on finality of congressional
and executive process. In Washington and other states, a change
at this late date would disrupt the political process, probably
making it impossible to conduct 1992 elections in accordance
with statutory deadlines. If not dictating abstention, these
considerations should support deferring to other branches.

16

Il. The Secretary of Commerce Acted Within and in
Accordance with Congress’ Delegation of Census
Authority

Congress has vested broad discretion in the Secretary of
Commerce to conduct the census “in such form and content as
he may determine... ." 13 U.S.C. § 141(a). The Secretary
acted within this discretion in deciding to include overseas
federal employees, in the count for apportionment purposes. A
predecessor made the same decision in 1970." The court
below necessarily rejected the argument that such inclusion
violates the Census Act concluding the Secretary has such
discretion. J.S. App. 81a, n.31.

Still, the court concluded that the Secretary’s decision was
an abuse of that discretion and issued a court order denying
representation to those serving their country overseas. That
decision not only offends traditional notions of representation, ”
but contradicts the intent of Congress. Congress’ only explicit
expressions of opinion or oversight directed the Secretary to
implement such inclusion” (see supra p. 4 HR 4903 and infra

'' See Borough of Bethel Park v. Stans, 449 F.2d 575, 581 (3rd
Cir. 1971) (moting inclusion of overseas federal employees “was
prompted by a recommendation of the House Subcommittee on Census
and Statistics which demonstrated concern over the large number of
Federal Government employees serving overseas at the time of the
1970 Census. ”)

Contrast this with the counting of illegal aliens and convicts.
Infra at 24. One Representative (Roberts) spoke of “a very serious
problem . . . overseas among the military and Federal civil service .
. . Of feeling disenfranchised, of being second class citizens, not having
access to the system in which they really want to participate.”
Uniformed and Overseas Citizens Absentee Voting: Hearings on HR
4393 Before the Subcomm. on Elections of the Committee on House
Administration, U.S. House of Representatives, 99th Cong., 2d Sess.
39, 68 (1986).

" As noted in n.11, a similar decision in 1970 was prompted, in
part, by similar direction from Congress.

17

pp. 18-19). When Congress provided for protection of the
voting rights of these overseas federal employees (42 U.S.C. §§
1973ff-1973ff-6), Congress adopted a procedure similar to that
followed by the Census Bureau in counting these same persons.
The Census Bureau did not act arbitrarily in allowing voters to
be counted for apportionment purposes on a similar basis.

A. The Lower Court Ignored the Record Basis for the
Decision to Use "Home of Record"

The lower court agreed the Secretary possesses broad
discretion under both the Constitution and relevant statutes. J.S.
App. 79a. The court concluded that the Secretary’s decision was
arbitrary and capricious solely because the Department of
Defense (DOD) ultimately did not conduct a census of its
employees concurrently with the originally scheduled national
census. Jd., 75a.

The lower court’s consideration of the Administrative
Record stopped at DOD’s December, 1989 decision not to
undertake a separate census count. A.R. 787. This is the last
record cite in the decision.

Given a fair reading this entire Record documents that the
Secretary, and his staff, carefully considered whether or not to
include overseas personnel and what data would be used. See,
generally, A.R. 788-949, J.A. 811-12, 826-31, 834-35, 872-82,
919-21, 924-25, 931-32, 943-45.

A brief summary of the major elements of the Secretary's
reasoned consideration of this question is appropriate here. Each
piece of correspondence, memo, or report obviously documents
more lengthy study and consideration:

Extensive correspondence between Commerce and
Congress considered whether, and how, to count
those overseas. A.R. 830-33, 925-27, 931-47; J.A.
811-12, 830-31, 925, 931-32, 943-45.

Staff memoranda analyzed these subjects:
(a) counting overseas military comparing “home of
record” vs. “last six months residence.” J.A. 826-

18

829. (6) H.R. 4903 which required use of home of
record data. A.R. 862. (c) the proposed use of home
of record data in 1990 census. J.A. 920-921.

Thirty-five page Congressional Research Service
Report (Huckabee, The 1990 Census: Including
Foreign-Based Military and Civilian Personnel in the
State Counts (CRS Study)) dated June 20, 1990
analyzed three alternative data sources. A.R. 872-
907; J.A. 872-82. These are (1) home of record;
(2) legal residence~six months duration; and (3) last
duty station. The home of record is recommended as
the preferred reliable data source.’

Department staff recommendation (and approvals)
articulated reasons to use home of record data: "We
believe that the new “home of record’ data
supplemented with additional information DOD plans
to collect will satisfy our criterion that the best quality
data be used for the 1990 census.” J.A. 919.

Staff memorandum advised the Secretary that the
technical staff of the Census Bureau “believes that the
Home of Record comes closest to the concept of the
usual residence among the three data sources that
DoD has available.” J.A. 924.

Finally, DOD agreed to assure that home of record
data would satisfy Commerce’ criterion for best

* Not all of the A.R. is included in the J.S., ¢.g., 25 pages of
appendices to this study were omitted.

'® This study alone is probably sufficient record for the Secretary's
decision—given the source was the same source of his delegated
authority. See Montana, slip. op. at 8-13 (describing a National
‘Academy of Sciences Report on apportionment methodology as one
appropriate decisional basis.

19

quality data as “supplemented and improved by
methodologies devised by technical experts who
originally designed the overseas enumeration.” J.A.
919-21, 925, 931.

The court below erred by failing to give deference to the
Secretary’s reconsideration and decision as documented in this
record, in accordance with normal APA judicial review
standards.

The legitimacy of our representative institutions depends
upon the premise that all persons are treated as politically equal.
The central census issue is how to provide the best possible
numbers. The guidelines determined in advance by the
Secretary, in cooperation with DOD, created the necessary
environment for a decision free of the influence of any individual
Or group who may have a political, financial or other stake in the
outcome. Not surprisingly, there was little (no) dissent from the
Secretary's decision until this action.

Conversely, total exclusion of people who are entitled to be
counted is the result of the decision below. Massachusetts (and
the court below) ignores the most accurate numbers available and
replaces these data with a zero. This is a misapplication of the
principles of Karcher v. Daggett, 462 U.S. 725 (1983). A
proper application of the constitutional principles to the overseas
personnel counting issue is to give weight to the most accurate
numbers possible under current methodology. The goal of
providing equal representation in Congress is not served by
denying the best available figures any validity whatsoever. Ciry
of Newark v. Blumenthal, 457 F. Supp. 30, 34 (D.D.C.
1978)."° There is no dispute that there are numbers of
American citizens temporarily overseas who are entitled to vote
in the next election. Massachusetts would say—do not count any
of these for representational purposes. This is not a rational
solution to the problem, nor does it comport with the considered
solution reached by the Executive Branch (with the prodding of
the Legislative Branch which is constitutionally authorized to

'® Cited with approval for this proposition in Karcher v. Daggett,
462 U.S. at 738.

20

“direct” the census).

B. Congress Encouraged and Directed the Secretary’s
Decision to Include Federal Overseas Personnel by
"Home of Record"

This Court observed, in its recent decision, U.S. Dep't of
Commerce v. Montana, No. 91-860, slip. op. (U.S. Mar. 31,
1992):

Our previous apportionment cases concerned States’
decisions creating legislative districts; today we
review the actions of Congress. Respect for a
coordinate branch of Government raises special
concerns not present in our prior cases, but those
concerns relate to the merits of the controversy rather
than to our power to resolve it.

Montana, slip. op. at 17.

The lower court did not have the benefit of this admonition.
Rather, the court below obliquely referred to this issue by
concluding that the Secretary’s reliance upon bipartisan
expressions of congressional concern was not an “improper
factor.” J.S. App. 73a-7S5a. This is a far cry from judicial
deference to considered decisions reached by separate but
coordinate branches of government which resulted in the use of
home of record data for apportionment in the 1990 Census.

As the Administrative Record demonstrates, the Secretary
considered alternative data sources for use in counting overseas
personne! and ultimately concluded that it would be consistent
with his statutory responsibilities to use home of record data
(with certain adjustments) for counting overseas personnel for the
1990 Census.

The record clearly shows a series of reasoned responses by
the Executive Branch to criticism, comment and
recommendations from the Legislative Branch exercising its
oversight responsibilities. Such expressions of legislative will
and of executive responses are entitled to deference by the
Judicial Branch. As Mr. Chief Justice Taft observed in Hampton

21
& Co. v. United States, 276 U.S. 394, (1928):

This is not to say that the three branches are not co-
ordinate parts of one government and that each in the
field of its duties may not invoke the action of the
two other branches insofar as the action invoked shall
not be an assumption of the constitutional field of
action of another branch. In determining what it may
do in seeking assistance from another branch, the
extent and character of that assistance must be fixed
according t© common sense and the inherent
necessities of the governmental co-ordination.

Id. at 406.

Nixon v. Administrator of Gen. Servs., 433 U.S. 425
(1977) stated that the Judicial Branch should give deference to
decisions made by other branches. /d. at 443, citing United
States v. Nixon, 418 U.S. 683, 703, 711-12 (1974). Accord
Mistretta v. United States, 488 U.S. 361, 380-84 (1989).

The court below erred by failing to give deference to the
reality-based interaction between Congress in the exercise of its
oversight powers and the Secretary’s exercise of executive
powers. The three branches of government must work together
with reciprocity. Nixon, 433 U.S. at 442-43. While this Court
has ultimate jurisdiction to decide constitutional questions, each
branch of government has the right to determine its powers and
that determination is “due great respect.” Jd. The lower court's
application of APA standards to the use of home of record data
does not show “great respect” on the part of the Judicial Branch
for a jointly arrived at decision of the Legislative Branch and the
Executive Branch. This is especially true here, where the
subject of census and apportionment is explicit'v entrusted to
Congress by the Constitution.

C. The Court Misunderstood "Home of Record"
The Commerce Department determined that the most

accurate method to allocate overseas serving persons was data
showing “home of record." The district court claimed that the

22

data was inaccurate because “home of record” could be chosen
for tax reasons. J.S. App. 76-77a. This is simply untrue.
Home of record is defined as, “the place recorded as the home
of the individual when commissioned, appointed, enlisted,
inducted, or ordered into the relevant tour of active duty.” Joins
Federal Travel Regulations, ch. 56, App. A."”

Home of record is not used by the Defense Department for
the designation of the state to which an employee pays taxes.
“Legal residence” is used for taxes. Department of Defense
Military Pay and Allowances Manual, § 70105 (defining “legal
residence,” which is to be used for tax purposes).

The Census Bureau specifically rejected using “legal
residence” as the primary method of determining a home state
for precisely that reason. J.A. at 921.

Home of record represents not the whimsical election of a
home state suggested by the district court, but rather the
“reflect{ion of] the person's own concept of his or her home
State,” at the last time this was a matter of choice. Huckabee,
CRS Study. J.A. at 879.

That home of record best reflects the state the service
member thought of as home before entering the military is made
clear by miliary form (DD 1966). The instructions tell
applicants to provide the address “declared by you to be your
permanent or actual home at time of enlistment. Do not enter a
temporary address.” Armed Forces of the U.S., Form DD 1966
(emphasis added).

D. The Federal Uniformed and Overseas Citizens
Absentee Voting Act and the Washington State
Constitution

In Washington, the right to vote of these persons is
constitutionally protected—one does not lose residence for voting
purposes by absence in the civil or military service: “[N]o
person shall be deemed to have. . . lost a residence by reason

' The Washington Constitution (Article VI, Section 4) provides
that this home (“residence”) 1s retained for voting purposes through the
penod of federal service. Infra, pp. 22-23.

23

of his absence, while in the civil or military service of the state
or of the United States . . ..". Wash. Const. art. VI, § 4; Wash.
Rev. Code § 29.01.140 (1971).

In 1986, Congress enacted the Uniformed and Overseas
Citizens Absentee Voting Act (Voting Act). 42 U.S.C. §§
1973ff-1973ff-4. The Voting Act protects the right of overseas
citizens, including both military and civilian, to vote in federal
elections. It calls for absentee voting by postcard, with the
normal state registration requirements waived. 42 U.S.C. §§
1973ff-1973ff-1."

Congress has specified a procedure for determining in what
state the citizen may vote, which bears a striking similarity to
that used by Census in determining where to count the citizen for
apportionment purposes.

The definition of “absent uniformed services voter"
specifically includes the requirement that the voter “is absent
from the place of residence where the member is otherwise
qualified to vote.” 42 U.S.C. § 1973ff-6(1)(A). The absent
uniformed services voter is allocated to vote in the place where
he or she would otherwise be qualified to vote. As noted above,
this conforms with Washington law.

The Census Bureau used an appropriate similar method for
allocating overseas citizens to the states. The underlying general
principle in locating individuals for census purposes is “usual
place of residence.” The task facing the Census Bureau in
allocating Overseas citizens to the various states is how to best
implement that concept from the available data.
thoroughly reasonable conclusion drawn was that home of
record, the last permanent residence before entering the military,
is the best approximation of usual place of residence. See
generally, Huckabee, CRS Study; J.A. at 872, 882. Home of
record data is intended to reflect the self-identification of the
individual at the last point in time at which his/her residence is

“ Congress has reported that as of 1986, over six million voters
took part in the predecessor to this program. H.R. Rep. No. 99-765,
99th Cong., 2d Sess. 8 (1986), reprinted in 1986 U.S.C.C.A.N. 2009,
2012.

24

a matter of choice.

Not only is this concept of self identification basic to the
census as a whole, but resembles the determination of Congress
(and the states) with regard to voting.

Among the purposes of Congress in enacting the Voting
Act was the policy that "U.S. citizens overseas may continue to
vote for Federal office even if they have no current address in
the United States.” H.R. Rep. No. 99-765, 99th Cong., 2d
Sess. 6-7 (1986), reprinted in 1986 U.S.C.C.A.N. 2009, 2010-
11. The lack of a current address in the United States therefore
did not trouble Congress in the context of allowing overseas
citizens to vote in the fifty states. As noted above, Washington
similarly protects those rights. Wash. Const. art. VI, § 4;
Wash. Rev. Code § 29.01.140 (1971). The court below,
however, found it “arbitrary and capricious” to afford citizens
the same rights when it came to determining their representation
in Congress.

The home of record statistics used by the Census Bureau
reflect the citizen’s chosen state of residence prior to his location
being determined by order of the Executive (Commander-in-
Chief). For voting purposes, similarly, Congress allowed those
overseas to vote in the last state in which they had voluntarily
chosen to become qualified.

This similarity of choices supports the conclusion the
decisions of the Secretary is not arbitrary or capricious. ”

Ill. Refusing to Count Persons Serving the United States
(Temporarily) Overseas Violates the Constitutional
Rights of Those Citizens and Their States

A. Those Serving Their Country Have a Right to Be
Counted

The court’s order violates constitutional rights of those
U.S. citizens under the equal protection component of the Fifth

'* It bas been previously noted that Congress’ record expressions
of opinion on the “overseas count” and “home of record” issues were
in favor of both (e.g., H.R. 4903, passed House June 26, 1990).

25

Amendment. The court ordered the Census Bureau to treat
residents of the United States abroad on one day, April 1, 1990,
differently than those located within the United States, for
purposes of determining congressional representation. The
remedy is draconian; treat them as nullities for apportionment
purposes. The effect lasts ten years.

The court’s conclusion is based on the belief that there is
no reasonably accurate method for connecting persons
temporarily overseas to their state. However, it has already been
shown that a reasonable method exists for determining the state
of overseas military and federal employees and their dependents
and that this home of record is comparable to the federal and
state determination of voting place. Jnfra, pp. 17-19. Any
census procedure that excludes persons who can be enumerated
discriminates on its face because those excluded are thus denied
representation in the House of Representatives, as provided by
Article I, Section 2 of the Constitution.”

The equal protection component of the Fifth Amendment
prohibits the federal government from denying equal protection
of the laws. See Bolling v. Sharpe, 347 U.S. 497 (1954).
Census procedures are implemented by the Census Bureau under
the authority delegated it by Congress, which the court below
conceded has plenary power over census procedures. J.S. App.
74a, citing U.S. Const. art. 1, § 2, cl. 3.

The Fifth Amendment's equal protection guarantees
therefore apply to discriminatory census procedures. Analysis
of equal protection under the Fifth Amendment is the same as
under the Fourteenth Amendment. Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S.
1, 93 (1976).

The equal protection component of the Fifth Amendment is
intended to prohibit intentional discrimination by the federal
government. Washington v. Davis, 426 U.S. 229, 239 (1945).

The facially discriminatory practice at issue in this case is
distinguishable from the effect of undercounting at issue in
Tucker v. United States Department of Commerce, No. 91-2051

® The effect here of discrimination 1s to diminish the congressional
representation not only of the excluded overseas military, but of their
state and its other citizens.

26

(7th Cir. Mar. 16, 1992). The Tucker court held that the
undercount claim reflected only an “unintended consequence of
measures adopted for reasons unrelated to any intention to
discriminate." Tucker, slip. op. at 5. Disparate impact alone is
not a sufficient basis for a finding of unconstitutional
discrimination. Tucker, slip. op. at 5 (citing Washington, 426
U.S. at 239-45).

Here, however, the measures are intended to treat one
group differently from all other persons enumerated by excluding
them from apportionment. This exclusion deprives that one
group—overseas federal employees and their dependents—of their
constitutional right to fair representation in Congress.

Disfranchisement from representation may not be
accomplished short of constitutional amendment. Women,
children, prisoners, and even aliens have always been counted
for purposes of apportionment, even while not entitled to vote.
See Note, Constitutionai Issues of the Federal Census, 94 Harv.
L. Rev. 841, 847-8 (1981). The original language of Article I,
Section 2 excluded from representation only “Indians not taxed"
and, by implication, two-fifths of all persons who were slaves.
Since adoption of the Fourteenth Amendment following the Civil
War, only "Indians not taxed" have been excluded. All other
persons are counted and allocated to the states for apportionment
purposes. Even illegal aliens are counted and represented.
Federation for American Immigration Reform (FAIR) v.
Klutznick, 486 F. Supp. 564 (D.D.C. 1980), appeal dismissed
447 U.S. 916 (1980). To treat those overseas on one day
differently, when they are capable of being adequately
enumerated and counted back to the states, infringes on both a
State’s right to equal representation based on population, and on
each individual's right to fair representation in Congress. It is
a particularly egregious violation where the overseas status, and
duration, is ordered by the United States (the President, as
Commander-in-Chief).

Statutes that dilute the effectiveness of some citizens’ votes
have been held subject to strict scrutiny under an equal
protection analysis. Kramer v. Union Free Sch. Dist., 395 U.S.
621, 626 (1969); Reynolds v. Sims, 377 U.S. 533, 561 (1964).
No less rigid standard applies here. Fair representation is

27

guaranteed to the states and their citizens by the Constitution;
thus any infringement on that representation must withstand strict
scrutiny. See Buckley, 424 U.S. at 94.

Such infringement is constitutional only if it is necessary to
promote a compelling governmental interest. Kramer, 395 U.S.
at 627. While there may be no viable method for finding,
counting and allocating to the states all United States citizens
traveling abroad on census day, those who are in the military or
employees of the federal government, as well as their
dependents, can be counted adequately.” Those who can be
counted, must be counted.

Massachusetts bears the burden of showing that the practice
of not counting federal and military employee and their
dependents is necessary to achieve a compelling governmental
interest.

Moreover, each individual deprived of representation under
Massachusetts’ scheme has a right to full representation in
Congress through their hume states. “"[T]he uniform of our
county . . . [must not] be the badge of disfranchisement for the
man or woman who wears it.’” Carrington v. Rash, 380 U.S.
89, 97 (1965) (quoting Governor Arnall’s message to the
Georgia General Assembly, January 3, 1944). The same may be
said of those serving their government as civilians and of

dependents.

B. The Constitution Guarantees the States’
Representation of all Their Citizens in Congress

” The data relied upon in 1990 is not arbitrary and capricious, nor
inherently unreliable as noted above. Infra, pp. 17-19, There has
never been a perfect census count, Carey v. Klutznick, 653 F.2d 732,
735 (1981), and perfection is not required. Here, the agency did not
merely repeat its 1970 exercise for obtaining the overseas enumeration,
but rather, acted to identify and correct deficiencies in the data
available to them, “achiev(ing] the most accurate population count
possible in view of the Census Bureau's resources, and the inherent
difficulties of the task.“ Cuomo v. Baldridge, 674 F. Supp. 1089,
1093-94 (S.D.N.Y. (1987).

28

The right to equal representation in Congress, based on
population ("persons"), is guaranteed to the states by the
Constitution.

Use of the word “persons” in Article 1, Section 2, Clause
3 was vigorously debated during the Constitutional Convention
of 1787. Some members sought to limit the apportionment
counts to voters, citizens, or landholders. The broader term
“persons,” which included those not considered part of the body
politic, such as women, children, and prisoners. Proponents of
the broad term “persons” prevailed. See 1 Farrand, The Records
of the Federal Convention of 1787, 35 ("inhabitants"), 486, 580
(1911); Pour’s Federal and State Constitution (1878). Following
the Civil War, the three-fifths clause was removed by the
Fourteenth Amendment. U.S. Const. amend. XIV, § 2. The
issue of whom to count was again the subject of considerable,
and similar, debate. See Cong. Globe, 39th Cong., Ist Sess.
(1866). Once again, however, the drafters based representation
of the states upon overall population of each state, rather than on
a narrower basis, such as number of landholders or voters.
Cong. Globe, 39th Cong., 1st Sess. (1866); see also Zuckerman,
A Consideration of the History and Present Status of Section 2
of the Fourteenth Amendment, 30 Fordham L. Rev. 93 (1961).

The history of Article 1, Section 2 demonstrates that
nothing is more fundamental to our form of government than this
principle of equal representation. The Court should give
substantial weight to the legislative history of constitution
provisions. See Wesberry v. Sanders, 376 U.S. 1, 17 (1964) (“it
is in the light of [its] history that we must construe Art. I, § 2 of
the Constitution. . . .").

An individual's right to fair representation in Congress is
both distinct from, and broader than, the right to vote. Both
Congress and the courts have recognized that the “non-voting
classes" have a vital interest in the conduct of government.
FAIR, 486 F. Supp. at 576; Cong. Globe, 39th Cong., Ist Sess.
141 (1866) (remarks of Rep. Blaine). That vital interest includes
the right to be counted in a state’s population for congressional
apportionment purposes. FAJR, 486 F. Supp. at 576-77 (holding
the constitutional requirement of counting “whole number of
persons” for apportionment purposes includes illegal aliens).

29

Under the express language of both Article 1, Section 2, Clause
3 and the Fourteenth Amendment, it has been held that the
Census Bureau is required to count all persons and apportion
them to the states. Young v. Klutznick, 497 F. Supp. 1318, 1332
(E.D. Mich. 1980), rev'd on other grounds by 652 F.2d 617
(1981).

Early census procedures reflected the practice of
enumerating persons temporarily away from their usual
residence. The first census, conducted in 1790, required
marshals to “cause the number of inhabitants within their
respective districts to be taken." 1 Stat. 101 (1790) ("An Act
providing for the enumerations of the Inhabitants of the United
States.") The count included as inhabitants “every person
occasionally absent at the time of the enumeration, as belonging
to that place in which he usually resides in the United States.”
1 Stat. 103 (1790). The 1790 census implemented the Framers’
understanding that apportionment was to be based on total
population.

Madison had stated in 1787, in discussing qualifications for
House membership, “both [’resident’ and ‘inhabitant’] were
vague, but the latter least so in common acceptance, and would
not exclude persons absent occasionally for a considerable time
on public or private business." 2 Farrand at 217 (emphasis
added).

The constitutional requirement is that all persons be counted
in the census for purposes of apportionment. FAIR, 486 F.
Supp. at 576. Children, prisoners, the mentally incompetent and
aliens (including illegal aliens) are counted for purposes of
apportionment, even though not entitled to vote. FAJR, 486 F.
Supp. at 576; see also Note, Constitutional Issues of the Federal
Census, 94 Harv. L. Rev. 841, 847-48, (1981).

To treat those serving abroad as less deserving of
representation than convicts or illegal aliens, when they are
capable of being adequately enumerated and counted back to the
States, infringes on both a state’s right to equal representation
based on population, as well as those individuals’ right to fair
representation in Congress.

Massachusetts argues that because these citizens were
excluded in 1980, they should be excluded again. However, this

30

Court has never been persuaded to deny equal protection for
reasons “based on exigencies of history or convenience.” New
York City Bd. of Estimate v. Morris, 489 U.S. 688, 703 n.10
(1989); Reynolds, 377 U.S. at 579-80. Enumeration
methodologies have so far improved in the last decade as to
obviate any argument that the practice is historically unsound.
The Census Bureau is readily capable of allocating overseas
federal and military personnel and dependents to the states for
apportionment purposes. Both Article 1, Section 2 and the Fifth
Amendment’s equal protection guarantees require no less.

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the district court should be reversed, the
finality of the 1990 Census and Apportionment be confirmed,
and judgment be entered affirming the decision of the Secretary
to count those serving the country overseas.

Respectfully submitted,

KENNETH O. EIKENBERRY
Attorney General
JAMES M. JOHNSON*
Sr. Assistant Atorney General
J. LAWRENCE CONIFF
JEFFREY T. EVEN
CAROLE A. RESSLER
Auorneys

Attorneys for Amicus Washington
*Counse!l of Record

Certificate of Entitlement

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES
OFFICE OF THE CLERK
WASHINGTON, D.C.

I, Donnald K. Anderson, Clerk of the House of
Representatives of the United States, Hereby Certify,
Pursuant to the Provisions of Title 2, United States
Code, Section 2a (b), That the State of

WASHINGTON
Shall be Entitled, in the One Hundred Third
Congress and in Each Congress Thereafter Until a
Subsequent Reapportionment Shall Take Effect
Under Applicable Statute, to
NINE REPRESENTATIVES

in the House of Representatives of the Congress of
the United States.

APPENDIX A

(payepdn) saimjeysiBa] 3}e1¢ jo aouasayuo> JeuoyRN :adun0¢
pu
-$1pau 0) pauynbau you ave pue yeas feucrssaiBuoo auc Afuo aaey Supwod 4
PUB JUOULIDA “BOFEC] YINOS “BIOYEC] YUON ‘euRWUOW ‘aeMea ‘eyse|y «

@10N
Pa}ejdwod uejq jeuoisses6u05 fy

76/01/ jo se

a1epdp bunsdiysipey

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0252%3A11. Public record. Not legal advice.
