# Amicus Curiae Brief — Lockhart v. Fretwell

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0247%3A10

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1993
- **Citation:** 506 U.S. 364

## Text

No. 91-1393 JuL 2.4 We

In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1992

.
A.L. LOCKHART,
Petitioner,
V.
BOBBY RAY FRETWELL,
Respondent.

¢

On Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Eighth Circuit
°

BRIEF OF THE STATES OF CALIFORNIA,
ALABAMA, ALASKA, ARIZONA, COLORADO,
CONNECTICUT, DELAWARE, FLORIDA, IDAHO,
KENTUCKY, MONTANA, NEBRASKA, NEVADA,
NEW JERSEY, NORTH CAROLINA, OREGON,
PENNSYLVANIA, SOUTH CAROLINA, SOUTH
DAKOTA, VERMONT, WASHINGTON,
AND WYOMING AS AMICI CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER
¢

Danie. E. LUNGREN

Attorney General of California
Georce WILLIAMSON

Chief Assistant Attorney General
Warp A. CAMPBELL

Deputy Attorney General
Mark L. Krotoski

“Special Assistant Attorney General
1515 K Street, Suite 603
Sacramento, CA 95814
Telephone: (916) 324-5497
Attorneys for Amici
*Counsel of Record
July 24, 1992

[additional counsel on inside cover]

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (80D) 225 46964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 42 2

COUNSEL

James H. Evans
Attorney General

of Alabama
Alabama State House
11 South Union Street
Montgomery, AL 36130
(205) 242-7300

CHaries E. Coie

Attorney General of
Alaska

P.O. Box 110300

Juneau, AK 99811-0300

(907) 465-3600

GRANT Woops

Attorney General of
Arizona

1275 West Washington

Phoenix, AZ 85007

(602) 542-5025

Gate A. Norton

Attorney General of
Colorado

110 Sixteenth Street

10th Floor

Denver, CO 80202

(303) 620-4500

RicHarp N. PacmMer
Chief State’s Attorney
State of Connecticut
340 Quinnipiac Street
Wallingford, CT 06492
(203) 265-2373

Charles M. Oberly, III

Attorney General of
Delaware

820 N. French Street

Wilmington, DE 19801

(302) 577-3838

Rosert A. BuTTeERWORTH
Attorney General

of Florida
The Capitol
Tallahassee, FL 32399-1050
(904) 487-1963

Larry EcHOH awk

Attorney General of Idaho
Statehouse, Room 207
Boise, ID 83720

(208) 334-2400

CrHris GORMAN
Attorney General

of Kentucky
State Capitol, Room 116
Frankfort, KY 40601
(502) 564-7600

Marc Racicot

Attorney General of
Montana

Justice Building

215 North Sanders

Helena, MT 59620

(406) 444-2026

Don STENBERG

Attorney General of
Nebraska

Department of Justice

2115 State Capitol
Building

Lincoln, NE 68509-8920

(402) 471-2682

Frankie Sue Dev Para

Attorney General of
Nevada

Heroes Memorial
Building

Carson City, NV 89710

(702) 687-4170

Rosert J. Det Turo
Attorney General

of New Jersey
Department of Law &

Public Safety
Richard J. Hughes

Justice Complex
Trenton, NJ 08625-0086
(609) 292-4925

Lacy H. THorNsuRG

Attorney General of
North Carolina

P.O. Box 629

Raleigh, NC 27602-0629

(919) 733-3377

CHarwes S. CrookHAM

Attorney General of
Oregon

100 Justice Building

Salem, OR 97310

(503) 378-4402

Ernest D. Prearte, Jr.
Attorney General
of Pennsylvania
16th Floor,
Strawberry Square
Harrisburg, PA 17120
(717) 787-3391

T. Travis Mepiock
Attorney General

of South Carolina
P.O. Box 11549
Columbia; SC 29211
(803) 734-3970

Mark Barnett
Attorney General

of South Dakota
500 East Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501-5070
(605) 773-3215

Jerrrey L. Amestox

Attorney General
of Vermont

109 State Street

Montpelier, VT 05609-1001

(802) 828-3171

KENNETH ©. EIKENBERRY

Attorney General of
Washington

Correction Division

P.O. Box 40116

Olympia, WA 98504-0116

(206) 586-1445

Josern B. Meyer
Attorney General

of Wyoming
123 Capitol Building
Cheyenne, WY 82002
(307) 777-7841

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether the “prejudice” component of the Sixth Amend-
ment right to effective assistance of counsel is estab-
lished: (1) when counsel does not make an objection
based upon prevailing federal appellate court precedent
at the time of the state trial; (2) the federal appellate
court precedent is subsequently overruled by the time of
federal habeas review, and (3) the retroactive application
of the new precedent does not affect the fundamental
fairness or reliability of the state trial?

Whether States should be able to rely upon new prece-
dent on collateral review when a habeas petitioner con-
tends that his trial counsel failed to raise an objection
that would have been potentially meritorious at the time

' Of the state proceeding, but would no longer be valid in

light of the new precedent?

ii
TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
SD CE 6 cecvccccécsscedséectcceceseuues i
Be Oe Gs cen tccccdsevesicecccaccccecscces iv
Se Ge GED hevecccececesncocescocevcescessccess I
Statement of facts and proceedings .................. 2
i in 7 ic atdbededadesseestedeesesees 4
PEE wacccedeerecéccecesdcccccceséneéeeesaseee 5

I. Justice Powell's Standard in Kimmelman for Deter-
mining Prejudice Should Govern Ineffective Assis-
tance of Counsel Claims and Would Bar
ee Co cecadeweeuvess 5

Il. The Eighth Circuit Majority Ruling Fails To
Advance The Objectives Of Federal Habeas Review
And The Sixth Amendment and Undermines The
Principles Supporting The Retroactivity Analysis

REED GF Wee Gee cccccccccccccccsoscveces 8
A. The Ruling Does Not Promote the Objectives
OF CE GE ep caccccccccececesceses A)

B. The Ruling Erodes the Principles Underlying
Be He GED vincccaddevescnceocesens 10

C. The Ruling Fails to Advance the Objectives of
the Sixth Amendment Right to Effective Coun-

D. Unless the “Constitutional Windfall” Counte-
nanced By The Eighth Circuit Majority Is
Reversed, Substantial And Unjustifiable Costs
To The Criminal Justice System Will Be
PED voc ccdédcceccdsonceeeeeneeseeesens 16

Ill. Repercussions on the Teague Doctrine and the
in ct cestncuendeseeoneeeseetes 18

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued
Page

A. Scenario One: Subsequent Precedent Is Not A
"HE GED cccccdcccasscescesceccesesuecns 20

1. Initial State Court Ruling Challenged As
P<. ct cn caeeecessasenoneesnoees 21

2. Sixth Amendment Ineffectiveness Claim . 22

B. Scenario Two: Petitioner Benefits By Prece-
dent Available At The Time of the State Pro-
ceedings But Not By The Subsequent “New
ET sedeeses pensdesooeseasnesesneeddsces« 24

1. Sixth Amendment Ineffectiveness Claim . 24

2. Initial State Court Ruling Challenged As
BIO « cccccccccegeccccoceoceeccces 26

C. Scenario Three: On Sixth Amendment Ineffec-
tiveness Claim, Petitioner Benefits By “New
Rule” On Collateral Review But Not By Prece-
dent At The Time of the State Proceedings... 27

BA. GRD cbceccccccsccccesasocncesencecess 28

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
FEDERAL CASES:
Barefoot v. Estelle, 463 U.S. 880 (1983)............... 11
Berry v. Phelps, 819 F.2d 511 (Sth Cir. 1987) .......... 9
Booth v. Maryland, 482 U.S. 496 (1987), rev'd, Payne
v. Tennessee, 111 S.Ct. 2597, 115 L.Ed.2d 720
Gees cbdncvasecacenééusaccdecdesecens 24, 26, 27, 28
Bouie v. City of Columbia, 378 U.S. 347 (1964) ... 23, 26, 29
Burger v. Kemp, 483 U.S. 776 (1987)................. 13
Butler v. McKellar, 494 U.S. 407 (1990) .......... passim
Coleman v. Thompson, 501 U.S. __, 111 S.Ct. 2546,
SOP Gee GU COED co ccccccecccvcccecces 10, 16, 22
Collins v. Lockhart, 754 F.2d 258 (8th Cir.), cert.
denied, 474 U.S. 1013 (1985) ................... passim
Desist v. United States, 394 U.S. 244 (1969)......... 8, 10
Engle v. Isaac, 456 U.S. 107 (1982) .............. 16, 17
Fretwell v. Lockhart, 946 F.2d 571 (8th Cir. 1991),
cert. granted, 112 S.Ct. 1935, 118 L.Ed.2d $42
PPasdssced kde ocdeckbeendnotenssesesnouéses passim
Fretwell v. Lockhart, 739 F. Supp. 1334 (B.D. Ark.
Dbbisaunbesédnhdasdtassdnbelesissedinesedececs 3
Griffith v. Kentucky, 479 U.S. 314 (1987) ...... 11, 18, 28
Hill v. Lockhart, 474 U.S. 52 (1985).................. 17
Hunt v. Vasquez, 899 F.2d 878 (9th Cir. 1990)...& 10, 29
Jurek v. Texas, 428 U.S. 262 (1976).......... 6, 9, 20, 21
Keeney v. Tamayo-Reyes, 112 $.Ct. 1715, 118 L.Bd.2d
GE CORR s dc cbctwsuakkuéguandidncereddaaed 17

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ~- Continued

Page
Kimmelman v. Morrison, 477 U.S. 365 (1986)...... passim
Kuhlmann v. Wilson, 477 U.S. 436 (1986)............. 10
Lockhart v. Fretwell, 112 S.Ct. 1935, 118 L.Ed.2d $42
PARA bien Whndeubddcinoddidendscdedgestencincxc 3
Lowenfield v. Phelps, 484 U.S. 231 (1988). .3, 8, 9, 20, 21
Mackey v. United Siates, 401 U.S. 667 (1971) ..... 11, 17
Marks v. United States, 430 U.S. 188 (1977)....... 26, 29
McCleskey v. Zant. 499 U.S. __, 111 S.Ct. 1454, 113
REE SRE IRE ES SOA 10, 16, 17
McKenzie v. Risley, 842 F.2d 1525 (9h Cir.), cert.
denied, 488 U.S. 901 (1988) ..................... 9, 21
Murray v. Carrier, 477 U.S. 478 (1986).......... seoee Oe
Nix v. Whiteside, 475 U.S. 157 (1986)................. 15
Osborne v. Ohio, 495 U.S. 103 (1990) .............. . 26
Payne v. Tennessee, 111 S.Ct. 2597, 115 L.Fd.2d 720
Pb buble ebanecesddsenedsononseunceadéens passim
Penry v. Lynaugh, 492 U.S. 302 (1989) ........... 11, 12
Perry v. Lockhart, 871 F.2d 1384 (8th Cir), cert. ay
denied, 493 U.S. 959 (1989) ....... passim
Rault v. Butler, 826 F.2d 299 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied.
ke ae I a Et 9
Ritter v. Thigpen, 668 F. Supp. 1490 (S.D. Ala. 1987)... .. 9

Robison v. Maynard, 943 F.2d 1216 (10th Cir. 1991)... . 25
Rose v. Lundy, 455 U.S. 509 (1982)................... 10

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
Saffle v. Parks, 494 U.S. 484 (1990)............ 8, 11, 22
Sanders v. United States, 373 U.S. 1 (1963)........... 17
Sawyer v. Smith, 497 U.S. 227, 110 S.Ct. 2822, 111
Se SP CU kc bc casnkecncenaveve 8, 9, 11, 12; 19
Schneckloth v. Bustamonte, 412 U.S. 218 (1973)... 10, 17
Smith v. Murray, 477 U.S. 527 (1986).................. 6
Solem v. Stumes, 465 U.S. 638 (1984)................. 16
South Carolina v. Gathers, 490 U.S. 805 (1989),
rev'd, Payne v. Tennessee, 111 S.Ct. 2597, 115
SB + & fF : eerrrer rrr rrr ee 24, 26, 27, 28
Stone v.-Powell, 428 U.S. 465 (1976) ........... 9, 10, 17
Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668 (1984)..... passim
Stringer v. Black, 503 U.S. __, 112 S.Ct. 1130, 117
we Ff OT TT Te errr Tere 11, 19, 21
Sumner v. Mata, 449 U.S. 539 (1981)................. 10
Teague v. Lane, 489 U.S. 288 (1989) Fe er Pree passim

Washington v. Murray, 952 F.2d 1472 (4th Cir. 1991). ..23, 25

Wright v. West, 112 S.Ct. __, 118 L.Ed.2d __, 60
ef "Spain eO a ipsspie aes 18

Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S. 37 (1971) ..............4.. 17

STATE CASES:

Fretwell v. State of Arkansas, 292 Ark. 96, 728
EY ES IPE 6.6 44 cbc vcdvcracawesecceceses 2

Fretwell v. State of Arkansas, 289 Ark. 91, 708
ee ee EL cain ansnteeeeeecsnceceesceays 2

vii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Ruiz v. State of Arkansas, 299 Ark. 144, 772 S.W.2d

Se SE diosa vdesksendedecerecseseeuee’

CONSTITUTION, STATUTES AND RULES:
U.S. Const. Art. VI, Cl. 2 (Supremacy Clause)...

CUE oo. cee endeneeeedduucent

a Ne tbeeeeeteues
i rr rn . . eeebenewecectet

ee EE po dandandeccseedevececes
Se Eo cb vane eee eeeeseeensusana
ee se ET ven dvocccsevececenceceevan
ee ae EE occ cksdvccctccvessucdevens
ee Eg a dctunsecsisesneenseens

Rule 37.5 of the Supreme Court ......cccccccecs

MISCELLANEOUS:

Bator, Finality in Criminal Law and Federal Habeas
Corpus for State Prisoners, 76 Harv. L. Rev. 441

SPs dndhuewenndseewdedseserasenseeceteess

Friendly, /s Innocence Irrelevant? Collateral Attack
on Criminal Judgments, 38 U. Chi. L. Rev. 142
Cad id aud uu awn as cdedyeunsesecebesceetnn

1 Rotunda, Nowak & Young, Treatise on Constitu-
tional Law: Substance & Procedure (3d ed. 1986)

No. 91-1393 :
e

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1992
+

A.L. LOCKHART,

Petitioner,

BOBBY RAY FRETWELL,
Respondent.

¢

On Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Eighth Circuit

S

BRIEF OF THE STATES OF CALIFORNIA,
ALABAMA, ALASKA, ARIZONA, COLORADO,
CONNECTICUT, DELAWARE, FLORIDA, IDAHO,
KENTUCKY, MONTANA, NEBRASKA, NEVADA, NEW
JERSEY, NORTH CAROLINA, OREGON,
PENNSYLVANIA, SOUTH CAROLINA, SOUTH
DAKOTA, VERMONT, WASHINGTON,

AND WYOMING AS AMICI CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

¢
INTEREST OF AMICI

Amici States have a substantial interest in defending state
court judgments which are proven to be valid based upon
subsequent precedent. Ineffective assistance of counsel claims
are raised in a majority of federal habeas corpus petitions
challenging presumptively valid state court judgments, partic-
ularly in capital cases. To establish an ineffectiveness claim,
habeas petitioners must show that the attorney's performance

2

was both deficient and prejudicial, under Strickland v. Wash-
ington, 466 U.S. 668 (1984). This case presents a fundamental
question concerning the prejudice component of this standard.

More critically, the issue is whether on collateral review
the State may defend its judgment by relying on precedent

that was rendered after the state trial court judgment. If the

States cannot rely on subsequent precedent, then habeas peti-
tioners will be able to overturn their state court convictions
and sentences based upon a “constitutional windfall” even
though under current precedent the convictions and sentences
would be deemed both fundamentally fair and reliable. Unless
the Eighth Circuit majority holding is reversed, it will have
serious ramifications on the administration of justice; the
criminal justice interests in finality, comity, and judicial econ-
omy; the Teague doctrine; and the application of the prejudice
component of the Strickland standard.

This brief is submitted by amici through their respective
Attorneys General in accordance with Rule 37.5 of the Rules
of the Supreme Court.

STATEMENT OF FACTS AND PROCEEDINGS

In August, 1985, respondent Bobby Ray Fretwell was
convicted by an Arkansas jury of capital felony murder. At
the bifurcated sentencing hearing, the state trial court
instructed the jury on two aggravating circumstances
requested by the State and one mitigating circumstance urged
by Fretwell’s attorney. Fretwell’s attorney did not object to
either of the two aggravating circumstances instructions. The
second of these instructions, at issue here, provided that the
capital felony was committed for the purposes of ‘pecuniary
gain. A sentence of death was pronounced after the jury found
the pecuniary gain aggravating circumstance was present and
there were no mitigating circumstances. Fretwell’s conviction
and sentence were affirmed by the Arkansas Supreme Court,
Fretwell v. State, 289 Ark. 91, 708 S.W.2d 630, 634 (Ark.
1986), and his state collateral challenge was unsuccessful.
Fretwell v. State, 292 Ark. 96, 728 S.W.2d 180, 181 (Ark.
1987) (per curiam).

3

The U.S. District Court granted habeas relief on the
ground that Fretwell was denicd effective assistance of coun-
sel under the Sixth and Fourteenth Amendments when his
counsel failed to object to the pecuniary gain aggravating
circumstance instruction based upon Collins v. Lockhart, 754
F.2d 258 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 1013 (1985). Seven
months before Fretwell’s trial, the Eighth Circuit held in
Collins that the pecuniary gain aggravating circumstance
could not be considered in the sentencing phase of robbery/
murder cases because it duplicated an element of the offense
of robbery/murder established in the guilt phase. However,
before federal habeas review in this case, the Eighth Circuit
overruled its Collins decision in Perry v. Lockhart, 871 F.2d
1384 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 959 (1989).!

Even though Collins was overruled at the time of federal
habeas review, the U.S. District Court issued the writ in this
case because Collins was the law of the circuit at the time of
the state trial. Fretwell v. Lockhart, 739 F. Supp. 1334, 1338
(E.D. Ark. 1990). A divided panel of the Eighth Circuit
affirmed the issuance of the writ. Fretwell v. Lockhart, 946
F.2d 571 (8th Cir. 1991). This Court granted writ of certiorari.
Lockhart v. Fretwell, 112 S.Ct. 1935, 118 L.Ed.2d 542 (1992).

! The Perry court concluded that Collins was inconsistent with this Court's
decision in Lowenfield v. Phelps, 484 U.S. 231 (1988), which held that the same
element could constitutionally be considered as part of the offense during the guilt
phase and also as an aggravating circumstance during the sentencing phase of a
capital trial. In Lowenfield, this Court concluded that the required narrowing
function under the Eighth Amendment could be fulfilled by either the Legislature
when it defined the substantive offense or by jury findings of aggravating
circumstances during the penalty phase. See id. at 246. Although Lowenfield
involved a Louisiana statute and Collins concerned an Arkansas statute, the Eighth
Circuit in Perry concluded the state sentencing schemes were “indistinguishable in
any significant detail.” See Perry, 871 F.2d at 1393; see also id. (concluding “that
Collins can neither be harmonized with nor distinguished from Lowenfield,” and
holding Collins was “overruled by Lowenfield’); and note 17, infra. Among other
things, the Fretwell majority attempted to distinguish the Louisiana statute in
Lowenfield from the Arkansas statute, notwithstanding the Eighth Circuit's hold-
ing in Perry. See Fretwell, 946 F.2d at 575-77.

4
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Most federal habeas corpus petitions, particularly in cap-
ital cases, contain claims alleging ineffective assistance of
counsel. This case offers the Court an opportunity to provide
further guidance on the prejudice component of the Sixth
Amendment standard set forth in Strickland v. Washington,
466 U.S. 668 (1984). This case asks, in evaluating prejudice,
whether the original precedent at the time of the state pro-
ceeding or the new precedent at the time of federal habeas
review should be applied on collateral review when the funda-
mental fairness of the proceeding would not be affected by
the retroactive application of the new precedent. As Justice
Powell correctly framed the prejudice issue, “only errors that
call into question the basic justice of the defendant’s convic-
tion suffice to establish prejudice under Strickland. The ques-
tion, in sum, must be whether the particular harm suffered by
the defendant due to counsel’s incompetence rendered the
defendant’s trial fundamentally unfair.” Kimmelman v. Mor-
rison, 477 U.S. 365, 395 (1986) (Powell, J., concurring)

As this Court has already noted, “The object of an inef-
fectiveness claim is not to grade counsel’s performance.”
Strickland, 466 U.S. at 697. Here, the Eighth Circuit vacated
a State court decision because the respondent’s trial counsel
did not raise an objection based upon a federal appellate court
decision that had since been overruled. The prejudice test
proposed by Justice Powell in Kimmelman, 477 U.S. at
391-98, best advances the objectives of the Sixth Amendment
and federal habeas review by focusing on the fairness and
reliability of the proceeding, rather than simply grading coun-
sel for errors that would make no difference today.

Unless this Court reverses the Eighth Circuit majority
ruling, respondent will have obtained what the dissent accu-
rately called a “constitutional windfall.” The “windfall”
occurs where, as here, the habeas petitioner obtains the bene-
fit of a precedent in his favor even though that precedent has
been overruled and despite the fact that the state court trial

5

was reasonable and fair under current constitutional stan-
dards. This windfall thwarts the State's ability to enforce its
criminal laws and its interest in obtaining finality.

This case also concerns the ability of the States to uphold
State court judgments by defending against collateral attacks
based upon precedent which has ultimately been shown to be
valid even though the prior related precedent may have been
questioned at the time of the initial proceeding. This issue has
not previously been addressed by the Court and was not raised
in the related retroactivity analysis of Teague and its progeny.
The issue presented under the Teague doctrine is when deci-
sional law should not be retroactively applied. This case
presents the converse situation: when should decisional law
be retroactively applied.

Three scenarios are considered in this brief which
explore the ramifications of a rule which would enable the
State to rely upon subsequent precedent in limited situations
on collateral review. Such a rule is consistent with the objec-
tives of the Teague doctrine to preserve the integrity of state
court judgments and promote the criminal justice interests in
finality, comity and judicial economy. Just as the Teague
doctrine “validates reasonable, good-faith interpretations of
existing precedents made by state courts even though they are
shown to be contrary to later decisions,” Butler v. McKellar,
494 U.S. 407, 414 (1990), then, too, state court judgments
which are ratified by subsequent precedent should similarly
be vindicated. Only in this manner can the integrity of state
court judgments be respected consistent with the principles
underlying the Teague doctrine.

ARGUMENT

I. Justice Powell’s Standard in Kimmelman for Determin-
ing Prejudice Should Govern Ineffective Assistance of
Counsel Claims and Would Bar “Constitutional Wind-
falls”

In Kimmelman v. Morrison, Justice Powell noted that “it
would shake [the right to effective assistance of counsel]
loose from its constitutional moorings to hold that the Sixth

6

Amendment protects criminal defendants against errors that
merely deny those defendants a windfall.” 477 U.S. 365, 397
(1986) (Powell, J., concurring). In this case, the Eighth Cir-
cuit dissent correctly criticized the majority for affording
respondent Fretwell a “constitutional windfall” by granting
habeas relief on Sixth Amendment grounds. Fretwell, 946
F.2d at 579 (Loken, J., dissenting).

In Strickland v. Washington, this Court established two
prongs — a performance component and prejudice component
- both of which must be demonstrated in order for a defen-
dant or habeas petitioner to obtain Sixth Amendment relief
for ineffective assistance of counsel. See 466 U.S. 668, 687,
697 (1984). The parties have not disputed that the perfor-
mance component has been satisfied in this case.? The central
issue presented is whether the failure to object to the aggrava-
ting circumstance instruction — based upon prevailing federal
appellate authority at the time of the state trial which had
been reversed at the time of federal habeas review — preju-
diced the outcome of the sentencing hearing.

In concluding the prejudice component was met, the
Eighth Circuit majority emphasized that it was compelled to
apply the law in effect at the time of the state proceeding even

2 While the petitioner may have conceded this point below, the sole basis
for raising an objection during the state sentencing proceeding was premised on
the now discredited and overruled Collins decision. See note 6, infra (citing
numerous decisions rejecting or questioning Collins rule). The unfounded pre-
sumption of the Eighth Circuit majority was that Eighth Circuit precedent was
necessarily binding on the Arkansas state trial court. See Fretwell, 946 F.2d at
577. Consequently, the Eighth Circuit majority “graded” defense counsel's perfor-
mance in light of overruled Eighth Circuit precedent. Because the state court was
not obligated to follow the Collins rule, the performance prong of the Strickland
standard cannot be demonstrated. See text ummediately following note 6, infra

In fact, it may be in light of this Court's decision in Jurek v. Texas, 428 U.S.
262 (1976), that defense counsel decided not to assert a Collins objection. See
note 17, infra. Further, the failure to object or assert an issue does not aulomat-
ically establish the performance component. See, ¢.g., Smith v. Murray, 477 US.
527, 535-36 (1986). Nonetheless, the performance issue may not need to be
reconciled since respondent is unable to establish both the performance and
prejudice components in order to obtain Sixth Amendment relief. See Strickland,
466 U.S. at 697.

7

though this precedent had been subsequently overturned by
the Eighth Circuit. Fretwell, 946 F.2d at 577 & n.8. As the
dissent rightfully noted, “By focusing only on the probable
effect of counsel's error at the time of Fretwell’s sentencing,
the majority misses the broader and more important point that
his sentencing proceeding reached neither an unreliable nor
an unfair result.” Id. at 579 (Loken, J., dissenting) (emphasis
added) (citing Kimmelman, 477 U.S. at 396-97 (Powell, J.,
concurring)).

Under the performance component of the Strickland test,
this Court has noted that a reviewing court should assess “the
reasonableness of counsel's challenged conduct on the facts
of the particular case, viewed as of the time of counsel's
conduct.” Strickland, 466 U.S. at 690 (emphasis added); see
also Kimmelman, 477 U.S. at 381, 385. While this Court has
not addressed the point of time for assessing the prejudice
component, this Court has made clear that the Strickland
standard should not be mechanically applied and that “the
ultimate focus of inquiry must be on the fundamental fairness
of the proceeding whose result is being challenged.” Strick-
land, 466 U.S. at 696 (emphasis added); see also Kimmelman,
477 U.S. at 395 (Powell, J., concurring) (reiterating that the
standard “should not be applied too mechanically”).

The standard propounded by Justice Powell was not
applied to the facts presented in Kimmelman as it was not
briefed by the parties nor considered by the lower federal
courts. Kimmelman, 477 U.S. at 397-98 (Powell, J., concur-
ring). This case presents an opportunity for this Court to hold,
as Justice Powell urged in Kimmelman, that a habeas “wind-
fall” should never be granted under the prejudice component
of the Sixth Amendment Strickland standard where the fair-
ness or reliability of the proceeding has not been placed in
issue. See id. at 395, 396, 397 (Powell, J., concurring).*

3 Indeed, this case presents a more compelling reason for the adoption of
Justice Powell's prejudice test. In Kimmelman, the ineffectiveness claun was
based upon trial counsel's failure to file a Fourth Amendment suppression motion.
In that case, the motion was still potentially meritorious under existing precedent

(Continued on following page)

Il. The Eighth Circuit Majority Ruling Fails To Advance
The Objectives Of Federal Habeas Review And The
Sixth Amendment and Undermines The Principles
Supporting The Retroactivity Analysis Adopted By
This Court

A. The Ruling Does Not Promote the Objectives of
Collateral Review

Neither of the two central purposes of federal habeas
review is advanced by the Eighth Circuit majority application
of the repudiated Collins rule.* First, habeas review advances
a “deterrence function” by furnishing a “necessary additional
incentive” to state courts to ensure federal rights are applied
consistent with established constitutional standards at the
time of their application.> To the extent that Collins was
overruled and discredited, it is the Eighth Circuit majority
which ensured an inconsistent application of constitutional
standards. See note 17, infra.®

(Continued from previous page)
at the time of collateral review. In contrast, in this case there is no dispute that the
failure to object to the aggravating circumstance instruction was no longer
meritorious. Only because the Eighth Circuit majority insisted on applying the
overruled precedent was respondent able to obtain habeas relief.

4 Although the same standards apply in evaluating ineffectiveness claims on
direct or collateral revidw, Strickland, 466 U.S. at 697-98, most ineffectiveness
claims arise on collateral review. See Kimmelman, 477 US. at 378, 379 0.3.

5 Desist v. United States, 394 U.S. 244, 262-63 (1969) (Harlan, J., dissent-
ing) (quoted in Teague, 489 US. at 306-07 (plurality opinion)); see also Sawyer v.
Smith, 497 U.S. 227, __, 110 S.Ct. 2822, 2827, 2830, 111 L-Ed.2d 193, 206, 209
(1990), Saffle v. Parks, 494 U.S. 484, 488 (1990), Butler v. McKellar, 494 US.
407, 413 (1990), Hunt v. Vasquez, 899 F 2d 878, 880 (9th Cir 1990) (considering
deterrence funcuon of federal habeas review on ineffective assistance of counsel
claum seeking retroactive application of overruled state court ruling).

© In fact, not only did the Eighth Circuit finally overrule Collins in Perry.
but numerous other courts, including the Arkansas Supreme Court, have either
explicitly rejected or quesuoned the Collins rule. The Arkansas Supreme Court
never followed Collins and applied Lowenfield rewoactively since “appellants [are
not] entided w preserve in place a principle of law which has been held w be
erroneous.” Ruiz v. State of Arkansas, 299 Ark. 144, 772 S.W.2d 297, 32 (Ark.

(Continued on following page)

9

Clearly, the sine qua non of the majority opinion is that
the Eighth Circuit precedent in Collins (even though subse-
quently overruled in Perry) was binding on the state court at
the time of the trial. State courts are not bound by lower
federal courts in interpreting federal constitutional law. See,
e.g., | Rotunda, Nowak & Young, Treatise on Constitutional
Law: Substance & Procedure § 1.6(c), at 33 (3d ed. 1986).
For example, the Collins rule would clearly not have been
binding on the Arkansas courts if it had been rendered in
another circuit; the fact that Collins was decided by the
Eighth Circuit should not make a difference. In our national
judicial system, state courts hold a co-equal status with the
federal judiciary and are as competent in applying and decid-
ing federal principles. See, e.g., Sawyer, 497 U.S. at __, 110
S.Ct. at 2831, 111 L.Ed.2d at 210-11; Stone v. Powell, 428
U.S. 465, 495 n.35. The duty of the Arkansas state trial court
was therefore not to apply Eighth Circuit precedent (as the
Fretwell majority explicitly dictated, see Fretwell, 946 F.2d at
577 & n.8), but to apply, reasonably and in good faith,
existing constitutional rules. Cf. Butler, 494 U.S. at 414.

At the time of federal habeas review, Collins obviously
was not a correct statement of law. Rather than serving the
deterrence function, the Eighth Circuit majority's insistence

(Continued from previous page)
1989) (and citing several Arkansas Supreme Court cases rejecting the Collins
rationale).

Other federal courts have expressly criticized and rejected Collins. See, e.g,
Rault v. Butler, 826 F.2d 299, 306-07 (Sth Cir.) (citing several Fifth Circuit cases
rejecting Collins), cert. denied, 483 U.S. 1042 (1987), Berry v. Phelps, 819 F.2d
Sil, 516-17 (Sth Cir. 1987) (“No circuit court has followed the Eighth Circuit
decisions in Collins, and we have expressly rejected it on several occasions.”)
(citations omitted), Ritter v. Thigpen, 668 F. Supp. 1490, 1495-96 (S_D. Ala. 1987)
(noting “the law in the Eleventh Circuit, both before and after the Collins
decision, is just the opposite”) (and cases cited therein).

At least one other circuit court has questioned and distinguished the Collins
holding. See, ¢.g.. McKenzie v. Risley, 842 F 2d 1525, 1539 0.30 (9th Cir.) (“We
read Collins as grounded in the peculiar statutory scheme employed by Arkansas
to define capital murder In any event, we note that Collins did not discuss Jurek
and was decided prior to Lowenfield.”), cert. denied, 488 US. 901 (1988).

10

on applying Collins undeniably and inexplicably confers a
constitutional windfall on respondent.

Second, habeas review “seeks to assure that no man has
been incarcerated under a procedure which creates an imper-
missibly large risk that the innocent will be convicted.”’
Respondent Fretwell’s innocence would not be affected by the
application of Perry on federal habeas review.

B. The Ruling Erodes the Principles Underlying the
Teague Doctrine

Substantial criminal justice interests — including the interests
in finality and comity — dictate that a presumptively valid convic-
tion and sentence should not be disturbed on collateral review
unless a showing can be made that the state prisoner is in custody
in violation of constitutional or federal rights, 28 U.S.C. § 2254(a),
and this showing conforms with established requirements for fed-
eral habeas review.* These interests are reflected in and promoted
by the framework of analysis adopted by this Court in determining
whether and when to apply decisional law retroactively. These
principles should be consistently maintained in this case.

? Desist, 394 US. at 262 (Harlan, J., dissenting); see also Stone, 428 US. at
491 nn.30 & 31, Schneckloth v. Bustamonie, 412 US. 218, 256 (Powell, J.
concurring ) (“Habeas corpus indeed should provide the added assurance for a free
society that no innocent man suffers an unconstitutional loss of liberty.”), Hunt,
899 F.2d at 880 (considering role of innocence on federal habeas review on
ineffective assistance of counsel claun seeking retroactive application of overruled
State court ruling).

8 Many of these habeas requirements promote the criminal justice interests
in comity and finality. See, ¢.g., Coleman v. Thompson, 501 U.S. __, 111 S.Ct
2546, 2554, 115 L.Ed.2d 640, 656 (1991) (applying independent and adequate
state ground doctrine); McCleskey v. Zant, 499 US. ___, 111 S.Ct. 1454, 1468,
1469, 113 L.Ed.2d 517, 542, 543 (1991) (abuse of the writ doctrine); Teague v.
Lane, 489 U.S. 288, 299-310 (1989) (plurality opinion) (general doctrine against
retroactive application of “new rules” on collateral review), Murray v. Carrier,
477 U.S. 478, 490-92 (1986) (procedural default doctrine); Kuhlmann v. Wilson,
477 U.S. 436, 452-54 (1986) (general bar against successive petitions), Rose v.
Lundy, 455 U.S. 509, 516, 518 (1982) (exhaustion doctrine under 28 U S.C.
§§ 2254(b), (c)); Sumner v. Mata, 449 US. 539, 550 (1981) (presumption of
correctness to state court findings of fact under 28 US.C. § 2254(d)).

Under our criminal justice system, a state defendant may
obtain the benefit of the retroactive application of any new rule at
any time during the direct review process before the conviction
becomes final. Griffith v. Kentucky, 479 U.S. 314, 328 (1987).
However, upon the conclusion of the direct review process, see id.
at 321 n.6, “a presumption of finality and legality attaches to the
conviction and sentence.” Barefoot v. Estelle, 463 U.S. 880, 887
(1983); see also Strickland, 466 U.S. at 697 (noting “the presump-
tion that a criminal judgment is final is at its strongest in collateral
attacks on that judgment”).

The Teague doctrine advances the criminal justice inter-
ests in finality, predictability, and comity by emphasizing the
limited role and function of federal habeas review in our
criminal justice system.? Under the Teague doctrine, “new
rules” (i.e., rules which are not dictated by prior precedent or
which break new ground or impose a new obligation on the
States) may not be retroactively applied or announced on
collateral review unless the rule falls within one of two
exceptions.'° Concomitantly, under Teague and its progeny,

9 See Stringer v. Black, 503 U.S. at ___, 112 S.Ct. 1130, 1135, 117 L.Bd.2d
367, 377 (1992) (“The interests in finality, predictability, and comity underlying
our new rule jurisprudence may be undermined to an equal degree by the
invocation of a rule that was not dictated by precedent as by the application of an
old rule in a manner that was not dictated by precedent.”), Penry v. Lynaugh, 492
U.S. 302, 314 (1989) (noting finality concerns under retroactivity doctrine are also
applicable in capital sentencing proceedings), Teague, 489 US. at 308 (noting the
criminal justice interests of comity and finality bear direcly on the question of the
scope of habeas review).

The heart of the Teague doctrine is premised upon the nature, function, scope
and purpose of collateral review. See Teague, 489 U.S. at 306, 308, 312 (plurality
opinion), see also Saffle, 494 US. at 488; Butler, 494 U.S. at 413. As Justice
Harlan noted, “The relevant frame of reference [on the retroactivity question] is
not the purpose of the new rule whose benefit the [defendant] seeks, but instead
the purposes for which the writ of habeas corpus is made available.” Mackey v.
United States, 401 U.S. 667, 682 (1971) (emphasis added) (Harlan, J., concurring
in part and dissenting in part) (quoted in Sawyer, 497 US at ___, 110 S.Ct. at
2830, 111 L.Ed.2d at 209; Butler, 494 US. at 413; Teague, 489 US. at 306).

10 Teague, 489 US. at 310, 311-13 (plurality opinion); see also Stringer,
$03 U.S. at ___, 112 S.Ct. at 1135, 117 L.Ed.2d at 376; Sawyer, 497 US. at

(Continued on following page)

12

old rules (or rules which are not “new” within the meaning of
Teague) may be considered on collateral review. See, e.g.,
Penry, 492 U.S. cat 319-28 (considering and applying rule
sought by petitioner which was deemed not “new” under the
Teague doctrine). Therefore, only under limited circum-
stances (i.e., where the fundamental fairness and reliability of
the proceeding is in issue) may “new” decisional law be
retroactively applied to upset a presumptively valid state
court judgment.

This case raises a similar question regarding the applica-
tion of precedent to set aside a presumptively valid state court
sentence. By insisting on the application of overruled prece-
dent, the Eighth Circuit majority disregarded comity and
federalism concerns and the interest in finality. The costs of
this constitutional windfall for the respondent on the criminal
justice system simply cannot be rationalized, especially when
the windfall relief does not promote the fundamental fairness
and reliability of the proceeding in any manner.

Viewed in this context, the concerns addressed by the
Teague doctrine and the Powell-Kimmelman standard inter-
sect. In essence, Teague and its progeny hold that a habeas
petitioner should not obtain a “constitutional windfall” which
would result from the retroactive application of a “new rule”
on collateral review because such a windfall cannot be war-
ranted in light of its effect on the interests in finality and
comity. For identical reasons, the rule proposed by Justice

(Continued from previous page)

110 S.Ct. at 2831, 111 L.Ed.2d at 211; Butler, 494 U.S. at 412; Penry, 492 US. at
313, 329.

The Teague doctrine, which is not an absolute bar to the announcement or
application of new rules of law on collateral review, contains two umportant
exceptions: (1) rules that place a class of conduct beyond the reach of the criminal
law, or which prohibit the imposition of certain punishment fer certain defendants
because of their status or offense; and (2) watershed rules of criminal procedure
concerning the accuracy and fairness of a criminal proceeding. Sawyer, 497 U.S.
at__, 110 S.Ct. at 2831, 111 L.Ed.2d at 211; Saffle, 494 US. at 494-95; Butler,
494 US. at 415-16; Penry, 492 U.S. at 329-30; Teague, 489 US. at 311-12
(plurality opinion).

13

Powell in Kimmelman avoids constitutional windfalls to peti-
tioners on Sixth Amendment grounds. Compare Teague, 489
U.S. at 309-10 with Kimmelman, 477 U.S. at 397 (Powell, J.,
concurring). Further, the Teague doctrine seeks to vindicate
reasonable state court interpretations of constitutional law at
the time of the state trial. Butler, 494 U.S. at 414. In this case,
this Court can vindicate a challenged state court sentence
which has been validated by subsequent precedent, notwith-
standing any alleged deficiency of defense counsel at the time
of the state trial.

C. The Ruling Fails to Advance the Objectives of the
Sixth Amendment Right to Effective Counsel

As this Court noted in Strickland, the substantive content
of the Sixth Amendment right is guided by its purpose “to
ensure a fair trial.”'' The key to promoting a fair proceeding
is the adversarial process: “The Sixth Amendment recognizes
the right to the assistance of counsel because it envisions
counsel’s playing a role that is critical to the ability of the
adversarial system to produce just results.” Strickland, 466
U.S. at 685; see also Kimmelman, 477 U.S. at 374 (“The
essence Of an ineffective-assistance claim is that counsel’s
unprofessional errors so upset the adversarial balance

11 466 U.S. at 686; see also Burger v. Kemp, 483 U.S. 776, 788 (1987);
Kimmelman, 477 U.S. at 392-93 (noting “the right to effective assistance of
counsel is personal to the defendant, and is explicitly tied to the defendant's right
to a fundamentally fair trial — a trial in which the determination of guilt or
innocence is ‘just’ and ‘reliable’ ") (Powell, J., concurring) (citation omitted);
Strickland, 466 U.S. at 684 (“[T]he Sixth Amendment right to counsel exists, and
is needed, in order to protect the fundamental right to a fair trial.) (emphasis
added); id. at 689; id. at 691-92; id. at 696 (“the ultimate focus of inquiry must be
on the fundamental fairness of the proceeding whose result is being challenged”)
(emphasis added); id. at 697 (“An ineffectiveness claim . . . is an attack on the
fundamental fairness of the proceeding whose result is challenged.”) (emphasis
added); id. at 700 (An ineffectiveness claim requires a habeas prisoner to show
that “the justice of his sentence was rendered unreliable by a breakdown in the
adversary process caused by deficiencies in counsel's assistance.”) (emphasis
added).

14

between defense and prosecution that the trial was rendered
unfair and the verdict rendered suspect.”); Strickland, 466
U.S. at 686-87 (noting defense counsel fulfills an adversarial
role in a capital sentencing proceeding); id. at 696.

Outside of a narrow class of errors in which prejudice is
presumed,'? the effect of most defense counsel errors on the
proceeding must be assessed in light of their impact on the
proceeding. Just as “[t]here are countless ways to provide
effective assistance in any given case,” Strickland, 466 U.S.
at 689, errors of counsel may arise in an “infinite” manner. /d.
at 693. Certainly, to some extent, “any error. . . ‘impairs’ the
presentation of the defense.” /d. (emphasis added). But not
every error by defense counsel calls into question the out-
come of the adversarial hearing.

To address these concerns, the prejudice standard serves
the Sixth Amendment purpose by supplying a screening func-
tion: permitting habeas relief only where the fundamental
fairness or reliability of the trial is implicated by the alleged
error. In the absence of this threshold showing, it cannot be
said that the challenged error was “sufficiently serious to
warrant setting aside the outcome of the proceeding.” /d. In
the context of a sentencing hearing, the prejudice determina-
tion turns on “whether there is a reasonable probability that,
absent the errors, the sentencer . . . would have concluded that
the balance of aggravating and mitigating circumstances did
not warrant death.” Jd. at 695.

The habeas petitioner has the burden of establishing
prejudice. Jd. at 693, 694, 696. In this case, the focus of the
Sixth Amendment inquiry should be whether the respondent
has met his burden by showing that retroactive application of
the new precedent in Perry would render his sentence funda-
mentally unfair or unreliable. Where retroactive application
of precedent would affect the fundamental fairness of the

12 This is not a case where prejudice is presumed, such as an actual or
constructive denial of the assistance of counsel, or where counsel holds an actual
conflict of interest leading to a breach of the duty of loyalty. See Strickland, 466
U.S. at 692: see also Kimmelman, 477 U.S. at 381 n.6; id. at 395 n.2 (Powell, J.,
concurring )

15

proceeding, the new precedent should not be applied retroac-
tively. As Justice Powell put it, “only errors that call into
question the basic justice of the defendant’s conviction suf-
fice to establish prejudice under Strickland. The question, in
sum, must be whether the particular harm suffered by the
defendant due to counsel’s incompetence rendered the defen-
dant’s trial fundamentally unfair.” Kimmelman, 477 U.S. at
395 (Powell, J., concurring); see also Nix v. Whiteside, 475
U.S. 157, 184-85 (1986) (Blackmun, J., concurring) (coun-
sel’s efforts to preclude perjured testimony could not cast
doubt on the reliability of the trial).

Ordinarily a reviewing court might assess prejudice in
the context of precedent prevailing at the time of the trial. But
as this Court has already recognized, the Strickland standard
is not to be mechanically applied. Strickland, 466 U.S. at 696;
see also Kimmelman, 477 U.S. at 395 (Powell, J., concurring).
Only in limited circumstances where prejudice may be pre-
sumed is a “fairly rigid rule” of prejudice applied. Strickland,
466 U.S. at 692; see also note 12, supra. This case demon-
Strates, under the prejudice component, why artificial applica-
tion of precedent available at the time of the state proceeding
is inconsistent with the objectives of federal habeas review
and the Sixth Amendment. To apply Collins rigidly on collat-
eral review only perpetuates the erroneous holding of that
opinion, which has been rejected by other courts considering
the issue. See note 6, supra.

In this case, respondent has not satisfied his burden of
establishing prejudice because he has not met the threshold
showing that the sentencing proceeding was fundamentally
unfair or unreliable as a result of his trial counsel’s error. The
record shows that respondent’s defense counsel did not object
to the aggravating circumstance instruction during the sen-
tencing phase of the state trial. The only legal basis for
raising an objection rested upon the Collins holding. How-
ever, precedent of this Court, and other federal courts, as well
as the Arkansas Supreme Court and a subsequent ruling of the
Eighth Circuit, have removed any basis that may have existed
under Collins for asserting an objection during the state
sentencing proceeding. See note 6, supra, & note 17, infra.

16

Consequently, the challenged error in this case is the type
which ultimately “had no effect on the judgment.” Strickland,
466 U.S. at 691. The adversarial balance has not been upset
where defense counsel fails to raise an objection that subse-
quent precedent has rendered meritless. Under these circum-
stances, neither the reliability nor the fairness of the
sentencing proceeding has been called into question.

D. Unless the “Constitutional Windfall” Counte-
nanced By The Eighth Circuit Majority Is
Reversed, Substantial And Unjustifiable Costs To
The Criminal Justice System Will Be Incurred

Federal habeas review and the Sixth Amendment guaran-
tee of the right to effective assistance of counsel both seek to
ensure that the petitioner has received a constitutionally fair
and reliable trial. Both the Teague doctrine and the Pow-
ell-Kimmelman standard preserve these guarantees without
compromising the interests of the criminal justice system in
finality, comity and judicial economy. In this manner, they
minimize unjustifiable costs on the administration of jus-
tice.'3 Under both standards, only when the requisite showing
has been made should habeas relief be granted.

For example, granting habeas relief in this case merely
on the basis of a non-prejudicial windfall certainly does not

13 In determining the scope of collateral review, several decisions of this
Court have considered the “costs” of collateral review on our criminal justice
system and on the States. See, ¢.g., Coleman, 501 U.S. at ___., 111 S.Ct. at 2559,
115 L.Ed.2d at 662 (noting “most of the price paid for federal review of state
prisoner claims is paid by the States”) (emphasis added); McCleskey, 499 U.S. at
___, 111 S.Ct. at 1468, 113 L.Ed.2d at 542 (discussing “the significant costs of
federal habeas corpus review"), Teague, 489 U.S. at 310 (noting costs imposed on
States from retroactive application of new rules on habeas review) (citation
omitted); Engle v. Isaac, 456 U.S. 107, 126 (1982) (noting collateral review
“entails significant costs”) (emphasis added); see also Solem v. Stumes, 465 US.
638, 654 (1984) (Powell, J., concurring) (“The costs imposed upon the State by
retroactive application of new rules of constitutional law on habeas corpus thus
generally far outweigh the benefits of this application.”) (emphasis added).

17

advance the interest in finality.'* The granting of habeas relief
in this case disregards sovereignty and comity interests, as the
enforcement of state law is frustrated. See, e.g., McCleskey,
499 U.S. at __, 111 S.Ct. at 1469, 113 L.Ed.2d at 543;
Teague, 489 U.S. at 309 (plurality opinion).

Federal-state relations are particularly exacerbated where
the State is precluded from resentencing Fretwell, as the
Eighth Circuit majority expressly held in remanding the case.
See Fretwell, 946 F.2d at 577-78. The interest in judicial
economy is also not promoted, especially where the funda-
mental fairness of the initial sentencing hearing has not been
questioned, and limited judicial resources have been unneces-
sarily expended.'> For these reasons, the Eighth Circuit
majority ruling, if left undisturbed, may, as applied in some
Cases, “be more intrusive than the enjoining of criminal pros-
ecutions.” Teague, 489 U.S. at 310 (citing Younger v. Harris,
401 U.S. 37, 43-54 (1971)).

'4 See Hill v. Lockhart, 474 U.S. 52, 58 (1985) (noting the prejudice
requirement in challenging the validity of a guilty plea on grounds of ineffective-
ness “serve[s] the fundamental interest in the finality of guilty pleas”); but see
Strickland, 466 U.S. at 694 (in determining that the prejudice standard for
ineffectiveness claims should not be governed by a preponderance of the evidence
standard, noting that the interest in finality must be counterbalanced to some
extent by the interest in reliability).

Numerous opinions of this Court and commentators have noted the role of
finality in the federal habeas process. See, ¢.g., McCleskey, 499 U.S. at __, 111
S.Ct. at 1468-69, 113 L.Ed.2d at 542-43; Teague, 489 U.S. at 309 (plurality
opinion); Engle, 456 U.S. at 127; Stone, 428 U.S. at 491 n.31; Mackey, 401 U.S.
at 683, 690-91 (Harlan, J., concurring and dissenting); Sanders v. United States,
373 U.S. 1, 24-25 (1963) (Harlan, J., dissenting); Friendly, Js Innocence Irrele-
vant? Collateral Attack on Criminal Judgments, 38 U. Chi. L. Rev. 142, 147
(1970); Bator, Finality in Criminal Law and Federal Habeas Corpus for State
Prisoners, 76 Harv. L. Rev. 441, 450-51 (1963).

1S See Keeney v. Tamayo-Reyes, 112 S.Ct. 1715, 1719, 118 L.Ed.2d 318,
329 (1992) (noting interest in judicial economy); McCleskey, 499 U.S. at__, 111
S.Ct. at 1469, 113 L.Ed.2d at 543 (noting “heavy burden on scarce federal judicial
resources” which impacts the ability “of the system to resolve primary disputes’’);
Stone, 428 U.S. at 491 n.31 (noting impact of habeas review on “the most
effective utilization of limited judicial services”); Schneckloth, 412 U.S. at 261
(Powell, J., concurring) (“After all, the resources of our system are finite: their
overextension jeopardizes the care and quality essential to fair adjudication.”).

18

Ill. Repercussions on the Teague Doctrine and the Strick-
land Standard

The Teague doctrine addresses the frequent situation
when a habeas petitioner seeks the benefit of a “new rule” of
constitutional law to overturn his conviction or sentence — a
rule not available when the state conviction became final.
Griffith, 479 U.S. at 321 n.6. The Teague doctrine does not
deal with the converse situation: when the State asserts subse-
quent precedent (either a “new rule” or old rule clarifying or
overturning prior lower federal court precedent) to uphold the
presumptively valid state court judgment. That issue is pre-
sented in this case.

Normally, a habeas petitioner would not seek the
announcement or application of a new rule on collateral
review unless the petitioner benefitted by it. See, e.g., Wright
v. West, 112 S.Ct. __, 118 L.Ed.2d __, 60 U.S.L.W. 4639,
4648 (1992) (Souter, J., concurring). Consequently, this issue
will not arise in most habeas proceedings since petitioners
generally lack sufficient incentives to present the question.
However, in a small class of cases, the State will not only
have the incentives to seek application of the new rule, but
the criminal justice interests in finality and comity will call
for its application.

This “converse” circumstance where the State (instead of
the habeas petitioner) would seek to apply subsequent prece-
dent on collateral review will ordinarily arise in two manners:
(1) when a state court has made a ruling against a defendant
that is challenged as erroneous at the time of the state trial,
but would not be invalid in light of subsequent precedent on
federal habeas review; or (2) as in this case, when a haheas
petitioner or defendant contends that his counsel failed to
raise an objection or investigate an issue that would have
been meritorious at the time of the state proceeding, but
would no longer be valid in light of subsequent precedent.'©

16 While this Court has already suggested in passing that “a State
could . .. rely on a decision announced after a petitioner's conviction and sentence

(Continued on following page)

19

The ability of the States to rely on the new precedent is
consistent with the finality and comity interests underlying
the Teague doctrine. If, under the Teague doctrine, States may
correctly defend state court judgments that were reasonable at
the time of the state court proceeding, but subsequently
proven to be erroneous, then concomitantly States should be
able to defend those state court judgments when the subse-
quent precedent has proven to be correct and reasonable under
current law as long as the fundamental fairness of the pro-
ceeding has been unaffected by the retroactive application of
the subsequent precedent. As this Court has established this
proposition in the related situation where habeas petitioners
seek retroactive application of a new rule, the Teague doctrine
“serves to ensure that gradual developments in the law over
which reasonable jurists may disagree are not later used to
upset the finality of state convictions valid when entered.”
Sawyer, 497 U.S. at 234, 110 S.Ct. at 2827, 111 L.Ed.2d at
206; see also Butler, 494 U.S. at 415 (considering whether
proposed rule “was susceptible to debate among reasonable
minds”). It only follows that if the Teague doctrine “validates
reasonable, good-faith interpretations of existing precedents
made by state courts even though they are shown to be
contrary to later decisions,” Butler, 494 U.S. at 414
(emphasis added), then the finality and comity principles
underlying the Teague doctrine should also serve to ratify
State court applications of law which are subsequently proven
to be correct, notwithstanding, as here, contrary intermediate
federal precedent.

Three scenarios illustrate the potential ramifications of
the Eighth Circuit majority ruling on the Strickland standard
and the principles underlying the Teague doctrine. These
examples include the circumstances where:

(Continued from previous page)
became final to defeat his claim on the merits,” it has not dwectly considered this
issue. Stringer, 112 S.Ct. at 1139, 117 L.Bd.2d at 382. This case therefore presents
an opportunity for this Court to hold that States may assert subsequent corrective
precedent on Sixth Amendment claims where the fundamental fairness and
reliability of the proceeding would not be affected.

20

(1) as under the facts of this case, the subsequent
precedent did not establish a “new rule” within
the meaning of Teague (and the State would
benefit by the retroactive application of this
precedent);

(2) the habeas petitioner would benefit by prece-
dent available at the time of the State proceed-
ing but would not by the subsequent “new
rule” (and the State would benefit by the retro-
active application of the “new rule”); and

(3) the petitioner would benefit by a “new rule”
but would not by precedent at the time of the
State proceedings.

Under each scenario, the two hypothetical situations where
the State would seek to apply subsequent precedent on collat-
eral review are considered: first, when the state court makes a
ruling which is challenged as erroneous at the time of the
State trial but which is subsequently proven to be correct; and
second, when an ineffectiveness claim is asserted for the
failure of defense counsel to raise an objection based upon
precedent applicable at the time of the trial but which prece-
dent is subsequently invalidated.

A. Scenario One: Subsequent Precedent Is Not A
“New Rule”

The first scenario pertains to the facts of the instant case.
In Perry v. Lockhart, the Eighth Circuit overruled its decision
in Collins and noted that the Perry ruling is not a “new rule”
within the meaning of Teague.'’ Under either hypothetical

'? The Perry court held that its holding did not constitute a “new rule”
because overruling Collins was a direct extension of this Court's decision in
Lowenfield v. Phelps, 484 U.S. 231 (1988). See Perry, 871 Fld at 1394 & n8
(noting Lowenfield “did not announce a new rule” because it “merely applied a
rule that had been announced in Jurek [v. Texas, 428 U.S. 262 (1976)]"); see also
Fretwell, 946 F.2d at 579 (Loken, J., dissenting) (noting under Perry, Lowenfield
did not establish a new rule and should be applied retroactively).

Arguably then, even prior to Lowenfield, the Perry bolding was an extension
of Jurek. It could be because of this Court's holding in /urek that defense counsel

(Continued on following page)

21

situation, the State should be permitted to assert the Perry
holding on collateral review since the fundamental fairness or
the reliability of the sentencing phase of the trial will not be
affected by doing so.

1. Initial State Court Ruling Challenged As
Erroneous

The first hypothetical involves the situation where the
State court makes an initial ruling which is challenged as
erroneous based upon precedent at the time of the state
proceeding. We may assume that — unlike the specific facts of
this case — defense counsel actually objected to the jury
instruction On pecuniary gain as an aggravating circumstance,
relying upon Collins. The state court nonetheless overrules
the objection and gives the instruction. After the state trial,
but before collateral review, the Perry decision is announced,
which permits the pecuniary gain instruction. Nevertheless,
the defendant files a habeas petition challenging the state trial
court’s instruction in light of Collins.

In this situation, consistent with the Teague doctrine, the
State would properly assert the Perry holding, which would
apply retroactively on collateral review because Perry is not a
new rule. Although Perry did not rely directly upon the
Teague doctrine, there is no doubt that Lowenfield is not a
“new rule” since it did not constitute the application of an
“old rule” (i.e., Jurek) in a manner that was not dictated by
precedent. Stringer, 112 S.Ct. at 1135, 117 L.Ed.2d at 377.
Since Perry is clearly an “old rule,” no retroactive application
of a “new” rule is raised by its application. Importantly, only
by applying Perry retroactively on collateral review may a
constitutional windfall be avoided and may the criminal jus-
tice interests in comity and finality be promoted in this
Situation.

(Continued from previous page)
did not raise a Collins objection at the time of the sentencing hearing (ic., the
motion would have been futile) At least one federal court has distinguished
Collins for failing. in part, wo discuss Jurek. See McKenzie, 842 F.2d at 1539 0.30.

22
2. Sixth Amendment Ineffectiveness Claim

The alternative hypothetical situation concerning an inef-
fective assistance of counsel claim represents the facts actu-
ally presented in this case. Here, defense counsel failed to
raise a Collins objection during the state sentencing phase.
Prior to collateral review, Collins was overruled in Perry,
which, as already noted, is not a new rule within the meaning
of Teague. See note 17, supra. On federal habeas review,
respondent has alleged ineffective assistance of counsel
because his trial attorney failed to raise the Collins objection.

In contrast to the prior example, involving review of a
State court ruling, this illustration places the conduct of
defense counsel in issue."* Specifically, under the Sixth

'S At first glance it might appear that the focus of Sixth Amendment
ineffecuve assistance of counse! habeas clauns is wholly disunct from other non-
Sixth Amendment habeas clauns In fact, these clams are closely related for two
separate reasons

First, «ws ue that other habeas claums may call into question the conduct of
other actors, including the judge. prosecutor, jury, law enforcement, or other
officials. See, ¢.¢.. note 22, infra (noting myriad of ways by which similar habeas
issues may be presented concerning sumilar questions of law) In contrast, Siath
Amendment habeas clams require review of the conduct of the petitioner's
defense counsel However. the common thread among these claims is the umpact
these collateral attacks may have on the criminal justice in‘erests in finality and
comuty

Second, there is a common thread between clauns reviewed under the Teague
doctnine and Sixth Amendment clauns in that both involve review of State action.
For example, in considering the application or announcement of a rule on
collateral review sought by a habeas peuuoner, a federal habeas court, under the
Teague doctrine, focuses on the rulings of the state court. See Saffie, 494 US. at
488 (In determining “what constitutes a new rule, [the] task is © determine
whether a stale court considerng [the] claum at the ume [the] conviction became
final would have felt compelled by existing precedent to conclude that the rule
[the petitioner] seeks was required by the Constitution”) (emphasis added).
Butler, 494 US. at 414 (“The ‘new rule’ principle therefore validates reasonable.
good-faith wterpretaiions of existing precedents made by stale courts even though
they are shown to be contrary to later decisions.”) (emphasis added). While it is
defense counsel's conduct that precipitates a Siuth Amendment violation, this
conduct is imputed w the State. See, ¢.g.. Coleman, 501 US at __, 111 S.Ct at
2567, 115 L.Ed 2d at 672 (noting that “it is not the gravity of the attorney's error

(Contunved on following page)

23

Amendment Strickland standard, the question is whether the
failure to object prejudiced the outcome of the sentencing
proceeding. Only because the Eighth Circuit majority
required the application of Collins as the law at the time of
the state trial and precluded the application of Perry on
collateral review for purposes of determining prejudice under
the Strickland standard, was respondent able to obtain a
constitutional windfall on grounds of ineffective assistance of
counsel.

For reasons analogous to the first hypothetical, the State
should be able to rely on Perry to rebut the Sixth Amendment
claim. The failure of defense counsel to object to the pecuni-
ary gain instruction has not affected the fundamental fairness
and reliability of the trial — there is no reason to lose confi-
dence in its outcome. See Kimmelman, 477 U.S. at 395 (Pow-
ell, J., concurring). There is no reason why Perry, an “old
rule,” should not apply and its application does not raise any
due process questions.'?

As demonstrated by this first scenario, unless the Eighth
Circuit majority ruling is reversed by this Court, two related
consequences will expectedly follow in the Sixth Amendment
context. First, absent a contrived Sixth Amendment claim, the
constitutional windfall will not be available since the case
will be governed by the precedent, the “old rule,” in place at
the time of collateral review. Second, and concomitantly, such

(Continued from previous page)
that matters, but that it constitutes a violation of petitioner's nght to counsel, so
that the error must be seen as an external factor, i¢., ‘imputed w the State’ ”),
Kimmelman, 477 U.S. at 379 (“The Sixth Amendment mandates that the State
bear the risk of constitutionally deficient assistance of counsel.) (and citations
therein).

19 See, e.g. Bowie v. City of Columbia, 378 US. 347, 353-54 (1964)
(retroactive application of new precedent may not offend due process), see also
Hunt, 899 F.2d at 881 (retroactive application of state court ruling did not
constitute a change in the law and therefore did not violate any due process
rights); accord Washington v. Murray, 952 F.2d 1472, 1480-81 (4th Cir. 1991)
(retroactive application of Payne v Tennessee would not offend due process).

24

Sixth Amendment claims will be used to undermine the final-
ity and comity interests of the state explicated in Teague
without advancing the purpose of federal habeas review.

B. Scenario Two: Petitioner Benefits By Precedent
Available At The Time of the State Proceedings
But Not By The Subsequent “New Rule”

A new hypothetical example also at the capital sentenc-
ing stage demonstrates that, in limited circumstances, the
State should be able to assert “new rules” retroactively on
collateral review to uphold presumptively valid state court
judgments. As will be shown, this retroactive application of a
new rule to uphold state court judgements is actually consis-
tent with the Teague doctrine and the Powell-Kimmelman
approach of balancing finality and comity with the Constitu-
tion’s interest in ensuring a fundamentally fair and reliable
proceeding.

1. Sixth Amendment Ineffectiveness Claim

In Booth v. Maryland, 482 U.S. 496 (1987), and South
Carolina v. Gathers, 490 U.S. 805 (1989), this Court held that
the Eighth Amendment precludes the admission of victim
impact evidence or a prosecutor's statements concerning the
personal qualities of the victim during the sentencing phase of
a capital trial. Suppose, for purposes of the hypothetical, that
the ineffective assistance of counsel claim was predicated on
a failure to object to the introduction of victim impact evi-
dehce or prosecutorial statements during the penalty stage of
“a Capital case under either Booth or Gathers, which governed
at the time of the state capital proceeding. Assume further
that at the time of federal habeas review, Payne v. Tennessee,
111 S.Ct. 2597, 115 L.Ed.2d 720 (1991), had been rendered,
which explicitly overruled Booth and Gathers, and removed
the bar against the admission of such victim impact evidence
or statements. Finally, assume that the evidence introduced
into the penalty phase proceeding was clearly admissible as it
was identical to that presented and upheld in Payne.

25

It is clear that Payne constitutes a new rule under the
Teague doctrine, as it was not dictated by prior precedent and
certainly broke new jurisprudential ground.2° Analogous to
the facts of the present case, the contention of the hypotheti-
cal habeas petitioner would be that ineffective assistance of
counsel was rendered by the failure to object under Booth or
Gathers, which applied during the state sentencing phase.
Normally, under the Teague doctrine, a new rule is not retro-
actively applied on collateral review unless the rule falls
within one of two narrow exceptions. See note 10, supra.
However, in light of the subsequent holding in Payne, grant-
ing Sixth Amendment relief on habeas review on the basis of
Booth and Gathers would be nothing other than a constitu-
tional windfall. Simply put, in the absence of sa unfair or
unreliable proceeding, no showing of prejudice has been dem-
onstrated for purposes of the Sixth Amendment.?!

Realistically, because the new rule in Payne would not
benefit the typical habeas petitioner, it is unlikely that a
habeas petitioner would seek its application on collateral
review. But see Robison, 943 F.2d at 1217-18 (determining
whether Payne required reversal of prior federal appellate
court holding concerning admissibility of victim impact evi-
dence). However, under this scenario the habeas petitioner
who can present a Sixth Amendmert claim based upon the
rationale of the Eighth Circuit majority opinion would be

20 See, ¢.g., Saffle, 494 US. at 488 (The explicit overruling of an earlier
holding no doubt creates a new rule.”), Butler, 494 US. at 412 ("A new decision
that explicitly overrules an earlier holding obviously ‘breaks new ground’ or
‘umposes a new obligation.’ "), Teague, 489 U.S. at 301 (plurality opinion), see
also Robison v. Maynard, 943 F.2d 1216, 1217-18 (10th Cir. 1991) (suggesting, in
alternative holding, that Payne constitutes a “new rule” under the Teague doc-
trine).

21 See Kimmelman, 477 US. at 395 (Powell, J, concurring); see also
Washington, 952 F.2d at 1480-81 (on ineffectiveness claim for failure w object
under Booth, holding that even assuming arguendo that ( ) counsel should have
anticipated Booth, or (2) Booth was rewoactively applicable at the ume of tnal, no
prejudice could be demonstrated because Booth had subsequently been overruled
by Payne which would apply on resentencing).

26

rewarded with habeas relief.2? This scenario, similar to the
facts currently before the Court, demonstrates one of the rare
situations when the State should be able to rely on a new rule
in order to uphold the state court judgment as long as the
fundamental fairness of the proceeding is not put into ques-
tion. The costs to the criminal justice interests in finality and
comity cannot otherwise be justified.

2. Initial State Court Ruling Challenged As
Erroneous

Although these facts are not currently before the Court,
for the sake of completeness, we may consider the situation
where the state trial court erroneously permits the introduc-
tion of victim impact evidence or prosecutorial statements
over defense counsel's objection. It is clear under our hypo-
thetical that at the time of the state trial this ruling violated
Booth or Gathers. However, at the time of federal habeas
review, Payne had been rendered. In our hypothetical, there is
no dispute over the admissibility of the evidence as the
evidence is identical to that found admissible in Payne. The
State would seek to rely on the new rule in Payne to defend
the state court judgment. Only where the fundamental fairness
or reliability of the proceeding would be undermined by the
retroactive application should the State be barred from assert-
ing the new rule.??

22 A myriad of habeas claims might be asserted, including challenges to: (1)
the admission of evidence; (2) the trial court's jury instruction; (3) the statements
of the prosecutor, (4) the failure of defense counsel to object to the jury
instruction; or (5) the failure of defense counsel to object to the admission of
evidence.

23 Compare Bouie, 378 U.S. at 353-54 (retroactive application of new
precedent may not offend due process) and Marks v. United States, 430 US. 188,
196 (1977) (Due Process Clause precludes retroactive application of judicially
announced standards which may impose criminal liability for conduct not previ-
ously punishable) with Osborne v. Ohio, 495 U.S. 103, 116-17 (1990) (due
process not offended where there is fair notice that the conduct is criminal).

27

C. Scenario Three: On Sixth Amendment Ineffec-
tiveness Claim, Petitioner Benefits By “New
Rule” On Collateral Review But Not By Prece-
dent At The Time of the State Proceedings

Finally, assume that the holding in Payne applied at the time
of the state sentencing phase and permitted the introduction of
victim impact evidence. Our hypothetical counsel fails to object to
two separate pieces of victim impact evidence, one which meets
the Eighth Amendment admissibility standard under Payne, the
other violating the more stringent Due Process Clause standard
reiterated in Payne, 111 S.Ct. at 2608, 115 L.Ed.2d at 735. Then
assume, arguendo, that at the time of federal habeas review, the
Booth and Gathers decisions had been rendered, expressly overrul-
ing the Eighth Amendment rule of admissibility of Payne. The new
Booth and Gathers decisions would constitute a new rule within
the meaning of Teague, compare note 20, supra, and would not
apply retroactively on collateral review unless one of the two
Teague exceptions were satisfied. See note 10, supra.

Under this example, the habeas petitioner would seek the
benefit of the new rules under Booth and Gathers in an ineffective
assistance of counsel claim, relying upon the rationale of the
Eighth Circuit majority ruling. As to the evidence which would
have been admissible under Payne, no ineffective assistance of
counsel claim can be established since no lawyer could have
anticipated either Booth or Gathers and no prejudice could be
established. In contrast, an objection should have been raised to the
evidence which would have violated the long-standing due process
standard repeated in Payne. Under this latter situation, it would not
necessarily constitute a windfall to grant relief on Sixth Amend-
ment grounds as the fundamental fairness and reliability of the
State sentencing proceeding arguably may have been affected by
the introduction of the victim impact evidence in violation of the
Due Process Clause.?*

24 Alternatively, assume that the hypothetical defense counsel objected to
the introduction of both pieces of victim impact evidence at the sentencing

(Continued on following page)

28

D. Summary

- These three scenarios illuminate the potential impact of
the Eighth Circuit majority ruling on the principles underly-
ing the Teague doctrine and the prejudice component of
Strickland. In the limited circumstances noted, in order to
avoid a constitutional windfall, States should be permitted to
assert subsequent precedent on collateral review to uphold
presumptively valid state court judgments. Only where the
fundamental fairness of the state proceeding would be under-
mined by this retroactive application of precedent should the
State be precluded from asserting the subsequent precedent.
In assessing prejudice on a Sixth Amendment claim, the
fundamental fairness of the retroactive application of the
intervening precedent can be measured under the standard
proposed by Justice Powell. See Kimmelman, 477 U.S. at 396,
397 (Powell, J., concurring). Although the issue is not raised
in this case, it is worth noting the parallelism with the situa-
tion where a State would seek to rely upon new precedent
where an initial state court ruling is challenged. In this con-
text, the fundamental fairness of the retroactive application

(Continued from previous page)
hearing. At the time of the trial, the first evidence would be admissible under
Payne, while the second evidence would not be. Assume, then, that the state trial
court admits both pieces of evidence, overruling defense counsel's objection.
Before federal habeas review, Booth and Gathers are handed down.

On collateral review, the habeas petitioner might seek retroactive application
vf Booth and Gathers. In this situation, unless the petitioner could successfully
argue that one of the Teague exceptions would permit the retroactive application
of the new rule, neither Booth nor Gathers would be retroactively applied. This is
consistent with the retroactivity analysis adopted by this Court. If Booth and
Gathers had come down at any point during the direct review process, then the
hypothetical defendant would be able to obtain the benefit of these new rules. See
Griffith, 479 U.S. at 328. Because in the hypothetical example the new rules were
rendered after the conviction became final, the Teague doctrine advances the
interests in finality and comity by barring the retroactive application of the new
rules unless one of the two narrow exceptions applies. See Teague, 489 US. at
309-10 (noting finality and comity interests). Independent of requesting applica-
tion of the new rules, the habeas petitioner may challenge the propriety of the
State court ruling admitting evidence which violated the due process standard
reaffirmed in Payne.

29

would be governed by the due process standard. See Marks,
430 U.S. at 196; Bouie, 378 U.S. at 353-54; see also Hunt,
899 F.2d at 881. In both circumstances, where the fundamen-
tal fairness would not be implicated, the criminal justice
interests in finality and comity would be promoted by the
retroactive application.

Unless the States can assert the subsequent precedent in
this case and under similar circumstances, several conse-
quences will likely follow. First, neither the purpose of
habeas review nor of the Sixth Amendment will be advanced
and the presumptively valid state court convictions and sen-
tences will be upset. Arguably, the interests in finality and
comity under these circumstances is even more compelling
than that noted in Teague, since subsequent precedent has
established the legitimacy of the initial state court ruling or
conduct of counsel in question.

Second, the finality and comity interests underlying the
Teague doctrine will be undermined. Further, because of the
constitutional windfall at stake under the Eighth Circuit
majority opinion, habeas petitioners will have tremendous
incentives to dress up claims based on “old rules” in the
clothes of ineffective assistance of counsel claims in order to
obtain habeas relief.

Third, the Eighth Circuit majority ruling will also under-
mine the prejudice component of the Strickland standard. The
Eighth Circuit majority presumed that both prongs of the
Strickland test required a mechanical application and evalua-
tion of precedent prevailing at the time of the state trial. In a
footnote, the Eighth Circuit majority observed that the Eighth
Circuit’s Perry decision overruling Collins was not disposi-
tive since “the question before us is whether Fretwell’s [state]
trial court, at the time of his trial, would have followed
Collins.” Fretwell, 946 F.2d at 577 n.8 (emphasis in original).
The majority concluded “that a reasonable state trial court”
would have sustained a Collins objection if one had been
made since Collins constituted valid precedent at the time of
the trial and “state courts are bound by the Supremacy Clause
to obey federal constitutional law.” /d. at 577.

30

Instead, Strickland only teaches that hindsight and sec-
ond-guessing of counsel's performance must be eliminated in
assessing the performance component of Strickland. See
Strickland, 466 U.S. at 689. The Strickland standard does not
dictate — nor should it — such a constrained and rigid applica-
tion of the prejudice prong. Because “the ultimate focus of
inquiry must be on the fundamental fairness of the proceeding
whose result is being challenged,” this Court rejected such a
mechanical approach. /d. at 696 (emphasis added).

As has been demonstrated, it is entirely consistent with
the principles of the Teague doctrine and the Sixth Amend-
ment to allow the State to seek application of what would
constitute a “new rule” in some habeas cases for purposes of
assessing prejudice under the Strickland standard. Both the
Powell-Kimmelman prejudice standard and the Teague doc-
trine seek to preclude a “constitutional windfall” which would
undermine the function of habeas review and disregard the
Criminal justice interests in finality and comity.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, amici respectfully request that
the decision of the court below be reversed.
Dated: July 24, 1992
Respectfully submitted,

Danie. E. LUNGREN
Attorney General of California

GEORGE WILLIAMSON
Chief Assistant Attorney General

Warp A. CAMPBELL
Deputy Attorney General

*Mark L. Kroroski
Special Assistant Attorney General

1515 K Street, Suite 603
Sacramento, CA 95814
(916) 324-5497

Attorneys for Amici
*Counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0247%3A10. Public record. Not legal advice.
