# Amicus Curiae Brief — Casey v. Planned Parenthood of Southeastern Pennsylvania (Nos. 91-902, 91-744)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0220%3A17

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1991

## Text

FILED

-

iS eg
Nos. 91-744, 91-902 -

IN THE —_

Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1991

PLANNED PARENTHOOD OF
SOUTHEASTERN PENNSYLVANIA, et al.,
Petitioners,
V.

ROBERT P. CASEY, et al.,

Respondents.

On Writs of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Third Circuit

BRIEF OF
THE AMERICAN COLLEGE OF OBSTETRICIANS AND
GYNECOLOGISTS, THE AMERICAN MEDICAL
WOMEN’S ASSOCIATION, THE AMERICAN
PSYCHIATRIC ASSOCIATION, THE AMERICAN
PUBLIC HEALTH ASSOCIATION, THE ASSOCIATION
OF REPRODUCTIVE HEALTH PROFESSIONALS,
THE NATIONAL LEAGUE FOR NURSING, AND
THE NATIONAL MEDICAL ASSOCIATION AS
AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF THE PETITIONERS

ANN E. ALLEN CARTER G. PHILLIPs *
AMERICAN COLLEGE OF MARK E, HADDAD
OBSTETRICIANS AND PAUL E. KALB
GYNECOLOGISTS SIDLEY & AUSTIN
409 12th Street, S.W. 1722 Eve Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20024 Washington, D.C. 20006
(202) 638-5577 (202) 736-8000
Counsel for Amici Curiae
March 6, 1992 * Counsel of Record

(List of Counsel Continued on Inside Cover)

WILSON - Eres PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

LAURIE R. ROCKETT
HOLLYER, JONES, BRADY, SMITH,
TOXELL, BARRETY & CHIRA
(Counsel to the American
Medical Women’s Association, Inc.)
342 Madison Avenue
New York, N.Y. 10173
(212) 818-1110

JOEL I. KLEIN
KLEIN, FARR, SMITH & TARANTO
(Counsel to the American
Psychiatric Association)
2550 M Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20037
(202) 775-0184

NADINE TAUB
Women’s Rights Litigation Clinic
(Counsel to the American
Public Health Association)
Rutgers Law Schoo!
Newark, N.J. 07102
(201) 648-5637

BETH FOUNTAIN
ASHER & ASSOCIATES
(Counsel to the Association of
Reproductive Health Professionals)
1819 H Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006
(202) 452-1540

SARAH C. CAREY
STEPTOE & JOHNSON
(Counsel to the National
Medical Association)
1330 Connecticut Ave., N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 429-3000

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ................ eeiecddiaatpassbdeseeneess iii
INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE 000... 1
MEDICAL BACKGROUND .................. AS 1
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT |... aeaciees Sideeaes 4
ARGUMENT ................. a iianaidibdisiminpenastan : 6

I. THIS COURT SHOULD REAFFIRM THAT
A WOMAN'S RIGHT TO CHOOSE WHETHER
OR NOT TO CARRY A PREGNANCY TO
TERM IS A FUNDAMENTAL RIGHT PRO-
TECTED AGAINST STATE INTERFER-
ENCE BY THE GUARANTEE OF LIBERTY
IN THE DUE PROCESS CLAUSE OF THE
FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT |W. 6

A. A Woman’s Right To Choose Whether Or
Not To Carry A Pregnancy To Term Is A
Fundamental Right

B. This Court Should Reaffirm That State Abor-
tion Laws That Depart From Accepted Medi-
cal Practice And Increase Health Risks To
Pregnant Women Are Unconstitutional i)

C. This Court Should Not Adopt The Undue
Burden Analysis Employed By The Court
EES 13

Il. PENNSYLVANIA’S HUSBAND-NOTIFICA-
TION, INFORMED CONSENT, PARENTAL
CONSENT, MEDICAL EMERGENCY, AND
DISCLOSURE REQUIREMENTS ARE UN-
li ceccrenisscncnqnncovensoasecs nae 16

A. Husband-Notification ....._............ ee | 16

1. Husband-Notification Severely Burdens A
Woman’s Right To Obtain An Abortion
From Her Physician .............. cilaloeteabaiaisiton 17

~)

ii iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
2. Husband-Notification Does Not Narrowly In re A.C., 573 A.2d 1235 (D.C. 1990) 12
Serve A Compelling State Interest .......... 20 Addington V. Texas ,441 U.S. 418 (1979)... ae 29
‘ Allgeyer Vv. Louisiana, 165 U.S. 578 (1897)... ~
B. Informed Consent REE BP 21 Aptheker V. Secretary of State, 878 U.S. 500
a at a tr al 26
C. Parental Informed Consent ............ — = Bates V. Little Rock, 361 U.S. 516 (1960)... 13
D. Exception For Medical Emergencies ............ 25 Beal v. Doe, 432 U.S. 438 (1977) 0. 11
, , : . Rellotti v. Baird, 443 U.S. 622 (1979) ........... 14, 17, 20
E. — And Public Disclosure mane 27 Bonner V. Moran, 126 F.2d 121 (D.C. Cir. 1941) 11
wey haa, SLA IR i Race ia aiioar Bowen Vv. Georgetown Univ. Hosp., 488 U.S. 204
F. Criminal Penalties .................. soonsenenensiasti — 28 eect a ey abs Pca Alas Lae a 26
Brown V. Socialist Workers '74 Campaign Comm.,
CE secsccecscncerersectseneensiommennnsseneccnsmmnansensaitii 30 a 28
Canterbury Vv. Spence, 464 F.2d 772 (D.C. Cir. ),
cert. denied, 409 U.S. 1064 (1972)... onan ae
Carey V. Population Servs. Int'l, 431 U.S. 678
Eas WUE ERAES Taira? RS We se Pees ae aia 13, 14, 28
City of Akron v. Akron Ctr. for Reproductive
Health, Inc., 462 U.S. 416 (1983) passim
Cleveland Bd. of Educ. v. LaFleur, 414 U.S. 632
On ial ek 7
Cobbs v. Grant, 502 P.2d if = aa 22
Colautti v. Franklin, 439 U.S. 379 (1979) 10, 16, 26, 27
Connecticut V. Menillo, 423 U.S. 9 (1975) 10
Cruzan V. Director, Missouri Dep't of Health, 110
i i 9
Curran V. Bosze, 566 N.E.2d 1319 (Tl. 1990) 11
Doe Vv. Bolton, 410 U.S. 179 (1972) 0000. 11, 28
Fisenstadt Vv. Baird, 405 U.S. 438 (1972)... sis«é, 2B
Fosmire V. Nicoleau, 551 N.E.2d 77 (N.Y. 1990) 12
Garcia V. San Antonio Metro. Transit Auth., 469
ns a 15
Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479 (1965) . 8, 20
Harris v. McRae, 448 U.S. 297 (1980) idiedies 11
Hodgson V. Minnesota, 110 8S. Ct. 2926 (1990) 17
Jefferson V. Griffen Spalding County Hosp. Auth.,
274 S.E.2d 457 (Ga. 1981) ............. CE ME a 12

Jehovah's Witness v. King County Hosp., 278 F.
Supp. 488 (W.D. Wasi. 1967), aff'd, 390 U.S.
SEE TIE siitscncisoncotnsiniadunigtientiocadeleanaiuniteetasinentais 12

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
Kent v. Dulles, 357 U.S. 116 (1958) -~.....0020000000....... x
Kolender v. Lawson, 461 U.S. 352 (1983) ............. 27
Little v. Little, 576 S.W.2d 493 (Tex. Civ. App.
I ES ee of oa 11
Loving V. Virginia, 388 U.S. 1 (1967) .......0........... 8,13
Maher v. Roe, 432 U.S. 464 (1977) ............... Peau 11
McFall v. Shimp, 10 Pa. D. & C.3d 90 (County Ct.
FP ee — >
Meyer Vv. Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390 (1923) —.............. 7
NAACP vy. Alabama ex rel. Patterson, 357 U.S.
a 28
Palko v. Connecticut, 302 U.S. 319 (1987) ............ - g
Parham Vv. J.R., 442 U.S. 584 (1979) ........-.000000..... 29
Paul v. Davis, 424 U.S. 693 (1976) —.... x
Pension Benefit Guar. Corp. Vv. R.A. Gray & Co.,
gS RECS AN a 14
In re Pescinski, 226 N.W.2d 180 (Wis. 1975) ...... 11
Pierce Vv. Society of Sisters, 268 U.S. 510 (1925). 7
Planned Parenthood vy. Danforth, 428 U.S. 52
EGR IRS PAY IRE i GRRE ES CEE Sir OD SO RO ll
Poe v. Ullman, 367 U.S. 497 (1961) Ear ar ae ne 7,8
Prince Vv. Massachusetts, 321 U.S. 158 (1944) ....... 21
Public Health Trust Vv. Wons, 541 So.2d 96 (Fla.
STTTTTTTTI caiiinstcinieinchecnibeanbetieeedeteentansialtadsdiihanielieaatcanautiadiidenneicg 12

Pullman-Standard ¥ Vv. Swint, 456 U.S. 273 (1982). 28
In re Richardson, 284 So.2d 185 (La. Ct. App.),

cert. denied, 284 So.2d 338 (La. 1973) .............. 11
Roberts v. Wood, 206 F. Supp. 579 (S.D. Ala.

EPS Ee ee ee aaah 22
Rochin Vv. California, 342 U.S. 165 (1952) ........... i)
Roe Vv. Wade, 410 U.S. 113 (1973) . passim
Schloendorff v. Society of New York Hosp., 105

N.E. 92 (N.Y. 1914) . - ioe: 12
Schmerber Vv. California, 384 U. S. 157 (1966) . ad 9

Schware Vv. Board of Bar Examiners, 353 U.S. 232

SES re x
Shapiro v. Thompson, 394 US. 618 (1969) . | ~
Simopoulos Vv. Virginia, 462 U.S. 506 (1983) _ | 10
Skinner v. Oklahoma, 316 U.S. 535 (1942) .......... 8

.

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
Snyder Vv. Massachusetts, 291 U.S. 97 (1934) ........ 9
Stanley Vv. Georgia, 394 U.S. 557 (1969) | 13
Strunk v. Strunk, 445 S.W.2d 145 (Ky. 1969) ...... 11
Thornburgh Vv. American College of Obstetricians
& Gynecologists, 476 U.S. 747 (1986) passim
Vasquez V. Hillery, 474 U.S. 254 (1986)... 15, 16
Webster v. Reproductive Health Servs., 492 U.S.
senile 6, 11
Winston Vv. Lee, 470 U.S. 753 (1985) .....-.00........ 9

Woolley Vv. Henderson, 418 A.2d 1123 (Me. 1980) . 22

STATUTES AND RULES

18 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § $3208 ........................0000...... 25
18 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 3205 00. Fs aie 21
18 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 3205(a) (2) ....... AE eh 23
18 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 3205(a) (2) (i)-(iii) —.... 22
18 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 3206 sae fo 24
18 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 3209... Si iecicaaladentios 17
18 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 3209(a) 0 20
35 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 6923... as 25
LETT OT ie 28

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Amaro et al., Violence During Pregnancy and Sub-

stance Use, 80 Am. J. Pub. Health 575 (1990). 18
American College of Obstetricians & Gynecologists,
The Battered Woman (1989) ........... heii 18

American College of Obstetricians & Gynecologists,
Standards For Obstetric-Gynecologic Services

(7th ed. 1989) _....... seiheatesinaieatiiasiiaitininieiainninenianiannens 24
American Medical Association Council on Scientific

Affairs, Violence Against Women (1991) ....... : 18
T. Beauchamp & J. Childress, Principles of Bio-

medical Ethics (3d ed. 1989) ........................0....... 21

Binkin, Trends in Induced Legal Abortion Mor-
bidity and Mortality, 13 Clin. Obstet. Gynec. 83
REE ER ITT OO ee SE ele, 05 1

Binkin et al., /llegal-A bortion Deaths in the United
States: Why Are They Still Occurring ?, 14 Fam.
ns OD a ceemieionnesinens 2

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Bracken et al., Hospitalization for Medical-Legal
and Other Abortions in the United States 1970-
1977, 72 Am. J. Pub. Health 30 (1982)

Buehler et al., The Risk of Serious Complications
from Induced Abortion: Do Personal Charac-
teristics Make a Difference?, 153 Am. J. Obstet.
Gynec. 14 (1985) 2.00.

Cates & Rochat, Mlegal Abortions | in the U nited
States: 1972-74, 8 Fam. Plann. Persp. 8&6
SUITED ix cueieshentscacuacieiscianmnaminiieiidiiadtditstbadtthiemiiadiidiaaiiasiate

Cates et al., The EP ife ct of Delay and Me thod Choice
on the Risk of Abortion Morbidity, 9 Fam.
Plann. Persp. 266 (1977) 0.000000...

J. Cosgriff & D. Anderson, The Practice of Emer-
gency Care (2d ed, 1984) ..

D. Danforth & J. Scott, Obstetrics é ‘Gynecology
(5th ed. 1986) ...........

Dorfman, Maternal Mortality i in » New ‘York City,
1981-1983, 76 Obstet. & Gynec. 317 (1990)

R. Gold, Abortion and Women’s Health (1990)

Helton et al., Battered and Pregnant: A Preval-
ence Study, 77 Am. J. Pub. Health 1337 (1987) .

W. Hern, Abortion Practice (1984)...

Koonin et al., Abortion Surveillance, United States,
1988, 40 Morbid. & Mortal. Weekly Rep'’t 15
(July 1991) .. a ae A oe

Noronha, Neurological Disorde rs During ‘Preg-
nancy and the Puerperium, 12 Clin. Perinat. 695
(1985) ;

L. Ohlin & M. Tonry, Family Vv iolence (1989)

Polgar & Fried, The Bad Old Days: Clandestine
Abortions Among the Poor in New York City
Before Liberalization of the Abortion Law, 8
Fam. Plann, Persp. 125 (1976) .. ......

1 President's Commission for the Study of Ethical
Problems in Medicine and Biomedical and Be-
havioral Research, Making Health Care Deci-
sions (1982) ESS aE LR Pea et eat

Page

21

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page

Restatement (Second) of Torts §§ 314-15 (1965) 11
Revinsky & Guttmacher’s Medical, Surgical, &
«synecological Complications of Pregnancy (5S.
Cherry et al., 3d ed. 1985)... 3
Strauss & Gelles, Societal Change and Change in
Family Violence from 1975 to 1985 as Revealed
by Two National Surveys, 48 J. Marriage &

Family 465 (1986) 18
C. Tietze & S. Henshaw, Induced Abortion: A

World Review, 1986 (6th ed. 1986) 3
Williams & Bitran, Cancer & Pregnancy, 12 Clin.

Perinat. 609 (1985) 4
Williams Obstetrics (F. Cunningham et al., 18th

ed. 1989) 1,3

INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE

Amici curiae are seven national organizations of phy-
sicians and other health care professionals. Each amicus
is dedicated to promoting public health by maintaining
the highest professional standards and providing or en-
suring the provision of quality health care."

Amici’s interest in this case stems from their concern
about the profound impact that recently enacted state abor-
tion laws will have on the lives and health of the female
patients that their members serve. As_ individuals,
amici’s members hold differing views on the religious and
philosophical issues that abortion raises. They agree,
however, that when a patient seeks medical care and
treatment, such as abortion, state laws should not inter-
fere with a health care provider’s ability to exercise his
or her best medical judgment in treating that patient.
Because the Pennsylvania statute challenged here ser-
iously interferes with a woman’s ability, in consultation
with her physician, to obtain an abortion, and because
the standard of review adopted here will affect the con-
stitutionality of other statutes affecting the lives and
health of amici’s patients, amici wish to present their
views.”

MEDICAL BACKGROUND

Elective abertion, defined as the termination of a preg-
nancy before the fetus has reached the stage of viability,
is one of the most common medical procedures performed
in the United States today.* Approximately 1.5 million
American women obtain an abortion each year.*

! See Appendix A for a brief description of each amicus.

? Pursuant to Rule 37.3 of the Rules of this Court, the parties
have consented to the filing of this brief. The parties’ letters of
consent have been filed with the Clerk of the Court.

3 Williams Obstetrics 501 (F. Cunningham et al., 18th ed. 1989) ;
Binkin, Trends in Induced Legal Abortion Morbidity and Mortality,
13 Clin. Obstet. Gynec. 83, 83 (1986). Viability refers to the
point at which the fetus would have a reasonable potential for
survival if it were removed from the pregnant woman’s uterus.
Williams Obstetrics at 501.

*R. Gold, Abortion and Women’s Health 11 (1990).

2

When performed correctly by trained and experienced
physicians, abortion is a relatively safe procedure. In-
deed, it is far safer than childbirth: The risk of dying
from an abortion is currently about one-tenth the risk of
dying during childbirth.’ Illegal abortions, however, are
substantially riskier than legal abortions. Prior to this
Court’s decision in Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113 (1973),
complications from illegal abortions constituted a “serious
public health problem, especially for the poor and minori-
ties.” * Although precise data are unavailable, statistics
from this era suggest that the overall death rate from
illegal abortions was about eight times greater than that
for legal abortions,” and that the rate was even higher
among minority women.* The incidence of non-fatal com-
plications from illegal abortions also was extraordinary.’

The high mortality rate for illegal abortions is not sur-
prising given the techniques that many women used—and
in some cases, continue to use—to abort their fetuses.’®
These include ingesting Chlorox, turpentine or massive
doses of quinine, or inserting such objects as coat hang-
ers, knitting needles, or tree bark into their uteruses."*

5R. Gold at 28-29; Dorfman, Maternal Mortality in New York
City, 1981-1988, 76 Obstet. & Gynec. 317, 320 (1990).

* W. Hern, Abortion Practice 21 (1984).

7™Cates & Rochat, /llegal Abortions ‘n the United States: 1972-
74, 8 Fam. Plann. Persp. 86, 91-92 (1976).

®R. Gold at 5 (minority women twelve times more likely than
white women to die from such abortions).

®In 1962, for example, nearly 1,600 women were admitted to one
New York City hospital for treatment of non-fatal complications
of abortions. /d. at 6.

1° Even after Roe some women continue to seek illegal abortions
because legal abortions are either too expensive or not readily avail-
abl¢ or because of a variety of cultural, religious or personal rea-
sons. Binkin et al., [llegal-Abortion Deaths in the United States:
Why Are They Still Occurring?, 14 Fam. Plann. Persp. 163 (1982).

11 Polgar & Fried, The Bad Old Days: Clandestine Abortions
Among the Poor in New York City Before Liberalization of the
Abortion Law, 8 Fam, Plann. Persp. 125, 126 (1976).

3

Because legal abortions are so much safer than illegal
ones, abortion-related deaths and other complications
dropped sharply after the widespread legalization of abor-
tion.'"? However, such serious medical problems as infec-
tion, hemorrhage, perforation of the uterus, or even death,
still complicate about 0.5% of all abortions.’* While the
risk of such complications is relatively small, “any delay
increases the risk of complications to a pregnant woman
who wishes an abortion. Moreover, this risk appears to
increase continuously . . . as the length of gestation in-
creases.” '' After eight weeks of gestation, the risk of
maternal death doubles with every two weeks of delay,”
and the risk of other health complications increases at a
rate of about 20% per week."®

Delays—and the concomitant increase in risk—are of
particular concern for women with pre-existing medical
conditions that may be exacerbated by pregnancy.’ De-

12 For example, 39 deaths from unlawful abortions were reported
nationwide in the year preceding this Court’s decision in Roe,
while only five deaths were reported in the following year. Cates
& Rochat at 87. Similarly, non-fatal complications of abortion also
declined after legalization. Sec, e.g., Bracken et al., Hospitalization
for Medical-Legal and Other Abortions in the United States 1970-
1977, 72 Am. J. Pub. Health 30, 30 (1982) (hospital admissions
for septic abortions in California dropped by 68-75 following
liberalization of that state’s abortion law in 1967).

13 Buehler et al., The Risk of Serious Complications from Induced
Abortion: Do Personal Characteristics Make a Difference?, 153
Am. J. Obstet. Gynec. 14, 16 (1985).

14 Cates et al., The Effect of Delay and Method of Choice on the
Risk of Abortion Morbidity, 9 Fam. Plann. Persp. 266, 268 (1977) ;
Buehler et al. at 16.

15 Williams Obstetrics at 506.

16C, Tietze & S. Henshaw, Induced Abortion: A World Review,
1986 108 (6th ed. 1986).

17 These conditions include congenital malformations of the heart
and its valves, cancer, chronic renal failure, multiple sclerosis,
asthma, arthritis, inflammatory bowel disease and epilepsy. Sve
D. Danforth & J. Scott, Obstetrics & Gynecology 494-97 (5th ed.
1986); Rovinsky & Guttmacher's Medical, Surgical & Gynecological

1

lays are also problematic for pregnant adolescents. Un-
like older women, many teenagers—because of «rregular
menses, lack of experience with health care facilities, and
difficulty in paying for medical care—wait until late in
their pregnancies, often well into their second trimester,
before seeking any medical care."

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
: L

The threshold question in this case concerns the stand-
ard of review. In Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113 (1973),
City of Akron v. Akron Center for Reproductive Health,
Tne., 462 U.S. 416 (1983), and Thornburgh v. American
College of Obstetricians & Gynecologists, 476 U.S. 747
(1986), this Court held that strict scrutiny applies to all
statutes that interfere with a woman’s right, in consulta-
tion with her physician, to choose whether or not to termi-
nate her pregnancy. The court of appeals, however, held
that strict scrutiny should apply only to state regula-
tions that severely interfere with or present absolute ob-

stacles to a woman’s right to choose an abortion. Pet.
App. 14a, 30a.

This Court should put to rest the current confusion
over the standard of review by reexamining and then
reaffirming its prior holdings that a woman has a funda-
mental right to decide whether or not to have an abortion.
Recognition of this right follows logically and ineluctably
from this Court’s decades-old recognition that the liberty
protected from state interference by the Fourteenth
Amendment includes the right to make persona! choices
regarding family life, marriage, and procreation. This

Complications of Pregnancy 73 (S. Cherry et al., 3d ed. 1985);
Williams & Bitran, Cancer & Pregnancy, 12 Clin. Perinat. 609
(1985); Noronha, Neurological Disorders During Pregnancy and
the Puerperium, 12 Clin. Perinat. 695 (1985).

'S Koonin et al., Abortion Surveillance, United States, 1988, 40
Morbid. & Mortal. Weekly Rep’t 15, 17 (July 1991).

5

Court should also reaffirm that states may not regulate
that right in ways that increase the health risks that
pregnant women face.

None of the objections to Roe provides a basis for
overturning two decades of constitutionally required pro-
tection for women’s health. The principle that the state
may not force a woman to accept increased health risks in
order to further the state’s interest in preserving fetal
life is not arbitrary. To the contrary, that principle is
fully supported by basic common law principles respecting
the autonomy and bodily integrity of each individual. Nor
is there any reason to think that reversing Roe will extri-
cate federal courts and this Court from the need to review
state abortion legislation. In fact, altering the standard
of review will simply initiate another protracted legal
battle over which new restrictions are constitutional.

II.

By enacting the Abortion Control Act Amendments of
1989, Pennsylvania has again passed a statute that will
delay, discourage, and defeat women in their attempt to
obtain a medically provided abortion. The specific provi-
sions at issue here place a variety of obstacles—notifica-
tion, consent, waiting periods and public disclosure—in
the path of a woman seeking an abortion. Each will
operate to increase the risks to the health of pregnant
women. As was the case with Pennsylvania’s previous
abortion amendments, “|c|lose analysis . . . shows that
they wholly subordinate constitutional privacy interests
and concerns with maternal health in an effort to deter a
woman from making a decision that, with her physician,
is hers to make.” Thornburgh, 476 U.S. at 759. Indeed,
these provisions violate our most basic notions of liberty
by subjecting individuals to significant health risks solely
to further the state’s interest in protecting potential life.
Each therefore is unconstitutional.

6

ARGUMENT

I. THIS COURT SHOULD REAFFIRM THAT A
WOMAN’S RIGHT TO CHOOSE WHETHER OR
NOT TO CARRY A PREGNANCY TO TERM IS A
FUNDAMENTAL RIGHT PROTECTED AGAINST
STATE INTERFERENCE BY THE GUARANTEE
OF LIBERTY IN THE DUE PROCESS CLAUSE OF
THE FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT.

In Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113, 153 (1973), this Court
held that the “Fourteenth Amendment’s concept of per-
sonal liberty and restrictions upon state action...
encompass|es} a woman’s decision whether or not to
terminate her pregnancy.” Accordingly, this Court held
that state laws that interfere with this right are subject
to strict scrutiny. /d. at 162-64. In the nearly two
decades since Roe was decided, this Court has repeatedly
reaffirmed this fundamental holding.’

More recently, however, members of the Court, in
separate and plurality opinions, have questioned the
trimester-based framework set forth in Roe as applied
to particular state laws.” Relying on these opinions,
the court below held that “the strict scrutiny legal
standard endorsed by the Court in Roe, Akron, and
Thornburgh” is no longer the applicable standard of
review. Pet. App. 24a. Instead, the court held, the
correct standard is one that applies strict scrutiny only
to those state regulations that “impose an undue burden
[on a woman’s abortion decision| and rational basis
review to those which do not.” /d. at 30a.

This Court should reaffirm that a woman’s right to
decide whether or not to carry her pregnancy to term is
a fundamental right protected against state interference

" Big., Thornburgh, 476 U.S. at 747; Akron, 462 U.S. at 416.

*” See, e.g., Webster Vv. Reproductive Health Servs., 492 U.S, 490,
517-21 (1989) (opinion of Rehnquist, C.J.) ; id. at 525-31 (opinion
of O'Connor, J.) ; id. at 532-37 (opinion of Scalia, J.).

7

by the guarantee of liberty in the Due Process Clause of
the Fourteenth Amendment. This Court also should re-
affirm that states may not regulate that right in ways
inconsistent with accepted medical practice. Less strin-
gent standards that allow states to interfere with this
fundamental right are inconsistent with basic constitu-
tional principles and will only provoke a new round of
constitutional line-drawing. States have no interest suffi-
ciently compelling to deny pregnant women the personal
liberty enjoyed by all other persons to obtain medical
treatment and to preserve their health free from state
interference.

A. A Woman’s Right To Choose Whether Or Not To
Carry A Pregnancy To Term Is A Fundamental

Right.

Prior to Roe, the Court had not considered the constitu-
tionality of abortion laws. But like any proper “decision
of an apparently novel claim,” Roe took “ ‘its place in
relation to what went before and further [cut!| a channe]
for what |was] to come.’” Poe v. Ullman, 367 U.S. 497,
544 (1961) ‘Harlan, J., dissenting) (citation omitted).

Roe followed, in the first instance, “|t!his Court[’s]
... long recogni|tion| that freedom of personal choice in
matters of marriage and family life is one of the liberties
protected by the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth
Amendment.” Cleveland Bd. of Educ. v. LaFleur, 414
U.S. 632, 639-40 (1974). By 1923, this Court had recog-
nized that “the liberty thus guaranteed . . . denotes not
merely freedom from bodily restraint but also the right
... to marry, establish a home and bring up children.”
Meyer Vv. Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390, 399 (1923). Over
the five decades between Meyer and Roe, the Court in-
validated state laws that infringed the right to choose
whether to send one’s children to a private school,*' to

2! Pierce Vv. Society of Sisters, 268 U.S. 510, 535 (1925).

8

marry someone of one’s choice,” to refuse sterilization,”
and to obtain and use contraceptives.**

At the core of the liberty protected from state inter-
ference, then, has been “the right of the individual, mar-
ried or single, to be free from unwarranted governmental
intrusion into matters so fundamentally affecting a person
as the decision whether to bear or beget a child.” Eisen-
stadt v. Baird, 405 U.S. 438, 453 (1972). The right in
question in Roe, “a woman’s decision whether or not to
terminate her pregnancy,” 410 U.S. at 153, is inextricably
part of the web of intensely personal choices in “matters
relating to marriage, procreation, contraception, family
relationships, and child rearing and education” that
the Court had previously protected.

The right recognized in Roe also has another important
common law and constitutional antecedent. It follows di-
rectly from the common law tradition that protects the
autonomy of each individual to decide what medical treat-
ments to accept or to refuse. “Before the turn of the
century, this Court observed that ‘!n|o right is held more
sacred, or is more carefully guarded, by the common law,
than the right of every individual to the possession and
control of his own person, free from all restraint or in-

22 Loving V. Virginia, 388 U.S. 1 (1967).

23 Skinner Vv. Oklahoma, 316 U.S. 535, 536 (1942) (state law
infringes on “the right to have offspring” ).

Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479 (1965) (married
couples); Eisenstadt v. Baird, 405 U.S. 438 (1972) (any individ-
ual); see also Poe Vv. Ullman, 367 U.S. 497, 539-55 (1961) (Harlan,
J., dissenting).

25 Additional rights encompassed within the liberty protected by
the Fourteenth Amendment include, inter alia, the right to travel,
Kent V. Dulles, 357 U.S. 116, 125-27 (1958); Shapiro v. Thompson.
394 U.S. 618 (1969); and the mght to pursue an occupation,
Schware Vv. Board of Bar Eraminers, 353 U.S. 232 (1957): Allgeyer
Vv. Louisiana, 165 U.S. 578, 589 (1897).

** Paul V. Davis, 424 U.S. 693, 713 (1976).

terference of others, unless by clear and unquestionable
authority of law.’” *’ This common law “notion of bodily
integrity” underlies the requirement of informed con-
sent for medical treatment.** Respect for bodily integrity
has led state courts to refuse to order individuals to
put their own health at risk or otherwise to suffer a
bodily invasion (such as an operation) even when such
an effort is necessary to save the life of another person.”
It has also led this Court to invalidate state laws that
would have compelled individuals to undergo physically
invasive procedures in furtherance of the state’s interest
in investigating crime.” The right to have the state
respect each individual's bodily integrity is “so rooted in
the traditions and conscience of our people as to be
ranked as fundamental,” “' and therefore provides a sec-
ond constitutional and common law antecedent to a
woman’s right to choose not to carry a pregnancy to term.

B. This Court Should Reaffirm That State Abortion
Laws That Depart From Accepted Medical Practice
And Increase Health Risks To Pregnant Women
Are Unconstitutional.

In Roe, this Court held that courts should apply strict
scrutiny to state laws regulating abortion, and provided
an analytica! framework based on the trimesters of preg-

27 Cruzan V. Director, Missouri Dep't of Health, 110 S. Ct. 2841,
2846 (1990) (quoting Union Pac. R.R. v. Botsford, 141 U.S. 250,
251 (1891)).

28 Cruzan, 110 S. Ct. at 2846-47.
2% See infra pp. 11-12 & nn. 37, 40.

* See, ¢.g., Winston Vv. Lee, 470 U.S. 753, 763-66 (1985) (state
may not compel criminal defendant to undergo minor surgery to
remove bullet) ; Schmerber Vv. California, 384 U.S. 757, 772 (1966):
Rochin V. California, 342 U.S. 165, 173-74 (1952).

3! Snyder Vv. Massachusetts, 291 U.S. 97, 105 (1934); see also
Palko v. Connecticut, 302 U.S. 319, 324 (1937) ‘(rights that are
“implicit in the concept of ordered liberty” are immune from state
interference).

10

nancy to assist courts in performing that analysis.” As
the court of appeals explained, a majority of the members
of the Court, through separate opinions, has taken the
view that the trimester analysis is problematic. Pet. App.
24a-30a. Amici believe that the framework provided in
Roe has proved useful to lower courts and that the Court
should not abandon that framework.

Any dispute over the trimester framework, however,
should not obscure the fundamental principle that under-
lies Roe. That principle is that states are not free to re-
quire individuals, including pregnant women, to subject
themselves to increased health risks or significant intru-
sions of their bodily integrity in order to further the
state’s interest in the potential or actual life of another
person.

This principle—which forbids states to “requirfe] a
trade-off between the woman’s health and fetal survival”
—is not dependent on trimesters of pregnancy for imple-
mentation.” It simply looks to the impact of abortion
regulation on women’s health. Laws that “depart from
accepted medical practice” should presumptively be un-
constitutional, because such departures likely will pose a
risk to the patient’s health. Akron, 462 U.S. at 431.

This principle is consistent with the cases decided since
Roe. Thus, this Court has upheld laws that legitimately
furthered maternal health™ or that placed no obstacles

%2 Specifically, the Court held that a state has a compelling inter-
est in protecting maternal health beginning at the second trimester
of pregnancy, and a compelling interest in preserving the potential
life of the fetus beginning at the time of viability, roughly coin-
cident with the third trimester. 110 U.S. at 162. State laws that
are not reasonably related to these interests or that sweep more
broadly than necesscry to further those interests therefore are un-
constitutional. Jd. at 163-64.

33 Thornburgh, 476 U.S. at 768; see also Colautti v. Franklin, 439
U.S. 379, 387-401 (1979): Roe, 410 U.S. at 164.

4 See, ¢.g., Simopoulos v. Virginia, 462 U.S. 506 (1983) (per
curiam ) ; Connecticut v. Menillo, 423 U.S. 9 (1975).

- il

in a woman’s path to an abortion.” The Court, however,
has invalidated laws that, “under the guise of protecting
maternal health or potential life,” have served in fact to
increase the risk to maternal health by introducing need-
less delay into the process or otherwise by interfering with
the relationship between patients and their physicians or
nurses.”

The existence of a competing state interest in preserv-
ing fetal life is not sufficient to require departure from
this basic principle. Common jaw principles illustrate the
point. The common law imposes no general duty upon
individuals to rescue others from life-threatening peril.
Restatement (Second) of Torts §§ 314-15 (1965). In
particular, states have not required individuals to under-
go surgery, or to donate tissue, blood or organs, in order
to save the actual life of another person.” Certainly this
is true of Pennsylvania. In McFall v. Shimp, 10 Pa.
D. & C.3d 90 (County Ct. Allegheny 1978), a Pennsyl-
vania court refused to order the defendant to donate
bone marrow needed to save the life of his cousin:
“For our law to compel defendant to submit to an in-
trusion of his body would change every concept and
principle upon which our society is founded. To do so

% Webster v. Reproductive Health Servs., 492 U.S. 490 (1989):
Harris Vv. McRae, 448 U.S. 297 (1980); Maher v. Roe, 432 U.S. 464
(1977); Beal v. Doe, 432 U.S. 438 (1977).

% Thornburgh, 476 U.S. at 759; see, e.g., Akron, 462 U.S. at
416; Planned Parenthood Vv. Danforth, 428 U.S. 52 (1976): Doe v.
Bolton, 410 U.S. 179 (1972).

37 See, e.g., Bonner ¥. Moran, 126 F.2d 121 (D.C. Cir. 1941)
(surgery upon one person without consent to save the life of
another is battery); Curran ¥. Bosze, 566 N.E.2d 1319, 1331 (II.
1990) (parent may not give consent on behalf of minor for dona-
tion of bone marrow to sibling unless to do so would be in minor’s
best interest); Little y. Little, 576 S.W.2d 493 (Tex. Civ. App.
1979) (same); In re Pescinski, 226 N.W.2d 180 (Wis. 1975)
(same); Jn re Richardson, 284 So.2d 185 (La. Ct. App.) (same),
cert. denied, 284 So.2d 338 (La. 1973); Strunk v. Strunk, 445
S.W.2d 145 (Ky. 1969) (same).

12

would defeat the sanctity of the individual, and would
impose a rule which would know no limits, and one could
not imagine where the line would be drawn.” Jd. at 91.

The holding in McFal/ is consistent with the respect
for individual autonomy that is a traditional element of
American common law. The familiar proposition that
“lel]very human being of adult years and sound mind
has a right to determine what shall be done with his own
body” ** is “fundamental in American jurisprudence

...’™ And as McFall and other cases illustrate, this is
a a “strong right,” one that is strictly enforced rather than
balanced against competing interests.*”

At common law, then, the state’s interest in preserving
actual human lives, weighty though it is, is insufficient to

38 Schloendorff Vv. Society of New York Hosp., 105 N.E. 92, 93
(N.Y. 1914) (Cardozo, J.).

8° Canterbury Vv. Spence, 464 F.2d 772, 780 (D.C. Cir.), cert.
denied, 409 U.S. 1064 (1972).

*” Amici are aware of no state that has required a healthy adult
to undergo a medical procedure to protect the health or save the
life of another individual; such procedures may be ordered for a
minor only if they are in the minor's best interest. Sce supra p. 11
n.37 (citing cases). Some courts have required parents to accept
medical treatment where, in contrast to the abortion context, the
required intrusion furthers both the state’s interest in protecting
the life of the parent and the state’s interest in the welfare of a
minor or viable fetus. Thus, courts have required parents of minor
children to accept blood transfusions, Jehovah's Witnesses v. King
County Hosp., 278 F. Supp. 488 (W.D. Wash. 1967), aff'd, 390
U.S. 598 (1968), and pregnant women at term to have cesarean
sections where vaginal delivery would endanger the lives of both
mother and child, e.g., Jefferson v. Griffin Spalding County Hoep.
Auth., 274 S8.E.2d 457, 458 (Ga. 1981). More recently, however, and
correctly in amici’s view, courts have held that a state cannot require
a woman to submit to a life-saving post-partum blood transfusion
for the benefit of her minor child or-other dependents, Fosmire v.
Nicoleau, 551 N.E.2d 77 (N.Y. 1990); Public Health Trust vy. Wonse,
541 So.2d 96 ‘Fla. 1989), or to undergo a cesarean section if she
has not (or would not have) consented to the surgery, In re AC.,
573 A.2d 1235 (D.C. 1990).

13

justify forcing persons to endure intrusions of their bodies
and concomitant health risks to save those lives. It fol-
lows, a fortiori, that the state’s interest in protecting
potential lives, significant though it may be, is not suffi-
ciently compelling to justify forcing a woman to carry
her fetus to term or to endure delays and obstacles to
abortion that increase her health risks.

C. This Court Should Not Adopt The Undue Burden
Analysis Employed By The Court Below.

In adopting what it called “the undue burden stand-
ard,” the court of appeals held that strict serutiny ap-
plies only to laws that are initially found to impose
“ ‘absolute obstacles or severe limitations’” on the free-
dom of a woman, in consultation with her physician, to
make a decision whether or not to continue her preg-
naney. Pet. App. 14a, 24a-25a (quoting Thornburgh, 476
U.S. at 828 (O’Connor, J., dissenting)). A majority of
this Court has not yet adopted that undue burden stand-
ard, and it should not do so here, for three reasons.

First, such a standard is inconsistent with established
constitutional principles. This Court has never required
a showing of “absolute obstacles” or “severe limitations”
on a fundamental right as a threshold for triggering strict
scrutiny. Rather, the Court has held that fundamental
personal rights and liberties are protected by the Due
Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment from “in-
fringement” by the States. Stanley v. Georgia, 394 U.S.
557, 564, 568 n.11 (1969). E.g., Carey vy. Population
Servs. Int'l, 431 U.S. 678, 686 (1977) (strict serutiny
is required for “regulations imposing a burden on” a
fundamental right) ‘emphasis added) ."'

*! Even where the Court has used language qualifying the degrees
of intrusion necessary, it has not required severe intrusions or
absolute obstacles. E.g., Bates vy. Little Rock, 361 U.S. 516, 524
(1960) (“significant encroachment”).

14

The effect of the undue burden standard, as applied
below, is to subject state regulations that significantly
burden a fundamental right to review under a mere
“rational relationship” standard. Rational-relation re-
view, while appropriate for “legislative Acts adjusting the
burdens and benefits of economic life,” “ has never been
accepted as adequate in reviewing legislation affecting
“individual decisions in matters of childbearing” or other
similarly private matters. Carey, 431 U.S. at 687.“ In
the abortion context, such an approach would lead to a
subjective, unpredictable balancing in every case of the
degree of health risk and the degree of burden that a
particular state law imposes against the weight of the
State’s interest. Such a balancing approach is squarely
rejected in analogous common law cases such as McFall,
and should be rejected here.

Second, the undue burden test, by weakening protection
of women’s health and introducing an inherently subjective
standard of evaluation, would simply increase the need for
this Court’s perennial monitoring of state abortion laws.
As the Brief Amici Curiae of William J. Guste, Louisiana
Attorney General, et al. in support of Robert P. Casey's
petition for certiorari in this case illustrates, states
are now passing legislation that returns state law to
the pre-Roe era. Thus, a decision to adopt a weaker
undue-burden rational relationship standard of review
will require this Court to resolve a host of new and diffi-

* Pension Benefit Guar. Corp. v. R.A. Gray & Co., 467 US. 717,
729 (1984).

*8 Indeed, the very label “undue burden” reflects the confusion
this standard—as a threshold test—introduces into constitutional
analysis. The threshold question is simply whether a “burden” has
in fact been imposed; the question whether that burden is “undue”
—i.e., “unwarranted” or “unjustified”—logically should be an-
swered only at the end of the analysis, after the state’s interests and
any overbreadth have been considered. This Court initially used the
phrase “undue burden” to refer not to any threshold standard for
triggering strict scrutiny but to the completed analysis. E.g.,
Bellotti v. Baird, 443 U.S. 622, 647 (1979) (plurality).

15

cult questions. Must states allow abortion when necessary
to preserve the health of the mother? Must they do so
when necessary to preserve her life? Must abortion be
available when the pregnancy results from rape or from
incest? Is evidence that pregnancy may render a woman
suicidal evidence that it poses a threat to her life? Car
a state require clear and convincing objective evidence
that an exception is met? Must there be an exception to
criminal penalties for women and physicians who act in
good faith? Such questions inevitably will arise so long as
the abortion issue remains justiciable. The stakes for
personal liberty are too high to expect otherwise.

Abandoning the principle that states may not place
women’s health at risk in regulating abortion therefore
will not extricate this Court from the need to draw fine
lines between what is permissible legislation and what is
not. Reaffirming the basic principle that underlies Roe.
however, would largely end this Court’s oversight role.
As discussed below, the Court has already resolved most
of the issues that can arise under Roc, and has provided
the lower courts with ample guidance to deal with any
new legislation.

Third, there is no reason not to respect stare decisis
here, because the principle that underlies Roe provides a
workable standard that is consistent with constitutiona!
precedent. Roe is therefore not a case that has proved
“unsound in principle and unworkable in practice.” Gar-
cia V. San Antonio Metro. Transit Auth.. 469 U.S. 52k,
246 (1985). There have been no “changes in society or in
the law” since 1973 to require a reversal of Roe’s holding
——the same concerns raised now were raised at the time
Roe was argued- ‘and reargued). Vasquez Vv. Hillery, 474
U.S. 254, 266 (1986); see Akron, 462 U.S. at 419 n.1.
Respect for sere decisis is thus compelling here, because
it is necessary to demonstrate “that bedrock principles
are founded in the law rather than in the proclivities of
individuals, and thereby [to] contribut{e] to the integrity
of our constitutional system of government, both in

16

appearance and in fact.” Vasquez, 474 U.S. at 265-66.
This Court has never before withdrawn fundamental
status from any right previously recognized as funda-
mental. To depart from that precedent in this or any
setting would so undermine accepted notions of “ordered
liberty” that it should not be undertaken at all.

In sum, it is not the division of pregnancy into tri-
mesters that determined the standard of review adopted
in Roe. While the trimester framework was intended to
and has provided helpful guidance to lower courts, the
essential holding of Roe was that strict scrutiny was re-
quired where a state law interfered with a woman’s right
to decide, in consultation with her health care providers,
whether or not to continue a pregnancy. That holding is
valid today, just as it was two decades ago. This Court
therefore should reverse the holding below adopting an
“undue burden” standard of review for abortion legisla-
tion.

Il. PENNSYLVANIA’S HUSBAND-NOTIFICATION, IN-
FORMED CONSENT, PARENTAL CONSENT, MED-
ICAL EMERGENCY, AND DISCLOSURE REQUIRE-
MENTS ARE UNCONSTITUTIONAL.

Each of the challenged provisions of Pennsylvania’s
Abortion Control Act is unconstitutional. In upholding all
but one of these provisions, the court of appeals errone-
ously required a high threshold showing of an undue
burden and ignored uncontroverted factual findings that
each provision wil! cause substantial harm to women’s
health. The state interest repeatedly asserted in defense
of these provisions—preserving the life of the fetus—
is inadequate, because this Court’s decisions establish that
the woman’s life and health must always prevail over the
fetus’ life and health when they conflict. Thornburg,
476 U.S. at 768-69; see also Colautti v. Franklin, 439
U.S. 379, 400 (1979) ; Roe, 410 U.S. at 163-64.

A. Husband-Notification.
Section 3209 of the Act makes it a crime for a married
woman to obtain an abortion unless she provides her
physician a signed statement that she either has notified

17

her husband of her iniention to obtain an abortion or has
met one of four narrow exceptions to this requirement,
and that she understands that a false statement is punish-
able by law. 18 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 3209 (1983 &
Supp. 1991); Pet. App. 61a n.24, 191a-193a. As the cour’
of appeals concluded, even if a showing of undue burden
is required, this husband-notification requirement is uncon-
stitutional.“* This provision severely burdens a woman’s
fundamental right to choose an abortion without further-
ing any compelling state interest.

1. Husband-Notification Severely Burdens A
‘Woman’s Right To Obtain An Abortion From
Her Physician.

The district court’s extensive factual findines, none of
which was or could be found to be clearly erroneous on
this record, unambiguously support its conclusion that
husband-notification imposes “a coustitutionally signifi-
cant burden on the woman’s right to an abortion.” Pet.
App. 193a-201a, 254a. These findings also support the
circuit court’s finding that the provision imposes an “un-
due burden” because it “may effectively prevent the abor-
tion or may severely penalize the woman in other ways”
for choosing to seek an abortion. Jd. at 63a. Indeed, the
burden here is comparable to, if not more severe than,
the unconstitutional burden imposed upon minors by the
notification requirements at issue in Bellotti v. Baird, 443
U.S. 622, 647 (1979), and Hodgson v. Minnesota, 110
S. Ct. 2926, 2945 & n.36 (1990). :

a. As both courts below noted, the vast majority of
married women seeking an abortion have discussed their
plans with their husbands. Pet. App. 66a. Section 3209
is thus targeted at. and will chiefly affect, women who
fear that notifying their husbands will lead to physical or
psychologica! intimidation or abuse. :

“Amici refer here to “hushand-notification” rather than
“spousal notice” because the Act’s gender-neutral label is deceptive.
It camouflages the foct that Section 2200 epplics exelu ively t
women. Moreover, Section 3209 is unique: no other Commonwealth
law imposes any intra-marital notice requirement, Pet. App. 199u.

18

For many women such concerns are all too real.
Women in Ae society are at shockingly high risk for
physical and psychological abuse by their husbands. .
cording to one survey, nearly one in eight husbands ha
physically abused his wife during 1985, and almost >
third of the assaults involved severe aggression. ie
medical community, recognizing the enormity of this
problem, has efforts underway to educate health care pro-
fessionals about the nature of this problem and its physi-

cal and psychological manifestations.”

The district court correctly found that requiring preg-
nant women to notify their husbands of their pregnancy
and of their intent to seek an abortion will exacerbate
the problem of violence against women because “preg-
nancy is frequently a flashpoint for battering and violence
within the family.” Pet. App. 196a. Studies demonstrate,
for example, that as many as eight percent of women =
physically or sexually abused during pregnancy.’ In a
dition, abuse may take the form of actual or threatenec
violence to the couple’s children, dissolution of a marriage,
curtailment of financial support, psychological abuse
(verbal degradation, food and sleep deprivation, isolation
and monitoring), or disclosure of the wife’s decision to
family, friends and acquaintances. Id. at 194a, 196a,

199a.""

45 Strauss &-Gelles, Societal Change and Change im Family Vio-
lence From 1975 to 1985 As Revealed By Two National Surveys,
48 J. Marriage & Family 465, 470 (1986). See also L. Ohlin awe
Tonry, Family Violence 177-80 (1989) (reviewing other empirica
studies ) . 7 _

46 See American Medical Association Council on Scientific Af-
fairs, Violence Against Women (1991): American College of Ob-
stetricians & Gynecologists, The Battered Woman ( 1989).

47 Amaro et al., Violence During Pregnancy and Substance Use,
a0 Am. J. Pub. Health 575 (1990); Helton et al., Dottgred and
Preqnant: A Prevalence Study, 77 Am. J. Pub. Health 1337 (1987).

4* In addition to fostering abuse, the requirement that a womar

notify her husband will jeopardize the confidential nature of the rela-

19

b. The narrow exception for wives who can claim that
they fear “the infliction of bodily injury upon [them]” by
their husband or someone else is insufficient to eliminate
the burden imposed by husband notification. The excep-
tion simply does not cover the range of coercive actions
that husbands in an abusive situation typically take.
Moreover, as the district court found, the “coping strat-
egy” that “most battered women” have developed, i.e.,
“learned helplessness,” leaves them without “the psycho-
logical ability to avail themselves of the exceptions of
Section 3209.” Pet. App. 200a-201la. Accordingly, such
abuse serves both strongly to deter women from seeking
an abortion and severely to penalize those who in fact go
forward with notification.

ce. The dissenting judge below argued that the husband-
notification provision could not constitute an undue bur-
den because it would affect, at most, only a small “per-
centage of all women desiring abortions” and “plaintiffs
failed to show even roughly how many of the women in
this small group would actually be adversely affected by
Section 3209.” Pet. App. 92a. The dissent’s conception
of what constitutes a burden on a fundamental right is
erroneous as a matter of law.

Because a fundamental right is held by an individual
against the state, the abridgment of such a right is sig-
nificant even if only a small number of individuals are
affected. In Bellotti, the Court invalidated a Massachu-
setts statute requiring that parents be notified of any
judicial proceeding brought by their daughter to obtain
an abortion. Justice Powell, in an opinion joined by
then-Chief Justice Burger, then-Justice Rehnquist, and
Justice Stewart, acknowledged that there was “no reason
to believe” that parents would seek to obstruct their
daughter’s access to court “in the majority of cases where

tionship between the woman and her physician. See Pet. App. 195a.
Concerns about confidentiality may cause some women to delay
seeking care or perhaps forgo appropriate medical care entirely.

20

consent is withheld.” 443 U.S. 622, 647 (1979). Never-
theless, the Massachusetts law was declared unconstitu-
tional because “{i}t would be unrealistic .. . to assume
that the mere existence of a legal right to seek eo Pi
superior court provides an effective avenue of relief or
some of those who need it most.” Jd. Thus, this Court
invalidated the statute in Bellotti even though it would
burden only a very small proportion of the total number
of women seeking abortion, and even though no precise
estimate of that percentage was offered.

2» Husband-Notification Does Not Narrowly Serve
A Compelling State Interest.

The Commonwealth asserts an interest in “promoting
the integrity of the marital relationship.” 18 Pa. Cons.
Stat. Ann. £ 3209(a); Pet. App. 300a. Undoubtedly, the
state has an interest in the integrity of marriages; laws
prohibiting bigamy or restricting the availability of di-
voree, for example, are constitutional. But such Jaws
define and reculate the nature and structure of the insti-
tution: they are.constitutional precisely because they do
not intrude into the marital relationship itself. Marriage
“is an association that promotes a way of life, not
causes”: thus, state intrusions on marital relations are
suspect when they promote a_ political agenda and par-
ticularly suspect when designed to advance the state's
agenda on a matter as personal to individuals as pro-
creation. Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479, 486
(1965). The state cannot intrude more deeply into a
marriage than when it conditions one individual's exer-
cise of constitutional rights on an agreement to engage
in state-mandated conversations with his or her spouse.

More critically, regardless of how the state’s goal of
nromoting marital integrity is labeled, that goal is not
served by forcing a husband and wife to communicate
about a particular topic. As the district court found,

21

“[m]arital accord arises from within the relationship not
from the intervention of the state.” Pet. App. 262a.*”

B. Informed Consent Provisions.

Section 3205 of the Act makes it a crime for a physician
to perform an abortion unless he or she first obtains the
“informed consent” of the patient as defined by detailed
procedures. 18 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 3205; Pet. App.
289a. Far from promoting true informed consent, how-
ever, Section 3205 will interfere with constructive con-
sultation between physicians and their patients and will
undermine patients’ health.

1. The requirement that a physician or nurse obtain a
patient’s informed consent to a medical procedure is
fundamental to the common law and medical ethics. The
doctrine is rooted in the respect for patient autonomy
and the recognition that each patient is an individual with
unique beliefs and needs.” The point of the consultation
is not to inundate a patient with predetermined details
on every conceivable facet of all available medical pro-
cedures; indeed, a health care provider has an obligation
to limit disclosure where necessary to avoid causing the
patient anxiety and fear that could jeopardize effective

* The Commonwealth's other asserted interest, in promoting
the husband's interests in “having children within the marriage”
and in the “prenatal life” of his child, are not compelling. The
interest Pennsylvania seeks to protect is only that of married men,
not of biological fathers. The Commonwealth offers no explanation,
however, why it is appropriate (let alone compelling) for the state
to throw its weight behind one spouse and not the other on the
question whether or not the wife will bear a child. In siding with
one spouse and against another, the Commonwealth impermissibly
intrudes inte “the private realm of family life which the state
cannot enter.” Prince V. Massachusetts, 321 US. 158, 166 (1944).

™ See, «.g., Canterbury Vv. Spence, 464 F.2d 772, 780 (D.C. Cir),
cert. denied, 409 U.S. 1064 71972): T. Beauchamp & J. Childress,
Principles of Biomedical Ethies, 74-75, 91-93 (2d ed. 1989) : 1 Presi-
dent's Commission for the Study of Ethical Problems in Medicine
and Biomedical and Behavioral Research, Making Health Care
Decisions 18-39 (1982).

22

treatment of the patient." Rather, the requirement that
a physician or nurse obtain informed consent provides an
opportunity for the provider and patient to discuss the
risks and benefits of potential therapies germane to that
patient, so that the patient can make an informed treat-
ment decision. The information appropriate to each con-
sultation will differ from patient to patient, and providers
therefore do and must retain discretion to determine what
specific information is relevant.

2. The procedures that Pennsylvania would require
under the rubric of “informed consent” are in fact anti-
thetieal to informed consent as currently understood and
practiced. To begin with, Section 3205 requires that each
patient be told that (1) the State Department of Health
has prepared “printed materials which describe the un-
born child” and that “list agencies that offer alternatives
to abortion” which the physician will provide to her “free
of charge”: (2) that “medical assistance benefits” may be
available to her and that the state’s materials contain
additional information on such benefits: and (3) that the
“father of the unborn child” is liable for child support.
18 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 3205(a) (2) (i}-(iii); Pet. App.
290a,

As this Court previously held in Thornburgh, “{t}he
printed materials required by § 3205... . fare] nothing
less than an outright attempt to wedge the Common-
wealth’s message diseouraging abortion imto the privacy
of the informed-consent dialogue between the woman and
her physician.” 476 U.S. at 762453. Beeause the Com-
monwealth’s materials “create the impression in women
that the Commonwealth disapproves of the woman’s de-
cision” to seek an abortion, bringing these materials to
the attention of a woman who has al decided with
her physician that it is appropriate to n an abor-

* See, eg., Woolley V. Hendersor, 418 A2d 1123, 1130 (Me.
1980) : Cobbs v. Grent, 502 P.2d 1 (Cal. 1972) (en banc) ; Roberts V.
Wood, 206 F. Supp. 279, 583 (S.D. Ala. 1962).

tion is misleading and can produce needless i
emotional pain. Pet. App. 179a. There Higmney omy
mate medical justification” to recite such information to
each patient, id.; indeed, much of the information relates
to issues about which physicians or other health pro-
fessionals have no special knowledge or expertise. Yet
|floreing the physician or counselor to present ma-
terials and the list {of state agencies] makes him or he~
in effect an agent of the State in treating the woman
and places his ov her imprimatur upon both the ma-
ay and the list.” Thornburgh, 476 U.S. at 762-63.
orced disclosures of Section 3205 thus “serve only to
confuse and punish [a pregnant woman] and to heighten

he : - :
—— contrary to accepted medical practice.” Jd.

3. Section 3205 further intrudes on ici
patient relationship by criminalizing the aes
any abortion until at least 24 hours have elapsed follow-
ing the informed consent discussions between the physi-
cian or counselor and patient. 18 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann.
N 3205 (a) (2); Pet. App. 290a. As the district court found,
— of scheduling problems and the scarcity of abor-
ion clinies, this waiting requirement wil! in fact impose
on the majority of women seeking an abortion in Penn-
sylvania delays of two days to two weeks between the
me's woman consents: to the procedure and the time
er physician is legally entitled to perform it. Pet. App.
172a. This waiting period will! significantly increase the
yn oi and other complications associated with

correlate direct r
= ee. ly with gestational age.

To be sure, where there is some reason i
r . | to think tha
# particular woman needs time to reach a considered jude-

Pte. 3205(a) also requires the physician, to the exclusion of
r qualified counselors, to supply certain information about
health risks. including risks that may be irrelevant to a particular
woman's situation. This Court in Akron held that euch a require-
ment is overbroad, 462 U.S. at 447-49, and the Court should invali

date Section 3205(a) for this reason as well. .

24

amici would agree that additional time for reflec-
rg be appropriate and the individual physician
would so advise the patient.” But sound medical practice
requires the physician to explain to the patient that any
benefit of waiting must be weighed against the demon-
strated increase in the risks to a woman’s health caused
by delay. Because the requirements of Section 3205 serve
no compelling state interest but will cause harm to women,
they are unconstitutional.”

C. Parental Informed Consent.

on 3206 forbids physicians from providing abor-
sante women under the age of 18 unless the physician
first obtains the informed consent not only of the woman
but also of one of her parents. 18 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann.
§ 3206: Pet. App. 292a. The requirement that the parent's
consent be “informed” distinguishes this statute ee
other state statutes restricting the abortion rights o
minors reviewed by this Court. Pet. App. 250a-251a.
Here, even an approving parent must visit the clinic
in person and sit through the mandatory cca nage a
presentation prescribed in Section 3205 before an r-
tion may be performed. . =

Section 3206 is unconstitutional because it ensures

minors will face needless and health-threatening delay
in obtaining an abortion. Those minors whose —
approve will, in many cases, be delayed because ao
difficulties parents face arranging an in-person visit.
App. 249a. These suineve whess pavente <> net approve
must resort to the inherently time-consuming process 0
obtaining permission from a state court. The adverse ef-
fect of this built-in delay is particularly acute for minors,

53 See, e.g., American College of Obstetricians & Gynecologists,
Standards For Obstetric-Gyfecologic Services 68 (7th ed. 1989)
(physician should counsel woman to take time necessary to be
certain her abortion decision is the correct one).

5 Indeed, Section 3205's waiting requirement is identical to tha
sscchieaad ter tite Court in Akron, 462 U.S. at 450-51, and should
be invalidated for this reason alone.

25

who comprise a high percentage of women who obtain an
abortion in the second trimester, where the health risks
of abortion are greatest. See supra pp. 3-4. Because Sec-
tion 3206 will impose delays on virtually all minors, and
not just on those who elect to use the judicial bypass
procedure, it is unconstitutional.

D. Exception For Medical Emergencies.

Section 3203 of the Act provides a definition of the
term “medical emergency” applicable uniquely to abor-
tions. The Act then incorporates this definition as an
exception to the requirements of husband notification, in-
formed consent, and parental informed consent.

As the court below recognized, Roe requires a medical
emergency exception to any statute that regulates abor-
tion in a way that may cause a health-threatening delay
in the performance of an abortion. Pet. App. 36a. On its
face, the Commonwealth’s exception is inadequate. It
makes it a crime for a physician to perform an abortion
sooner than 24 hours after initially evaluating a pa-
tiemt unless the physician, in good faith, believes
that an abortion is necessary “to avert [the patient’s]
death” or that “delay will create serious risk of substan-
tial and irreversible imwairment of major bodily func-
tion.” 18 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 3203: Pet. App. 289a.

The Act’s definition is notably narrow when compared
to Pennsylvania’s genera! definition of medica] emergency
and to sound medical practice.” The Act precludes phy-

% For all procedwres besides abortion, Pennsylvania defines a
medical emergency as “{a! combination of circumstances resulting
in a need for immediate medical intervention.” 25 Pa. Cons. Stat.
Ann. § 6923 (1977 & Supp. 1991). This ix consistent with the
definition generally accepted by the health care community. Sec,
¢.9., 4. Cosgriff & D. Anderson, Th: Practice of Emergeney Care
20 (2d ed. 1984; (“An emergency is an unforeseen combination
of circumstances creating « condition which in the prefessional
judgment of a physician and surgeon of good standing acting under
the same or similar circumstance« requires immediate care, trest-
ment, or surgery in order to protect a person's life or health’).

26

sicians from responding in a medically appropriate man-
ner to women for whom pregnancy poses a health risk
that, while significant, does not amount to a “serious risk
of substantial and irreversible impairment of major bodily
function.” It therefore requires physicians to place the
health of a woman at risk in order to further the state’s
interest in protecting fetal life, a “trade-off” this Court
has repeatedly disapproved. Thornburgh, 476 US. at
768-69; Colautti v. Franklin, 439 U.S. 379, 400 (1979) ;

Roe, 410 U.S. at 163-64.

court of appeals upheld the definition of emergency
ws ieee it liberally to include all circumstances
that “in any way pose a significant threat to the life or
health of a woman.” Pet. App. 40a ‘emphasis added.
But it is impossible to reconcile the court of appeals inter-
pretation with the statute's plain language. Courts, in
attempting to save a statute from constitutional attack,
may not engage in “judicially rewriting it.” Aptheker Vv.
Secretary of State, 378 U.S. 500, 515 (1964).

The court of appeals also suggested that the statute
was constitutional because the Commonwealth conceded
on appeal that three common medical emergencies—in-
evitable abortions, premature rupture of the membranes,
and preeclampsia—that do not appear to meet the stat-
ute’s requirements for an emergency would in fact be con-
sidered by the Commonwealth as emergencies. Pet. App.
37a. This concession cannot save the statute.” First, the
district court found as a matter of fact that no reasonable
physician reading the plain language of the statute would
believe that these medical conditions would be covered.

% This concession——and this interpretation of the statutory lan-
guage—is no more than a “convenient litigating position which is
entitled to no deference. Bowen Vv. Georgetown Univ. Hosp., ont
US. 204, 212-13 (1988). The Commonwealth's position in this cave
is not binding on the Pennsylvania courts which are free to, and
likely will, interpret the statute in exactly the way it is pene
ie., to criminalize the medically appropriate treatment of severa
of the most common complications of pregnancy.

27

Pet. App. 162a-163a. Second, the three examples were
only illustrative of a broader category of conditions that
most physicians would conclude do not meet the plain
language of the statute. For example, Section 3203 may
prevent physicians from appropriately treating various
cardiovascular, renal, pulmonary or neurologic disorders
that are exacerbated by pregnancy, see supra p. 3 n.17,
but that do not necessarily present an immediate and seri-
ous risk of irreversible impairment. These points are dis-
positive, because a criminal statute that is asserted to
mean what no reasonable person subject to the statute
would interpret it to mean is unconstitutionally vague.
Colautti, 439 U.S, at 390-97; Kolender vy. Lawson, 461
U.S. 352, 357 (1983).

Finally, the court of appeals erred in holding that the
statute was constitutional because a physician can be
criminally liable only if he or she “violate[s] his or her
own good faith clinical judgment.” Pet. App. 42a. The
court’s reliance on the subjective standard built into the
statute simply misses the critical point that the grounds
available to the physician for invoking his or her judg-
ment are unduly narrow. Thus, a physician may, in good
faith, believe that delay wi'l cause significant risk to the
patient, but not a risk of irreversible impairment to a
major bodily function. The statute places that physician
in an intolerable dilemma: The physician cannot, in good
faith, authorize the performance of an abortion under the
law, yet the physician cannot, in good conscience, and con-
sistent with the ethical standards of the medical profes-
sion, foree the woman to wait out the many delays im-

posed by the statute.
E. Reporting And Public Disclosure Requirements.

Physicians, nurses, and counselors who provide abortion
services, and women who seek their services, regularly
face picketing and verbal harassment both at their offices
and their homes, harassment of their families, and peri-
odie threats of death, bombing, and kidnapping. Pet. App.
21la-213a, 267a. The effect of such constant harassment

YS

has been to reduce the number of health care providers
willing to assist women in obtaining abortions, and to
force others to take steps to preserve their anonymity.
Id. at 219a-221la. By requiring public disclosure of the
names and addresses of abortion facilities and affiliated
organizations and of the number of abortions performed
‘total and by trimester’ each quarter, and by requiring
confidential reports of the names of referring physicians,
Sections 3207(bi, 3214'(f), and 3214(a' (1) will facili-
tate and exacerbate this harassment, and make it diffi-
cult, if not impossible, for “indigent . . . victims of rape
or incest or who suffer from a life-threatening condition

. to obtain abortion services.” Pet. App. 213a-214a,
220a-2la: see id. at 298a, 302a-304a.

In reversing, the court of appeals simply disagreed
with the district court’s factual findings. Pet. App. 79a,
S2a-83a. The district court’s findings are not clearly er-
roneous, however, and the court of appeals plainly erred
in substituting its own assessment of the record for that
of the district court.” Moreover, quite apart from Roe,
where, as here, it is plain that state-mandated disclosure
requirements can only exacerbate private threats, harass-
ment and reprisals, those disclosure requirements cannot
stand. F.a.. Brown Vv. Socialist Workers ’74 Campaiqn
Comm.,, 459 U.S. 87, 92-94 (1982): NAACP vy. Alabama
ex rel, Patterson, 357 U.S. 449, 462-63 (1958).

F. Criminal Penalties.

The Due Process Clause limits the degree to which
states may criminally punish health care providers for as-
sisting individuals in matters of personal choice. See gen-
erally Doe v. Bolton, 410 U.S. 179, 199-200 (1972); Carey
V. Population Servs, Int'l, 431 U.S. 678, 686-91 (1977);
Kisenstadt Vv. Baird, 405 U.S. 438 (1972). The imposition
of criminal penalties upon physicians who perform abor-
tions in cireumstances where continued pregnancy poses a
significant risk to a woman’s health (but not a defined

57 See Pullman-Standard v. Swint, 456 U.S. 273, 287 (1982); Fed.
R. Civ. P. 52a).

29

“emergency”) is unconstitutional. Uncertainty is an in-
escapable element of medicine. Parham v. J.R., 442 U.S.
584, 604 (1979); Addington v. Texas, 441 U.S. 418, 429
(1979). When physicians are uncertain about the degree
of risk that delay may present to a patient, they should
choose to err on the side of protecting the health of the
patient. Yet, Pennsylvania would make it a crime to do so.
Such a law serves no legitimate purpose. The criminal law
exists to protect the public safety, health, and welfare;
where, as here, its only effect is to subvert public health,
the Fourteenth Amendment precludes its enforcement.

* * * +

Each of the Pennsylvania Abortion Contro| Act’s chal-
lenged provisions, considered individually, unconstitution-
ally burdens the right of pregnant women to choose
whether or not to terminate their pregnancies. Viewed
as a whole, however, a clearer picture emerges. This is
not a statute designed to protect maternal health. Nor is
it a statute intended, through good faith efforts at educa-
tion and social change, to minimize the need for abortion
by getting at the root causes of unwanted pregnancy.
Rather, it is a statute that seeks to discourage, deter, and
defeat women in their attempts to obtain abortions by
replacing the provider-patient relationship and medical
judgment with a procedural obstacle course fraught with
criminal and civil penalties.

The most bitter irony for those among amici’s members
who practiced medicine or nursing prior to 1973 is that
restrictive abortion laws in the end will do little to re-
duce the number of abortions. Rather, they will shift
many abortions out of the sterile confines of licensed
clinics and into the back rooms of those who are willing,
for a price and without regard for patient health, to defy
State law. Thus, the health care provider’s role in refer-
ring or performing an abortion will be replaced by their
role in repairing and treating the consequences of illegal
abortions. This Court rightly concluded in 1973 that the
Fourteenth Amendment protects women from state laws

_—

30
that compel recourse to such desperate anc destructive
measures, and it should reaffirm that conclusion.

CONCLUSION

The judgement challenged in No. 91-744 should be re-
versed and the judgment challenged in No, 91-902 should
be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

ANN E. ALLEN CARTER G. PHILLIPS *
AMERICAN COLLEGE OF MARK E. HADDAD «
OBSTETRICIANS AND PAUL E. KALB
GYNECOLOGISTS SIDLEY & AUSTIN
409 12th Street, S.W. 1722 Eye Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C, 20024 Washington, D.C. 20006
(202) 638-5577 (202) 736-8000
Counsel for Amici Curiae
March 6, 1992 * Counsel of Record

31

LAURIE R. ROCKETT
HOLLYER, JONES, BRADY, SMITH,
TOXELL, BARRETT & CHIRA
(Counsel to the American
Medical Women’s Association, Inc.)
342 Madison Avenue
New York, N.Y. 10173
(212) 818-1110

JOEL I. KLEIN
KLEIN, FARR, SMITH & TARANTO
(Counsel to the American
Psychiatric Association)
2550 M Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20037
(202) 775-0184

NADINE TAUB
Women’s Rights Litigation Clinic
(Counsel to the American
Public Health Association)
Rutgers Law School
Newark, N.J. 07102
(201) 648-5637

BETH FOUNTAIN
ASHER & ASSOCIATES
(Counsel to the Association of
Reproductive Health Professionals)
1819 H Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006
(202) 452-1540

SARAH C. CAREY
STEPTOE & JOHNSON
(Counsel to the National
Medical Association)
1330 Connecticut Ave., N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
(202) 429-3000

la
APPENDIX

AMICI CURIAE

Amicus American College of Obstetricians and Gyne-
cologists (ACOG) is a private, voluntary, non-profit or-
ganization of physicians who specialize in obstetric and
gynecologic care. ACOG is the leading group of profes-
sionals providing health care to women: its 25,000 mem-
bers represent approximately ninety percent of all obste-
tricians and gynecologists practicing in the United States.

Amicus American Medical Women’s Association, Inc.
(AMWA) is a non-profit organization of 12,000 women
physicians and medical students. One of AMWA’s pri-
mary missions is to promote quality health care for
women. AMWA strongly opposes laws which adversely
affect the health of women, or impose constraints on the
right of the pregnant patient, in consultation with her
physician, to make a personal and medically informed de-
cision whether or not to continue a pregnancy.

Amicus American Psychiatric Association (APA) is
the nation’s largest professional association specializing in
psychiatry, with a membership exceeding 30,000 physi-
cians. APA’s purposes include promoting the welfare of
patients who require psychiatric services.

Amicus the American Public Health Association
(APHA) is a national organization devoted to the promo-
tion and protection of personal and environmental health
and to disease prevention. Founded in 1872, APHA is
the largest public health organization in the world with
over 50,000 members. It represents all disciplines and
specialties in public health, including patients and health
professionals such as physicians, nurses, health educators
and family planning specialists.

Amicus Association of Reproductive Health Profes-
sionals ‘ARHP) is an interdisciplinary professional or-

2a

ganization comprised of over 1,500 obstetricians gynecol-
ogists and other physicians, researchers, educators, ad-
ministrators, and other professionals in reproductive
health, ARHP’s mission is to educate health care pro-
fessionals and the public on family planning, contracep-
tion and other reproductive health issues including sexu-
ally transmitted diseases and urogenital infections, HIV,
abortion, Menopause, cancer prevention detection, sexual
health, and infertility.

Amicus National League for Nursing is an organiza-
tion of 12,000 individuals and 2,000 agencies. It represents
nurses from all settings of education and practice, as well
as other health professionals and health policy makers.
The league is the accrediting body for all levels of nursing
schools. It works to promote access to affordable, high
quality health care.

Amicus National Medical Association (NMA), founded
in 1805, is a professional organization representing 16,000
Black physicians and medical students in the United
states. The NMA actively addresses all issues affecting
the ability of its members to deliver quality health care.
It has aggressively sought to ensure equal access and
availability to health care services.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0220%3A17. Public record. Not legal advice.
