# Amicus Curiae Brief — Casey v. Planned Parenthood of Southeastern Pennsylvania (Nos. 91-902, 91-744)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0220%3A12

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1991

## Text

a

<_ 7] ‘Supreme Court, U.S

. e a
Nos. 91-744 and 91-902

FILED

In The

MAR G 1992

Supreme Court of the United |Sfifeg’ “"*

October Term, 1991
e

PLANNED PARENTHOOD OF SOUTHEASTERN

PENNSYLVANIA, et al.,

Petitioners,

V.

ROBERT P. CASEY, et al.,

Respondents.

¢
ROBERT P. CASEY, et al.,

Petitioners,

V.

PLANNED PARENTHOOD OF SOUTHEASTERN

PENNSYLVANIA, et al.,

Respondents.

«

On Writ Of Certiorari To The United States
Court Of Appeals For The Third Circuit

e

BRIEF OF 250 AMERICAN HISTORIANS

AS AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF
PLANNED PARENTHOOD OF
SOUTHEASTERN PENNSYLVANIA

¢

JANE E. Larson Syivia A. Law*

Northwestern University New York University
School of Law School of Law

357 East Chicago Avenue 40 Washington Sq. So.

Chicago, IL 60611 New York, NY 10012

(312) 503-0321 (212) 998-6265

CLyDE SPILLENGER

University of Wisconsin
Law School

975 Bascom Mall

Madison, WI 53706

(608) 263-2545

*Counsel of Record

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
prs Be yy sy). iii
SU I Es 6 vc bv cccccucccccccucsvceueses l
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ....................... 1
RE ee eee eT er Tree Tee Pere 2

I. OUR TRADITIONS AND HISTORY HELP
DEFINE THE CONTOURS OF FUNDAMENTAL
CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHTS, INCLUDING THE
SE WU WOON vo wecc cs cccceuccscecececs 2

Il. AT THE TIME THE FEDERAL CONSTITUTION
WAS ADOPTED, ABORTION WAS KNOWN AND
eT I web SeNauu beCesecneseésceseesees 5

Ill. THROUGH THE NINETEENTH CENTURY,
ABORTION BECAME EVEN MORE WIDELY
ACCEPTED AND HIGHLY VISIBLE........... 8

IV. NINETEENTH-CENTURY ABORTION RESTRIC-
TIONS SOUGHT TO PROMOTE OBJECTIVES
THAT ARE TODAY EITHER PLAINLY INAPPLI-
CABLE OR CONSTITUTIONALLY IMPERMISSI-
A WeSS a GnechwcePdeCURSvaceccaesvesecedevess 11

A. From 1820-1860, Abortion Regulation In The
States Rejected Broader English Restrictions
And Sought To Protect Women From Partic-
ularly Dangerous Forms of Abortion ........ 1]

B. A Central Purpose Of Abortion Regulation In
The Nineteenth Century Was To Define Who

Picea Gee celia y keh enka whe oe ee < 13

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page Page
C. Enforcement Of Sharply Differentiated Con- | Cases:
cepts Of The Roles And Choices Of Men And 274. 66 Am. Dec. 77 (1856) ..... 5
Women Underlay Regulation Of Abortion And | Abrams v. Feshee, 3 lows : , , ,
Contraception In The Nineteenth Century .... 15 Barnes v. Allen, 1 Keyes 390 (N.Y. 1864)............. 18
Bradwell v. Illinois, 83 U.S. (16 Wall.) 130 (1873)..... 17
D. Nineteenth-Century Contraception And Abor- jgiteas bean (
tion Regulation Also Reflected Ethnocentric Commonwealth v. Follansbee, 155 Mass. 274, 29 N.E.
Fears About The Relative Birthrates Of Immi- cic sc ccc decescccccescres: 5
grants And White Protestants ............... 20

' Commonwealth v. Parker, 50 Mass. (9 Met.) 263, 43

EEE ESOP CT CTEeET ET TET Se 5
V. ENFORCEMENT OF ABORTION RESTRICTIONS
IN THE FIRST HALF OF THE TWENTIETH CEN- Cooper v. State, 22 N.J.L. (2 Zab.) 52 (1849).......... 27
TURY FOLLOWED ENTRENCHED ETHNIC AND
CLASS DIFFERENTIATIONS, AFFIRMED TRADI- Eisenstadt v. Baird, 405 U.S. 438 (1972).............. 29
TIONAL CONCERNS ABOUT ENFORCING GEN- 17
DER ROLES, AND IMPOSED ENORMOUS COSTS Frontiero V. Richardson, 411 U.S. 677 (1973) ro eee a ee
UPON WOMEN ...... 0... cece eee cece eee e eens 22 Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479 (1965)........4, 29
| . 2 ee so 5
VI. EMPHASIS ON THE FETUS BECAME CEN- Hayiels v. Geno, 13 lows 177 (1865)
TRAL TO CULTURAL AND LEGAL DEBATE Martin v. Struthers, 319 U.S. 141 (1943)............... 2
OVER ABORTION ONLY IN THE LATE TWEN-
TIETH CENTURY, WHEN TRADITIONAL JUS- McCollum v. Board of Education, 333 U.S. 203 (1948)..... 2
TIFICATIONS FOR RESTRICTING ACCESS TO ; .
ABORTION BECAME CULTURALLY ANACH- McRae vy. Califano, 491 F. Supp. 630 (E.D.N.Y. 1980)... . 25
cng OR CONSTITUTIONALLY IMPER- %6 Mississippi University for Women v. Hogan, 458 U.S.
Te ee Nn. occ ccceeccccccs OD
VII. A PRESUMED INTEREST IN PROTECTING Moore v. East Cleveland, 431 U.S. 494 (1977).......... 2
FETAL LIFE DOES NOT JUSTIFY DENYING Munn v. Illinois, 94 U.S. 113 (1877)..............000-- ?
WOMEN THEIR HISTORIC LIBERTY TO
CHOOSE ABORTION.................ccccceee 28 Olmstead v. U.S., 277 U.S. 438 (1928)................. 4
Orr v. Orr, 440 U.S. 268 (1979)................... oan
es bn 30

People v. Stanko, 402 Ill. 558 (1949) ................. 23

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
People v. Stanko, 407 Ill. 624 (1951) ................. 23
Planned Parenthood of Southeastern Pennsylvania v.

Casey, 947 F.2d 683 (3d Cir. 1991)................. 29
Planned Parenthood of Southeastern Pennsylvania v.

Casey, 744 F. Supp. 1323 (E.D. Pa. 1990)........... 30
Plessy v. Ferguson, 163 U.S. 537 (1896) ............... 2
Poe v. Ullman, 367 U.S. 497 (1961) ................... 4
£m OMe OU passim
Scott v. Sandford, 19 How. 1 (1857) ...............4..- Z
Stantan v. Seanten, 423 U.S. 7 CISTS)...cccccccccccecs 29
Thornburgh v. American College of Obstetricians and

Gynecologists, 476 U.S. 747 (1986).................. 3
United Automobile Workers v. Johnson Controls, 111

I 17
United States v. Foote, 25 Fed. Cas. 1140 (S.D.N_Y.

RE Da EER PTA ee Pees. CUS RAP age Pore 20
Webster v. Reproductive Health Services, 492 U.S.

Dr. sto 6bo odecsseubadele baat ekeceech es mes 29
CONSTITUTION, STATUTES, AND REGULATIONS:

Comstock Act, Ch. 258, § 1, 17 Stat. 598 (1873),

currently codified at 18 U.S.C. § 1461 (1988)....... 19
oo Gf ©, © SE F 8.2) | eee 12
Pa. Ge. Dee, SO BO, FSS COPED cc cccccccscccecss 19

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
The Public Statute Laws of the State of Connecticut
REE Tl em Nh ai en Fa 12
N.Y. Rev. Stat., pt. IV, ch. I, tit. VI, § 21 (1828 to
SE a EI rg eR OPP Es LEER ve es a EI Og eae Ren WP gee 12
MISCELLANEOUS:

M. Abramowitz, Regulating the Lives of Women:
Social Welfare Policy from Colonial Times to the
tN i eGwas eucuesa ee 17

AMA Editorial, Abortion or Removal of Pregnant
Uterus, 96 J. Am. Med. Ass'n 1169, April 14, 1931... . 24

P. Aries, Centuries of Childhood: A Social History of
Family Life (R. Baldick trans. 1962)................. 7

Atlee & O'Donnell, Report of the Committee on
Criminal Abortion, XXII Transactions of the Amer-
ican Medical Association 241 (1871)................ 16

R. Baxandall, L. Gordon & S. Reverby, eds., Amer-
ica’s Working Women: A Documentary History -

ue edebeeceecesces 25
1 W. Blackstone, Commentaries *442 ................. 17
J. Brodie, Family Limitation in American Culture,

Ph.D. Dissertation, University of Chicago, 1982....... 6
Chicago Tribune, Nov. 21, 1912, p. 1 ................. 21
Chused, Married Women’s Property Law: 1800-1850,

ee ls ee ED oe cbecesRicvececesee ics 17
N. Culpeper, The English Physician (1799) ............. 6

Cott, Eighteenth-Century Family and Social Life
Revealed in Massachusetts Divorce Records, 10 J.
ee epuseneeééececeus 7

D. Davis, From Homicide to Slavery: Studies in
cea bae seuss exer 20

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES —- Continued

Page
Dayton, Taking the Trade: Abortion and Gender Rela-
tions in an Eighteenth-Century New England Vil-
lage, 48 Wm. & Mary Q. 19 (1991)................. 6
J. D’Emilio & E. Freedman, /ntimate Matters: A His-
tory of Sexuality in America (1988).................. 7

C. Degler, At Odds: Women and the Family in Amer-
ica from the Revolution to the Present (1980)
ich ccc aeceanebarwaabtie websted benncece 8, 9, 10, 13, 21

Demos, “Images of The American Family, Then and
Now,” in Changing Images of the Family (V. Tufte
% & ER REE ee nee 9

Diary of Martha Moore Ballard, Maine State Manu-
Se I, ES Be WU vaiceccdncdceccvcvcsces: 6

Dubois, Outgrowing the Compact of the Fathers:
Equal Rights, Woman Suffrage, and the United
States Constitution, 1820-1878, 74 J. Am. Hist. 836
PL deans esens debe eechdesceeccuéneecsaesnecs 16

Dudziak, Just Say No: Birth Control in the Connecti-
cut Supreme Court Before Griswold v. Connecticut,
ecu ccacneséscawes 25

B. Ehrenreich & D. English, For Her Own Good: 150
Years of the Experts’ Advice to Women (1979)....... 14

Faragher, History from the Inside-Out: Writing the
History of Women in Rural America, 33 Am. Q. 536
Dkben tn eWentke hee she baccesds can bnecsiedee once ws)
D. Flaherty, Privacy in Colonial New England (1972)..... 7

E. Flexner, Century of Struggle: The Woman's Right's
Movement in the United States (rev. ed. 1975)

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
E. Foner, Free Soil, Free Labor, Free Men: The Ideol-
ogy of the Republican Party Before the Civil War
DCA tcheteeleahs cecudhedenddseudwndéeneseeesss 20
G. Frederickson, The Inner Civil War: Northern Intel-
lectuals and the Crisis of the Union (1965).......... 20
G. Geison, ed., Professions and Professional Ideo-
ey te I I oda cc reccccvescedscacesces 14

L. Gordon, Woman's Body, Woman's Right: Birth Con-
trol in America (rev.ed. 1990) ....10, 11, 18, 19, 20, 21

Gordon, “Why Nineteenth Century Feminists Did Not
Support ‘Birth Control’ and Twenticth Century
Feminists Do,” in Rethinking the Family: Femi-
nism, Reproduction, and the Family (B. Thorne &

SEE whucebeocesecdececcteesensases 19

M. Gordon, The American Family: Past, Present and
ee ce ere cada de dekh shen ected enn ts 400s 8

M. Grossberg, Governing the Hearth: Law and Fam-
ily in Ninetcenth-Century America (1985)
ET eres Pree 7, 12, 19, 20, 27, 28

Haggard, Abortion: Accidental, Essential, Criminal,
Address Before the Nashville Academy of Medicine,
Gs Wy NG a0 bo bideSKd Kec cedn ce Westadecececcceus 8

N. Hawthorne, The Scarlet Letter (1850) ............... 7

J. Higham, Strangers in the Land: Patterns of Ameri-
can Nativism, 1860-1925 (1963) ...............5055. 20

Hoff-Wilson, “The Illusion of Change: Women and
the American Revolution,” in The American
Revolution: Explorations in the History of
American Radicalism (A. Young ed. 1976)............ 8

viii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
R. Hofstadter, Social Darwinism in American Thought
Pas haGNGAEGESH EA SOE NEUES USER eNO US Hed ce nes 20
D. Kennedy, Birth Control in America: The Career of
eo on 6 cee ne nad eebccvccscenves 21
D. Kevles, Jn the Name of Eugenics: Genetics and the
Uses of Human Heredity (1985) ...............6045. 21
L. Koehler, A Search for Power: The “Weaker Sex” in
Seventeenth-Century New England (1980)............. 6
i i cekeeedecueecetees 25
P. Laslett, The World We Have Lost (1972)............. 7
LaSorte, Nineteenth Century Family Planning Prac-
tices, 14 J. of Psychohistory 163 (1976)............. 10
J. Leavitt, Brought to Bed: Child-Bearing in America,
lf a ee 14
Leavitt, The Growth of Medical Authority: Technol-
ogy and Morals in Turn-of-the-Century Obstetrics,
1 Med. Anthropology Q. 230 (1987) ................ 28
S. Lipset & E. Raab, The Politics of Unreason: Right-
Wing Extremism in America, 1790-1970 (1970)....... 20
K. Luker, Abortion and the Politics of Motherhood
Sessa ds hnddduconséwsenneseeseraeeeetess 22, 24, 25
A. McLaren, Reproductive Rituals: The Perception of
Fertility in England from the Sixteenth Century to
the Nineteenth Century (1984)..........0..00.000600045. 6

ix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
Means, The Phoenix of Abortional Freedom, \7 N-Y.
Se EC occdeeensdaeh duu s8hGs ce badevaceced 6, 12
J. Mohr, Abortion in America: The Origins and Evo-
lution of National Policy, 1800-1900 (1978)..... passim
ee I I, MO Os oo 0 bc se etacecceecsuess 10
M. Norton, Liberty's Daughters: The Revolutionary
Experience of American Women, 1750-1800 (1980) ..... s
Note, To Have and To Hold: The Marital Rape
Exemption and the Fourteenth Amendment, 99
ee, EE on cv GkceeeNenewstececens 17
R. Petchesky, Abortion and Woman's Choice: The
State, Sexuality & Reproductive Freedom (rev. ed.
PL AAd aca bUh beech det ckhsesesskiebcces 9, 11, 27
E. Pleck, Domestic Tyranny: The Making of Social
Policy Against Family Violence from Colonial
Times to the Present (1987) ..........0.00 0c cece ees 17
W. Prosser, Law of Torts (3d ed. 1971)................ 18
Quay, Justifiable Abortion — Medical and Legal Foun-
dations, 49 Geo. L. Rev. 173 (1960-61)............. 12
Reagan, “About to Meet Her Maker”: Women, Doc-
tors, Dying Declarations, and the State's Investiga-
tion of Abortion, Chicago, 1867-1940, 77 J. Am.
ee als ocean adebeutaeeenes 22

L. Reagan, When Abortion Was a Crime: The Legal
and Medical Regulation of Abortion, Chicago,
1880-1973, Ph.D. Dissertation, University of Wis-
consin-Madison, 1991
PES | Ep Per TR rere”, Sane Sp meme 22, 23, 24

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued
Page

J. Reed, From Private Vice to Public Virtue: The Birth

Control Movement and American Society Since
Cs acd sede aeenenheedebinetseuneesé< 21

Rodrique, “The Black Community and the Birth Con-
trol Movement,” in Passion and Power: Sexuality
and History (K. Peiss & C. Simmons eds. 1989)...... 9

W. Rothstein, American Physicians in the Nine-
teenth Century: From Sects to Science (1972)........ 14

M. Ryan, Cradle of the Middle Class: The Family in
Oneida County, New York, 1790-1865 (1981) ........ 16

M. Ryan, ed., Womanhood in America: From Colonial
Pe GP Ge I PT Bo ceca eeeccenesesesess 25

Siegel, Reasoning from the Body: A Historical Per-
spective on Abortion Regulation and Questions of
Equal Protection, 44 Stan. L. Rev. 261 (forthcom-
Pe nea ek ee nkinesseseehheaeenedensye¥sen s 13, 19

Smith, “Family Limitation, Sexual Control, and
Domestic Feminism in Victorian America,” in A

Heritage of Her Own (N. Cott. & E. Pleck eds.
hah ns Shs 0504s kSs See RRR OEE a bE she wen Se eeeees )

Smith & Hindus, Premarital Pregnancy in America,
1640-1971: An Overview and Interpretation, 5 J.
Interdisciplinary Hist. $37 (1975).................4.. 8

C. Smith-Rosenberg, Disorderly Conduct: Visions of
Gender in Victorian America (1985)............. passim

J. Spruill, Women’s Life and Work in the Southern
Comes Corres GU. GU. FOGG cc ccccccesccccccsccs 6

xi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page
P. Starr, The Social Transformation of American Med-
icine: The Rise of a Sovereign Profession and the
Making of a Vast Industry (1982)..............0005. 14
Stix, A Study of Pregnancy Wastage, 13 Milbank
Memorial Fund Q. 347 (1935)........... 0c eee e eens 22
Stix & Wiehl, Abortion and Public Health, 28 Am. J.
a ee 22

H. Storer, Why Not? A Book for Every Woman (1866) .... 21

F. Taussig, Abortion, Spontaneous and Induced: Med-

leal end Social Aspects (1GSE) ..... cc ccccccccvecnes 22

R. Thompson, Sex in Middlesex: Popular Mores in a
Massachusetts County, 1649-1699 (1986) .............

L. Ulrich, A Midwife’s Tale: The Life of Martha Bal-
lard, Based on Her Diary, 1785-1812 (1990) .........

Weisbrod, Birth Control and the Black American: A

Matter of Genocide?, 10 Demography 571 (1973).... 21

Wells, Family Size and Fertility Control in Eighteenth
Century America: A Study of Quaker Families, 25
as oc adc ek sere snceeesed ene

R. Wertz & D. Wertz, Lying-in: A History of Child-
ee ec aeeeeoncesees

A. Wilder, History of Medicine (1901).............455.

BRIEF OF 250 AMERICAN HISTORIANS
AS AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF
PLANNED PARENTHOOD OF
SOUTHEASTERN PENNSYLVANIA

INTEREST OF AMICI

Amici are 250 professional American historians who, with the
permission of the parties, here seek to provide the Court a rich and
accurate description of our national history and tradition in relation
to women’s liberty to choose whether to terminate a pregnancy.
Amici represent a diverse array of historical specialties and
approaches. They are united, however, in their conviction that this
Court's decision in Roe v. Wade is supported by American history
and the lessons that history imparts.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

This Court has long consulted our nation’s history and tradi-
tions to determine the contours of fundamental constitutional
rights. This brief will demonstrate that for much of our nation’s
history, abortion was tolerated and not illegal; that for much of the
nineteenth century, abortion remained legal prior to quickening;
and that when states did enact laws regulating abortion, these
Statutes did not punish women. A variety of complex factors, and
not simply moral or theological impulses, underlay the nineteenth-
century laws restricting abortion: concem for women’s health, the
medical profession’s desire to control the practice of medicine,
openly discriminatory ideas of the appropriate role for women,
Opposition to non-procreative sexual activity and to the dissemina-
tion of information concerning birth control, and even concem for
racial and ethnic purity. This brief discusses the prevalence and
visibility of abortion as a common social practice in the nineteenth
century. Above all, this historical account refutes the erroncous
assumption that abortion restrictions enjoyed broad social support
in past eras.

Moreover, this nation’s history confirms that abortion
restrictions have imposed profound burdens on the liberty and
equality of women. The Court should therefore reaffirm its
commitment to providing strong constitutional protection to

2

women’s fundamental liberty interest in reproductive choice
and control of their own bodies.

ARGUMENT

I. OUR TRADITIONS AND HISTORY HELP DEFINE
THE CONTOURS OF FUNDAMENTAL CONSTITU-
TIONAL RIGHTS, INCLUDING THE RIGHT TO
PRIVACY.

Since the beginning of the Republic, no Justice of the
Supreme Court has seriously disputed that the meaning of our
Constitution is to be determined by interpreting its words in
light of our nation’s history and traditions. “{A]n approach
grounded in history imposes limits on the judiciary that are
more meaningful than any based on [an] abstract formula.”
Moore v. East Cleveland, 431 U.S. 494, 503 (1977). Even
when this Court has not specifically identified “history” as a
source of authority, it has frequently taken “judicial notice” of
this country’s history and traditions in resolving difficult
constitutional issues.! Because an understanding of our
nation’s history rightly influences this Court's fundamental
constitutional understandings, it is essential to capture that
history deeply and accurately. It is no accident that Scott v.
Sandford, 19 How. 1, 19-20 (1857), and Plessy v. Ferguson,
163 U.S. 537, 544, 550-51 (1896) — two of this Court’s mosi
discredited decisions — rested largely on disputed and insup-
portable readings of history.

' See, e.g., Munn v. Illinois, 94 U.S. 113, 125 (1877) (“{I)t has been
customary in England from time immemorial, and in this country from its
first colonization, to regulate ferries, common carriers, hackmen, bakers,
millers, wharfingers, innkeepers, &c., and in so doing to fix a maximum of
charge to be made for services rendered, accommodations furnished, and
articles sold”); Martin v. Struthers, 319 U.S. 141, 145 (1943) (door-to-door
distribution of literature protected by First Amendment ‘ecause “in accor
dance with the best tradition of free discussion”); McCollum v. Board of
Education, 333 U.S. 203, 213 (1948) (Frankfurter, J., concurring) (“released-
lume” provision unconstitutional in light of the “relevant history of religious
education in America” and “the place of ‘released-time’ in that history”).

3

The relevance of history to this Court's task often goes

‘beyond exploration of “framers’ intent”; not every facet of

the Constitution’s meaning can be determined by reference to
its words or to the apparent intent of its drafters. Justice
White has said:

{[Tjhis Court does not subscribe to the simplistic
view that constitutional interpretation can possibly
be limited to the “plain meaning” of the Constitu-
tion’s text or to the subjective intention of the
Framers. The Constitution is not a deed setting forth
the precise metes and bounds of its subject matter;
rather it is a document announcing fundamental
principles in value-laden terms that leave ample
scope for the exercise of normative judgment by
those charged with interpreting and applying it.

Thornburgh v. American College of Obstetricians and Gyne-
cologists, 476 U.S. 747, 789 (1986) (White, J., dissenting).
But if history cannot always pinpoint the views of the
framers, the historical perspective can suggest fundamental
principles by which to measure the scope of valued constitu-
tional rights. In particular, history and tradition help give
content to the open-textured provisions of our Constitution:
the prohibition in the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments of
State action that deprives citizens of life, liberty or property
without due process of law; the Fourteenth Amendment's
guarantee of equal treatment under the law; and the Ninth
Amendment’s command that the “enumeration in the Consti-
tution, of certain rights, shall not be construed to deny or
disparage others retained by the people.”

In 1961, Justice Harlan wrote of the importance of his-
tory and tradition in explicating the scope of the due process
clause respecting bodily privacy:

Due process has not been reduced to any formula;
its content cannot be determined by reference to any
code. The best that can be said is that through the
course of this Court’s decisions it has represented
the balance which our Nation, built upon postulates
of respect for the individual, has struck between

4

that liberty and the demands of organized soci-

ety... . The balance of which I speak is the balance

struck by this country, having regard to what history

teaches are the traditions from which it developed

as well as the traditions from which it broke. That

tradition is a living thing.
Poe v. Ullman, 367 U.S. 497, 542 (1961) (Harlan, J., dissent-
ing). See also Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479, 501
(1965) (Harlan, J., concurring). Justice Harlan’s words
express the Constitution's general protection of the right to
privacy, see Griswold, 381 U.S. at 483-86, and Olmstead v.
United States, 277 U.S. 438, 474-75 (1928) (Brandeis, J.,
dissenting), and explain the role of history in illuminating
how the autonomy to make fundamental personal decisions is
basic to individual liberty. These words are especially rele-
vant to this case. The history of abortion in this country
illustrates that this Court was correct in Roe v. Wade in
holding that the right to choose an abortion is fundamental to
women's liberty.

This Court’s decision in Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113
(1973), accurately recounted the history of-abortion in the
United States and at British common law. Since 1973 and
Roe, ongoing historical research and scholarship have
expanded and deepened historians’ understanding of abortion
in America. In addition to the important legal-historical
sources relied on in Roe (past statutes, legislative debates,
and the decisions of common-law courts), historians in recent
decades have begun to document people's actual beliefs and
practices throughout history, offering an even deeper and
richer understanding of baseline American values and tradi-
tions. As scholars familiar with these varied methods of
historical inquiry, amici believe the Court must consult evi-
dence of daily life as well as official and governmental action
to uncover the beliefs and practices of the broad range of
American society. It is this inclusive perspective on the past
that should inform the Court's investigation of our nation’s
history and traditions. Such an inquiry does not mean that
what has prevailed in the past must govern the present, for

5

that would deny any role for human progress. Rather, consid-
eration of past practices and beliefs offers real lessons about
the centrality of those practices and the meaning of attempts
to regulate them.

Il. AT THE TIME THE FEDERAL CONSTITUTION
WAS ADOPTED, ABORTION WAS KNOWN AND
NOT ILLEGAL.

As this Court demonstrated in Roe v. Wade, abortion was
not illegal at common law.? Through the nineteenth century,
American common law decisions uniformly reaffirmed that
women committed no offense in seeking abortions.’ Both
common law and popular American understanding drew dis-
tinctions depending upon whether the fetus was “quick,” /.e.
whether the woman perceived signs of independent life.*
There was some dispute whether a common law misdemeanor
occurred when a third party destroyed a fetus, after quicken-
ing, without the woman's consent. But carly common law
recognition of this crime against a pregnant woman did not

2 Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113, 132-36 & n.21 (1973). See also J. Mohr,
Abortion in America: The Origins and Evolution of National Policy 3-\9
(1978).

3 For example, in 1845, Chief Judge Shaw of Massachusetts held that
abortion, with the woman's consent, was not punishable at common law
unless the fetus was quick. Commonwealth v. Parker, SO Mass. (9 Met.) 263,
43 Am. Dec. 396 (1845). In 1892, the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court
held that, despite statutory enactments regulating abortion, the woman having
an abortion was not a principal or an accomplice. Commonwealth v. Fol:
lansbee, 155 Mass. 274, 29 N.E. 471 (1892). In Abrams v. Foshee, 3 lowa
274, 278, 66 Am. Dec. 77, 80 (1856), the lowa Supreme Court held that
abortion prior to quickening was no crime. Hatfield v. Gano, 15 lowa 177
(1863), held that lowa's statutory enactment did not apply to abortion
produced by a woman herself. See C. Smith-Rosenberg, Disorderly Conduct
219-20 (1985).

4 See Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. at 134-36; J. Mohr, supra note 2, at 24-26.
In the ordinary language of the eighteenth century and much of the nineteenth
century, the term “abortion” meant the termination of pregnancy after the
point of quickening. /d. at 3-5.

6

diminish the woman's liberty to end a pregnancy herself in its
early stages.>

Abortion was not a pressing social issue in colonial
America, but as a social practice, it was far from unknown.®
Herbal abortifacients were widely known,’ and cookbooks
and women’s diaries of the era contained recipes for such
medicines.* Recent studies of the work of midwives in the
1700s report cases in which the midwives appeared to have
provided women abortifacient compounds. Such treatments
do not appear to have been regarded as extraordinary or illicit
by those administering them.?

5 See Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. at 134-36; J. Mohr, supra note 2, at 24-26.
Means, The Phoenix of Abortional Freedom, 17 N.Y.L. Forum 335, 336-53
(1971) demonstrates that commentators who assert that a misdemeanor could
be charged against a third party who destroyed a fetus by assaulting a woman
late in pregnancy misread the common law precedents upon which they
purport to rely. Even in cases involving brutal beatings of women in the late
stages of pregnancy, common-law courts refused to recognize abortion as a
crime, independent of assault upon the woman. See A. McLaren, Reproduc-
tive Rituals 119-121 (1984).

© Observers in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries made repeated
references to employment of herbal abortifacients by both single and married
women, either self-administered or procured by husbands, male partners or
family members. Specific instances are documented in R. Thompson, Sex in
Middlesex: Popular Mores in a Massachusetts County, 1649-1699 11, 25-26,
42, 47, 51, 78, 107-08, 182-83 (1986); J. Spruill, Women's Life and Work in
the Southern Colonies 325-326 (1972, orig. pub. 1938); L. Koehler, A Search
for Power: The “Weaker Sex” in Seventeenth-Century New England 204-205
(1980). See also Dayton, Taking the Trade: Abortion and Gender Relations in
an Eighteenth-Century New England Village, 48 Wm. & Mary Q. 19 (1991)
(reporting instance of abortion by use of instrument). Compare A. McLaren,
supra note S, at 114 and generally at 113-44, reporting widespread evidence
of abortifacient use in England during the same era.

7 The classic work was N. Culpeper, The English Physician (1799). See
J. Brodie, Family Limitation in American Culture, Ph.D. Dissertation, Univer-
sity of Chicago, 1982, at 224-30.

® C. Smith-Rosenberg, supra note 3, at 228.

% One midwife reported, “She is suffering from obstructions and |
prescribed the use of particular herbs.” Diary of Martha Moore Ballard, Sept.
(Continued on following page)

7

The absence of legal condemnation of abortion in colonial
America is all the more significant because both families and
society valued children and population growth in a rural economy,
with vast unsettled lands, where diseases of infancy claimed many
lives. For these reasons, single women more often sought abortions
in the Colonial era than did married women.'° The absence of legal
condemnation is particularly striking in the New England culture of
tightly-knit, religiously homogeneous communities in which neigh-
bor observed the private behavior of neighbor and did not hesitate
to chastise those who violated pervasive moral norms of the
community.'! Further, in an era filled with extensive oral and
written moral prescripts from community and religious leaders, it is
notable that birth control and abortion were rarely the subject for
moralizing. Where abortion is noted, it is not the practice itself that
is subject of comment, but rather the violation of other social/
sexual norms that led to the pregnancy.'?

(Continued from previous page)
27, 1789, Maine State Manuscript Library. For a discussion of the possibility
that this may refer to an administered abortifacient, see L. Ulrich, A Midwife's
Tale: The Life of Martha Ballard, Based on Her Diary, 1785-1812 56 (1990).

10 M. Grossberg, Governing the Hearth \59 (1985). Accord J. D’Emilio
& E. Freedman, /ntimate Matiers 26 (1988) (“Cases of attempted abortion
usually involved illicit lovers, not married couples”).

'! Adultery, incest, insubordination by children, and even “living alone
not subject to the governance of family life,” were condemned by the colonial
America criminal law — but abortion was not. See Cou, Eighteenth-Century
Family and Social Life Revealed in Massachusetts Divorce Records, \0 J. of
Soc. Hist. 20, 22-24, 33 (1976); P. Lasleu, The World We Have Lost 37-38
(1973), D. Flaherty, Privacy in Colonial New England 42-43, 76 (1972), P.
Aries, Centuries of Childhood 405-07 (R. Baldick trans. 1962). For a more
popular, fictional treatment, see N. Hawthorne, The Scarlet Letter (1850).

12 J. D’Emilio & E. Freedman, supra note 10, at 12, report the
following case from the 1600s: “Captain William Mitchell, an influential
Marylander who served on the governor's council, not only impregnated Mrs.
Susan Warren and gave her a ‘physic’ to abort the child, but he also ‘lived ‘n
fornication’ with his pretended wife, Joan Toaste. Even so, the first charge
filed against Mitchell by the Maryland attorney was that he professed himself
to be an Atheist and openly mocked al! Religion.”

In the late eighteenth century, strictures on sexual behav-
ior loosened considerably. The incidence of premarital preg-
nancy rose sharply; by the late eighteenth century, one third
of all New England brides were pregnant when they married,
compared to less than ten percent in the seventeenth cen-
tury.'? Falling birth rates in the 1780s suggest that, at the time
of the drafting of the Constitution, the use of birth control and
abortion was increasing.'*

Ill. THROUGH THE NINETEENTH CENTURY,
ABORTION BECAME EVEN MORE WIDELY
- ACCEPTED AND HIGHLY VISIBLE.

Through the nineteenth century and well into the twen-
tieth, abortion remained a widely accepted practice, despite
growing efforts after 1860 to prohibit it.'* Changing patterns
of abortion practice and attitudes towards it can only be
understood against the background of dramatic change in
American economic and family life during this period.

During the period between ratification of the Constitution
and adoption of the Civil War Amendments, Americans

'3 M. Gordon, The American Family 173 (1978). For comprehensive
discussions see Smith & Hindus, Premarital Pregnancy in America,
1640-1971, 5 J. Interdisciplinary Hist. 537, 553-57 (1975); Hoff-Wilson, “The
Iilusion of Change: Women and the American Revolution,” in The American
Revolution 404 (A. Young ed. 1976).

'4 Wells, Family Size and Fertility Control in Eighteenth Century
America: A Study of Quaker Families, 2S Population Stud. 73 (1971); M.
Norton, Liberty's Daughters: The Revolutionary Experience of American
Women, 1750-1800 232 (1980).

1S C. Degler, At Odds 243-46 (1980). Several studies by physicians in
various parts of the U.S. suggest that in the mid-nineteenth century one
abortion was performed for every four live births. See J. Mohr, supra note 2,
at 76-80. Reports from the late 1870s estimated even greater numbers. /d. at
81-82. The Michigan Board of Health estimated in 1898 that one-third of all
pregnancies in that state ended in abortion. Haggard, Abortion: Accidental,
Essential, Criminal, Address Before the Nashville Academy of Medicine, Aug.
4, 1898, at 10, discussed in C. Smith-Rosenberg, supra note 3, at 221.

9

moved to cities and increasingly worked for wages. '© In 1787,
the average white American woman bore seven children; by
the late 1870s, the average was down to fewer than five; by
1900 it was 3.56.'7 Carl Degler calls this decline in fertility
“the single most important fact about women and the family
in American history.”'*

Urban couples limited family size for economic reasons:
working-class married women, faced with the material diffi-
culty of managing a family budget on a single male wage,
resorted to abortion as the most effective available means of
“conscious fertility control.”'? Other economic factors were
at work in restricting fertility.2° Middle-class Americans were
influenced by changing definitions of the family and of moth-
erhood. As men’s work patterns deviated further from those
of women, “wife” and “home” became powerful symbols of
men’s economic security and social standing.2! Even as
women were regarded as agents of reproduction, the expecta-
tion that they turn outward into the larger society served as an
incentive to limit the number of children they bore. Nine-
teenth-century women thus faced sharply conflicting

'© See C. Degler, supra note 15.

17 Smith, “Family Limitation, Sexual Control, and Domestic Feminism
in Victorian America,” in A Heritage of Her Own 226 (N. Cott & E. Pleck
eds. 1979). For discussion of continual decline in family size in the eighteenth
and nineteenth centuries, see R. Petchesky, Abortion and Woman's Choice
73-78 (rev. ed. 1990).

18 C. Degler, supra note 15, at 191.

19 See R. Petchesky, supra note 17, at 53; Rodrique, “The Black
Community and the Birth Control Movement,” in Passion and Power 141-42
(K. Peiss & C. Simmons eds. 1989).

20 The size of rural families also declined sharply during the nineteenth
century. Faragher, History From the Inside-Out: Writing the History of Women
in Rural America, 33 Am. Q. 536, 549 (1981); R. Petchesky, supra note 17, at
74. James Mohr observes that by the 1860s abortion “seemed to thrive as well
on the prairies as in large urban centers.” J. Mohr, supra note 2, at 100.

2! Demos, “Images of The American Family, Then and Now,” in
Changing Images of the Family 51, 52 (V. Tufte and B. Myerhoff eds. 1979).

10

demands: “The True Woman was domestic, docile, and repro-
ductive. The good bourgeois wife was to limit her fertility,
symbolize her husband's affluence, and do good within the
world.”22

To limit the number of children they bore, women of all
classes adopted a range of strategies, including abortion.
Through the 1870s abortion was “common,” a “matter of fact”
and often “safe and successful.”2? The most common methods
of abortion in the nineteenth century involved self-adminis-
tered herbs and devices available from pharmacists.24 None-
theless, women also relied on professional abortionists: in
1871, New York City, with a population of less than one
million, supported two hundred full-time abortionists, not
including doctors who also sometimes performed abortions.?°

For most of the nineteenth century, abortion was a visible
as well as common practice. “Beginning in the early 1840s
abortion became, for all intents and purposes, a business, a
service openly traded in the free market. . . . [Pervasive
advertising told Americans] not only that many practitioners
would provide abortion services, but that some practitioners
had made the abortion business their chief livelihood. Indeed,
abortions became one of the first specialties in American
medical history.”26

22 C. Smith-Rosenberg, supra note 3, at 225.

23 L. Gordon, Woman's Body, Woman's Right 51-52 (rev. ed. 1990).

24 See LaSorte, Nineteenth Century Family Planning Practices, 4\ J. of
Psychohistory 163, 166-70 (1976).

25 New York Times, Aug. 23, 1871, at 6.

26 J. Mohr, supra note 2, at 47. In the 1860s and 1870s both the popular

press and medical journals were full of advice about abortion services. /d. at
67-68. See also C. Degler, supra note 15, at 230.

IV. NINETEENTH-CENTURY ABORTION RESTRIC-
TIONS SOUGHT TO PROMOTE OBJECTIVES
THAT ARE TODAY EITHER PLAINLY INAPPLI-
CABLE OR CONSTITUTIONALLY IMPERMISSI-
BLE.

Nineteenth-century allopathic physicians enlisted state
power to limit access to abortion for reasons that are, in
retrospect, parochial, and have long since been rejected by
organized medicine. Indeed, between 1850 and 1880, the
newly formed American Medical Association, through some
of its active members, became the “single most important
factor in altering the legal policies toward abortion in this
country.”’27

The doctors found an audience for their effort to restrict
abortion because they appealed to specific social concerns
and anxieties: maternal health, consumer protection, discrimi-
natory ideas about the properly subordinate status of women,
and racist/nativist fears generated by the fact that clite Protcs-
tant women often sought abortions. Some of those doctors
also sought to attribute moral status to the fetus.

A. From 1820-1860, Abortion Regulation In The
States Rejected Broader English Restrictions And
Sought To Protect Women From Particularly
Dangerous Forms Of Abortion.

In 1803, English law made all forms of abortion crimi-
nal.2* Despite this model, for two decades, no American state
restricted access to abortion. In 1821, when one state, Con-
necticut, acted, it prohibited only the administration of a
“deadly poison, or other noxious and destructive substance”

27 J. Mohr, supra note 2, at 157. See also R. Petchesky, supra note 17,
at 79; L. Gordon, supra note 23, at 59.

28 The law was passed as part of a comprehensive revision of the
criminal code, urged by Lord Ellenborough, broadening the sweep of the

criminal law and increasing penalties. J. Mohr, supra note 2, at 23, Roe v
Wade, 410 U.S. at 136-38.

12

as a means of bringing about an abortion.2? Moreover, the act
applied only after quickening, and punished only the person
who administered the poison, not the woman who consumed
it. In the late 1820s, three other states followed the Connecti-
cut model, prohibiting the use of dangerous poisons after
quickening.*° Most American states did not see abortion as a
problem demanding legislative attention.

In 1830, Connecticut became the first state to punish
abortion after quickening.*! In the same year, New York, also
animated by a concern for patient safety, considered a law to
prohibit any surgery, unless two physicians approved it as
essential. Before scientific understanding of germ theory and
antisepsis, any surgical intervention was likely to be fatal.
The New York act finally adopted applied only to surgical
abortion and included the first “therapeutic” exception,
approving abortion where two physicians agreed that it was
“necessary.”3? As the Court recognized in Roe v. Wade, until
the twentieth century, abortion, particularly when done
through surgical intervention, remained significantly more
dangerous to the woman than childbirth.23 Because these
early abortion laws were drafted and justified to protect
women, they did not punish women as parties to an abor-
tion.44

29 The Public Statute Laws of the State of Connecticut 152-53 (1821).
See J. Mohr. supra note 2, at 22. See also Quay, Justifiable Abortion -
Medical and Legal Foundations, 49 Geo. L. J. 395 (1960-61).

3° Missouri adopted such a statute in 1825, Illinois in 1827, and New
York in 1828. See J. Mohr, supra note 2, at 25-27.

3! Conn. Stat. Tit. 22, § 14 at 152 (1821), reported by Quay, supra note
29, at 453.

32 See N.Y. Rev. Stat., pt. IV, Ch. I, tit. VI, § 21, at 578 (1828-1835),
reported by Quay, supra note 29, at 499.

33 See Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. at 148-50; Means, supra note 5, at
353-54, 358-59, 382-96.

34 Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. at 151-52; M. Grossberg, supra note 10, at
163-64.

13

None of these early laws, restricting forms of abortion
thought to be particularly unsafe, were enforced.*> That
absence itself speaks powerfully, particularly because abor-
tion was a prevalent practice in this era. Despite legislative
action and medical opposition, the common and openly toler-
ated practice suggests that many Americans did not perceive
abortion as morally wrong.*©

B. A Central Purpose Of Abortion Regulation In
The Nineteenth Century Was To Define Who
Should Be Allowed To Control Medical Practice.

Physicians were the principal nineteenth-century propo-
nents of laws to restrict abortion. A core purpose of the
nineteenth-century laws, and of doctors in supporting them,
was to control medical practice in the interest of public
safety.” This is not to deny that some doctors had moral
objections to abortion, although their arguments tended to be
framed “from the perspective of medical science.”** But the
most significant explanation for the drive by medical doctors
to enact statutes regulating abortion is the fact that these
doctors were undergoing the historical process of profession-
alization — the effort to attain control over a specialized body
of knowledge.

Medicine was not then the organized, highly regulated
profession we know today. It was an occupation in which

35 J. Mohr, supra note 2, at 39, citing A. Wilder, History of Medicine
499-511 (1901).

36 C. Degler, supra note 15, cites physicians who observe that women
who are “otherwise quite intelligent and refined, with a keen sense of their
moral and religious obligations to themselves and to others, deem it nothing
amiss to destroy the embryo during the first few months of its growth.” /d. at
233-34.

37 J. Mohr, supra noite 2, at 43.

38 Siegel, Reasoning from the Body: A Historical Perspective on Abor-
tion Regulation and Questions of Equal Protection, 44 Stan. L. Rev. 261, 287
(forthcoming 1992).

14

conventional and scientifically authoritative modes of prac-
tice (allopathic medicine) still contended for stature and
authority with other modes, such as botanic medicine, homeo-
pathy, herbalists, midwives and abortionists. Allopathic phy-
sicians sought to establish and consolidate professional
sovereignty.*? It was only by mid-century, with the founding
of the American Medical Association, that professional sover-
eignty was tentatively established for “scientific” medicine.*°

The nineteenth century movement to regulate abortions
was one chapter in a campaign by doctors that reflected a
professional conflict between “regulars” (those who ulti-
mately became the practitioners and proponents of scientific
medicine) and “irregulars.”*! As James Mohr explains:

If a regular doctor refused to perform an abortion he
knew the woman could go to one of several types of
irregulars and probably receive one. . . . As more
and more irregulars began to advertise abortion
services openly, especially after 1840, regular phy-
sicians grew more and more nervous about losing
their practices to healers who would provide a ser-
vice that more and more American women after
1840 began to want. Yet, if a regular gave in to the
temptation to perform an occasional discreet abor-
tion, and physicians testified repeatedly that this
frequently happened among the regulars, he would

39 See P. Starr, The Social Transformation of American Medicine
(1982).

40 See id.; W. Rothstein, American Physicians in the Nineteenth Century
(1972). On professionalization, see, for example, G. Geison, ed., Professions
and Professional Ideologies in America (1983).

4! Another illustrative chapter is the “medicalization” of childbirth,
transforming what had been an affair of family, friends, and midwives into a
procedure associated with doctors, hospitals, and sophisticated medical inter-
ventions. See J. Leavitt, Brought to Bed: Child-Bearing in America,
1750-1950 (1986), R. Wertz & D. Wertz, Lying-In: A History of Childbirth in
America (1977); B. Ehrenreich & D. English, For Her Own Good: 150 Years
of the Experts’ Advice to Women (1979), C. Smith-Rosenberg, supra note 3,
at 231.

15

be compromising his own commitment to an Ameri-
can medical practice that would conform to Hippo-
cratic standards of behavior. The best way out of
these dilemmas was to persuade state legislators to
make abortion a criminal offense. Anti-abortion
laws would weaken the appeal of the competition
and take the pressure off the more marginal mem-
bers of the regulars’ own sect.*

To be sure, some “regulars” were morally troubled by
abortion, and not all “irregulars” performed them. But issues
of medical authority and professional sovereignty explain
why “regular” physicians became interested in abortion pol-
icy from an early date and “repeatedly dragged it into their
prolonged struggle to control the practice of medicine in the
United States.”*?

C. Enforcement Of Sharply Differentiated Concepts
Of The Roles And Choices Of Men And Women
Underlay Regulation Of Abortion And Contrac-
eption In The Nineteenth Century.

The American Medical Association’s campaign in the
nineteenth century to restrict access to abortion succeeded for
many reasons. Concerns over the dangers of surgical abortion
to women were well founded. In addition, physicians per-
suaded political leaders (who were, of course, uniformly
male) that “abortion constituted a threat to social order and to
male authority.”** Since the 1840s, a growing movement for

women’s suffrage and equality had generated popular fears

42 J. Mohr, supra note 2, at 37 (citation omitted, emphasis added).
43 Jd.

44 C. Smith-Rosenberg, supra note 3, at 235.

16

that women were departing from a purely maternal role* —
fears fueled by the decline in family size during the nine-
teenth century. A central rhetorical focus of the woman’s
movement was framed by a new perception of women as the
rightful possessors of their own bodies.*

In 1871, the American Medical Association’s Committee
on Criminal Abortion described the woman who sought an
abortion:

She becomes unmindful of the course marked out

for her by Providence, she overlooks the duties

imposed on her by the marriage contract. She yields

to the pleasures — but shrinks from the pains and

responsibilities of maternity; and, destitute of all

delicacy and refinements, resigns herself, body and
soul, into the hands of unscrupulous and wicked
men. Let not the husband of such a wife flatter
himself that he possesses her affection. Nor can she

in turn ever merit even the respect of a virtuous

husband. She sinks into old age like a withered tree,

stripped of its foliage; with the stain of blood upon

her soul, she dies without the hand of affection to

smooth her pillow.*’

45 From the 1840s on, the moral fervor of the abolitionist cause drew
Northern women more deeply into public life than ever before in the nation’s
history. Some of the women who were active in the anti-slavery movement
perceived parallels between the subjugation and disenfranchisement of black
people and the oppression of women. See E. Flexner, Century of Struggle ch.
13 (rev. ed. 1975).

46 M. Ryan, Cradle of the Middle Class 155-57 (1983); Dubois, Out-
growing the Compact of the Fathers: Equal Rights, Woman Suffrage, and the
United States Constitution, 1820-1878, 74 J. Am. Hist. 836 (1987).

47 Atlee & O'Donnell, Report of the Committee on Criminal Abortion,
22 Transactions of the American Medical Association 241 (1871), quoted in
C. Smith-Rosenberg, supra note 3, at 236-37. Smith-Rosenberg observes that,
although middle-class husbands were undoubtedly active participants in their
wives’ decisions about abortion, the nineteenth-century AMA “‘linked doctor
and husband as the equally wronged and innocent parties. The aborting wife,
im contrast, was unnaturally selfish and ruthless.” /d. at 236.

17

The nineteenth-century American Medical Association’s
view of women is strikingly similar to that adopted by Justice
Bradley in 1873, when women were denied the right to
practice law because “divine ordinance,” and “the nature of
things,” prescribed a “family institution [that] is repugnant to
the idea of a woman adopting a distinct and independent
career from that of her husband.’’** This Court has now come
to see this view as part of our “long and unfortunate history of
sex discrimination,” and as constitutionally illegitimate.*?

This vision of woman-as-reproductive-vessel was
expressed in a range of legal restrictrons that enforced a
married woman’s dependence on her husband. Under the
common law, indeed well into this century, a married
woman’s body and reproductive capacity were subjected to
her husband’s control.*° Common law provided the husband a
remedy for interference with his right to sole possession of
his wife’s body and services. The early writ of “ravishment”
listed the wife with the husband’s chattels. Until recent years,
the action for criminal conversation allowed the husband to
maintain an action for trespass, not only when his wife was
raped, but even when the wife had consented to extramarital
sexual relations, “since it was considered that she was not
more capable of giving a consent which would prejudice the

48 Bradwell v. Illinois, 83 U.S. (16 Wall.) 130, 141 (1873) (Bradley, J.,
concurring).

49 Frontiero v. Richardson, 411 U.S. 677, 684 (1973). In United Auto-
mobile Workers v. Johnson Controls, 111 S.Ct. 1196 (1991), this Court struck
down a sex-specific fetal-protection policy, noting that “[cjoncern for a
woman's existing or potential offspring historically has been the excuse for
denying women equal economic opportunities.” /d. at 1210.

5° For the classic statement of the theory of “coverture” followed in the
United States, see 1 W. Blackstone, Commentaries *442. On the legal
disabilities associated with coverture, see M. Abramowitz, Regulating the
Lives of Women 54 (1988); Chused, Married Women's Property Law:
1800-1850, 71 Geo. L. J. 1359, 1366 (1983); E. Pleck, Domestic Tyranny 88
(1987); Note, To Have and To Hold: The Marital Rape Exemption and the
Fourteenth Amendment, 99 Harv. L. Rev. 1255, 1256 (1986).

18

husband's interests than was his horse."5' At common law a
husband could sue a third party for rendering aid to his wife
without his permission — a privilege that strikingly resembles
the cause of action conferred upon unconsulted husbands
against doctors by the Pennsylvania law at issue in this case.

By the middle of the nineteenth century, such privileges
were widely regarded as corrupt and illegitimate impositions
of domestic slavery — and not just by women’s rights activists.
In 1864, for example, the New York Court of Appeals over-
turned a common law rule allowing a husband to sue for
“enticement” any person who helped his wife to leave him,
Stating: “[A married woman may] invoke and receive aid,
shelter and protection from others, even strangers, against the
oppression and cruelty of her husband,” even if the wife was
acting directly contrary to her husband's wishes. “[A
Stranger] may in such a case treat the wife as a person, an
individual entitled to credit, and invested with the rights and
claims of, and upon, our common humanity.’’52

Against what they saw as an inequitable vision of gender
relations, the women’s movement of the nineteenth century
affirmed that women — even married women — should have
basic rights of self-governance, including the right to decide
whether to bear a child. Early feminists sought to enhance
women’s control of reproduction through a campaign for
“voluntary motherhood,” ideally to be achieved through peri-
odic abstinence from sexual relations.5? They attempted, with

5! W. Prosser, Law of Torts 877 (3d ed. 1971).

52 Barnes v. Allen, 1 Keyes 390, 392 (N.Y. 1864) (neighbor who
provided wagon ride to wife from her husband's house to her father's house
not liable to husband).

53 See L. Gordon, supra note 23, at 93-113. During this period, much
scientific and folk wisdom held a flatly inaccurate view of the cycle of female
fertility, which made periodic abstinence an unreliable form of contraception.
Id. at 99. This inaccurate belief, when viewed in light of hard data on
declining birthrates, see text at notes 17-19 supra, underscore how common
abortion must have been.

19

limited success, to analogize women's control over reproduc-
tion to the structure of rights that had overturned chattel
slavery. Indeed, it was precisely women’s outrage at their
sexual subordination that led some feminists to oppose abor-
tion — not on moral grounds, but as an object example of
women's victimization at the hands of men.** The recently
adopted Reconstruction Amendments were a central text in
the opposition of women’s rights advocates to the social and
legal covenants binding women to the marital relation.

Opposition to abortion and contraception were closely
linked,5> and can only be understood as a reaction to the
uncertainties generated by changes in family function and
anxieties created by women's challenges to their historic roles
of silence and subservience. These challenges were critical
factors motivating the all-male state legislatures that adopted
restraints on women, including restrictions on abortion.°° In
opposition to the feminist demand for control of reproduction,
the federal government in 1873 took the lead in banning
access to information about both contraception and abortion.
The Comstock law’’ restricted not only medical information
on abortion and contraception, such as a medical text on

54 L. Gordon, supra note 23, at 108; Siegel, supra note 38, at 304-308;
Gordon, “Why Nineteenth Century Feminists Did Not Support ‘Birth Control’
and Twentieth Century Feminists Do,” in Rethinking the Family 40, 43 (B.
Thorne & M. Yalom eds. 1982).

55 “Anthony Comstock had labeled as abortionists everyone who advo-
cated or dealt in family-limitation materials and services.” M. Grossberg,
supra note 10, at 193.

56 C. Smith-Rosenberg, supra note 3, at 218.

57 The act prohibits mailing, transporting or importing “obscene, lewd
or lascivious” items, specifically including all devices and information per-
taining to “preventing conception and producing abortion.” See Comstock
Act, Ch. 258, § 1, 17 Stat. 598 (1873). It was not until 1971 that an
amendment was passed deleting the prohibition as to contraception. Pub. L.
91-662, 84 Stat. 1973 (1971). The ban as to information about abortion
remains. See 18 U.S.C. § 1461 (1988).

20

physiology written by an eminent Harvard scientist, but also
literary depictions, such as Leo Tolstoy's disapproving tale of
infidelity, The Kreutzer Sonata, and moral literature, includ-
ing a pamphlet urging total sexual chastity.>*

D. Nineteenth-Century Contraception And Abortion
Regulation Also Reflected Ethnocentric Fears
About The Relative Birthrates Of Immigrants
And White Protestants.

Nativism, notably anti-Catholicism, had been part of
American politics and culture as early as the Jacksonian
period. The Civil War and Reconstruction Era dramatically
raised social fears about national identity and citizenship.
Social conservatives in the 1850s articulated an “organicist”
ideal in which social unity should predominate over diversity.
By the 1870s social thought was turning the insights of
Charles Darwin toward racist ends. The political ideology of
“free labor,” forged in the nascent Republican Party in the
years preceding the Civil War,5® was severely challenged by
an influx of foreign labor in the latter part of the nineteenth
century. The discriminatory immigration policies and nativ-
ist fears of the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries
fanned movements against women’s reproductive freedom.

Beginning in the 1890s, and continuing through the first
decades of the twentieth century, these nativist fears
coalesced into a drive against what was then called “race

58 See M. Grossberg, supra note 10, at 190; United States v. Foote, 25
Fed. Cas. 1140, 1141 (S.D.N.Y. 1876) (rejecting claim that physicians should
have right to distribute information concerning contraceptives), L. Gordon,
supra note 23, at 164-66.

5? E. Foner, Free Soil, Free Labor, Free Men (1970).

6° D. Davis, From Homicide to Slavery 137-54 (1986). See also S.
Lipset & E. Raab, The Politics of Unreason (1970), G. Frederickson, The
Inner Civil War (1965), R. Hofstadter, Social Darwinism in American
Thought (1955), J. Higham, Strangers in the Land (1963).

21

suicide.”®' The “race suicide” alarmists worried that women
of “good stock” — prosperous, white, and Protestant — were
not having enough children to maintain the political and
social supremacy of their group.®? Anxicty over the falling
birth rates of Protestant whites in comparison with other
groups helped shape policy governing both birth control and
abortion.®? As James Mohr points out, “The doctors both used
and were influenced by blatant nativism . . . There can be
litthe doubt that Protestants’ fears about not keeping up with
the reproductive rates of Catholic immigrants played a greater
role in the drive for anti-abortion laws in nineteenth-century
America than Catholic opposition to abortion did.”

©! See L. Gordon, supra note 23, at 133-55. On November 20, 1912,
390 federal postal inspectors arrested 173 people for using the mails to
disseminate information about abortion and contraception in violation of the
Comstock Act. The campaign was called the “federal war on race suicide.”
“Take Chicagoans in Federal War on Race Suicide,” Chicago Tribune, Nov.
21, 1912, p. 1.

62 See C. Degler, supra note 15, at 229-30, on the concern of physicians
that women of “good stock” were particularly likely to obtain abortions. In
Buffalo in 1855, the fertility ratio of Irish women of ages 20-34 was over
twice that of native white women, id. at 134, raising concerns about dis-
parities in relative population growth. See also Weisbrod, Birth Control and
the Black American: A Matter of Genocide’, \0 Demography 571 (1973).

63 J. Reed, From Private Vice to Public Virtue (1978), D. Kevies, In the
Name of Eugenics (1985), D. Kennedy, Birth Control in America (1971).

©4 See J. Mohr, supra note 2, at 167. Horatio Robinson Storer, who
spearheaded the American Medical Association's mid-nineteenth century anti-
abortion campaign, frequently referred to racial themes. /d. at 180-90; H.
Storer, Why Not? A Book for Every Woman 85 (1866) (“{S}hall the great
territories of the Far West be filled by our children or by those of aliens?”).
Car! Degler also documents that physicians of the 1850s and | 860s expressed
particular concern that abortion was increasingly sought by marned women of
“high repute.” C. Degler, supra note 15, at 229.

22

V. ENFORCEMENT OF ABORTION RESTRICTIONS
IN THE FIRST HALF OF THE TWENTIETH CEN-
TURY FOLLOWED ENTRENCHED ETHNIC AND
CLASS DIFFERENTIATIONS, AFFIRMED TRADI-
TIONAL CONCERNS ABOUT ENFORCING GEN-
DER ROLES, AND IMPOSED ENORMOUS COSTS
UPON WOMEN.

The statutory restrictions on abortion remained virtually
unchanged from the early twentieth century until the 1960s.
Physicians were allowed to perform abortions only “to pre-
serve the mother's life.” Nonetheless, the incidence of abor-
tion remained high, ranging from one pregnancy in seven at

the turn of the century, to one in three in 1936. Most-

abortions were performed illegally. Legal restrictions did
not stop abortion, but made it humiliating and dangerous.

The dangers of illegal abortion were exacerbated by law
enforcement abuse. Leslie Reagan's study of the regime of
criminalized abortion in Chicago in the late nineteenth and
early twentieth centuries chronicles the inevitable abuses of
police and prosecutorial power that attended efforts to enforce
restrictive abortion laws. As Reagan notes, “Popular tolerance
of abortion tempered enforcement of the criminal abortion
laws. Prosecutors discovered early the difficulty of winning
convictions in criminal abortion cases. Jurics nullified the law
and regularly acquitted abortionists."©’ Faced with these

®5 See F. Taussig, Abortion, Spontaneous and Induced 338, and Appen
dix A, 453-75 (1936). See also Stix, A Study of Pregnancy Wastage, \%
Milbank Memorial Fund Q. 347 (1935), Stix & Wich!, Abortion and Public
Health, 7% Am. J. Pub. Health 622, Table I (1938).

6 See K. Luker, Abortion and the Politics of Motherhood 38-54 (1984)

67? Reagan, “About to Meet Her Maker” Women, Doctors, Dying
Declarations, and the State's Investigation of Abortion, Chicago, 1867-1940,
77 J. Am. Hist 1240, 1247 (1991). See generally L. Reagan, When Abortion
Was a Crime, Ph.D. dissertation, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 199).

23

obstacles, prosecutors routinely resoried to enforcement tac-
tics that were at best questionable and at worst grotesque:
They extracted “dying declarations” in hospitals from women
dying from poorly administered abortions in order to secure
evidence needed to prosecute abortionists.

This practice not only subjected dying women to crucl
and humiliating interrogations; it also drew rcluctant doctors
into the web of criminal investigation and encouraged doctors
to violate patient confidences in exchange for their own
exculpation. A doctor who tried to save the life of a woman
dying from an abortion could himself be subjected to harass-
ment or even criminal prosecution as an accessory. But if he
managed to secure a “dying declaration” from the woman that
named the abortionist, the doctor might hope to perform his
medical duties without fear of prosecution. Some doctors, of
course, rebelled against a regime that required them to harass
sick and dying women. “The business of the doctor is to
relieve pain, cure disease and save life, not to act as a
bloodhound [for] the state,” one Illinois doctor protested in
1933. But such practices seemed inevitable if the laws
against abortion were to be enforced in a climate of tolerance
for routine violation of those laws.

When advances in medical science in the 1930s and
1940s reduced the number of deaths duc to improperly admin-
istered abortions, Chicago authorities shifted their enforce-
ment strategy from securing “dying declarations” to more
direct but equally coercive means of securing convictions.
The 1947 investigation and prosecution of Chicago midwife
Helen Stanko, for instance, was replete with instances of
forced gynecological examinations and humiliating interroga-
tions of Stanko’s patients.” The aggressive efforts of Chicago
police in the 1940s to enforce crimina! statutes that reached

©® L. Reagan, When Abortion Was A Crime, supra note 67, at 180-8).

©? Id at 277-83. See People v. Stanko, 402 WI). 558% (1949); People v
Stanko, 407 Ill. 624 (1951).

24

into the heart of women’s intimate lives and medical relation-
ships led inexorably to law enforcement practices that in
retrospect seem medieval.

In the first half of the twentieth century, a two-tiered
abortion system emerged in which quality of medical care
depended on the class, race, age and residence of the woman.
Poor and rural women obtained illegal abortions performed by
people (including some physicians) willing to defy the law
out of sympathy for the woman or for the fee. More privileged
women pressed private physicians for legal abortions and
many obtained them. Some doctors could be persuaded that a
delivery would endanger a woman's health. The dilation and
curettage procedure effective for abortion was indicated for
numerous other gynecological health problems, allowing the
word “abortion” to remain unspoken between patient and
doctor — even as the procedure went forward.”°

Shifts in the definition of “therapeutic” abortion
responded to larger social forces.”' Early in the century, “race
suicide” fears fueled efforts to suppress both abortion and
birth control. During the Depression, abortions increased as
the medical profession recognized impoverishment as an indi-
cation for therapeutic abortion.’? In the 1940s and 1950s the
definition of therapeutic abortion expanded to include psychi-
atric indications.’? Physicians were caught in a double bind:
abortion was criminal, but the reasons women sought the

7° See generally K. Luker, supra note 66.
7! L. Reagan, When Abortion Was a Crime, supra note 67, at 284-312.

72 In 1931 an American Medical Association editorial noted that “pov-
erty .. . does not constitute an indication for abortion, [but] there is no doubt
that in the United States many abortions are performed for borderline cases in
which there is a strong ethica! indication plus a more or less minor medical
ailment.” Abortion or Removal of Pregnant Uterus, 95 J. Am. Med. Ass'n
1169 (1931).

73 K. Luker, supra note 66, at 45-47, 54-57.

25

procedure were so multiple and compelling that doctors found
requests for abortion difficult to resist.’*

In the 1950s, more restrictive attitudes toward both legal
and illegal abortions’> were part of a conservative response to
growing female labor-force participation and independence. ’°
The movement to legalize abortion in the 1960s arose in
response to this rather brief wave of anti-abortion enforce-
ment. Physicians, particularly those who worked in public
hospitals and clinics, saw women who needlessly suffered and
died as a consequence of illegal abortions.’’ Others were
disturbed that most of those women were poor and Black.
Many were distressed by the class bias inherent in the psychi-
atric indications for therapeutic abortions.’* In the late 1960s,
concerned physicians were joined by women who had come to
understand that control of reproductive capacity is at the heart
of women’s self-governance and moral personhood.’?

As a number of states acted to legalize abortion in the
late 1960s and early 1970s, there was pressure for recognition
of constitutional protection for the basic right of abortion
choice. Class and regional differentiations were accentuated
as it became possible for women with resources to travel to

74 For example, Luker, id., discusses the early 1960s scare over the
fertility drug Thalidomide, which caused crippling feta) deformities. The
scare underlined the inadequacy of a narrow definition of therapeutic indica-
tions for abortion: American women carrying severely deformed fetuses were
forced either to carry to term or to travel overseas to find abortion access. /d.
at 62-65 (case of Sherri Finkbine).

75 L. Lader, Abortion 42-51 (1966).
7© M. Ryan, ed., Womanhood in America 198-215 (1975), R. Baxandall,
L. Gordon & S. Reverby, eds., America’s Working Women 299-308 (1976).

77 See, e.g., Dudziak, Just Say No: Birth Control in the Connecticut
Supreme Court Before Griswold v. Connecticut, 75 la. L. Rev. 915, 924-927
(1990) (impetus for Connecticut doctors’ campaign in 1940s-1960s to legalize
birth control in the state was threat to life and health of married women from
medically-dangerous pregnancies).

78 See McRae v. Califano, 491 F. Supp. 630, 668-76 (E.D.N.Y. 1980).

79 K. Luker, supra note 66, at 92-125.

26

states where abortion had been made Iegal. In its 1973 deci-
sion in Roe v. Wade, this Court responded to these forces in
holding that constitutional rights of liberty and privacy pro-

tect the right of the woman and her physician to choose
abortion.

Vi. EMPHASIS ON THE FETUS BECAME CENTRAL
TO CULTURAL AND LEGAL DEBATE OVER
ABORTION ONLY IN THE LATE TWENTIETH
CENTURY, WHEN TRADITIONAL JUSTIFICA-
TIONS FOR RESTRICTING ACCESS TO ABOR-
TION BECAME CULTURALLY ANACHRONISTIC
OR CONSTITUTIONALLY IMPERMISSIBLE.

Some of those seeking to enlist the power of the state to
deny women’s liberty to choose abortion have long articulated
a concern for the fetus.®° Yet until the late twentieth century,
this concern was always Subsidiary to more mundane social
visions and anxieties. The mid-nineteenth century physicians’
campaign against abortion was directed at botanic medicine
and homeopathy, as well as at abortion. Similarly, those who
opposed abortion and birth control as a means of preventing
“race suicide” sought to protect the privilege of elite white
Protestants, not to protect the racially mixed universe of
fetuses.

It is significant that there was virtually no religious
support for the nineteenth-century physicians’ campaign to
bar abortion.*! Physicians tried hard to enlist moral authority

8° See J. Mohr, supra note 2, at 165-66.

*! The extensive religious press of the United States, both Catholic and
Protestant, “maintained a total blackout on the issue of abortion from the
beginning of the nineteenth century through the end of the Civil War.” /d. at
183. It was not until 1869 that a papal declaration condemned abortion as a
violation of the fetus prior to “ensoulment,” held to be 40 days gestational age
for a male fetus and 80 days for a female. Before that time, Catholic theology
condemned early abortion on precisely the same terms as ii had condemned
masturbation and contraception, i.e. a distrust of sexuality and of interference

(Continued on following page)

27

and organized religion in their campaign to restrict abortion,
and “were openly disgusted when the established voices of
moral authority refused to speak on their behalf. . . . Medical
journals accused the religious journals of valuing abortifa-
cient advertising revenue too highly to risk criticizing the
practice.’’82

Further, the limited support offered physicians from Prot-
estant religious leaders appeared to reflect “worr[y] about
falling birth-rates among their adherents [more] than . . . the
morality of abortion itself.”*? Compared to extensive reli-
gious involvement in other nineteenth-century movements for
changing social morality, such as temperance, the conspic-
uous absence of religious support for the physicians’ anti-
abortion crusade is particularly striking.*4

Nineteenth-century laws restricting access to abortion did
not define the fetus as a human being, nor did courts treat
fetuses as legal rights-bearers. To the contrary, New Jersey
Chief Justice Green expressed the prevailing judicial opinion
in 1849 when he asserted that although it was “true, for
certain purposes, [that] the law regards an infant as in being
from the time of conception, yet it seems nowhere to regard it
as in life, or to have respect to its preservation as a living
being.”*> Michael Grossberg summarizes the nineteenth-cen-
tury cases, saying, “[A] fetus enjoyed rights only in property

(Continued from previous page)

with natural processes. In Catholic doctrine late abortions were always held to
be a form of homicide. No American diocesan newspaper reported the Pope's
1869 statement. /d. at 187. In that same year, the Bishop of Baltimore issued
the only formal nineteenth-century Catholic condemnation of abortion in
America, id. at 186, and the Old School Presbyterians became the only major
Protestant denomination to condemn abortion. /d. at 192. No other religious
denominations or leaders followed.

82 Jd at 184.

83 Jd. at 195.

84 Jd. at 182-96; R. Petchesky, supra note 17, at 80.

85 Cooper v. State, 22 N.J.L. (2 Zab.) 52, 56-57 (1849) (emphasis in the
original), discussed in M. Grossberg, supra note 10, at 165.

28

law and then only if successfully born. It had no standing in
criminal law until quickening, and none at all in tort. The law
highly prized children, not fetuses.”*© An important illustra-
tion lies in Judith Walzer Leavitt's analysis of turn-of-the-
century medical decisions about the procedure of craniotomy
(a surgical mutilation of the live fetal head to permit vaginal
extraction). Leavitt's research shows that the majority of
physicians, confronted with a woman whose pelvis was too
small to permit delivery, thought craniotomy (which killed the
fully-formed fetus) more appropriate than a Caesarean section
(with its high risk to the woman) — a revealing comment on
the prevailing hierarchy of values.*®’

As this Court observed in Roe v. Wade, the pattern of
American abortion laws does not support the view that such
laws incorporate a view of the fetus as a person. Both the
lesser punishment for abortion than for homicide, and the
various exceptions allowing the physician to determine when
and if abortion is justified, rebut the assumption that laws
against abortion reflect simply a belief in fetal personhood.

VII. A PRESUMED INTEREST IN PROTECTING
FETAL LIFE DOES NOT JUSTIFY DENYING

WOMEN THEIR HISTORIC LIBERTY TO

CHOOSE ABORTION.

~#-eulture can, of course, allow growing humanistic
impulses to attach greater moral value to fetuses or to poten-
tial human life. But this Court should reject state efforts to
invoke the protection of fetal life to justify restrictions upon
women’s access to abortion.

As this brief has demonstrated, the complex historic
grounds originally asserted for restricting access to abortion
are now either socially irrelevant or recognized as constitu-
tionally illegitimate. Both culturally and legally, it is today

86 M. Grossberg, supra note 10, at 165.

87 See Leavitt, The Growth of Medical Authority: Technology and
Morals in Turn-of-the-Century Obstetrics, 1 Med. Anthropology Q. 230,
233-35 (1987):

29

impossible to defend abortion restrictions as a means of
enforcing an absolutist religious belief that intimate relations
must always remain open to the possibility of procreation.**
Similarly, abortion restrictions cannot be justified by the
desire to keep women in traditional roles.*° Likewise, our
social consensus, embodied in principles of legal equality,
would not permit the Court to defend restrictions on abortion
as a means of encouraging the propagation of white Protestant
stock or of diminishing the population ¢* racial or religious
minorities. History should make us skcptical, however, of the
notion that basic conflicts underlying these earlier social
purposes have disappeared as motive forces for the regulation
of abortion, to be entirely displaced by moral concern for the
protection of unborn life. Sufficient refutation of this notion
lies in the “spousal notification” provision of the Pennsylva-
nia law at issue in this case.% In historical terms, the spousal
notification requirement rests upon and reanimates the tradi-
tional notion that married women's bodies, lives and will are
submerged in their husband's.?' That “long and unfortunate
history” of the subordination of women has now been firmly —
and properly — rejected by this Court.%

The extensive factual record developed at trial amply
demonstrates that the restrictions of the Pennsylvania law

88 See Griswold v. Connecticut, supra; Eisenstadt v. Baird, 405 U.S.
438 (1972).

89 Gender-based classifications must be “free of fixed notions concern-
ing the roles and abilities of males and females.” Mississippi University for
Women v. Hogan, 458 U.S. 718, 724-25 (1982). Accord Orr v. Orr, 440 U.S.
268 (1979); Stanton v. Stanton, 42¥ U.S. 7 (1975).

9° The Circuit Court of Appeals, while concluding that this Court's
decision in Webster v. Reproductive Health Services, 492 U.S. 490 (1989),
compelled it to approve most of the restrictions of the Pennsylvania law, held
that the spousal notification requirement constitutes an undue burden on
women's ability to choose abortion, not narrowly tailored to serve a compel-
ling state interest. Planned Parenthood v. Casey, 947 F.2d 683, 711-715
(3d.Cir. 1991).

9! Supra note 50.
-92 Supra note 49.

30

impose heavy burdens and costs on women’s ability to choose
whether to bear a child, and that these burdens fall most
heavily on the most vulnerable women. Planned Parenthood
of Southeastern Pennsylvania v. Casey, 744 F.Supp. 1323,
1329-72 (E.D.Pa. 1990). Similarly, history vividly establishes
that the single most obvious and inevitable result of such
onerous restrictions is their devastating consequences for the
health and autonomy of women.

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals regarding the
spousal notification requirement should be affirmed and the
judgment regarding the other provisions of the Pennsylvania
act should be reversed. The Court should reaffirm that the
Constitution prohibits the state from unduly burdening
women’s powerful liberty and equality interests in controlling
their own bodies and lives.

Respectfully submitted,

Jane E. Larson Syivia A. Law*

Northwestern University New York University
School of Law School of Law

357 East Chicago Ave. 40 Washington Sq. So.

Chicago, IL 60611 New York, NY 10012

(312) 503-0321 (212) 998-6265

Ciype SPrLLENGER
University of Wisconsin
Law School
975 Bascom Mall
Madison, WI 53706
(608) 263-2545
* Counsel of Record

APPENDIX

App. 1

APPENDIX
LIST OF AMICI

(Institutional Affiliation Listed for
Identification Purposes Only)

Elaine S. Abelson, Assistant Professor, The New Schoo! for
Social Research, Eugene Lang College

Garland E. Allen, Professor of Biology, Washington Univer-
sity. Author, “Old Wine in New Bottles: From Eugenics
to Population Control in the Work of Raymond Pearl,” in
The Expansion of American Biology (1991)

Kenneth L. Ames, Chief, History Survey, New York State
Museum

Bonnie S. Anderson, Professor of History, Brooklyn College
and the Graduate Center, City University of New York

Rima D. Apple, Professor of Consumer Science, University of
Wisconsin. Editor, Women, Health and Medicine in
America: A Historical Handbook (1990)

Joyce Appleby, Professor of History, University of California
at Los Angeles. President, Organization of American
Historians

David Arkusch, Professor of History, University of lowa

Stephen Aron, Assistant Professor of History, Princeton Uni-
versity

Barbara J. Ballict, Assistant Professor of Women’s Studies.
Rutgers University

Renato Barahona, Associate Professor of History, University
of Illinois at Chicago

Marjorie A. Beale, Assistant Professor of History, University
of California at Irvine

Rudolph M. Bell, Professor of History, Rutgers University

App. 2

Thomas Bender, Professor of History, New York University.
Author, “The Erosion of Public Culture: Cities, Dis-
courses, and Professional Disciplines,” in The Authority

_ Of Experts: Studies in History and Theory (1984)

Judith M. Bennett, Associate Professor of History, University
of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Carol Berkin, Professor of History, Baruch College and the
Graduate Center, City University of New York. Co-Edi-
tor, Women of America: A History (1980)

Constance Berman, Associate Professor of History, Univer-
sity of lowa

Frederick M. Binder, Professor of History, The College of
Staten Island, City University of New York

Robert G. Bone, Professor of Law, Boston University

Allan M. Brandt, Associate Professor of Social Medicine and
History, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Author, No Magic Bullet: A Social History of Venereal
Disease in the United States Since 1880 (rev. ed. 1987)

Barbara Brenzel, Professor of History, Wellesley College

Marvin A. Breslow, Professor of History, University of Mary-
land

Renate Bridenthal, Professor of History, Brooklyn College

Kathicen M. Brown, Assistant Professor of History. Princeton
University

Mari Jo Buhle, Associate Professor of American Civilization.
Brown University

Vern L. Bullough, Distinguished Professor, State University
of New York at Buffalo. Garrison Lecturer in History of
Medicine

Jon Butler, William Robertson Coe Professor of American
History, Yale University

App. 3

Caroline Bynum, Professor of History, Columbia University

Susan E. Cayleff, Associate Professor of Women’s Studies,
San Diego State University

Herrick Chapman, Assistant Professor of History, Carnegie
Mellon University

Ellen Chesler, New York, N.Y. Author, Women of Vision:
Margaret Sanger and the Birth Control Movement in
America (forthcoming 1992)

Carol Chomsky, Associate Professor of Law, University of
Minnesota

Eric Howard Christianson, Associate Professor of History,
University of Kentucky at Lexington

Paul G. E. Clemens, Professor of History, Rutgers University

John Henry Coatsworth, Professor and Chairperson, Depart-
ment of History, University of Chicago

Sherman Cochran, Professor and Chair, Department of His-
tory, Cornell University

Lizabeth Cohen Assistant Professor of History, Carnegie
Mellon University

Paul A. Cohen, Professor of History, Wellesley College

Susan Guettel Cole, Associate Professor of History, Umiwer-
sity of Illinois at Chicago

James V. Compton, Professor of History, San Francisco State
University

Harold J. Cook, Associate Professor of History of Medicine.
University of Wiisconsin-Madison. Joint Series Editor.
Wellcome Scries in Medical History

Patricia A. Cooper, Professor of History, Drexel University

Sandi E. Cooper, Professwr of History, City University of
New York

App. 4

Nancy F. Cott, Woodward Professor of American Studies and
History, Yale University. Author, The Bonds of Woman-
hood: “Women's Sphere” in New England, 1780-1835
(1977); Co-Editor, A Heritage of Her Own: Toward a
New Social History of American Women (1979)

Eugene L. Cox, Professor of History, Wellesley College

Steve Curry, Assistant Dean and Professor of Humanities,
School of General Studies, New York University

Jere R. Danicll, Professor of History, Dartmouth College

Paul David, William Robertson Coe Professor of American
Economic History, Stanford University. Past President,
Economic History Association

David Firion Davis, Sterling Professor of History, Yale Uni-
versity. Past President, Organization of American Histo-
rials

Marc H. Dawson, Associate Professor of History and Chair,
Department of History and Government, Western New
England College

Philip Dawson, Professor of History, Brooklyn College and
the Graduate Center, City University of New York

Cornelia Hughes Dayton, Assistant Professor of History, Uni-
versity of California at Irvine. Author, Taking the Trade:
Abortion and Gender Relations in an Eighteenth-Century
New England Village, 48 William and Mary Quarterly \9
(1991)

Warren Dean, Professor of History, New York University

Hannah S. Decker, Professor of History, University of
Houston

Jane 5. De Hart, Professor of History, University of Califor-
nia at Santa Barbara. Co-Editor, Women's America:
Reforming the Past (3d ed. 1991)

App. 5

Marion Deshmukh, Professor of History, George Mason Uni-
versity

lleen A. DeVault, Assistant Professor, Cornell University
School Of Industrial and Labor Relations

Jane B. Donegan, Professor of History, Onandaga Community
College. Author, Women and Men Midwives: Medicine,
Morality and Mysogyny in Early America (1987)

Ellen Carol DuBois, Professor of Histony, University of Cali-
fornia at Los Angeles. Co-Editow, Uneqwal Sisters: A
Multicultural Reader in U.S. Women's History (1990)

Arthur P. Dudden, Fairbank Professor in the Humanities and
Professor of History, Bryn Mawr College. Past Executive
Secretary, American Studies Association

Mary L. Dudziak, Professor of Law, University of lowa.
Author, Just Say No: Birth Control in whe Connecticut
Supreme Court Before Griswold v. Connecticut, 75 lowa
Law Review 915 (1990)

Ellen Dwyer, Associate Professor of History, Indiana Unvver-
sity

Arthur M. Eckstein, Associate Professor of History, Umiver-
sity of Maryland

Sarah Elbert, Professor of History, State University of New
York at Binghamton

Sara M. Evans, Professor of History, University of Minnesota.
Author, Born for Liberty: A History of Women in Amer-
ica (1989)

Mary L. Felstiner, Professor of History, San Francisco State
University

Sidney Fine, Professor of History, University of Michigan

Sarah Fishman, Assistant Professor and Assistant Chair,
Department of History, University of Houston

App. 6

Joyce Follet, University of Wisconsin-Madison

William E. Forbath, Professor of Law, University of Califor-
nia, Los Angeles

Miriam Formanek-Brunell, Assistant Professor of History,
Wellesley College

Elizabeth Fox-Genovese, Eleonore Raoul Professor of the
Humanities, Emory University

Thomas R. Frazier, Professor and Chair, Department of His-
tory, Baruch College, City University of New York

Estelle B. Freedman, Professor of History, Stanford Univer-
sity. Co-Author, /ntimate Matters: A History of Sexuality
in America (1988)

Joshua B. Freeman, Associate Professor of History, Columbia
University

Richard M. Fried, Professor of History, University of Illinois
at Chicago

Lawrence M. Friedman, Marion Rice Kirkwood Professor of
Law, Stanford University. Past President, American
Society for Legal History. Author, A History of American
Law (2d ed. 1985)

Ziva Galili, Associate Professor of History, Rutgers Univer-
Sity

Vanessa Northington Gamble, Assistant Professor of History
of Medicine, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Peter Gay, Sterling Professor of History, Yale University

Donald F.M. Gerardi, Associate Professor of History,
Brooklyn College

Pamela Gerardi, Associate Editor, Guide to Historical Litera-
ture, Department of History, University of Maryland

Faye Getz, Honorary Fellow, Department of History of Medi-
cine, University of Wisconsin-Madison

James Gilbert, Professor of History, University of Maryland

App. 7

Janet Golden, Visiting Scholar, Department of the History and
Sociology of Science, University of Pennsylvania. Series
Co-Editor, Women and Health (Ohio State University
Press)

Wendy Z. Goldman, Assistant Professor of History, Carnegie
Mellon University

Jonathan Goldsicin, Professor of History, University of lowa

Linda Gordon, Florence Kelley Professor of History, Univer-
sty of Wisconsin-Madison. Author, Woman's Body,
Woman's Right: Birth Control in America (rev. ed. 1990)

Sarah Barringer Gordon, Golieb Fellow in Legal History, New
York University Law School

Victoria de Grazia, Professor of History, Rutgers University

Monica H. Green, Assistant Professor of History, Duke Uni-
versity

Cheryl Greenberg, Assistant Professor of History, Trinity Col-
lege

Robert Griffith, Professor of History and Dean of the College
of Arts and Humanities, University of Maryland at Col-
lege Park

Gerald N. Grob, Henry E. Sigerist Professor of the History of
Medicine, Rutgers University

Carol Groneman, Professor, John Jay College of Criminal
Justice, City University of New York

Michael Grossberg, Associate Professor of History and Law.
Case Western Reserve University. Author, Governing the
Hearth: Law and the Family in Nineteenth Century
America (1985)

Atina Grossman, Assistant Professor of History, Columbia
University

App. 8

Gay L. Gullickson, Associate Professor of History, University
of Maryland

Jacquelyn Hall, Julia Cherry Spruill Professor of History,
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Director,
Duke-UNC Center for Research on Women

Marilyn Halter, Assistant Professor of History, Boston Uni-
versity

Yukiko Hanawa, Department of History and Women’s Studies,
Wellesley College

Sarah Hanley, Professor of History, University of lowa

Louis R. Harlan, Distinguished Professor of History, Univer-
sity of Maryland at College Park. Past President, Ameri-
can Historical Association, Organization of American
Historians, and Southern Historical Association

Harry Haroutunian, Max Palevsky Professor of History and
Civilization, University of Chicago

Barbara J. Harris, Professor of History, University of North
Carolina at Chapel Hill. Co-Editor, Women and the
Structure of Society (1984)

John M. Headley, Distinguished University Professor of His-
tory, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Dorothy O. Helly, Professor of History, Hunter College, City
University of New York. Co-Editor, Gendered Domains:
Rethinking Public and Private in Women's History
(forthcoming 1992)

Lamar M. Hill, Professor of History, University of California
at Irvine

Darlene C. Hine, Professor, Michigan State University

Joan Hoff, Professor of History, Indiana University at Bloom-
ington. Author, Law, Gender, and Injustice (1991)

App. 9

David A. Hollinger, Professor of History, University of Mich-
igan
Joel D. Howell, Associate Professor, Departments of Internal

Medicine, History, and Health Sciences Management and
Policy, University of Michigan

Karl Hufbauer, Professor of History, University of California
at Irvine

Isabel V. Hull, Associate Professor of History, Cornell Uni-
versity

Tera Hunter, Assistant Professor of History, University of
North Carolina at Chapel Hill

George Huppert, Professor of History, University of Illinois at
Chicago

Paula E. Hyman, Professor of History, Yale University

Karl Ittmann, Professor of History, University of Houston

Penelope D. Johnson, Professor of History, New York Univer-
Sity

Peter d’A. Jones, Professor of History, University of Illinois
at Chicago

David P. Jordan, Professor of History, University of Illinois at
Chicago

Carol F. Karlsen, Associate Professor of History, University
of Michigan

Stanley N. Katz, President, American Council of Learned
Societies and Visiting Member, Institute for Advanced
Study. Past President, American Society for Legal His-
tory and Organization of American Historians

Mary Kelley, John Sloan Dickey Professor of the Social
Sciences, Dartmouth College

Linda K. Kerber, May Brodbeck Professor in the Liberal Arts
and Professor of History, University of lowa. Past Presi-
dent, American Studies Association. Author, Women of

App. 10

the Republic (1986); Editor, Women's America: Refocus-
ing the Past (3d ed. 1991)

Alice Kessler-Harris, Professor of History and Director of

Women’s Studies, Rutgers University

Rachel N. Klein, Associate Professor of History, University
of California at San Diego

Christine Kleinegger, Senior Historian, New York State
Museum

Claudia Koonz, Associate Professor of History, Duke Univer-
Silty

Judith Walzer Leavitt, Professor and Chair, Department of
History of Medicine, University of Wisconsin-Madison.
Author, Brought to Bed: Childbearing in America,
1750-1950 (1986)

Helen Rodnite Lemay, Associate Professor of History, State
University of New York at Stony Brook

Darline Gay Levy, Associate Professor of History, New York
University

Richard S. Levy, Associate Professor of History, University
of Illinois at Chicago

Arthur S. Link, George Henry Davis Professor of American
History Emeritus, Princeton University

Leon F. Litwack, A.F. and May T. Morrison Professor of
History, University of California at Berkeley. Past Presi-
dent, Organization of American Historians

Lawrence D. Longo, Professor of Perinatal Biology, School of
Medicine, Loma Linda University

Kristin Luker, Professor of Sociology and Professor of Law
(Boalt Hall), University of California at Berkeley.
Author, Abortion and the Politics of Motherhood (1984)

App. 11

Elizabeth Lunbeck, Assistant Professor of History, Princeton
University

Michael A. Lutzker, Associate Professor of History, New
York University

Phyllis Mack, Associate Professor of History, Rutgers Univer-
Sily

Frances Malino, Professor of History, Wellesley College

Lynn Mally, Associate Professor of History, University of
California at Irvine

Elaine Tyler May, Professor of American Studies, University
of Minnesota. Author, Great Expectations: Marriage and
Divorce in Post-Victorian America (1980)

Sean D. M. McConville, Professor of Criminal Justice, Uni-
versity of Illinois at Chicago

Stephanie McCurry, Assistant Professor of History, Univer-
sity of California at San Diego

Deborah Kuhn McGregor, Assistant Professor, Sangamon
State University. Author, Sexual Surgery and the Origins
of Gynecology: J. Marion Sims, His Hospital and His
Patients (1989)

Sally G. McMillen, Associate Professor of History, Davidson
College. Author, Motherhood in the Old South: Preg-
nancy, Childbirth and Infant Rearing (1990)

Barbara Melosh, Associate Professor of English and History,
George Mason University. Author, The Physician's
Hand: Work Culture and Conflict in American Nursing
(1982)

Michael Meranze, Assistant Professor of History, University
of California at San Diego

Walter P. Metzger, Professor of History, Columbia University

App. 12

Joanne Meyerowitz, Associate Professor of History, Univer-
sity of Cincinnati

Marion Miller, Associate Professor of History, University of

Illinois at Chicago

John Modell, Professor of History, Carnegie Mellon Univer-
Silty

Robert Moeller, Associate Professor of History, University of
California at Irvine

David Montgomery, Farnam Professor of History, Yale Uni-
versity

Regina Morantz-Sanchez, Professor, University of California
at Los Angeles. Author, Sympathy and Science: Women
Physicians in American Medicine (1985)

William Scott Morton, Professor of History, Hunter College,
City University of New York

Claire G. Moses, Associate Professor of History, University

of Maryland. Past President, Conference Group on
Women’s History

Robyn Muncy, Professor of History, University of Maryland.

Author, Creating a Female Dominion in American
Reform, 1890-1935 (1991)

Tetsuo Najita, Professor of History, University of Chicago

Guity Nashat, Associate Professor of History, University of
Illinois at Chicago

Bruce Nelson, Associate Professor of History, Dartmouth
College

David W. Noble, Professor of History, University of Minne-
sota

Mary Nolan, Associate Professor of History, New York Uni-
versity

App. 13

Philip Nord, Associate Professor of History, Princeton Uni-
versity

Mary Beth Norton, M.D. Alger Professor of History, Cornell
University. Author, Liberty’s Daughters: The Revolution-
ary Experience of American Women, 1750-1800 (1980)

Mary E. Odem, Assistant Professor of History, Emory Univer-
sity. Author, Delinquent Daughters: The Sexual Regula-
tion of Female Minors in the United States, 1880-1920,
Ph.D. dissertation, University of California, Berkeley,
1989

Annelise Orleck, Assistant Professor of History, Dartmouth
College

Michael E. Parrish, Professor of History, University of Cali-
fornia at San Diego

K. David Patterson, Professor of History and Interim Dean of
the Graduate School, University of North Carolina at
Charlotte

Kathy Peiss, Professor of History and Women’s Studies, Uni-
versity of Massachusetts at Amherst. Co-Editor, Passion
and Power: Sexuality in History (1989)

Martin S. Pernick, Associate Professor of History, University
of Michigan. Author, A Calculus of Suffering: Pain,
Professionalism, and Anesthesia in Nineteenth-Century
America (1985)

Edward Pessen, Distinguished Professor of History, City Uni-
versity of New York. Past President, Socicty of Histo-
rians of the Early American Republic

Rosalind Petchesky, Professor of Political Science, Hunter
College, City University of New York. Author, Abortion
and Women’s Choice (rev. ed. 1990)

Charles A. Peterson, Professor of History, Cornell University

App. 14

Marilyn H. Pettit, Instructor, Department of History, New
York University

Walter M. Pintner, Professor of History, Cornell University

Richard Polenberg, Goldwin Smith Professor of American
History, Cornell University

Carl E. Prince, Professor of History, New York University.
Past President, Society of Historians of the Early Ameri-
can Republic

Linda C. A. Przybyszewski, Assistant Professor of History,
University of Cincinnati

David L. Ransel, Professor of History, Indiana University at
Bloomington. Editor, American Historical Review

Leslie Reagan, Assistant Professor of History of Medicine,
University of Illinois. Author, When Abortion Was a
Crime: The Legal and Medical Regulation of Abortion,
Chicago, 1880-1973, Ph.D. dissertation, University of
Wisconsin-Madison, 1991; “About to Meet Her Maker’:
Women, Doctors, Dying Declarations and the State s
Investigation of Abortion, Chicago, 1867-1940, 77 J.
Am. Hist. 1240 (1991)

James Reed, Associate Professor of History, Rutgers Univer-
sity. Author, From Private Vice to Public Virtue: The

Birth Control Movement and American Society Since
1830 (1978)

David M. Reimers, Professor of History, New York University

Susan M. Reverby, Whitehead Associate Professor in Critical
Thought, Wellesley College. Author, Ordered to Care:
The Dilemma of American Nursing, 1850-1945 (1987):
Co-Editor, Gendered Domains: Rethinking Public and
Private in Women's History (forthcoming 1992)

Rebecca Rodgers, Professor of History, University of lowa

Malcolm Rohrbough, Professor of History, University of lowa

App. 15

Mary Roldan, Professor of History, Cornell University

Ruth Rosen, Professor of History, University of California at
Davis

Emily S. Rosenberg, Professor of History, Macalester College

Norman L. Rosenberg, Professor of History, Macalester Col-
lege

David Rosner, Professor of History of Medicine, Baruch Col-
lege and the Graduate School, City University of New
York

Dorothy Ross, Arthur O. Lovejoy Professor of History, Johns
Hopkins University

Ellen Ross, Associate Professor of History, Ramapo College
of New Jersey

Guenther Roth, Professor of History, Columbia University

Leslie S. Rowland, Assistant Professor of History, University
of Maryland

Teofilo Ruiz, Professor of History, Brooklyn College

Mary Ryan, Professor of History, University of California at
Berkeley. Editor, Womanhood in America: From Colo-
nial Times to the Present (2d ed. 1979)

Kenneth Sacks, Professor and Chair, Department of History,
University of Wisconsin-Madison

Todd L. Savitt, Professor of Medical Humanities, East Caro-
lina University School of Medicine

Leo Schelbert, Professor of History, University of Illinois at
Chicago

Arthur Schlesinger, Jr., Professor in the Humanities, Graduate
School, City University of New York

Leslie Schwalm, Assistant Professor of History, University of
lowa

App. 16

Anne Firor Scott, W. K. Boyd Professor Emerita of History,
Duke University. Past President, Organization of Ameri-
can Historians

Joan W. Scott, Professor of Social Science, Institute for

Advanced Study. Co-Author, Women, Work, and Family
(1987)

Jerrold Seigel, Professor of History, New York University

Brenda K. Shelton, Associate Professor, State University of
New York at Buffalo

Barbara Sicherman, Professor of History, Trinity College

Sara Lee Silberman, Associate Professor of History, Connect-
icut College

Miriam Silverberg, Associate Professor of History, University
of California at Los Angeles

David C. Sloane, Visiting Assistant Professor of History,
Dartmouth College

Daniel Scott Smith, Professor of History, University of Illi-
nois at Chicago. Author, Early Fertility Decline in Amer-
ica: A Problem in Family History, Journal of Family
History (1987)

Barbara G. Sniffen, Associate Professor of History, Univer-
Sity of Wisconsin-Oshkosh

Rayman L. Solomon, Associate Dean, Northwestern Univer-
sity School of Law. Former Board Member, American
Society for Legal History

Leo Spitzer, Professor and Chair, Department of History,
Dartmouth College

Amy Dru Stanley, Assistant Professor of History, University
of California at Irvine

Christine Stansell, Associate Professor of History, Princeton
University

App. 17

Stephen J. Stearns, Associate Professor of History, College of
Staten Island, City University of New York

Allan Steinberg, Assistant Professor of History, University of
lowa

Nancy Leys Stepan, Professor of History, Columbia Univer-
Sity

David L. Sterling, Associate Professor of History, University
of Cincinnati

Deborah A. Stone, David R. Pokross Professor of Law and
Social Policy, Brandeis University

Lawrence Stone, Professor Emeritus of History, Princeton
University

Margaret Strobel, Professor of History, University of Illinois
at Chicago

Anita Tien, Assistant Professor of History, Wellesley College

Barbara L. Tischler, Lecturer in History, School of General
Studies, Columbia University

Nancy J. Tomes, Associate Professor of History, State Univer-
sity of New York at Stony Brook

Christopher L. Tomlins, Research Fellow, American Bar
Foundation. Editorial Board, Law and History Review

Randolph Trumbach, Professor of History, Baruch College,
City University of New York

Jules Tygiel, Professor of History, San Francisco State Uni-
versity

Mary Kay Vaughan, Associate Professor of History, Univer-
sity of Illinois at Chicago

Morris J. Vogel, Professor of History, Temple University. Co-
Editor, The Therapeutic Revolution: Essays in the Social
History of American Medicine (1979)

App. 18

Rachel Vorspan, Professor of Law, Fordham University
School of Law

Linda J. Waite, Professor of Sociology, University of Chi-
cago. New Families, No Families: The Transformation of
the American Home (1991)

Samuel Walker, Professor of Criminal Justice, University of
Nebraska at Omaha

Daniel J. Walkowitz, Director of Metropolitan Studies and
Professor of History, New York University

Anne Walthall, Professor of History, University of California
at Irvine

Patricia Spain Ward, Visiting Assistant Professor of History,
University of lowa

Susan Ware, Associate Professor of History, New York Uni-
versity

Susan Cotts Watkins, Associate Professor, University of
Pennsylvania

Sydney Stahl Weinberg, Professor of History, Ramapo Col-
lege of New Jersey

Lynn Y. Weiner, Associate Professor of History, Roosevelt
University. Author, From Working Girl To Working
Mother: The Female Labor Force in the U.S., 1820-1980
(1985)

Jonathan Wiener, Professor of History, University of Califor-
nia at Irvine

Barbara Winslow, Adjunct Assistant Professor, City Univer-
Sity of New York, Baruch College

Peter H. Wood, Professor of History, Duke University

Gwendolyn Wright, Professor of History, Columbia Univer-
Sity

App. 19

Winthrop R. Wright, Professor of History, University of
Maryland

Virginia Yans, Professor of History, Rutgers University

Madeline C. Zilfi, Associate Professor of History, University
of Maryland

Judith P. Zinsser, United Nations International School. Ameri-
can Historical Association, Committee on Women Histo-
rians

Michael Zuckerman, Professor of History, University of
Pennsylvania

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0220%3A12. Public record. Not legal advice.
