# Joint Appendix Vol I — Burlington v. Dague

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0215%3A05

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Joint Appendix Vol I
- **Published:** January 1, 1992
- **Citation:** 505 U.S. 557

## Text

L.

itt, JS. 7

i)

MAR 12 1992
eee oe IE CLERK

No. 91-810

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1991

CITY OF BURLINGTON,

Petitioner,
vs.

ERNEST DAGUE, SR., ERNEST DAGUE, JR.,
BETTY DAGUE, AND ROSE A. BESSETTE,

Respondents.

S

On Writ Of Certiorari To The United States
Court Of Appeals For The Second Circuit
¢

JOINT APPENDIX
VOLUME I, PAGES 1-218

.

Micnaet B. CLapr* WituaMm W. Pearson*
Rosert R. McKearin Mo ..oy, Jones &
Freperick S. Lane III Donanuug, P.C.
Dinse, ERDMANN & CLapp 33 North Stone Avenue
209 Battery Street Suite 2100
Burlington, Vermont Tucson, Arizona 85701

05402-0988 Telephone: (602) 620-5520
Telephone: (802) 864-5751 Counsel for Respondents

Counsel for Petitioner
*Counsel of Record

Petition for Certiorari Filed November 18, 1991
Certiorari Granted January 27, 1992

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Volume I

1.
2.

Plaintiffs’ Complaint filed October 9, 1985,
included in Appendix to Petition for Cer-
tiorari at pp. 244-269

Opinion and Order of United States District
Court for the District of Vermont, March 26,
1986, included in — to Petition for
Certiorari at pp. 44-

; pe go and Order of Second Circuit Court
oO

peals, August 20, 1986, included in
Appendix to Petition for Certiorari at pp.
142-144

Findings of Fact, Opinion and Order of

United States District Court for the District
of Vermont, October 17, 1989, included in
Appendix to Petition for Certiorari at pp.
59-115

Plaintiffs’ Application for Attorney’s Fees

. and Costs November 1, 1989

Memorandum in Support of Application for
Fees and Costs, November 1, 1989

Volume II

9.

10.

Memorandum in Opposition to Application
for Fees and Costs, November 13, 1989

Reply Memorandum in Support of Applica-
tion for Fees and Costs, November 24, 1989 ..

Supplemental Memorandum in Opposition
to Application for Fees and Costs, December

|

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

17.

18.

19.
20.

21.

ii
TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Reply Memorandum in Support of an Award
of Fees and Costs, January 3, 1990............

Opinion and Order of the United States Dis-
trict Court for the District of Vermont, April
2, 1990, included in Appendix to Petition for
Certiorari at pp. 130-134

Petition for Enforcement of Order, April 17,
i EEE

Memorandum in Opposition to Plaintiff’s
Petition for Enforcement of Order, April 27,
|), PI

Plaintiffs’ Response to Defendant’s Opposi-
tion to Enforcement of Court Order, May 1,
i

Order of the United States District Court for
the District of Vermont, May 4, 1990..........

Judgment of United States District Court for
the District of Vermont, May 7, 1990,
included in Appendix to Petition for Cer-
tiorari at pp. 116-117

Opinion of Second Circuit Court of Appeals,
June 12, 1991 included in Appendix to Peti-
tion for Certiorari at pp. 1-

Plaintiff's Bill of Costs, June 25, 1991 ..........

Order of Second Circuit Court of Appeals,
August 20, 1991 included in Appendix to
Petition for Certiorari at pp. 145-146

Supplemental Application for Attorney’s
Fees and Costs, June 25, 1991.................

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page
22. Application to Second Circuit Court of
Appeals for Attorney’s Fees and Costs, June

2 CEU U GG wes scescccesccccccosccccccces: 362

23. Order of United States District Court for the
District of Vermont, October 11, 1991,
included in Appendix to Petition for Cer-
tiorari at pp. 137-138

24. Order of Second Circuit Court of Appeals,
October 25, 1991, included in Appendix to
Petition for Certiorari at pp. 38-39

Oct. 9, 1985

DOCKET ENTRIES

1

COMPLAINT

March 26, 1986 63 OPINION and ORDER - FSB -

Oct. 17, 1989

215

Plaintiff's request for preliminary
injunctive relief is DENIED and the
City cause the Landfill’s gas ven-
tilating system and leachate collec-
tion system to become fully
operational by May 26, 1986. Cy to
attys. (P#3) wf.

FINDINGS OF FACT, OPINION
AND ORDER - FSB - Count I; the
City of Burlington has not violated
42:6925(a) or 42:6930(a). Count 2; (a)
the City was generating methane
gas, but abated that practice in
12/85; (b) the City continues to dis-
charge pollutants into waters of the
U.S. without permit (40 C.R.F. [sic]
§ 257.3-3(a)); and (c) the City has not
contaminated an underground
drinking water source beyond the
Landfill boundary. Count 3; the
Landfill may present an imminent
and substantial endangerment to
health or the environment and
therefore operates in violation of
42:6972(a)(1)(B). Count 4; the City is
violating the Clean Water Act by
discharging pollutants into the
Intervale without authorization.
Count 5; The City is violating Ver-
mont’s Groundwater Protection Law
by altering the character and quality
of the groundwater. It is ordered
that the City close the Landfill on or

i le i i ee i ie

;
:
.

Nov. 1, 1989

Nov. 1, 1989

Nov. 13, 1989

Nov. 24, 1989

Dec. 8, 1989

Jan. 3, 1990

April 2, 1990

April 17, 1990

before January 1, 1990. Civil penal-
ties shall not be imposed pursuant
to 42:6928(g) or 33:1319(d). The
Court orders Deft to pay the costs of
litigation, including attorney and
expert witness fees, to be assessed.
Cy. to attys.

216 APPLICATION For Award of Fees
and Costs by Pitf.

217 MEMORANDUM In Support of
P#216.

219 MEMORANDUM in Opposition to
Pitfs’ Application for Award of Fees
and Costs (P#216).

222 REPLY MEMORANDUM in support
of application for award of attys’
fees and costs by Pltfs. amn

224 MEMORANDUM (Supplemental) In
Opposition to Request for Atty’s
Fees of Pitf by Deft. cab

229 REPLY in support of an award of
fees and costs by Pltfs. amn

232 OPINION AND ORDER - FSB - Pitf
shall recover from the Deft the sum
of $198,027.50 for attys’ fees, plus
necessary expenses in the amount of
$10,929.66, together with a 25%
enhancement of the total attys’ fees
in the amount of $49,506.87 plus tax-
able costs. Cys to attys. amn

233 PETITION for Enforcement of Order
by Pitfs. wf

April 27, 1990 234 MEMORANDUM in opposition to

May 1, 1990

May 4, 1990

May 7, 1990

June 25, 1991

Pitfs’ petition for enforcement of
order by Deft (P#233) amn

238 RESPONSE TO Deft’s opposition to
enforcement of court order by Pitfs.

239 ORDER - FSB - Deft’s motion for an
entry of judgment is granted in part.
The pltf’s petition for enforcement is
denied pending appeal. The court
directs the clerk of court to enter
judgment as to Cts I, II, Ill and IV of
the court’s Opinion and Order,
dated 10/16/89 and the Opinion
and Order dated 4/2/90. Cys to
attys.

240 JUDGMENT IN A CIVIL CASE -
The City of Burlington, VT, close the
Landfill on/before 1/1/90. cvl pen-
alties shall not be imposed pursuant
to 42 USC 6928(g) or 33 USC
1319(d). The pltfs shall recover from
the deft the sum of $198,027.50 for
atty fees, plus necessary expenses in
the amt of $10,929.66 together with a
25% enhancement of the total atty’s
fees in the amount of $49,506.87 plus
taxable costs. Judgment is entered
for the deft as to Ct 1; the deft, in
part, and the pltfs, in part, as to Ct Il
and the plitfs as to Cts III and IV.
Notice to Litigators appeal date of
6/6/90. Cys to attys. cab

248 BILL of Costs by Heather Briggs,
atty for plitf. gei

June 25, 1991

June 25, 1991

Jul. 17, 1991

Oct. 15, 1991

249 MEMORANDUM in Support of Bill

of Costs (P#248). gei

250 SUPPLEMENTAL APPLICATION

251

256

by pltf for Award of Fees and Costs.
gei

AFFIDAVIT of Heather Briggs, Esq.
in support of Bill of Costs with
amended cost relative to service fees
($10.98 sought in lieu of $17.25 origi-
nal claim). rpw

ORDER ~ FSB - Pltf shall recover
from Deft supplemental atty’s fees
in the amount of $24,113.00, and
supplemental expenses in the
amount of $2,707.61, together with a
25% enhancement of the atty’s fees
or $6,028.25. Cys. to attys. amn

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE
DISTRICT OF VERMONT

ERNEST DAGUE, SR., BETTY L. )

DAGUE, ADMINISTRATRIX )
OF THE ESTATE OF ERNEST J. )
DAGUE, II BETTY DAGUE and ) Civil Action No.
ROSE A. BESSETTE ) 85-269
. )
CITY OF BURLINGTON )

PLAINTIFFS’ APPLICATION FOR
AWARD OF FEES AND COSTS

Plaintiffs submit this application for their costs of
litigation, including attorney and expert witness fees and
expenses, incurred in this action. The Resource Conserva-
tion and Recovery Act of 1976 (“RCRA”), 42 U.S.C. § 6901
et seq., and the Clean Water Act (“CWA”), 33 U.S.C. § 1251
et seq., provide that the prevailing or substantially pre-
vailing party may be awarded costs of litigation, includ-
ing reasonable attorney and expert witness fees. 42 U.S.C.
§ 6972(e); 33 U.S.C. § 1365(d).

By Order dated 16 October 1989, this Court ordered
that such costs and fees were to be paid by Defendant in
an amount to be assessed by the court. Plaintiffs’ counsel
pursued Defendant's statutory liability on a contingency
fee basis. Indeed, to date, Plaintiffs’ counsel has not
received any payment for its services. In support of this
application, Plaintiffs submit affidavits and other docu-
mentation to substantiate the requested fees and
expenses.

WHEREFORE, Plaintiffs respectfully request that,
based upon the attached affidavits of counsel, legal mem-
orandum and other supporting documents, attorneys fees
in the amount of $198,027.50 be awarded to Plaintiffs and
that this amount be enhanced 100% pursuant to Pennsyl-
vania v. Delaware Valley Citizens’ Council for Clean Air, 107
S.Ct. 3078 (1987), Hensley v. Eckerhart, 461 U.S. 424 (1983)
and Johnson v. Georgia Highway Express, Inc., 488 F.2d 714
(7th Cir. 1984). Plaintiffs further request that the court
award $7,295.00 for expert witness fees and $3,634.66 for
attorneys expenses incurred in this matter.

Burlington, Vermont. 31 October 1989.

DOWNS RACHLIN & MARTIN
Attorneys for Plaintiffs

By: /s/ Richard N. Bland
Richard N. Bland
199 Main Street
P.O. Box 190-0190
Burlington, VT 05402-0190
(802) 863-2375

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE
DISTRICT OF VERMONT

ERNEST DAGUE, SR., BETTY L. )

DAGUE, ADMINISTRATRIX )
OF THE ESTATE OF ERNEST J. )
DAGUE, II BETTY DAGUE and ) Civil Action No.
ROSE A. BESSETTE ) 85-269
. )
CITY OF BURLINGTON )

MEMORANDUM IN SUPPORT OF PLAINTIFFS’
APPLICATION FOR AWARD OF FEES AND COSTS

Plaintiffs submit this memorandum in support of
their application for attorney and expert witness fees and
expenses.

1. Statement of Facts

Plaintiffs Ernest Dague, Sr., Ernest Dague, Jr., Betty
Dague and Rose A. Bessette brought this action against
the City of Burlington, Vermont (“the City”) for alleged
violations of federal and state law arising out of the
operation of the Burlington Municipal Disposal Grounds
(“the Landfill”). Plaintiffs commenced this action under
the citizen suit provisions of the Resource Conservation
and Recovery Act of 1976 (“RCRA”), 42 U.S.C. § 6972,
and the Clean Water Act (“CWA”), 33 U.S.C. § 1365, and
under pendent state claims. Plaintiffs sought injunctive
relief, imposition of civil penalties, compensatory and
punitive damages for their pendent state claims, costs,
and attorneys fees.

Trial by court was held from May 8 - 11, 1989, on
Defendant’s statutory liability under RCRA and the
CWA, and Vermont’s Groundwater Protection Law, 10
V.S.A. § 1410. On 16 October 1989, the Court issued its
Findings of Fact, Opinion and Order, finding Defendant
liable on four of the five statutory counts of Plaintiffs’
Complaint. Specifically, the Court concluded: the City
generated methane gas in violation of 42 U.S.C. § 6945(a)
and 40 C.F.R. § 257.3-8(a)(2), until December 27, 1985; the
City continues to discharge pollutants into the waters of
the United States without a NPDES permit, in violation of
42 US.C. § 6945(a), 40 C.FR. § 257.3-3(a), and 33 U.S.C.
§ 1311; and the City’s Landfill may present an imminent
and substantial endangerment to public health or the
environment, and therefore its continued operation vio-
lates 42 U.S.C. § 6972(a) (1) (B). The Court further found
that the City is violating Vermont’s Groundwater Protec-
tion Law, by altering the character and quality of the
groundwater beneath and north of the Landfill. The
Court ordered the City to close the Landfill on or before
January 1, 1990.

“Having determined that plaintiffs have substantially
prevailed in both their RCRA and CWA claims,” the
Court ordered Defendant to pay the costs of litigation,
including reasonable attorney and expert witness fees, to
be assessed pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 6972(e) and 33 U.S.C.
§ 1365(d). Plaintiffs now move for an award of their costs
of litigation, including attorney and expert witness fees
and expenses incurred in this action.

Il. Argument and Authority

The starting point for any calculation of attorneys
fees is the “lodestar,” the product of a reasonable hourly
rate and the number of hours reasonably expended on
substantive issues on which the petitioner satisfies the
statutory threshold of success. Sierra Club v. EPA, 769 F.2d
796, 23 ERC 1001, 1002 (D.C. Cir. 1985); Copeland v. Mar-
shall, 641 F.2d 880, 891 (D.C. Cir. 1980) (en banc). After the
lodestar is calculated, a determination must be made as to
whether any enhancement of the lodestar is appropriate.
Sierra Club, 769 F.2d at 809-10.

A. Calculation of the Lodestar

This Court has already determined that Plaintiffs
have substantially prevailed on their federal claims,
thereby entitling them to a fully compensatory fee award.
Hensley v. Eckerhart, 461 U.S. 424 (1983). All that remains
to be decided is whether the fees sought by Plaintiffs are
based on “reasonable” rates and “reasonable” hours. “In
computing the fee, counsel for [Plaintiffs as] prevailing
parties should be paid, as is traditional with attorneys
compensated by a fee-paying client, ‘for all time reason-
ably expended on a matter.” Save Our Sound Fisheries
Association v. Callaway, 429 F.Supp. 1136, 1147 (D.R.1.
1977) (analysis utilized in civil rights actions applicable to
environmental cases) (quoting S. Rep. No. 94-1011, 94th
Cong., 2d Sess. at 6 (1976)).

Plaintiffs’ attorneys have submitted an affidavit stat-
ing their rates are those usually charged to clients who
pay on an hourly basis, (Exhibit 1), as well as affidavits

7

10

from other attorneys in Burlington, Vermont stating that
the last applicable rate of $125 per hour for Mr. Pearson
while at Downs Rachlin & Martin (he is currently practic-
ing in Tucson, Arizona in the field of environmental law
and his current billing rate is $170 per hour), $80 per hour
for Mr. Bland and various other rates for Plaintiffs’ attor-
neys and legal assistants are reasonable. (Exhibits 4, 5,
and 6). Blum v. Stenson, 465 U.S. 886 (1989). Further,
Plaintiffs’ application is supported by itemized, contem-
poraneous records for all time expended. (Exhibit 1 and
Affidavit of William W. Pearson). The descriptive entries
show that all time spent was reasonably necessary.

Accordingly, Plaintiffs submit that the appropriate
lodestar is $198,027.50 in attorneys fees.

B. Enhancing the Lodestar

The next step to consider is whether an enhancement
of the lodestar amount is appropriate. Pennsylvania v.
Delaware Valley Citizens’ Council for Clean Air, 107 S.Ct.
3078 (1987) (“Delaware Valley II”); Hensley v. Eckerhart, 461
U.S. 424 (1983); and Johnson v. Georgia Highway Express,
Inc., 488 F.2d 714 (7th Cir. 1984). An enhancement is
appropriate here.

The purpose behind applying an enhancement or
multiplier is to attract competent counsel. SPIRG of New
Jersey v. AT&T Bell Laboratories, 842 F.2d 1436, 27 ERC
1409, 1421 (3rd Cir. 1988); Delaware Valley II, 107 S.Ct.
3078 (1987). Simply stated, if plaintiffs’ attorneys can
receive as a maximum only the lodestar amount, after
risking complete nonpayment as well as the hardships

11

imposed by delay, lack of cash-flow, and out-of-pocket
expenses, then competent counsel will be reluctant to
serve on behalf of private attorneys general. The purpose
underlying the “multiplier” is to balance the inherent
inequities between plaintiffs and fee-paying defendants
and to reward attorneys who take on public interest cases
and achieve substantial results.

Some of the factors to consider in determining
whether an enhancement is appropriate include: the risk
and the amount involved; the novelty of the issues raised
or the difficulties in prosecuting the case; the unde-
sirability of the case; the skill required, and the experi-
ence and ability of the attorneys; the preclusion from
other employment by the attorneys because of this case;
the delay; and the results obtained. Johnson v Georgia
Highway Express, Inc., 488 F.2d 714 (7th Cir. 1984).

In this case, consideration of the above factors fully

supports an enhancement of the lodestar amount by
100%.

1. Contingency/Risk Factor

A major factor in determining whether the fee should
be enhanced is whether the fee arrangement with the
clients is fixed or contingent. See Delaware Valley II. As
described in the attached affidavit by Plaintiffs’ counsel,
all work associated with the Defendant's statutory lia-
bility was taken on a contingent fee basis: that is, had
Plaintiffs not prevailed on their statutory claims, counsel
for Plaintiffs would not be compensated at all for their
services on these claims.

_— ~~?

12

A contingency multiplier is also awarded when nec-
essary to attract competent counsel. SPIRG of New Jersey,
Inc. v. AT&T, 842 F.2d 1436, 1451 (3rd Cir. 1988). Without
a possible adjustment for risk in this case, Plaintiffs
“would have faced subsiantial difficulties in finding
counsel in the local or other relevant market.” Id. (quot-
ing Delaware Valley II, O’Connor, J., concurring).!

In this case, it would have been extremely difficult
for Plaintiffs to have obtained other local counsel of simi-
lar competence? who were willing to sue Vermont's larg-
est municipality and pursue their claims under RCRA
and the CWA? (under this type of fee arrangement),
asserting inter alia that the City’s Landfill may present an
imminent and substantial endangerment to public health
or the environment and, therefore, should be closed.

The novelty of the issues presented by Plaintiffs’
statutory claims, the complexity of RCRA and the CWA,
and the magnitude of the regulations thereunder cannot
be overstated. A perusal of the case law of citizen suits
under RCRA and the CWA reveals how few, if any, citi-
zens have (1) commenced an action with the statutory
claims presented here and (2) prevailed on those claims.

' The outlay of out-of-pocket expenses alone in this type
of action would be prohibitive for most attorneys in the Bur-
lington area.

? See attached affidavit of Plaintiffs’ counsel for the expe-
rience and abilities of Mr. Pearson and Mr. Bland.

> It should be noted that neither RCRA nor the CWA
afford the prevailing or substantially nei. party with the
right to recover damages.

13

Moreover, Plaintiffs faced substantial difficulties in
prosecuting this case during the past four years. The
volume of documents pertaining just to Plaintiffs’ statu-
tory claims that were reviewed and analyzed by their
counsel are stored in 11 “banker’s boxes”. A review of the
record of this case also reveals how nonresponsive Defen-
dant was to discovery and deadlines, forcing Plaintiffs to
file motions to compel discovery and for sanctions.
Defendant also vigorously contested facts and liability on
each of the statutory claims through the trial on the
merits.

2. Delay Enhancer

Under a delay theory of enhancement, all time spent
over the life of this matter should be compensated at
counsel's present hourly rate rather than at an historical
rate. By charging the time in such a manner, the Court
will compensate counsel for the delay in payment during
the pendency of this litigation. See Alabama Power Co. v.
Gorsuch, 672 F.2d 1, 6 n.29 (D.C. Cir. 1982) (base amount
increased by 25%); Zipes v. Trans World Airlines, 846 F.2d
434, 443 (7th Cir. 1988) (Title VII) (1.44 multiplier for
delay).

Accordingly, Plaintiffs request that Mr. Pearson's and
Mr. Bland’s fees be increased a total of $48,081.50 to
compensate their time at their present rates ($125/hr. and
$80/hr. respectively). Plaintiffs seek no ‘delay enhance-
ment’ for any other attorney or legal assistant fees
charged to this matter.

14

3. Preclusion from Other Employment

The attached affidavit of Plaintiffs’ counsel estab-
lishes that most of the hours spent on this matter would
have been spent representing other clients who would
pay their hourly rates on a monthly basis. Given the
substantial devotion of time to this matter, Plaintiffs’
counsel were precluded from other employment by fee-
paying clients. This factor, too, weighs in favor of
enhancement.

4. Conclusion for Enhancement

Based on the foregoing, Plaintiffs submit that their
attorneys fees should be enhanced 100%. All of the crite-
ria collectively set forth in Johnson, Hensley and Delaware
Valley Il have been met and weigh in favor of enhance-
ment. Moreover, such enhancement is warranted by the
ever-increasing reluctance of competent and experienced
counsel to represent private attorneys general in environ-
mental cases. Without this incentive, it is inevitable that
statutes such as the CWA and RCRA will provide (citi-
zens) rights without remedies. Plaintiffs’ attorneys will
not take cases such as this one unless they can expect to
receive more than their hourly rate for time expended.

C. Expert Witness Fee

Plaintiffs’ expert witness, Dr. Frank Reed, billed
Plaintiffs for 140.5 hours at $50.00/hr. on this matter since
24 October 1985 for a total of $7,025.00. Dr. Reed also
charged Plaintiffs $220.00 for mileage and $50.00 for

15

meals. Thus, Plaintiffs have incurred a total of $7,295.00
in expert witness fees and expenses. (See Exhibit 2
attached to Affidavit of Plaintiffs’ counsel for Dr. Reed's
invoices). Plaintiffs submit that Dr. Reed’s expert witness
fees and expenses of $7,295.00 are reasonable and, there-
fore, reimbursable.

D. Expenses

In addition to attorneys and expert witness fees,
Plaintiffs request that they be awarded reasonable
expenses, not otherwise recoverable in a bill of costs,‘
incurred in this action. Plaintiffs’ counsel has attached an
affidavit setting forth that these expenses were necessary
and reasonably incurred and has attached copies of appli-
cable bills and receipts, totalling $3,634.66. (Exhibit 3).

Accordingly, Plaintiffs request that this amount also be
awarded.

An award of costs in this case is not limited to those
normally allowed pursuant to 28 USC. § 1920 or
F.R.Civ.P. 54. While there are few environmental cases on
this point, case law developed under other fee-shifting
statutes instructs that all reasonable out-of-pocket expen-
ditures are to be awarded. Shorter v. Valley Bank and Trust
Co., 678 F.Supp. 714, 726 (N.D. Ill. 1988) (FLSA); Reichman
v. Bonsignore & Mazzotta, 818 F.2d 278 (2d Cir. 1987)
(citing Laffey v. Northwest Airlines, Inc., 747 F.2d 4, 30
(D.C. Cir. 1984)); Herold v. Hajoca Corp., 864 F.2d 317, 323
(4th Cir. 1988) (ADEA); Kossman v. Calumet County, 849

* Plaintiffs will submit a Bill of Costs upon entry of judg-
ment.

16

F.2d 1027, 1030 (7th Cir. 1988) (ADEA); Hidle v. Geneva
County Board of Education, 681 FSupp. 752, 758 (D.C. Ala.
1988); Laffey, 746 F.2d at 30; Thompson v. Sawyer, 586
F.Supp. 635, 643 (D.D.C. 1984) (Title VII); Planells v. How-
ard University, __ FSupp. __, 34 FEP 66, 71 (D.C.D.C.
1984) (Title VII); Monroe v. United Air Lines, Inc., 565
F.Supp. 274, 289 (N.D. Ill. 1983) (ADEA).

Courts addressing claims under environmental pro-
tection statutes have stated that the general policies
underlying awards of fees and expenses in civil rights
cases apply to similar fee requests under environmental
statutes. See, e.g., Pennsylvania v. Delaware Valley Citizens’
Council for Clean Air, 106 S.Ct. 3088, 24 E.R.C. 1577 (1986)
(“Delaware Valley I); SPRIG [sic] of New Jersey v. AT&T,
842 F.2d 1436, 1439 n. 1 (3rd Cir. 1988); Save Our Sound
Fisheries Association v. Callaway, 429 FSupp. 1136 (D.R.1.
1977).

Courts resolving fee issues under the Clean Air Act
42 USC. § 7607(f), a fee shifting statute substantially
similar to the fee shifting provisions in RCRA and the
CWA, SPIRG of New Jersey, 842 F.2d at 1439 n. 1, have
awarded costs similar to those requested by Plaintiffs
here. Sierra Club v. EPA, 769 F.2d 796, 812 (D.C. Cir. 1985)
(awarding telephone, photocopying, postage costs); Ala-
bama Power Co. v. Gorsuch, 672 F.2d 1, 6-8 (D.C. Cir. 1982)
(travel, postage, copies of legislative history and tran-
script expenses awarded). All expenses requested by
Plaintiffs are therefore reimbursable.

17

Ill. CONCLUSION

Plaintiffs respectfully request the Court to award
attorneys fees in the amount of $198,027.50 and enhance
said fees 100%, to award $7,295.00 for expert witness fees
and $3,634.66 for expenses, and to permit Plaintiffs to
supplement their application consistent with future pro-
ceedings to be held in this case for any fees later incurred.

Burlington, Vermont. 31 October 1989.

DOWNS RACHLIN & MARTIN
Attorneys for Plaintiffs

By: /s/ Richard N. Bland
Richard N. Bland
199 Main Street
P.O. Box 190
Burlington, Vt 05401-0190
(802) 863-2375

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE
DISTRICT OF VERMONT

ERNEST DAGUE, SR. BETTY L. _)
DAGUE, ADMINISTRATRIX OF _ )
THE ESTATE OF ERNEST J. )
DAGUE, II BETTY DAGUE and )
ROSE A. BESSETTE )
. ) Civil Action No.

)

)

85-269
CITY OF BURLINGTON

18

AFFIDAVIT IN SUPPORT OF PLAINTIFFS’
APPLICATION FOR AWARD OF FEES AND COSTS

STATE OF VERMONT )
CHITTENDEN COUNTY, ) SS.

Richard N. Bland, being duly sworn, deposes and states
as follows:

1.

I am an associate in the law firm of Downs Rachlin &
Martin, attorneys for Plaintiffs in this action. This affi-
davit provides the specification and itemization neces-
sary for recovery of costs of litigation, including
reasonable attorney and expert witness fees, pursuant to
42 U.S.C. § 6972(e) and 33 U.S.C. § 1365(d).

2.

Attached hereto as Exhibit 1 are the billing state-
ments by this law firm for legal services performed in this
action. These billings are accurate and true representa-
tions of work actually performed, compiled from time
slips prepared by the attorney or legal assistant perform-
ing the work described. Time slips are prepared by each
attorney and legal assistant on a daily basis and reflect
actual time spent on the matter, as well as a description of
the work performed. As shown in Exhibit 1, the total
amount of Plaintiffs’ attorneys fees incurred from 3 April
1985 through 30 October 1989 is $198,027.50.

19

3.

Attached hereto as Exhibit 2 are copies of invoices
from Dr. Frank Reed, in connection with his services as
an expert witness in this matter. As can be seen, Dr. Reed
billed Plaintiffs for 140.5 hours at $50.00 per hour on this
matter since 24 October 1985 for a total of $7,025.00. Dr.
Reed also charged Plaintiffs $220.00 for mileage and
$50.00 for meals. Thus, Plaintiffs have incurred a total of
$7,295.00 in expert witness fees and expenses.

4.

Attached hereto as Exhibit 3 are copies of the expense
receipts expended by this law firm for expenses in this
action, exclusive of any amount to be included in Plain-
tiffs’ Bill of Costs. These receipts are accurate and true
representations of expenses actually incurred and total
$3,634.66. Certain other expenses were also necessarily
incurred for which no receipts are available: (1) telephone
$524.30; (2) postage $196.16; (3) mileage $906.36; (4) com-
puter legal research $518.47.' These expenses total
$2,145.29. Thus, total expenses, not otherwise recoverable
in a bill of costs, are $3,634.66.

5.

William W. Pearson served as lead counsel for Plain-
tiffs in this matter. He was first admitted to the Indiana

' The practice of Downs Rachlin & Martin is to pass neces-
sarily incurred litigation expenses on to fee-paying clients and
not to increase hourly rates to absorb such expenses.

20

Bar and the U.S. District Court, Southern District of Indi-
ana, in 1971; the Vermont Bar in 1975; the U.S. District
Court, District of Vermont, in 1977; and the U.S. Court of
Appeals, Second Circuit, in 1986. He received his under-
graduate degree from University of Chicago in 1968. He
then attended Georgetown University Law Center where
he received his J.D. in 1971. He is presently a member of
the Vermont and American Bar Associations.

Mr. Pearson is an experienced trial attorney in the
field of environmental law. His experience with environ-
mental legal problems includes hazardous waste manage-
ment, toxic torts, NPDES permits, landfills, hazardous
waste risk management and commercial lending, envi-
ronmental audits, wastewater treatment facilities, Super-
fund, RCRA, Act 250, underground storage tanks, and
insurance coverage for environmental claims.

6.

I assisted Mr. Pearson in this matter. I was first
admitted to the Vermont Bar in 1985; the U.S. District
Court, District of Vermont, in 1986; and the Supreme
Court of the United States in 1989. I received my under-
graduate degree from University of Vermont in 1982. |
then attended Washington University School of Law
where I received my J.D. in 1985. I am presently a mem-
ber of the Chittenden County, Vermont and American Bar
Associations.

I am a trial attorney whose practice is primarily in
the field of environmental law. | have experience in
resolving environmental legal problems involving haz-
ardous waste management, including the generation,

21

transportation, storage and disposal of hazardous waste,
landfills, RCRA, CWA, Superfund, asbestos, underground
storage tanks, hazardous waste risk management and
commercial lending, and insurance coverage for environ-
mental claims.

7.

Based upon personal knowledge of hourly rates
charged by other attorneys in the Burlington area with
similar experience, reputation and skill, | know that rates
from $100 - $150 per hour are routinely charged. As
shown in Exhibit 1, there are varying levels of rates
charged by the law firm of Downs Rachlin & Martin.
Work performed by partners is billed at $90 — $150 per
hour. Work performed by associates is billed at $60 — $85
per hour, depending on the level of experience. The fol-
lowing is a list of each attorney and legal assistant who
worked on this case, the amount of time they spent on
this case, and their hourly rates:

William W. Pearson
01-01-89 - 12-31-89 142.50 HOURS AT 125.00 /HR

= 17,812.50
07-01-87 - 12-31-88 143.10 HOURS AT 115.00 /HR

= 16,456.50
07-01-86 - 06-30-87 86.80 HOURS AT 100.00 /HR

= 8,680.00
07-01-84 - 06-30-86 442.40 HOURS AT 85.00 /HR

= 37,604.00

Richard N. Bland
01-01-89 - 12-31-89 294.20 HOURS AT 80.00 /HR

= 23,536.00
07-01-87 - 12-31-88 215.60 HOURS AT 70.00 /HR

= 15,092.00
07-01-86 - 06-30-87 98.40 HOURS AT 65.00 /HR

= 6,396.00

22 23
01-01-85 - 06-30-86 661.50 HOURS AT 45.00 /HR Martha L. Judy
= 29,767.50 01-01-88 - 12-31-88 17.20 HOURS AT 30.00 /HR
= 516.00
Michael J. Case :
01-01-89 - 12-31-89 77.60 HOURS AT 50.00 /HR Anthony J. Gallucci
= 3,880.00 01-01-89 - 12-31-89 2.10 HOURS AT 45.00 /HR
07-01-89 - 12-31-88 97.50 HOURS AT 45.00 /HR . 94.50
= 4,387.50 G. Larry Harvey
07-01-85 - 06-30-87 593.20 HOURS AT 40.00 /HR 07-01-84 - 06-30-85 26.30 HOURS AT 35.00 /HR
= 23,728.00 = 920.50
07-01-84 - 06-30-85 67.50 HOURS AT 35.00 /HR
= 2,362.50 Wynne W. Browne
07-01-84 - 06-30-86 0.50 HOURS AT 30.00 /HR
Paul H. Ode, Jr. = 15.00
07-01-84 - 06-30-85 0.50 HOURS AT 55.00 /HR aie
a 27.50 Joyce D. Servidio
01-01-85 - 06-30-86 6.70 HOURS AT 35.00 /HR
Robert B. Luce = 234.50
07-01-85 - 06-30-86 10.50 HOURS AT 60.00 /HR ;
2 630.00 David Lowy
01-01-86 - 12-31-87 11.00 HOURS AT 30.00 /HR
Gregory S. Clayton e 330.00
01-01-89 - 12-31-89 2.40 HOURS AT 90.00 /HR
= 216.00 P
07-01-85 - 06-30-86 0.50 HOURS AT 60.00 /HR .
= 30.00 In order to substantiate that the requested hourly
Heather Briggs rates are reasonable, attached are Exhibits 4, 5 and 6
01-01-89 - 12-31-89 8.10 HOURS AT 120.00 /HR which are affidavits from attorneys in the Burlington area
= 972.00 which set forth their respective billing rates and further
John H. Tarlow indicate the hourly rates for counsel with similar experi-
07-01-85 - 06-30-86 13.80 HOURS AT 45.00 /HR ence, reputation and skill.
= 621.00
Anita R. Tuttle
01-01-89 - 12-31-89 26.40 HOURS AT 75.00 /HR ?.
= Wee My environmental law practice and that of the envi-
Robert A. Miller | ronmental law group at Downs Rachlin & Martin since |
01-01-89 - 12-31-89 9.40 HOURS AT 70.00 /HR have joined the firm has been limited to representing fee-
= 658.00 ‘ : :
01-01-88 - 12-31-88 21.60 HOURS AT 50.00 /HR paying clients, because of the risk associated with the
= 1,080.00 representation of private attorneys general and plaintifts

EEE EEO EEE iia

24

on a contingency fee basis. Thus, most of the hours spent
on this matter would have been spent representing other
clients who would pay our hourly rates on a monthly
basis.

Nevertheless, all work associated with Defendant's
statutory liability was taken on a contingent basis: had
Plaintif‘s not prevailed on their statutory claims, counsel
for Plaintiffs would not be compensated at all for their
services on these claims. In fact, to date, this firm has not
received any payment for its services.

An important factor in this firm’s decision to pursue
Plaintiffs’ statutory claims was the opportunity to have
any eventual award of attorneys fees enhanced by the
Court beyond the lodestar amount. This incentive, in my
professional opinion, is necessary to attract competent
counsel to represent private attorneys general in public
interest litigation. Accordingly, I am of the opinion that
Plaintiffs would have faced extreme difficulties in finding
other local counsel of similar experience to pursue their
claims under RCRA and the CWA on an hourly rate to be
paid only on the contingency of success.

/s/ Richard N. Bland
Richard N. Bland

Sworn to and subscribed before me this 31 day of
October, 1989.

/s/ Lizabeth Palmer
Notary Public
Commission Expires: 2/91

B3.40.1028

25

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE
DISTRICT OF VERMONT

ERNEST DAGUE, SR. BETTY L. )

DAGUE, ADMINISTRATRIX OF _ )

THE ESTATE OF ERNEST J. )

DAGUE, II BETTY DAGUE and __)

ROSE A. BESSETTE )
. ) Civil Action No.
) 85-269

CITY OF BURLINGTON )

AFFIDAVIT IN SUPPORT OF PLAINTIFFS’
APPLICATION FOR AWARD OF FEES AND COSTS

STATE OF ARIZONA )

COUNTY OF PIMA ss AFFIDAVIT

William W. Pearson, being duly sworn, deposes and
states as follows:

1. From the beginning of this action until May 30,
1989, I was a partner in the law firm of Downs, Rachlin &
Martin, attorneys for plaintiffs in this action. Since June 1,
1989, I have been with the firm of Molloy, Jones & Dona-
hue in Tucson, Arizona. This affidavit provides additional
support for plaintiffs’ application for the award of fees
and costs pursuant to this Court’s Order of October 16,
1989, and 42 U.S.C. § 6972(e) and 33 U.S.C. § 1365(d).

2. My relevant background is as follows:

A. B.A. degree from University of Chicago in
1968

B. J.D. degree from Georgetown University
Law Center in 1971

26

C. Admitted to Indiana Bar and U.S. District
Court, Southern District of Indiana in 1971

D. Admitted to Vermont Bar in 1975 and the
U.S. District Court, District of Vermont in
1977

E. Admitted to U.S. Court of Appeals, 2nd
Circuit in 1986

F. Admitted to Arizona Bar and U.S. District
Court, District of Arizona in 1989

3. Iam an experienced trial attorney in the field of
environmental law. I have handled a variety of environ-
mental legal problems including hazardous and solid
waste management, toxic torts, NPDES permits, landfills,
lender liability for environmental hazards, environmental
audits, wastewater treatment facilities, Superfund, RCRA,
Act 250, underground storage tanks, and insurance cover-
age for environmental claims.

4. In practicing environmental law in Vermont, it is
my experience that a very high percentage of fee paying
clients retain big city, national law firms to do their high
stakes, sophisticated environmental work. For example,
Downs, Rachlin & Martin is one of only a couple Vermont
law firms who are lead counsel for a significant party in
Vermont's Superfund sites. The other significant parties
are represented by law firms from such places as Boston,
New York City, and Washington, D.C. These outside Ver-
mont firms are hired because the laws are complex, the
technical issues sophisticated and the financial stakes are
high. Commensurate with their experience and expertise,
these out-of-state firms charge hourly fees substantially
higher than their Vermont counterparts.

27

5. Presently | am responsible for the environmental
practice in Molloy, Jones & Donahue, which is one of the
premier law firms in Tucson, Arizona, a city whose popu-
lation is greater than all of Vermont. | am continuing my
environmental law practice in the areas outlined above.
My present hourly rate is $170.00 per hour.

6. I have reviewed Exhibit 1 attached to plaintiffs’
Application for Award of Fees and Costs. To the best of
my knowledge, Exhibit 1 is a fair and accurate itemiza-
tion of the legal services and costs related to this action
for the time period stated therein.

7. Attached to this Affidavit is a supplementary
account of legal services provided by me in this action
from April 1985 until October 1985. During this time and
as part of my routine billing practice at Downs, Rachlin &
Martin for this type of case, | kept contemporaneous
records of the date and time spent working on this case.
While I did not make contemporaneous description
entries for the work done, | have reviewed the time and
descriptive entries of others and, based upon my best
recollection, can state what acts | performed during this
time. As the Court can see in comparing my account with
the descriptive entries of others in my office working
with me on the case, there is a consistent, detailed
description of the services provided to the plaintiffs. To
the best of my knowledge, information and belief, and
herein made under oath, this attached account is a fair
statement of the legal services provided by me for the
time periods stated therein.

8. Concerning the plaintiffs’ application for an
enhancement of the fees as stated, it is my considered

28

judgment that the plaintiffs could have found no other
attorneys to represent them other than Attorney Bland
and myself based on the following:

A. The plaintiffs had no funds with which to

B.

9.

pay for legal services on an up-front basis;

At the time this suit was brought Attorney
Bland and I were among a handful of Ver-
mont lawyers sufficiently sophisticated in
this specialized area to handle plaintiffs’
claims;

Defendant is a political subdivision which
does not function or have priorities like a
private sector party thereby increasing the
uncertainty of strategy and outcome;

The enormous up-front expense in this case
of services and costs incurred would be
prohibitive to all but larger law firms.

In summary, in my professional judgment, the

total lodestar and enhancement requested are reasonable
and appropriate given all the factors listed in the Appli-
cation itself and in this affidavit.

/s/ William W. Pearson
William W. Pearson

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO before me this 31
day of October, 1989, by William W. Pearson.

My Commission Expires: 3/1/92

/s/ Leslie J. Morse
Notary Public

29

Sample Entry -

Date: Atty: Hours: Amount:
Description of Services:

04/03/85 WWP 0.50 221.00

04/04/85 WWP 0.60

04/05/85 WWP 1.50

Phone conferences with clients; conferences
with clients at their home; review applicable
laws and regulations; outline Retainer Agree-

ment
04/09/85 WWwP 0.60
04/10/85 WwWP 3.00
04/11/85 WWP 1.50
04/12/85 WwwpP 1.50

561.00

Phone conferences with clients; conferences
with clients at their home; site examination of
landfill and surrounding properties; phone con-
ferences with City Attorney’s Office; outline
document gathering plan; further review of
Retainer Agreement

04/15/85 WwWP 3.50
04/16/85 wwpP 2.00
04/17/85 WwwpP 2.50
04/18/85 WwWP 2.60
04/19/85 WWP 2.00
04/23/85 WwWwWwP 1.00
04/29/85 WwWP 0.50

1,198.50

Daily inspections of site to review and record
City excavation activity; conferences about same
with clients, City officials and State personnel;
search for methane gas expert by contacting
UVM and Vermont Gas; analyze methane gas
data; review Federal and State regulations on
methane gas control and standards

30
05/02/85 WwWP 3.40 544.00
05/03/85 WWP 3.00

Site visits to review City excavation of landfill
looking for unspecified suspected hazardous
waste deposit; review same with clients; exam-
ine site photos

05/22/85 WwwpP 0.50 357.00
06/17/85 WwwpP 1.00
07/02/85 WWP 0.30
07/12/85 WwWP 0.90
07/17/85 WwWP 1.50

Phone conferences with clients; site visits with
clients; analyze gas data; analyze City damage
to client’s property from excavation as City
replacement soil possibly contained road salts,
methane; conferences with City Attorney’s
office about same; inspect site with City offi-
cials; review documents obtained from City

08/05/85 WWP 0.60 467.50
08/13/85 WwWP 1.00
08/20/85 WwWP 1.00
08/21/85 WwWP 0.50
08/25/85 WwWP 0.60
08/30/85 wwPpP 1.80

Phone conferences with clients; phone confer-
ences with State officials; review City/State
assurances of discontinuance; read statutes and
regulations regulating landfill operation

09/03/85 WWP 2.00 2,864.50
09/11/85 WwWP 1.50
09/12/85 WwWwP 1.50
09/13/85 WWP 1.20
09/17/85 WWP 1.50

31

09/19/85 WwWP 0.50
09/23/85 WWP 1.00
09/24/85 WWP 4.00
09/25/85 WWP 6.00
09/26/85 WwWP 1.00
09/27/85 WWP 4.50
09/30/85 WwWP 9.00

In-depth review of statutes and regulations
focusing on infraction of Federal and State
enforcement programs; review documentation
indicating disposal of hazardous waste in land-
fill; conferences with clients on methane gas
problems; phone conferences with State officials
on enforcement efforts; outline possible claims
against City; analyze City’s possible defenses;
review Law Review articles and EPA policy
statements on landfill regulations; phone confer-
ences with environmental lawyers to obtain
“second opinions” on merits of lawsuit; review
State’s lack of enforcement pattern and whether
this provided City a defense; analyze whether
State should be made co-defendant; plan further
document investigation and interviews with for-
mer City employees; organize photograph his-
torical search; organize map search

10/06/85 WwWP 4.00 2,040.00
10/07/85 WwWwP 4.00

10/08/85 WwWP 10.00

10/09/85 WwWwpP 1.00

10/10/85 WwWP 3.00

10/11/85 WwWP 2.00

Outline, draft, edit revise Complaint, Motion for
Preliminary Injunction, Memorandum in Sup-
port of Motion; organize supporting documenta-
tion; conferences with clients; organize expert

32

search through UVM, Vermont Law School and
Environmental Defense Fund; further analysis
of State inaction and impact on this lawsuit;
read numerous cases on CERCLA, RCRA and
CWA; analyze merits of suing generators as well
as City; review technical data gathered at land-
fill by City; prepare for preliminary injunction
hearing by reviewing pleadings, documents,
conferences with witnesses, listing exhibits, out-
lining witness, testimony, reviewing statutory
standards, etc.

TOTAL 97.10 $8,253.50

DOWNS RACHLIN & MARTIN, PROF. CORP
9 PROSPECT STREET
POST OFFICE BOX 99
ST. JOHNSBURY, VT 05819-0099

October 30, 1989

MRS. ERNEST DAGUE
BURLINGTON, VT 05401

FILE NUMBER: 2369001
INVOICE NUMBER: 1
FOR THE PERIOD THROUGH October 30, 1989

DAGUE V. CITY OF BURLINGTON

Sample Entry -
Date: Atty: Hours: Amount:
Description of Services:

04-05-85 MJC 1.30 45.50
INTERVIEW CLIENTS REGARDING CLAIMS
AGAINST CITY OF BURLINGTON.

33

04-09-85 MJC 4.20 147.00
REVIEW FILE; INTERVIEW ERNIE DAGUE, JR.
REGARDING DAMAGES AND CLAIMS
AGAINST CITY; INTERVIEW STEVE GOOD-
KIND REGARDING PAST AND FUTURE
OPERATION OF LANDFILL; COPY GOOD-
KIND FILE; FACT INVESTIGATION AT
STREET DEPARTMENT REGARDING PLANS
TO EXCAVATE FOR SEWER PIPE; STATUS
REPORT TO ATTORNEY PEARSON REGARD-
ING INTERVIEWS AND FACT INVESTIGA-
TION; ORGANIZE FILE.

04-10-85 MJC 2.70 94.50
SITE INSPECTION OF LANDFILL; INTERVIEW
WITH JIM OGDEN AND BRIAN OSBOURNE
OF THE BURLINGTON STREET DEPART-
MENT; CONFERENCE WITH CLIENTS
REGARDING LITIGATION AGAINST CITY;
MEMORANDUM TO ATTORNEY PEARSON
REGARDING STATE HAZARDOUS MATE-
RIALS AND SOLID WASTE REGULATIONS;
DRAFT MEDICAL RELEASES FOR CLIENTS
RESEARCH TO GET LITERATURE ON OTHER
TOXIC WASTE LAWSUITS.

04-11-85 MJC 4.40 154.00
REVIEW LANDFILL NEWS ARTICLES; PHO-
TOGRAPH DAGUE PROPERTY BEFORE EXCA-
VATION; CONFERENCE WITH CLIENTS
REGARDING RETAINER AGREEMENTS.

04-12-85 MJC 2.50 87.50
CONFERENCE WITH CLIENTS REGARDING
REVISED RETAINER AGREEMENTS; PICK UP
CITY ATTORNEY’S LETTER REGARDING
INDEMNIFICATION FOR EXCAVATION OF
DAGUE PROPERTY.

34

04-15-85 PHO 0.50 27.50
ANALYZE MUNICIPAL LIABILITY ISSUES
AND REVIEW CASELAW REGARDING SAME;
ANALYZE CONVEYANCING ISSUES.

04-15-85 MJC 3.00 105.00
PROPERTY INSPECTION OF CITY EXCAVA-
TION FOR SEWER PIPE; DRAFT MEMORAN-
DUM REGARDING PRINCIPALS IN CASE.

04-16-85 MJC 7.50 262.50
PROPERTY INSPECTION DURING INITIAL
SEARCH FOR SEWER PIPE; PHOTOGRAPH
SAME; CONFERENCE WITH CLIENTS AND
STREET DEPARTMENT PERSONNEL
REGARDING METHANE PROBLEM; REPORT
TO ATTORNEY PEARSON REGARDING
SAME.

04-17-85 MJC 7.50 262.50
PROPERTY INSPECTION DURING RENEWED
EXCAVATION FOR SEWER PIPE; PHOTO-
GRAPH SAME; CONFERENCE WITH STREET
DEPARTMENT OFFICIALS AND CLIENTS
REGARDING SAME

04-18-85 MJC 5.50 192.50
CONTINUED PROPERTY INSPECTION DUR-
ING EXCAVATION OF CLIENTS’ LAND;
ADDITIONAL PHOTOGRAPHING; CONFER-
ENCE WITH STREET DEPARTMENT PERSON-
NEL AND CLIENTS REGARDING SAME.

04-19-85 MJC 5.80 203.00
FURTHER PROPERTY INSPECTION AND
PHOTOGRAPH SAME; CONFERENCE WITH
ATTORNEY PEARSON REGARDING METH-
ANE LEVELS ON DAGUE PROPERTY;
DEVELOP TEST FORM FOR CLIENT USE.

35

04-22-85 MJC 5.30 185.50
DEVELOP FORMS FOR GAS WELL MONITOR-
ING; FILL IN ALL TEST DATA; SITE INSPEC-
TION OF CITY WORK ON SEWER
EXCAVATION; CONFERENCE WITH JON-
ATHAN LEOPOLD REGARDING ACTION BY
BURLINGTON FINANCE BOARD; SEARCH
TITLE TO DAGUE PROPERTY; CONFERENCE
WITH BURLINGTON ASSESSOR’S OFFICE
REGARDING NORTH BOUNDARY LINE OF
DAGUE PROPERTY; MEMORANDUM ON
DAGUE PROPERTY LINES.

04-23-85 MJC 0.40 14.00
REVIEW LATEST METHANE TEST RESULTS
AND ENTER INTO COMPUTER LISTING.

04-24-85 MJC 0.30 10.50
REVIEW PHOTOGRAPHS OF SEWER EXCAVA-
TION

04-24-85 JDS 0.50 17.50
SET UP COMPUTER TO LOG GAS WELL
READINGS.

04-29-85 MJC 1.00 35.00
FACT INVESTIGATION AT CITY HALL
REGARDING FINANCE BOARD ACTION

05-02-85 MJC 2.00 70.00
SITE INSPECTION OF LANDFILL DURING
EXCAVATION FOR HAZARDOUS WASTES;
CONFERENCE WITH CLIENTS AND POLICE
REGARDING SEARCH; PLAN FURTHER
INVESTIGATION; TELEPHONE CONFERENCE
WITH LEGAL ASSISTANT LARRY HARVEY
REGARDING SEARCH FOR BARRELS OF
HAZARDOUS WASTE.

36

05-02-85 GLH 4.00 140 Lo
INVESTIGATION INTO CIRCUMSTANCES
SURROUNDING EXCAVATION OF CITY
LANDFILL NEAR MR. DAGUE’S PROPERTY.

05-02-85 JDS 2.00 70.00
COMPLETE INPUT OF GAS WELL READINGS;
DRAFT PRINTOUT -OF FIGURES AND
GRAPHS OF BASEMENT, CHIMNEY AND
WELL #5 READINGS.

05-03-85 MJC 1.80 63.00
CONFERENCE WITH ATTORNEY PEARSON
AND CLIENTS REGARDING CLAIMS
AGAINST CITY AND CITY’S LIABILITY FOR
DAMAGES TO DAGUE PROPERTY; PHOTO- -
GRAPH RECENT EXCAVATION AND RESTO-
RATION OF LAWN.

05-03-85 GLH 1.00 35.00
MEMORANDUM TO FILE REGARDING EXCA-
VATION AT CITY’S LANDFIleL

05-06-85 MJC 1.60 56.00
REVIEW NOTES; DRAFT MEMORANDUM
REGARDING SITE INSPECTION DURING
EXCAVATION FOR SEWER PIPE; ADD NEW
GAS WELL READINGS TO COMPUTER LIST.

05-07-85 MJC 0.80 28.00
RESEARCH NEWS ARTICLES REGARDING
LANDFILL INVESTIGATION; FILE SAME;
DRAFT LETTER TO CITY ATTORNEY
GRETCHEN BAILEY REGARDING INFORMAL
DISCOVERY.

05-07-85 JDS 0.20 7.00
ANALYZE FUTURE USES OF DATABASE
ESTABLISHED TO EVALUATE GAS READ-
INGS.

37

05-09-85 MJC 0.50 17.50
PLAN FOR FURTHER INVESTIGATION AND

DISCOVERY; REVISE LETTER TO CITY ATTOR-
NEY.

05-13-85 MJC 0.30 10.50
RECORD NEWS BROADCAST REGARDING
WITNESS TO HAZARDOUS WASTE DUMPING
AT LANDFILL; CONFERENCE WITH ATTOR-
NEY PEARSON REGARDING SAME AND
FURTHER INVESTIGATION.

05-14-85 MJC 0.20 7.00
REVIEW TRANSCRIPT OF NEWS STORY ON
HAZARDOUS WASTE AND LANDFILL.

05-15-85 MJC 2.00 70.00
REVIEW AND ANALYZE HAZARDOUS
WASTE ISSUES; TELEPHONE CONFERENCE
WITH ERNIE DAGUE, JR. REGARDING STA-
TUS OF GAS WELL MONITORING AND DIS-
COVERY FROM CITY; MEMORANDUM TO
ATTORNEY PEARSON REGARDING SAME;
COPY DEEDS; TELEPHONE CONFERENCE
WITH ERNIE DAGUE, JR. REGARDING OWN-
ERSHIP AND LOCATION OF PROPERTY;
MEMORANDUM TO ATTORNEY PEARSON
REGARDING SAME.

05-22-85 WwWwP 0.50 42.50
STATUS CONFERENCE WITH CLIENTS.

05-24-85 MJC 1.00 35.00
ENTER DATA FROM GAS WELL TEST
RESULTS INTO COMPUTER FORM; REVIEW
GOODKIND LETTER TO CLIENT REGARDING
TEST RESULTS FROM DEEP WELL.

38

05-29-85 MJC 0.80 28.00
REVIEW GRAPHS OF GAS WELL TEST
RESULT AMD [sic] ROUTE TO ATTORNEY
PEARSON; DRAFT LETTER TO CLIENTS
REGARDING STATUS OF CASE.

05-29-85 JDS 1.50 52.50
ADD BASEMENT, CHIMNEY AND WELL
READINGS TAKEN BETWEEN 4-22-85 AND
5-21-85 TO EXISTING DATABASE; PRINTOUT
REVISED LIST OF READINGS; PRINTOUT
GRAPHS OF GAS WELL READING TRENDS
FOR BASEMENT, CHIMNEY AND WELL 45.

06-03-85 MJC 0.30 10.50
REVISE STATUS REPORT TO CLIENTS.
06-10-85 MJC 2.70 94.50

TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH ERNIE
DAGUE, JR. AND ATTORNEY GRETCHEN
BAILEY REGARDING STATUS OF CITY’S
REPLACEMENT OF CLIENTS’ LAWN; TELE-
PHONE CONFERENCE WITH LANDSCAPING
FIRMS REGARDING FEASIBILITY OF SOD-
DING AND USE; CONFERENCE WITH CLI-
ENTS REGARDING SAME.

06-11-85 MJC 0.50 17.50
ANALYZE POSSIBLE SOLUTIONS TO GRASS-
GROWING PROBLEM FOR CLIENTS.

06-13-85 MJC 0.60 21.00
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH ATTOR-
NEY GRETCHEN BAILEY REGARDING CITY’S
DECISION ON CLIENTS’ LAWN; TELEPHONE
CONFERENCE WITH BETTY DAGUE.

06-14-85 MJC 1.00 35.00
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH ATTOR-
NEY GRETCHEN BAILEY REGARDING CITY’S

39

DECISION ON CLIENTS’ LAWN; MEMORAN-
DUM TO ATTORNEY PEARSON REGARDING
SAME.

07-02-85 WWP 0.30 25.50
ANALYZE DAMAGES TO CLIENTS’ PROP-
ERTY.

07-02-85 MJC 1.20 48.00

TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH ERNIE
DAGUE, JR. REGARDING RESTORATION OF
LAWN, AND OTHER DEMANDS TO CITY;
MEMORANDUM REGARDING SAME TO
ATTORNEY PEARSON; TELEPHONE CONFER-
ENCE WITH ATTORNEY GRETCHEN BAILEY
TO SCHEDULE INSPECTION OF DAGUE
PREMISES.

07-09-85 MJC 1.00 40.00
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH ATTOR-
NEY BAILEY REGARDING INSPECTION OF
DAMAGE TO DAGUE LAWN; CONFERENCE
WITH AND MEMORANDUM TO ATTORNEY
PEARSON REGARDING SAME; TELEPHONE
CONFERENCE WITH ERNIE DAGUE, SR.
REGARDING SAME.

07-17-85 MJC 1.20 48.00
INSPECTION OF DAGUE PROPERTY WITH
ATTORNEY PEARSON, ATTORNEY
GRETCHEN BAILEY, SID BAKER, CITY
ARBORIST, AND DAGUES; CONFERENCE
WITH CLIENTS REGARDING CLAIMS
AGAINST CITY AND POSSIBLE SETTLEMENT.

07-18-85 MJC 1.60 64.00
LETTER TO CLIENTS REGARDING GAS WELL
TEST RESULTS; PHOTOGRAPH PRESENT
STATE OF PROPERTY.

40

08-05-85 MJC 0.30 12.00
CONFERENCE WITH ATTORNEY PEARSON
REGARDING FURTHER INVESTIGATION -
AND STRATEGY.

08-07-85 MJC 1.00 40.00
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH STEVE
GOODKIND REGARDING DOCUMENTS
AVAILABLE ON OPERATION AND MAINTE-
NANCE OF BURLINGTON LANDFILL; TELE-
PHONE CONFERENCE WITH ATTORNEY
BAILEY REGARDING RESPONSES TO INFOR-
MAL DISCOVERY REQUESTS; TELEPHONE
CONFERENCE WITH JIM OLSEN REGARDING
REPORT OF SOIL TESTING; TELEPHONE
CONFERENCE WITH VAEC REGARDING
DOCUMENTS ON BURLINGTON LANDFILL.

08-08-85 MJC 1.00 40.00
COLLECT NEWS ARTICLE ON LANDFILL;
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH ERNIE
DAGUE, SR. REGARDING DUST FROM LAND-
FILL; TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH
STEVE GOODKIND REGARDING SAME; CON-
FERENCE WITH ATTORNEY PEARSON
REGARDING SAME AND DEVELOPMENT OF
COMPLAINT; TELEPHONE CONFERENCE
WITH VERMONT SOLID WASTE DEPART-

MENT REGARDING DOCUMENTS ON LAND-
FILL.

08-12-85 MJC 7.00 280.00
REVIEW AND REORGANIZE FILE; SEARCH
BURLINGTON DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
AND SAFETY FILES ON BURLINGTON LAND-
FILL; COPY IMPORTANT DOCUMENTS FROM
SAME; CONFERENCE WITH STEVE GOOD-
KIND REGARDING COMPLETENESS OF FILE;
VISIT LANDFILL SITE AND INSPECT

41

ASPHALT DEPOSITS; CONFERENCE WITH
CLIENTS REGARDING PAST AND PRESENT
DEALINGS WITH THE CITY.

08-13-85 MJC 3.50 140.00
RESEARCH STATE SOLID WASTE FILES ON
BURLINGTON LANDFILL; CONFERENCE
WITH JULIE HACKBARTH REGARDING HIS-
TORY AND FUTURE OPERATION OF BUR-
LINGTON LANDFILL; COPY DOCUMENTS
FROM STATE FILES; CONFERENCE WITH
ATTORNEY PEARSON REGARDING SAME.

08-14-85 MJC 0.50 20.00
ORGANIZE DOCUMENTS RECEIVED FROM
AEC AND CITY.

08-15-85 MJC 1.50 60.00
REVIEW DAGUE GAS WELL READINGS AND
TABULATE FOR COMPUTER PROGRAM;
REVIEW DOCUMENTS BETWEEN CITY AND
STATE REGARDING OPERATION OF LAND-
FILL; MEMORANDA TO ATTORNEY PEAR-
SON REGARDING FACT INVESTIGATION
AND HISTORY OF BURLINGTON LANDFILL.

08-20-85 MJC 0.70 28.00
REVIEW MEMORANDA TO ATTORNEY PEAR-
SON REGARDING LANDFILL AND PRO-
GRESS OF INVESTIGATION; PROCESSING
PHOTOS OF LAWN TAKEN ON 8@15@85.

08-21-85 MJC 0.50 20.00
CONFERENCE WITH ATTORNEY PEARSON
REGARDING PLAN FOR FURTHER INVESTI-
GATION.

08-26-85 MJC 7.50 300.00
REVIEW AEC FILES; COPY DOCUMENTS;
CONFERENCE WITH RUTH EINSTEIN

42

REGARDING HAZARDOUS WASTE NOTI-
FICATION FORMS FILED BY GENERATORS
AND POSSIBLE HAZARDOUS WASTE DUMP-
ING AT BURLINGTON LANDFILL.

08-27-85 MJC 3.50 140.00
ORGANIZE FILE; REVIEW DOCUMENTS;
CONFERENCE WITH ATTORNEY PEARSON
REGARDING NEWLY DISCOVERED EVI-
DENCE OF IMPROPER OPERATION OF BUR-
LINGTON LANDFILL; TELEPHONE
CONFERENCE WITH CLIENTS REGARDING
PROGRESS OF INVESTIGATION.

08-28-85 MJC 0.30 12.00
CONFERENCE WITH ATTORNEY PEARSON
REGARDING PREPARATION OF FACTUAL
SUMMARY AS BASIS FOR LEGAL ACTION.

08-29-85 RNB 4.10 184.50
CONFERENCE WITH ATTORNEY PEARSON
REGARDING LEGAL THEORIES TO PURSUE
AGAINST CITY AND-OR STATE; REVIEW
MEMORANDUM FROM RUTH EINSTEIN,
CHRONOLOGY OF LANDFILL VIOLATIONS,
AND ARTICLE ON LIABILITY FOR CLEANUP
OF HAZARDOUS WASTE DISPOSAL SITES;
LEGAL RESEARCH UNDER FEDERAL WATER
POLLUTION CONTROL ACT, RESOURCE
CONSERVATION AND RECOVERY ACT, AND
GROUNDWATER PROTECTION UNDER FED-
ERAL AND VERMONT LAW.

08-29-85 MJC 1.50 60.00
CONFERENCE WITH ATTORNEY PEARSON
REGARDING FACTS FOR COMPREHENSIVE
COMPLAINT; REVIEW FILE FOR THAT PUR-
POSE; REVIEW GAS WELL GRAPHS.

43

8-29-85 JDS 2.50 87.50
PRINT-OUT AND REVIEW GAS READINGS IN
WELL NOS. 6 THROUGH 22.

08-30-85 RNB 6.20 279.00
LEGAL RESEARCH UNDER FEDERAL CLEAN
WATER ACT, RESOURCE CONSERVATION
AND RECOVERY ACT AND COMMON LAW
THEORIES FOR ENVIRONMENTAL HARM.

08-30-85 MJC 0.50 20.00
ANALYZE EPA INVOLVEMENT WITH BUR-
LINGTON LANDFILL OPERATION AND CER-
TIFICATION.

08-31-85 RNB 3.00 135.00
CONTINUE LEGAL RESEARCH UNDER FED-
ERAL ENVIRONMENTAL STATUTES AND
VERMONT LAW.

09-03-85 RNB 1.30 58.50
CONFERENCE WITH ATTORNEY PEARSON
TO ANALYZE LEGAL THEORIES AND FAC-
TUAL INVESTIGATION.

09-03-85 MJC 7.60 304.00
CONFERENCE WITH ATTORNEY PEARSON
REGARDING STRATEGY AND DIVISION OF
LABOR TO PURSUE CLAIM AGAINST CITY;
TELEPHONE CONFERENCES WITH JAMES
OGDEN, JONATHAN LEOPOLD, AND ATTOR-
NEY JOSEPH MCNEIL REGARDING APPRO-
PRIATION OF $10 MILLION BOND ISSUE;
LETTER TO JONATHAN LEOPOLD AND
ATTORNEY MCNEIL.

09-05-85 MJC 6.50 260.00
REVIEW AEC FILES ON BURLINGTON LAND-
FILL; DRAFT OUTLINE OF VIOLATIONS OF

44

VERMONT WASTE MANAGEMENT REGULA-
TIONS.

09-06-85 MJC 0.40 16.00
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH ERNIE
DAGUE, JR. REGARDING LACK OF COVER
OVER GARBAGE AT BURLINGTON LAND-
FILL AND FUTURE PLANS FOR LEGAL
ACTION AGAINST CITY REGARDING LAND-
FILL.

09-08-85 MJC 1.80 72.00
PHOTOGRAPH BURLINGTON LANDFILL TO
SHOW STATUS OF COVERING OPERATION
AND PROXIMITY TO POND AND WILDLIFE;
INSPECTION OF LANDFILL.

09-10-85 RNB 3.60 162.00
THOROUGH REVIEW AND ANALYSIS OF
FACTS AND LEGAL RESEARCH COMPLETED
TO DATE.

09-10-85 MJC 5.20 208.00
CONFERENCE WITH ATTORNEY PEARSON
REGARDING FURTHER WORK TO BE DONE;
REVIEW VAEC FILE ON BURLINGTON LAND-
FILL AND OUTLINE SAME.

09-11-85 WwWP 1.50 127.50
REVIEW LAW REVIEW ARTICLES AND CASES
ON RCRA.

09-11-85 — RNB 5.40 243.00
LEGAL RESEARCH ON CASELAW UNDER
FEDERAL CLEAN WATER ACT AND
RESOURCE CONSERVATION AND RECOVERY
ACT, AND SOVEREIGN IMMUNITY CASES;
REVIEW BURLINGTON’S APPLICATION FOR
CERTIFICATION OF LANDFILL; REVIEW

45

REPORT ON RESOURCE RECOVERY FACIL-
ITY.

09-11-85 MJC 7.20 288.00
REVIEW FILE; CORRELATE FACTUAL INVES-
TIGATION WITH LEGAL RESEARCH IN PREP-
ARATION FOR DRAFTING COMPLAINT;
CONFERENCE WITH STEVEN GOODKIND;
REVIEW STREET DEPARTMENT FILES AND
COPY DOCUMENTS; CONFERENCE WITH
CITY CLERK AND COPY DOCUMENTS; CON-
FERENCE WITH JIM OGDEN; REVIEW
AMENDMENTS.

09-12-85 RNB 4.50 202.50
BEGIN DRAFTING MEMORANDUM OUTLIN-
ING LEGAL THEORIES TO PURSUE; REVIEW
AND ANALYZE ASSURANCES OF DISCONTI-
NUANCE AND HEALTH DEPARTMENT'S
FILE REGARDING LANDFILL.

09-12-85 MJC 6.20 248.00
REVIEW FILE; CONFERENCE WITH ATTOR-
NEY PEARSON REGARDING LEACHATE
TEST RESULTS NEEDED IN PREPARATION
FOR DRAFTING COMPLAINT; REVIEW BUR-
LINGTON HEALTH AND SAFETY FILE AND
COPY SAME; REVIEW ASSURANCES OF DIS-
CONTINU ANCE AND OUTLINE VIOLATIONS
BY CITY OF BURLINGTON.

09-13-85 RNB 5.50 247.50
DRAFT MEMORANDUM ON PRIMARY JURIS-
DICTION AND SOVEREIGN IMMUNITY;
CONTINUE REVIEW OF FACT DOCUMENTS.

09-13-85 MJC 0.50 20.00
CONFERENCE WITH ATTORNEY PEARSON
REGARDING ORGANIZATION OF FILES.

46

09-16-85 MJC 4.00 160.00
ORGANIZE FILE; COPY REPORTS RECEIVED
FROM VAEC AND RETURN SAME; ORGA-
NIZE VAEC MATERIALS.

09-17-85 RNB .50 22.50
CONFERENCE WITH ATTORNEY PEARSON
REGARDING FACT INVESTIGATION AND
LEGAL THEORIES.

09-17-85 MJC 6.00 240.00
REVIEW TOXIC WASTE FILE FROM AEC AND
DRAFT LIST OF CHEMICALS DUMPED IN
BURLINGTON LANDFILL; REVIEW CITY OF
BURLINGTON FILES FOR COPY OF FIRST
ASSURANCE OF DISCONTINUANCE; CON-
FERENCE WITH STEVE GOODKIND REGARD-
ING SAME.

09-18-85 MJC 3.50 140.00
REVIEW AEC FILE ON BURLINGTON LAND-
FILL; COPY DOCUMENTS.

09-19-85 WWP 50 42.50
READ UVM BOTANY STUDENT’S PAPER ON
LANDFILL.

09-19-85 MJC 1.00 40.00

ORGANIZE DOCUMENTS RECEIVED FROM
VAEC; TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH
VERMONT MAPPING AGENCY; LETTER TO
SAME REGARDING ORTHOPHOTOS OF BUR-
LINGTON LANDFILL TO LOCATE POINT
SOURCES.

09-23-85 MJC 1.00 40.00
CONFERENCE WITH ATTORNEY PEARSON
REGARDING BACKGROUND FOR DRAFTING
COMPLAINT AND MOTION FOR PRELIMI-
NARY INJUNCTION.

47

09-23-85 GLH 0.30 10.50
REVIEW CITY OF BURLINGTON AND STATE
OF VERMONT REPORTS ON WATER SAM-
Pi 2S TAKEN AT DESIGNATED AREAS
AROUND LANDFILL OVER THE PAST FEW
YEARS AND COMPARE RESULTS WITH THE
FEDERAL STANDARDS.

09-24-85 RNB 9.70 436.50
LEGAL RESEARCH ON RCRA’S HAZARDOUS
WASTE MANAGEMENT PROVISIONS AND
REGULATIONS ON “OPEN DUMPING” OF
SOLID WASTES; LEGAL RESEARCH ON VER-
MONT’S WASTE MANAGEMENT ACT; BEGIN
DRAFTING COMPLAINT; FURTHER ANAL-
YSIS OF RCRA REGULATIONS.

09-24-85 MJC 4.20 168.00
DRAFT LETTER TO STATE FOR ORTHO-
PHOTO MAPS TO BE USED AS TRIAL
EXHIBITS; REVIEW ASSURANCES OF DIS-
CONTINUANCE AND DRAFT MEMORAN-
DUM OUTLINING VIOLATIONS OF
ASSURANCE BY CITY OF BURLINGTON;
DEVELOP FACTUAL ALLEGATIONS FOR
COMPLAINT. . 5

09-25-85 RNB 8.60 387.00
CONTINUE LEGAL RESEARCH AND ANAL-
YSIS OF RCRA REQUIREMENTS AND REGU-
LATIONS; CONFERENCE WITH ATTORNEY
PEARSON REGARDING COMPLAINT AND
DEFENSES THERETO; OUTLINE CITY’S VIO-
LATIONS OF ASSURANCES OF DISCONTI-
NUANCE.

48

09-25-85 MJC 6.50 260.00

CONTINUE TO OUTLINE CITY’S VIOLATIONS
OF ASSURANCES; REVIEW FILE TO DOCU-
MENT SAME; PREPARE EXHIBITS FOR USE AS
COMPLAINT ATTACHMENTS OR FOR WIT-
NESS EXAMINATIONS; CONFERENCE WITH
ATTORNEY PEARSON REGARDING OVER-
ALL STRATEGY AND DIRECTION OF COM-
PLAINT AND FACTUAL ALLEGATIONS.

09-25-85 GLH 2.00 70.00
IDENTIFY AND LOCATE CITY OF BUR-
LINGTON STREET DEPARTMENT EMPLOYEE
WHO OPERATED HEAVY EQUIPMENT AT
THE CITY LANDFILL.

09-26-85 WwWP 1.00 85.00
ANALYZE FACTUAL ALLEGATIONS OF COM-
PLAINT AND REVIEW EXHIBITS; TELE-
PHONE CONFERENCE WITH MR. PURCELL.

09-26-85 RNB 9.80 441.00
DRAFT FACT SECTIONS OF COMPLAINT
AND COMPILE SUPPORTING DOCUMENTA-
TION; ANALYZE PLEADING IN ALTERNA-
TIVE UNDER RCRA BASED ON HYBRID
STATUS OF LANDFILL.

09-26-85 MJC 8.50 340.00
ASSIST IN DRAFTING COMPLAINT; REVIEW
FILE AND VERIFY ALL FACTUAL ALLEGA-
TIONS; REVIEW FEDERAL RCRA REQUIRE-
MENTS AS APPLIED TO BURLINGTON
LANDFILL; CONFERENCE WITH ATTORNEY
PEARSON REGARDING ALTERNATIVE ALLE-
GATIONS BASED ON REGULATORY STATUS
OF BURLINGTON LANDFILL.

49

09-27-85 RNB 6.70 301.50
CONTINUE DRAFTING FACT SECTIONS OF
COMPLAINT.

09-27-85 MJC 5.50 220.00
REVIEW FILE; SUBSTANTIATE FACTUAL
ALLEGATIONS OF COMPLAINT; DRAFT
MEMORANDUM REGARDING REGULATORY
VIOLATIONS BY CITY; DRAFT LIST OF CITY’S
VIOLATIONS OF ASSURANCES FOR ALLEGA-
TIONS IN COMPLAINT.

09-29-85 RNB 6.90 310.50
FINISH DRAFTING AND SUBSTANTIATING
FACT SECTIONS OF COMPLAINT.

09-29-85 MJC 5.80 232.00
ANALYZE FACTUAL HISTORY OF BUR-
LINGTON LANDFILL AND ADMISSIONS OF
LIABILITY BY CITY AND STATE; REVIEW
AND ORGANIZE LANDFILL WATER WELL
TEST RESULTS; DRAFT LIST OF EPA CON-
TAMINANTS FOUND IN LANDFILL TEST
RESULTS.

09-30-85 RNB 10.40 468.00
DRAFT COUNT I-RCRA VIOLATIONS AND
COUNT II-CLEAN WATER ACT VIOLATIONS
OF COMPLAINT.

09-30-85 MJC 9.00 360.00
REVIEW SCIENTIFIC STUDIES PERFORMED
ON BURLINGTON LANDFILL; REVISE LIST
OF “TOXIC POLLUTANTS” IN LEACHATE
GENERATED BY BURLINGTON LANDFILL;
REVIEW FEDERAL REGULATIONS FOR VIO-
LATIONS BY CITY REGARDING LANDFILL
MANAGEMENT; ASSIST IN DRAFTING FAC-
TUAL ALLEGATIONS OF COMPLAINT; CON-
FERENCE WITH ATTORNEY PEARSON

50

REGARDING OVERALL DIRECTION OF LAW-
SUIT.

10-01-85 RNB 10.40 468.00
DRAFT COUNTS III - VII OF THE COM-
PLAINT AND REVISE SAME.

10-01-85 MJC 6.00 240.00
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH TOM
MOREAU OF BURLINGTON WATER DEPART-
MENT REGARDING APPOINTMENT TO
REVIEW LANDFILL FILES AT WATER
DEPARTMENT; CONFERENCE WITH TOM
MOREAU; REVIEW OF WATER DEPARTMENT
FILE.

10-02-85 RNB 11.10 499.50
REVISE COMPLAINT; CONFERENCE WITH
ATTORNEY PEARSON TO ANALYZE RCRA
AND CWA PROVISIONS AND REGULATIONS.

10-02-85 MJC 7.80 312.00
ASSIST IN DRAFTING COMPLAINT; REVIEW
OF FEDERAL REGULATIONS AND STATUTES
AND APPLICATION OF FACTS TO LAW; CON-
FERENCE WITH ATTORNEY PEARSON
REGARDING SAME.

10-03-85 RNB 8.60 387.00
DRAFT FURTHER REVISIONS TO COM-
PLAINT.

10-03-85 MJC 4.00 160.00
COMPILE SUPPORTING DOCUMENTATION
FOR FACTUAL ALLEGATIONS COMPLAINT;
REVIEW FEDERAL AND STATE REGULA-
TIONS AND STATUTES.

10-06-85 RNB 4.30 193.50
CONTINUE TO REVISE COMPLAINT,
INCLUDING SECTIONS ON PLAINTIFFS’

51

INJURIES AND COUNT VIII ON UNCOMPEN-
SATED TAKING; CONFERENCE WITH ATTOR-
NEY PEARSON REGARDING SAME.

10-07-85 RNB 7.50 337.50
IDENTIFY AND ANALYZE CLEAN WATER
ACT STANDARDS FOR PLAINTIFFS’ MEM-
ORANDUM FOR PRELIMINARY INJUNC-
TION; REVIEW SUPPORTING
MEMORANDUM FOR PRELIMINARY
INJUNCTION; REVISE SECTIONS OF COM-
PLAINT, CONFERENCE WITH ATTORNEY
PEARSON REGARDING COMPLAINT AND
SUPPORTING MEMORANDUM FOR PRELIMI-
NARY INJUNCTION.

10-07-85 MJC 3.50 140.00
REVISE EXHIBIT A TO COMPLAINT; REVIEW
ASSURANCES OF DISCONTINUANCE TO
DOCUMENT VIOLATIONS BY CITY; TELE-
PHONE CONFERENCE WITH CLIENTS
REGARDING FILING OF LAWSUIT.

10-08-85 RNB 8.50 382.50
REVIEW COMPLAINT WITH ERNEST DAGUE,
SR. AND ERNEST DAGUE, JR.; REVISE SEC-
TIONS OF PLAINTIFFS’ MEMORANDUM IN
SUPPORT OF A PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION;
PROOFREAD COMPLAINT.

10-08-85 MJC 5.20 208.00
CONFERENCE WITH ATTORNEY BLAND
REGARDING PLAN FOR COMPLETION OF
COMPLAINT AND ASSOCIATED DOCU-
MENTS; TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH
EPA AND U.S. ATTORNEY GENERAL'S
OFFICE IN WASHINGTON, D.C. REGARDING
SERVICE OF PROCESS REQUIRED BY FED-
ERAL STATUTE; TELEPHONE CONFERENCE

10/09/85

52

WITH CONSERVATION LAW FOUNDATION
REGARDING SAME AND THEORIES APPLI-
CABLE TO DAGUE CASE; PREPARATION FOR
FILING OF COMPLAINT.

FILE COMPLAINT AND DELIVER TO ATTOR-
NEYS BAILEY AND MCNEIL; TELEPHONE
CONFERENCE WITH ATTORNEY MCNEIL TO
VERIFY ACCEPTANCE OF SERVICE; DRAFT
LETTER REGARDING SERVICE BY MAIL TO
EPA AND U.S. ATTORNEY GENERAL; ORGA-
NIZE FILE IN PREPARATION FOR FURTHER
WORK ON CASE.

10/10/85 RNB 0.90 40.50

PREPARATION FOR PRELIMINARY INJUNC-
TION HEARING.

10/11/85 RNB 6.20 279.00

LEGAL RESEARCH ON “POINT SOURCES”
UNDER THE CLEAN WATER ACT; LEGAL
RESEARCH ON “SUBSTANTIAL AND IMMI-
NENT ENDANGERMENT” STANDARD IN
ENVIRONMENTAL STATUTES; LEGAL
RESEARCH ON WETLAND PROTECTION;
CONFERENCE WITH ATTORNEY PEARSON
REGARDING FURTHER ANALYSIS OF POSSI-
BLE DEFENSES UNDER RCRA AND CWA.

10/11/85 MJC 2.50 100.00

PREPARATION FOR HEARING ON MOTION
FOR PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION.

10/14/85 WWP 3.50 297.50

INTERVIEW MR. BISSETTE [sic]; DRAFT
RETAINER AGREEMENT; READ NOTIFICA-
TION REGULATIONS; IDENTIFY EXPERTS
FOR AFFIDAVITS; REVIEW COMPLAINT FOR
FACTUAL BASIS.

MJC 4.50 180.00

53

10/14/85 RNB 7.20 324.00

LEGAL RESEARCH ON CASELAW AND COM-
MENTARY UNDER RCRA AND CWA; INTER-
VIEW WITH DONALD R. BESSETTE
REGARDING HIS MOTHER JOINING LAW-
SUIT; CONFERENCE WITH ATTORNEY PEAR-
SON REGARDING NEED FOR METHANE GAS
EXPERT AND EXPERT ON ENDANGERMENT
PRESENTED BY LANDFILL.

10/14/85 MJC 5.30 212.00

PREPARE PACKAGE OF INFORMATIONAL
MATERIALS FOR POTENTIAL EXPERTS;
ARRANGE FOR COPYING OF SAME; REVIEW
ALDERMEN’S AGENDA FOR POSSIBLE PUB-
LIC MEETING ON LANDFILL LAWSUIT; CON-
FERENCE ATTORNEY PEARSON IN
PREPARATION FOR PRELIMINARY INJUNC-
TION HEARING; DRAFT INDEX TO EXPERT
MATERIALS; CONFERENCE WITH MR.
BESSETTE REGARDING NUISANCE AND
METHANE GAS CLAIMS AND POSSIBILITY
OF HIS MOTHER JOINING LAWSUIT AS
PLAINTIFF.

10/15/85 WWP 4.20 357.00

TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH DR. FIRE-
STONE, DR. REED, AND DR. ROEBUCK;
REVIEW TOXICOLOGY MATERIAL; REVIEW
FEDERAL RCRA REGULATIONS ON OPEN
DUMPING.

10/15/85 RNB 6.20 279.00

LEGAL RESEARCH OF CASELAW AND LEG-
ISLATIVE HISTORY OF RCRA AND CWA FOR
PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION HEARING;
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH THOMAS
MARTIN OF EPA, REGION V. REGARDING

EXPERT TO LOOK AT DATA AND TESTIFY AS

54

TO HAZARD PRESENTED TO PUBLIC
HEALTH AND THE ENVIRONMENT; FUR-
THER PREPARATION FOR HEARING.

10/15/85 MJjC 0.80 32.00
REVIEW PHOTOS OF LANDFILL SITE AND
FILE; CONFERENCE WITH ATTORNEY PEAR-
SON REGARDING ORGANIZATION OF FILE
IN PREPARATION FOR HEARING AND FUR-
THER INVESTIGATION IN PREPARATION
FOR HEARING.

10/15/85 WWB 0.50 15.00
LEGAL RESEARCH OF CASES AND LEGISLA-
TIVE HISTORY UNDER RCRA AND CWA.

10/16/85 WWP 1.50 127.50
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH POTEN-
TIAL EXPERTS, DRS. FIRESTONE AND REED;
REVIEW LISTS OF HAZARDOUS WASTES.

10/16/85 RNB 3.70 166.50
LEGAL RESEARCH ON REQUIREMENT OF
SECURITY FOR THE ISSUANCE OF A PRELIM-
INARY INJUNCTION; ANALYZE INVESTIGA-
TIVE FINDINGS AT BESSETTE RESIDENCE;
LEGAL RESEARCH OF LEGISLATIVE HISTO-
RIES OF “HAZARDOUS AND SOLID WASTE
AMENDMENTS OF 1984” AND “SOLID
WASTE DISPOSAL ACT.”

10/16/85 MJC 4.00 160.00
INTERVIEW DON AND ROSE BESSETTE AT
MRS. BESSETTE’S HOME; INVESTIGATION OF
METHANE GAS MIGRATION THERE; COM-
PILE AND SEND EXPERT MATERIALS TO
EXPERTS.

10/17/85 RNB 4.20 ——- 189.00
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH DR.
ROEBUCK OF DARTMOUGH [sic] MEDICAL

55

SCHOOL REGARDING REVIEW OF DATA TO
TESTIFY TO DETERMINE THAT LANDFILL
MAY PRESENT A SUBSTANTIAL AND IMMI-
NENT HAZARD TO THE PUBLIC HEALTH OR
THE ENVIRONMENT; FURTHER RESEARCH
OF CASELAW UNDER RCRA AND CWA.

10/18/85 WwWP 5.50 467.50
REVIEW FACT DOCUMENTS AND AMENDED
PLEADINGS.

10/18/85 RNB 6.30 283.50
LEGAL RESEARCH ON LEGISLATIVE HISTO-
RIES OF RCRA AND CWA; DRAFT MOTION
AND ORDER TO ADD A PARTY PLAINTIFF
AND FILE AN AMENDED COMPLAINT;
DRAFT AMENDED COMPLAINT; CONFER-
ENCE WITH ATTORNEY PEARSON REGARD-
ING MEETING WITH JULIE HACKBARDTH
[sic].

10/18/85 MJC 1.00 40.00
CONFERENCE WITH DON BESSETTE AND
LOUIS BESSETTE.

10/18/85 GLH 2.50 87.50
INTERVIEWS OF PROPERTY OWNERS ADJA-
CANT TO THE CITY LANDFILL.

10/21/85 WwwPp 5.50 467.50
CONFERENCE WITH CLIENTS; DRAFT AFFI-
DAVITS; RESEARCH OPEN DUMPING REGU-
LATIONS UNDER RCRA AND COMPARE
WITH AVAILABLE EVIDENCE.

10/21/85 RNB 2.40 108.00
PREPARE FOR CONFERENCE WITH DAGUES
ABOUT STATUS OF CASE AND ADDING
ROSE A. BESSETTE AS A PARTY PLAINTIFF;
LEGAL RESEARCH ON REGULATION OF
METHANE GAS UNDER RCRA; LEGAL

56

RESEARCH ON GROUNDWATER PROTEC-
TION UNDER RCRA.

10/21/85 MJC 2.20 88.00
CONFERENCE WITH ATTORNEY PEARSON
REGARDING ADDING ROSE BESSETTE AS
PARTY PLAINTIFF TO LAWSUIT; CONFER-
ENCE WITH DAGUES REGARDING SAME.

10/22/85 WwwpP 5.50 467.50
READ AND RESPOND TO MOTION TO CON-
TINUE; TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH
COURT; REVISE OPPOSING MEMORANDUM;
LEGAL RESEARCH ON PRELIMINARY
INJUNCTION GROUNDS.

10/22/85 RBL 2.50 150.00
PREPARATION FOR HEARING ON MOTION
FOR PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION; LEGAL
RESEARCH REGARDING MOTION TO JOIN
AND MOTION TO AMEND COMPLAINT.

10/22/85 RNB 7.30 328.50
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH DR. WIL-
LIAM ROEBUCK OF DARTMOUTH MEDICAL
SCHOOL REGARDING HIS REVIEW OF
EXPERT MATERIALS; TELEPHONE CONFER-
ENCE WITH PROFESSOR REED OF VERMONT
LAW SCHOOL REGARDING HIS REVIEW OF
THE EXPERT DATA; PREPARATION FOR PRE-
LIMINARY INJUNCTION HEARING AND
ANALYZE MOTION TO CONTINUE HEARING
FOR PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION; DRAFT
OPPOSING MEMORANDUM.

10/22/85 MJC 3.00 120.00
INTERVIEW WITH TIM LYMAN, SITE VIEW-
ING AND PHOTOS.

57

10/23/85 wwp 5.50 467.50
WORK ON HERMANCE AFFIDAVIT; TWO
TELEPHONE CONFERENCES WITH DR. HER-
MANCE; READ METHANE GAS REPORTS;
REVIEW OTHER AFFIDAVITS; FURTHER
RESEARCH ON PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION
STANDARDS; DELIVER DOCUMENTS TO
HERMANCE.

10/23/85 RBL 4.00 240.00
LEGAL RESEARCH IN RESPONSE TO
MOTION TO CONTINUE HEARING FOR PRE-
LIMINARY INJUNCTION; COMPREHENSIVE
REVISION TO MEMORANDUM IN OPPOSI-
TION; EDIT FINAL DRAFT OF MOTION TO
JOIN AND AMEND COMPLAINT.

10/23/85 RNB 8.70 391.50
DRAFT AFFIDAVITS IN SUPPORT OF MOTION
FOR PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION; REVISE OF
MEMORANDUM IN OPPOSITION TO
MOTION TO CONTINUE HEARING; TELE-
PHONE CONFERENCE WITH CHRIS FASTIE,
GRADUATE STUDENT OF DEPARTMENT OF
BOTANY AT UVM REGARDING HIS AFFI-

DAVIT AND THE UVM HYDROGEOLOGIC
STUDY.

10/23/85 MJC 4.20 168.00
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH RUTH
EINSTEIN AND JULIE HACKBARTH REGARD-
ING TESTIMONY AT PRELIMINARY INJUNC-
TION HEARING; DRAFT DAGUE AFFIDAVIT
AND TWO CASE AFFIDAVITS; ORGANIZE
FILE IN PREPARATION FOR PRELIMINARY
INJUNCTION HEARING; PREPARE INFOR-
MATION PACKAGE FOR EXPERTS.

58

10/24/85 wwpP 3.00 255.00
PREPARATION AND FILING OF AFFIDAVITS;
TELEPHONE CONFERENCES WITH EXPERTS;
TELEPHONE CONFERENCES WITH MS.
SMITH; CONFERENCE WITH CLIENTS; PRE-
PARE FOR HEARING.

10/24/85 RBL 3.00 180.00
DRAFT ADDITIONAL LANGUAGE TO SUP-
PLEMENT MEMORANDUM IN OPPOSITION
TO MOTION TO CONTINUE; DRAFT MEM-
ORANDUM ON PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION
STANDARDS.

10/24/85 RNB 9.20 414.00
INTERVIEW DR. CLARKE HERMANCE, PRO-
FESSOR OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING AT
UVM, REGARDING HIS REVIEW OF DOCU-
MENTS PERTAINING TO THE MIGRATION OF
METHANE GAS FROM THE BURLINGTON
LANDFILL; REVISE DR. HERMANCE’S AFFI-
DAVIT IN SUPPORT OF MOTION FOR PRE-
LIMINARY INJUNCTION; PREPARATION FOR
HEARING ON PLAINTIFFS’ MOTION FOR
PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION; TELEPHONE
CONFERENCE WITH DR. WILLIAM
ROEBUCK, PROFESSOR OF TOXICOLOGY AT
THE DARTMOUTH MEDICAL SCHOOL; TELE-
PHONE CONFERENCE WITH DR. FRANK
REED AT THE VERMONT LAW SCHOOL.

10/24/85 MJC 8.60 344.00
PREPARATION FOR PRELIMINARY INJUNC-
TION HEARING; DRAFT AND REVISE CASE
AFFIDAVITS AND ADD ATTACHMENTS;
DRAFT AND REVISE DAGUE AFFIDAVIT
AND ADD ATTACHMENTS; ORGANIZE FILE;
CONFERENCE WITH ATTORNEY PEARSON

59

REGARDING EVIDENCE; ARRANGE EXECU-
TION OF AFFIDAVITS.

10/24/85 GLH 4.00 140.00
REVIEW AND ORGANIZE REPORTS FROM
LOCAL, STATE AND FEDERAL GOVERN-
MENTS AND FROM GENERATORS; PREPARE
SUPPORTING AFFIDAVITS WITH ATTACH-
MENTS AND FILE MOTION AND DOCU-
MENTS WITH THE U.S. DISTRICT COURT;
CONFERENCE WITH MR. CHRIS FASTIE
REGARDING HIS RESEARCH PROJECT AT
THE BURLINGTON LANDFILL AND HIS
AFFIDAVIT.

10/25/85 Wwwp 4.00 340.00
PREPARE FOR HEARING ON MOTION FOR
PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION.

10/25/85 RNB 7.60 342.00
DRAFT AFFIDAVIT OF DR. FRANK REED;
PREPARATION FOR HEARING ON PRELIMI-
NARY INJUNCTION; TELEPHONE CONFER-
ENCES WITH JULIE HACKBARDTH [sic] AND
RUTH EINSTEIN REGARDING THEIR TESTI-
MONY AT PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION
HEARING; INTERVIEW DR. FRANK REED,
PROFESSOR OF ECOLOGY AT THE ENVIRON-
MENTAL LAW CENTER AT THE VERMONT
LAW SCHOOL.

10/25/85 MJC 4.50 180.00
MEETING WITH CLIENTS TO SIGN AFFI-
DAVITS FOR PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION
HEARING; INSPECT BESSETTE PROPERTY:
TEST BASEMENT, YARD AND BANK HOLES
FOR PRESENCE OF METHANE GAS. .

10/25/85 GLH 1.00 35.00

SET UP CAMERA EQUIPMENT; CONFERENCE
WITH DR. FRANK REED.

60

10/26/85 WwWP 2.00 170.00
PREPARE FOR PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION
HEARING.

10/26/85 RNB 2.20 99.00
FURTHER LEGAL RESEARCH ON NOTICE
AND OTHER PROCEDURAL REQUIREMENTS
FOR CITIZEN SUITS BROUGHT UNDER RCRA
AND THE CLEAN WATER ACT.

10/26/85 MJC 1.00 40.00
INSPECT BURLINGTON LANDFILL SITE FOR
POINT SOURCES OF LEACHATE MIGRATION;
OBSERVE WILDLIFE IN INTERVALE.

10/27/85 WwP 12.00 1,020.00
PREPARATION FOR TOMORROW’S PRELIMI-
NARY INJUNCTION HEARING.

10/27/85 RNB 11.20 504.00
PREPARATION FOR PRELIMINARY INJUC-
TION [SIC] HEARING; DRAFT JURISDIC-
TIONAL BASES AND ARGUMENTS FOR
EACH COUNT FOR TRIAL NOTEBOOK; TELE-
PHONE CONFERENCE WITH CHRIS FASTIE
REGARDING HIS TESTIMONY AT HEARING.

10/27/85 MJC 10.50 420.00
PREPARATION FOR PRELIMINARY INJUNC-
TION HEARING; REVIEW EVIDENCE AND
EXPERT OPINIONS; DRAFT SUBPOENAS FOR
CITY EMPLOYEES; STATUS MEMORANDUM
REGARDING CONTAMINATION FOUND IN
LEACHATE WELLS; ORGANIZE FILE FOR USE
IN HEARING; COPY EXHIBITS TO BE
ENTERED IN EVIDENCE; SERVICE OF SUB-
POENA ON MOREAU; ATTEMPTS TO SERVE
SUBPOENA ON GOODKIND.

61

10/28/85 WwwpP 10.00 850.00
PREPARE FOR AND REPRESENT CLIENTS AT
PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION HEARING IN
FEDERAL COURT.

10/28/85 RNB 7.40 333.00
PREPARATION FOR AND ASSIST AT HEAR-
ING ON PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION.

10/28/85 MJC 7.50 300.00
PREPARATION FOR AND ATTENDANCE AT
HEARING; SERVICE OF SUBPOENAS ON
GOODKIND, OGDEN, EINSTEIN, AND HACK-
BARTH; CONFERENCE WITH EINSTEIN AND
HACKBARTH REGARDING REGULATION OF
LANDFILL.

10/29/85 WwwpP 2.00 170.00
OUTLINE PEARSON AFFIDAVIT; TELEPHONE

CONFERENCES WITH CLIENTS; PLAN DIS-
COVERY.

10/29/85 RNB 1.20 54.00
LEGAL RESEARCH ON CLEAN WATER ACT
CASES INVOLVING DISCHARGES OF POLLU-
TANTS INTO A NAVIGABLE WATERWAY
FROM A POINT SOURCE WITHOUT A NPDES
PERMIT AND ON RCRA CASES INVOLVING
ADMINISTRATIVE ACTION TO ABATE SUB-
STANTIAL AND IMMINENT HAZARDS;
PLAN DISCOVERY

10/30/85 Wwwp 2.00 170.00
OUTLINE INTERVIEW; TELEPHONE CONFER-
ENCES WITH CLIENTS; TELEPHONE CON-
FERENCE WITH CITY ATTORNEY OFFICE;
OUTLINE STRATEGY FOR HEARING ON
NINTH.

62

10/30/85 RNB 3.40 153.00
ANALYZE AFFIDAVIT OF COMPLIANCE
WITH NOTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS AND
RESPONSE TO MOTION TO DISMISS; JOINT
MEMORANDUM ON TESTIMONY GIVEN AT
10-28 HEARING; BEGIN DRAFTING MEM-
ORANDUM IN OPPOSITION TO MOTION TO
DISMISS; REVIEW CASELAW ON NOTICE
UNDER RCRA AND CWA; REVIEW FIRST
PART OF PLAINTIFFS’ INTERROGATORIES.

10/31/85 Wwwp 0.40 34.00
REVIEW INTERROGATORIES AND REQUESTS
TO PRODUCE.

10/31/85 RNB 1.20 54.00
REVIEW AND REVISE INTERROGATORIES
AND REQUESTS TO PRODUCE; REVISE MEM-
ORANDUM IN OPPOSITION TO MOTION TO
DISMISS; TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH
LIBRARIAN AT VERMONT LAW SCHOOL
REGARDING NOTE ON CITIZEN SUITS.

10/31/85 MJC 10.50 420.00
CONFERENCE WITH ATTORNEY PEARSON
REGARDING FURTHER WORK IN PREPARA-
TION FOR 12@10@85 COURT HEARING;
ARRANGE FOR COPYING OF HEARING
EXHIBITS; DRAFT ADDTIONAL [SIC] INTER-
ROGATORIES AND REQUESTS TO PRODUCE;
DRAFT MEMORANDUM REGARDING TESTI-
MONY HEARD ON 10®28@85 HEARING;
REVISE INTERROGATORIES AND REQUESTS
TO PRODUCE TO CITY; REVISE MEMORAN-
DUM REGARDING WITNESS TESTIMONY AT
10®@28@85 HEARING; ORGANIZE FILE FOR
FUTURE USE.

63

11/01/85 WWP 2.40 204.00
REVIEW INTERROGATORIES AND REQUESTS

TO PRODUCE; PLAN FURTHER INVESTIGA-
TION AND DISCOVERY.

11/01/85 RNB 1.30 58.50
PLAN DEPOSITIONS OF DEFENDANT'S WIT-
NESSES AND GENERATORS OF HAZARDOUS
WASTES; REVIEW AND ANALYZE DOCU-
MENTS PERTAINING TO GENERATORS
WHICH DISPOSED OF HAZARDOUS WASTES
IN THE BURLINGTON LANDFILL.

11/01/85 MJC 0.80 32.00
REVIEW PHOTOS FOR USE AT CONTINUED

PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION HEARING AND-
OR TRIAL.

11/04/85 WwWP 1.50 127.50
EDIT SUBPOENAS AND NOTICES OF DEPOSI-
TION; TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH CLI-
ENT; TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH CITY
ATTORNEY OFFICE; REVIEW AND ANALYZE
ANSWERS TO INTERROGATORIES AND
REQUESTS TO PRODUCE.

11/04/85 RNB 1.00 45.00
CONFERENCE WITH ATTORNEY PEARSON
REGARDING SCHEDULING OF DEPOSI-
TIONS; LEGAL RESEARCH ON “REASON-
ABLE NOTICE” REQUIREMENT OF RULE

30(B)(1) OF THE F.R.CIV.P.; REVIEW SUB-
POENAS.

11/04/85 MJC 3.00 120.00
PREPARE SUBPOENAS, NOTICES OF DEPOSI-
TIONS, AND CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE FOR
DEPOSITIONS OF HAZARDOUS WASTE GEN-
ERATORS® DISPOSERS; REVISE WITNESS
AFFIDAVITS; REVISE TELEPHONE CONTACT
LIST FOR FILE; TELEPHONE CONFERENCE

64

WITH ATTORNEY SHEAHAN REGARDING
MALFUNCTION OF DAGUE GAS METER.

11/05/85 WwWwP 2.80 238.00
REVISE MOTION TO DISMISS; EDIT PLAIN-
TIFFS’ INTERROGATORIES AND REQUESTS
TO PRODUCE; FURTHER REVIEW OF CITY’S
RESPONSES TO DISCOVERY REQUESTS.

11/05/85 RNB 1.20 54.00
PLAN DISCOVERY; REVIEW WITNESS AFFI-
DAVITS, SUBPOENAS AND NOTICES OF
DEPOSITIONS; REVIEW SUPPLEMENTAL
NOTICE LETTER; REVIEW ATTORNEY PEAR-
SON’S AFFIDAVIT; FURTHER ANALYSIS OF
PLAINTIFFS’ INTERROGATORIES AND
REQUESTS TO PRODUCE AN MEMORAN-
DUM IN OPPOSITION TO MOTION TO DIS-
MISS; ANALYZE BOARD OF ALDERMEN
APPROPRIATION ON 11-4; REVIEW AND
ANALYZE ANSWER.

11/05/85 MJC 8.30 332.00

REVIEW AND REVISE DEPOSITION SUB-
POENAS TO HAZARDOUS WASTE GENERA-
TORS; REVIEW AND REVISE NOTICES OF
DEPOSITIONS; DRAFT ENCLOSURE LETTERS;
ARRANGE FOR COPYING OF ATTACHMENTS
~TO DOCUMENTS TO BE FILED WITH COURT;
ARRANGE FOR SERVICE OF SUBPOENAS;
SERVE SUBPOENAS ON THREE GENERA-
TORS; CONFERENCE WITH EACH GENERA-
TOR REGARDING DEPOSITIONS TO BE
TAKEN.

11/05/85 GLH 2.00 70.00
SERVE SUBPOENAS ON THE WHITING CO.
AND HAGAR HARDWARE CO.

65

11/06/85 wwp 2.80 238.00
PLAN FURTHER INVESTIGATION AND DIS-
COVERY; REVIEW PLEADINGS; LETTER TO
MESSRS. THOMAS, SANDERS AND WILSON.

11/06/85 RNB 13.30 598.50
DRAFT AND REVISE PLAINTIFFS’ INTER-
ROGATORIES AND REQUESTS TO PRODUCE;
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH MR. DILL
OF E.B. & A.C. WHITING COMPANY

REGARDING RESCHEDULING OF HIS DEPO-
SITION.

11/06/85 MJC 6.50 260.00
WORK ON INTERROGATORIES AND
REQUESTS TO PRODUCE TO CITY BASED ON
PLEADINGS AND EXTENSIVE REVIEW OF
FACT RESEARCH IN FILE.

11/07/85 WwwpP 2.00 170.00
RESEARCH EPA ENFORCEMENT POLICY
AND JOINT AND SEVERAL LIABILITY
UNDER RCRA; OFFICE CONFERENCE ON

INTERROGATORIES, DEPOSITIONS AND
MOTIONS.

11/07/85 RNB 3.40 153.00
REVIEW NOTE ON CITIZEN SUITS; DRAFT
ADDITIONAL REQUESTS TO PRODUCE;
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH ATTOR-
NEY MIKE SHINE REGARDING SCHEDULING
MR. DILL’S DEPOSITION; LEGAL RESEARCH
ON EVASIVE RESPONSES TO COMPLAINT;
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH ATTOR-
NEY BOB HEMLEY REGARDING
RESCHEDULING DEPOSITION OF G.E.
EMPLOYEE.

66

11/07/85 MJC 6.40 256.00
ORGANIZE FILE; REVISE INTERROGATORIES
AND REQUESTS TO PRODUCE; FILE DISCOV-
ERY DOCUMENTS WITH COURT AND OPPO-
SITE COUNSEL; TELEPHONE CONFERENCE
WITH ATTORNEYS PEARSON AND BLAND
REGARDING SERVICE OF DEPOSITION SUB-
POENAS; REVISE TELEPHONE LIST TO
INCLUDE GENERATORS’ ATTORNEYS.

11/08/85 WWP 2.00 170.00
CONTINUE LEGAL RESEARCH ON
ENFORCEMENT POLICY; TELEPHONE CON-
FERENCE WITH MR. HEMLEY; TELEPHONE
CONFERENCE WITH MR. SHIEN’S OFFICE.

11/08/85 RBL 0.50 30.00
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH MR.
DAGUE REGARDING CITY EMPLOYEE’S
VISIT AT HIS HOME TODAY WITHOUT
ADVANCE NOTICE TO US OR TO MR. —
DAGUE.

11/08/85 MJC 6.10 244.00
DRAFT RESPONSES TO REQUESTS TO PRO-
DUCE; EXTENSIVE REVIEW OF FILE FOR
RESPONSIVE DOCUMENTS.

11/11/85 WwWP 3.20 272.00
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH MR.
HEMLEY; PLAN DEPOSITIONS; TELEPHONE
CONFERENCE WITH MR. PERRY’S OFFICE;
ORGANIZE DEPOSITION EXHIBITS; TELE-
PHONE CONFERENCE WITH MR. SCHIEN;
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH MR. HILL;
REVIEW GENERATOR RECORDS.

11/12/85 WwWP 3.50 297.50
REVIEW AND EDIT ANSWERS TO INTER-
ROGATORIES; TELEPHONE CONFERENCE
WITH OPPOSING ATTORNEYS REGARDING

67

DEPOSITIONS; TELEPHONE CONFERENCE
WITH CLIENT; TELEPHONE CONFERENCE
WITH DEFENDANT; TELEPHONE CONFER-
ENCE WITH MR. HEMLEY.

11/12/85 RNB 0.80 36.00
REVIEW PLAINTIFFS’ RESPONSES TO INTER-
ROGATORIES AND REQUESTS TO PRODUCE;
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH RUTH
EINSTEIN REGARDING THE FACTS AND
OPINIONS TO WHICH SHE IS EXPECTED TO
TESTIFY AT HEARING ON 12-9-85; TELE-
PHONE CONFERENCE WITH THOMAS MAR-

TIN OF EPA, REGION V, REGARDING
EXPERTS.

11/13/85 Wwwp 5.50 467.50
PREPARE FOR AND TAKE DEPOSITIONS OF
GOODKIND AND MOREAU; TELEPHONE
CONFERENCES WITH CITY ATTORNEY;
TELEPHONE CONFERENCES WITH CLIENT.

11/13/85 RNB 3.80 171.00
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH DONALD
BESSETTE REGARDING EXECUTION OF
PLAINTIFFS’ RESPONSES TO INTERROGATO-
RIES AND REQUESTS TO PRODUCE; ATTEND
DEPOSITIONS OF THOMAS MOREAU AND

~ STEVEN GOODKIND.

11/13/85 MJC 6.50 260.00
REVIEW AND REVISE RESPONSES TO INTER-
ROGATORIES AND REQUESTS TO PRODUCE;
ARRANGE FOR COPYING OF ATTACHMENTS
TO SAME; DELIVERY TO CLIBNTS FOR SIG-
NATURES; CONFERENCE WITH CLIENTS
REGARDING RESPONSES TO DISCOVERY
REQUESTS.

68

11/14/85 WwWP 4.50 382.50
PREPARE FOR AND DEPOSE JAMES ROBEAR
OF BLODGETT CO.; TELEPHONE CONFER-
ENCE WITH MR. HAGAR; PREPARATION FOR
TOMORROW’S DEPOSITIONS; CONFERENCE
WITH MR. CLAPP. ‘

11/14/85 RNB 2.60 117.00
REVIEW STATUS OF CASE; PREPARATION
FOR AND ATTEND DEPOSITION OF JAMES
ROBEAR OF THE G.S. BLODGETT COMPANY,
INC.

14/85 MJC 3.60 144.00
es ORGANIZE. FILE; DELIVERY OF RESPONSES

TO INTERROGATORIES AND REQUESTS TO

PRODUCE TO MR. BESSETTE FOR SIGNA-

TURE; ASSIST IN PREPARATION FOR AND

ATTEND DEPOSITION OF BLODGETT REPRE-

SENTATIVE.

11/15/85 WWP 3.50 297.50
DEPOSE REPRESENTATIVE OF EDLUND
CORP; CONFERENCE WITH MR. HAGAR;
DEPOSITION OF REPRESENTATIVE OF
WHITING CO; REVIEW HEMLEY LETTER;
PREPARATION FOR DEPOSITIONS.

11/15/85 RNB 6.10 274.50
PREPARATION FOR DEPOSITIONS OF GEN-
ERATORS HAGAR HARDEWARE [SIC] AND
PAINT, CO., THE EDLUND COMPANY, AND
THE E.B. & A.C. WHITING CO.; ATTEND
DEPOSITION OF LARRY BARTLETT OF THE
EDLUND COMPANY; DEPOSE ROBERT DILL
OF THE E.B. & A.C. WHITING CO.

~ 11/15/85 MJC 2.50 100.00
PREPARATION FOR AND ATTEND DEPOSI-
TIONS OF HAZARDOUS WASTE GENERA-
TORS; TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH

69

ERNIE DAGUE, JR. REGARDING TRASH IN
YARD, ARRANGEMENTS FOR INSTALLA-
TION OF METER AND TESTING FOR GAS IN
HOUSE; ORGANIZE DEPOSITION EXHIBITS.

11/18/85 WwPpP 1.00 85.00
PREPARATION FOR DEPOSITIONS OF G.E.,

DR. REED AND MR. PERRY; ARRANGE DIS-
COVERY SEQUENCE.

11/18/85 RNB 0.60 27.00
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH DR.
FRANK REED OF THE ENVIRONMENTAL
LAW CENTER, VERMONT LAW SCHOOL,
REGARDING SCHEDULING OF HIS DEPOSI-
TION, TESTIMONY LIKELY TO BE ELICITED
AT HIS DEPOSITION, AND INFORMATION
NEEDED TO PREPARE FOR HIS DEPOSITION;
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH LEONARD
PERRY, STATE OF VERMONT HOR.
TICULTURALIST, REGARDING FACTS OF
CASE AND HIS EXPERTISE AND HIS AVAIL-
ABILITY TO BE A WITNESS.

11/18/85 MJC 1.00 40.00
FURTHER INVESTIGATION REGARDING
EDLUND CO. WASTE DISPOSAL; TELEPHONE
CONFERENCE WITH JOHN GILLIGAN,
FORMERLY OF EDLUND, REGARDING SAME:
MEMORANDUM TO FILE REGARDING
INTERVIEW WITH GILLIGAN.

11/19/85 Wwwp 0.30 25.50
REVIEW DEPOSITION SCHEDULE.
11/19/85 MJC 0.30 12.00

REVIEW INFORMATION TO BE SENT TO
EXPERTS.

70

11/20/85 MJC 0.30 12.00
ANALYZE NEED FOR SITE VISIT BY
LEONARD PERRY.

11/21/85 MJC 3.50 140.00
CIRCULATE COPIES OF DEPOSITION
EXHIBITS TO OPPOSITE COUNSEL AND
COUNSEL FOR DEPONENTS; LETTERS AND
COPYING BILLS TO SAME; ORGANIZE FILE;
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH LEONARD
PERRY REGARDING SITE INSPECTION; SEND
EXPERT INFORMATION TO DR. REED.

11/22/85 Wwwp 1.00 85.00
REVIEW DEPOSITION SCHEDULE; PREPARA-
TION FOR CONFERENCES WITH PROF.
PERRY AND PROF. REED; TELEPHONE CON-
FERENCE WITH CLIENT.

11/25/85 WwwpP 2.80 238.00
PREPARE FOR TOMORROW'S DEPOSITION;
TWO TELEPHONE CONFERENCES WITH MR.
HEMLEY; THREE TELEPHONE CONFER-
ENCES WITH COURT; OFFICE CONFERENCE
ON PROTECTIVE ORDER.

11/25/85 RNB 1.00 45.00
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH ATTOR-
NEY BOB HEMLEY, COUNSEL FOR GENERAL
ELECTRIC, REGARDING PROTECTIVE ORDER
TO PREVENT DISCLOSURE OF TESTIMONY
AND CONTENTS OF DOCUMENTS TO ANY-
ONE OTHER THAN COUNSEL PRESENT AT
DEPOSITION; CONFERENCE WITH DR.
LEONARD PERRY REGARDING HIS INVESTI-
GATION OF LANDFILL SITE AND HIS CON-
CLUSIONS ON THE EFFECTS OF METHANE
GAS ON TREES, SHRUBS AND VEGETATION;
STATUS REVIEW OF CASE AND PLAN FUR-
THER INVESTIGATION AND DISCOVERY.

71

11/25/85 MJC 2.50 100.00
DISCUSS INTERROGATORIES WITH LEO
PERRY, HORTICULTURAL EXPERT: VISIT

LANDFILL; REVIEW DOCUMENTS WITH
PERRY; ANALYZE PERRY’S OPINIONS.

11/26/85 WwWwWwPpP 8.00 680.00
REVIEW DOCUMENTS AND PROTECTIVE
ORDER; PREPARATION FOR AND TAKE
DEPOSITION OF G.E. REPRESENTATIVE; TWO

TELEPHONE CONFERENCES W
Ln ITH DR.

11/26/85 RNB 6.70 301.50
PREPARATION FOR AND ATTEND DEPOSI. —
TION OF DONALD STEWART OF G.E.: TELE.
PHONE CONFERENCE WITH DR. FRANK
REED OF VERMONT LAW SCHOOL REGARD.
ING HIS DEPOSITION.

11/26/85 MJC 2.60 104.00
PREPARATION FOR DEPOSITION OF GE. _
REPRESENTATIVE; ATTEND DEPOSITION

WITH NOTES TO FILE; PREPARE DE
EXHIBITS. —

11/27/85 | WWP 3.50 297.50
PREPARE FOR AND ATTEND DEPOSITION OF |
PROF. REED; READ AND ANALYZE CITY'S
ANSWERS TO INTERROGATORIES: PLAN
RESPONSE AND OVERALL STRATEGY

11/27/85 RNB 6.30 283.50
PREPARATION FOR AND ATTEND DEPOSI. _
TION OF DR. FRANK REED: REVIEW AND
ANALYZE DEFENDANT'S RESPONSES TO
PLAINTIFFS’ INTERROGATORIES: PREPARA.

TION FOR PRELIMINARY INJUN
HEARING. —

72

48.00
11/27/85 MJC 1.20
PREPARATION FOR DEPOSITION OF DR.
FRANK REED; PROVIDE DOCUMENTS TO
DR. REED.

20.00
12/01/85 MJC 0.50

PREPARATION FOR 12-9-85 HEARING.
12/02/85 wwpe 9.20 782.00

NALYZE METHANE GAS PROBLEM; CON-
FERENCE WITH CLIENTS; TELEPHONE CON-
FERENCE WITH MS. SHEHAN; PREPARE FOR
HEARING AND DEPOSITIONS; REVIEW
MOREAU BOOKS; DEPOSITION OF MR.
MOREAU; TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH
CLIENT; TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH
MR. MCNEIL; READ MOTION TO JOIN AND -
THIRD PARTY COMPLAINT.

RNB -8.50 382.50

ee PREPARATION FOR PRELIMINARY fNJUNC-
TION HEARING; CONFERENCE WITH ERNIE
AND BETTY DAGUE REGARDING GAS
METER READINGS AND STATUS OF CASE;
COMPILATION OF STATUTORY, REGULA-
TORY AND LEGISLATIVE HISTORY MATE-
RIALS ON OPEN DUMPING PROHIBITION OF
RCRA; ORGANIZE GE DEPOSITION
EXHIBITS; COMPILE NOTES OF DEPOSITION
TESTIMONY; COMPILE AND ORGANIZE
CASELAW.

M 6.20 248.00
I puarenaaant FOR 12-9-85 HEARING; TRIP
TO DAGUES TO. OVERSEE GAS TESTING;
TRIP TO BURLINGTON WATER DEPARTMENT
FOR MOREAU LANDFILL RECORDS; PLAN
FURTHER INVESTIGATION.

73

12/03/85 wwp 6.00 510.00
PREPARE FOR GOODKIND DEPOSITION;

TAKE SAME; REVIEW GOODKIND DOCU-
MENTS.

12/03/85 RNB 9.20 414.00

PREPARATION FOR HEARING; DRAFT LIST
OF HAZARDOUS WASTES DISPOSED OF IN
BURLINGTON LANDFILL ACCORDING TO
DEPOSITION EXHIBITS AND TESTIMONY;
PREPARATION FOR AND ATTEND GOOD.-
KIND DEPOSITION; BEGIN DRAFTING PRO-
POSED FINDINGS OF FACT.

12/03/85 MJC 6.80 272.00
ORGANIZE WORK TO BE DONE; ATTEND
GOODKIND DEPOSITION. TELEPHONE CON.-
FERENCE WITH COURT REPORTERS; REVIEW
FACTUAL BASIS OF LEGAL CLAIMS.

12/04/85 wwp 1.50 127.50
TELEPHONE CONFERENCES WITH DR.
REED; ORGANIZE REED DOCUMENTS;

REVIEW REED AFFIDAVIT: TELEPHONE
CONFERENCE WITH CLIENT

12/04/85 RNB 9.40 423.00
FINISH DRAFTING PROPOSED FINDINGS OF
FACT (WITH SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS),
DRAFT PROPOSED CONCLUSIONS OF LAW;
REVIEW AND ANALYZE PROPOSED FIND-
INGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW.

12/04/85 MJC 0.40 16.00
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH ERNIE
DAGUE, JR. REGARDING GAS READINGS IN
HOUSE; MEMORANDUM TO ATTORNEY
PEARSON REGARDING SAME.

74

12/05/85 WwwpP 7.50 637.50
REVIEW SCOPE OF REED DEPOSITION WITH
DR. REED; PREPARE MOTION AND MEM-
ORANDUM FOR SANCTIONS; PREPARE FOR
MONDAY’S HEARING.

12/05/85 RNB 9.30 418.50
CONFERENCE WITH DR. FRANK REED IN
PREPARATION FOR HIS DEPOSITION;
ATTEND SAME; PREPARATION FOR HEAR-
ING.

12/05/85 MJC 4.50 180.00
ASSIST PREPARATION FOR DR. REED DEPO-
SITION; CONFERENCE WITH DR. REED
REGARDING SAME.

12/06/85 WwWwpP 8.00 680.00
REVIEW SIGNED INTERROGATORIES,
MOTION FOR SANCTIONS; PREPARE FOR
MONDAY’S HEARING; TELEPHONE CON-
FERENCES WITH ATTORNEY CLAPP; TELE-
PHONE CONFERENCE WITH DR. REED:
OFFICE CONFERENCE WITH COURT REPOR-
TER; OUTLINE FINDINGS OF FACT; REVIEW
OGDEN DOCUMENTS.

12/06/85 RNB 8.30 373.50
EXTENSIVE PREPARATION FOR HEARING
ON PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION.

12/06/85 MJC 3.00 120.00
REVIEW GOODKIND FILES; COPY NEW DOC.
UMENTS TO BE USED AT HEARING; CON-
FERENCE WITH ATTORNEY PEARSON
REGARDING WORK TO BE DONE.

12-07-85 RNB 5.30 238.50
REVISE PROPOSED FINDINGS OF FACT; THO-
ROUGH REVIEW OF DEPOSITION TRAN-
SCRIPTS AND EXHIBITS.

75

12-08-85 Wwwp 13.00 1,105.00
PREPARATION FOR PRELIMINARY INJUNC-
TION HEARING

12-08-85 RNB 11.20 504.00
PREPARATION FOR HEARING ON PRELIMI-
NARY INJUNCTION; DRAFT CHRONOLOGY
AND REVISE PARTIAL PROPOSED FINDINGS
OF FACT AND COMPILE DOCUMENTS
THEREFOR; REVIEW ITEMS TO BE OFFERED
INTO EVIDENCE AT THE HEARING.

12-08-85 MJC 13.00 520.00
PREPARATION FOR PRELIMINARY INJUNC-
TION HEARING; COPY EXHIBITS FOR PRO-
POSED FINDINGS OF FACT; ASSEMBLE
PACKAGE OF DOCUMENTS FOR FILING

WITH COURT; REVIEW AND ORGANIZE
FILE.

12-09-85 wwp 11.70 994.50
PREPARE FOR AND ATTEND HEARING; PRE-
PARE FOR AND TAKE COUNTRYMAN’S
DEPOSITION.

12-09-85 RNB 11.70 526.50
PREPARATION FOR HEARING; ATTEND AND
ASSIST AT SAME; PREPARATION FOR DEPO-
SITION OF WILLIAM COUNTRYMAN;
ATTEND AND ASSIST AT SAME.

12-09-85 MJC 10.60 424.00
PREPARATION FOR AND ATTEND PRELIMI-
NARY INJUNCTION HEARING; NOTETAK.
ING; ANALYZE WITNESS TESTIMONY.

12-09-85 GLH 1.20 42.00

ASSIST IN TRANSPORTING AND DELIVER.
ING FILES TO FEDERAL COURT FOR HEAR.
ING.

76

12-10-85 wwpe 10.00 850.00
PREPARATION FOR AND TAKE DEPOSITION
OF MR. HEINDEL.

12-10-85 RNB 8.40 378.00
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH DON
BESSETTE REGARDING STATUS OF CASE
AND HIS ATTENDANCE AT HEARING FOR
PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION; DRAFT ADDI-
TIONAL PROPOSED FINDINGS OF FACT;
OUTLINE DEPOSITION OF WILLIAM COUN.
TRYMAN AND TOPICS FOR CROSS EXAM-
INATION; PREPARATION FOR HEARING;
ATTEND AND ASSIST AT HEARING.

12-10-85 MjC 9.30 372.00
PREPARATION FOR AND ATTEND PRELIMI-
NARY INJUNCTION HEARING; CONFER.
ENCE WITH DR. FRANK REED AND ERNIE
DAGUE, JR. REGARDING WITNESS TESTI-
MONY; DRAFT STIPULATED DAGUE GAS
TEST RESULTS; EDIT PROPOSED FINDINGS
OF FACT; LIST NEW GOODKIND@®MOREAU
EXHIBITS; OUTLINE AREAS OF EXAMINA.
TION; LIST CHEMICALS FOUND IN WATER;
LIST ATTACHMENTS TO FINDINGS; REVIEW
GOODKIND®OGDEN FILES AND COPY DOC.
UMENTS FROM SAME.

12-11-85 wwpe 9.50 807.50
PREPARATION FOR AND ATTEND PRELIMI-
NARY INJUNCTION HEARING; PREPARE FOR
TOMORROW'S HEARING.

12-11-85 RBL 0.50 30.00
LEGAL RESEARCH REGARDING AUTHORITY
OF MAGISTRATE.

12-11-85 RNB 5.20 234.00
REVIEW GOODKIND DEPOSITION EXHIBITS
CONCERNING MIGRATION OF METHANE

77

FROM THE LANDFILL FOR USE AT THE
HEARING; ATTEND SAME.

12-11-85 = MIC 6.50 260.00
PREPARATION FOR PRELIMINARY INJUNC.
TION HEARING; ATTEND SAME AND TAKE
NOTES.

12-12-85 = WWP 9.00 765.00
PREPARATION FOR AND ATTEND HEARING:
PREPARE FOR TOMORROW'S HEARING.

12-12-85 RNB 7.40 333.00
DRAFT PRELIMINARY STATEMENT AND
FIRST ARGUMENT OF DISCUSSION IN SUP.
PLEMENTAL MEMORANDUM IN SUPPORT
OF PLAINTIFFS’ MOTION FOR PRELIMINARY
INJUNCTION; PREPARE FOR CROSS-EXAM.
INATION AND RE-DIRECT EXAMINATION
OF DR. FRANK REED.

12-12-85 = MYC 6.50 260.00
ATTENDANCE AND NOTETAKING AT PRE-
LIMINARY INJUNCTION HEARING.

12-12-85 GLH 1.00 35.00
LEGAL RESEARCH REGARDING PROCEDURE
FOR NOTICING DEPOSITIONS OF OUT-OF.
STATE WITNESSES.

12-13-85 = WwWP 9.00 765.00
PREPARATION FOR AND ATTEND HEARING.
12-13-85 = RNB 7.50 337.50

DRAFT PART OF SECOND ARGUMENT OF
DISCUSSION IN SUPPLEMENTAL MEM.
ORANDUM IN SUPPORT OF PLAINTIFFS’
MOTION FOR A PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION,
CONFERENCE WITH ATTORNEY PEARSON
REGARDING TESTIMONY GIVEN AT HEAR.

78

12-13-85 MjC 6.50 260.00
ATTEND AND NOTETAKING AT PRELIMI-
NARY INJUNCTION HEARING.

12-13-85 GLH 6.00 210.00
ASSIST IN TRANSPORTING FILES TO US.
DISTRICT COURT FOR HEARING; TELE-
PHONE CONFERENCES WITH MR. DOWD.
ELL, MR. CHAPPLE, MR. RATHE AND
CONTACT VICON REGARDING CURRENT
INTEREST IN ACCEPTING WASTE MATE-
RIALS FROM THE CITY OF BURLINGTON,
THE TIME NECESSARY TO ESTABLISH AND
PUT INTO OPERATION A SYSTEM TO HAN-
DLE THE WASTE MATERIALS AND THE
WASTE MANAGEMENT PRACTICES OF THE
BURLINGTON LANDFILL.

12-14-85 RNB 3.70 166.50
CONTINUE DRAFTING SECOND ARGUMENT
OF DISCUSSION IN SUPPLEMENTAL MEM.-
ORANDUM IN SUPPORT OF PLAINTIFFS’
MOTION FOR A PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION.

12-15-85 wwp 11.00 935.00
PREPARATION FOR TOMORROW'S HEAR.
INC, EDIT PROPOSED FINDINGS AND MEM.
ORANDUM; PREPARATION FOR
EXAMINATIONS OF COUNTRYMAN AND
STATE OFFICIAL; TELEPHONE CONFERENCE
WITH MR. LASH.

12-15-85 RNB 13.20 594.00
REVISE SUPPLEMENTAL MEMORANDUM IN
SUPPORT OF PLAINTIFFS’ MOTION FOR PRE-
LIMINARY INJUNCTION.

12-16-85 wwpe 9.00 765.00
PREPARATION FOR AND ATTEND HEARING.

\

79

12-16-85 = RNB 8.50 382.50
FINISH DRAFTING SECOND ARGUMENT
ND DRAFT FOURTH ARGUMENT OF Dis.
CUSSION IN SUPPLEMENTAL MEMORAN.
DUM IN SUPPORT OF PLAINTIFFS’ MOTION

CONDUCTED ON ENVIRONMENTAL IMPACT.

AND EXAMINATIONS OF STATE OFFICIA
AND COUNTRYMAN. =

12-16-85 = MJC 8.00 320.00
ATTEND AND NOTETAKING AT PRELIMI.
NARY INJUNCTION HEARING.

12-17-65 = WWP 5.60 476.00
ORGANIZE FILES FROM HEARING; OUTLINE
MEMORANDUM, ADDITIONAL PROPOSED

12-17-85 RNB 6.10 274.50
LEGAL RESEARCH ON “SUBSTANTIAL AND
IMMINENT” ENDANGERMENT STANDARD

PART OF ARUGMENT [sic] Ill IN DISCUSSIO!
SECTION OF SUPPLEMENTAL MEMORAN.
DUM IN SUPPORT OF PLAINTIFFS’ MOTION
FOR PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION

12-17-85 = MJC 2.00 80.00
SITE INSPECTION OF BURLINGTON LAND.
FILL; REPORT TO ATTORNEY PEARSON

80

REGARDING SAME; TELEPHONE CONFER-
ENCE WITH CARL PAGEL REGARDING PRE-
TREATMENT OF LEACHATE; ORGANIZE
WORK TO BE DONE; PLAN FURTHER INVES-
TIGATION.

12-18-85 wwp 7.50 637.50
EDIT FURTHER DRAFTS OF MEMORANDUM.

12-18-85 MJC 5.60 224.00
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH ATTOR-
NEY CLAPP REGARDING COPY OF STATE
LAWSUIT AGAINST CITY; REVIEW NEWS
REPORTS REGARDING PRELIMINARY
INJUNCTION HEARING; TELEPHONE CON-
FERENCE WITH FEDERAL COURT REGARD-
ING TRANSCRIPT OF GOODKIND
TESTIMONY FROM HEARING; REVIEW
GOODKIND NOTES IN HIS FILE, LIST
EXHIBITS TO HEARING AND DEPOSITIONS,
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH ATTOR-
NEYS FOR HAZARDOUS WASTE GENERA-
TORS REGARDING SIGNING OF DEPOSITION
TRANSCRIPTS; TRIP TO FEDERAL COURT TO
PICK UP TAPE OF GOODKIND TESTIMONY.

12-19-85 wwp 8.00 680.00
FINISH REVISING FIRST SECTION OF MEM-
ORANDUM, PROPOSED FINDINGS AND
CONCLUSIONS.

12-19-85 RNB 10.60 477.00
REVISE SUPPLEMENTAL MEMORANDUM IN
SUPPORT OF PLAINTIFFS’ MOTION FOR PRE-
LIMINARY INJUNCTION; REVISE PROPOSED
FINDINGS OF FACT.

81

21968 MjC 7.10 284.00
/ANIZE FILE; COPY EXHIBITS FOR FILING
—_—_—— . - d a G
WITH COURT; INDEX EXHIBITS; PREPARA.
TION FOR FILINGS OF PROPOSED FINDINGS
AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW.
12-19-85 GLH 1.30
OBTAIN MR. DILL’S SIGNATURE TO DEPOSI.
- * ._ _ E a
TION; PICK UP CASSETTE TAPE WITH TESTI.
MONY AT U.S. DISTRICT COURT
12-20-85 §§ WWP 3.80
35 v 3. 323.00
TOUR LANDFILL; FILE SUPPLEMENTA
OUR LANDFILL; ENTAL
MEMORANDUM IN SUPPORT OF PLAIN.
TIFFS’ MOTION FOR PRELIMINARY INJUNC.
TION.
12-20-85 = RNB 8.40 :
= RNB. 378.00
DRAFT THIRD ARGUMENT OF DISCUSSIC
) aD USSION
IN SUPPLEMENTAL MEMORANDUM IN SUP.
PORT OF PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION;
REVIEW SUPPLEMENTAL MEMORANDUM
IN SUPPORT OF PLAINTIFFS’ MOTION FOR
PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION; DRAFT PRO.
POSED CONCLUSIONS OF LAW.
12-20-85 MJC 7.10 :
7 7. 284.00
LANDFILL INSPECTION WITH ATTORNE
AND ! RNEY
PEARSON, OPPOSING COUNSEL AND MAG-
ISTRATE; PREPARATION FOR FILING PRO.
POSED FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS,
RANGE OPYING; ORGANIZE DOCU.
MENTS FOR FILING. aaa
12-27-85 = WWP 6.50 :
TELEPHONE CONFERENCES WITH MR
CLAPP; TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH
MR. FRANCO; PICK UP CITY'S COUNTER.
CLAIM; READ SAME; REVIEW CITY’S MEM.
ORANDUM IN OPPOSITION TO PLAINTIFE’S
SUPPLEMENTAL MEMORANDUM; REVIEW

82

CASES CITED BY CITY; REVIEW GOODKIND
AND OGDEN DOCUMENTS.

12-30-85 wwpe 5.20 442.00
RESEARCH PART 257 OF RCRA REGULA-
TIONS AS APPLICABILE [sic] TO CITY’S
REPLY MEMORANDUM; DETAILED REVIEW
AND ANALYSIS OF CITY’S MEMORANDUM.

12-31-85 wwp 2.80 238.00
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH MR.
OGDEN; TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH
MR. GOODKIND; DELIVERY OF BOXES TO
MR. CLAPP’S OFFICE; TELEPHONE CONFER-
ENCE WITH MR. CLAPP’S OFFICE; TELE-
PHONE CONFERENCE WITH COURT.

01-02-86 wwe 4.80 408.00
OUTLINE REPLY BRIEF; UPDATE FILE SYS-
TEM; TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH
COURT; TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH
MR. CLAPP’S OFFICE; TELEPHONE CONFER-
ENCE WITH MS. HACKBARTH; TELEPHONE
CONFERENCE WITH MR. MALTER’S OFFICE.

02- RNB 8.30 373.50
a REVIEW STATUS OF CASE IN PREPARATION
FOR DRAFTING REPLY MEMORANDUM;
BEGIN DRAFTING FIRST ARGUMENT OF
REPLY MEMORANDUM.

02-86 MIC 5.80 232.00
ae ANALYZE ARGUMENTS OPPOSING DEFEN-
DANT’S MEMORANDUM IN OPPOSITION TO
MOTION FOR PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION;
ORGANIZE FILE.
01-03-86 = WWP 4.00 340.00
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH MS.
HACKBARTH; TELEPHONE CONFERENCE

83

WITH MR. MALTER; TELEPHONE CONFER-
ENCE WITH MS. WRIGHT; ANALYZE REPLY
MEMORANDUM; RESEARCH CITY’S PRELIM-
INARY INJUNCTION AUTHORITY.

01-03-86 RNB 8.80 396.00
ANALYZE SECOND AND THIRD ARGU-
MENTS OF PLAINTIFFS’ REPLY MEMORAN-
DUM; DRAFT SECOND ARGUMENT AND
BEGIN DRAFTING THIRD ARGUMENT OF
PLAINTIFFS’ REPLY MEMORANDUM.

01-03-86 MJC 1.00 40.00
ANALYZE STATE ACTION IN REVIEWING
NEED FOR PRE-TREATMENT OF LEACHATE
AND OBTAIN STATE RESEARCH ON LEACH-
ATE QUALITY; TELEPHONE CONFERENCE
WITH BILL AHEARN AND MEREDITH
WRIGHT REGARDING SAME; TELEPHONE
CONFERENCE WITH ERNIE DAGUE, JR.
REGARDING TEST RESULTS AND HIS
REQUEST FOR GAS TEST SCHEDULE.

01-04-86 MJC 1.20 48.00
REVIEW FILE AND TABULATE ALL GAS
WELL TEST RESULTS FROM OUTSIDE DAGUE
PROPERTY; MEMORANDUM REGARDING
SAME; REVIEW WATER TEST FILE FOR
GOUNDWATER CONTAMINANTS IN EXCESS

OF 40 CFR SECTION 257, APPENDIX I CHEMI-
CALS.

01-05-86 RNB 4.30 193.50
FINISH DRAFT OF THIRD ARGUMENT AND
DRAFT FOURTH ARGUMENT OF PLAIN-
TIFFS’ REPLY MEMORANDUM.

01-06-86 WwWP 6.00 510.00
DRAFT AND EDIT REPLY MEMORANDUM;
ANALYZE CITY’S OBJECTIONS TO PRO-
POSED FACTS; TELEPHONE CONFERENCE

84 85

WITH MS. WRIGHT; TELEPHONE CONFER- SOURCE OF
ENCES WITH AEC; TELEPHONE CONFER- MEMORANDUM Ivy a pees
ENCE WITH COURT. DANT’S OBJECTIONS TO PROPOSED FACTS.
01-06-86 RNB 0.70 31.50 REVIEW WATER TEST RESULTS FOR APPEN.
CONFERENCE WITH WILLIAM AHERN OF DIX I CHEMICALS; TELEPHONE CONFER.
THE VERMONT AGENCY OF ENVIRONMEN- ENCE WITH ERNIE DAGUE, JR. REGARDING
TAL CONSERVATION REGARDING HIS LET- LATEST GAS READINGS ON CLIENTS’ PROP.
TER TO MR. CROMBIE AND TEST RESULTS ERTY; REVIEW TAPE OF 3-18-85 ALDERMEN’S
ON LEACHATE. MEETING FOR REFERENCES TO LANDFILL.
01-06-86 MJC 4.80 192.00 01-08-86 WWP 1.00 85.00
SEND OUT BILLS FOR COPYING; ANALYZE ANALYZE LEGAL RESEARCH AND GAS _
PLAINTIFFS’ RESPONSE TO DEFENDANT’S INVESTIGATION FOR FRIDAY’S HEARING
OBJECTIONS TO PROPOSED FACTS; REVIEW 01-08-86 MIC |
DEFENDANT’S REQUEST TO ADMIT; TELE- Ooseranent 1.70 68.00
PHONE CONFERENCE WITH ERNIE DAGUE, REC Pt ey WITH ATTORNEY PEARSON
JR. REGARDING TIME-DATE OF FINAL CURRENT & STATUS OF INVESTIGATION ON
HEARING; REVIEW DEFENDANT'S OBJEC- aban FFORTS BY CITY TO CONTROL
TIONS TO PROPOSED FACTS; DRAFT MEM- FILL GAS; DELIVER REPLY MEMORAN.

DUM TO COURT AND ATTORNEY CLAPP;

ORANDUM REBUTTING OBJECTIONS.
SITE VISIT TO CLIENTS’ PROPERTY TO VIEW

01-07-86 | WWP 7.00 595.00 EFFECTS
DRAFT AND EDIT REPLY MEMORANDUM; NIZE FILE 8S CONTROL SYSTEM; ORGA-
RESEARCH; FILE MEMORANDUM.

01-07-86 RNB 2.30 103.50 » PRmPaRAnoe FOR TON —
LEGAL RESEARCH ON US. V. RIVERSIDE ING; REVIEW HEINDEL AND Comverse aS
BAYVIEW HOMES, INC. AND WEINBERGER DEPOSITION REPORTS. SYMAN
V. ROMERO-BARCELO; REVIEW THIRD- :

PARTY COMPLAINT; REVIEW DEFENDANT'S 01-09-86 MIC 4.30 —
OBJECTIONS TO PLAINTIFFS’ PROPOSED TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH VT. GAS
FINDINGS OF FACT, DEFENDANT'S TO BORROW GAS METER; GET SAME FROM
REQUESTS TO ADMIT AND DEFENDANT'S VGS; TEST GAS AT DAGUES AND BESSETTES-
PROPOSED CONCLUSIONS OF LAW; REVIEW RETURN METER; REPORT TO ATTORNEY
AND ANALYZE PLAINTIFFS’ REPLY MEM- PEARSON REGARDING RESULTS OF GAS
ORANDUM. TESTS.

01-07-86 MIC 3.20 128.00 01-10-86 = WWP 6.50
REVIEW MOREAU AND GOODKIND DEPOSI- PREPARATION FOR AND ATTEND PRELIM)

TIONS REGARDING GAS MIGRATION AND NARY INJUNCTION HEARING

86

01-10-86 RNB 8.00 360.00
DRAFT MEMORANDUM ON SYNOPSIS OF
ARGUMENTS AND SUPPORTING CASELAW
IN PREPARATION FOR HEARING FOR PRE-
LIMINARY INJUNCTION; CONFERENCE
WITH ATTORNEY PEARSON IN PREPARA-
TION FOR HEARING; ATTEND HEARING.

01-10-86 MJC 4.30 172.00
SEARCH FILE FOR INFORMATION ON LAND-
FILL POINT SOURCES FOR ALLEGATIONS OF
CLEAN WATER ACT VIOLATION; SITE VISIT
TO BURLINGTON LANDFILL WITH PHOTOS
OF NEW GAS VENTING SYSTEM; CONFER-
ENCE WITH ATTORNEY PEARSON REGARD-
ING SAME; ATTEND FINAL HEARING ON
MOTION FOR PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION.

01-13-86 WwWP 1.00 85.00
REORGANIZE MATERIALS FROM HEARING;
REVIEW NEW HEARING EXHIBITS FILE.

01-13-86 MJC 1.20 48.00
FACT RESEARCH AT CITY HALL REGARD-
ING ALDERMANIC RESOLUTION TO FUND
LANDFILL CLEANUP; DRAFT LETTER TO
COURT AND ATTORNEY CLAPP REGARDING
FILING OF ORIGINAL HEARING EXHIBITS
FROM JANUARY 10 HEARING.

01-20-86 MJC 0.60 24.00
DRAFT AND REVIEW OUTLINE OF FACTS
PROPOSED AND NOT OBJECTED TO BY CITY.

01-27-86 WwWP 1.80 153.00
REVIEW PROPOSED FACT COMPARISONS;
REVIEW MOTION TO COMPEL.

01-31-86 WwWP 0.50 42.50
REVIEW FINDINGS OF FACT; PLAN ADDI-
TIONAL DISCOVERY.

87

01-31-86 MJC 1.80 72.00
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH ERNIE

DAGUE, JR. REGARDING TRESPASS ON HIS
PROPERTY BY CITY.

02-03-86 WwwpP 0.60 51.00

PLAN FURTHER DISCOVERY; TELEPHONE
CONFERENCE WITH COURT.

02-10-86 MJC 1.00 40.00
REVIEW STATUS OF CASE; ORGANIZE FILE.
02-11-86 RNB 0.40 18.00

TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH PETER
SHELLEY OF THE CONSERVATION LAW
FOUNDATION IN BOSTON, MASSA-

CHUSETTS TO DISCUSS THE STATUS OF THE
CASE.

02-21-86 WWP 1.00 85.00
TWO TELEPHONE CONFERENCES WITH
ATTORNEY BLAND ABOUT MAGISTRATE’S
DECISION.

02-21-86 RNB 3.30 148.50
THOROUGH REVIEW AND ANALYSIS OF
MAGISTRATE’S REPORT AND RECOMMEN-
DATION; PREPARATION FOR FILING OBJEC-
TIONS THERETO; RESPOND TO MEDIA
INQUIRIES REGARDING PLAINTIFFS’ REAC-
TION TO MAGISTRATE’S REPORT AND REC-
OMMENDATION; TELEPHONE CONFERENCE
WITH ERNIE DAGUE, JR. TO CONVEY AND
DISCUSS MAGISTRATE’S DECISION; OUT-
LINE GROUNDS FOR FILING OBJECTIONS TO

MAGISTRATE’S REPORT AND RECOMMEN.-
DATION.

02-21-86 MJC 3.00 120.00
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH COURT
REGARDING DECISION BY MAGISTRATE;

88

REVIEW DECISION; TELEPHONE CONFER-
ENCE WITH CLIENT REGARDING SAME.

02-22-86 WWP 0.50 42.50
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH ATTOR-
NEY BLAND ABOUT OBJECTIONS TO MAGIS-
TRATE’S DECISION.

02-23-86 RNB 2.30 103.50
INITIAL DRAFT OF PLAINTIFFS’ CBJECTIONS
TO MAGISTRATE’. REPORT AND RECOM-
MENDATION.

02-24-86 WwWP 1.50 127.50
REVIEW DECISION AND ANALYZE FIND-
INGS OF FACT.

02-24-86 RNB 0.60 27.00
CONFERENCE WITH ATTORNEY PEARSON
TO DISCUSS MAGISTRATE’S REPORT AND
RECOMMENDATION AND PLAINTIFFS’
OBJECTIONS THERETO.

02-24-86 MJC 2.00 80.00
PLAN FURTHER WORK TO BE DONE IN CASE
AND DIVISION OF LABOR.

02-25-86 WWP 1.50 127.50
ANALYZE FINDINGS OF FACT AND OUT-
LINE OBJECTIONS TO MAGISTRATE’S DECI-

SION.

02-26-86 wwpP 1.00 85.00
FURTHER REVIEW FINDINGS OF FACT COM-
PARISON.

02-27-86 wwe 1.50 127.50

DRAFT AND EDIT OUTLINE FOR OBJEC-
TIONS TO MAGISTRATE’S DECISION.

89

02-27-86 RNB 8.30 373.50
ANALYZE PLAINTIFFS’ OBJECTIONS TO
MAGISTRATE’S REPORT AND RECOMMEN-
DATION; LEGAL RESEARCH ON RCRA’S PRE-
EMPTION OF STATE REGULATION OF
HAZARDOUS WASTE AND RETENTION OF
STATE AUTHORITY; INITIAL DRAFT OF FIRST
ARGUMENT REGARDING THE LANDFILL
DISPOSAL OF HAZARDOUS WASTES IN VIO-
LATION OF RCRA’S HAZARDOUS WASTE
PERMIT AND NOTIFICATION REQUIRE-

MENTS.
02-27-86 MJC 2.50 100.00
DRAFT INTERROGATORIES TO CITY.
02-28-86 WWP 1.00 85.00

SEVERAL TELEPHONE CONFERENCES WITH
MR. BLAND ABOUT OBJECTIONS TO MAGIS-
TRATE’S DECISION.

02-28-86 RNB 7.50 337.50
REVISE FIRST ARGUMENT IN PLAINTIFFS’
OBJECTIONS TO MAGISTRATE’S REPORT
AND RECOMMENDATION AND INITIAL
DRAFT OF SECOND AND THIRD ARGU-
MENTS REGARDING THE LANDFILL ITSELF
AS A POINT SOURCE AND THE MAGIS-
TRATE’S ORDER AS INCOMMENSURATE
WITH THE LANDFILL’S VIOLATIONS OF
RCRA AND THE CWA; REVIEW PLAINTIFFS’
SECOND SET OF INTERROGATORIES.

02-28-86 MJC 2.00 80.00
REVIEW AND REVISE INTERROGATORIES TO
CITY; DRAFT REQUESTS TO PRODUCE.

03-01-86 wwpe 4.50 382.50
ORGANIZE AND DRAFT OBJECTIONS TO
MAGISTRATE’S RULING.

90

03-02-86 = WWP 8.00 | 680.00
EDIT, DRAFT, AND RESEARCH OBJECTIONS
TO MAGISTRATE’S DECISION; OUTLINE
CHRONOLOGY AND SPECIFIC OBJECTIONS.

03-02-86 RNB 8.80 396.00
WORK ON INITIAL DRAFTS OF FOURTH
AND FIFTH ARGUMENTS TO PLAINTIFFS’
OBJECTIONS TO MAGISTRATE’S REPORT
AND RECOMMENDATION REGARDING THE
LANDFILL AS AN OPEN DUMP AND
ENGAGING IN OPEN DUMPING PRACTICES
IN VIOLATION OF RCRA’S PROHIBITION ON
OPEN DUMPING AND THE SUBSTANTIAL
AND IMMINENT ENDANGERMENT PRE-
SENTED BY THE LANDFILL TO THE ENVI-
RONMENT; EDIT DRAFT OF PLAINTIFFS’
OBJECTIONS TO MAGISTRATE’S REPORT
AND RECOMMENDATION.

03-03-86 = WWP 3.50 297 50
ANALYZE OBJECTIONS, EDIT FINAL DRAFT
OF OBJECTIONS TO MAGISTRATE’S DECI-
SION; REVIEW AND ANALYZE CHRONOL:
OGY.

03-03-86 GSC 0.50 30.00
ANALYZE PROPOSED ORDER; LOCATE
MODEL CONSENT DECREE,

03-03-86 RNB 11.90 535.50
DRAFT ADDITIONAL RECOMMENDATA-
TIONS [sie] TO BE INCLUDED IN THE PRO:
POSED COURT ORDER; EDIT PLAINTIFFS’
OBJECTIONS TO MAGISTRATE’S REPORT
AND RECOMMENDATION; EDIT PLAIN:
TIFFS’ OJBECTIONS [sie] TO MAGISTRATE’S
FINDINGS OF FACT; ASSIST IN DRAFTING
THE CHRONOLOGY OF OPERATIONS AND

91

REGULATIONS PERTAINING TO THE LAND-
FILL.

03-03-86 = JHT 6.80 306.00
CONFERENCE WITH ATTORNEY BLAND
REGARDING PREPARATION OF CHRONOL.-
OGY BASED ON FINDINGS OF FACT OF
MAGISTRATE; REVIEW FINDINGS AND
DEVELOPMENT OF CHRONOLOGIC STRUC.
TURE; CREATE “TIME LINE” BASED ON THE
FINDINGS OF FACT; DRAFT COMPUTER-
ASSISTED GRAPHIC PRESENTATION,
REVIEW AND ANALYSIS OF SAME.

03-03-86 MjC 7.00 280.00
ASSIST IN DRAFTING AND REVISING OBJEC-
TIONS TO MAGISTRATE’S RECOMMENDA-
TIONS; ASSIST IN PREPARATION AND
FILING OF LEGAL AND FACTUAL ARGU-
MENTS REGARDING SAME; ASSIST IN
DRAFTING TIME LINE OF EVENTS FROM
MAGISTRATE’S FINDINGS; REVIEW SUPPOR-
TING FILE DOCUMENTS.

03-04-86 wwpP 2.50 212.50
READ AND ANALYZE CITY'S AND GE'S
OBJECTIONS TO MAGISTRATE’S RULING;
OBTAIN AND READ TEXAS CASE ON BIND:
ING EFFECT OF MAGISTRATE’S OR JUDGE'S
FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF
patted REVIEW OUTLINE OF PROPOSED

RDER.

03-04-86 JHT 4.80 216.00
REVISE CHRONOLOGY BASED ON MAGIS-
TRATE’S FINDINGS OF FACT; EXTENSIVE
REVISIONS OF CHRONOLOGY TO DETAIL
YEARS OF HAZARDOUS WASTES DUMPING
BY GENERATORS; REVIEW FINAL VERSION
OF CHRONOLOGY

92

03-04-86 MIC 5.00 | 200.00
FURTHER WORK ON DRAFTING OBJEC-
TIONS TO MAGISTRATE’S DECISION; PROOF-
READ CHRONOLOGY FOR FILING WITH
COURT; REVIEW OBJECTIONS TO MAGIS-
TRATE’S RECOMMENDATIONS FILED BY G.E.
AND CITY; DRAFT MEMORANDUM ANALYZ-
ING CITY’S OBJECTIONS.

03-05-86 wwpe 2.20 187.00
REVISE PROPOSED ORDER.
03-05-86 RNB 5.80 261.00

THOROUGH REVIEW OF CITY’S AND THIRD-
PARTY DEFENDANT GENERAL ELECTRIC
COMPANY, INC.’S OBJECTIONS TO THE
REPORT AND RECOMMENDATION OF THE
MAGISTRATE; DRAFT PROPOSED ORDER
FOR PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION.

03-05-86 MjC 1.50 60.00
REVISE MEMORANDUM REGARDING CITY'S
OBJECTIONS TO MAGISTRATE’S RECOM-
MENDATIONS; RESEARCH OF GOODKIND’S
TESTIMONY ON LANDFILL GAS GENERA-
TION AND MIGRATION.

03-07-86 MjC 1.00 40.00
ORGANIZE FILE; REVIEW LATEST PLEAD-
INGS.

03-09-86 wwpe 0.40 34.00

READ HAGAR HARDWARE OBJECTIONS TO
MAGISTRATE’S RULING.

03-10-86 wwp 0.60 51.00
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH MS.
SHEEHAN; REVIEW INTERROGATORIES.

03-10-86 MjC 3.00 120.00
PLAN FURTHER FACT INVESTIGATION AND
PREPARATION FOR ARGUMENT OVER GAS

93

TESTIMONY; REVIEW FILE FOR WATER TEST
RESULTS; TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH
MEREDITH WRIGHT REGARDING LEACH-
ATE COLLECTED; REVIEW NEW INTER-
ROGATORIES AND REQUESTS TO PRODUCE;
COMPARE TO PREVIOUSLY FILED SET FOR
COMPLETENESS.

03-11-86 wwrp 0.30 25.50
REVIEW ATTORNEY MORGAN’S OBJECTIONS
TO MAGISTRATE’S REPORT.

03-11-86 MjC 0.50 20.00
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH MER-
EDITH WRIGHT REGARDING STATUS OF
STATE REVIEW OF LEACHATE COLLECTION;
REVIEW INTERROGATORIES AND REQUESTS
TO PRODUCE TO BE PILED.

03-12-86 MjC 1.20 48.00
REVISE INTERROGATORIES AND REQUESTS
TO PRODUCE; ATTEMPTS TO CONTACT
BRIAN QUAKER AT AEC.

03-13-86 wwpe 0.30 25.50
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH CLIENTS.
03-13-86 MJC 1.20 48.00

ORGANIZE FILE; TELEPHONE CONFERENCE
WITH BRIAN QUAKER REGARDING STATUS
OF LEACHATE PRE-TREATMENT REGULA-
TION.

03-17-86 Mjc 0.20 8.00
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH CLIENT
REGARDING PHOTOGRAPHING OF CLI-
ENTS’ HOUSE.

03-24-86 wwpe 0.50 42.50
REVIEW MOTION TO AMEND; TELEPHONE
CONFERENCE WITH COURT; REVIEW INTER-
ROGATORIES.

94

03-24-86 MJC 0.30 12.00
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH CLIENT
REGARDING EXCESSIVE TRASH IN YARD
FROM LANDFILL; PLAN FURTHER WORK TO
BE DONE.

(3-26-86 MjC 0.40 16.00
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH CLIENT
REGARDING CURRENT GAS READINGS AND
STATUS OF CITY’S RETURN OF GAS METER.

03-27-86 RNB 2.30 103.50
THOROUGH REVIEW AND ANALYSIS OF
JUDGE BILLINGS’ OPINION; TELEPHONE
CONFERENCE WITH ATTORNEY PEARSON
TO DISCUSS JUDGE BILLINGS’ OPINION
AND GROUNDS FOR AN APPEAL THERE-
FROM; LEGAL RESEARCH ON PROCEDURES
FOR THE WITHDRAWAL OF EPA AUTHORI-
ZATION OF A STATE HAZARDOUS WASTE
PROGRAM UNDER RCRA AND THE REGULA-
TIONS PROMULGATED THEREUNDER;
LEGAL RESEARCH ON RULES OF APPELATE
[sic] PROCEDURE FOR APPEALING AN
ORDER OF THE U.S. DISTRICT COURT.

(3-27-86 MJC 0.60 24.00
INTRAOFFICE CONFERENCE REGARDING
COURT'S DENIAL OF MOTION FOR PRELIMI-
NARY INJUNCTION; REVIEW AND ANALYZE
COURT ORDER.

03-31-86 MJC 1.00 40.00
SEARCH FOR LANDFILL LEACHATE EXPERT
04-02-86 MIC 0.50 20.00

CONTINUE SEARCH FOR EXPERTS ON
LANDFILL LEACHATE; PLAN FOR FURTHER
EXPERT RESEARCH ON EFFECTS OF LAND:
FILL LEACHATE ON PLANTS.

95

04-04-86 wwp 1.50 127.50
REVIEW AND ANALYZE JUDGE BILLINGS’
DECISION AND APPEAL OPTIONS.

04-04-86 RNB 2.40 108.00
FURTHER ANALYSIS OF JUDGE BILLINGS’
OPINION AND ARGUMENTS TO BE MADE
ON APPEAL; DRAFT OUTLINE OF HAZARD.
OUS WASTE PERMIT ARGUMENTS TO BE
MADE ON APPEAL.

(4-04-86 MJC 0.30 12.00
REVIEW NEWS REGARDING CITY’S SOLU-
TION TO FUNDING OF DUMP CLOSING;
COPY SAME.

04-07-86 wwr 3.00 255.00
OUTLINE AND EVALUATE GROUNDS FOR
APPEAL; TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH
COURT.

04-07-86 MjC 1.50 60.00
REVIEW STATUS OF LEACHATE COLLEC-
TION AND DISPOSAL; TELEPHONE CONFER-
ENCE WITH ASSISTANT ATTORNEY
GENERAL WRIGHT REGARDING RELEASE
OF STATE DOCUMENTS ON LEACHATE;
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH AND LET-
TER TO WATER RESOURCES DEPARTMENT
REGARDING SAME.

(4-08-86 MJC 0.80 32.00
REVIEW AND REVISE INFORMATION
REQUEST LETTER TO VAEC; REVIEW FILE IN
PREPARATION FOR FURTHER FACT
RESEARCH.

96

04-09-86 RNB 2.30 103.50
PLAN FURTHER DISCOVERY; REVIEW LEGIS-
LATIVE HISTORY ON BILL TO PROTECT WET-
LANDS AND ON VERMONT’S GROUND-
WATER PROTECTION LAW.

04-09-86 MJC 0.50 20.00
PLAN FURTHER INVESTIGATION AND DIS-
COVERY.

04-11-86 wwp 0.30 25.50
STATUS CONFERENCE.
04-11-86 RNB 0.40 18.00

REVIEW INFORMATION PROVIDED BY GARY
SHULTZ OF THE VERMONT AEC, ON THE
BURLINGTON LANDFILL LEACHATE.

04-15-86 RNB 1.30 58.50
FURTHER ANALYSIS OF STANDARDS FOR
PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION, STANDARD OF
REVIEW ON APPEAL, AND ARGUMENTS TO
BE RAISED ON APPEAL.

04-15-86 MJC 2.00 80.00
REVIEW LEACHATE CHEMICAL RESEARCH
FROM STATE; REVIEW FILE AND ACCOUNT
FOR OUT-OF-POCKET EXPENSES; TELE-
PHONE CONFERENCE WITH FEDERAL
COURT REGARDING COSTS OF HEARING
TRANSCRIPTS; TELEPHONE CONFERENCE
WITH ATTORNEY CAIN REGARDING SAME;
MEMORANDUM REGARDING SAME.

04-16-86 MJC 1.30 52.00
REVIEW FILE AND DRAFT MEMORANDUM
ON EXPENSES TO DATE.

04-17-86 MjJC 0.50 20.00
REVIEW FILE FOR COPY OF LATEST DISCOV-
ERY DOCUMENT SENT TO CITY OF BUR-
LINGTON; TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH

97

— COURT REGARDING DATE OF FIL-

04-18-86 RNB 2.80 126.00
LEGAL RESEARCH ON INJUNCTIVE RELIEF

ry A VIOLATION OF THE CLEAN WATER

04-21-86 RNB 1.60 72.00
ANALYZE ISSUES PROPOSED TO BE RAISED
ON APPEAL AND THE PROCEDURE ON
APPEAL; DRAFT NOTICE OF APPEAL.

04-22-86 WwwpP 2.00 170.00
OUTLINE AND ANALYZE APPEAL ISSUES;
REVIEW EXHIBIT AND TRANSCRIPT
REQUIREMENTS ON APPEAL.

04-22-86 RNB 1.20 54.00
FURTHER ANALYSIS OF ISSUES PROPOSED
TO BE RAISED ON APPEAL; DRAFT PRE-
ARGUMENT STATEMENT.

(4-22-86 MJC 0.40 16.00
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH FEDERAL
COURT FOR LIST OF EXHIBITS; REVIEW AND

PROOFREAD NOTICE OF APPEAL DOCU-
MENTS.

04-23-86 WwwpP 2.00 170.00
LENGTHY REVIEW OF PROCEDURES FOR
SECOND CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS.

(04-23-86 MJC 0.30 12.00
REVIEW EXHIBIT LIST FROM FEDERAL
COURT; MEMORANDUM TO ATTORNEY
BLAND REGARDING SAME.

(4-24-86 WwwpP 1.00 85.00
ANALYZE POSSIBLE MOTION FOR PARTIAL
SUMMARY JUDGMENT.

98

04-24-86 RNB 0.80 36.00
ANALYZE PROCEDURE FOR DOCKETING
THE APPEAL; TELEPHONE CONFERENCE
WITH CLERK OF FEDERAL DISTRICT COURT.

04-24-86 MJC 0.40 16.00
PLAN FURTHER INVESTIGATION AND ESTI-
MATE TIME NEEDED TO COMPLETE FACT
INVESTIGATION BEFORE TRIAL.

04-25-86 WwWwP 0.30 25.50
REVIEW CONSENT TO TRIAL BY MAGIS-
TRATE.

04-28-86 RNB 0.50 22.50
REVIEW PROCEDURE FOR ADMISSION TO
PRACTICE BEFORE THE U.S. COURT OF
APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT.

04-29-86 WwwpP 0.30 25.50
REVIEW LETTER FROM MS. SHEEHAN
REGARDING GAS DETECTOR.

04-29-86 RNB 1.30 58.50
FURTHER ANALYSIS OF PROCEDURE ON
APPEAL; DRAFT OUTLINE OF PROCEDURE
AND DEADLINES ON APPEAL.

04-30-86 WwWwPpP 1.00 85.00
FINAL REVIEW OF FORMS C AND D, OTHER
APPEAL PROCEDURES AND PROPER CERTI-
FICATION.

04-30-86 RNB 1.50 67.50
ANALYZE NEED TO FILE DEPOSITIONS OF
THE GENERATORS SO AS TO INCLUDE
THEM WITHIN THE DOCKET ENTRIES;
REVIEW AND ANALYZE FORMS C AND D
AND FURTHER LEGAL RESEARCH ON PRO-
CEDURES ON APPEAL.

99

04-30-86 MJC 0.60 24.00
SUBMITTAL OF DEPOSITIONS TO FEDERAL
COURT FOR FILING; TELEPHONE CONFER-
ENCE WITH COURT CLERK REGARDING
SAME.

05-01-86 WwWwPpP 0.60 51.00
FINAL APPROVAL OF APPEAL FORMS; SER-
VICE OF SAME.

05-01-86 RNB 0.50 22.50
REVIEW OF PAPERS TO BE FILED IN THE
COURT OF APPEALS AND IN THE US. DIS-
TRICT COURT, AND TO BE SERVED ON THE
OTHER PARTIES.

05-04-86 MJC 0.30 12.00
LETTER TO COURT CLERK REGARDING FIL-
ING OF DEPOSITIONS.

05-05-86 RNB 2.80 126.00
LEGAL RESEARCH UNDER RCRA AND THE
CWA IN PREPARATION FOR DRAFTING
APPELLANTS’ BRIEF.

05-06-86 WwwpP 1.00 85.00
READ SECOND CIRCUIT SCHEDULING CAL-
ENDAR; CONFERENCE WITH MR. CLAPP;
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH CLIENT.

05-06-86 RNB 5.20 234.00
CONTINUE LEGAL RESEARCH UNDER RCRA

AND THE CWA IN PREPARATION FOR
DRAFTING BRIEF.

05-07-86 wwp 1.00 85.00
REVIEW APPEAL SCHEDULE OF HEARING
DATES AND ISSUES OUTLINE; REVIEW EVI-
DENCE OF TRASH AT DAGUE HOUSE;
REVIEW PHOTOGRAPHS.

100

- RNB 7.30 328.50

a DRAFT LETTERS TO MR. BURBANK AND
ATTORNEY CLAPP REGARDING CONSENT
TO PROCEED BEFORE THE MAGISTRATE;
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH CLERK OF
THE U.S. COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SEC-
OND CIRCUIT REGARDING ADMISSION TO
PRACTICE BEFORE THE SECOND CIRCUIT;
CONTINUE LEGAL RESEARCH OF CASELAW
UNDER RCRA AND THE CWA IN PREPARA-
TION FOR DRAFTING THE BRIEF.

42.50
05-08-86 WwwpP 0.50
REVIEW EXHIBIT REQUIREMENTS.

261.00
05-08-86 RNB 5.80
DRAFT FIRST PART OF ARGUMENT I OF
APPELLANTS’ BRIEF.

24.00
05-08-86 MJC 0.60
LETTER TO MS. SHEAHAN REGARDING
REMOVAL OF GAS EQUIPMENT; EVALUATE
TRASH PROBLEM AT LANDFILL.

195.50
05-09-86 WwwpP 2.30
REVIEW OUTLINE FOR BRIEF; LETTER TO
MR. CLAPP REGARDING EXHIBITS.

283.50
05-09-86 RNB 6.30
DRAFT SECOND AND THIRD PARTS OF
ARGUMENT | OF APPELLANTS’ BRIEF.

80.00
05-09-86 MJC 2.00
REVIEW EXHIBITS TO BE FILED WITH
APPEALS COURT; DELIVER NOTICE OF
EXHIBITS DESIGNATED TO ATTORNEY

CLAPP.

148.50
05-11-86 RNB 3.30 ‘
DRAFT ARGUMENT II OF APPELLANTS
BRIEF.

101

05-12-86 RNB 5.50 247.50
THOROUGH ANALYSIS OF WEINBERGER

CASE AND DRAFT ARGUMENT III OF THE
BRIEF.

05-13-86 wwpP 4.50 382.50

PREPARE FOR TOMORROW’S PRE-ARGU-
MENT CONFERENCE.

05-13-86 RNB 5.20 234.00
DRAFT STATEMENT OF THE CASE AND
STATEMENT OF THE FACTS; REVISE ARGU-

MENTS I, II, AND III; PREPARATION FOR
PRE-ARGUMENT CONFERENCE.

05-14-86 wwp 9.00 765.00
PREPARATION FOR AND ATTEND CONFER-
ENCE AT SECOND CIRCUIT COURT OF
APPEALS.

05-14-86 RNB 11.00 495.00

PREPARATION FOR AND ATTEND PRE-
ARGUMENT CONFERENCE AT THE US.
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIR-

CUIT.

05-15-86 wwp 0.30 25.50
LETTER TO COURT.

05-15-86 RNB 0.30 13.50

TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH CLERK OF
THE U.S. COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SEC-

OND CIRCUIT REGARDING SCHEDULING OF
ARGUMENT.

05-16-86 wwe 1.00 85.00
REVIEW DOCKET ENTRIES; TELEPHONE
CONFERENCE WITH MR. CLAPP; LETTER TO
COURT.

05-16-86 RNB 1.50 67.50
EXTENDED TELEPHONE CONFERENCE
WITH JOEL BLUMSTEIN, ATTORNEY FOR

102

EPA REGION I, RCRA HAZARDOUS WASTE
DIVISION; EXTENDED TELEPHONE CONFER-
ENCE WITH BRUCE LINNETT, ATTORNEY
FOR ENVIRONMENTAL DEFENSE FUND,
INC.

05-16-86 MJC 0.70 28.00
ANALYZE EXHIBITS TO BE DESIGNATED ON
APPEAL; DELIVER NOTICE OF SAME TO
OPPOSITE COUNSEL.

05-19-86 RNB 2.80 126.00
COMPILE APPENDIX AND TABLE OF CON-
TENTS OF BRIEF.

05-20-86 WwwpP 5.20 442.00
DRAFT AND EDIT BRIEF; DETAILED ANAL-
YSIS OF NECESSARY REVISIONS TO SAME.

05-20-86 RNB 4.50 202.50
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH MR.
JARVIS REGARDING DEPOSITIONS OF
THRID-PARTY DEFENDANTS AND PLAIN-
TIFFS’ EXHIBITS; ANALYZE ISSUES IN NEED
OF ADDITIONAL LEGAL RESEARCH AND
ANALYZE ISSUES RAISED ON APPEAL;
ANALYSIS OF CITY OF GALLATIN CASE AND
THE “HAZARDOUS AND SOLID WASTE
AMENDMENTS OF 1984.”

05-21-86 WwwpP 6.50 552.50
DRAFT AND EDIT BRIEF.
05-21-86 RNB 10.80 486.00

FURTHER ANALYSIS OF ISSUES RAISED ON
APPEAL; REVIEW PROCEDURAL REQUIRE-
MENTS FOR BRIEF; REVISE BRIEF.

05-21-86 MJC 2.80 112.00
SEND JUDGE BILLING’S OPINION TO
DR.REED; ASSEMBLE DOCUMENTS FOR
APPENDIX TO APPELLANTS’ BRIEF.

103

05-22-86 Wwwpe 5.00 425.00
FURTHER EDITS TO BRIEF; FURTHER ANAL-
YSIS OF WASTE INDUSTRIES AND OTHER
IMPORTANT CASES; REVIEW CASE CHART.

05-22-86 RNB 8.30 373.50
DRAFT CHART OF CASELAW FOR THE

APPEAL; DRAFT CHECKLIST FOR THE
APPEAL; REVISE BRIEF.

05-22-86 MJC 4.00 160.00
ASSEMBLE AND PAGINATE APPENDIX TO
APPELLANTS’ BRIEF; REVIEW CITATIONS IN
BRIEF FOR APPENDIX.

05-23-86 WWP 7.50 637.50

EXTENSIVE EDIT OF BRIEF; REVIEW FILING
FORM REQUIREMENTS.

05-23-86 RNB 7.30 328.50
FURTHER ANALYSIS AND REVISE BRIEF;
DRAFT CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE.

05-23-86 JHT 2.20 99.00
LEGAL RESEARCH REGARDING SCOPE OF
DISCRETION FOR INJUNCTIVE RELIEF.

05-23-86 MJC 5.00 200.00
PREPARATION FOR APPEAL; FILE ORGANI-
ZATION; SITE INSPECTION AND CONFER-
ENCE WITH CLIENTS REGARDING CITY’S
REQUEST TO CLEAN BANK BESIDE LAND-
FILL; ASSIST IN PREPARING DOCUMENTS

FOR APPEAL.

05-25-86 WwwpP 4.50 382.50
DRAFTING AND EDITING BRIEF

05-26-86 Wwwpe 10.00 850.00

EXTENSIVE DRAFTING AND EDITING OF
BRIEF; ANALYZE JUDICIAL DISCRETION
AND LEGAL RESEARCH ON SAME.

104

05-26-86 MIC 7.70 308.00
PREPARATION POR FILING BRIEF, APPENDIX
AND ADDENDUM WITH COURT OF
APPEALS; PROOFREAD BRIEF; COPY STAT:
UTES FOR ADDENDUM.

05-26-86 DL 7.00 210.00
LEGAL RESEARCH ON STANDARDS FOR
ISSUANCE OF PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION
UPON VIOLATION OF FEDERAL ENVIRON-
MENTAL AND OTHER PUBLIC INTEREST
LEGISLATION.

05-27-86 wwrp 2.50 212.50
PREPARE BRIEF FOR FILING WITH COURT OF
APPEALS.

(5-27-86 MIC 6.80 272.00
PREPARE BRIEF, APPENDIX AND ADDEN-
DUM FOR FILING; TELEPHONE CONFER:
ENCE WITH PRINTERS REGARDING SAME;
ORGANIZE AND COMPLETE PRINTING,
PROOFREAD AND REVISE BRIEF; ASSEMBLE
PACKAGES OF DOCUMENTS FOR FILING
AND SERVICE; TELEPHONE CONFERENCE
WITH DON BESSETTE REGARDING CITY'S
REQUEST TO CLEAR BANK; MEMORANDUM
REGARDING SAME.

05-28-86 wwr 0.50 42.50
READ HAGAR’S MOTION TO APPEAR;
REVIEW CITY TRASH CLEAN-UP LETTER.

05-28-86 MIC 4.90 196.00
TELEPHONE CONFERENCE WITH PRINTER
TO STRAIGHTEN OUT PRINTING BILL;
ORGANIZE FILE FOR USE IN PREPARATION
FOR APPEAL AND TRIAL.

105

05-29-86 wwr 2.50 212.50
READ G.B. MOTION TO DISMISS; PLAN FUR-
THER INVESTIGATION; VISIT TO LANDFILL.

05-29-86 MjC 0.40 16.00
FILE ORGANIZATION.
06-02-86 MJC 0.60 24.00

REVIEW GE MOTION TO DISMISS; ORGA-
NIZE FILE,

06-03-86 wwr 2.80 238.00
REVIEW CITY'S LETTER FOR BANK CLEAN:
UP; REVIEW AND ANALYZE BRIEF WITH
ATTORNEY BLAND; OUTLINE NOTICE
ARGUMENTS; REVIEW G.E. MOTION

06-03-86 RNB 2.80 126.00
PREPARATION FOR ORAL ARGUMENT;
LEGAL RESEARCH ON DISTRICT COURT'S
DISCRETION TO ISSUE AN INJUNCTION
UPON A FINDING OF A STATUTORY VIOLA-
TION.

06-03-86 MIC 1.20 48.00
ANALYZE CITY'S REPLY TO CLEAN DUMP:
BANK; REVIEW STATUS OF POLLUTION
CONTROL SYSTEMS; TELEPHONE CONFER:
ENCE WITH VERMONT WATER RESOURCES
DEPARTMENT REGARDING SAME.

06-04-86 MjC 4.30 172.00
ANALYZE NEW GAS READING

[Text truncated at 120,000 characters. The full text is on the page linked above.]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0215%3A05. Public record. Not legal advice.
