# Amicus Curiae Brief — Harper v. Virginia Dept. of Taxation

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0214%3A11

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1993
- **Citation:** 509 U.S. 86

## Text

, *. * = a s ‘ ce
p/ , ® ‘4 ; U.S.

* 4 f

No. 91-794

| vl. tT 22
IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNIT eh siieg
OCTOBER TERM, 1992

HENRY HARPER, ET AL.,
Petitioners,
VS.

VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
Supreme Court of Virginia

BRIEF AMICI] CURIAE FOR DESIGNATED
FEDERAL RETIREES IN KANSAS, ARKANSAS,
NORTH CAROLINA, MONTANA, SOUTH CAROLINA,
NEW YORK, UTAH, ALABAMA AND ARIZONA

— IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

Of Counsel: John C. Frieden
Kevin M. Fowler*
Kenton C. Granger FRIEDEN, HAYNES & FORBES
Raymond L. Dahlbert 400 S.W. 8th, Suite 409
NIEWALD, WALDECK Topeka, KS 66603
& BROWN, P.C. (913) 232-7266

9401 Indian Creek Parkway

Corporate Woods, Bidg. 40

Suite 550 * Counsel of Record for
Overland, Park KS 66225 Amici Curiae
(913) 451-1717

[Additional Counsel Listed on Inside Cover]

PAREGON PRINTING & STATIONERY COMPANY, IWC.

- .
Roger M. Theis
9411 Shannon Way Court
Wichita, KS 67206
(316) 634-0418

Carrold E. Ray

HILBURN, CALHOON,
HARPER, PRUNISKI
& CALHOUN, LTD.

8th Fir., Twin City Bank Bidg.

P.O. Box 5551
North Little Rock, AR 72119
(501) 372-0110

G. Eugene Boyce

Donald L. Smith

WOMBLE, CARLYLE,
SANDRIDGE & RICE

P.O. Box 831

Raleigh. NC 27602

(919) 755-2100

Edmund F. Sheehy, Jr.
CANNON & SHEEHY
2031 Eleventh Avenue
P.O. Box 5717

Helena, MT 59604
(406) 442-9930

Brian A. Luscher

Robert A. Jensen

BONN, LUSCHER, PADDEN
& WILKINS, CHTD.

804 North Second Street

Phoenix. AZ 85004

(602) 254-555;

Gene M. Connell, Jr.

Edward T. Kelaher

ELAHER, BASS &
CONNELL, P.A.

P.O. Box 14547

Surfside Beach, SC 29587

(803) 238-5648

Rudolph W. Guiliani

Robert Velez

ANDERSON, KILL, OLICK
& OSHINSKI, P.C.

666 Third Avenue

New York, NY 10017

(212) 840-0700

Michael F. Fitzgerald
PHELAN & COSTELLO P.C.
One Penn Plaza, Suite 4310
New York, NY 10119
(212) 868-3000

Richard W. Jones

Jack C. Helgesen

LYON, HELGESEN,
WATERFALL & JONES

4768 Harrison Boulevard

Ogden, UT 84403

(801) 479-4777

E. Mark Ezell

John W. Sharbrough III
EZELL & SHARBROUGH
150 Government Street
Mobile, AL 36602

(205) 432-1413

J. Doyle Fuller
P.O. Box 23458
Montgomery, AL 36123
(205) 270-0020

i
QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether this Court's decision in Davis v. Michigan
Department of Treasury, 489 U.S. 803 (1989), may under any
circumstance be “applied” nonretroactively so as to defeat federal
retirees’ entitlement to refunds of unconstitutional state taxes
imposed upon their federal annuities.

TABLE OF CONTENTS RT oA, AT Bcc p a sabe Behe! 30

QUESTION PRESENTED. oo fae ; RT ET eas Pathe aah ee, SRM ee Ae la
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES. «as nd ac ata(e eae eee iv Appendix A: List of Individuals

Appearing as Amici Curiae........ la
INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE ............... l

Appendix B: The Supremacy Clause )

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY of the United States
PROVISIONS INVOLVED | Pe ee 2 I l6a
SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT eee 3 Appendix C: Pertinent Parts of

oR 2 See ae 17a
Eg oe 0 0% 4h EL ee ee 5

1 THE OPINION BELOW’ IRRECONCILABLY
CONFLICTS WITH THE DECISION IN JAMES B.
BEAM DISTILLING CO. V. GEORGIA, 111 S.CT. 2439
6 & evra wa bes

Il THE OPINION BELOW ERRED BY RELYING ON
CHEVRON ANALYSIS TO SUSPEND THE
NONDISCRIMINATION CLAUSE OF 4 U.S.C. § 111
FOR A PERIOD OF FIFTY YEARS ........... 1]

A The Application of 4 U.S.C. § 111 in
Davis Did Not Establish a New Principle
GO ok ved iae eneeebenasetanesi 12

B. Retroactive Application of Davis is
Necessary to Enforce Federal Supremacy
and Limitations on the Judicial
PED . s oescscweeee eee een wae bs 24

od Any Alleged Hardship or Inequity Which
May Result From Enforcing the
Nondiscrimination Clause of 4 U.S.C. §
111 Cannot Justify Nonretroactive
Ree GT 6 oc ccc cctwowecers 28

. “2 P
iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES:
Allen v. State Board of Elections,

I ewes oe twee ceunes 15
Aloha Airlines, Inc. v. Director of Taxation,

ie aay 18, 29
American Tobacco Co. v. United States,

I MI bce ye cae oly 2b de 14
American Trucking Ass'ns., Inc. v. Smith,

Sot ee eee 10-12, 24, 26, 28
American Trucking Ass'ns., Inc. v. Scheiner,

I gi aia era 7, 26
Arizona Governing Committee v. Norris,

i a ee es a lla 15
Armco, Inc. v. Hardesty,

I he tas ee, nay = ae 13
Ashland Oil, Inc. v. Caryl,

EO ns oc a ctaduscere 4, 12, 13, 26
Atkin v. Kansas, 191 U.S. 207 (1903) ............... 29
Bacchus Imports, Ltd. v. Dias,

POD o's bcc ewe cccccccuseseus passim
Barker v. Kansas, 112 §.Ct. 1619 (1992) .... 2... passim
Bass v. South Carolina, 414 $.E.2d 110

(S.C. 1991), pet. for cert. pending,

Eg ree 2 Ee ee l

Vv

Bate Refrigerating Co. v. Sulzberger,
Te a ak en 17

Bohn v. Waddell, 790 P.2d 772
(Ariz. T.C. 1990), aff'd on
reconsideration, 807 P.2d |
(Ariz. T.C. 1991), appeal
pending No. | CA-TX 90-029
(Ariz. App., argued Feb. 12, 1991) ................ 2

Brumley v. Utah State Tax Commission,
No. 91-0242 (Utah, argued Apr. 7, 1992)............. 2

Chevron Oil, Inc. v. Huson,
Ee ane eee ee an passim

Chevron U.S.A. Inc. v. Natural

Resources Defense Council, Inc.,

Se ee now eee cdncunee 17
Chung Fook v. White, 264 U.S. 443 (1924)............ 17

Commr. of Immigration of Port
of New York v. Gottlieb,

a os a cn bs eee eheace vale 28
Corona Co. v. United States, ;
er ED ow wicccvcscicccncccecectin 29
Davis v. Department of Treasury,

446 N.W.2d 531 (Mich. App. 1991) ................ 9
Davis v. Michigan Dept. of Treasury,

I ro Passim
Del Monte Mining and Milling

Co. v. Last Chance Mining
and Milling Co., 171 U.S. 55 (1898). .............. 20

vi
Demarest v. Manspeaker, 111 S.Ct. 599 (1991)... 0.0... 18

Duffy v. Wetzler, 555 N.Y.S.2d 543
(N.Y. Sup. Ct. 1990), aff'd as
modified, 579 N.Y.S.2d (N.Y.
App. Div. 1992), appeal dism'd,

(N.Y., Order, July 7, 1992) ..............--e. oe
Estate of Sanford v. Comm'r

of Internal Revenue, 308 U.S. 39 (1939) ............ 10
Evans v. Abney, 396 U.S. 435 (1970) ..............., 21
Fleming v. Fleming, 264 U.S. 29 (1924) .......... 21, 22
Freytag’ CLR., 111 S.Ct. 2631 (1991) ............. 29
Graves v. New York ex rel. O'Keefe,

I te ts at 22
Griffin v. Oceanic Contractors, Inc..

aaa 5 os tow be bu ee be apiu 18
Hallstrom v. Tillamook County,

110 S.Ct. 304 (1989) . LENO sede ereeeeeeeseeeeee 29
Hanover Shoe, Inc. v. United States,

I oe ee mia rial ee 4, 13, 14
Heiner v. Donnan, 285 U.S. 312 (1932).............., 21

Helvering v. New York Trust Co.,
IY sa Sa a oats il ee 28

lowa-Des Moines Bank v. Bennett,
i I le es See 9,10

Vil

James B. Beam Distilling Co. y. Georgia,

A es ices .. passim
Lake County v. Rollins,

ee Se ras © 20
Lampf, Pleva, Lipkind, Prupis

& Petigrow v. Gilbertson,

RS EA Un MG Mes Or 7
Leffingwell v. Warren, 67 U.S. 599 (1862) ............ 29
License Tax Cases, 72 U.S. (5 Wall.) 462 (1866) ..... 20, 21
Los Angeles Dept. of Water

& Power v. Manhart,

gE Aeros LeU aN Mada 15
Louisville and Nashville

Railroad Co. v. Mottley,

RG SS RR acy a ee MMe | 29
Low Wah Suey v. Backus, 225 U.S. 460 a 28
Marbury v. Madison, 5 U.S. (1 Cranch) 137 (1803) ... 25,27
Maryland v. Louisiana, 451 U.S. 725 (1981)........... 23
McCray v. United States, 195 U.S. 60 eee 26
McCullough v. Maryland,

17 U.S. (4 Wheat.) 316 (1819) ........ 18, 19, 22, 24, 27
McKesson Corp. v. Div. of

Alcoholic Beverages & Tobacco,

110 S.Ct. 2238 (1990) .... 0... 2, 25, 27, 30

Vili

Memphis Bank & Trust Co. v. Garner,

ee en UD bs 416K Glee 6 Oe os BOs ee ee 16,

Mobil Oil Corp. v. Higginbotham,
CR A eee ee ee ee ee ee ee

Montana National Bank of
Billings v. Yellowstone County,
RIN eM Tahoe a ky uae 5 oe gece

Moses Lake Homes, Inc. v. Grant County,
RE A A See

Mullaney v. Anderson, 342 U.S. 415 (1952) ...........

National Broiler Marketing
Ass'n v. United States,
concn g's a5 6 he Os a aw OOP

New York Nat. Bank v. Massey,
og eer gad ee Oe 0S SL

Norfolk & Western v.
American Train Dispatchers,
ee rire eae oe et

Northern Securities Co. v. United States,
SS oe Pl ee oe at tie

Patterson v. Shumate,
60 U.S.L.W. 4550 (U.S., June 15, 1992)
Et A LE NEI PS ak Ee eon ee ee |

Phillips Chemical Co. v. Dumas
Independent School Dist. ,

IE a o's b' 5-6-0 ka a hi nae ae 16, 23,

22

21

a

ix
Pledger v. Bosnick,

811 S.W.2d 286 (1991),

ee rere |
Pollard's Lessee v. Hagan,

oe eR 20, 26
Prima Paint Corp. v. Flood

& Conklin Mfg. Co.,

DT rk Ss a sf cara og a 20
Rose v. Arkansas State Police, 479 U.S. 1 (1986)... ...... 19
Sheehy v. Montana, 820 P.2d 1257

(Mont. 1991), pert. for cert. pending,

I ie rea are ern aes ak aioe ee |
Simpson v. Union Oil Co., 377 U.S. 13 (1964) ....... 7,14
Sizemore v. Rinehart, No. 2900290

(Ala. App. 1992), pet. for cert.

Es HE OEE boc ce wend vedsedvenas 2
South Carolina v. Baker, 485 U.S. 505 (1988)... .... 22, 24
St. Louis & Iron Mountain

Railway Co. v. Taylor,

SN or hs a eres 17, 28, 29
State Tonnage Tax Cases,

er ee Ge CUTE 6c cc 0 ace es oceewenes 22
Stewart Organization, Inc. v. Ricoh Corp.,

Ck Pe ee ere rer rr re oT 20

x

Swanson v. State, 407 S.E.2d 791 (N.C.),
adhered to on reh'g, 410 S.E.2d 490
(N.C. 1991), pert. for cert. pending,

8 ee PE ee eR OT ER TE Ce

Swift & Co. v. Hocking Valley Ry. Co.,

eee oe eee ee

Texas Cement Co. v. McCord, 233 U.S. 157 (1914) ....

The Cherokee Tobacco, 78 U.S. (11 Wall.) 616 (1870)

Thornley v. United States, 113 U.S. 310 (1885) .......
Trinityfarm Co. v. Grosjean, 291 U.S. 466 (1934) .....

eee es Pe es OED oc cso ce bee ek doe:

United States v. Aluminum Co. of America,

SG ae SO Gee Ges GERD gw cc sec c ces ecenes

United States v. City of Detroit,

FTES EE TET ee ee ee

United States v. City of Spokane,
918 F.2d 84, 89 (9th Cir. 1990),

cert. denied, 111 §.Ct. 2888 (1991) .............

United States v. County of Fresno,

4 erate ane ery ar

United States v. Estate of Donnelly,

397 U.S. 286 (1970) ....., ee ee ree ee eres

United States v. First National Bank of Detroit,

oe es ree eee

xi
United States v. Fisher,

Sa Ge GU PD voc we eevee cceeses 17, 28
United States v. Johnson,

RR NE Ae OO Ree TS REE Reade cs 13
United States v. Missouri
Pacific Railroad Co., 278 U.S. 269 (1929) ........... 28
United States v. Nixon, 418 U.S. 683 (1974) ........... 21
United States v. Rogers, 45 U.S. (4 How.) 567 (1846)... .. 17
United States v. Ron Pair

Enterprises, Inc.,

RT Rene ate ucrartaem PR aR a Mew ARMs ia 2 17
United States v. Rutherford, 442 U.S. 544 (1979)... 2.2... 20
United States v. Sisson, 399 U.S. 267 (1970) .......... 22
Washington v. United States,

Se es PED ob wa eecccescucess 16, 22, 23, 27

Youngstown Sheet and Tube Co. v. Sawyer,
cs oe bee dee ee 19, 29

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND STATUTES:

La oe bee os eke ees oe eee passim
11 U.S.C. § 541(c)(2) . 2... sie re nehen aie rae he eee 18
PD vo os ab euaeewueeeh uuu 15

Pr EE ni oo hk 6 nS ake s one hae Oe oleh 16

xii

Public Salary Tax Act of 1939,
ch. 59, § 4, 53 Stat. 575

cet ee cece ee eeee bese 16
re Ce ce cieudek deus seeders 19
oF SPP PURE PRET. «cee eeETES CO 2!
fe ee | OY 6 ee ee ee 2, 18

OTHER AUTHORITIES:

H.R. Rep. 26, 76th Cong.,
a a no ee a ey 25

S.Rep. 112, 76th Cong.,
a SE Oe Se tO eo Oe ee ae ee 25

The Federalist No. 15, at 143 (A. Hamilton)
i ea ee a at 27

The Federalist No. 33, at 255 (A. Hamilton)
ES eg Sg 19

The Federalist No. 44, at 356 (J. Madison)
tg sot ee

The Federalist No. 47, at 376 (J. Madison)
a 20

The Federalist No. 78, at 576, 579 (A. Hamilton)
ee oe 20

No. 91-794

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1992

HENRY HARPER, ET AL.,
Petitioners,
vs.
VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
Supreme Court of Virginia

BRIEF AMICT CURIAE FOR DESIGNATED
FEDERAL RETIREES IN KANSAS, ARKANSAS,
NORTH CAROLINA, MONTANA, SOUTH CAROLINA,
NEW YORK, UTAH, ALABAMA AND ARIZONA
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

INTEREST OF THE AMIC] CURIAE

Amici are the petitioners in Barker v. Kansas, 112 S.Ct. 1619
(1992); the respondents in Pledger v. Bosnick, 811 S.W.2d 286
(Ark. 1991), pet. for cert. pending, No. 91-375; the petitioners in
Swanson v. State, 407 $.E.2d 791 (N.C.), adhered to on reh'g, 410
S.E.2d 490 (N.C. 1991), pet. for cert. pending, No. 91-1436; the
petitioners in Sheehy v. Montana, 820 P.2d 1257 (Mont. 1991), pet.
for cert. pending, No. 91-1473; the petitioners in Bass v. South
Carolina, 414 §.E.2d 110 (S.C. 1991), pet. for cert. pending, No.
91-1697; the appellants in Duffy v. Wertzler, 555 N.Y.S.2d 543

2

(N.Y. Sup. Ct. 1990), aff'd as modified, 579 N.Y.S.2d (N.Y. App.
Div. 1992), appeal dism'd, (N.Y., Order, July 7, 1992); the cross-
appellants in Brumley v. Utah State Tax Commission, No. 91-0242
(Utah, argued Apr. 7, 1992); the cross-appellees in Sizemore v.
Rinehart, No. 2900290 (Ala. App. 1992), pet. for cert. pending,
(Ala., No. 1911015); and the appellants in Bohn v. Waddell, 790
P.2d 772 (Ariz. T.C. 1990), aff'd on reconsideration, 807 P.2d |
(Ariz. T.C. 1991), appeal pending No. 1 CA-TX 90-029 (Ariz.
App., argued Feb. 12, 1991).’

Amici are retired federal employees (civilian and military)
involved in litigation which squarely addresses the question
presented here: whether this Court's decision in Davis v. Michigan
Dept. of Treasury, 489 U.S. 803 (1989), may under any
circumstances be given nonretroactive effect to defeat the
entitlement of federal retirees to a refund of unconstitutional State
taxes imposed on their federal retirement benefits. The ultimate
disposition of this issue will have a decided impact on the
constitutional rights of amici and literally hundreds of thousands of
retired federal employees in those States which have refused to
enforce the clear mandates of 4 U.S.C. § 111, James B. Beam
Distilling Co. v. Georgia, 111 S.Ct. 2439 (1991), and McKesson
Corp. v. Div. of Alcoholic Beverages & Tobacco, 110 S.Ct. 2238
(1990). Therefore, amici have a salient and compelling interest in
proper resolution of the question presented in this case.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

1. The text of the Supremacy Clause, U.S. Const., art.
VI, cl. 2, is set forth in Appendix B, infra.

2. The pertinent text of 4 U.S.C. § 111 is set forth in
Appendix C, infra ?

oe

B *
nd

Qa

"Set forth in Appendix A us a complete list of all amici. The written consents
of the parties to the filing of this bnef amici curiae have been filed with the Clerk
of the Coun

3

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

The refusal of the Virginia Supreme Court to enforce the plain
meaning and effect of 4 U.S.C. § 111, despite its application by
this Court to the parties in Davis v. Michigan Dept. of Treasury,
489 U.S. 803 (1989), directly conflicts with James B. Beam
Distilling Co. v. Georgia, 111 §. Ct. 2439 (1991). Furthermore, by
suspending the operation of Section 111's prohibition against
discrimination until the announcement of Davis, its decision offends
rudimentary principles of federal supremacy and disregards the
solemn judicial obligation to effectuate the clear intent of Congress
expressed in an unambiguous statute. The judgment below must be
reversed.

In Davis, this Court applied 4 U.S.C. § 111 to invalidate a
Michigan income tax scheme which favored retired state and local
government employees over retired federal employees. 489 U.S. at
817. Enroute to its decision, the Court significantly observed that
the “plain” and “unambiguous” terms of 4 U.S.C. § 111 “leave no
room for doubt" that the statute protects federal retirees from
discriminatory state taxation. 489 U.S. at 808-810 and n.3. In
disposing of Davis, this Court did not reserve the question of
retroactivity; rather, it independently determined that Paul Davis
was entitled to a refund of taxes paid in prior years pursuant to
Michigan's discriminatory tax scheme. /d. at 817.

In Beam, every Member of the Court agreed that where the
issue of retroactivity is not specifically reserved for subsequent
disposition, the rule of law announced in the decision applies to the
parties before the Court. See 111 S. Ct. at 2451 (O'Connor, J.,
dissenting opinion, joined by Rehnquist, C.J., and Kennedy, J.). A
clear majority of the Court also agreed that when a decision has
been retroactively applied to the parties in suit, the decision must be
applied retroactively to all other similarly situated litigants. Since
Davis did not reserve the retroactivity question and clearly applied
its decision retroactively to the parties¢ Beam compels that Davis
must be retroactively applied to all other litigants not barred by
procedural limitations or res judicata. See Beam, 111 S.Ct. at 2448.

4

Michigan's remedial concession in Davis does not affect this
conclusion; thus, the opinion below misinterpreted the effect of
Davis in concluding otherwise.

Although Beam alone compels reversal, the Virginia Supreme
Court also erroneously applied the analysis described in Chevron
Oil, Inc. v. Huson, 404 U.S. 97 (1971), to erect a false veneer for
its holding that Davis was not retroactive. When a judicial decision
"dloes] not overrule clear past precedent nor decide a wholly new
issue of impression,” it does not satisfy Chevron's threshold
requirement for nonretroactivity and applies retroactively. Ashland
Oil, Inc. v. Caryl, 110 S. Ct. 3202, 3205 (1990) (per curiam).
Moreover, when a decision like Davis has applied settled precedents
to construe an unambiguous federal statute in the manner intended
by Congress, the rule applies retroactively because it has not altered
the law in any material way. See Hanover Shoe, Inc. v. United
States, 392 U.S. 481, 496-499 (1968). Indeed, Davis did not create
a new principle of law. To the contrary, Davis merely enforced as
written the “plain” and “unambiguous” terms of 4 U.S.C. § 111
which “unmistakabl[y]" prohibits discriminatory state taxation of
federal retirees. 489 U.S. at 808-810 and n.10. As a decision which
straightforwardly applied an unambiguous federal statute, Davis
merely held that Section 111's express requirements must be
enforced as directed by Congress.

The failure to apply Davis retroactively would eviscerate the
core principles of federal supremacy and separation of powers upon
which our constitutional framework is based. Where the language
of a congressional enactment is plain, courts have no power to
revise a federal statute in accordance with their own notions of
considered public policy: instead, courts are required to enforce
federal statutes as written. Section 111's unambiguous prohibition
against discriminatory state taxation has been the supreme “Law of
the Land” since its enactment in 1939 and, by its own force through
the Supremacy Clause. has withdrawn all power from the States to
enact conflicting legislation. Since an unambiguous Act of Congress
must be applied uniformly from its effective date, the Virginia

5

Supreme Court was not at liberty to defy a clear congressional
directive by suspending the national will for over 50 years.
Nonretroactive application of Davis would suspend Section 1 11's
nondiscrimination clause and would turn federal supremacy on its
head, allowing invalid state laws to reign supreme in defiance of the
“supreme Law of the Land.” The second prong of Chevron
mandates the retroactivity of Davis in order to preserve federal
supremacy and to effectuate congressional intent.

Finally, any alleged hardship or inequity which may result
from enforcing the unambiguous commands of Congress cannot
justify nonretroactive application of Davis. The responsibility for
the justice and wisdom of legislation rests solely with Congress,
while the province of the courts is to enforce, and not make, the
laws. In this case, the federal choice of law is, and always has been,
the unambiguous terms of 4 U.S.C. § 111. Having exerted judicial
power that does not exist to override an unambiguous Act of

Congress, the judgment of the Supreme Court of Virginia must be
reversed.

ARGUMENT

I. THE OPINION BELOW IRRECONCILABLY CONFLICTS
WITH THE DECISION IN JAMES B. BEAM DISTILLING
CO. V. GEORGIA, 111 S.CT. 2439 (1991)

The controlling rule of decision articulated in Beam is that a
court commits reversible error whenever it “refuse{s] to apply a
rule of federal law retroactively after the case announcing the rule
has already done so.” 111 S.Ct. at 2446 (Souter, J., plurality
opinion announcing the judgment, joined by Stevens, J.). Despite
differences in jurisprudential reasoning between Members of the
Beam majority, this Court reversed a Georgia Supreme Court
judgment which utilized a Chevron analysis to conclude that
Bacchus Imports, Lid. v. Dias, 468 U.S. 263 (1984), did not apply

6

to tax refund claims arising before the date of that decision.’
Accordingly, “when the Court has applied a rule of law to the
litigants in one case it must do so with respect to all others not
barred by procedural requirements or res judicata.” Beam, 111
S.Ct. at 2448 (Souter, J., plurality opinion announcing the
judgment, joined by Stevens, J.).

In this case, the Virginia Supreme Court concluded on remand
that Beam does not mandate retroactive application of the decision
in Davis. Stating that Davis did not consider the issue nor rule that
its holding applied retroactively to the parties, the opinion below
perceived no precedential impediment to the use of Chevron analysis
in determining whether Davis is retroactive. (Pet. 4a). The Virginia
court reiterated adherence to its view of the analysis described in
Chevron and reaffirmed its original decision. (Pet. 4a-Sa). Because
the lower court's analysis significantly misapprehends the central
importance of Beam in resolving the proper application of Davis and
similar decisions of this Court, the judgment below must be
reversed.

Without doubt, the majority opinion in Davis neither
mentioned “retroactivity” nor expressly addressed it as a separate
issue for decision. See 489 U.S. at 803-817. Judicial silence of this
ilk, however, does not support the Virginia court's naked assertion
that retroactive application of Davis is an unsettled question which
may be decided afresh in pending state court litigation. To the
contrary, since “retroactivity * * * goes without the saying” in most

2Three members of the Court reached this conclusion as a federal choice of
law matter (see Beam, 111 S.Ct. at 2446-2448 (Souter, J., plurality opinion
announcing the judgment, joined by Stevens, J.), and id at 2448-2449 (White, J,
concurring in judgment)), while three members of the Court concurred in the
reversal on broader grounds involving basic norms of constitutional adjudication
and limitations on the judicial power (see id at 2449-2450 (Blackmun, J.,
concurring in judgment, joined by Marshall and Scalia, J.J.), and id. at 2450-2451
(Scalia, J., concurring in judgmefit, joined by Marshal! and Blackmun, JJ _)). While
the decision in Beam wes delivered without a majority opinion, it is beyond
peradventure that the holding expressed in Justice Souter's plurality opimon
artuculates the minimally acceptable rule of law which must be apphed by on
courts

-

decisions of this Court, silence on the issue signifies that the rule
announced in a decision has been retroactively applied to the parties
before the Court. Beam, 111 S.Ct. at 2445 (Souter, J., plurality
Opinion announcing the judgment, joined by Stevens, J.). As Justice
O'Connor cogently ex iained:

Given that the usual course in cases before this Court is
to apply the rule announced to the parties in the case, the
most reasonable reading of silence is that the Court
followed its customary practice.

Id. at 2451 (dissenting opinion, joined by Rehnquist, C.J., and
Kennedy, J.) (emphasis added). Therefore, when a decision of this
Court does not “reserve the question whether its holding should be
applied to the parties before it, (the decision] is properly understood
to have followed the normal rule of retroactive application in civil
cases." Id. at 2445 (Souter, J., plurality opinion announcing the
judgment, joined by Stevens, J.) (citation omitted).?

Because "(t]he Bacchus opinion is silent on the retroactivity
question,” there was no disagreement among Members of this Court
that “Bacchus applied its rule retroactively to the parties before it.”

>For example, in Lampf. Pleva, Lipkind, Prupis & Petigrow v. Gilbertson.
111 S.Ct. 2773 (1991), this Court established a uniform period of limitations for
all 10b-5S actions under the Securities and Exchange Act of 1934. Although Lampf
announced a new rule and overturned established circuit court precedent, that
decision was retroactively applied to the parties in suit without any discussion of
the retroactivity question. See Id. at 2787-2788 (O'Connor, J., dissenting opinion,
joined by Kennedy, J.).

On the other hand, when this Court chuoses to reserve judgment on the
retroactive or prospective application of a rule-changing decision, it has had no
difficulty expressing that determination un the rule changing-decision itself. See,
¢.g., American Trucking Ass'ns., Inc. ¢ “Scheiner, 483 U.S. 266, 297-298 (1987)
(after deciding the constitutional question presented, the Court remanded the case
to Pennsylvania state court “to consider whether our ruling should be applied
retroactively”); Simpson v. Union Oil Co., 377 U.S. 13, 24-25 (1964)("We reserve
the question whether, when all the facts are known, there may be any equities that
would warrant only prospective application in damage suits of the rule governing
price fixing by the ‘consignment’ device which we announce today *).

Beam, 111 S.Ct. at 2451 (O'Connor, J., dissenting opinion, joined
by Rehnquist, C.J., and Kennedy, J.). While the Virginia Supreme
Court acknowledged that "Bacchus applied its rule retroactively to
the litigants in that case,” the opinion below attempts to avoid the
effect of Beam on the basis that “the Court made no such ruling in
Davis.” (Pet. 4a). Since Bacchus and Davis are both silent on the
retroactivity question, the Virginia Supreme Court improperly
equated the absence of an express ruling on this issue in Davis with
parochial freedom to independently determine whether the decision
should be given retroactive effect.

In Bacchus, this Court did not expressly state that its holding
would apply retroactively to the taxpayers or the State of Hawaii,
and it did not reserve judgment on the issue. See Bacchus, 468 U.S.
at 276-277. Instead, the case was reversed and remanded to state
court solely for consideration of Hawaii's asserted "pass-through
defense” to the taxpayers’ refund claims. Beam, 111 S.Ct. at 2445
(Souter, J., plurality opinion announcing the judgment, joined by
Stevens, J.); see also Bacchus, 468 U.S. at 276-277. By logical and
necessary implication, such judicial action retroactively applied the
holding in Bacchus to the parties before the Court without any
express consideration or determination of the retroactivity question.
Beam, 111 S.Ct. at 2445-2446 (Souter, J., plurality opinion
announcing the judgment, joined by Stevens, J.); id. at 2448
(White, J., concurring in judgment); id. at 2451 (O'Connor, J.,
dissenting opinion, joined by Rehnquist, CJ., and Kennedy, J.).
Therefore, unless the issue has been specifically reserved by this
Court for subsequent disposition, the absence of an express ruling
on the retroactivity question does not mean that the application of a
civil decision is unsettled; instead, it means that the decision will be
retroactively applied to the parties in accordance with customary
practice.

“For example, in Barker v. Kansas, 112 S.Ct. 1619 (1992), this Court applied
the plain language of 4 U.S.C. § 111 to invalidate a discriminatory Kansas income
tax which favored state and local government retirees over federal military retirees.
Id at 1621-1622, 1626. Although the Barker decision was announced with a keen
awareness of the retroactivity issue (see Tr. Oral Argument at 8-10, 38-41, Barker

9

Like the taxpayers in Bacchus, Paul Davis challenged the
val idity of a discriminatory state tax on constitutional grounds, and
Simultaneously requested retroactive and prospective relief from
unlawful taxation. Davis, 489 U.S. at 806-807, 817. Mr. Davis
also prevailed on the merits of his challenge. Jd. at 817. However,
this Court expressly decided in Davis that "to the extent appellant
has paid taxes pursuant to this invalid scheme, he is entitled to a
refund. See lowa-Des Moines Bank v. Bennett, 284 U.S. 239, 247
(1931).” 489 U.S. at 817. Since Davis unequivocally approved the
taxpayer's entitlement to a refund of state taxes paid in prior years,
its ruling was retroactively applied to the parties before it with even
greater clarity than the Bacchus decision, which by contrast, "did
not grant outright” the taxpayers’ request for a refund. 2am, 111
S.Ct. at 2445 (Souter, J., plurality opinion announcing the
judgment, joined by Stevens, J)?

The opinion below erroneously concluded that “the issue of
retroactivity was not considered * * * in Davis because Michigan
previously had agreed to the payment of a refund * * * if its taxing
scheme were invalidated.” (Pet. 4a). The Virginia Supreme Court
ignored the fact that Michigan agreed to pay a refund as the
appropriate choice of remedy, but only upon the express condition
that this Court invalidated the Michigan tax.° The Court in Davis

(No. 91-611), and nine States urged the Court to specifically reserve this question
to avoid its retroactive effect (Brief of Arizona, Arkansas, Georgia, lowa, Montana,
Oklahoma, Utah, Virginia and Wisconsin as Amicus Curiae in Support of
Respondents at 1-4, Barker (No. 91-611)), like Bacchus and Davis, the Barker
opinion is silent regarding the scope of its application. Therefore, the Barker
decision is properly understood to follow the general rule and it has been
retroactively applied to the parties before the Court.

| 5On remand from this Court, the Michigan Court of Appeals properly
interpreted the Davis opinion as “directing that plaintiff receive refund for
overpayment of taxes resulting from this disparate treatment.” Davis v. Department
of Treasury, 446 N.W.2d 531 (Mich. App. 1991).

In Davis, Michigan relied upon lowa-Des Moines National Bank v. Bennett,
284 US. 239 (1931), to argue that if the Court invalidated Michigan's
discriminatory tax scheme, the inequality could be remedied by either striking the

10

reached and approved Michigan's concession that Mr. Davis should
receive a tax refund (489 U.S. at 817), but only after concluding
that Michigan's tax scheme was invalid and only after applying its
ruling retroactively to the parties. Under federal law, if the effect
of Davis was not retroactive, the. question of remedy would never
have been reached and Mr. Davis could not have been awarded a
tax refund. See American Trucking Ass'ns., Inc. v. Smith, 110 S.Ct.
2323, 2330 (1990) (O'Connor, J., plurality opinion); United States
v. City of Spokane, 918 F.2d 84, 89 (9th Cir. 1990), cert. denied,
111 S.Ct. 2888 (1991). In light of Beam, and retroactive application
of Bacchus without any discussion of the issue, the Virginia court's
assertion that the retroactive effect of Davis has no precedential
value or effect is patently unsupportable. ”

While judicial silence alone means that a decision has been
retroactively applied, Justice Souter also observed that any qualified
or unqualified approval of a taxpayer's entitlement to a refund
"necessarily implies that the precedential question has been settled

exemption which favored state retirees or by extending the exemption to federal
retirees. Appellees’ Brief at 62-63, Davis (No. 87-1020). With respect to
prospective remedies, Michigan argued that the Court should remand the case and
allow the state courts or legislature an opportunity to make this choice between
“remedial alternatives.” Jd. at 63. With respect to retroactive remedies, Michigan
argued that providing Mr. Davis a tax refund would satisfy the mandate of equal
treatment; therefore, the Court should not retroactively strike the exemptions
favoring state retirees, which would have imposed a tax on them. /d. at 61-63 and
82-83. Michigan's arguments clearly focused only on the choice between "remedial
alternatives” and did not even remotely suggest that Michigan's refund concession
had any effect upon the Court's independent decision to retroactively apply its
holding to the parties before it.

?Michigan’s concession that a refund was appropriate does not dilute or
undermine the binding effect of this Court's determination that Mr. Davis is
“entitled to a refund” under Jowa-Des Moines Bank. Davis, 489 U.S. at 817.
“[S]ince the court cannot be controlled by agreement of counsel on a subsidiary
question of law,” Swift & Co. v. Hocking Valley Ry. Co., 243 U.S. 281, 289
(1917) (Brandeis, J., majority opinion), the Davis decision independently
determined the taxpayer's entitlement to a refund by approving the validity of
Michigan's position. Cf Estate of Sanford v. Comm'r of Internal Revenue, 308
U.S. 39, 51 (1939) (“We are not bound to accept, as controlling, stipulations as
to questions of law.”).

11

to the effect that the rule of law will apply to the parties before the
Court. " Beam, 111 S.Ct. at 2445 (plurality opinion announcing the
judgment, joined by Stevens, J.). Because the refund issue was
resolved by this Court in Davis, that case was remanded to state
court solely for payment of the taxpayer's refund and consideration
of appropriate prospective relief "to comply with the mandate of
equal treatment.” Davis, 489 U.S. at 816-817. These circumstances
convincingly demonstrate that the decision “should be read as
having retroactively applied the rule there decided." Beam, 111
S.Ct. at 2445-2446 (Souter, J., plurality opinion announcing the
judgment, joined by Stevens, J.)(citing Davis as comparative

Support for this proposition in the retroactive application of
Bacchus).

Since the taxpayer clearly received the benefit of this Court's
decision in Davis, the opinion below is nothing less than a
transparent attempt to exhume and resuscitate the corpse of selective
prospectivity despite its burial in Beam and its binding effect on
state courts.? However, it is now settled that "[o]nce retroactive
application is chosen for any assertedly new rule, it is chosen for
all others who might seek its prospective application." Beam, 111
S.Ct. at 2447-2448 (Souter, J., plurality opinion announcing the
judgment, joined by Stevens, J.). Because the Commonwealth of
Virginia is no exception, the judgment below must be reversed.

fl. THE OPINION BELOW ERRED BY RELYING ON
CHEVRON ANALYSIS TO SUSPEND THE
NONDISCRIMINATION CLAUSE OF 4 U.S.C. § 111 FOR
A PERIOD OF FIFTY YEARS

In Davis, this Court applied the nondiscrimination clause of
4 U.S.C. § 111 to invalidate a Michigan income tax scheme which

in the interest of national uniformity and “to prevent States from denying or
curtailing federally protected nghts, we have consistently required that state courts
adhere to our retroactivity decisions.” American Trucking Ass'ns., Inc. v. Smith
«+9 S.Ct. at 2330 (O'Connor, J., plurality opinion announcing the judgment, joined
by Rehnquist, C.J., and White and Kennedy, J.J.).

12

favored "retired state and local government employees over retired
federal employees." 489 U.S. at 817. See also Barker, 112 S.Ct.
at 1622 ("Davis * * * * invalidated under § 111 the Michigan
income tax on federal civil service retirees"). That decision also
approved Mr. Davis’ entitlement to a refund of taxes paid in prior
years. See Davis 489 U.S. at 817-818. This Court reversed and
remanded the case for payment of Mr. Davis' tax refund and
prospective compliance "with the mandate of equal treatment.” /d.

Despite the rejection of selective prospectivity in Beam, the
Virginia Supreme Court reaffirmed its adherence to a three-step
Chevron analysis in determining that "the Davis decision is not to
be applied retroactively.” (Pet. 17a). While straightforward
application of Beam alone warrants reversal of the judgment below,
the Virginia Supreme Court’ further erred by utilizing Chevron
analysis to effectively suspend the nondiscrimination clause of 4
U.S.C. § 111 from its enactment in 1939 until the announcement of
Davis fifty years later. Because Section 111 is an “unambiguous
statute” which clearly expresses the intent of Congress in “plain
language” with “unmistakable” meaning (see Davis, 489 U.S. at
808-810 and n.3), the opinion below improperly refused to enforce
its prohibition against discrimination any time before March 28,
1989.

A. The Application of 4 U.S.C. § 111 in Davis Did Not
Establish a New Principle of Law

Before any judicial decision may be even considered for
nonretroactive application, it "'must establish a new principle of law
by overruling clear past precedent * * * * or by deciding an issue
of first impression whose resolution was not clearly
foreshadowed.'” American Trucking Ass'ns., Inc. v. Smith, 110
§.Ct. at 2331 (O'Connor, J., plurality opinion) (quoting Chevron,
404 U.S. at 106). However, when a decision "d[oes] not overrule
clear past precedent nor decide a wholly new issue of first
impression,” it does not satisfy this threshold requirement and “thus
applies retroactively.” Ashland Oil, 110 S.Ct. at 3205.

13

The Davis decision did not overrule any clear past precedent
in invalidating Michigan's income tax on federal retirees. See 489
U.S. at 803-818. To the contrary, Davis struck down the
discriminatory tax by merely enforcing the plain terms of 4 U.S.C.
§ 111. Jd. at 812-814, 817; see also Barker, 112 S.Ct. at 1622.
Without even passing reference to Section 111, however, the
opinion below concluded that Davis "established a new rule of law
by deciding an issue of first impression whose resolution was not
clearly foreshadowed.” (Pet. 12a). Since Davis was decided by
applying the “plain” and “unambiguous” language of Section | 11
(see 489 U.S. at 808-810; Barker, 112 S.Ct. at 1622), the Virginia
Supreme Court clearly misapprehended the statutory basis for that
decision and the necessity of retroactive application.

Generally speaking, "when a decision of this Court merely
has applied settled precedents to new and different factual
situations,” the rule applies retroactively because it has not altered
the law “in any material way.” United States v. Johnson, 457 U.S.
537, 549 (1982). In such cases, "retroactivity * * * goes without the
saying.” Beam, 111 S.Ct. at 2445 (Souter, J., plurality opinion
announcing the judgment, joined by Stevens, J.). Similarly, a
constitutional decision which merely extends a legal doctrine
without overturning established precedent or announcing a
“revolutionary” rule "does not meet the first prong of the Chevron
Oil test." Ashland Oil, 110 S.Ct. at 3205.° The same is true with
respect to decisions which interpret and apply federal statutes. As
Justice White explained for the majority in Hanover Shoe, Inc. v.
United Shoe Machinery Corp., 392 U.S. 481 (1968), a decision
which applies a federal statute based on “existing authorities”
without “adopting a radically new interpretation” will be given

9in Ashland Oil, a unanimous Court held that Armco, Inc. v. Hardesty, 467
U.S. 638 (1984), applied retroactively in determining the constitutionality of a
West Virginia gross receipts tax for the fiscal years ending September 1975 and
1976. 110 S.Ct. at 3203-3205. While Armco contributed to the development of
dormant Commerce Clause jurisprudence by adopting the internal consistency test,
the decision did not satisfy the threshold requirement for nonretroactive application
because it neither overruled established precedent nor decided a wholly new issue
of first impression. /d. at 3205.

14

retroactive effect unless it marks “such an abrupt and fundamental
shift in doctrine as to constitute an entirely new rule which in effect
replaced an older one.” /d. at 497-498 ./

Because "Acts of Congress are generally to be applied
uniformly throughout the country from the date of their
effectiveness onward,” only the most exceptional circumstances can
ever “warrant withholding retroactive application of a decision
construing a statute as Congress intended it." United States v. Estate
of Donnelly, 397 U.S. 286, 294-295 (1970). In rare instances, this
Court has reserved judgment on the issue when overruling its own
construction of a statute (see Simpson v. Union Oil Co., 377 U.S.

101, Hanover Shoe, this Court held that American Tobacco Co. v. United
States, 328 U.S. 781 (1946), would be retroactively applied in determiming a
plaintiff's entitlement to damages under the Sherman Act. The Court of Appeals
had concluded that American Tobacco would not be given retroactive effect and that
Hanover could not recover damages prior to its announcement on June 10, 1946
reasoning that American Tobacco “fundamentally altered the law of
monopolization” by eliminating proof of predatory practices in addition to
monopoly power. Hanover Shoe, 392 U.S. at 495. This Court reversed, reasoning
in relevant part:

In the American Tobacco case, this Court noted that the precise
question before it had not been previously decided * * * and gave
no indication that it thought was adopting a radically new
interpretation of the Sherman Act. Like the Court of Appeals [in
United States v. Aluminum Co. of America, 148 F.2d 416 (2d Cir.
(1945)}, this Court relied for its conclusion upon existing authorities.
These cases make it clear that there was no accepted interpretation of
the Sherman Act which conditioned a finding of monopolization under

2 upon a showing of predatory practices by the monopolist. In
neither case was there such an abrupt and fundamental shift in
doctrine as to constitute an enurely new rule which in effect replaced
an older one. Whatever development in antitrust law was brought
about was based to a great extent on existing authorities and was an
extension of doctrines which had been growing and developing over
the years. These cases did not constitute a sharp break in the line of
earlier authority or an avulsive change which caused the current of the
law thereafter to flow between new banks.

Hanover Shoe, 392 US. at 496-499 (White, J.. majority opinion) (citation
omitted).

15

at 24-25), or denied retroactive effect to a decision which resolved
complex questions of first impression involving the application of an
ambiguous statute in light of conflicting legislative history (see Allen
v. State Board of Elections, 393 U.S. 544, 570-571 (1969)).
However, no exceptional circumstances are present here that can
justify suspending application of the plain language of the
nondiscrimination clause of 4 U.S.C. § J 11 until the announcement
of Davis on March 28, 1989.//

"In Arizona Governing Committee v. Norris, 463 U.S. 1073 (1983) and Los
Angeles Dept. of Water & Power v. Manhart, 435 U.S. 702 (1978), this Court
held that Title VII prohibited employers from requiring women to make larger
contnbutions in order to obtain the same deferred compensation and pension plan
benefits as men. Neither case was given retroactive effect.

Recognizing that Title VII was not “intended to revolutionize the insurance
and pension industries” and the statute “does not require * * * any retroactive
relief,” the Court in Manhart concluded that changes in the legal rules governing
pension and insurance funds “should not be applied retroactively unless the
legislature has plainly commanded that result.” 435 U.S. at 717-718, 721.
However, the Congress and EEOC have recognized the “importance of making
only gradual and prospective changes in the rules that govern pension plans.” /d.
at 721-722 and n.40. Given the potentially devastating effect of retroactive liability
on the insurance industry and pension plans, where the harm would be largely felt
by innocent third parties, it would be inequitable éo0 impose such relief based on the
“unforeseen” contingency of a Title VII decision “which represents a marked
departure from past practice.” Manhart, 435°U.S. at 721-723.

In Norris, five Members of this Court concluded that its decision should be
given only prospective effect. Relying upon the intent of Congress expressed in the
McCarran-Ferguson Act (15 U.S.C. § 1011 ef seq.) and Title VII's legislative
history, four Members of the Court dissented from the application of Manhart to
voluntary deferred compensation plans and reasoned, based on Manhart itself, that
an award of retroactive relief “would be both unprecedented and manifestly unjust.”
463 U.S. at 1099-1105 (Powell, J., dissenting in part and concurring in part, joined
by Burger, C. J., and Blackmun and Rehnquist, J.J.). Justice O'Connor provided
the pivotal swing vote for nonretroactive application of Norris. Reasoning that
“the answer” on the merits “is far from self-evident” because “the general language
chosen by Congress does not clearly resolve the precise question,” Justice
O'Connor applied Chevron analysis and the Court's equitable powers under Title
VII to fashion an appropriate prospective remedy. 463 U.S. at 1107-1111
(concurring opinion).

In view of the unique circumstances present in Manhart and Norris, both
decisions are inapposite to proper resolution of this case.

16

When Congress originally enacted 4 U.S.C. § 111 as part of
the Public Salary Tax Act of 1939, ch. 59, § 4, 53 Stat. 575
(effective January 1, 1939), it consented to state taxation of current
and retired federal employees "if the taxation does not discriminate
against the * * * employee because of the source of the pay or
compensation.” See Davis, 489 U.S. at 808-809. Under settled
principles of statutory interpretation, the "plain language” of Section
111 “leaves no room for doubt” that it protects federal retirees from
discriminatory state taxation (Davis, 489 U.S. at 808-810 and n.3),
and “the retention of immunity in § 111 is coextensive with the
prohibition against discriminatory taxes embodied in the modern
constitutional doctrine of intergovernmental tax immunity” (id. at
813). This principle of nondiscrimination precludes any State from
taxing federal retirees if "it treats someone else better than it treats
them.” Washington v. United States, 460 U.S. 536, 545 (1983).
Section 111 accordingiy prohibits the imposition of state taxes which
discriminate against federal retirees in favor of state retirees unless
"the inconsistent tax treatment is directly related to, and justified
by, ‘significant differences between the two classes.'" Davis, 489
U.S. at 816 (quoting Phillips Chemical Co. v. Dumas Independent
School Dist., 361 U.S. 376, 383 (1960)). See also Barker, 112
§.Ct. at 1622./4

‘2Even the lone dissenter in Davis conceded that “[a}rguably, the Court's
holding today is merely a logical extension of our decisions in Phillips Chemical
*** and Memphis Bank & Trust Co. v. Garner, 459 U.S. 392 (1983).” 489 U.S.
at 824 (Stevens, J., dissenting opinion). In light of these and other precedents
which have recognized or applied the nondiscrimination principle, this
acknowledgment by Justice Stevens demonstrates that Davis did not arrive like a
bolt from the blue. See, ¢.g., Memphis Bank, 459 U.S. at 397-399 (applying the
nondiscrimination clause of 31 U.S.C. § 742 “as principally a restatement of the
constitutional] rule” to invalidate a Tennessee bank tax which discriminated "in favor
of securities issued by Tennessee and its politica! subdivisions and against federal
obligations * * * * by including in the tax base income from federal obligations
while excluding income from otherwise comparable state and local obligations." );
Phillips Chemical, 361 U.S. at 383-387 (applying the nondiscrimination principle
to invalidate a Texas lease tax which impermissibly imposed a greater tax burden
on lessees of federal property than lessees of exempt property owned by the State
and its political subdivisions). Thus, the most that can be said about Davis is that
the Court relied upon (and perhaps logically extended) settled judicial precedent in
applying the nondiscrimination clause of 4 U.S.C. § 111

*

| Al

Because Section 111 is an “unambiguous statute” which
“leaves no room for doubt" regarding the scope of its intended
meaning, application and effect (see Davis, 489 U.S. at 809-810,
812-813 and n.3), the duty of the courts “is simply to enforce the
law as it is written, unless clearly unconstitutional.” Chung Fook
v. White, 264 U.S. 443, 446 (1924). This solemn obligation of the
judiciary to enforce the intent of Congress expressed in
unambiguous legislation is beyond dispute. See United States v. Ron
Pair Enterprises, Inc., 489 U.S. 235, 241 (1989) (where, as here,
the statute's language is plain, ‘the sole function of the court is to
enforce it according to its terms.'”) (citation omitted)./?

Writing for the Court in Norfolk & Western v. American Train
Dispatchers, 111 S.Ct. 1156 (1991), Justice Kennedy recently
explained:

As always, we begin with the language of the statute and

ask whether Congress has spoken on the subject before

us. ‘If the intent of Congress is clear, that is the end of

the matter; for the court * * * * must give effect to the

unambiguously expressed intent of Congress.’

Id. at 1163 (quoting Chevron U.S.A. Inc. v. Natural Resources

"3See also Texas Cemen Co. v. McCord, 233 US. 157, 163 (1914)
(unanimous opinion) (“it is only the province of the courts to enforce the statute
in accordance with its terms.”); St. Louis & Iron Mountain Railway Co. v. Taylor,
210 U.S. 281, 295 (1908) (the courts “have * * * no duty except to enforce the
law as it is written"); Bate Refrigerating Co. v. Sulzberger, 1S7 U.S. 1, 37-38
(1895) (“where the meaning of the legislature was plain ‘it must be
obeyed.'"\quoting United States v. Fisher, 6 U.S. (2 Cranch) 358, 385 (1805)),
Thorniey v. United States, 113 U.S. 310, 313 (1885) (“Where the meaning of a
statute is plain, it is the duty of the courts to enforce it according to its obvious
terms."); The Cherokee Tobacco, 78 U.S. (11 Wall.) 616, 620 (1870) (where the
language of a federal statute is clear and unambiguous, “[i}t is the duty of the
courts to execute it.”); United States v. Rogers, 45 U.S. (4 How ) 567, 572 (1846)
(“It is our duty to expound and execute the law as we find it~).

Defense Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837, 842-843 (1984) (emphasis
added)). See also Patterson v. Shumate, 60 U.S.L.W. 4550, 4551
(U.S., June 15, 1992) (No. 91-913) (Blackmun, J., unanimous
opinion) (in applying “the plain language” of 11 U.S.C. § 541(c)(2),
the Court “must enforce the statute according to its terms.”).
Therefore, “when a federal statute unambiguously forbids the States
to impose a particular kind of tax * * *, courts need not look
beyond the plain language of tlie federal statute to determine
whether a state statute that imposes such a tax is pre-empted.”
Aloha Airlines, Inc. v. Director of Taxation, 464 U.S. 7, 12 (1983)
(unanimous opinion) (emphasis added) (invalidating a Hawaii tax on
airline gross receipts which violated “the plain meaning” of 49
U.S.C. § 1513(a))./4

Since the intent of Congress is clearly expressed in the
unambiguous language of 4 U.S.C. § 111, application of this
longstanding statutory mandate in Davis did not create any "new"
principle of federal law; rather, it fulfilled this Court's duty to
enforce valid congressional legislation which is and has been the
“supreme Law of the Land.” See U.S. Const. art. VI, cl. 2. While
the nondiscrimination clause of Section 111 is binding on “the
Judges in every State” (U.S. Const., art. VI, cl. 2), the Virginia
Supreme Court has persistently refused to enforce it. Contra
McCullough v. Maryland, 17 U.S. (4 Wheat.) 316, 426 (1819)
(Marshall, C.J., unanimous opinion) ("This great principle is, that
the constitution and the laws made in pursuance thereof are
supreme; that they control the constitution and laws of the
respective States, and cannot be controlled by them."). Both
opinions of the Virginia court have indefensibly ignored federal
supremacy under the rubric of Chevron by suspending enforcement

"*"When we find the terms of a statute unambiguous, judicial inquiry 1s
complete except in rare and exceptional! circumstances © Demarest v Manspeaker
111 S.Ct. 599, 604 (1991) (Rehnquist, C_J., unanimous opinion). These rare and
exceptional cases, however, exist only where “the literal application of a statute will
produce a result demonstrably at odds with the intentions of its drafters.” Griffin
v. Oceanic Contractors, Inc., 458 U.S. 564, 571 (1982), accord Demarest, 111
S.Ct. at 604. Given the clarity of 4 U.S.C. § 111, however, this exception has no
application here

19

of the nondiscrimination clause of Section 111 in Virginia any time
before 1989. Contra McCullough, 17 U.S. (4 Wheat.) at 436 ("the
States have no power * * * to retard, impede, burden, or in any
manner control, the operations of the constitutional laws enacted
by Congress * * * * This is, we think, the unavoidable consequence
of that supremacy which the constitution has declared."). Regardless
of the bounds or propriety of “pure” prospectivity, however, this
doctrine cannot ever be applied to any judicial decision which
enforces the plain language and intent of an unambiguous federal
statute unless a court is willing to disregard the Supremacy Clause,
the intent of Congress and the limitations on judicial power
applicable in cases arising under the laws of the United States.

Under our constitutional system of government, the supreme
lawmaking power is vested in Congress as the national legislature.
See U.S. Const., art. 1, § 1; Youngstown Sheet and Tube Co. v.
Sawyer, 343 U.S. 579, 587-588 (1952). See also The Federalist No.
44, at 356 (J. Madison) (J. Hamilton ed. 1869); The Federalist No.
33, at 255 (A. Hamilton) (J. Hamilton ed. 1869). Because it is
undisputed that 4 U.S.C. § 111 is a valid exercise of legislative
authority, no court can lawfully refuse to apply the “unmistakable”
meaning of its “unambiguous” prohibition against discrimination.
See Rose v. Arkansas State Police, 479 U.S. 1, 3 (1986) (per
curiam) ("the Supremacy Clause invalidates all state laws that
conflict or interfere with an Act of Congress."). From its effective
date in 1939, Section 111 has operated through the Supremacy
Clause to withdraw all power from the States to enact conflicting
legislation.

In the authoritative words of Chief Justice Marshall, “[iJt is
the very essence of supremacy to remove all obstacles to its action
within its own sphere, and so to modify every power vested in
subordinate governments, as to exempt its own operations from
their own influence.” McCullough, 17 U.S. (4 Wheat.) at 427.
Consequently, 4 U.S.C. § 111 has outlawed discriminatory State
taxation by its own force without any need for a judicial declaration
to that effect.

20 -

Every constitutional act of Congress is passed by the will
of the people of the United States, expressed through
their representatives, on the subject-matter of the
enactment; and when so passed it becomes the supreme
law of the land, and operates by its own force on the
subject-matter, in whatever state or territory it may

happen to be.

Pollard's Lessee v. Hagan, 44 U.S. (3 How.) 212, 224-225 (1845).
Since the "plain language” and “unmistakable” meaning of 4 U.S.C.
§ 111 have been the “supreme Law of the Land” for more than 50
years, Davis did not establish a “new” principle of federal law
which in effect replaced an older one; instead, this Court simply
applied the Supremacy Clause to invalidate a state statute which
conflicted with the plain meaning of an unambiguous federal statute.

The Virginia Supreme Court's assertion that Davis established
a “new” principle of law likewise ignores settled limitations on the
judicial power which require enforcement of valid ey
enactments. See Prima Paint Corp. v. Flood & Conklin Mfg. Co
388 U.S. 395, 406 (1967) (" Federal courts are bound to apply rules
enacted by Congress with respect to matters * * * over which it has
legislative power.”); Stewart Organization, Inc. v. Ricoh Corp., 487
U.S. 22, 27 (1988) (same); Lake County v. Rollins, 130 U.S. 662,
672-673 (1889) (the judicial function is limited to enforcing the laws
as enacted). Under our tripartite system of government and the
separation of powers doctrine, "[t}his court * * * * has no
legislative powers.” License Tax Cases, 72 U.S. (5 Wall.) 462, 469
(1866); see also Del Monte Mining and Milling Co. v. Last Chance
Mining and Milling Co. , 171 U.S. 55, 66 (1898) (“beyond the terms
of the statute courts may not go. They have no power of
legislation.”); The Federalist No. 78, at 576, 579 (A. Hamilton) (J.
Hamilton ed. 1869); The Federalist No. 47, at 376 (J. Madison) (J.
Hamilton ed. 1869). It is equally beyond dispute that courts have no
power to revise or veto valid congressional enactments. See United
States v. Rutherford, 442 U.S. 544, 555 (1979) (“Under our
constitutional framework, federal courts do not sit as councils of
revision, empowered to rewrite legislation in accord with their own

21

conceptions of prudent public policy.”); TVA v. Hill, 437 U.S. 153,
194-195 (1978) ("We do not sit as a committee of review, nor are
we vested with the power of veto."); United States v. Nixon, 418
U.S. 683, 704 (1974) (the President may not share the veto power
with the Judiciary).

In cases or controversies within its jurisdiction (U.S. Const.,
art. III), "[t}he responsibility of this Court * * * is to construe and
enforce the Constitution and laws of the land as they are and not to
legislate social policy on the basis of our own personal
inclinations.” Evans v. Abney, 396 U.S. 435, 447 (1970). Because
the Court has no legislative powers, "[i}t cannot amend or modify
any legislative acts” (License Tax Cases, 72 U.S. (5 Wall.) at 469),
and it has “no authority to substitute [its] views for those expressed
by Congress in a duly enacted statute." Mobil Oil Corp. v.
Higginbotham, 436 U.S. 618, 626 (1978). See also New York Nat.
Bank v. Massey, 192 U.S. 138, 146 (1904) ("We are to interpret
Statutes, not to make them."). Consequently, “[flor this court to *
* * * disregard the plain language and the plain intent” of an
unambiguous federal statute "would be to enact a new law under the
pretense of construing one and thus pronounce itself guilty of a
flagrant perversion of the judicial power.” Heiner v. Donnan, 285
U.S. 312, 331 (1932).

As a statutory case, the central import of Davis “is not to
make a new law but only to hold that the law always meant what
the court now says it means.” Fleming v. Fleming, 264 U.S. 29,
31-32 (1924) (Taft, C.J., unanimous opinion). Because the
nondiscrimination clause of 4 U.S.C. § 111 has operated in all
States since 1939, the retroactive application of Davis is a
constitutional imperative. Inasmuch as Section 111 is an
“unambiguous statute” whose “overall meaning * * * is
unmistakable” (Davis, 489 U.S. at 809-310 and n.3), settled
iin = the judicial power prohibited this Court in Davis from
nullifying plain intent of Congress through prospective
decisionmaking. Despite the total absence of ro power to
override Section 111, the opinion below has nevertheless suspended
the operation of its nondiscrimination clause in Virginia before

22

March 28, 1989. While “[t}he court has power to construe a
legislative act, * * * it has no power by change in construction to
date its passage as a law from the time of the later decision.”
Fleming, 264 U.S. at 32; see also State Tonnage Tax Cases, 79
U.S. (12 Wall.) 204, 217 (1871) ("Legislative enactments, where
the language is unambiguous, cannot be changed by
construction")./°

Given these circumstances, it is unthinkable that Davis
established a new principle of law on the asserted basis that Virginia
could not have known “a statutory scheme, exempting state
pensioners from state taxation, would have placed any foreseeable
and direct burden on some federal operation.” (Pet. 12a). Because
valid federal statutes “control the constitution and laws of the
respective States, and cannot be controlled by them” (McCullough,
17 U.S. (4 Wheat.) at 426), the force and effect of 4 U.S.C. § 111
does not turn on the self-serving perceptions of the States. Any such
assertion belies federal supremacy as well as the intent of Congress
expressed in Section 111 to protect the United States and its retired
employees from any discriminatory tax regardless of whether it
actually “interfere[s] with the Federal Government's ability to
perform its governmental functions.” See Davis, 489 U.S. at
812-814; of. Washington v. United States, 460 U.S. 536, 546 n. 12
(1983) (Rehnquist, J., majority opinion) (“when Congress has acted
in this field, it has applied a nondiscrimination rule” to determine
the validity of state taxes). Under Section 111 and the modern tax
immunity doctrine, the critical requirement is “that the government
tax in a nondiscriminatory fashion.” South Carolina v. Baker, 485
U.S. 505, 526 n.15 (1988). See also Graves v. New York ex rel.
O'Keefe, 306 U.S. 466, 485-487 (1939); id. at 488 (Frankfurter,
J., concurring opinion) ("state and federal governments must avoid

'Sindeed, “a statute ‘is not an empty vessel into which this Court is free t
pour a vintage that we think better suits present-day tastes.“ National Broiler
Marketing Ass'n v. United States, 436 U.S. 816, 827 (1978) (quoting United States
v. Sisson, 399 U.S. 267, 297 (1970)).

23

exactions which discriminate against each other . . .")./°

Nevertheless, as this Court unequivocally observed in Davis,
preferential tax exemptions for retired state and local government
employees “to reduce the State's employment costs at the expense
of the federal treasury are the type of discriminatory legislation that
the doctrine * * * is intended to bar.” 489 U.S. at 815 n.4. Since
State tax discrimination against the United States or those with
whom its deals invariably causes them to suffer unequal economic
burdens (cf. Washington v. United States, 460 U.S. at 544), there
has never been any departure from the principle that "a state tax
may not discriminate against the Government or those with whom
yr — Chemical, 361 U.S. at 387. See also Davis, 489

S. at 812.

Simply stated, Davis did not establish a new principle of law
by overruling past precedent or deciding a wholly new issue of first
impression, rather, Davis applied the plain language and
unmistakable meaning of 4 U.S.C. § 111 to enforce the “supreme
Law of the Land” as it has existed since 1939. By mischaracterizing
the holding in Davis as a new principle of law and refusing to give
it any retroactive effect, the Virginia Supreme Court unlawfully
suspended the nondiscrimination principle of Section 111 for more
than 50 years. The opinion below has accordingly overridden an
express determination of Congress in violation of the Supremacy
Clause by asserting judicial power which does not exist. Because
the holding in Davis cannot be given nonretroactive effect without
offending principles of federalism and federal supremacy through
unprecedented judicial usurpation of legislative power, the judgment
of the Virginia Supreme Court must be reversed.

i the discrimination, not the quality of the burden, that carries
unconstitutional consequences Washington v. United States, 460 U.S. at 555
(Blackmun, J., dissenting opinion, joined by White, Marshall and Stevens, J.J).
of Bacchus , 468 U.S. at 269 ("It is well settled that ‘[wle need not know how
unequal the Tax is before concluding that it unconstitutionally discriminates ‘")
(quoting Maryland v. Louisiana, 451 US. 725, 760 (1981)).

24

B. Retroactive Application of Davis is Necessary to
Enforce Federal Supremacy and Limitations on the
Judicial Function

Under the plurality's approach in American Trucking Ass'ns.,
Inc. v. Smith, the second factor which must be examined is "'the
prior history of the rule in question, its purpose and effect, and
whether retrospective operation will further or retard its
operation.’” 110 $.Ct. at 2331 (O'Connor, J.) (quoting Chevron,
404 U.S. at 106-107). Despite its failure to discuss the existence,
history, purpose or effect of the nondiscrimination principle applied
in Davis, the opinion below summarily concluded that "the second
prong of the Chevron test is satisfied." (Pet. 12a). Although the
Virginia General Assembly remedied the "detects in its statute on
a prospective basis following the announcement of Davis (id.),
such limited corrective action does not fully enforce the
longstanding prohibition against discrimination, and it does not
legitimize or eradicate Virginia's past practice of unlawful taxation.

For more than 50 years, 4 U.S.C. § 111 has fully codified
“the prohibition against discriminatory taxes embodied in the
modern constitutional doctrine of intergovernmental tax immunity."
Davis, 489 U.S. at 813. This nondiscrimination principle arises
from the Supremacy Clause (South Carolina v. Baker, 485 U.S. at
518 n.11), and “has, from the time of McCullough v. Maryland,
barred taxes that ‘operat{e] so as to discriminate against the
Government or those with whom it deals.'" Davis, 489 U.S. at 812
(quoting United States v. City of Detroit, 355 U.S. 466, 473
(1958)). It is, accordingly, beyond question that a State tax scheme
which favor those who deal with the State over those who deal with
the Federal Government is unlawful except in the most limited
circumstances with no application here. See Barker, 112 S.Ct. at

Tey contrast, certain other States such as Kansas did not voluntarily take any
corrective action in response to the Davis decision. See Barker, 112 S.Ct. at 1622,
1626.

25

1622; Davis, 489 U.S. at 815-817; Memphis Bank, 459 U.S. at
397-399, /8

While the tax immunity doctrine is based on the need to
protect federal operations from undue interference by the States,
“all precedent" has established a "settled rule” that those who deal
with the United States -- including federal retirees -- are entitled to
protection from discriminatory taxation. See Davis, 489 U.S. at
814-815./% It is equally settled that such "a discriminatory tax is
void and ‘may not be exacted.'" Moses Lake Homes, Inc. v. Grant
County, 365 U.S. 744, 752 (1961) (quoting Phillips Chemical, 361
U.S. at 387). Because the piain language of 4 U.S.C. § 111 has
operated by its own force to prohibit State tax discrimination against
federal retirees, nonretroactive application of Davis would conflict
with congressional intent, federal supremacy, limitations on the
judicial power and due process of law.72

18 see also United States ¥. County of Fresno, 429 U.S. 452, 462 (1977);
Phillips Chemical, 361 U.S. at 383-385; cf, Bacchus, 468 U.S. at 273 (preferential
tax exemptions are discriminatory regardless of motivation); id. at 286 (Stevens,
J., dissenting opinion, joined by Rehnquist and O'Connor, J.J.) (providing a special
benefit in the form of a tax exemption is a kind of discrimination).

"9 As this Court observed in Davis, “[t}he danger that a State is engaging in
impermissible discrimination against the Federal Government is greatest when the
State acts to benefit itself and those in privity with it." 489 U.S. at 815.4. To
protect the United States from even the possibility of impermissible discrimination,
consent to taxation under 4 U.S.C. § 111 has been “expressly confined” to state
and local “taxation which does not discriminate against [federal] officers or
employees because of the source of their compensation.” S.Rep. 112, 76th Cong.,
Ist Sess. 12 (1939); H.R. Rep. 26, 76th Cong., Ist Sess. 5 (1939).

20in a related context, this Court has observed that victims of tax discrimination
may not be deprived of their “legal right to recover the amount of the tax
unlawfully exacted” through prospective decisionmaking which “leaves the monies
thus exacted in the public treasury." Montana National Bank of Billings v.
Yellowstone County, 276 U.S. 499, 504-505 (1928). See also McKesson v. Div.
of Alcoholic Beverages & Tobacco, 110 $.Ct. 2238, 2247-2250 (1990). “The very
essence of civil liberty certainly consists in the right of every individual to claim
the protection of the laws whenever he receives an injury. One of the first duties
of government is to afford that protection." Marbury v. Madison, 5 US. (1
Cranch) 137, 162-163 (1803)

26

It is true that the tax immunity doctrine is not intended to
prevent “legitimate” taxation (Pet. 12a), however, Virginia's
discriminatory tax has never been “legitimate.” The opinion below
misinterpreted and misapplied the analysis of Justice O'Connor in
American Trucking Ass'‘ns., Inc. v. Smith to declare that "Virginia's
taxing statute was legitimate until” the announcement in Davis. /d.
In American Trucking Ass'ns., Inc. v. Smith, the plurality concluded
that an Arkansas tax was “legitimate” before the announcement of
American Truck Ass'ns., Inc. v. Scheiner, 483 U.S. 266 (1987),
because "Scheiner established a ‘new principle of law' by overruling
those aspects of the Aero Mayflower cases on which the State of
Arkansas relied in enacting and assessing the * * * tax.” 110 S.Ct.
at 2332 (emphasis added). By stark contrast, Davis did not overrule
any established precedent and amici are unaware of a single decision
of this Court which furnishes any genuine support for Virginia's
decision to unlawfully favor state and local government retirees over
federal retirees. Indeed, Virginia's discriminatory tax scheme
always conflicted with the plain language of 4 U.S.C. § 111;
therefore, it cannot attain legitimacy through judicial fiat. Where the
State's "power to tax (federal retirees) is not unlimited, validity is
not established by the mere imposition of a tax,” (cf Mullaney v.
Anderson, 342 U.S. 415, 418 (1952) (Frankfurter, J., majority
opinion)), nor is it established by the passage of many years without
legal challenge (Ashland Oil, 110 S.Ct. at 3205 n*). Since Virginia
has never had any power to impose discriminatory taxes against
retired federal employees, its offensive tax scheme in effect before
Davis was void ab initio and cannot be legitimized-after the fact by
a stroke of the judicial pen.

"[A] state enactment, even if passed in the exercise of its
acknowledged powers, must yield, in case of conflict, to the
supremacy of the Constitution of*the United States and the acts of
Congress enacted in pursuance of its provisions.” Northern
Securities Co. v. United States, 193 U.S. 197, 347 (1904). See also
McCray v. United States, 195 U.S. 60 (1904). Because the
nondiscrimination clause of 4 U.S.C. § 111 has been in operation
since 1939 (see Pollard's Lessee, 44 U.S. (3 How.) at 224-225),

27

this statute imposes an absolute requirement which may not be
abrogated, compromised or suspended by the States. See McKesson,
110 S.Ct. at 2246 ("state courts must interpret and enforce faithfully
the ‘supreme Law of the Land'"). As this Court explained in
Trinityfarm Co. v. Grosjean, 291 U.S. 466 (1934), application of
the tax immunity doctrine "does not depend upon the amount of the
exaction, the weight of the burden or the extent of the resulting
interference with sovereign independence. Where it applies, the
principle is an absolute one wholly unaffected by matters or
distinctions of degree." Jd. at 471. See Washington v. United States,
460 U.S. at 554 (Blackmun, J., dissenting opinion, joined by White,
Marshall and Stevens, J.J.) ("The Supremacy Clause does not
merely guarantee equality; it absolutely immunizes [those who deal
with] the United States from discriminatory state taxation.").

If this Court sanctions Virginia's impermissible judicial
legislation to validate discriminatory taxation against federal retirees
from January 1, 1939 to March 28, 1989, the statutory
nondiscrimination principle will be emasculated and the Supremacy
Clause will become an “empty and unmeaning declamation."
McCullough, 17 U.S. (4 Wheat.) at 433. "It would declare, that if
the legislature shall do what is expressly forbidden, such act,
notwithstanding the express prohibition, is in reality effectual."
Marbury v. Madison, 5 U.S. (1 Cranch) at 178. Retroactive
application of Davis is thus necessary to further established
principles of federalism and federal supremacy, without which “the
world * * * would [see] a monster, in which the head [is] under
the direction of the members." The Federalist No. 44, at 356 (J.
Madison) (J. Hamilton ed. 1869). If States may invoke the
nonretroactivity doctrine to avoid the controlling force of an
unambiguous federal statute, "the resolutions or commands which
pretend to be laws, will in fact amount to nothing more than advice
or recommendation." The Federalist No. 15, at 143 (A. Hamilton)
(J. Hamilton ed. 1869). The judgment below should accordingly be
reversed.

28

S. Any Alleged Hardship or Inequity Which May Result
From Enforcing the Nondiscrimination Clause of 4
U.S.C. § 111 Cannot Justify Nonretroactive
Application of Davis

Under the plurality's approach in American Trucking Ass'ns.,
Inc. v. Smith, the tinal factor which must be examined is “'the
inequity imposed by retroactive application,’” because in some law-
changing decisions, "'injustice or hardship [may be avoided] by a
holding of nonretroactivity.'" 110 $.Ct. at 2331 (O'Connor, J.)
(quoting Chevron, 404 U.S. at 107). Despite its failure to
acknowledge the existence, operation or effect of 4 U.S.C. § 111,
the opinion below concluded that nonretroactive application of Davis
was required to avoid potentially disruptive financial consequences
for Virginia and its citizens. (Pet. 13a-14a). However, the
nondiscrimination clause of Section 111 must be enforced regardless
of the consequences; equitable considerations are simply irrelevant
to the proper application of an unambiguous federal statute.

Even where the plain meaning of a federal statute, if applied,
may result in “disastrous” or “harsh consequences, it cannot
influence the courts in administering the law. The responsibility for
the justice or wisdom of legislation rests with the Congress and it is
the province of the courts to enforce, not to make, the laws.”
United States v. First National Bank of Detroit, 234 U.S. 245, 260
(1914); accord, St. Louis & Iron Mountain Railway Co. v. Taylor,
210 U.S. at 295 (the “harshness” of unambiguous legislation "is no
concern of the courts").?/ "The Founders of this Nation entrusted
the lawmaking power to the Congress alone in both good and bad
times. It would do no good to recall the historical events, the fears
of power and the hopes for freedom that lay behind their choice."

21 See also Helvering v. New York Trust Co. , 292 U.S. 455, 464 (1934); United
States v. Missouri Pacific Railroad Co., 278 U.S. 269, 277-278 (1929); Commr.
of Immigration of Port of New York v. Gottlieb, 265 U.S. 310, 313 (1924); Low
Wah Suey v. Backus, 225 U.S. 460, 476 (1912); United States v. Fisher, 6 U.S.
(2 Cranch) at 386 (Marshall, C.J.) (if the meaning of a federal statute is plain, “it
must be obeyed” even “where great inconvenience will result.”).

29

Youngstown Sheet and Tube, 343 U.S. at 589. Consequently, in
cases when the application of an unambiguous federal statute "may
result in disruption of state systems of taxation,” this Court is
“pound by the plain language of the statute.” Aloha Airlines, 464
U.S. at 14.n.10.

Likewise, “[t]he court cannot add an exception based on
equitable grounds when Congress forebore to make such an
exception.” Louisville and Nashville Railroad Co. v. Mottley, 219
U.S. 467, 479 (1911).22 "To do so, would be to usurp the function
of another and a distinct governmental department. It would be
legislation, and not adjudication.” Leffingwell v. Warren, 67 U.S.
599, 605 (1862). As this Court observed in upholding the validity
of a state labor statute:

[I]f it be said that a statute * * * is mischievous in its
tendencies, the answer is that the responsibility therefor
rests upon legislators, not upon the courts. No evils
arising from such legislation could be more far-reaching
than those that might come to our system of government
if the judiciary, abandoning the sphere assigned to it by
the fundamental law, should enter the domain of
legislation, and upon grounds merely of justice or reason
or wisdom annul statutes that had received the sanction
of the people's representatives. ‘

Atkin v. Kansas, 191 U.S. 207, 223 (1903) (emphasis added).
Indeed, "[iJt would be better * * * to look hardship in the face
rather than break down the rules of law.” Sr. Louis & Iron
Mountain Railway Co. v. Taylor, 210 U.S. at 295.

22 accord, Freytag v. C.1.R., 111 S.Ct. 2631, 2636 (1991) ("courts ‘are not at
liberty to create an exception where Congress has declined to do so.'") (quoting
Hallstrom v. Tillamook County, 110 $.Ct. 304, 309 (1989)); Corona Co. v. United
States, 263 U.S. 537, 540 (1924) (where “the words of the statute are plain * * *
* we are not at liberty to add an exception in order to remove apparent hardship in
particular cases.”).

30

In applying its view of the equities under Chevron to
determine whether Davis should be given retroactive effect, the
Virginia Supreme Court misperceived its judicial responsibility and
usurped the prerogative of Congress by refusing to enforce the plain
terms of Section 111. Under our constitutional system of
government, equitable considerations do not affect the judicial
obligation to apply unambiguous statutes enacted by Congress
pursuant to its constitutional powers. Because no court is
empowered to suspend the plain meaning of 4 U.S.C. § I11 to
avoid perceived hardships or inequitable results, the judgment below
must be reversed.

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the Supreme Court of Virginia should be
reversed and remanded for further proceedings to refund, within the
applicable limitations period, all income taxes paid by Petitioners
pursuant to Virginia's unlawful tax scheme in effect before Davis.
Such action is necessary to enforce the plain terms of 4 U.S.C. §
111 and to ensure full compliance with the mandate of McKesson
to provide meaningful backward-looking relief.

Respectfully submitted,

John C. Frieden

Kevin M. Fowler*

FRIEDEN, HAYNES & FORBES
400 S.W. 8th, Suite 409

Topeka, KS 66603

(913) 232-7266

*Counsel of Record for Amici Curiae

la

APPENDIX A

The following is a complete list of all individuals appearing as
amici curiae in connection with this brief:

KANSAS AMICI

The petitioners in Barker v. Kansas, 112 $.Ct. 1619 (1992),
include:

KEYTON BARKER; MARJORIE E. LOBER;
PAULINE BARKER; ROGER J. OLSON;
ROBERT W. CLAY; NANCY W. OLSON;
BETTY J. CLAY; ANDREW J. PEELE;
ANTHONY E. COCORAN; WILLIAM RICHARDS, SR;
JOHN G. FOWLER; OLLUN E. RICHARDS;
LELAND W. KEISTER, JR.; LEONARD W. WILLIAMS;
PATRICIA K. KEISTER; LONETA S. WILLIAMS;
EDWARD F. KELLOGG; CLARENCE WOLF; AND
RENATA O. KELLOGG; FLORA B.WOLF,

WILLIAM J. LOBER, JR.;

for themselves individually and as designated class representatives
on behalf of a certified class of approximately 14,000 federal
military retirees (and joint taxpayer spouses, where applicable) who
have been subject to Kansas income taxation.

ARKANSAS AMICI

The petitioners in Pledger v. Bosnick, 811 S.W.2d 286 (Ark.
1991), pet. for cert. pending, No. 91-375, include:

STANLEY BOSNICK; WILLA S. LINDSEY;
WILLIAM D. BARLOW; JOHN SANDFORT; AND
HANK GAJDA; GEORGE E. STEWART,

DON LANE

2a

for themselves individually and as designated class representatives
on behalf of a certified class of approximately 33,000 federal
military and civilian retirees who have been subject to Arkansas

income taxation.

NORTH CAROLINA AMICI

The petitioners in Swanson v. State, 407 S.E.2d 791 (N.C.),
adhered to on reh'g, 410 S.E.2d 490 (N.C. 1991), pet. for cert.

pending, No. 91-1436, include:

NORMAN W. SWANSON
HENRY F. MURRAY

CARL L. WHITNEY
WILLIAM E. NICHOLSON, III
CHARLES A. DANCY
MELVIN F. EYERMAN

IRA N. SCHWARZ

JOHN L. POWELL, JR.
GALINA ELWORTH
DONALD V. WALLACE
WILLIAM E. DENTON
ROBERT A. NISBET,
WALTER J. BARTNIKOWSKI
RALPH P. HUNT,

MARION B. ZOLLICOFFER
WILLIAM H. TALBERT
BILLY CLARK

WALLACE M. DAVIS
GRADY L. STRANGE
HAMILTON M. HOWE
MARY L. PRITCHARD
ROBERT B. CAMPBELL
BROWNING ADAMS
PRITCHARD G. ADAMS
WILLIAM H. ADAMS
EDWARD H. ALLEN

FLOSSIE P. ALLEN
JOSEPH A. ALLEN
RACHEL C. ALLRED
HELEN L. ANETIL

LEO I. ANCTIL

RONALD E. ANDERSON
CLARENCE P. ARMSTRONG
CARROLL W. AUSTIN

F. L. AUSTIN, JR.
DONALD P. BAHR

PAUL BALLUS

CHARLES D. BARKER, SR.
WALTER E. BARKHOUSE
EDWARD C. BARRET
JAMES L. BAXTER
RUSSELL W.BEARD
BERNARD L. BEATTY
RICHARD K. BELL

LEO E. BENADE
SHERMAN W. BETTS
JOSEPH H. BETZ
ROBERT L. BLEVINS
FRANKLIN M. BLUNT
TIMOTHY C. BOLICK
MARGARET C. BOONE
HENRY A. BOTKIN

ALEX BOURDAS

OLA MAY (TATE) BOVENDER

EUGENE A. BOWEN
LAVAUNE K. BREDA
MARLOWE G. BREDA
TROND G. BREKKE
LAURA B. BRENDLE
MILLARD BRIDGERS
CLARENCE M. BRIDGES
DORIS K. BRIDGES
CYRUS H. BROOKS, JR.
DANIEL R. BROWN

K.A. BROWN

WILLIAM D. BROWN
BETTY P. BULLOCK
ROBERT S. BULLOCK
FINDLEY BURNS JR.
RAY G. BURRELL
RICHARD E. BUSH
JAMES M. BYRNE
NORMAN L. CARLTON
MATTHEW E. CARMEAN
FRANK CATES

J. CRAWFORD CATON
HARRY E. CHAMBERLAIN
VINCENT H. CHASE
PAUL F. CHAVEZ
WOODROW H. CHILDRESS
JOHN G. CHURCH
HERMAN L. CLANTON
ROBERT L. CLARKE

CHARLES C. CLAUSEN SR.

DENNIS E. CLECKNER
STEVE P. CLEMENIC
LACY W. COATES
RUCIA A. COBB

JAMES A. CODDINGTON

CATHERYN S. COLEY
LAURA K. CONDER
JAMES C. CONINE
MARSHALL G. COOPER
ASBURY COWARD III
NEWTON P. COX

RUTH A. COX
BURNETTE E. CREASMAN
THOMAS J. CULKIN
HAZEL B. CURLEE
MILTON L. DAIL
BEATRICE G. DAVIS
BERNLEY S. DAVIS
DONALD M. DAVIS
ESSIE M. DAVIS
GEORGE E. DAVIS
ROBERT J. DAVIS
CLIFFORD H. DAWSON
CALVIN F. DEAN
ORIEN G. DEAN, JR.
JACK M. DEATON
VIOLET B. DEITMARING
ARLEN J. DEVITO
JOHN E. DEVLYN

SARA E. DEVLYN

JOY E. DICKINSON
MRS. LEROY B. DICKINSON
JAMES E. DIFFEE
DELBERT R. DILLON
MARGARET H. DOPF
RAYMOND E. DOPF
LEROY M. DUFFY
CHARLES F. DUPONT
BOBBY R. EASON
DAVID EDMISTEN
CARL L. EFFLER

JOHN H. ELDER, JR.

4a

JOHN R. ELLIS
MANFORD G. FARR

RITA FESTO

JOHN J. FILAN

ANGELO A. FLORENTINO
ROBERT W. FOLDEN
OSCAR F. FOWLER
MELVIN W. FRITZ
WALTON E. FULCHER
ROBERT C. FULLER
WALTER E. FULLER
FRANK W. FURCHES
NORMAN CARL GADDIS
MARSHALL L. GADDY
THOMAS B. GARDINER
ROBERT F. GEISSLER
WILLIAM E. GENTNER, JR.
THOMAS P. GINN
ROBERT W. GOODMAN
JOHN R. GORDON
BERNICE C. GRANDY, JR.
STEVEN W. GRANDY
ROBERT J. GREEN
MICHAEL R. GREESON
JAMES H. GRIFFIN
THOMAS M. GROOME, JR.
JAMES W. GROSS
ARTHUR S. GUNDERSON
HERT L. HANCOCK, JR.
JAMES M. HARDIN

C. LEE HARRIS

HOWARD W. HARRIS
PAUL H. HARVEY
ROLAND R. HATCHER
HENRY S. HEFFLEY, JR.
CARROLL A. HEFNER
CLARENCE J. HENSLEY, JR.

RICHARD M. HERIOT
DORIS T. HERRING
NOVIS S. HERRING
VIRGINIA R. HILDEBRAND
MOZELLE L. HINSHAW
HERMAN J. HIPPS
RUFUS M. HODGIN
DONALD R. HOFFMAN
CHARLES K. HOFFMEYER
MARY R. HOLLAND
EDGAR P. HOLT

RAY HOMESLEY

NED A. HOOD

ROBERT H. HOOD
STEPHEN W. HOPKINS
CLYDE L. HOWARD, JR.
KEVIN G. HUGHES
HARVEY R. HURST

SAM P. HYATT

JOHN L. IRBY

MATTIE B. IVES
FRANCIS JACOBS
RICHARD L. JARRETT
JACQUELINE M. JENNINGS
WOODROW W. JONES
DONALD L. JORGENSON
KENNETH R. JOSEPH
PATSIE W. JOSEPH
EVERETTE R. KELLER
BERNARD J. KELLEY
WILSON P. KEMP
HOWARD LEE KERR
MARGARET C. KERR
WILLIAM S. KETNER
DAVID L.G. KING
THOMAS M. KING, JR.
EVELYN W. KINNEY

Sa

JOHN E. KIRK

PAUL E. KIRKLAND, SR.
RAYMOND B. KLEBER
GEORGE M. KNOBL, JR.
WILLIAM F. KNOPF

MAX V. KREBS

WILLIAM J. KUHN JR.
JAMES M. LANGSTON, JR.
JANE W. LANGSTON
ELMER L. LASHUA

JOHN L. LATHAM

DANIEL M. LAUDERBACK
AUGUST R. LAWRENCE
FREIDA H. LEWIS
NORWOOD P. LEWIS
HENRY G. LILES
DOROTHY J. LILES
WALTER E. LINTHICUM
PHYLLIS V. LIPPARD
GEORGE LOTT

ROBERT P. LUCAS

ALLEN M. MABE

THOMAS S. MACELUCH
WILLIAM F. MARCUSON, JR.
WARNER G. MAUPIN
LYLTON E. MAXWELL
OLIVER A. MAYS
ANDREW G. MAYSE
SAMUEL S. MCCACHREN
ELIZABETH S. MCCASKILL
ELIZABETH G. MCDONALD
CLYDE W. MCKIRK
DONALD D. MCGUIRE
NORMAN H. MCLAUGHLIN
DOY K. MCPHAIL
WILLIAM RAY MEDLIN, JR.
ERNEST E. MILLER

MARGARET H. MILLER
EDGAR N. MILLINGTON
HAROLD J. MITCHENER
EUGENE E. MOODY
DOROTHY C. MOORE
JAMES C. MOORE JR.
LUCIE E. MOORMAN
ROBERT M. MOOSE
JACK B. MORRIS
REGENA E. MORRISON
STANLEY B. MORSE
WOODFORD T. MOSELEY
GEORGE R. MUSE

R.J. NETTLES

THOMAS G. NEWPORT
JOHN E. NITSCHE
ALFRED P. NORWOOD
JOHNNIE M. OCHOA
ELVIN E. OGLESBY
OLIVER G. OJA
RUSSELL E. OLSON
LLOYD A. OSBORNE
PAUL B. OSGOOD
WILLIAM C. PAGE

LEE R. PARAMORE
LEWIS W. PATE
CHARLES R. PATTON
VERNON J. PEEBLES
W.W. PEGUES

MARY E. PENN

JOHN D. PENN
ELLIOTTE T. PERKINS, JR.
WILLIAM H. PERRY JR.
PAUL J. PHILLIPPI
RICHARD L. PHILLIPS
RUBY A. PHILLIPS
FRANK J. PIAZZA, SR.

6a

DALLAS PICKARD, JR.
GEORGE A. PINTER
EDWARD W. PIPER
FREDERICK H. PLESS
R.F. HOKE POLLOCK, JR.
LEWINGTON S. PONDER
ELBERT Y. POOLE
JENNETTE C. POOLE
MARTHA BOYCE POTEAT
EDWIN H. PRICE
CHARLES R. PUGH
DANIEL J. QUESENBERRY
MILTON H. QUINN
LOUISE M. RABBINO
THOMAS M. RAMSEY
JACK G. RAY
MARSHALL G. RAY
HAZEL S. REDMON
GEORGE R. REINHART, Ill
ANNIE E. RENKEL
MADGE O. REYNOLDS
FRANKLIN E.
RICHARDSON, JR.
ALLEN W. RIGSBY
GEORGE M. ROBERTS
JENNINGS B. ROBINSON
JAMES P. ROTH

PHIFER P. ROTHMAN
HAROLD E. RUBLE
HILDA H. RULTENBERG
DONALD E. RUSSELL
GEORGE W. SABO

LYLE E. SAMSON
ROBERT L. SCHEER
FREDERICK L.
SCHUERMAN, SR.
ROBERT J. SCHULLERY

ELWOOD M. SHAULIS
ROBERT T. SHERIDAN
STANLEY T. SHIPLEY
CHARLES B. SHIVELY
CHARLES A. SHUE, JR.
RUTH M. SHUE

ELSIE N. SIMMONS
FREDERICK E. SIMMONS
MARY B. SIMPSON
MANUEL F. SIVERIO
JOSEPH A. SIZOO
EVELYN S. SMITH
GEORGE B. SMITH
JAMES E. SMITH
JAMES P. SMITH

JOE F. SMITH

PERCY H. SMITH
JOSEPH L. SOMMER
RAY H. SPANGLER
JAMES A. SPRANKLE

WILEY L. STANDIFER, JR.

JAMES W. STARBUCK
GERTRUDE D. STARLING
STACY J. STARLING
HENRY C. STEED, JR.
ROY C. STEELEY
ARTHUR L. STEWART
BURLENA J. STEWART
JOHN R. STEWART, JR.
GEORGE W. STILLWAY
RITA M. STILLWAY
HAROLD E. STONE
CLYDE DALTON STOWE
HARRY H. STRUNK

E.C. STUMPF

THOMAS A. SUMMEY, JR.
ELLIS G. SUMNER

LEO B. SUMNER
MILDRED Y. SUMNER
MARGARET K. SWINK
JAMES E. SYKES
OLIVER B. TALBERT
JAMES D. TERRELL
CLYDE E. THOMAS
EMOGENE M. THOMPSON
FRED L. TRACY
ROCCO H. TROMBELLO
JOHN G. TRUITT JR.
WILLIAM H. TURK
JAMES T. VANCE
FRANCES A. VANDEN
GEORGE W. VANDEN
ETHEL D. VANHORN
EDWARD J. VAUGHN
EDWARD VENKLER
ROY L. VICK, SR.
KERMIT J. VINSON
MYRTLE H. VINSON
WILLIAM E. WALLACE
ROLAND J. WEBER
GRACE F. WEINER
LONA C. WEISNER
LAWRENCE O. WELCH
PAUL B. WELCH, JR.
GEORGE L. WESTERLIND
WILLIAM B. WHITE
T. M. WHITTINGTON, JR.
ROBERT S. WILLIAMS, JR.
WILLIAM C. WILLIAMS
WINTON H. WILLIAMS
HAROLD P. WILLIAMSON
EDNA MAE WILSON

7a

ROBERT GRAVES WILSON, JR.

ERNEST G. WINSTEAD
PETER S. WONDOLOWSKI
ROBERT V. WOOD
MAYNARD B. WOODBURY
EVELYN W. WOODBURY
GEORGE W. WILKINS
JACK R. WORLEY

JOHN T. WORRELL
GEORGE T. WORRELL
GEORGE E. YALE, JR.
WILLIAM P. YARBOROUGH

8a

for themselves individually and as designated class representatives
on behalf of a certified class of approximately 100,000 federal
military and civilian retirees who have been subject to North
Carolina income taxation.

MONTANA AMICI

The petitioners in Sheehy v. Montana, 820 P.2d 1257 (Mont.
1991), pet. for cert. pending, No. 91-1473, include:

EDMUND SHEEHY; CHARLES W. VANDIEST
RICHARD G. BRANCH; ARNOLD S. WIRTALA;
MARGARET FLEMING; AND

GEORGE MCGOVERN; DONALD ZACK,

for themselves individually and on behalf of al! other similarly
situated federal military and civilian retirees who have been subject
to Montana income taxation.

SOUTH CAROLINA AMICI

The petitioners in Bass v. South Carolina, 414 S.E.2d 110
(S.C. 1991), pet. for cert. pending, No. 91-1697, include:

FRANCIS EDWIN BASS, JR.: MILDRED B. JENKINS;
JOHN GILREATH; MARVIN L. JONES; AND
WILTON A. HOCKENBERRY: CAiHERINE L. MOYERS,
J. LORING JENKINS:

for themselves individually and as designated class representatives
on behalf of a certified class of approximately 70,000 federal
military and civilian retirees who have been subject to South
Carolina income taxation.

9a

NEW YORK AMICT

The appellants in Duffy v. Wetzler, 555 N.Y.S.2d 543
(N.Y. Sup. Ct. 1990), aff'd as modified, 579 N.Y.S.2d (N.Y. App.
Div. 1992), appeal dism'd, (N.Y., Order, July 7, 1992), include:

EUGENE H. DUFFY DANIEL J. MAHER;
ALICE G. DUFFY; MARGARET A. MAHER;
ETTORE DELZIO; FERNANDO S. MAURA;
VIVIAN DELZIO; THOMAS F. MOLLOY;
ALBERT ENGEL; JOSEPH A. O'SULLIVAN;
JUDITH ENGEL; RITA M. O'SULLIVAN;
STANLEY L. GOLDSTEIN; JAMES SWEEZY;
MILDRED GOLDSTEIN; ALICE SWEEZY;
HARVEY GOTTLIEB; IRVING WAX; AND
PETER M. KALEY; HELEN WAX.

MARY T. KALEY;
UTAH AMICI

The cross-appellants in Brwmley v. Utah State Tax
Commission, No. 91-0242 (Utah, argued Apr. 7, 1992), include:

DRUE ALDOUS; BARBARA BOWMAN;
DERRAL ALLEN; BERM BOWMAN;
RICHARD ANDRUS; MARGARET BUSCHE;
DWIGHT BAERTSCH; MAY BUTTON;

DOUG BALDWIN; BLAKE CHARD;
COLLEEN BALLOW; ARTWELL CHECKETTS;
MARGARET BATCHELOR; BEATRICE CLAYTON;
KENNETH BELWOOD; SYBIL COLTER;
ALLEN BERGESEN; OLIVE COOMBS;
ROBERT BIGSBEE; HAZEL COOPER;
LOUIS BONOMO; MARILYN CORDON;
NORMA BONOMO;- LEONARD COTTAM;

VERL BOSWORTH: JAY CRAGUN;

BUFORD CRAWFORD;
MACK CROFT;

TOM CROSBY;

FERN DAVIS;

GARY DAVIS;

BERT DAYTON;
DON DEBOER;
WALT DEGN;

JOHN DEWEY;
LAMAR DEWEY;
CAROL DONNELLY;
FLORA ECK;

GLEN FERGUS;
ISADORA FETZR;
JETTA FILLIN;

ED FOURNIER;
BARBARA GARVEY;

JOSEPH GRANDUCCI;

LOIS GREEN;
THERON GREEN,
LYNN GROVES;

MARGARET HADLEY;

MARY HASSING;
LEANDER HENRY;
MARY HILLS;
BARBARA HOOPER;
CARLYLE JENSEN;
CHRIS JENSEN;
EVA JENSEN;
HAROLD JOHNSON;
ROBERT JONES;
ULAH JONES;
BYRON JORDAN;
JIM JOST;

RALPH KEITH;
MAX KENNEDY;
DAN KIMOSE;

10a

STEVE KUDLA;
INA LAURITSEN;
MAYE LOEWEN;
JACK LOWERY;
VERNA MARKHAM;
LOLA MCFERSON;
ROY MCFERSON;
NINA MCQUARRIE;
CHARLES MILLER;
GLEN MILLER;
THOMAS MIZE;
EVERETT MOORE;
DONALD MOYER;
LAVONNE NANCE;
THAD NAPPER;
GUY NELSON;
KEITH NICHOLS;
CLYDE OLSON;
LEROY OLSON;
LAVON PALMER;
CARL PEARCE;
AXEL PEDERSEN;

GENE PENHRWOOD,;

LEE PENHRWOOD;
RONALD PERCY;
DIETER POEHLER;
KENNETH REED;
KENNETH REED;
SHIRLEY REED;
SHIRLEY REED;
DONALD RENSCH;
KIRBY RICE;
PARIS ROBINSON;
AUBREY RUPEL;
RAD SAYMAN;
JACK SEAMONS;
SIDNEY SHARP;

DANIEL SHORT;

JACK SHURTLIFF;
DAWSON SIMPSON;
VIRGINIA SINGLETON;
METTY SLY;

JOHN SNELL;

MYRA SNELL;

FRANK THEALL;

BILL THOMAS;

GRACE THORNTON;
MARY TOLLIVER;
GEORGE WAHLEN;
KIRT WALLING;
VINCENT WEST;
LAURA WICKHAM;
DON WILCOX;
GORDON WILLIAMS;
THOMAS WOOLWORTH;
IRENE C. ALLRED;
ARTELL B. ALLSOP;
DON F. ALLSOP;
ROBERT C. AMUNDSON;

KENNETH A. ANDERSON;

HOWARD D. ANDERSON;
ELLA M. ANDERSON:
ALBERT FRANCIS BAHR;
DURAN C. BAILEY;
RUTH E. BAILEY;
RUSSELL H. BALL;
CECIL G. BARGERON;
ROBERT B. BARKER;

H. ARCHIE BARNES, JR.;
LELAND H. BARTON;
FAUN J. BEESLEY;
FAWN J. BEESLEY;
JOHN E. BELL;

VERNON M. BERGSTROM;

lla

JAMES K. BESSO;
RONALD K. BLIVEN; .
JULIA E. BOBB;
WILLIAM E. BOEHLEN:
ROBERT H. BRACKEN:
DEAN C. BROWN;
WENDELL E. BRUMLEY
ROBERT S. BURTON;
WM. G. BUTLER;
ANNABEL L. BYRD;
LORNA M. CALL;
DEONE C. CANDLAND;
DAVID M. CANDLAND;
JOHN D. CARR;

R. H. CHANNEL;
GEORGE M. CHAPPLE:
CHARLES L. WALKER:
MARTHA J. CHASTAIN:
DON L. CHILD;
KENNETH A.
CHRISTENSEN;
VERNON A. CHRISTENSEN;
LEWIS K. CLARK:
DOYLE R. CLARK:
JACK S. CLARK;
WANDA B. CLAWSON:
WILLIAM C. CLAWSON:
GARTH M. COLTON:
SPENCER C. CONDIE;
OLIVE S. COONS;
HAZEL D. COOPER:
LEWIS R. COOPER:
LEWIS R. COOPER:
PAUL M. CROSBY;
JOHN L. DAVIS;
LT.COL. DEAN W. THORPE:
NORBERT V. DEBYLE:

ALBERT M. DEGERING:
SYLVESTER L. DIBELLA:
STANLEY L. DRANEY;
ALVIN D. DURRANT;
RAY M. ECK;

ARNOLD T. ELLSWORTH;
HOLLIS T. FRANCOM
HOLLIS T. FRANCOM;
GEORGE B. FRY;
FRANCES C. FUNK;
ROBERT L. GARVEY;

LT. COL. GERALD E.
DICKSON;

JOHN W. GILMORE;
LUCILE B. GLADE;
NORMAN J. GRIMSHAW,
WILSON C. GUTZMAN;
ARLAN E. HADLEY;
HARLEY M. HANDY;
DALE N. HANSEN;

EARL E. HANSON;
HAROLD J. HARDY;
JAMES C. HARMAN;

IDA G. HARPOLE;
EMERSON R. HARTZELL:
EDWARD D. HAWKINS;
JACK M. HELGESEN;
LORRAINE P. HELGESEN:
LT. COL. HENRY HILLS;

DONALD J. HILDEBRAND;

LESTER G. HINCHCLIFF;
DELBERT L. HIRSCHI;
FRED A. HODAPP;

ELIZABETH H. HOELLEIN;

FRANCIS P. HOLST;
VIOLET B. HOOKER;
PAUL L. HOWARD;

ELNA M. HUILLET;
ALVIN C. HULL;
PHILLIP K. HUMPHREYS;
BOYD A. IVORY;
HOWARD M. IVORY;
CARL L. JENSEN;
DONALD R. JENSEN;
BESS T. JENSEN;
CHRISTINE T. JENSEN;
HARRY E. JOHNSON;
LUCILE S. JOHNSON;
CHARLEY A. JONES;
SAMUEL E. JORGENSEN;
MARTIN A. KASWORM;
A. GEORGE KATO;
JAMES T. KELLY;
CHARLES R. KING;
GLORIA C. KINNE;

E. WILLIAM KLEV;
JERRY G. KRZEMSKI;
DON R. LANGTON;
DONALD E. LAURITSEN;
LOUISE H. LEAKE;
THOMAS S. LEAKE;
JANE M. LEMMONS;
RICHARD C. LESSEY;

SHIRLEY DAN LOCKHART;

ROBERT E. LUDWIG;
JAMES T. LUHN;
JAMES N. LUND;

DALE A. MARTIN;
WILLIAM C. MARTIN;
ALLAN D. MCCOMB;
PATSY N. MCKELL;
ROBERT H. MCKINLAY;
ALBERT R. MCNAMEE;
COL. N.B. MECRARY;

JOHN W. MENEILL;
WILLIAM R. MILLER;
D. L. MONTGOMERY;

DARRELL L. MONTGOMERY;

CHERRIL H. NELSON;
JANE E. NICHOLS;
JAMES L. NIELSEN;
RUTH M. NIELSEN;
LYLE F. NIELSON;
EDWARD L. NOBLE;
WILLIAM P. NYE;
BOYD G. PARKER;
KARL G. PARKER;
KARL G. PARKER;
IRINTHA S. PARKER;
MICHAEL D. PATRICK;
BOYD W. PAUL;
SYDNEY C. PEACOCK;
ELTON J. PERRY;
RONALD W. PHELPS;
EVAN S. PICKETT;

J. MERLE PRINCE;
CHARLES L. PURVIS:
COL. JAMES R. JENNINGS:
FRANK D. REITER;
LULA CROFT,
representative for J.C.
CROFT, deceased;

MARY TOLLIVER,
representative for: RICHARD
TOLLIVER, deceased;

MAJ. GEN. REX A. HADLEY;

RODNEY C. RHODES;
ESTATE OF RICHARD M.
TOLLIVER;

JOSEPH G. RICHARDSON;
KENNETH J. RIDDELL;

ROBERT G. RIDING;
CHARLES N. ROBERTSON;
COL. JAKE ROGERS;

C. O. ROWE;

EMMA L. RUGGLES;
MAESER M. RUSHTON;
ATHUS DELOSS RUSSELL;
MARGARET F. RUSSELL;
MAJ. JESSE S. WALKER;
MAJ. WM. S. SLEEPER;
JAMES R. SALVAGE;
GERALD D. SANDFORD;
BENJAMIN L. SCHAFER;
FRED L. SEPPI;
WILLIAM H. SEWARD;
WILLAM A. SHEEHAN;
WAYNE E. SHOOP;
DEAN T. SIGMAN;
PAUL A. SIMMONS;
RUTH B. SMITH;

MARY E. SMITH;

RUBY L. SMITH;

T. C. SPRATLEN;

FLEET L. STANTON;
MAXINE E. STEVENS;
NANCY G. STEWART;
HERBERT E. STRAND;
MACK D. SULLIVAN;
JAMES B. SWENSON;
LEIF A. SYVERSEN;
RICHARD P. SYVERSEN;
DONALD D. TAYLOR;
LEWIS D. TAYLOR;
ROBERT G. TAYLOR;
JAMES W. TAYLOR;
LAMAR W. TAYLOR;
T. C. TEASDALE;

l4a

MERLIN E. TEBBS;

LENA D. THEALL;

DON E. THOMAS;

ELVA A. THORNTON;
JOHN R. THUNELL;
CARMEN G. TICE;
DOROTHY T. TICE;

GLEN L. VANLEEUWEN;
VERNON E. VOSS;
GLENNA A. WALE;
RICHARD K. WEST;
KENNETH W. WESTERMAN;
EDWARD E. WIGGINS;

ROY E. WILLIAMSON;
MARVIN H. WOODBURY:
JACK L. WOODS;

M. G. WORKMAN;

R. J. YOUNGER;

EARNEST E. ZIMMERMAN;
MARILYN H. ZIMMERMAN,

for themselves individually and as designated class representatives
on behalf of a certified class of approximately 34,000 federal
military and civilian retirees who have been subject to Utah income
taxation.

ALABAMA AMICI

The cross-appellees in Sizemore v. Rinehart, No. 2900290
(Ala. App. 1992), pet. for cert. pending (Ala., No.1911015),
include:

EDMON L. RINEHART;
FRED MELOF; AND
CHARLES A. OLTS,

1Sa

for themselves individually and as desi
gnated class representatives

on behalf of a certified class of approximately 17,000 federal

military retirees who have been subject to Alabama income taxation.

ARIZONA AMICI

The appellants in Bohn v. Waddell, 790 P.2d 772 (Ariz. T.C.

pn ta a gy ee 807 P.2d 1 (Ariz. T.C. 1991),
pending, No. 1 CA-TX 90-029 (Ariz. App.

12, 1991), include: —

ESTATE OF JOHN L. BOHN;
SHIRLEY BOHN;

DONALD RUTAN;

MARY RUTAN; AND

CARL LINTON,

for themselves individually and, under the doctrine of virtual
representation on behalf of a certified class of approximately 70,000

federal military and civilian retirees who have been subject to
Arizona income taxation.

16a

APPENDIX B

The Supremacy Clause of the United States Constitution, Article VI,
cl.2 provides:

This Constitution, and the laws of the United States
which shall be made in pursuant thereof; and all treaties
made, or which shall be made, under the authority of the
United States, shall be the supreme law of the land; and
the judges in every state shall be bound thereby, anything
in the Constitution or laws of any state to the contrary
notwithstanding.

17a

APPENDIX C

4 U.S.C. § 111 provides in pertinent part:

The United States consents to the taxation of pay or
compensation for personal service as an officer or
employee of the United States...by a duly constituted
taxing authority having jurisdiction, if the taxation does
not discriminate against the officer or employee because
of the source of pay or compensation.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0214%3A11. Public record. Not legal advice.
