# Petitioners Brief — New York v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0191%3A11

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petitioners Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1992
- **Citation:** 505 U.S. 144

## Text

eupremée VOU, Y.a
FiLED

FEB 13 1992

Nos. 91-543; 91-558; and 91-563 QFFIGE UF THE CLERK

at Ae eee

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1991

THE STATE OF NEW YORK; THE COUNTY OF ALLEGANY; and
THE COUNTY OF CORTLAND,

Petitioners,
VS.

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA; JAMES D. WATKINS, as
Secretary of Energy; IVAN SELIN, as Chairman of the United
States Nuclear Regulatory Commission; THE UNITED STATES
NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION; ADMIRAL JAMES
B. BUSEY IV, as Acting Secretary of Transportation; and WIL-
LIAM P. BARR, as United States Attorney General,

Respondents,

STATE OF WASHINGTON, STATE OF NEVADA, and STATE OF
SOUTH CAROLINA,

/ntervenors-Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeal¢¥or the Second Circuit

BRIEF FOR PETITIONER THE COUNTY OF ALLEGANY

James T. Sikaras, Esq.
County Attorney of The
County of Allegany

HARTER, SECREST & EMERY
Special Counsel for Petitioner
The County of Allegany

Edward F. Premo, II, Esq. 700 Midtown Tower
Counsel of Record Rochester, New York 14604

. 93).
Paul D. Sylvestri, Esq. Telephone: (716) 232-6500

Of Counsel

Daily Record Corporation
Rocnester New York ( ] S ] 5 ] )

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Does the Commerce Clause, Article I, Section 8, Clause 3,
empower the national government to compel the states to exer-
cise their reserved sovereign powers to implement a federal pol-
icy?

2. Does the Guarantee Clause, Article IV, Section 4, restrict
the national government from compelling the states to exercise
their reserved sovereign powers to implement a federal policy?

il

PARTIES

The parties to the proceeding below were:

1. The State of New York, Plaintiff-Appellant;

2. The County of Allegany, New York, Plaintiff-Appellant;

3. The County of Cortland, New York, Plaintiff-Appellant;
4. The United States of America, Defendant-Appellee;
5

. James D. Watkins, as Secretary of Energy, Defendant-
Appellee;

6. Kenneth M. Carr, as Chairman of the United States Nuclear
Regulatory Commission, Defendant-Appellee:

7. The United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission,
Defendant-Appellee;

8. Samuel K. Skinner, as Secretary of Transportation,
Defendant-Appellee;

9. Richard Thornburgh, as United States Attorney General,
Defendant-Appellee;

10.

]?

The State of Washington, Intervenor-Appellee;

. The State of Nevada, Intervenor-Appellee; and

. The State ot South Carolina, Intervenor-Appellee.

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ........-.
rc cas ccccccsccscccccssccccccccccesces
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ..........------+e+005:
OPINIONS BELOW .........------- 005s seer eeeee

JURISDICTION ..........- 002 cece e eee reer e eee

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS, STATUTES,
AND REGULATIONS ........-.-6--5 502 eee e eee:

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
uaa ececcccccsccccssccccccces
How The Case Arose ........--- 02s cece eee eeeee
Proceedings Below ........---- 0.0000 eee ee ee eeee

Basis For Federal Jurisdiction Of The District Court .

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ........-------+05+55

ARGUMENT ...........--- cece cece cree te teres

1. THE NATIONAL GOVERNMENT IS NOT EM-
POWERED TO COMPEL THE STATES TO EX-

CcCnwmnrnienk & Ww

ERCISE THEIR RESERVED SOVEREIGN

In the proceedings below, Kenneth M. Carr was named as a defendant in his

capacity as Chairman of the United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission. POWERS. ......----------eeeeeereee:

meet en ve a in office, has been substituted pursuant to A. The Constitution established a system ot dual

. | Se . | | | verel nt ___ i anh eee e eee ee eeereceoeee eee ©
In the proceedings below, Samuel K. Skinner was named as a defendant in his = ow

capacity as Secretary of Transportation. Admiral James B. Busey IV, Mr B. The Constitution does not authorize
s mao successor in office, has been substituted pursuant to Supreme Court congressional mandates to the states..........
ule 35.3.

_— “at fi ive limits”
In the proceedings below, Richard Thornburgh was named as a defendant in C. This Court can enforce the “affirmative

his capacity as United States Attorney General. William P. Barr. Mr. Thorn- imposed by the constitutional structure .......
burgh's successor in office, has been substituted pursuant to Supreme Court
Rule 38.3

iv

Il. THE ACT VIOLATES THE GUARANTEE OF

A “REPUBLICAN FORM OF GOVERNMENT”.

A. The Guarantee Clause protects state sovereignty.

B. This Court can enforce the Guarantee Clause’s
protection of state sovereignty

CONCLUSION

CCS SC Oe @ 8 & 6
oe ee es Oe er ae
6: 6 8.6.6 &. ee es
“-*

Page

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases
Baker v. Carr, 369 U.S. 186 (1962) .............. oe 21
Brown v. Environmental Protection Agency, 521 F.2d

827 (9th Cir. 1975), vacated and remanded for consid-

eration of mootness, 431 U.S. 99 (1977) 2.00000 0006. 13,14
Coyle v. Oklahoma, 221 U.S. SS9 (1911) 2... eee. 18 n.8, 21
District of Columbia vy. Train, 52) #.2d 971 (D.C. Cir.

1975), vacated and remanded for consideration of

momma GEE TLS. GHATS r re ss cccccccceaesessinss 13,14
Environmental Protection Agency v. Brown, 431 U.S.

gE Ree nie ele MRP eae Org ee ene 13,15
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission v. Mississippt,

PS i d'o. dD ca Wi sutnce backs Rebeexkease passim
Fry v. United States, 421 U.S. 542 (1975). ............. 12
Garcia v. San Antonio Metropolitan Transit Authority,

Py Ss cv xc xeucbbawcebeernctcinteens passim
Gregory v. Ashcroft, 1A S. Ct. 2395 (1991) 202... 10, 19, 23
Hodel v. Virginia Surface Mining and Reclamation As-

sociation, Inc., 452 U.S. 264 (1981) ................ 16
Marbury v. Madison, 5 U.S. (1 Cranch) 137 (1803) . 2... 15
Maryland v. Environmental Protection Agency, 530

F.2d 215 (4th Cir. 1975), vacated and remanded for

consideration of mootness, 431 U.S. 99 (1977)... .. 13, 14, 20
Maryland v. Wirtz, 392 U.S. 183 (1968) ............. 12, 16, 17
Nevada v. Skinner, 884 F.2d 445 (9th Cir. 1989), cert.

denied, 493 U.S. WTOCIGIO) 0. ccc ccc cerns: 13

vi

Page
Pennsylvania v. Environmental Protection Agency, 500
Fe PE GOOD oo cc cc ccccoustcvecsccdexes 14n.7
South Carolina v. Baker, 485 U.S. $05 (1988) .......... 16, 22
South Dakota v. Adams, 506 F. Supp. 50(D.S.D.),
aff'd, 635 F.2d 698 (8th Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 451
I aes rea te 12
United States Constitution
he te rere eevee age iws 1,5, 12, 23
a EE ECs gas ee ap ares nD es 1, 4, 12, 19, 22
PIES 5s. 5.05050 b oe ce wieeeiiee ca ee
Federal Statutes
Ne CI id oi. ain cad bah euedu was Wubuns |
IR RI oaSeiu dadt us creas n us eee ducne « 7
NN gn fet Chu cccs ve Re nncceks eat 7
NN TE TUNE So ok 65-0 SN Wav a Wee ed ay ee ud buden 7
EE oss noice rede su suns cceent 6 7
Te as INES ols cc scevendeseviiuceus 3
tt ES” ena a ee eee a ae 4
ne eee 2,4
NIN hl oe le dc a 4
Pe ee CID os envi svccesevvuxesken 3,4
Other Authorities
The Federalist No. 37 (James Madison) (Clinton Ros-
I rN Chive os cse Gree e aac lech otc 19

The Federalist No. 44 (James Madison) (Clinton Ros-
is EI Sa ioe cd eer eee 16

vil

Page

The Federalist No. 51 (James Madison) (Clinton Ros-

gleer ©... 1DGA). oo. cc cccccccccccecccesccesesess 10
The Federalist No. 78 (Alexander Hamilton) (Clinton

Rossiter ed., 1961) ...... cece ccc cveccveecccces 17
Deborah J. Merritt, The Guarantee Clause and State
Automony: Federalism for a Third Century, 88
Cotees, 6, Gee. COEEE....-... 0000 c0ecescrvcsss 20, 21, 22
Laurence H. Tribe, American Constitutional Law,

§ 5-23 (2d ed. 1988)... 2... cece eee ee cece eeeeeee 20, 22

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the Sec-
ond Circuit, issued on August 8, 1991, is reproduced at page | of
the appendix to the petition for a writ of certiorari submitted by
the County of Allegany, New York (hereinafter “A.”’), and is re-
ported at 942 F.2d 114 (2d Cir. 1991).

The opinion of the United States District Court for the North-
ern District of New York (reproduced at A.17) is reported at 757
F. Supp. 10 (N.D.N.Y. 1990).

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was dated and entered
on August 8, 1991. A.1. Jurisdiction to review the judgment of
the Court of Appeals is conferred to this Court by 28 U.S.C.
§ 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS, STATUTES,
AND REGULATIONS

The following constitutional provisions, statutes, and regula-
tions are involved in this case.

The Commerce Clause, United States Constitution, Article I
Section 8, Clause 3, which provides:

The Congress shall have the Power...

-_* * *

To regulate Commerce with foreign Nations, and among
the several States, and with the Indian Tribes.

The Guarantee Clause of the United States Constitution, Ar-
ticle [V, Section 4, which provides:

The United States shall guarantee to every State in this
Union a Republican Form of Government, and shall pro-

tv

- a of them against Invasion: and on Application of
e Legislature, or of the Executive (when the Legislature
cannot be convened) against domestic Violence.

The Tenth Amendment to the United States ituti
tat
which provides: ates Constitution,

The powers not delegated to the Uni

The lel ted States by the Con-
stitution, nor prohibited by it to the States, are reserved to
the States respectively, or to the people.

The Low-Level Radioactive Waste Policy Amendments Act of
1985, which provides in relevant part:

(al) Each State shall be responsible for providing, either

7 itself or in cooperation with other States, for the disposal

(A) low-level radioactive waste ithi
generated within the
State (other than by the Federal Government) that consists
~ phe pe ~ B, or C radioactive waste as defined
| 10N 61.55 of title 10, Code of Federal R i ;
in effect on January 26, 1983: en

(B) low-level radioactive waste described in subpara-

graph (A) that is generated by the Federal Gov
cept as such waste that is — OVETREREM €x-

(i) Owned or generated by the Department of Energy;

‘ ii) i or generated by the United States Navy as a
esult of the decommissioning of vess , init

Ss! ssels of the

States Navy; or ae

- (iii) owned or generated as a result of any research, de-
— testing, Or production of any atomic weapon;
an )

(C) low-level radioactive waste described j
| : in subpara-
it ae (B) =p it generated outside of the State and
accepted for disposal in accordance with secti 202
2021f of this title. 5 eal

42 U.S.C. § 221e(ay1).

If a State (or, where applicable, a compact region) in
which low-level radioactive waste is generated is unable to
provide for the disposal of all such waste generated within
such State or compact region by January |, 1996, each State
in which such waste is generated, upon the request of the
generator or owner of the waste, shall take title to the waste,
be obligated to take possession of the waste, and shall be
liable for ali damages directly or indirectly incurred by such
generator or owner as a consequence of the failure of the
State to take possession of the waste as soon after January
1, 1996, as the generator or owner notifies the State that the

waste is available for shipment.

42 U.S.C. § 202 1e(d(2C).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
Introduction

This case presents two related issues of fundamental impor-
tance to the structure of the federal sysiem of the United States.

The first issue is whether the national government is empow-
ered by the Commerce Clause to compe! the states to exercise
their reserved sovereign powers to carry out a federal policy. The
Low-Level Radioactive Waste Policy Amendments Act of 1985,
42 U.S.C. § 2021b ef seq. (the “Act"’), mandates that each state is
“responsible” for the disposal of low-level radioactive waste gen-
erated within the state. While the states have three options as to
how to carry out this responsibility, each requires action by state
officials and/or expenditure of state funds. The Court of Ap-
peals held that the Act’s mandate was within the power of Con-
gress pursuant to the Commerce Clause and that the federal
courts have essentially no role in preserving state sovereignty in
the tederal system.

The second issue is whether the Guarantee Clause, Article IV
Section 4, bars congressional mandates to the States to carry out :
federal policy. The Act requires the officials of each state to com-
ply with a mandate by the national government regardless of the
wishes of the people of each state. Petitioner Allegany County
argued below that this mandate violates the constitutional guar-
antee of arepublican form of government. The Court of Appeals
implicitly held, however, that the Guarantee Clause did not ‘°.
vide any protection of state sovereignty. ne

These two issues go to the essence of the relationship between
the states, the people of the states, and the national government
Che use by the national government of schemes comprised of
mandates and sanctions threatens to relegate the states to the Sta-
tus Of mere departments or agents of the national gov ernment.

How The Case Arose

‘The Act provides that each state is “responsible” for disposal
of low-level radioactive waste generated in the state. 42 US c
N 202 1e(ay 1). A state's responsibility is not conditioned on -
actions by the state, and there is nothing the state can do to av id
(his responsibility. “0

The states can meet their responsibility in only three wavs \
state can either (a) alone, or with other States ina compact de-
pump my -tovel radioactive waste disposal facility (42 U.S.C.
= So gen i (b) _ title and Possession of the low-
-_ ' ste generated in the state (42 U.S.C.
N 202 Le{d}[2}[C }); Or (c) become liable to the generators of such
waste for all damages caused by the failure Of the state to take
title and possession of the waste. (42 U.S.C. § 202 1e[d)}[2}[C]})
L nder any of these options, the state is required to exercise its
sovereign powers to meet a federally mandated Obligation. The

4)

Respondents have previously argued that such a mandate is au-
thorized by the Commerce Clause. U.S. Const. art. 1, § 8, cl. 3.

Under compulsion of the Act, the State of New York has en-
acted various laws and formed a commission to find a site tor a
low-level radioactive waste disposal facility. This legislation and
activity has been the result of the coercive nature of the Act.
J.A. 80a-82a‘ (Affidavit of Clarence D. Rappleyea, Jr., sworn to
September 5, 1990, €46-13). In September, 1989, the New York
State Low-Level Radioactive Waste Disposal Siting Commission
(the “Commission”’) designated three potential sites, each ap-
proximately one mile square, for a low-level radioactive waste
disposal facility in the Allegany County Towns of Caneadea,
West Almond, and Allen. J.A. 28a (Affidavit of Dolores Cross,
sworn to September 5, 1990 [Cross Aff."], 44). These three sites
were selected from a candidate area previously identified by the
Commission. /d.

Thereafter, the Board of Legislators of the County of Allegany
enacted various resolutions opposing the selection of the County
as a potential location for a low-level radioactive waste disposal
facility and indicated the County's “irrevocable” opposition to
the disposal facility. J.A. 28a (Cross Aff. €5). Nevertheless, the
County and various County officials, against their will and
against the will of their constituents, have been required to be-
come involved in carrying out the congressional mandate with re-
spect to low-level radioactive waste. J.A. 30a (Cross Aff. €10).

“JPA” refers to the Jount Appendix submitted in connection with this pro

ceeding

6

Proceedings Below

This action was brought by the State of New York, the County
of Allegany, and the County of Cortland to obtain a declaratory
judgment that the Act is null and void as violative of the United
States Constitution. The federal defendants moved to dismiss the
action for failure to state a claim. Thereafter, the District Court
permitted a number of private generators of low-level radioactive
waste to appear as an amicus curiae, in this action.

Subsequently, the States of Washington, Nevada, and South
Carolina intervened as parties in this action and appeared in sup-
port of the constitutionality of the Act. These three states are the
only states that currently have operating commercial low-level
radioactive waste disposal facilities. The intervenors thereafter
also moved to dismiss the action.

The State of New York and the County of Allegany also made a
cross-motion tor summary judgment. The defendants and the in-
tervenors also moved for summary judgment.

bor example, the Sheriff tor Allegany County has been required to serve civil
process and to accompany members of the Commission staff on various at-
tempted visits to potential sites. Allegany County facilities such as the county
jail, county courthouse, and other buildings have been used tor the purpose of
holding citizens who have been charged with impeding the actions of the
Commission, The Allegany County District Attorney and his statf have been
required to become involved in criminal prosecutions of citizens who alleg-
edly illegally impeded the siting process. At various times the State of New
York has indicated that the County may have to invoke the “mutual aid” sys-
tem of police protection, When such “mutual aid” is requested, the County
becomes financially liable tor the services provided. Innumerable hours have
been spent by County officials in setting up procedures to attempt to avoid
violence during the siting process. JA. 29a, Wa (Cross Att. ©8, 9)

i — ———————

On December 7, 1990, the District Court heard oral argument
on all motions and issued its decision. The District Court ruled
that Garcia v. San Antonio Metropolitan Transit Authority, 469
U.S. 528 (1985), was dispositive of the case and barred any judi-
cial intervention to declare the Act unconstitutional. A.21; State
of New York vy. United States, 757 F. Supp. 10, 12 (N.D. N-Y.
1990). The District Court granted the defendants’ and interve-
nors’ motion to dismiss the action, and judgment was entered on
December 26, 1990. A.26, 27. On January 30, 1991, the State of
New York, the County of Allegany, and the County of Cortland
filed timely notices of appeal. The appeals were consolidated for
hearing and determination by the Court of Appeals.

The appeals were argued before the United States Court of Ap-
peals for the Second Circuit on May 21, 1991. On August 8, 1991,
the Court of Appeals affirmed the decision of the District Court.
The Court of Appeals agreed with the District Court that Garcia
was dispositive and barred any judicial intervention. A.15, 16;
State of New York v. United States, 942 F.2d 114, 121 (2d Cir.
1991).

Allegany County filed a petition for a writ of certiorari on Oc-
tober 3, 1991 (No. 91-558). The State of New York filed a petition
for a writ of certiorari on September 30, 1991 (No. 91-543), and
Cortland County also filed a petition on October 3, 1991 (No. 91-
$63). This Court granted all three petitions on January 10, 1992.

Basis For Federal Jurisdiction Of The District Court

The District Court had jurisdiction of this action under 28
U.S.C. § 1331, 28 U.S.C. § 1337, 28 U.S.C. § 2201, and 28 U.S.C.
$ 1346.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Act’s mandate that each state is responsible for the dis-
posal of low-level radioactive waste generated within its borders
violates the plan of federalism established by the United States
Constitution. The principal protection of the sovereignty of each
state is the fact that the national government is one of enumer-
ated and, hence, limited powers. If an act of Congress is not
within its enumerated powers, the act is unconstitutional and no
further inquiry is needed.

Congress has broad power to regulate activity that affects in-
terstate commerce and to use its spending powers to influence
state action. However, the Commerce Clause does not authorize
the national government to issue directives to the states. In for-
mulating the Constitution, the Framers specifically rejected a
scheme whereby the national government would use the machin-
ery of the state governments to carry out its policy decisions. The
Guarantee Clause and the Tenth Amendment both establish the
separate sovereign nature of the states.

The Court of Appeals failed to consider whether the Act was
within the power of Congress. The lower court mistakenly read
this Court’s decision in Garcia to limit any judicial inquiry to de-
termining whether there was a defect in the political process lead-
ing to the passage of the Act. In fact, Garcia expressly recognizes
the federal courts’ role in determining whether an act of Con-
gress violates affirmative limits placed on congressional power
by the constitutional structure.

Moreover, the Court of Appeals incorrectly held tha: the
Guarantee Clause does not protect the states from direct man-
dates by the national government. By its terms the Guarantee
Clause requires that the United States guarantee to each state a
government answerable to the people of the state. The Act ig-
nores this guarantee and, at least with respect to low-level radio-

ba

active waste, renders each state a mere department or agent of the
national government. The Act treats the states as divisions of one
simple republic, contrary to the plain language of the Constitu-
tion and the intent of the Framers.

ARGUMENT

I. THE NATIONAL GOVERNMENT IS NOT EMPOW-
ERED TO COMPEL THE STATES TO EXERCISE
THEIR RESERVED SOVEREIGN POWERS.

A. The Constitution established a system of dual sovereignty.

This Court has recently confirmed the separate and indepen-
dent existence of the states within the federal system.

As every schoolchild learns, our Constitution establishes
a system of dual sovereignty between the States and the Fed-
eral Government. This Court also has recognized this fun-
damental principle. In Tafflin y. Levitt, 493 U.S. 455, 458,
110 S.Ct. 792, 795, 107 L.Ed.2d 887 (1990), “‘[w]Je beg[a]n
with the axiom that, under our federal system, the States
possess sovereignty concurrent with that of the Federal
Government, subject only to limitations imposed by the Su-
premacy Clause.” Over a hundred years ago, the Court de-
scribed the constitutional scheme of dual sovereigns:

* ‘(T]he people of each State compose a State, having
its own government, and endowed with all the functions es-
sential to separate and independent existence,’... ‘[W]ithout
the States in union, there could be no such political body as
the United States.’ Not only, therefore, can there be no loss
of separate and independent autonomy to the States,
through their union under the Constitution, but it may be
not unreasonably said that the reservation of the States, and
the maintenance of their governments, are as much within
the design and care of the Constitution as the preservation
of the Union and the maintenance of the National govern-
ment. The Constitution, in all its provisions, looks to an in-

10

destructible Union, composed of indestructible States.”
Texas v. White, 7 Wall. 700, 725, 19 L.Ed. 227 (1869), quot-
ing Lane County v. Oregon, 7 Wall. 71, 76, 19 L.Ed. 101
(1869).

The Constitution created a Federal Government of
limited powers. “‘The powers not delegated to the United
States by the Constitution, nor prohibited by it to the States,
are reserved to the States respectively, or to the people.”
U.S. Const., Amdt. 10. The States thus retain substantial
sovereign authority under our constitutional system.

Gregory v. Ashcroft, 111 S. Ct. 2395, 2399 (1991).

This federal structure of dual sovereignty has numerous ad-
vantages for the people of the nation. This system assures (i) a
decentralized government more sensitive to the diverse needs of
the nation; (ii) increased opportunity for citizen involvement in
the democratic processes; (iii) innovation and experimentation in
government; and (iv) responsive state governments because of
competition for a mobile citizenry. See Gregory v. Ashcroft, \11
S. Ct. 2395, 2399 (1991). The federal structure also protects the
people of the nation from the tyranny that a single central gov-
ernment could establish. The Federalist No. 51, at 323 (James
Madison) (Clinton Rossiter ed., 1961) (in the compound republic
of America ‘‘a double security arises to the rights of the people”
by the division of power between the state governments and the
national government and then between the branches of each gov-
ernment}.

Schemes authorizing legislation similar to the Act were consid-
ered, but rejected, in the drafting of the Constitution. As Justice
O’Connor showed by an analysis of notes of the Constitutional
_Convention in her dissenting opinion in Federal Energy Regula-
tory Commission v. Mississippi, 456 U.S. 742, 791-796 (1982), the
Framers rejected the notion that the national government could
commandeer the machinery of the state governments to carry Out

its policies. The Convention settled on a federal system under
which the national government had power to enact legislation
that could operate upon the people directly. Jd. Federal policy
would not depend upon the cooperation or the obedience of the
state legislatures, as under the Articles of Confederation. /d. The
Convention also rejected a proposal authorizing the national
government to use “force” to compel a state to “fulfill its duty”
and a proposal giving the national legislature veto power over
state laws. /d.

Under the Articles of Confederation, the National Legisla-
ture Operated through the States. The Framers could have
fortified the central government, while still maintaining the
Same system, if they had increased Congress’ power to de-
mand obedience from state legislatures. In time, this
scheme might have relegated the States to mere departments
of the National Government.... The Framers, however, es-
chewed this course, choosing instead to allow Congress to
pass laws directly affecting individuals, and rejecting pro-
posals that would have given Congress military or legisla-
tive power over state governments. In this way, the Framers
established independent state and national sovereigns. The
National Government received the power to enact its own
laws and to enforce those laws over conflicting state legisla-
tion. The States retained the power to govern as sovereigns
in fields that Congress cannot or will not pre-empt. This
product of the Constitutional Convention, I believe, is fun-
damentally inconsistent with a system in which either Con-
gress or a state legislature harnesses the legislative powers of
the other sovereign.

Federal Energy Regulatory Commission v. Mississipi, 456 U.S.
742, 795-96 (1982) (O’Connor, J., dissenting) (footnotes omit-
ted).”

The majority rejected Justice O'Connor's position that the act in question
was unconstituvional on the ground that the act did not mandate an “imposi-
tion of general affirmative obligations”. /d. at 769 n.32. The majority did
not, however, vorwe any disagreement with Justice O'Connor's historical
analysis.

Two provisions of the Constitution confirm the existence of
the states as separate sovereign governments. The Guarantee
Clause, Article IV, Section 4, provides: “The United States shall
guarantee to every State in this Union a Republican Form of
Government....” The Tenth Amendment provides: “The powers
not delegated to the United States by the C onstitution, nor pro-

hibited by it to the States, are reserved to the States respectively, ~

or to the people.” The combined import of these two provisions,
that the states are separate sovereign governments, with general
powers, answerable not to the national government but to the
people of the states.

B. The Constitution does not authorize congressional man-
dates to the states.

The Commerce Clause, Article 1, Section 8, Clause 3, gives
Congress power “[t]o regulate Commerce...among the several
States.” Neither the text of the Commerce Clause nor the history
of its application, however, gives the nationai vovernment power
to mandate that the states carry out federal policies.

While recent decisions of this Court have rejected Tenth
Amendment claims by states attacking congressional legislation,
none has addressed the issue of a direct congressional mandate to
the states to exercise their sovereign powers to Carry Out a federal
policy. These decisions have involved either regulation of state
activity which affects interstate commerce or federal tax collec-
tion (e.g., Garcia v. San Antonio Metropolitan Transit Author-
itv, 469 U.S. $28 [1985]; Marviand v. Wirtz, 392 U.S. 183 [1968];
South Carolina v. Baker, 485 U.S. 805 [1988] [taxes]; Fry vy.
United States, 421 U.S. $42 {1975]); the setting of conditions for
state involvement in a federally preemptable field (e. 2., Federal
Energy Regulatory Commission vy. Mississippi, 456 U.S. 742
(1982]); or the conditional grant of funds to the states (é.2.,
South Dakota v, Adams, 506 F. Supp. 50 {[D.S.D.], aff'd, 635

13

F.2d 698 [8th Cir. 1980], cert. denied, 451 U.S. 984 [1981]; Ne-
vada v. Skinner, 884 F.2d 445 [9th Cir. 1989], cert. denied, 493
U.S. 1070 [1990]).

This Court has thus never decided the constitutionality of a di-
rect congressional mandate to the states based upon the Com-
merce Clause, although this is not the first time this issue has
arisen. In Environmental Protection Agency v. Brown, 431 U.S.
99 (1977), this Court granted a petition for a writ of certiorari to
review three different Courts of Appeals decisions that held that
the Commerce Clause does not authorize a federal mandate to
the states requiring the states to either establish programs to carry
out a federal policy or else suffer sanctions.

Those three cases, Maryland v. Environmental Protection
Agency, 530 F.2d 215 (4th Cir. 1975), District of Columbia v.
Train, 521 F.2d 971 (D.C. Cir. 1975), and Brown v. Environmen-
tal Protection Agency, 521 F.2d 827 (9th Cir. 1975), dealt with
attempts by the national government to implement the Clean Air
Act. Pursuant to the Clean Air Act, if an area of a state fails to
achieve compliance with air quality standards, the national gov-
ernment may step in and implement its own plan. Maryland v
Environmental Protection Agency, 530 F.2d 215, 219 (4th Cir.
1975). In each of the cases, the states failed in their attempts to
achieve air quality standards, and the EPA attempted to imple-
ment its “plan” by directing the state governments to take certain
actions.

The three Courts of Appeals found that these mandates raised
constitutional concerns and, therefore, interpreted the Clean Air
Act as not authorizing such mandates. Maryland v. Environmen-
tal Protection Agency, 530 F.2d 215, 225-28 (4th Cir. 1975): Dis-
trict of Columbia vy. Train, 521 F.2d 971, 994 (D.C. Cir. 1975):
Brown v. Environmental Protection Agency, 521 F.2d 827, 837-
42 (9th Cir. 1975). While the national government could permis-
sibly bring in its own personnel and establish a program, it could

14

not seize the machinery of a state to carry out a federal action.
The United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit noted:

And, while it may be true that some, or even many, of the
attributes of state sovereignty have been diminished by the
exercise by Congress of the broad rights accorded the nation
under the commerce clause, it is equally true that if there is
any attribute of sovereignty left to the states it is the right of
their legislatures to pass, or not to pass, laws. As the Court
stated in Jn reDuncan, 139 U.S. 449, 11 S.Ct. 573, 35 L.Ed.
219 (1891):

“By the constitution, a republican form of government
is guaranteed to every state in the Union, and the distin-
guishing feature of that form is the right of the people to
choose their own officers for governmental administration,
and pass their own laws in virtue of the legislative powers
reposed in representative bodies...” 139 U.S. 449, 461, 11
S.Ct. 573, 577, 35 L.Ed. 219.

Not far afield is the rejection by the Philadelphia Con-
vention of Charles Pinkney’s constitutional plan which
would have enabled Congress to “revise,” “negative,” or
“annul” the laws of a state. See Elliot’s Debates (Michie

Ed., Vol. |, Book I, pp. 149, 400-01).

If the national legislature may not revise, negative or
annul a law of a state legislature, how an Act of Congress
may be construed to permit an ageacy of the United States
to direct a state legislature to legislate is difficult to under-
stand.

_ Maryland v. Environmental Protection Agency, 530 F.2d 215,

225 (4th Cir. 1975). Accord District of Columbia v. Train, 521
F.2d 971 (D C. Cir. 1975); Brown v. Environmental Protection
Agency, 521 F.2d 827 (9th Cir. 1975).

Contra, Pennsylvania v. Environmental Protection Agency, SOO F.2d 246 (3d
Cir. 1974).

NN ——————e ee

15

This Court granted certiorari in all three EPA cases but vacated
and remanded them for consideration of mootness when the
EPA rescinded the objectionable regulations. Environmental
Protection Agency v. Brown, 431 U.S. 99 (1977) (per curiam).

The bright line between congressional acts which influence,
encourage, or regulate state activity, on the one hand, and a di-
rect mandate by Congress to the states to carry out a federal pol-
icy, on the other, has now been crossed. As in the EPA cases, the
Act’s mandate violates the sovereignty of the states within our
federal system. Whatever other limits the structure of the Consti-
tution may impose on the exercise of Commerce Clause power,
the national government may not direct the states to exercise their
sovereign powers to carry out a federal policy. The power to regu-
late an activity affecting commerce, if willingly engaged in by a
state, does not include, or even imply, the power to order a state
to engage in such activity. The Constitutional Convention specif-
ically determined not to give Congress such power. See Federal
Energy Regulatory Commission v. Mississippi, 456 U.S. 742.
795-96 (1982) (O’Connor, J., dissenting). The Act exceeded the
constitutional power of Congress and is therefore null and void.

C. This Court can enforce the “affirmative limits” imposed
by the constitutional structure.

In reviewing the Act, the Court of Appeals implicitly held that
an analysis based on the text or history of the Constitution was
unnecessary. Instead, it held that under Garcia and its progeny,
absent a defect in the political process or an unequal treatment of
a state, the federal courts have no role in protecting any aspect of
the sovereignty of the states in the federal system.

No decision of this Court has gone so far in limiting the role of
the federal courts. It is the well-established role of the federal
courts “to say what the law is.” Marbury v. Madison, 5 U.S. (1

Cranch) 137,177 (1803). This Court has steadfastly maintained in
its Tenth Amendment decisions that it has ample power to pre-
vent “the utter destruction of the State as a sovereign political
enuty.” Marland v. Wirtz, 392 U.S. 183, 196 (1968); Garcia v. San
Antonio Metropolitan Transit Authority, 469 U.S. 528, 556
(1985); South Carolina v. Baker, 485 U.S. 505, 528 (1988) (Scalia,
J., concurring).

This Court has never disavowed a role in protecting states from
direct congressional mandates. Indeed, in rejecting a number of
recent Tenth Amendment challenges to various congressional
acts, this Court has been careful to note that the statutes under
review did not “authorize the imposition of general affirmative
obligations on the States.” See, e.g., Federal Energy Regulatory
Commission v. Mississippi, 456 U.S. 742, 769 n.32 (1982); South
Carolina v. Baker, 485 U.S. 505, 514 (1988) (“[t}hat a State wish-
ing tO engage in certain activity must take administrative and
sometimes legislative action to comply with federal standards
regulating that activity is a commonplace that presents no consti-
tutional detect’’); Hodel v. Virginia Surface Mining and Recla-
mation Association, Inc., 452 U.S. 264, 288 (1981) (congressio-
nal act held constitutional when there was “no suggestion that
the Act commandeers the legislative processes of the States by
compelling them to enact and enforce a federal reguiatory pro-
gram’”’).

The role of the federal courts in protecting state sovereignty
from congressional usurptions of power has been recognized
since the proposal of the Constitution. In The Federalist, James
Madison commented that the judiciary would play a vital role in
preventing Congress trom exceeding its enumerated powers. “In
the first instance, the success of the usurpation will depend on the
executive and judiciary departments....” The Federalist No. 44,
at 286 (James Madison) (Clinton Rossiter ed., 1961).

17

Alexander Hamilton similarly identified the power of the fed-
eral courts to declare unconstitutional congressional acts that ex-
ceed the limitations of the Constitution as essential to the preser-
vation of the constitutional structure of the nation. The
Federalist No. 78, at 466 (Alexander Hamilton) (Clinton Rossiter
ed., 1961) (‘‘[l]imitations of this kind can be preserved in practice
no other way than through the medium of courts of justice,
whose duty it must be to declare all acts contrary to the manifest
tenor of the Constitution void”’).

The Court of Appeals below ignored the role of the federal
courts in protecting state sovereignty and misread the “national
political process” test of Garcia. This test by its 'vems was only
intended to apply to statutes which regulate ongoing activity that
affects interstate commerce. Garcia v. San Antonio Metropolitan
Transit Authority, 469 U.S. 528, 537 (1985) (since municipal rail-
road affected interstate commerce “[a]ny constitutional exemp-
tion from the requirements of the FLSA [Federal Labor Stand-
ards Act] therefore must rest on SAMTA’s status as a
governmental entity rather than on the ‘local’ nature of its opera-
tions’’). See also Maryland v. Wirtz, 392 U.S. 183, 196-97 (196¢)
(“‘{i]f a State is engaging in economic activities that are validly
regulated by the Federal Government when engaged in by private
persons, then the State too may be forced to conform its activities
to federal regulation”’).

Garcia also established that the question of whether such oth-
erwise permissible congres*ional regulation of interstate com-
merce might somehow objectionably impinge on a state’s sover-
elgnty was a matter to be decided by the “national political
process”. Garcia v. San Antonio Metropolitan Transit Author-
ity, 469 ULS. 528, 554-56 (1985). Yet this Court in Garcia speciti-
cally excluded from its consideration any decision as to what
other limuts may exist.

These cases do not require us to identify or define what at-

18

firmative limits the constitutional structure might impose
on federal action affecting the States under the Commerce
Clause. See Coyle v. Oklahoma, 221 U.S. 559, 55 L.Ed. 853,
31 S.Ct. 688 (1911).

Id. at 556.

Garcia stands for the proposition that when an act of Congress
is within its enumerated powers, the federal court should not
limit Congress's exercise of such powers based upon concepts of
“traditional governmental functions” of the state government.
However, this Court in Garcia specifically recognized that the
federal courts must still consider ‘“‘what affirmative limits the
constitutional structure might impose on federal action affecting
the States under the Commerce Clause.” Garcia v. San Antonio
Metropolitan Transit Authority, 469 U.S. 528, 556 (1985).

~ The Court of Appeals and the District Court below read the “altirmative lim-
its the constitutional structure might impose” excepuion of Garcia too nar-
rowly. Both lower courts inferred from this Court's citation to Covle
that Garcia stood for the proposition that the courts could only review con-
gressional acts that upset the “equality” of the states. The decision in Covle,
however, was based on congressional interference with state sovereignty and
not unequal treatment of the states. The Court in Covie held that Congress
could not direct the location of the State of Oklahoma's capital as a condition
of admission because it could not direct such an order to the other states:
The power to locate its own seat of government, and to determine when
and how it shal! be changed from one place to another, and to appropriate
its own public funds for that purpose, are essentially and peculiarly state
powers. That one of the original thirteen states could now be shorn of such
powers by an act of Congress would not be for a moment entertained. The
question, then, comes to this: Can a state be placed upon a plane of in-
equality with its sister states in the Union if the Congress chooses to Impose
conditions which so operate, at the time of its admission?

Covle v. Oklahoma, 221 U.S. $89, 865 (1911).

Theretore, both Cov/e and Garcia recognized limitations on congressional

power based on the structure of the Constitution. not simply upon equality

amony the states.

19

If the states are to be subjected to mandates from the national
government to use their officials and funds to implement federal
policies, then they will be less than sovereign entities and, ina real
sense, mere agents or departments of the national government.
Such a result would undermine the vital roles of the states in the
federal system so recently affirmed by this Court in Gregory vy.
Ashcroft, 111 S. Ct. 2395 (1991). It is respectfully submitted that
this Court should now act to prevent such a subjugation of the
States and to preserve to the people of the United States the bene-
fit of the system of dual sovereignty established by the Constitu-
tion.

Il. THE ACT VIOLATES THE GUARANTEE OF A
“REPUBLICAN FORM OF GOVERNMENT".

A. The Guarantee Clause protects state sovereignty.

The United States is constitutionally required to guarantee to
every state in the Union a “Republican Form of Government”.
U.S. Const. art. [V, § 4. The key feature of a republic is “not only
that all power should be derived from the people, but that those
intrusted with it should be kept in dependence on the people....”’
The Federalist No. 37, at 227 (James Madison) (Clinton Rossiter
ed., 1961). Each state of the Union is therefore guaranteed a gov-
ernment whereby the officials of a state are answerable to the
people of a state and not to the legislature of the national govern-
ment.

In an insightful article on the role of the Guarantee Clause in
protecting state sovereignty, Professor Deborah Jones Merritt of
the University of Illinois College of Law has shown that man-
dates by the national government to state governments to exer-
cise their sovereign powers would violate the Guarantee Clause.

Ina republican government, all power derives trom the vot-
ers. The citizens of a republican state decide when to exer-

20

cise their legislative or executive power and how to wield
that authority. If the federal government forces the states to
adopt a statute, it destroys this relationship between state
voters and their representatives; state legislators become ac-
countable to Congress, rather than to their constituents.
Similarly, if the national government compels the states to
entorce federal regulatory programs, state budgets and ex-
ecutive resources reflect federal priorities rather than the
wishes of local citizens. These resuits are antithetical to the
popular control exerted in a republican form of govern-
ment.

Deborah J. Merritt, The Guarantee Clause and State Autonomy:
Federalism for a Third Century, 88 Colum. L. Rev. 1, 61-62
(1988) (footnotes omitted). See also Laurence H. Tribe, .Ameri-
can Constitutional Law § §-23 (2d ed. 1988); Federal Energy
Regulatory Commission v. Mississippi, 456 U.S. 742, 789-9]
(1982) (O’Connor, J., dissenting).

The Act represents an unprecedented invasion of state sover-
elgnty by the national government. The mandatory nature of the
Act and its sanctions undermine the separate character of the
sovereign states and undermines the right of the people of the
states to determine the course of their own governments with re-
spect to low-level radioactive waste. New York and its political
subdivisions have been required by the national government
against the will of their constituents to exercise their sovereign
powers to carry Out the policies of the Act. See J.A. 28a-30a
(Cross Aff. €€ 3-11). However, as shown by Justice O’Connor in
her dissenting opinion in Federal Energy Regulatory Commis-
sion v. Mississippi, 456 U.S. 742 (1982), and the Fourth Circuit in
Marvland vy. Environmental Protection Agency, 530 F.2d 215 (4th
Cir. 1975), the notion that the national government could use the
State governments to carry out tederal policy decisions was re-
jected by the Framers.

B. This Court can enforce the Guarantee Clause’s protection
of state sovereignty.

The Act’s contravention of the Guarantee Clause raises a justi-
ciable issue. This Court has recognized that some Guarantee
Clause clainis are justiciable.

[T]he implication of the Guaranty Clause in a case concern-
ing congressional action does not aiways preclude judicial
action. It has been held that the clause gives Congress no
power to impose restrictions upon a State’s admission
which would undercut the constitutional mandate that the
State’s be on an equal footing. Coyle v. Smith, 221 U.S. 559,
55 L. ed. 853, 31 S. Ct. 688. And in Jexas v. White (US) 7
Wall 700, 19 L. ed. 227, although Congress had determined
that the State’s government was not republican in form, the
State’s standing to bring an original action in this Court was
sustained.

Baker v. Carr, 369 U.S. 186, 226 n.53 (1962).

A congressional mandate that the states exercise their sover-
eign powers does not raise a “political question’’; it raises an is-
sue striking at the heart of the plan of tederalism set forth in the
Constitution. The Guarantee Clause does not merely express an
ideal; it is an affirmative limit on federal action. As Professor
Merritt has noted, a challenge by a state to a mandate by the na-
tional government meets the test for justiciability set forth in
Baker v. Carr. See Deborah J. Merritt, The Guarantee Clause and
State Autonomy: Federalism for a Third Century, 88 Coium. L.
Rev. 1, 75-78 (1988).

Thus, while the federal courts have been understandably reluc-
tant to consider whether particular schemes of state government
are sufficiently “republican” to satisty the Guarantee Clause, the
use of the Guarantee Clause to protect state autonomy Is an en-
uirely different matter. As noted by Protessor Merritt, this Court
considered such a claim in Covle v. Oklahoma, 221 U.S. 559
(1911).

””

-——

These decisions suggest that a significant factor in the Su-
preme Court’s refusal to adjudicate claims based on the
guarantee clause has been its reluctance to interfere with the
independence of state governments. The proposed con-
struction of the guarantee clause, however, would not re-
quire the courts to overturn established bodies of state law
OF eject existing state governments from power. On the con-
trary, the courts would use the guarantee clause to protect
State governments from undue federal interference. As in
Coyle, claims that Congress has enacted an invalid “limita-
tion upon the power of [a] State” should be justiciable.

Deborah J. Merritt, The Guarantee Clause and State Autonomy:
Federalism for a Third Century, 88 Colum. L. Rev. 1, 74-75
(1988) (footnotes omitted).

Professor Laurence Tribe has indicated a similar approach:

To be sure, the Supreme Court has denied that the guar-
anty clause of Article IV, § 4, confers judicially cognizable
rights upon individuals. But it has not avoided all judicial
involvement in this sphere; rather, the Court has invoked
the equal protection clause of the fourteenth amendment to
protect each individual’s right to participate in state and lo-
cal government on an equal footing. And it need not follow
trom the unavailability of the guaranty clause as a textual
source of protection for individuals that the clause confers
no judicially enforceable rights upon states as states. It is,
after all, the states to which the clause extends its explicit
guarantee. If courts are once again to take up the task of
preserving for states their constitutionally essential role as
self-governing polities, the guaranty clause might well pro-
vide the most felicitous textual home for that enterprise.

Laurence H. Tribe, American Constitutional Law § $-23, at 398
(2d ed. 1988) (emphasis in original) (footnotes omitted). See also
South Carolina vy. Baker, 485 U.S. 505, $31 (1988) (O'Connor, J.
dissenting) (“[iJ]t is also arguable that the States’ autonomy Is
protected trom substantial federal incursions by virtue of the
Guarantee Clause, Article IV, § 4").

This Court has recently recognized the Guarantee Clause as a
potential source of protection of state sovereignty against con-
gressional power.

These cases stand in recognition of the authority of the
people of the States to determine the qualifications of their
most important government officials. It is an authority that
lies at “ ‘the heart of representative government. ” /bid. It
is a power reserved to the States under the Tenth Amend-
ment and guaranteed them by that provision of the Consti-
tution under which the United States “‘guarantee[s] to every
State in this Union a Republican Form of Government.”
U.S. Const., Art. IV, § 4. See Sugarman, supra, 413 U.S., at
648, 93S. Ct., at 2850-2851 (citing the Guarantee Clause
and the Tenth Amendment). See also Merritt. 88
Colum.L.Rev., at 50-55.

*_* * *

As against Congress’ powers “[t]o regulate Commer-
ce...among the several States,” U.S. Const., Art. 1, § 8, cl. 3,
the authority of the people of the States to determine the
qualifications of their government officials may be invio-
late.
Gregory v. Ashcroft, 111 S. Ct. 2395, 2402-03 (1991) (footnote
omitted).

Here, the Act is destructive of an essential attribute of a repub-
lic — the right of the republic and its citizens to decide when and
how to exercise the republic’s sovereign powers. The Act man-
dates that the states will be responsible for the disposal of low-
level radioactive waste generated in the state — there is no choice.
The states, therefore, are no longer treated as confederated re-
publics but as departments or agents of the national government.
As such, the state governments are no longer answerable to the
people of the states for the exercise of the states’ sovereign
powers but to the national government. This result violates the
constituuional guarantee of a republican form of government to
each state.

24

CONCLUSION

As this Court has recently observed, our Constitution estab-
lishes a system of dual sovereigns. The Low-Level Radioactive
Waste Policy Amendments Act of 1985, however, is destructive
of an essential attribute of this system — the rights of the states
and their citizens to decide when and how to exercise the states’
sovereign powers. By decreeing that the states are responsible for
the disposal of low-radioactive wastes generated within the state,
the national government treats the states as its mere agents or de-
partments.

The lower court erred in allowing the national government to
ignore the sovereign nature of the states and in denying that the
federal courts have a legitimate role in protecting state sover-
eignty.

Dual sovereignty and judicial review are basic components of a
constitutional structure that has served this nation well for over
two hundred years. Such a vital protection of the people’s liberty
and access to government should not be abandoned based on a
claim that the Act constitutes an expedient assignment of respon-
sibility tor disposal of low-level radioactive waste. It is respect-
fully submitted that the decision of the Court of Appeals should
be reversed and the Act should be declared unconstitutional.

February 12, 1992 Respectfully submitted,

JAMES T. SIKARAS, ESO.
County Attorney ot The
County of Allegany

By:
Edward F. Premo, II, Esq.
Counsel of Record
Paul D. Sylvestri, Esq.
Of Counsel
HARTER, SECREST & EMERY
Special Counsel for Petitioner
The County of Allegany
700 Midtown Tower
Rochester, New York 14604
(716) 232-6800

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0191%3A11. Public record. Not legal advice.
