# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — New York v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0191%3A02

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1992
- **Citation:** 505 U.S. 144

## Text

iis TD

FILED

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United Sttié ° ™

SEP 30 199)

aus |

October Term, 1991

THE STATE OF NEW YORK,

Petitioner,
against

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA; JAMES D. WATKINS, as Secretary
of Energy, KENNETH M. CARR, as Chairman of the United States
Nuclear Regulatory Commission, THE UNITED STATES NUCLEAR
REGULATORY COMMISSION; SAMUEL K. SKINNER, as Secretary of
Transportation; and WILLIAM P. BARR, as Acting United States Attorney
General,

Defendants,

THE STATE OF WASHINGTON; THE STATE OF NEVADA; and THE
STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA,
Intervenors.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit

ROBERT ABRAMS

Attorney General of the State of New York,
Attorney for Petitioner

The Capitol

Albany, NY 12224

(518) 473-0330

QO. PETER SHERWOOD
Solicitor General

PETER H. SCHIFF
Deputy Solicitor General
and Counsel of Record

JOHN MCCONNELL
Assistant Attorney General
Of Counsel

THE REPORTER COMPANY, INC., Walton, NY 13856—800 252-718!1—1991

(1379—LC4-527)

i.
Question Presented

Whether Congress, consistent with the limits imposed by
the Constitution and especially the Tenth Amendment, may
directly compel a State to “be responsible for” and develop
a plan for the disposal of low-level radioactive waste pro-
duced by private, state, and some federal generators within
the State’s borders, and may require the State to take title
to, assume possession of, and be legally liable for such
wasie if it fails to develop and implement such a plan.

il
Parties

The parties to the proceeding below were:

—_—

. The State of New York, Plaintiff;

2. The County of Allegany, New York, Plaintiff;

3. The County of Cortland, New York, Plaintiff,

4. The United States of America, Defendant;

5. James D. Watkins, as Secretary of Energy, Defendant;

6. Kenneth M. Carr, as Chairman of the United States
Nuciear Regulatory Commission, Defendant,

7. Samuel K. Skinner, as Secretary of Transportation,
Defendant;

8. William P. Barr, as Acting United States Attorney
General, Defendant;!

9. The State of Washington, Intervenor;
10. The State of Nevada, Intervenor,

11. The State of South Carolina, Intervenor.

'In the proceedings below, Richard Thornburgh was named as a
defendant in his capacity as United States Attorney General. Mr. Barr,
who is currently Acting United States Attorney General, has been
substituted pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 35 3.

+e
il.

Table of Contents.

Page
ES Es i
cies ncccckscescscccvecces il
ss ca ce cc ceccceccces iv
EEE 2
cscs cc cc sc cecccccsccsees 2
Constitutional and Statutory Provisions Involved .... 3
eee 4

Reasons for Granting the Writ
The Second Circuit’s decision improperly narrows
the scope of Tenth Amendment challenges

TE cw eccece Y

Conclusion

iV.
Page
Appendix

Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals,
Second Circuit, dated August 8, 1991 ....... la

Opinion of the United States District Court for the
Northern District of New York, dated Decem-
gt SO Rr ror er yer re 18a

Judgment of the United States District Court for
the Northern District of New York, dated
December 26, 1990...................00.. 27a
Table of Authorities.

CASES:

Brown v EPA, 521 F2d 827 (9th Cir 1975), vacated
and remanded for consideration of mootness,
re pec ee ee, s 16

Coyle v Smith, 221 US 559 (1911).........0...... &
District of Columbia v Train, 521 F2d 971 (D.C. Cir
1975), vacated and remanded for consideration
of mootness sub nom. EPA v Brown, 431 US 99
SO <6 6 od bxcu deed uetkes icc ee 16

Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) v
Mississippi, 456 US 742 (1982)............. 15

Garcia v San Antonio Metropolitan Transit Authority,
dk | ea passim

Gregory v Ashcroft, 111 S Ct 2395 (1991)......... 10

Page

Hodel v Virginia Surface Mining & Recl. Assn., 452
NIG. scckcukeudeen deeey eens 15, 16

Maryland v EPA, 530 F2d 215 (4th Cir 1975), vacated

and remanded for consideration of mootness
sub nom. EPA v Brown, 431 US 99 (1977)... 16

New York v United States of America, 757 F Supp 10
(NDNY 1990), affd, Nos. 91-6031, 91-6033 &
91-6035 (2d Cir August 8, 1991) (1991 WL
a ER ee re er tre ere 2

Pennsylvania v EPA, 500 F2d 246 (3d Cir 1974)... 17

South Carolina v Baker, 485 US 505 (1988)..... ‘12, 17

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION:

Tenth Amendment..... ea gede cuneésuden dene passim

FEDERAL STATUTES:

Pe NY bo 5s 05 dros cn scuvcenensusanue tres 4
PT sew ede eveiceveaes¥icyaneseny 4
TEED co ectcsccussavrdneunsennes 4
oi ep | werner rs err 4

Tax Equity and Fiscal Responsibility Act of 1982
DS 65 c tances cave be Reet eenmwenes 17

IE cn cayeeccacccencucesucdneuunnens 12

Vi.
Page
’ No.
ee ED. a ables eu kek be eeeuens 2
IN THE
DE pes od enies kaka Ree e eRe 2
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
| Serer Perey errr 2
OCTOBER TERM, 1991.
DE Cet cu ae lls eee Sea biseerecahs 2
e
I Reo UO Nal aE iy ad ier 2
THE STATE OF NEW YORK,
Ee ee cial os ou ewe ee Raed 2 7
Petitioner,
I I tread ei he leg 12 against
ee ee IN 5 6s 655 hc bande bce Kaw tees 5 THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA; JAMES D. WATKINS, as
. . Secretary of Energy; KENNETH M. Carr, as Chairman of
a ae the United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission; THE
UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION;
od) |) Senn 2 SAMUEL K. SKINNER, as Secretary of Transportation; and
WILLIAM P. Barr, as Acting United States Attorney
athe eI et ie Lae AOE See se Re rag 6 General,
RE PT ATE SC ete han 6 Defendants,
NEE See eta t«* THE STATE OF WASHINGTON; THE STATE OF NEVADA; and
THE STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA,
ON ho Oar ree ag oe 6 Pn
DOD. oon Gned oi eetot wert at tron oe e —
iy EE gee telah tan a, Mee hae 12 Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit
eet ge bee eee 12

2

The petitioner State of New York respectfully prays that
a writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment and opin-
ion of the United States Court of Appeals for the Second
Circuit, entered in the above-entitled proceeding on August
8, 1991 (Nos. 91-6031, 91-6033 and 91-6035).

Opinions Below

The opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Second

Circuit is reported at ___. F2d __ (2d Cir August 8,

1991) (Westlaw 1991 WL 150660), and is reprinted in the
appendix hereto, p. la, infra.

The opinion of the District Court is reported at 757
F Supp 10 (NDNY 1990), and ts reprinted in the appendix
hereto, p. 18a, infra.

Jurisdiction

Invoking federal jurisdiction under 28 USC §§ 1331.
1337, 1346, 2201, and 2202, petitioner and other plaintiffs
brought this suit in the Northern District of New York. On
December 7, 1990, the Northern District granted defend-
ants’ motion to dismiss the complaint. See p. | 8a, infra.

On plaintiffs’ appeals, the Second Circuit on August &,
1991 entered a judgment and opinion affirming the District
Court’s order. See p. 1a, infra.

This Court’s jurisdiction is invoked under 2% US¢
§ 1254(1).

3

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions Involved
United States Constitution, Tenth Amendment:

The powers not delegated to the United States by the
Constitution, nor prohibited by it to the States, are
reserved to the States respectively, or to the people.

42 USC § 2021 cla) (1):

Each State shall be responsible tor providing, either
by itself or in cooperation with other States, for the
disposal of -

(A) low-level radioactive waste generated within
the State (other than by the the Federal Govern-
ment) that consists of or contains class A, B, or C
radioactive waste as defined by section 61.55 of title
10, Code of Federal Regulations, as in effect on
January 26, 1983;

(B) low-level radioactive waste described in sub-
paragraph (A) that is generated by the Federal Gov-
ernment except such waste that is

(1) owned or generated by the Department of
Energy;

(1) owned or generated by the United States
Navy as a result of the decommissioning of ves
sels of the United States Navy, or

(ii) owned or generated as a result of any
research, development, testing, or production of
any atomic weapon * * * *

4
42 USC § 202le (d) (2) (C):

* * *

If a State (or, where applicable, a compact region) in
which low-level radioactive waste is generated Is
unable to provide for the disposal of all such waste
generated within such State or compact region by
January 1, 1996, each State in which such waste 1s
generated, upon the request of the generator or
owner of the waste, shall take title to the waste, be
obligated to take possession of the waste, and shall
be liable for all damages directly or indirectly
incurred by such generator or Owner as a conse-
quence of the failure of the State to take possession
of the waste as soon after January 1, 1996, as the
generator or owner notifies the State that the waste
is available for shipment.

Statement of the Case

In an effort to provide for the secure disposal of iow-level
radioactive waste materials generated throughout the
United States, Congress enacted the Low Level Radioac-
tive Waste Policy Act (Pub. L. 96-573) in 1980.° That
legislation set forth a federal policy that each State, in its
capacity as state sovereign, was responsible for providing
for the disposal of low-level radioactive waste generated
within its borders by private, state, and certain federal
producers; empowered States to form interstate compacts
to meet these duties; and enabled compact States to bar use
of compact facilities for the disposal of waste generated
outside the compact region after January 1, 1986. P.L.
96-573, §§ 4(aX(1), 4(aX 2B).

2Low-level radioactive waste was defined in the 1980 Act as
“radioactive waste not clamwified as high level radioactive waste, trans-

uranic waste, spent nuclear fuc!, or byproduct material as defined in
n tegen et
section 1 1e.(2) of the Atomic Energy Act of 1954." PL. 96-573, § 202)

5

While a majority of states joined or proposed to join
compacts in the years following the passage of the 1980
Act, no new state or regional disposal facilities were pro-
jected to become operational until the early 1990s. Conse-
quently, the exclusion provision of the 1980 Act posed a
problem: congressional ratification of proposed compacts
whose members operated existing disposal sites (Washing-
ton, Nevada, and South Carolina) might have denied access
to disposal sites to all states who were not in those com-
pacts. Accordingly, Congress enacted the Low-Level
Radioactive Waste Policy Amendments Act of 1985 (42
USC §§ 2021b-2021i) to permit ratification of proposed
compacts while granting all states continued limited access
to existing disposal sites.

The 1985 Act assigned to the States in their sovereign
capacity mandatory responsibility for the disposal of low-
level radioactive waste.> It further provided that condi-
tional access to disposal sites in Washington, Nevada, and
South Carolina would be granted to all states between
January 1, 1986 and December 31, 1992, and set forth a
detailed transition scheme, with incentives and penalties, to

3The 1985 Act defines low-level radioactive waste (LLRW) as
radioactive material that: (a) is not “high-level” radioactive waste,
spent nuclear fuel, or by-product material as defined at 42 USC §
2014(e)(2); and (b) is classified as LLRW by the Nuclear Regulatory
Commission. Nationwide, about 90% of the volume and 97% of radio-
activity of LLRW for which the 1985 Act assigns disposal respon-
sibility to the states comes from nuclear power plants and other indus-
trial sources; the remainder is generated by research laboratories,
hospitals, and medical centers.

The Act requires the States to be responsible for disposal of Class
A waste (containing radioactivity which will diminish to a safe expo-
sure level within 100 years), Class B waste, and Class C waste (requir-
ing protection against exposure for 500 years). Class C waste com-

prises less than 1% of volume and emits over 65% of the radiation of all
LLRW.

6

encourage compact formation and disposal site develop
ment. 42 USC § 2021c¢.*

A novel affirmative directive of the 1985 Act was con
tained in 42 USC § 202 1e(dn2 KC):

If a State (or, where applicable, a compact region) in
which low-level radioactive waste is generated is
unable to provide for the disposal of all such waste
generated within such State or compact region by
January |, 1996, each State in which such waste ts
generated, upon the request of the generator or
owner of the waste, shall take title to the waste, be
obligated to take possession of the waste, and shall
be liable for all damages directly or indirectly
incurred by such generator or Owner as a conse-
quence of the failure of the State to take possession
of the waste as soon after January |, 1996, as the
generator or owner notifies the State that the waste
is available for shipment.

With this provision, Congress decisively altered the
method and impact of prior legislation regulating low-level
radioactive waste disposal through encouragement and vol
untary incentives. The new Act abruptly coupled “respon
sibility” for such waste with a free-standing mandate that
each State develop a program for the disposal of waste
generated within its borders by private and other genera-
tors, including some federal generators. It strengthened this

‘By specific dates within that period, States and compacts were
directed to comply with a number of regulatory requirements, includ
ing: ratification of compact legislation or indication of the State's intent
to site a LLRW disposal facility in state, development of a siting plan,
and license application (202 lele} [1]). Failure to meet this schedule
might result in added surcharges upon waste generators by disposal site
operators, denial of access to the Washington, Nevada, and South
Carolina sites, and loss of certain surcharge rebates to the States
(202 1e{d], [e)).

~
/

mandate through the command that States assume owner-
ship and possession of, as well as legal liability for, such
waste if they fail to comply with the federal scheme and
timetable of regulation.

New York State’s congressional delegation participated
in the drafting and enactment of both the 190 and the
1985 Acts.

In February, 1990, the State of New York and the Coun-
ties of Allegany and Cortland, New York, commenced an
action in the United States District Court for the Northern
District of New York against various federal defendants,
seeking a declaration that, among other constitutional
flaws, the 1985 Act violated the Tenth Amendment through
the imposition of these broad new affirmative duties upon
the States. The States of Washington, Nevada, and South
Carolina subsequently jcined the action as intervenors in
support of defendants.

The District Court (Cholakis, J.) granted defendants’
motion for summary judgment and dismissal of the com-
plaint in a bench decision issued in December, 1990.
Addressing the Tenth Amendment claim, the court declared
that in light of this Court’s holding in Garcia v San Antonio
Metropolitan Transit Authority, 469 US 528 (1985), that
“judicial review of Congressional enactments founded on
Commerce Clause powers should be limited primarily to
inquiry of whether the political process has failed,” Tenth
Amendment review was proper only to discern “problems
which may have had an untoward effect on a particular
law’s enactment or its subsequent political review” (22a,
25a). Finding that the 1985 Act imposed no restriction on
New York’s “ability to operate in the political arena and to
challenge the law,” the court found judicial review unwar-
ranted on grounds of a failure of the political process.

a)

While recognizing that Garcia left open the possibility of
judicial review of the substantive impact of federal action
under the Commerce Clause in exceptional cases, the court
ruled that such exceptions arose only “when constitutional
equality amongst the states has been jeopardized” by the
federal act (23a). Finding no such jeopardy, nor other
grounds for constitutional attack, in the 1985 Act, the court
dismissed the State’s and counties’ complaint (26a).

On appeal, the Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit
affirmed. In its decision, the court observed that, in light of
Congress's traditional role in nuclear regulation, “appel-
lants undertake an unusually burdensome task” in chal-
lenging the 1985 Act (10a). The court held that “both the
1980 Act and its 1985 Amendments are paragons of legis-
lative success” (13a), and rejected any claim that the Act or
its take title provision was the product of a failure in the
political process.

The court found unpersuasive appellants’ argument that
Garcia permitted review of congressional mandates, such
as the take title provision, which significantly limited the
States’ role in the federal system and thereby altered the
federal constitutional structure. While it neither confirmed
nor denied that such review is permissible, it endorsed the
district court’s holding that such review, if permissible.
could consider only whether the federal act upset the
“equality in dignity and power” among the several States
(15a; citing Coyle v Smith, 221 US 559 {191 1]). “In sum,”
the court noted (16a),

we are satisfied that the take title provision does not
undermine the constitutional structure. Neither does
it violate principles of federalism as recently
explained in Garcia; and ‘|wJhere, as here, the
national political process did not operate in a defec-
tive manner, the Tenth Amendment is not impli-

ae

9

cated.’ [South Carolina v] Baker, 485 US. [505
(1988)] at 513 (emphasis in original).

lhe court also dismissed challenges to the Act based upon
the Eleventh Amendment and the Cruaranty Clause

(16a- 17a), and affirmed the grant of summary judgment to
defendants. :

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The Second Circuit’s decision improperly narrows the
scope of Tenth Amendment challenges under Garcia.

In its decision in Garcia v San Antonio Metropolitan
Transit Authority, 469 US 528 (1985), this Court deter-
mined that the primary protection of state sovereign inter-
ests in the federal system lay with the federal political
process and that Tenth Amendment challenges to federal
Statutes must generally allege a failure of that process 469
US at 550, 554. This Court expressly recognized, however
that additional Tenth Amendment protection might be
available to the States in cases where federal action, though
not the product of a defective political process, was more

intrusive than that reviewed in Garcia or its antecedents.
stating (469 US at 556):

These cases do not require us to identify or define
what affirmative limits the constitutiona! structure
might impose on federal action affecting the States
under the Commerce Clause. See Covle v. Okla-
homa, 221 U.S. $59 (1911).

We believe that the present case requires substantive
consideration of the Tenth Amendment challenge even
under the limited criteria of Garcia.

10

The contours of the constitutional structure referred to in
Garcia, and the importance of the limits which it imposes,
were recently set forth by this Court in Gregory v. Ashcroft,
111 S Ct 2395 (1991). Noting that the Constitution created
a federal government of limited powers, including limita
tions under the Tenth Amendment, the Court observed (111
S Ct at 2399-2400):

This federalist structure of joint sovereigns pre-
serves to the people numerous advantages. It assures
a decentralized government that will be more sensi-
tive to the diverse needs of a heterogeneous socicty,
it increases opportunity for citizen involvement in
democratic processes; it allows for more innovation
and experimentation in government, and it makes
government more responsive by putting the States in
competition for a mobile citizenry. . . .

Perhaps the principal benefit of the federalist sys
tem is a check on abuses of government power. . . .
Just as the separation and independence of the coor-
dinate Branches of the Federal Government serves
to prevent the accumulation of excessive power in
any one Branch, a healthy balance of power
between the States and the Federal Government will
reduce the risk of tyranny and abuse from either
front... .

...In the tension between federal and state
power lies the promise of liberty.

The courts below failed to recognize that the 1985 Act,
and especially its take title provision, exceeds the limits
imposed on federal action by the Tenth Amendment by
seriously undermining the basic federal structure and sets a
dangerous precedent for abuse of Congress's coordinate
power in the federal system

The 1985 Act differs fundamentally from all federal
action previously reviewed by this Court under the Tenth
Amendment. While it is not the first congressional act
which seeks to have the States exercise their sovereign
powers for federal purposes, it is the first to impose upon
each State an affirmative duty to exercise sovereign powers
of legislation and regulation within the State, in accordance
with a federal regulatory scheme, without the State’s con-
sent, and with no option for the State’s withdrawal from the
role of regulator or actor in the field. The imposition is
threefold: the broad assignment to the States of “respon-
sibility” for a federal regulatory concern; the establishment
of parameters and a timetable for compliance with that
assignment of regulation; and the attachment of draconian,
affirmative obligations on the States for a refusal or failure
to meet that regulatory responsibility or timetable.

Most insidiously, under the 1985 Act, after January 1,
1996, States which do not provide for disposal of low level
radioactive waste generated within their borders are made
responsible by the Federal government for all such waste
generated by private producers and some federal producers
throughout the State. In a manner to our knowledge unpre-
cedented, the take title provision transfers by congressional
edict the ownership obligations of federal and private par-
ties to the State. States are compelled by this provision to
exercise their sovereign powers as agents of federal regula-
tion, not as a consequence of reflection and decision by
state legislative and executive branches, but by fiat of the
hederal government. These duties and obligations are not
imposed upon the State in its capacity as a generator of
low-level waste like any other economic actor, or even in
its Capacity as an agreement state and past regulator of

12

such waste.> Rather, it is imposed solely in light of the
State’s sovereign capacity.

The 1985 Act, therefore, differs substantiaily from the
amendments to the Fair Labor Standards Act reviewed in
Garcia, which merely extended to state and local govern-
ments the regulations which imposed _ overtime,
recordkeeping, and other obligations upon employers
throughout the nation. These “generally applicable federal
regulations” (South Carolina v Baker, 485 US 505, 515
[1988]) did not include requirements that States initiate or
continue an employment program, or perform a unique role
as regulator of hiring practices within their borders.

While Congress has in the past used the Commerce
Clause as a basis for strongly encouraging state sovereign
participation in federal regulatory schemes, such schemes
have generally provided for voluntary state action in licu of
federal regulation (e.g., Clean Air Act, 42 USC §§ 7401
[al[3], 7407[a]; Clean Water Act, 33 USC § 1251[b]), or
have made voluntary receipt of federal funds contingent
upon compliance (e.g., 23 USC § 154 [regulation of travel
speed on public highways]). In cases where Congress
directs that federal funding be contingent upon state partic-
ipation in a federal regulatory scheme, States are left with

> Under federal guidance, New York State has been active in the
regulation of such materials within its borders for close to three decade.
aS an agreement state in accordance with 42 USC § 2021 (b) In
addition, the New York State Power Authority currently operates two
nuclear power plants within the State, and waste materials are produced
at various state hospitals and research facilities. Moreover, with federal!
encouragement the State voluntarily participated in an cxperimenta!
program for nuclear waste management at West Valley, New York
between 1963 and 1975, ultimately the program was terminated
because of health and safety concerns. However, at no time prior to the
1980 and 1985 Acts was the State’s role as a producer or regulator of
low-level waste an obligatory burden imposed by the federal govern
ment. In each case, the role was determined by the State Legislature and
Executive, in the exercise of their sovercign authority

13

the choice of whether the state interests advanced by such
funding outweighed the burden upon the state governmen-
tal structure in fulfilling the federal reguiatory functions
imposed upon it. A similar choice is available to state
sovereigns in cases where a federal regulatory scheme
offers States the opportunity to participate in lieu of federal
regulators. In all such cases, although the choice may be
difficult, and the realistic probability that the State will
elect not to participate in the federal regulatory scheme
may be small, the choice exists nonetheless.

We submit that this opportunity for the State to act
through its legislature in determining whether to participate
in a federal program is an essential aspect of the structure
of the federal system. Without it, that structure is severely
compromised. Absent the opportunity to abstain from fed-
eral regulatory schemes which invoke the States’ sovereign
powers, state governments are forced to become unwilling
subordinate agents to congressional dictates. Absent the
opportunity to make such decisions, they are sharply con-
strained in their ability, noted in Garcia and repeated in
Ashcroft, to serve as laboratories for social and economic
experiment, or “to engage in any activity that their citizens
choose for the common weal.” 469 US at 546. Without
such options, not only may States be compelled to partici-
pate in federal regulatory schemes by inescapable congres-
sional fiat, but they may also be obliged to assume respon-
sibility for the full financial and administrative burden of
such schemes.

Under the 1985 Act, States are required either to adopt a
program regulating the disposal of non-state generated
low-level radioactive waste in accordance with federal
requirements or else to assume complete ownership respon-
sibility for such wastes, including the liability that would

14

otherwise rest with the non-state generators under state
law. In either case, the 1985 Act directly compels the State
to take extensive sovereign action to manage private and
federal low-level radioactive waste. This is, we submit, an
unprecedented and unconstitutional exercise of federal

power.

It is indisputable in this case that the 1985 Act treated a
matter of serious national concern, was imposed by a well-
intentioned Congress, and addressed a regulatory field
where some States have voluntarily participated in the past.
Indeed, New York State has sought for three decades to
encourage the responsible development of nuclear power
within its borders and has pioneered experiments in nuclear
waste management technology. Throughout this period,
however, each of the State’s efforts as a generator and
regulator of nuclear material was undertaken after careful
reflection and decision by its legislative and executive
branches, substituting for or augmenting an underlying
scheme of federal regulation. In contrast, under the 1985
Act, States are denied the power to decide in broad terms
whether and how their legislative and regulatory powers
will be used. Though they are left with some flexibility in
choosing the details of compliance with federal demands—
e.g., whether or not to join a compact; how such a compact
might be organized; whether or not the compact snould
exclude waste from non-member states, etc.—the terms of
the take title provision bar States from reaching and imple-
menting legislative decisions to decline or cease to exercise
local sovereign power in the regulatory field.

The Act imposes an unprecedented substantive burden
upon state members of the federal system. Its enactment
evidences a truth expressly recognized by this Court in
Garcia: the process of federal! lawmaking, however
informed and expeditious, does not guarantee that Con-

15

gress cannot err, and through such error, cause harm to the
structure of the federal system.

To our knowledge, this Court has never before reviewed
a regulatory scheme of this type in light of the Tenth
Amendment. Prior to Garcia, however, this Court indicated
its concern over efforts by the federal government to “use
state regulatory machinery to advance federal goals.” Fed-
eral Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) v Mississippi,
456 US 742, 759 (1982). Upholding against Tenth Amend-
ment challenge in FERC various sections of the federal
Public Utility Regulatory Policies Act of 1978 (PURPA)—
including a requirement that States hold public hearings
and consider implementation of certain federal regulatory
standards—this Court emphasized that PURPA required
mere consideration, rather than outright adoption of the
federal scheme (456 US at 765-66):

While the condition here is affirmative in nature—
that is, it directs the States to entertain proposals—
nothing in this Court’s cases suggests that the nature
of the condition makes it a constitutionally improper
one. There is nothing in PURPA “directly compel-
ling” the States to enact a legislative program. In
short, because the two challenged Titles simply con-
dition continued state involvement in a pre-emptible
area on the consideration of federal proposals, they
do not threaten the States’ “separate and independ-
ent existence” [citations omitted], and do not impair
the ability of the States “to function effectively in a
federal system.” [citations omitted. ]

Similar concerns were expressed in Hodel v Virginia Sur-
face Mining & Recl. Assn., 452 US 264 (1981), in which this
Court reviewed the Surface Mining Control and Reclama-
tion Act of 1977, which empowered the Department of the
interior to promulgate and enforce guidelines for the

16

nationwide regulation of surface coal mining. Under that
Act, States were afforded the opportunity to operate their
own regulatory programs so long as such programs com-
plied with federal regulatory standards. 452 US at 268-72.
In upholding the Act's provisions against Tenth Amend-
ment challenge, this Court distinguished the establishment
of federal minimum regulatory standards upon private
activity in the States from the imposition of affirmative and

unavoidable regulatory obligations upon state governments
(452 US at 288):

[TJhe States are not compelled to enforce the
steep-slope standards, to expend any state funds, or
to participate in the federal regulatory program in
any manner whatsoever. If a State does not wish to
submit a proposed permanent program that com-
plies with the Act and implementing regulations, the
full regulatory burden will be borne by the Federal
Government. Thus, there can be no suggestion that
the Act commandeers the legislative processes of
the States by directly compelling them to enact and
enforce a federal regulatory program.

This Court’s opinions in both Hodel and FERC, therefore,
suggest that congressional! imposition of a federal regula-
tory scheme through unwilling state action was, standing
alone, constitutionally suspect under the Tenth Amend-
ment. That view was also expressed in opinions by three
Courts of Appeals more than a decade ago.® While this

See, e.g., Maryland v EPA, 530 F2d 215 (4th Cir 1975), vacated
and remanded for consideration of mootness sub nom. EPA v Brown,
431 US 99 (1977) (per curiam) (EPA regulations compelling states to
establish and fund automobile inspection programs, under penaity of
criminal and civil sanctions upon non-complying states, violate Tenth
Amendment); Brown v EPA, 521 F2d 827 (9th Cir 1975), vacated and
remanded for consideration of mootness, 431 US 99 (1977) (per curiam)
(same); District of Columbia v Train, 521 F2d 971 (D.C. Cir 1975),
(Footnote continued on next page.)

17

Court in South Carolina v Baker, 485 US 505 (1988), lett
open the possibility that the teachings of FERC on this issue
might to some degree have been subsumed by Garcia (485
US at 513), this Court did not address the issue as such
because it was unnecessary to do so.’

In short, we believe that the courts below erred in their
conclusion that this Court’s opinion in Garcia barred sub-
Stantive review of the 1985 Act under the Tenth Amend-
ment. While the courts below may be correct in their view
that the 1985 Act does not upset the “equality in dignity

(Footnote continued.)

vacated and remanded for consideration of mootness sub nom. EPA v
Brown, 431 US 99 (1977) (per curiam) (same). Contra, Pennsylvania v
EPA, 500 F2d 246 (3d Cir 1974). After the Supreme Court had granted
certiorari in three EPA cases in 1976, the EPA rescinded some of the
regulations at issue and conceded that others were invalid unless mod-
ified. Thus, the Court vacated and remanded without ruling on their
constitutionality. 431 US at 103-04.

’The federal act challenged in Baker—section 310(b)(1) of the Tax
Equity and Fiscal Responsibility Act of 1982 (TEFRA)—removed
federal income tax exemptions for interest earned on new bonds issued
by state and local governments unless the bonds were issued in regis-
tered form. Designed to provide a strong incentive to encourage gov-
ernments to issue registered bonds, this portion of the Act merely
provided that bondholders of States which did not comply with the
federal regulatory scheme would forfeit the tax benefits previously
extended to them by the federal government. As the Court noted in
response to the claim that the effect of TEFRA was to commandeer
South Carolina’s legislative process (485 US at 514-15, emphasis
added):

Such “commandeering™ 1s ... an inevitable consequence of
regulating a state activity. Any federal regulation demands
compliance. That a State wishing to engage in certain activity
must take administrative and sometimes legislative action to
comply with federal standards regulating that activity is a
commonplace that presents no constitutional defect.

Unlike the 1985 Act, TEFRA did not compel an exercise of state
sovereign power, or the legislative enactment of a new regulatory
program.

18 la
and power” among the several States, we believe that the APPENDIX
consh oases elghe tnpass egap Sotent cotton ofletiag Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals, Second
the States under the Commerce Clause” (469 US at 556), Circuit, Dated August 8, 1991
Should find tat Gavcis bers review of tio mutter thi UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

Court should consider whether, in light of the danger to the
federal system inherent in this new style of congressional
regulation, this Court’s opinion in Garcia should be

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT.

e
reconsidered.
No. 1511, 1512, i >
CONCLUSION 0 12, 1513 August Term, 1990
(Argued: May 21, 1991 Decided: Aug. 8, 1991)
This Court should grant a writ of certiorari. Docket No. 91-6031, 91-6033 & 91-6035
e

Dated: Albany, New York
September 27, 1991 THE STATE OF NEW YORK, THE COUNTY OF ALLEGANY,

NEW YorK and THE COUNTY OF CORTLAND, NEW YORK,
Respectfully submitted,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,
ROBERT ABRAMS V.
Attorney General of the State of New THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA; JAMES D. WATKINS, as
York Secretary of Energy; KENNETH M. Carr, as Chairman of
Attorney for Petitioner the United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission; THE
UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION;
O. PETER SHERWOOD SAMUEL K. SKINNER, as Secretary of Transportation; and
Solicitor General RICHARD THORNBURGH, as United States Attorney
General,
PETER H. SCHIFF Defendants-Appellees,

Deputy Solicitor Genera!
and Counsel of Record STATE OF WASHINGTON; STATE OF NEVADA; and STATE

OF SOUTH CAROLINA,
JOHN MCCONNELL

Intervenors-Appellees,
Assistant Attorney General PP

AMERICAN COLLEGE OF NUCLEAR PHYSICIANS; ARIZONA
of Counsel PUBLIC SERVICE COMPANY; BALTIMORE Gas & ELEC-

2a

TRIC COMPANY; CALIFORNIA RADIOACTIVE MATERIALS
MANAGEMENT ForuM, INC.; COMMONWEALTH EDISON
COMPANY; FLORIDA POWER & LIGHT COMPANY; GULF
STATES UTILITIES COMPANY; MALLINKRODT MEDICAL,
Inc., Pacific Gas & EL_ectric Co., Pusiic SErRvict
COMPANY OF COLORADO; SOCIETY OF NUCLEAR MEDI-
CINE; SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA EDISON Co.,

Amici Curiae.

Before: MESKILL, PiERCE and MCLAUGHLIN, Circuit Judges.

Appeal from a judgment entered in the United States
District Court for the Northern District of New York (Con.
G. Cholakis, Judge), dismissing a civil complaint secking
declaratory judgment. 28 U.S.C. §§ 2201, 2202.

Held: Under Garcia v. San Antonio Metro. Transit Auth.,
469 U.S. 528 (1985), the Low-Level Radioactive Waste

Policy Amendments Act of 1985, 42 U.S.C. § 2021b-2021),

does not violate state sovereignty protected under the Tenth
Amendment and related principies of federalism.

AFFIRMED.

PETER SCHIFF,
Deputy Solicitor General
State of New York
(Robert Abrams, Attorney General of
the State of New York, O. Peter
Sherwood, Solicitor General, John
McConnell, Assistant Attorney
General, of counscl),
for Plaintiff-Appellant State of
New York.

3a

EDWARD F. PREMO, II

Harter, Secrest & Emery

Rochester, NY.

(Paul D. Sylvestri, of counsel)
for Plaintiff-Appellant County of
Allegany, New York.

DEBORAH GOLDBERG
Berle, Kass & Case
New York, N-Y.
(Michael B. Gerrard, of counsel)
for Plaintiff-Appellant County of
Cortland, New York.
JEFFREY P. KEHNE
United States Department of Justice
Environment & Natural Resources
Division
Washington, D.C.
(Anne S. Almy and Louise F. Milkman
of counsel)
for Defendants-Appellees.

,

ALLEN T. MILLER, JR.

Assistant Attorney General

State of Washington

Ecology Division

Olympia, WA.

(Kenneth O. Eikenberry, Attorney

General, State of Washington)

for Intervenors-Appellees State of
Washington and State of Nevada.

4a

JAMES PATRICK HUDSON

Deputy Attorney General

State of South Carolina

Columbia, S.C.

(T. Travis Medlock, Attorney General

of the State of South Carolina)

for Intervenor-Appellee State of
South Carolina.

DONALD J. SILVERMAN
Newman & Holtzinger, P.C.
Washington, D.C.
(Patricia A.E. Comella and Steve A.
Linick, of counsel)
brief submitted for Amici Curiae
in support of Appellees.

McLaughlin, Circuit Judge:

Plaintiffs-appellants appeal from a judgment entered in
the United States District Court for the Northern District of
New York (Con. G. Cholakis, Judge), dismissing a civil
complaint seeking declaratory relief. 28 U.S.C. §§ 2201,
2202. The district court found that the Low Level Radioac-
tive Waste Policy Amendments Act of 1985, 42 U.S.C.
§ 2021b-2021), was not an impermissible affront to state
sovereign immunity protected under the Tenth Amend.
ment, and that, absent unequal treatment accorded to the
State of New York or a defect in the federal political
process, Supreme Court precedent precludes further judi-
cial review of the federal statute. The district court also
found no Eleventh Amendment violation and dismissed
plaintiffs’ remaining challenges as meritless.

bor the reasons‘set forth, we affirm

/

Sa

BACKGROUND

More than thirty years ago, Congress sought to engage
the states in a partnership venture that would recognize the
interests of the several states in the peaceful uses of nuclear
energy. Pub. L. No. 86-373, § 1, 73 Stat. 688, codified as
amended 42 U.S.C. § 2021. See English v. General Elec. Co.,
110 S. Ct. 2270, 2276 (1990) (“In 1959, Congress amended
the Atomic Energy Act in order to ‘clarify the respective
responsibilities .. . of the States and the [Federal Govern-
ment]’ .. . and generally to increase the States’ role.”).
Under the Atomic Energy Act, the Atomic Energy Com-
mission, predecessor to the Nuclear Regulatory Commis-
sion (“NRC” or “Commission”), was authorized to make
agreements with the Governor of any state “providing for
discontinuance of the regulatory authority of the Commis-
sion” with respect to enumerated nuclear materials and
byproducts. 42 U.S.C. § 2021(b).

In 1959, an advisory committee formed at the behest of
Governor Nelson A. Rockefeller recommended that New
York execute an agreement with the Commission to have
the State assume all regulatory control possible under fed-
eral law. It should be noted, too, that the advisory commit-
tee also recommended at that early date that the State
establish a site to store radioactive waste, in part, “to
encourage the growth of the atomic industry within the
state.” Even before the advisory committee’s report was
issued, the New York State Legislature passed the 1959
Atomic Energy Act, see 1959 N.Y. Laws Ch. 41, declaring
it to be the State’s policy to encourage “development and
use of atomic energy for peaceful purposes.” New York
became a so-called “agreement state” under the federal
scheme by 1962. 27 Fed. Reg. 10, 419 (1962).

A concern, universally acknowledged, that has accom-
panied the expansion of the nuclear industry is the storage

6a

and disposal of low-level radioactive waste (“LLRW”) such
as contaminated waste from nuclear reactors, hospitals,
research laboratories and pharmaceutical companies. Dur-
ing the 1970's, disturbing problems surrounding safe
LLRW disposal reached mammoth proportions and com-
manded immediate congressional attention. As late as
1978 only three states— Washington, Nevada, and South
Carolina—had established sites for LLRW operations; the
rest of the country transported radioactive waste to these
locations—with obvious risks.

The problem worsened dramatically when Washington
and Nevada temporarily closed their sites because of
improper handling, transportation and packaging of LLRW,
shifting an aiready herculean task onto the lonely shoulders
of South Carolina’s Barnwell site. H.R. Rep. No. 314, 99th
Cong., Ist Sess., pt. 2 at 17, reprinted in 1985 U.S. Code
Cong. & Admin. News 2974, 3006. Understandably vexed
that sister states were not bearing a fair share of the dis-
posal burden, Washington voters approved a 1980 initiative
to ban in-state disposal of LLRW generated outside Wash-
ington State. While that initiative was struck as unconstitu-
tional, Washington State Bldg. & Constr. Trades Council v.
Spellman, 684 F.2d 627, 631 (9th Cir. 1982) (citing Phila-
delphia v. New Jersey, 437 U.S. 617, 628 (1978)), cert.
denied, 461 U.S. 913 (1983), it demonstrated that the
LLRW problem was fast becoming acute.

Congress turned its attention to these problems but, at the
states’ request, and in the interest of federalism, deferred
action to allow the formulation of state-based and state-
created proposals. 1985 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News
at 3007. The National Governors’ Association (NGA)
spearheaded the effort with a Task Force to review and
formulate a coordinated policy on the LLRW issue. Other
state-based associations, including the National Confer-
ence of State Legislatures and the President’s State Plan-
ning Council on Radioactive Waste Management, joined

Ta

the effort. Jd. Because, in the eyes of the NGA, disposition
of low-level waste was largely a state responsibility, the
Task Force’s first recommendation to Congress was that
“each state should accept primary responsibility for the
safe disposal of low-level radioactive waste generated
within its borders, except for waste generated at federal
government facilities.” Accordingly, the NGA invited Con-
gress to enact legislation that would (1) authorize states to
form interstate regional compacts; (2) eventually allow
compact regions to exclude LLRW generated outside the
region, and (3) provide for the safe interim storage of
LLRW.

Congress complied by enacting the Low-Level Radioac-
tive Waste Policy Act of 1980. 42 U.S.C. §§ 2021b-2021d
(the “1980 Act”). Subject to congressional consent, states
were authorized to form regional compacts and, after Janu-
ary 1, 1986, to refuse waste generated outside these estab-
lished regions. Many states apparently progressed toward
the establishment of regional compacts (or individual “go it
alone” in-state disposal sites), but the original target date of
January 1986 proved unrealistic. The three states that were
accepting LLRW, disquieted with frustration, again looked
to Congress. The NGA again stepped in to forge a state-
based consensus and negotiated a seven-year extension, or
“transition package” with the three sited states, buying
more time for the regional solutions to become operable.
1985 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News at 3008.

Acting on this consensus, Congress adopted elaborate
amendments to the 1980 Act, enacting the Low-Level
Radioactive Waste Policy Amendments Act of 1985. 42
U.S.C. § 2021b-2021j (“1985 Amendments”). The 1985
Amendments set out a detailed schedule of deadlines end-
ing on January 1, 1996, set forth periodic milestones for
site development, and impose various penalties and sur-
charges for noncompliance. The penalty that has raised the
most hackles is the “take title” provision: states that do not

8a

comply “shall take title to the waste, shall be obligated to
take possession of the waste, and shall be liable for all
damages directly or indirectly incurred . . . as a conse-
quence.” 42 U.S.C. § 202 1e(d) (2) (C).

New York has not joined a regional compact. Choosing
instead to “go it alone,” New York enacted legislation
effective July 26, 1986: (1) promulgating standards for site
selection; (2) creating a commission to select a site; and (3)
authorizing the construction of a LLRW disposal site. See
1986 N.Y. Laws Ch. 673. As of 1989, New York, in full
compliance with the 1985 federal amendments, has certi-
fied that it will be able to store, manage, or dispose of its
LLRW after January 1, 1993. See N.Y. Pub. Auth. Law
§ 1854-c (McKinney Supp. 1991). To date, New York’s
commission has designated five potential storage sites in
New York, three in Allegany County, two in Cortland
County.

In February 1990, the State of New York, joined by the
Counties of Allegany and Cortland, brought an action in
the United States District Court for the Northern District of
New York seeking to declare the 1985 Amendments
unconstitutional. They claim that the 1985 Amendments
violate the Tenth! and Eleventh? Amendments, as weil as
the due process clause of the Fifth Amendment} and the

'The Tenth Amendment provides:

The powers not delegated to the United States by the Con-
stitution, nor prohibited by it to the States, are reserved to the
States respectively, or to the people.

U.S. Const. amend. X.
The Eleventh Amendment provides:

The Judicial power of the United States shall not be con-
strued to extend to any suit in law or equity, commenced or
prosecuted against one of the United States by Citizens of
another State, or by Citizens or Subjects of any Foreign State.

U.S. Const. amend. XI.
3The due process clause of the Fifth Amendment provides that no
person shall:
be deprived of life, liberty, or property, without due process of
law;
U.S. Const. amend. V

9a

guaranty clause of article IV of the United States Constitu-
tion.4 The States of Washington, Nevada and South Caro-
lina, intervening by right, Fed. R. Civ. P. 24(a), joined the
federal defendants to uphold the 1985 Amendments. A
legion of utility companies, medical groups, and the like
also sought to intervene. Their motions were denied,
although they were permitted to file a brief as amici curiae
in support of the intervenors and the federal defendants.

All parties moved or cross-moved for summary judg-
ment. Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c). In addition, the intervenors
joined in defendants’ motion to dismiss the complaint. Fed.
R. Civ. P. 12(b)(6). After oral argument, the district court
read into the record a decision dismissing the complaint.
New York v. United States, 757 F. Supp. 10 (N.D.N-Y.
1990).° The district court held that the 1985 Amendments

4The guarantee clause provides:
The United States shall guarantee to every State in this
Union a Republican Form of Government, and shall protect
each of them against Invasion; and on Application of the Legis-
lature, or of the Executive (when the Legislature cannot be
convened) against domestic Violence.
U_S. Const. art. IV, § 4.
5In its written opinion, the district court noted, “|a]t this juncture
all parties have moved for summary judgment, and thcre appear to be
no issues of material fact, and the case therefore appears ready for
summary treatment by the Court.” 757 F. Supp. at 11. The court,
however, went on to grant the government's motion to dismiss the
complaint. /d. at 13; see Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(b)(6). It is uncontested that
the district court considered documentary evidence and affidavits.
Accordingly, we treat the appeal as one from the grant of summary
judgment. Grand Union Co. v. Cord Meyer Dev. Corp., 735 F.2d 714,
717 (2d Cir. 1984). In reviewing de nevo and considering the record in
the light most favorable to appellants, we nonetheless fully agree with
the court below that there exists no genuine issue of material fact.
Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v. Zenith Radio Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 586-87
(1986), Delaware & Hudson Ry. v. Consolidated Rail Corp., 902 F.2d
174, 177-78 (2d Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 111 S. Ct. 2041 (1991). That
said, we review whether the law was correctly applied. National Union
Fire Ins. Co. v. Turtur, 892 F.2d 199, 203 (2d Cir. 1989); City of Yonkers
v. Otis Elevator Co., 844 F.2d 42, 45 (2d Cir. 1988) (citing 10 C.
Wright, A. Miller & M. Kane, Federal Practice and Procedure § 2716,
at 654 (2d ed 1983))

10a

did not violate the Tenth and Eleventh Amendments, and
similarly dismissed plaintiffs’ claims under the guaranty
clause (and, implicitly, the due process clause), finding such
claims “inextricably intertwined with the position just
made in this decision, and those claims are accordingly
dismissed.” /d. at 13.

Plaintiffs appeal, reiterating the claim that the 1985
Amendments trench upon state sovereign immunity, but
they do not press a due process claim on appeal. See gener-
ally South Carolina v. Katzenbach, 383 U.S. 301, 323-24
(1966) (states are not “persons” within the meaning of the
due process clause and, thus, are not protected by it); Ala-
bama v. EPA, 871 F.2d 1548, 1554 (11th Cir.) (state which
has toxic waste disposal site has no Fifth Amendment duc
process right and, therefore, cannot allege defective notice
by the EPA), cert. denied, 110 S. Ct. 538 (1989).

DISCUSSION

More than a decade ago, the Supreme Court declared
that “[nJuclear energy may some day be a cheap, safe
source of power or it may not. But Congress has made a
choice to at least try nucicar energy, establishing a reason-
able review process in which courts are to play only a
limited role.” Vermont Yankee Nuclear Power Corp. v. Natu-
ral Resources Defense Council, Inc., 435 U.S. 519, 557-58
(1978). Thus, appellants undertake an unusually burden-
some task to persuade us that federal disposal site control
legislation impinges impermissibly upon state sovereignty.
Indeed, one circuit court has already said, “that the | Atomic
Energy] Act violates the Tenth Amendment has little basis
for support. Congress, through its power to regulate inter-
state commerce and provide for the national defense and
general welfare, clearly can enact legislation governing the
use of nuclear energy.” Simmons v. Arkansas Power & Light
Co., 655 F.2d 131, 135 (8th Cir. 1981). We are called upon

lla

to review the 1985 Amendments to that same Atomic
Energy Act; the amendments are designed to ensure state
compliance with a plan for safe LLRW disposal.

The 1985 Amendments declare that, in addition to cer-
tain classes of nuclear waste generated by the federal gov-
ernment,

Each State shall be responsible for providing, either
by itself or in cooperation with other States, for the
disposal of

(A) low-level radioactive waste generated within
the State (other than by the Federal Government)
that consists of or contains class A, B, or C radioac-
tive waste as defined by section 61.55 of title 10,
Code of Federal Regulations, as in effect on January
26, 1983.

42 U.S.C. § 2021 c(a)(1). Ifa state fails to properly dispose
of LLRW, certain penalties ensue:

If a State (or, where applicable, a compact region) in
which low-level radioactive waste is generated is
unable to provide for the disposal of all such waste
generated within such State or compact region by
January 1, 1996, each State in which such waste is
generated, upon the request of the generator or
owner of the waste, shall take title to the waste, be
obligated to take possession of the waste, and shall
be liable for all damages directly or indirectly
incurred by such generator or owner as a conse-
quence of the failure of the State to take possession
of the waste as soon after January 1, 1996, as the
generator or owner notifies the State that the waste
is available for shipment.

42 U.S.C. § 202 1e(d 2 xC).

l2a

It is this penalty provision that triggers the most vigorous
constitutional challenges.

Appellants’ first contention is that the 1985 Amendments
violate the Tenth Amendment. Tenth Amendment analysis
must now begin with Garcia v. San Antonio Metro. Transit
Auth. 469 U.S. 528 (1985), where the Supreme Court
instructed us that “[s]tate sovereign interests . . . are more
properly protected by procedural safeguards inherent in the
structure of the federal system than by judicially created
limitations on federal power.” 469 U.S. at 552 (overturning
National League of Cities v. Usery, 426 U.S. 833 (1979)). In
the intervening years, the Supreme Court has emphasized
that the judicial role in evaluating Tenth Amendment chal-
lenges is narrowly cabined. See South Carolina v. Baker,
485 U.S. 505, 512 (1988) (“Garcia holds that the limits are
structural, not substantive —ce., that States must find their
protection from congressional regulation through the
national political process, not through judicially defined
spheres of unregulable state activity.”); see also Massey,
State Sovereignty and the Tenth and Eleventh Amendments,
56 U. Chi. L. Rev. 61, 72 (1989) (“In Garcia, five justices
joined in a majority opinion that, in effect, concluded that if
States desire to preserve any aspect of their sovereignty
within the federal system they must look to Congress, and
not to the courts.”); The Supreme Court, 1987 Term—Lead-
ing Cases, 102 Harv. L. Rev. 143, 228 (1988) (Baker
“unequivocally repudiati[es] the suggestion that the tenth
amendment requires any substantive or qualitative analysis
of the national political process”).

It is self-evident that virtually every congressional exer-
cise of power under the commerce clause will limit state
power over that commerce and, to that extent, wiil invite
state objections under the Tenth Amendment. As the Garcia
Court observed:

l3a

The fundamental limitation that the constitutional
scheme imposes on the Commerce Clause to protect
the “States as States” is one of process rather than
one of result. Any substantive restraint on the exer-
cise of Commerce Clause powers must find its justi-
fication in the procedural nature of this basic limita-
tion, and it must be tailored to compensate for
possible failings in the national political process
rather than to dictate a “sacred province of state
autonomy.”

Garcia, 469 U.S. at 554. (quoting EEOC v. Wyoming, 460
U.S. 226, 236 (1983)). Other circuits, including ours, have
employed the Garcia analysis. See, e.g, Nevada v. Watkins,
914 F.2d 1545, 1556 (9th Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 111 S.
Ct. 1105 (1991); EEOC v. Vermont, 904 F.2d 794, 802 (2d
Cir. 1990) (noting that the “Garcia-Baker standard is a very
high one”). Quite simply, “[w]ith rare exceptions, . . . the
Constitution does not carve out express elements of state
sovereignty that Congress may not employ its delegated
powers to displace.” Garcia, 469 U.S. at 550.

Perusing the legislative history of the 1985 Amendments,
the conclusion is inescapable that, rather than discovering
defects in the political process, both the 1980 Act and its
1985 Amendments are paragons of legislative success, pro-
moting state and federal comity in a fashion rarely seen in
national politics. See Berkovitz, Waste Wars: Did Congress
“Nuke” State Sovereignty in the Low-Level Radioactive
Waste Policy Amendments Act of 1985?, 11 Harv. Envtl. L.
Rev. 437, 474 (1987) [hereinafter Waste Wars] (“Thie]
extensive state involvement [in the 1980 federal act and
1985 federal amendments] produced substantial benefits
for all the states, strongly suggesting that state sovereignty
received adequate protection.”). With both statutes, the
Congress acted only after robust debate and a clearly artic-
ulated acceptance of NGA and other state-based recom-

l4a

mendations. New York’s senior Senator, urging adoption of
the final version of the proposed amendments, proclaimed:

New Yorkers will continue to light some of their
lights with nuclear electricity—and their doctors
will continue to use life-saving laboratory tests that
depend on the use of radioactive materials. So will
the citizens of South Carolina—and they will be
able to watch New York, and the rest of the Nation,
make their own arrangements to dispose of their
own low-level radioactive wastes.

131 Cong. Rec. $38,423 (daily ed. Dec. 19, 1985) (state-
ment of Senator Moynihan).

Turning specifically to the penalty provision that New
York finds so offensive, we reject appellants’ allegation that
the “take title” provision, which they classify as a last-
minute amendment to the House bill added to placate Sen-
ate demands, is the product of a grievous defect in the
political process. They complain that this provision was not
subject to timely scrutiny and committee debate. There is
an irony in this grumbling when it is recalled that the
Senate Environment and Public Works Committee was the
author of the take title provision; it numbers among its
members Senator Moynihan of New York. See also Waste
Wars, 11 Harv. Envtl. L. Rev. at 458 (“The House nonethe-
less accepted the taking title provision by unanimous
vote.”). In any event, appellants misperccive the issue. “The
politica! process ensures that laws that unduly burden the
States will not be promulgated.” Garcia, 469 U.S. at 556.
See Watkins, 914 F.2d at 1556-57 (“{T]he tenth amend-
ment does not protect a State from being outvoted in Con-
gress... . Nor can Nevada complain that its lack of repre-
sentation on the Confer>nce Committee created a defect in
the political process.”); EEOC v. Vermont, 904 F.2d at 802
(“In any event, the absence of a given legislator or legisla-

lSa

tors, so long as the legislative body’s appropriate procedural
rules have been followed, does not mean that the national
process leading to the enactment of a given piece of legisla-
tion was flawed.”).

Appellants raise an alternative objection to the take title
provision. Noting that Garcia cited Coyle v. Smith, 221 U.S.
559 (1911), appellants argue that, even after Garcia, the
Tenth Amendment imposes some substantive limitations
upon federal power; and they conclude that the take title
provision falls within that forbidden zone. We are not per-
suaded.

In Coyle, the Congress sought to condition Oklahoma’s
admission into the Union upon Oklahoma’s agreement to
locate, at least initially, its capital in Guthrie and accept
certain limitations upon the State’s power to change its seat
of government. The Supreme Court found such conditions
to be a palpable violation of the Tenth Amendment. See
Coyle, 221 U.S. at 565 (that a state’s power to locate its
own seat of government “could now be shorn. . . by an act
of Congress would not be for a moment entertained”).

In testing the waters surrounding Garcia’s laconic refer-
ence to Coyle, the district court perceptively noted that the
Supreme Court’s central concern in Coyle was “equality in
dignity and power” among the several states, 221 U.S. at
568, a concern clearly not at issue here where the motivat-
ing engine of both the 1980 Act and 1985 Amendments is
identical treatment for all states.

It should also be noted that formal transfer of title to
nuclear waste, although usually effected by contract, is not
uncommon. See General Elec. Uranium Management Corp.
v. United States Dep’t of Energy, 764 F.2d 896, 898 (D.C.
Cir. 1985) (Secretary authorized to contract with persons
who generate or hold title to nuclear waste, for the transfer
of title to the Department of Energy); Commonwealth Edi-
son Co. v. Allied-General Nuclear Servs., 731 F. Supp. 850,
856 (N.D. Ill. 1990) (contingency clause in contract

l6a

between private nuclear generator and private nuclear
reprocessing plant requiring the latter, upon noncom-
pliance, to accept title to nuclear waste).

In sum, we are satisfied that the take title provision does
not undermine the constitutional structure. Neithcr does it
violate principles of federalism as recently explained in
Garcia; and “[wJhere, as here, the national political precess
did not operate in a defective manner, the Tenth Amend-
ment is not implicated.” Baker, 485 U.S. at 513 (emphasis
in original); see generally International Assoc. of Firefight-
ers, Local 2203 v. West Adams County Fire Protection Dist.,
877 F.2d 814, 821 (10th Cir. 1989) (absent agreement
between state agency and employees, the Fair Labor Stand-
ards Act does not violate the Tenth Amendment by compel-
ling state to compensate employees with overtime pay
rather then compensatory time); Metropolitan Transp. Auth.
v. ICC, 792 F.2d 287, 298 (2d Cir.) (Rail Passenger Service
Act, requiring the MTA to “permit the operation of
Amtrack trains over its lines” does not violate the Tenth
Amendment under Garcia or conscript the state to act in a
way that unconstitutionally promotes a federal policy), cert.
denied, 479 U.S. 1017 (1986).

Appellants, most notably Allegany County, strive to offer
alternative grounds for declaring the 1985 Amendments
unconstitutional. We are satisfied, however, that the 1985
Amendments do not violate the Eleventh Amendment.
Pennsylvania v. Union Gas Co., 491 U.S. 1, 14 (1989)
(plurality opinion reasoning “that Congress’ authority to
regulate commerce includes the authority directly to abro-
gate States’ immunity from suit”); see id. at 57 (White, J.,
concurring) (agreeing “with the conclusion . . . that Con-
gress has the authority under Article I to abrogate the
Eleventh Amendment immunity of the States”); see also
National Foods, Inc. v. Rubin, No. 91-7084 slip op. 5039,
5043 (2d Cir. June 12, 1991) (“The Eleventh Amendment
has been interpreted to render states absolutely immune

ha eel

17a

from suit in federal court unless they have consented to be
sued in that forum or unless Congress has overridden that
immunity by statute.”); Russell v. Dunston, 896 F.2d 664,
667 (2d Cir.) (citing Fitzpatrick v. Bitzer, 427 U.S. 445, 456
(1976)), cert. denied, 111 S. Ct. 50 (1990). Similarly, we
agree with the district court that appellants’ argument,
anchored in the guarantee clause of article IV, that there is a
deprivation of a republican form of government, is analyti-
cally indistinct from the arguments supporting sovereign
immunity under the Tenth Amendment. See Baker, 485 U.S.
at 511 n.5 (“We use ‘the Tenth Amendment’ to encompass
any implied constitutional limitation on Congress’ author-
ity to regulate state activities, whether grounded in the
Tenth Amendment itself or in principles of federalism
derived generally from the Constitution.”).

CONCLUSION

We have considered appellants’ remaining arguments,
but find them without merit. We conclude, therefore, that
the 1985 Amendments pass constitutional muster. Accord-
ingly, we affirm.

18a

Opinion of the United States District Court for the
Northern District of New York, Dated December 7, 1990

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
NORTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

STATE OF NEW YoOrK, ef al,

Plaintiff,
against
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Defendant.
90-CV-162
as

APPEARANCES:

ROBERT ABRAMS, ATTORNEY GENERAL
STATE OF NEW YORK

Attorney for Plaintiff

Department of Law

The Capitol

Albany, New York 12224

OF COUNSEL:

Donald P. Berens, Jr., Esq.

Assistant Attorney General

19a

HARTER, SECREST & EMERY, ESQS.
Attorneys for County of Allegany

700 Midtown Tower

Rochester, New York 14604

OF COUNSEL:

Edward Premo, II, Esq.

BERLE, KASS & CASE, ESQS.
Attorneys for County of Cortland
45 Rockefeller Plaza

New York, New York 10111

OF COUNSEL:

Deborah Goldberg, Esq.

PATRICK M. SNYDER, PE.
Attorney for County of Cortland
One North Main Street
Cortland, New York 13045

OF COUNSEL:

Patrick M. Snyder, Esq.

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
ENVIRONMENTAL & NATURAL RESOURCES
DIVISION

Attorneys for U.S.A.

Pennsylvania Avenue N.W. Room 2137
Washington, D.C. 29530

OF COUNSEL:

Louis Milkman, Esq.

Martin Malsch, Esq.

20a

KENNETH O. EIKENBERRY, ATTORNEY GENERAL
STATE OF WASHINGTON

Attorney for States of Washington

and Nevada

Mail Stop QA-44

Olympia, Washington 98504

OF COUNSEL:

Allen T. Miller, Esq.

T. TRAVIS MEDLOCK, ATTORNEY GENERAL
STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA

Attorney for State of South Carolina

P.O. Box 11549

Columbia, South Carolina 29211

OF COUNSEL:

James P. Hudson, Esq.

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & ENVIRONMENTAL
CONTROL

State of South Carolina

Office of General Counsel

2600 Bull Street

Columbia, South Carolina 29201

OF COUNSEL:

Carlisle Roberts, Jr., Esq.

December 7, 1990
CON. G. CHOLAKIS, D.J.*
It is my intention at this time to read a decision into the

record. | know that it may seem very unusual that a deci-
sion will be read into the record on a matter that is as

_ *The transcript of this opinion, delivered from the bench, has been
edited for grammatical construction, organization of quotations, and
augmentation of citations.

2la

complex and involved as this case obviously is. | do not
want any of the participants to think that their positions
have not been given due weight. We have spent an extraor-
dinary amount of time on this one case in the past two
weeks. As a matter of fact, I dare say we have spent as
much time on this single case as we have spent on any other
three or four cases combined during the iast three or four
years.

I do think, however, that in fairness to all the participants
that a decision be made as quickly as possible so those
parties involved can make a determination as to their future
course of action. And I do not feel that just letting this
matter sit for any length of time wili do justice to the parties
or to the Act itself. I have listened to all of the arguments
presented by all of the attorneys, and | think I have given
you relatively free reign because I was waiting to see if
anyone could say anything that would change the feeling
that the Court had about this subject after reading all of the
papers, and as you know, the papers were voluminous. As a
matter of fact, if I could sell them by the pound, I think I'd
be in very good shape.

The plaintiffs State of New York and the Counties of
Allegheny and Cortland challenge the constitutionality of
the Low Level Radioactive Waste Policy Act Amendments
of 1985, 42 U.S. Code Sections 2021 et seq, on the grounds
that the Act violates the Tenth and Eleventh Amendments
as well as the Guaranty Clause and Due Process Clause of
the United States Constitution.

Before the Court are numerous motions and cross-
motions. At this juncture all parties have moved for sum-
mary judgment, and there appear to be no issues of material
fact, and the case therefore appears ready for summary
treatment by the Court. )

The United States in its motions to dismiss and for sum-
mary judgment relies principally on the Supreme Court
case of Garcia v. San Antonio Metropolitan Transit Author-

22a

ity, 469 U.S. 528 (1985). This case calls into question the
judiciary’s ability and authority to consider challenges to
Congressional power over the States. Garcia overturned
National League of Cities v. Usury, 426 U.S. 833 (1976), in
which the Supreme Court proclaimed that the Tenth
Amendment limited Congressional power to legislate under
the Commerce Clause. The Court concluded in National
League that the Tenth Amendment sheltered “the states’
freedom to structure integral operations in areas of tradi-
tional governmental functions”. Accordingly, Congress
could not displace the states’ freedom by regulating “the
states as states” and limiting the attributes of state sover-
eignty. Id. at 552-554

In Garcia, a sharply divided Court rejected National
League, concluding:

In short, the framers chose to rely on a federal
system in which special restraints on federal power
over the states inhered principally in the workings of
national government itself rather than in the discrete
limitations on the objects of federal authority. State
sovereign interests, then are more properly protected
by procedural safeguards inherent in the structure of
the federal system than by judicially created limita-
tions on federal power.

Garcia, 469 U.S. at 552.

The Court in Garcia ruled that judicial review of Con-
gressional enactments founded on Commerce Clause
powers should be limited primarily to an inquiry of whether
the political process has failed. The Court did, however,
indicate that some additional limits might exist on Con-
gressional action based on “the constitutional structure”.
The Garcia court, however, did not define or identify these
limits apart from citing without discussion the 1911
Supreme Court case of Coyle v. Oklahoma, 211 U.S. 559.

23a

The citing of the Coyle case is significant. The Coyle case
struck down a Congressional enactment which conditioned
the statehood of Oklahoma on the placement of the state
capital at a certain location. The Court acknowledged at
page 565 of that opinion that “the power to locate its own
seat of government was essentially and peculiarly [a] state
power”. The holding in Coyle, however, is clearly based on
the finding that Oklahoma was being forced to do some-
thing which no other state was being forced to do; that

being to locate her capital according to the wishes of
Congress.

The Coyle Court stated in the last paragraph of its opin-
ion on page 58 the following:

The constitutional equality of the states is essential
to the harmonious operation of the scheme upon
which the Republic was organized. When that
equality disappears, we may remain a free people,
but the Union will not be the Union of the
Constitution.

Therefore, this Court reads Garcia as allowing judicial
interdiction of federal powers over the states in the follow-
ing areas: One, when that power is the result of a defect in
the political process, and two, possibly when constitutional
equality among the states has been jeopardized.

Garcia and the 1988 Supreme Court decision South Car-
olina v. Baker, 485 U.S. 505 (1988), foreclose, in this
Court’s view, judicial review of any Congressional action
over the states which is validly enacted and equally applied
to all states. Any review of the substantive merits of such an
action apart from an inquiry into the “constitutional equal-
ity” of the action would require a judicially determined
definition of the contours of state sovereignty. This Court is
barred by Garcia from making such a definition.

24a

The United States argues that there was no defect in the
political process in the passage of the Act and that no other
judicial challenge may be made pursuant to Garcia. Plain-
tiff Cortland County argues that several political process
defects exist which should invalidate the law.

First, Cortland County argues that a lack of political
accountability of Congress as regards this Act is a signal
that the political process has failed. Cortland’s argument is
that Congress has passed a law which puts burdens on the
states to pass certain unpopular laws. The political “heat”
as well as the fiscal burden are then absorbed by the states
rather than by Congress, the truly responsible party. Cort-
land also presents a second political defect theory in which
the Congress is portrayed as being controlled by political
action committees who have neutralized states’ interests
and influence.

Taking Cortland’s second argument first, it is clear that
the pervasiveness of political action committees in Con-
gress is not the type of systemic breakdown envisioned by
the Garcia court. This argument is really nothing less than
an indictment of how the political system works. Accord-
ing to Garcia, the proper remedy is not judicial intervention
but the rejection by voters of those representatives who are
beholden to the special interest groups. The “built-in
restraints that our system provides” will presumably correct
this perceived problem. Therefore, Cortland’s position is, in
this Court’s view, without merit.

Cortland’s argument concerning political accountability
is similarly lacking in legal foundation. In the South Caro-
lina v Baker case, the Supreme Court declined to define

what was meant by “political defects” but did characterize
the terms as referred to “extraordinary defects in the
national political process”. Baker, 485 U.S. at 515. The
Court in its discussion cited to a footnote contained in the
1938 Supreme Court case of United States v Carolene Pro-
ducts, 304 U.S. 144, 152 n. 4.

25a

The Court interprets this authority as meaning that the
“political process tests” referred to problems which may
have had an untoward effect on a particular law’s enact-
ment or its subsequent political review. If the law is validly
enacted, it may not thereafter be judicially challenged on
political process grounds unless the effect of the law
restricts a state from continuing meaningful political par-
ticipation, where a state is foreclosed from challenging the
law politically. In other words, the political process
rationale for judicial intervention only arises when the leg-
islative/political avenue has been functionally closed.

Such is not the case here. Nothing in the Act restricts
New York’s, or any other state’s, ability to operate in the
political arena and to challenge the law. This is not, in this
Court’s view, the type of political breakdown or type of
extraordinary situation the Supreme Court envisioned as
requiring judicial intervention. Therefore, this Court rejects
any challenge to the Act based on the so-called “political
process defect” test.

New York State argues that Garcia left open another path
of attack other than the political process test. The State,
joined by the other plaintiffs, argues that the Court still has
the power to rule that particular laws destroy state
sovereignty.

As just explained, this Court does not see how such an
argument may be sustained and be consistent with Garcia.

Plaintiffs do not allege that New York State is being

treated inequitably with other States. The State’s argument,
reduced to its essence, would require this Court to dictate a
sacred province of state autonomy, and this, in this Court’s
judgment, would violate the Garcia holding. In this Court’s
view, any claims under the Guaranty Clause are inextrica-
bly intertwined with the position just made in this decision,
and those claims are accordingly dismissed.

The claims under the Eleventh Amendment are likewise
dismissed pursuant to the Supreme Court holding in Penn-
sylvania v Union Gas, 491 U.S. 1 (1989).

26a

This Court is aware that the Garcia case was decided by
a divided court, that the make-up of the Court has since
changed, and that the Garcia doctrines may not survive. In
fact, it may well be this case which results in Garcia being
overturned. While this Court has problems with the Garcia
holding, it is nonetheless constrained by the precedents
which it reads as residing therein.

The defendant United States’ motion to dismiss the com-
plaint is therefore granted in all respects. I believe I have an
appropriate order which will be signed and in all proba-
bility will be filed today. Thank you ladies and gentlemen.

27a

Judgment of the United States District Court for the

Northern District of New York, dated December 26,
1990.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

THE STATE OF NEW YORK; THE COUNTY OF ALLEGANY,

NEW YORK; and THE COUNTY OF CORTLAND, NEW
YORK

VS.

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA; WATKINS, JAMES D., as
Secretary of Energy; CARR, KENNETH M., as Chairman
of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission; THE U.S.
NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION; SKINNER, SAMUEL
K., as Secretary of Transportation; and THORNBURGH,
RICHARD, as U.S. Attorney General, et al

Case Number: 90-CV-162.

Decision by Court. This action came to trial or hearing
before the Court. The issues have been tried or heard and a
decision has been rendered.

28a

IT Is ORDERED AND ADJUDGED

That Defendants’ Motion to Dismiss is Granted and all
claims against Defendants are dismissed with prejudice.

Dated: December 26, 1990

GEORGE A. RAY
Clerk

MARY ANN FRANCISCO
(By) Deputy Clerk

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0191%3A02. Public record. Not legal advice.
