# Amicus Curiae Brief — Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal Council

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0184%3A24

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1992
- **Citation:** 505 U.S. 1003

## Text

oupreme Court, Ws,

FlLED

No. 91-453 JAN 2

OFFiCE OF THE CLERK

IN THE

United States Supreme Court
October Term, 1991

David H. Lucas,
Petitioner,

V.

South Carolina Coastal Council,
Respondent.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE SUPREME COURT OF
THE STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE
THE NEMOURS FOUNDATION, INC.
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

JOHN J. MULLENHOLZ

MULLENHOLZ & BRIMSEK
1150 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.
Suite 700

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 296-8000

Counsel for Amicus Curiae

Re eT a ee ee Lee ee ee eS ae Pee! fs ee eee Sel

TABLE OF CONTENTS

A. THERE WAS AN UNCONSITITU-
TIONAL TAKING OF THE LUCAS
ES ae as edb ws 0 608

B. THE TAKINGS ANALYSIS SHOULD
BE LIMITED TO THE PROPERTY
AILTUALANY APPECTED .......0005.

CONCLUSION

a ae ee, ae er we ae ee ee ee e Se ee Ss ee

“*
ii eee

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES Joint Ventures, Inc. v. Dept. of Transportation,
563 So.2d 622 (Fla. 1990)

FEDERAL CASES
FEDERAL STATUTES
Ciampitti v. United States, 22 Cl. Ct. 310
(1991)... cn vncdcetces tue nee 8, 14, 15 Federal Endangered Species Act, 16 U.S.C.A.
§§ 1531-1544 (West 1985) .............
Deltona, Inc. v. United States, 228 Ct. Cl. 476
(|) PP 13
STATE STATUTES AND REGULATIONS
Florida Rock Industries, Inc. v. United States,

791 F.2d 893 (Fed. Cir. i986) .......... 8 Florida's Local Government Compre-
hensive Planning and Land Development
Keystone v. DeBenedictus, 480 U.S. 470 (1987) 11 Regulation Act, Fla. Stat. Ann.

§§ 163.3161-3243 (Harrison 1989) .......
Loretto v. Teleprompter Manhattan CATV Corp.,

458 U.S. 419 (1962)... we ccccsnssunee 13 Fla. Stat. Ann. § 161.053 (Harrison 1989)
Loveladies Harbor, Inc. v. United States, Fla. Stat. Ann. § 380.06 (Harrison 1987

1S CL Co. SB! (ISSR) 2 nn ete 14 & Supp. 1989 & 1990) ...............
McNulty v. Town of Indialantic, 727 F. Supp. 604 Fla. Stat. Ann. § 403.91(Harrison 1987

(4D. Fis. 1909) 2... 2 cccssee ue eee 5, 13 & Supp. 1989 & 1990) ...............
Penn Cent. Transp. Co. v. City of New York, Fla. Admin. Code Ann. r. 9J-5 (1990) .......

436 U.S. 166 (1978) «teh eens 2, 13

Fla. Admin. Code Ann. Proposed Rule
EE I

STATE CASES
Fla. Admin. Code Ann. Proposed Rule

Graham vy. Estuary Properties, Inc., 399 So.2d 1374 EE Eee
(Pia. 1961)... 3.6000 ue ae .

iV

South Carolina's Beachfront Management Act,
S.C. Code Ann. §§ 48-39-10 ...........

The Bituminous Mine Subsidence and Land
Conservation Act, Pa. Stat. Ann.
tit. 52, § 1406.1-1406.21 (Purdon Supp. 1991)

MISCELLANEOUS

Michelman, Property, Utility, and Fairness:
Comments on the Ethical Foundations of
"Just Compensation" Law, 80 Harv.

SS 8) kt eer rere rerre ree

United States Supreme Court
October Term, 1991

>
No. 91-453
13
David H. Lucas,
Petitioner,
Vv.
South Carolina Coastal Council,

Respondent.

13

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE SUPREME COURT OF
THE STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE
THE NEMOURS FOUNDATION, INC.
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 37.3, The Nemours
Foundation, Inc., files this brief as Amicus Curiae in support
of Petitioner. Letters of consent from counsel for the parties
have been filed with the Clerk.

2

The Nemours Foundation, a hospital foundation, is the
major beneficiary of the Alfred I. duPont Testamentary Trust
and the estate of Mr. duPont's business associate and brother-
in-law, Edward Ball. In their wills, Mr. duPont and Mr. Ball
sought to provide perpetual medical care for sick and handi-
capped children and the impoverished elderly. To carry out
their wishes, the Foundation operates three major health care
facilities:

e The Alfred I. duPont Institute - a multi-

specialty children's hospital in Wilmington,
Delaware.

° The Nemours Children's Clinic - an outpa-
tient pediatric subspecialty care center in
Jacksonville, Florida.

° The Nemours Health Clinic - an outpatient
center, also located in Wilmington, for the
elderly in Delaware.

The statistics contained in the 1990 Annual Report of
the Foundation underscore the tens of thousands of American
children and elderly who benefit from the work of these
facilities. During 1990, the medical staff at the Alfred I.
duPont Institute perfo med 4,392 surgical procedures on sick
and handicapped children in the course of managing 2,697
inpatients and over 48,000 clinic and outpatient visits. Their
colleagues at The Nemours Children's Clinic haémore than
63,000 clinic and outpatient visits. Finally, the elderly made
in excess of 62,000 visits to the health care providers working
through The Nemours Health Clinic, including 11,396 dental
visits, 4,544 audiology visits, and 10,938 eye visits, and
received more than 100,000 pharmacy prescriptions.

3

The medical professionals affiliated with the Founda-
tion's three health-care facilities also engage in extensive
medical research activities and have been responsible for
numerous treatment innovations. One of these is the rural
health care program established by The Nemours Children's
Clinic. It involves the coordination of several "satellite
clinics" with the Clinic's main facility in Jacksonville to bring
primary pediatric care to children in remote areas throughout
the State of Florida who might otherwise not have access to
a pediatrician.

As the major source of funding for The Nemours
Foundation, the Alfred I. duPont Testamentary Trust is one
of the largest concentrations of assets in America designated
primarily for health care. The Trust's chief asset is its
controlling interest in the St. Joe Paper Company.

Operating primarily in the State of Florida, the St. Joe
Paper Company and its subsidiaries (the Company) are
engaged in five principal lines of business:

e Forest Products - the integrated production of
corrugated containers, including the cultivation
and harvesting of pulpwood and the manufac-
ture of linerboard;

. Transportation - the operation of two rail!-
roads within the State of Florida;

° Real Estate - the ownership, management, and
development of real estate;

4

i) Sugar - the production of raw sugar, including
the cultivation, harvesting, and processing of
sugar cane; and

. Communications - the provision of telephone
services and telecommunications equipment.

The Company owns approximately 1.1 million acres
of real property in the State of Florida, or approximately 3%
of the land area of the State. Most of this land was pur-
chased in the 1920's and 1930's to provide funding for the
Trust and its beneficiary, The Nemours Foundation. The
Company is the largest private landowner in Florida. It owns
very large tracts in some areas, including 225,289 acres or
63% of Gulf County, Florida, and 197,099 acres or 41% of
Bay County, Florida.

A substantial portion of the Company's real property
is raw land encompassing wetlands and coastal areas. For
example, the Company owns approximately 185 miles of

frontage along rivers, bays, major lakes, and ocean beaches ~

in Florida, including almost 65 miles of nearly contiguous bay
Shoreline. The use of portions of its property has been
regulated increasingly in recent years because of possible or
perceived impact upon wetlands, coastal areas, and the natural
habitats of various wildlife species.

Thus, because earnings from the Company ultimately
Sustain its medical programs for children and the elderly, The
Nemours Foundation is directly and significantly affected by
the extensive and evolving local, state, and Federal regulation
of the Company's use of its land. Even prohibitions on using
small discrete segments of larger parcels can have a substan-
tial cumulative effect on the earnings of the Company and

5

therefore the funding of the Foundation's medical programs.
This is especially true in light of the continuing escalation of
health care costs in the United States.

The Nemours Foundation's situation forcefully
illustrates the sweeping impact of land use and environmental
regulation. It reveals the surprising identity of those who
could be forced to bear the burden of that regulation. It is
not always large corporate or wealthy landowners. Indeed, it
may be the sick and handicapped children and the impover-
ished elderly who, in this instance, are the Foundation’s
beneficiaries.

The Nemours Foundation is concerned that, if allowed
to stand, the South Carolina Supreme Court's decision will
exacerbate the problems of landowners. The Foundation is
already confronted by restrictive land use and environmental
statutes and regulations in Florida.

REGULATORY POLICIES IN FLORIDA

Florida landowners are subject to a variety of local,
state, and Federal land use restrictions.’ Under Florida's
Local Government Comprehensive Planning and Land
Development Regulation Act, Fla. Stat. Ann. §§ 163.3161-
3243 (Harrison 1989), municipalities and counties are
required, individually or jointly, to develop comprehensive
land use plans covering residential, commercial, industrial,

' The growth of regulatory restrictions 1s waced in pertinent Cases
See generally Graham v. Estuary Properties, Inc., 399 So.2d 1374 (Fla.
1981); McNulty v. Town of Indialantic, 727 F. Supp. 604 (M.D. Fila.
1989).

6

agricultural, recreational, conservation, transportation, and
other public uses. The provisions of the Act are deemed to
be the minimum requirements. Jd. § 163.3161. The compre-
hensive plans must also address water, soil, coastal (including
beach access), historical, scenic and wildlife conservation
issues. /d. § 163.3177. While intended to advance public
policy, a comprehensive plan mandating public housing or
open space where the landowner envisioned a commercial
development impinges on the landowner's ability to obtain
any economic return from the land. From a practical stand-
point, landowners may have to comply with varying require-
ments in each municipality or county in which they own land.
Landowners are also affected by concurrency requirements
that bar development unless and until adequate supporting
infrastructure is in place. /d. § 163.317(10)(h). If the local
infrastructure is inadequate, the landowner must either wait
until it has been upgraded or provide all of the improvements
at its Own expense.

Florida Administrative Code Rule 9J-5 makes it
difficult for landowners to make long-range plans. Fla.
Admin. Code Ann. r. 9J-5 (1990). The Rule permits amend-
ment of the comprehensive plan twice during any calendar
year. Thus, the landowner faces a moving target against
which he must develop long-range options. The Rule specifi-
cally calls for policies to protect "native vegetative communi-
ties" and endangered and threatened wildlife. As will be
discussed below, such requirements can render land commer-
cially useless.

Even if a Florida landowner can leap the local
comprehensive plan hurdle, he may also be subject to
additional requirements if his proposed development has a
"substantial impact” upon more than one county. Fla. Stat.

7

Ann. § 380.06 (Harrison 1987 & Supp. 1989 & 1990). In
addition to satisfying other requirements, landowners may be
required to contribute land or build public facilities in order
to win approval of a development plan. Fla. Admin. Code
Ann. r. 9J-2 (1990). Approval of development may be denied
if the authorities find that it would significantly impact
endangered, threatened, and special concern plants and
animals, beaches, dunes, etc. /d. r. 9J-2.0185(3)(c).

Construction in coastal areas is subject to even greater
restrictions. Florida Statutes Chapter 161.053 directs the
Florida Department of Natural Resources to establish restric-
tive coastal construction control lines in each county accord-
ing to the portion of the beach-dune system subject to severe
fluctuations, based on a 100-year established storm surge line.
Approval of construction seaward of the control line is
conditioned upon a number of factors, including the potential
impact of the construction on the beach-dune system, protec-
tion of sea turtles, salt-resistant vegetation, and endangered
plant communities. The developer may be required to
provide alternate access. The statute also prohibits construc-
tion seaward of the seasonal 30 year high-water line.

By way of comparison, South Carolina's Beachfront
Management Act, S.C. Code Ann. §§ 48-39-10 to 48-39-360
(Law. Co-op. 1987 & Supp. 1990), established a baseline and
a setback based upon predicted erosion over forty vears. /d.
§ 48-39-280. That Act limits construction or reconstruction
seaward of the baseline to narrow walkways, small wooden
decks, etc. Construction, reconstruction, or alteration of
structures between the baseline and the setback is restricted.
Id. § 48-39-290.

8

Permitting of activities in wetlands is governed
separately by Florida Statutes Chapter 403.91. Before
granting a permit, the authorities will, among other things,
consider the impact of the proposed activity on fish, wildlife,
and their habitats. Jd. § 403.918. Where wetlands are
protected, the State has encouraged municipalities and
counties to include buffer zones in their comprehensive land
use plans. The Company has experienced demands of buffers
of approximately seventy-five feet around wetland and coastal
areas.

Landowners face costly disruption when their develop-
ment plans do not conform with local or regional plans or
when they are required to contribute land or facilities.
Habitat preservation is potentially an even greater problem.
The Company has already been required to preserve habitat
for eight species of plants and animals.

Frequently, the rules and regulations regarding
activities permitted or prohibited in certain habitats, such as
wetlands, or areas where endangered or threatened wildlife
exist, are not exact. For example, the Federal Endangered
Species Act, 16 U.S.C.A. §§ 1531-1544 (West 1985), protects
species which are in danger of extinction. Federal agencies
may develop guidelines regarding development or use of
critical habitats or areas where endangered species are found,
but oftentimes decisions are made on a case-by-case basis.
Where use is not banned outright, permits must be obtained,
a difficult or frequently impossible task.’ If permits are
issued, use or development of the land is often restricted, or

? See, e.g., Ciampitti v. United States, 22 Cl. Ct. 310 (1991); Florida
Rock Industries, Inc. v. United States, 791 F.2d 893 (Fed. Cir. 1986)

9

a portion of the land is set aside, as a condition of obtaining
the necessary approvals.

Proposed Florida regulations would mandate stringent
onsite and/or offsite preservation and, in some cases buffers,
for a variety of animals and plants. For example, the pending
Upland Vegetation and Wildlife Policy rule would require
100% onsite habitat preservation for an endangered species;
30% onsite, and 60% offsite preservation for certain threat-
ened animals and preservation of nests along with a 500-foot
buffer and forage area for certain threatened birds.’ An
analysis of the draft rule suggests that, if adopted, the
regulation could affect one million acres of developable land.

Another prime example is the draft Gopher Tortoise
Incidental Take Rule,* which would require an "incidental
take permit" before land could be subdivided or developed if
there were as few as ten gopher tortoise burrows located on
five acres of land in South Florida or 20 acres in North
Florida.” The landowner would have to provide a 50-foot
buffer (0.18 acre) for each burrow. If the tract was too small
to exercise the onsite protection option, the landowner would
have to provide 1.25 times as much protected space offsite.
If the landowner could provide onsite protection but elected
not to, he would have to provide twice as much protected
space offsite. Thus, an owner of a five acre site could be
required to purchase as much as 3.6 acres offsite for every 10

* Proposed as Rule 9J-2.0258 of the Florida Administrative Code.
* Proposed as Rule 39-27.013 of the Florida Administrative Code.
* There is a presumption that five maintained gopher tortoise burrows

exist on each acre. The burden is on the owner to rebut that presumption
by conducting a survey of his property

10

burrows and set it aside for gopher tortoise burrows. Howev-
er, in an obvious attempt to avoid compensating the owners,
the regulation limits the percentage of the property which can
be required for tortoise protection: 30% or 50% depending
upon the location of the property within the State.

Even if such rules are not finally adopted, they often
serve as guides for local comprehensive plans and are
implemented, de facto. Onsite preservation and buffers can
render large parcels of land virtually useless. The cost of
offsite preservation can easily strip potential land use of any
profit.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The decision in Lucas is erroneous and in conflict
with prior opinions of the Court. The Nemours Foundation
urges the Court to indicate in its decision that the discrete,
affected segment of a parcel of property or property right
should be the focus of a takings analysis.

ARGUMENT

A. There Was An Unconstitutional Taking Of
The Lucas' Property.

The Nemours Foundation urges the court to reverse
the decision of the Supreme Court of South Carolina on the
ground that the South Carolina Beachfront Management Act
and its implementation resulted in a taking without just
compensation, in violation of the Fifth and Fourteenth
amendments. That court's misreading of the opinion in

ll

Keystone v. DeBenedictus, 480 U.S. 470 (1987), cannot be
permitted to stand if the Takings Clause is to continue to
have any vitality. While The Nemours Foundation disagrees
with the conclusion reach by the majority in Keystone, it is
suggested that the tortured interpretation adopted in Lucas
below was never intended by the Court.

The majority opinion in Lucas adopts a simplistic or
"straightforward" approach. Because Lucas did not attack the
Beachfront Management Act, the court concluded that it
could not engage in the careful analysis of the statute required
by the previous decisions of this Court. It thus failed to
distinguish between prevention of a nuisance and advancing
a legitimate state interest. Nemours submits that the analysis
of the dissent in Lucas is correct in concluding that the
building of a residence does not constitute a nuisance.
Further, even had such activity involved a nuisance, the Lucas
court was required to determine whether the owner was
denied economically viable use of his land. Had the court
carefully considered either of these questions, it would have
been compelled to affirm the condemnation award to Lucas.

B. The Takings Analysis Should Be Limited To
The Property Actually Affected.

In addition to supporting Mr. Lucas’ effort to obtain a
reversal of the South Carolina Supreme Court decision, The
Nemours Foundation entreats the court to weigh carefully the
impact of its ruling on factual patterns beyond the issue as
framed. Specifically, the facts in this case are confined to
total economic loss of an entire parcel of land. The circum-
stances of The Nemours Foundation, as outlined above,
illustrate the sheer impossibility in many cases of ever

12

demonstrating total loss of an entire parcel of land. The
growing body of land use regulation in Florida has resulted
in an almost imperceptible regulatory taking through inverse
condemnation of much of the property upon which the
Foundation's income depends. If the Court leaves the impres-
sion that lower courts may reject the notion of a taking where
less, even substantially less, than the total value of an entire
parcel of property (or landholdings in an area) is lost, The
Nemours Foundation and its beneficiaries will be deprived of
a remedy for each such taking.

The Nemours Foundation’s concern is raised by com-
ments of the Court in several recent cases, although the
holdings arguably do not rest on those comments. For
example, in Penn Cent. Transp. Co. v. City of New York, 438
U.S. 104, 130 (1978), the Court stated

"Taking" jurisprudence does not divide a
single parcel into discrete segments and at-
tempt to determine whether rights in a particu-
lar segment have been entirely abrogated. In
deciding whether a particular governmental
action has effected a taking, this Court focuses
rather both on the character of the action and
on the nature and extent of the interference
with rights in the parcel as a whole--here, the
city tax block designated as the "landmark
site.”

13

Id. at 130-131. However, this position is neither substantiated
by reference to earlier decisions,° nor is it consistent with the
Court's analysis in that case. The Court in that instance was
most explicit in comparing the lost air rights (the discrete,
affected segment) to the value of transferable development
rights.

The majority in Keystone was confronted with a facial
challenge to a Pennsylvania statute’ and refused to find
constitutional infirmity on the basis of the record. Neverthe-
less, it took great pains to explain that less than 2% of the
coal reserves of the owners would be affected by the Pennsyl-
vania law.* An even greater conflict with the Penn Central
position is adopted by its author in the dissent in Loretto v.
Teleprompter Manhattan CATV Corp., 458 U.S. 419 (1982).
In the latter case, the dissenters complain that what is "taken"
amounts to a fraction of a cubic foot. Thus, discrete seg-
ments of the property at issue are considered by the Court,
but often, seemingly, for the purpose of justifying its conclu-
sion.

° This untempered language appears for the first time in Penn Central,
and despite its lack of support in prior cases, it is now cited and relied
upon regularly by lower courts. See McNulty v. Town of Indalantic, 727
F. Supp. 604 (M.D. Fla 1989); Deltona, Inc. v. U.S. 657 F.2d 1184, 228
CuCl. 476 (Ct.Cl. 1981).

? The Bituminous Mine Subsidence and Land Conservation Act, Pa.
Stat. Ann. tit. 52, § 1406.1-1406.21 (Purdon Supp. 1991).

* The majority cites Michelman, Property, Utility, and Fairness:
Comments on the Ethical Foundations of “Just Compensation” Law, 80
Harv. L. Rev. 1165 (1967), when comparing the coal lost by petitioners
with their total reserves. However, it is doubtful that the Michelman
article supports the Court's conclusion.

ia

The Foundation is encouraged by the Keystone minori-
ty's acknowledgment that despite the relative size of the lost
coal, it comprised 27 million tons for which the owners
should have been compensated. While the minority's ap-
proach has also been followed by lower courts, there is
obviousiy great confusion in this area. Two cases are most
compelling.

In Loveladies Harbor, Inc. v. United States, 15 Cl. Ct.
381 (1988), the court held that the taking analysis should be
applied to a 12.5 acre wetland portion of an original tract of
250 acres of which 51 acres had not been developed. The
court refused to expand the definition of the affected property
to either the full 250 acre parcel as originally purchased or to
the remaining undeveloped 51 acres. Thus, the court ruled
that the degree of impact and the type of governmental action
questions were to be answered solely with respect to the
wetlands portion on which development was denied.

In contrast, three years later the same court adopted a
contrary position without any attempt to explain the inconsis-
tency. Ciampitti v. United States, 22 Cl. Ct. 310 (1991).
Relying on the above-quoted language in Penn Central, the
court elected to focus on the "parcel as a whole." Ciampitti,
22 Cl. Ct. at 318. The reasoning of the court is enlightening,
however, because it demonstrates the confusion between
identifying the property and determining the degree of loss
suffered by the owner. While it was admittedly attempting to
define the affected property, the court wandered into the
“bundle of rights" analysis which should only be performed
after the property has been identified. /d.

15

The similarity between the facts in Loveladies Harbor
and Ciampitti and the inexplicable and unexplained’ contra-
diction in their analyses’? can perhaps be rationalized by
reference to the second ground for the Ciampitti result. The
court was clearly convinced that the property owner, in the
aggregate, had succeeded rather well in achieving reasonable
investment expectations. It is suggested, however, that such
reasoning does violence to the concept of uncompensated
taking and substitutes the judiciary's opinion for that of the
private investor.

The Nemours Foundation suggests that while not
directly at issue here, the Court should not overlook this
important aspect of a most complicated subject - the defini-
tion of the property at which the governmental action is
directed. The Foundation further proposes that the Court
obviate the possibility that the lower courts in future taking
disputes might focus on property which is not affected but in
some way related to that which has been affected. Stated
otherwise, and contrary to the language from Penn Central
quoted above, the Foundation urges the court to indicate that
affected, discrete segments of a property or a property right
be the focus of inquiry and that the taking rubric be applied
to those specific segments.

The Nemours Foundation does not contend here that
less than a total loss of value is compensable. That is an
issue which must be addressed on a case by case basis and

* In Ciampitti, the court makes no reference to Loveladies.

'° The court in Ciampitti acknowledges that the affected parcel and
another which were combined as the focus of the taking analysis were not
even contiguous. /d. at 320.

16

the Florida courts have adopted a responsible approach
toward that aspect of the problem. See Joint Ventures, Inc.
v. Dept. of Transportation, 563 So.2d 622 (Fla. 1990). The
Nemours Foundation suggests, however, that the analysis of
the degree of loss be postponed until the affected property or
property right has been isolated. At that point, a court can
consider the degree of loss and the justification therefor. The
regulatory framework in Florida'' lends itself to gradual
imposition of a wide variety of use restrictions which have
differing impacts upon property and property rights. The
constitutionality of the statutes and the regulations issued
thereunder will be tested over time. It is likely that these
Challenges will be confined to particular takings. If the courts
are permitted to apply the takings tests to entire parcels of
property rather than the affected segment, iarge landholders,
such as those from which The Nemours Foundation derives
its income, will regularly lose these challenges.

An example of a small taking is found in the seventy-
five foot buffer zones required in coastal, wetland, and
waterfront areas. One mile of such buffer totals more than
nine acres. This amounts to an almost immeasurable portion
of a 200,000 acre tract, but constitutes extremely valuable
property. As noted above, over 185 miles of such buffer
zones could render numerous segments of property valueless
over a period of years.

It is arguable that if challenges are viewed in the
context of total land holdings, large landholders might never
be compensated where the taking is in small increments
dependent upon the whims of wildlife. As exemplified by

'' This would include the State as well as Federal land use and
wildlife protection statutes and regulations.

17

proposed Rule 39-27.013 of the Florida Administrative Code,
discussed supra, the State regulators already anticipate
juxtaposing the affected segment (30% or 50% maximum)
against the entire parcel, arguing that all economic viability
is not lost. Thus, it is critical that landholder be able to chal-
lenge the taking on the basis of the segment actually affected.

18
CONCLUSION

While previously perhaps not a major consideration in
the overall issue of governmental taking, the definition of the
affected property is of paramount importance to The Nemours
Foundation. Failure on the part of courts to limit their
determinations to that segment of the property actually
impacted by the governmental action will severely jeopardize
the right to just compensation for those lands owned by those
entities supporting The Nemours Foundation and its beneficia-
ries.

Respectfully submitted,

JOHN J. MULLENHOLZ

MULLENHOLZ & BRIMSEK
1150 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.
Suite 700

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 296-8000

Counsel for Amicus Curiae

January 2, 199]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0184%3A24. Public record. Not legal advice.
