# Amicus Curiae Brief — Georgia v. McCollum

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0183%3A12

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1992
- **Citation:** 505 U.S. 42

## Text

: nbs
te Supreme Court, U.S
) } Pi wut. we J.
’ '%

No. 91-372

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1991

>

STATE OF GEORGIA,
Petitioner,

—against—
THOMAS MCCOLLUM, WILLIAM JOSEPH MCCOLLUM, and

E_ttA HAMPTON MCCOLLUM,
Respondents.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE SUPREME COURT OF GEORGIA

AMICUS CURITAE BRIEF FOR CHARLES J. HYNES,
DISTRICT ATTORNEY, KINGS COUNTY, NEW YORK
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

CHARLES J. HYNES
District Attorney

JAY M. COHEN
Assistant District Attorney
Counsel of Record

MATTHEW S. GREENBERG
VICTOR BARALL
CAROL TEAGUE SCHWARTZKOPF
MARGARET ANTINORI

Assistant District Attorneys

Kings County District Attorney’s Office
210 Joralemon Street

Brooklyn, New York 11201

(718) 802-2156

December 19, 1991 Counsel for Amicus Curiae

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the United States Constitution prohibits a crimi-
nal defendant from exercising his peremptory strikes in a
racially discriminatory manner.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED qo. ociccnsivenceceenmeee
TABLE OF AUTIOORITIOS . oc icescccnsuveseaeenes
AUTHORITY TO FILE BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE..
STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT .........cccccccccees

POINT I—EXPERIENCE IN THE COURTS OF
NEW YORK AND OTHER JURISDICTIONS HAS
LED TO THE RECOGNITION THAT A RACE-
BASED PEREMPTORY CHALLENGE, REGARD-
LESS OF WHO EXERCISES IT, HARMS NOT
ONLY THE CHALLENGED JUROR, BUT THE
ENTIRE COMDGIRETY ..ovcsestisvsccvaneeeeeee

POINT II—THE CONSTITUTION PROHIBITS
CRIMINAL DEFENDANTS FROM EXCLUDING
PROSPECTIVE JURORS FROM SERVICE ON
THE BASES OF BAKA. ..cceccscencesaeeeeeeee

A. A Criminal Defendant’s Exercise of Peremp-
tory Challenges Constitutes State Action. ....

B. Prosecutors Have Standing to Assert the Equal
Protection Rights of Excluded Jurors. .......

C. The Rights to a Fair Trial and the Assistance
of Counsel Do Not Include the Right to Dis-
criminate Against Prospective Jurors on the
Basts OF RAGS. .«..c0sccccsensseunennnne

CUNCLUBIOIN 2. cccccccscocccsncensssue heen

1]

20

27

iil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases PAGE
Allen v. Feary, 476 U.S. 255 (19GG)... cc ccceeees 27
Barrows v. Jackson, 346 U.S. 249 (1953)............ 17
Batson v. Kentucky, 476 U.S. 79 (1986).......... 2, passim

Berger v. United States, 295 U.S. 78 (1935), overruled
on other grounds, Stirone v. United States, 361 U.S.

PURER EGR ues es bccenccccccccccccces 19
Burton v. Wilmington Parking Auth., 365 U.S. 715

DP PUPECEEUGGGSG6 5666006 cr ccccccccccs 11, 12, 16
Carter v. Jury Comm’n of Greene County, 396 U.S.

EPEC ECCS CRRR Ge eseecccecccccccccces 11, 21
Cassell v. Texas, 339 U.S. 282 (1950) ............... 26
Commonwealth v. Soares, 377 Mass. 461, 387 N.E.2d

499, cert. denied, 444 U.S. 881 (1979) ............ 8
Craig v. Boren, 429 U.S. 190 (1976) .............4.. 18
Cuyler v. Sullivan, 446 U.S. 335 (1980) ............. 13
Duncan v. Louisiana, 391 U.S. 145 (1968)........... 14
Edmonson v. Leesville Concrete Co., 111 S.Ct. 2077

SE SEESES OO PTTTETETE TET ET 2, passim
Ex parte Virginia, 100 U.S. 339 (1880).............. 1]
Faretta v. California, 422 U.S. 806 (1975)........... 22
Flagg Brothers, Inc. v. Brooks, 436 U.S. 149 (1978).. 17
Frazier v. United States, 335 U.S. 497 (1948)........ 13, 25

iV

PAGE

Gentile v. State Bar of Nevada, 111 S.Ct. 2720
Ga +4 bweeneuneccentceneeeeeesekeunnenadekuaee 21, 22
Gray v. Mississippi, 481 U.S. 648 (1987)............ 13, 24
Hayes v. Missouri, 120 U.S. 68 (1887) ....... 14-15, passim
Hernandez v. New York, 111 S.Ct. 1859 (1991)...... 27

Holland v. Illinois, 493 U.S. 474, 110 S.Ct. 803 (1990) 23

In re Grand Jury Subpoena Duces Tecum, 731 F.2d

ee Ge NN. HN 6h 6 bin cdedatenssenenccncennne 24
Irvin v. Dowd, 366 U.S. 717 (1961). .............05- 26
Lockhart v. McCree, 476 U.S. 162 (1986) ........... 25
Lugar v. Edmonson Oil Co., 457 U.S. 922

Ss 6.os6ankesavbutnnedeneuauaeeedeekoes 12, passim
McCleskey v. Kemp, 481 U.S. 279 (1987) ........... 20

McCray v. Abrams, 750 F.2d 1113 (2d Cir. 1984),
vacated and remanded for reconsideration in light of

Beteat, GE Us Fee CHO cccccccccccvsccessse 2
McDonough Power Equipment, Inc. v. Greenwood,

Ge Gees ee CD 06 04 860050040050 86a deedeees 25-26
Metro Broadcasting, Inc. v. F.C.C., 110 S.Ct. 2997

UU 566544064 ddAnsa ben eeeendeunnscenusnenees 27
National Collegiate Athletic Ass’n. v. Tarkanian, 488

Re Eee CE bb cds eccoeusdncsedanesesaedeeens 1]
Nix v. Whiteside, 475 U.S. 158 (1986) .............. 22

People v. Davis, 142 Misc.2d 881, 537 N.Y.S.2d 430
Ga. GR. SE Gs Fo eneckscccssesadisounes 6

PAGE

People v. Kern, 149 A.D.2d 187, 545 N.Y.S.2d 4 (2d
Dep’t 1989), aff’d, 75 N.Y.2d 638, £54 N.E.2d 1235,
555 N.Y.S.2d 647, cert. denied, 111 S.Ct. 77

Gs s cua cnnanedeuvaneuensiseessadincentnes 2, passim
People v. Gary M., 138 Misc.2d 1081, 526 N.Y.S.2d
Sew Gee, GA. Te Gs BO ow cccccccncecsvccess 6

People v. Muriale, 138 Misc.2d 1056, 526 N.Y.S.2d
367 (Sup. Ct. Kings Co. 1988), appealed on other
grounds, 159 A.D.2d 651, 553 N.Y.S.2d 39 (2d
Dep’t), /v. denied, 76 N.Y.2d 740, 558 N.Y.S.2d
Tas SOU CD GO GUE casee cde cudsccccvccns 6

People v. Piermont, 143 Misc.2d 839, 542 N.Y.S.2d
BED Copmeeaes GW. GR. F< ccccccdccccecseccs 6

People v. Wheeler, 22 Cal.3d 258, 583 P.2d 748, 148
Ss ls SP EES gnvcé senkecéncndeeneceubeues 7,8

Peters v. Kiff, 407 U.S. 493 (1972), overruled on other
grounds, Taylor v. Louisiana, 419 U.S. 522
SOUUEs a sv eéucduuseséunebacesataaetaebaeeesesuce 19, 21

Pierce v. Society of Sisters, 268 U.S. 510 (1925)..... 18
Polk County v. Dodson, 454 U.S. 312 (1981)....15, 16, 17

Powers v. Ohio, 111 S.Ct. 1364 (1991).......... 18, passim
Press-Enterprise Co. v. Superior Court, 464 U.S. 501
GPU cc onnnteecdscccceveceeneceeconeessuatends 14, 22
Reitman v. Mulkey, 387 U.S. 369 (1967) ............ 1]
Rose v. Mitchell, 443 U.S. 545 (1979)............... 21
Ross v. Oklahoma, 487 U.S. 81 (1988).............. 25
Sheiley v. Kraemer, 334 U.S. Sn due kvecdueenne 11, 17

vi
PAGE
Singer v. United States, 380 U.S. 24 (1965).......... 14, 22
Singleton v. Wulff, 428 U.S. 106 (1976)............. 18
Smith v. Phillips, 455 U.S. 209 (1982) .............. 26
Se V. TE, SIL UB. BAe CIGD cc cccccscccccess 28
State v. Alvarado, 221 N.J. Super. 324, 534 A.2d 440
RES ES erernet aea e eeee a )
State v. Levinson, 71 Haw. 492, 795 P.2d 845
SIRT Rage os Soper Phe a Cea ga Re a 9, 24
State v. Neil, 457 So.2d 481 (Fla. 1984)............. 8
State v. Watkins, 114 N.J. 259, 553 A.2d 1344 (1989) )
Stilson v. United States, 250 U.S. 583 (1919) ........ 25
Strauder v. West Virginia, 100 U.S. 303 (1880), over-
ruled on other grounds, Taylor v. Louisiana, 419
ee ee a adaow kel dunes edebudeken ests esc 1]
Swain v. Alabama, 380 U.S. 202 (1965)............. 25, 26
Taylor v. Illinois, 484 U.S. 400, 108 S.Ct. 646
Tt chdh cada iuulienwedeabeeedeeekesedvencnen 22, 23
Taylor v. Louisiana, 419 —~.S. 522 (1975)............ 14, 26

United States v. Classic, 313 U.S. 299 (1941), overruled
on other grounds, Monell v. Dep’t of Soc. Serv., 436
Se Ec cnxncadedeecoanecdecveussaccaceus 16

United States v. Devin, 918 F.2d 280 (1st Cir. 1990) . 26

United States v. Greer, 939 F.2d 1076, reh’g en banc
granted, 1991 US App LEXIS 28441 (Sth Cir. 1991) 7

United States v. Hatchett, 918 F.2d 631 (6th Cir.
1990), cert. denied, 111 S.Ct. 2839 (1991) ......... 26

Vii

PAGE
Upjohn v. United States, 449 U.S. 383 (1981) ....... 24
Wheat v. United States, 108 S.Ct. 1692 (1988)....... 22
Williams v. Florida, 399 U.S. 78 (1970)............. 24
United States Constitution
cick pede cccnuereesescvsensees 4, passim
PED SUMED svc ncncsncccecscesecoseus 3, passim
New York State Statutes
Pe es Gs I, RE Oh PEED e occ ce ccccessccceve 17
Other Authorities
Alschuler, The Supreme Court and the Jury: Voir Dire,
Peremptory Challenges, and the Review of Verdicts,
See 2 rr ree 8
Cheever, Defense Jeers Ruling Denying Peremptories in
Howard Beach, Manhattan Lawyer, October 6-12,
eee Ser er ren rrr 5, 6
Glaberson, Bensonhurst Case Ends, Satisfying Few,
N.Y. Times, March 14, 1991, at Al, col. 2........ 1]

Goldwasser, Limiting a Criminal Defendant’s Use of
Peremptory Challenges: On Symmetry and the Jury
in a Criminal Trial, 102 Harv. L. Rev. 808 (1989) . 27

Hoeffner, Defendant’s Discriminatory Use of the
Peremptory Challenge After Batson v. Kentucky, 11
se I SUE Eo So dcewdeccccccccescnsns 25, 27

Model Code of Professional Responsibility, Canon 7
SE S66 054554104 600 00SbNESAN SE Hs ERR RORERRES8 23

Viii

Model Rules of Professional Conduct, Rule 3.1 (1983)

Sullivan, Last Sentencing in Jogger Attack, N.Y.

Times, March 14, 1991, at B4, col. 1

PAGE
23

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1991

>

STATE OF GEORGIA,
Petitioner,

—against—
THOMAS MCCOLLUM, WILLIAM JOSEPH MCCOLLUM, and

ELLA HAMPTON MCCOLLUM,
Respondents.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE SUPREME COURT OF GEORGIA

_e-

AMICUS CURIAE BRIEF FOR CHARLES J.
HYNES, DISTRICT ATTORNEY, KINGS
COUNTY, NEW YORK IN SUPPORT
OF PETITIONER

AUTHORITY TO FILE BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE

Charles J. Hynes, District Attorney of Kings County, New
York, files this brief amicus curiae with the consent of the
attorneys for the petitioner and the respondent, pursuant to
Rule 36.2. Moreover, he is the authorized law officer of a
political subdivision of a state, and therefore also files this
brief amicus curiae pursuant to Rule 36.4.

2

STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

Charles J. Hynes is the District Attorney of Kings County,
New York. On March 29, 1990, the New York Court of
Appeals ruled that criminal defendants in New York would
no longer be able to exercise peremptory challenges on the
basis of race. People v. Kern, 75 N.Y.2d 638, 554 N.E.2d
1235, 555 N.Y.S.2d 647, cert. denied, 111 S.Ct. 77 (1990).
Amicus, as the Special State Prosecutor for the Howard
Beach Incident, tried the Kern case in 1988 and was one of
the first prosecutors in the state of New York to obtain a rul-
ing from a trial court that applied this Court’s Batson prohi-
bition to criminal] defendants.

Like many cases in which criminal defendants seek to
strike all members of a particular racial group from the jury,
the Kern case involved a racial assault. In that case, a mob of
eleven young white men attacked three African-American
men whose car had broken down near the Howard Beach sec-
tion of Queens, New York. This attack culminated in the
death of one of the African-American men, who was forced
onto a multi-lane highway and fatally struck by a car in his
attempt to flee from the bat-wielding mob of young white
men.

In addition to amicus’ personal experience, the Office of
the Kings County District Attorney has supported and pro-
moted the prohibition against the racial use of peremptory
challenges for more than a decade and has consistently urgea
that the prohibition be applied to both criminal defense coun-
sel and prosecutors. See, e.g., Brief for Kings County District
Attorney as Amicus Curiae, Batson v. Kentucky, 476 U.S. 79
(1986); Brief for Respondent, McCray v. Abrams, 750 F.2d
1113 (2d Cir. 1984), vacated and remanded for reconsidera-
tion in light of Batson, 478 U.S. 1001 (1986).

Thus, amicus has had years of experience with judicial pro-
hibitions on the use of peremptory challenges by criminal
defense counsel to exclude potential jurors on the basis of
race, both at the trial level as the prosecutor in a racially-

3 .

charged case which received national media attention and,
since January 1990, as a District Attorney responsible for
overseeing several thousand trials each year in a multi-racial,
multi-ethnic county. Based on that experience, amicus has
observed that defense counsel frequently attempt to use the
peremptory challenge to exclude potential jurors on the basis
of race, particularly in the most racially volatile of cases.
Such discrimination is equally widespread, equally threaten-
ing to constitutional values, and equally amenable to judicial
control as was the discrimination by prosecutors banned by
this Court in Batson and the discrimination by civil counsel
banned in Edmonson vy. Leesville Concrete Co., 111 S.Ct.
2077 (1991). For these reasons, amicus urges the Court to
hold that the ban applies not only to prosecutors and civil lit-
igants, but also to criminal defendants.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The exercise of race-based peremptory challenges by crimi-
nal defendants and their attorneys represents the last vestige
of officially-tolerated racial discrimination in the selection of
jurors in this country. The time has arrived for such discrimi-
nation to be eliminated once and for ali.

Numerous state courts have recognized that public confi-
dence in the fairness of criminal proceedings is compromised
by any discrimination in the courtroom. Acting pursuant to
their state constitutions, these courts have ruled that criminal
defendants have no greater license to violate the Equal Pro-
tection rights of prospective jurors than have prosecutors.

The federal Constitution also forbids criminal defendants
from excluding prospective jurors from service on the basis
of race. First, the exercise of peremptory challenges incontro-
vertibly constitutes state action. Peremptory challenges occur
in a public courtroom, during the course of a public trial,
and in the performance of a quintessentially governmental
function: the provision of petit juries in criminal trials. Addi-
tionally, they are enforced by judges and work a deprivation

4

upon citizens whose appearance for jury service has been
compelled by the State. Second, a prosecutor in a criminal
case, by virtue of his or her duties and relationship with the
challenged jurors, has standing to uphold the rights of these
jurors to be free from invidious discrimination. Finally, a
defendant’s Sixth Amendment rights to a fair trial and the
assistance of counsel do not include any subsidiary right to
discriminate in the selection of a jury.

Accordingly, this Court should now hold that Batson
applies with equal force to the prosecution and the defense.

POINT I

EXPERIENCE IN THE COURTS OF NEW YORK AND

OTHER JURISDICTIONS HAS LED TO THE RECOGNI-

TION THAT A RACE-BASED PEREMPTORY CHAL-

LENGE, REGARDLESS OF WHO EXERCISES IT,

HARMS NOT ONLY THE CHALLENGED JUROR, BUT
THE ENTIRE COMMUNITY

During the early morning hours of December 20, 1986,
three African-American men whose car had broken down
near the Howard Beach section of Queens, New York, were
chased by a mob of bat and stick-wielding white youths,
screaming racial epithets. One of the African-Americans was
pursued until he was forced onto a six-lane highway where he
was struck by a car and killed. A second was severely beaten.
The third managed to escape without injury. Public appre-
hension about the fairness of the investigation and prosecu-
tion led to the appointment of amicus as Special Prosecutor
to replace the Queens County District Attorney. Nine white

~—youths-eventually were convicted for acts they committed
during the Howard Beach incident.

During the first case to go to trial, the defense challenged
for cause or peremptorily every African-American prospective
juror. On the prosecutor’s motion, defense counsel was ulti-
mately required by the court to offer race-neutral reasons for

5

the final three peremptory challenges. One challenge was dis-
allowed and the juror seated.

The three defendants convicted at this trial argued to the
New York Supreme Court, Appellate Division, Second
Department, that ‘‘when a defense lawyer reasonably believes
that blacks-qua blacks (or for that matter whites qua whites
Or greens qua greens) are more likely to convict his client
based upon specific race-related issues in a particular case, he
must exercise whatever lawful means are available to him to
strike such jurors from the panel.’’ Brief for Appellant, Peo-
ple v. Kern, 149 A.D.2d 187, 545 N.Y.S.2d 4 (2d Dep’t
1989). A defense attorney in that case publicly defended race-
based peremptory challenges: ‘‘] want the best for an acquit-
tal. And any lawyer who tells you otherwise is a damn liar.’’
See Cheever, Defense Jeers Ruling Denying Peremptories in
Howard Beach, Manhattan Lawyer, October 6-12, 1987, at 5,
col. 4.

In affirming the convictions of these three defendants, the
Appellate Division rightly rejected these assertions:

[P]eremptory challenges exercised solely on the basis of
race, whether it be by the prosecution or the defense,
necessarily result in injury not only to the excluded juror
but to the community-at-large and to society’s confi-
dence in and respect for our system of justice... .
[T]he courts cannot permit such conduct; justice cannot
remain blindfolded, but rather must proclaim and insist
that the guarantee of equal protection against all forms
of racial discrimination, particularly in our system of
justice, be enforced.

Kern, 149 A.D.2d at 235, 545 N.Y.S.2d at 34.

The New York Court of Appeals subsequently affirmed the
decision of the Appellate Division and, quoting Batson v.
Kentucky, 476 U.S. 79, 87-88 (1986), wrote, in part:

The harm from discriminatory jury selection extends
beyond that inflicted on the defendant and the excluded
juror to touch the entire community. Selection proce-

6

dures that purposefully exclude black persons from
juries undermine public confidence in the fairness of our
system of justice. Discrimination within the judicial sys-
tem is most pernicious because it is ‘a stimulant to that
race prejudice which is an impediment to securing to
{black citizens] that equal justice which the law aims to
secure to all others.’ By their application to restrict
defense peremptory challenges, the People have asserted
the rights both of excluded jurors and the community-
at-large.

People v. Kern, 75 N.Y.2d 638, 654, 554 N.E.2d 1235, 1243-
1244, 555 N.Y.S.2d 647, 655-56, cert. denied, 111 S.Ct. 77
(1990) (citations omitted).'

Unfortunately, the problem of discrimination in jury selec-
tion is not unique to the Howard Beach case. One prominent
defense attorney in New York, identified as a member of the
board of directors of the National Association of Criminal
Defense Lawyers, has asserted that the Constitution gives
defendants—and their attorneys—the right to be racist: ‘‘I’m
not prejudiced, but if I want to be, it’s perfectly legal. Now,
tell me, how can a judge tell a defendant that he can’t be
prejudiced?’’ Cheever, supra, at 38, col. 3. In the instant
case, the defendants told the Georgia Supreme Court that,
since a notice about the crime had been circulated in the
black community, they were entitled to challenge black jurors

1 Even before the New York State appellate courts had definitively
ruled on the issue, every New York criminal trial judge to address the
issue had ruled that Batson applied to defense counsel, basing his or
her decision on state constitutional and common-law grounds, as well
as the Fourteenth Amendment to the federal Constitution. People v.
Muriale, 138 Misc.2d 1056, 1066, 526 N.Y.S.2d 367, 374 (Sup. Ct.
Kings Co. 1988), appealed on other grounds, 189 A.D.2d 651, 553
N.Y.S.2d 39, (2nd Dep’t), /v. denied, 76 N.Y.2d 740, 558 N.Y.S.2d
902, 557 N.E.2d 1198 (1990); People v. Gary M., 138 Misc.2d 1081,
1089-90, 526 N. Y.S.2d 986, 994 (Sup. Ct. Kings Co. 1988); People v.
Davis, 142 Misc.2d 881, 888-891, 537 N.Y.S.2d 430, 434-36 (Sup. Ct.
Bronx Co. 1988); People v. Piermont, 143 Misc.2d 839, 842-44, 542
N.Y.S.2d 115, 117-18 (Westchesier Co. Ct. 1989).

without asking them any voir dire questions about the impact
of the notice on their individual fitness to serve. (J.A. 35-37).

In a recent case from Garland, Texas, the defendants,
members of a group advocating white supremacy and anti-
Semitism, were convicted of conspiracy to violate the civil
rights of African-American, Hispanic, and Jewish citizens.
The defendants unsuccessfully contended that ‘‘they were
denied the right to a fair and impartial jury’’ by the trial
court’s refusal to require the Jewish prospective jurors to so
identify themselves, and thus to facilitate the defendant’s use
of peremptory challenges against all prospective jurors who
were Jewish. The Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals held that
peremptory challenge limitations based on race ‘‘apply logi-
cally to the defendants in this case.’’ United States v. Greer,
939 F.2d 1076, 1086, reh’g en banc granted, 1991 US App
LEXIS 28441 (Sth Cir. 1991).’

Treating the defense and the prosecution identically during
jury selection Goes not cause unbalanced juries; it produces
fair and impartial ones. As six state courts have recognized,
the prohibition of race discrimination in jury selection must
be extended to defense counsel to guarantee that potential
jurors are neither excluded nor stigmatized in violation of
their constitutional rights, and to preserve the impartiality,
representativeness, and appearance of fairness in the criminal
justice system.

Prior to this Court’s decision in Batson, California, Massa-
chusetts, and Florida recognized that the use of racially dis-
criminatory peremptory challenges in criminal cases was
forbidden to the defense, as well as to the prosecution. These
states explicitly held that their State Constitutions forbade
peremptory challenges by defendants for racial reasons.

The California Supreme Court, in People v. Wheeler, 22
Cal.3d 258, 583 P.2d 748, 148 Cal. Rptr. 890 (1978), held
that: ‘‘[T]he People no less than individual defendants are

2 The court also rejected the defendants’ claim that they were entitled
to challenge for cause every prospective juror who was African-
American, Hispanic, or Jewish.

8

entitled to a trial by an impartial jury drawn from a repre-
sentative cross-section of the community.’’ 22 Cal.3d at 283
n.29, 583 P.2d at 765 n.29, 148 Cal. Rptr. at 907 n.29. The
court stated that a contrary holding would frustrate other
essential public policy functions:

[W]hen a white defendant is charged with a crime
against a black victim, the black community as a whole
has a legitimate interest in participating in the trial pro-
ceedings; that interest will be defeated if the prosecutor
does not have the power to thwart any defense attempt
to strike all blacks from the jury on the ground of group
bias alone.

Id.

In Commonwealth v. Soares, 377 Mass. 461, 387 N.E.2d
499, cert. denied, 444 U.S. 881 (1979), the Massachusetts
Supreme Judicial Court reasoned that the Commonwealth
had the right to try its case before ‘‘the tribunal which the
Constitution regards as most likely to produce a fair result’’
and is, therefore, deemed ‘‘equally to be entitled to a repre-
sentative jury, unimpaired by improper exercise of peremp-
tory challenges by the defense.’’ 377 Mass. at 489 n.35, 387
N.E.2d at 517 n.35.

In Florida, the State Supreme Court restricted the racial
use of peremptory challenges by criminal defendants after
two controversial trials involving white police officers accused
of killing African-American citizens. In each case, the
defense use of peremptory challenges against African-
Americans produced an all white jury; the defendants were
acquitted; and the acquittals sparked public outrage, and, in
one case, riots. See Alschuler, The Supreme Court and the
Jury: Voir Dire, Peremptory Challenges and the Review of
Jury Verdicts, 56 U. Chi. L. Mev. 153, 195-96 (1989). The
court then ruled that defense counsel were not permitted to
use peremptory challenges in a discriminatory way. State v
Neil, 457 So.2d 481 (Fla. 1984).

tl

9

Since Batson, three more states, including New York, have
held that neither the prosecution nor the defense may exercise
peremptory challenges systematically to exclude members of a
racial or ethnic group from service on a criminal petit jury.

In New Jersey, a superior court ruled that Batson applies
to the defense as well as the prosecution:

If the courts allow jurors to be excluded because of
group bias, be it at the hands of the State or the
defense, they would be willing participants in a scheme
that could only undermine the very foundation of our
system of justice—our citizens’ confidence in it.

State v. Alvarado, 221 N.J. Super. 324, 328, 534 A.2d 440,
442 (Law Div. 1987).’ See also State v. Levinson, 71 Haw.
492, 795 P.2d 845, 849 (1990).

The peremptory challenge has long acted as a basis for pre-
serving the image and reality of fairness in jury selection.
These courts have all properly recognized that a peremptory
challenge which permits racial discrimination, regardless of
which party uses it, harms not only the challenged jurors
themselves, but the entire community.

POINT Il

THE CONSTITUTION PROHIBITS CRIMINAL DEFEN-
DANTS FROM EXCLUDING PROSPECTIVE JURORS
FROM SERVICE ON THE BASIS OF RACE.

Public support for the criminal justice system has always
depended not only on the system’s ability to render justice,

3 Alvarado was approvingly cited by the New Jersey Supreme Court in
State v. Watkins, 114 N.J. 259, 553 A.2d 1344 (1989). In that case, in
dicta, the court stated, ‘‘It may be that discrimination in the court-
room cannot be eradicated without incurring costs. If the cost is some
constraint on counsel’s otherwise unbridled freedom in selecting
jurors, we believe that it is a price worth paying. The alternative, that
counsel could exclude a potential juror merely because the juror is a
member of a cognizable group, is unthinkable. A courthouse has no
room for invidious discrimination.’’ 114 N.J. at 267, $53 A.2d at 1348.

10

but also on its ability to project to the parties and to the pub-
lic an unimpeachable image of fairness. In cases such as
those discussed above, and, regrettably, in scores of other
cases where the victim is of one race and the defendant is of
another, racial tension often exists inside and outside the
courtroom. The Howard Beach incident was but one of the
recent, highly-publicized trials in the New York City area
which raised issues of racial prejudice. Within the past two
years, a group of young African-American men was con-
victed of beating and raping a white woman who was jogging
in Central Park (see Sullivan, Last Sentencing in Jogger
Attack, N.Y. Times, March 14, 1991, at B4, col. 1) and a
young white man was convicted of shooting and killing a
young African-American man in the Bensonhurst section of
Brooklyn. See Glaberson, Bensonhurst Case Ends, Satisfying
Few, N.Y. Times, March 14, 1991, at Al, col. 2.

The most critical and contentious issues affecting society as
a whole increasingly seem to crystallize in the course of crimi-
nal trials, placing a burden on the justice system to be fair
which far transcends the facts of any particular case. Even
trials in which race is not an obvious factor may raise impor-
tant questions about public safety, police-community rela-
tions, and the ability of the legal system to be cclor-blind.

The ability to project the image of fairness in the criminal
justice system rests significantly with the jurors. It is the
jurors who are asked to determine the guilt of a defendant. If
jurors are selected in an unbiased and impartial manner, a
fair trial is more likely and public confidence in the criminal
justice system is maintained. If jurors are not selected in an
unbiased and impartial manner, there can be no fair trial and
public confidence in the criminal justice system is ravaged.

This Court has the responsibility and authority to ensure
that equal justice is secured to all. This Court, therefore,
should now follow those state and federal courts that have
applied the Batson rule to criminal defendants and their
attorneys. The actions of criminal defense attorneys, no less
than the actions of prosecutors and civil counsel, constitute

11

state action, and prosecutors have standing to uphold the
Equal Protection rights of excluded jurors. Finally, a crimi-
nal defendant’s rights to a fair trial and the assistance of
counsel cannot and do not include the subsidiary right to dis-
criminate against prospective jurors on the basis of race or
ethnicity.

A. A Criminal Defendant’s Exercise of Peremptory Chal-
lenges Constitutes State Action.

In an unbroken line of cases, this Court has held that the
Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment to
the United States Constitution forbids any action attributable
to the State which deprives persons of their right to partici-
pate as jurors by reason of their race. See, e.g., Edmonson v.
Leesville Concrete Co., 111 S.Ct. 2077 (1991) (discrimination
by private litigants in civil cases); Batson, 476 U.S. 79 (dis-
crimination through prosecutor’s peremptory challenges);
Carter v. Jury Comm’n of Greene County, 396 U.S. 320
(1970) (discrimination by jury commission in summoning
jurors); Ex parte Virginia, 100 U.S. 339 (1880) (discrimina-
tion by trial judge); Strauder v. West Virginia, 100 U.S. 303
(1880) (discriminatory statute). Each case represents another
step in this Court’s determined effort to remove all vestiges
of racism from the selection of jurors.

Although the constitutional guarantee of equal protection
does not apply to the actions of private entities, National
Collegiate Athletic Assn. v. Tarkanian, 488 U.S. 179, 191
(1988), nevertheless ‘‘governmental authority may dominate
an activity to such an extent that its participants must be
deemed to act with the authority of the government and, as a
result, be subject to constitutional constraints.’’ Edmonson,
111 S.Ct. at 2082; see also Burton v. Wilmington Parking
Auth., 365 U.S. 715 (1961); Reitman v. Mulkey, 387 U.S.
369 (1967); Shelley v. Kraemer, 334 U.S. 1 (1948).

Having held that prosecutors may not, consistent with the
Fourteenth Amendment, exercise peremptory challenges
solely on the basis of race, this Court should now extend its

12

holding to criminal defendants and their attorneys. There is
simply nothing private about the selection of jurors or the
use Of peremptory challenges. These challenges are exercised
not in private matters but during the course of a public trial
in a public building; they are not constitutionally required
but are merely a privilege extended to criminal defendants by
statute or decisional law; they are afforded to criminal defen-
dants not merely for their benefit but also to assist the state
in fulfilling its inherent obligation to criminal defendants and
the public to provide impartial juries; the victims of race-
based peremptory challenges are exposed to this discrimina-
tion only because they have been compelled by the State to
appear for jury service; and, finally, peremptory challenges
are not self-executing but require judicial enforcement.
Accordingly, the exercise of race-based peremptory challenges
by criminal defendants and their attorneys must be consid-
ered state action violative of the Equal Protection Clause of
the Fourteenth Amendment.

Whether private discrimination violates the Fourteenth
Amendment can be resolved only by determining whether
“the conduct allegedly causing the deprivation of a federal
right [is] fairly attributable to the State.’’ Lugar v. Edmon-
son Oil Co., 457 U.S. 922, 937 (1982). In Lugar, this Court
set forth a two-prong test for state action: ‘‘[flirst, the depri-
vation [of a federal right] must be caused by the exercise of
some right or privilege created by the State. . . ; [s]econd,
the party charged with the deprivation must be a person who
may fairly be said to be a state actor. This may be because he
is a state official, because he has acted together with or has
obtained significant aid from state officials, or because his
conduct is otherwise chargeable to the State.’’ Jd. at 937. A
state action question can be resolved ‘‘[o]nly by sifting facts
and weighing circumstances’’ so that the nature and extent of
state involvement in the private conduct can be “‘attributed
its true significance.’’ Jd. at 939, quoting Burton v.
Wilmington Parking Auth., 365 U.S. at 722.

In Edmonson v. Leesville Concrete Co., 111 S.Ct. 2077
(1991), this Court, basing its decision on the two-part Lugar

13

framework, held that when private litigants in a civil lawsuit
exercise peremptory challenges, their conduct is state action
subject to the strictures of the Equal Protection Clause.

First, this Court concluded, peremptory challenges have
their source in state authority. Edmonson, 111 S.Ct. at 2083.
Unlike events which can occur independently of the State,
peremptory challenges are available only because the State
has provided for them. This Court has repeatedly said that
peremptory challenges are not constitutionally required. See,
e.g., Gray v. Mississippi, 481 U.S. 648, 663 (1987); Batson,
476 U.S. at 107 (Marshall, J., concurring); Frazier v. United
States, 335 U.S. 497, 505 n.11 (1948). Indeed, the State could
choose to forego them entirely. Thus, the use of peremptory
challenges could not occur but for the fact that the State has
created them.

Turning to the second prong of the Lugar test, this Court
concluded that ‘‘a private litigant in all fairness must be
deemed a government actor in the use of peremptory chal-
lenges,’’ (Edmonson, 111 S.Ct. at 2083) inasmuch as the liti-
gant relies to a significant extent on governmental assistance
and benefits, performs a traditional governmental function,
and causes an injury to the excluded juror that is aggravated
by the incidents of governmental authority. Jd. at 2083-87.

As this Court recognized, the State not only provides the
means for discrimination in jury selection, but also, public
officials are themselves involved in the discriminatory process
from beginning to end. Potential jurors are exposed to the
possibility of discriminatory challenges because the State,
with its full coercive power, summons them for jury service.
Additionally, race-based challenges are used exclusively on
State property, i.e., in state courtrooms, during the course of
a criminal trial, an official activity which itself constitutes
state action. See Cuyler v. Sullivan, 446 U.S. 335, 343 (1980)
(‘‘a state criminal trial, a proceeding initiated and conducted
by the State itself, is an action of the State within the mean-
ing of the Fourteenth Amendment’’). As stated in Edmon-
son:

14

[A] private party could not exercise its peremptory chal-
lenges absent the overt, significant assistance of the
court. The government summons jurors, constrains their
freedom of movement, and subjects them to public scru-
tiny and examination. The party who exercises a chal-
lenge invokes the formal authority of the court, which
must discharge the prospective juror. . . . By enforcing
a discriminatory peremptory challenge, the court ‘‘has
not only made itself party to the [biased act], but has
elected to place its power, property and prestige behind
the [alleged] discrimination.’’ In so doing, the govern-
ment has ‘‘create[d] the legal framework governing the
[challenged] conduct,’’ and in a significant way has
involved itself with invidious discrimination.

111 S.Ct. at 2084-85 (citations omitted).

Moreover, ‘‘[t]he peremptory challenge is used in selecting
an entity that is a quintessential governmental body, having
no attributes of a private actor.’’ Jd. at 2085. Notwithstand-
ing a criminal defendant’s participation in the process, the
Constitution imposes on the State alone the duty to provide
petit juries for serious crimes. See, e.g., Duncan v. Louisi-
ana, 391 U.S. 145 (1968). Additionally, the Constitution
imposes on the State alone the duty to provide impartial
juries drawn from a fair cross-section of the community. See,
e.g., Taylor v. Louisiana, 419 U.S. 522 (1975).

These constitutional obligations rest with the State not
merely for the benefit of criminal defendants, but also to
safeguard the State’s interest in prosecutions ‘‘tried before
the tribunal which the Constitution regards as most likely to
~ produce a fair result.’’ Singer v. United States, 380 U.S. 24,
36 (1965); see also Press-Enterprise Co. v. Superior Court,
464 U.S. 501, 505 (1984) (‘‘process of juror selection is. . .
a matter of importance, not simply to the adversaries but to
the criminal justice system’’). The State may not abandon its
obligation to criminal defendants and the public alike to pro-
vide impartial juries. States may, of course, fashion different
models for achieving this goal, Hayes v. Missouri, 120 U.S.

15

68, 70 (1887), as, for example, by permitting the participation
of the parties through peremptory challenges, but ultimately,
the government retains the inherent obligation to provide
impartial juries. Jd. Thus, when criminal defendants and
their attorneys participate in the selection of a jury, they are
performing an inherently governmental function and are,
therefore, bound by the same constitutional constraints by
which all state actors must abide.

Finally, as this Court recognized in Edmonson:

[T]he injury caused by the discrimination is made more
severe because the government permits it to occur within
the courtroom itself. Few places are a more real expres-
sion of the constitutional authority of the government
than a courtroom, where the law itself unfolds. . . . To
permit racial exclusion in this official forum compounds
the racial insult inherent in judging a citizen by the color
of his or her skin.

111 S.Ct. at 2087.

For the same reasons as set forth in Edmonson, a criminal
defendant’s exercise of peremptory challenges must be con-
sidered state action. To the same extent as in a civil trial, a
criminal defendant’s peremptory challenges depend upon stat-
utes or decisional law and have no significance outside the
courtroom; require for their effect the processes and formal
authority of the court; result in the creation of a quintessen-
tial governmental body; and, if exercised in a discriminatory
manner, result in an injury exacerbated by its occurrence
within an official forum. No less than in the civil context,
racial bias in the criminal trial, whether the product of prose-
cutorial or defense activity, ‘‘mars the integrity of the judicial
system and prevents the idea of democratic government from
becoming a reality.’’ Jd.

Polk County v. Dodson, 454 U.S. 312 (1981), does not
suggest a contrary result. In that case, a criminal defendant
sought to sue his attorney for damages in connection with her

16

handling of the criminal defendant’s appeal.* This Court
ordered that the complaint against the attorney be dismissed
because she had not acted under color of state law for the
purposes of suit under 42 U.S.C. § 1983.° This Court empha-
sized that in her handling of the appeal, the attorney had not
‘“‘exercis[ed] power ‘possessed by virtue of state law and
made possible only because the wrongdoer is clothed with the
authority of state law.’ ’’ Jd. at 317-18, quoting United States
v. Classic, 313 U.S. 299, 326 (1941). Rather, in prosecuting
the defendant’s appeal, the attorney stood in an adversarial
relationship to the government. /d. at 322 n.13.

Significantly, however, this Court made clear in Dodson
that a public defender may act under color of law for some
purposes, id. at 324-25, and, moreover, has long recognized
that state action determinations must be made only upon a
close analysis of all relevant facts and circumstances. Burton
v. Wilmington Parking Auth., 365 U.S. at 722. Thus, a
determination that a party is not a state actor in one context
is not decisive on whether that party is a state actor in
another context. Although a criminal defendant and his or
her attorney of course stand in an adversarial relationship to
the state in the endeavor to bring to light the circumstances
of the crime and the identity of the criminal, the same is not
the case in the selection of the jury. As stated in Edmonson:

In the jury selection process, the government and private
litigants work for the same end. . . . The selection of
jurors represents a unique governmental function dele-
gated to private litigants by the government and attribut-
able to the government for purposes of invoking

4 After determining that the defendant’s claims on appeal would be
frivolous, the attorney moved for permission to withdraw as counsel
and for dismissal of the appeal, pursuant to a state rule of appellate
procedure.

5 The ‘‘under color of state law’’ requirement for actions under
§ 1983 is identical to the ‘‘state action’’ requirement for other Four-
teenth Amendment claims. See Lugar, 457 U.S. at 929.

17

constitutional protections against discrimination by rea-
son of race.

111 S.Ct. at 2086.

Moreover, unlike the public defender in Dodson, whose
decisions concerning the handling of her client’s appeal
entailed no governmental involvement whatsoever, a defense
attorney making peremptory challenges cannot accomplish his
or her ends without the participation of the trial judge—who
indisputably is a state actor. Peremptory challenges simply
have no effect until courts enforce them and exclude the chal-
lenged jurors.° Thus, the joint activity of the defense attorney
and the trial judge brings the attorney’s conduct within the
strictures of the Fourteenth Amendment. Compare Lugar,
457 U.S. at 941-42, with Flagg Brothers, Inc. v. Brooks, 436
U.S. 149 (1978) (private entity acting pursuant to state statute
is not, without more, a state actor); see also Shelley v.
Kraemer, 334 U.S. 1 (state courts cannot, consistent with the
Fourteenth Amendment, enforce private acts of race discrimi-
nation); Barrows v. Jackson, 346 U.S. 249 (1953) (precluding
state courts from awarding damages against property owners
for violating racially restrictive covenants).

Whether in a civil case involving private litigants only, or
in a criminal case pitting a defendant against the State, jury
selection remains a state function and those to whom it is
delegated engage in state action. Criminal defendants, no less
than civil litigants, require the participation and assistance of
the court to enforce their challenges and can expose potential
jurors to the humiliation of discrimination only as a result of
the jurors’ having been summoned by the State.

Accordingly, this Court’s decision in Edmonson dictates
the conclusion that the exercise of peremptory challenges by

6 For example, N.Y. Crim. Pro. Law § 270.25(1) defines ‘‘peremptory
challenge’ and describes what action is necessary to effectuate the
challenge. It provides: ‘‘A peremptory challenge is an objection to a
prospective juror for which no reason need be assigned. Upon any
peremptory challenge, the court must exclude the person challenged
from service.’’ (emphasis suppiied).

18

criminal defendants and their attorneys represents state
action.

B. Prosecutors Have Standing to Assert the Equa! Protection
Rights of Excluded Jurors.

In a long line of cases, this Court has recognized a liti-
gant’s standing to assert the rights of third parties when three
conditions are satisfied: a) injury-in-fact to the litigant; b) a
close nexus between the litigant and the third parties whose
constitutional rights are at stake; and c) serious obstacles to
the assertion of the right by the third parties themselves. See,
e.g., Craig v. Boren, 429 U.S. 190, 192-97 (1976) (beer sellers
have standing to invoke their young male customers’ equal
protection rights to buy beer at the same age as women);
Singleton v. Wulff, 428 U.S. 106, 111-18 (1976) (physicians
have standing to assert the rights of their patients to abor-
tion); Pierce v. Society of Sisters, 268 U.S. 510, 535 (1925)
(private schools have standing to assert the rights of parents
and students to choose private school education).

In Powers v. Ohio, 111 S.Ct. 1364 (1991), this Court held
that a criminal defendant has standing to assert the Equal
Protection rights of jurors excluded from service on account
of their race. The defendant’s injury was said to arise from
the doubts cast on the integrity of the judicial process by
racial discrimination:

The overt wrong, often apparent to the entire jury
panel, casts doubt over the obligation of the parties, the
jury, and indeed the court to adhere to the law through-
out the trial of the cause. . . . If the defendant has no
right to object to the prosecutor’s improper exclusion of
jurors, . . . there arise legitimate doubts that the jury
has been chosen by proper means. The composition of
the trier of fact is called into question, and the irregular-
ity may pervade all the proceedings that follow.

Id. at 1371-72. Moreover, this Court found that the ‘‘congru-
ence of interests’? between the criminal defendant and the
excluded juror made it appropriate for the defendant to raise

19

the rights of the juror, id. at 1372; and that the barriers to a
suit by an excluded juror were sufficiently daunting that ‘‘a
juror dismissed because of race probably will leave the court-
room possessing little incentive to set in motion the arduous
process needed to vindicate his own rights.’ Jd. at 1373.’ The
prosecutor’s standing to assert the Equal Protection rights of
excluded jurors is no less apparent.

First, the prosecutor is injured in the performance of his or
her professional and statutory obligations. The public prose-
cutor has an undeniable interest in conducting orderly, fair,
and lawful criminal trials that command community confi-
dence.* That interest is seriously impaired when juries are
selected on the basis of race. Unconstitutional discrimination
in jury selection may well impair the ability of a jury to
engage in impartial fact finding. Peters v. Kiff, 407 U.S. 493,
503-04 (1972). In addition, it undermines public confidence in
the fairness of the criminal justice system, see Batson, 476
U.S. at 87, and impairs the prosecutor’s ability to investigate
and prosecute crimes and to obtain the cooperation of vic-
tims and witnesses. Indeed, excluded jurors may well believe
the prosecutor is responsible for discrimination in jury selec-
tion, no matter who is in fact responsible, and may hold the
prosecutor responsible for correcting the ‘ituation. Thus, the
prosecutor clearly suffers injury-in-fact.

Moreover, the nexus between the prosecutor and the
excluded juror is sufficiently close to assure vigorous advo-
cacy of the juror’s rights. The public prosecutor has an offi-
cial duty to ensure that jury selection proceeds in a
constitutional manner. That interest is virtually identical to

7 In Edmonson, this Court, relying on Powers, held that private liti-
gants in civil cases likewise have standing to assert the Equal Protec-
tion rights of excluded jurors. 111 S.Ct. at 2087-88.

8 In Berger v. United States, 295 U.S. 78, 88 (1935), this Court
described the prosecutor as ‘‘the representative not of an ordinary
party to a controversy, but of a sovereignty whose obligation to govern
impartially is as compelling as its obligation to govern at all; and
whose interest, therefore, in a criminal prosecution is. . . that justice
shall be done.”’

20

the interest of the excluded juror in avoiding unconstitutional
exclusion from jury service.

Finally, as recognized in Powers, the victims of discrimina-
tion are ill-suited to vindicate their own rights. Potential
jurors are not parties to the jury selection process and have
no opportunity to be heard at the time of their selection or
exclusion. Excluded jurors usually are ill-situated even to
know, much less to allege and prove, which party to the
criminal action was responsible for their exclusion and why.
Their Equal Protection rights, therefore, can best be vindi-
cated only if the prosecutor is permitted to challenge what
appears to be discrimination in the defendant’s exercise of
peremptory challenges while that discrimination is occurring.

Accordingly, this Court should hold that prosecutors, no
less than criminal defendants, have standing to assert the
Equal Protection rights of excluded jurors.

C. The Rights to a Fair Trial and the Assistance of Counsel
Do Not Include the Right to Discriminate Against Pro-
spective Jurors on the Basis of Race.

In addition to urging rejection of these now-settled princi-
ples of state action and third-party standing, some criminal
defendants have asserted a special right or privilege—
apparently rooted in their Sixth Amendment rights to a jury
trial and the assistance of counsel—to exercise peremptory
challenges on the basis of race. No such right exists.

Any claim that the Sixth Amendment grants defendants the
privilege to discriminate must fail. As this Court has repeat-
edly stated, there is simply no place for racism in the court-
room. ‘‘Because of the risk that the factor of race may enter
the criminal justice process, we have engaged in ‘unceasing
efforts’ to eradicate racial prejudice from our criminal justice
system.’’ McCleskey v. Kemp, 481 U.S. 279, 309 (1987) (cita-
tion omitted). This is true especially regarding the selection of
jurors. ‘‘Exclusion of black citizens from service as jurors
constitutes a primary example of the evil the Fourteenth
Amendment was designed to cure.’’ Batson, 476 U.S. at 85.

21

Reliance on racial stereotypes and other purposeful dis-
crimination in the selection of jurors is intolerable not only
because it violates the constitutional rights of defendants;
such discrimination also violates the rights of the prospective
jurors themselves. Powers, 111 S.Ct. at 1370; Edmonson, 111
S.Ct. at 2087; Carter, 396 U.S. at 329. Moreover, this Court
has recognized that our society pays an enormous price when
the legal system tolerates racial bias. ‘‘Discrimination on the
basis of race, odious in all aspects, is especially pernicious in
the administration of justice. Selection of members of a. . .
jury because they are of one race and not another destroys
the appearance of justice and thereby casts doubt on the
integrity of the judicial process.’’ Rose v. Mitchell, 443 U.S.
545, 555-556 (1979). See also Peters v. Kiff, 407 U.S. at 502.

Preventing this harm may be even more important in those
cases like Howard Beach and the Miami police shooting cases
described above, wherein ‘‘race is implicated in the trial’’ and
public confidence in the fairness of the process is critical.
Powers, 111 S.Ct. at 1371. The benefits from eliminating all
racism in the selection of jurors in every case extend well
beyond the courtroom. ‘‘In view of the heterogeneous popu-
lation of our Nation, public respect for our criminal justice
system and the rule of law will be strengthened if we ensure
that no citizen is disqualified from jury service because of his
race.’’ Batson, 476 U.S. at 99.

Thus, defendants face a heavy burden in justifying their
use of race-based peremptory challenges—the sole remaining
instance of officially-sanctioned racism in the selection of
jurors. That burden cannot be met.

First, this Court has repeatedly upheld limits on the Sixth
Amendment rights of defendants, and on the actions of their
attorneys to advance those rights, when other important
interests were implicated. Just last term, a majority of this
Court agreed that ‘‘a State may regulate speech by lawyers
representing clients in pending cases more readily than it may
regulate the press.’’ Gentile v. State Bar of Nevada, 111
S.Ct. 2720, 2748 (1991) (O’Connor, J., concurring). ‘‘Law-

22

yers representing clients in pending cases are key participants
in the criminal justice system, and the State may demand
some adherence to the precepts of the system in regulating
their speech as well as their conduct.’’ Id. at 2744 (emphasis
added). A prime concern in Gentile was the likelihood that a
defense attorney’s extrajudicial statements would implicate
‘‘the state’s interest in fair trials.’’ Jd. at 2745.

The need to maintain the integrity and fairness of the pro-
cess, which is a key reason for the ban on discrimination in
jury selection, has served to limit defendants’ Sixth Amend-
ment rights in other contexts as well. In Wheat v. United
States, 108 S.Ct. 1692, 1697 (1988), the Court affirmed the
trial court’s refusal to accept the defendant’s waiver of the
right to conflict-free counsel, because ‘‘[f]ederal courts have
an independent interest in ensuring that criminal trials are
conducted within the ethical standards of the profession and
that legal proceedings appear fair to all who observe them.”’
See also, Nix v. Whiteside, 475 U.S. 158, 173 (1986) (Sixth
Amendment right to counsel ‘‘includes no right to have a
lawyer who will cooperate with planned perjury.’’); Press-
Enterprise Co., 464 U.S. at 510 (First Amendment right of
access to criminal proceedings limits defendants’ ability to
waive Sixth Amendment guarantee of public trial); Faretta v.
California, 422 U.S. 806 (1975) (Sixth Amendment right to
counsel does not include unfettered right to proceed pro se).

Likewise, the Court in Singer v. United States, 380 U.S. at
36, upheld the prosecution’s objection to a defendant’s
waiver of the Sixth Amendment right to a jury trial, in part
because ‘‘the Government, as a litigant, has a legitimate
interest in seeing that cases in which it believes a conviction is
warranted are tried before the tribunal which the Constitu-
tion regards as most likely to produce a fair result.’’ In Tay-
lor v. Illinois, 484 U.S. 400, 108 S.Ct. 646 (1988), the Court
reiterated that defendants had no absolute Sixth Amendment
right to present evidence. Instead, the justice system could
demand compliance with reasonable procedural and discovery
rules designed to serve the ‘‘State’s interest in the orderly
conduct of a criminal trial.’’ Jd. at 653. ‘‘More is at stake

23

than possible prejudice to the prosecution. We are also con-
cerned with the impact of this kind of conduct on the integ-
rity of the judicial process itself.’’ Jd. at 656.

The paramount public interest in preventing racism in the
criminal justice system is certainly as compelling and, there-
fore, must take precedence over a defendant’s claim to be
entitled to use racially-biased peremptory challenges in select-
ing a jury. The Sixth Amendment gives defendants no excuse
to practice racism in the courtroom.?

Nor does the attorney-client relationship, as delineated in
the Model Code of Professional Responsibility, Canon 7
(1980), confer upon criminal defendants the right to discrimi-
nate.° As stated by the Supreme Court of Hawaii:

Defense counsel, of course, has a duty to represent his
client zealously within the bounds of the law, but that
duty to the client, is the same as to the adversary system
of justice. Thus EC 7-19 states: ‘‘The duty of a lawyer
to his client and his duty to the legal system are the

same: to represent his client zealously within the bounds
of the law.”’

9 Holland v. Illinois, 493 U.S. 474, 110 S. Ct. 803 (1990), which
explained that discriminatory peremptory challenges were prohibited
by the Fourteenth Amendment rather than the Sixth Amendment, fur-
nishes no support for the view that the Sixth Amendment grants defen-
dants a right to discriminate. The majority in Holland reiterated that
“race-based exclusion is no more permissible at the individual petit
jury stage than at the venire stage.’’ 110 S.Ct. at 807; see also 110
S.Ct. at 811 (Kennedy, J., concurring):

I write this separate concurrence to note that our disposition of the
Sixth Amendment claim does not alter what I think to be the estab-
lished rule, which is that the exclusion of a juror on the basis of
race, whether or not by use of a peremptory challenge, is a violation
of the juror’s constitutional rights.
See also 110 S.Ct. at 828 (Stevens, J., dissenting) (any interest in
racially-based peremptory challenges ‘“‘rests on the assumption that a
black juror may be presumed to be partial simply because he is black—
an assumption that is impermissible since Batson.’’).

10 See also Model Rules of Professional Conduct, Rule 3.1 (1983).

24

Unfortunately, there has grown up an impression,
among some defense lawyers, that the mandate to repre-
sent a client zealously overrides the qualification ‘‘within
the bounds of the law.’”’

Here, respondent[’s] counsel was . . . attempting [by
excluding all women] to obtain what he hoped would be
a partial, rather than an impartial jury. This is not zeal-
ous representation within the bounds of the law. It is the
contrary.

State v. Levinson, 795 P.2d at 848-49.

In addition, the attorney-client privilege would not be vio-
lated by requiring criminal defendants or their attorneys to
state the reasons for their challenges, when a prima facie case
of discrimination is established. Batson, 476 U.S. at 96. The
attorney-client privilege shields from disclosure communica-
tions between attorneys and their clients, and nothing else. It
does not bar courts from requiring defendants and their
attorneys to set forth facts or reasons in support of their
requests for relief, even if those facts or reasons have previ-
ously been the subject of attorney-client communications. See
Upjohn v. United States, 449 U.S. 383, 395-96 (1981); In re
Grand Jury Subpoena Duces Tecum, 731 F.2d 1032, 1037 (2d
Cir. 1984). This requirement is hardly confined to jury selec-
tion and has never been thought to constitute an unwarranted
invasion of the attorney-client privilege or to compromise the
defendant’s trial strategy. See, e.g., Williams v. Florida, 399
U.S. 78 (1970) (upholding notice-of-alibi statute). Indeed,
criminal defendants or their attorneys must already set forth
facts or reasons in support of their requests for cause chal-
lenges.

Second, the unequivocal constitutional prohibition against
discrimination in jury selection surely takes precedence over
the only right that is directly implicated by Batson: the statu-
tory right to exercise peremptory challenges. Gray v. Missis-
sippi, 481 U.S. at 663. This Court has repeatedly held that

25

defendants have no constitutional right to peremptory caal-
lenges:

The right [of peremptory challenge] is in the nature of a
Statutory privilege, variable in the number of challenges
allowed, which may be withheld altogether without
impairing the constitutional guarantees of ‘‘an impartial
jury”’ and a fair trial.

Frazier, 335 U.S. at 505 n.11, quoting Stilson v. United

States, 250 U.S. 583, 586 (1919); see also Swain v. Alabama,
380 U.S. 202, 219 (1965)."

While there is a ‘‘long and widely held belief that the
peremptory challenge is a necessary part of trial by jury”’
(Swain, 380 U.S. at 219), the Court has permitted numerous
restrictions on defendants’ exercise of such challenges. See
Swain, 380 U.S. at 243-44 (Goldberg, J., dissenting).
“Indeed, the concept of a peremptory challenge as a totally
free-wheeling right unconstrained by any procedural require-
ments is difficult to imagine.’’ Ross v. Oklahoma, 487 U.S.
81, 108 S.Ct. 2273, 2279 (1988). One such requirement that
can and should restrict the peremptory challenge is the com-
mand of the Equal Protection Clause that there be no racial
discrimination in jury selection.

As this Court has recently explained, peremptory chal-
lenges ‘‘are a means to achieve the end of an impartial jury.”’
Id. at 2278. So long as the jurors who sit are impartial, the
fact that the defendant could not use peremptory challenges
as he or she wished ‘‘does not mean that the Sixth Amend-
ment was violated.’’ Id.; see also Lockhart v. McCree, 476
U.S. 162, 184 (1986); McDonough Power Equipment, Inc. v.

11 In fact, the number of challenges varies widely by jurisdiction. See
Hoeffner, Defendant’s Discriminatory Use of the Peremptory Chal-
lenge after Batson v. Kentucky, 11 Crim. L. Rev. 349, 350 n.3 (1989).
“‘In this country, the power of the legislature of a state to prescribe the
number of peremptory challenges is limited only by the necessity of
having an impartial jury . . . . The accused cannot complain if he is

still tried by an impartial jury. He can demand nothing more.’’ Hayes,
120 U.S. at 71.

26

Greenwood, 464 U.S. 548 (1984); Smith v. Phillips, 455 U.S.
209 (1982); Irvin v. Dowd, 366 U.S. 717, 722 (1961) (‘‘In
essence, the right to jury trial guarantees to the criminally
accused a fair trial by a panel of impartial, ‘indifferent’
jurors’’).

Third, because a ‘‘person’s race simply ‘is unrelated to his
fitness as a juror’ ”’ (Batson, 476 U.S. at 87) (citation omit-
ted), preventing defendants from relying on the irrelevant and
intolerable factor of race does not interfere in the least with
their ability to select fair jurors. Jurors ‘‘should be selected
as individuals, on the basis of individual qualifications, and
not as members of a race.’’ Cassell v. Texas, 339 U.S. 282,
286 (1950).

Thus, ‘‘a defendant in a criminal case is not constitution-
ally entitled to demand a proportionate number of his race
on the jury.’’ Swain, 380 U.S. at 208; see also Taylor v. Lou-
isiana, 419 U.S. at 538; United States v. Hatchett, 918 F.2d
631, 637 (6th Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 111 S.Ct. 2839 (1991).
Nor is a defendant entitled to use racial bias as a means of
obtaining ‘‘a jury believed by defense counsel as likely to
view the evidence in a particular way.’’ United States v.
Devin, 918 F.2d 280, 291 (Ist Cir. 1990). Defendants can no
more accomplish these prohibited ends by excluding qualified
jurors for racial reasons, then by insisting on the inclusion of
unqualified jurors of a particular race. The Constitution
requires impartiality, not favoritism. It is to be remembered
that such impartiality ‘‘requires, not only freedom from any
bias against the accused, but also from any prejudice against
his prosecution. Between him and the state the scales are to
be evenly held.’ Hayes, 120 U.S. at 70, cited in Batson, 476
U.S. at 107 (Marshall, J., concurring).

Finally, Batson imposes critical, but hardly extensive or
unwieldy, limits on the exercise of peremptory challenges.
‘“II]f race stereotypes are the price for acceptance of a jury
panel as fair, the price is too high to meet the standard of the
Constitution. Other means exist for litigants to satisfy them-
selves of a jury’s impartiality without using skin color as a

27

test.’” Edmonson, 111 S.Ct. at 2088.'? Defendants will still be
able to use voir dire, cause challenges, and unbiased peremp-
tories in order to obtain an impartial jury. See Allen v.
Hardy, 478 U.S. 255 (1986). ‘‘Absent intentional discrimina-
tion violative of the Equal Protection Clause, parties should
be free to exercise their peremptory strikes for any reason, or
no reason at all.’’ Hernandez v. New York, 111 S.Ct. 1859,
1874 (1991) (O’Connor & Scalia, JJ., concurring). Defen-
dants will only be prevented from relying on the biased

stereotypes and racist assumptions that this Court has rightly
condemned.

_ The experience in New York and other jurisdictions con-
firms this Court’s prediction that these limits on the peremp-
tory challenge will not ‘‘create serious administrative
difficulties.’’ Batson, 476 U.S. at 99. ‘‘Fears of increased
costs and prolonged trials also appear exaggerated, especially
since the minimal increases associated with the limitation’s
implementation are . . . a small price to pay for the elimina-
tion of a too tempting opportunity for discrimination that

has been too long tolerated in our courts of law.’’ Hoeffner,
supra, at 368.

CONCLUSION

In Batson, this Court rejected the claim that the ‘‘unfet-
tered exercise of the [peremptory] challenge is of vital impor-
tance to the criminal justice system.’’ 476 U.S. at 98. The
Court made it clear that the Equa! Protection Clause guaran-
tee against discrimination on the basis of race ‘‘would be

12 Some experts cling to the view, despite its repeated rejection by this
Court, that race alone should matter. See e.g., Goldwasser, Limiting a
Criminal Defendant’s Use of Peremptory Challenges: On Symmetry
and the Jury in a Criminal Trial, 102 Harv. L. Rev. 808, 838 (1989).
However, ‘‘[s]ocial scientists may debate how peoples’ thoughts and
behavior reflect their background, but the Constitution provides that
the Government may not allocate benefits and burdens among individ-
uals based on the assumption that race or ethnicity determines how
they act or think.’’ Metro Broadcasting, Inc. v. F.C.C., 110 S.Ct.
2997, 3029 (1990) (O'Connor, Kennedy & Scalia, JJ., dissenting).

28

meaningless were we to approve the exclusion of jurors on
the basis of such assumptions [about their fitness to serve],
which arise solely from the juror’s race.’’ Jd. at 97-98. Since
then, this Court has held that racially-biased peremptory
challenges are just as offensive, and unconstitutional, when
exercised by the parties in a civil trial (Edmonson) or by the
prosecution in any trial, regardless of the defendant’s race
(Powers). Discriminatory jury challenges are no more neces-
sary or legitimate when used by a criminal-defendant; the
constitutional prohibition against racial discrimination in jury
selection does not confront an invisible barrier around the
defense table in a public courtroom, leaving the defendant
free to invoke the assistance of the law and the judge to
strike jurors on the basis of race. Prohibiting defense counsel
from excluding prospective jurors on the basis of race will
eradicate the last vestige of racial discrimination in the selec-
tion of jurors.

More than fifty years ago, Justice Black wrote that ‘‘[iJt is
part of the established tradition in the use of juries as instru-
ments of public justice that the jury be a body truly repre-
sentative of the community. For racial discrimination to
result in the exclusion from jury service of otherwise quali-
fied groups not only violates our Constitution and the laws
enacted under it, but is at war with our basic concepts of a
democratic society and a representative government.’’ Smith
v. Texas, 311 U.S. 128, 130 (1940). No one seeking to prac-
tice racial discrimination should be permitted to enlist the
justice system in that war.

29

Respectfully submitted,

CHARLES J. HYNES
District Attorney

JAY M. COHEN
Assistant District Attorney
Counsel of Record

MATTHEW S. GREENBERG
VICTOR BARALL ;
CAROL TEAGUE SCHWARTZKOPF
MARGARET ANTINORI

Assistant District Attorneys

Kings County District Attorney’s Office
210 Joralemon Street

Brooklyn, New York 11201

(718) 802-2156

December 19, 1991 Counsel for Amicus Curiae

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0183%3A12. Public record. Not legal advice.
