# Opposition Brief — United States v. Thompson/Center Arms Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0175%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1992
- **Citation:** 504 U.S. 505

## Text

| Sagveme Court, U.S,

FILED

No. 91-164 AG 20 BS
HE CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1991

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Petitioner
Vv.

THOMPSON /CENTER ARMS COMPANY, a Division of the
K.W. THOMPSON TOOL CoMPANY, INC.,

Respondent

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Federal Circuit

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

STEPHEN P. HALBROOK *
10605 Judicial Drive
Suite B-3

Fairfax, VA 22030
(703) 385-8610

Attorney for Respondent

* Counsel of Record

—————————————— assay

WILGON - Eras Printinc Co., Inc. - 789-0086 . Waswincron. D.C 20001

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the Contender single-shot pistol and carbine
kit, which are intended to be made only as a pistol with
a 10” barrel and as a rifle with a 21” barrel, nonethe-
less constitute a rifle having a barrel of less than 16” in
length under the Internal Revenue Code, § 5845(a) (3),
even though not made as such and even though the
United States concedes that use of two receivers would
remove these parts from such taxation.

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTION PRESENTED ..............0... i
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ........... iv
STATEMENT OF THE CASE... 1
SE 8
I. THE DEFINITIONS OF “RIFLE” AND
OTHER RELEVANT TERMS PRECLUDE
CLASSIFICATION OF THE CONTENDER
PISTOL AND CARBINE KIT AS AN NFA
a x
A. The Narrow Definition of “Rifle” Contrasted
with Broader NFA Definitions 8
B. When Congress Intended to Define a Type of
Rifle as Including a Combination of Parts,
It Did So, and Then Only If Intent is
TEE ee 10
C. The Firearms Owner’s Protection Act of
1986 and the Crime Control Act of 1990... 12

D. The Government Would Expand The Defini-
tion to Include A Product Capable Of Being
Made Into A Taxable Rifle... 13

II. THE DEFINITIONS AT ISSUE MUST BE
CONSTRUED IN FAVOR OF THE TAX-

ES ES ETE A 19
III. THE CIRCUITS ARE NOT IN CONFLICT... 21
A. No Other Reported Cases Concern a Pistol
Se Saleen 21
B. While Flawed, Drasen Does Not Apply to the
Products at Issue... SP aa ae 24

C. At the Government’s Urging, Drasen Was
Based on a Revenue Ruling Which Was
a add a NE ee 27

RE inhenbil 30

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page
Alinco Life Ins. Co. v. United States, 178 Ct. Cl.

813, 373 F.2d 336 (1967)... 21
Commissioner v. Acker, 361 U.S; 87 (1959) 2... 20
Commissioner v. Engle, 464 US. 206 ( 1984)... 20
Gould v. Gould, 245 U.S. 151 (1917)... 19
Hanover Bank v. Commissioner, 369 U.S. 672

REY FOREGO ee nae a 21
Haynes v. United States, 390 U.S. 85 (1968) ......7, 17, 19

Hoffman Estates v. Flipside, 455 U.S. 489 (1982)... 12
Martin v. Harrington & Richardson, Inc., 743 F.2d

cae Coen Gee 27
Russello v. United States, 464 U.S. 16 (1983)... 20
Sonzinsky v. United States, 300 U.S. 506 (1937)... 7,19
Thompson/Center Arms Co. v. Baker, 686 F. Supp.

II I inlet i 19
United States v. Anderson, 885 F.2d 1248 (5th Cir

RETR EE Engen oe 18
United States v. Bass, 404 U.S. 336 (1971)... 20
United States v. Biswell, 406 U.S. 311 (1972)........ 17
United States v. Bradley, 892 F.2d 634 (7th Cir.

Peickstucuichisiaica ee 25
United States v. Catanzaro, 368 F. Supp. 450 (D.

i ee Teton hs Lats BAL Soe 23
United States v. Combs, 762 F.2d 1343 (9th Cir.

BF EE ee be ee kN Ad AP ere a 23
United States v. Cosey, 244 F. Supp. 100 (E.D.

Ee Rr yey eee 16

United States v. Drasen, 665 F. Supp. 598 (N.D.
Ill. 1987), rev’d 845 F.2d 731 (7th Cir. 1988),

cert. denied, 488 U.S. 909 (1988)... is 24-30
United States v. Endicott, 803 F.2d 506 (9th Cir.

ee ae ae 22
United States v. Freed, 401 U.S. 601 (1971) 7,18
United States v. Kokin, 365 F.2d 595 (3rd Cir.

| RRR LSE soe eR RE aE Ty 5 22
United States v. Lauchli, 371 F.2d 303 (7th Cir

ATE SES eR ace LE: 9 Oe ee 21

United States v. Luce, 726 F.2d 47 (1st Cir. 1984). 22
United States v. Miller, 307 U.S. 174 (1939) 7

v
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

United States v. Posnjak, 457 F.2d 1110 (2nd Cir.
PEERS OE TROLL TEPER
United States v. Rose, 695 F.2d 1356 (10th Cir.
1982), cert. denied 104S.Ct.128..... ss
United States v. Seven Miscellaneous Firearms,
503 F. Supp. 565 (D.D.C. 1980).
United States v. Smith, 477 F.2d 399 (8th Cir.
a PRT =D ee Seta a
United States v. ysasesesat 492 F.2d 962 (7th
Cir. I wioshdlbceiaatidilis cite ad LO

1977), cert. denied 435 US. 906 EE

CONSTITUTION, STATUTES AND
REGULATIONS

U.S. Constitution, Second Amendment _ Sa:
18 U.S.C. § 921 (a) Tk 12
18 U.S.C. § 922(r)
18 U.S.C. § 925(d) (3)
26 U.S.C. § 5821
26 U.S.C. § 5822
26 U.S.C.§5845...
| aan
| | ee
a
SE A ee een
26 U.S.C. § 5845(e). Ee ES
SES ane
I Oem
ET SE ea ne
Firearms Owner’s Protection Act, §§ 101, 109,
P.L. 99-308, 100 Stat. 451 (May 19, 1986) .
P.L. 99-408, § 10, 100 Stat. 920 (Aug. 28, 1986) x
RR See AT aS ll
| cae ichieteidintenedlle
27 C.F.R. § 179.11 Ade Dn tee? ene REE DER a so

OTHER AUTHORITIES

ATF Ruling 83-5, ATFB 1983-3,35 sis
CONG. REC., S5362-63 (May 6,1986)

Page

7

» 16, 22

14

passim
passim
6,9, 25

_... passim

23
23

9,15

. 12, 25

12
29

8
29

. 10, 16

25

vi

IN THE
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued Supreme Court of the United States
Page
OCTOBER TERM, 1991

Rev. Rul. 54-606, 1954-2, C.B. 33 000. 27-29
Rev. Rul. 72-178, 1972-1, C.B. 423 00. 28-29
Wright & Rossii ARMED AND CONSIDERED

DANGEROUS: A SURVEY OF FELONS AND | No. 91-164

THEIR FIREARMS (1986) 7

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Petitioner
Vv.

THOMPSON/CENTER ARMS COMPANY, a Division of the
K.W. THOMPSON TOOL CoMPANY, INC.,

Respondent

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Federal Circuit

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Contender sporting pistol has been made by Thomp-
son/Center Arms* since 1967. It has a 10” barrel, is
inconcealable, and is a single shot, requiring each car-
tridge to be loaded and unloaded by hand before another
shot can be fired. Out of 400,000 Contender pistols man-
ufactured, the company is unaware of a single person
ever using a Contender in a crime. The pistol has taken
top honors as the leading pistol for hunting and target
competition. (App. 2a; Court of Appeals Appendix 56-
57.)

* Respondent has no parent companies or subsidiaries.

2

The Thompson/Center carbine kit consists of a 21”
barrel, a wooden foreend to hold the carbine while shoot-
ing, and a shoulder stock. Removal of the 10” pistol
barrel, foreend, and hand grip allows use of the pistol
frame or receiver (the part which holds internal parts
and to which the barrel and stock attach) to be assem-
bled with the carbine kit parts to make a carbine (a type
of rifle). The following conspicuous warning is molded on
the carbine shoulder stock: “WARNING. FEDERAL
LAW PROHIBITS USE WITH BARREL LESS THAN
16 INCHES.” More detailed warnings to avoid violation
of the National Firearms Act (“NFA”) are included in
the Lit instructions. App. 2a.

Sportsmen, who would provide the only market for
the Contender pistol and carbine kit, have no incentive
to make a rifle with a barrel less than 16”. The sports-
men who would use this product are generally law-abid-
ing, and also the 10” pistol barrel used with a shoulder
stock would have no sporting utility.

Nor would criminals have any motive to make a rifle
with a barrel under 16” from the Contender pistol and
carbine kit. A Contender with a 10” barrel and a huge
shoulder stock is even less concealable than a Contender
pistol. No criminal demand for single shot firearms
exists."

A retired BATF expert examined a complete Contender
pistol and a complete Contender carbine. It took him
over 10 minutes to remove and assemble parts on these
guns in such a way as to simulate the time it would take

' Indeed, the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms (“BATF”)
has removed large numbers of semiautomatic pistols with instantly
attachable shoulder stocks, and rifles with barrels less than 16”, from
the NFA. Almost all items on BATF’s curio and relic list are short-
barrel rifles removed from the NFA because they are “not likely to
be used as a weapon.” 26 U.S.C. Section 5845(a) (last sentence) :
Appeals Appendix 48-49.

3

to convert a pistol into a carbine using a carbine kit.
(Appeals Appendix 48. )

Any rifle or shotgun barrel is capable of being readily
made into a short-barrel NFA firearm with a hacksaw.
A 21” Contender carbine barrel can be cut off in 25
seconds with a common hacksaw. (Appeals Appendix
103-104.) Moreover, a complete Contender pistol and a
complete Contender carbine are capable of having parts
exchanged to make an NFA firearm, but BATF concedes
that these items do not constitute a short-barrel rifle.

In 1971, Rex D. Davis, the BATF Director, wrote to
Thompson /Center as follows:

You.asked if it would be legal to utilize the receiver
of the Contender pistol in making up a single shot
carbine with a barrel 18 inches long and with a full
shoulder stock.

You are advised that the manufacture of a carbine
such as you describe, by utilizing a pistol action,
would be legal and the firearm so produced would not
= within the purview of the National Firearms

ae

In view of the interchangeable barrel capabilities
of your Contender action, we believe that it would be
in the public interest for you to include a cautionary
Statement with each firearm. This statement would
serve to advise the purchaser that any reduction of
the barrel length of the carbine to less than 16
inches, whether by substitution of the carbine barrel
with one of your pistol barrels or otherwise, or the
reduction of the overall length of the weapon to
less than 26 inches would constitute the making of a
firearm within the purview of Section 5845(a) of
- National Firearms Act. (Appeals Appendix 31-

) :

In 1973, BATF addressed the “Sportsman’s Kit,” con-
sisting of a pistol with interchangeable 16” and 4” bar-
rels and a shoulder stock. The BATF Assistant Director

4

determined that the items are not an NFA firearm, and
recommended that the manufacturer provide warnings
not to attach the shoulder stock to the gun when the
4” barrel is installed. (Appeals Appendix 34.) Several
more letter rulings over the years repeated that to be
an NFA rifle, the shoulder stock must be attached. (£.g.,
id. at 35-38, 60). The government does not mention these
letter rulings. See Petition 3 n.3.

The above was disregarded by a subordinate employee
who wrote a letter in 1985 claiming that the Contender
pistol and carbine kit just introduced by Thompson/
Center Arms was a short-barrel rifle under the NFA,
even though not assembled as such. BATF happily ad-
ministered the NFA in the years 1968-1985 without the
sky falling, despite its view that pistols and carbine kits
are not NFA firearms.

The purpose of the conversion kit is to make a rifle
with a 21” barrel, not, as the government states in its
version of the Question Presented, to “allow the pistols
readily to be converted into rifles with 10-inch barrels.” 2
That is like saying that Thompson/Center manufactures
rifles with 21” barrels that “allow” the barrels readily
to be sawed off, or that the company manufactures fire-
arms that “allow” persons readily to murder other
persons.

The government claims that a unit that includes a
receiver, 10” barrel, and shoulder stock “is literally a
weapon ‘designed . . . and intended to be fired from the
shoulder’ ” with a barre] less than 16”. Petition 7. This
is not the case if the unit includes a 21” barrel with
warnings and instructions not to assemble a rifle with a

* Also in the Question Presented the government incorrectly as-
serts that Thompson/Center “manufactures” conversion kits. Kits
were manufactured only for a brief period in 1985. Only one pistol
and carbine kit were possessed as a unit in connection with the
payment of the $200 tax and the claim for a refund.

es Se

5

barrel under 16”. No “weapon” exists unless it is as-
sembled, because mere parts cannot be fired. The “de-
sign” of the manufacturer and the “intent” of the user
is to make only a pistol with a 10” barrel or a rifle with
a 21” barrel.

The government misrepresents the version of the facts
set forth by the Court of Appeals. That court allegedly
claimed that “the short-barrel Contender rifle” is unlike
silencers because it is not a gangster device. Petition 14,
claiming to cite App. 15a. Instead, the court found that
the pistol and carbine kit with 21” barrel is not a short-
barrel rifle.

The government refers to “the distinction between
‘good’ and ‘bad’ short-barrel rifles that the court of
appeals seeks to draw.” Petition 14. To the contrary,
the court found that the items at issue are not a short-
barrel rifle at all.

The government also distorts the Court of Appeals’
discussion of contrasting “combination-of-parts” defini-
tions. The Court was concerned with the definitions of
machinegun, destructive device, and silencer as including
a complete combination of parts from which such weap-
ons could be assembled (with various intent standards) ,
and the lack of any such definition of rifle. App. 7a-8a.
Yet the government misreads the court as being con-
cerned with a combination of parts to convert a weapon
into a rifle. Petition 10. The court did not remotely sug-
gest, as does the government, that this case concerns
whether a conversion kit alone is regulated by the NFA.°
Petition 10-11.

* Until now the parties and courts have been concerned only with
the lefinitions of machinegun, destructive device, and silencer as
including a combination of parts from which a complete weapon can
be assembled. Only now is the government interjecting the irrele-
vant definition of machinegun as including “any part designed and
intended solely and exclusively, or combination of parts designed and

6

In still another red herring, the government claims
that the Court of Appeals concluded that a “firearm’—
by implication, any NFA “firearm’—is not “made”
until assembled. Petition 7. Yet the court acknowledged
the varied definitions of “firearm” in the NFA, which de-
fines machineguns and certain other weapons as being
made when a complete combination of unassembled parts
is possessed, but does not so define rifles. The court’s
opinion is not a serious threat to the enforcement of the
NFA because it does not require “that a firearm be fully
assembled.” Petition 15. The court ruled that a rifle and
carbine kit which will never be assembled as a short-
barrel rifle, is not such a rifle. The opinion does not
address other NFA “firearms” other than to acknowledge
that some types (such as machinegun) need not be as-
sembled. Accordingly, the government’s whining about
trafficking in dangerous “firearms” and circumvention
of the NFA evaporates. Petition 15-16.

The government contradictorily assets that sporting
or criminal use in defining a weapon is irrelevant, but
that the court’s opinion will allow weapons of mass de-
struction. Petition 14, 16. It raises the bogeyman word
“Uzi,” failing to note that normally that term refers
to a machinegun and thus is subject to a combination of
parts definitions.‘ Generally, a short-barrel rifle is less

intended, for use in converting a weapon into a machinegun. .. .”
26 U.S.C. § 5845(b). Only the next phrase of that subsection is rele-
vant here—‘“any combination of parts from which a machinegun can
be assembled if such parts are in the possession or under the control
of a person.”

Contrary to the government, destructive device is not defined to
include a mere conversion kit. Petition 11 n.8. Rather, 26 U.S.C.
§ 5845(f)(3) requires that all the parts to assemble a complete
destructive device must be present: “any combination of parts
either designed or intended for use in converting any device into a
destructive device ... and from which a destructive device may be
readily assembled.”

* A cosmetically-similar semiautomatic model Uzi is imported into
the United States only because BATF found it to be particularly

7

likely to be used in crime than any other type of firearm,
including a long barrel rifle.» BATF has removed numer-
ous short-barrel rifles, including semiautomatics, from
the NFA because they are not likely to be used as weap-
ons." Under these circumstances, the Court of Appeals
opinion—that items that will never be made into a short-
barrel rifle do not constitute a short-barrel rifle—will not
cause the sky to fall.

The Court of Appeals’ decision contains no general
Statements of constitutional or statutory jurisprudence,
Instead, it merely applies the law to the obscure, specific
factual situation of the Contender pistol and carbine kit.
The government’s claims that the decision “drastically”
erodes the NFA and that this case has “exceptional ad-
ministrative importance” ring hollow. Petition 6.

Since passage of the NFA in 1934, this Court has never
granted certiorari in a case where the only claim is that
a court misapplied a definition of a type of firearm to a
specific set of facts. NFA issues of interest to the Court
have included the constitutional] power of Congress to
pass the NFA as a revenue measure, the Second Amend-
ment, registration and self-incrimination, and scienter.’

suitable for sporting purposes. 18 U.S.C. §925(d)(3); United
States v. Rose, 695 F.2d 1356, 1357 (10th Cir. 1982), cert. denied,
104 S.Ct. 123. As in the case at bar, “the carton, the instructions,
and the firearm itself contained warnings that modification of the
firearm was unlawful.” No one would suggest that the importer was
responsible for the owner quickly and easily sawing off the barrel in
that case.

5J. Wright and P. Rossi, ARMED AND CONSIDERED DAN-
GEROUS: A SURVEY OF FELONS AND THEIR FIREARMS
94-95 (1986). Plaintiff’s Claims Court Exhibits A58. The study
= conducted under the auspices of the National Institute of
ustice.

® See 26 U.S.C. § 5845(a) (last sentence ).

" Sonzinsky V. United States, 300 U.S. 506 (1937); United States
V. Miller, 307 U.S. 174 (1939); Haynes v. United States, 390 U.S.
85 (1968) ; United States vy. Freed, 401 U.S. 601 (1971).

8

This case is of importance to Thompson/Center and to
sportsmen who would be able to use Contender pistols
and carbines without the need to purchase a separate
receiver for each. However, the government has not
shown that the Court of Appeals’ decision warrants this
Court’s review.

ARGUMENT

I. THE DEFINITIONS OF “RIFLE” AND OTHER
RELEVANT TERMS PRECLUDE CLASSIFICATION
OF THE CONTENDER PISTOL AND CARBINE KIT
AS AN NFA FIREARM

A. The Narrow Definition of “Rifle” Contrasted with
Broader NFA Definitions

The Contender pistol and carbine kit is intended for
use as a pistol with a 10” barrel and a rifle with a 21”

barrel. Neither of these guns are “firearms” as techni-
cally defined in 26 U.S.C. Sec. 5845 (a).

Mere capacity to convert a gun into an NFA firearm
does not make the gun an NFA firearm. Otherwise, all
long-barrel rifles would be short-barrel rifles, merely be-
cause the barrels can be quickly sawed off. Indeed, the
government does not argue that a mere combination of
parts which could be, but are not in fact and are not in-
tended to be, made and assembled into an NFA firearm,
constitute an NFA firearm. It agrees that a Contender
pistol and a Contender carbine (each with its own sep-
arate receiver)* do not constitute NFA firearms.

As reenacted in 1968, the definition of “rifle” in the
National Firearms Act, § 5845(c), is as follows: “The
term ‘rifle’ means a weapon designed or redesigned, made
or remade, and intended to be fired from the shouldey
and designed or redesigned and made or remade to use

’The receiver is the housing to which the barrel, stock, and
internal parts attach. See 27 C.F.R. § 178.11 (“firearm frame or
receiver’).

9

the energy of the explosive in a fixed cartridge to fire
only a single projectile through a rifled bore for each
single pull of the trigger, and shall include any such
weapon which may be readily restored to fire a fixed cart-
ridge.” The last definitional clause was added in 1968,

The 1968 amendments also included the following defi-
nition: “The term ‘make’ and the various derivatives of
such word, shall include manufacturing . . ., putting to-
gether, altering, any combination of these, or otherwise
producing a firearm.” 26 U.S.C. § 5845(i).

Thus, “the term rifle 4means a weapon ... made or
remade” (§ 5845[c]), and “the term ‘make’ . . . Shall
include . . . putting together” (§ 5845[i]). The definition
of “make” as “putting together” would have no meaning
if a mere combination of parts which had never been put
together as such constituted “a rifle having a barrel or
barrels of less than 16 inches in length” as used in
§ 5845 (a) (3).

By contrast, those firearms ( i.e., machineguns and over
-50 caliber rifles) which are defined in terms of combina-
tions of the parts, are “made” even before being “put
together.” * These firearms are “made” when a combina-
tion of parts from which such firearms may be assembled
are “manufactur/ed] or otherwise produc[ed]”
($ 5845[i]), subject to, in the case of over .50 caliber
rifles, the parts being designed or intended and readily
capable of being assembled as such.

A Contender pistol and carbine kit fit neither of the
two definitions of “rifle” having a barrel less than 16”.

*26 U.S.C. § 5845(b) provides: “The term ‘machinegun’ means

- any combination of parts from which a machinegun can be

assembled if such parts are in the possession or under the control

of a person.” §5845(f) defines “destructive device” to include a

non-sporting rifle with a bore over .50 inches (or caliber), and a

combination of parts designed or intended to assemble such a rifle,
if the parts can be “readily converted” into such a rifle.

10

Mere parts never assembled as such neither constitute
a “weapon” that “shoots,” nor are they “restorable” to
something they have never been."®

In sum, the 1968 Act introduced several new precise
and carefully distinguishable terms. The term “rifle” is
restricted to a “weapon” which is “made or remade,”
terms which include “putting together,” and also includes
an item which can be “readily restored” to be a rifle,
which assumes that the item is being returned to a pre-
vious condition. By contrast, “machinegun” was amended
to include, inter alia, “a combination of parts from which
a machinegun can be assembled.” Obviously, Congress
did not intend the latter definition to apply to “rifle.”

B. When Congress Intended to Define a Type of Rifle
as Including a Combination of Parts, It Did So, and
Then Only If Intent is Present

In the Gun Control Act of 1968, Congress wrote or
rewrote definitions for two kinds of rifles: short barrel
rifles, and rifles with bores of more than one-half inch in
diameter (“destructive devices”). Congress sharply con-
trasted the definitions of these two kinds of rifles.

Congress broadly defined a “destructive device” in
§ 5845(f) in part as follows:

. (2) any type of weapon by whatever name
known which will, or which may be readily con-
verted to, expel a projectile by the action of an ex-
plosive or other propellant, the barrel or barrels of
which have a bore of more than one-half inch in di-
ameter, except a shotgun . . .; and (3) any combina-

1° “The ‘readily restorable’ definition defines weapons which previ-
ously could shoot... but will not in their present condition.” ATF
Ruling 83-5, ATFB 1983-3, 35. “The term which Congress saw fit
to use in the statute, ‘restorable’, is defined by Webster ‘to bring
back to a former or normal condition, as by repairing... .’” United
States v. Seven Miscellaneous Firearms, 503 F. Supp. 565, 574
(D.D.C. 1980).

11

tion of parts either designed or intended for use in
converting any device into a destructive device as
defined in subparagraphs (1) and (2) and from
which a destructive device may be readily assembled.
The term “destructive device” shall not include any
. . . rifle which the owner intends to use solely for
sporting purposes. (Emphasis added. )

The above was intended to include large bore military
rifles without sporting uses, and combinations of parts
intended to be assembled as such, The NFA definitions
of both “rifle’ and “destructive device” include fully
made (assembled) weapons. However, while a “rifle”
(including a short-barrel rifle) includes “any such
weapon which may be readily restored to fire a fixed
cartridge,” a rifle with a bore of more than one-half inch
in diameter is a destructive device if it “may be readily
converted to expel a projectile’. The broader “readily
converted” language does not require that a device have
previously been a destructive device. As a practical mat-
ter, the “readily-convertible” definition could not apply to
“rifle,” since every rifle is readily convertible to a short-
barrel rifle by use of a hacksaw.

Neither definition includes a mere combination of parts
from which a short-barrel rifle or rifle with bore over one
half inch can be assembled. Only the latter includes “any
combination of parts either designed or intended for use
in converting any device into a destructive device .. . and
from which a destructive device may be readily as-
sembled.” § 5845(f) (3).

This demonstrates that Congress rejected a strict “com-
bination of parts” definition for NFA firearms in general,
requiring in the case of destructive devices the elements
both of design or intent," and capability of being readily

"! While “intended” normally refers to the intent of the person in
possession, “design” refers to the intent of the manufacturer and
the predominant use of a product. A product merely capable of

12

assembled. Congress did not adopt an absolute liability
standard for rifles to encompass a combination of parts
which are expressly not intended to be assembled with
a barrel less than 16” in length.

C. The Firearms Owner’s Protection Act of 1986 and
the Crime Control Act of 1990

In the 1986 amendments enacted as the Firearms Own-
ers’ Protection Act, Congress revisited and had ample
opportunity to expand the definition of particular fire-
arms by addition of “combination of parts” language such
as already existed for machineguns and destructive de-
vices. It did enact similar language in reference to two
types of firearms, but did not do so in reference to the
term “rifle.”

The term “silencer” was not defined before 1986. The
Firearms Owners’ Protection Act added the following:
“The terms ‘firearm silencer’ and ‘firearm muffler’ mean
any device for silencing, muffling, or diminishing the re-
port of a portable firearm, including any combination of
parts, designed or redesigned, and intended for use in
assembling or fabricating a firearm silencer or firearm
muffler, and any part intended only for use in such as-
sembly or fabrication.” 26 U.S.C. § 5845(a) ( 7), incor-
porating 18 U.S.C. § 921(a) (24) (emphasis added).'
This precludes any interpretation that a mere combina-
tion of parts, without intent, is a silencer.

illegal use is not “designed” for the illegal use. Thus, “items which
are principally used for nondrug purposes, such as ordinary pipes,
are not ‘designed for use’ with illegal drugs.” Hoffman Estates vy.
Flipside, 455 U.S. 489, 501 (1982).

'2 Moreover, in connection with a new provision in 18 U.S.C.
§ 921(a)(17)(B) concerning certain ammunition, the following defi-
nition was enacted: “ ‘handgun means any firearm including a pistol
or revolver designed to be fired by the use of a Single hand. The
term also includes any combination of parts from which a handgun
can be assembled.” P.L. 99-408, Section 10, 100 Stat. 920 (Aug. 28,
1986) (emphasis added).

13

In the Crime Control Act of 1990, Congress amended
the Gun Control Act to provide: “It shall be unlawful
for any person to assemble from imported parts any semi-
automatic rifle or any shotgun which is identical to any
rifle or shotgun prohibited from importation under
$ 925(d) (3) of this chapter as not being particularly
suitable for or readily adaptable to sporting purposes.

.-” 18 U.S.C. § 922(r). In other words, a “rifle’ does
not exist until it is “assemble[d]” from “parts” (in this
case, “imported parts’’).

By such enactments, Congress has again clearly ex-
pressed its intent that a combination-of-parts definition
does not apply to rifles, and that even where it applies
to certain NFA firearms, an intent requirement may
exist." BATF concedes that a combination-of-parts
theory does not apply to possession of a complete pistol
and a complete carbine, but illogically argues such theory
if only one receiver is present. Nothing in the NFA
justifies this expansion of the statute.

D. The Government Would Expand The Definition to
Include A Product Capable Of Being Made Into A
Taxable Rifle

Any conventional rifle can be made into an NFA fire-
arm in a few seconds by sawing off the barrel. The gov-
ernment argues that mere capability of being made into
an NFA firearm causes the Contender pistol and carbine
kit to be an NFA firearm.

The government assumes that there is nothing to pre-
vent a consumer from attaching the shoulder stock to the
pistol. Imprisonment of ten years and a $10,000 fine
seems adequate incentive to encourage consumers to ob-

'* The definitions of “destructive device” and “firearm silencer”
both require that the combinations of parts be designed and/or in-
tended to be assembled as such. Only “machinegun” does not include
the intent requirement. “Rifle” has no combination of parts defini-
tion, with or without intent.

14

tain the Secretary’s permission and pay a $200 tax before
making a short barrel rifle. 26 U.S.C. §§ 5821, 5822,
5871. The government could also argue that there is
nothing to prevent a dealer from selling Contender pis-
tols and not paying income tax on the profits. Yet
Thompson/Center is no more responsible for someone
else’s failure to pay a tax than it would be responsible
for a murder committed with a Contender pistol and
carbine kit.

BATF acknowledges that a complete pistol and com-
plete carbine are not within the scope of the NFA unless
the components are actually assembled as a short barrel
rifle. (App. 3a) A complete pistol and a complete rifle
are just as capable of assembly into a short barrel rifle
as is a pistol and carbine kit, but do not constitute an
NFA firearm unless “actually assembled” as such. The
Petition’s failure to mention this is revealing.

At oral argument, counsel showed the Claims Court
actual samples of a complete pistol and a complete car-
bine—each with its own separate receiver—and illustrated
with various tools how the barrels, shoulder stock, and
grip are removed and assembled. (Appeals Appendix
107-109.) The government uses this demonstration to
argue that a pistol and carbine kit may be used to
“create” an NFA firearm. Petition 3 n.2. In fact, it
showed that a complete pistol and a complete carbine—
which is concededly not an NFA firearm—can be used
to make such a firearm.

This demonstrates the absurdity of the agency’s “one
receiver” theory. If the pistol and carbine kit use the
same receiver, a short-barrel rifle allegedly exists, even
though one is never created. If two receivers are present
—one for the pistol and one for the carbine—a_ short-
barrel rifle admittedly does not exist. Nothing in the
statute sanctions this contradictory result.

15

The NFA defines some firearms as combinations of
parts (machineguns), others as combinations of parts
with intent (destructive devices, silencers), and _ stil]
others without any such definition (rifles). The govern-
ment ignores these differences and claims that rifles are
implicitly defined the same as machineguns.

“Rifle” means a “weapon” that has been ‘made”’
($ 5845(c)), not parts from which a weapon “can be
made.” Any rifle “can be made” into an NFA firearm by
sawing off the barrel.'* The government does not attempt
to explain why other NFA firearms have combinatiun-of-
parts definitions but “rifle” does not.

Similarly, the government’s discussion of the term
“make” in § 5845(i) ignores why Congress saw fit to
include “putting together” as a definition. There must
be at least something that must be “put together” before
it is an NFA firearm, or this definition would not exist.
It must be an NFA firearm—such as “rifle’—that is not
defined as a combination of parts. The government’s
focus on the definition of “make” as “or otherwise pro-
ducing a firearm” begs the question, for it does not ad-
dress when a firearm is made or produced,

The government assumes that lack of intent to make
a Contender pistol and carbine kit into a short barrel
rifle is irrelevant. However, all the evidence in the record
is that no owner would have any intent to make such a
rifle. The very definition of rifle includes the terms “in-
tended to be fired from the shoulder.” § 5845(c). It
was never suggested in this case that Thompson /Center
or anyone else did or would possess a pistol and carbine
kit with the intent to make a weapon with a short barrel
to be fired from the shoulder.

The government seems to assume that if a tax crime can be
“quickly and easily” committed, then it already has been committed.
Yet one has not murdered someone just because one could “quickly
and easily” do so, and one has not violated the Internal Revenue
Code just because one could “quickly and easily” do so.

16

When Congress intended that combinations of parts
possessed with a certain “intent” were NFA firearms,
it said so. §§ 5845/f) (3); 5845(a) (7) (incorporating
18 U.S.C. § 921(a)(24)). No such definition exists for
“rifle.”

In ordinary English, to be “restored” means to return
to a previous condition. Congress recognized this in en-
acting both “readily restored” and “combination of parts”
definitions of “machinegun.” “The ‘readily restorable’
definition defines weapons which previously could shoot
... but will not in their present condition.” ATF Ruling
83-5, ATFB 1983-3, 35.

The government argues that Congress would not have
adopted a readily-restorable test without also adopting a
readily-convertible (or readily-makable) test. Petition
9. Congress did not do so, because every rifle is readily
convertible in seconds by sawing to be a short-barre!
rifle. It adopted no readily-makable test because pistol
and rifle parts may be interch&ngeable; indeed, the gov-
ernment agrees that a complete pistol and complete car-
bine, while interchangeable, are not a short-barrel rifle.
Perhaps Congress adopted a readily restorable test be-
cause the item had been a functional NFA firearm, was
presumably possessed with intent to restore to such a
weapon, and could be so restored in seconds ( e.g., using a
nail for a firing pin, such as in United States v. Cosey,
244 F. Supp. 100, 102 (E.D. La. 1965).

For whatever reasons, Congress chose the word “re-
store.” The Contender pistol and carbine kit “can be
assembled”—the government is careful not to say “re-
stored”—into a short-barrel rifle in less than five min-
utes. Petition 9 n.7.

The government suggests that the Court’s opinion would
have a detrimental impact on enforcement of the firearms
laws. No basis exists for this assertion. The only prac-

17

tical impact of the decision is that consumers need not
purchase a complete pistol and a complete rifle—each
with an identical receiver—but may purchase a pistol
and rifle parts with only one receiver for use with each.

The government argues that some products, such as a
bicycle, are shipped unassembled." Petition 8. To use
the same analogy, no one would say that bicycle handle
bars are clubs, or that chains are weapons, just because
they could be so used. Further, a bicycle is intended to
be assembled into one and only one product, and is not
defined in technical, legal terms in a taxing statute with
criminal penalties. A better analogy would be a bottle,
gas, and a rag, which constitute a Molotov-cocktai]—an
NFA firearm—only if assembled or intended to be as-
sembled as such.’*

The government misreads Haynes v. United States,
890 U.S. 85, 88 (1968), which states only that “the acts
of making and transferring firearms are broadly de-
fined.” Petition 7. This only says that any making or
transferring of a firearm are encompassed within the
statute, not that the firearms themselves are broadly
defined. See United States vy. Biswell, 406 U.S. 311, 313
n.2 (1972) (“the sawed-off rifles... fell under 26 U.S.C.
$ 5845’s technical definition of ‘firearms’”) In fact, the
NFA definition of “firearm” encompasses such guns as
are generally known to be highly regulated, not such in-
nocuous sporting guns as a Contender pistol and carbine

The government also states that rifles may be sold with bolts
detached, and that shotguns have removable barrels. Petition 8 n.5.
There is nothing in the record concerning this point. It could be
that the bolts may be inserted in five seconds.

‘© As stated in United States vy. Posnjak, 457 F.2d 1110, 1119
(2nd Cir. 1972): “When, however, the components are capabie of
conversion into both such a device and another object not covered
by the statute, intention to convert the components into the ‘destruc-
tive device’ may be important.”

18

kit." The National Firearms Act “may well be premised
on the theory that one would hardly be surprised to
learn that possession of hand grenades is not an innocent
act. They are highly dangerous offensive weapons. . . .”
United States v. Freed, 401 U.S. 601, 609 (1971). As
noted by Justice Brennan, concurring: “the firearms cov-
ered by the Act are major weapons such as machine guns
and sawed-off shotguns. . . . Without exception, the
likelihood of governmental regulation of the distribution
of such weapons is so great that anyone must be pre-
sumed to be aware of it.” Jd. at 616.

The government position in this case does not pass the
above “smell test” set forth in Freed. No one would ever
guess, much less presume, that a Contender pistol and
carbine kit are supposedly a “major weapon” and an
NFA firearm. Defendant argues that the NFA is gen-
erally applicable to “gangster-type” weapons, but does
not contest that the Contender pistol and carbine kit is
not a criminal-type weapon. Defendant’s argument re-
duces to absurd, bureaucratic hair-splitting nowhere
suggested in the statute: an NFA firearm exists if only
one Contender receiver is used to make a pistol and
carbine, but does not exist if two identical Contender
receivers are used. Nothing in the statute even hints
at this arbitrary distinction invented by the agency.

17 As stated in United States v. Anderson, 885 F.2d 1248, 1250
(5th Cir. 1989) (en banc):

As used in the Act, the word “firearms” is a term of art that
includes primarily weapons thought to be of a military nature
and of no legitimate use for sport or self-defense. .. .

Instead, the term is defined in the Act so as to narrow its
meaning vastly in most respects. . . . Generally speaking, all
such categories of ordinary rifles, pistols and shotguns as
might be found in a gun shop are excluded from its meaning,
with only a few easily-concealable items such as sawed-off shot-
guns included, along with machine guns.

19

II. THE DEFINITIONS AT ISSUE MUST BE CON-
STRUED IN FAVOR OF THE TAXPAYER

Given the clear language of the statutory definitions,
the Contender pistol and carbine kit do not constitute
taxable “firearms” under § 5845(a). At the very least,
considerable doubt exists as to whether the items are
taxable.'* Thus, this case comes under the rule set forth
in Gould v. Gould, 245 U.S. 151, 153 (1917):

In the interpretation of statutes levying taxes it
is the established rule not to extend their provisions
by implication, beyond the clear import of the lan-
guage used, or to enlarge their operations so as to
embrace matters not specifically pointed out. In
ease of doubt they are construed most strongly
against the government, and in favor of the citizen.

The definitions in the National Firearms Act are sub-
ject to the above rule of construction. “On its face it
[the NFA] is only a taxing measure... .” Sonzinsky
v. United States, 300 U.S. 506, 513 (1937). “In the
exercise of its constitutional power to lay taxes, Congress
may select the subjects of taxation, choosing some and
omitting others.” Jd. at 512.

In addition, since it provides serious criminal penalties
for violation, the National Firearms Act must be inter-

18 The government claims that the items here are “clearly” regu-
lated weapons. Petition 5. In the court below it conceded: “When
the facts of this case are compared to the language of § 5845, the
statutory terms alone do not clearly indicate whether the Contender
pistol and conversion kit together constitute a firearm.” Appellee
Brief 12.

19 Haynes V. United States, 390 U.S. 85, 88 (1968) described the
National Firearms Act as “an interrelated statutory system for
the taxation of certain classes of firearms.” “The making and
transfer taxes under the NFA are a form of excise tax.” Thompson/
Center Arms Co. Vv. Baker, 686 F. Supp. 38, 42 (D.N.H. 1988)
(holding that the Contender carbine kit must be litigated as a tax
refund claim).

20

preted in favor of lenity. “We are here concerned with
a taxing act which imposes a penalty. The law is settled
that ‘penal statutes are to be construed strictly,’ . . . and
that one ‘is not to be subjected to a penalty unless the
words of the statute plainly impose it’... .” 7° Commis-
sioner V. Acker, 361 U.S. 87, 91 (1959).

The presence in NFA of three vastly different ‘“com-
bination of parts” definitions, and the absence thereof
in the definition of “rifle,” indicates that no such defi-
nitions apply to “rifle.” Commissioner v. Engle, 464 U.S.
206, 223 (1984) states: “We must dismiss the Commis-
sioner’s reconstruction of the legislative intent as mere
wishful thinking .... We have noted that ‘[t]he true
meaning of a single section of a statute in a setting as
complex as that of the revenue acts, however precise its
language, cannot be ascertained if it be considered apart
- from related sections. .. .’”

Russello v. United States, 464 U.S. 16, 23 (1983) dis-
tinguishes a section of a criminal statute which “speaks
broadly” of certain acts, from other sections with “less
expansive language,” and states:

“!W]here Congress includes particular language in
one section of a statute but omits it in another sec-
tion of the same Act, it is generally presumed that
Congress acts intentionally and purposely in the dis-
parate inclusion or exclusion.” ... We refrain
from concluding here that the differing language in
the two subsections has the same meaning in each.

20“ ‘Ambiguity concerning the ambit of criminal statutes should
be resolved in favor of lenity.’. .. ‘When choice has to be made
between two readings of what conduct Congress has made a crime,
it is appropriate before we choose the harsher alternative, to require
that Congress should have spoken in language that is clear and
definite.” United States v. Bass, 404 U.S. 336, 347-48 (1971)
(construing Gun Control Act terms in favor of felon in possession
of firearms),

21

“Rifle” having no definition like “combination of parts
when possessed with only one receiver,” such definition
may not be imposed by bureaucratic or judicial fiat. As
stated in Hanover Bank v. Commissioner, 369 U.S. 672,
687-88 (1962) :

We are not at liberty . . . to add to or alter the
words employed to effect a purpose which does not
appear on the face of the statute... . Nevertheless,
the Government now urges this Court to do what
the legislative branch of the Government failed to
do or elected not to do. This of course, is not within
our province.

The government argues that the kit would allow a
manufacturer to “avoid the tax.” Petition 8. Yet it is
perfectly legitimate to avoid taxation simply by not mak-
ing a taxable product. As Judge Learned Hand re-
marked, “Over and over courts have said that there is
nothing sinister in so arranging one’s affairs as to keep
taxes as low as possible.” Alinco Life Ins, Co. v. United
States, 178 Ct.Cl. 813, 373 F.2d 336, 345 (1967).

III. THE CIRCUITS ARE NOT IN CONFLICT

A. No Other Reported Cases Concern a Pistol and
Carbine Kit

This is a case of first impression. Other than the
Court of Appeals’ decision, no other Court has ever
addressed whether a pistol and carbine kit intended only
for making a rifle with a barrel over 21” nonetheless
constitutes a rifle with a barrel under 16”. The circuits
are not in conflict.

The government argues that a pre-1968 machinegun
case is somehow relevant, because it was decided before
Congress adopted “combination-of-parts” language. The
government does not cite United States v. Lauchli, 371
F.2d 303, 311 (7th Cir. 1966), which stated “that the
purchasers demanded operable machineguns, the defend-

22

ant assembled seven of them... .” The government does
rely on United States v. Kokin, 365 F.2d 595, 596 (3rd
Cir. 1966), but the conviction was affirmed “in the cir-
cumstances elaborated in the opinion of the district
court... .” Id. at 596. While unpublished, that opinion
was available to the court in Lanchli, which states: “As
in United v. Kokin, . . . this defendant even assisted
in the assembly of seven of the weapons.” 371 F.2d at
313.

Besides machineguns, the government discusses si-
lencers, which are equally irrelevant to the definition of
“rifle.” 2! Petition 8, 14. These silencer cases are further
inapplicable because Congress revisted the issue in 1986,
and determined which combination of parts would con-
stitute silencers—i.e., parts “designed or redesigned, and
intended for use in assembling or fabricating a firearm
silencer.”** This precludes combinations of parts which
could be, but are not “intended” to be, assembled as
silencers.

In United States v. Woods, 560 F.2d 660, 664-65 (5th
Cir. 1977), cert. denied 435 U.S. 906 (1978), for pur-
poses of finding probable cause for a search, the court
held that a short barrel found near the rest of a shot-
gun “was capable of being ‘readily restored to fire a

21 The government relies on United States v. Endicott, 803 F.2d
506 (9th Cir. 1986) and United States v. Luce, 726 F.2d 47 (1st Cir.
1984). Unlike the pistol and carbine kit, there was only one manner
in which to assemble these silencer parts, that manner was unlawful,
and the parts “could be joined together within a few seconds.” Luce,
726 F.2d at 49; Endicott, 803 F.2d at 509. These opinions approved
jury instructions, and did not state as a matter of law that all such
combinations of parts were silencers. See 803 F.2d at 508-509.

2218 U.S.C. Sec. 921(a)(24); 26 U.S.C. Sec. 5845(a)(7). By
requiring intent, the statutory amendment repudiates Endicott and
Luce, which required no intent. Thus, Congress rejected these deci-
sions on the very point for which the government relies on them—
a strict liability, no intent, combination-of-parts definition for every
NFA firearm.

23

fixed shotgun shell’... .”** Nothing in the case suggests
that the short barrel was possessed for some innocent,
nontaxable purpose.** The jury may well have heard
evidence that the barrel had previously been attached
to the rest of the weapon. By contrast, in the case at
bar, the short barrel is possessed only for use in pistol
configuration.

The government claims that United States v. Combs,
762 F.2d 1343, 1345 (9th Cir. 1985) is inapplicable (Pe-
tition 14 n.11), yet that case held a person to have
“made” a short barrel rifle under Section 5845(i) be-
cause he assembled it as such:

The Uzi rifle is sold in the United States with a 16-
inch barrel and has a warning imprinted on it that
it is illegal to modify the weapon in any way. In
addition, the instructional manual that comes with
the Uzi states that to take out the 16-inch barrel and
replace it with a shorter barrel creates an illegal
weapon. The evidence at trial indicated that the
barrel originally attached to the rifle was detached
and the shortened barrel installed in its place... .
Combs bought the shorter barrel and installed it.
Thus the Uzi was altered by Combs and therefore
was “made” within the terms of the statute. Id. at
1347. (Emphasis added).

*3 None of the cases cited by the government, except Drasen, infra,
involve a rifle. E.g., United States v. Smith, 477 F.2d 399 (8th Cir.
1973) (machinegun). In United States v. Catanzaro, 368 F. Supp.
450, 452 (D. Conn. 1973), which involved a readily restorable sawed-
off shotgun, the court denied a motion to dismiss an indictment, and
thus did not find that the item was an NFA firearm beyond a reason-
able doubt. In neither of those cases were there legitimate, non-NFA
uses for the items in question.

24 Whether used with a shoulder stock or on a pistol, a shotgun
(smooth bore) barrel under 18” makes an NFA firearm. 26 U.S.C.
§ 5845(a)(1), (5), (d), and (e). By contrast, the 10” Contender
pistol barrel has a legitimate non-NFA purpose. Accordingly, com-
parisons to shotgun barrels are irrelevant.

24

B. While Flawed, Drasen Does Not Apply to the Prod-
ucts at Issue

The primary case relied on by the government is United
States v. Drasen, 665 F. Supp. 598 (N.D. Ill. 1987),
rev'd 845 F.2d 731 (7th Cir. 1988), cert. denied 488 U.S.
909 (1988). However, the Contender pistol and carbine
kit is easily distinguishable from this opinion in which
two judges could not agree with two other judges on
whether rifle parts kits can be “rifles” for purposes of
a pretrial motion to dismiss the indictment.”

The district court rejected the government’s argu-
ment that the “readily restored” definition of “rifle”
includes parts from which a rifle had never been con-
structed, because “all persons of common intelligence
understand ‘restore’ to mean ‘return to a previous con-
dition.’ People are not required to divine the govern-
ment’s secret modification of that definition... .” 665
F. Supp. at 603. The “weapon” definition of rifle does
not apply because “the court has great difficulty seeing
how the never-assembled constituent parts of a rifle
are themselves a weapon ‘made’ to fire.” Jd. at 608.

In a 2-1 opinion, the Court of Appeals reversed and
remanded to allow the fact finder to decide the issue.
The court framed the issue to concern “constituent parts
of a rifle’ (845 F.2d at 732)—again distinguishing that
ease from the case at bar, in which indisputably the
long barrel is the part of a rifle, and the short barrel is
the part of a pistol.

The Drasen majority substitutes the euphemism “com-
mon sense interpretation” when it is unable to explain
the clearly different definitions of rifle and machinegun.
Id. at 731. Its reading into the statute of an implicit
“combination-of-parts” definition for all NFA firearms
is plainly inconsistent with the explicit “intent” require-

25 The government’s account of what Drasen “found” ignores that
the case was remanded for trial. Petition 12-13.

ae

25

ments in the definitions of destructive device and si-
lencer.** This explains why the Congressional sponsors
of new “combination of parts” language in the Firearms
Owners’ Protection Act of 1986 filed an amici curiae brief
against the government’s position in Drasen.”

The majority opinion in Drasen is based on an intel-
lectually nihilistic inability to explain why an NFA “rifle”
has no combination-of-parts definition, but three other
NFA firearms do have such definitions. It is at a total
loss to explain why rifle is defined as an operable
“weapon”—‘“intended to be fired from the shoulder” at
that—or as a “readily restorable” weapon, but that a
machinegun is a weapon, a readily restorable weapon,
or a combination of parts from which a complete weapon
can be assembled.”*

26 The court was flatly wrong in asserting (845 F.2d at 735) that
Congress did not amend the definition of silencer to include a com-
bination-of-parts-plus-intent definition for “silencer.” §§ 101, 109,
P.L. 99-308, 100 Stat. 451, 460 (May 19, 1986).

27 Amici included Senators Orrin E. Hatch and James A. McClure
and Congressman Larry E. Craig. 845 F.2d at 732 n.4. Congressman
Craig put forward as a floor amendment in the House the new defini-
tions of silencer and machinegun. Senators Hatch and McClure
explained the new definition of machinegun, which concerned con-
version parts only. 132 Conc. Rec. H1700 (Apr. 9, 1986); 132
Conc. Rec. 85362-5363 (May 6, 1986).

*8The majority’s insinuation that the “combination-of-parts”
definition means that “every single [machinegun] part could be
subject to regulation” is nonsense. 845 F.2d at 737; see Petition 9.
(It is unclear how this proves that rifle has some kind of implicit
combination-of-parts definition.) The definition is not “any machine-
gun or part thereof,” but is “any combination of parts from which
a machinegun can be assembled if such parts are in the possession
or under the control of a person.” § 5845(b). As noted by Senators
Hatch and Kennedy in debate on the 1986 amendments, most
machinegun parts are not even regulated. 132 Conc. Rec. S5362-63
(May 6, 1986).

The Drasen majority's argument was repudiated in United States
Vv. Bradley, 892 F.2d 634, 636 (7th Cir. 1990), because “a statutory

26

Since the Drasen majority cannot explain why “rifle”
has no combination-of-parts language but other firearms
do, it attacks this “nonsensical statutory distinction” en-
acted by Congress and adds that “defendants would have
us draw the conclusion that for some inexplicable reason
Congress intended to distinguish short-barrel rifles.” *
845 F.2d at 736-37. Congress can conjure up any “non-
sense” it wishes, and give or not give “explicable” reasons,
when it decides what to tax and what not to tax, and
the latter is not thereby a “loophole” for courts to
abrogate.

Since it seeks to impose a strict liability, combination-
of-parts definition for all NFA firearms, the Drasen ma-
jority carefully ignores the definition of destructive de-
vice. A combination of parts from which a destructive
device “could” be assembled—such as a bottle, firecracker,
and paint thinner—is not such a device unless intent to
do so exists. United States v. Tankersley, 492 F.2d 962,
966-67 (7th Cir. 1974). “While the components sep-
arately have social utility, in combination they form a
destructive device. . . .” Jd. The Contender pistol and
carbine kit is no more an “unassembled” short-barrel rifle
than gasoline, bottles, and rags in a household are “un-
assembled” Molotov cocktails and hence “destructive
devices,”

Drasen assumes that a manufacturer of a parts kit is
responsible for a consumer committing a tax offense, i.e.,
making a short barrel rifle without following the pro-
cedures in the NFA. Yet firearms manufacturers are
not responsible if a consumer commits a murder with a

}
machinegun” exists only “if one person has possession or control of
all of the parts.”

29 Yet as Judge Manion noted in dissent, “the definition of
‘machinegun’ shows that when Congress wanted to regulate com-
binations of parts, or ‘any’ parts, it knew how to do so with preci-
sion. Congress has not included such precise language in the defini-
tion of rifle.” Id. at 738.

27

firearm. Martin v. Harrington & Richardson, Inc., 743
F.2d 1200, 1205 (7th Cir. 1984) held that “criminal
misuse of a handgun is not a foreseeable consequence of
gun manufacturing.” If a handgun manufacturer is not
responsible for a murder, it is difficult to understand why
Thompson/Center is being held responsible because some
consumer “could” commit a tax offense.

The majority opinion in Drasen frankly admits that the
pertinent terms could easily be interpreted to exclude the
items in question from being NFA firearms.” The court
thereby completely disregards the cardinal principles that
tax statutes are to be construed in favor of taxpayers,
and that criminal statutes are to be resolved in favor
of lenity.

C. At the Government’s Urging, Drasen Was Based
on a Revenue Ruling Which Was Revoked in 1972

The Petition is conspicuously silent about a revenue
ruling on which the government relied in Drasen and in
the Claims Court in this litigation. This silence may be
attributable to the fact that only on appeal did Thompson /
Center discover that the agency had long ago declared
the ruling to be obsolete.

The Claims Court opined that “published revenue rul-
ings are given weight, as they represent the agency’s
official interpretation of the statute... . Rev. Rul. 54-
606, 1954-2, C.B. 33, held that possession of sufficient
parts to assemble a firearm constitutes possession of a
firearm.” Appendix 28a. The Court then (id. n.2) cited

3° The Court admits: “Applying the facts of this case, the statute
on its face is not clear. ... It is apparent that to clarify the statute,
little additional language would have been needed to accomplish what
the government claims Congress intended. The statute could have
defined a rifle as also including the parts thereof that could be
readily assembled to form a functioning weapon. ... This definition
{‘make’] suggests that, to produce a firearm, ‘putting together’ the
parts is necessary.” /d. at 733.

28

Drasen, 845 F.2d at 736, which is the only published
opinion ever to approve this 1954 Revenue Ruling.”

Instead of informing the court that Revenue Ruling
54-606 had been declared obsolete in 1972, the prosecu-
tion in Drasen claimed that the ruling “squarely decides
the issue before this court.” ** The Drasen majority re-
lied primarily on Revenue Ruling 54-606. In arguing
that the Supreme Court not grant Drasen’s petition for
certiorari, the Solicitor General relied principally on the
revenue ruling.”

While unknown to the Claims Court, to the Drasen
majority, and to this Court when it considered Drasen’s
petition, the Department of the Treasury officially re-
pudiated Rev. Ruling 54-606 in 1972. Because Congress
clarified in the Gun Control Act of 1968 which NFA fire-
arms would be defined as combinations of parts and
which would not, Revenue Ruling 72-178, 1972-1, C.B.
423-24 held:

31In the Claims Court, the government repeatedly assured the
court that Revenue Ruling 54-606 had never been modified or re-
voked. E.9., Memo. in Opp. to Plaintiff's Mot. for Sum. Jud. at 4.

82 Reply Brief for the United States, United States v. Drasen,
U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit, at 8.

33 See Memorandum for the United States in Opposition, Drasen
v. United States, U.S. Sup. Ct., No. 88-430, at 2 which describes
the dismissal of the indictment by the district court and states:

The court of appeals, in a split decision, reversed (Pet. App.

1-16). The court relied on a formal ruling of the Commissioner

of Internal Revenue interpreting the statute, after it was

adopted in 1954, to reach the possession of sufficient parts to

assemble an operative firearm. Rev. Rul. 54-606, 1954-2 C.B. 33.

The Solicitor General made several more references to the ruling

and never informed the Court that the ruling had been revoked in
1972.

%4 Rev. Ruling 54-606 was not mentioned in the entire legislative
record which culminated in the 1968 legislation. Without being
aware of the ruling, Congress repudiated it except with regard to
machineguns.

ee ee ee er

29

Numerous changes in the law . . . necessitated a
review of all outstanding revenue rulings issued
under Chapter[] .. . 53 of the Internal Revenue
Code of 1954 (the National Firearms Act]... .

It has been determined that the following list of
revenue rulings are inapplicable either in whole or
in part to the current law and regulations ... .
Therefore, these revenue rulings are found to be
no longer in effect, and are hereby declared to be
obsolete. Rev. Rul. No... . 54-606.

Nothing in the current regulations, 27 C.F.R. § 179.11,
reflects or relates to Revenue Ruling 54-606 in any way.”
The ruling was declared obsolete because it was “in-
applicable either in whole or in part to the current law
and regulations.” Rev. Rul. 72-178. The “current law”
was, of course, the 1968 amendments which clarified
which firearms under the National Firearms Act include
combinations of parts and which do not.

The court’s lack of knowledge of this revocation has
resulted in a grave miscarriage of justice. The Drasen
case involved a criminal prosecution in which the liberties
of citizens were at stake. It is unknown whether govern-
mental counsel in Drasen—the Solicitor General, the De-
partment of Justice attorneys, the U.S. attorney’s office
or BATF counsel—were aware that Revenue Ruling 54-
606 was revoked. It is inconceivable that the 2-1 appellate
decision in Drasen, or the Claims Court opinion in this
case, would have heavily relied on a ruling known to be
obsolete. The respective court’s knowledge of this obsolete
status may well have led to the opposite result.

85 27 C.F.R. § 179.11 includes definitions of terms. The definitions
of “rifle,” “machinegun,” and other firearms simply repeat verbatim
the definitions in 26 U.S.C. § 5845. BATF has not published a single
ruling which embodies the content of the revoked ruling, even though
“it is the policy of the Bureau to publish in the [ATF] Bulletin all
substantive rulings necessary to promote a uniform application of
all laws administered by the Bureau... .” 27 C.F.R. § 71.41(d).

30

In sum, Drasen—the government’s main “precedent’’—
is based on a revenue ruling which, unbeknown to the
court, had been declared obsolete. The government’s
amnesia about its promotion of this revoked ruling illus-
trates the unreasonableness of its position in this case.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

STEPHEN P. HALBROOK *
10605 Judicial Drive
Suite B-3

Fairfax, VA 22030
(708) 385-8610

Attorney for Respondent
August 1991 * Counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0175%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
