# Brief for the United States — Hudson v. McMillian

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0139%3A03

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Brief for the United States
- **Published:** January 1, 1992
- **Citation:** 503 U.S. 1

## Text

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Did the Fifth Circuit apply the correct legal test when
determining that Petitioner’s claim that his Eight
Amendment rights under the Cruel and Unusual Punishment
Clause was not violated as the result of a_ single
incident of force by the respondents which did not cause

a significant injury?

LIST OF PARTIES

The parties to the proceedings below in the United
States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit were petitioner
Keith J. Hudson, a prisoner at the Louisiana State Penitentiary
and the respondents Jack McMillian, Marvin Woods, and Arthur
Mezo, all correctional security officers at the Louisiana State

Penitentiary.

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

QUESTIONS PRESENTED. i CONSTITUTION :
Sane Ge Gee 6 6 6-6 6 Oe ee se se ee |
Ee GP GOR. tt EN be eee eee U.S. CONST. AMEND. Vi. - s+ ee ee ee ee eo 2808
See GP CT 6 eee eee eee ee U.S. CONST. AMEND. VIII. . . - - + + + + + + + 24345647
STATE OF THE CASE. 1 el ee a
REASON FOR DENYING THE WRIT. ..........2...2.2...4
TO PRISONER HUDSON'S CLAIN ee
STATUTES
CONCLUSION 10 a6 ©.8.C. SOCTION 636 (C). . ew ec ee een ese v ae S
PROOF OF SERVICE 11 42 U.S.C. SECTION 19863 . 2. 2 1 6 ee ow ww wo be hel
CASES
ADAMS V. HANSEN, 906 F. 2d 192 (Sth Cir. 1990). ...9
CITY OF OKLAHOMA CITY V. TUTTLE, 471 U.S. 808
i. a 6 6 4 4 6 8 8 eee 8 oe eee
DANIELS V. WILLIAMS, 474 U.S. 327 (1986). ...... 8
DAVIDSON V. CANNON, 474 U.S. 344 (1986) ....... 8
ESTELLE V. GAMBLE, 429 U.S. 97 (1976) .... . 8
GILBERT V. COLLINS, 905 F. 2d 61 (Sth Cir. 1990)... 9
GRAHAM V. CONNOR, 490 U.S. 386 (1989) .....+.. 5

iii iv

HUDSON V. PALMER, 468 U.S. 517 (1984) ........ 8 NUMBER: 90-6531

HUGUET V. BARNETT, 900 F. 2d 838 (Sth Cir. 1990). .. 3,7
MONROE V. POPE, 365 U.S. 167 (1961) .......24+2.7
IN THE
MCHENRY V. CHADWICK, 896 F. 2d 184 (1990) ......49 ; SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1990
OLIVER V. COLLINS, 914 F. 2d 56 (5th Cir. 1990) ...9
PARATT V. TAYLOR, 451 U.S. 527 (19862) ...+-+-e«e- 8 KEITH HUDSON
PETITIONER
o8. @. Geeeese. 3335 6.8. B00 (80GR). « « we eo tw we ee #F
VERSUS
WESSON V. OGLESBY, 910 F. 2d 278 (5th Cir. 1990). .. 9
WHITLEY V. ALBERS, 475 u.S. 312 (1986). .... . .5,6,8 JACK MCMILLAN, MARVIN WOODS,
AND ARTHUR MEZO
WILLIAMS V. LUNA, 909 F. 2d 121 (Sth Cir. 1990) ...9 RESPONDENTS

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

RESPONDENTS BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

The respondents, Jack McMillian, Marvin Woods, and
Arthur Mezo, respectfully request that This Court deny the
Petition for Writ of Certiorari, seeking review of the Fifth

Circuit’s Opinion in this case. That Opinion is unreported.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner, Keith J. Hudson, (Prisoner Hudson) is a
prisoner confined at the Louisiana State Penitentiary (L.S.P.)

which is a maximum security prison housing only adult male’s

convicted of felonies by a Louisiana state court. Respondents,
Jack McMillian, Marvin Woods, and Arthur Mezo, are all
correctional officers working at L.S.P.

Prisoner Hudson ii:voked 42 U.S.C. § 1983 and sued
Corrections Officers McMillian, Woods and Mezo in the United
States District Court for the Middle District of Louisiana
alleging that his Fifth, Fourteenth and Eighth Amendment rights
were violated because excessive and unnecessary force was used on
him. The parties consented to having the case adjudicated before
a Magistrate Judge pursuant te 28 U.S.C. § 636 (c). Following a
bench trial before the Magistrate Judge, the factual
determination was made that on October 30, 1983 Prisoner Hudson
while in restrains, got into an argument with Corrections Officer
McMillian who punched Prisoner Hudson in the mouth, eyes, chest,
and stomach while Corrections Officer Woods kicked Prisoner
Hudson on his’ backside. During this physical alteration
Corrections Officer Mezo, the supervisor of Corrections Officers
McMillian and Woods, watched the beating but did nothing to stop
it.

As a result of this physical altercation Prisoner Hudson
alleged that his partial dental plate was cracked, his lower lip
was split and his teeth loosened. Prisoner Hudson also claimed
that he received bruises to his body but no other cuts. A review
of Prisoner Hudson’s medical record revealed that he appeared at
sick call on October 31, and November 1, 1983 with a dental
complaints; his medical records made no reference to facial

bruises or other cuts nor did Prisoner Hudson make complaints

about other injuries. None of the alleged injuries required any
medical care. The alleged injuries were short in duration and
had no lasting effect.

The Corrections Officers denied that they used any force
on Prisoner Hudson on October 30, 1983. The Magistrate Judge
gave creditability to Prisoner Hudson’s and his fellow prisoner’s
testimony and not that of the Corrections Officers. The-
Magistrate Judge found that the force used was totally
unnecessary and resulted in minor bruises and swelling to
Prisoner Hudson’s face, mouth and lip. The Magistrate Judge
concluded that Prisoner Hudson’s injuries were minor and required
no medical treatment. Based on these factual findings the
Magistrate Judge found that the Corrections Officers violated
Prisoner Hudson’s Eighth Amendment right to be free from the
application of excessive and unnecessary force and awarded Eight
Hundred Dollars ($800.00) in retrospective money damages.

The Corrections Officers appealed to the United States
Court of Appeal for the Fifth Circuit. A panel of the Fifth
Circuit accepting the findings of fact as true applied the legal

test for such claims as set out in Huguet v. Barnett, 900 F. 2d

838, 841 (5th Cir. 1990). This legal test had not been
established prior to the ruling by the District Court. Accepting
the factual determinations of the District Court and applying the
intervening legal test set out in Huguet, the Fifth Circuit
concluded that Prisoner Hudson did not prove the essential

element of significant injury under his Eight Amendment claim.

The Fifth Circuit reversed the judgment of the District
Court. Prisoner Hudson filed for a rehearing before the Fifth

Circuit, which was denied. He now seeks review in this Court.

(REASON FOR DENYING THE WRIT)

THE FIFTE CIRCUIT APPLIED THE CORRECT LEGAL
TEST TO PRISONER HUDSON’S CLAIM

Prisoner Hudson appears to be arguing in his petition
that the legal test applied by the District Court rather than the
legal test applied by the Fifth Circuit was the proper legal test
to apply to the facts of his claim. (Petition p. 3-4)
Corrections Officers McMillian, Woods and Mezo assert that the
legal test applied by the Fifth Circuit was the proper legal test
to apply to the facts of Prisoner Hudson’s claim.

This suit presents the prototypical example of prisoner
pro se litigation under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 that proliferates in the
lower federal courts. This suit involves a_ single isolated
incident in which a state prisoner alleges that he has been
mistreated by one or more State Corrections Officers. This suit,
like so many others that involve single instances of alleged
mistreatment by State Corrections Officers, boils down solely to
a question of credibility - the prisoners giving one story, the
corrections officers amother, and a lack of demonstrative
evidence to support either side. In the instant suit Prisoner
Hudson and his fellow prisoner witnesses claimed that physical
force was used on Prisoner Hudson by Correction Officers

McMillian and Woods while Corrections Officer Mezo watched.

Corrections Officer Woods denied that any physical force was used
on Prisoner Hudson by either himself or Corrections Office
McMillian. There was no documentary evidence to support use of
physical force or any injuries which might have resulted. The
allegations of Prisoner Hudson as to the use of force and
resulting injuries were catroborated by testimony of two fellow
prisoners. The trier of fact gave credibility to the prisoners’
story and not the Corrections Officers’ story. The trier of law
then applied a subjective balancing test in which the existence
of any single factor could establish a violation of the Eighth
Amendments’ Cruel and Unusual Punishment Clause. However, the
Fifth Circuit as trier of the law applied a four part essential
element test the to facts as found by the trier of fact and
determined that Prisoner Hudson did not meet his burden of proof
on the essential element of significant injury. It is the four
part essential element test of the Fifth Circuit which should be
applied to this type Eight Amendment claim.

This Court has determined that excessive force claims
brought by prisoners against corrections officers fall solely
under the Eighth Amendment’s Cruel and Unusual Punishment Clause.

Graham v. Connor, 490 U.S. 386, 398-399 (1872-1873), (1989)

citing Whitley v. Albers, 475 U.S. 312, 320-321 (1986). There

can be absolutely no question that Prisoner Hudson’s clain,
therefore, rest solely and wholely under the Eighth Amendment’s
Cruel and Unusual Punishment Clause. Thus Prisoner Hudson's
assertions as to his alleged claims under the Fifth and

Fourteenth Amendments are without legal merit.

In Whitley this Court dealt with the question of
excessive and unnecessary force by correctional personnel on
prisoners under the Eight Amendment. In Whitley, however, the
need for the use of force was factually present and undisputed,
only the degree of need was factually in dispute. Id. 475 U.S.
at 320-321. Im Whitley the existence of a significant injury was
factually present - severe damage to leg and severe mental and
emotional distress. Id. 475 U.S. at 317. In the instant case
whether or not any force was used at all was factually disputed
by the Corrections Officer., therefore, no proof of its need was
or could have been presented. Additionally, the injuries alleged
by Prisoner Hudson as the result of the force were minor at best.
Therefore, the balancing test presented in Whitley provides
little if any guidance to the trier of the law for the type of
claim raised by Prisoner Hudson. Their is little or no
predictability in regards to the out come under Whitley as
applied to the facts in the instance case since the extent of the
injury is minor and the need for the use of force is not present
as a matter of fact. The legal balancing test in Whitley does
not work in the prototypical prison suit because the result is
unpredictable and provides absolutely no guidance as to what
would constitute a violation of the Eighth Amendment’s Cruel and
Unusvi3l Punishment Clause.

Under the balancing test as applied by the District
Court +n the instant case allows for an Eighth Amendment
violation based solely on a single factor and a determination of

credibility. This makes the Cruel and Unusual Punishment Clause

a liars contest, rather than a_ constitutional prohibition. The
legal test applied by the Fifth Circuit in the instant case
provides for a usable and effective test which has a high degree
of predictability regardless of the various factual scenarios.
The legal test in the Fifth Circuit which is applied to
all excessive force claims made by prisoners under the Eighth

Amendment’s Cruel and Unusual Punishment Clause is:

3. A significant injury, which;
2. Resulted directly and only from the use
of force that was clearly excessive to
the need, the excessiveness of which was;
3. Objectively unreasonable, and;
4. The action constituted an unnecessary and
wanton infliction of pain.
Each of these four elements must be proven in order for a
prisoner to prevail on his excessive and unnecessary force claim

under the Eighth Amendment’s Cruel and Unusual Punishment Clause.

Huguet v. Barnett, 900 F. 2d 838, 841 (Sth Cir. 1990) (cite other

5th Cir. cases)
The focus of § 1983 is on the "(Mjisuse of power,
possessed by virtue of state law and made possible only because

the wrongdoer is clothed with the authority of state law."

Monroe v. Pope, 365 U.S. 167, 184 (1961) quoting U.S. v. Classic,

313 U.S. 299, 325-326 (1941). § 1983 does not, however, reach
all misuses of power even if done by those clothed with the
authority of state law. § 1983 reaches only those misuses of

power which rise to constitutional proportions. See: City of

Oklahoma City v. Tuttle, 471 U.S. 808, 816 (1985) Not every use

of force by corrections officers on prisoners arises to
constitutional proportions. Only those uses of force by
correction officers on prisoners which shock the conscious of

mankind arise to constitutional proportions. Whitley v. Albers,

475 U.S. at 319-320.

This Court has made it clear that mere torts do not rise
to constitutional proportions merely because they are committed
within a prison setting. This is true whether the act is based

on negligence or intentional misconduct. Daniels v. Willimas,

474 U.S. 327 (1986), Davidson v. Cannon, 474 U.S. 344 (1986),

Hudson v. Palmer, 468 U.S. 517 (1984) and Paratt v. Taylor, 451

U.S. 527 (1981). The misuse of power must be so serious as to

shock the conscious of mankind. Whitley v. Albers, 475 U.S. at

310-320. The mere fact that the misuse of power has no
penologica’ purpose is not sufficient to raise a prisoner’s claim
to the level of cruel and unusual punishment unless a significant

injury results. See: Estelle v. Gamble, 429 U.S. 97, 104-107

(1976). Merely because an injury is sustained by a prisoner at
the hands of a corrections officer does not create an Eighth

Amendment claim. See: Davidson v. Cannon, 474 U.S. at 332-334

and Estelle v. Gamble, 429 U.S. at 104-107. Unless proof of a

significant injury exists under the Fifth Circuit’s legal
standard no Eighth Amendment claim can exist. Under the Fifth
Circuit’s legal standard all claims similar to that of Prisoner
Hudson correctly belong in state rather than federal court.

Using the balancing test set out by the District Court in the

instant case every touching in a prison setting becomes a claim
of cruel and unusual punishment. The four part essential element
test set out by the Fifth Circuit is the correct legal standard
to be applied to excessive for claims by state prisoners. Unless
this legal standard is used constitutional law under the Cruel
and Unusual Punishment Clause will become a mere matter of
credibility devoid of any legal standard.

The Fifth Circuit has applied the four part essential

element test to a number of prisoner cases. Gilbert v. Collins,

905 F. 2d 61 (5th Cir. 1990), Adams v. Hansen, 906 F. 2d 192 (5th

Cir. 1990), Williams v. Luna, 909 F. 2d 121 (Sth Cir. 1990),

Wesson v. Oglesby, 910 F. 2d 278 (5th Cir. 1990), Oliver v.

Collins, 914 F. 2d 56 (5th Cir. 1990). Only one other circuit
has examined the Fifth Circuit’s four part essential element
test. The Sixty Circuit has specifically rejected the use of
Significant injury or essential elements in excessive force

claims arising out of state prisons. See: McHenry v. Chadwick,

896 F. 2d 184 (6th Cir. 1990)
The Fifth Circuit applied the proper legal test to facts
in the instant case. There is no basis for reversing the Opinion

of the Fifth Circuit in the instant case.

CONCLUSION PROOF OF SERVICE

For these reasons, the Petition for a Writ of Certiorari I, Joseph Erwin Kopsa, a member of the Bar of This
should be denied. Court, hereby certify that on this 12th day of March 1991, three
Respectfully submitted, copies of the Respondents Brief in Opposition in the above

entitled case was mailed, first class postage prepaid, to Keith
JOESPH ERWIN KOPSA

ASSISTANT ATTORNEY GENERAL J. Hudson, D.O.C. Camp J, Shark Unit #4-L=11, Louisiana State
LOUISIANA DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE

DIVISION OF RISK LITIGATION Penitentiary, Angola, Louisiana 70712, pro se for petitioner
APPEALS AND RESEARCH SECTION

POST OFFICE BOX 94095 herein. I further certify that all parties required to be served
BATON ROUGE, LOUISIANA 70804-9095

TELEPHONE: (504) 342-8494 have been served.

COUNSEL OF RECORD

WILLIAM J. GUSTE, JR.

ATTORNEY GENERAL FOR
THE STATE OF LOUISIANA ERW
LOUISIANA DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE pone A ph GENERAL

POST OFFICE BOX 94095

BATON ROUGE, LOUISIANA 70804-9095 LOUISIANA DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE
TELEPHONE: (504) 342-8495 ervrstes Or aren LITIGATION
POST OFFICE BOX 94095

BATON ROUGE, LOUISIANA 70804-9095
TELEPHONE: (504) 342-8494

COUNSEL FOR PETITIONER

COUNSEL OF RECORD

10 11

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0139%3A03. Public record. Not legal advice.
