# Amicus Curiae Brief — Yee v. Escondido

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0113%3A13

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1992
- **Citation:** 503 U.S. 519

## Text

(9) Bupreme Gourt, U.S
FILED

elt 299)
J

\ OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1991

JOHN K. YEE, et al.,
Petitioners,
v.

THE CITY OF ESCONDIDO,

Respondent,

On a Writ of Certiorari to the Fourth Appellate
District, Division One, Court of Appeal
for the State of California

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE FOR RENT STABILIZATION
ASSOCIATION OF NEW YORK CITY, INC., NATIONAL
ASSOCIATION OF HOME BUILDERS, NATIONAL
MULTI HOUSING COUNCIL, AND
CALIFORNIA HOUSING COUNCIL
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

ERWIN N. GRISWOLD

Counsel of Record
STEPHEN J. GOODMAN
JONES, DAY, REAVIS & POGUE
1450 G Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20005-2088
(202) 879-3939

Counsel for Amici

SS a A a SE PE EES 8
WILSON - Eres PRINTING Co.. INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Does a municipal rent control ordinance that pre-
vents mobile home park owners from raising rents with-
out governmental approval, in conjunction with state
statutes that severely restrict the rights of such owners
to evict current tenants or refuse to accept new ones,
effect a “permanent physical occupation” of those owners’
property within the meaning of Loretto v. Teleprompter
Manhattan CATV Corp., 458 U.S. 419 (1982)?

2. If such an ordinance, in conjunction with the ap-
plicable state statutes, takes property from the landlord,
and, at the same time, fails to protect the interests of the
tenants that it was designed to serve, does the ordinance
violate the Due Process Clause?

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED _.

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ........ | NE

INTERESTS OF THE AMICI ............. 20...

Nee rseecssseseecnsnsennee jabba

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ........00.........

a canes bia eines
I. THE ORDINANCE, IN CONJUNCTION

Il.

WITH THE MOBILEHOME RESIDENCY
LAW, AUTHORIZES A PERMANENT PHY-
SICAL OCCUPATION OF PETITIONERS’
PROPERTY AND IS THEREFORE A “TAK-
ING” FOR WHICH THEY MUST BE COM-

PETITIONERS THE OPPORTUNITY TO
PROVE THAT THE ORDINANCE IS “DE-
MONSTRABLY IRRELEVANT” TO THE
PURPOSES THAT IT WAS DESIGNED TO
SERVE AND THEREFORE VIOLATES THE
DUE PROCESS CLAUSE ...............

CONCLUSION ......

(iii)

or

10

14

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases Page

Azul Pacifico, Inc. v. City of Los Angeles, 1991

U.S. App. LEXIS 26335 (9th Cir. 1991) —.......... 9
F.C.C. v. Florida Power, 480 U.S. 245 (1987)... 8,9, 10
Fisher v. City of Berkeley, 37 Cal. 3d 644, 693

P.2d 261 (1984), appeal dismissed, 471 U.S.

1124 (1985) ...... a eae teagan ee 9
Hall v. City of Santa Barbara, 833 F.2d 1270 (9th

Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 485 U.S. 940 (1988). _ 7, 8, 9,

12, 13

Hutton Park Gardens v. Town Council, 68 N.J.
& F * & oUt aan eden oP 9

Loretto v. Teleprompter Manhattan CATV Corp.,
a ee Se I bo vcivccceresinerercinncesidtitectaceencanniel 5, 6, 7,8
Pennell v. City of San Jose, 485 U. S. 1 (1988) ....... 6, 9, 10,
11, 12

Permian Basin Area Rate Cases, 390 U.S. 747
PIII sscctcessowes Ee Ae RRM BE OM AOE SN 11

Pinewood Estates v. Barnegat Township Leveling
Bd., 898 F.2d 347 (3d Cir. 1990)... S09, 12

Constitutional Provisions
ee cssuukeensbeuusesoniceaniennettliae 4
ib By SS Ronan Sele eee 4
es I TT canidnettctectnmsenuissnapnanannacitions 4
Statutes and Municipal Codes

California’s Mobilehome Residency Law, Cal. Civ.
Code §§ 798-798.87 (West Supp. 1991) 2
aad Of adameeanrenaitian . 3,7,9
| |). Secsiadiglacoanineesaedadeneladmtantinieiaaiall . 3,7,9

Escondido, Cal., Municipal Code ust. V, §§ 29-101
— y * ER EACRERP Reais taecv ale) Paes We 3
ERASER RAS SL se
I anna ndesaianedseanieeiaaane Laren 4,7,9

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Miscellaneous Page

Hirsch & Hirsch, Legal-Economic Analysis of Rent
Controls in a Mobile Home Context: Placement
Values and Vacancy Decontrol, 35 UCLA L.

Rev. 399 (1988) 11, 12, 13
Jurisdictional Statement, Fisher v. City of Berke-
ley (O.T. 1984, No. 1538) 00. Se 9

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1991

No. 90-1947

JOHN K. YER, et al.,
‘ Petitioners,
THE CITY OF ESCONDIDO,
Respondent.

On a Writ of Certiorari to the Fourth Appellate
District, Division One, Court of Appeal
for the State of California

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE FOR RENT STABILIZATION
ASSOCIATION OF NEW YORK CITY, INC., NATIONAL
ASSOCIATION OF HOME BUILDERS, NATIONAL
MULTI HOUSING COUNCIL, AND
CALIFORNIA HOUSING COUNCIL
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

. This brief is filed on behalf of the Rent Stabilization

Association of New York City, Inc., the National Asso-
ciation of Home Builders, the National Multi Housing
Council, and the California Housing Council.*

INTERESTS OF THE AMICI

The Rent Stabilization Association of New York City,
Inc. is an association of landlords and real estate opera-
tors in the Greater New York area, with 20,000 members
who own approximately 650,000 units of housing.

*Consent from counsel for all parties has been filed with the
Clerk of this Court.

2

The National Association of Home Builders represents
153,000 builder and associate members organized into
approximately 850 affiliated state and local associations
in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto
Rico, Its members include not only people and firms that
construct and supply single-family homes but also apart-
ment, condominium, commercial and industrial builders,
as well as land developers and remodelers.

The National Multi Housing Council, based in Wash-_

ington, D.C., represents the interests of the larger and
most respected firms in the country participating in the
multifamily rental housing industry. Its members are
engaged in all aspects of the development and operation
of rental housing, including the ownership, building, fi-
nancing, management and conversion to condominium of
such properties.

The California Housing Council (“CHC”) is a non-
profit association whose members are the larger owners,
managers and developers of residential rental property
in California. Since its formation in 1975, CHC has been
actively involved in rent control issues at the local, state,
and federal levels.

These organizations, and their members, have a clear
and definite interest in the questions raised in this case,
namely (1) whether rent control ordinances such as those
involved in this case authorize “permanent physical occu-
pation” of a landlord’s property and (2) whether such
ordinances violate the Due Process Clause.

STATEMENT

California’s Mobilehome Residency Law, Cal.Civ.Code
$$ 798-798.87 (West Supp. 1991) (‘the Mobilehome Res-
idency Law”), which was enacted in 1978, regulates many
aspects of the relationship between the owners of mobile
home parks and the owners of mobile homes (tenants)
who rent spaces in the parks upon which to place their

3

mobile homes.' Among other things, the Mobilehome Resi-
dency Law provides tenants (in the language used by the
legislature) with unique “protection from actual or con-
structive eviction... .” § 798.55. Park owners may ter-
minate a tenancy only for certain reasons specified in the
Mobilehome Residency Law. These include, among others,
failure to pay the rent. * 798.56(e)(1).* It is further
provided that if a tenant seiis his mobile home to a third
party, the park owner must accept the purchaser as a
tenant “if the purchaser has the financial ability to pay
the rent and charges of the park,” unless the park owner
“reasonably determines that, based on the purchaser’s
prior tenancies, he or she will not comply with the rules
and regulations of the park.” § 798.74(a).

In 1988, voters in the City of Escondido (“the City”)
passed an initiative measure which enacted a mobile
home rent control ordinance (“the Ordinance”). Escon-
dido, Cal., Municipal Code art. V, §§ 29-101 to 29-108
(1988).° The Ordinance provides, in pertinent part, that
mobile home park owners shall not charge “rent for a
mobile home space exceeding the rent for said space on
January 1, 1986.” § 29-103.4 If the park owner wishes

1 The pertinent sections of the Mobilehome Residency Law have
been reproduced in Appendix D to the Petition for Certiorari.

“Other reasons for termination inclule failure to comply with
state and local laws relating to mobile homes, conduct by the tenant
which constitutes a “substantial annoyance” to others, conviction
for certain crimes committed within the mobile home park, failure
to comply with “reasonable” rules of the park that are contained in
the rental agreement, condemnation of the park, and a change in
the use of the park, § 798.56(a)-(d), (f)-(g@).

3 See opinion of the court below, attached as Appendix A to the
Petition for Certiorari, at 4.

‘The Ordinance further provides that “[i]f a mobile home space
is rented for the first time after January 1, 1986, the | park! owner
shall not... [charge| rent for said space exceeding the rent first
charged for the space.” Section 3 of the uncodified ordinance, as
reproduced in an attachment to Defendant City of Escondido’s

4

to increase the rent, he must obtain approval from the
City’s Mobilehome Park Renta] Review Board (“the
Board”), which will hear evidence from both the park
owner and the affected tenants and then “approve such
rent increases as it determiaes to be just, fair, and rea-
sonable.” § 29-104. The Ordinance lists a number of
factors which the Board shall consider in making its
determination. /d.

Following passage of the Ordinance, petitioners John
and Irene Yee (“petitioners”) the owners of a mobile
home park in Escondido, filed a Complaint in the Superior
Court of the State of California for the County of San
Diego (“the trial court”). Petition for Certiorari 10-
11. In the Complaint, they challenged the constitutional-
ity of the Ordinance under the Fifth and Fourteenth
Amendments to the United States Constitution, as well
as Article I, § 19 of the California Constitution, alleging,
among other things, “a taking of plaintiff’s property for
public use and benefit without payment of just compen-
sation. . . .” Complaint, para. 10.

The City filed a Demurrer (motion to dismiss) and
Motion to Strike. Petition for Certiorari 12. After a
hearing, the trial court granted both motions, while deny-
ing leave to the petitioners to amend the Complaint.
Order of Dismissal, attached as Appendix C to the Peti-
tion for Certiorari.

Petitioners then appealed to the Court of Appeal for
the Fourth District, Division One (“the Court of Ap-
peal”), which affirmed the order of the trial court. Peti-
tion for Certiorari 16: Appendix A to the Petition for
Certiorari (“App. A”). In its opinion, the Court of
Appeal acknowledged that “Escondido’s rent control ordi-
nance does not exist in a vacuum,” but rejected peti-
tioners’ argument that the combined effect of the Ordi-
nance and the Mobilehome Residency Law effected a “tak-

Memorandum of Points and Authorities in Support of Demurrer to
Plaintiffs’ Complaint.

5

ing” of petitioners’ property within the meaning of the
Fifth Amendment. App. A, at 5, 6. While conceding that
the Ordinance “effects a transfer of value from landlords
to tenants,” the Court of Appeal stated that as long as
the controlled rents were “fair and reasonable,” the trans-
fer of value in question was “Justified by a rational gov-
ernmental purpose” and “|t]he fact that used mobile
homes in Escondido are selling for more than they have
in the past is irrelevant.” App. A, at 13-14,

After the California Supreme Court denied petitioners’
Petition for Review (see Appendix B to the Petition for
Certiorari), petitioners then sought review in this Court.®
Certiorari was granted on October 15, 1991.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

1. The rent control provisions of the Ordinance, in con-
junction with the restrictions that the Mobilehome Resi-
dency Law places upon park owners’ right to evict cur-
rent tenants (or refuse new ones!, give tenants the right
to occupy petitioners’ property in perpetuity as long as
they pay the controlled rent and refrain from violating
applicable laws and regulations. Consequently, the Ordi-
nance, together with the Mobilehome Residency Law, au-
thorizes the “permanent physical occupation” of peti-
tioners’ property and effects a “taking” within the
meaning of Loretto vy. Teleprompter Manhattan CATV
Corp., 458 U.S. 419 (1982). The Court of Appeal, in
the decision under review, failed to appreciate that it was
the combination of the Ordinance and the Mobilehome
Residency Law which effects a “taking” within the mean-
ing of Loretto. The Court of Appeal also erred in con-
cluding that petitioners, by renting their property to
tenants before the Ordinance was enacted, had consented

5 Amici do not deal with the questions raised by petitioners’
parallel action in the United States District Court for the Southern
District of California, which is discussed in the Petition for Cer-
tiorari at 25-30.

6

to the permanent occupation of that property which the
Ordinance now authorizes.

2. Under Pennell v. City of San Jose, 485 U.S. 1
(1988), a rent control ordinance violates the Due Process
Clause if it is “demonstrably irrelevant” to its purpose of
protecting tenants. Petitioners have stated a claim under
the Due Process Clause by alleging that the effect of the
Ordinance (in conjunction with the Mobilehome Residency
Law) was to increase the price of used mobile homes, so
that tenants purchasing used mobile homes after the
enactment ef the Ordinance may be financially no better
off (or even worse off) than they would have been with-
out the Ordinance. In addition, there is good reason to
believe (and petitioners should have been allowed to
prove) that the Ordinance will actually injure tenants’
interests by aggravating housing shortages and creating
financial impediments to the acquisition of used mobile
homes. Petitioners’ Due Process claim should not have
been dismissed on the pleadings.

ARGUMENT

I. THE ORDINANCE, IN CONJUNCTION WITH THE
MOBILEHOME RESIDENCY LAW, AUTHORIZES
A PERMANENT PHYSICAL OCCUPATION OF
PETITIONERS’ PROPERTY AND IS THEREFORE
A “TAKING” FOR WHICH THEY MUST BE COM-
PENSATED :

As this Court held in Loretto v. Teleprompter Man-
hattan CATV Corp., 458 U.S. 419, 426 (1982), “a per-
manent physical occupation authorized by government is
a taking without regard to the public interests that it
may serve.” Because the Ordinance and the Mobilehome
Residency Law, operating together, grant tenants a
perpetual right to occupy land owned by the petitioners—
an interest which can actually be sold—the effect of those
enactments is to give tenants a “complementary estate| ]”
in petitioners’ land—analogous to an easement—and thus

7

to “take” petitioners’ property within the meaning of
Loretto. See Hall v. City of Santa Barbara, 833 F.2d
1270, 1276-1280 (9th Cir. 1986). cert. denied, 485 U.S.
940 (1988).

The Mobilehome Residency Law places stringent limits
upon the rights of park owners to evict current tenants.
$ 798.56. And if current tenants sell their mobile homes
to third parties, the park owner must accept the pur-
chaser as a new tenant unless the purchaser is either
unable to pay the rent or demonstrably unlikely to comply
with the rules and regulations of the park. § 798.74.
Standing alone, those provisions may not authorize a
“permanent physical occupation” of the park owner’s
property, because the park owner may evict current
tenants (or refuse to accept new tenants) who are un-
able to pay the rent fixed by the park owner. §§ 798.56
fe) (1), 798.74(a). However, with the addition of the
Ordinance, which fixes rents at a specified level and pro-
hibits any increase unless authorized by the Board (§§ 29-
103, 29-104), park owners effectively lose the right to
exclude either current or future tenants from the park.
As the Ninth Circuit observed in discussing a similar
ordinance, “tenants are given an indefeasible right to
possession so long as they pay the controlled rent and
behave themselves.” ’/all, 833 F.2d at 1277.

As this Court held in Loretto, it is irrelevant that the
enactments in question authorize physical occupation of
petitioners’ property by private tenants, rather than the
City itself. That was the situation in Loretto. As this
Court there said: “A permanent physical occupation
authorized bv state law is a taking without regard to
whether the State, or instead a party authorized by the
State, is the occupant.” 458 U.S. at 432-433, n.9. Nor
is it relevant that park owners may apply to local govern-
mental authorities for a permit to change the use of the
park. See Mobilehome Residency Law, § 798.56/(g). They
may well be unable to obtain such permits, and even if they
can, this Court made it clear, in Loretto, that a landlord’s
ability to end the occupation of his property by ceasing

8

to rent it does not make that occupation any less a “tak-
ing.” ° Finally, it is also irrelevant, as the Ninth Circuit
pointed out in Hall, that the Ordinance “might someday
be repealed. A governmental taking can always be un-
done if the government so chooses. That has never de-
feated a taking claim.” 833 F.2d at 1277."

The Court of Appeal, in its decision below, held that
there had been no physical taking of petitioners’ property,
within the meaning of Loretto, because (1) it did not
believe that laws which permit a landlord to evict tenants
only for “good cause” can effect a taking (App. A, at 18-
19), and (2) it believed that in light of F.C.C. v. Florida
Power, 480 U.S. 245 (1987), the fact that park owners
originally elected to use their land for rental purposes
meant that they had not been compelled to use it for such
purposes. App. A, at 25-27. These contentions, however,
are not adequate to support the court’s conclusions.

The Court of Appeal held (App. A, at 18-19) that

[i]f mobile home park tenants in Santa Barbara or
Escondido possess any rights to “permanently dc-
cupy” the landlord’s property, those rights derive not
from a rent control ordinance but from the state
Mobilehome Residency Law which limits the circum-
stances under which a landlord may terminate a
tenancy, imposing a “good cause” standard, No

case we are aware of has remotely suggested that -

such a yevrulation of the landlord-tenant relation-
ship eseeiitutes a compensable taking within the
meaning of Loretto.

®*“Tt is true that the landlord could avoid the requirements of
[the statute at issue] by ceasing to rent the building to tenants.
But a landlord’s ability to rent his property may not be conditioned
on his forfeiting the right to compensation for a physical occupa-
tion.” 458 U.S. at 439, n.17.

7For example, in Loretto, the fact that the offending statute
could have been repealed at any time did not prevent this Court
from finding “a permanent physical occupation authorized by gov-
ernment... .” 458 U.S. at 426.

9

But petitioners here have not argued that requiring them
to have “good cause” for evicting tenants would, in and
of itself, authorize the “permanent physical occupation”
of their property. Clearly, it would not (and there will
be no cases suggesting that it would) because no tenant
remains forever. Rather, as explained above, it is the
combination of restrictions on evicting current tenants
‘$ 798.56 of the Mobilehome Residency Law), restrictions
on refusing to accept new tenants (§ 798.74 of the Mobile-
home Residency Law), and rent control ($$ 29-103 and
29-104 of the Ordinance) which, together, have effected
a “permanent physical occupation” of petitioners’ prop-
erty. Every federal court of appeals which has considered
the issue has held that such restrictions, in combination,
do constitute a physical “taking” of property within
the meaning of Loretto. Hall, supra; Pinewood Estates
v. Barnegat Township Leveling Bd., 898 F.2d 347 (3d
Cir. 1990); Azul Pacifico, Inc. v. City of Los Angeles,
1991 U.S. App. LEXIS 26335 (9th Cir. 1991).*

The Court of Appeal below further held that under
F.C.C. v. Florida Power, supra, “ ‘the element of required
acquiescence is at the heart of the concept of occupation’ ”

* The Court of Appeal below asserted that “[s]imilar ordinances
have repeatedly withstood challenges alleging facial unconstitution-
ality,” citing Fisher v. City of Berkeley, 37 Cal. 3d 644, 693 P.2d
261 (1984), appeal dismissed 471 U.S. 1124 (1985), and Hutton
Park Gardens v. Town Council, 68 N.J. 543, 350 A.2d 1 (1975).
App. A, at 21. However, in Fisher, neither the appellants (in their
Jurisdictional Statement) nor the California Supreme Court ad-
dressed the issue as to whether a “physical taking” had occurred.
Loretto was not even mentioned. Similarly, in Hutton Park (which
was decided prior to Loretto), the New Jersey Supreme Court did
not discuss the “physical taking” issue. And Pennell v. City of San
Jose, 485 U.S. 1 (1988), which the Court of Appeal relied upon to
demonstrate that this Court has upheld the constitutionality of
similar enactments (App. A, at 10), involved a rent control ordi-
nance which did not restrict the landlord’s right to increase the
rent upon the departure of the current tenant. 485 U.S. at 5, n.2.

10

and that because petitioners have not been “required to
acquiesce in the occupation of some or all of their prop-
erty by third persons . . . ,” petitioners’ property has not
been taken within the meaning of Loretto. App. A, at
25-27. (Emphasis in original). However, in Florida
Power, the statute in question merely regulated the rent
that utility companies could charge for the use of their
poles and did not require them to let others use those
poles. 480 U.S. at 251. The Court expressly reserved
the issue as to whether Loretto would apply “if the FCC
in a future case required utilities, over objection, to enter
into, renew, or refrain from terminating pole attachment
agreements.” 480 U.S. at 251-252, n.6. In the present
case, while petitioners may originally have elected to use
their property for rental purposes, the passage of the
Ordinance has effectively required them to “renew, or re-
frain from terminating” that arrangement and thus
comes squarely within the ambit of Loretto.

In short, it is clear that the Ordinance, as it operates
in conjunction with the Mobilehome Residency Law, has
authorized a “permanent physical occupation” of peti-
tioners’ property within the meaning of Loretto and is
therefore a “taking” for which the Takings Clause re-
quires “just compensation.”

Il. THE TRIAL COURT ERRED IN DENYING PETI-
TIONERS THE OPPORTUNITY TO PROVE THAT
THE ORDINANCE IS “DEMONSTRABLY IRRELE-
VANT” TO THE PURPOSES THAT IT WAS DE-
SIGNED TO SERVE AND THEREFORE VIOLATES
THE DUE PROCESS CLAUSE

As this Court held in Pennell v. City of San Jose, 485
U.S. 1, 11 (1988), state price-control regulations are
unconstitutional, under the Due Process Clause, “ ‘if
(those regulations are] arbitrary, discriminatory, or
demonstrably irrelevant to the policy the legislature is

11

free to adopt.’”” In the present case, petitioners have
alleged (but were denied the opportunity to prove) that
the Ordinance, in conjunction with the Mobilehome Resi-
dency Law, not only deprives them of property, but is
“demonstrably irrelevant” to the purposes for which it
was enacted and may actually frustrate those purposes.
See, e.g., Complaint, paras. 7-8 (alleging that the effect
of the Ordinance was to increase the price of used mo-
bile homes); Points & Authorities in Opposition to De-
murrer, at 14-16 (arguing that the Ordinance “is not
reasonably related to the effectuation of a substantial
government purpose”’).

As the Court of Appeal below acknowledged, “[n]o
one can dispute that Escondido’s rent control ordinance
... effects a transfer of value from landlords to tenants.”
App. A, at 13-14. The imposition of rent control reduces
the expected rental income from the property and thus
lowers its resale value.” “The critical question is whether
such a transfer can be justified by a rational govern-
mental purpose ....” App. A, at 14. But while the
purpose of rent control is to protect the interests of
tenants,"' the order of the trial court has prevented pe-
titioners from proving that the Ordinance, in conjunc-
tion with the Mobilehome Residency Law, actually im-
pairs the interests of purchasing tenants by increasing
their costs and transferring the benefit to the sellers of
mobile homes who leave them on the premises.

First, as petitioners have alleged, and are prepared to
show, tenants selling their mobile homes are able to
charge the purchasers for the privilege of secure tenure

* Citing Permian Basin Area Rate Cases, 390 U.S. 747, 769-770
(1968).

’ Hirsch & Hirsch, Legal-Economice Analysis of Rent Controls in
a Mobile Home Context: Placement Values and Vacancy De-zontrol,
35 UCLA L. Rev. 399, 423-424 (1988),

1! Pennell, 485 U.S. at 13.

12

at controlled rents, and are able to collect that charge by
adding it to the price of the mobile home.. As the Third
Cireuit recently explained in discussing a similar ordi-
nance:

a tenant [selling his or her mobile home] . . . may
command a premium for the alienation of the right
to occupy the pad at a controlled rent to the com-
plete exclusion of the | park owners]

+ * * *

The premium can be extracted because of the ab-
sence of vacancy decontrol for if there were no
controls the park owners would, at least in theory,
increase the rents to the level that -would eliminate
the willingness of a new purchaser to pay a premium
to locate the mobile home in the park.

Pinewood Estates, 898 F.2d at 353. See also Hall, 833
F.2d at 1276 (same); Hirsch & Hirsch, Legal-Economic
Analysis of Rent Controls in a Mobile Home Context:
Placement Values and Vacancy Decontrol, 35 UCLA L.,
Rev. 399, 425 (1988) (pointing out that “when rent con-
trols are imposed, the value of |mobile home] coaches
owned by sitting tenants increases” and that “|t]his in-
crease results from the capitalization of the rent control
ordinance which has reduced pad rents for the foreseeable
future”).

Indeed, a recent study of mobile home sales in forty
California cities indicates that any tenant who purchases
a mobile home in a mobile home park after the enactment

12 This case is therefore quite different from Pennell, supra,
which involved rent controls on apartment buildings. With apart-
ment (as opposed to mobile home) rent control, the outgoing tenant
cannot charge the incoming tenant a “premium” for the privilege
of having rent control. Pinewood Estates, 898 F.2d at 355; Hirsch
& Hirsch, 35 UCLA L. Rev. at 425; Hall, 833 F.2d at 1278 (dis-
tinguishing this Court’s prior rent control cases on that basis).
Moreover, in Pennell, there were no restrictions on the rent that
the landlord could charge the incoming tenant. 485 U.S. at 5, n.2.
Thus, the outgoing tenant had nothing to sell.

13

of a rent control ordinance can expect to pay approxi-
mately 32% more than he or she would have had to pay
prior to the enactment of the ordinance. Hirsch & Hirsch,
35 UCLA L. Rev. at 443. Consequently, “after the in-
stitution of rent control, a resale tenant may have lower
rent payments, but higher mortgage payments for exactly
the same quality and quantity of housing that existed
before rent control.” Jd. at 448. The result may well be
(and petitioners should have been given the chance to
prove) that tenants who purchase mobile homes after the
enactment of the Ordinance are no better off financially—
or even worse off—than they would have been without
rent controls. Moreover, even if incoming tenants do not
actually suffer financial loss as a result of the Ordinance,
a significant increase in the price of used mobile homes
“may well hinder rather than assist lower-income families
seeking . . .” to obtain such homes. Hall, 833 F.2d at
1281.

Second, the history of the impact of mobile home rent
controls in California bears out the prediction of standard
economic theory that rent control ordinances will cause a
reduction in the quality and quantity of available rental
housing.'* As Hirsch and Hirsch have pointed out,

{s]ince the impositiea of mobile home rent controls
in California, virtucily no new parks and pads have
been constructed. Whereas 60% of all mobile home
park spaces in existence today were constructed be-
tween 1960 and 1970, only 4% of total mobile home
park spaces have been constructed since 1980 when
mobile home rent controls began in earnest. The
fact is that very few new mobile home parks are
being developed and a major reason appears to be the
severity of mobile home rent controls.

Hirsch & Hirsch, 35 UCLA L. Rev. at 463. (Emphasis
added: footnote omitted). If the effect of the Ordinance
has indeed been to reduce the amount of mobile home

13 See Hall, 833 F.2d at 1281, n.26.

14

spaces available, that result will not “benefit” the tenants
that the Ordinance was designed to protect.

In short, petitioners should have been given the oppor-
tunity to prove that the Ordinance, which takes valuable
property interests from them, is “demonstrably irrele-
vant” and even antithetical to the purposes for which it
was enacted. Petitioners have therefore stated a claim
under the Due Process Clause, and the trial court erred
in granting the City’s Demurrer.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth above and for the additional
reasons advanced in the briefs of petitioners and other
amici, the decision of the Court of Appeal should be re-
versed, with appropriate instructions to the trial court.

Respectfully submitted,

ERWIN N. GRISWOLD

Counsel of Record
STEPHEN J. GOODMAN
JONES, DAY, REAVIS & POGUE
1450 G Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20005-2088
(202) 879-3939

November 1991 Counsel for Amici

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0113%3A13. Public record. Not legal advice.
