# Amicus Curiae Brief — General Motors Corp. v. Romein

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0087%3A19

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 500 U.S. 915

## Text

tai es 2 = © Ue " [ >) J
a basis Supreme curt, U.S.
rik

In THE SEP § 19

Supreme Court of the Uniteh States

OcroBER TERM, 1991 OFFIGE OF THE

=

GENERAL MoTors CORPORATION,
= Petitioner,
EVERT ROMEIN, et al.,

Respondents.

ForD MOTOR COMPANY,

‘e Petitioner,

ARTURO GONZALEZ, et al.,
Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
Supreme Court of Michigan

BRIEF OF THE COUNCIL OF STATE GOVERNMENTS,
NATIONAL GOVERNORS’ ASSOCIATION, NATIONAL
CONFERENCE OF STATE LEGISLATURES, NATIONAL
ASSOCIATION OF COUNTIES, INTERNATIONAL
CITY/COUNTY MANAGEMENT ASSOCIATION,
NATIONAL LEAGUE OF CITIES, AND
U.S. CONFERENCE OF MAYORS AS AMICI CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

RICHARD H. PILDEs RICHARD RUDA *
933 Legal Research Chief Counsel
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1215 MICHAEL G. DZIALO
(318) 747-1014 STATE AND LOCAL LEGAL CENTER
1525 Massachusetts Ave. Suite 349
Cambridge, MA 02138 Washington, D.C. 20001
Of Counsel (202) 638-1445
* Counsel of Record for the
+ Amici Curiae

WILSON - Eres PRINTING Co., Inc. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON. D.C. 2000!

'D aN AVAILARIE CODV! |

QUESTION PRESENTED
Amici curiae will address the following question:

Whether the Due Process Clause of the United States
Constitution prevents a State from permitting its legisla-
ture, in response to an unexpected state judicia! decision,
to enact retroactive amendatory legislation for the pur-
poses of (1) restoring recently unsettled expectations;
(2) promoting stability, certainty, and confidence in gov-
ernment’s willingness to honor its prior commitments;
and (3) requiring disgorgement of windfall gains.

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

EE
INTRODUCTION AND SUMMARY OFARGUMENT..
EE ET

I.

Il.

ITI.

THEORY, WELL-ESTABLISHED LEGISLA-
TIVE PRACTICE, AND JUDICIAL PRECE-
DENT SUPPORT LEGISLATIVE POWER TO
REJECT RETROACTIVELY JUDICIAL IN-
TERPRETATIONS OF REGULATORY STAT-
isc ieinisancerntineceersenssnesinnmstenmemseamecsveasaznensse

PRINCIPLES OF FEDERALISM SUPPORT
MICHIGAN’S AUTHORITY TO ACT RETRO-
ACTIVELY IN THE CIRCUMSTANCES OF
ESSE sciecsnipintaenateds

NONE OF THE CIRCUMSTANCES THAT
MIGHT APPROPRIATELY LIMIT THE
SCOPE OF RETROACTIVE LEGISLATION
a

A. Political Process Concerns .._. aiid
ES

SESE TE Sl ee
D. Destruction of Substantial Equity...
E. State Self-Aggrandizement.... ss —s

EL

a f+ +

13

16

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page
149 Madison Ave. Corp. v. Asselta, 331 U.S. 795,
modifying 331 U.S. 199 (1947) ......... Ssiniaidiahsiaahi 10
Addison v. Holly Hill Fruit Products, Inc., 322
ERE ER RS 21
Addison v. Huron Stevedoring Corp., 204 F.2d 88
(2d Cir.), cert. denied, 346 U.S. 877 (1953) ...... 9
Allied Structural Steel Co. v. Spannaus, 438 U.S.
i FE Se Le 24
Anderson v. Mt. Clemens Pottery Co., 328 U.S.
iinet iii eeens 9
Asselta v. 149 Madison Ave. Corp., 79 F. Supp.
re 10
Asselta v. 149 Madison Ave. Corp., 90 F. Supp.
ES Sa 10
Balti & S. R.R. v. Nesbit, 51 U.S. (10 How.)
5 (1860) EET rs = Rc ee 18, 22
Battaglia v. General Motors Corp., 169 F.2d 254
(2d Cir.) , cert. denied, 335 U.S. 887 (1948) ...... passim
Beauchamp v. Dow Chemical Co., 398 N.W.2d 882
RET SR a RE Se 25
Bowen v. Georgetown Univ. Hosp., 488 U.S. 204
STII clehishchenietenescdibitaetilehieiannsatnsesntaninttaibenemabanbiatanitdmentasinen
Bradley v. Richmond School Bd., 416 U.S. 696
EE ee ee ae ee 28
Calder v. Bull, 3 U.S. (3 Dall.) 386 (1798) .......... 12, 22
Canisius College v. United States, 799 F.2d 18 (2d __
Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 481 U.S. 1014 (1987).. 26
Carpenter v. Pennsylvania, 58 U.S. (17 How.)
EE a re ee 22
Chambers v. General Motors Corp., 389 N.W.2d
I a 2
Charlotte H. & N. R.R. v. Welles, 260 US. 8
ERE SEI anne cae Peet eet Sena So a a 23
Chase See. Corp. v. Donaldson, 325 U.S. 304
REET SR ES aE A 17
Coolidge v. Long, 282 U.S. 582 (1931) 0. 27
Counsel v. Dow, 849 F.2d 731 (2d Cir. 1988), cert.
denied, 488 U.S. 955 (1989) 11
Dreyer v. Illinois, 187 U.S. 71 (1902) 18
El Paso v. Simemons, 379 U.S. 497 (1965) 23

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page

Employment Div. v. Smith, 485 U.S. 660 (1988) 21
Energy Reserves Group, Inc. v. Kansas Power &

Light Co., 459 U.S. 400 (1983)... 23, 29
Fleming v. Rhodes, 321 U.S. 100 (1947)... 19, 21, 23
Fletcher v. Peck, 10 U.S. (6 Cranch) 87 (1810) 24
Forbes Pioneer Boat Line v. Board of Commrs.,

fa NEI SSS ra 14, 23, 30
Franks v. White Pine Copper Div., Copper Range

Co., 375 N.W.2d 715 (Mich. 1985)... passim
Goddard v. Frazier, 156 F.2d 938 (10th Cir.),

cert. denied, 329 U.S. 765 (1946)... 17-18
Graham & Foster v. Goodcell, 282 U.S. 409 (1931). 12
Gregory v. Ashcroft, 111 S.Ct. 2395 (1991) 17

Haffner v. United States, 585 F. Supp. 354 (N.D.
Ill. 1984), modified, 757 F.2d 920 (7th Cir.

ES SEER ERO Eee nL ee 12
Helvering v. Helmholz, 296 U.S. 93 (1935) _... ra 27
Highland Farms Dairy, Inc. v. Agnew, 300 U.S.

RASS SEI a ae 17
Laubie v. Sonesta Int’l Hotel Corp., 752 F.2d 165

REDRESS ETE ae 13
League v. Texas, 184 U.S. I 22
Leedom v. International Bhd. of Elec. Workers,

278 F.2d 237 (D.C. Cir. 1960)... 21
Legal Tender Cases, 79 U.S. (12 Wall.) 457

et ES A ee 30
Lichter v. United States, 334 U.S. 742 ( 1948) _.... 23
Macomb County Prof. Deputies Ass’n v. Macomb

County, 452 N.W.2d 902 (Mich. App. 1990)... 16
McCulloch v. Maryland, 17 U.S. (4 Wheat.) 316

EES SUL eels aE ee 20
McGautha v. California, 402 U.S. 183 (1971). 16
Minnesota v. Clover Leaf Creamery Co., 449 U.S.

SRE Sar S SE a ee 17
Missouri v. Dockery, 191 U.S. 165 (1903)... 17
National R.R. Passenger Corp. v. Atchison, T., &

S. F. R.R., 470 U.S. 451 (1985). atin 14
Nichols v. Coolidge, 274 U.S. 531 (1927) 27
Norman v. Baltimore & O. R.R., 294 US. 240

REE EE eee Lt ee eee 30

vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
North Carolina v. Butler, 441 U.S. 369 (1979)... 21
Orr v. Gilman, 183 U.S. 278 (1901)... 22
Paramino Lumber Co. v. Marshall, 309 U.S. 370
(1940) . 12, 26
Penn Central Transportation Co. v. "New: York
City, 488 U.S. 104 (1978)... 29
Perry v. United States, 294 U.S. 330 (1935)... 30
Prentis v. Atlantic Coast Line Co., 211 U.S. 210
(1908) ict caaieadiaiaeatadiiciieasneieiatteeenintinainticiiantia inter natin 19
Priest v. Canada Life Assur. Co., 446 N. W.2d 352
en ae 13, 16
Rochin v. California, 342 U.S. 165 (1952)... 18
SEC v. Chenery Corp., 332 U.S. 194 (1947) 21
Sanelli ». Glenview State Bank, 483 N.E.2d 226
EE ER LES a ae ee 13
Satterlee v. Matthewson, 27 U.S. (2 Pet.) 380
SII elediahciidntateaiatbidemachananenicitaiipaiilin statin teeta inet 19
Schwarzkopf v. Sac County Bd. of Supervisors,
BP GE ee 13
Seese v. Bethlehem Steel Co., 168 F.2d 58 (4th Cir.
ES eS ee 9, 10, 23
Smith v. Robinson, 468 U.S. 992 (1984)... 11
Swayne & Hoyt, Ltd. v. United States, 300 U.S.
ETE ee | a 12

Sweezy v. New Hampshire, 354 U.S. 234 (1957). 17
Thomas v. Carnegie-Illinois Steel Corp., 174 F.2d
I ts 10
Treigle v. Acme Homestead Ass'n, 297 U.S. 189
EERE Sa ene ee Ey Oe 22-23
United States Trust Co. v. New Jersey, 431 US. 1
FE en ee 23, 30
United States v. Darusmont, 449 U.S. 292 (1980). 28
United States v. Heinszen & Co., 206 U.S. 370

i iii lie ta hic ala 12, 15, 26
United States v. Sperry Corp., 110 S. Ct. 387

REET RS LA IS a Sane eR 11, 28
United States v. Wells Fargo Bank, 485 U.S. 351

EE EAL as eee ae 12
Untermyer v. Anderson, 276 U.S. 440 (1928)... 27

Uphaus v. Wyman, 360 U.S. 72 (1959) 17

vii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
Van Emmerik v. Janklow, 454 U.S. 1131 (1982). 13, 15,
26

W. B. Worthen Co. v. Kavanaugh, 295 U.S. 56
EE RE Rea tS a ee 24
Ward v. Illinois, 431 U.S. 767 (1977) ey ae 21
Watson v. Mercer, 33 U.S. (8 Peters) 88 (1834) 22

STATUTES

Deficit Reduction Act of 1984, Pub. L. No. 98-369,

EEE ee Oo a ee 12

Fair Labor Standards Act, 52 Stat. 1060-1069
(1938) (as codified at 29 U.S.C. § 201 et seq.
SCM RS 9

Handicapped Children’ s Protection Act of 1986,

Pub. L. No. 99-372, 100 Stat. 796 (codified as
amended at 20 U.S.C. 1415(e) (4) (Supp. IV

LE LS a Lo 11
Mich. Comp. Laws § 418. nt Se Rae . 3
Mich. Comp. Laws § 418.354... passim
Mich. Comp. Laws § 418.355... 3
Mich. H.B. 5084 (enacted as 1987 Pub. Acts 28,

i iuisiilaliaes 2, 3,4
1980 Mich. Pub. Acts 357 § 1... = RE Nee 3
Portal-to-Portal Act, 61 Stat. 84-90 (as codified at

29 U.S.C. § 251 et seq. (1989))... i)

LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS

Mich. History of Senate Bills in the House 5984
(1987) ... eA See ne 6 cee

10 Mich. House Journal 135-37 (Jan. 29, 1986)

2 Mich. House Journal 2058 (October 16, 1985)

Mich. Senate History of Senate Bills 3675
gS tt eS oe ee 3

MISCELLANEOUS

Gov. Blanchard, News from the Office of the Gov-
EG 2

Detroit Free Press, Jan.5,1986at3A.... 2,8

Detroit Free Press, Nov. 3,1985atH1........ ~

ww &

viii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page

Eule, Temporal Limits on the Legislative Mandate:
Entrenchment and Retroactivity, 1987 Am. B.
EER EEE PS es a 8, 16

Fallon & Meltzer, New Law, Non-Retroactivity, and
Constitutional Remedies, 104 Harv. L. Rev. 1731

ct es 20
L. Fuller, The Morality of Law (2d ed. 1969)... 7
Greenblatt, Limitations on Retroactive Civil Legis-

lation, 51 Nw. U.L. Rev. 540 (1956)... 11, 24

H. Hart & A. Sacks, The Legal Process: Basic
Problems in the Making and Application of Law
RECESSES Ale Sosa 10-11

Hochman, The Supreme Court and the Constitu-
tionality of Retroactive Legislation, 73 Harv. L.

Rev. 692 (1960)... EES ee 7, 10, 23, 29

Jurisdictional Statement, United States v. Crocker
Nat'l Bank, 481 U.S. 1047 (1987) (No. 86-

aS iOS LEE REY DIETS: ee ace 12
Munzer, A Theory of Retroactive Legislation, 61

Tes i I Ge GI oeececerccttcnncnceterecteccdercrecce 8,15
Note, A Process-Oriented Approach to the Con-

tracts Clause, 89 Yale L.J. 1623 (1980)... 24
2 Records of the Federal Convention of 1787

a 21

Slawson, Constitutional and Legislative Consider-
ations in Retroactive Lawmaking, 48 Calif. L.
SESE A ae eae | _..8, 28, 27

3 J. Story, Commentaries on the Constitution,

a Acheillatadelinisiiiainasiodtiitidnitaaimnlicas 19, 22
2 J. Story, Commentaries on the Constitution (5th

a I ieinanieticidaitcininictsinhdibincatinisnsigidiiacdbiatcaieiishintisasaas s 22

BRIEF OF THE COUNCIL OF STATE GOVERNMENTS,
NATIONAL GOVERNORS’ ASSOCIATION, NATIONAL
CONFERENCE OF STATE LEGISLATURES, NATIONAL
ASSOCIATION OF COUNTIES, INTERNATIONAL
CITY/COUNTY MANAGEMENT ASSOCIATION,
NATIONAL LEAGUE OF CITIES, AND
U.S. CONFERENCE OF MAYORS AS AMICI CURIAE
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

INTEREST OF THE AMICI CURIAE

Amici are organizations whose members include state,
county, and municipal public officia.s and governments
throughout the United States. Amici have a strong inter-
est in safeguarding the integrity of the internal govern-
ance decisions by which States structure their policy-
making processes, particularly the process by which state
legislatures respond to statutory decisions of state courts.’

STATEMENT

In 1985, the Michigan Supreme Court, interpreting
1981 amendments to the State’s Workers’ Disability Com-
pensation Act, concluded that the legislature had reduced
the benefits owing to workers injured before passage of
those amendments. Franks v. White Pine Copper Div.,
375 N.W.2d 715 (1985) [decided together with Cham-
bers v. General Motors Corp. and hereinafter cited as
Chambers) (interpreting Mich. Comp. Law. § 418.354
(1991), “the 1981 Amendments”). This construction of
the 1981 Amendments had a particularly devastating ef-
fect on elderly retirees whose workers’ compensation
benefits were their principal source of income.’ Retirees
who regularly had been receiving fixed weekly compen-
sation benefits for many years suddenly found those bene-
fits drastically reduced; in many cases, including those of

1 The parties’ letters of consent have been filed with the Clerk
pursuant to Rule 37.3 of this Court.

2 The Chambers decision marked the first instance in the state’s
history of such retroactive reductions in v-orkers’ compensation
benefits to injured employees.

2

respondents Romein and Gonzalez, compensation benefits
were eliminated altogether.

Prior to the 1985 Chambers decision, every administra-
tive tribunal and lower court to consider the question had
concluded that the 1981 Amendments had not been in-
tended to have this draconian retroactive effect. Resp. Br.
at 5. The Chambers court acknowledged that its inter-
pretation was “inconsistent with the legislative objective”
of the Workers’ Compensation Act, but felt bound not “to
substitute our view regarding the equities” for what it
considered the plain meaning of the 1981 Amendments.
375 N.W.2d at 727. Later in 1985, Justice Boyle (the
author of Chambers) dissented from the denial of rehear-
ing, concluding that the court had erred and that the
decision had had “harsh and unforeseen consequences.”’
Chambers v. General Motors. Corp., 389 N.W.2d 685
(1985) (denying rehearing). In the case now before this
Court, the Michigan Supreme Court, based on its knowl-
edge of local conditions, recognized that its interpretation
in Chambers had been “an unexpected circumstance.”
Pet. App. 17a.

Public and legislative response to this “unexpected cir-
cumstance” was immediate. The Governor who had
sponsored and signed the 1981 Amendments, the current
Governor, the State’s Workers’ Compensation Director,
the Director of the Labor Department, and numerous leg-
islative sponsors of the 1981 Amendments all character-
ized the Chambers decision as a misconstruction of the
1981 Amendments and deplored its unsettling conse-
quences. J.A. 29-33; Resp. Br. at 5 n.6, 8 n.10, 10 &
n.13.* Within days of the initial decision, legislation was
introduced in the Michigan House specifically designed to
overturn the Chambers result. H.B. 5084; see also 2
House Journal 2058 (October 16, 1985); Resp. Br. 8-9.
Within one month of the denial of rehearing, on January
29, 1986, this bill passed the House by an 87-14 vote.*

3 Detroit Free Press, Jan. 5, 1986 at 3A; Gov. Blanchard, News
From the Office of the Governor 2 (May 6, 1987).

410 House Journal 135-37 (Jan. 29, 1986).

3

The bill was then referred to committee in the Senate,
where it became enmeshed in efforts to revise other pro-
visions of the Workers’ Compensation Act. After the
Senate Committee and then the full Senate endorsed a
broader package of several significant amendments, and
the package emerged from a House and Senate Confer-
ence, each Chamber approved a set of reforms that was
signed into law on May 14, 1987 (“the 1987 Amend-
ments’’) .°

As originally approved in the House, H.B. 5084 was
made partially retroactive to the effective date of the
original 1981 Amendments. App. to Resp. Br. at 7a-8a.
Workers injured after the 1981 Amendments were not to
be affected. For workes: injured before those Amend-
ments, however, the legislature (like the Michigan Su-
preme Court) concluded that the outcome in Chambers
had been unexpected, inconsistent with the policies of
Michigan’s Workers’ Compensation Act, and inequitable.
This perceived unfairness was heightened by the fact that,
while some of the cost savings from the package of re-
forms had, at the same time, been passed on to workers
in the form of much higher workers’ compensation bene-
fit levels, only workers injured after the 1981 Amend-
ments were eligible for these increased benefits. To pro-
tect what the legislature viewed as the morally significant,
settled expectations of retired and elderly workers; to
maintain the State’s long-standing policy commitment not
to reduce benefit payments retroactively; to preserve the
integrity of the 1981 Amendments as a whole; and to
rectify what the Michigan legislature perceived as an un-
justified windfall gain for business from the unexpected
Chambers decision, the legislature made its rejection of
Chambers retroactive. As enacted in final form, the 1987

5See Senate History of Senate Bills 3675 (1987); History of
Senate Bills in the House 5984 (1987). The Senate vote was 35-1;
the House vote was 95-0. For citation to the full legislative history,
see Resp. Br. at 8-9 & n.11.

1980 Mich. Pub. Acts 357 §1; Mich. Comp. Laws § 418.351;
Mich. Comp. Laws § 418.355.

4

Amendments thus precisely tracked the partial retroac-
tivity provisions first adopted—in the immediate after-
math of Chambers—in H.B. 5084.

For other pertinent facts, amici adopt respondents’
statement of the case.

INTRODUCTION AND SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

This brief will address only the retroactivity challenges
arising under the Due Process Clause. We agree with re-
spondents that statutorily-mandated workers’ compensa-
tion benefit levels are not the sort of “private agreements”
to which the Contract Clause applies. See Resp. Br. Sec-
tion I.7 The Michigan statute presents a question of
retroactive legislation—nothing more. More specifically,
the central question this case poses is the legitimate extent
of a State’s power to give its legislature final say in the
process of interpreting regulatory statutes.

1. Within a system of generally prospective laws, ret-
roactive lawmaking power can, at times, be a necessary
supplement. This Court and many others have endorsed
the legitimacy of that supplemental power when Congress
and state legislatures retroactively reverse the outcomes
of judicial decisions interpreting regulatory statutes. In
the circumstances presented here, courts have recognized
that such legislative action can affirmatively promote the
certainty, stability, and fairness central to the rule of
law.

2. The choice of a state legislature to overturn a
decision of its own courts raises special constitutional

7 We also agree with respondents that, even if in some instances
statutory benefits can somehow be viewed as incorporated into
private agreements, the present case is not one in which the 1981
Amendments may be given such an effect. First, the courts of the
concerned state, whose decisions on such questions have consistently
been given deference by this Court, have concluded that no contrac-
tual interest was created by those amendments. In addition. the
statutory provision that is challenged here only restored the benefit
level to which respondents, who were injured prior to 1981, were
entitled at the time the 1981 Amendments were enacted.

5

considerations that require federal courts to be wary of
intervening. As a structural mater, States are free to al-
locate power between their courts and legislatures in
whatever way they see fit. Not only are federal
separation-of-powers principles inapplicable at the state
level; the Constitution affirmatively guarantees to the
States the right to structure their internal governmental
arrangements free of federal control. Thus, if States
choose to give their legislatures the last word on the
meaning of public programs—even beyond what might be
constitutionally permitted to Congress—the Federal Con-
stitution does not constrain that choice. Indeed, the choice _
itself is constitutionally protected. Because the Michigan
Supreme Court in this case, as in past decisions, found its
legislature’s actions consistent with the allocation of state
lawmaking authority, this Court must respect that deci-
sion.

Similarly, that the unsettling event triggering a need
for legislative action was a judicial decision, as opposed to
some other change in circumstance, does not raise any
distinct constitutional barriers. The extent to which a
judicial decision departs from widely shared understand-
ings and practices, or resolves genuine uncertainty, may
be relevant in determining the firmness of the foundation
for the legislature’s action, or the substantiality of the
countervailing equities. But even a judicial decision that
may be fairly characterized as “foreordained,” and obvi-
ously “correct,” poses no ineluctable barrier to retroactive
action.

3. Against this background, the Michigan legislation
is fully consistent with established retroactivity doctrine.
The ends for which the statute was enacted include (1)
restoring recently unsettled expectation and reliance in-
terests; (2) promoting stability, certainty, and confidence
in ygovernment’s willingness to honor its commitments;
(3) “curing” a problem arising in the administration of
an ongoing public program; (4) responding to a signifi-
cant change in circumstance, specifically an unexpected

6

judicial decision; and (5) requiring the disgorgement of
windfall gains. For retroactive and other legislation,
these are clearly recognized legitimate public purposes.

In addition, the means chosen by the legislature—
retroactive lawmaking—is both directly related to the
legislature’s objectives and constitutionally valid. In some
circumstances, retroactive state legislation might be so
harsh and arbitrary as to raise substantive due process
questions. Thus, such circumstances might exist when
retroactive legislation is used to target identifiable indi-
viduals or to single out especially vulnerable groups;
when the adverse effects of retroactivity are intensified
by extreme legislative delays; when interests resting on
“substantial equity” are undermined; or when the retro-
active legislation comes as a sharp surprise to settled and
justifiable expectations—particilarly if the disadvan-
taged party could have altered its conduct in advance to
avoid the liabilities being retroactively imposed.

But none of these circumstances is suggested by this
case. The businesses burdened here cannot be considered
to be especially vulnerable to unfair legislative treatment
or consideration. Moreover, the legislative response to the
Chambers decision was swift in its initiation and not un-
duly delayed in its completion. Thus the legislature’s ac-
tion involved no surprise at all, let alone one that could be
found unfair; the only genuine element of surprise in this
case was that caused to employee expectations by the
Chambers decision. For these reasons, petitioners also
cannot claim interference with any interests resting on
“substantial equity.” And in any event, the obligations
imposed by the State under its workers’ compensation
laws could not have been avoided by the petitioners even
if those obligations had been entirely prospective in
nature.

7

ARGUMENT

I. THEORY, WELL-ESTABLISHED LEGISLATIVE
PRACTICE, AND JUDICIAL PRECEDENT SUP-
PORT LEGISLATIVE POWER TO REJECT RETRO-
ACTIVELY JUDICIAL INTERPRETATIONS OF
REGULATORY STATUTES

Both Congress and the legislatures of the States have
long found it necessary to legislate retroactively at times.*
And as Justice Scalia has observed, “retroactive legisla-
tion .. . has long been upheld against constitutional at-
tack where reasonable.” Bowen v. Georgetown Univ.
Hosp., 488 U.S. 204, 223 (1988) (Sealia, J., concurring).

The basis for retroactive policymaking in a context like
that presented here has perhaps been most effectively
stated by Professor Lon Fuller. As he noted, within a
system of generally forward-looking laws, retroactive leg-
islation may on occasion be necessary in order to prese *y
vaiues central] to the rule of law—ensuring stability, pro-
tecting legitimate expectations, and promoting certainty
and reliability:

A system of law composed exclusively of retroactive
rules could exist only as a grotesque conceit worthy
of Lewis Carroll or Franz Kafka. Yet a retroactive
‘curative’ statute can perform a useful function in
dealing with mishaps that may occur within a system
of rules that are generally prospective. . . . retro-
spective law-making can in some instances actually
serve the cause of legality. . .. it can serve to heal
infringements of the principle that like cases should
receive like treatment. L. Fuller, The Morality of
Law 74, 211 (2d ed. 1969).

® Retroactive legislation is here defined to embrace laws that
“attach new rights and duties to already completed transactions.”
Hochman, The Supreme Court and the Constitutionality of Retro-
active Legislation, 73 Harv. L. Rev. 692, 692 (1960), quoted in
Pet. Br. at 33-34.

8

In this case, the Michigan Supreme Court issued a de-
cision in Chambers that, by its own acknowledgement,
the Michigan legislature’s judgment, and all available ex-
ternal evidence, was “unexpected.” The effect of that de-
cision—“harsh and unforseen” in the words of its judicial
author—was the retroactive reduction of compensation
benefits to previously injured workers. Those affected
were the first in the State’s history to find that their ex-
pectations of regular receipt of fixed benefits had been
defeated. In restoring these benefits, and vindicating those
expectations, the Michigan legislature sought to assure
that the affected workers were treated no less equitably
than others who had been injured in the past.

In the modern regulatory state, judicial decisions inter-
preting ongoing regulatory programs often have policy
consequences far beyond their éffects on the parties before
the court.” On many such occasions, Congress and state
legislatures have found it appropriate to reject those con-
sequences and retroactively alter the outcomes judicial
decisions have wrought. And in circumstances virtually
identical to those here, courts consistently have upheld
such actions.'®

A. Congress

The famous “Portal-to-Portal”’ cases, which petitioners
do not cite, are directly on point. See, e.g., Battaglia v.
General Motors Corp., 169 F.2d 254 (2d Cir.), cert. denied,

®The Chambers decision appears to affect as many as 40,000
workers, may redistribute nearly $80 million from injured workers
to businesses, and changes long-standing public policies regarding
the stability of established compensation benefits. See, e.g., Detroit
Free Press, Jan. 5, 1986 at 3A; id., Nov. 3, 1985 at H1.

10 See generally Eule, Temporal Limits on the Legislative Man-
date: Entrenchment and Retrvactivity, 1987 Am. B. Found. Res.
J. 379, 447 (“Curative laws, although commonly labeled retroactive
because of their alteration of the pre-enactment status of an act,
are nearly always sustained by the courts.”); Munzer, A Theory
of Retroactive Legislation, 61 Tex. L. Rev. 425, 468 (1982); Slaw-
son, Constitutional and Legislative Considerations in Retroactive
Lawmaking, 48 Calif. L. Rev. 217 (1960).

9

335 U.S. 887 (1948); Seese v. Bethlehem Steel Co., 168
F.2d 58 (4th Cir. 1948). In 1938, Congress enacted the
Fair Labor Standards Act (“FLSA’’),'' which required
specific wage compensation rates for overtime work and
provided liquidated damages as sanctions. Contrary to
customary understandings in many industries, this Court,
in a line of decisions culminating in Anderson v. Mt.
Clemens Pottery Co., 328 U.S. 680 (1946), held that the
Act included employees’ transportation, preparation, wait-
ing time, and the like (“portal-to-portal time”) within the
statutory definition of “work.” The decision subjected
employers to potentially substantial liabilities, and one
year later, Congress responded by enacting the Portal-
to-Portal Act,'* extinguishing—retroactively to the date
of the original FLSA—any right of employees to recover
under the Anderson ruling."

This action was subjected to the same due process
challenge advanced here. Employees argued that “the
provisions of the [FLSA] statute must be read into the
contract of employment and that the right to recover com-
pensation in accordance with its terms accrues upon the
rendering of services.” Seese, 168 F.2d at 64-65. They
also asserted that the decision in Anderson had generated
“vested rights” in this Court’s interpretation. But Judge
Learned Hand expressed the universal judicial response:
“I agree that that right was ‘vested’ in every sense of
that word. However, it is another matter whether the
uncertainty that had prevailed and the unexpectedness
of the new liabilities were irrelevant upon whether the
Act was constitutional.” Addison v. Huron Stevedoring
Corp., 204 F.2d 88, 97 (2d Cir.) (Hand, J., concurring),
cert, denied, 346 U.S. 877 (1953). At least seven court

11 §2 Stat. 1060-1069 (1938) (as codified at 29 U.S.C. § 201 et seq.
(1989) ).

1261 Stat. 84-90 (as codified at 29 U.S.C. § 251 et seq. (1989)).

18 As the Michigan legislature did here, Congress excepted indi-
vidual cases that had been reduced to a final judgment before
enactment of the Portal-to-Portal Act. Seese, 168 F.2d at 62.

10

of appeals decisions, 42 reported district court decisions,
and 81 unreported ones held that the Constitution did not
preclude Congress trom retroactively overturning this
Court’s decision. After surveying these decisions, one
court of appeals said: “{E]very decision has upheld the
constitutionality of the statute. This unanimity of result
represents as accurate an expression of the views of the
federal judiciary as it is possible to obtain.” Thomas v.
Carnegie-Illinois Steel Corp., 174 F.2d 711, 713 (3d Cir.
1949) ."*

Two facets of the Portal-to-Portal controversy are par-
ticularly relevant here. First, Congress characterized this
Court’s decision in Anderson as “unexpected,” see Bat-
taglia, 169 F.2d at 259-60 n.11, and the courts accepted
that characterization, see, e.g., Seese, 168 F.2d at 64.
Second, Congress concluded that the Court’s interpreta-
tion had generated an unjustified windfall gain for em-
ployees, see Battaglia, 169 F.2d at 259-60 n.11, and the
courts also accepted that policy judgment. Seese, 168
F.2d at 64. The basic principle of these decisions is
that “[a] retroactive statute, by remedying an unexpected
judicial decision, may actually effectuate” important ex-
pectations. Hochman, The Supreme Court and the Con-
stitutionality of Retroactive Legislation, 73 Harv. L. Rev.
692, 693 (1960). In such circumstances, retroactive re-
versal is not constitutionally problematic.”

14 This Court consistently denied certiorari. In 149 Madison Ave.
Corp. v. Asselta, 331 U.S. 795, modifying 331 U.S. 199 (1947),
after the Court initially affirmed a judgment for overtime pay,
but before the time for rehearing had run, Congress enacted the
Portal-to-Portal Act. On rehearing, this Court vacated and re-
manded for reconsideration under the new law, and on remand,
the employers prevailed. Asselta v. 149 Madison Ave. Corp., 79
F. Supp. 413 (S.D.N.Y. 1948) and later proceeding Asselta v.
149 Madison Ave. Corp., 90 F. Supp. 442 (S.D.N.Y. 1950).

15 As Professors Henry Hart and Albert Sacks rhetorically ask:
“Would it be fair to say that, in principle, it was the Mt. Clemens
line of decisions rather than the statute which was actually open
to objection on the score of retroactivity?” H. Hart & A. Sacks,
The Legal Process: Basic Problems in the Making and Application

11

In Battaglia, General Motors successfully argued that
the Constitution does not prevent Congress from going
back nine years in retroactively depriving employees of
the unexpected benefits of a recent Supreme Court deci-
sion. Today, General Motors urges that the Constitution
does prevent a legislature from retroactively going back
five years to deprive employers of their unexpected gains
from a recent Michigan Supreme Court decision. If any-
thing, the circumstances here more strongly support the
legislature’s actions; while the FLSA was the first federal
statute regulating wages, the 1981 Workers’ Compensa-
tion Amendments were enacted against a longstanding
state practice of not reducing benefit levels retroactively."

In United States v. Sperry Corp., 110 S. Ct. 387 (1989),
the United States Claims Court had held that the Depart-
ment of the Treasury did not have statutory authority to
impose a fee on awards issued by the Iran-United States
Claims Tribunal; Congress swiftly granted that authority
and made its statutory grant retroactive for three years,
back to the date Treasury had first acted. This Court
unanimously upheld the statute. Similarly, when a dis-
trict court held certain commercial notes issued by local

of Law 647 (Tent. ed. 1958). See also Greenblatt, Limitations on
Retroactive Civil Legislation, 51 Nw. U.L. Rev. 540, 556 (1956).

16For another example of congressional action giving retro-
active effect to its rejection of a decision of this Court, see the
Handicapped Children’s Protection Act of 1986, Pub. L. No. 99-372,
100 Stat. 796 (codified as amended at 20 U.S.C. 1415(e) (4) (Supp.
IV 1986)). In that Act, Congress specifically overturned this
Court’s decision in Smith v. Robinson, 468 U.S. 992 (1984), by
permitting the award of attorney’s fees in circumstances Smith
had held precluded under earlier legislation. Congress made its
policy choice retroactive to the day before Smith had been decided,
more than two years earlier. Counsel v. Dow, 849 F.2d 731, 738-39
(2d Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 488 U.S. 955 (1989). Upholding
this retroactive overturning, the Second Circuit noted: “ ‘Curative’
legislation such as this, which is designed to cure what Congress
perceived as a defect in prior law, is entitled to particular defer-
ence.” Jd. (emphasis added). At least two district courts have
reached the same conclusion, id. at 739; no court appears to have
reached a contrary result.

12

governments not subject to estate taxes, and Congress
retroactively overturned that decision,'’ the Solicitor Gen-
eral defended the statute on the ground that it was “de-
signed simply to avoid giving taxpayers a windfall bene-
fit as a result of a judicial decision that postulated (we
believe erroneously) a previously unrecognized estate tax
exemption.” Jurisdictional Statement at 12-13, United
States v. Crocker National Bank, 481 U.S. 1047 (1987)
(No. 86-1521).

Earlier in the century, this Court established the prin-
ciples on which these legislative actions rest. A judicial
decision about the meaning of a statutory policy creates
no general bar to a legislative decision reaching a con-
trary policy conclusion and applying that conclusion retro-
actively. See, e.g., Swayne & Hoyt, Ltd. v. United States,
300 U.S. 297 (1936); Graham & Foster v. Goodcell, 282
U.S. 409 (1931); United States v. Heinszen & Co., 206
U.S. 370 (1907). Although a statute overturning a final
judgment that is res judicata between specific parties
might present a more difficult question,’® even such actions
have been sustained, as in the classic decision in Calder v.
Bull, 3 U.S. (3 Dall.) 386 (1798) (legislature set aside
probate court decree and ordered new hearing). See also
Paramino Lumber Co. v. Marshall, 309 U.S. 370 (1940)
(five years after final administrative judgment, and long
after time for judicial review had passed, Congress or-
dered new compensation hearing).

17 Haffner v. United States, 585 F. Supp. 354 (N.D. Ill, 1984),
modified, 757 F.2d 920 (7th Cir. 1985), the result of which was
overturned by Section 641(a) of the Deficit Reduction Act of 1984,
Pub. L. No. 98-369, 98 Stat. 939.

18 This Court found that the original statute had not exempted
the notes, thus obviating any constitutional challenge to the sub-
sequent statute. United States v. Wells Fargo Bank, 485 U.S. 351
(1988).

19In the present case, such final judgments were specifically
exempted from the reach of the Michigan statute.

—~

13

B. State Legislatures

Like congressional legislation, retroactive state policy-
making has at times been prompted by judicial decisions
interpreting statutes. And like the federal courts, state
courts typically have upheld such legislation.*® State leg-
islatures have a substantial interest in the occasional use
of this technique in order to retain ultimate control over

ongoing regulatory programs.

This Court has had less occasion to review state legisla-
tion responding to state court decisions. But in Van
Emmerik v. Janklow, 454 U.S. 1181 (1982), the Court
concluded that a state court’s rejection of a challenge to
such legislation did not present a substantial federal ques-
tion. Significantly, the State’s justifications for retroac-
tivity in Van Emmerik were less weighty than in the
present case, and the burdens imposed substantially
greater.

In Van Emmerik, the South Dakota statute under
attack responded not to the legitimate expectations of
elderly retirees but to a judicial decision holding that the
proper sales tax rate on utility services was three per-
cent, rather than the four percent imposed by the general
sales tax. Although no well-entrenched state policy indi-
cated that the general sales tax rate and that for utility
services should be the same, the South Dakota legislature
retroactively fixed a four percent rate reaching back 11
years. This Court sustained the South Dakota Supreme
Court’s conclusion that the act did not violate any consti-
tutional prohibitions.

The broad range of retroactive policymaking (and prec-
edent sustaining it) indicates not only the degree of dis-
ruption that would be caused by increased constitutional

20 See, e.g., Laubie v. Sonesta Int'l Hotel Corp., 752 F.2d 165
(5th Cir. 1985); Priest v. Canada Life Assur. Co., 446 N.W.2d 352
(Mich. App. 1989) ; Sanelli v. Glenview State Bank, 483 N.E.2d 226
(Ill. 1985) (and cases cited therein); Schwarzkopf v. Sac County
Bd. of Supervisors, 341 N.W.2d 1 (lowa 1983) (and cases cited
therein).

14

constraints on retroactivity, but the extent to which the
kind of retroactivity involved here is widely regarded as
appropriate and fair. In part because of the frequency
of such retroactive policymaking, petitioners bear a heavy
burden of proving that the effect of this state statute is
so arbitrary, unfair, and irrational that it violates their
constitutional rights. See National R.R. Passenger Corp.
v. Atchison, T., & S. F. R.R., 470 US. 451, 472 (1985).

Petitioners acknowledge only parts of this overwhelm-
ing array of case law. Seeking to meet their burden of
proof, they distinguish the small sample of cases they
cite, arguing that there are two radically different kinds
of legislative action overturning judicial decisions. Pet.
Br. at 38-44. The first are cases said to implicate only
“curative” reversal of judicial decisions; the second are
said instead to entail a “reversal” of legislative policy.
Not surprisingly, petitioners assert that all the adverse
decisions they acknowledge fall in the first category, while
the instant case—allegedly standing alone in the case law
—falls into the second. Such a distinction is of doubtful
value," and whatever its utility may be in other con-
texts, it is of no avail here.

First, when a legislature overturns a judicial construc-
tion of a statute, the suggested distinction is largely with-
out substance. Beyond recitation of these labels, pti-
tioners offer no helpful analysis, capable of being judici-
aliy applied, to distinguish between legislative reversals
that merely “cure” statutory problems and those that are
“true reversals.” In all these cases, legislatures respond
to a judicial decision, typically regarded as erroneous,
that is said to require remedial or curative legislation.
Taking petitioners’ suggested line seriously would require
courts to second-guess legislative judgments about the
necessity for legislative action.

21 The only decision of this Court in which the distinction appears
even arguably to have contributed to the invalidation of a state
legislative act is Forbes Pioneer Boat Line v. Board of Commrs.,
258 U.S. 338 (1922), discussed infra Section I11.C and note 28.

15

Second, nothing distinguishes this case from those
cited—including the Portal-to-Portal decisions and Van
Emmerik—in which legislatures overturned other judicial
decisions ; if those cases are explained as “curative,” the
“curative” category must be applied here as well. Indeed,
commentators have recognized as “curative” any legisla-
tion that simply overturns a statutory interpretation.
See, e.g., Munzer, A Theory of Retroactive Legislation,
61 Tex. L. Rev. 425, 468 (1982) (“[C]urative acts are
Statutes that retroactively adjust existing legislation to
conform to the putative intent of the legislature .. .
| T] hey are routinely upheld.”’).

Third, in every case of this sort, those disadvantaged
by retroactive legislation claim a “sudden reversal” of
policy. In Heinszen, for example, businesses complained
that Congress, in retroactively authorizing tariffs eight
years into the past, had simply enacted a new tariff. This
Court said such a claim “begs the question” and “mis-
stat{es] the nature of the act of Congress”; the statute
“on its very face” had been designed as a response to a
specific judicial decision. 206 U.S. at 385-86. Looking
to the legislature’s asserted purposes and to the context,
the Court found that the statute had simply restored ex-
pectations that the Court’s own decisions had disrupted.

Finally, on the facts of this case, there is no sudden
“reversal of policy’; despite their reconstruction of the
facts, petitioners cannot carry their burden of rebutting
the well-substantiated conclusions of the Michigan Su-
preme Court and legislature that it was the court’s own
decision in Chambers that was “unexpected.”

The labels “curative” and “reversal of policy’ are con-
clusory and distract from genuine analysis. They are
vestiges of a pre-Realist era in which courts sought to
categorize problems in formal terms, rather than directly
examining the underlying interests involved. Serious ef-
forts to apply them would intrude on the prerogatives of
state legislatures to define the bases for their actions.
Instead, the Court has generally looked, and should con-

16

tinue to look, to the justifications for retroactive state
legislation, to the nature of the interests affected, and to
the extent of the burden imposed. As the following sec-
tions show, based on these concrete concerns, the Michigan
legislature’s actions fall well within constitutional limits.

II. PRINCIPLES OF FEDERALISM SUPPORT MICHI-
GAN’S AUTHORITY TO ACT RETROACTIVELY IN
THE CIRCUMSTANCES OF THIS CASE

Some critiques of retroactive legislation focus on con-
cern for protecting the judiciary from undue legisla-
tive interference, or protecting earlier legislatures from
subsequent ones.*? But as Justice Brennan noted, “we
have held the States not bound, as is the Federal Govern-
ment, by the doctrine of separation of powers.” McGau-
tha v. California, 402 U.S. 183, 254 n.3 (1971) (Bren-
nan, J., dissenting). As a result, even if retroactive fed-
eral legislation might be barred in some circumstance by
separation «f powers principles, similar state legislation
should 1. «© this ground, be held to violate the Con-

stitution.

Yet, in essence, the allocation of policymaking author-
ity between the branches of state government is ulti-
mately all that is involved in this case. In the courts be-
low, petitioners aggressively challenged the Michigan leg-
islature’s actions on state separation of powers grounds.
The Michigan Supreme Court rejected those arguments,
and, as in previous Michigan cases,”* upheld the power of
the legislature to give retroactive effect to a law over-
turning a statutory interpretation by that State’s courts.
Under Michigan law, the legislature simply has the final
word on the meaning of the statutes it enacts. Argu-
ments about whether that legislature actually honored
the intent of the original, enacting legislature, or whether
the Michigan Supreme Court’s decision was unexpected,

22 See, e.g., Eule, supra note 10.

23 Priest v. Canada Life Assur. Co., 446 N.W.2d 352 (Mich. App.
1989): Macomb County Prof. Deputies Ass’n v. Macomb County,
452 N.W. 2d 902 (Mich. App. 1990).

17

are therefore ultimately beside the point. Michigan has,
in a sense, chosen to give its legislature the option of act-
ing as a court of last resort on questions of statutory con-
struction—at least when general policy consequences are
at stake. As Justice Stevens has said, “it is not our busi-
ness to disagree with the state tribunal’s evaluation of
the State’s own lawmaking process.” Minnesota v. Clover
Leaf Creamery Co., 449 U.S. 456, 483-84 (1981) (Stev-
ens, J., dissenting).** Basic principles of constitutional
federalism protect the choice Michigan has made. See
generally Gregory v. Ashcroft, 111 S. Ct. 2395, 2399-
2400 (1991).

“Rights under [the Fourteenth] amendment turn on
the power of the State, no matter by what organ it acts.”
Missouri v. Dockery, 191 U.S. 165, 170-71 (1903)
(Holmes, J.). Of course, the Michigan legislature origi-
nally could have made quite explicit its decision to apply
the 1981 Amendments only to workers injured after those
Amendments took effect. Similarly, the Michigan courts
could have interpreted the Amendments as having only
prospective effect and hence as applicable only to such
workers. Had the Michigan legislature intervened to
clarify the 1981 Amendments before any court had con-
strued them, it is hard to see any constitutional barrier
that would have stood in the way. Had the legislature
instead stepped in after a lower state court had inter-
preted the statute, while that decision could still have been
reversed in a higher state court, a “retroactive” legisla-
tive clarification would surely not raise any constitutional
problems. See, e.g., Chase Sec. Corp. v. Donaldson, 325
U.S. 304 (1945) ; Goddard v. Frazier, 156 F.2d 938 (10th

24 See also id. at 461 n.6 (majority opinion) (“the States are free
to allocate the lawmaking function to whatever branch of the state
government they may choose”) ; Uphaus v. Wyman, 360 U.S. 72, 77
(1959); Sweezy v. New Hampshire, 354 U.S. 234, 256-57 (1957)
(Frankfurther, J., concurring in result); Highland Farms Dairy,
Inc. v. Agnew, 300 U.S. 608, 612-13 (1937) (Cardozo, J.) (“How
power shall be distributed by a state among its governmental organs
is commonly, if not always, a question for the state itself.’’).

18

Cir.), cert. denied, 329 U.S. 765 (1946). If the State’s
highest court had rejected prior judicial interpretations,
its decision would have had precisely the same retroactive
effect as the legislation at issue here, and yet no constitu-
tional issues would be raised. Finally, as occurred here,
the legislature could intervene after interpretation of the
statute by the State’s highest court. Viewed from the per-
spective of the federal Constitution, this last situation is
no different from the others. Whether a state legislature
chooses to act before any judicial decision, after a lower
court decision, or after a highest court decision, is purely
a question of legislative judgment and the internal allo-
cation of state policymaking authority. At least in the
absence of some extraordinary abuse of power that “shocks
the conscience,” Rochin v. California, 342 U.S. 165, 172
(1952), as far as the Constitution is concerned, that is
the end of the matter.

“It might seem advantageous to some of the states that
the judicial and legislative authorities or functions of the
government should be blended in the same body; and that
the legislature should in all cases exercise powers similar
to those now vested in one branch of the British Parlia-
ment. ... Should such an organization be adopted by a
state, whatever might be thought of its wisdom, where
beyond the body politic of the state would exist any power
to impugn its legitimacy?” Baltimore & S. R.R. v. Nesbit,
51 U.S. (10 How.) 395, 400 (1850).%° Division of au-
thority between courts and legislatures at the state level

25The most frequently cited statement of this view is from
Dreyer v. Illinois, 187 U.S. 71, 84 (1902) :

“Whether the legislative, executive and judicial powers of a
State shall be kept altogether distinct and separate, or whether
persons or collections of persons belonging to one department
may, in respect to some matters, exert powers which, strictly
speaking, pertain to another department of government, is for
the determination of the State. And its determination one way
or the other cannot be an element in the inquiry whether the
due process of law prescribed by the Fourteenth Amendment
has been respected by the State or its representatives when
dealing with matters involving life or liberty.”

19

vary greatly from those the Constitution requires of the
national government. Some state courts issue advisory
opinions; participate directly in making political appoint-
ments; issue final rules of practice not subject to legisla-
tive validation; have a more unconstrained policymaking
role through relaxed standing requirements or the power
to issue prospective decisions beyond whatever limits Arti-
cle III might impose; or serve in administrative capacities
not available to the federal courts. See, e.g., Prentis v.
Atlantic Coast Line Co., 211 U.S. 210, 225 (1908)
(“|Wlhen, as here, a state constitution sees fit to unite
legislative and judicial powers in a single hand, there is
nothing to hinder so far as the Constitution of the United
States is concerned’). Ever since Calder v. Bull, this
Court has recognized that state legislatures may similarly
play a more direct, quasi-judicial role vis-a-vis their state
courts than is permitted to Congress under separation-of-
powers principles. “There is nothing in the constitution
of the United States which forbids the legislature of a
state to exercise judicial functions.” Satterlee v. Matthew-
son, 27 U.S. (2 Pet.) 380, 413 (1829). See generally, 3
J. Story, Commentaries on the Constitution, § 1392, at
266-67 (1833) (same).

The limited nature of the quasi-judicial role implicated
here must be stressed. Thus, this is not a case in which
a state legislature is upsetting a final judgment that is
res judicata on the rights and liabilities of specific par-
ties.°* Indeed, adjudicated controversies between specific
litigants are explicitly exempted from the reach of the
1987 Amendments. The legislature’s concern was rather
with the thousands of other individuals, not parties to the
case, who were affected by the state court’s ruling, and
with the broad policy consequences of that ruling for an
ongoing regulatory program. If it is necessary to draw
a sharp line between legislative and judicial functions
(and for the States it assuredly is not), this legislature

*6 Even if it were, the statute might still be valid. See Fleming
v. Rhodes, 331 U.S. 100 (1947) (upholding retroactive legislation
overturning final judgments).

20

has thus left to the courts the quintessential judicial func-
tion of resolving individual disputes; the Michigan legis-
lature has addressed only the consequences of such reso-
lutions for disputes not yet adjudicated. This focus, es-
pecially in matters of this magnitude, would seem to go
to the heart of the legislative role.

In general, legislatures are no more disabled from re-
sponding to changed circumstances triggered by judicial
decisions than by other acts. Judicial decisions do not
differ in kind from other events that might disrupt settled
expectations, constitute unexpected changes in circum-
stances, or produce unbargained-for windfall gains. The
extent to which a judicial decision departs from widely
shared understandings and practices, or resolves genuine
uncertainty, may be relevant in determining the firmness
of the foundation for legislative action, or the substanti-
ality of the countervailing equities. But the substantial
body of precedent on this practice, see Section I, shows
that in cases involving legislative reversal of judicial de-
cisions, courts examine these specific considerations just
as they do in any other circumstance prompting retro-
active legislation.

As we explained above, in the many cases upholding
legislative reversals of judicial decisions, this Court and
others have consistently considered the extent to which
the decisions in question disrupted settled expectations or
produced windfall gains.*? And on questions such as these
—which go to how necessary legislation is perceived to
be—courts historically have deferred to legislative judg-
ments. See, e.g., McCulloch v. Maryland, 17 U.S. (4
Wheat.) 316, 423 (1819). That the state courts are best
positioned to characterize the local circumstances and
purposes leading to state legislation further structures

27 See Section I. In such analogous contexts as the availability
of a remedy in habeas corpus, or in damages, for constitutional vio-
lations, the Court has looked to the “newness,” or unpredictability,
of the decision relied upon by the person alleging a constitutional
wrong. See generally Fallon & Meltzer, New Law, Non-Retroactivity,
and Constitutional Remedies, 104 Harv. L. Rev. 1731 (1991).

21

and constrains this Court’s review. See, e.g., North Caro-
lina v. Butler, 441 U.S. 369, 8376 n.7 (1979); Ward v.
Illinois, 431 U.S. 767, 772 (1977); see also Employment
Div. v. Smith 485 U.S. 660, 676-77 (1988) (Brennan, J.,
dissenting) . Inquiry into whether a judicial decision was
in fact a change in circumstance justifying retroactive
legislation thus poses no special constitutional problems.

In addition, even a judicial decision that can be char-
acterized as “foreordained” and obviously “correct” does
not present an ineluctable barrier to legislative reversal.
The relevant question is not whether legislation is retro-
active with respect to a judicial decision or some other
event, but whether, in context, the burdens imposed are
so harsh, and the legislature’s reasons for acting so arbi-
trary, as to constitute a denial of due process. Reversal
of a judicial decision, in and of itself, is not per se so of-
fensive to basic notions of fairness that it is constitution-
ally barred, See, e.g., Fleming (upholding retroactive re-
versal of even final judgments).

Federal administrative agencies, which at times com-
bine adjudicatory and policymaking roles, have the power
to adopt retroactive policies. See, e.g., Leedom v. Interna-
tional Bhd. of Elec. Workers, 278 F.2d 237 (D.C. Cir.
1960). More significantly, federal agencies have the
power to respond to judicial decisions interpreting their
governing statutes with retroactive policy changes. SEC
v. Chenery Corp., 332 U.S. 194 (1947) ; Addison v. Holly
Hill Fruit Products, Inc., 322 U.S. 607, 620 (1943). To
deny at least this much power to state legislatures, re-
sponding to the interpretation of state regulatory pro-

grams by state courts, would make federalism ai empty
guarantee.”*

*8 That principles of federalism support Michigan’s authority to
act as it did is underscored by the Framers’ specific rejection of a
proposed prohibition of retroactive state legislation. A proposal by
Edward Rutledge—to add a ban on “retrospective laws” to the
other specific prohibitions on state action—was deleted from the
Convention draft by the Committee on Style. See 2 Records of the
Federal Convention of 1787 440, 597 (Farrand ed. 1937). And

22

III. NONE OF THE CIRCUMSTANCES THAT MIGHT
APPROPRIATELY LIMIT THE SCOPE OF RETRO-
ACTIVE LEGISLATION IS PRESENT HERE

No dispute can exist as to the legitimacy of the ends
for which the Michigan legislature acted. Those ends

consistently with this decision, this Court frequently held, during
the first half of the Nineteenth Century, that the Constitution did
not preclude retroactive state civil laws. See, e.g., Calder v, Bull,
8 U.S. (3 Dall.) at 397 (Patterson J.) (“I had an ardent desire
to have extended the provision in the constitution to retrospective
laws in general.”); Carpenter v. Pennsylvania, 58 U.S. (17 How.)
456 (1854); Baltimore & S. R.R., 51 U.S. (10 How.) at 401 (“That
there exists a general power in the state governments to enact
retrospective or retroactive laws, is a point too well settled to
admit of question at this day.”); Watson v. Mercer, 33 U.S. (8
Peters) 88, 110 (1834) (“it is clear that this court has no right
to pronounce an act of the state législature void, as contrary to the
Constitution of the United States, from the mere fact that it
divests antecedent vested rights of property. The Constitution of
the United States does not prohibit the state from passing retro-
spective laws generally; but only ex post facto laws.”). Moreover,
Justice Story, in the sentence of his treatise immediately following
the one quoted by petitioner, Pet. Br. at 38, said that notwith-
standing objections to retroactive laws, such laws are nonetheless
“left open to the States, according to their own constitutions of
government.” 2 J. Story, Commentaries on the Constitution 272
(5th ed. 1891). See also 3 J. Story, Commentaries on the Consti-
tution 266 (1833) (same).

Nor is there anything in the text or history of the fourteenth
amendment to suggest that its adoption operated to limit the exist-
ing powers of the States in this respect. As the Court stated in
League v. Texas, 184 U.S. 156, 161 (1902), the Amendment “contains
no prohibition of retroactive legislation as such, and therefore now,
as before, the mere fact that a statute is retroactive in its operation
does not make it repugnant to the Federal Constitution.” See also
Orr v. Gilman, 183 U.S. 278, 286 (1901) (reaffirming Carpenter,
supra). Thus, in the Fifth Edition of Justice Story’s Commentaries,
published in 1891, the passage quoted above appears unchanged.
2 J. Story, Commentaries on the Constitution 272 (5th ed. 1891).

To be sure, at the height of the era in which economic interests
were held to be protected by notions of substantive due process,
there are several suggestions in the Court’s opinions that the four-
teenth amendment prohibits retroactive state laws defeating
“vested rights.” E.g., Treigle v. Acme Homestead Ass’n, 297 U.S.

23

include (1) restoring recently unsettled expectation and
reliance interests; (2) promoting stability, certainty, and
confidence in government’s willingness to honor its com-
mitments; (3) responding to significant, sudden changes
in circumstances, including unexpected judicial decisions;
(4) requiring disgorgement of windfall gains; and (5)
assuring that injured workers and their dependents have
sufficient means to avoid falling into poverty and the
need for public assistance. The propriety of these pur-
poses, whether in the context of retroactive legislation
or elsewhere, is well-established.””

The principal question, then, is whether the particular
means chosen—retroactive policymaking—is so arbitrary
and oppressive in the context of this case as to suggest
serious substantive due process concerns. In specific cir-
cumstances, retroactive legislation might conceivably raise

189 (1936). But the only decision during this era that appears to
rest exclusively on this rationale—and certainly the most recent—
is Forbes Pioneer Boat Line v. Board of Comm'rs, 258 U.S. 338
(1922) (holding unconstitutional a state statute seeking to vali-
date retroactively a toll collected from a vessel for passage through
a canal). Forber is distinguishable from the present case on many
factual grounds, but more notably for present purposes, the Court’s
four paragraph opinion relies on no American precedent and cites
no constitutional text or history to support the result. Whether or
not that result is equitable, it provides no support for finding a
barrier to retroactive state legislation in the Constitution’s text or
original understandings. Moreover, in the same year that Forbes
was decided, this Court declined to extend it “beyond its facts,”
Charlotte H. & N. R.R. v. Welles, 260 U.S. 8, 12 (1922), and it has
never since invoked the decision to invalidate any other state stat-
ute on retroactivity grounds.

*° For cases recognizing the legitimacy of these purposes, see
Section I. On preventing receipt of windfall profits, or requiring
their disgorgement, as legitimate public purposes, see Energy Re-
serves Group, Inc. v. Kansas Power & Light Co., 459 U.S. 400,
412 (1983); United States Trust Co. v. New Jersey, 431 U.S. 1,
31 n.30 (1977); El Paso v. Simmons, 379 U.S. 497, 515 (1965):
Lichter v. United States, 334 U.S. 742 (1948); Fleming v. Rhodes,
331 U.S. 100 (1947); Battaglia, 169 F.2d at 259-60 n.11; Seese,
168 F.2d at 65. See generally Hochman, supra, at 705; Slawson,
supra, at 226.

24

such concerns. Against that possibility, the Court might
reserve some outer limitations on the power of state leg-
islatures to overturn decisions of their own courts. The
possible limitations that case law and the history of retro-
active legislation suggest, however, are not remotely im-
plicated in this case.

A. Political Process Concerns

When legislating retroactively, a legislature may be
able to identify with certainty the particular individuals
who will be adversely affected. Thus, retroactive legisla-
tion can be (and has been) a vehicle to target specific
individuals or to single out particularly vulnerable groups
for legislatively-imposed disadvantages. See Greenblatt,
supra, at 540; ef. Fletcher v. Peck, 10 U.S. (6 Cranch)
87, 137-38 (1810) (Contracts Clause stemmed from “ap-
prehension {of| violent acts which might grow out of the
feelings of the moment”).

The type of retroactive statute involved here raises no
such question of possible exploitation. It is not targeted
at a few employers singled out from the rest, compare
Allied Structural Steet Co. v. Spannaus, 488 U.S. 234
(1978), and is as general in its effects as prospective leg-
islation on the subject would be. Moreover, petitioners
General Motors and Ford, and business more broadly, can
hardly be considered particularly vulnerable groups un-
likely to have their interests heard and fairly considered
in the Michigan legislature. In general, they are not
“nolitically weak or an easy target for the imposition of
costs and hence chosen to bear those costs without fair
attention to [their] interests.” Note, A Process-Oriented
Approach to the Contracts Clause, 89 Yale L.J. 1623,
1646-47 (1980). And in this specific case, the Michigan
statute was not enacted with “studied indifference’,
W. B. Worthen Co. v. Kavanaugh, 295 U.S. 56, 60
(1935) (Cardozo, J.), to their interests. Business inter-
ests participated actively in the legislative process and
succeeded in having the legislation as initially proposed
transformed into a package of comprehensive reforms of

25

the compensation system; indeed, among the provisions
included in this package as enacted was one that business
had long sought and that overruled another decision of
the Michigan Supreme Court. Beauchamp v. Dow Chemi-
cal Co., 398 N.W.2d 882 (Mich. 1986) (holding exclusive
remedy provisions of workers’ compensation system do
not bar actions for intentional torts). The legislation was
not enacted hastily, but with full deliberation and atten-
tion to business concerns.

B. Extreme Delay

Retroactive legislation that responds to a change in cir-
cumstances and seeks to restore the status quo might
raise concern if not enacted reasonably promptly. But in
this case, legislation to overturn Chambers was intro-
duced within days of the decision, passed by the House
within one month of the court’s denial of rehearing, and
signed into law a little more than one year later. This is
well within the time periods courts have accepted for
legislative responses to judicial decisions. Particularly
given the need for full legislative deliberation, and the
fact that the challenged provision became part of a com-
prehensive reform of workers’ compensation in Michigan,
this action was reasonably prompt.

Petitioners obscure the fact that the legislation was a
response to a particular judicial decision. Rather than
recognizing that the statute was designed to overturn the
ruling in Chambers—a decision rendered only 17 months
earlier—they describe the statute as reaching back five
years, to the effective date of the original 1981 Amend-
ments. Of course, not until Chambers was decided was
the legislature faced with the changed circumstance that
triggered the need to consider a possible response.

Furthermore, even on petitioners’ more expansive meas-
ure, the statute does not reach back nearly as far as
existing precedent permits. In the Portal-to-Portal cases,
see Section I.A, Congress acted almost a year after this
Court’s decision, and on petitioners’ measure, the legisla-
tion there “reached back” nine years (to the original

26

Fair Labor Standards Act). More recently, courts have
sustained Congress’ decision, in validating Treasury De-
partment regulations, to make its action retroactive for
four years. See, e.g., Canisius College v. United States,
799 F.2d 18 (2d Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 481 U.S. 1014
(1987). In Heinszen, this Court sustained Congress’ de-
cision to “reach back” and validate a tariff collected six
years earlier. And in Van Emmerik, which this Court
dismissed for want of a substantial federal question, the
state legislature acted within one year of a state supreme
court decision, but the response “reached back” 12 years.”

It is difficult to know what to make of petitioners’ as-
sertion that, apart from “curative” cases, “we are not
aware of any decision of any other court affirming the
authority of a legislature to reach back beyond the ses-
sion of its immediate predecessor.” Pet. Br., at 41. If, as
we believe, the cases just listed all involve “curative”
legislation, then this case does as well; nothing distin-
guishes the Portal-to-Portal cases, Van Emmerik, and
other cases cited in Section I from the situation here.
And even if, for reasons we do not perceive, this case in-
volves something radically different from “curative” leg-
islation, numerous other cases (which petitioners do cite
for other points*') uphold similar legislation in circum-
stances where legislatures have reached back as far—
and in many instances much further—than here. As this
well-established body of law makes clear, the Michigan
legislature acted with sufficient promptness in overturn-
ing the result in Chambers.

C. Unfair Surprise and Interferences with Free Choice

Retroactive legislation most offends the values asso-
ciated with security and stability when its burdens fall
as a sudden surprise. Moreover, questions of fairness are
intensified if a person would likely have altered his con-

%©In Paramino, supra, Congress acted after new information
became available and opened up hearings that had been reduced
to final awards more than five years earlier.

31 Pet. Br. at 39-40.

27

duct had he known in advance of the duties or liabilities
that retroactive legislation subsequently imposes.

The combination of these factors best explains those
few cases in this century in which this Court has invali-
dated retroactive legislation. The gift/estate tax cases,
for example,” imposed retroactive taxes that, had they
been known in advance, might well have caused parties to
structure their transactions differently or not to make
the gifts in question at all. Some of these cases also in-
volved either the first federal gift tax, whose effect on
previously completed transactions could well come as a
surprise,” or, another, wholly new type of tax imposed
for the first time." In the same vein, Forbes involved
“the most obviously unjust” retroactive law, a law that
sought to impose a fee for a ship’s use four years earlier
of a particular lock and canal. Slawson, Constitutional
and Legislative Considerations in Retroactive Lawmak-
ing, 48 Calif. L. Rev. 217, 220 (1960). Had notice of
the fee existed in advance, the ship’s owners might well
have charted a different course.

Neither unfair surprise nor interference with free
choice can be ascribed to the statute challenged here. At
the time they first took their aggressive litigation posture,
petitioners knew that their argument was controversial;
that other employers refused to make it; that the legisla-
ture had adopted a resolution rejecting it; and that ad-
ministrative tribunals and lower Michigan courts were
rejecting it whenever raised. They knew that, should they
prevail in Chambers, legislative response was a distinct
possibility. Moreover, at no point did they have any rea-
sonable basis for acting as if Chambers were the final
word; as soon as it was decided, legislation to overturn
it was introduced, made retroactive, and quickly adopted

82 Helvering v. Helmholz, 296 U.S. 93 (1935); Coolidge v. Long,
282 U.S. 582 (1931); Untermyer v. Anderson, 276 U.S. 440 (1928) :
Nichols v. Coolidge, 274 U.S. 531 (1927), cited in Pet. Br. at 43.

33 Untermyer, 276 U.S. 440.
34 Nichols v. Coolidge, 274 U.S. 531.

28

in one house of the Michigan legislature. That thorough
legislative deliberation took slightly more than one year
does not make the final outcome any more of a surprise.
“Appellee is hardly in a position to claim surprise at the
[amendments] to the minimum tax. The proposed in-
crease in rate had been under public discussion for almost
a year before its enactment.” United States v. Darus-
mont, 449 U.S. 292, 299 (1980).

Nor can petitioners plausibly claim that they would
have altered their conduct had they known in advance
that they would have to pay full benefits to workers in-
jured before 1982. First, at the time those workers were
injured, Michigan law required those payments. Second,
as most employers recognized, from 1982 (when the 1981
Amendments went into effect) to the 1985 Chambers
decision, that remained the State of Michigan law. As
sophisticated business entities, petitioners surely knew
there was a significant risk that their litigation position
would be rejected and that they would owe full benefit
payments; they doubtless took that risk into account in
their planning. Third, as soon as Chambers was de-
cided, the immediate legislative response told petitioners
they could not assume Chambers would stand inviolable.

Most significantly, workers’ compensation is a manda-
tory regulatory scheme, not one of unconstrained volun-
tary choice. Even had this legislation come as a complete
surprise, it likely would not violate substantive due
process principles. Because neither employers nor em-
ployees can choose to opt out of the workers’ compensation
system, petitioners could not have chosen a different course
(short of ceasing to do business in Michigan) had the
statutory changes been enacted earlier and made prospec-
tive. That petitioners might have left Michigan alto-
gether, or restructured any significant business decisions,
is simply implausible, given the relationship of the amount
in dispute to their revenues and earnings. Cf. Sperry, 110
S. Ct. at 395-96; Bradley v. Richmond School Bd., 416
U.S. 696, 721 (1974). Indeed, although petitioners
vaguely invoke “reliance,” the record does not identify

a

29

any specific decision that might have been altered at any
time had petitioners known—as they did in fact through-
out—that they might well have to pay full benefits to
workers injured before 1982. The Michigan legislature’s
action involved no surprise at all, let alone one that could
be considered unfair. Nor did it unfairly impose liabili-
ties that could have been avoided had they been clearly
defined sooner.

D. Destruction of Substantial Equity

Interference with interests resting on reasonable reli-
ance may be necessary but is not sufficient to invalidate
retroactive legislation. Not every reliance-based interest
receives or warrants the same constitutional protection.
Instead, the nature and quality of the interest burdened
is relevant to the permissible scope of legislative action;
when a statute affects interests in which individuals have
a substantial stake, legislative interference becomes more
vulnerable to challenge under the Due Process Clause. Cf.
Energy Reserves, 459 U.S. at 412; Penn Central Trans-
portation Co. v. New York City, 488 U.S. 104, 124
(1978) (special protection for “investment-backed” ex-
pectations under Just Compensation Clause). As a lead-
ing study puts it, “it is not unconstitutional to deprive a
person of a right which rests on no substantial equity.”
Hochman, supra, at 722.

In this case, the only interests resting on substantial
equity are those of the injured workers affected, includ-
ing elderly retirees. Their lives had been structured
around the well-justified expectation that, like all pre-
viously injured workers, they would regularly receive the
benefit payments (often their principal income source) to
which they had been found entitled at the time an award
had been made. Employers cannot point to any similar
substantial equity, or indeed any investment at all, that
could reasonably have been based on Michigan law as it
stood prior to the legislation at issue. With regard to the
pre-Chambers period, they cannot reasonably have in-
vested in reliance on a statute whose meaning was at best
controversial and sub judice. And virtually as soon as

30

Chambers was decided, legislation to reverse it retroac-
tively was introduced and approved in one legislative
chamber.

E. State Self-Aggrandizement

Retroactive state action might be subject to special ju-
dicial scrutiny when the State itself directly benefits from
its own retroactive policies. In such cases, States confront
special incentives that might raise concerns as to whether
full and fair attention will be given to the interests dis-
advantaged by retroactive policies. Cf. United States
Trust v. New Jersey, 431 U.S. 1 (1976) (heightened scru-
tiny under Contracts Clause).* In the gift/estate tax
cases, and in Forbes, where the Court invalidated retro-
active statutes, the State stood to benefit in just this way.
But that is not the case here. The Michigan legislature
has simply reached one more accommodation in the on-
going conflict between two powerful interests—business
and labor.

* & & &

In sum, judicial decisions interpreting regulatory stat-
utes are a subset of the larger class of events that occa-
sionally may produce unexpected, unsettling disturbances
to a long established status quo. At least apart from
actual final judgments, judicial interpretations of statutes
pose no special barrier to a legislative determination to
adopt a retroactive policy response. Such responses may
be circumscribed by the Constitution in the presence of
at least one of the special factors noted above. But be-
cause none is present here, the Michigan legislation falls
well within acceptable constitutional boundaries.

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the Michigan Supreme Court should be
affirmed.

35 The famous Legal Tender Cases, 79 U.S. (12 Wall.) 457 (1871),
and the Gold Clause cases, Perry v. United States, 294 U.S. 330
(1935) and Norman v. Baltimore & O. R.R., 294 U.S. 240 (1935),
stand for the similar principle that repudiation of public (as opposed
to private) obligations warrants heightened scrutiny.

RICHARD H. PILDES

933 Legal Research

Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1215
(313) 747-1014

DAVID SHAPIRO
1525 Massachusetts Ave.
Cambridge, MA 02138

Of Counsel

September 1991

31

_ Respectfully submitted,

RICHARD RUDA *
Chief Counsel
MICHAEL G. DZIALO
STATE AND LOCAL LEGAL CENTER
444 North Capitol Street, N.W.
Suite 349
Washington, D.C. 20001
(202) 638-1445

* Counsel of Record for the
Amici Curiae

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0087%3A19. Public record. Not legal advice.
