# Amicus Curiae Brief — General Motors Corp. v. Romein

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0087%3A07

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 500 U.S. 915

## Text

No. 90-1390 _—

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States
OcTOBER TERM, 1990

GENERAL MOTORS CORPORATION, Petitioner
7

EVERT ROMEIN, ET AL., Respondents

FORD MOTOR COMPANY, Petitioner
v.

ARTURO GONZALEZ, ET AL., Respondents

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The Supreme Court Of Michigan

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE,
THE NATIONAL COUNCIL OF SELF-INSURERS,
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

DOUGLAS F. STEVENSON
STEVENSON, Rusin AND FRIEDMAN, Lp.
10 South Riverside Plaza
Suite 1530
Chicago, Illinois 60606
(312) 454-5110

Counsel for Amicus Curiae

Midwest Law Printing Co., Chicago 60611, (312) 321-0220

mat

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION ..

I.

THE DECISION BELOW VIOLATES THE CON-
TRACT CLAUSE OF THE U.S. CONSTITUTION.
THIS COURT DECLARED IN STATE INDUS-
TRIAL COMMISSION v. NORDENHOLT CORP.,
259 U.S. 263 (1922), THAT A WORKERS’ COM.-
PENSATION “AWARD IS READ INTO AND BE-
COMES PART OF THE CONTRACT” OF EM-
PLOYMENT. SO, ALL THE PAYMENTS MADE
HERE FROM 1982 TO 1987 WERE PURSUANT
TO THAT EMPLOYMENT CONTRACT, IN AC-
CORDANCE WITH THE 1981 STATUTE AND
ITS EXPRESS APPROVAL BY THE MICHIGAN
SUPREME COURT IN 1985. THESE PAYMENTS
VALIDLY DISCHARGED CONTRACTUAL OBLI-
GATIONS. THE DECISION BELOW REOPENS
ALL THESE CONTRACTS AND DEFINITIVELY
INVADES THE CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION
FORBIDDING THE IMPAIRMENT OF CON.
pp INO Tere rrr ear ee ee LETT ELLE

A. The Contract Clause Is Stated In Terms
As Absolute As The First Amendment’s
Protection Of Free Speech. It Forbids
“Any Law Impairing The Obligation Of
Ce See ee etek adeeeeen eee

ii

B. The Majority Opinion Below Does Not Pass
Any “Rational Relationship Test’? Even If
That Test Is Applicable ................

1. The Impairment of Contract Is Not
a Pe

2. There Is No Impairment Because “the
Defendants Knew That Their Rights
Were Subject to Alteration” ........

3. The Legislature and the Courts May
Impair Contracts in the “Reasonable
Exercise of the Police Power” ......

II.

LEGISLATORS MAY ACT ONLY DURING THE
PERIOD THEY HOLD OFFICE. A CURRENT
LEGISLATURE CANNOT ACT FOR OR BIND
FUTURE OR PAST LEGISLATORS WITHOUT
VIOLATING DUE PROCESS OF LAW.......

CUONRCLUBION on ccccsvsdvcceenen enna

APPENDIX:

U.S. Department of Labor, January, 1990, “Off-
set Provisions in State Workers’ Compensation
YM

11

12

13

14

16
20

la

ili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases PAGE
Alessi v. Raybestos-Manhattan Corp., 451 U.S. 504
UPR ArEEe se seen secessccesccecce 3,4
Allied Structural Steel v. Spannaus, 438 U.S. 233
ecu eee eeeeeeecceecescee. 12, 14, 18
Brown vy. Elder Outdoor Advertising Co., 139 Mich.
App. 7, 360 N.W.2d 322 (1984) ............. 9, 12
Chambers vy. General Motors Corp., 422 N.W.2d
ee Redes cccesscccececces 6
Chicago Board of Realtors v. City of Chicago, 819
CM MED cccccccccccscsccecs 11
Energy Reserves Group v. Kansas Power & Light
Sg EY GD GEUED co cccccccsccccccess 13
Franks v. White Pine Copper Div., 422 Mich. 636,
i i ED co cccccccccccccsccces 6, 17
Garris v. Hanover Insurance Co., 630 F.2d 1001
ee ccc e sce ceeccseccees 15
Home Building & Loan Assn. vy. Blaisdell, 290
eres wees eccbccececccccs 11
Richardson vy. Belcher, 404 U.S. 78 (1971)..... 4,5
State Industrial Commission v. Nordenholt Corp.,
ED < cccscsecescccccccccces a
Thomas v. Parker Rustproofing Co., 284 Mich. 260,
2TO N.W.2d GO4 (19GB) ........... ccc eeeees 4
United States Trust Co. v. New Jersey, 431 U.S.
Ee CC keke eccececccceccccccss 9,15

iv
Other Citations
Article I, Section 10, U.S. Constitution .......
Michigan Statutes:
ED cccadcuccecoescceessvereees
ey GEE vo ccccucccdececucedenensede
Public Act 203 of 1981 .............ees00e-

Fe & £ —Pee ee rear

American Bar Foundation Journal, 1987, pp. 379
et seq. “Temporal Limits on the Legislative

10

10
10
16
15

Mandate: Entrenchment and Retroactivity” . 17, 18, 19

No. 90-1390

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcTOBER TERM, 1990

GENERAL MOTORS CORPORATION, Petitioner
y

EVERT ROMEIN, ET AL., Respondents

FORD MOTOR COMPANY, Petitioner
v.

ARTURO GONZALEZ, ET AL., Respondents

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The Supreme Court Of Michigan

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE,
THE NATIONAL COUNCIL OF SELF-INSURERS,
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

tien

(Pursuant to the consent of all the parties, this brief
is filed under Supreme Court Rule 37.)

The National Council of Self-Insurers speaks for major
employers of the United States, frequently multi-state
employers. These are employers who assume the direct
responsibility of paying workers’ compensation benefits
to their employees, a method sometimes referred to as
“self-insuring” under applicable state and federal workers’
compensation laws. It is generally accepted that 30% of
the employees of the United States work for employers
who are self-insured.

This National Council is also the parent organization for
30 state self-insurance associations who are active in each
state on workers’ compensation issues.

The National Council supports the workers’ compensa-
tion laws as an essential part of the social and economic
framework of our society. But, like our state and federal
governments, the National Council is concerned with the
proliferation of duplicating benefits in our society. The cost
of benefits has grown enormously, affecting price levels
to consumers and inhibiting the ability of United States
employers to export their products.

The proliferation and cost of benefit programs is the
subject matter of this case.

STATEMENT

The workers’ compensation issue before the Court in
this matter is often described as “‘coordination” or “in-
tegration” of benefits, the offsetting of alternative benefits
for income maintenance against workers’ compensation
benefits for that same income maintenance purpose.

The issue has a historic background. Workers’ compen-
sation was this nation’s first no-fault program for sustain-
ing the income capacity of an employee injured in his

alin

employment. In the 1910-1920 period, every state and the
federal government adopted workers’ compensation stat-
utes covering employment in each jurisdiction.

Beginning in the 1930’s, other programs developed to
maintain the income of individuals suffering wage loss for

other reasons. The federal government enacted unemploy- -

ment benefits for the unemployed, and social security for
retirees and the disabled. These programs were indepen-
dently enacted with little regard for each other, and with-
out regard to other duplicative programs, such as workers’
compensation.

Following World War II, programs for group insurance,
for weekly benefits payable during a period of non-occu-
pational disability, and for company retirement programs
developed rather fully in major industries. Many of these
private income maintenance programs were adopted with-
out regard for the other programs already in place for
income maintenance. =e

As a result, individuals in our society often sought and
obtained income maintenance benefits from more than one
of these programs. In combination, amounts received by
an individual for income maintenance while not working
often exceeded his earnings when he did work.

As a corollary, efforts to control the costs of workers’
compensation, social security, pension programs and med-
ical disability programs were totally frustrated when all
these income avenues were available and could accumulate.

The effort to coordinate or integrate these various bene-
fits to prevent abuse has been a continuing one. In the
last section of the Occupational Safety and Health Act
of 1970, Congress created the National Commission on
State Workmen’s Compensation Laws (84 Stat. 1600 et
seq.) to examine and make recommendations about work-
ers’ compensation. That Commission reported its recom-

=

mendations back to Congress in 1972. Its Recommenda-
tion R. 33 stated:
We recommend that . . . the benefits of other public
insurance programs should be coordinated with work-
men’s compensation benefits. Report of National Com-

mission on State Workmen's Compensation Laws, p.
58.

The International Association of Industrial Accident
Boards and Commissions (the associetion of state workers’
compensation administrators, commonly referred to as the
IAIABC) formally adopts recommended standards for all
the states. In 1980 it adopted coordination of benefits as
one of its standards:

11. Coordination of Benefits

Compensation payable for total disability or survivor
benefits should be coordinated under the jurisdiction’s
law with social security and other employer-funded
disability programs so as to best effectuate the ob-
jectives of wage replacement and rehabilitation.

And in the explanation, it added “. . . to avoid overlapping
and duplication of benefits.” This remains its current stan-
dard. Journal of International Association of Industrial
Accident Boards and Commissions, Summer Issue, 19990,
p. 43.

The importance of controlling the costs of these multi-
ple benefit programs did not escape Congress. In 1974,
Congress enacted ERISA, a program governing pension
plans. ERISA expressly permits this same coordination
or integration of benefits. In 1977, when the State of New
Jersey passed a statute forbidding any integration or coor-
dination of workers’ compensation and pension benefits,
this Court in Alessi v. Raybestos-Manhattan, 451 U.S. 504
(1981), declared the state statute null and void as pre-
empted by ERISA, a federal law. This preserved the
same coordination or integration of benefits involved in
the instant case.

oe

The Congress in 1967 amended the Social Security Act
to require coordination (or offsets) between workers com-
pensation and social security disability benefits. Sec. 224,
Social Security Act, upheld in Richardson v. Belcher, 404
U.S. 78 (1971).

Alessi was decided in March, 1981. The Michigan leg-
islature in December of its 1981 session adopted, effective
March 31, 1982, integration or coordination of workers’
compensation with pensions and social security benefits
much like this Court described in Alessi. Its action was
prospective; no claimant had to pay back any amounts
previously received, but continued “‘double dipping’’ was
eliminated.

The instant case arises because of the efforts of the plain-
tiffs below to retain the duplicating benefits of pension,
social security, and workers’ compensation, which collec-
tively exceeded the plaintiffs’ income when they worked.

The facts of this case, as stated by the majority opin-
ion below, portray the 1981 situation. Plaintiff (and GM
employee) Romein was receiving $12,513.80 a year in
workers’ compensation benefits, pursuant to a formula en-
titling him to two-thirds of his gross earnings. Such work-
ers’ compensation benefits are tax-free under Internal
Revenue Code §104(aX1), so this $12,513.80 was very close
to his former “take home pay” when he worked. In ad-
dition, Romein was receiving social security and General
Motors’ company pension, which with his workers’ com-
pensation benefits totalled $19,377.80 a year, more than
he had ever made when he worked, and virtually all of
it tax free.

The Michigan legislature, concerned about its business
climate and its unemployment rate of over 14%, passed
a statute in 1981 forbidding these duplicative payments.
Aside from the background of recommendations by the
National Commission and the IAIABC, supra, and this

ulin

Court’s decision in Alessi, its statute was supported by
copious legislative history concerning its aims and pur-
poses, perhaps best summarized in Governor William Mil-
liken’s statement:

. we must keep in mind that the purpose of work-
ers’ compensation is to restore wage-earning capacity
lost in on-the-job accidents. Workers’ compensation
was never intended to be more lucrative than gain-
ful employment, or be a retirement bonus. . . . (Gov-
ernor Milliken, November 18, 1981, quoted in the
Opinions below)

(This Court noted and followed the same rationale in
upholding Congress’ action for “coordination of benefits”’
between social security and workers’ compensation in Rich-
ardson v. Belcher, 404 U.S. 78 (1971), noting that the two
benefits collectively exceeded earnings.)

Against this background, the Michigan legislature en-
acted its “coordination of benefits” legislation in 1981, ef-
fective March 31, 1982. The workers’ compensation benefit
(two-thirds of wages on a tax-free basis) was not reduced,
and if he was truly retired (and 62 years of age), he could
receive half of his social security benefits (the 50% paid
for by his own tax payments) in addition. But, the statute
provided that the employer could offset any employer-
financed wage loss programs such as company pensions
against its workers’ compensation obligation. There was
no retroactivity; no claimant had to pay anything back.
The ‘‘double dipping” was eliminated only as payments
became due after March 31, 1982. Thus, this statute put
some control on the problem of proliferating, accumulating
benefit costs.

This workers’ compensation problem in Michigan was
not peculiar to Michigan. Some 25 states in this same gen-
eral period took action to prevent this “double dipping”’
of benefits. Attached hereto as Appendix 1 is the 1990
U.S. Department of Labor publication summarizing similar

willis

statutory changes in 25 other jurisdictions, all set forth
in Table 17 of this U.S. Department of Labor publication.

The Michigan Supreme Court upheld the validity of this
1981 legislation in 1985, holding against plaintiffs like Ro-
mein in this case. Franks v. White Pine Copper Div., 422
Mich. 636, 375 N.W.2d 715 (1985). The pragmatic result
was that an employee received the highest benefit allow-
able under any single program (usually his workers’ com-
pensation benefit), but not a combination of all these wage
loss programs. This decision was entered in 1985, in a
combined opinion, one citation covering the two cases.
Franks v. White Pine Copper Div. and Chambers v. Gen-
eral Motors Corp., 422 Mich. 636, 375 N.W.2d 715 (1985).

The definitive legislation of 1981, confirmed by Michi-
gan’s highest court, did not settle this issue in Michigan.
Thus this case and this Petition for Certiorari. In 1987,
the Michigan legislature sought to overturn the Supreme
Court decision of 1985. Its method was peculiar; it did
not change the 1981 legislation in any respect, but pro-
vided only that those injured before its effective date of
March 31, 1982 should continue to receive multiple bene-
fits. Almost like a “bill of attainder,” the 1987 legislative
action named the case and stated that the Michigan Su-
preme Court decision of 1985 had misconstrued the 1981
legislative intent. The actual statute reads as follows:

The decision of the Michigan Supreme Court in Franks
v. White Pine Copper Div., 422 Mich. 636 (1985) is
declared to have been erroneously rendered insofar
as it interprets this section, it having been and be-
ing the legislative intention not to coordinate pay-
ments under this section resulting from liability . . .
for personal injuries occurring before March 31, 1982.
It is the purpose of this amendatory act to affirm
rd —_— .... Michigan Acts, 1987, PA 28, Sec.

This 1987 act then directed employers to pay all arrear-
ages back to 1982 within 60 days, with interest.

= =

As Chief Justice Riley points out in the dissent, p. &,
only “11 of the 26 senators’”’ who voted in 1981 were still
in the Senate in 1987, and only “20 of the 62 represen-
tatives” who voted in 1981 were around in 1987. The 1987
action reflects the “intention” of its 1987 members, not
the intention of the members voting in 1981.

The instant case arises from these plaintiffs suing Gen-
eral Motors and Ford under this 1987 act for all the ar-
rearages in the multiple payments since March 31, 1982,
despite the Michigan Supreme Court decision of 1985 de-
claring that General Motors and Ford (and all other em-
ployers) had validly discharged these precise obligations.
The Court below then overruled its 1985 decision, bow-
ing to this newly declared “intent,” and upheld plaintiffs’
claim retroactively back to March 31, 1982, the effective
date of the earlier statute. It is this decision for which
certiorari is sought.

The issue before this Court is of great importance to
this amicus curiae, the National Council of Self-Insurers,
which has members in the 25 states who have enacted
similar “coordination of benefit’? programs.

For General Motors and Ford, the claims of these plain-
tiffs amount to a retroactive $25-million liability. While
Ford and General Motors may be two of Michigan’s larg-
est employers, these two collectively are a distinct minor-
ity of all Michigan employers who will now be required
to make the retroactive back payments, with interest,
commanded by the 1987 statute and the decision below
of the Michigan Supreme Court. The total liability is in
gross an amount considerably greater than the $25-million
mentioned in the decisions below.

Further, the question here, getting some kind of control
over the proliferation and overlapping of benefit programs,
is important to the nation’s economic health and is being

colin

addressed currently by many organs of government, fed-
eral, state, and local. That effort gets a decided jolt by
decisions such as this one by the Michigan Supreme Court.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

THE DECISION BELOW VIOLATES THE CONTRACT
CLAUSE OF THE U.S. CONSTITUTION. THIS COURT
DECLARED IN STATE INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION v.
NORDENHOLT CORP., 259 U.S. 263 (1922), THAT A
WORKER’S COMPENSATION “AWARD IS READ INTO
AND BECOMES PART OF THE CONTRACT” OF EM-
PLOYMENT. SO, ALL THE PAYMENTS MADE HERE
FROM 1982 TO 1987 WERE PURSUANT TO THAT EM-
PLOYMENT CONTRACT, IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE
1981 STATUTE AND ITS EXPRESS APPROVAL BY THE
MICHIGAN SUPREME COURT IN 1985. THESE PAY-
MENTS VALIDLY DISCHARGED CONTRACTUAL OB-
LIGATIONS. THE DECISION BELOW REOPENS ALL
THESE CONTRACTS AND DEFINITIVELY INVADES
THE CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION FORBIDDING THE
IMPAIRMENT OF CONTRACTS.

It is rudimentary that a workers’ compensation statute
becomes part of every employment contract covered by
that statute, as this Court expressly held in State Indus-
trial Commission v. Nordenholt Corp., 259 U.S. 263
(1922). Workers’ compensation awards become part of that
contractual obligation:

The contract of employment, by virtue of the statute,
contains an implied provision that the employer, if
the employee be injured, will pay to him a certain
sum... . Ilbid., p. 271.

If not paid, this contractual obligation to pay can be sued
upon and enforced like any other contractual obligation.

The scope of a contract embraces not just the contract
itself, but the state law and its judicial interpretations,

=

as this Court held in United States Trust Co. v. New

Jersey, 431 U.S. 1 (1977). At pp. 19-20, it is stated:
The obligations of a contract have long been regarded
as including not only the express terms but also the
contemporaneous state law pertaining to interpreta-
tion and enforcement.

Thus the 1981 statute and the 1985 decision of the Mich-
igan Supreme court construing it constitute the contract
here, a contract which is retroactively cancelled by the
decision below. Past completed transactions pursuant “to
the express terms ... and contemporaneous state law”’
have been reopened and new and different liabilities cre-
ated. This is precisely what the Contract Clause forbids.

Michigan’s own decisions as well as those of this Court
hold that workers’ compensation obligations are contractual
obligations. Brown v. Eller Outdoor Advertising Co., 139
Mich. App. 7, 360 N.W.2d 322 (1984); Thomas v. Parker
Rustproof Co., 284 Mich. 260, 279 N.W.2d 504 (193%).

The court below, on its own, makes one exception to
its retroactive judgment, a curious exception in view of
the broad, retroactive sweep it gives to the 1987 statute.
It bows to the concept of res judicata, by exempting from
the 1987 statute any case in which the parties had sued
each other and that suit had reached a final judgment.

This produces a curious result; those who respected the
words of the legislature and the judicial holding in 1985
are the ones who now must pay the retroactive tribute.
Those who did not respect the law and resorted to litiga-
tion are exempt from it.

The doctrine of finality is the principle of res judicata,
as well as that of the Contract Clause. It is embodied
in other sections of Michigan’s workers’ compensation stat-
ute, sections not mentioned by the majority below or by
the legislative act. One section provides, as a restriction
on an employee reopening past transactions:

=~ =

. . . nO compensation shall be ordered for any period
which is more than one year prior to the date of such
action. MCL 418.833(a).

The other section of the statute restricts an employer
from reopening completed transactions after one year:
When an employer or carrier takes action to recover
overpayment of benefits, no recoupment of money
shall be allowed for a period which is more than one

year prior to the date of taking such action. MCL
418.833(2).

These two sections, bilaterally fair to employee and em-
ployer, were not mentioned in the 1987 statute or in the
opinion below. They remain unimpaired in the statute, al-
though the first quoted section is cancelled by the deci-
sion below, wthout acknowledging it even exists.

Thus, the statutory scheme of finality of all workers’
compensation transactions after one year is totally breached
here; completed transactions running back to March 31,
1982 are reopened by the decision below.

The opinion seems to believe making this exception for
res judicata saves it from what might otherwise be a vio-
lation of the U.S. Constitution. It does not; “finality’’ is
the basis of the Contract Clause, too. We are dealing with
completed contractual transactions protected by the Con-
tract Clause.

A. The Contract Clause Is Stated In Terms As Absolute As
The First Amendment’s Protection Of Free Speech. It
Forbids ‘‘Any Law Impairing The Obligation Of Con-

tracts.”
Article I, Section 10 of the U.S. Constitution provides
simply that ‘“‘no state shall... pass any . . . law impair-
ing the obligation of contracts... .”

The Michigan court below reads the contract clause as
if it stated, “No state shall pass any law unreasonably
impairing the obligations of contracts.”’ “Reasonable” or

_

“unreasonable” is not the issue when the constitutional
impairment stands alone as here, with no competing con-
stitutional issue involved.

In Chicago Board of Realtors, Inc. v. City of Chicago,

819 F.2d 732 (7th Cir. 1987), Judge Posner wrote at p. 743:

Imagine what freedom of speech would have come

to mean if the court had interpreted the first amend-

ment—which is no more absolute in its language or

clearcut in its history than the contract clause—as
loosely as it interprets the contract clause.

Amicus suggests that the contract clause should be en-
forced as it is written in the Constitution in the instant
case. There is no competing constitutional value to weigh
in this case, nor any “compelling demonstration of neces-
sity” requiring that the contract clause be regarded as
just one of a hierarchy of constitutional values. Nor is
there any crisis shown here even faintly resembling the
problem faced by this Court in the 1934 Depression re-
quiring any balance of competing considerations as in
Home Building & Loan Association v. Blaesdell, 290 U.S.
398 (1934).

Cases may arise presenting a conflict between two con-
stityional values, each absolute in itself, where some rule
of reason may have to be applied. But in this case, only
one constitutional value is involved, the Contract Clause
and the Rule of Law in our society. No countervailing
constitutional value is asserted which requires any weigh-
ing or “rational relationship” test.

The court below had no basis even to explore any
“rational relationship” test.

B. The Majority Opinion Below Does Not Pass Any ‘‘Ra-
tional Relationship Test,’’ Even If That Test Is Appli-
cable.

The majority opinion seems to state first that there is
no contract here to be impaired, despite the Michigan de-

= =

cisions clearly holding that these workers’ compensation
issues involve contractual obligations. Brown v. Eller Out-
door Advertising Co., 139 Mich. App. 7, 360 N.W.2d 322
(1984).

The majority below then quickly leaves this position,
admits there is a contract and a contractual impairment
here, and discusses whether it can be justified. For this
purpose, it launches into a three-part balancing test. Opin-
ion, pp. 16-19, with the following assertions:

1. The Impairment of Contract Is Not Substantial.

One assertion of the majority below is that the impair-
ment of contract is not substantial. Amicus submits that
the $25-million liability imposed on Ford and GM is “sub-
stantial.”

The majority opinion below avoids discussion of such a
simple answer to its own question by going to the opposite
extreme. It launches into a discussion of the employer's
immunity from tort actions, asserting this immunity to be
the “basic benefit’’ to the employer. Because this “basic
benefit” is undisturbed by the 1987 legislation, the major-
ity declares there is no “substantial” impairment of contract.

Under this analysis, any amount of retroactive liability,
perhaps trip''ng the compensation payments in all cases
since 1920 (with compound interest) wouid be permissi-
ble, so long as the exclusive remedy was not disturbed.
Amicus submits this is not the law.

This Court held in Allied Structural Steel v. Spannaus,
438 U.S. 233 (1978), that requiring an employer to pay
pensions which had not yet contractually vested was a
“substantial impairment of contractual expectations.” The
question according to Justice Stewart is whether something
significant has been taken away by the statute, not whether
it leaves anything of some value. (The sum involved in

= ™

Spannaus was $185,000 compared to the stated $25-million
liability and was held to be a substantial impairment.)

Under the majority’s analysis, there must be a total de-
struction of all value before a legislative act could be con-
sidered unconstitutional. But, as this Court has repeatedly
held, “total destruction of contractual expectations is not
necessary for a finding of substantial impairment.” Energy
Reserves Group v. Kansas Power & Light, 459 U.S. 400
at 411 (1983); United States Trust Co. v. New Jersey, 431
U.S. 1 at 26-27 (1977). Most lower courts have so held,
too. State of Nevada Employees Association v. Keating,
903 F.2d 1223, at 1227 (1990) (restriction of employees’
right to withdraw pension contributions without penalty);
Michael v. Workers’ Compensation Court, 763 P.2d 1122,
1125 (Montana, 1988) (mandatory mediation of disputes
causing delay in recovering benefits).

So, contrary to the majority opinion below, the issue
under the contracts clause is whether something substan-
tial has been taken away, not whether anything of value
is left. The decision below took “‘substantial’’ amounts
away from these defendants.

2. There Is No Impairment Because ‘“‘the Defendants
Knew That Their Rights Were Subject to Alteration.”’

This is a second pillar of the majority’s balancing test,
and it doesn’t fit this case. Every citizen knows that fu-
ture rights may be altered by a legislature. But, if past
completed transactions can be reopened and altered, then
no one in our society can possess any reasonable expec-
tations or the confidence required to plan future commit-
ments. Under the majority opinion below, there is no fi-
nality at any time, on any issue, and no transaction is
ever over or closed. No business, no citizen can make any
plans for the future, if the past is so unstable.

=e

Justice Stewart, in Allied Structural Steel v. Spannaus,
supra, wrote:

If the Contract Clause is to retain any meaning at
all, it must be understood to impose some limits upon
the power of a state to abridge existing contractual
rights, even. in the exercise of its otherwise legitimate
police power. 438 U.S. at 242.

Contracts ei able individuals to order their personal
business affairs . . . . Once arranged, those rights
and obligations are binding under the law, and the
parties are entitled to rely on them. [bid. at 245.

There can be no stability in this nation’s affairs if
legislatures can suddenly reopen several years of com-
pleted transactions and decree them null and void. The
Contract Clause forbids such gross alteration.

No citizen can plan a future, if they cannot rely on the
finality of past, completed transactions. These petitioners
had the legitimate expectation, protected by the Constitu-
tion, that these past, completed transactions would not
be altered.

3. The Legislature and the Courts May Impair Con-
tracts in the “‘Reasonable Exercise of the Police
Power.”’

This statement from the majority opinion is much too
broad. If the police power is unlimited, there is no room
left for the Contract Clause, the First Amendment, res
judicata, or any other constitutional right. Such a state-
ment leaves no place for the Rule of Law in our society.

If the contract clause is to retain any meaning at all
... it must be understood to impose some limit up
on the power of a state to abridge existing contrac-
tual relationships, even in the exercise of its other-
wise legitimate police power. J. Stewart in Allied
Structural Steel v. Spannaus, 438 U.S. at 242. See
also Pension Benefit Guaranty Fund v. R. A. Gray

& Co., 467 U.S. 717 (1984); United States Trust Co.
v. New Jersey, 431 U.S. at 22.

As to whether the 1987 legislation meets any special
need requiring the use of the police power, there is ab-
solutely no legislative history or record concerning that
need, no problem described in a legislative record, no ex-
planation of any problem or how this legislation meets
the problem. Garris v. Hanover Insurance Company, 630
F.2d 1001 (4th Cir. 1980) at p. 1009 states the necessity
of legislative sources to evaluate the rationality of a con-
tract clause challenge. There is none in this case.

The majority opinion, however, invents its own assump-
tion to support the lack of any legislative finding of prob-
lem or need. It assumes, although it is nowhere stated
in the statute or legislative history, that the legislature
in 1987 wanted to help employees whose benefits were
not increased in other legislation enacted in 1981.

The majority opinion’s assumption is false, aside from
the propriety of a court’s supplying its own justification,
where the legislature itself has omitted any justification.
The plaintiffs here suffered no decrease in benefits com-
pared to other employees in 1981 or 1982. This coordina-
tion of benefits statute was a separate bill having nothing
to do with the amount of benefits. The opinion below con-
fuses two separate legislative statutes enacted in this
period, one of which gave a benefit increase to this Plain-
tiff Romein. This was Michigan Public Act 357 of 1980.
It had nothing to do with coordination of benefits.

The statute gave increases to prior injury cases, such
as these plaintiffs; all claimants having accidents between
1965 and 1979 received increased benefits, running from
10.3% to 86.6%. Plaintiff Romein, whose accident was in
1977, received $21 more per week. MCL 418 352. Record
Exhibit II-4. (This $21 a week increase was paid from the

=s

state’s general fund, not by employers, thus avoiding any
issue of retroactivity and impairment of contracts.)

This clear fact destroys the assertion by the majority,
its attempt to invent a “rational” reason for the 1987
statute; pre-1981 claimants did get increases in 1981.

Coordination of benefits, the subject here, was passed
later, in December, 1981, effective March 31, 1982, in a bill
confined to that subject. Michigan Public Act 203 of 1981.

Consequently, the court-supplied assumption to justify
the 1987 legislation, that the 1987 legislature wanted to
give benefits to pre-1981 claimants who received none,
was a false one. No explanation other than this assertion
by the court itself is offered of any need or intent, or
_ how the 1987 legislation might meet that need. There is
none in any legislative record, and the majority’s invented
assumption is false.

Amicus submits there is no problem or need described
anywhere justifying even a “reasonable exercise of the
police power” to justify retroactivity. There is no conflict
between any competing constitutional rights requiring a
weighing of “rational relationship,” nothing which permits
a legal challenge to the clearly stated Contract Clause of
the U.S. Constitution.

LEGISLATORS MAY ACT ONLY DURING THE PERIOD
THEY HOLD OFFICE. A CURRENT LEGISLATURE CAN-
NOT ACT FOR OR BIND FUTURE OR PAST LEGIS-
LATORS WITHOUT VIOLATING DUE PROCESS OF
LAW.

Due process of law in various forms is argued in other
briefs. This amicus will confine itself to a discussion of the
temporal time limits on assertions of power by legislators.

As set forth under the Statement of Facts, the 1987
Michigan legislature purported to construe (actually to

- =

change) the “intent” of the 1981 legislature, after the 1981
statute passed through the crucible of judicial construc-
tion in 1985. The 1987 statute as enacted simply stated
that the 1981 legislature’s “intent” differed from that
found by the Michigan Supreme Court in Franks v. White
Pine Copper Div. and Chambers v. General Motors Corp.,
422 Mich. 636, 375 N.W.2d 715 (1985).

Chief Justice Riley in her dissent points out the ludicrous
nature of the 1987 legislators’ determining the intent of
the 1981 legislators; only 11 of the 26 senators in office
in 1981 were still in the senate in 1987, and only 20 of the
62 representatives were still in office in 1987. Thus, there
is no basis for the 1987 legislators to assert or change
whatever “intent” existed among the 1981 legislators.

It also invades the “time zone” of authority and sov-
ereignty of the 1981 legislature itself by overturning its
1981 vote. This presents the due process question.

Amicus urges the Court to examine an article on this
subject, ““Temporal Limits on the Legislative Mandate:
Entrenchment and Retroactivity,” 1987 American Bar
Foundation Research Journal, beginning on page 379. The
author is Professor Eule of the Law School at the Univer-
sity of California at Los Angeles.

Professor Eule explains why a current legislature can-
not “rewrite history” by overturning the votes of its
predecessor legislators. At p. 445:

.. . What if, on January 3, the newly elected rep-
resentatives conducted a “recount” of all legislative
voting that had occurred during the preceding two
years, substituting the votes of the new represen-
tatives for those of their predecessors?

If these recounts were accompanied by a decree that
the bills which could no longer muster a majority
vote were to be treated as never having been en-

=~ =

acted, we would surely conclude that the spirit, if not
the letter of the Constitution had been violated.

This is precisely what the Michigan legislature did in 1987.
Professor Eule continues:
The voters do not delegate authority to rewrite his-
tory. Their earlier agents exercised legitimate author-
ity when they enacted legislation. While such efforts
may be repealed, this is not the same as retrospec-
tive eradication.

Again, Professor Eule describes exactly what the 1987 Mich-
igan legislature did, eradicating not only the 1981 vote, but
the 1985 Supreme Court decision, too. Professor Eule then
examines the reverse situation, prior bills which did not pass:

A decision that bills defeated by prior legislators can
now be enacted and treated as if they had been en-
acted earlier arguably runs afoul of this same prin-
ciple. The then-authorized representatives made a
choice, and their decision demands recognition of the
polity for that point in time. Each set of elected of-
ficials ought to be viewed as endowed by their sov-
ereign with the mandate to make policy choices only
within a bracketed temporal zone.

Just as the delegation of authority does not encom-
pass incursions into the domain of legislatures to
come, it does not contemplate contravening the sanc-
tity of the past.

Drawing on this Court’s analysis in Allied Structural
Steel v. Spannaus, 438 U.S. 233 (1978) (a case amicus has
cited on impairment of contracts), Professor Eule poses
this question: Assume that the Minnesota legislature, from
1963 to 1974, had defeated pension-vesting legisiation, but
in 1974, that legislation finally squeaks through, not just
for new pension plans, but retroactively to 1963, where
such bills had been defeated:

Doesn’t such an enactment invade the exclusive do-
main of the predecessor legislatures? Jbid., p. 397.

=

Chief Justice Riley in her dissent, pp. 5-6, quotes ex-
tensively from the floor debate of 1981 on this coordina- {
tion of benefits bill. The remarks of Representatives Cush-
ingberry, Emerson, Vanek, and Kelsey in opposition to
its passage expressly recognized the bill’s content and its
“intent” as it passed.

And, in 1982, Senate Bill 834 proposing to repeal this
1981 vote on coordination of benefits was soundly defeated,
a further demonstration of the legislative “intent” to enact
and retain this “coordination of benefits” statute. Thus,
the content and the “intent” was clearly fixed in 1981, as
the Michigan Supreme Court held in 1985. The 1987 legis-
lature can repeal the 1981 statute, but it cannot change
the clearly expressed intent of that statute, or deny its
enactment.

Amicus submits that the 1987 legislature, consistent with
due process of law, did not have the power to rewrite
the history of 1981 and 1982 and declare that these clearly
recorded actions embodying the content and the “intent”
never occurred.

Professor Eule submits that restricting legislatures to
the time zone of their authority is part of due process,
and “serves as our guide to assessing retroactivity where
specific clauses of the Constitution, (ex post facto, contract
or takings) are not applicable.” Jbid., p. 397.

Without this constitutional structure of due process,
there is no stability, past transactions are never final,
plans and expectations based on stability of law are not
allowed to any citizen.

With actions and decisions such as occurred in Michigan,
set forth fully and precisely in this record, there is no
Rule of Law; when the past is unstable, there are no
stable premises permitting citizens to make future com-

~20—

mitments. The whims of legislators may control our fu-
ture, but due process forbids those whims to control our

past as well.

CONCLUSION
For these reasons, the National Council of Self-Insurers,
as amicus curiae, urges this Court to grant the Petition
for Certiorari.
Respectfully submitted,

DOUGLAS F. STEVENSON

SreveNsON, Rusin AND FRIEDMAN, LTD.

10 South Riverside Plaza
Suite 1530

Chicago, Illinois 60606
(312) 454-5110

Counsel for Amicus Curiae

—la—
APPENDIX 1

State Workers’ Compensation Laws

U.S. Department of Labor

Employment Standards Administration
Office of Workers’ Compensation Programs
Branch of Workers’ Compensation Studies

January 1990

TABLE 17. OFFSET PROVISIONS
IN STATE WORKERS’ COMPENSATION LAWS

ALASKA

Section 23.30.225(a)—When periodic retirement or sur-
vivors’ benefits are payable under Title II of the Social
Security Act (42 U.S.C., 301 et seq.), the weekly compen-
sation for total disability or death shall be reduced by an
amount equal to one-half of the Federal benefits for such
week. (b) When a claim has been filed under this chapter,
any weekly disability benefits payable shall be offset by
benefits in accordance with 42 U.S.C., 401 et seq., by
an amount which exceeds 80 percent of the employee’s
average weekly wage at the time of injury. (c) When em-
ployer contributions to a pension or profit sharing plan
are used in determining gross earnings and the employee
is receiving pension or profit sharing payments, the week-
ly compensation benefits for total disability and death will
be reduced.

Section 23.30.187—Compensation for temporary total dis-
ability is not payable during any week in which unemploy-
ment compensation benefits are also payable.

CALIFORNIA

Section 4753—Additional compensation for subsequent
injuries shall be reduced by any monetary payments from
any source, except for a pension or a service-connected
disability which was incurred in the U.S. armed forces.

Section 4904—Permits liens to be made against tem-
porary total disability indemnity for any unemployment
compensation disability benefits being received.

COLORADO

Sections 8-50-103 and 8-51-101—Benefits for disability in
this State shall be reduced by 50 percent and death by
100 percent of any Federal OASDI payments, or the work-
men’s compensation act of another State or of the Fed-
eral Government, or of an employer pension or disability
plan.

Section 8-51-101(1XeXii)—Permanent total disability bene-
fits shall be reduced by 50 percent of any Federal OASDI
payments received after the claimant reaches the age of
65, or in the case of a claimant who begins to receive
employer-paid retirement payments at the age of 65, by
‘an amount determined as a percentage of such benefits.

Section 8-51-101(1Xf)—Weekly temporary and permanent
total disability benefits shall be offset by 100 percent of
any unemployment compensation benefits received for the
same week, with certain exceptions.

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

Section 36-308(g)—Weekly compensation benefits are off-
set if the sum of any Federal Old Age Survivors Insur-
ance benefits, or any employee benefit plans subject to
the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974,

=

or any other employee income maintenance plan which is
funded solely by the employer plus such weekly compen-
sation benefits exceeds 80 percent of the employee’s aver-
age weekly wage.

FLORIDA

Section 440.15(3\(b\4)—Provides that if an employee is
entitled to both wage-loss benefits and social security
retirement benefits, the social security retirement benefits
will be primary and wage-loss benefits supplementary. The
sum of any combined benefits must not exceed the amount
of wage-loss benefits which would otherwise be payable.

Section 440.15(9)—Weekly compensation benefits for dis-
ability are offset by the amount of any Federal OASDI
payments so that the claimant’s total benefits do not ex-
ceed 80% of his/her average weekly wage.

Section 440.15(10Xa)—No weekly compensation payments
are made for temporary or permanent total disability
under the workers’ compensation law for any week in
which unemployment compensation benefits are paid.

Section 440.15(19Xb)—Offsets wage-loss or temporary
partial disability benefits by the amount of any unemploy-
ment compensation benefit payments.

LOUISIANA

Section 1225—Permanent toial disability benefits payable
under the Act will be reduced for those recipients who
are also receiving Federal OASDI benefits. This reduc-
tion is to be made only to the extent that the amount
of the combined Federal and State workers’ compensa-
tion benefits would otherwise cause or result in a reduc-
tion of the Federal benefits pursuant to the Social Secu-
rity Act (42 U.S.C., Section 424a).

—49—

Section 1225-B—No compensation will be paid for tem-
porary or permanent total disability or supplemental earn-
ings benefits during any week in which the employee is
receiving or entitled to receive unemployment compensa-
tion benefits.

MAINE

Section 111-A—Offsets benefits for personal injury or
disease under an insured disability or medical payments
plan against payments for workers’ compensation.

Section 62-A—Reduces benefit payments by the amount
of any concurrent unemployment compensation benefits,
excluding lump sum settlements and scheduled permanent
partial disabilities.

Section 62-B—Reduces total and partial disability bene-
fits by:
(1) Fifty percent of the amount of old age insurance

benefits received under the Federal Social Security
Act;

(2) The after tax amount of the payments received
under an employee benefit plan provided by the same
employer, if the employee did not contribute direct-
ly to the plan; and,

(3) The proportional amount, based upon the ratio
of the employer’s contributions to the total contribu-
tions, if the employee did contribute directly to the
plan

MARYLAND

Section 36 (1Xa)—Cost-of-living increases for employees
who are entitled to compensation for permanent total dis-
ability under this section and for disability under the Fed-
eral social security act will be reduced to avoid a diminu-
tion of the Federal benefits.

tallies
MASSACHUSETTS

Section 36 B(1)—No benefit shall be payable for tem-
porary total and permanent total disability for any week
in which the employee has received or is receiving unem-
ployment compensation benefits.

Section 36 B(2)—Any unemployment compensation bene-
fits received will be credited against partial disability ben-
efits for the same period or credited against any future
partial disability benefits which are or may become pay-
able.

MICHIGAN

Section 418.354—Temporary total disability benefits will
be reduced by 50 percent of any Social Security benefits;
and by amounts received after taxes under any self-insur-
ance plan, wage continuation plan, pension or retirement
plan provided by the employer to which the employee does
not contribute.

Section 418.354(1Xf)—Temporary total disability bene-
fits will be coordinated with those from employer con-

tributions to a qualified profit sharing plan where the
employer does not provide a pension plan.

Section 418.358—Offsets temporary total, permanent
total, and permanent partial disability benefits under
the workers’ compensation act dollar for dollar by un-
employment compensation benefits.

MINNESOTA

Section 176.101, Subdivision 4—After $25,000 is paid for
permanent total disability, benefits paid by any govern-
ment disability program, or any old age and survivors’
insurance benefits program are credited against workers’
compensation benefits, if such disability benefits are oc-
casioned by the same injury.

—fa—

Section 176.111, Subdivision 21—Death benefits shall not
exceed 100% of the deceased employee’s weekly wage at
the time of the injury causing his death, when the total
weekly government survivor benefits and the state work-
ers’ compensation benefits are combined, nor be payable
for any week in which the government benefits exceed

such percentage.

MONTANA

Sections 39-71-701(2) and 39-71-702(2)—If periodic disabil-
ity benefits are payable to the worker under the Federal
OASDI, weekly temporary total and permanent total dis-
ability benefits resulting from both injury and occupational
disease shall be reduced by an amount approximating one-
half (but not below zero) of the Federal benefit for such
week which amount is to be calculated from the date of
the social security disability entitlement.

NEW JERSEY

Section 34:15-29—Workers’ compensation benefits may
be offset against disability pension benefits or payments.

Section 34:15-95.4—Supplemental benefits for permanent
total disability and death shall be offset by any Federal
survivor or disability benefits, black lung, or disability
pension benefits.

Section 34:15-95.5—Reduces permanent total disability
or subsequent injury benefits of individuals under age 62
by Social Security benefits where the period of disability
began after December 31, 1979.

NEW MEXICO

Section 52-1-70 A&B—Offsets unemployment compensa-
tion benefits against total disability benefits. If a worker

—14—

, is concurrently entitled to both types of benefits, the un-
employment compensation benefits shall be primary and
total disability benefits shall be supplemental only, and
the sum of the two benefits shall not exceed the amount
of total disability benefits otherwise payable.

NEW YORK

Section 16(1-c) and (7)—Applies a statutory offset of a
sole surviving spouse’s compensation by up to 50 percent
of his or her social security benefits, if any. Further, pro-
vides that in computing the offsets, any increase in bene-
fits under the Social Security Act that occurs after the
date of death shall not be considered; and any such off-
set shall be equally applicable to payments under the So-
cial Security Act which are received retroactively, but
shall not apply to increases for such benefits received
retroactively.

NORTH CAROLINA

Section 97-42.1—Provides that compensation for tempor-
ary total or permanent total disability benefits may be
reduced by the amount of any unemployment insurance
benefits received for the same period.

NORTH DAKOTA

Section 65-05-08—Offsets partial or total disability bene-
fits of any worker who fails to report wages received from
any part-time or full-time employment.

Section 65-05-09.1—The aggregate benefits payable for
temporary total or permanent total disability shall be re-
duced, but not below zero, by an amount equal as nearly
as practical to one-half of the benefits payable under Title
II of the Social Security Act (42 U.S.C. 423) and will not

—

be affected by any increase or decrease in Federal bene-
fits. Any escalation of temporary or permanent total dis-
ability benefits, which would adversely affect the bureau's
right to offset workers’ compensation benefits against
social security benefits, shall not be applicable to persons
whose benefits are offset, as provided for in this chapter.

Section 65-05-09.2—Retirement offset. If a claimant is
entitled to permanent total disability benefits and social
security retirement benefits under 42 U.S.C. sections 402
and 405, the aggregate wage-loss benefits payable under
this title must be determined in accordance with this sec-
tion. The employee’s social security retirement offset must
equal forty percent of the calculated ratio of the employ-
ee’s average weekly wages, as calculated on the com-
mencement of the first, or recurrent, disability to the cur-
rent State’s average weekly wage. Any offset calculated
cannot exceed forty percent of the employee’s weekly so-
cial security retirement benefits. If a claim has been ac-
cepted on an aggregate basis and the worker is eligible
for social security benefits, the bureau’s offset must be
proportionally calculated.

OHIO

Section 4123.56—Applies an offset against temporary
total disability payments in the event of concurrent and
duplicative benefits under an employer funded nonoccupa-

tional benefits plan.

OREGON

Section 656.209—Provides for a social security offset
against permanent total disability benefits determined and
authorized by the Department in each case. Such offset ;
must not result in a reduction of benefits to an amoun'
less than the greater of the workers’ compensation bene

—9a—

fit, the total family benefit under Social Security, or 80%
of the average current earnings as determined by Social
Security.

UTAH

Section 35-1-67(4)—After the first 312 weeks of perma-
nent total disability payments have been made, future
payments will be reduced by the dollar amount of 50 per-
cent of the Social Security retirement benefits received
by the employee during the same period.

Section 35-1-68(2(A\ii)—Reduces weekly death benefits
to wholly dependent spouses after the first six-year period
following an employee’s death by 50 percent of any Fed-
eral social security death benefits.

WASHINGTON

Section 51.32—Reduces temporary and permanent total
disability benefits to allow an offset for social security
retirement benefits under the Federal OASDI, in a man-
ner similar to Section 51.32.220 below.

Section 51.32.220—Reduces temporary and permanent
total disability benefits for persons under age 65 by an
amount equal to the benefits payable under the Federal
OASDI, under certain conditions.

WISCONSIN

Section 102.44(5)—Reduces disability benefits under this
section when the employee also receives social security
disability benefits. Combined workers’ compensation and
social security disability benefits are limited to 80 per-
cent of the employee’s average current earnings. How-
ever, such benefits may not be reduced to an amount less
than the benefits payable under this chapter.

—10a—

WYOMING

Section 27-14-401(iii)—Prohibits an employee who is re-
ceiving unemployment compensation to receive disability
benefits under the workers’ compensation act.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0087%3A07. Public record. Not legal advice.
