# Opposition Brief — Arkansas v. Oklahoma

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0080%3A03

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 499 U.S. 946

## Text

po -¢-T_ LED
Nos. 90-1262 and 90-1266 MAR 11 1991
IN THE OFFICE OF THE CLERK

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

—_*

,

STATE OF ARKANSAS, et al.,

. Petitioners,

STATE OF OKLAHOMA, et al.,
Respondents.

ENVIRON MENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY,

. Petitioner,

STATE OF OKLAHOMA, et al.,
Respondents.

On Petitions for Writs of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Tenth Circuit

BRIEF FOR THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA,
THE OKLAHOMA SCENIC RIVERS COMMISSION,
THE OKLAHOMA POLLUTION CONTROL
COORDINATING BOARD,

SAVE THE ILLINOIS RIVER (STIR) AND
THE OKLAHOMA WILDLIFE FEDERATION
IN OPPOSITION

JAMES VANR. SPRINGER ROBERT H. HENRY
WILLIAM A. BUTLER Attorney General of Oklahoma
ANGUS E. CRANE (Counsel of Record)
DICKSTEIN, SHAPIRO ROBERT A. BUTKIN

& MorRIN BRITA HAUGLAND CANTRELL
2101 L Street, N.W. Assistant Attorneys General
Washington, D.C. 20037 112 State Capitol Building
(202) 785-9700 Oklahoma City, OK 73105

(405) 521-3921

JULIAN K. FITE

530 Court Street

Muskogee, OK 74401
March 11, 1991 (918) 687-5424

WILson - Eres Printing Co., Inc. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

@ Ee wo

he SET DW Moni Hy
Pe 7 face ‘s
ORE RH 205.5

Fee aay
tk EA
dria Sh ee

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the provisions of the Clean Water Act
permitting a discharge of pollutants only if it would
comply with “applicable water quality requirements” re-
quire compliance with the federally approved Water
Quality Standards of an affected downstream State as
well as those of the State in which the pollutants would
initially be discharged.

(This first question is raised only by the Arkansas
petition (No. 90-1262) because the affirmative answer
given by the Court of Appeals was advocated by the
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) as well as
the Oklahoma respondents. The second question stated
below is raised by both the Arkansas petition and the
EPA petition (No. 90-1266) ).

2. Whether, assuming an affirmative answer to the
preceding question, the Court of Appeals properly held
that a discharge of sewage treatment effluent into a
tributary of a specially protected scenic river would
violate the prohibition of Oklahoma’s federally approved
Water Quality Standards (as in effect in November
1985) against any “further water quality degradation”
in that river, where the EPA’s findings and undisputed
evidence showed that the result would be to increase the
presence of pollutants that were- already at excessive
levels.

(i)

a

TABLE OF CONTENTS

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED........

is ssemuasemucnesesoues
A. The Statutory And Regulatory Scheme .............
B. The Proceedings Below ................................000000---
i

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION .............

I.

Il.

NO SUBSTANTIAL ISSUE FOR REVIEW IS
RAISED BY THE COURT OF APPEALS’
AGREEMENT WITH EPA THAT DOWN-
STREAM STATE STANDARDS APPLY TO
II ciriceresecssccuapsnneepnnnveantscnsectnezeessee

NO ISSUE APPROPRIATE FOR REVIEW BY
THIS COURT IS PRESENTED BY EITHER
PETITIONER WITH RESPECT TO THE
INTERPRETATION AND APPLICATION
OF THE OKLAHOMA WATER QUALITY
STANDARDS TO THE UNIQUE CIRCUM-
STANCES OF THIS CASE ......00......000000.0....

ST ddncipedtnecdinscennnencntiettitcececesncennecnsecese

(iii)

14

15

16

20

26

‘iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases: Page

Caiolo v. Carroll, 851 F.2d 395 (D.C. Cir. 1988) .... 22
Champion International Corp. Vv. EPA, 4th Cir.

Ie eae 20
Chevron U.S.A., Inc. V. Natural Resources Defense
Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837 (1984) —.................. 18
' Chevron U.S.A., Inc. Vv. Yost, 919 F.2d 27 (5th Cir.
IIIT icine ciniedtnietinderdatadtenemendiatalatieaabaaabiadidbbiiadtdtiaices 25

City of Milwaukee Vv. Illinois, 451 U.S. 304 (1981). 18, 23
City of Sarasota v. EPA, 813 F.2d 1106 (11th Cir.

I iia iain iia ais 8, 23
E.I. DuPont De Nemours & Co. Vv. Train, 430 U.S.

ne ere on ne 18
EPA Vv. California ex rel. State Water Resources

Control Board, 426 U.S. 200 (1976) 0.0. 7, 8, 23
Illinois v. City of Milwaukee, 731 F.2d 403 (7th

Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1196 (1985)... 19
International Paper Co. v. Ouellette, 479 U.S. 481

Ee eeers seen aire eran eee 18, 19, 23
National Wildlife Federation v. Federal Energy

Regulatory Commission, 912 F.2d 1471 (D.C.

NEI I a area ae en Se eee 19
Natural Resources Defense Council, Inc. v. EPA,
859 F.2d 156 (D.C. Cir. 1988) ............0000000.. 7

State v. Champion International Corp., 709 S.W.2d

United States v. Larionoff, 431 U.S. 864 (1977)... 22
University of Cincinnati Vv. Bowen, 875 F.2d 1207

Sea Ae 22
Statutes and regulations:

Clean Water Act, 33 U.S.C. § 1251 et seq. .............. passim

§ 101(b), 33 U.S.C. § 1251 (b) .......... 6

een 2,17, 21

to 8S ees 2, 7, 21, 23

I a csilietuebiensioniai 3,17

§ 402, 33 U.S.C. § 1342 _.................... wisiiniiieniagal passim

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Oklahoma Scenic Rivers Act, Okla. Stat. Tit. 82
I atid 6

40 C.F.R.:

ESAS wee cee eee a EOE 4
Ae 4,14
Se eee Sees ar eee eo 18
ESSE Seen eee ara 13, 14
ERS eT SOE 21
ER a” Coen a er ‘ 18
TERRI CART a Sa ea ae x
Oklahoma Water Quality Standards ...................... passim

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

No. 90-1262

STATE OF ARKANSAS, et al.,

. Petitioners,

STATE OF OKLAHOMA, et al.,

Respondents.
No. 90-1266
ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY,
Petitioner,

Vv.
STATE OF OKLAHOMA, et al.,

Respondents.

On Petitions for Writs of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Tenth Circuit

BRIEF FOR THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA,
THE OKLAHOMA SCENIC RIVERS COMMISSION,
THE OKLAHOMA POLLUTION CONTROL
COORDINATING BOARD,

SAVE THE ILLINOIS RIVER (STIR) AND
THE OKLAHOMA WILDLIFE FEDERATION
IN OPPOSITION

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED

Because the Clean Water Act and the pertinent En-
vironmental Protection Agency (EPA) and Oklahoma
regulations contain straightforward language that, in
our view, conclusively answers the questions presented
by the petitions, we set forth the most significant ex-
cerpts at the outset rather than in an appendix.

2

I. The most pertinent portions of the Clean Water
Act, 53 U.S.C. § 1251 et seq., provide as follows: *

§ 301, 33 U.S.C. § 1311. Effluent limitations

(a) Illegality of pullutant discharges except
in compliance with law

Except as in compliance with this section and sec-
tions 1312, 1316, 1317, 1328, 1342, and 1344 of this
title, the discharge of any pollutant by any person
shall be unlawful.

(b) Timetable for achievement of objectives

In order to carry out the objective of this chapter
there shall be achieved—* * *

(1)(C) not later than July 1, 1977, any more
stringent limitation [than standards specified by
EPA], including those necessary to meet water qual-
ity standards * * * established pursuant to any State
law or regulations (under authority preserved by
section 1370 of this title) or * * * required to.im-
plement any applicable water quality standard es-
tablished pursuant to this chapter.

§ 303, 33 U.S.C. § 1313. Water quality standards and
implementation plans

(c) Review; revised standards; publication

(1) The Governor of a State or the State water
pollution control agency of such State shall from
time to time (but at least once each three year pe-
riod beginning with October 18, 1972) hold public
hearings for the purpose of reviewing applicable
water quality standards and, as appropriate, modify-
ing and adopting standards. Results of such review
shall be made available to the [EPA] Administrator.

* More extensive excerpts from each of these sections are set forth
in greater detail in the separately bound Appendix to the Arkansas
petition (Ark. Pet. App. 154a-171la).

3

(2)(A) Whenever the State revises or adopts a
new standard, such revised or new standard shall be
submitted to the Administrator. Such revised or new
water quality standard shall consist of the desig-
nated uses of the navigable waters involved and the
water quality criteria for such waters based upon
such uses. Such standards shall be such as to pro-
tect the public health or welfare, enhance the qual-
ity of water and serve the purposes of this chapter.
Such standards shall be established taking into con-
sideration their use and value for public water sup-
plies, propagation of fish and wildlife, recreational
purposes, and agricultural, industrial and other pur-
poses, and also taking into consideration their use
and value for navigation. * * *

(3) If the Administrator, within sixty days after
the date of submission of the revised or new stand-
ard, determines that such standard meets the re-
quirements of this chapter, such standard shall there-
after be the water quality standard for the applicable
waters of that State. * * *

§ 401, 33 U.S.C. § 1341. Certification

(a)(1) Any applicant for a federal license or per-
mit to conduct any activity including, but not limited
to, the construction or operation of facilities, which
may result in any discharge into the navigable wa-
ters, shall provide the licensing or permitting agency
a certification from the State in which the discharge
originates or will originate * * * that any such dis-
charge will comply with the applicable provisions of
sections 1311, * * * 1313 [and other sections] of
this title. * * *

(2) * * * Whenever such a discharge may affect,
as determined by the Administrator, the quality of
the waters of any other State, the Administrator
within thirty days of the date of notice of applica-
tion for such Federal license or permit shall so no-
tify such other State, the licensing or permitting

agency, and the applicant. * * * Such agency *

4

shall condition such license or permit in such man-
ner as may be necessary to insure compliance with
applicable water quality requirements. If the im-
position of conditions cannot insure such compliance
such agency shall not issue such license or permit.

§ 402, 33 U.S.C. § 1342. National pollutant discharge
elimination system

(a) Permits for discharge of pollutants

(1) * * * [T]jhe Administrator may, after oppor-
tunity for public hearing, issue a permit for the dis-
charge of any pollutant, or combination of pollutants,
notwithstanding section 13ll(a) of this title, upon
condition that such discharge will meet * * * all
applicable requirements under sections 1311 * * *
[and other sections] of this title * * *.

[Subsections (b)-(d) provide for State permit
programs, which supersede EPA’s jurisdiction
to issue permits, and specify EPA’s role with
respect to such programs. |

II. The Environmental Protection Agency’s regula-
tions with respect to the National Pollutant Discharge
Elimination System (NPDES), 40 C.F.R. Part 122, pro-
vide as follows in pertinent part:

$122.4. Prohibitions * * *
No permit may be issued: * * *

(d) When the imposition of conditions cannot
insure compliance with the applicable water quality
requirements of all affected States * * *.

$122.6 Continuation of expiring permits.

(d) State continuation. (1) An EPA-issued per-
mit does not continue in force beyond its expiration
date under Federal law if at that time a State is
the permitting authority. States authorized to ad-
minister the NPDES program may continue * * *
EPA * * * permits until the effective date of the
new permits, if State law allows. * * *

5

III. The 1982 Oklahoma Water Quality Standards
(“OWQS”), as adopted by the Oklahoma Water Re-
sources Board and approved by EPA under Clean Water
Act § 303(c), supra, provide as follows in pertinent
part: “* -

SECTION 1. INTRODUCTION. * * * The pur-
pose of the Standards is to promote and protect as
many beneficial uses as are attainable and to assure
that degradation of existing quality of waters of the
State does not occur.

SECTION 2. ADOPTION AND ENFORCEABIL-
ITY OF THE STANDARDS. The 1982 Oklahoma

_ Water Quality Standards * * * are adopted as
Rules and Regulations by the Oklahoma Water Re-
sources Board * * * and are fully enforceable under
the laws of Oklahoma. These standards shall apply
to all waters of the State * * *.

SECTION 3. ANTI-DEGRADATION POLICY.
* * * No further water quality degradation which
would interfere with or become injurious to exist-
ing instream water uses shall be allowed. * * * No
degradation shall be allowed in high quality waters
which constitute an outstanding resource or in
waters of exceptional recreational or ecological sig-
nificance. These include water bodies located in
National and State parks, Wildlife Refuges, and
those designated “Scenic Rivers” in Appendix A. * * *

SECTION 5. BENEFICIAL USE LIMITATIONS.
All streams and bodies of water designated as (a)
[in Appendix A] are protected by prohibition of any
new point source discharge of wastes or increased
load from an existing point source except under
conditions described in Section 3.

** Sections 3 and 5 are set forth in full in the Appendix to the
Court of Appeals opinion (Ark. Pet. App. 85a). The 1982 OWQS
were set forth in full in the Addendum to Joint Brief-In-Chief of
Petitioners/Appellants filed below in May 1989.

6

OWQS Appendix A (at p. 21) designates the “Upper
ILLINOIS RIVER above 650 foot elevation level” as
having both the “a” limitation and “Scenic River’ status.
The Scenic river status was conferred by Okla. Stat. tit.
82 § 1452(b) (1) (1970).

STATEMENT

This case concerns the interpretation of Oklahoma’s
federaliy-approved Water Quality Standards, as in effect
on November 5, 1985, in the context of a request by the
City of Fayetteville, Arkansas, for a permit under the
Clean Water Act, 33 U.S.C. § 1251 et segq., to discharge
treated sewage into a tributary of Oklahoma’s Upper
Illinois River, which has a specially protected status as
a scenic river.

A. The Statutory And Regulatory Scheme.

1. In general, the petition of the Environmental Pro-
tection Agency (EPA) accurately describes the statu-
tory scheme for approval or disapproval of discharges
into interstate waters under the Clean Water Act and,
in particular, the central role of State Water Quality
Standards—such as those of Oklahoma here—under
the National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System
(NPDES) permit m established by § 402, 33
U.S.C. § 1342. See EPA Pet. 2-6. Rather than repeat
that description here, we merely emphasize the salient
points, most of which are apparent from the statutory
excerpts set forth above.

2. The Act states a fundamental policy “to recognize,
preserve, and protect the primary responsibilities and
rights of States to prevent, reduce, and eliminate pollu-
tion * * *.” §101(b), 33 U.S.C. §1251(b). To these
ends, the States are required_to adopt Water Quality
Standards, and the Act provides for their enforcement.
The purpose of the State Water Quality Standards is
to supplement EPA’s technology-based standards (which

7

determine the level and quality of pollutants that can
be discharged at a particular point source), so as to
assure against adverse cumulative effects from other-
wise acceptable discharges. “Water Quality Standards
are retained as a supplementary basis for effluent limi-
tations * * * so that numerous point sources, despite
individual compliance with effluent limitations, may be
further regulated to prevent water quality from falling
below acceptable levels.” EPA v. California ex. rel. State
Water Resources Control Board, 426 U.S. 200, 205 n.12
(1976).

3. The Clean Water Act further contemplates that
the NPDES permitting process will for the most part
be conducted by the States rather than by EPA. § 402(b),
33 U.S.C. § 1342(b). The procedure followed in this
case—issuance of a permit in the first instance by EPA
—occurred only because the State where the discharge
in question originates (Arkansas) did not in 1985 have
an approved permitting program in place. Since Ar-
kansas now has such a program, and since the term of
the EPA-issued permit under review here has expired,
further proceedings on this matter would take place not
at EPA but before the Arkansas Department of Pollu-
tion Control and Ecology, as described infra. And since
at least thirty-nine of the States now have approved pro-
grams,’ most such proceedings in the future will not be
conducted as this one was, but rather will be before
State agencies, subject only to the discretionary authority
of EPA to object to the issuance of a particular permit
under § 402(d) & (e), 33 U.S.C. §1342(d) & (e).

4. Once a State’s Water Quality Standards have been
approved by EPA under § 303, 33 U.S.C. § 1313, they
have the force of law. Neither the State adopting those
standards nor a permitting agency (whether it be a State

‘See Natural Resources Defense Council, Inc. v. EPA, 859 F.2d
156, 173 (D.C. Cir. 1988).

|
; —_
a a

8

agency or EPA) has authority to deviate from those
standards or excuse noncompliance with them in issuing
an NPDES permit. See EPA v. California ex rel. State
Water Resources Control Board, supra, 426 U.S. at 220;
City of Sarasota v. EPA, 813 F.2d 1106, 1109 n.10 (11th
Cir. 1987). Each State is, however, required to conduct
a triennial review of its Water Quality Standards, with
public hearings and EPA participation, and any new
or altered Standards must have EPA’s prior approval
as “meet[ing] the requirements of [the Clean Water
Act].” § 303(c) (3), 33 U.S.C. § 1842(c¢) (3); 40 C.F.R.
§ 131.20-22. The Oklahoma Standards applicable to this
case were adopted and approved by EPA in 1982. They
have subsequently undergone two triennial reviews which
have resulted in reapprovals by EPA, the latest on De-
cember 28, 1989. Both subsequent versions have included
some changes in the Tanguage in issue here.* Another
triennial review is scheduled to begin in May 1991.

5. The Oklahoma Water Quality Standards (OWQS)
provide special protection for the Upper Illinois River,
which is the Oklahoma body of water threatened by the
Fayetteville sewage treatment plant, by designating it
as an Oklahoma Scenic River and as subject to special
“beneficial use limitations.” Thus, the Upper Illinois
River is protected by a federally approved and enforce-
able Standard categorically prohibiting any “new point
source discharge of wastes” which would result in “water
quality degradation”. OWQS §§ 5, 3.°

* The standards applied below were those adopted and approved in
1982 because they were in effect when the permit was originally
issued on November 5, 1985. See Second Order of EPA Chief
Judicial Officer (CJO), Ark. Pet. App. 148a-150a. The CJO (speak-
ing on behalf of the EPA Administrator) found that there was no
material difference between the 1982 and 1985 OWQS (Ark. Pet.
App. 150a). The Court of Appeals, however, disagreed (id. 52a).

% As previously noted, these Standards are equally binding upon
any discharges from points sources in Oklahoma. There has not
been any suggestion that the Standards are anything other than

9

B. The Proceedings Below.

In 1985, the City of Fayetteville, Arkansas, applied to
EPA for an NPDES permit allowing a new sewage dis-
posal plant to discharge half of its effluent into a trib-
utary of the Illinois river upstream from the Oklahoma
border.* As previously noted, the permit proceeding was
before EPA because an approved State permitting pro-
gram was not yet in place in Arkansas, as it now is. The
State of Oklahoma, its agencies principally concerned
with water quality and a nonprofit group called Save
the Illinois River (STIR) opposed granting such a permit
and evidentiary hearings ensued before an EPA Admin-
istrative Law. Judge (ALJ). On review of the ALJ’s
initial decision recommending approval of the permit
(Ark. Pet. App. 93a-107a), the EPA Administrator, act-
ing through his Chief Judicial Officer (CJO), ruled that
the Fayetteville discharges must satisfy Oklahoma’s
Water Quality Standards as well as those of Arkansas—
a position to which the government has consistently
adhered here and elsewhere as fundamental to the Clean
Water Act scheme—and remanded for further examina-
tion of the question whether the proposed Fayetteville
discharge would violate the OWQS (First Order, Ark.
Pet. App. 108a-121la). The CJO held that the ALJ had
erred in his premise that the standard to be applied was
to be found in federal law and was whether the discharge

bona fide exercises of Oklahoma’s duties under the Clean Water Act
and Oklahoma statutes to protect all waters within that State, or
that they are discriminatory against out-of-state point sources. The
EPA Administrative Law Judge expressly found that the OWQS
“do not amount to an attempt to establish a separate system for
out-of-state sources since they apply equally to Oklahoma sources”
(Ark. Pet. App. 125a).

* Fayetteville had historically discharged all of its wastewater into
the White River (which does not flow into Oklahoma), but even
with the new treatment facility the White River was unable to
assimilate the discharges from the Fayetteville plant without violat-
ing Arkansas’ own Water Quality Standards.

10-

would have an “undue impact” upon the Illinois River.
Rather, the proper standard was simply whether the
discharge would be in strict compliance with the terms of
Oklahoma’s federally approved Standards. Ark. Pet. App.
116a.

On remand, the ALJ concluded that the OWQS were
not violated because, in the ALJ’s words, the Oklahoma
parties had failed to “show by substantial evidence that
the City’s discharge will create a nuisance or render the
Illinois River in Oklahoma harmful, detremental [sic] or
injurious to any beneficial use of the river” (Ark. Pet.
App. 126a-27a). Moreover, he relied upon the proposi-
tion that “the mere likelihood of being able to measure a
difference [in pollutant levels in Oklahoma] is insuffi-
cient to show a violation absent a showing that such
increases will cause increased eutrophication” (id.
130a).° Upon appeal again to the CJO, the ALJ’s ap-
proval of the permit on remand was affirmed on the
Administrator’s behalf (Second Order, Ark. Pet. App.
145a-153a). This Second (and final) Order held that
the ALJ had correctly applied the “clear” language of
the Oklahoma Standards (id. 152a) and that although
he had failed to “mak[e] express reference to the anti-
degradation policy, it was harmless error” because “it
logically follows [from the ALJ’s negative findings on
measurable harm] that there will not be a ‘quality degra-
dation’ ” (id. at 153a).

Notwithstanding his conclusion in favor of the permit,
the ALJ’s decision on remand included findings recog-

° The definition-of eutrophication is discussed by the Court of
Appeals at Ark. Pet. 46a but is not important for present purposes.
The pertinent point here is that the EPA decision was based upon
the proposition that the OWQS presented no bar to the Fayetteville
discharge even if it delivered measurable pollutants to the Upper
Illinois River in Oklahoma, so long as measurable deterioration of
the River’s condition was not shown to have specifically resulted.
This is analogous to saying it is permissible to feed a person poison
so long as he does not become clinically ill.

11

nizing that 20 to 25 percent of the nutrients discharged
by Fayetteville would be present after the Illinois River
crosses the Oklahoma border (Ark. Pet. App. 129a), that
“6 Ibs/day [of phosphorus from Fayetteville] would be
bio-available to organisms over the Oklahoma border”
(id.), and that there would be some increase in nitrogen
(id. 130a). It is undisputed that these additional pollu-
tants would not be allowed to be in the River but for
the Fayetteville NPDES permit. The ALJ’s findings
were adopted by the Administrator in the CJO’s Second
Order (Ark. Pet. App. 151la).

Three. petitions for judicial review of EPA’s final
decision (the Second Order) were filed in early 1989.
The petition of the Arkansas parties (petitioners here)
challenged EPA’s authority to require, as a condition
of an NPDES permit, that a discharger in an upstream
State comply with the Water Quality Standards of a
downstream State. The petitions by the Oklahoma par-
ties (the present respondents) asserted that the issuance
of the NPDES permit violated Oklahoma’s Standards.*

The Court of Appeals’ unanimous opinion affirmed
EPA’s interpretation of the Clean Water Act as requir-
ing application of the federally approved Water Quality
Standards of any affected downstream State as well as
those of the State where a discharge occurs, and agreed
with the CJO that the issue here was one of assuring
strict compliance with the terms of the OWQS. The
Court went on, however, to reverse EPA’s final decision
as “flawed by misinterpretation and misapplication of
two important Oklahoma water quality regulations and
by arbitrary disregard for certain expert testimony”
(Ark. Pet. App. 44a). Although there were no State
court decisions interpreting the OWQS, the Court found
the plain language of these governing State regulations

* The Arkansas petition was filed in the &th Circuit, but was trans-
ferred to the 10th Circuit and consolidated with the Oklahoma
petition. The Oklahoma Wildlife Federation intervened in the
Court of Appeals.

12

to be clear and contrary to EPA’s decision (e.g., Ark.
Pet. App. 47a-48a, 51a).

The Court of Appeals began its exegesis of State law
by noting that the protected “beneficial uses” of the
Upper Illinois River under the OWQS include “fish and
wildlife propagation”, “aesthetics” and “smallmouth
bass”, making the water quality criteria governing tur-
bidity, nutrients and dissolved oxygen particularly sig-
nificant and therefore necessitating consideration of the
phosphorus and nitrogen undisputedly present in Okla-
homa as a result of the Fayetteville discharge (Ark. Pet.
App. 44a-45a). It held that EPA had misread the
OWQS in failing to recognize that the nutrient criteria
apply to the entire reach of the River in Oklahoma (id.
45a-46a). More generally, the Court rejected EPA’s
interpretation of the OWQS as protecting only against
actual measurable injury to the River specifically trace-
able to the Fayetteville discharge:

“We believe the plain language of the regulations
manifests a clear intent to allow no degradation of
the water quality of scenic rivers. More specifically,
the regulations disallow any additional discharge of
pollution (either a new point source or an increase
from an existing source) to a scenic river if its
water quality has been degraded or if the new
source would degrade it.” (Ark. Pet. App. 47a-48a)

“* * * We conclude the requirements of the Bene-
ficial Use Limitations/Anti-Degradation Policy are
violated when the water quality of a scenic river
[such as the Upper Illinois] undergoes any human-
caused, detectable change. By ‘detectable change’ we
mean any detectable change in a water quality param-
eter such as turbidity or phosphorus * * *. We do
not mean a detectable change that violates a numeric
criterion for that parameter * * *, which criterion
would otherwise apply if the Beneficial Use Limita-
tions were not applicable (i.e, if the receiving
waters were not designated as a scenic river or
otherwise as ‘(a)’ in [OWQS] Appendix A).” (Ark.
Pet. App. 49a)

13

. Moreover, the Court noted that the ALJ had improperly
put the burden of proof with respect to degradation upon
the Oklahoma opponents of the permit, rather than on the
Arkansas proponents, in violation of the EPA regulation
governing hearings on EPA-issued permits (Ark. Pet.
App. 52a-53a).’

The Court of Appeals went on to determine that, as a
matter of fact, it was undisputed that the water quality
of the Upper Illinois River was already degraded under
the criteria of the OWQS by excessive nutrients and tur-
bidity (Ark. Pet. App. 55a-65a). Similarly, the record
showed without contradiction, and indeed contained find-
ings recognizing, that substantial amounts of phosphorus,
nitrogen and other organic pollutants put into the water
by the Fayetteville plant would remain after the River
entered Oklahoma (Ark. Pet. App. 65a-67a). See pp. 10-
11, supra. Finally, the Court found undisputed evidence
that such pollutants are of a type that would tend to
degrade further the quality of Upper Illinois River waters
(Ark. Pet. App. 67a-72a).

The Court of Appeals rejected the contention that an
inability to detect the Fayetteville effluent’s “individual
impact on Illinois River water quality” would suffice to
satisfy the OWQS, explaining that

“If we were to accept this logic, once water quality
standards in a stream were violated, additional new
discharges might be permitted indefinitely so long
as each one would have an unmeasurable individual
impact. The absurdity of such a policy is manifest.”
(Ark. Pet. App. 78a)

Therefore, the Court

“reject(ed] any notion that, once water quality
standards “such as those stated in the OWQS]

“ 740 C.F.R. § 124.85(a)(1) provides that “The permit applicant
always bears the burden of persuading the Agency that a permit
authorizing pollutants to be discharged should be issued and not
denied. This burden does not shift.”

ee Be ee

14

have been violated (i.e., the quality of the receiving
waters has been degraded), the incremental impact
of a proposed additional discharge must itself be
detectable. * * * Rather, if a body of water is ex-
periencing WQS violations and a proposed new source
would discharge the same pollutants to which those
standards apply, that source may not be permitted
if its effluent will reach the degraded waters.” (Ark.

Pet. App. 79a-80a )

Under this interpretation of the governing Oklahoma
Standards, and given the undisputed evidence and find-
ings of a discharge of pollutants of the kind that caused
an existing degradation, the Court found no occasion for
any remand to the permitting authority for any further
proceedings. On these facts, no permit could be issued
that would comply with the Oklahoma Standards as in
force (with federal approval) at the time when the
Fayetteville permit was initially issued.*

C. The Present Situation.

There has been no stay of the Fayetteville NPDES
permit either before or since the Court of Appeals’ de-
cision. Thus, the sewage plant has been in operation
and discharging its effluents since the permit was finally
approved by EPA in December 1988. The EPA permit
expired by its own terms after five years from the date
of its original issuance, on December 9, 1990. An Ar-
kansas permitting program having been put in place in
the interim, the Arkansas Department of Pollution Con-
trol and Ecology has exercised its authority to continue
the permit in effect pending a new permit proceeding,’
and such a proceeding has been commenced before that
Department. In the meantime, the 1982 OWQS inter-

8 In this regard, the Court reiterated that the burden of proof was
on the advocates of the permit, as 40 C.F.R. § 124.85(a)(k) pro-
vides. See Ark. Pet. App. 72a n.49.

® See 40 C.F.R. § 122.6(d).

15

preted and applied below have twice been amended (in
1985 and 1988) and each time approved by EPA as
amended. Another triennial review of the OWQS is
scheduled to begin in May 1991. Thus, both the Fayette-
ville permit and the Oklahoma Water Quality Standards
will soon be under active administrative review, by the
States of Arkansas and Oklahoma respectively.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

The petitions come to the Court in a somewhat com-
plex and unusual posture. The first issue—whether Okla-
homa’s Water Quality Standards apply at all—is pre-
sented only by the Arkansas petition; EPA and the Okla-
homa respondents are in agreement that the Court of
Appeals correctly held that the OWQS must be satisfied.
The second issue—whether the Court of Appeals prop-
erly interpreted the OWQS and applied them to the facts
of this case—is presented by both the EPA and Arkansas
petitions, but they frame rather differently their objec-
tions to the decision below and the propositions that they
ask this Court to decide. The Arkansas petitioners ap-
parently ask this Court to rule that even though down-
stream States’ Water Quality Standards do apply, and
even though the Oklahoma Standards applied below were
approved by EPA, the Clean Water Act somehow in-
validates those Standards insofar as they would preclude
further discharges of pollutants in upstream States. The
Solicitor General, on the other hand, does not challenge
the Oklahoma Standards, but more modestly asks the
Court to hold that the Court of Appeals did not pay
proper deference to EPA’s lenient interpretation of them.

Certiorari should be denied as to the Arkansas peti-
tion’s first question because there is no substantial issue
as to the correctness of the Court of Appeals’ holding
that the Water Quality Standards of a downstream
State apply to NPDES permits under the Clean Water
Act and that holding does not conflict with any decision

e

i a as

16

of any other court of appeals, State court of last resort
or this Court.

Certiorari should be denied as to both petitions’ com-
plaints about the Court of Appeals’ interpretation and
application of the Oklahoma Water Quality Standards
in this case because they present no focused issue of gen-
eral significance for this Court to decide, much less any
issue as to which there is any conflict among the lower
courts. The Court of Appeals correctly interpreted and
applied those Standards in accordance with their plain
language. Moreover, this case is inappropriate for
further review because the NPDES permit considered
below has now expired and can be renewed only by a
different agency which must examine current circum-
stances.

I. NO SUBSTANTIAL ISSUE FOR REVIEW IS
RAISED BY THE COURT OF APPEALS’ AGREE-
MENT WITH EPA THAT DOWNSTREAM STATE
STANDARDS APPLY TO NPDES PERMITS.

The decision below on the Arkansas petition’s first
question does not—as the petition would have it— involve
any fundamental principle of federalism. The Court of
Appeals simply gave the unambiguous language of the
Clean Water Act its plain meaning. The petition’s claims
of conflict with decisions of this Court and lower courts
will not withstand analysis. And the petition’s prediction
that this interpretation will “disrupt administration of
the Clean Water Act” (Ark. Pet. 13) has not been borne
out in the years in which the NPDES program has oper-
:

ated-ander regulations embodying the same interpretation.

The Administrative Law Judge (Ark. Pet. App. 125a)

and the EPA Administrator (speaking through the Chief

: Judicial Officer, id. 116a-117a) found the statutory lan-
: guage “clear” and “plain and straightforward” on this
: point. After detailed consideration, the Court of Appeals
similarly concluded that the Clean Water Act could not
be read otherwise. Inter alia, the Court explained that

aaa

17

“(T)houghtful consideration of the language of
[$ 301(b) (1) (C), 38 U.S.C.) § 1811(b) (1) (C)—

there shall be achieved ... any more stringent
limitation, including those necessary to meet
water quality standards . . . established pur-
suant to any State law or regulations .. . or
required to implement any applicable water
quality standard established pursuant to this
chapter

(emphasis added)—exposes the irrationality of Ar-
kansas’s argument. In order to ensure that the
EPA-approved water quality standards in all states
are ‘met’ or ‘implemented,’ it is ‘necessary’ to re-
quire dischargers to meet the applicable require-
ments of other affected states as well as those of
the source state. There could be no assurance of
achieving a state’s more stringent WQS if an up-
stream, out-of-state discharger were not required to
comply with those standards.” (Ark. Pet. App. 22a-
23a)*°
The Court of Appeals confirmed this interpretation by an
exhaustive analysis of the entire statutory and regula-
tory scheme as well as the legislative history (Ark. Pet.
App. 19a-242, 29a-43a)."' It also found strong support
in EPA’s implementing regulations, which provide inter
‘ alia that no permit shall be issued absent “compliance
with the applicable water quality requirements of all
affected states” (Ark. Pet. App. 18a-19a, quoting 40

1 The Court noted that § 402 dictates that NPDES permits
must ensure compliance with all the requirements of Section 301.
33 U.S.C. § 1842(a)(2) and (b)(1)(A). Ark. Pet. App. 20a.

The Court further held that “[b]jased on its plain language
* * * we agree with EPA that the purpose of [§ 401(a)(2), 33
U.S.C. §§ 1341(a) (2), requiring ‘compliance with applicable water
quality standards’| must be to enable affected states to ensure that
their water quality will not be jeopardized-by a discharge in
another state. Only a strained interpretation of the statute could
produce the result Arkansas seeks—that ‘applicable water quality
requirements’ refers to the WQS of only the source state.” (Ark.
Pet. App. 3la).

;

18

C.F.R. § 122.4(d))." Any other interpretation, the Court
noted, would encourage “pollution shopping” in deroga-
tion of the Act’s underlying purpose of enforcing strict
standards nationwide (Ark. Pet. App. 23a).

The Court of Appeals correctly held that “{t]his is an
issue of first impression in the circuit courts,” i.e., there
is no conflict (Ark. Pet. App. 14a), and that the Arkansas
argument is not supported by Jnternational Paper Co. v.
Ouellette, 479 U.S. 481 (1987) (id. 25a-28a, 22a n.9).
As the Court of Appeals explained, International Paper’s
holding that a non-source State’s common law of nui-
Ssance was preempted by the Clean Water Act does not
detract from the statutory provisions requiring the States
to adopt Water Quality Standards and specifically incor-
porating them into the permitting process.’* The sum-
mary description of the NPDES system in Interna-
tional Paper upon which the Arkansas petition relies
most heavily was plainly dictum which did not purport
to prescribe answers to particularized statutory ques-
tions that were in no way before this Court in that
case, and in any event the holding below is consistent
with it."

‘2 To the same effect, the Court of Appeals also quoted from
§ 122.44(d) (4) and §1381.10(b). Such implementing regulations
are, of course, authoritative indicators of statutory meaning. E.9.,
Chevron U.S.A., Inc. v. Natural Resources Defense Council, Inc., 467
U.S. 837, 843-44 (1984); E.J. DuPont De Nemours & Co. V. Train,
430 U.S. 112, 135 n.25 (1977).

‘8A fortiori, the questions as to preemption of federal common
law discussed in City of Milwaukee v. Illinois (Milwaukee II), 451
U.S. 304 (1981), have nothing to do with this case.

“The generalization that a non-source State “does not have
authority to block the issuance of the permit,” 479 U.S. at 490, is
not inconsistent with the holding below that the entities which do
have such authority (the certifying source State and the permitting
agency) must consider the statutorily mandated and EPA-approved
Water Quality Standards of the affected non-source State. The
rationale of the International Paper decision was that “application
of Vermont law [rather than New York law] against IPC would

19

Nor is there any conflict between the decision below
and the lower court cases from which the Arkansas
petition also attempts to distill categorical disapproval
of any downstream State limitation on pollutant dis-
charges. Illinois v. City of Milwaukee, 731 F.2d 403
(7th Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1196 (1985),
dealt only with the same issue later definitively decided
in International Paper. Moreover, as the Court of Ap-
peals noted below, the Seventh Circuit itself recognized
the distinction between the situation before it—where an
affected State was seeking to enjoin a discharge from
another State under its own common law of nuisance—
and assertion of an affected State’s rights under the Clean
Water Act permit provisions themselves (Ark. Pet. App.
25a).

The only Clean Water Act ‘ssue in National Wildlife
Federation v. Federal Energy Regulatory Commission,
912 F.2d 1471, 1483-84 (D.C. Cir. 1990), was whether
the discharger was obliged to obtain a § 401 certificate
from Oklahoma on the theory that effects there made
Oklahoma in effect a source State. The District of Co-
lumbia Circuit simply held that it was not."

The only other conflict asserted in the Arkansas peti-
tion—with a State court decision in State v. Champion
International Corp., 709 S.W.2d 569 (Tenn. 1986), which

allow respondents to circumvent the NPDES permit system * * *.”
Id. at 494. In this case, of course, Oklahoma has sought to enforce,
not circumvent, the NPDES statutory provisions.

© Indeed, the passage from the Seventh Circuit’s opinion quoted
at Ark. Pet. 17-18 itself negates the generalization the petition
attempts to derive from it. It specifically makes an exception for
situations where the Clean Water Act has “provisions expressly
protecting the interests of other states.” As we have shown, there
are several such provisions relating to the issuance of permits.

'® The State of Oklahoma was no longer a party, having previously
agreed to a settlement with Arkansas in that matter. See 912 F.2d
at 1474.

20

this Court vacated for further consideration in the light
of International Paper, 479 U.S. 1061 (1987)—has no
more substance. That decision involved only claims
brought in Tennessee court under Tennessee statutes and
common law, and said nothing about the role of State
Water Quality Standards under the Clean Water Act."’

II. NO ISSUE APPROPRIATE FOR REVIEW BY THIS
COURT IS PRESENTED BY EITHER PETITIONER
WITH RESPECT TO THE INTERPRETATION AND
APPLICATION OF THE OKLAHOMA WATER
QUALITY STANDARDS TO THE UNIQUE CIR-
CUMSTANCES OF THIS CASE.

Strictly speaking, the second question framed by the
Arkansas petition is a non-issue; in the words of Ar-
kansas’ statement of the question, the Court of Appeals
did not hold (and no party has urged) that “a pre-
existing violation of water quality standards * * * auto-
matically precludes the issuance of new permits” (Ark.
Pet. i.). All that the Court of Appeals held is that, in
the light of undisputed facts and findings concerning the
condition of the Upper Illinois River at the time of the
EPA permit proceeding below, the 1982 Oklahoma Water
Quality Standards approved by EPA precluded any dis-
charge into that River of the additional pollutants pro-
duced by the Fayetteville sewage plant because pollutants
of those kinds had already reduced the River’s water
quality below acceptable standards. What the situation
might be as to other rivers in other States with different
Water Quality Standards, or even as to the same river
in the light of potentially changing conditions and

17 The question of the applicability of downstream States’ Water
Quality Standards has recently been raised in the Court of Appeals
for the Fourth Circuit by a petition for review of a subsequent EPA
decision following the decision below on this issue. Champion
International Corp. v. EPA, 4th Cir. No. 91-2302, filed January 3,
1991. If, as is extremely unlikely, the Fourth Circuit were to dis-
agree with the decision below, that would be time enough for this
Court to consider whether the issue is appropriate for its review.

21

Standards, was obviously not decided by the Court of
Appeals.

Insofar as the Arkansas petitioners now ask this Court
to hold that the Clean Water Act or some other federal
law categorically precludes the adoption or application of
any such State Water Quality Standard, they are fore-
closed by their failure to make any such argument in the
proceedings below. In any event, it is plain from the
face of the Arkansas petition that there is no authority
for any such argument. The petitioners cite no statute
or other specific source of prohibition and do not even
attempt to deal with the Clean Water Act provisions
which broadly require States to adopt Water Quality
Standards and require NPDES permits to comply with
them without specifying any limitation except that they
must be approved by EPA (as the 1982 OWQS were).'®

EPA’s present argument that its approval of the
Fayetteville permit should have been affirmed as an
exercise of reasonable administrative latitude in its ap-
plication of the 1982 Oklahoma Standards is at odds
with its position in the administrative proceedings be-
low (articulated particularly clearly in the Chief Judicial
Officer’s First Order) that the OWQS were to he strictly
applied. EPA’s present position more closely resembles

'* The Act (e.g., 33 U.S.C. § 1311(b)(1)(C)) and EPA’s imple-
menting regulations (e.g., 40 C.F.R. § 131.4) specifically encourage
the States to impose stringent Water Quality Standards. Both the
CJO (Ark. Pet. App. 117a & n.15) and the Court of Appeals (Ark.
Pet. App. 76a) so recognized. See also pp. 6-7, supra.

There is no basis for the Arkansas petition’s apparent suggestion
—not argued below—that § 303(d) of the Clean Water Act, 33
U.S.C. § 1313(d), implicitly limits what a State’s Water Quality
Standards can do to prevent further degradation of already polluted
waters. Section 303(d) requires States to establish numerical limits
on pollutant discharges into such waters, but does not in any way
purport to preclude a State from adopting more stringent “narra-
tive” standards simply forbidding any further discharge of pol-
lutants into specified waters.

22

the initial position of the Administrative Law Judge
roundly rejected in the First Order—which was that
“federal law” left room for administrative balancing of
the Oklahoma restriction against other considerations.
See pp. 9-10, supra. The First Order correctly held that
the Act required “strict compliance” with the OWQS
(Ark. Pet. App. 116a), and the Administrator never pur-
ported to exercise the latitude that he now argues he was
improperly denied.

For the same reason, the familiar principle of defer-
ence to a federal agency’s interpretation of its own reg-
ulations could not support EPA’s present argument, even
if that principle included State regulations, like those
here, which are adopted by a federal statute. The EPA
petition’s invocation of the principle depends upon the
premise that “the terms of [the Oklahoma] standard
are ambiguous or silent” on the point in question (EPA
Pet. 18). But the Administrator’s decisions below ex-
pressly rejected any such characterization of the OWQS
(Ark. Pet. App. 152a) and the Court of Appeals found
that the permit violated their clear and unambiguous
requirements. Even if the Administrator had purported
to work within a zone of “reasonable interpretation of
the OWQS, the Court of Appeals has determined—cor-
rectly—that his interpretation was unreasonable. Such
a determination is well within the normal scope of judi-
cial review even where an agency’s interpretation of its
own regulations is in issue. E.g., University of Cincinnati
V. Bowen, 875 F.2d 1207, 1209 (6th Cir. 1989) ; Caiola v.
Carroll, 851 F.2d 395, 399 (D.C. Cir. 1988); see, e.9.,
United States v. Larionoff, 431 U.S. 864, 872 (1977)
(no deference to administrative interpretation if it is
“plainly erroneous or inconsistent with the regulation”).

19 Indeed, the failure of the permit decision to follow the rule on
burden of proof set out in EPA’s own regulations (p. 13, supra)
was by itself sufficient ground for reversal.

23

The fact that EPA has the power to disapprove or
modify State Water Quality Standards when they are
adopted or amended (EPA Pet. 18) diminishes rather
than enhances its claim of a need for latitude to miti-
gate their application in particular cases. The appro-
priate method for dealing with any possible interference
with national policies that might develop from applica-
tion of the standards adopted by Oklahoma or some other
State is through the triennial review process which re-
examines each State’s standards in the light of experi-
ence and provides for their modification as necessary.”°
The Act is clear, however, that duly approved standards
are to be strictly enforced unless and until they are
so modified. See EPA v. California ex rel. State Water
Resources Control Board, 426 U.S. 200, 220 (1976);
City of Sarasota v. EPA, 813 F.2d 1106, 1109 n.10 (11th
Cir. 1987). The logic of EPA’s position in this Court is
particularly questionable in the light of the fact that
NPDES permits are now predominantly issued by State
agencies in source States; surely EPA does not suggest
that a source State’s agency should have flexibility to
mitigate the application of a downstream State’s restric-
tions by liberal “interpretation’’.2*

*° Thus, if EPA truly believes that the 1982 OWQS imposed “ad-
ministratively unworkable” and “draconian” restrictions (EPA Pet.
23-25), it has had—and will soon have again—the means to make
them consistent with the purposes of the Act, which are designed to
take into account all uses of affected waters. § 303(c) (2) (A), 33
U.S.C. § 1313(c) (2) (A). We doubt, however, that counsel’s alarm-
ist rhetoric would withstand analysis in the more dispassionate
forum of the triennial review of the OWQS that is about to begin.

*1 EPA’s role and powers in exercising its discretion to object to
State permit decisions are obviously not before the Court in this
case. Thus, any questions as to how they should be exercised must
await another day.

The EPA petition’s reliance upon this Court’s Milwaukee and
International Paper decisions (EPA Pet. 13-15) is no more apposite
than the Arkansas petition’s reliance upon such cases in the first

24

At most, the petitioners present the question whether
the Tenth Circuit correctly interpreted Oklahoma’s pro-
hibition against further “degradation” of the Upper IIli-
nois River and whether it properly relied upon the un-
disputed evidence (and ALJ findings) that significant
amounts of harmful pollutants from the Fayetteville
sewage plant would be present in Oklahoma. EPA’s in-
tricate argument that such “degradation” occurs only
when measurable injury is documented—rather than
simply when it is determined that harmful pollutants are
added to the river by a new discharge—presents no ques-
tion of federal law warranting this Court’s attention.
Even if the Tenth Circuit had been wrong in the latter
interpretation and in its assessment of the undisputed
evidence, its interpretation focused only on’ one State’s
Water Quality Standards as in effect at a particular
time, and its assessment of the evidence peculiar to this
case presents no issue of general significance.** For these

question’s challenge to EPA’s application of downstream standards.
Those cases involved the role of federal and State common law
apart from the Clean Water Act’s statutory scheme, not the role
of State regulations expressly mandated by and incorporated in
that statutory scheme after federal approval.

*2 The correctness of the Court of Appeals’ interpretation is plain
from the language of the OWQS read in the light of the important
protective role State Water Quality Standards have in the Clean
Water Act scheme. That the Fayetteville discharges have a tendency
to “degrade” the waters into which they flow is all but self-evident
from the fact of the proposal to divert half of those discharges into
the Illinois River rather than continue to deposit all of them into
the intrastate river that previously received them. If the discharges
were innocuous, there would have been no need to put any of them
into the Illinois River.

The Court of Appeals simply held that under the Oklahoma
Standards there could be no additional discharges of pollutants into
a river that had already been determined to contain higher levels
of those pollutants than it could stand. There is no scientific com-
plexity in the Court’s determination that the EPA record so demon-
strated without dispute, and indeed the ALJ had so recognized in
findings that the Administrator did not question. The holding below
is thus analogous to the common sense proposition that a patient

25

reasons, the decision below concerning the interpretation
and application of Oklahoma’s Standards cannot have the
sweeping and dire consequences portrayed by the peti-
tions, but is narrowly limited by place and time.

As previously noted, the EPA-issued permit reviewed
below has not been stayed but expired in December 1990.
The Fayetteville plant continues to operate under tem-
porary authority granted by the Arkansas Department
of Pollution Control and Ecology (ADPCE), which has
superseded EPA as the administrator of the relevant
permit program. That Department is currently con-
sidering Fayetteville’s application for a renewal of the
permit for a new five-year term. While the Court of
Appeals’ decision establishes the law to be applied in
such subsequent proceedings, the City of Fayetteville
would naturally not be precluded from contending that
there have been pertinent changes in the Oklahoma
Water Quality Standards (which have been amended
twice with EPA approval **) or that evidence about the
actual effects of the Fayetteville discharge and the cur-
rent condition of the Upper Illinois River could re-
quire a different outcome at this time. Conversely, the
opponents of the permit might well now be able to adduce
evidence requiring denial of a renewal even under the
incorrect criteria applied by EPA, thereby mooting the
interpretation issue. These evolving circumstances under-

should not be given any more of a substance that has made him
sick, without any need for a clinical determination as to how much
sicker it would make him. It has been held in a related context that
discharging a forbidden substance violates the Clean Water Act
without any need to prove actual injury. Chevron U.S.A., Inc. V.
Yost, 919 F.2d 27 (5th Cir. 1990).

** As previously noted, EPA’s CJO and the Court of Appeals were
in disagreement as to whether the 1985 amendments made any sub-
stantive change. The impact of the 1988 amendments and any fur-
ther amendments in the 1991 triennial review will remain to be
considered.

26

score the inappropriateness of further review of this

case.**

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petitions for writs of
certiorari should be denied.

JAMES VANR. SPRINGER
WILLIAM A. BUTLER
ANGUS E. CRANE
DICKSTEIN, SHAPIRO

& MORIN
2101 L Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20037
(202) 785-9700

March 11, 1991

Respectfully submitted,

ROBERT H. HENRY
Attorney General of Oklahoma
(Counsel of Record)

ROBERT A. BUTKIN

BRITA HAUGLAND CANTRELL
Assistant Attorneys General

112 State Capitol Building

Oklahoma City, OK 73105

(405) 521-3921

JULIAN K. FITE

530 Court Street
Muskogee, OK 74401
(918) 687-5424

*4 Obviously, any question as to whether the Court should have
remanded to EPA rather than reversing its permit approval (EPA
Pet. 25-26) is moot because the EPA permit reviewed below has
expired and EPA now has no jurisdiction to grant a permit for an
Arkansas discharge. § 402(c) (1), 33 U.S.C. § 1342(c) (1).

i Nh ar ail Sih a hi air eats Oia on tae 8s Bere 26 onde eee dens of ie. at

‘ " mus Fv ve
- - re >

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0080%3A03. Public record. Not legal advice.
