# Amicus Curiae Brief — Eastman Kodak Co. v. Image Technical Services, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0064%3A28

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1992
- **Citation:** 504 U.S. 451

## Text

No. 90-1029 | | cst |
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OcTOBER TERM. 199]

EASTMAN KODAK COMPANY
Petitioner

Vs

IMAGE TECHNICAL SERVICE, INC.: J-E-S-P Co.. INC.: SHIELDS
BUSINESS MACHINES, INC.; MICRO-GRAPHIC SERVICES, IN«
MICRO MAINTENANCE, INC.; ATLANTA GENERAL MICROFILM Co
INC.; ROGER KATONA, D/B/A G & S ELECTRONICS: AMTECH
EQUIPMENT MAINTENANCE, INC.; ADVANCED SYSTEMS SERVICES.
INC.; B.C.S. TECHNICAL SERVICES, INC.; BoB INGLE, INC.; Data
PROX EQUIPMENT CO.: FISHER MICROGRAPHICS, INC.: 1.0.A
DATA CorP.; SEARLE ENTERPRISES, D/B/A MICRO IMAGE. IN«
MIDWEST MICROFILM EQUIPMENT & SERVICE, INC.; OMNI MI
CROGRAPHIC SERVICES, INC.; AND CPO, LTD..

Respondents

On Writ Of Certiorari To The United States Court Of
Appeals For The Ninth Circuit

BRIEF OF THE NATIONAL OFFICE MACHINE DEALERS
ASSOCIATION AND THE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF
SERVICE DEALERS AS AMICUS CURIAE IN
SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

Robert C. Goldberg
Denise M. Kennedy
National Office Machine
Dealers Association
Mark P. Cohen
Counsel of Record
222 South Riverside Plaza
Suite 2700
Chicago, Illinois 60606
(312) 648-2300

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether an equipment manufacturer, lacking sufficient mar-
kel power in the interbrand market of equipment sales, can possess
market power in the parts and service segment of the industry

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE
QUESTION PRESENEED on. ccc ccc ccc vcces ae il
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ........... ae iv
STATEMENT OF THE CASE .... | keene - 3
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT... .. iw 4 alee 5
REPENS 06 é4b5e bares teense eee 6
I, The ISO’s Presence In The Market Promotes
Both Interbrand And Intrabrand Competition . 7
I] Market Separation Of Parts And Service Under
PE Te pec ccébaae ce oeeeen i 5
A. Characteristics Of Demand ie own 9
B. Distinct Product Markets... . 2a 10
il Kodak's Market Power In Parts And Service
Negatively Affects Competition ..... . arate 1!
IV Kodak Equipment Owners Suffer From
Kodak's Tying Arrangement ......... 12
Vv Competition In Interbrand Equipment Market
Does Not Preclude Violation Of The Sherman
Act In An Aftermarket....... - 13

VI Lack Of An Authorized Dealer *hannel

Eliminates Intrabrand Competition And

Secures Kodak's Market Power ...... oa 14
Vil. The Decision Below Supports C ompetition

And Establishes A Factual Inquiry On The

Merits Of The Case.............6.6-. ; 16
VIII. Kodak's Business Justifications Do Not
Preclude Section 2 Liability ......... a 17

CONCLUSION

sopeesé te 20

1V

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

PAGE

Cases
Aspen Skiing Co. v. Aspen Highland Skiing Co

472, U.S. 585 (1985)... ... feos . 17, 18
Business Electronics Corp. v. Sharp Electronics

Corp., 485 U.S. 717 (1988)... 2... 8, 14-19
Continental T.V., Inc. v. GTE Sylvania. Inc.

433 U.S. 366 (1977) ....... rare le S
Digidyne Corp. v. Data General Corp., 734 F.2d

1336 (1984) ........ aa 5, 10, 16, 17
Dimidowich v. Bell & Howell, 8303 F.2d 1473

te s & » < Ae — A Oe 5
Fortner Enterprises v. U.S. Steel Corp., 394 U.S

495 (1969)... ._._.. ; 13.14
Image Technical Service, Inc. v. Eastman Kodak

Co., No. C-87-1686 WWS at 5 (1988) 4
Image Technical Service. Inc. v. Eastman Kodak

Co., 903 F.2d 612 (1990) 6.9. 12
Jefferson Parish Hospital District No. 2 v. Hyde

466 U.S. 2 (1984) 9. 10, 11, 12,

13, 16

Matsushita Electric Industrial Co. v. Zenith

Radio, 475 U.S. 574 (1986) 16, 17
United States v. Loews, 371 U.S. 38 (1962) 17
Statutes
15S USC

Section | 2.4

Section 2 4.17
Rules

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure
37 >

No. 90-1029
IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcTOBER TERM, 1991

EASTMAN KODAK COMPANY.

Petitioner.
vs

IMAGE TECHNICAL SERVICE, INC.: J-E-S-P Co.. INC.: SHIELDS
BUSINESS MACHINES, INC.; MICRO-GRAPHIC SERVICES, INC:
MICRO MAINTENANCE, INC.; ATLANTA GENERAL MICROFILM Co..
INC.; ROGER Katona, D/B/A G & S ELECTRONICS: AMTECH
EQUIPMENT MAINTENANCE, INC.;: ADVANCED SYSTEMS SERVICES.
INC.; B.C.S. TECHNICAL SERVICES, INC.; BoB INGLE, INC.; Data
PROX EQUIPMENT Co.; FISHER MICROGRAPHICS, INC.: 1.0.A.
Data Corp., SEARLE ENTERPRISES, D/B/A Micro IMAGE, INC.:
MIDWEST MICROFILM EQUIPMENT & SeRVICE, INC.;. OMNI MI-
CROGRAPHIC SERVICES, INC... AND CPO, LTD..

Respondents

On Writ Of Certiorari Te The United States Court Of
Appeals For The Ninth Circuit

BRIEF OF THE NATIONAL OFFICE MACHINE DEALERS
_ ASSOCIATION AND THE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF
SERVICE DEALERS AS AMICUS CURIAE IN
SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

Robert C. Goldberg
Denise M. Kennedy
National Office Machine
Dealers Association
Mark P. Cohen
Counsel of Record
222 South Riverside Plaza
Suite 2700
Chicago, Illinois 60606
(312) 648-2300

a

.
INTEREST OF THE AMICUS CURIAE

The National Office Machine Dealers Association
(“NOMDA”) is a national and international organization repre-
senting approximately 6,500 independent business equipment and
systems dealers. NOMDA is recognized as the major spokesperson
for the industry. Premised upon NOMDA’s commitment to service
and integrity, one of NOMDA’s principal organization goals is to
assist its members in providing the highest level of pre-sale, point-
of-sale, and post-sale support to end-users of sophisticated office
products. NOMDA achieves these goals through education and
guidance offered to its members over the past sixty-six years.

As a non-profit organization representing business equipment
and systems dealers as wel! as manufacturers, NOMDA has a sub-
stantial interest in this litigation. It is NOMDA’s position that
absent an authorized dealer channel, parts should be made avail-
able to qualified technicians for service of end-users’ equipment. In
simplest terms, the owner of equipment, rather than the manufac-
turer, should decide who shall service the product. Anything to the
contrary 1s illegal restraint.

This case involves the treatment of this issue under the Sher-
man Antitrust Act. Eastman Kodak Company (“Kodak’’) instituted
and enforces a policy which effectively prevents any independent
service organization (“ISO”) from obtaining repair parts to be used
for service of Kodak equipment in competition with Kodak.
Through its refusal to sell parts to ISO's, Kodak has created a
monopoly in the service of Kodak equipment by depriving end-
users of the ability to choose a service organization. The absence of
an authorized dealer channel enables Kodak to maintain a total
monopoly on parts and service for Kodak products.

NOMDA’s membership contains both ISO’s and dealers au-
thorized by a manufacturer to market and service highly technical
products to end-users. This Court's decision will affect the ability of
end-users to select the source for post-sale support of the products
they purchase and the ability of independent service organizations
to provide that support. In an already fragile economy. Kodak's
practice serves to increase prices and the freedom of end-users to
contract for service. Accordingly, NOMDA has a strong interest in
the disposition of this case. !

' The parties’ letters of consent pursuant to Rule 37 of the Rules of
this Court have been filed with the Clerk of the Court

3

STATEMENT

The Respondents in this case are ten ISO’s who compete for
service for all brands of micrographic and copier equipment. The
ISO"s competitor, Kodak, manufactures the equipment and directly
markets the equipment, parts and service to end-users. The ISO's
do not seek the right to sell Kodak equipment, only to service such
equipment as requested by owners of that equipment.

Prior to 1985, ISO’s were able to purchase parts from Kodak.
at premium prices, pursuant to the policy stated in Kodak's Cus-
tomer Equipment Service Division. Kodak’s former policy provid-
ed, “Kodak will sell replacement parts to any party who intends to
use them to repair Kodak equipment.” JA 435? In reliance upon
Kodak's policy and their ability to obtain parts, the Respondents
went into direct competition with Kodak fo: the sale of used equip-
meni and service of Kodak equipment.

After losing a substantial amount? of service business to the
competitive ISO's, Kodak implemented a change in its “Replace-
ment Parts Principles” by eliminating the commitment to “sell
replacement parts to any party who intends to use them to repair
Kodak equipment.” JA 435. Kodak further modified its terms of
sale by limiting sales to the “dealers, distributors, and service out-
lets” which were “Kodak authorized.”* Brief for Appellants at | 4.
Image Technical Service v. Kodak, 903 F.2d 612 (1988) No
88-2686. Kodak's policy of distributing parts to “Kodak author-
ized” dealers and distributors effectively means only direci distri-
bution by Kodak, which unlike its competitors does not include
“authorized dealers.” Kodak's policy change insulates Kodak from
all competitive forces for service of Kodak equipment through the

* See e.g.. Joint Appendix (“JA”). Documents lodged with the Clerk
~~"

* In 1986, ISO's provided service to a number of large governmental
and non-governmental entities, ISO customers included: Internal Rev-
enue Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture, U.S. Veterans Adminis-
tration, State of California, Commercial Trust, State Farm Insurance.
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Minnesota, Dow Chemical, Mobil Oil.
Pennzoil, Bechtel Corporation and Northern Pacific Railway. JA 488.
492-93. JA 546. 501. L 149-50, L 165. In addition. ISO's provided
service to a wide range of less recognized Kodak equipment customers.

* The term “authorized” implies a distributor or dealer who is
trained by a manufacturer to provide pre-sale, point-of-sale. and
post-sale support to customers.

4

elimination of the ISO’s source of parts and denies the benefits of
competition to Kodak end-users.

In 1987, the ISO's brought suit against Kodak alleging viola-
tion of Sections | and 2 of the Sherman Antitrust Act. Specificaliy,
Respondents allege Kodak is engaging in a per ser illegal tie-in
arrangement through its refusal to sell parts to end-users unless the
end-user agrees not to utilize the services of an ISO. Respondents
also allege Kodak created a monopoly through their refusal to sell
parts to ISO's, effectively eliminating all competition in the service
market for Kodak manufactured equipment.

After filing their complaint in the District Court, Kodak filed a
Motion for Summary Judgment. Following a brief and limited peri-
od of discovery, and without oral argument, Judge Schwartz grant-
ed Kodak's Motion for Summary Judgment. In his opinion, Judge
Schwartz stated. “A Kodak customer...can buy parts if he simply
owns Kodak equipment.” mage Technical Service, Inc. v. Eastman
Kodak Co., No. C-87-1686 WWS at 5 (1988). Judge Schwartz’ rul-
ing and factual interpretation of the limited facts available at the
summary judgment are clearly erroneous. The [SO’s showed availa-
bility of parts was conditioned on the Kodak customer agreeing not
to use an ISO for service of equipment. JA 428-29, L 140, L 143.
Kodak repeatedly warned customers of the ISO’s inability to
purchase parts and the likely prospect of not obtaining service from
ISO's. JA 465.

Respondent ISO's appealed Judge Schwartz's decision to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit. The Ninth
Circuit reversed and remanded the case to the District Court, ruling
the ISO’s had presented sufficient evidence to withstand summary
judgment. The Court of Appeals correctly found Kodak may have

monopoly power in the interbrand market for parts and service .

which may have eliminated competition in the relevant market.
While the Court of Appeals correctly found issues of fact existed, its
decision mistakenly relied on Kodak's interpretation of the facts
Kodak alleged Respondents had conceded that equipment consum-
ers consider the cost of parts and service when determining which
brand of equipment to purchase. JA 823, JA 779-80. Kodak also
alleged, and the Court of Appeals adopted the position, that Re-
spondents acknowledged the fact that Kodak lacks market power in
the interbrand market for equipment sales. Neither concession was
made by Respondent in its brief or oral argument.

sn i

5

The Ninth Circuit noted interbrand competition in the equip-
ment market may not negate the ISO's claim that Kodak has mo-
nopoly power in the parts market. (See, e.g. Dimidowich v. Bell &
Howell, 803 F.2d 1473, 1480, n.3 (1986), modified 810 F.2d 1517
(1987), Digidyne Corp. v. Data General Corp., 734 F.2d 1336, 1339
(1984).) The Ninth Circuit concluded the District Court's lack of
consideration of the issue of market power prevented the trial court
from being able to determine whether Kodak had monopoly power.
Based on the limited evidence presented, the Ninth Circuit found it
unlikely that Kodak's limited presence in the interbrand market
precluded a finding of monopoly power in the parts market

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Because independent dealers are a key link in the chain of
product distribution, the sales practices they adopt greatly affect the
competitiveness of the market, manufacturer sales levels, and end-
user satisfaction with their purchases. Dealers, as their name im-
plies, are authorized by manufacturers to offer pre-sale, point-of-
sale, and post-sale support for a manufacturer's product. In order to
be authorized, a dealer is trained by a manufacturer or third party in
the proper sale, service, and support of business equipment. ISO's
are also trained on equipment either by a manufacturer as a techni-
cian or as an authorized dealer for a competing brand of equipment.
An ISO network often is established where no authorized dealer
channel exists or merely as an alternative to an authorized channel.

Most dealer appointments are non-exclusive, resulting in the
dealer competing with other authorized dealers, as well as the direct
marketing branch of the manufacturer, creating significant in-
trabrand as well as interbrand competition.

ISO's and authorized dealers provide significant intrabrand
competition in the technologically complex business equipment
and systems marketplace. Intrabrand competition affords an end-
user a choice of service provided either by a dealer or the manufac-
turer. If a dealer offers non-competitive pricing or unsatisfactory
service, the end-user should not be locked into one source for
aftermarket service and support. Intrabrand competition benefits
both end-users, who receive better service at lower prices, as well as
dealers who add valuable services to the economy.

The absence of an authorized dealer channel eliminates this
intrabrand competition. Kodak eliminated all intrabrand competi-
tion through its refusa. to sell parts to customers who choose to use

Sa

6

ISO's. The ISO’s presence created desired intrabrand competition,
resulting in lowered Kodak service prices and improved service in
those instances where ISO’s and Kodak directly competed.>

All manufacturers have an interest in the proper maintenance
of equipment after it is sold. ISO’s have an equal interest in proper
maintenance for it is the very foundation of their success. A service
provider makes a substantial investment to establish and maintain
a business and will not risk that investment through inferior service.
Most importantly the end-user benefits from the freedom to choose
who shall maintain the complex equipment owned.

For these reasons, it is appropriate to enforce per se liability
rules to determine the legality of Kodak’s tying arrangement. Ko-
dak’s blatant attempt to eliminate the ISO’s from the service
aftermarket by refusing to sell parts to end-users who choose ISO
service allows Kodak to maintain a monopoly through an illegal
tying arrangement. This tying arrangement prohibits competition
in the parts and service after-markets.

ARGUMENT

The Ninth Circuit found sufficient basis to reverse the District
Court's decision granting summary judgment. Respondents suc-
cessfully presented triable issues of fact which remain disputed
between the parties. The central issue in this case is whether an
equipment manufacturer, lacking sufficient market power in the
interbrand market of equipment sales, can possess market power in
the parts and service segment of the industry. Respondents contend
parts and service are separate markets from equipment sales where
Kodak maintains monopoly power through the implementation of
its tie-in arrangement. Kodak’s policy has permitted them to estab-
lish prices without restraint and eliminate competition by refusing
to sell the parts required to service the product.

> The record and Court of Appeals recognized that service prices
declined in those cases where Kodak directly competed against an ISO
for service. Image Technical Service, Inc. v. Eastman Kodak Co.. 903
F.2d 612, 617 (1990).

7

THE ISO’S PRESENCE IN THE MARKET
PROMOTES BOTH INTERBRAND
AND INTRABRAND COMPETITION

Providing good service is competitively essential for a manu-
facturer or distributor of high technology products. Service repre-
sents future revenues through renewed maintenance agreements,
equipment upgrades, sales of peripherals and future placements of
additional equipment. A competitor who is unable to efficiently
provide good quality service at affordable prices will soon find their
customer seeking alternative sources for service or alternative
products.

Many manufacturers choose to offer their products to the pub-
lic through an authorized dealer channel. Dealers take on various
names such as distributor, reseller, remarketer, or value-added re-
seller but all perform essentially the same duties for the authorizing
manufacturer. The dealer cha*eel provides pre-sale, point-of-sale,
and post-sale support to the end-user. Dealers and their employees
are trained by the manufacturer or a third party to market and
support equipment to end-users.

Dealerships, although authorized by a manufacturer, are indi-
vidual business entities independent from the manufacturer from
which they purchase products for distribution. Most dealers are
appointed as “non-exclusive”. The term “non-exclusive” enables a
manufacturer to appoint additional dealers or authorize additional
channels of distribution to compete with the existing dealers.°

Kodak competitors who, like Kodak, wish to increase their
market share of equipment sales, do so through intense interbrand
competition among their dealers and intrabrand competition
among all channels. Competition is present in distribution at two
levels, manufacturers and dealers competing in the interbrand mar-
ket, i.e. Kodak v. Canon, and dealers competing against other deal-
ers for equipment placement and service in the intrabrand market
(i.e. Canon v. Canon).

The vertical and horizontal competition described above also
occurs in the parts and service aftermarket for high technology
equipment. Intrabrand competition results from one manufacturer
and a number of dealers competing to support the equipment sold.

® Full service dealers provide a wide range of products and services
to end-users. Discount retailers provide little or no service or support to
equipment purchasers.

8

The dual competition, interbrand and intrabrand, affords an end-
user, who is dissatisfied with their service provider, the opportunity
to choose another source for service. Intrabrand competition maxi-
mizes end-user benefits such as efficient service, low prices and
superior customer education. It further allows ful! market penetra-
tion through a number of independently owned and operated deal-
ers competing against each other and their manufacturer for
revenues from equipment sale and service.

A few manufacturers, such as Kodak, do not utilize an author-
ized dealer channel but choose instead to compete in the interbrand
market by offering their products directly to the end-user. Kodak’s
decision to forego the dealer channel and directly market their
products is not contested. (See, Continental T_V., Inc. v. GTE Sylva-
nia, Inc., 433 U.S. 366 (1977), manufacturer refuses to sell product
to competitor for distribution, Business Electronics Corp. v. Sharp
Electronics Corp., 485 U.S. 717 (1988) manufacturer terminates
dealer in equipment sales.) The right to directly distribute products
cannot be disputed, however, this right cannot be transferred to
aftermarket support of an end-user’s equipment. Once sold to an
end-user or leasing company, the equipment is no longer Kodak’s
property to control but becomes the possession of an end-use cus-
tomer. The principles which support Kodak’s right to refuse to deal
with a competitor in equipment sales cease to apply. Kodak,
through its arrangement of tying parts to service, attempts to extend
its right to refuse to deal with competitors in equipment sales to its
refusal to sell parts to ISO’s. The refusal to sell parts to end-users,
unless they agree not to use another service provider, results in a per
se illegal tying arrangement.

MARKET SEPARATION OF PARTS AND SERVICE
UNDER JEFFERSON PARISH

To determine whether a per se tying arrangement is present,
this Court must first ascertain whether separate markets exist for
the sale of equipment and the sale of parts and service. Kodak
argues the sale of equipment encompasses the aftermarket sale of
parts and service for Kodak equipment as derivative markets. In
order to dispel this argument, the relative markets in which equip-
ment, parts and service are sold must be considered. To assist in
determining whether a tying arrangement is anti-competitive, this
Court has considered whether “two separate products may be tied
together and, if so, whether they have used their market power to

9

force” acceptance of the tying arrangement. Jefferson Parish Hospi-
tal District No. 2 v. Hyde, 466 U.S. 2, 18 (1984). The establishment
of separate markets for each of the products is essential to establish
Kodak has used its market power in parts to force Kodak end-users
to purchase Kodak service.

A. Characteristics of Demand

To determine whether one or two products are involved in a
tying arrangement, this Court has reviewed the characteristics of
demand for the products. Jd. at 19. Kodak claims the demand for
parts is synonymous with the demand for service. This claim is
without merit. Respondents have shown a separate demand for
service exists when end-users have requested Kodak parts, but not
requested Kodak service. JA. 428-429. On those occasions where
customers made requests for Kodak parts, but not for Kodak ser-
vice, Kodak agreed to sell the part only if the customer agreed not to
use ISO service (i.e., the customer installs the part themselves).
Where a customer or an ISO offers to buy a part, with service
provided by an ISO, Kodak refused to fill the parts order. JA.
428-429. In implementing its parts policy, Kodak thus recognizes a
separate demand for parts and service, and attempts to eliminate
the demand. If there was no demand for parts without purchasing
Kodak service, Kodak would have no need for a policy conditioning
the sale of parts with the sale of Kodak service.’

Kodak’s current parts policy, enacted on December 1, 1986,
illustrates the separate demand for parts and service. Kodak’s
Terms of Sale provide that parts would only be sold to: “Kodak
authorized...dealers, distributors and service outlets” and “other
users who purchased equipment directly from Kodak and who ser-
vice their own machines.” Brief for Appellant at 14, Image Techni-
cal Service, Inc. v. Kodak, 903 F. 2d 612 (1990) No. 88-2686. The
policy explicitly forbids the sale of parts to an end-user unless the
end-user agrees not to use ISO service. The distinction between an
end-user who installs his own parts and an end-user who chooses a
trained ISO to install that same part is without basis and irrational.
The distinction confirms the ISO’s argument that a separate market
for parts and service exists.

’ The separation of parts and service was acknowledged by Judge
Wiggins in his majority opinion for the Ninth Circuit. He noted Ko-
dak’s policy for parts implied a desire separate from Kodak service,
which implies separate markets. /mage Technical Service, Inc. v. East-
man Kodak Co., 903 F.2d 612, 616 (1990).

10

Kodak’s brief acknowledges the existence of aftermarket Ko-
dak service contracts to customers. Kodak provides service through
(1) initial warranty; (2) annual service contracts: or (3) on a “per
call” basis.* PB at 3. The last two service arrangements are contract-
ed separately from the sale of equipment and therefore, create a
separate market after the initial equipment sale. Kodak. by virtue of
its manufacture and sale of equipment to the end-user. demands
that this Court support the elimination of competition in the equip-
ment support aftermarket. This demand would eliminate in-
trabrand competition in equipment service.

B. Distinct Product Markets

In Jefferson Parish, this Court ruled a tying arrangement may
not exist unless there is sufficient demand for the tying product
(parts) separate from the tied product (service) to identify a distinct
product market in which it is efficient to offer the tying product
separate from the tied product. 466 U.S. 2, 22 (1984). By offering to
service Kodak equipment, ISO’s created a separate demand for
Kodak parts exclusive of the demand for Kodak service. The ISO’s
presence in the service market for service of Kodak equipment
creates intrabrand competition for parts and service. Intrabrand
competition in turn creates a competitive market for service of
equipment for end-users.

Kodak’s single-market view of equipment sales encompassing
all derivative markets is without merit when viewed in light of
commercial realities. In Dimidowich v. Bell & Howell. the Ninth
Circuit correctly recognized the existence of the service
aftermarket:

[A]n owner of broken B & H micrographic equipment is
indifferent to people who can service Kodak or 3M ma-
chines. If the owner's only option is to request service from
B & H or Comgraphic (depending on location) [both B& H
repairers], that is obviously the market the owner faces.
803 F.2d 1473, 1481 n.3 (1986).

Market realities dictate demand in the three separate markets:
the new equipment market; the parts market: and the service mar-
ket. The demand in each of these markets is separate and distinct, as
illustrated by Kodak equipment end-users’ request for ISO service
on their Kodak equipment. JA 411, JA 449, JA 462, JA 470-71. JA
504. End-users should continue to have the freedom they once

* See e.g. Petitioner’s Brief “PB”.

1]

enjoyed to select the service entity of their choice without Kodak’s
exercise of its monopoly power.

KODAK’S MARKET POWER IN PARTS AND
SERVICE NEGATIVELY AFFECTS COMPETITION

In Jefferson Parish, this Court acknowledged the legality of
offering two distinguishable services in a Single transaction. 466
U.S. 2, 24 (1984). This Court concluded that. had the patients in
Jefferson Parish been forced to purchase the services of-a particular
anesthesiologist (tying product) as a result of the hospital’s market
power, the arrangement would be considered anti-competitive. The
patients in Jefferson Parish were able to choose another anesthesiol-
ogist if they desired. It is in this concept that distinguishes this case
from Jefferson Parish. Respondents in this case have shown Ko-
dak’s policy to sell parts only to those customers who agree not to
use ISO service has resulted in Kodak equipment user’s purchase of
Kodak service. Unlike the patients in Jefferson Parish, Kodak end-
users have no choice.

Kodak’s market power in parts forces the end-user to purchase
the tied product, Kodak service. Unlike the tie-in in Jefferson Par-
ish, Kodak’s parts policy directly forecloses all competition for ser-
vice of Kodak equipment. In Jefferson Parish, this Court correctly
found the hospital had no relevant market power, as a patient could
go to another hospital or another anesthesiologist if they did not
want the anesthesiology services offered by the petitioner. Here.
Kodak end-users are foreclosed from using any other service pro-
vider except Kodak, due to Kodak’s market power in parts and
service.

Kodak has forced its end-users to accept a tie which is an-
ticompetitive and unprotected in light of Jefferson Parish. This
Court stated, “tying arrangements need only be condemned if they
restrain competition on the merits by forcing purchases that would
not otherwise be made.” /d. at 27. Unlike the patients in Jefferson
Parish, Kodak customers have no choice of service provider after
they purchase Kodak equipment. Due to Kodak’s elimination of |
ISO’s as contenders in the intrabrand market, and Kodak’s failure |
to authorize a dealer channel for service support, no alternative
service provider exits. The market effect of Kodak’s tying arrange-
ment eliminates any competition in the Kodak equipment support
aftermarket thus forcing an end-user to purchase Kodak service
when the end-user would prefer to buy Kodak parts for installation
by another.

12
Respondents have shown the effect of Kodak’s “forcing”
through limited discovery conducted in this case, which indicated
end-users were prevented from choosing ISO’s equipment service
once ISO’s were unable to purchase parts. JA 465. Unlike the Peti-
tioner’s policy in Jefferson Parish, Kodak's tying arrangement sig-
nificantly restrains the end-users’ freedom to select a specific service
provider through the elimination of any choice in the service
market.

The recognition that some competitive advantages are justifia-
ble in light of the competitive ideal has been established throughout
recent antitrust precedents. In its decisions, this Court has noted
when a seller’s power is “used loumapair competition on the merits
in another market, a potentially inferior product may be insulated
from competitive measures.” /d at 14. Insulation from competitive
forces for uniform products are not protected by the Sherman Act.
Competition, both interbrand and intrabrand, prevents an inferior
product from being protected in the market. Kodak’s tying of parts
to service has eliminated intrabrand competition and enabled Ko-
dak to market its inferior service to Kodak equipment owners free
from the competitive presence of the ISO’s. Respondents have of-
fered evidence of superior ISO service when compared to Kodak
service. L 133, JA 424-26. Comparative ISO service is not surpris-
ing considering most ISO’s are factory trained Kodak technicians
who were former Kodak employees. Kodak’s measures to force
ISO’s out of the service market insulate Kodak service from ISO
competition and helps to maintain their employment of techni-
cians. The ISO’s presence forced Kodak to compete on the merits of
the services offered. Rather than lowering service prices and com-
peting with ISO’s, Kodak chose to curtail competition in order to
maintain their profits without ISO interference.

KODAK EQUIPMENT OWNERS SUFFER
FROM KODAK’S TYING ARRANGEMENT

To Kodak end-users, the elimination of ISO’s from the service
market meant increased prices and often inferior service.’ “The
freedom to select the best bargain in the second market is impaired

* As acknowledged by the Ninth Circuit, the ISO’s provided evi-
dence which showed they provided better quality service at prices less
than Kodak. Image Technical Service v. Kodak, 903 F.2d 612, 617
(1990). Kodak employees also acknowledged the ISO’s “good service”
of Kodak equipment. Respondent’s Brief at 13, L 180.

13

by a need to purchase the tying product, and the corresponding
inability to evaluate the true cost of either product when available
only as a package.” Jefferson Parish, 466 U.S. at 15. Kodak’s parts
policy effectively eliminates the freedom to select the best choice in
the second market. The alternative choice of an ISO for service
provided a bargain for consumers, achieved through the competi-
tive prices and service packages offered by ISO’s. Intrabrand com-
petition to provide service for Kodak equipment afforded
consumers the freedom to choose the “best bargain” of either ISO
or Kodak service.

Unlike other recent antitrust cases considered by this Court,
this case involves a clear separation of products and the resultant
market power necessary to create a tying arrangement causing “eco-
nomic harm to competition in the tied market.” /d. at 19, n. 31. The
refusal to recognize the existence of an aftermarket for parts and
service separate from equipment sales is unreasonable in an econo-
my which is becoming more and more service oriented. Respon-
dents provided evidence to the District Court that the price and
quality of the tied product, service, was adversely affected by Ko-
dak’s restraint. The evidence offered sufficiently established that
some Kodak equipment purchasers were forced to purchase Kodak
service due to the anti-competitive effects of Kodak’s tying
arrangement.

COMPETITION IN THE INTERBRAND EQUIPMENT
MARKET DOES NOT PRECLUDE VIOLATION
OF THE SHERMAN ACT IN AN AFTERMARKET

The issue most often disputed in this case is the existence of
market power — the ability of Kodak to exclude competition and
set prices. This question is debated due to the requisite factors
needed to establish violations of Sections | and 2 of the Sherman
Act. This Court has found a tying arrangement is per se unreasona-
ble if the defendant has sufficient market power in the tying product
market to restrain competition appreciably in the tied product mar-
ket. Fortner Enterprises v. U.S. Steel Corp., 394 U.S. 495 (1969).

Kodak and amici claim Kodak cannot possess market power
in the parts and service after-markets due to Kodak's lack of market
power in the interbrand equipment sales market. The Ninth Circuit
in their majority opinion disagreed with Kodak’s position by con-
cluding in reality Kodak could have monopoly power in a single
brand market. /mage Technical Service, Inc. v. Eastman Kodak, 903
F.2d 612, 621 (1990). As discussed above, Respondent ISO’s have

a es

14

produced evidence demonstrating the existence of a separate de-
mand for parts created by ISO service of Kodak equipment. The
sole fact that ISO's operate as a business concern to service Kodak
equipment demonstrates a separate market for parts and service.
The ISO's further offer evidence of Kodak’s ability to decrease
prices in the parts and service aftermarkets where the parties en-
gaged in direct competition. JA 420, JA 422, JA 474-75, JA 482: JA
514.

This Court has held the proper focus of concern hinges on
“whether the seller has the power to raise prices, or impose other
burdensome terms such as a tie-in, with respect to any appreciable
number of buyers within the market.” Fortner Enterprises, Inc. v.
U.S. Steel, 394, U.S. 495, 504 (1969). After considering this fact in
light of the evidence offered by Respondents, the Ninth Circuit
correctly found the issue of market power created a factual dispute
which precluded summary judgment.

Kodak states it controls only a small portion of the interbrand
market for the sale of micrographic and copier equipment. The
ISO’s dispute this statement, contending Kodak does have market
power in two of the relevant markets. Kodak’s dominance in the
high end copier segment is well known. RB at 21-22.'° Kodak’s
competitors, Xerox, Savin, Canon, Ricoh, 3M, Bell & Howell and
Minolta, each share a portion of the market in the sale of equip-
ment. These manufacturers compete with Kodak for the sale of
equipment in the interbrand market. None of Kodak’s competitors
or their dealers compete with Kodak in the sale of Kodak parts and
service for Kodak equipment. The intense interbrand competition
that exists in the sale of micrographic and photocopier equipment
disappears in the product support aftermarket for Kodak equip-
ment. The aftermarket of support for Kodak equipment is now
exclusively controlled by Kodak as a result of the tying
arrangement.

LACK OF AN AUTHORIZED DEALER
CHANNEL ELIMINATES INTRABRAND
COMPETITION AND SECURES KODAK’S MARKET
POWER

As NOMDA argued in its amicus brief in support of Respon-
dent Sharp in Business Electronics Corporation v. Sharp, 485 U.S.
717 (1988), the authorized dealer channel or full service dealer

' See e.g. Respondent's Brief “RB”.

15

promotes intrabrand competition, which produces optimum ser-
vice levels. Factory trained authorized dealers offer pre-sale, point-
of-sale and post-sale service in competition with other dealers who
market and service a specific brand of equipment. Direct marketers
like Kodak and other manufacturers possess a vested interest in the
proper maintenance of end-user equipment. Proper maintenance
helps assure end-user satisfaction, and a satisfied customer will
return for equipment upgrades, new equipment or extended main-
tenance agreements. It is therefore important to insure proper ser-
vice is given to protect the goodwill associated with a
manufacturer’s name.

Both the dealer and manufacturer distribution channels mar-
ket equipment and service to end-users. After the sale, equipment is
installed at a user’s location, and ceases being the manufacturer's
property and becomes the end-user’s property. Without an author-
ized dealer channel, Kodak customers have two choices for service:
the consumer may service equipment themselves or have Kodak
provide service. ISO’s, when able to purchase Kodak parts, provid-
ed a third alternative which maintained intrabrand competition for
the service of Kodak equipment.

A dealer who sells equipment but fails to offer competitive
service may lose a maintenance contract and the potential for future
sales to the manufacturer or another authorized dealer. Alternative-
ly, intrabrand competition allows a dealer who did not competitive-
ly price equipment for sale the opportunity to market a service
agreement to a end-user who purchased equipment elsewhere. In-
trabrand competition allows them to purchase equipment from one
dealer and service from another, thereby using market forces to
achieve the best value for the their money.

The effect of Kodak’s tie-in arrangement results in stifled in-
trabrand competition in the Kodak aftermarket for service and
eliminates the end-user’s freedom to choose. Prior to Kodak’s poli-
cy change, ISO’s provided end-users a much needed selection of
service providers. The ISO's provided competent service to Kodak
equipment owners in order to secure future service revenue. The
intrabrand competition which resulted from ISO competition con-
tinued without interruption until Kodak began to lose service prof-
its to the highly competitive ISO's. Kodak then instituted its tie-in
arrangement to recapture service profits through the elimination of
intrabrand service competition. Kodak ended the end-users right to
choose and replaced it with its own.

16

Kodak’s effective elimination of competition in the in-
trabrand market affords Kodak market power in the parts and ser-
vice aftermarkets. This Court has condemned tying arrangements
“when the seller has some special ability — usually called ‘market
power’ — to force a purchaser to do something he would not do ina
competitive market.” Jefferson Parish, 466 U.S. at 14. Kodak end-
users who purchased ISO service prior to Kodak’s tying arrange-
ment are now forced to purchase Kodak service. Kodak’s tying of
parts to service has brought about the ISO’s demise as a viable
competitor in the service market of Kodak equipment. Kodak in
effect forces the end-user into purchasing parts they would prefer to
purchase elsewhere. See Digidyne Corp. v. Data General Corp., 734
F.2d 1336, 1340-41 (1984). The ISO’s presence in the service mar-
ket brought about intrabrand competition which prevented Kodak
from possessing the power to force a purchaser to do something he
would not do in a competitive market. Specifically, the [SO’s in-
trabrand competition prevented Kodak from forcing a customer to
purchase Kodak service. It is the complete lack of competition in
the intrabrand market for service of Kodak equipment which grants
Kodak the special ability to create an illegal tying arrangement.

THE DECISION BELOW SUPPORTS COMPETITION AND
ESTABLISHES A FACTUAL INQUIRY ON THE MERITS
OF THE CASE

The intense interbrand and intrabrand competition in the
business equipment and systems industry promotes technical ad-
vancements and consumer benefits such as lower prices, education
and exceptional product service. The Court of Appeals, recognizing
the importance of intrabrand competition, reversed the District
Court’s summary judgment decision and remanded this case for
trial on the merits. Kodak, in its brief argues summary judgment is
proper if plaintiff's claim is contrary to “economic sense.” PB at 29
citing Matsushita Electric Industrial Co. v. Zenith Radio, 475 VU. S.
574 (1986). At issue in this case is whetiier Kodak's theory of mar-
ket power or the ISO’s theory of market power makes “economic
sense.” Each party argues their interpretation of market power is
correct, creating a triable issue of fact which should not be
dismissed.

The Ninth Circuit correctly found price competition in
aftermarket service to be sufficient evidence of market power to
withstand summary judgment. Kodak and amici suggest that Re-
spondents produce market analysis to survive summary judgment.

17

PB at 21. This suggestion is overly burdensome and in direct con-
flict with this Court's opinion in United States v. Loews, which
provided, “it should seldom be necessary in a tie-in sale case to
embark upon a full scale factual inquiry into the scope of the rele-
vant market for the tying product and into the corollary problem of
seller's percentage share in that market.” United States v. Loews,
371 U.S. 38 (1962), cited by Digidyne Corp v. Data General Corp..
734 F.2d 1336, 1340 (1984). Respondent’s evidence of market and
monopoly power in the tying product (parts) is sufficient to restrain
competition in the relevant (tied) service market. To determine
otherwise could have staggering effects on the viability of future
antitrust claims.

It is not implausible to imagine that any manufacturer faced
with eroding profit margins on equipment sales would turn to ser-
vice as a source to increase its revenues. To do so the manufacturer
may terminate their authorized dealer channel and begin to exclu-
sively provide service for its own brand of products. A decision
determining Respondent’s failure to present a triable issue of fact
would preclude dealers or other authorized distribution channels
from bringing suit should their manufacturer follow Kodak’s exam-
ple and foreclose intrabrand competition. Manufacturers could be
empowered to eliminate all intrabrand competition based on the
premise each lacks market power in the relative interbrand market
of equipment sales.

The evidence Respondents provide, namely that Kodak has
sufficient power in the parts market to force customers to purchase
its service illustrates that there is more than “some metaphysical
doubt as to the material facts." Matsushita Electric Industrial Co. v.
Zenith Radio, 475 U.S. 574, 586 (1986). The standard Kodak asks
this Court to impose would establish an onerous burden on Respon-
dent to survive summary judgment through in depth market analy-
sis illustrating that the effects of market imperfections in
contradiction with other decisions.

KODAK’S BUSINESS JUSTIFICATIONS DO NOT
PRECLUDE SECTION 2 LIABILITY

Section 2 of the Sherman Act prohibits monopolies through
unlawful means. Business activities which are considered anticom-
petitive or exclusionary are prohibited conduct for a monopolist.
Respondents argue that Kodak's anticompetitive actions of tying
parts to service constitutes a violation of Section 2. In Aspen Skiing

18

Co. v. Aspen Highland Skiing Co., 472 U.S. 585 (1985), a competi-
tor with anti-competitive motives instituted a policy change which
resulted in a change of character of the market. This Court in Aspen
was not persuaded by the Petitioner's “normal business justifica-
tion” argument to condone its actions. On the contrary, this Court
found “the evidence supports an inference that [defendant] was not
motivated by efficiency concerns.” Jd. at 610. Kodak argues its
business justifications, namely, “promoting high quality service,
reducing inventory costs and eliminating free riding were brushed
aside” by the Ninth Circuit. PB at 38. The Ninth Circuit found
Kodak's first two business justifications to be “pretextual” and “not
genuine” and therefore remanded the case to the District Court.

The Ninth Circuit correctly discredited Kodak’s business jJus-
lufications due to the ISO’s specific skills and the timeliness of the
tying arrangement. Kodak’s claimed interest in providing well
trained technical staff to provide support of equipment is a legiti-
mate concern to all manufacturers. Kodak, however, is narrow
minded in its view that only the equipment manufacturer is able to
provide the high caliber service necessary to properly support Ko-
dak products. Kodak's competitors in the interbrand market of
equipment sales provide service support for their brand of equip-
ment through an authorized dealer channel. The manufacturer
trains the dealer in the proper care and maintenance of equipment
and then allows the dealer to compete for service in order to insure
high quality support of equipment. In absence of the authorized
dealer channel, when able to purchase Kodak parts, ISO’s were able
to provide high quality service of Kodak equipment. The ISO’s.
many of them former Kodak employees, bring years of experience
and factory training by Kodak to their customers.

ISO’s, like Kodak, have a strong interest in providing high
quality service to Kodak customers. Like an authorized dealer, if an
[SO fails to properly maintain equipment, they run the risk of losing
future service revenues. ISO’s, as their name implies, are strictly
service Organizations dedicated to the service of equipment. As
strictly a service provider, ISO’s must rely on their superior service
to insure customer satisfaction anc future revenues. ISO’s must
overcome the burden that they are not authorized service providers
and are therefore, forced to provide outstanding service in order to
compete effectively against Kodak. NOMDA does not object to
reasonable requirements or standards establ shed for ISO’s by Ko-
dak. NOMDA’S objection is to the total elimination of ISO’s from
the marketplace.

19

Kodak alleges the elimination of ISO’s reduces parts invento-
ry which justifies the tying arrangement. This argument is without
merit, as Kodak’s parts inventory is directly related to the number
of Kodak machines placed with end-users. The elimination of the
ISO's will not decrease Kodak's parts inventory. Instead, customers
who are forced to use Kodak service will no longer obtain parts
from ISO’s but instead purchase parts from Kodak. Rather than
selling parts to ISO’s, Kodak will inventory all parts for all end-
users and increase inventory due to the lack of parts purchases from
ISO’s. The quantity of parts required to be maintained by Kodak
depends directly on product reliability not the existence of ISO’s.

Petitioners’ brief contends Kodak's refusal to sell parts to
ISO’s eliminates free riding. Free riding is an undesirable market
henomenon which allows a dealer to benefit from another party's
services, thereby omitting capital expenditures to develop their own
services. It is difficult to apply the term “free riding” to the ISO's
practice of purchasing Kodak parts. In its Amicus Curiae Brief on
behalf of Respondent in Business Electronics Corporation v. Sharp
Electronics Corp., NOMDA condemned the Petitioner free rider
who offered no services themselves. “Instead free riders divert buy-
ers who have taken advantage of another dealer’s services, offering
prices that are lower because they do not reflect the true cost of
making a sale.”’ Amicus Brief for Respondent at 6, Business Elec-
tronics Corp. v. Sharp Electronics Corp., 485 U.S. 717 (1988) No.
85-1910. There are few similarities between the free rider criticized
in Sharp and the ISO's service of Kodak equipment. The free rider
in Sharp took advantage of the pre-sale, point-of-sale and post-sale
services offered by a full service dealer in equipment sales. Without
providing any support, the free rider in Sharp cut prices in equip-
ment sales after diverting customers who had taken advantage of
another dealer’s services. Respondent ISO’s do not partake of any
actions similar to the free rider in Sharp. ISO's as Kodak parts
customers, paid premium prices to obtain Kodak parts. In reality
Kodak is merely relabeling its inventory argument which has previ-
ously been invalidated. The analogy of ISO’s free riding as Kodak’s
subsidizing ISO's parts purchases is without basis. There is nothing
“free” about ISO’s purchases of parts from Kodak.

NOMDA and NASD conclude that the lack of intrabrand
competition in the parts and service aftermarkets equips Kodak
with market power to eliminate competition and the benefits com-
petition brings. Dealers would welcome a decision in this case rec-
Ognizing that parts and service are separate markets than that of
equipment sales. By doing so, this Court would insure the existence

20

of dealers as future service providers should manufacturers choose
to eliminate the dealer channel in equipment sales. Because manu-
facturers such as Kodak are not obligated to distribute products
through dealers in the interbrand market, this Court’s decision
recognizing separate markets and the subsequent market power
which exists from a single source of distribution, will protect the
dealer channel as service providers for aftermarket support of
equipment.

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals should be affirmed.
Respectfully submitted,

Robert C. Goldberg

Denise M. Kennedy

National Office Machine
Dealers Association

Mark P. Cohen
Counsel of Record

222 South Riverside Plaza
Suite 2700

Chicago, Illinois 60606
(312) 648-2300

-—-P~ <— Ere eer, —— ons i

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0064%3A28. Public record. Not legal advice.
