# Amicus Curiae Brief — Eastman Kodak Co. v. Image Technical Services, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0064%3A23

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1992
- **Citation:** 504 U.S. 451

## Text

FILED

Supreme Court, U.S. |

SEP 20 199] |
No. 90-1029“ OFFKE OF Th:

In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1991

EASTMAN KODAK COMPANY,

Petitioner,
VS.

IMAGE TECHNICAL SERVICES, INC. et ai.,
Respondents.

7

On Writ Of Certiorari To The United States Court
Of Appeals For The Ninth Circuit

+

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE NATIONAL
ASSOCIATION OF STATE PURCHASING
OFFICIALS AND NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF
GOVERNMENTAL PURCHASING, INC.
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

sd

RicHarRD D. MONKMAN*
Ditton & FINDLEY

One Sealaska Plaza
Juneau, Alaska 99801
Telephone: (907) 586-4000

*Counsel of Record

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-4964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

|

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES....... ii
INTEREST OF AMICI ........ l
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT... 2
PE os cceusenseecs< 3

B.

D.

F.

The Issue of Market Power in Aftermarkets is a Fact
Question That Cannot Be Resolved on This Record
by a “Per Se” Rule of Competitiveness

Governments are Major Purchasers of Photo
copiers and Micrographic Equipment

A Competitive Service Aftermarket Provides the

ETO a ae a rea

Procurement Rules Result in Market Imperfec-
Ea Pat Se eee ee ea eee ae eee rage

Separation of Purchasing and Operating Func-
tions in Government Results in Market Imperfec-
RC Oe ee Pre

The “Lock-In” Effect Results in Market Imperfec-
PE Sb Seat acsecdeuaceesecnes

The Matsushita Standard Applied.

NEE bd Goo bbe 0006's oes 066s

JT

NJ

ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES:
Image Technical Services, Inc. v. Eastman Kodak Co.,

oe &® Be. Ee Be Sr er 4
Jefferson Parish Hospital Dist. No. 2 v. Hyde, 466 U.S.

ot, ere 4,7, 14
Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co., Ltd. v. Zenith Radio

Coop., G75 US. GFE GIRGEc oc cvccscusuccssuusens 13, 14
NCAA uv. Board of Regents, 468 U.S. 65 (1984)......... 2
Parts and Elec. Motors, Inc. v. Sterling Elec., Inc., 866

wy B- By, ge | ewer 8
Llnited States v. E.I. DuPont deNemours & Co., 351

US. S7F CHBGS occ cccconsecdesbvaseeeee 4
STATUTES:
1S USL. Gostiom § .cccccvccceuueceesn ee 2
Alsene Siatute DOSS «occ cece seccess eee 10
Alaska Statute SE.S0. OEP ous ccccvccevcescssene 2
Alaska Ghatwhe BE.Fe. Bae. occ ck cvcescececsenuee q
Aliases Siatube FE.Fe. TT ccc vcecscessesssesee 8
1991 Session Laws of Alaska, Chapter 73 ........... 10

1991 Session Laws of Alaska, Chapter 96, Sec. 163 .... 10

RULEs:

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 56...................

INTEREST OF AMICI

The National Association of State Purchasing Offi-
cials and the National Institute of Governmental Purchas-
ing, Inc. file this brief as amici curiae in support of
Respondents, Image Technical Services, Inc., et al.

The National Association of State Purchasing Offi-
cials (“NASPO”) is a non-profit affiliate of the Council of
State Governments. NASPO is comprised of the heads of
the purchasing agencies of all fifty States, the District of
Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, Guam, Ameri-
can Samoa, and the Northern Mariana Islands.

The National Institute of Governmental Purchasing,
Inc. (“NIGP”) is a non-profit educational and technical
organization of State and local governmental buying
agencies. The members of NIGP include over 1,300 gov-
ernmental purchasing agencies of the United States, the
fifty States, the Provinces of Canada, and many county,
city and municipal governments.

The members of NASPO and NIGP purchase a com-
bined total of about $550 billion in goods and services
annually on behalf of State and local taxpayers. State
governments alone purchase more than $200 billion
annually. These purchases include Kodak photo-copiers
and micrographic equipment, and related purchases of
supplies, replacement parts and repair services for those
machines.

This case arises under the Sherman Act, 15 USC § 1 et
seq. (1982), intended by Congress to encourage competi-
tion and protect the interests of consumers. See NCAA uv.
Board of Regents, 468 U.S. 65, 107 (1984). NASPO and
NIGP have strong interests in promoting competition
among suppliers of goods and services to governmental
consumers. The members of both organizations seek to
obtain the best quality product, at the lowest price, for
the taxpayers. “More value for the tax dollar” is NIGP’s
informal motto.

The goals of NASPO and NIGP are firmly embedded
in established public policy. Virtually every State and
local government in the United States is required, by law,
to use competitive processes to purchase goods and ser-
vices. See e.g., Alaska Stat. 36.30.100 (. . . unless specifi-
cally exempted by law, an agency contract shall be
awarded by competitive sealed bidding”). Long experi-
ence has shown that vigorous competition among multi-
ple suppliers is essential to obtaining the best product
while protecting the public fisc.

The members of NASPO and NIGP are in a unique
position to address the practical effects of the issues
raised in this case.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Governments routinely buy expensive pieces of
micrographic and photocopier equipment, including
Kodak’s machines. This equipment must be maintained

and serviced on a regular basis. Without constant atten-
tion from skilled technicians, much of today’s “high tech”
equipment will not function for very long - if at all.

Public agencies are easily locked-in by budget con-
straints to a particular type of equipment. There are legal
constraints on public purchasers which make total cost
pricing of equipment difficult. Vigorous competition
among multiple service providers is essential for the
members of NASPO and NIGP to obtain the “most value
for the tax dollar.”

Monopolization of aftermarket for parts, and the con-
sequent elimination of competition in the aftermarket for
service, is injurious to the public fisc. Tying sales of parts
to service leaves the equipment manufacturer free to
charge the public agency higher prices for less service
than could be obtained in a competitive market.

The factual record in this case is almost nonexistent.
The Court of Appeals correctly held that remand was
appropriate.

ARGUMENT

THE ISSUE OF MARKET POWER IN AFTERMARKETS
IS A FACT QUESTION THAT CANNOT BE
RESOLVED ON THIS RECORD BY A “PER SE” RULE
OF COMPETITIVENESS

The issue of Kodak’s market power is central to the
correct resolution of this case. Respondents’ tying claims
require a showing of “some special ability - usually

called ‘market power’ — to force a purchaser to do some-
thing that he would not do in a competitive market.”
Jefferson Parish Hosp. Dist. No. 2 v. Hyde, 466 U.S. 2, 27
(1984). Similarly, respondents’ claims of monopolization
require proof that Kodak enjoyed the “power to control
prices or exclude competition in the relevant market.”
United States v. E.1. DuPont deNemours & Co., 351 U.S. 377,
391 (1956).

Kodak argues that a manufacturer that lacks market
power in the “interbrand” original equipment market
cannot, as a matter of law, wield market power in the
aftermarkets for parts and repair services. See Petitioner’s
Br., 16-27. In an area of particular interest to NASPO and
NIGP, Kodak argues that it cannot succeed in overcharg-
ing its customers in these aftermarkets: “[a] lock-in strat-
egy works only if Kodak can make more total profit by
overcharging its existing customers for service than it
will lose as its new and repeat product sales dry up.”
Petitioner’s Br. at 25.

Given the constraints on public purchasing agencies,
the members of NASPO and NIGP believe that an equip-
ment manufacturer with market power in the after-
markets is quite able to make a “lock-in strategy” work in
the public sector, regardless of whether the manufacturer
has market power in the interbrand equipment market.
This is precisely the sort of “market imperfection” the
Court of Appeals held can “keep economic theories about
how consumers will act from mirroring reality.” Image
Technical Services, Inc. v. Eastman Kodak Co., 903 F.2d 612,
617 (9th Cir. 1990).

A.

Governments Are Major Purchasers of Photocopiers
and Micrographic Equipment.

State, county and local governments are among the
nation’s largest purchasers of copiers and micrographic
equipment. This equipment is necessary to perform
essential governmental services at a manageable cost.
Court records in the State of Alaska, for example, are
transferred to microfiche for permanent storage and easy
retrieval. Land records, once kept in rows and rows of
dusty books, are maintained in easily accessed microfiche
files. With the assistance of computers, these records can
be searched quickly, accurately and inexpensively by the
public.

Similarly, photocopiers (low, medium, and high vol-
ume) are fixtures in virtually every State and local gov-
ernmental office in the nation. It may well be, as some
say, that the invention of the photocopier was the greatest
advance in printing since moveable type. Combined with
the desktop publishing capacities of personal computers,
photocopiers have become essential in government oper-
ations.

A Competitive Service Aftermarket
Provides the Best Value.

Micrographic equipment and photocopiers are
expensive to buy and to operate. The initial capital outlay
is substantial, not only for the machines themselves but
for their associated “systems” — data retrieval software,

for example, and employee training. To amortize the cost
of these expensive machines at an affordable level, State
and local governments need to keep them in operation
for as long as possible. As the District Court observed,
“customers who have purchased Kodak equipment in a
competitive market will tend to retain that equipment for
its economic life.” Pet. App. 34B. Put another way, once
the equipment purchase is made, the public agency is “on
the hook” for parts and service until the equipment wears
out.

Where can the governmental agency turn for parts
and service? Its interest is in obtaining the best value for
the least cost to the taxpayer. This combination is not
always found in the cumbersome bureaucracies of equip-
ment manufacturers like Kodak. In response to demand
for better (and cheaper) service than that provided by
manufacturers, independent service organizations have
sprung up to provide specialized and aggressive service
for the owners of many types of equipment, including
copiers and micrographic equipment. See, e.g., JA 420,
425-27, 474-75 and 482-84.

An independent service organization may not be able
to manufacture a microfiche machine, but it is likely to do
a quicker, cheaper and often better job of servicing that
machine than the original manufacturer.! The members

' The Court of Appeals accurately found that evidence in
the record of Kodak’s own conduct suggests that “the demand
for parts can be separated from the demand for service.” 903
F.2d at 616. In the view of the more than 1,300 public purchas-
ing agencies which make up NASPO and NIGP, this conclusion

(Continued on following page)

of NASPO and NIGP have found that a competitive envi-
ronment, where independent service organizations com-
pete fiercely among themselves and with manufacturers,
results in lower prices and better customer service. The
challenge from independent organizations sharpens the
manufacturers’ response to its customer’s problems; the
smaller, more flexible independent organizations adapt
quickly to new market needs. The record confirms the
experience of NASPO and NIGP members. See, e.g., JA
420 4 30, JA 424-35 4] 42-47, JA 451 7 5 and JA 536 74
5-7.

To effectively compete, these independent service
entrepreneurs need parts. As any owne’ of a photocopier
can aver, high technology equipment needs maintenance
and repair ceaselessly - and virtually every service call
requires parts. By exploiting its control over parts, and
starving the independent service organizations, a manu-
facturer can force the public agency to buy service from
it: “a tied product that the buyer. .. might have preferred
to purchase elsewhere on different terms.” Jefferson Parish
Hosp., 466 U.S. at 12.

Cc.

Procurement Rules Result in Market Imperfections.

Kodak argues that an equipment manufacturer which
uses this power to overcharge its customers will soon

(Continued from previous page)

is correct. The development and early success of Respondents’
businesses is additional evidence from which it may be
inferred that parts and service are separate markets in the
photocopier and micrographic industries. Fed. R. Civ. Pro. 56.

find its sales of new equipment declining. Petitioner’s Br.
at 26. Thus, it argues, overcharging in the aftermarkets is
an “implausible strategy,” or in Judge Posner’s pithy
phrase, “a short-run game.” Id., citing Parts and Elec.
Motors, Inc. v. Sterling Elec., Inc., 866 F.2d 228, 236 (7th Cir.
1988) (Posner, J., dissenting). Kodak’s economic theory is
largely irrelevant to the real world of public purchasing.

Government agencies face restrictions not found in
the private sector. One of these is the requirement of
competitive bidding. As a matter of public policy, State
and local governments almost uniformly use competitive
bidding to obtain the lowest price. Where more than one
supplier exists (i.c., where there is “interbrand” competi-
tion), most public agencies are required by law to buy
equipment from the lowest bidder. See, e.g., Alaska Stat.
36.30.170(a) (“the procurement officer shall award a con-
tract . . . to the lowest responsible and responsive bid-
der”). A rational bidder can “low-ball” the price for its
equipment, and make up for lost profits by higher service
costs once the agency is locked-in.

To avoid this, Kodak argues, the consumer will “con-
sider” service costs at the time of purchase. The type of
analysis required by Kodak’s economic theory — estimat-
ing the total (or “life-cycle”) cost of a given piece of
equipment - is notoriously difficult and imprecise. This is
particularly the case for high technology, where there
may not be enough data to estimate the cost of maintain-
ing newly developed equipment over the term of its

useful life. Long term service contracts covering the use-
ful life of new equipment, at a fixed cost, are generally
not available at the time of purchase.

Consequently, Kodak’s approach to purchasing is
disfavored by State and local governments. In the State of
Alaska, for example, life-cycle costing is only allowed
upon a special showing:

A contract based on total or life cycle costs may
be awarded only when the chief procurement
officer or, for construction contracts or procure-
ment for the state equipment fleet, the commis-
sioner of transportation and public facilities,
determines in writing at the time of the contract
solicitation that the contract promotes overall
economy for the purposes intended, encourages
competition, is not unduly restrictive, and is in
the best interests of the state.

Alaska Stat. 36.30.150(b).

It takes a courageous purchasing officer to certify
that all these factors are present on a bid for untested
equipment. Government officials know they are not
omniscient in purchasing decisions. The public interest
and closely drawn procurement regulations demand that
they err on the side of caution. This generally means
taking vendors’ claims with the proverbial grain of salt,
and relying on empirically verifiable specifications rather
than the rosy projections of an eager salesman. The “per-
fectly omniscient consumer,” as posited by Kodak, does
not exist in the public purchasing sector.

10

D.

Separation of Purchasing and Operating Functions
In Government Results in Market Imperfections.

Kodak’s theory also ignores institutional barriers to
evaluation of service costs at the time a competitive bid is
issued. A central procurement officer may be charged
with buying equipment, but is rarely charged with oper-
ating, maintaining, or servicing the equipment. See e.g.,
Alaska Stat. 36.30.005 (centralized procurement author-
ity). Equipment purchased en masse, at a quantity dis-
count, may be delivered far and wide across the State,
locking-in operating agencies regardless of the availabil-
ity (or cost) of manufacturer service. The interests of the
centralized procurement officer in obtaining the lowest
possibile cost for equipment may not take into account the
total cost to the operating agency, as measured by the cost
of parts and service.

Additionally, State and local budgets are subject to a
variety of constraints which Kodak’s economic theory
does not take into consideration. For example, the State of
Alaska has different budgets for capital appropriations
and for operating expenses. The capital budget funds
one-time costs of purchasing equipment, funding con-
struction projects, condemning land, and the like. See e.g.,
1991 Session Laws of Alaska, Chapter 96, § 163 (appropri-
ates $450,000 for purchase of “duplicating equipment”).
The operating budget gives agencies the funds needed for
the day-to-day-operations of government, including
funds to repair and service equipment. See e.g., 1991
Session Laws of Alaska, Chapter 73 (appropriates funds

11

for “the operating expenses . . . of state government” on
an agency basis).

A central procurement officer charged with buying
$450,000 of duplicating equipment will measure success
by the number of copiers purchased. Capital funds can-
not be used to service the machines, and if not spent will
lapse back into the State’s general fund. After the copiers
are delivered, the recipient agencies use funds from the
operating budget to obtain the best quality service at the
lowest price to the taxpayer.

Where a competitive aftermarket exists, these goals
are complementary. The central procurement officer pur-
chases the maximum amount of equipment for the
amount budgeted, possibly obtaining quantity discounts
and attracting more bidders by the large scale of the
purchase. The operating agency is able to obtain the best
value for its budget among competing service organiza-
tions.

However, when a manufacturer eliminates competi-
tion in the aftermarkets, either through monopolization
or by tying parts to service, the public purchasing mecha-
nism does not operate effectively. A central purchasing
officer, required by law to seek the lowest bid for equip-
ment, using funds which if not spent will lapse, and
facing uncertainty in estimating life-cycle costs, is going
to award the purchase contract to the lowest bidder. This
decision provides a manufacturer with market power in
the aftermarkets an opportunity to charge higher prices
for service than it could charge in a competitive situation.
The net result is less value for the taxpayer dollar.

12

E.
The “Lock-In” Effect Results in Market Imperfections.

The lock-in effect noted by Respondents in their brief
is of special concern to governments. It is not simply the
cost of replacing the primary equipment, but associated
costs which must be taken into account when analyzing
the lock-in effect of an equipment purchase.

For example, governments are major consumers of
micrographic equipment. Libraries microfilm books, peri-
odicals, newspapers, and government publications. State
archives contain masses of documents, from deeds to
birth certificates, which are transferred to microfiche both
to save storage costs and to preserve fading or disin-
tegrating paper records from oblivion. Court systems use
micrographic systems to record the contents of closed
case files, wills, and judicial decisions.

Micrographic systems generally include a computer
assisted information retrieval system. A retrieval system
can include equipment to record documents on micro-
fiche, a means of encoding data on documents so that it
can be read by computer, computer hardware, a software
program to tie the whole package together, and terminals
so that the public and government employees can access
the data. Such a system can cost several hundred thou-
sand dollars in fixed costs, not including the labor needed
to design the system so that it meets the needs of the
government and the public.

These systems are integrated. That is, the component
elements of one element are designed to work together

13

with those of another. Before a governmental purchaser
of Kodak micrographic equipment can rationally consider
changing brands, it must consider costs of the entire
system. These costs include retraining personnel and
recoding data. “Industry standards” for data transfer not-
withstanding, changing from one micrographic system to
another is fraught with expense and peril. See, e.g., JA
424-425.

In practical terms, the lock-in effect of an initial deci-
sion by a public agency to purchase a certain brand of
equipment is substantial. This results in market imperfec-
tions that, as the Court of Appeals noted, “can keep
economic theories about how consumers will act from
mirroring reality.” 903 F.2d at 617.

F.
The Matsushita Standard Applied.

The members of NASPO and NIGP have vast experi-
ence in public purchasing. They strongly disagree with
Kodak’s view that it “simply makes no economic sense”
that a manufacturer with market power in the parts mar-
ket will use that power to earn monopoly profits in the
service market. Petitioner’s Br., at 29; Matsushita Elec.
Indus. Co., Ltd. v. Zenith Radio Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 587
(1986). The nature of public purchasing, budgetary con-
straints, and the lock-in effect make it quite likely that
such an equipment manufacturer - even without market
power in the interbrand market - can reap monopoly
profits in service through a judicious use of its power
over parts.

14

Kodak’s theory that consumers accurately project the
lifetime costs of high technology equipment at the time of
purchase, accurately weigh the possibility of monopoly
rents for parts and service, and take these factors into
account when making an initial equipment purchase is
simply unrealistic when applied to the public sector. This
is not a perfect market, and cannot be examined using
theory alone.

If the record were complete, this Court could make
an informed decision on the anti-competitive effects of
the conduct involved. But the record is not complete. As
other amici and Respondents note, the District Court
drastically truncated discovery. The Court of Appeals
was correctly reluctant to decide this case on a “theoreti-
cal basis.” 903 F.2d at 617.

Respondents have raised disputed issues of material
fact, and - as shown above - their arguments “make[]
economic sense.” Matsushita, 475 U.S. at 587. The public
interest is best served by a vigorous, competitive business
environment in the aftermarkets for parts and service.
When market power over parts is used to restrain compe-
tition in service, both competitors and consumers suffer.
Jefferson Parish Hosp., 466 U.S. at 15.

+

15

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals should be
affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

RicHarD D. MONKMAN
Ditton & FINDLEY
One Sealaska Plaza
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 586-4000

Attorneys for the National Associa-
tion of State Purchasing Officials and
the National Institute of Govern-
mental Purchasing, Inc.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0064%3A23. Public record. Not legal advice.
