# Amicus Curiae Brief — Eastman Kodak Co. v. Image Technical Services, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0064%3A19

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1992
- **Citation:** 504 U.S. 451

## Text

Court, USP
LLED

SEP 10 91

EASTMAN KODAK COMPANY,
Petitioner,
vs.
IMAGE TECHNICAL SERVICES, INC., et al,

Respondents.

On Writ Of Certioreri
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Ninth Circuit

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE PUBLIC CITIZEN
IN SUPPORT OF KESPONDENTS

Leslie A. Brueckner
Alan B. Morrison
(Counsel of Record)

Public Citizen Litigation Group
2000 P Street, N.W.

Suite 700

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 833-3000

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae
Public Citizen
September 20, 1991

-

BEST AVAILABLE COPY!

re ~~
wr anna

TABLE OF CONTENTS

ry, F Ei fas 5 5 re UO EEE il
INTEREST OF PUBLIC CITIZEN

TOT sethariiibecicinssittennipincuiinilascintnsisccdannidneaniniitdesiabiainialins 3
SUMMARY OCF ARGUMENT

ARGUMENT

THE DECISION REVERSING THE GRANT OF
SUMMARY JUDGMENT MUST BE AFFIRMED
BECAUSE THE MARKET POWER ISSUE ISA

FACT QUESTION THAT CANNOT BE

RESOLVED BY APPLICATION OF A PER SE

POU CO COIET Es BE EV ESE MESIIe ccccenscsnnsevcccchosnscesescsssseness )

A. KODAK’S ATTEMPT TO RESOLVE THE
MARKET POWER ISSUE BY APPLICATION
OF A PER SE RULE OF COMPETITIVENESS
IGNORES THE COMPLEXITY OF
CONSU MER DECISION-MAKING. ...0 ee 1]

|. Kodak Incorrectly Assumes That All
Consumers Consider The Costs Of Parts
And Service When Selecting Equipment

Kodak’s Attempt To Deny The Existence
Of “Lock In” Also Assumes T00 Much. ............ 13

KODAK FAILED TO MEET ITS BURDEN
OF ESTABLISHING NO GENUINE ISSUE AS
TO THE MARKET POWER QUESTION. ............ 15

EA POUL A LPUEEET snsccsccnvenessseniinisteabtininidaslecainiiatandaamapapiaantiiaaand Is

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page:

Board of Education, Island Trees Union Free School
District No. 26 v. Pico, 457 U.S. 853 (1982) ......cccccceee. 12

Federal Trade Commission v. Indiana Federation
fe Ok | 6 | ee 10

Fortner Enterprises v. U.S. Steel Corp..,
CE

Image Technical Services, Inc. v. Eastman Kodak,
903 F.2d 612 (9th Cir. 1990) .................... 5, 6, 13, 14, 17

Jefferson Parish Hospital District No. 2 v. Hyde,
I a. cemsenesostioonseunsonesenmanosuna 9

Matsushita Electric Ind. Co. v. Zenith Radio,
ES ET 16, 17

NCAA v. Board of Regents,
TT screens cctcccensenensenesnnniabinniens 1-2, 10

United States v. Diebold, Inc..
369 U.S. 654 (1962) .oecccecccesccccccsecsseccssesssecssssssssssscessseeensen 3

United States v. EI. du Pont de Nemours & Co..
Be FF 0 BOD cettcncscnsetonesscssnnes 7S Re 9, 15

WM

Statutes:

Sherman Act. IS US. SS | ef sey 1YX2 |. 4. 5, ], Y

No. 90-1029

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 199]

fF ASTMAN KODAK COMPANY,
Petitioner,
VS.
IMAGE TECHNICAL SERVICES, INC., et al.,

Respondents.

On Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Ninth Circuit

BRIEF OF AMICUS CURIAE PUBLIC CITIZEN
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

INTEREST OF PUBLIC CITIZEN

This briet is filed, with the written consent of the parties,
on behalt of Public Citizen, a non-profit public interest or-
ganization whose membership includes over 100,000 con-
sumers. This case arises under the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. 8&§
| et seq. (1982), which was designed by Congress specifically

to protect consumer welfare. See NCAA v. Board of Regents,

468 U.S. 85, 107 (1984). Part of Public Citizen's mission ts to
ensure that the nation’s antitrust laws are entorced tor the
benefit of consumers. In addition, Public Citizen ts interested
in this case because, as the lessee of three photocopiers
manutactured by petitioner Eastman Kodak Company
(“Kodak”), Yt is directly and adversely affected by Kodak's
anti-competitive practices.

This case involves a successful attempt by Kodak, a
manufacturer, marketer, and servicer of photocopiers and
micrographic equipment, as well as a supplier of the parts for
such equipment, to corner the market for Kodak replace-
ment parts and to leverage that situation into a stranglehold
on the market for service of Kodak equipment, thereby
destroving the businesses of a number of independent service
organizations that compete with Kodak in this market. Public
Citizen, as a representative of consumers generally, is inter-
ested in this case because the ultimate price of Kodak's
activities has been, and will continue to be, paid by consum-
ers, especially existing owners of Kodak equipment, who
have been forced to obtain parts and service from Kodak at
inflated prices. Moreover, consumers of other equipment
will be injured if other manufacturers are permitted to mimic
Kodak's strategy and extract monopoly rents in the after-
markets tor their products.

A central issue in this case is Kodak's ability to control
the service market by virtue of its power over the market for
Kodak replacement parts. This issue in turn hinges on a
factual question concerning consumer behavior in the mar-
ketplace for photocopiers and micrographics equipment.
Due to Public Citizen's expertise on consumer behavior and
its position as a consumer of Kodak equipment, it is able to
offer a different perspective than that of the respondents.

STATEMENT

This case involves a concerted attempt by Kodak to limit
the supply of Kodak replacement perts and, in so doing, to
gain control over the market for servicing Kodak equipment.
Since there has been no trial in this case, and only limited
discovery, all factual doubts must be resolved against Kodak,
the party that moved tor summary judgment. See United
States v. Diebold, Inc., 369 U.S.654, 655 (1962). Accordingly,
this statement sets forth the facts as respondents allege they
can be established at trial.

Kodak's illegal activities started in mid-1985, when it
embarked on a campaign to take control of the market for
Kodak parts and drive independent service organizations
(“ISOs”) out of the service business for Kodak equipment.
Prior to that ttme, Kodak had an open sales policy for Kodak
parts, and did not attempt to prevent [SOs from competing
with it in the service market for Kodak equipment. Joint
Appendix (“JA”) 99; JA 152; JA 349-50; JA 415-16; JA 435.

Kodak utilized a two-step strategy to control the mar-
kets for Kodak parts and service. The first step was to cut off
[SOs from potential supplies of Kodak parts by effectively
making Kodak the sole source of supply for replacement
parts. This was accomplished by: (1) agreeing with inde-
pendent original equipment manufacturers (“OEMs”), which
supply Kodak with 90% of parts for Kodak equipment, that
the OEMs would not sell any parts that fit Kodak equipment
to anyone other than Kodak (JA 428-29; JA 468; JA 496}: (2)
pressuring Kodak equipment owners not to sell Kodak parts
to ISOs (JA 428-29); (3) pressuring independent parts dis- ,
tributors not to sell Kodak parts to ISOs (JA 517-18; Docu-
ments lodged with Clerk with the filing of the Joint Appendix
A“L") 140; L 143); and (4) effectively closing the used ma-
chine market, including as a parts source. JA 423; JA 427-28:
JA 510-11; JA 650.

The second step in Kodak’s scheme was to utilize its

newly achieved control over Kodak replacement parts to
drive ISOs out of the service business. This was accomplished
in part by conditioning the sale of parts to its customers on
their agreement to refuse to deal with ISOs, thereby effec-
tively “tying” Kodak service to Kodak parts, on which Kodak
now held a virtual monopoly. JA 428-29; L 163. Kodak also
required ISOs who wanted to buy Kodak parts from Kodak to
stop servicing any Kodak equipment other than their own and
to stop selling used Kodak machines. L 143; L 159.

By 1987, Kodak had largely succeeded in controlling the
supply of Kodak parts and driving many [SOs out of the
service business. JA 422; JA 463. Remaining ISOs have
suffered the loss of substantial revenues and accounts (JA
458-59: JA 495-96; JA 501-02), and consumers of Kodak
equipment have also suffered by being forced to pay higher
prices for inferior service. JA 420-22; JA 425-27; JA 474-75:
JA 514

A complaint was filed on April 14, 1987, on behalf of 18
small [SOs that, among other things, repaired, serviced, and
sold parts for Kodak equipment (“respondents”). JA411;JA
449: JA 462; JA 470-71; JA 504. The complaint alleged, inter
alia, that Kodak violated Sections | and 2 of the Sherman Act,
1SU.S.C. $§ 1 et seq.( 1982), by monopolizing the Kodak parts
market, conspiring with others to deny Kodak parts to re-
spondents, monopolizing an aftermarket for Kodak service
and reconditioned equipment, and restraining trade through
agreements tying the sale of Kodak service to Kodak parts.
JA 5-37.

Kodak moved for summary judgment before respon-
dents had even initiated discovery, arguing that the “material
facts with respect to the challenged business practices . . . are
not seriously disputed.” JA 91. Over respondents’ objec
tions, the district court permitted only very limited discovery
(JA 255-98: JA 315-25), and then, on April 18, 1988, granted
Kodak's motion, and dismissed the action

On appeal, respondents argued that they had raised a

number of triable issues including: (1) whether Kodak’s re-
fusal to sell parts to equipment owners, unless they agree not
to use ISOs, constitutes a tying arrangement violative of
Section | of the Sherman Act;' and (2) whether Kodak’s
refusal to sell parts to [SOs, in combination with its other
efforts to control the market for Kodak parts and service, is
an act Of monopolization violative of Section 2 of the Sher-
man Act. See Image Technical Serv., Inc. v. Eastman Kodak,
903 F.2d 612, 614 (9th Cir. 1990).

On May |, 1990, a divided panel reversed the order of
dismissal, finding that triable issues of tact existed with re-
spect to both the Section | tying claim and the Section 2
monopolization claim. With respect to the tying claim, the
Court rejected Kodak’s theory that, since it allegedly does not
have market power in the interbrand markets for copier or
micrographic equipment, it cannot as a matter of law have
sutficient economic power in the parts market to result in an
illegal tying arrangement.’ The Court stated that, whether it
is possible for a firm in a competitive basic equipment market
to charge supra-competitive prices for equipment parts, is
not a question that should be decided “on a theoretical basis.”
Id. at 617. The Court further noted the absence of a fully
developed record on the market power issue due to the “very
limited discovery” that was permitted by the district court. /d.
Despite the absence of full discovery, however, the Court
stated that respondents had presented evidence that Kodak

' Respondents specifically argued that whether the tying ar-
rangement is a per se violation of the Sherman Act, or merely an
unreasonable restraint of competition under the rule of reason,
its legality requires a factual development. JA 746-47.

7In order to establish a per se iilegal tying arrangement, it is
necessary to demonstrate sufficient economic power with respect
to the tying product (parts) to restrain competition appreciably
inthe tied product (service). See Fortner Enterprises v. U.S. Steel
Corp., 994 US, 495, 499 (1969).

a

6

may in fact have used its power in the parts market to leverage
an unfair advantage in the service market. /d. Such evidence,
ruled the Court, is sufficient to raise a material issue of fact as
to whether Kodak has sufficient power in the parts market to
sustain a tying claim. /d. at 618. With respect to the monopo-
lization claim, the Court rejected Kodak’s argument that it
could not have monopoly power in the service market since
it allegedly lacks market power in the interbrand market. Jd.
at 621. As with the tying claim, the Court held that Kodak’s
theory simply did not “mirror[ ] reality.” /d.

The dissent disagreed on both counts. As to the tying
claim, the dissent wrote that Kodak’s “lack of power in the
interbrand market necessarily precludes power in the deriva-
tive market....” /d. at622 (emphasis in original). The dissent
rejected respondents’ evidence that Kodak, in fact, does
exert power in the aftermarkets for Kodak parts, stating that
“[n]Jo amount of evidence of pricing in the derivative market”
can overcome the presumption raised by Kodak’s alieged
lack of power in the interbrand market. /d. Thus, the dissent
concluded that respondents had failed to raise any genuine
issues of material fact with regard to Kodak’s market power
in the market for replacement parts. /d. at 623. As to the
monopolization claim, the dissent wrote that summary judg-
ment was proper because Kodak had demonstrated a legiti-
mate business reason for its behavior. /d. at 621.3

3In so ruling, the dissent ignored a fundamental tension in
Kodak’s defense. On the one hand, Kodak claimed that its
alleged lack of market power in the interbrand equipment market
proved that it could not, as a matter of law, have attempted to
monopolize the markets for Kodak parts or service. Under this
theory, which Kodak embraces exclusively in this Court,
whether Kodak had a legitimate justification for its acts is legally
irrelevant. At the same time, however, Kodak strained to excuse

(continued . . .)

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Both of respondents’ Sherman Act claims hinge on a
factual question concerning the extent of Kodak’s economic
power in the aftermarkets for parts and service. Kodak
attempts to transform this fact question into a legal one by
arguing that an equipment manufacturer lacking interbrand
market power cannot, as a matter of law, wield sufficient
power in aftermarkets for parts or service to create either
tying or monopolization ligpility. In this way, Kodak urges the
Court to adopt a rule of per se competitiveness in after-
markets for parts and service whenever an absence of market
power in the product market is demonstrated.

Kodak's approach should be rejected because it ignores
numerous fact questions concerning consumer behavior that
bear dircctly on the market power issue. The central assump-
tion underlying Kodak’s theory is that any significant price in-
creases in aftermarkets will inevitably reduce demand for
Kodak equipment because the rational consumer necessarily
considers the costs of parts and service when choosing among
competing equipment sellers. This characterization by an
interested manufacturer of the rational consumer, however,
fails to recognize that some consumers might not have access
to sufficient information about parts and service at the time
of equipment purchase, might not be able to use the informa-
tion they have, or might make purchasing decisions solely
based on equipment cost, performance, availability, and the

(. . . continued)

its attempt to monopolize the parts and service markets by
offering purported justifications for its actions. Since the
existence of any justification necessarily involves the factual
question of pretext, it would be improper to decide that issue on
summary judgment, especially given the limited discovery
allowed here.

like, deferring decisions concerning parts and service until
the need arises. Moreover, even assuming that price in-
creases In aftermarkets would, as Kodak suggests, reduce
demand for Kodak equipment, Kodak might, under some
circumstances, still be able to exploit existing, “locked-in”
owners of Kodak equipment who have no option other than
to purchase Kodak equipment and service at inflated prices.
Thus, Kodak might be able to sustain long-term, anti-com-
petitive strategies in parts and service aftermarkets notwith-
standing an absence of market power in the interbrand
equipment market.

The extent of Kodak’s power in the markets for replace-
ment parts and service, then, hinges on a number of fact
questions about consumer behavior that cannot be resolved
without further development of the record. Kodak's Sugges-
tion that this Court should apply a per se rule of competitive-
ness whenever an absence of interbrand market power is
demonstrated assumes these critical fact questions out of
existence. As this Court has recognized, it is improper to use
per Se rules to create antitrust liability in complex cases such
as this one; it is equally improper to preclude antitrust liability
when the record presents serious questions about how the
market really works.

Given the presence of a genuine factual dispute with
respect to the market power issue, the Court of Appeals
properly reversed the district court’s decision g granting sum-
mary judgment in Kodak’s favor. The only “proof” offered by
Kodak on the market power issue concerned its alleged lack
of power in the interbrand equipment pret ra proof
falls far short of the mark, since even if Kodak does lack
power in the equipment market (an issue that is itself the
subject of dispute), this does not by any means dictate a
finding that Kodak lacks power in the parts and service
aftermarkets. Thus, Kodak did not even meet its initial
burden of demonstrating an absence of disputed facts with
respect to the market power issue. Moreover, even if Kodak

had met its initia! burden under the summary judgment
standard, respondents have offered more than sufficient
evidence of Kodak's actual power in the parts and service
aftermarkets to withstand a motion for summary judgment.

ARGUMENT

THE DECISION REVERSING THE GRANT OF
SUMMARY JUDGMENT MUST BE AFFIRMED
BECAUSE THE MARKET POWER ISSUE IS A
FACT QUESTION THAT CANNOT BE RESOLVED
BY APPLICATION OF A PER SE RULE
OF COMPETITIVENESS.

To establish tying liability under Section 1, it is necessary
to demonstrate that “the seller has some special ability --
usually called ‘market power’ -- to force a purchaser to do
something that he would not do in a competitive market.”
Jefferson Parish Hosp. Dist. No. 2 v. Hyde, 466 U.S. 2, 13-14
(1984) (citations omitted). To establish monopolization lia-
‘bility under Section 2, it is necessary to demonstrate the
~ power to control prices or exclude competition” in the rele-
vant market. United States v. E.1. du Pont de Nemours & Co..
351 U.S. 377, 391-92 (1956). Thus, determining the extent of
Kodak's market power is central to both of respondents’
claims..

Kodak’s primary argument in this Court is that an equip-
ment manufacturer lacking interbrand market power cannot,
as a matter of law, wield sufficient power in aftermarkets for
parts or service to create either tying or monopolization
liability. See Petitioner’s Brief on the Merits (“PB”) at 16-27.
Absent interbrand market power, theorizes Kodak. any at-
tempt to raise prices to noncompetitive levels in aftermarkets
for parts or service would simply serve to drive off customers.
both old and new. In the long-run, the argument goes, the
price of survival in the interbrand market would be the

restoration of competitive prices in aftermarkets. Thus.
absence of interbrand market power in equipment markets is
said automatically to preclude long-term, supra-competitive
pricing and other anti-competitive tactics in aftermarkets for
parts and service.

This theory reflects a tidy vision of consumer practices
that is not born out by the facts or the law. In effect, Kodak
is urging this Court to ignore the factual complexities of
consumer behavior and instead apply a rule of perse competi-
tiveness in aftermarkets whenever an absence of market
power in the product market is demonstrated. However, as
this Court has recognized, per se rules are a crude and inexact
way to dispense with antitrust cases that raise questions about
how markets really work. See, e.g., Federal Trade Comm. v.
Indiana Fed. of Dentists, 476 U.S. 447, 458-59 (1986) (noting
the Court’s “reiuctance to extend per se analysis to restraints
imposed in the context of business relationships where the
economic impact of certain practices is not immediately
obvious”); see also NCAA v. Board of Regents, 468 U.S. 85,
100-01 (1984). Although Kodak’s theory may be an accurate
predictor of consumer behavior under some circumstances,
the market power issue is fundamentally a fact question that
should only be resolved after a full and fair opportunity for
discovery and, perhaps, trial.

es

I!

A. KODAK’S ATTEMPT TO RESOLVE THE
MARKET POWER ISSUE BY APPLICATION
OF A PER SE RULE OF COMPETITIVENESS
IGNORES THE COMPLEXITY OF CONSUMER
DECISION-MAKING.

1. Kodak Incorrectly Assumes That All Consumers
Consider The Costs Of Parts And Service When
Selecting Equipment.

Kodak’s theory, as outlined above, is based on a number
of over-simplified assumptions about consumer behavior.
The first concerns the effect of price increases in parts and
service markets on potential new purchasers of Kodak equip-
ment. Kodak argues that any significant price increases in
aftermarkets will inevitably reduce demand for Kodak equip-
ment because the rational consumer necessarily considers
the cost of parts and service when choosing among competing
equipment sellers. Put another way, Kodak treats the prod-
uct purchased by all new consumers as not just the equip-
ment, but a single unbundled unit of present equipment and
future parts and service needs.

This approach is wrong, not because it may not accord
with reality in some cases, but rather because it assumes a
serious factual question out of existence. Notwithstanding
Kodak’s claims to the contrary, the reality may well be that
many consumers do not base their purchasing decisions on
the combined cost of equipment, parts, and service.‘

”

*For the reasons stated by respondents, the Court of Appeals
incorrectly found that respondents do not dispute that equipment
purchasers consider the cost of parts and services when deciding
on equipment. See Respondents’ Brief on the Merits (“RB’’) at
Statement of the Case (E). Evenif respondents had conceded this

(continued .. .)

12

For example, some customers might not have access to
information about the availability and price of parts and
service at the time of equipment purchase. Contrary to
Kodak’s claims, this would make perfect “economic sense”
(PB at 29) given the obvious disincentives for equipment
sellers (such as Kodak) to make full disclosure of their past
repair histories and costs, and the absence of anything resem-
bling a Consumers’ Reports on commercial copiers and
micrographics equipment and their service costs. Unlike
what is available for televisions and dishwashers. independ-
ent, dependable projecticns of the costs of parts and service
are not readily available for these products.

_ Even assuming sufficient access to information about
parts and service at the time of equipment purchase, even
sophisticated consumers may not be able to make good use of
such information due to the difficulty of predicting the type of
repairs that might be required, whether the costs will be
principally service or parts, and how frequently they should
expect major service problems for which there can be sub-
stantial differences in the prices of the parts and/or the
service.

Still other customers might not even attempt to evaluate
the markets for parts and service when making their initia]
decision to lease or purchase a Kodak machine. For example,
a buyer of Kodak equipment that has entered into a mainte-
nance agreement with Kodak for the term of the warranty
might not consider the availability of parts or service beyond
the initial warranty period. Or a lessee of Kodak equipment,
with an option to purchase, might defer consideration of the

(.. . continued)

issue, this Court performs its own review of the record and is not
constrained by the errors of parties. See Board of Educ., lsland
Trees Union Free School Dist. No. 26 v. Pico, 457 U.S. 853. 872.-
73 (1982).

Vee

13

cost of parts and service until the option is ripe -- at which time
the sunk costs in the machine might compel a purchase,
notwithstanding Kodak’s inflated prices for parts and service.

in short, a host of factors suggest that, from the stand-
point of the consumer in the market for a photocopier or
micrographic equipment, the costs to be considered when
making a purchasing decision might not encompass service or
parts at the time the equipment purchase decision is made.
For such consumers, supra-competitive pricing in aftermarkets
for service and parts would not affect the decision whether to
purchase equipment from Kodak or from one of its competi-
tors. In this scenario, Kodak could exploit consumers of
Kodak parts and service notwithstanding an absence of market
power in the equipment market.

Thus, Kodak oversimplifies consumer behavior by as-
suming that all consumers in the market for Kodak equip-
ment evaluate parts and service costs at the time of equip-
ment purchase. In fact, the actual behavior of consumers
under the circumstances presented in this case is a factual
question that cannot be resolved on the record before this
Court.

2. Kodak’s Attempt To Deny The Existence Of
“Lock In” Also Assumes Too Much.

The second suspect assumption in Kodak’s theory of
consumer behavior concerns existing owners of Kodak equip-
ment. As the Court of Appeals noted, the record shows that
some owners of large Kodak equipment packages will pay
higher prices for Kodak service rather than switch to com-
petitors’ systems. 903 F.2d at 617. For these “locked-in”
owners, then, Kodak is able to charge monopoly prices for
parts and service notwithstanding its alleged lack of power in
the interbrand equipment market.

Kodak’s argument against the existence of lock-in has a
tamiliar but hollow ring to it. According to Kodak, absent

a eeeenmmmmnmmreemes oe ~—

14

market power in the market for interbrand equipment, no
company could successfully exploit locked-in customers by
charging monopoly prices for service and parts. Todo so, says
Kodak, merely would drive away new and re peat purchasers.
See PB at 25-26. Kodak goes on to Suggest that a lock-in
strategy is “impossible” in this case, since Kodak would never
make more total profit by overcharging its existing Customers
than it would lose as equipment sales dry up. Id.

This argument again assumes too much. First, as dis-
cussed above, it is not at all clear that the cost of service and
parts plays a significant role in decisions to purchase new
equipment, even among customers that already have Kodak
equipment. This is a factual question that cannot be resolved
on the present record.

Second, the argument assumes that Kodak must offer
service to new and repeat customers on the same terms it
charges to existing, locked-in, customers. But Kodak could
insulate new or repeat customers from price increases by a
variety of strategies, such as offering special maintenance
agreements or service contracts that do not reflect the mon-
opoly prices charged to locked-in customers. In this way,
Kodak could exploit existing customers without driving off
important new business.

Third, the lock-in effect may vary depending on the
extent of a consumer’s investment in Kodak equipment. For
example, the lock-in effect is likely to differ for those who own
one copier, that readily can be replaced, and those, like the
clients that respondents and other ISOs serve, who own a
large number of copiers and for whom switching to a new
brand might not be a feasible option. The lock-in effect for
bulk consumers undoubtedly is made worse by the fact that
any attempt to break the lock by replacing worn-out Kodak
copiers with competitors’ machines as the need arises would
likely result in non-uniformity of brands within a single com-
pany, especially tor those owners who, like many customers of
respondents, own many machines rather than one or two.

15

Such customers might be locked-in to paying higher prices for
service to Kodak because the burden and expense of operat-
ing and maintaining different equipment brands prevents
them from taking advantage of interbrand competition. Thus,
itis quite possible that Kodak could charge monopoly rents to
locked-in customers notwithstanding its alleged lack of power
in the interbrand market.

The market power issue, then, cannot be resolved ab-
sent an inquiry into how these consumers really behave and
how these markets really work. The validity of Kodak’s
theory must be tested by examining, for example, the extent
to which its customers consider the availability and cost of
parts and service when deciding whether to purchase Kodak
equipment, the availability of information to consumers in
the market for Kodak equipment, the extent of “lock-in,” and
the like. These are precisely the sort of fact questions that
cannot and should not be resolved by application of per se
rules. Cf. United States v. E.I. du Pont de Nemours & Co.. 351
U.S. 377 (1956) (conducting extensive factual inquiry to de-
termine relevant market for purposes of analyzing a mon-
opolization claim).

B. KODAK FAILED TO MEET ITS BURDEN OF
ESTABLISHING NO GENUINE ISSUE AS TO
THE MARKET POWER QUESTION.

The Ninth Circuit properly found that Kodak failed to
establish the absence of any genuine issue of fact as to
whether Kodak wields sufficient power in the market for
Kodak parts to sustain tying and monopolization liability.
Kodak claims, erroneously, that it met its burden of proof on
this issue by demonstrating Kodak’s lack of power in the
interbrand equipment market. See PB at 27-32. Having done
so, says Kodak, the burden shifted to respondents to rebut
Kodak's “proof” that it lacks sufficient power in derivative
aftermarkets.

16

This argument fails on several counts. First, Kodak’s
claim to lack market power in the interbrand equipment
market is in fact a hotly contested issue in this case. See, e.g.,
RB at Statement of the Case (H) (demonstrating that Kodak
has substantial market power in at least three of seven
interbrand basic equipment markets). Kodak’s attempt to
assume away this essential fact question should be rejected.

Second, even assuming that Kodak does lack power in
the equipment market, this does not dictate a finding that it
lacks economic power in the parts market. See discussion
supra at A. Thus, Kodak did not even meet its initial burden
of demonstrating an absence of disputed facts with respect to
the market power issue. To do so, at the very least Kodak
would have to prove that the new equipment market will
work as it suggests, .e., that consumers in the market for
copiers and micrographic equipment obtain relevant infor-
mation about the cost of parts and service and use it during
the negotiation for the price of the equipment. Kodak would
also have to establish it cannot successfully exploit locked-in
customers, /.¢., thatexisting Kodak equipment owners would,
if faced with inflated prices in parts and service aftermarkets,
switch to other equipment brands.

Since Kodak did not even meet its initial burden on the
market power issue, the summary judgment standard enun-
ciated by this Court in Matsushita Elec. Ind. Co. v. Zenith
Radio, 475 U.S.574 (1986), does not apply in this case. There,
the Court held that, when the moving party has carried its
burden under Rule 56(c) of the Federal Rules of Civil Proce-
dure, “its opponent must do more than simply show that there
is some metaphysical doubt as to the maierial facts.” Jd. at
586 (citations omitted). The Court went on to state that, in an
antitrust case, conduct as consistent with permissible compe-
tition as with illegal conspiracy does not, standing alone,
support an inference of antitrust conspiracy. Id. at 588.

Contrary to Kodak’s claim, this standard does not apply
here hecause Kodak never met its initial burden of establish-

:
eeemememenanneae a

irae emt

17

ing the absence of any genuine issue on the market power
question. However, even if Kodak had met its burden with
respect to the market power issue, respondents have satisfied
the Matsushita standard. As the Court of Appeals recog-
nized, respondents cast more than a “metaphysical doubt” as
to the facts; the record shows, for example, that Kodak
charges up to twice as much as respondents for service that is
of lower quality than that provided by respondents. 903 F.2d
at 617. This evidence would be sufficient to withstand a
motion for summary judgment even under the Matsushita
standard, since evidence of supra-competitive pricing is cer-
tainly not as consistent with permissible competition as with
illegal monopolization. By Kodak’s own theory, no competi-
tor in its right mind lacking interbrand market power would
engage in a strategy as self-defeating as charging monopoly
prices in derivative aftermarkets, but that appears to be what
happened here. In any event, even if Kodak might be able to
demonstrate that its supra-competitive pricing is occurring
within the context of a competitive marketplace, the exis-
tence of such a market is a genuine fact issue that cannot be
resolved by summary judgment at this stage of the litigation.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the judgment of the Court of
Appeals should be affirmed.

September 20, 199]

Respectfully submitted,

Leslie A. Brueckner
Alan B. Morrison
(Counsel of Record)

Public Citizen Litigation Group
2000 P Street, N.W.

Suite 700

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 833-3000

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae
Public Citizen

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0064%3A19. Public record. Not legal advice.
