# Amicus Curiae Brief — Cohen v. Cowles Media Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0033%3A12

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1991
- **Citation:** 501 U.S. 663

## Text

BEST AVAILABLE COPY

BEST AVAILABLE COPY —

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
STATEMENT OF INTEREST ..............ccccccccccccssceesceescees l
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT. ................cccccccsssssccssceseeseees 3
GEPUIEPEIIIITEE cetennstenencstscnscnccescssccscececsccocsecesesesesoceecsees 6

1. JUDICIAL ENFORCEMENT OF AN ETHICAL
OBLIGATION NOT TO PUBLISH TRUTHFUL
INFORMATION ABOUT POLITICAL
CAMPAIGNS VIOLATES THE FIRST
nn satienichenieesiesteeetenssensnenennsnnsstensnteceeancoce 6

dupeenevesnsscnsonsessuscssssseoeeesssotenesncocsosceses ll

i. Unlike Typical Promissory Estoppel
Situations, Reporter-Source
a “ oy ee Upon An
xpectation t The Understanding Is
Legally Enforceable ..............cccccccssseseeseeee 12

ui. Reporter-Source Understandings Do Not
Involve A “Meeting Of The Minds” ..... 15

iii. Reporter-Source Understandings Do Not
.__) Involve The Type Of Interest Which
Promissory Estoppel Is Intended To
Protect; Instead, Unde
Create Ethical, Rather Than y
Enforceable, Obligations ............c..0... 16

C. First Amendment Interests Are Furthered
By Protecting The Dissemination Of
Truthful Information To The Public,
Particularly Where, As Here, That
Information Involves ‘Government Affairs .

D. Application Of The Test A In

Analogous Areas, Like Invasion Of Pri
Cases, Demonstrates That Civil

Enforcement Of Reporter-Source
Understandings Is Comatitutiele
Impermissible

PSS ESET EEE TEESE EEE EEE EEEE EEE EEE HEHE

2. EVEN ASSUMING, ARGUENDO, THAT
LIMITED ENFORCEMENT OF REPORTER.

SOURCE UNDERSTANDINGS IS
CONSTITUTIONALLY PERMISSIBLE, THE
FIRST AMENDMENT REQUIRES

APPROPRIATE SAFEGUARDS TO ENSURE
THE “BREATHING SPACE” ESSENTIAL TO
THE EXERCISE OF FREE SPEECH AND
SED GENEEED cxenninsmessssicennsensemmessnnbiattneneiseenes

CARUSO. §=—=»««scaunnesaensvesenmusiinnniinnneennnsionnnnassanauesisinieune

18

iil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES: Page(s)
Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242

EERE IEA Coren eeeee eee Cee 27
Associated Press v. N.L.R.B., 301 U.S. 103

SUID simhiniehlibatnihpiaiesceaticinaaianieee aia incase s
Associated Press v. United States, 326 U.S. 1

IIT Siete cient adhataaeiaete bine iaiiaeadaaiaiil tah ia alcataas 8
Bindrim v. Mitchell, 92 Cal. App. 3d 61, 155 Cal.

Rptr. 29 (1979) ......... PEASE GI ICS On 13
Branzburg v. Hayes, 408 U.S. 665 (1972) ............. 18
Brown v. Hartlage, 456 U.S. 45 (1982) ................. 10
Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1 (1976) «0.0.0.0... 10
Cohen v. Cowles Media Co., 445 N.W.2d 248 (Ct.

CA. TIE cxscnswintinisicstaneienninnntianindiemmmnennio 24
Cohen v. Cowles Media Co., 457 N.W.2d 199 (Minn.

STII sini 12,13,16,19,28
Coz Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469

GSU, snivaeesteunesieieeiatiedaieisinaciteiichiaiaiieaacedicnls 9,19,20
Doe v. American Broadcasting Co., 152 A.D.2d 482,

543 N.Y.S.2d 455 (1969) ..............ccc...ccccceeeees- 13
Dombrowski v. Pfister, 380 U.S. 479 (1965) .......... 20
Dun & Bradstreet, Inc. v. Greenmoss Builders, Inc.,

— f ) & § — eee 7

Eu v. San Francisco County Democratic Central
Committee, 489 U.S. 214, 109 S. Ct. 1013

ES eee ee 10
Florida Star v. B.J.F., 491 U.S. 524, 109 S. Ct.
EE es 19,24,29
Gertz v. Robert Welch, Inc., 418 U.S. 323
RE ee enn OD 19,26
ean v. American Press, 297 U.S. 233
ER a Oe 8
Harte-Hanks Communications, Inc. v. Connaughton,
491 U.S. 657, 109 S. Ct. 2678 (1989) ............ 10,26
Hendry v. Conner, 303 Minn. 317, 226 N.W.2d 921
ES ee en ee 24

Huskey v. National "7 Co., Ine., 632 F.
Supp. 1282 (N.D. Il]. 1986) ..................ccceeeeeeee 13

iV

Table of Authorities Continued

Page
Landmark Communications, Inc. v. Virginia, 435
BR Ce EEE eiictticicetneresnicieininnemnnnnminns 19
Miami Herald Publishing Co. v. Tornillo, 418 U.S.
eee 9,21,22,23
Mills v. Alabama, 384 U.S. 214 (1966) ..............00 10
Minneapolis Star and Tribune Co. v. Minnesota
Commissioner of Revenue, 460 U.S. 575
STII ccisiescthiedtinenneccenienaidsisbenieinnnmmmenianeaeees 8
New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254
GEIEED cencetpecentsenseumsnensnsaneeseseeniememaneuneecneste 7,20,25,28
Oklahoma Publishing Co. v. District Court, 430 U.S.
Be CUE cccnnniscenanmeniniesntininuemitmanmeenibetonsinanns 9,19
Philadelphia Newspapers, Inc. v. Hepps, 475 U.S.
ee CIEE centensesssnscaneinenensninmneeminemensenemmseses 26
Poteet v. Roswell Daily Record, Inc., 92 N.M. 170,
584 P.2d 1310 Ct. aa 28
Richmond Newspapers, Inc. v. Virginia, 448 U.S.
BD GR cecenencnssnsentesninnieninnnimessscemestuncensemnnse 18
Ruzicka v. Conde Nast Publications, Inc., 733 F.
Supp. 1289 (D. Minn. 1990) ...............000. 13,22,24,27
Smith v. Daily Mail Publishing Co., 443 U.S. 97
TOUT cxcnctndisnsnnccnsieqemunennmmemenieimentns 7,10,19,24,25,29
Snepp v. United States, 444 U.S. 507 (1980) ........ 11
Stromberg v. California, 283 U.S. 359 (1931) ....... 10
Stubbs v. North Mem. Medical Center, 448 N.W.2d
FD ee 24
Tashyian v. Republican Party of Connecticut, 479
Se ED CID ccseiernicienteittarntstcesitnatinicvennsinennsctntenses 6
Virelli v. Goodson-Todman Enterprises, Ltd., 142
A.D.2d 479, 536 N.Y.S.2d 571 (1989) ............ 13,29
Wainwright v. Goode, 464 U.S. 78 (1983) ............. 12
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS:
FS ee passim
U.S. Const. amend. XIV .................... Siiisdidicigtaliiinia 6

Table of Authorities Continued

OTHER AUTHORITIES:

1 A. Corbin, Corbin on Contracts (1963) ...............
2 A. Corbin, Corbin on Contracts (1950) ...............

T. mast The System Of Freedom Of Expression

a

IT Cecsshidhatiasassbastaieieitieasaincnaipiasiimnsanmaltinns
Blasi, The Newsman’s Privilege: An Empirical
Study, 70 Mich. L. Rev. 229 (1971) ...............
Kase, When A Promise Is Not A Promise: The Legal
C. or Journalists Who Break Prom-
ises of Con iality To Sources, 12 Hastings
Comm/Ent. L.J. 565 (1990) ..........ccc.cceccseeeneees
Smyser, There Are Sources and Then There Are
“Sourcerers,”” Soc. Resp.: Journalism, Law,
DT ee

Note, Freedom of Expression in a Commercial Con-
text, 78 Harv. L. Rev. 1191 (1965) ................

Two Leaks, But by Whom?, NEWSWEEK, July 27,
PEED ‘encsitnanesntantanetansiciitinpennsinmmanipeanacisenenstin

Restatement (Second) of Contracts, § 189 (1981) .......
Restatement (Second) of Torts §§ 569-575 (1977) ....

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States
OCTOBER TERM, 1990

No. 90-634

DAN COHEN.
Petitioner,
v.

CowLes Mepia Company, d/b/a Minneapolis Star and
Tribune Company, and NORTHWEST PUBLICATIONS, INC.,
Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
Supreme Court of Minnesota

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE
ADVANCE PUBLICATIONS, INC.,
AMERICAN NEWSPAPER PUBLISHERS ASSOCIATION,
AMERICAN SOCIETY OF NEWSPAPER EDITORS,
ASSOCIATED PRESS,
THE COPLEY PRESS, INC.,
GANNETT COMPANY, INC.,
NEWSLETTER ASSOCIATION,
THE NEW YORK TIMES COMPANY, AND
THE TIMES MIRROR COMPANY,
IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS*

STATEMENT OF INTEREST

Advance Publications, Inc., directly and through subsid-
lary corporations, publishes newspapers in 22 cities

* Written consent of all parties has been filed with the Clerk of the
Court, as required by Supreme Court Rule 37.

throughout the United States, operates 16 cable systems
across the country, publishes 15 magazines with nationwide
circulation, and owns a major national book publishing
company.

The American Newspaper Publishers Association is a
nonprofit trade association representing about 1,400 news-
papers. Membership constitutes about 90 percent of the
total daily and Sunday newspaper circulation, and a sub-
stantial portion of the non-daily newspaper circulation, in
the United States. These newspapers have the basic func-
tion of gathering and publishing news and information.
ANPA brings to the case the perspective of a substantial
segment of the nation’s newspapers, who are directly af-
fected by the Court’s decisions in the area of First Amena-
ment protections.

The American Society of Newspaper Editors was
founded over 50 years ago. It is a nationwide, professional
organization of more than 900 persons who hold positions
as directing editors of daily newspapers throughout the
United States. The purposes of the Society include assist-
ing journalists in providing an unfettered and effective
press in the service of the American people.

Associated Press, the world’s largest news gathering
organization, is a mutual news cooperative organized under
the Not-for-Profit Corporation Law of the State of New
York. Associated Press gathers and distributes news of
local, national and international significance to its member
newspapers and broadcast stations in the United States
and throughout the world.

In carrying out its vital role of informing the public,
Associated Press and its members have a significant in-
terest in protecting the accurate reporting of matters of
public concern and ensuring that sanctions are not imposed
on the press for so reporting. They are also vitally con-
cerned with maintaining the integrity of the editorial func-
tion, and preventing intrusion into that function that may
result in obstructing public access to information key to
the political process.

The Copley Press, Inc. publishes five daily newspapers
in California—The San Diego Union, San Diego Tribune,
The Daily Breeze, The News-Pilot and The Outlook—whose
combined circulation exceeds 500,000 copies daily, as well
as seven daily newspapers in Illinois, and operates an in-
ternational news service.

Gannett Company, Inc. is a nationwide news and infor-
mation company that publishes 82 daily newspapers (in-
cluding USA Today), a variety of non-daily publicztions
(including USA Weekend, a newspaper magazine) and op-
erates 10 television stations, 15 radio stations, Gannett
News Services, and the largest outdoor advertising com-
pany in North America.

The Newsletter Association is the inter*ational trade
association representing 850 publishers of newsletters and
specialized information services. The Newsletter Associa-
tion has a long-standing commitment to the free exchange
of information and opinion through the written word as
protected by the First Amendment.

The New York Times Company publishes 33 newspa-
pers, including The New York Times, a daily newspaper
with national circulation of 1.15 million daily and Sunday
circulation of over 1.7 million. The Company also publishes
17 magazines and owns five television and two radio sta-
tions.

The Times Mirror Company publishes the Los Angeles
Times, a newspaper with a circulation of more than 1.2
million daily and more than 1.5 million on Sunday. Times
Mirror also publishes seven other newspapers including
Newsday, the Baltimore Sun, and The Hartford Courant,
with a combined Sunday circulation of more than two mil-
lion copies.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The relationship between reporters and their sources has
historically been one of mutual trust, which gives rise to
mutual ethical obligations: in providing information to a

reporter, the source has an ethical obligation to be truthful
and the reporter, in turn, has an ethical obligation to keep
the source’s identity confidential, if the source so desires.

Petitioner is asking this Court to hold that these ethical
obligations between reporters and their sources are legally
enforceable obligations, disregarding the distinction be-
tween these ethical understandings and typical commercial
agreements, as well as the First Amendment interests
which would be adversely affected by such a decision.
Amici curiae urge this Court to reject Petitioner’s request
and instead hold that the judicial enforcement of ethical
obligations between reporters and their sources would vi-
olate the First Amendment in the circumstances presented
here, where there was no reasonable expectation that a
civilly enforceable agreement was being entered into.

The principle upon which Petitioner’s case ultimately
rests - that the media are not exempt from the application
of general laws, such as tax, contract, and labor laws -
has no relevance here. This principle applies only to non-
discriminatory regulations of commercial activities, which
have no more than an incidental effect on the news gath-
ering and dissemination process. Government actions which
directly impact on the media’s ability to gather and dis-
seminate truthful information, however, fall within the am-
bit of the First Amendment. (See Section 1(A), infra.)

Accordingly, this Court must evaluate the propriety of
applying general promissory estoppel principles to re-
porter-source understandings by weighing the interests in
enforcing such understandings against the First Amend-
ment interests in gathering and disseminating truthful in-
formation to the public. (Jd.) That analysis demonstrates
Respondents should prevail here.

First, there is no significant state interest, let alone a
compelling one, in enforcing reporter-source understand-
ings. These understandings do not have the characteristics
common to civilly enforceable agreements, because they
are not based on an expectation that they are legally en-
forceable agreements. (See Section 1(B\Xi), infra.) More-

over, by their very nature, such understandings do not
involve a ‘‘meeting of the minds,”’ because they are typ-
ically vague, do not have precisely defined or understood
terms, and involve situations where one party to the
“agreement’”’—the reporter—cannot know what informa-
tion. is being provided (and, therefore, cannot know what
is being agreed to) until after an assurance of confiden-
tiality has been made. Thus, reporter-source understand-
ings are clearly not intended to be nor can they reasonably
be interpreted to be within the realm of general promis-
sory estoppel law. (See Section 1(B\ii), infra.)

Moreover, reporter-source understandings do not involve
the type of interests which promissory estoppel law is
designed to protect. Here, Petitioner’s only interest is the
purported right to engage in a political smear campaign
without taking responsibility for his action. That interest
is no interest at all. In any event, the obligation which
arises from the reporter-source relationship is an ethical
one, the enforcement of which comes from self-policing
mechanisms, rather than government mandate. (See Sec-

tion 1(B\Xiii), infra.)

Second, there are First Amendment interests which
would be adversely affected by the judicial enforcement of
such understandings. Petitioner is seeking to inhibit the
dissemination of truthful information in contravention of
well-established principles protecting the dissemination of
such information. (See Section 1(C), infra.) Moreover, the
information he seeks to restrain involves the conduct of
government affairs, which is at the very core of the First
Amendment’s protection. (Jd.) Civil enforcement of re-
porter-source understandings, and the concommitant liti-
gation which would ensue, would unquestionably chill the
dissemination of such information. (Jd.)

The strong public interest in protecting the truthful dis-
semination of information about government affairs out-
weighs the minimal or non-existent interest in enforcement
of reporter-source understandings in this case. Conse-
quently, this Court should hold, as it has in analogous

cases, that state interference with protected speech, by
civilly enforcing reporter-source understandings, is consti-
tutionally impermissible in the circumstances presented
here. (See Section 1(D), infra; see also note 14, infra.)

In the alternative, if this Court believes that enforce-
ment of such understandings is permissible in some in-
stances, amici urge this Court to adopt strict requirements
which must be satisfied to pursue promissory estoppel ac-
tions against the media to protect the First Amendment
interests in gathering and disseminating truthful infor-
mation about political affairs to the public. (See Section
2, infra.) Although adoption of these safeguards would not
eliminate the constitutional concerns raised by amici, if
this Court permits any promissory estoppel actions to be
pursued, these devices would provide at least sorm.e meas-
ure of protection for the gathering and dissemination of
information under the First Amendment and retard the
growing proliferation of claims asserting a wide variety of
“understandings,” including purported agreements to keep
identities hidden or masked, to allow pre-publication review
of articles, or to give a source “favorable coverage.”

ARGUMENT

1. JUDICIAL ENFORCEMENT OF AN _ ETHICAL
OBLIGATION NOT TO PUBLISH TRUTHFUL
INFORMATION ABOUT POLITICAL CAMPAIGNS
VIOLATES THE FIRST AMENDMENT.

The scope of First Amendment protection for gathering
and disseminating information must be determined by con-
sidering the interests served by the freedoms of speech
and press, as well as any competing interests served by
restricting that speech. See, ¢.g., Tashyian v. Republican
Party of Connecticut, 479 U.S. 208, 214 (1986) (when de-
ciding whether laws that impinge on associational freedom
violate the First Amendment, “‘a court .. . must first con-
sider the character and magnitude of the asserted injury
to the rights protected by the First and Fourteenth
Amendments that the plaintiff seeks to vindicate. It then
must identify and evaluate the precise interests put for-

ward by the State, as justifications for the burden imposed
by its rule. In passing judgment, the court must not only
determine the legitimacy and strength of each of thuse
interests: it must also consider the extent to which those
interests make it necessary to burden the plaintiff's
rights.”); Smith v. Daily Mail Publishing Co., 443 U.S.
97, 106 (1979) (‘“‘we have eschewed absolutes in favor of
a more delicate calculus that carefully weighs the conflict-
ing interests to determine which demands the greater pro-
tection under the particular circumstances presented’’)
(Rehnquist, J., concurring); Dun & Bradstreet, Inc. v.
Greenmoss Builders, Inc., 472 U.S. 749, 757 (1985) (‘‘[t]o
make this determination we ... balance the State’s inter-
est ... against the First Amendment interest in protecting
this type of expression’’).

As discussed in the following sections, judicial
enforcement! of an understanding h<*veen a source and
a reporter, that would allow the source co inject misleading
information into the public debate during an election in
an effort to smear a political opponent, furthers no legit-
imate state interest, while endangering the constitutional
freedom of editors to decide what to publish and the right
of the public to know the whole truth about that political
campaign. This Court should hold, therefore, that the First
Amendment does not permit judicial enforcement of such
ethical obligations in the circumstances of this case.

A. The Principle That The Media Are Not Exempt
From The Application Of General Laws Is
Completely Irrelevant To This Case, Which
Involves A Direct Restriction On The Gathering
And Dissemination Of Truthful Information To The
Public.

Petitioner’s entire argument is based on the premise
that, because the media are not exempt from the appli-

'‘ Petitioner contends that no state action arises from judicial en-
forcement of civil suits for damages. That proposition has been squarely
rejected by this Court. New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254,
265 (1964).

cation of general laws, understandings between reporters
and sources also must be subjected to the application of
general promissory estoppel principles without any consid-
eration of the First Amendment. (See, e¢.g., Petitioner’s
Brief at 22-24.) That premise is fatally flawed.

There is no dispute that the media are, like any other
citizens, subject to the application of general laws and
regulations concerning commercial activities. As this Court
noted in Associated Press v. United States, 326 U.S. 1
(1945), “[t]he fact that the publisher handles news while
others handle food does not ... afford the publisher a
peculiar constitutional sanctuary in which he can with im-
punity violate laws regulating his business practices.” 326
U.S. at 7. In keeping with this principle, this Court has
held, among other things, that the media are not exempt
from the antitrust laws (Associated Press, supra (applying
Sherman Antitrust Act)), from the federal labor laws (see,
e.g., Associated Press v. N.L.R.B., 301 U.S. 108, 132-33
(1937) (applying National Labor Relations Act)), or from
generally applicable taxes (see, e.g., Minneapolis Star and
Tribune Co. v. Minnesota Commissioner of Revenue, 460
U.S. 575, 587 n.9 (1983).

This principle - that when conducting commercial activ-
ities, the media are no different from other commercial
enterprises and, therefore, are subject to the application
of general laws - which principle we do not dispute, simply
has no application here. It only applies when the state
action is a nondiscriminatoiy regulation of commercial ac-
tivities? which has no more than an incidental or minimal

* Thus, this Court has recognized that laws which differentially apply
to the media must be carefully scrutinized to ensure that they are not
used as tools of government censorship. For example, in Minneapolis
Star, this Court struck down a state statute which imposed differential
taxes on newspapers, noting that “{dJifferential taxation of the press
.. . places such a burden on the interests protected by the First Amend-
ment that we cannot countenance such treatment unless the State
asserts a counterbalancing interest of compelling importance that it
cannot achieve without differential taxation.” Minneapolis Star, supra,
460 U.S. at 585 (footnote and citations omitted). See also Grosjean v.

effect on the gathering and dissemination of information
to the public. In contrast, government actions which di-
rectly impact the media’s ability to gather and disseminate
information are subject to challenge on First Amendment
grounds.’ See, ¢.g., Oklahoma Publishing Co. v. District
Court, 430 U.S. 308, 311-12 (1977) (court order restraining
media from publishing name of juvenile obtained at open
court proceeding violates First Amendment); Coz Broad-
casting Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469, 491 (1975) (invali-
dating, on First Amendment grounds, state statute which
punished publication of rape victim’s name); Miami Herald
Publishing Company v. Tornillo, 418 U.S. 241, 258 (1974)
(state statute compelling newspapers to publish ‘‘reply’’ by
political candidates violates First Amendment).

This case falls within this latter category. The issue
before this Court is not whether a media enterprise is
bound by commercial agreements it has entered into, e.9.,
an agreement to purchase newsprint, to use printing fa-
cilities, or to purchase vehicles to deliver newspapers. Ap-
plication of general legal principles to those types of
commercial agreements, which are only incidentally related
to the news gathering and dissemination process, is plainly
constitutional. Here, however, Petitioner seeks to restrict
directly the media’s ability to gather and disseminate in-
formation to the public, by transforming what is, at most,
an ethical obligation to maintain the confidentiality of a
source’s identity into a legally enforceable promise. That
restriction on the media falls within the First Amend-
ment’s protections.

American Press Co., 297 U.S. 233, 250, 251 (1936) (invalidating state
tax which applied only to large newspapers).

*One noted commentator has distinguished these two areas by de-
fining the commercial realm as encompassing ‘‘the production and ex:
change of goods and services for profit,” while the realm of information
gathering and dissemination involves ‘‘the production or exchange of
ideas.” T. Emerson, The System Of Freedom Of Expression 414 (1970),
see also Note, Freedom of Expression in a Commercial Contert, 78
Harv. L. Rev. 1191, 1192, 1194-95 (1965) (distinguishing these two

areas). .

10

The First Amendment has particular force here, because
the information sought to be restrained is truthful infor-
mation about the conduct of government affairs. As this
Court noted in Smith v. Daily Mail Publishing Co., 443
U.S. 97 (1979), “state action to punish the publication of
truthful information seldom can satisfy constitutional
standards.” 443 U.S. at 102 (emphasis added).

Indeed, under any view, the publication of information
concerning matters of public concern, especially political
campaigns, is at the heart of the First Amendment’s pro-
tection. As this Court noted in Mills v. Alabama, 384 U.S.
214, 218 (1966): “Whatever differences may exist about
interpretations of the First Amendment, there is practi-
cally universal agreement that a major purpose of that
Amendment was to protect the free discussion of govern-
mental affairs.” See also Stromberg v. California, 283 U.S.
359, 369 (1931) (“[t}he maintenance of the opportunity for
free political discussion ...is a fundamental principle of
our constitutional system’’); Brown v. Hartlage, 456 U.S.
45, 53 (1982) (“[tjhe free exchange of ideas provides special
vitality ott ede traditionally at the heart of Amer-
ican co 0 emocracy—the political campaign’”’:
thus, the First Amendment “has its fullest and a ur-
gent application precisely to the conduct of camraigns for
political office”); Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1, 14-15 (1976)
(“[djebate on the qualifications of candidates [is] integral
to the operation of the system of government established
by our Constitution”); Harte-Hanks Communications, Inc.
v. Connaughton, 491 U.S. 657, 109 S. Ct. 2678, 2695, 2696
(1989) (“[vjigorous reportage of political campaigns is nec-
essary for the optimal functioning of democratic institu-
tions and central to our history of individual liberty”’;
consequently, it is a “‘value [that] must be protected with
special vigilance”); Eu v. San Francisco County Demo-
cratic Central Committee, 489 U.S. 214, 109 S. Ct. 1013
1020 (1989) — first amendment ‘has its fullest and most
urgent application’ to speech uttered duri
for political office’’). _— —————

ll

Accordingly, this Court should not accept Petitioner's
misleading assertion that the First Amendment has no
application here because all that is involved is the appli-
cation of general laws. Instead, this Court must evaluate
the constitutionality of applying general promissory estop-
pel principles to reporter-source understandings, by as-
sessing the interests in enforcement of such ethical
obligations versus the First Amendment interests in pro-
tecting the gathering and dissemination of truthful infor-
mation to the public about elections. The following sections
demonstrate that when Petitioner’s interests are evaluated
against Respondents’ First Amendment interests,
Petitioner cannot overcome the First Amendment interests
at stake here.

B. No Significant, Let Alone Compelling, State
Interest Would Be Served By Converting Ethical
Understandings Between Sources And Reporters
Into Civilly Enforceable Promises.

Because of the First Amendment interests in protecting
the gathering and dissemination of information to the pub-
lic (see Section 1(A), supra, and Section 1(C), infra), this
Court has recognized that there must be a compelling gov-
ernment interest which justifies using the might of the
state to restrict news gathering and dissemination. (Jd.)
For example, in Snepp v. United States, 444 U.S. 507, 509
n.3 (1980), this Court held that the importance of pro-
tecting national security, and in particular, the effective
operation of America’s foreign intelligence service, were
compelling interests which justified enforcement of an
agreement by a former government employee to submit a
manuscript to pre-publication review by the Central In-

telligence Agency.

There is no similarly compelling interest here. As set
forth below, the general principles of promissory estoppel —
simply do not apply to reporter-source understandings,
which do not have the characteristics of civilly enforceable
agreements and which do not involve the type of interest
which promissory estoppel is designed to protect. Conse-

12

quently, there is no, or at most a minimal, state interest
in civilly enforcing reporter-source understandings.

i. Unlike Typical Promissory Estoppel Situations,
Reporter-Source Understandings Are Not Based
Upon An Expectation That The Understanding
Is Legally Enforceable.

The Minnesota Supreme Court held, as a matter of state
law, that a reporter’s promise of confidentiality does not
constitute a binding contract. (Pet. App. A7-A10.)* Because
this holding was grounded in state law, rather than federal
law, it Is not subject to review by this Court. See, e.g.,
Wainwright v. Goode, 464 U.S. 78, 84 (1983) (“the views
of the State’s highest court with respect to state law are
binding on the federal courts’’). Consequently, the only
issue before this Court is whether the state interests served
by Petitioner pursuing a civil damages claim on a theory
of promissory estoppel overcome the First Amendment in-
terests at issue here. The answer is that they do not.®

As the Minnesota Supreme Court recognized, a claim
for promissory estoppel is premised on reasonable reliance,
1.€., that the source reasonably relied on the promise of
confidentiality. 457 N.W.2d at 203, 204. In the typical case
of a reporter and a source, there simply is no such “re-
liance,”” because there is no reasonable expectation that
any understanding they reach concerning confidentiality is

* The Minnesota Supreme Court indicated that it was “

: re not persuaded
that in the special milieu of media news gathering a source and a
reporter ordinarily believe they are engaged in making a legally binding
contract. .. . The parties understand that the reporter’s promise of
a 18 given as a moral commitment, but a moral obligation

not support a contract.”’ Cohen v. C
N.W.2d 199, 203 (Minn. 1990). ee

*We agree with Respondents that certiorari in this case was im-

providently granted, especially because this issue was not tried or briefed

13

civilly enforceable.’ The fact that there are no prior re-
ported cases like this one, in which a source has success-
fully sued a reporter for allegedly “breaching’’ an
understanding about confidentiality,’ demonstrates that
such understandings have not previously been conceived
of as legally enforceable agreements.

That conclusion is reinforced by some well-known in-
stances in which the identity of a source has been revealed,
despite an understanding of confidentiality between the

* This requirement should have ended the Minnesota Supreme Court's
analysis, because it had already determined that the parties neither
intended nor anticipated that their purported ‘‘agreement”’ would be
anything more than a non-binding, non-enforceable moral commitment.
See, ¢.g., 457 N.W.2d at 203. At the very least, it means that
Petitioner's reliance interest is not of significant weight here.

’ Prior to Cohen, the closest analogy would have been Huskey ».
National Broadcasting Co., Inc, 632 F. Supp. 1282 (N.D. Ill. 1986), in
which the district court denied the defendant’s motion to dismiss a
breach of contract claim brought by a prison inmate who claimed that
NBC violated a provision of its agreement with the prison that forbade
photographing inmates without their consent. 632 F. Supp. at 1292-93.
That decision received little attention, however, and no subsequent de-
cision has been reported. The few other cases prior to Cohen that raised
contract claims were unsuccessful. See, ¢.g., Bindrim v. Mitchell, 92
Cal. App. 3d 61, 81, 155 Cal. Rptr. 29 (1979) (affirming trial court's
JNOV against plaintiff's breach of contract claim, which arose out of
the defendant’s agreement not to disclose any information about her
attendance at plaintiff's therapy group sessions).

However, Cohen, and the widely publicized controversy it has gen-
erated, has provoked a substantial number of reported decisions in-
volving breach of contract or related claims, arising out of reporters’
ethical obligations not to publish certain information. See, e.g., Virelli
v. Goodson-Todman Enterprises, Ltd., 142 A.D.2d 479, 536 N.Y.S.2d
571, 576-77 (1989) (dismissing suit for invasion of privacy and emotional
distress brought by interviewees who claimed agreement not to reveal
their identities was violated); Doe v. American Broadcasting Co., 152
A.D.2d 482, 543 N.Y.S.2d 455 (1989) (suit by rape victims for breach
of contract and emotional distress arising out of alleged violation of
promise of anonymity); Ruzicka v. Conde Nast Publications, Inc., 733
F. Supp. 1289 (D. Minn. 1990) (district court dismissed suit for breach
of contract and other claims arising out of alleged violation of confi-
dentiality agreement), appeal pending.

14

source and the reporter, without giving rise to litigation.
See, e.g., Kase, When A Promise Is Not A Promise: The
Legal Consequences for Journalists Who Break Promises
of Confidentiality to Sources, 12 Hastings Comm/Ent. L.J.
565, 576 (1990) (citing, among other instances, the disclo-
sure of Daniel Ellsberg as the source of the “Pentagon
Papers” and of Lt. Col. Oliver North as the source of
information about retaliation against the terrorists who
hijacked the Achille Lauro cruise ship); see also examples
cited in Respondent Northwest Publications, Inc.’s Brief,
Argument, Section II(B).*

Moreover, in this case, the source—Petitioner Cohen—
was a sophisticated political insider used to dealing with
the media. As the Minnesota Supreme Court recognized,
“(flor many years Cohen had been active in politics as a
campaign worker, a candidate, and as an elected public
official.” 457 N.W.2d at 201 n.3; see also Petitioner’s Brief
at 21 (where Cohen adopts the Minnesota Court of Appeal’s
characterization of him as an “experienced political op-
erative”). As a sophisticated public figure, who then worked
in public relations, Petitioner had to know that such un-
derstandings with reporters were not civilly enforceable.
Petitioner cannot claim, therefore, that he reasonably be-
lieved his understandings with Respondents’ reporters were
legally enforceable contracts. Because there was no rea-
sonable reliance by Petitioner, the state interest in recog-

* This is not to suggest that a decision to reveal a source’s identity
occurs frequently or without careful consideration. In the case involving
Lt. Col. Oliver North, for example, he was identified as a source only
after he publicly accused Congress of leaking secret intelligence infor-
mation to the press, which he himself had provided as a “confidential
source.” Two Leaks, But by Whom?, Newsweek, July 27, 1987, at 16.
In another case, a Chicago Sun Times reporter identified “confidential
source’ Jody Powell as the source of information damaging to Senator
Charles Percy, who had been critical of budget director Bert Lance,
after it was learned that the information was completely false. Smyser,
There Are Sources and Then There Are “Sourcerers,” Soc. Resp.: Jour-
nalism, Law, Med. 13, 17-18 (1979).

15

nizing a promissory estoppel claim here is minimal or non-
existent.’

ii. Reporter-Source Understandings Do Not
Involve A “‘Meeting Of The Minds.”

Reporter-source understandings are also distinguishable
from ordinary promissory estoppel situations because they
do not involve a true agreement, upon which the -parties
justifiably rely. Such understandings are vague, and in-
variably involve terms that have no well-established mean-
ing or that are susceptible to more than one reasonable
interpretation. For example, if the source provides infor-
mation on a “not for attribution” basis, the reporter may
believe that he can describe the source, so long as he does
not identify the source by name (‘‘a government official,’’
‘a member of the defense team,’’ ‘“‘a Cabinet member’’);
the source, however, may intend that no identifying in-
formation of any kind be published. Similarly, the source
and reporter may have different interpretations of the
meaning of statements like “‘off the record,’’ “‘confiden-
tially,” or ‘as background only.”” The source may intend
that none of the information provided ever be published,
while the reporter may believe that the information can
be published, so long as it is not attributed to any source.
Under these circumstances, which are quite typical, there
is no true “meeting of the minds.”’

Furthermore, unlike typical promissory estoppel situa-
tions, the very nature of a reporter-source relationship

- means that the reporter does not know what information

is being provided until after the assurance of confiden-

* As the Minnescta Supreme Court recognized, there may be circum-
stances in which a promissory estoppel claim could survive First Amend-
ment scrutiny. 457 N.W.2d at 205. Thus, for example, if Petitioner had
bargained for and received an explicit promise that he could bring a
civil suit for damages if the confidentiality understanding was violated,
a different case might be presented, because he would have had a clear
expectation that a civil remedy was available. This Court does not need
to decide what rule would be appropriate in that situation, however,
because that situation is not presented by the facts of this case.

16

tiality has been extracted. Thus, there is no true “meeting
of the minds’ between the reporter and the source, and
can never be one, because the reporter does not know the
actual terms to be agreed upon.

For example, if, after extracting an assurance of con-
fidentiality, the source “revealed” information that the re-
porter already knew or that the source had previously
revealed to the reporter or to others without any discus-
sion of confidentiality,’ the source could not possibly be-
lieve that there was an agreement, upon which the source
could justifiably rely, such that the reporter was really
agreeing not to use that information.

Similarly, 10 source who extracts an assurance of an-
onymity from a reporter can possibly believe that, if he
tells the reporter that he is responsible for the murder of
a prominent citizen, the reporter can be held liable for
payment of civil damages if he ‘“‘breaches his promise” by
revealing the source’s identity. There simply is no ‘“‘meet-
ing of the minds’ because in the usual situation, the re-
porter never knows what he or she is going to be told.

It is precisely this lack of any meeting of the minds
that has kept reporter-source understandings in the realm
of ethics rather than law. Petitioner’s pretense that every-_
one has always known that there is a civilly enforceable
‘“‘agreement’’ when a source is assured of confidentiality
not only contradicts reality, it demonstrates the insub-
stantial nature of the state interest involved here.

iii. Reporter-Source Understandings Do Not
Involve The Type Of Interest Which
Promissory Estoppel Law Is Intended To
Protect; Instead, These Understandings Create
Ethical, Rather Than Legally Enforceable,
Obligations.

As set forth in the preceding sections, the understand-
ings reached by sources and reporters do not have the

‘In this case, the Star Tribune had independently determined that
Petitioner was the source of the information provided. See Cohen, 457
N.W.2d at 201; see also Tr. 1572-74, 1599-1601.

17

characteristics of promissory estoppel obligations. Instead,
the obligation created is an ethical one. And, as is true
of most ethical obligations, ‘“‘enforcement’”’ must come from
self-policing, rather than a government command. In the
case of reporter-source understandings, the mechanisms
for self-enforcement of such ethical obligations include a
reporter’s or editor’s professional disgrace, the loss of re-
spect by their peers, and ultimately the loss of sources
who no longer believe the reporter or editor to be trust-
worthy. These are serious penalties. They have worked so
well in the past that other sources have not felt the need
to sue to enforce such understandings. Indeed, Petitioner
does not even attempt to show that these self-policing
mechanisms are so inadequate that what always have been
ethical obligations must now all be treated as civilly en-
forceable agreements. Thus, any state interest in civilly
enforcing such ethical obligations is quite small.

In addition, the idea that there are areas in which the
state has little or no legitimate interest in civilly enforcing
ethical obligations is not novel, even under circumstances
which give a much stronger appearance of a civilly en-
forceable agreement (i.e., justifiable reliance and a meeting
of the minds), than the case at hand. For example, social
engagements may have all the characteristics of enforce-
able promises: an offer (invitation), acceptance (or promise
to attend), and reliance on the promise, to the detriment
of the relying party (i.¢., cancelling other plans, preparing
dinner, hiring a caterer). Nonetheless, unless the parties
have expressed a clear intention to be legally bound, such
engagements typically are not viewed as creating civilly
enforceable agreements. See, ¢.g., 1 A. Corbin, Corbin On
Contracts, § 34 (1963).

Similarly, agreements to refrain from marriage gener-
ally are not legally enforceable, even though such agree-
ments involve one of the most fundamental relationships
in our society and despite the fact that the failure to honor
such an agreement can cause tremendous and enduring
harm. See Restatement (Second) of Contracts, § 189 (1981).

18

If anything, the state interest here is even less impor-
tant. Petitioner was attempting to use the media to dis-
seminate misleading information, during an election
campaign, about a political opponent and sought to prevent
the dissemination of the truth: that he was the source of
the smear campaign. Certainly, no important state interest
would have been furthered by permitting Petitioner to ac-
complish this. Thus, there is little or no state interest, let
alone a compelling one, in making the ethical obligation
here civilly enforceable.

C. First Amendment Interests Are Furthered By
Protecting The Dissemination Of Truthful
Information To The Public, Particularly Where, As

Here, That Information Involves Government
Affairs.

This suit is aimed at restricting the rights of the media
to obtain aiid disseminate truthful information to the public
about subjects which are at the heart of the First Amend-
ment’s protection of free speech and press - the conduct
of government affairs and campaigns for public office. (See
Section 1(A), supra.) That the conduct targeted by
Petitioner is encompassed by the First Amendment cannot
be questioned.

This Court explicitly recognized the important First
Amendment interests in news gathering in Branzburg v.
Hayes, 408 U.S. 665 (1972). As Justice White wrote:
‘Without some protection for seeking out the news, free-
dom of the press *ould be eviscerated. News gathering is
not without its First Amendment protections.”’ 408 U.S.
at 681. Later decisions by this Court also stand for the
proposition that the gathering of information by the media,
for dissemination to the public, is constitutionally pro-
tected. See, e.g., Richmond Newspapers, Inc. v. Virginia,
448 U.S. 555, 573 (1980) (in recognizing a constitutional
right of access to judicial proceedings, this Court noted
that the fact that people primarily acquire information
about public affairs through the media instead of by first-
hand observation ‘‘validates the media claim of functioning
as surrogates for the public’’).

19

In addition, there is no question that the dissemination
of truthful information to the public is protected by the
First Amendment. (See cases cited in Section 1(A), supra.)
Even where the publication of such information causes
substantial harm, this Court has repeatedly held that the
public’s interest in receiving truthful information about
matters of public concern outweighs the detrimental im-
pact of the publication on a particular individual. See, e.g.,
Florida Star v. B.J.F., 491 U.S. 524, 109 S. Ct. 2603
(1989) (emotional injury and fear of later physical harm
from dissemination of rape victim’s name); Cox Broad-
casting Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469 (1975) (emotional dis-
tress to parents from dissemination of rape victim's
identity); Smith v. Daily Mail Publishing Co., 443 U.S. 97
(1979) (harm caused by disclosure of juvenile offender’s
identity); Oklahoma Publishing Co. v. District Court, 430
U.S. 308 (1977) (same); Landmark Communications, Inc.
v. Virginia, 435 U.S. 829 (1978) (harm to reputation from
publication of confidential information about judicial dis-
ciplinary proceedings). The harm allegedly caused to
Petitioner as a consequence of his identity being revealed,
namely, dismissal from his job, is certainly no greater than
the harm suffered by the plaintiffs in these cases and,
indeed, is much less compelling because he is a public
figure,'! who voluntarily injected himself into the political
arena.'2 See, e.g., Gertz v. Robert Welch, Inc., 418 U.S.
323, 345 (1974) (‘“‘the communications media are entitled
to act on the assumption that public officials and public
figures have voluntarily exposed themselves to increased

The Minnesota Supreme Court found that Petitioner was a public
figure. Cohen, 457 N.W.2d at 201 n.3.

Unlike the plaintiffs in the cited cases, Petitioner sought out the
media as an instrument for manipulating the political process, through
the dissemination of misleading information. Moreover, he “had many
years’ experience in politics and public relations,’’ 457 N.W.2d at 201;
consequently, having voluntarily entered the political arena, Petitioner
cannot be heard to complain about the political sting of sunlight—‘‘the
most powerful of all disinfectants.’ P. Freund, The Supreme Court of
the United States 61 (1949) (paraphrasing former Supreme Court Justice
Brandeis).

20

risk of injury from defamatory falsehood concerning
them’’).

Moreover, as previously discussed, the First Amend-
ment’s protection of free speech and press, particularly
with regard to information about political campaigns and
the conduct of government, is at the very core of the
democratic process. As this Court noted in Cor Broad-
casting, “[w)ithout the information provided by the press
most of us and many of our representatives would be
unable to vote intelligently or to register opinions on the
administration of government generally.” 420 U.S. at 492.
See also cases cited in Section 1(A), supra. Thus, the in-
formation at issue here is entitled to the highest level of
First Amendment protection.

Subjecting reporters who reveal the identity of confi-
dential sources to civil liability would result in the suppres-
sion of this constitutionally protected speech. As this Court
has recognized, ‘t]he chilling effect upon the exercise of

First Amendment rights may derive from the fact of the -

prosecution, unaffected by the prospects of its success or
failure.” Dombrowski v. Pfister, 380 U.S. 479, 487 (1965).
See also New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254,
279 (1964) (the risk of litigation may cause “would-be crit-
ics of official conduct... [to} be deterred from voicing
their criticism, even though it is believed to be true and
even though it is in fact true, because of doubt whether
it can be proved in court or fear of the expense of having
to do so. They tend to make only statements which ‘steer
far wider of the unlawful zone.’ ’’) (citations omitted).

The likelihood of protracted litigation, and its concom-
mitant chilling effect on the exercise of First Amendment
rights, is particularly pronounced here, precisely because
of the oral nature of the reporter-source relationship. Typ-
ically, there is no documentation of the “agreement,” nor
any third party witnesses, so that the terms of the “agree-
ment’ are not objectively verifiable. As one study on re-
porter-source relationships noted, “ ‘confidentiality’ in
these relationships often takes the form of an unspoken

21

trust that the reporter will treat the information with care
and will know what to use and what not to use. Frequently
there is not an explicit agreement about what is on and
off the record.”” Blasi, The Newsman’s Privilege: An Em-
pirical Study, 70 Mich. L. Rev. 229, 243 (1971). In ad-
dition, as noted in Section 1(B), supra, the parties may
have entirely different interpretations of the meaning of
terms such as “not for attribution,” “off the record,” or
the numerous other possible “understandings” a source

may claim.

These ambiguities, which are inherent in the very nature
of these relationships, create fertile ground for sources to
dispute reporters’ later actions. Indeed, to impose civil
liability on these ethical obligations is to issue an open
invitation to any source who is dissatisfied with a publi-
cation to claim later that there was an ‘oral agreement’
or “understanding” of some sort which the reporter
breached—for example, about not revealing the source’s
identity, not publishing confidential information, the Te-
porter’s failure to allow the source to review the article
prior to publication, the failure to treat the source favor-
ably, the failure to adequately explain the source's views,
the inclusion of information or points of view the source
does not wish to be associated with, and so on, ad infin-
itim.

It is certainly not uncommon for sources, when they see
an actual article, to be disappointed by it and to feel un-
fairly treated because the reporter has not concluded that
the source or the source’s views are right, just, and proper
and the source’s opponents or their views are wrong, un-
wise, and immoral. If sources are allowed to continually
embroil journalists in burdensome and expensive litigation,
which will involve a swearing contest between the sources
and the reporters about alleged oral “agreements” and
‘“‘understandings,’’ and which, therefore, will be virtually
impossible to dispose of summarily, “editors might well
conclude that the safe course is to avoid controversy.
Miami Herald, 418 U.S. at 257.

22

Petitioner’s response, namely, that enforcement of re-
porter-source understandings will somehow “improve’’ the
relationship between reporters and their sources, and pre-
vent those sources from ‘drying up” (Petitioner’s Brief at
27-29), is untenable. Despite the fact that previous cases
had not held that such understandings were legally en-
forceable,'* confidential sources have and will continue to
cooperate with reporters. As the district court noted in
Ruzicka v. Conde Nast Publications, Inc., 733 F. Supp.
1289 (D. Minn. 1990), appeal pending:

It is not clear whether potential sources would
dry up if reporter-source agreements were unen-
forceable. Confidential sources often have an in-
terest in making their information public. That
interest, and the source’s relationship of trust
with the reporter, may outweigh the fact that
there is no legal remedy for a breach.

Id. at 1299. Petitioner has not presented any evidence
whatsoever which even remotely suggests that those re-
lationships will not continue, without a civil remedy by
sources against reporters.

In any event, it is not the province of the courts to
“improve”’ the relationship between sources and reporters,
any more than it is the province of the courts to “improve”
editorial judgments.'* As this Court noted in Miami Herald,
[a] responsible press is an undoubtedly desirable goal, but
press responsibility is not mandated by the Constitution

and like many other virtues it cannot be iegislated.” 418°

U.S. at 256.

Even in the media, there was no consensus as to what
was the proper ethical or editorial judgment here. The

* See, note 7, supra.

“The government is not permitted to intrude into the relationship
between reporters and their sources in this manner, any more than it
should be allowed to interfere with that relationship by attempting to
compel reporters to reveal the identities of their confidential sources.
It is simply not up to the courts to improve relationships between
sources and reporters.

23

Associated Press, one of the amici here, exercised its ed-
itorial judgment differently than the two Respondents,
choosing not to disclose Petitioner's identity. (Joint App.
at 11; Tr. 395.) That simply demonstrates that here, as
in most cases, editorial or ethical judgments on difficult
questions may differ. That very lack of a consensus as to
what was “proper” conduct shows that the issue here is
better .eft to ethics than to law.

As this Court concluded in Miami Herald:

The choice of material to go into a newspaper,
and the decisions made as to limitations on the
size and content of the paper, and treatment of
public issues and public officials—whether fair or
unfair—constitute the exercise of editorial contro!
and judgment. It has yet to be demonstrated how
governmental regulation of this crucial process
can be exercised consistent with First Amend-
ment guarantees of a free press as they have
evolved to this time.

418 U.S. at 258.

Just as in Miami Herald, the civil enforcement of re-
porter-source understandings would severely interfere with
the media’s exercise of editorial judgment. Moreover, the
threat of burdensome and oppressive litigation would op-
erate as a substantial impediment to the exercise of im-
portant First Amendment rights. These concerns outweigh
the minimal (at most) state interest in civilly enforcing
reporter-source understandings.

D. Application Of The Test Applied In Analogous
Areas, Such As Invasion Of Privacy Cases,
Demonstrates That Civil Enforcement Of Typical
Reporter-Source Understandings Is
Constitutionally Impermissible.

Petitioner’s claim in this case, reduced to its essence,
is virtually indistinguishable from the invasion of privacy
claims advanced in Florida Star and Datly Maul. The basis
for his claim, as in those cases, is that private informa-

24

tion—his identity—has been revealed and that the state
has an interest in protecting him from disclosure of that
information. Analyzing Petitioner's claim from the per-
spective of a privacy action, however, further demonstrates
that the important First Amendment interests in disclosure
of the “private” information outweighs any interest
Petitioner has in its secrecy."

The rule advanced by this Court in Daily Mail and
Florida Star for evaluating the constitutionality of the
government's action is that publication of truthful infor-
mation, lawfully obtained, about a matter of public con-
cern, may not be punished except to directly advance a
state interest of the highest order. See Daily Mail, 443
U.S. at 103; Florida Star, 109 S. Ct. at 2613.

Here, there is no dispute that the information published
by Respondents was truthful, nor is there any dispute that
it involved a matter of public concern—the conduct of a
political campaign.

Furthermore, there is no evidence that the information
published by Respondents was obtained unlawfully. To the
contrary, the only discussion of that issue in the Minnesota
Court of Appeals’ opinion indicates that Respondents did
not violate Minnesota law in obtaining the information from
Petitioner. Cohen v. Cowles Media Co., 445 N.W.2d 248,
268 (Minn. Ct. App. 1989) (“{t]here was no wrongful act
of [Respondents] in connection with the conduct of their
reporters or in the acquisition of information peddled by
(Petitioner]’’) (Crippen, J., concurring in part and dissent-
ing in part). The Minnesota Supreme Court also found that
there was no violation of Minnesota contract law. 457
N.W.2d at 203. Moreover, empirical evidence indicates that
the ‘Methods employed by Respondents to obtain infor-
mation from Petitioner were far from unorthodox, let alone

‘Indeed, Minnesota does not even recognize a cause j
invasion of privacy. See, e.g., Ruzicka v. Conde Nast Paton "oes ;
733 F. Supp. 1289, 1302 (D. Minn. 1990), appeal pending (citing Stubbs
v. North Mem. Medical Center, 448 N.W.2d 78, 80-81 (Minn. Ct. App
1989); Hendry v. Conner, 303 Minn. 317, 226 N.W.2d 921, 923 (1975)

25

illegal. See, ¢.g., Blasi at 239-45 (describing some of the
techniques reporters use to obtain information from con-
fidential sources).

Petitioner’s response that the First Amendment does
not permit the media to commit “torts and crimes” in
news gathering (Petitioner's Brief at 30) misses the mark.
It is certainly tcue that a reporter cannot commit burglary
to obtain documents or murder a source, and then claim
First Amendment protection. That does not mean, how-
ever, as Petitioner asserts, that there is no First Amend-
ment protection if a “tort” is committed. To the contrary,
this Court has repeatedly invoked the protection of the
First Amendment to restrict the imposition of strict tort
liability on the media. See, ¢.g., New York Times Co. ».
Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254, 283 (“the constitution delimits a
State’s power to award damages for libel in actions brought
by public officials against critics of their official conduct’),

and its progeny.

Moreover, Petitioner’s assertion that Respondents’ ac-
tions were unlawful is based on circular reasoning. Ac-
cording to Petitioner, the First Amendment does not bar
his claim because Respondents acted unlawfully, but the
only supposed “unlawful” action alleged is the purported
violation of the ethical understanding of confidentiality
here. This begs the question of whether Respondents did
anything unlawful. Respondents’ acquisition of information
from Petitioner was simply a “newspaper reporting tech-
nique” permitted by Daily Mail. 443 U.S. at 103 (asking
people for information, who by law are bound not to dis-
close it, is such a technique).

The only remaining issue, therefore, is whether enforce-
ment of reporter-source understandings directly furthers
a state interest “of the highest order.’ As discussed in
Section 1(B), supra, there is no state interest, let alone
one “of the highest order,’ which justifies civil enforce-
ment of reporter-source agreements. Moreover, the strong
First Amendment interest in protecting the gathering and
dissemination of information to the public easily outweighs

26

any minimal state interest which exists. Thus, under this
Court’s prior decisions in Daily Mail and Florida Star
reporter-source understandings are not civilly enforceable.

2. EVEN ASSUMING, ARGUENDO, THAT LIMIT
’ , E
ENFORCEMENT OF REPORTER-SOURCE
UNDERSTANDINGS IS CONSTITUTIONALLY
PERMISSIBLE, THE FIRST AMENDMENT REQUIRES
APPROPRIATE SAFEGUARDS TO ENSURE THE
BREATHING SPACE” ESSENTIAL TO THE

EXERCISE OF FREE SPEECH AND PRESS RIGHTS.

. Even if this Court were to determine that, under some
circumstances, understandings between reporters and their
sources should be enforced by the courts, the important

First Amendment interests in

| Lmer . protecting the gathering and
dissemination of information to the public ae the
imposition of limits on any such enforcement. As this Cort
noted in Gertz v. Robert Welch, Inc., 418 U.S. 323 (1974):

In our continuing effort to define the proper ac-
commodation between these nacier = scan
[w.e., free speech and press and redress of indi-
vidual wrongs], we have been especially anxious
to assure to the freedoms of speech and press
that “breathing space’’ essential to their fruitful
exercise. ... To that end this Court has extended

a measure of strategic protection to
——- gic p on to defamatory

Id. at 342 (citation omitted). In accordance wi

} with that con-
— this Court has, as a matter of federal constitutional
aw, adopted various requirements in defamation cases to
safeguard against the prosecution of spurious claims.'*

‘ For example, public officials and figures required
statements were made with constitutional “neal can" ae, aan
knowledge of the statements’ falsity or while entertaining ‘serious sub-
jective doubts as to their truth or falsity. See, ¢.g., Harte-Hanks, supra
109 S. Ct. at 2696. Plaintiffs in cases against media defendants, where
as — of information of public interest is concerned, also have
of proving that the allegedly defamatory statements are

— ¢.g., Philadelphia Newspapers, Inc. v. Hepps, 475 U.S. 767

27

Similarly, if this Court permits Petitioner and others
like him to pursue promissory estoppel claims against the
media, it must adopt strict standards for bringing and
maintaining such actions in order to protect the First
Amendment values at stake here.

First, to avoid the potential chilling effect which results
from the media’s engagement in protracted and expensive
litigation (see Section 1(C), supra), marginal claims must
be discouraged at the outset or must be capable of being
disposed of summarily at an early stage. To accomplish
this goal, plaintiffs must be required to prove by clear and
convincing evidence the existence of an agreement and the
clear, specific terms of that agreement. See, ¢.g., Anderson
v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242 (1986) (applying clear
and convincing evidence standard in public figure defa-
mation cases); see also Ruzicka, 733 F. Supp. at 1298
(purported agreement not to identify source was found to
be “too vague to constitute a waiver of the defendants’
first amendment rights”). Ambiguous terms or understand-
ings should be construed against the source seeking to
enforce the “agreement”’ or ‘“‘understanding.””’’

Second, the source must expressly request and the re-
porter must expressly agree that any such agreement can
be enforced by a civil action for damages. In this way,
reporters will be put on notice that breach of these ethical
obligations can lead to civil damages and that reporters
should not proceed unless they are prepared to accept
those consequences. The source must also be required to
prove by clear and convincing evidence that the media's
conduct clearly and intentionally violated the terms of the

agreement.

Third, to protect the press from defending burdensome
litigation in cases where the plaintiff was not actually dam-

‘This goal would be further served if plaintiffs were barred from
recovery on oral, as opposed to written, understandings. As one noted
authority on contract law wrote, “{rjeduction to writing undoubtedly
tends to prevent not only fraud and perjury but also the disputes and
litigation that arise by reason of treacherous memory and the absence
of witnesses.” 2 A. Corbin, Corbin on Contracts 13 (1950).

28

aged by the purported “‘breach,”’ the source should be
required to demonstrate proof of special damages before
being permitted to proceed with the lawsuit. This is con-
sistent with the common law requirement that certain types
of defamation, i.e., libel and slander per quod, are not
actionable without proof of special damages.'* Moreover,
consistent with the general principles of promissory es-
toppel, only consequential or special damages should be
recoverable. See Cohen, 445 N.W.2d at 260-61 (Cohen was
limited to recovering nonpunitive, compensatory damages
resulting from the purported breach of contract).

Fourth, because media entities, no less than other en-
terprises, should be free from liability based upon the un-
ratified actions of subordinate employees, this Court should
hold that a media entity cannot be held civilly liable absent
a showing that its representative—whether a ‘reporter’
or an “‘editor’’—is clearly vested with authority to accept
the terms of the “agreement” on confidentiality. See, e.g.,
Poteet v. Roswell Daily Record, Inc., 92 N.M. 170, 584
P.2d 1310, 1312-13 (Ct. App. 1978) (in action for invasion
of privacy, reporter’s alleged promise not to reveal rape
victim's name “was insufficient to show waiver without
raising the additional requirement of the reporter’s au-
thority to speak for the defendant. ... Absent authority,
the statements of the reporter could not be considered as
a waiver of a constitutional privilege by the defendant
newspaper’); see also New York Times Co. v. Sullivan,
376 U.S. at 287 (state of mind for actual malice must be
a individuals “having responsibility for the publica-

on’’).

Fifth, to minimize restraints on the dissemination -f
truthful information, this Court should hold that “agr-

ments” or “understandings” of confidentiality are not civ
illy enforceable if the information which is to be kept

* See, ¢.g., Restatement (Second) of Torts §§ 569-575 (1977)
; see also
W. Keeton, Prosser and Keeton on Torts 788 (5th ed. 1984) (special

damages requirement of common la i Lan ;
tori dine, n law was intended to limit unmeri-

29

confidential—whether the identity of a source, or certain
information provided by a source—is already public or has
been independently obtained by the reporter through other
means. See, e.g., Smith v. Daily Mail Publishing Co., 443
U.S. at 104-05 (even assuming that statute restricting
newspapers from publishing identity of youths involved in
juvenile proceedings ‘‘served a state interest of the highest
order,” it could not accomplish its stated purpose where
other media, like radio stations, publicized that informa-
tion).

Finally, because the information sought to be restrained
relates to matters which are at the core of our democratic
system, and, therefore, which are worthy of the most strin-
gent constitutional protection, this Court should look to
its decision in Gertz, which forbade the application of li-
ability to the media in cases involving false statements
without a showing of fault. 418 U.S. at 347. Because truth-
ful statements should be given even greater protection
(see, e.g., Florida Star, 109 S. Ct. at 2613), this Court
should adopt a high standard of fault with respect to the
breach of reporter-source obligations.

For example, sources could be required to demonstrate
that the reporter or editor induced the source to reveal
information with representations of confidentiality that
they did not intend to keep at the time those represen-
tations were made. Alternatively, the source could be re-
quired to demonstrate that’the reporter or editor acted
with gross irresponsibility. See, ¢.g., Virelli, 536 N.Y.S.2d
at 576-77.

Adoption of these safeguards does not eliminate the con-
stitutional concerns expressed in Section 1, supra. To the
extent that the Court is inclined to find some enforceable
obligation, however, amici urge this Court to strictly limit
the application of those principles in order to protect the
important First Amendment interests involved here.

CONCLUSION

For all of the reasons set forth above, amici urge this
Court to hold that the judicial enforcement of reporter-

30

source understandings, like the one in Cohen, would violate
the First Amendment to the United States Constitution.
In the alternative, if this Court determines that there are
some circumstances in which such understandings should
be judicially enforced, amici urge the adoption of the safe-
guards set forth above to protect the important First
Amendment interests involved.

DATED: February 22, 1991.
Respectfully submitted,

Of Counsel: Rex S. HEINKE

Gipson, DUNN & CRUTCHER
~ aaa ge Miron 333 South Grand Avenue
Davip Lopez Los Angeles, CA 90071-3197
GIBSON, DUNN & CRUTCHER (213) 229-7000
Jerry S. BIRENzZ Counsel of Record
RALPH P. HUBER for Amici Curiae

SABIN, BERMANT & GOULD
350 Madison Avenue
New York, New York 10017

Attorneys for Advance
Publications, Inc.

W. TERRY MAGUIRE

RENE P. MILAM

American Newspaper Publishers
Association

The Newspaper Center

11600 Sunrise Valley Drive

Reston, Virginia 22091

Attorneys for American Newspaper
Publishers Association

RICHARD M. SCHMIDT

CoHN & MARKS

1333 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

Attorneys for American Society
of Newspaper Editors

RICHARD N. WINFIELD
LOovuIsSE SOMMERS

Rocers & WELLS

200 Park Avenue

New York, New York 10166

Attorneys for Associated Press

HAROLD W. FUuSON, JR.
JupitH L. FANSHAW

The Copley Press, Inc.
7776 Ivanhoe Avenue

La Jolla, California 92038

Attorneys for
The Copley Press, Inc.

BARBARA WARTELLE WALL
Gannett Company, Inc.
1100 Wilson Boulevard
Arlington, Virginia 22234

Attorney for
Gannett Company, Inc.

JAMES E. GROSSBERG

Ross, Drxon & MASBACK
Columbia Square

555 Thirteenth Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20004

Attorneys for
Newsletter Association

GEORGE FREEMAN

The New York Times Company
229 West 43rd Street

New York, New York 10036

Attorney for The New York
Times Company

DANIEL A. CURRY

WILLIAM A. NIESE

PHILIP E. KUCERA

The Times Mirror Company
Times Mirror Square

Los Angeles, California 90053

Attorneys for The Times
Mirror Company

BEST AVAILABLE COPY

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385013_0033%3A12. Public record. Not legal advice.
